Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 988 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (97) Equipment (19) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (106) Power Train (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (449) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (74) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (25) Structure (23) Visibility (19)
Engine (58) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (39) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - PEARL, MS
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO START AND AN ABNORMAL NOISE WHEN SHIFTING GEARS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE VTC ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. DJR

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/19/2015 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE PAINT ON MY BLACK 08 HONDA ACCORD IS BEGINNING TO PEEL ON THE HOOD. IT JUST STARTED THIS WEEK AND IS ABOUT THE SIZE OF A 50 CENT PIECE OR A BIT LARGER. I UNDERSTAND THAT HONDA IS NOT INTERESTED IN CORRECTING THE PROBLEM. MY 1998 CIVIC NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM EVEN AFTER 224,000 MILES AND 12 YEARS. WHAT A SHAME THE HONDA CORP IS UNDER AN OBLIGATION TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEMS THAT THEY CREATE BUT WITHOUT A CLASS ACTION SUIT I DOUBT THAT WE WILL SEE ANY HELP WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/19/2015 - RICHMOND , IN
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. WHEN LOCAL HONDA DEALER CHECKED IT OUT WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL FAILURE OF THE SRS CONTROL UNIT. WAS TOLD IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WHEN ASKED WHAT CAUSED IT, WAS TOLD THAT IF THE CAR WAS NOT IN AN ACCIDENT THEY DIDN'T KNOW. THE CAR HAD NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT. AM PLANNING TO HAVE IT REPLACED BUT WITH THE RECALLS OF THIS PART IN OLDER MODELS, FELT AS IF I NEEDED TO REPORT THIS DEFECT IN CASE IT TURNED OUT TO BE A PROBLEM IN OTHER MODELS OF THIS CAR. DEALER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2015 - CANTON, OH
RECENTLY I NOTICED THAT MY ENGINE IS CONSUMING MORE AND MORE OIL. I ROUTINELY GET MY OIL CHANGED EVERY 3,000-5,000 MILES AS SUGGESTED IN THE MANUAL. THIS LAST TIME, I WAS AT THE 2,000 MILE MARK WHEN MY OIL LIGHT FLASHED; I SAY FLASHED, BECAUSE THE LIGHT DID NOT STAY ON, RATHER IT WOULD GO ON ONLY WHEN I TURN A CORNER. CLEARLY THERE IS AN ISSUE AS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT HAS BEEN INITIATED BY PEOPLE WHO HAD TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT THEMSELVES. FIRST, CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR SPENDING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS A YEAR TO MAINTAIN OIL IN THEIR CAR DUE TO HONDA'S ERROR. SECOND, THIS ISSUE CAN CAUSE THE ENGINE TO FREEZE/LOCK-UP WHILE OPERATING WHICH IS A MAJOR CONCERN WHILE DRIVING. I DO NOT DRIVE EXCESSIVELY EITHER, I HAVE A 10 MINUTE COMMUTE TO WORK. MY CAR SHOULD NOT BE BURNING OIL THIS QUICKLY. THIS IS THE SECOND HONDA I HAVE OWNED, MY FIRST WAS A 2004 AND I NEVER HAD ISSUES WITH THE OIL. IN FACT, I WOULD NOT RECEIVE A LOW OIL NOTIFICATION UNTIL I WAS AT 10,000 MILES. HONDAS HAVE THE REPUTATION TO LAST A LIFETIME; HOWEVER, IF THIS CONTINUES, I WILL BE FORCED TO PURCHASE A NEW CAR THAT I CANNOT AFFORD DUE TO THEIR ERROR AND REFUSAL TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/13/2015 - STRONGSVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON ICE, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE SLID AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT AND THE OCCUPANT OF THE OTHER VEHICLE SUSTAINED UNKNOWN INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED IN A SUBSEQUENT CRASH. THE SPECIFICS OF THE REPAIRS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/9/2015 - METHUEN, MA
IT HAPPENED TWICE, BOTH TIMES I HAD TRIED TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND THE CAR WOULD SUDDENLY START TO ACCELERATOR, WOULDN'T STOP RIGHT AWAY, THIS COULD BECOME VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/9/2015 - METHUEN, MA
IT HAPPENED TWICE, BOTH TIMES I HAD TRIED TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND THE CAR WOULD SUDDENLY START TO ACCELERATOR, WOULDN'T STOP RIGHT AWAY, THIS COULD BECOME VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2015 - LUTHERSBURG, PA
LOUD NOISE FROM REAR BRAKES. SQUEALING, SO PULLED OVER. THEN DROVE 8 MILES HOME. NOW IN 2015 AT 33000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER, I'VE HAD TO REPLACE THE REAR PADS THREE TIMES, HAD SLIDES REPAIRED AND LUBED, TWO SETS OF ROTORS, AND NOW A REAR CALIBER THAT HONDA REPLACED BECAUSE I STILL HAD A WARRANTY ON THEM. THEY WHERE FOUND TO BE SEIZED YET AGAIN 12/10/14 AFTER BEING SEIZED AND SERVICED 5/12/14. EACH TIME I'D NOTICE A SMOKING OR WEIRD NOISES COMING FROM THE REAR BRAKES AND THEN WOULD SCHEDULE AN APPT.HONDA SHOULD RECALL THESE REAR BRAKES OR OFFER SOME KIND OF BRAKE UPGRADE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/31/2014 - DURHAM, NC
ON 12/22/2014, MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD LX (WHICH HAS 98,300 MILES ON IT) WAS TOWED INTO MY LOCAL HONDA DEALER. THE REASON FOR MY HAVING IT TOWED INTO MY LOCAL DEALER WAS DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY ENGINE FAILED WHILE DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET DRIVE TWO MILES FROM MY HOME. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO INDICATION WHATSOEVER THAT MY ENGINE WOULD FAIL AS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT GO ON, THERE WAS NO OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATED, ETC. THUS I WAS SHOCKED WHEN I WAS DRIVING AND TRIED TO GIVE THE CAR SOME GAS AND THE CAR DID NOT ACCELERATE -++ THUS I ROLLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND CONTACTED A TOWING COMPANY. THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE CONTACTED ME VIA PHONE AND LET ME KNOW THAT THERE WAS NO COMPRESSION IN CYLINDER 2 AND THAT I LIKELY NEEDED A NEW ENGINE. THE INITIAL ESTIMATE WOULD BE $6,000 FOR A CAR WITH A BLUE BOOK VALUE OF $6,500 (DEALER TRADE IN.) I HAVE ALL SERVICE RECORDS AND FAITHFULLY SERVICED MY VEHICLE AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE REP ALSO EXPLAINED THAT I WAS LOW ON OIL AND I REVIEWED MY RECEIPTS TO DETERMINE THAT I CHANGED MY OIL 2600 MILES EARLIER. I AM HOPING THAT HONDA WILL PROVIDE GOODWILL TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE AS A 6 YEAR OLD VEHICLE WITH 98000 MILES ON IT SHOULD NOT NEED A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/31/2014 - DURHAM, NC
ON 12/22/2014, MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD LX (WHICH HAS 98,300 MILES ON IT) WAS TOWED INTO MY LOCAL HONDA DEALER. THE REASON FOR MY HAVING IT TOWED INTO MY LOCAL DEALER WAS DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY ENGINE FAILED WHILE DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET DRIVE TWO MILES FROM MY HOME. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO INDICATION WHATSOEVER THAT MY ENGINE WOULD FAIL AS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT GO ON, THERE WAS NO OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATED, ETC. THUS I WAS SHOCKED WHEN I WAS DRIVING AND TRIED TO GIVE THE CAR SOME GAS AND THE CAR DID NOT ACCELERATE -++ THUS I ROLLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND CONTACTED A TOWING COMPANY. THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE CONTACTED ME VIA PHONE AND LET ME KNOW THAT THERE WAS NO COMPRESSION IN CYLINDER 2 AND THAT I LIKELY NEEDED A NEW ENGINE. THE INITIAL ESTIMATE WOULD BE $6,000 FOR A CAR WITH A BLUE BOOK VALUE OF $6,500 (DEALER TRADE IN.) I HAVE ALL SERVICE RECORDS AND FAITHFULLY SERVICED MY VEHICLE AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE REP ALSO EXPLAINED THAT I WAS LOW ON OIL AND I REVIEWED MY RECEIPTS TO DETERMINE THAT I CHANGED MY OIL 2600 MILES EARLIER. I AM HOPING THAT HONDA WILL PROVIDE GOODWILL TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE AS A 6 YEAR OLD VEHICLE WITH 98000 MILES ON IT SHOULD NOT NEED A NEW ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds