Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 512 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (57) Steering (61) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (119) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (52)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (99) Visibility (8)
Engine (69) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (25) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (22)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/21/2014 - MONROE, GA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. DDR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/21/2014 - MONROE, GA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. DDR

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/20/2014 - JACKSON, MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATES THAT THE VEHICLE REAR SUSPENSION SYSTEM IS WEARING THE TIRES. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE REAR TIRES HAD TO BE REPLACED APPROXIMATELY EVERY SIX MONTHS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THIS ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. BP

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/19/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT HAD ILLUMINATED AND THE MESSAGE TO SERVICE THE AIR BAGS SOON HAD DISPLAYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000. JFT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
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

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
I STARTED GETTING THIS CLICKING NOISE BEHIND THE GLOVE BOX ON MY 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. MY MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT IT WAS THE RIGHT SIDE TEMP DOOR ACCUATOR AND THE AIR INLET DOOR ACCUATOR. THEY REPLACED BOTH AND THE CLICKING NOISE WENT AWAY AND CONTROLS WORKED FINE AGAIN. NOW IN NOVEMBER, 2014, THE SAME THING IS HAPPENING. FROM ALL THAT I HAVE READ THE ACCUATORS ARE MANUFACTURED WITH CHEAP PLASTIC GEARS THAT DON'T LAST. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME NATURE ON LINE. IN SOUTHERN FLORIDA, AIR CONDITIONING IN THE CAR IS A ABSOLUTE NECESSITY AND IT GETS VERY EXPENSIVE TO CONTINUE TO FIX THE DEFECTIVE PARTS. THIS PROBLEM WILL CERTAINLY BE A DETERMINING FACTOR WHEN I DECIDE TO BUY ANOTHER NEW VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

11/17/2014 - BREWSTER, , MA
AFTER GOING THROUGH A SMALL PUDDLE, SERP BELT SLIPS, LOSE POWER STEERING, CANT HARDLY CONTROL CAR. IF IT HAPPENED WITH MY WIFE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC COULD BE VERY BAD. WENT TO BEARD CHEVROLET A MONTH AGO (THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SEVERAL MOS) AND WAS TOLD IT'S NORMAL, AND IN NEW CARS THEY WENT TO ELECTRIC PS BECAUSE OF IT. THAT DOESNT CONSOLE ME WITH AN OTHERWISE PERFECTLY RUNNING CAR. I HAD REPLACED THE TENSIONER AND SERP BELT ALREADY BEFORE GOING TO THE DEALER.

View Details

WHEELS

11/10/2014 - JACKSON, MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED HE OWNS MICHELIN TIRES (P225/60R/16) AND THE TIRES ARE WEARING OUT TO FAST FOR THE VEHICLE. THE TIRES WHERE REPLACE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. RWK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/10/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
I HAVE BEEN HAVING A PROBLEM WITH THE AC VENT TRYING TO CLOSE WHEN I SHUT OFF THE CAR. IT MAKES A LOUD SPUTTERING CLUNKING SOUND AFTER THE CAR SHUTS OFF. I WAS TOLD IT IS THE VENT TRYING TO CLOSE AND WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE A MOTOR FOR $2-300 PLUS LABOR. ANYTIME I START THE CAR UP, IT MAKES A HIGH PITCH SQUEALING SOUND UNDER THE HOOD AND STOPS WHEN I BACK OUT OF PARK.

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2014 - JACKSON, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE PULLER AND POWER STEERING PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds