Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 580 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (62) Steering (70) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (146) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (8) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (58)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (105) Visibility (9)
Engine (85) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (28) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (14) Wheels (26)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (41)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/11/2015 - GRAYSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AS THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ENGINE SPEED REDUCED WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

5/11/2015 - GRAYSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AS THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ENGINE SPEED REDUCED WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2015 - JEFFERSON , LA
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND THE ENGINE SLOWS DOWN , THEN THE REDUCED SPEED LIGHT COMES ON. THE ENGINE POWER IS VERY SLOW ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED. I HAVE READ ON LINE THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED ALOT TO THIS PARITCAL VEHICLE, WHY HASNT CHEVY RECALLED ANY YET . THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/23/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE IGNITION KEY BECAME STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS UNTIL THE KEY WAS UNABLE TO BE REMOVED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT RELATED TO THE RECALL. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

4/23/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH REAR TIRES HAD TO BE REPLACED EVERY THREE TO FOUR MONTHS DUE TO THE INSIDE OF THE TREAD WEARING DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR AXLE SPINDLE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/16/2015 - LAKE TAPPS, WA
SUBJECT: 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA REAR TIRE WEAR. CASE # 71-1461945158 VIN # IS 2G1WT55N681243808 WE ARE HAVING A PROBLEM WITH OUR 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. OUR REAR TIRES ARE WEARING OUT TWICE AS FAST AS THE FRONT TIRES. I WENT TO COSTCO YESTERDAY TO HAVE MY TIRES ROTATED, AFTER LOOKING AT THE REAR TIRES WE HAD TO BUY NEW ONES BECAUSE THE BACK TIRES WERE WORN DOWN TO THE METAL BACKING, THE FRONT TIRES WERE STILL GOOD. ONLY ONE HALF OF THE WARRANTY HAD BEEN USED. THE TIRES WERE MICHELIN X-RADIAL DT MICH PASSENGER S/T P225/60R16 BW MSPN 17457 TIRES WITH AN 80,000 MILE WARRANTY. WE ENDED UP BUYING FOUR NEW MICHELIN TIRES FOR AROUND $600.00. THE COSTCO GUY THOUGHT THAT SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG WITH THE CAR. AFTER I GOT HOME I CHECKED ON THE INTERNET AS TO WHAT COULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE 2007 AND 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA'S. THERE HAD BEEN A SERVICE BULLETIN #08032A SENT OUT IN 2011 TO REPLACE THE SPINDLE RODS ON ALL THE 2007 AND 2008 IMPALA'S THAT WERE SOLD AS POLICE CARS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM THAT THEY WERE HAVING WITH REAR TIRE WEAR. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THAT SERVICE BULLETIN EXTENDED ALL THE OTHER 2007 AND 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA'S. THE PART NUMBER FOR THE SPINDLE ROD IS THE SAME ON ALL 2008 IMPALAS, POLICE OR NON POLICE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEM AND PEOPLE ARE GOING TO BE KILLED IF THIS PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED, YOU JUST DON'T EXPECT THE TIRES TO WEAR OUT SO FAST. WE HAD JUST FINISHED A TRIP WERE WE DROVE FREEWAY SPEEDS UP TO 75 MILES AN HOUR. AFTER SEEING OUR TIRES I DON'T KNOW HOW WE KEEP FROM HAVING A BLOW OUT ON THE BACK TIRES. I THINK THAT LOTS OF ACCIDENTS HAVE HAPPENED WITH THESE 2007 AND 2008 CHEVY IMPALAS WITH TIRES BLOWING OUT BECAUSE REAR TIRE WEAR BECAUSE THE SPINDLE BOLTS ARE ENGINEERED WRONG AND EVERY ONE THINKS ITS THE TIRES FAULT.. GM NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM AND REPLACE THE FOUR SPINDLE BOLTS.

View Details

WHEELS

4/16/2015 - LAKE TAPPS, WA
SUBJECT: 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA REAR TIRE WEAR. CASE # 71-1461945158 VIN # IS 2G1WT55N681243808 WE ARE HAVING A PROBLEM WITH OUR 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. OUR REAR TIRES ARE WEARING OUT TWICE AS FAST AS THE FRONT TIRES. I WENT TO COSTCO YESTERDAY TO HAVE MY TIRES ROTATED, AFTER LOOKING AT THE REAR TIRES WE HAD TO BUY NEW ONES BECAUSE THE BACK TIRES WERE WORN DOWN TO THE METAL BACKING, THE FRONT TIRES WERE STILL GOOD. ONLY ONE HALF OF THE WARRANTY HAD BEEN USED. THE TIRES WERE MICHELIN X-RADIAL DT MICH PASSENGER S/T P225/60R16 BW MSPN 17457 TIRES WITH AN 80,000 MILE WARRANTY. WE ENDED UP BUYING FOUR NEW MICHELIN TIRES FOR AROUND $600.00. THE COSTCO GUY THOUGHT THAT SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG WITH THE CAR. AFTER I GOT HOME I CHECKED ON THE INTERNET AS TO WHAT COULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE 2007 AND 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA'S. THERE HAD BEEN A SERVICE BULLETIN #08032A SENT OUT IN 2011 TO REPLACE THE SPINDLE RODS ON ALL THE 2007 AND 2008 IMPALA'S THAT WERE SOLD AS POLICE CARS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM THAT THEY WERE HAVING WITH REAR TIRE WEAR. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THAT SERVICE BULLETIN EXTENDED ALL THE OTHER 2007 AND 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA'S. THE PART NUMBER FOR THE SPINDLE ROD IS THE SAME ON ALL 2008 IMPALAS, POLICE OR NON POLICE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEM AND PEOPLE ARE GOING TO BE KILLED IF THIS PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED, YOU JUST DON'T EXPECT THE TIRES TO WEAR OUT SO FAST. WE HAD JUST FINISHED A TRIP WERE WE DROVE FREEWAY SPEEDS UP TO 75 MILES AN HOUR. AFTER SEEING OUR TIRES I DON'T KNOW HOW WE KEEP FROM HAVING A BLOW OUT ON THE BACK TIRES. I THINK THAT LOTS OF ACCIDENTS HAVE HAPPENED WITH THESE 2007 AND 2008 CHEVY IMPALAS WITH TIRES BLOWING OUT BECAUSE REAR TIRE WEAR BECAUSE THE SPINDLE BOLTS ARE ENGINEERED WRONG AND EVERY ONE THINKS ITS THE TIRES FAULT.. GM NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM AND REPLACE THE FOUR SPINDLE BOLTS.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2015 - LAKE TAPPS, WA
SUBJECT: 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA REAR TIRE WEAR. CASE # 71-1461945158 VIN # IS 2G1WT55N681243808 WE ARE HAVING A PROBLEM WITH OUR 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. OUR REAR TIRES ARE WEARING OUT TWICE AS FAST AS THE FRONT TIRES. I WENT TO COSTCO YESTERDAY TO HAVE MY TIRES ROTATED, AFTER LOOKING AT THE REAR TIRES WE HAD TO BUY NEW ONES BECAUSE THE BACK TIRES WERE WORN DOWN TO THE METAL BACKING, THE FRONT TIRES WERE STILL GOOD. ONLY ONE HALF OF THE WARRANTY HAD BEEN USED. THE TIRES WERE MICHELIN X-RADIAL DT MICH PASSENGER S/T P225/60R16 BW MSPN 17457 TIRES WITH AN 80,000 MILE WARRANTY. WE ENDED UP BUYING FOUR NEW MICHELIN TIRES FOR AROUND $600.00. THE COSTCO GUY THOUGHT THAT SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG WITH THE CAR. AFTER I GOT HOME I CHECKED ON THE INTERNET AS TO WHAT COULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE 2007 AND 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA'S. THERE HAD BEEN A SERVICE BULLETIN #08032A SENT OUT IN 2011 TO REPLACE THE SPINDLE RODS ON ALL THE 2007 AND 2008 IMPALA'S THAT WERE SOLD AS POLICE CARS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM THAT THEY WERE HAVING WITH REAR TIRE WEAR. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THAT SERVICE BULLETIN EXTENDED ALL THE OTHER 2007 AND 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA'S. THE PART NUMBER FOR THE SPINDLE ROD IS THE SAME ON ALL 2008 IMPALAS, POLICE OR NON POLICE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEM AND PEOPLE ARE GOING TO BE KILLED IF THIS PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED, YOU JUST DON'T EXPECT THE TIRES TO WEAR OUT SO FAST. WE HAD JUST FINISHED A TRIP WERE WE DROVE FREEWAY SPEEDS UP TO 75 MILES AN HOUR. AFTER SEEING OUR TIRES I DON'T KNOW HOW WE KEEP FROM HAVING A BLOW OUT ON THE BACK TIRES. I THINK THAT LOTS OF ACCIDENTS HAVE HAPPENED WITH THESE 2007 AND 2008 CHEVY IMPALAS WITH TIRES BLOWING OUT BECAUSE REAR TIRE WEAR BECAUSE THE SPINDLE BOLTS ARE ENGINEERED WRONG AND EVERY ONE THINKS ITS THE TIRES FAULT.. GM NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM AND REPLACE THE FOUR SPINDLE BOLTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2015 - AUGUSTA, GA
THE CAR WAS PERFORMING WONDERFUL FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. THIS PARTICULAR DAY, I DROVE TO THE STORE, PUT THE CAR IN PARK, ATTEMPT TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND IT WAS STUCK. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, I WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST ONCE WEEKLY, TO ONCE DAILY. THE KEY WOULD NOT SWITCH COMPLETELY OFF LEAVING THE BATTERY SOURCE TO DRAIN AND HAVING TO GET BOOST OR REPLACE BATTERIES MORE OFTEN, WHEN THE RECALL WAS ISSUED, I WAS SOMEWHAT RELIEVED, THINKING THAT THIS WOULD RESOLVE THE ISSUE. FAST FORWARD TO OCTOBER 2014, I THE KEY WAS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AGAIN ON THE PARTICULAR DAY I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR THERE SERVICE. THE SERVICE PERSON WITNESSED THE KEY STUCK IN THE IGNITION. I HAD TO LEAVE THE CAR THERE AND WITH SOME MANIPULATION, HE WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY AND COMPLETE THE SERVICE CALL. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT MANAGER WAS ADAMANT THAT THIS WAS NOT A RECALL ISSUE AND THAT PLACING A HOLE IN THE PLASTIC HUB OF THE KEY WAS TO RELIEVED THE WEIGHT TO PREVENT THE KEY FROM SWITCHING OFF WHILE DRIVE THE VEHICLE. NOW IT IS 2015 AND THIS IS A CONTINUED ISSUE WITH MY CAR. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH (VIA THE WEB) THIS IS HAS BEEN PROBLEMATIC WITH THE CHEVY IMPALA (2006- TO PRESENT) WITH OTHER ISSUES TO INCLUDE UNABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE OF PART, OR WILL NOT START AT ALL. THIS IS NOT A KEY CYLINDER PROBLEM. TODAY I CONTACT GM DIRECTLY (CASE #71-14632344170) CONCERNING THIS ISSUE. REPRESENTATIVE VERY UNDERSTANDING AND ATTEMPTED TO HELP WITH THIS ISSUE. THERE WAS A CONFERENCE CALL WITH A LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND THEY COULD NOT SCHEDULE THE APPOINTMENT UNTIL NEXT TUESDAY. UNDERSTANDING THE KEY HAS BEEN IN THE IGNITION SWITCH SINCE LAST THURSDAY, WITH THE CONSEQUENCES, DEAD BATTERY (TWICE), LEAVING THE CAR RUNNING TO KEEP THE BATTERY FROM DYING WHILE AT CLIENTS HOMES, LOSING WORK BECAUSE I CAN NOT LEAVE THE CAR UNSECURED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/11/2015 - LAKE TAPPS, WA
CASE # 71-1461945158 OUR REAR TIRES ARE WEARING OUT TWICE AS FAST AS THE FRONT TIRES. I WENT TO COSTCO YESTERDAY TO HAVE MY TIRES ROTATED, AFTER LOOKING AT THE REAR TIRES WE HAD TO BUY NEW ONES BECAUSE THE BACK TIRES WERE WORN DOWN TO THE METAL BACKING. . THERE HAD BEEN A SERVICE BULLETIN SENT OUT IN 2011 TO REPLACE THE SPINDLE RODS ON ALL THE 2007 AND 2008 IMPALA'S THAT WERE SOLD AS POLICE CARS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM THAT THEY WERE HAVING WITH REAR TIRE WEAR. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THAT SERVICE BULLETIN EXTENDED ALL THE OTHER 2007 AND 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA'S. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEM AND PEOPLE ARE GOING TO BE KILLED IF THIS PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED YOU JUST DON'T EXPECT THE TIRES TO WEAR OUT SO FAST. WE HAD JUST FINISHED A TRIP WERE WE DROVE FREEWAY SPEEDS UP TO 75 MILES AN HOUR. AFTER SEEING OUR TIRES I DON'T KNOW HOW WE KEEP FROM HAVING A BLOW OUT ON THE BACK TIRES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds