Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2008 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 313 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (39) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (11) Steering (50) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Structure (15) Visibility (7)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Wheels (6)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/16/2019 - EAGLE ROCK, MO
THE ENGINE 5.4 TRITON MAKES A SOUND THAT RESEMBLES A DIESEL AND SOUNDS LIKE THE PISTON IS ABOUT READY TO COME THROUGH THE BLOCK. I FIRST EXPERIENCED THIS APPROX. 3 YEARS AGO WHILE AT A DRIVE THROUGH FAST FOOD RESTAURANT. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. I THEN RESTARTED AND THE NOISE HAD STOPPED. THE MOTOR NOW STILL HAS THE SAME ISSUE, AND AFTER READING MANY FORUMS STATING THE SAME CONDITIONS, DECIDED TO CALL FORD DIRECTLY. THE RESPONSE FROM FORD WAS THEY KNOW ABOUT THE ISSUE ON THESE TYPES OF MOTORS, BUT ARE NOT ISSUING A RECALL FOR THE FIX. THE ISSUE IS APPARENTLY RELATED TO A KNOW CAM, TIMING CHAIN ISSUE THAT HAS TO HAVE THE GEARS AND TIMING CHAIN REPLACED. AT THE OWNERS EXPENSE OF APPROX. 800-1200M DOLLARS PER SIDE ON THIS TYPE OF V8 MOTOR. I RECOMMEND THAT FORD NEEDS TO DO A RECALL ON THESE, AND FIX THE KNOWN ISSUE, THUS CREATING FURTHER PURCHASES FROM CONSUMERS FOR FUTURE PURCHASES OF THEIR PRODUCT. IF YOU ARE IN DOUBT OF THIS ISSUE, JUST TYPE IN YOUR SEARCH ENGINE, 2008 FORD F150 LOUD KNOCKING NOISE WHILE IDLING, AND SIT BACK AND READ UNTIL YOU ARE TIRED OF READING. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME WITH ANY QUESTIONS. THANK YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/1/2019 - ALLIANCE, OH
MY VEHICLE IS ONLY 11 YEARS OLD. I HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE FRAME. THE FRAME ON MY VEHICLE HAS RUST HOLES ON THE LEFT HAND INNER SIDE. I BELIEVE THERE IS A MANUFACTURING ISSUE IN THE METALWORK FOR THE FRAMES ON 2004-2008 F150 TRUCKS. I WORK AS A SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND MULTIPLE VEHICLES HAVE THIS ISSUE. WE AS CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT BE HAVING TO COVER THE COSTS OF REPAIRING THESE UNSAFE FRAMES DUE TO FORDS NEGLIGENCE TO BUILD THE FRAMES PROPERLY. DUE TO THIS, ANY VEHICLE WITH FRAME ISSUES SUCH AS MINE, IF INVOLVED IN A WRECK, COULD BE CATASTROPHIC. I HAVE SEEN COUNTLESS F150'S OF THOSE YEAR RANGES COME IN WITH FRAMES ROTTED ALL IN THE SAME PLACE AT THE REAR OF THE MAIN FRAME RAIL, NEAR THE GAS TANK. 2009 AND FORWARD DO NOT SEEM TO HAVE THIS ISSUE AS THEY CHANGED THE DESIGN OF THE FRAME. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THESE FRAME ISSUES.PICTURES ATTACHED ARE OF VARIOUS F150'S, NOT JUST MY OWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2019 - ALLIANCE, OH
MY VEHICLE IS ONLY 11 YEARS OLD. I HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE FRAME. THE FRAME ON MY VEHICLE HAS RUST HOLES ON THE LEFT HAND INNER SIDE. I BELIEVE THERE IS A MANUFACTURING ISSUE IN THE METALWORK FOR THE FRAMES ON 2004-2008 F150 TRUCKS. I WORK AS A SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND MULTIPLE VEHICLES HAVE THIS ISSUE. WE AS CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT BE HAVING TO COVER THE COSTS OF REPAIRING THESE UNSAFE FRAMES DUE TO FORDS NEGLIGENCE TO BUILD THE FRAMES PROPERLY. DUE TO THIS, ANY VEHICLE WITH FRAME ISSUES SUCH AS MINE, IF INVOLVED IN A WRECK, COULD BE CATASTROPHIC. I HAVE SEEN COUNTLESS F150'S OF THOSE YEAR RANGES COME IN WITH FRAMES ROTTED ALL IN THE SAME PLACE AT THE REAR OF THE MAIN FRAME RAIL, NEAR THE GAS TANK. 2009 AND FORWARD DO NOT SEEM TO HAVE THIS ISSUE AS THEY CHANGED THE DESIGN OF THE FRAME. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THESE FRAME ISSUES.PICTURES ATTACHED ARE OF VARIOUS F150'S, NOT JUST MY OWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2019 - ROCKAWAY, NJ
RECENTLY DRIVING ALONG A COUNTY ROAD; VEHICLE WARNING TONE SOUNDS AND I SEE THE FOLLOWING. BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE, BRAKES, ABS AND TPMS LIGHTS ON. SPEEDOMETER AND TACHOMETER INOPERATIVE, ENGINE TEMPERATURE GAUGE INOPERATIVE. VEHICLE INFORMATION DISPLAY SHOWED TITLES, I.E. TRIP A, MILEAGE ETC., BUT THERE WERE NO VALUES. OIL PRESSURE AND CHARGING SYSTEM AND FUEL GAUGES WORKING NORMALLY. ENGINE PERFORMANCE UNAFFECTED. DROVE 15+ MILES TO HOMETOWN AND MY MECHANIC. AFTER A DAY OF DIAGNOSIS, HE STATED THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WAS THE PROBLEM, AND ALSO THAT IT WAS A KNOWN BUT NOT ACKNOWLEDGED ISSUE BY FORD. NEW CLUSTERS ARE $700 TO $900 WHICH IS OUTRAGEOUS. AFTER A QUICK SEARCH ONLINE, THERE AND A LOT; AND I MEAN A LOT OF PEOPLE SELLING 2008 F-150 LARIAT INSTRUMENT CLUSTERS. SURE I COULD PICK ONE UP FOR A COUPLE HUNDRED DOLLARS, BUT AN ADDITIONAL PROBLEM IS THE MILEAGE; WHICH IS STORED IN THE CLUSTER ROM. MY TRUCK ONLY HAD 86K MILES, WHEREAS IF I INSTALL A USED ONE I INHERIT WHATEVER MILEAGE IS ON THERE. CONSIDERING THE POPULARITY OF THE F-150, YOU WOULD LIKE TO THINK THAT FORD WOULD DO THE RIGHT THING; BUT I SUPPOSE I'M BEING NAIVE WITH THAT WISH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/12/2019 - DAYTON, TX
AIRBAG DID NOT FULLY DEPLOY IN FRONTAL COLLISION DRIVING HIGHWAY SPEED OF 65MPH AND UPON STRIKING A TREE AFTER LOSING CONTROL OVER TIRE ISSUE. I REMEMBER AIRBAG OPENED LIKE A BALLOON AND THEN DEFLATING AS SOON AS IT OPENED UP AND IT SEEMED LIKE IT WAS ROLLED. I REMEMBER WAKING UP TO FIND MYSELF BEING LIFE FLIGHTED TO HOSPITAL. I SUSTAINED SEVERAL INJURIES WHICH I'M BLESSED TO BE ALIVE. I SUFFERED HEAD INJURY WHICH NEEDED STAPLES AND STITCHES, BROKEN RIBS AND STERNUM, HIP DISLOCATION AND SURGERY FOR ACETABULAR FRACTURES OR I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO WALK AGAIN, KNEE INJURY FROM DASHBOARD, BROKEN LEFT ULNA ON LEFT ARM AND ULNAR STYLOID ON RIGHT WRIST. ALL DUE TO AIRBAG NOT FULLY DEPLOYING LIKE ANY OWNER OF A VEHICLE EXPECTS IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/18/2019 - CARTER LAKE, IA
LEFT FRONT COIL SPRING BROKEN . FOUND BROKEN DURING ALIGNMENT INSPECTION FEBRUARY 12,2019 . ODOMETER 73750 .

View Details

STEERING

12/24/2018 - COLUMBUS, OH
STEERING BECAME STIFF. VEHICLE WAS HARD TO MAINTAIN EVEN ON STRAIGHT ROAD. AFTER MY INSPECTION, I FOUND THAT THE STEERING SHAFT WAS HORRIBLY CORRODED AT THE UNIVERSAL JOINT. I WILL NOT DRIVE THIS VEHICLE UNTIL I REPAIR IT. IT IS AT THE POINT WHERE IT COULD BREAK AND LOOSE ALL CONTROL OF STEERING. VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE BEEN A MECHANIC FOR OVER 30 YEARS I HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS IN ANY VEHICLE, NO MATTER WHAT AGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/5/2018 - FT. WAYNE, IN
TAKARA RECALL, DROVE THE 2008 FORD F150 TO WORK. THE MORNING AFTER I WENT DOWNSTAIRS TO GET SOME TUMS APPROXIMATELY 3A.M. AFTER RUSTLING AROUND FOR WORK APPROXIMATELY 5A.M. I WENT TO LET MY DOGS OUT AS IT'S MY ROUTINE AND REALIZED MY TRUCK WAS IN FLAMES RIGHT NEXT TO THE HOUSE BURNING THE SIDES OF OUR HOME. FIRE DEPARTMENT COULD DETERMINE RIGHT THEN WHAT WHERE OR WHEN IT CAUGHT A BLAZE. THEY MADE A REPORT AND WERE TO SUBMIT IT TO LAW ENFORCEMENT. INSURANCE IS COMING OUT TO ASSESS DAMAGES AND HOPEFULLY INVESTIGATE WHAT WHERE WHEN AND HOW A COLD TRUCK THAT SITS ALL NIGHT JUST GO UP IN FLAMES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/7/2018 - HARTLAND, WI
TOOK TRUCK IN FOR MAINTENANCE. WAS CALLED OVER BY MECHANIC. HE SHOWED ME THE WHOLE FRAME OF THE TRUCK IS RUSTED OUT. THE TRUCK HAS 100,000 MILES AND BODY IS CLEAN FOR ITS AGE. LOCAL DEALERSHIP QUOTED $6,000.00 TO REPAIR. A SMALL AUTO COLLISION SHOP QUOTED +$3,000.00. BOTH AGREED THIS SHOULD NEVER HAVE HAPPENED. THIS IS A SERIOUS RISK THAT COULD RESULT IN BODILY INJURY OR DEATH. VEHICLE IS NO LONGER SAFE TO DRIVE ON THE ROAD. SEVERAL OTHER MANUFACTURES HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE AND HAVE TAKEN CORRECTIVE ACTION TO REPAIR OR REIMBURSE FOR THE EXPENSE. IT IS DOCUMENTED OUT ON THE INTERNET THAT IT IS AN ISSUE. THERE ARE 16 OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS CAR COMPLAINT SITE FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I HAVE BEEN ADVISED/SUGGESTED REPORTING THE ISSUE TO THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA).

View Details

STEERING

10/17/2018 - ESCANABA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING MALFUNCTIONED WHILE THE CONTACT WAS TRYING TO TURN THE VEHICLE. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE CONTACT'S HOME TO RIVERSIDE AUTO SALES, INC. (2511 LUDINGTON ST, ESCANABA, MI 49829, (906) 786-6834) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOWER STEERING SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,419.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds