Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS X - 2008 FORD TAURUS X Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 127 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD TAURUS X. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD TAURUS X, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (38) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (14) Visibility (2)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/10/2014 - PROSPECT, CT
WHILE BACKING AND TURNING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AT SPEEDS AT OR NEAR 1 MPH I NOTICED THE STEERING WAS TIGHT - AS IF THE POWER STEERING NO LONGER WORKED. AFTER PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND PROCEEDING APPROXIMATELY 1 MILE (SPEED LIMIT LESS THAN 25 MPH) TO A STOP SIGN, I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE THE LEFT TURN FROM A STOPPED POSITION (HAD TO BACK UP AND TRY AGAIN - FORTUNATELY NO OTHER CARS IN INTERSECTION). MOMENTS LATER, STILL AT SPEEDS OF 25 MPH OR LESS, THE STEERING BECAME HYPERSENSITIVE WHILE GOING AROUND A BEND IN THE ROAD, CAUSING ME TO NOT ONLY ENTER THE OPPOSITE LANE, BUT TO ALMOST DO A 360 DEGREE TURN (AND OFF THE PAVEMENT). I WENT HOME AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO FORD DEALERSHIP. FIRST, A FAILED STEERING RACK WAS DIAGNOSED, THEN A LOWER STEERING ROD JOINT FAILURE (NOT SURE IF ONLY THE LATTER OR BOTH SINCE THE CAR IS STILL IN THE SHOP). FORTUNATELY, NEITHER I NOR ANYONE ELSE WAS INJURED - BUT THE CAR WAS NOT CONTROLLABLE. ALSO FORTUNATELY I HAD PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY (4TH TIME I NEEDED IT, BUT FIRST SAFETY ISSUE). I READ OTHERS HAVE SIMILAR ISSUES SO I AM REPORTING IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/12/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
VEHICLE HAD BEEN PARKED AND TURNED OFF FOR AT LEAST 4 HOURS. A FIRE WAS REPORTED TO MY SON WHO BORROWED IT FOR WORK. HE USED A FIRE EXTINGUISHER UNTIL THE LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. THE FD DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND PUT OUT THE REMAINING FIRE. IN THEIR REPORT STATED THE FIRE WAS ELECTRICAL AND STARTED UNDER THE FRONT DASH. THE MIDDLE TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE DASH IS COMPLETE DESTROYED AND MELTED. LOCAL FORD DEALER, BYERLY FORD ESTIMATED $4600 OF DAMAGE. ALSO STATED THAT THE FIRE WAS TOO INTENSE AND CAUSE SO MUCH HEAT DAMAGE THAT A CAUSE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. SUBMITTED CLAIM TO FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND WAS INFORMED THERE WAS NO MANUFACTURER OR DESIGN ISSUE AND WOULD NOT PROCEED WITH ANY ACTION. CAR WAS SERVICED REGULARLY AND HAD NO MECHANICAL ISSUES.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/12/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
VEHICLE HAD BEEN PARKED AND TURNED OFF FOR AT LEAST 4 HOURS. A FIRE WAS REPORTED TO MY SON WHO BORROWED IT FOR WORK. HE USED A FIRE EXTINGUISHER UNTIL THE LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. THE FD DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND PUT OUT THE REMAINING FIRE. IN THEIR REPORT STATED THE FIRE WAS ELECTRICAL AND STARTED UNDER THE FRONT DASH. THE MIDDLE TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE DASH IS COMPLETE DESTROYED AND MELTED. LOCAL FORD DEALER, BYERLY FORD ESTIMATED $4600 OF DAMAGE. ALSO STATED THAT THE FIRE WAS TOO INTENSE AND CAUSE SO MUCH HEAT DAMAGE THAT A CAUSE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. SUBMITTED CLAIM TO FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND WAS INFORMED THERE WAS NO MANUFACTURER OR DESIGN ISSUE AND WOULD NOT PROCEED WITH ANY ACTION. CAR WAS SERVICED REGULARLY AND HAD NO MECHANICAL ISSUES.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/31/2014 - GWINN, MI
THE WEATHER WAS COLD...WELL BELOW ZERO (ABOUT 10-15 DEGREES F BELOW ZERO). THE CAR HAD BEEN SITTING OUTDOORS. THE DEFROSTER WAS RUNNING TO KEEP THE VEHICLE WINDSHIELD CLEAR. ABOUT 10 MINUTES INTO THE RIDE, THE WINDSHIELD SPONTANEOUSLY CRACKED ALL THE WAY ACROSS FROM DRIVER'S TO PASSENGER'S SIDE, A DISTANCE OF OVER 4 FEET. THERE WAS NO NICK OR STONE CHIP IN THE WINDSHIELD PRIOR TO THE CRACK. IT DID NOT PUT GLASS INSIDE THE VEHICLE COMPARTMENT, BUT COULD POTENTIALLY HAVE IMPAIRED VISION ENOUGH TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2014 - ISLIP, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD TAURUS X. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE THEN STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE COMPUTER, SIX COILS, AND THE SPARK PLUGS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,620.

View Details

SEATS

12/12/2013 - N RICHLAND HILLS, TX
THE DRIVER'S SIDE OUTBOARD SEAT PIVOT (5F9Z*7460593) FAILED CAUSING THE 2ND ROW SEAT FOLD DOWN/RELEASE TO BE INOPERABLE. THE PART WAS REMOVED AND REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY ON 22 SEP 2010. ON 19 MAY 2011 THE SEAT AGAIN BECAME INOPERABLE AND WAS REPAIRED. METHOD OF REPAIR WAS NOT LISTED ON THE SERVICE ORDER. ON 10 DEC 2013 THE SEAT PIVOT FAILED AGAIN. I DO NOT HAVE CHILDREN SO THE SEAT MECHANISM HAS NOT BE ABUSED. THE FOLD DOWN FEATURE OF THE SEAT TO INCREASE THE FLAT CARGO SPACE HAS PROBABLY ONLY BEEN USED SIX TIMES SINCE THE 22 SEP 2010 REPAIR. THE THIRD ROW SEATS ARE USED INFREQUENTLY. AN INTERNET SEARCH FOR THE DEFECTIVE PART NUMBER REVEALED THAT OTHER OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM (ALSO ON THE DRIVERS SIDE). MY CONCERN IS THAT PASSENGERS IN THE THIRD ROW SEAT MIGHT BECOME TRAPPED DURING AN ACCIDENT IF THE RIGHT FOLD DOWN SEAT IS OBSTRUCTED BY COLLISION DAMAGE. FORD ISSUED A TSB (A LETTER, NOT A RECALL) ON THIS PART NUMBER BUT I WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A COPY OF IT. THE PART WAS SUPPOSED TO BE REPLACED WITH A REDESIGNED AND/OR STRENGTHENED PIVOT. ONE FORD HELP SITE REPORTED THAT THE LATCH COULD POSSIBLY BE RELEASED BY PULLING ON THE RELEASE HANDLE WHILE BANGING ON THE SEAT BACK FOR 5 MINUTES. I DON'T THINK THAT WOULD BENEFICIAL IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/15/2013 - SILVER SPRING, MD
LESS THAN 80K MILES, THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION ACTS LIKE IT LOST FIRST GEAR. THE DEALERSHIP NOW TELLS ME THAT THIS LESS THAN 5 YEAR OLD CAR NEEDS A COMPLETELY NEW TRANSMISSION AT A COST OF $5,000. I UNDERSTAND THROUGH ONLINE FORUMS THAT THIS PROBLEM IS FAIRLY COMMON. UNBELIEVABLE THAT FORD ISN'T DOING ANYTHING ABOUT THIS.

View Details

STEERING

11/6/2013 - OLNEY, MD
I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE WHEN I LOST ALL POWER STEERING. TURNING THE WHEEL MADE A GRINDING NOISE AND ON THE DRIVE TO THE MECHANIC'S GARAGE SOME POWER CAME BACK, BUT IT WAS MUCH EASIER TO TURN LEFT THAN RIGHT. MY MECHANIC REPORTED THAT HE FOUND A TSB FROM FORD ON THIS ISSUE DETAILING THE EXACT PROBLEM I HAD AND HOW TO FIX IT (REPLACE RACK AND PINION UNIT, REPLACE STEERING PUMP, POWER STEERING FLUID EXCHANGE - COST APPROX. $1600) FORD IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/22/2013 - ESTERO , FL
THE GAS PEDAL AND BRAKE PEDAL ARE ABLE TO BE APPLIED SIMULTANEOUSLY CAUSING NEAR ACCIDENTS. THE CAUSE SEEMS TO BE BECAUSE OF THE CLOSENESS OF THE BRAKE AND GAS PEDALS BOTH HORIZONTALLY AND VERTICALLY. SINCE OWNERSHIP OF THIS VEHICLE, THIS SITUATION HAS OCCURRED 4 TIMES. THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH ELECTRICALLY ADJUSTED PEDALS WHICH BRINGS THE PEDALS TOO CLOSE IN PROXIMITY TO EACH OTHER CAUSING THESE NEAR ACCIDENTS BECAUSE THE FOOT UNINTENTIONALLY IS ABLE TO APPLY PRESSURE TO BOTH BRAKE AND GAS PEDALS.THIS SITUATION I BELIEVE IS CAUSED THROUGH THE ENGINEERING OF THE VEHICLE AND THE COST TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE BORN BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/22/2013 - ESTERO , FL
THE GAS PEDAL AND BRAKE PEDAL ARE ABLE TO BE APPLIED SIMULTANEOUSLY CAUSING NEAR ACCIDENTS. THE CAUSE SEEMS TO BE BECAUSE OF THE CLOSENESS OF THE BRAKE AND GAS PEDALS BOTH HORIZONTALLY AND VERTICALLY. SINCE OWNERSHIP OF THIS VEHICLE, THIS SITUATION HAS OCCURRED 4 TIMES. THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH ELECTRICALLY ADJUSTED PEDALS WHICH BRINGS THE PEDALS TOO CLOSE IN PROXIMITY TO EACH OTHER CAUSING THESE NEAR ACCIDENTS BECAUSE THE FOOT UNINTENTIONALLY IS ABLE TO APPLY PRESSURE TO BOTH BRAKE AND GAS PEDALS.THIS SITUATION I BELIEVE IS CAUSED THROUGH THE ENGINEERING OF THE VEHICLE AND THE COST TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE BORN BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds