Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 417 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (49) Steering (50) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (82) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (7) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (42)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (93) Visibility (6)
Engine (57) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (25) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (18)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/29/2014 - GROSSPOINT PARK, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, HE HAD NOTICED THE DEFROSTER SYSTEM WAS NOT PROPERLY DEFROSTING THE REAR WINDOW AND WAS AFFECTING HIS VISIBILITY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE WIRING HARNESS HAD OVERHEATED AND WAS NOT CARRYING ENOUGH VOLTAGE FOR THE VEHICLE. THE MECHANIC ALSO STATED THAT WHERE THE CONNECTOR WAS LOCATED,THE WIRING HARNESS WAS SMOLDERED AND COULD CAUSE A FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.GB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2014 - NORWALK, CT
WHEN I STOP AT A LIGHT OR JUST COME TO A COMPLETE STOP MY CAR DOESNT SEEM TO WANT TO GO WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS. ALL OF A SUDDEN IT SHUDDERS AND JERKS FORWARD. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN THE ROADS ARE SLIPPERY! THIS HAPPENED JUST AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED, BUT I AM GUESSING THAT IT ONLY HAD ABOUT 46,000 MILES ON THE CAR. MY DEALER SAID I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO LOOK AT THE CAR, COULD RUN INTO ALOT OF MONEY, OR WAIT FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. I HAVE SEEN ALOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ONLINE IN DIFFERENT IMPALA FORUMS. GM SAID ITS OUT OF WARRANTY AND BASICALLY NOT OUR PROBLEM. ALSO, ALL 4 OF MY TIRES WERE WORN OUT ON THE INSIDE AFTER ONLY 20,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

7/23/2014 - GALLION, AL
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION FAILED AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. IN ADDITION, THE IGNITION HAD BECOME STUCK AND PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM TURNING OFF. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY FOR THREE YEARS. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE DIAGNOSIS WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,134. JCC

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/21/2014 - OAKLAND TOWNSHIP, MI
TH ENGINE OF MY 2008 IMPALA COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON TWO OCCASIONS APPROXIMATELY TWO YEARS AGO AFTER HITTING A RELATIVELY LARGE POT HOLE. IN THE FIRST INCIDENT, I WAS TRAVELING WEST BOUND ON SNELL ROAD (OAKLAND TOWNSHIP, MI) BETWEEN ORION AND ROCHESTER ROAD AND HIT A LARGE POT HOLE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES PER HOUR AND THE VEHICLE ENGINE AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. AS I RECALL, I STEERED THE VEHICLE (MANUALLY) TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. NO OTHER CARS WERE COMING EITHER WAY. A SIMILAR INCIDENT HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY 3 MONTHS LATER AS I WAS HEADING EASTBOUND ON SNELL ROAD BETWEEN MT. VERNON AND ROCHESTER ROAD. WHEN THE GM IGNITION RECALLS STARTED, I DID NOT CORRELATE THESE INCIDENTS WITH THE RECALL. HOWEVER, WHEN I READ A NEWSPAPER ACCOUNT RECENTLY OF A GM EMPLOYEE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SITUATION WITH HER 2006 IMPALA, I REALIZED IT MUST HAVE BEEN AN IGNITION ISSUE AS WELL. I ASSUMED THE 2008 IMPALA WOULD BE RECALLED LIKE THE 2006 IMPALA BUT TO DATE, I THE 2008 IMPALA HAS NOT YET BEEN RECALLED. PLEASE CONTACT ME WITH ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - OAKLAND TOWNSHIP, MI
TH ENGINE OF MY 2008 IMPALA COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON TWO OCCASIONS APPROXIMATELY TWO YEARS AGO AFTER HITTING A RELATIVELY LARGE POT HOLE. IN THE FIRST INCIDENT, I WAS TRAVELING WEST BOUND ON SNELL ROAD (OAKLAND TOWNSHIP, MI) BETWEEN ORION AND ROCHESTER ROAD AND HIT A LARGE POT HOLE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES PER HOUR AND THE VEHICLE ENGINE AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. AS I RECALL, I STEERED THE VEHICLE (MANUALLY) TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. NO OTHER CARS WERE COMING EITHER WAY. A SIMILAR INCIDENT HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY 3 MONTHS LATER AS I WAS HEADING EASTBOUND ON SNELL ROAD BETWEEN MT. VERNON AND ROCHESTER ROAD. WHEN THE GM IGNITION RECALLS STARTED, I DID NOT CORRELATE THESE INCIDENTS WITH THE RECALL. HOWEVER, WHEN I READ A NEWSPAPER ACCOUNT RECENTLY OF A GM EMPLOYEE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SITUATION WITH HER 2006 IMPALA, I REALIZED IT MUST HAVE BEEN AN IGNITION ISSUE AS WELL. I ASSUMED THE 2008 IMPALA WOULD BE RECALLED LIKE THE 2006 IMPALA BUT TO DATE, I THE 2008 IMPALA HAS NOT YET BEEN RECALLED. PLEASE CONTACT ME WITH ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2014 - LENA, MS
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 210,000. PAM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

7/18/2014 - ST LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY COULD BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION WHEN THE IGNITION WAS IN THE ON POSITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - ST LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY COULD BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION WHEN THE IGNITION WAS IN THE ON POSITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/16/2014 - SUMMERHILL, PA
EXCESSIVE LEFT SIDE TIRE WEAR, ESPECIALLY LEFT REAR. LEFT SIDE TIRES NEED REPLACED EVERY 34 THOUSAND MILES. I GUESS THE LEFT REAR WOULD GO FASTER IF I DID NOT ROTATE THE TIRES TO TO SPREAD THE WEAR. CAR WHEN BOUGHT CAME WITH REPLACEMENT TIRES AT 34 THOUSAND MILES, I REPLACED THEM AT 67 THOUSAND AND 102 THOUSAND. PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. I KEEP AN EYE ON THEM, OTHERWISE LEFT REAR TIRE WOULD LIKELY HAVE BEEN DESTROYED BY THIS CONDITION. AT 67K MILES FIRESTONE SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TO DRILL HOLES TO ALIGN CAR PROPERLY. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM, ESPECIALLY SINCE THE WEAR IS ON THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE WHERE MOST FOLKS DON'T LOOK. I CALLED AND MAILED GM AND THEY DON'T CARE, GUESS WE NEED SOME ACCIDENTS FIRST.

View Details

WHEELS

7/16/2014 - SUMMERHILL, PA
EXCESSIVE LEFT SIDE TIRE WEAR, ESPECIALLY LEFT REAR. LEFT SIDE TIRES NEED REPLACED EVERY 34 THOUSAND MILES. I GUESS THE LEFT REAR WOULD GO FASTER IF I DID NOT ROTATE THE TIRES TO TO SPREAD THE WEAR. CAR WHEN BOUGHT CAME WITH REPLACEMENT TIRES AT 34 THOUSAND MILES, I REPLACED THEM AT 67 THOUSAND AND 102 THOUSAND. PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. I KEEP AN EYE ON THEM, OTHERWISE LEFT REAR TIRE WOULD LIKELY HAVE BEEN DESTROYED BY THIS CONDITION. AT 67K MILES FIRESTONE SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TO DRILL HOLES TO ALIGN CAR PROPERLY. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM, ESPECIALLY SINCE THE WEAR IS ON THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE WHERE MOST FOLKS DON'T LOOK. I CALLED AND MAILED GM AND THEY DON'T CARE, GUESS WE NEED SOME ACCIDENTS FIRST.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds