Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS X - 2008 FORD TAURUS X Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 131 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD TAURUS X. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (36) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (39) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (14) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/22/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
I WAS TAKING MY SON TO PHYSICAL THERAPY FOR A STROKE HE HAD. THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF. I HAD TO FIND A PLACE PULL OVER AND COAST TO A STOP. AFTER SITTING FOR A FEW MINUTES, I STARTED THE CAR AND WE WENT ON WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. HOWEVER, OVER THE PAST YEAR AND A HALF, IT HAS SHUT OFF ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC SEVERAL TIMES. NO ONE COULD FIND THE ANSWER UNTIL RECENTLY. WE REPLACED A CENSOR IN THE TRANSMISSION AND HOPE THAT FIXES IT. I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED ON THE OCCASIONS THAT THE CAR SHUT OFF IN TRAFFIC. WE RECENTLY LEARNED THAT FORD KNEW ABOUT THE PROBLEM. OUR TRANSMISSION DATE IS SEPTEMBER 2007, WHICH IS IN THE TIME FRAME FORD SAYS THEY KNEW THE PROBLEM EXISTED. I THINK FORD SHOULD BE MADE TO PAY FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR IT CAUSED US.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/29/2014 - POOLER, GA
(MY WIFE) DRIVING VEHICLE ON HIGHWAY, CAR VIOLENTLY JERKED (JUMPED) AND THEN DROPPED IN SPEED DRAMATICALLY. COASTED OFF INTERSTATE ONTO EXIT AND WAITED FOR WRENCH LIGHT TO GO OFF AND THEN MADE IT HOME (CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 20MPH). WE CALLED ABOUT HAVING IT CHECKED BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEEDED TO HAVE THE WRENCH LIGHT ON IN ORDER TO READ ANYTHING ON IT. IT HAS HAPPENED A FEW OTHER TIMES AND MOST RECENT AS TODAY (7/29/14) WITH THE CAR NOT WANTING TO ACCELERATE. PRIOR TO THIS, MY SON FELT THE JERK AND THOUGHT A TIRE BLEW. IT WILL NOT ACCELERATE SO YOU WANT TO HIT GAS PEDAL MORE AND IT WILL SUDDENLY JUMP (ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN). THIS IS OBVIOUSLY AN ISSUE WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ. I HOPE THIS ISSUE IS TAKEN CARE OF QUICKLY BEFORE A HORRIFIC ACCIDENT HAPPENS. GOD BLESS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2014 - POOLER, GA
(MY WIFE) DRIVING VEHICLE ON HIGHWAY, CAR VIOLENTLY JERKED (JUMPED) AND THEN DROPPED IN SPEED DRAMATICALLY. COASTED OFF INTERSTATE ONTO EXIT AND WAITED FOR WRENCH LIGHT TO GO OFF AND THEN MADE IT HOME (CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 20MPH). WE CALLED ABOUT HAVING IT CHECKED BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEEDED TO HAVE THE WRENCH LIGHT ON IN ORDER TO READ ANYTHING ON IT. IT HAS HAPPENED A FEW OTHER TIMES AND MOST RECENT AS TODAY (7/29/14) WITH THE CAR NOT WANTING TO ACCELERATE. PRIOR TO THIS, MY SON FELT THE JERK AND THOUGHT A TIRE BLEW. IT WILL NOT ACCELERATE SO YOU WANT TO HIT GAS PEDAL MORE AND IT WILL SUDDENLY JUMP (ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN). THIS IS OBVIOUSLY AN ISSUE WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ. I HOPE THIS ISSUE IS TAKEN CARE OF QUICKLY BEFORE A HORRIFIC ACCIDENT HAPPENS. GOD BLESS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/8/2014 - GERMANTOWN, TN
TRANSMISSION FAILED (OVER-REV'ED AND THEN WOULD NOT FUNCTION) AND REQUIRED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENT. DUE TO BEING ON THE ROAD, HAD TO HAVE REPLACED BY A NATIONAL TRANSMISSION COMPANY. THE REPLACEMENT TRANSMISSION IS NOW EXHIBITING THE SAME SYSTEMS WITH THE VEHICLE AT 45,000 MILES. FORD WOULD NOT HONOR OR REIMBURSE FOR THE $3,500 IN REPAIRS.

View Details

STEERING

5/15/2014 - ALEXANDRIA , VA
DRIVING THE CAR, AND LOST THE ABILITY TO TURN THE CAR LEFT. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED AND DISCOVERED THE RACK AND PINION DEAR FAILED INTERNALLY. SOMEHOW A GASKET BECAME INTERTWINED WITHIN STEERING COLUMN. REPAIRS TOTALED $860.91.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/15/2014 - ALEXANDRIA , VA
DRIVING THE CAR, AND LOST THE ABILITY TO TURN THE CAR LEFT. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED AND DISCOVERED THE RACK AND PINION DEAR FAILED INTERNALLY. SOMEHOW A GASKET BECAME INTERTWINED WITHIN STEERING COLUMN. REPAIRS TOTALED $860.91.

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2014 - PROSPECT, CT
WHILE BACKING AND TURNING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AT SPEEDS AT OR NEAR 1 MPH I NOTICED THE STEERING WAS TIGHT - AS IF THE POWER STEERING NO LONGER WORKED. AFTER PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND PROCEEDING APPROXIMATELY 1 MILE (SPEED LIMIT LESS THAN 25 MPH) TO A STOP SIGN, I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE THE LEFT TURN FROM A STOPPED POSITION (HAD TO BACK UP AND TRY AGAIN - FORTUNATELY NO OTHER CARS IN INTERSECTION). MOMENTS LATER, STILL AT SPEEDS OF 25 MPH OR LESS, THE STEERING BECAME HYPERSENSITIVE WHILE GOING AROUND A BEND IN THE ROAD, CAUSING ME TO NOT ONLY ENTER THE OPPOSITE LANE, BUT TO ALMOST DO A 360 DEGREE TURN (AND OFF THE PAVEMENT). I WENT HOME AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO FORD DEALERSHIP. FIRST, A FAILED STEERING RACK WAS DIAGNOSED, THEN A LOWER STEERING ROD JOINT FAILURE (NOT SURE IF ONLY THE LATTER OR BOTH SINCE THE CAR IS STILL IN THE SHOP). FORTUNATELY, NEITHER I NOR ANYONE ELSE WAS INJURED - BUT THE CAR WAS NOT CONTROLLABLE. ALSO FORTUNATELY I HAD PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY (4TH TIME I NEEDED IT, BUT FIRST SAFETY ISSUE). I READ OTHERS HAVE SIMILAR ISSUES SO I AM REPORTING IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/12/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
VEHICLE HAD BEEN PARKED AND TURNED OFF FOR AT LEAST 4 HOURS. A FIRE WAS REPORTED TO MY SON WHO BORROWED IT FOR WORK. HE USED A FIRE EXTINGUISHER UNTIL THE LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. THE FD DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND PUT OUT THE REMAINING FIRE. IN THEIR REPORT STATED THE FIRE WAS ELECTRICAL AND STARTED UNDER THE FRONT DASH. THE MIDDLE TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE DASH IS COMPLETE DESTROYED AND MELTED. LOCAL FORD DEALER, BYERLY FORD ESTIMATED $4600 OF DAMAGE. ALSO STATED THAT THE FIRE WAS TOO INTENSE AND CAUSE SO MUCH HEAT DAMAGE THAT A CAUSE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. SUBMITTED CLAIM TO FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND WAS INFORMED THERE WAS NO MANUFACTURER OR DESIGN ISSUE AND WOULD NOT PROCEED WITH ANY ACTION. CAR WAS SERVICED REGULARLY AND HAD NO MECHANICAL ISSUES.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/12/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
VEHICLE HAD BEEN PARKED AND TURNED OFF FOR AT LEAST 4 HOURS. A FIRE WAS REPORTED TO MY SON WHO BORROWED IT FOR WORK. HE USED A FIRE EXTINGUISHER UNTIL THE LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. THE FD DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND PUT OUT THE REMAINING FIRE. IN THEIR REPORT STATED THE FIRE WAS ELECTRICAL AND STARTED UNDER THE FRONT DASH. THE MIDDLE TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE DASH IS COMPLETE DESTROYED AND MELTED. LOCAL FORD DEALER, BYERLY FORD ESTIMATED $4600 OF DAMAGE. ALSO STATED THAT THE FIRE WAS TOO INTENSE AND CAUSE SO MUCH HEAT DAMAGE THAT A CAUSE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. SUBMITTED CLAIM TO FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND WAS INFORMED THERE WAS NO MANUFACTURER OR DESIGN ISSUE AND WOULD NOT PROCEED WITH ANY ACTION. CAR WAS SERVICED REGULARLY AND HAD NO MECHANICAL ISSUES.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/31/2014 - GWINN, MI
THE WEATHER WAS COLD...WELL BELOW ZERO (ABOUT 10-15 DEGREES F BELOW ZERO). THE CAR HAD BEEN SITTING OUTDOORS. THE DEFROSTER WAS RUNNING TO KEEP THE VEHICLE WINDSHIELD CLEAR. ABOUT 10 MINUTES INTO THE RIDE, THE WINDSHIELD SPONTANEOUSLY CRACKED ALL THE WAY ACROSS FROM DRIVER'S TO PASSENGER'S SIDE, A DISTANCE OF OVER 4 FEET. THERE WAS NO NICK OR STONE CHIP IN THE WINDSHIELD PRIOR TO THE CRACK. IT DID NOT PUT GLASS INSIDE THE VEHICLE COMPARTMENT, BUT COULD POTENTIALLY HAVE IMPAIRED VISION ENOUGH TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds