Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS X - 2008 FORD TAURUS X Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 119 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD TAURUS X. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (30) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (35) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (14) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/14/2013 - LIVONIA, MI
THE PAINT IS BUBBLING ON THE HOOD AND IS FLAKING AWAY, I TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID ALTHOUGH THE PAINT IS WARRANTIED, THE METAL OF THE HOOD NEEDS TO BECOME PERFORATED BEFORE THEY WILL HONOR THE WARRANTY. THIS IS EVEN PUT IN FORD'S OWNER'S MANUAL AS SUCH. THEY KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM BUT THEY REFUSE TO STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. THERE ARE MANY DIFFERENT YEARS, MAKES, AND MODELS WITH THE SAME DEFECT. YOU CAN SEE ALL OF THE PEOPLE BLOGGING ABOUT IT ON THE WEBSITE:HTTP://WWW.LEMONLAW.COM/WORDPRESS/MORE-PROBLEMS-FOR-FORD-PAINT-DEFECTS-IN-2000-2005-MODELS. ALSO, IN SOME NEW YEARS AS WELL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2013 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD TAURUS X. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE AT A STOP SIGN THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WHERE THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,560.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/26/2013 - DANVERS, MA
THE TRANSMISSION IN MY FORD STARTED TO "SLIP" AT 48,000 MILES. NEARLY CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT AS I NEEDED TO ACCELERATE BUT THE TRANSMISSION JUST "STUCK" - STEPPED ON GAS AND NOTHING HAPPENED. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS WITH THESE TRANSMISSION IN THE FORD. THREE MORE TIMES AFTER THAT I HAD SIMILAR SITUATION. TRIED TO PULL OUT INTO TRAFFIC AND THERE WAS NO FIRST OR SECOND GEAR. THIRD TIME THE TRANSMISSION JUST STOPPED OPERATING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD - NO ABILITY TO MOVE AT ALL. FORD, EVEN WHILE THE CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY, WOULD NOT FIX THE ISSUE. CONTINUED TO SAY IT WAS A "CODE ISSUE." UNTIL THE WARRANTY EXPIRED, THEN IT BECAME A TRANSMISSION ISSUE. VERY UNSAFE. VERY CONCERNING.

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2013 - COKATO, MN
SCANNED SYSTEM NO CODES. CHECK P/S PUMP PRESSURE OUTPUT. FOUND A VALVE IN RACK THAT WAS STUCK IN ONE DIRECTION AND NOT ALLOWING PRESSURE THE OTHER WAY. REPLACED P/S RACK AND THEN RESET ALIGNMENT. TEST DROVE TO VERIFY OPERATION. VEHICLE WOULD TURN LEFT NORMAL, BUT DIFFICULT TO THE RIGHT AT SLOW SPEEDS. NO P/S FLUID LOSS. KNOWN ISSUE FOUND ONLINE WITH THIS YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL.

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2013 - COMMERCE TOWNSHIP, MI
2008 FORD TAURUS X -- POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING AT LOW SPEEDS AND THEN WOULD RE-ENGAGE WITHOUT NOTICE CREATING SIGNIFICANT POTENTIAL FOR SWERVING DUE TO UNAVOIDABLE OVER-CORRECTION. THE VEHICLE IS ESPECIALLY DIFFICULT TO TURN LEFT AT LOW SPEEDS, BUT ALL TURNING IS DIFFICULT. THE STEERING RACK WAS REPLACED AT SUBSTANTIAL COST. STEERING RACK FAILURE APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM IN 2008 FORD TAURUS X VEHICLES, WHICH CREATES A SUBSTANTIAL SAFETY RISK FOR THE PUBLIC.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/10/2013 - MIKADO, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE COLLAPSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE CROSSOVER BEAM HAD CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/18/2013 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY- I NOTICED THAT STEERING COLUMN WAS NOT LOCKED PRIOR TO INSERTING KEY. INSERTED KEY, TURNED TO START AND NO RESPONSE FROM IGNITION. KEPT TURNING STEERING COLUMN AND DECIDED TO ENGAGE TRANSMISSION FROM PARK TO DRIVE SEVERAL TIMES. I RETURNED TO PARK-ING THE CAR AND REMOVED THE KEY. INITIALLY, STEERING COLUMN WAS NOT LOCKED, THEN I TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN THE COLUMN LOCKED. TURNED THE KEY AND THE IGNITION HESITATED- THE DIALS WERE JUMPING. AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS THE ENGINE TURNED OVER AND DIALS WENT TO NORMAL. I COMMENCED TO BACK OUT OF DRIVEWAY- THE ENGINE RPM JUMPED, FAR MORE THEN WHAT I WAS APPLYING ACCELERATION FOR AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS HESITANT ( CLUNKING WAS AUDIBLE). THE VEHICLE REVERSED TOO RAPIDLY AND I APPLIED QUITE A BIT OF BRAKE TO STOP- I SHIFTED TO DRIVE AND AGAIN I COULD HEAR THE TRANSMISSION. THE CAR HESITATED TO GO FORWARD ( TRANSMISSION WAS CLUNKING), JERKING FORWARD AND SLOWING DOWN AND THE ENGINE RPM WAS ERRATIC. I PULLED TO THE SIDE AND PLACED CAR IN NEUTRAL; WAITED A MINUTE WHICH DURING THIS TIME, THE VEHICLE RPM WENT TO NORMAL. OK, I PLACED GEAR IN DRIVE AND VEHICLE RESPONDED NORMALLY. HAVE HAD SEVERAL INSTANCES OF SOME OF THE ABOVE DESCRIBED EVENTS HAPPENING SINCE ORIGINAL OCCURRENCE. AT THIS MOMENT, STEERING COLUMN IS NOT LOCKED WITH THE KEY REMOVED AND WHEN TURNING CAR TO START THE IGNITION IS JUST TURNING OVER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/18/2013 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY- I NOTICED THAT STEERING COLUMN WAS NOT LOCKED PRIOR TO INSERTING KEY. INSERTED KEY, TURNED TO START AND NO RESPONSE FROM IGNITION. KEPT TURNING STEERING COLUMN AND DECIDED TO ENGAGE TRANSMISSION FROM PARK TO DRIVE SEVERAL TIMES. I RETURNED TO PARK-ING THE CAR AND REMOVED THE KEY. INITIALLY, STEERING COLUMN WAS NOT LOCKED, THEN I TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN THE COLUMN LOCKED. TURNED THE KEY AND THE IGNITION HESITATED- THE DIALS WERE JUMPING. AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS THE ENGINE TURNED OVER AND DIALS WENT TO NORMAL. I COMMENCED TO BACK OUT OF DRIVEWAY- THE ENGINE RPM JUMPED, FAR MORE THEN WHAT I WAS APPLYING ACCELERATION FOR AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS HESITANT ( CLUNKING WAS AUDIBLE). THE VEHICLE REVERSED TOO RAPIDLY AND I APPLIED QUITE A BIT OF BRAKE TO STOP- I SHIFTED TO DRIVE AND AGAIN I COULD HEAR THE TRANSMISSION. THE CAR HESITATED TO GO FORWARD ( TRANSMISSION WAS CLUNKING), JERKING FORWARD AND SLOWING DOWN AND THE ENGINE RPM WAS ERRATIC. I PULLED TO THE SIDE AND PLACED CAR IN NEUTRAL; WAITED A MINUTE WHICH DURING THIS TIME, THE VEHICLE RPM WENT TO NORMAL. OK, I PLACED GEAR IN DRIVE AND VEHICLE RESPONDED NORMALLY. HAVE HAD SEVERAL INSTANCES OF SOME OF THE ABOVE DESCRIBED EVENTS HAPPENING SINCE ORIGINAL OCCURRENCE. AT THIS MOMENT, STEERING COLUMN IS NOT LOCKED WITH THE KEY REMOVED AND WHEN TURNING CAR TO START THE IGNITION IS JUST TURNING OVER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2013 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY- I NOTICED THAT STEERING COLUMN WAS NOT LOCKED PRIOR TO INSERTING KEY. INSERTED KEY, TURNED TO START AND NO RESPONSE FROM IGNITION. KEPT TURNING STEERING COLUMN AND DECIDED TO ENGAGE TRANSMISSION FROM PARK TO DRIVE SEVERAL TIMES. I RETURNED TO PARK-ING THE CAR AND REMOVED THE KEY. INITIALLY, STEERING COLUMN WAS NOT LOCKED, THEN I TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN THE COLUMN LOCKED. TURNED THE KEY AND THE IGNITION HESITATED- THE DIALS WERE JUMPING. AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS THE ENGINE TURNED OVER AND DIALS WENT TO NORMAL. I COMMENCED TO BACK OUT OF DRIVEWAY- THE ENGINE RPM JUMPED, FAR MORE THEN WHAT I WAS APPLYING ACCELERATION FOR AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS HESITANT ( CLUNKING WAS AUDIBLE). THE VEHICLE REVERSED TOO RAPIDLY AND I APPLIED QUITE A BIT OF BRAKE TO STOP- I SHIFTED TO DRIVE AND AGAIN I COULD HEAR THE TRANSMISSION. THE CAR HESITATED TO GO FORWARD ( TRANSMISSION WAS CLUNKING), JERKING FORWARD AND SLOWING DOWN AND THE ENGINE RPM WAS ERRATIC. I PULLED TO THE SIDE AND PLACED CAR IN NEUTRAL; WAITED A MINUTE WHICH DURING THIS TIME, THE VEHICLE RPM WENT TO NORMAL. OK, I PLACED GEAR IN DRIVE AND VEHICLE RESPONDED NORMALLY. HAVE HAD SEVERAL INSTANCES OF SOME OF THE ABOVE DESCRIBED EVENTS HAPPENING SINCE ORIGINAL OCCURRENCE. AT THIS MOMENT, STEERING COLUMN IS NOT LOCKED WITH THE KEY REMOVED AND WHEN TURNING CAR TO START THE IGNITION IS JUST TURNING OVER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/9/2013 - FORT MYERS, FL
HARSH TRANSMISSION ENGAGEMENT AND LOSS OF POWER WITH HIGHER RPM AND A MAX SPEED OF ABOUT 20 MPH- REPLACED SPEED SENSORS TSS & OSS . SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN 11,518 MILES LATER REPLACING THE SAME PARTS WHICH FORD OR DEALER WOULD NOT COVER AT A COST OF $593.00. TSB 07-21-11 REPLACING WITH PARTS AA5Z-7H103 AND AA5Z-7M101 ON BOTH OCCASIONS OF FAILURE. HAD TO LIMP HOME BOTH TIMES FOR MANY MILES. WIFE NOW REFUSES TO DRIVE CAR. I CAN'T BELIEVE FORD DOESN'T STAND BEHIND A PROBLEM LIKE THIS WHEN IT HAS A TSB AND A MULTITUDE OF THE SAME REPORTED PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds