Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 492 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (58) Steering (55) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (115) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (48)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (98) Visibility (8)
Engine (65) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (25) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (21)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/24/2014 - ELLSWORTH AFB, SD
WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE TRYING TO CLEAR DEBRIS FROM WINDSHIELD TRAVELING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS OF 65MPH+. WINDSHIELD WIPERS MADE ONE SWEEP, WHEN ACTIVATED AGAIN, MOTOR CLICKED AND WIPERS SEIZED IN PARTIAL UP POSITION CREATING VISIBILITY HAZARD. CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO GET WIPERS TO FUNCTION WITH NO LUCK. STOPPED VEHICLE, SHUTDOWN AND RESTARTED, ATTEMPTED USE OF WIPERS AGAIN STILL WOULD NOT FUNCTION. FUSE CHECKED AND STILL GOOD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2014 - ELLSWORTH AFB, SD
WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE TRYING TO CLEAR DEBRIS FROM WINDSHIELD TRAVELING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS OF 65MPH+. WINDSHIELD WIPERS MADE ONE SWEEP, WHEN ACTIVATED AGAIN, MOTOR CLICKED AND WIPERS SEIZED IN PARTIAL UP POSITION CREATING VISIBILITY HAZARD. CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO GET WIPERS TO FUNCTION WITH NO LUCK. STOPPED VEHICLE, SHUTDOWN AND RESTARTED, ATTEMPTED USE OF WIPERS AGAIN STILL WOULD NOT FUNCTION. FUSE CHECKED AND STILL GOOD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/22/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT, THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE STARTS TO CUT OFF. I HAVE SENT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE EVEN CALLED THE CHEVROLET CORPORATE OFFICE. EACH TIME I GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THE FIRST TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS SENSORS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACE AND THAT IT WOULD COST $1200. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE SPARK PLUGS THAT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN AND THE COST WOULD BE AROUND $400 OR $500. THE FIRST SERVICE IN JULY MY RECEIPT SAYS THEY DID A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION WOULD THAT NOT TELL THEM MY PLUGS WERE BAD? MY CAR IS STILL AT FRIENDLY CHEVROLET IN DALLAS CAN YOU PLEASE HELP. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR AND SHE A HIGH RISK PREGNANCY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/22/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT, THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE STARTS TO CUT OFF. I HAVE SENT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE EVEN CALLED THE CHEVROLET CORPORATE OFFICE. EACH TIME I GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THE FIRST TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS SENSORS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACE AND THAT IT WOULD COST $1200. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE SPARK PLUGS THAT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN AND THE COST WOULD BE AROUND $400 OR $500. THE FIRST SERVICE IN JULY MY RECEIPT SAYS THEY DID A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION WOULD THAT NOT TELL THEM MY PLUGS WERE BAD? MY CAR IS STILL AT FRIENDLY CHEVROLET IN DALLAS CAN YOU PLEASE HELP. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR AND SHE A HIGH RISK PREGNANCY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT, THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE STARTS TO CUT OFF. I HAVE SENT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE EVEN CALLED THE CHEVROLET CORPORATE OFFICE. EACH TIME I GET A DIFFERENT ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THE FIRST TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS SENSORS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACE AND THAT IT WOULD COST $1200. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE SPARK PLUGS THAT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN AND THE COST WOULD BE AROUND $400 OR $500. THE FIRST SERVICE IN JULY MY RECEIPT SAYS THEY DID A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION WOULD THAT NOT TELL THEM MY PLUGS WERE BAD? MY CAR IS STILL AT FRIENDLY CHEVROLET IN DALLAS CAN YOU PLEASE HELP. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR AND SHE A HIGH RISK PREGNANCY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2014 - FORT LAUDERDALE , FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THE ELECTRONIC KEY FAILED TO UNLOCK THE DOORS HAD TO BE OPENED MANUALLY HOWEVER THE DOORS AUTOMATIC LOCK SYSTEM ACTIVATED WHEN THE ENGINE WAS STARTED AND WHEN THE ENGINE WAS OFF THE ELECTRONIC LOCK SYSTEM FAILED TO UNLOCK THE DOORS. THE CONTACT HAD TO DRIVE WITH THE WINDOWS OPENED TO BE ABLE TO OPEN THE DOORS WITH OUTSIDE DOOR HANDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER A DIAGNOSTIC WAS PERFORMED WHICH ADVISED THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM NEEDED TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. LI

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - ROCHESTER, NH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STARTED AND THE GEAR WAS SWITCHED, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN WHILE ALL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. SS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/14/2014 - FLINT, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE FROM A STANDING START AND WHILE PRESSING THE FUEL PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD EXPERIENCE A HESITATION AND WOULD NOT IMMEDIATELY RESPOND BEFORE OPERATING AS NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,000. JFT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/14/2014 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE DOORS ARE OPEN, SHE WOULD HEAR AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED THE NOISE WOULD GO OFF. THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000. NE

View Details

ENGINE

10/11/2014 - SALINE, MI
THROTTLE DISABLE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN, INCLUDING STEERING. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE. THE FIRST TIME WAS JANUARY OF 2014, SPEED WAS APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH. WE WERE ABLE TO STEER THE CAR INTO A NEIGHBORHOOD AND AFTER ABOUT 30-40 MINUTES, THE ENGINE STARTED AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY, IN A MUCH MORE DANGEROUS SITUATION. I WAS ENTERING A HIGHWAY WITH TRAFFIC TRAVELLING AT AND ABOVE POSTED SPEED OF 70 MPH. AS I MERGED, THE THROTTLE DISABLED LIGHT FLASHED ON AND THE ENGINE IMMEDIATELY SHUT DOWN. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO STEER THE CAR ONTO THE SHOULDER. I TRULY FEEL MY LIFE WAS IN DANGER. THE VEHICLE STARTED AFTER ABOUT 30 MINUTES OF ME SITTING ON THE VERY BUSY SHOULDER OF THIS HIGHWAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds