Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2008 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 313 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (39) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (11) Steering (50) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Structure (15) Visibility (7)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Wheels (6)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/3/2016 - BRICK, NJ
STEERING BECAME TIGHT AND HEAVY MAKING IT HARD TO TURN. MY MECHANIC FOUND THE LOWER UNIVERSAL JOINT ON THE STEERING SHAFT HAD HEAVY CORROSION AND DIDN'T FUNCTION. HE REPLACED THE STEERING SHAFT. TRUCK HAD 87,000 MILES. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION AND SHOULD BE THE SUBJECT OF A FACTORY RECALL.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/18/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW COLLAPSED INSIDE THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW COLLAPSED A MONTH AGO. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THERE WAS DEFECTIVE HARDWARE INSIDE THE DOOR THAT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 166,400.

View Details

WHEELS

10/4/2016 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
NEW SET OF 4 FEDERAL COURAGIA MUD TIRES (35X12.50X20) PURCHASED JUNE 2015- AT 60 MPH TRUCK WOBBLES/SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY. FINALLY FOUND WALMART AUTO/TIRE CENTER (NOT PURCHASED FROM WALMART).TECH STATED THAT THE STEEL BELT HAD SHIFTED. WENT BACK TO ORIGINAL TIRE DEALER , NO REPLACE NO REFUND. PURCHASED 2 MORE FEDERAL COURAGIA TIRES FROM A DIFFERENT TIRE DEALER APRIL 2016 THINKING MAYBE IT WAS A FAULTY SET FROM OTHER DEALER, BUT STEEL BELT SHIFTING IN 1 OF THE 2 NEWEST TIRES AS OF 10/04/16. SAME FIERCE WOBBLE/SHAKE AT 60-MPH.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2016 - DINGMANS FERRY, PA
STEERING BECAME VERY HEAVY, ALMOST LIKE POWER STEERING WAS GONE. VERY HARD TO TURN AND CONTROL THE TRUCK WHILE MOVING. SUDDENLY LOOSENS UP AND WORKS AS NORMAL. DEALER SAYS IT IS THE STEERING SHAFT AND NOW REFUSES TO FIX IT. I SEE A LOT OF THE SAME COMPLAINTS HERE, WHY ISN'T FORD BEING HELD RESPONSIBLE? THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND LIFE-THREATENING. I'M GLAD IT HAPPENED TO ME AND NOT TO MY WIFE; I DON;T THINK SHE WOULD HAVE HAD THE STRENGTH TO CONTROL THE TRUCK AND COULD HAVE KILLED OR SEVERELY INJURED HERSELF OR OTHERS. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED!

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2016 - LONGWOOD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE COMING TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CAMSHAFT PHASER FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2016 - MT PULASKI, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE LOST OIL PRESSURE AND STALLED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND RESUME DRIVING. THE FAILURE RECURRED EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOW OIL PRESSURE CAUSED THE ENGINE TO FAIL. THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2016 - BELDING, MI
AS MY WIFE WAS TURNING A CORNER THE POWER STEERING FAILED ON HER. SHE CROSSED THE CENTER LINE AND NEARLY HIT VEHICLE THAT WAS WAITING AT A STOP SIGN. SHE HAD TO JERK ON THE STEERING WHEEL VERY HARD TO GET THE TRUCK BACK IN THE PROPER LANE. MECHANIC INDICATED THIS IS FAIRLY COMMON AND FORD DEALERS ARE KEEPING THE LOWER STEERING SHAFTS-U-JOINTS IN STOCK DUE TO OLDER ONES LOCKING UP. NO RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED TO THIS POINT HOWEVER, I HAD IT REPLACED AT A COST OF $490.00.

View Details

STEERING

6/8/2016 - INTERNATIONAL FALLS, MN
MY BROTHER IN LAW HAS A 2008 FORD F-150 AND SAID HIS STEERING SEIZED UP AND AFTER CHECKING FLUID, BELTS, ETC. IT APPEARED THE STEERING SHAFT U-JOINTS WERE BINDING. LAST WEEK MY 2008 F150 EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T FORD BEEN LIABLE FOR THIS SAFETY ISSUE. AFTER CHECKING VARIOUS FORD SITES, THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH F150'S.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/31/2016 - CLANTON, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. UPON INSPECTION OF THE VEHICLE, THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE COULD BE CONSIDERED DESTROYED. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FRAME DAMAGE WAS SO SEVERE THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW FRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 95,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2016 - RIVERSIDE, CA
RADIATOR AND THERMOSTAT - I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE 4 RADIATORS IN MY FORD F250 TRUCK AND THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS 125,000 MILES. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT FROM FORD AND THEY HAVE DONE NOTHING TO PROTECT THEIR CUSTOMERS. I HAVE BEEN STRANDED 3 TIMES AS A RESULT OF THIS DEFECT WITH MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds