Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 568 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (62) Steering (69) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (143) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (8) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (57)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (102) Visibility (8)
Engine (79) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (26) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (24)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (39)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ENGINE LOSING POWER WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2015 - HOWELL, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,500.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/24/2015 - HOWELL, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
AS I WAS DRIVING, I GOT A NOTIFICATION ON MY DASHBOARD THAT READ "ENGINE POWER REDUCED SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL". I CONTINUED TO DRIVE TO MY DESTINATION OR SOMEWHERE I COULD SAFELY PULL OVER. AS I DROVE, THE POWER TO MY VEHICLE HAD REDUCED SIGNIFICANTLY. DURING THIS TIME, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AS WELL AS THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT STAYED ON. AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES OR SO, THE LIGHTS WENT OFF AND THE CAR BEGIN TO OPERATE WITHOUT INCIDENT. AFTER THE DAY OF THE INITIAL INCIDENT, I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM OCCUR 2 MORE TIMES ON 2 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. I HAVE HAD MY CAR SINCE 2011 AND I HAVE HAD NO ACCIDENTS SO I AM NOT SURE WHERE OR WHY THIS ISSUE IS HAPPENING BUT I AM DEFINITELY NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT. I AM ALSO HAVING ISSUES WITH A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM MY GLOVEBOX AS WELL AS THE AIRBAGS LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON. IS THERE A RECALL THAT I AM NOT AWARE OF THAT AFFECTS THESE ISSUES? IF NOT, WHAT CAN BE DONE TO RECTIFY THIS PROBLEM. I AM A PROUD CHEVY OWNER AND WOULD LIKE TO REMAIN LOYAL TO CHEVY HOWEVER IF I AM NOT ABLE TO GET SOME SORT OF RESOLUTION FOR THESE PROBLEMS, I MAY HAVE TO LOOK AT GOING TO A DIFFERENT MANUFACTURER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/24/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
AS I WAS DRIVING, I GOT A NOTIFICATION ON MY DASHBOARD THAT READ "ENGINE POWER REDUCED SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL". I CONTINUED TO DRIVE TO MY DESTINATION OR SOMEWHERE I COULD SAFELY PULL OVER. AS I DROVE, THE POWER TO MY VEHICLE HAD REDUCED SIGNIFICANTLY. DURING THIS TIME, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AS WELL AS THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT STAYED ON. AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES OR SO, THE LIGHTS WENT OFF AND THE CAR BEGIN TO OPERATE WITHOUT INCIDENT. AFTER THE DAY OF THE INITIAL INCIDENT, I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM OCCUR 2 MORE TIMES ON 2 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. I HAVE HAD MY CAR SINCE 2011 AND I HAVE HAD NO ACCIDENTS SO I AM NOT SURE WHERE OR WHY THIS ISSUE IS HAPPENING BUT I AM DEFINITELY NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT. I AM ALSO HAVING ISSUES WITH A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM MY GLOVEBOX AS WELL AS THE AIRBAGS LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON. IS THERE A RECALL THAT I AM NOT AWARE OF THAT AFFECTS THESE ISSUES? IF NOT, WHAT CAN BE DONE TO RECTIFY THIS PROBLEM. I AM A PROUD CHEVY OWNER AND WOULD LIKE TO REMAIN LOYAL TO CHEVY HOWEVER IF I AM NOT ABLE TO GET SOME SORT OF RESOLUTION FOR THESE PROBLEMS, I MAY HAVE TO LOOK AT GOING TO A DIFFERENT MANUFACTURER.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2015 - FRANKLIN SQUARE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2015 - CARMEL, IN
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY (60MPH), WITHOUT WARNING THE CAR SLOWS TO 20MPH AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON WITH AN ERROR MESSAGE ABOUT THE TRACTION CONTROL. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION, BUT I WAS NOT REAR-ENDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/18/2015 - RAYNE, LA
THE SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED MESSESGE APPEARS. THE ENTIRE CAR SHUTS DOWN AND YOU CAN NOT ACCELERATE. I WAS ON THE FREEWAY AND COULD HAVE BEEN HIT FROM BEHIND. I IMMEDIATELY PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME, HAPPENED AGAIN THIS MONTH(MARCH). TAKING TO CHEVY DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSIS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2015 - RAYNE, LA
THE SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED MESSESGE APPEARS. THE ENTIRE CAR SHUTS DOWN AND YOU CAN NOT ACCELERATE. I WAS ON THE FREEWAY AND COULD HAVE BEEN HIT FROM BEHIND. I IMMEDIATELY PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME, HAPPENED AGAIN THIS MONTH(MARCH). TAKING TO CHEVY DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2015 - BRISTOL, CT
I WAS STRUCK BY A TRUCK THAT WENT THOUGH A BLINKING RED. HE STATED HE WAS JUST PULLING OUT. I SAW HIS VEHICLE ENTERING THE INTERSECTION ON MY RIGHT, SLOWED DOWN AND PULLED OVER AS FAR AS POSSIBLE TO MY LEFT, TO THE EDGE OF THE ROAD AND THE SNOW BANK. HE IMPACTED MY PASSENGER SIDE DOOR AND FRONT FENDER,HEAD LIGHT AND BUMPER. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY NOR DID THE ONSTAR AUTO CALL FOR HELP. I HAVE ALREADY BEEN IN CONTACT AND ONSTAR TOLD ME I SHOULD HAVE PUSHED THE BUTTON. GM SAID I SHOULD HAVE PUSHED THE BUTTON BUT HAS OPENED AN INVESTIGATION AS TO WHAT HAPPENED. THEY HAVE ALREADY CONTACTED MY AUTO INSURANCE, WHO THEN CONTACTED ME FOR PERMISSION TO INSPECT AND COLLECT INFORMATION FROM MY VEHICLE. BOTH INSURANCE COMPANIES AGREED THAT MY CAR WAS TOTALED, OVER $9,500 IN DAMAGES WITHOUT BEING TAKEN APART OR PUT ON A LIFT. I WAS TAKEN AWAY BY AMBULANCE WITH INJURIES TO MY NECK, SHOULDER AND BACK WHICH I AM STILL RECOVERING FROM. THE OTHER DRIVER WAS FOUND AT FAULT AN RECEIVED A CITATION. I CALLED THE POLICE FROM MY PERSONAL CELL PHONE. I ENDED UP IN THE ER WITH INJURIES TO MY LEFT SHOULDER, NECK AND LOWER BACK WHICH I AM STILL RECOVERING FROM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds