Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 687 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (45) Steering (79) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (193) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (77) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (75)
Electronic Stability Control (47) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (9) Suspension (105) Visibility (10)
Engine (105) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (14) Tires (32) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (18) Wheels (28)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/15/2016 - FRANKLIN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, AFTER PROCEEDING THROUGH A GREEN LIGHT, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK, BOTH SHOULDERS, LEFT FOREARM, BRUISING AND SWELLING TO THE UPPER CHEST CAVITY AND LOWER ABDOMEN. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 111,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/10/2016 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
MY CAR STOPPED ON 630. IT SAID DISABLED FULL THROTTLE. I HAD TO SIT FOR 15 MINUTES BEFORE IT WOULD START. I THEN HEAR A CLICKING NOISE THAT STARTED AT 830AM AND STOPPED AT 832AM. I'VE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR. DO NOT BUY ANY IMPALA, UNLESS YOU HAVE A LIFETIME OF FIXABLE RECALLS. IT'S HOT IN ARKANSAS AND TO STALL FOR 15 MINUTES WITH CHILDREN IN THE CAR IS UNACCEPTABLE. WHEN YOU CALL CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY CAN NOT HELP YOU WITH ANYTHING. THEY JUST TAKE YOUR VIN NUMBER AND STATE OH I DON'T SEE A RECALL FOR YOUR VEHICLE, ALTHOUGH YOU READ 5598 PROBLEMS/SAME ISSUE YOU ARE HAVING WITH YOUR CAR. ERRATIC TRANSMISSION IS THE WHOLE PROBLEM. SO TO CHEVROLET AND COMPANY PLEASE THINK ABOUT FAMILIES AND CHILDREN WHEN ATTEMPTING TO SALE A NEW CAR WITH USED PRODUCTS. IT'S NOT COOL AND THE SAD PART IS YOU WILL NOT FIX IT. WARRANT MY BEHIND CHEVY NEED A LIFETIME OF RECALLS FOR EVERYONE ON ALL CARS. MAY JESUS BE WITH YOUR COMPANY. SINCERELY A MOTHER OF 3 BOYS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2016 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
MY CAR STOPPED ON 630. IT SAID DISABLED FULL THROTTLE. I HAD TO SIT FOR 15 MINUTES BEFORE IT WOULD START. I THEN HEAR A CLICKING NOISE THAT STARTED AT 830AM AND STOPPED AT 832AM. I'VE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR. DO NOT BUY ANY IMPALA, UNLESS YOU HAVE A LIFETIME OF FIXABLE RECALLS. IT'S HOT IN ARKANSAS AND TO STALL FOR 15 MINUTES WITH CHILDREN IN THE CAR IS UNACCEPTABLE. WHEN YOU CALL CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY CAN NOT HELP YOU WITH ANYTHING. THEY JUST TAKE YOUR VIN NUMBER AND STATE OH I DON'T SEE A RECALL FOR YOUR VEHICLE, ALTHOUGH YOU READ 5598 PROBLEMS/SAME ISSUE YOU ARE HAVING WITH YOUR CAR. ERRATIC TRANSMISSION IS THE WHOLE PROBLEM. SO TO CHEVROLET AND COMPANY PLEASE THINK ABOUT FAMILIES AND CHILDREN WHEN ATTEMPTING TO SALE A NEW CAR WITH USED PRODUCTS. IT'S NOT COOL AND THE SAD PART IS YOU WILL NOT FIX IT. WARRANT MY BEHIND CHEVY NEED A LIFETIME OF RECALLS FOR EVERYONE ON ALL CARS. MAY JESUS BE WITH YOUR COMPANY. SINCERELY A MOTHER OF 3 BOYS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2016 - OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME
I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT IN ROYALTON, VT TRAVELING FROM BURLINGTON, VT WHERE I WAS VISITING FAMILY TO MY HOME IN MAINE. I WENT OFF THE ROAD INTO THE DITCH IN THE MEDIAN, I'M NOT SURE WHY BUT THEY THINK I MAY HAVE HIT SOME BLACK ICE. I ENDED UP IN THE DARTMOUTH HOSPITAL REQUIRING MAJOR SURGERY TO MY BACK AS WELL AS SOME OTHER PROBLEMS. I SPENT 6 WEEKS IN REHAB LEARNING HOW TO WALK AGAIN. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE. I WAS WORRIED MORE ABOUT MY RECOVERY AT THE TIME AND NOT ABOUT WHY MY AIR BAGS DIDN'T INFLATE BUT I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL RECALLS LATELY THAT ADDRESS THE ISSUE. I TRADED IN THE CAR A COUPLE OF YEARS LATER SO I DID NOT GET ANY NOTICES ABOUT THE PROBLEM.. I UNDERSTAND THERE HAS BEEN A LAWSUIT FILED BUT I WAS NEVER CONTACTED ABOUT IT - PROBABLY BECAUSE I NO LONGER HAVE THE CAR. I WOULD LIKE SOME RESOLUTION TO THIS SITUATION

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/19/2016 - MELROSE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE PARKED, BOTH REAR DOORS FAILED TO UNLOCK FROM THE OUTSIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC LOCK ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2016 - WANTAGH, NY
A MECHANIC HAD TO REPLACE THE IGNITION LOCK SOLENOID. THE KEY GOT STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND IT COULD NOT BE REMOVED UNTIL IT WAS REPAIRED. I AM REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT FROM MY REPAIR. THERE WAS A RECALL ISSUED ON JUNE 20, 2014 FOR AN UNINTENDED IGNITION KEY ROTATION APPARENTLY THIS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM I HAD IN 2013 THEREFORE I WOULD LIKE REIMBURSEMENT

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2016 - CLAIRTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. AS SOON AS THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE REDUCE ENGINE POWER AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR APPROXIMATELY 6 MILES AT 25 MPH BEFORE THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE ENGINE POWER OFF AND STARTED DISABLED WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO A COMPLETE STOP. AFTER A FEW MINUTES, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND OPERATED NORMALLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED MANY TIMES DURING TWO YEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/27/2016 - VACERIE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE A/C FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED IN 2012 FOR THE ACTUATOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/24/2016 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
REAR PASSENGER DOOR LOCKS DO NOT FUNCTION ELECTRICALLY WHEN THE VEHICLE IS WARM. AUTOMATIC LOCK FUNCTION WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PLACED IN 'DRIVE' DOES NOT FUNCTION UNDER THESE CIRCUMSTANCES. DUE TO THE POSITION OF THE MANUAL LOCK RELEASES, IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE REAR DOORS MANUALLY. IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION, IF THE REAR DOOR LOCKS DO NOT FUNCTION, IT CAN DELAY ESCAPE FROM THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/24/2016 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
REAR PASSENGER DOOR LOCKS DO NOT FUNCTION ELECTRICALLY WHEN THE VEHICLE IS WARM. AUTOMATIC LOCK FUNCTION WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PLACED IN 'DRIVE' DOES NOT FUNCTION UNDER THESE CIRCUMSTANCES. DUE TO THE POSITION OF THE MANUAL LOCK RELEASES, IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE REAR DOORS MANUALLY. IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION, IF THE REAR DOOR LOCKS DO NOT FUNCTION, IT CAN DELAY ESCAPE FROM THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds