Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 496 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (57) Steering (56) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (116) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (51)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (98) Visibility (8)
Engine (67) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (25) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (21)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, TN
THERE IS A LOUD CLICKING IN THE AREA OF THE AC/HEATING UNIT. IT IS AFFECTED BY LOCKING/UNLOCKING DOORS, OPENING/CLOSING DOORS, TURNING AC/HEAT OFF & ON. THE CLICKING USUALLY LASTS FOR AT LEAST A MINUTE AND CAN START/STOP WHILE DRIVING. THE TECHNICIANS AT JIFFY LUBE SAID THEY KNOW OF SEVERAL GM VEHICLES THAT HAS THIS SAME PROBLEM. SEEMS TO ME THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THEM. WHAT IS THE PROBLEM AND THE FIX? THANKS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN SHE WOULD TURN THE KEY TO THE OFF POSITION TO TAKE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION,THE KEY HAD FAILED TO EJECT. THE KEY HAD TO BE TAMPERED WITH IN ORDER TO EJECT PROPERLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.THE VIN WAS NO VALID.GB

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH,THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED WITH A MESSAGE THE THROTTLE SENSOR WILL SHUT DOWN. THE CONTACT STATED SHORTLY AFTER THAT MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO INDEPENDENT MECHANIC THE DIAGNOSED FAILURE OF POSITION THROTTLE SENSOR. THE CONTACT STATED SHE REPLACED THE POSITION THROTTLE SENSOR TWICE AND THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65, 000. LB

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2014 - ELLSWORTH AFB, SD
WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE TRYING TO CLEAR DEBRIS FROM WINDSHIELD TRAVELING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS OF 65MPH+. WINDSHIELD WIPERS MADE ONE SWEEP, WHEN ACTIVATED AGAIN, MOTOR CLICKED AND WIPERS SEIZED IN PARTIAL UP POSITION CREATING VISIBILITY HAZARD. CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO GET WIPERS TO FUNCTION WITH NO LUCK. STOPPED VEHICLE, SHUTDOWN AND RESTARTED, ATTEMPTED USE OF WIPERS AGAIN STILL WOULD NOT FUNCTION. FUSE CHECKED AND STILL GOOD.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/24/2014 - ELLSWORTH AFB, SD
WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE TRYING TO CLEAR DEBRIS FROM WINDSHIELD TRAVELING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS OF 65MPH+. WINDSHIELD WIPERS MADE ONE SWEEP, WHEN ACTIVATED AGAIN, MOTOR CLICKED AND WIPERS SEIZED IN PARTIAL UP POSITION CREATING VISIBILITY HAZARD. CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO GET WIPERS TO FUNCTION WITH NO LUCK. STOPPED VEHICLE, SHUTDOWN AND RESTARTED, ATTEMPTED USE OF WIPERS AGAIN STILL WOULD NOT FUNCTION. FUSE CHECKED AND STILL GOOD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/22/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT, THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE STARTS TO CUT OFF. I HAVE SENT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE EVEN CALLED THE CHEVROLET CORPORATE OFFICE. EACH TIME I GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THE FIRST TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS SENSORS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACE AND THAT IT WOULD COST $1200. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE SPARK PLUGS THAT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN AND THE COST WOULD BE AROUND $400 OR $500. THE FIRST SERVICE IN JULY MY RECEIPT SAYS THEY DID A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION WOULD THAT NOT TELL THEM MY PLUGS WERE BAD? MY CAR IS STILL AT FRIENDLY CHEVROLET IN DALLAS CAN YOU PLEASE HELP. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR AND SHE A HIGH RISK PREGNANCY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/22/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT, THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE STARTS TO CUT OFF. I HAVE SENT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE EVEN CALLED THE CHEVROLET CORPORATE OFFICE. EACH TIME I GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THE FIRST TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS SENSORS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACE AND THAT IT WOULD COST $1200. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE SPARK PLUGS THAT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN AND THE COST WOULD BE AROUND $400 OR $500. THE FIRST SERVICE IN JULY MY RECEIPT SAYS THEY DID A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION WOULD THAT NOT TELL THEM MY PLUGS WERE BAD? MY CAR IS STILL AT FRIENDLY CHEVROLET IN DALLAS CAN YOU PLEASE HELP. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR AND SHE A HIGH RISK PREGNANCY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT, THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE STARTS TO CUT OFF. I HAVE SENT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE EVEN CALLED THE CHEVROLET CORPORATE OFFICE. EACH TIME I GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THE FIRST TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS SENSORS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACE AND THAT IT WOULD COST $1200. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE SPARK PLUGS THAT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN AND THE COST WOULD BE AROUND $400 OR $500. THE FIRST SERVICE IN JULY MY RECEIPT SAYS THEY DID A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION WOULD THAT NOT TELL THEM MY PLUGS WERE BAD? MY CAR IS STILL AT FRIENDLY CHEVROLET IN DALLAS CAN YOU PLEASE HELP. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR AND SHE A HIGH RISK PREGNANCY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2014 - FORT LAUDERDALE , FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THE ELECTRONIC KEY FAILED TO UNLOCK THE DOORS AND HAD TO BE OPENED MANUALLY. HOWEVER, THE DOORS AUTOMATIC LOCK SYSTEM ACTIVATED WHEN THE ENGINE WAS STARTED AND WHEN THE ENGINE WAS OFF THE ELECTRONIC LOCK SYSTEM FAILED TO UNLOCK THE DOORS. THE CONTACT HAD TO DRIVE WITH THE WINDOWS OPENED IN ORDER TO OPEN THE DOORS BY USING THE EXTERIOR HANDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM NEEDED TO REPLACE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. PAM

View Details

STEERING

10/17/2014 - ROCHESTER, NH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE ON, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AS ALL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. PAM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds