Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2008 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 313 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (39) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (11) Steering (50) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Structure (15) Visibility (7)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Wheels (6)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/11/2016 - PARKERSBURG, WV
SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT IN A CROWDED STORE PARKING LOT,' BRAKING THE COIL. A FIRE COULD HAVE RESULTED IF COIL HAD NOT BROKE. THE GAS FUMES WERE STRONG. I THOUGHT IT WAS GASKET PROBLEM AND CONTINUED TO DRIVE TO MY MECHANIC'S SHOP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/7/2016 - CLINTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE FAILURE. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS ENGAGED, THE ABS ACTIVATED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO PULSATE AND THE CONTACT TO LOSE CONTROL. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FRONT ROTORS, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DRAINED THE FRONT BRAKES; HOWEVER, THE BRAKE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2016 - SUFFOLK, VA
FUEL PUMP DRIVER MODULE (FPDM) CORRODES RAPIDLY, BREAKS OPEN, AND SHORTS OUT CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/1/2016 - COLDWATER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE DRIVER LOST STEERING CONTROL AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE CRASH WAS CONTRIBUTED TO A MEDICAL CONDITION. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT WAS FATALLY INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2016 - ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING, THE ENGINE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE OIL PRESSURE WAS LOW AND THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS A TSB FOR THE FAILURE (14-0114). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/19/2016 - CHESTER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,450.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/15/2016 - COVE CITY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ABS MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,200. UPDATED 03/10/16

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2015 - ELLIOTTSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD F-150. WHILE TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT, THE STEERING WHEEL STIFFENED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING WAS LEAKING AND THE RACK AND PINION AND HOSE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/29/2015 - LINCOLN, CA
WE PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2008 FORD F-150 BACK IN MAY, 2008. WE HAVE ONLY PUT ON IT 27,000 MILES AND HAVE NEVER TOWED ANYTHING WITH IT, WE DON'T EVEN HAVE A TRAILER HITCH ON IT. ON DEC. 10, 2015 THE "TRANS FAULT" LIGHT CAME ON THE DASHBOARD WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET AND THE TRUCK STARTED MAKING LOTS OF NOISE AND JUMPING INTO GEAR WHEN YOU PUT IT IN "DRIVE". WE DROVE TWO MILES TO OUR HOME AND GOT IT IN THE DRIVEWAY. AFTER IT WAS IN THE DRIVEWAY, WE TRIED TO DRIVE IT TO A REPAIR SHOP AND IT WOULDN'T GOT INTO ANY GEAR, NOT EVEN NEUTRAL SO IT COULDN'T BE MOVED. ON DEC. 11, 2015 WE HAD IT TOWED TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP WHERE WE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION OR HAVE IT REBUILT. WE DECIDED TO GET A BRAND NEW TRANSMISSION, IT HAD A BETTER WARRANTY. EVEN THE TRANSMISSION GUY WITH 38 YEARS EXPERIENCE COULDN'T BELIEVE THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED AT 27,000 MILES. I HAD CONTACTED FORD BUT THEY WOULDN'T TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY AND SAID THAT THERE WEREN'T ANY RECALLS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/28/2015 - EAST BERNSTDT, KY
WHILE DRIVING AT 40MPH. MY TRUCK MADE A LOUD POPPING SOUND AND I PULLED OFF THE ROAD, RAISED THE HOOD AND LEARNED THAT THE SPARKPLUG BLEW OUT. I HAVE REPLACED THE SPARK PLUG AND COIL. I LEARNED THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds