Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1147 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (180) Equipment (22) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (108) Power Train (47) Service Brakes Hydraulic (450) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (82) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (15) Steering (30) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (28) Structure (26) Visibility (20)
Engine (105) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (33) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (6) Wheels (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/15/2016 - KINGWOOD, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V346000 AND 16V056000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO PROVIDE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2016 - EDMOND, OK
MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD HAS BEEN USING OIL WAY BEFORE THE NEXT OIL CHANGE. THIS HAS ONLY OCCURRED THE LAST TWO CHANGES. THE CAR DOES NOT LEAK OR SMOKE. THERE HAS BEEN A CLASS ACTION SUIT REGARDING SPARK PLUG FOULING INDICATING UNUSUAL OIL CONSUMPTION. MY CAR HAS ONLY 59500 MILES AND I BELIEVE THE PROBLEM MAY BE STARTING NOW. HONDA EXTENDED A RECALL UNTIL NOV. 2015, 8 YEARS PAST THE PURCHASE DATE. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED ABOUT THIS AND BECAUSE THE PROBLEM HADN'T BEGUN UNTIL NOW, IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME THAT MY PLUGS WILL FOUL. OTHER 2008 HONDA OWNERS HAD RINGS REPLACED AND OTHER ENGINE REMEDIES TO CORRECT THE PREMATURE OIL CONSUMPTION. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL NEW HONDAS, AND NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS KIND OF PROBLEM. I FIRST SAW ABOUT THE CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT, ABOUT A MONTH AGO, AND SEVERAL PEOPLE HAD THIS PROBLEM. BECAUSE OF THE LOW MILEAGE I WAS NOT AFFECTED, UNTIL MY RECENT OIL CHANGE. I CERTAINLY DON'T BELIEVE THE CAR SHOULD BE USING 2 OR MORE QUARTS IN LESS THAN 1000 MILES. THE DEALER TOLD ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DO AN OIL CHANGE AND MONITOR THE CONSUMPTION AND THEN HE SAID ONLY ABOUT 2 OUT A 100 HAVE BEEN WARRANTED. I HAVE TAKEN GOOD CARE OF MY VEHICLES AND CHANGED THE OIL REGULARLY AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM LIKE THIS. HAD I HAD THIS PROBLEM ARISE A FEW MONTHS BACK, I MAY HAVE GOTTEN THIS TAKEN CARE OF. UNHAPPY HONDA CUSTOMER

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/13/2016 - IRVINE, CA
I PARKED ON MY DRIVEWAY, WHICH SLOPES UPWARD. I PUSHED OPEN THE DOOR TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT. AS I EXITED THE CAR, THE DOOR CLOSED BY ITSELF, HITTING ME ON THE SHOULDER AND INJURING THE SHOULDER. (I AM NOW GETTING MEDICAL TREATMENT FOR THE INJURY.) BOTH THE FRONT DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER DOORS FREQUENTLY CLOSE ON THEIR OWN, BUT THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME I WAS SERIOUSLY INJURED. AFTER MY INJURY, I ASKED FRIENDS IF THEIR DOORS DID THIS, AND TESTED THEIR DOORS. EVEN PARKED ON A VERY SLIGHT UPWARD SLOPE, MY DOOR HAS A TENDENCY TO CLOSE ON ITS OWN. AT THAT POINT I REALIZED THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH MY CAR; THE DOOR WAS NOT SUPPOSED TO CLOSE LIKE THIS. I PLAN TO TAKE THE CAR TO THE DEALER AS SOON AS I CAN TO SEE IF THE DOOR MECHANISM CAN BE FIXED ON BOTH SIDES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/8/2016 - INDIANNAPOLIS, IN
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V056000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/7/2016 - SHERWOOD, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING OPERATED, THE SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAGS INDEPENDENTLY DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT SUFFERED HEAD AND SHOULDER INJURIES, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V665000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/1/2016 - ANTIOCH, TN
I BEGAN HEARING A DISTURBING MECHANICAL RATTLE ON COLD STARTS AND STARTED TO BECOME MORE EXCESSIVE DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE VTC ACTUATOR WAS THE PROBLEM AND I CONTACTED HONDA AMERICA FOR A SOLUTION AND ASSISTANCE BUT THEY DENIED ANY GOODWILL SERVICE BECAUSE OF THE AGE AND MILES ON MY CAR EVEN THOU ITS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH EVERY 2008 ACCORD 2.4L KSERIES ENGINE. MY 2003 ACCORD, SOUNDS MUCH BETTER AT START UP THAN MY 2008. KIND OF SAD SINCE IT'S OVER 200,000 MILES NOW. THE GRINDING SOUNDS SO BAD IT HAS TO BE DAMAGING TO SOMETHING IN THE ENGINE. WITH SO MANY COMPLAINTS FROM ALL THE 2008 V4 OWNERS, I DON'T KNOW WHY HONDA IS ACKNOWLEDGING THIS PROBLEM AND RELEASE A SERVICE BULLETIN BUT NOT A FREE REPLACEMENT OF THE TROUBLED PARTS. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING GIVEN AND I AM VERY UNHAPPY WITH HONDA'S CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER SPEAKING WITH CASY WITH AMERICAN HONDA THIS MORNING, HE STATED THAT A RECALL HAS NOT BEEN MADE BECAUSE IT HAS NOT CAUSED AN IMMEDIATE HARM TO CONSUMERS. SO, IF I UNDERSTAND HIM CORRECTLY, HARM TO A CONSUMER HAS TO HAPPEN BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE TO A KNOWN PROBLEM????

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2016 - ANTIOCH, TN
I BEGAN HEARING A DISTURBING MECHANICAL RATTLE ON COLD STARTS AND STARTED TO BECOME MORE EXCESSIVE DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE VTC ACTUATOR WAS THE PROBLEM AND I CONTACTED HONDA AMERICA FOR A SOLUTION AND ASSISTANCE BUT THEY DENIED ANY GOODWILL SERVICE BECAUSE OF THE AGE AND MILES ON MY CAR EVEN THOU ITS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH EVERY 2008 ACCORD 2.4L KSERIES ENGINE. MY 2003 ACCORD, SOUNDS MUCH BETTER AT START UP THAN MY 2008. KIND OF SAD SINCE IT'S OVER 200,000 MILES NOW. THE GRINDING SOUNDS SO BAD IT HAS TO BE DAMAGING TO SOMETHING IN THE ENGINE. WITH SO MANY COMPLAINTS FROM ALL THE 2008 V4 OWNERS, I DON'T KNOW WHY HONDA IS ACKNOWLEDGING THIS PROBLEM AND RELEASE A SERVICE BULLETIN BUT NOT A FREE REPLACEMENT OF THE TROUBLED PARTS. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING GIVEN AND I AM VERY UNHAPPY WITH HONDA'S CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER SPEAKING WITH CASY WITH AMERICAN HONDA THIS MORNING, HE STATED THAT A RECALL HAS NOT BEEN MADE BECAUSE IT HAS NOT CAUSED AN IMMEDIATE HARM TO CONSUMERS. SO, IF I UNDERSTAND HIM CORRECTLY, HARM TO A CONSUMER HAS TO HAPPEN BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE TO A KNOWN PROBLEM????

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/31/2016 - ARLINGTON, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, THE SRS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V056000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,777. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2016 - SAVANNAH, TN
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V056000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/16/2016 - NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA
1. EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. 2. REAR BREAKS REQUIRE PADS CHANGED AFTER EVERY 15K -17K ML OF DRIVING 3. BATTERY FAILED AFTER 1 1/2 OF SERVICE, ABOUT 20K MI.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds