Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 586 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (63) Steering (70) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (149) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (8) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (60)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (105) Visibility (9)
Engine (87) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (29) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (14) Wheels (26)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (41)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/22/2015 - STEPHENS CITY, VA
I RECENTLY HAD A VENT ACTUATOR FAIL; THE SIGN WAS A LOUD CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE FAILED VENT ACTUATOR LOCATED BEHIND THE GLOVE BOX. ACCORDING TO THE INFORMATION THAT I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GATHER, THERE ARE 4 VENT ACTUATORS LOCATED BEHIND THE DASH OF THE VEHICLE. THESE VENT ACTUATORS SEEM TO FAIL ON A REGULAR BASIS FROM COMPLAINTS THAT I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO REVIEW ON THE INTERNET. THESE ARE $25 PARTS, HOWEVER THE LABOR COSTS ARE RIDICULOUS; $300-400 PER VENT ACTUATOR. IF THESE VENT ACTUATORS FAIL AT RANDOM TIMES, THAT IS AT A COST OF UP TO $425 FOR EACH VISIT TO THE DEALER, AND THERE IS NO GUARANTEE THAT THEY WON'T FAIL ONCE AGAIN. CHEVROLET IS FULLY AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, ACCORDING TO THEIR OWN WEB SITE. HOWEVER, THEY CONTINUE TO CHARGE THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE THESE OUTRAGEOUS FEES. I AM SEEKING ASSISTANCE IN HAVING CHEVROLET REPLACE ALL THE VENT ACTUATORS WITH A QUALITY PRODUCT; NOTHING LIKE CHEAP CHINESE PLASTIC. IN ADDITION, THEY NEED TO QUIT PASSING THE LABOR COSTS ONTO THE OWNER FOR A PROBLEM THAT THEY REFUSE TO ADDRESS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/14/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
CAME TO GET IN AND UNLOCK CAR WHEN I NOTICED ONLY THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR UNLOCKS. HAD TO CLIMB THROUGH THE CAR (WHILE 5 MONTHS PREGNANT) TO UNLOCK BOTH BACKSEAT DOORS FOR MY NIECE AND INFANT NEPHEW TO GET THEM IN THE CAR. THE 3 LOCKS, BESIDES PASSENGER FRONT, ONLY WORK MAYBE ONCE A WEEK RANDOMLY. I HAVE MY FIRST CHILD ON THE WAY IN NOVEMBER, AND NOW I HAVE TO WORRY IF I WILL HAVE TO SET MY BABY ON THE GROUND DURING WINTER TO CLIMB THROUGH THE CAR TO UNLOCK THE BACK DOOR MANUALLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/14/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
CAME TO GET IN AND UNLOCK CAR WHEN I NOTICED ONLY THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR UNLOCKS. HAD TO CLIMB THROUGH THE CAR (WHILE 5 MONTHS PREGNANT) TO UNLOCK BOTH BACKSEAT DOORS FOR MY NIECE AND INFANT NEPHEW TO GET THEM IN THE CAR. THE 3 LOCKS, BESIDES PASSENGER FRONT, ONLY WORK MAYBE ONCE A WEEK RANDOMLY. I HAVE MY FIRST CHILD ON THE WAY IN NOVEMBER, AND NOW I HAVE TO WORRY IF I WILL HAVE TO SET MY BABY ON THE GROUND DURING WINTER TO CLIMB THROUGH THE CAR TO UNLOCK THE BACK DOOR MANUALLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/14/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID ENGINE REDUCED POWER. THE CAR SEEMED TO SLOW DOWN AND NOT HAVE POWER. IF I CAME TO A STOP AND BEGAN TO DRIVE AGAIN, THE CAR BARELY ACCELERATED AND THE TRANSMISSION JERKED EVERY SINGLE TIME IT SHIFTED. I HAD EVERY CAR GOING AROUND ME DOWN THE BUSY STREET, BECAUSE THE CAR WOULD BARELY GO. I WAS WORRIED I WOULDN'T EVEN MAKE IT HOME AND THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS GOING TO HAVE SERIOUS PROBLEMS ALONG WITH THE ENGINE AS IT JERKED ROUGHLY WITH EVERY GEAR CHANGE. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY! IT COULDN'T HAVE HAPPENED AT A WORSE TIME, AS I JUST PURCHASED THIS CAR A FEW WEEKS AGO, HAVE MY FIRST CHILD ON THE WAY, AND JUST GOT A HOUSE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID ENGINE REDUCED POWER. THE CAR SEEMED TO SLOW DOWN AND NOT HAVE POWER. IF I CAME TO A STOP AND BEGAN TO DRIVE AGAIN, THE CAR BARELY ACCELERATED AND THE TRANSMISSION JERKED EVERY SINGLE TIME IT SHIFTED. I HAD EVERY CAR GOING AROUND ME DOWN THE BUSY STREET, BECAUSE THE CAR WOULD BARELY GO. I WAS WORRIED I WOULDN'T EVEN MAKE IT HOME AND THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS GOING TO HAVE SERIOUS PROBLEMS ALONG WITH THE ENGINE AS IT JERKED ROUGHLY WITH EVERY GEAR CHANGE. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY! IT COULDN'T HAVE HAPPENED AT A WORSE TIME, AS I JUST PURCHASED THIS CAR A FEW WEEKS AGO, HAVE MY FIRST CHILD ON THE WAY, AND JUST GOT A HOUSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/14/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID ENGINE REDUCED POWER. THE CAR SEEMED TO SLOW DOWN AND NOT HAVE POWER. IF I CAME TO A STOP AND BEGAN TO DRIVE AGAIN, THE CAR BARELY ACCELERATED AND THE TRANSMISSION JERKED EVERY SINGLE TIME IT SHIFTED. I HAD EVERY CAR GOING AROUND ME DOWN THE BUSY STREET, BECAUSE THE CAR WOULD BARELY GO. I WAS WORRIED I WOULDN'T EVEN MAKE IT HOME AND THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS GOING TO HAVE SERIOUS PROBLEMS ALONG WITH THE ENGINE AS IT JERKED ROUGHLY WITH EVERY GEAR CHANGE. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY! IT COULDN'T HAVE HAPPENED AT A WORSE TIME, AS I JUST PURCHASED THIS CAR A FEW WEEKS AGO, HAVE MY FIRST CHILD ON THE WAY, AND JUST GOT A HOUSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/4/2015 - MOUNT MORRIS, MI
THE POWER LOCKING MECHANISM FAILURE. THE ONLY DOOR THAT CAN BE UNLOCKED BY THE KEY FOB IS THE DRIVER'S DOOR. ALL OF THE OTHER DOORS MUST BE MANUALLY UNLOCKED. IF SOMEONE NEEDS TO ENTER THE VEHICLE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE, THE WINDOW MUST BE OPENED TO ALLOW THE PERSON ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE TO REACH IN AND UNLOCK THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE THE ACTUATOR IN THE DOORS WERE MALFUNCTIONING, AND THE COST WOULD BE $1,300.00 TO HAVE THEM REPAIRED. VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/30/2015 - INWOOD, WV
THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE KEEPS GOING OUT. I HAVE REPLACED THE BULBS MANY TIMES, BUT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BULBS. I DON'T KNOW IF THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE CONNECTOR THE BULB GOES INTO OR IF THERE IS AN ELECTRICAL SHORT PROBLEM. I BELIEVE GM KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM, BUT WON'T DO A RECALL. I HAVE SEEN THE SAME COMPLAINT AS MINE ALL OVER THE WEB. SINCE THIS PROBLEM HAS NOT CAUSED ANY FATALITIES THAT I'M AWARE OF, THERE IS NO REAL PRESSURE COMING FROM ENOUGH CONSUMERS TO WARRANT A RECALL. I AM HOPING THAT IF YOUR ORGANIZATION ADDS ITS CONSIDERABLE WEIGHT TO REQUESTING THAT GM DOES A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM, IT MIGHT HELP.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

5/11/2015 - GRAYSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AS THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ENGINE SPEED REDUCED WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2015 - GRAYSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AS THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ENGINE SPEED REDUCED WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds