Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 664 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (44) Steering (78) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (179) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (70) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (70)
Electronic Stability Control (44) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (9) Suspension (105) Visibility (10)
Engine (102) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (14) Tires (32) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (16) Wheels (28)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/5/2016 - EDDYVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVNG 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STRUCK A DEER. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSAINED INJURIES TO THE HEAD AND CHEST. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 72,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2016 - SHELBYVILLE, MI
WHILE DRIVING ANY SPEED, "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" LIGHT COMES ON. HAPPENED 3 TIMES AND THEN I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GM TOOK TO DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. THEY REPAIRED THROTTLE BODY. CAR STILL ACTED THE SAME AFTER I GOT IT. DUE TO SNOW STORM I DIDN'T DRIVE IT A FEW DAYS. TWO WEEKS LATER, ENGINE POWER REDUCED STARTS AGAIN ON THE HIGHWAY GOING 70MPH (THIS HAS HAPPENED 6 TIMES ALTOGETHER) NOW GM ADVISED ME TO GO BACK TO DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THEY CLAIM IT'S THE GAS PEDAL SENSOR ANS NOT COVERED. REPLACING THE THROTTLE BODY DID NOT ING TO FIX THE ISSUE AND MANY OTHERS HAVE HAS THIS SAME ISSUE. NOW GM REFUSES TO MAKE IT RIGHT AND I'M STUCK WITHOUT A VEHICLE BECAUSE I CAN'T AFFORD REPAIRS AND THE CAR IS WAY TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2016 - SPENCERPORT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. A WARNING MESSAGE IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATED THAT THE POWER WAS GREATLY REDUCED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/26/2016 - PENSACOLA, FL
THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN RECALLED DUE TO AIR BAGS, AND IN A YEAR NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO GET THE REPAIRS DONE TO THE VEHICLE. BUT FURTHERMORE THE CAR HAS SEVERAL OTHER MECHANICAL ISSUES THAT I AM SHOWING AS A TREND WITH IMPALAS BEING THAT MY SISTER AND COUSIN HAVE ONE ALSO IN DIFFERENT YEARS, THE CAR MAKES A TICKING NOISE WHEN THE AIR OR HEAT IS TURNED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DELIVERS OPPOSITE TEMP AS THE DRIVER SO IF AIR IS ON THE PASSENGER WILL DELIVER HEAT AND VICE VERSA. IF THE CAR GOES OVER A SPEED BUMP THE ENGINE REDUCES POWER AND SERVICE STABILITRAK APPEARS ACROSS THE LIGHTING AS WELL AS THE CAR DROPPING OUT OF GEAR IF I GO OVER ANY BUMP. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY BEING THAT MY CHILDREN AND I WERE IN THIS CAR AND IT DECIDED TO DO THIS ON THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT IN 70 MPH TRAFFIC. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON THE VEHICLE I AM SHOWING THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS LISTED, AND IT BOTHERS ME THAT NONE OF THESE ISSUES HAVE BEEN RECALLED JUST AS THE AIR BAGS WERE EVEN THOUGH I THINK THE RECALL, IS JUST TO SAVE FACE BECAUSE NO ONE IS ACTUALLY DOING THE WORK TO GET THEM FIXED. AT FIRST I THOUGHT THESE THINGS WERE JUST MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH AGE OF CAR BUT AFTER RESEARCH THESE ARE ISSUES THAT ARE IN CARS MADE IN THIS TIME FRAME AND WARRANTS A RECALL FOR THE SAFETY OF CONSUMERS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2016 - PENSACOLA, FL
THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN RECALLED DUE TO AIR BAGS, AND IN A YEAR NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO GET THE REPAIRS DONE TO THE VEHICLE. BUT FURTHERMORE THE CAR HAS SEVERAL OTHER MECHANICAL ISSUES THAT I AM SHOWING AS A TREND WITH IMPALAS BEING THAT MY SISTER AND COUSIN HAVE ONE ALSO IN DIFFERENT YEARS, THE CAR MAKES A TICKING NOISE WHEN THE AIR OR HEAT IS TURNED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DELIVERS OPPOSITE TEMP AS THE DRIVER SO IF AIR IS ON THE PASSENGER WILL DELIVER HEAT AND VICE VERSA. IF THE CAR GOES OVER A SPEED BUMP THE ENGINE REDUCES POWER AND SERVICE STABILITRAK APPEARS ACROSS THE LIGHTING AS WELL AS THE CAR DROPPING OUT OF GEAR IF I GO OVER ANY BUMP. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY BEING THAT MY CHILDREN AND I WERE IN THIS CAR AND IT DECIDED TO DO THIS ON THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT IN 70 MPH TRAFFIC. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON THE VEHICLE I AM SHOWING THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS LISTED, AND IT BOTHERS ME THAT NONE OF THESE ISSUES HAVE BEEN RECALLED JUST AS THE AIR BAGS WERE EVEN THOUGH I THINK THE RECALL, IS JUST TO SAVE FACE BECAUSE NO ONE IS ACTUALLY DOING THE WORK TO GET THEM FIXED. AT FIRST I THOUGHT THESE THINGS WERE JUST MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH AGE OF CAR BUT AFTER RESEARCH THESE ARE ISSUES THAT ARE IN CARS MADE IN THIS TIME FRAME AND WARRANTS A RECALL FOR THE SAFETY OF CONSUMERS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/26/2016 - PENSACOLA, FL
THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN RECALLED DUE TO AIR BAGS, AND IN A YEAR NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO GET THE REPAIRS DONE TO THE VEHICLE. BUT FURTHERMORE THE CAR HAS SEVERAL OTHER MECHANICAL ISSUES THAT I AM SHOWING AS A TREND WITH IMPALAS BEING THAT MY SISTER AND COUSIN HAVE ONE ALSO IN DIFFERENT YEARS, THE CAR MAKES A TICKING NOISE WHEN THE AIR OR HEAT IS TURNED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DELIVERS OPPOSITE TEMP AS THE DRIVER SO IF AIR IS ON THE PASSENGER WILL DELIVER HEAT AND VICE VERSA. IF THE CAR GOES OVER A SPEED BUMP THE ENGINE REDUCES POWER AND SERVICE STABILITRAK APPEARS ACROSS THE LIGHTING AS WELL AS THE CAR DROPPING OUT OF GEAR IF I GO OVER ANY BUMP. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY BEING THAT MY CHILDREN AND I WERE IN THIS CAR AND IT DECIDED TO DO THIS ON THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT IN 70 MPH TRAFFIC. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON THE VEHICLE I AM SHOWING THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS LISTED, AND IT BOTHERS ME THAT NONE OF THESE ISSUES HAVE BEEN RECALLED JUST AS THE AIR BAGS WERE EVEN THOUGH I THINK THE RECALL, IS JUST TO SAVE FACE BECAUSE NO ONE IS ACTUALLY DOING THE WORK TO GET THEM FIXED. AT FIRST I THOUGHT THESE THINGS WERE JUST MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH AGE OF CAR BUT AFTER RESEARCH THESE ARE ISSUES THAT ARE IN CARS MADE IN THIS TIME FRAME AND WARRANTS A RECALL FOR THE SAFETY OF CONSUMERS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/23/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
2006-2009 CHEVROLET IMPALA SS TICKING NOISE, ENGINE MISFIRE AND/OR SES LIGHT. THIS MAY BE THE RESULT OF AN AFM (ACTIVE FUEL MANAGEMENT FOR DISPLACEMENT-ON-DEMAND) LIFTER THAT UNLOCKS AS SOON AS THE ENGINE IS STARTED OR ONE THAT IS MECHANICALLY COLLAPSED/STUCK. IF AN AFM LIFTER UNLOCKS AS SOON AS THE ENGINE IS STARTED, A SES LIGHT AND DTC P0300 WILL BE EXPERIENCED WITH ENGINE MISFIRES ON CYLINDER 1, 4, 6 OR 7 BUT IT IS UNLIKELY THAT ANY NOISE WILL BE EXPERIENCED. IF AN AFM LIFTER IS MECHANICALLY COLLAPSED/STUCK, A CONSISTENT VALVETRAIN TICK NOISE, SES LIGHT AND DTC P0300 WILL BE EXPERIENCED WITH ENGINE MISFIRES ON CYLINDER 1, 4, 6 OR 7.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
2006-2009 CHEVROLET IMPALA SS TICKING NOISE, ENGINE MISFIRE AND/OR SES LIGHT. THIS MAY BE THE RESULT OF AN AFM (ACTIVE FUEL MANAGEMENT FOR DISPLACEMENT-ON-DEMAND) LIFTER THAT UNLOCKS AS SOON AS THE ENGINE IS STARTED OR ONE THAT IS MECHANICALLY COLLAPSED/STUCK. IF AN AFM LIFTER UNLOCKS AS SOON AS THE ENGINE IS STARTED, A SES LIGHT AND DTC P0300 WILL BE EXPERIENCED WITH ENGINE MISFIRES ON CYLINDER 1, 4, 6 OR 7 BUT IT IS UNLIKELY THAT ANY NOISE WILL BE EXPERIENCED. IF AN AFM LIFTER IS MECHANICALLY COLLAPSED/STUCK, A CONSISTENT VALVETRAIN TICK NOISE, SES LIGHT AND DTC P0300 WILL BE EXPERIENCED WITH ENGINE MISFIRES ON CYLINDER 1, 4, 6 OR 7.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2016 - ROCK HILL, SC
HEATER FAILS TO DELIVER ANY AIR TO DRIVER SIDE AND ONLY MINIMAL AMOUNT OF AIR TO RIDER SIDE WHEN CAB HEATER IS IN FLOOR DISTRIBUTION MODE OR DUAL MODE. DEALER ADVISES THIS IS BY DESIGN AND THERE IS NO PROBLEM. THIS IS A RIDICULOUS EXPLANATION AND IS A PROBLEM. CAR HAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/22/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
BOTH REAR PASSENGER DOOR LOCKS STOP WORKING PRIOR TO 60,000 MILES. THEY WOULD WORK RANDOMLY AND EVENTUALLY STOPPED WORKING ALL TOGETHER. AFTER RESEARCHING THE ISSUE THERE ARE SEVERAL HUNDRED COMPLAINTS ON WEBSITES AND IT APPEARS TO BE THAT THEY USED A LUBRICANT THAT BECOMES TOO SOLIDIFIED. IF I WERE IN AN ACCIDENT I WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO UNLOCK THE REAR DOORS USING THE KEY FOB OR THE POWER UNLOCK. IT HAS TO BE DONE MANUALLY AND THEY ARE VERY DIFFICULT TO REACH FROM THE FRONT SEATS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds