Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 733 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (47) Steering (84) Unknown Or Other (30)
Electrical System (205) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (80) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (81)
Electronic Stability Control (51) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (109) Visibility (11)
Engine (111) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (15) Tires (33) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (20) Wheels (30)
Equipment (8) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

5/2/2018 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE ABOVE 20 MPH. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND AN UNKNOWN SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD START A CASE FILE AND SEND IT OVER TO THEIR TEAM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 138,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2018 - OGDEN, UT
INSTRUMENT PANEL ENGINE HOT AIR CONDITIONAR OFF. TEMP GAUGE STOPPED WORKING AND CAR STARTED IN 30 TEMP AND STILL SHOWED ENGINE HOT AC OFF. CAR WAS STOPPED, STARTED, ON HIGHWAY, IN TOWN DIDNT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/3/2018 - NAMPA, ID
WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP, THE CAR WILL SOMETIMES INITIALLY MOVE FORWARD SLOWLY AND THEN SUDDENLY LAUNCH FORWARD ABOUT 3-5 SECONDS AFTER APPLYING THE ACCELERATOR. IT IS ALSO GIVING A TRACTION LOST INDICATOR WHEN I MAKE SHARP TURNS FROM A STOP AND IT SOUNDS AS IF THERE IS SLIPPING FROM THE FRONT END. REMEDY FOR THIS IS TO BACK OFF THE SHARP TURN SLIGHTLY AND ONCE THE CAR IS ROLLING TURN THE WHEEL MORE SHARPLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2018 - WARMINSTER, PA
BACK DOOR LOCKS WILL NOT OPEN FROM OUTSIDE OF VEHICLE WITH KEY FOB OR WITH INSIDE POWER LOCKS, (NO OUTSIDE KEY ENTRY LOCKS IN BACK DOORS) THEY REMAIN LOCKED AT ALL TIMES AND MY GRANDCHILD MUST CLIMB OVER FRONT SEAT TO GET IN THE BACK OF VEHICLE AND VICE A VERSA TO GET OUT. IF ACCIDENT OCCURS, FIRE STARTS BABY OR CHILD COULD NOT GET OUT!! I HAVE COMPLAINED TO CHEVY THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I HAVE READ OTHER COMPLAINTS THAT ALL FOUR DOOR LOCKS MAY GO AT SOME POINT. THIS IS A DEFECT AND SHOULD BE A RECALL. CHEVY WANTS HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS (EACH DOOR LOCK)TO HAVE THEM FIXED. I HAVE NEVER HAD A VEHICLE THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO IN 41 YEARS OF DRIVING. I HAVE HURT MY OWN BACK TRYING TO REACH TO THE BACK SEAT FROM THE FRONT ONLY. IT STARTED WITH ONE LOCK A FEW YEARS AGO AND THEN THE SECOND ONE STARTED. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/12/2018 - PENDLETON, IN
I WAS DRIVING ON ICY AND SNOWY ROADS AND MY ENGINE POWER REDUCED WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. I DROVE SEVERAL MILES TO MY DESTINATION. MY CAR SAT FOR 6 HOURS. I GOT IN TO LEAVE AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON BUT NOT THE WARNING. AFTER DRIVING ABOUT TEN MILES MY ENGINE POWER REDUCED LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES FOUR YEARS AGO AND IT+S VERY FRUSTRATING TO HAVE IT HAPPENING AGAIN. IT SEEMS TO OCCUR MORE FREQUENTLY WHEN THE ROADWAY IS WET. AFTER READING ONLINE, IT SEEMS THIS IS HAPPENING TO MANY OTHER CHEVROLET CARS ALSO.

View Details

ENGINE

12/28/2017 - WICHITA, KS
LEAKING AND CAN'T IDENTIFY IF FRONT ENGINE COVER OIL IS LEAKING, OR ENGINE OIL FILTER ADAPTER GASKET, OR HEAD GASKET OIL LEAK. HELP! I WAS HAVING MY OIL CHANGED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/28/2017 - WICHITA, KS
LEAKING AND CAN'T IDENTIFY IF FRONT ENGINE COVER OIL IS LEAKING, OR ENGINE OIL FILTER ADAPTER GASKET, OR HEAD GASKET OIL LEAK. HELP! I WAS HAVING MY OIL CHANGED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/26/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CAR WAS IN THE DRIVE WAY, IT WAS ON, THE CAR READ OUT ON THE DASHBOARD + SERVICE AIR BAG+ AND THE SECURITY LOCK CAME ON. CAR SHUT OFF AND NEVER TURNS BACK ON.

View Details

STEERING

11/9/2017 - HIGH ISLAND, TX
WHEN DRIVING OVER WATER OR A VERY WET ROAD MY POWER STEERING QUITS, I OFTEN GET "ALTERNATOR FAILURE" WARNING UNTIL SUCH TIME AS I PASS OVER THE POOLED WATER SPOT IN THE ROAD. I HAD THE ENGINE BELT CHANGED AND IT STILL DOES THIS WHEN DRIVING OVER A POOLED OR LOW SPOT IN A ROADWAY OR PARKING LOT. THIS HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING AT LOW OR HIGHER SPEEDS ON A HIGHWAY, STREET OR PARKING LOT AND/OR GRAVEL AREA WITH POOLED WATER BUT NOT IN A "FLOOD" SITUATION. THIS HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR OVER THREE MONTHS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/31/2017 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND MAKING A TURN IN ANY DIRECTION, A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE EMISSION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, BUT COULD HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY THE FUEL CAP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A FAILURE IN THE LOWER DRIVER SIDE CONTROL ARM, WHICH NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT FOUND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V377000 (SUSPENSION), WHICH ONLY INCLUDED CHEVROLET IMPALA POLICE VEHICLES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 102,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds