Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 454 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (50) Steering (52) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (94) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (95) Visibility (8)
Engine (63) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (25) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (21)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

9/16/2014 - KEWADIN, MI
PREMATURE WEAR ON REAR TIRES, LESS THEN A YEAR OLD AND RUINED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2014 - NORTH HAVEN, CT
THIS IS THE THIRD TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME AND LUCKILY NOT WHILE TRAVELING ON A HIGHWAY. I AM GETTING A TRACTION CONTROL LOSS WITH REDUCED POWER LIGHT ON THAT ACTUALLY POWERS DOWN THE ENGINE. I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO SHUT THE CAR OFF AND CLEAR THE LIGHT AND IT WORKS O.K. BUT THAT IS NOT A PERMANENT FIX. THIS PROBLEM WITH THESE VEHICLES HAS BEEN WELL DOCUMENTED HUNDREDS OF TIMES ON FORUMS ALL OVER THE INTERNET AND WHY HAS GM DONE NOTHING ABOUT THIS? SOMEONE IS GOING TO DIE OR SERIOUSLY BECOME INJURED DUE TO THIS DEFECT, I HOPE TO GOD IT IS NOT ME!!! THIS IS REALLY A PROBLEM IF YOU ARE TRAVELING AT A HIGH RATE AND SPEED AND THE ENGINE DECIDES TO POWER DOWN. I WANT THIS ADDRESSED ASAP BEFORE WE ARE READING AND HEARING ABOUT ANOTHER FATALITY AT THE HANDS OF GM!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2014 - AVONDALE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATE 80 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/11/2014 - CORONA, CA
IN AUGUST 2014 I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GM STATING THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON MY VEHICLE RECALL# 14299, THE LETTER STATED THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH WHERE IF I HAPPEN TO GO OVER A SPEED BUMP, HIT A POTHOLE OR OFF ROAD MY KEY "MAY UNINTENTIONALLY MOVE THE KEY AWAY FROM THE RUN POSITION". THE LETTER ALSO STATES THAT IF THIS WERE TO OCCUR IT WOULD AFFECT MY POWER STEERING, BREAKING AND AIR BAGS DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE SWITCH IS NOT IN THE RUN POSITION RESULTING IN HIGH RISK OF CRASH INCREASING THE RISK OF INJURY OR FATALITY. I WAS SHOCKED WHEN I RECEIVED THIS INFORMATION, I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS OF THE LETTER AND REMOVED ANYTHING THAT ADDED EXTRA WEIGHT TO MY KEY AND CALLED GM IMMEDIATELY. I WAS TOLD BY A GM REP TO CONTACT MY LOCAL DEALER TO SEE WHEN PARTS WILL ARRIVE TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE WHICH STILL TO THIS DAY THEY HAVE NOT. UPON DOING FURTHER RESEARCH I COME TO FIND OUT THAT DUE TO THIS ISSUE THERE HAS BEEN MULTIPLE CRASHES EVEN SOME FATALITY'S!!, NOW I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE SEEING AS HOW GM DOES NOT GUARANTEE THAT EVEN WHEN ONLY USING THE IGNITION KEY WITHOUT ADDED WEIGHT THAT THE IGNITION WONT BE JARRED TO SWITCH TO THE OFF POSITION. I FEEL THESE VEHICLES SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD SEEING HOW THEY CAN CAUSE HARM TO CHEVY OWNERS AND PEOPLE ON THE STREETS, ALSO SHOULD BE COMPENSATE IN SOME WAY DUE TO THE FACT THAT I HAVE BEEN HAVING TO FIND OTHER WAYS TO TRANSPORT MYSELF WHERE I NEED TO BE. I REFUSE TO PUT MY LIFE AND THE LIFE OF MY PASSENGERS AT RISK BY DRIVING THIS UNSAFE VEHICLE. I AM VERY FRUSTRATED AND EXTREMELY UNHAPPY WITH SLUGGISH RESPONSE AS WELL AS THE DISINCLINED ATTITUDE OF THE REPS AT GM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/11/2014 - BALTIMORE , MD
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND TURNED BACK ON AND THE GEAR SHIFT WOULD NOT MOVE FROM THE PARK POSITION. THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT STALL. THE CONTACT STATED THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED TWO TIMES. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT WIRING WAS BROKEN AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94049. SS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2014 - BALTIMORE , MD
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND TURNED BACK ON AND THE GEAR SHIFT WOULD NOT MOVE FROM THE PARK POSITION. THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT STALL. THE CONTACT STATED THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED TWO TIMES. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT WIRING WAS BROKEN AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94049. SS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2014 - MOUNT HARLEY, NC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN SHE ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE THERE WAS NO RESPONSE. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT LOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,463. NE

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/10/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 30 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO REPAIRED THE THROTTLE PEDAL SENSOR AND THE EVAPORATE SYSTEM. THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE THROTTLE PEDAL SENSOR WAS REPLACED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/10/2014 - SUN VALLEY, CA
2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE KEY FOB RECALL NOTICE AND SEEKS REIMBURSEMENT FOR THROTTLE BODY CONTROL UNIT. THE CONSUMER STATED ON 2 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, A SENSOR WENT OFF AND SHE LOST ENGINE POWER AND THE BRAKES. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY CONTROL UNIT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2014 - HAMPTON, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO REAR END ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,716.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds