Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 557 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (62) Steering (68) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (138) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (8) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (57)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (101) Visibility (8)
Engine (77) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (26) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (23)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (39)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/24/2015 - WILMINGTON, DE
2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONSUMER RECEIVED THE IGNITION RECALL. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS REPOSSESSED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/23/2015 - WEST SENECA, NY
I LET ME 2008 CHEVY IMPALA WARM UP AS THE WINDCHILL IS AROUND -35 DEGREES BELOW ZERO. I STARTED OUT OF THE PARKING LOT, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY MESSAGE DISPLAY SAID "REDUCING ENGINE SPEED", THEN IT SAID "SERVICE DISABLED, DISABLED SERVICE THROTTLE". THEN THE VEH CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND LEFT ME STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF A PARKING LOT! THERE ARE NO TOWERS AVAILABLE AT ALL TILL TOMORROW MORNING EITHER. TRIED JUMPING STARTING THE VEHICLE - BUT TO NO AVAIL. CALLED A CHEVY DEALER AND THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS HAPPENING WITH IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/21/2015 - LIVINGSTON, LA
WHILE WAITING BEHIND A CAR AT A STOP SIGN I WAS STRUCK FROM BEHIND BY AT FORD F-150. THE TRUCK WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH WHILE I WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP. AFTER BEING STRUCK I WAS THROWN INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME AND BOTH WERE PUSHED A GREAT DISTANCE BY THE TRUCK. THE REAR OF THE CAR SUFFERED PRETTY SEVER DAMAGE AND WAS TOTALED. THE TRUCK WAS COMPLETELY PUSHED INTO THE BACK SEAT OF THE CAR. ITEMS SUCH AS PHONES, LAPTOPS, AND TEXT BOOKS WERE DESTROYED MAINLY FROM THE IMPACT BUT ALSO THE RAIN. THE CAR SHUT IT SELF OFF LIKE IT SHOULD HAVE, BUT NONE OF THE AIR BAGS WERE DEPLOYED. I DO NOT RECALL IF MY SEAT BELT HAD LOCKED UP BECAUSE I HAVE NO MEMORY OF THE ACTUAL ACCIDENT. ON-STAR WAS ALSO NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ACCIDENT. I WAS ABLE TO INFORM THEM OF THE ACCIDENT AND CALL FOR HELP, BUT I LOST A CONNECTION AND WAS NOT ABLE TO REGAIN THE CONNECTION. I AM SUFFERING FROM HEAD, NECK, SHOULDER, BACK, AND LEG INJURIES. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY MY DOCTOR THAT I MAY NOT RECOVER IN MY NECK AND BACK. THERE WAS A POLICE REPORT FILED BUT HONESTLY IT INACCURATELY DOCUMENTED THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2015 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
I RECEIVED NOTICE OF A SAFETY RECALL #14299 FROM CHEVROLET INSTRUCTING ME TO CALL MY LOCAL DEALER AND SCHEDULE A TIME TO HAVE THE IGNITION REPAIR. THE LOCAL DEALER, CAMPBELL CHEVROLET IN BOWLING GREEN, KY TOLD ME THEY DID NOT HAVE THE PARTS. THE DEALER INSTRUCTED ME TO LEAVE MY NAME AND TELEPHONE NUMBER AND THEY WOULD CALL WHEN THE PARTS CAME IN. THIS CALL TOOK PLACE ON NOVEMBER 13, 2014. I STILL HAVE NOT HEARD ANYTHING FROM THE DEALER. I BELIEVE THERE HAS BEEN MORE THAN ENOUGH TIME TO GET THE PARTS NEEDED AND FIX THIS PROBLEM. MEANWHILE, I AM STILL DRIVING THE CAR WITH THIS KNOWN RISK. IF THIS IS THE MANNER IN WHICH CAR MANUFACTURERS ARE ALLOWED TO STATE THEY ARE TAKING CARE OF RECALLS IT IS NO WONDER MORE DEATHS ARE NOT AVOIDED. IF I ATTEMPT TO TRADE THE VEHICLE I AM SURE THIS WILL BE AN ISSUE AND MOST PROBABLY DEVALUE MY CAR. IS THERE OTHER RECOURSE A CONSUMER CAN TAKE TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/19/2015 - SAGINAW, MI
I WAS EXCITING AN OFF RAMP WHEN I SWERVED TO AVOID ANOTHER VEHICLE, COMPLETELY LOST CONTROL OF VEHICLE CRASHED HAD NO BRAKES AND KEYS WILL NOT COME OUT OF THE IGNITION. MY VEHICLE IS NOT DRIVABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/19/2015 - SAGINAW, MI
I WAS EXCITING AN OFF RAMP WHEN I SWERVED TO AVOID ANOTHER VEHICLE, COMPLETELY LOST CONTROL OF VEHICLE CRASHED HAD NO BRAKES AND KEYS WILL NOT COME OUT OF THE IGNITION. MY VEHICLE IS NOT DRIVABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/19/2015 - SAGINAW, MI
I WAS EXCITING AN OFF RAMP WHEN I SWERVED TO AVOID ANOTHER VEHICLE, COMPLETELY LOST CONTROL OF VEHICLE CRASHED HAD NO BRAKES AND KEYS WILL NOT COME OUT OF THE IGNITION. MY VEHICLE IS NOT DRIVABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - MARLETTE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE KEY FAILED TO EJECT FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH AND REMAINED IN THE OFF POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND STATED THAT THE LINKAGE IN THE GEAR SHIFT FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THREE MONTHS LATER, THE CONTACT EJECTED THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHILE IN THE ON POSITION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, TN
OWN SNOW THE REAR END SLIDES ALL OVER THE PLACE YOU HAVE NO CONTROL,I HAVE BRAND NEW TIRES EXTRACTION TIRES ON REAR.

View Details

WHEELS

2/17/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, TN
OWN SNOW THE REAR END SLIDES ALL OVER THE PLACE YOU HAVE NO CONTROL,I HAVE BRAND NEW TIRES EXTRACTION TIRES ON REAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds