Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS X - 2008 FORD TAURUS X Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by FORD

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD TAURUS X. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (31) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Structure (13) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/1/2013 - SALINE3, MI
CAR HAS A TENDANCY TO DRIFT RIGHT OR LEFT WHILE TRAVELING. MORE PRONUNCED DRIFT WHILE STOPPING. EXCESSIVE TIRE WEAR. DEALER INSPECTION INDICATES GEARS IN GEAR BOX ARE LOOSE AND GEAR BOX NEEDS REPLACING AND VEHICLE NEEDS ALIGNMENT. SECOND SET OF FRONT TIRES ARE WORN DOWN TO WEAR BAR AFTER ONLY 13,000 MILES. COST FOR GEAR BOX REPLACEMENT AND FOUR WHEEL ALIGNMENT IS $900. DEALER STATED NO RECALLS OR SERVICE BULLETINS FOR STEERING/GEAR PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/1/2013 - SALINE3, MI
CAR HAS A TENDANCY TO DRIFT RIGHT OR LEFT WHILE TRAVELING. MORE PRONUNCED DRIFT WHILE STOPPING. EXCESSIVE TIRE WEAR. DEALER INSPECTION INDICATES GEARS IN GEAR BOX ARE LOOSE AND GEAR BOX NEEDS REPLACING AND VEHICLE NEEDS ALIGNMENT. SECOND SET OF FRONT TIRES ARE WORN DOWN TO WEAR BAR AFTER ONLY 13,000 MILES. COST FOR GEAR BOX REPLACEMENT AND FOUR WHEEL ALIGNMENT IS $900. DEALER STATED NO RECALLS OR SERVICE BULLETINS FOR STEERING/GEAR PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/30/2012 - JAMUL, CA
FIRST OCCASION WAS WHEN MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND SHE WAS PARKING AND THE CAR SURGED. IT HAPPENED ON SEVERAL MORE OCCASIONS AND ON 12/17/2010 FORD REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY AND AIR INTAKE. THEN ON 2-03-2012 AND 12-10-2012 CAR SURGED AGAIN. FORD DEALER SHIP SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND CAUSE. ON 12-10-2012THE CAR WAS COMING TO A STOP AND THE ENGINE BEGAN TO SURGE REACH AROUND 4000 RPM, I PUSHED THE BRAKE AND IT CONTINUED TO SURGE AND I HAD TO PUT IN IT IN NEUTRAL TO STOP IT FROM LUNGING INTO THE INTERSECTION. IT CONTINUED TO SURGE AS I PUT IT INTO GEAR AND MOVED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. IT THEN STOPPED SURGING AND BEHAVED NORMALLY. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THEY COULD FIND NOTHING. I HAS SINCE SURGED AGAIN WHILE STOPPING AT A STOP SIGN.

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2012 - EUREKA, MO
THE FORD TAURUS X SEL FWD WAS PURCHASED NEW IN 2009. WE HAVE NOTICED STEERING NOISE SINCE 85K MILES APPROXIMATELY. RECENTLY THE CAR HAS STOPPED DRIVING WITH POWER STEERING REGULARLY AT LOW SPEEDS. SOMETIMES AT HIGHER SPEEDS IT WILL NOW ALSO DROP OUT AND THEN RESUME, MAKING DRIVING EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS YOU ARE STEERING HARD WITH TWO HANDS WHEN SUDDENLY POWER STEERING CUTS BACK IN AND YOU SWERVE AS THE WHEEL IMMEDIATELY BEGINS TO RESPOND.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/12/2012 - HARRISVILLE,, PA
ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS WHEN EITHER PULLING OUT FROM GRAVEL OR WET PAVEMENT THE ESC WILL APPLY THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. THE CAR IS IN NO WAY SKIDDING OR OTHERWISE OUT OF CONTROL IN ANY WAY. IT PRESENTS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN. AS WE PULLED OUT ONTO THE MAIN ROAD THE CARS ANTI-LOCK BRAKES WERE BEING APPLIED WHILE WE WERE TRYING TO DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD. WE HAD TO TRY TO GET THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD IN ORDER TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC COMING UP BEHIND US. THE ESC LIGHT FLASHES DURING THESE EPISODES. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE LOCAL FORD DEALER TWICE AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. I WANT TO MAKE IT CLEAR THAT THE BRAKES COME ON AFTER THE TURN HAS BEEN MADE AND THE CAR IS NOW STRAIGHT AND STEADY. EACH TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED IT WAS AT LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

TIRES

8/3/2012 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD TAURUS X WITH CONTINENTAL CONTITOURING TIRES, SIZE: P215/55R17, DOT D1976825. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT ACTIVATED THE HAZARD LIGHTS AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE ON THE SHOULDER. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE WAS BEGINNING TO LOSE PRESSURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTICS WHERE THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE TIRE EXHIBITED CRACKS ON THE SIDEWALL AND ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE WITHOUT REPLACING THE TIRE. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN NOTICED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE ALSO EXHIBITED CRACKS ON THE SIDEWALL. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED BOTH THE FRONT AND REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,600.

View Details

STEERING

8/2/2012 - MAUMEE, OH
DRIVING NORMALLY WHEN STEERING CONTROL/ASSIST WAS SUDDENLY LOST CAUSING THE STEERING TO BIAS TO THE LEFT CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SUDDENLY VEER TO THE LEFT. BRAKING AND EXTREME PHYSICAL EFFORT TO RECOVER CONTROL BY ROTATING STEERING WHEEL TO THE HARD RIGHT HAD TO BE MAINTAINED TO MAINTAIN THE VEHICLE ON A STRAIT-AWAY COURSE. STEERING SHUDDERED VIOLENTLY WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MAINTAIN A STRAIGHT-LINE PATH. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO AUTHORIZED FORD DEALER (BRONDES FORD, MAUMEE, OH) FOR REPAIRS. CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE STEERING RACK PART OF THE RACK AND PINION STEERING GEAR WAS CAUSE. METAL DEBRIS FROM THIS CATASTROPHIC COMPONENT FAILURE HAD TO BE FLUSHED FROM THE STEERING HYDRAULIC SYSTEM DURING THE REPAIR PROCESS; ENTIRE RACK ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED WHICH NECESSITATED COMPLETE FRONT-END ALIGNMENT. COST FOR REPAIRS EXCEEDED $1,000.00. VEHICLE IS WELL-MAINTAINED, GARAGE-STORED AND HAS NEVER BEEN IN ANY COLLISION AND/OR ROAD HAZARD ENCOUNTER OF ANY KIND.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2012 - WAUWATOSA, WI
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY FROM MILWAUKEE WI, TO OSHKOSH, WI. AFTER DRIVING AROUND AN HOUR AT FREEWAY SPEED WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET AT 70, CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND RPM WENT UP TOO. TOOK CAR OFF OF CRUISE CONTROL AND CONTINUED DRIVING. THE CAR DID IT AGAIN AFTER A FEW MINUTES, ACCOMPANIED BY A LOUD 'THUNK' NOISE. IMMEDIATELY GOT OFF FREEWAY, TURNED OFF CAR AND WAITED TILL DRIVING AGAIN. PROBLEM DID NOT REOCCUR THEN. BUT HAPPENED AGAIN NEXT DAY ON WAY HOME. SINCE THEN IT HAS OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. GENERALLY ONLY HAPPENS ON LONG TRIPS AT FREEWAY SPEEDS AFTER DRIVING ABOUT AN HOUR TO HOUR AND A HALF. WE DO NOT USE CRUISE CONTROL ANY MORE, BUT IT STILL HAPPENS ON EVERY LONG TRIP. HAVE TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP AND CONTACTED FORD. THEY DON'T SEE ANY SERVICE CODES SO NOTHING HAS BEEN FIXED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2012 - WAUWATOSA, WI
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY FROM MILWAUKEE WI, TO OSHKOSH, WI. AFTER DRIVING AROUND AN HOUR AT FREEWAY SPEED WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET AT 70, CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND RPM WENT UP TOO. TOOK CAR OFF OF CRUISE CONTROL AND CONTINUED DRIVING. THE CAR DID IT AGAIN AFTER A FEW MINUTES, ACCOMPANIED BY A LOUD 'THUNK' NOISE. IMMEDIATELY GOT OFF FREEWAY, TURNED OFF CAR AND WAITED TILL DRIVING AGAIN. PROBLEM DID NOT REOCCUR THEN. BUT HAPPENED AGAIN NEXT DAY ON WAY HOME. SINCE THEN IT HAS OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. GENERALLY ONLY HAPPENS ON LONG TRIPS AT FREEWAY SPEEDS AFTER DRIVING ABOUT AN HOUR TO HOUR AND A HALF. WE DO NOT USE CRUISE CONTROL ANY MORE, BUT IT STILL HAPPENS ON EVERY LONG TRIP. HAVE TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP AND CONTACTED FORD. THEY DON'T SEE ANY SERVICE CODES SO NOTHING HAS BEEN FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

6/1/2012 - CLINTON, UT
UNABLE TO STEER IN A PARKING LOT TO PARK. TURNING LEFT BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT AND A HISSING SOUND OCCURRED. THIS HAS NOT CAUSED AN ACCIDENT BUT IN SEVERAL SITUATIONS IT HAS COME VERY CLOSE. I FEEL THAT FORD NEEDS TO RECALL AND FIX THIS ISSUE SINCE AFTER DOING RESEARCH I HAVE FOUND THIS IS HAPPENING ON ALL VEHICLES OF MY MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR. THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED MY TO FAIL MY VEHICLE INSPECTION FOR SAFETY. IT'S AN OBVIOUS PROBLEM AND IF THE STATE WILL NOT PASS BECAUSE THEY FEEL ITS A SAFETY ISSUE THEN I BELIEVE THE DEALER NEEDS TO RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds