Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS X - 2008 FORD TAURUS X Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by FORD

There are 94 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD TAURUS X. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/13/2012 - WHITE HAVEN, PA
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR SINCE I PURCHASED IT IN 2010 WITH 32,000 MILES ON IT. I PURCHASED IT IN APRIL AND BY THE END OF THE FIRST SUMMER OF DRIVING IT BEGAN TO LOSE ALL POWER WHEN DRIVING SLOWLY I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TURN THE WHEEL OR ANYTHING. LUCKILY ALL TIMES IT HAPPENED I WAS IN A PARKING LOT OR AT A STOP SIGN. FORD SAID IT NEEDED A COMPUTER UPDATE WHICH WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. I PAID 66.00 FOR THE UPDATE, IT DID NOT WORK MY CAR STILL LOSE POWER SOMETIMES WHEN COASTING. MY CAR ALSO ACCELERATES WITHOUT WARNING. THIS IS VERY SCARY BECAUSE THIS IS MY MAIN VEHICLE AND I HAVE TWO SMALL CHILDREN. FORD SAYS THERE THEY HAVEN'T WITNESSED THE ISSUE WHILE DRIVING IT SO THEY CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. ALSO WITH IN THAT FIRST YEAR OF OWNING THIS CAR MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND REMAINED ON TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND IT NOW NEEDED THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED. IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY SO I "ONLY" NEEDED TO PAY THE 100.00 DEDUCTIBLE. I DID AND IT WAS REPLACED. SOMETIMES THE CAR WILL ALSO UNEXPECTEDLY GRIND TO A HALT. NO IDEA WHAT THAT IS BUT IT DOESN-??T HAPPEN FREQUENTLY ENOUGH FOR THEM TO WITNESS IT SO THEY CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. TO ADD TO THE LIST THE PASSENGER DOOR IS NOT SEALED CORRECTLY AND WHENEVER IT RAINS THE INSIDE OF THE DOOR BECOMES FILLED WITH WATER, BUT THAT-??S NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AT ALL. AND FINALLY THE PAINT ON THE HOOD IS BUBBLING AND CHIPPING. THE CAR IS FOUR YEARS OLD NOW AND NO LONGER UNDER THE FACTORY WARRANTY SO THEY WON'T COVER IT. I FEEL COMPLETELY TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TO TURN OR WHAT TO DO BUT I FEEL THIS CAR WILL NOT LAST THE LENGTH OF THE LOAN. AND I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING MY CHILDREN IN THIS VEHICLE. IT MAKES ME SICK. I WILL NEVER EVER BUY ANOTHER FORD. FORD SHOULD STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/13/2012 - WHITE HAVEN, PA
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR SINCE I PURCHASED IT IN 2010 WITH 32,000 MILES ON IT. I PURCHASED IT IN APRIL AND BY THE END OF THE FIRST SUMMER OF DRIVING IT BEGAN TO LOSE ALL POWER WHEN DRIVING SLOWLY I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TURN THE WHEEL OR ANYTHING. LUCKILY ALL TIMES IT HAPPENED I WAS IN A PARKING LOT OR AT A STOP SIGN. FORD SAID IT NEEDED A COMPUTER UPDATE WHICH WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. I PAID 66.00 FOR THE UPDATE, IT DID NOT WORK MY CAR STILL LOSE POWER SOMETIMES WHEN COASTING. MY CAR ALSO ACCELERATES WITHOUT WARNING. THIS IS VERY SCARY BECAUSE THIS IS MY MAIN VEHICLE AND I HAVE TWO SMALL CHILDREN. FORD SAYS THERE THEY HAVEN'T WITNESSED THE ISSUE WHILE DRIVING IT SO THEY CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. ALSO WITH IN THAT FIRST YEAR OF OWNING THIS CAR MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND REMAINED ON TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND IT NOW NEEDED THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED. IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY SO I "ONLY" NEEDED TO PAY THE 100.00 DEDUCTIBLE. I DID AND IT WAS REPLACED. SOMETIMES THE CAR WILL ALSO UNEXPECTEDLY GRIND TO A HALT. NO IDEA WHAT THAT IS BUT IT DOESN-??T HAPPEN FREQUENTLY ENOUGH FOR THEM TO WITNESS IT SO THEY CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. TO ADD TO THE LIST THE PASSENGER DOOR IS NOT SEALED CORRECTLY AND WHENEVER IT RAINS THE INSIDE OF THE DOOR BECOMES FILLED WITH WATER, BUT THAT-??S NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AT ALL. AND FINALLY THE PAINT ON THE HOOD IS BUBBLING AND CHIPPING. THE CAR IS FOUR YEARS OLD NOW AND NO LONGER UNDER THE FACTORY WARRANTY SO THEY WON'T COVER IT. I FEEL COMPLETELY TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TO TURN OR WHAT TO DO BUT I FEEL THIS CAR WILL NOT LAST THE LENGTH OF THE LOAN. AND I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING MY CHILDREN IN THIS VEHICLE. IT MAKES ME SICK. I WILL NEVER EVER BUY ANOTHER FORD. FORD SHOULD STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

STEERING

4/8/2012 - OGDENSBURG, NY
SLOW SPEED TURNING VERY STIFF, SO STIFF THAT MY WIFE CANNOT TURN TIGHT AT SLOW SPEEDS. RETURNED TO DEALER AND HAD CAR INSPECTED. FORD SAID NOTHING WRONG. HAS HAPPENED TWICE MORE BEFORE FAILING COMPLETELY. FORD SAYS NOT COVERED BY 5 YEAR WARRANTY. $1100.00 REPAIR AND THE PART IS BACKORDERED. OBVIOUSLY FORD HAS A PROBLEM WITH THEIR STEERING COMPONENTS BUT DOESN'T WANT TO ADMIT IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/13/2012 - BADEN, PA
A FEW TIMES WHEN ACCELERATING, THE ENGINE REVS AND IT SEEMS LIKE IT GETS "STUCK". WHEN IT HAPPENS, I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR OR PUMP THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN THE BRAKE TO SET IT RIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

2/10/2012 - LONGBEACH, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD TAURUS X. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT THE SPEEDS OF 7 MPH WITH NO WARNINGS THE POWER FAILED CAUSING THE STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN . THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ONTO THE EMERGENCY LANE AND TURNED OFF; HOWEVER, THE POWER STEERING FAILED TO FUNCTION CORRECTLY WHEN IT WAS TURNED BACK ON. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND STEERING GEAR MECHANISM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,645 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 56,710. UPDATED 03/14/12 UPDATED 03/30/12

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/9/2012 - JERICHO, VT
THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING AT 70 MPH WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON, IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I TAPPED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO RELEASE THE CRUISE CONTROL AND THE VEHICLE LOST ALL ELECTRICAL POWER AND STALLED IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE OF THE INTERSTATE. SEVERAL COMMERCIAL VEHICLES HAD TO MAKE A SUDDEN STOP TO AVOID A COLLISION. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE PUSHED OFF THE INTERSTATE. THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A STANDARD COMPUTER DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND INFORMED US THAT THE COMPUTER WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A REASON FOR THIS COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. WE CONTACTED THE FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE DIVISION AND WERE ADVISED TO CONTINUE OPERATING THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE PROBLEM RECURRED. IN THE EVENT OF ANOTHER LOSS OF POWER WE WERE ADVISED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP SO THE PROBLEM COULD BE INVESTIGATED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/9/2012 - JERICHO, VT
THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING AT 70 MPH WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON, IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I TAPPED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO RELEASE THE CRUISE CONTROL AND THE VEHICLE LOST ALL ELECTRICAL POWER AND STALLED IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE OF THE INTERSTATE. SEVERAL COMMERCIAL VEHICLES HAD TO MAKE A SUDDEN STOP TO AVOID A COLLISION. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE PUSHED OFF THE INTERSTATE. THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A STANDARD COMPUTER DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND INFORMED US THAT THE COMPUTER WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A REASON FOR THIS COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. WE CONTACTED THE FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE DIVISION AND WERE ADVISED TO CONTINUE OPERATING THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE PROBLEM RECURRED. IN THE EVENT OF ANOTHER LOSS OF POWER WE WERE ADVISED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP SO THE PROBLEM COULD BE INVESTIGATED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/15/2012 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
WE INITIALLY HAD ISSUES AT 35K MILES WITH THE TRANSMISSION MAKING LOUD NOISES AND SUDDENLY JERKING WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS BUT SINCE WE REPORTED IT PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION OF THE WARRANTY WE WOULD BE COVERED IF IT CONTINUED TO HAVE PROBLEMS. IN SEPTEMBER 2011 THE PROBLEM WAS FINALLY BAD ENOUGH THAT IT TRIPPED THE COMPUTER AND THEY SAID THAT THEY JUST NEEDED TO REPLACE THE SENSORS (OSS AND TSS), AND THAT IT WOULD BE A $600 REPAIR. I REMINDED THEM THAT WE BROUGHT IT IN FOR THE REPAIR PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION OF THE WARRANTY AND THEY EVENTUALLY AGREED TO MAKE THE REPAIR FOR A $200 DEDUCTIBLE. A MONTH LATER THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING DOWN A NARROW ROAD AT APPROXIMATELY 35MPH. THE CAR LOST POWER BUT WE WERE EVENTUALLY ABLE TO LIMP HOME AT 5MPH. I AGREED AND THEY MADE THE REPAIR. AT THIS POINT ALL OF THE JERKING FROM THE BAD SENSORS HAD DESTROYED SEVERAL GEARS IN THE TRANSMISSION AND NECESSITATED A COMPLETE REBUILD ($3900). IF THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM IN THE FIRST PLACE THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN DAMAGED FROM TRYING TO SHIFT AT THE WRONG TIMES DUE TO THE BAD SENSORS! THERE WERE SAFETY CONCERNS THROUGHOUT THE LIFE OF THIS VEHICLE AS IS JERKED, JUMPED, AND ULTIMATELY FAILED IN A COMPLETELY UNPREDICTABLE FASHION.REBUILD ($3900). IF THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM IN THE FIRST PLACE THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN DAMAGED FROM TRYING TO SHIFT AT THE WRONG TIMES DUE TO THE BAD SENSORS! THERE WERE SAFETY CONCERNS THROUGHOUT THE LIFE OF THIS VEHICLE AS IS JERKED, JUMPED, AND ULTIMATELY FAILED IN A COMPLETELY UNPREDICTABLE FASHION.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

11/21/2011 - WHARTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD TAURUS X. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WOULD BECOME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT WHENEVER ATTEMPTING A RIGHT TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR A MECHANIC TO BE INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,592 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 125,000. UPDATED 01/03/12 THE RACK AND PINION WAS REPLACED. UPDATED 01/12/12

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/7/2011 - ORLAND PARK, IL
2008 FORD TAURUS X HAS A DEFECT IN THE HOOD AS FOLLOWS: THE HOOD HAS CORROSION BECAUSE THE ALUMINUM HOOD IS REACTING TO THE STEEL INSERTS THAT ARE BETWEEN THE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE LAYERS OF THE HOOD. IT IS CALLED GALVANIC CORROSION AND SHOULD BE PAID FOR BY FORD SINCE IT IS A DESIGN FLAW. THE PROBLEM STARTED WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD 10,000 MILES ON IT. IT NOW HAS 17,000 MILES AND FORD HAS REJECTED THE CLAIM BECAUSE IT IS PAST THE 3 YEAR WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE IS STILL IN THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY. FORD STATES IT WILL NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE UNLESS THERE IS A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds