Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 995 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Equipment (19) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (106) Power Train (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (449) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (75) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (27) Structure (24) Visibility (20)
Engine (59) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (39) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

2/13/2015 - STERLING, VA
I VISITED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN STERLING, VA A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO AND HAD TO GET MY BRAKES REPLACED. AT THAT TIME I ASKED IF THEY COULD FIX MY BACK DRIVER'S SEAT..(MY DAUGHTER WHO IS 10 GOT INTO THE CAR ONE DAY AND KICKED THE BACK SEAT BY ACCIDENT WITH HER FOOT AND IT FELL) I WAS TOLD THEY COULD FIX IT AND THEY COULD DO IT THAT DAY BECAUSE THEY HAD THE PLASTIC CLIPS IN STOCK BUT IT WOULD COST AN ADDITIONAL $197.00 (I CAN'T REMEMBER EXACT AMOUNT) BUT I TOLD THEM I WAS PAYING A LOT OF MONEY ALREADY FOR REPLACING MY BRAKES AND I COULDN'T AFFORD RIGHT NOW AND TOLD THEM I WOULD BE BACK. THE GUYS TRIED TO GET THE CLIP TO HOLD (AND I WAS VERY THANKFUL) BUT AS SOON AS I PULLED OUT OF THE DEALERSHIP IT FELL AGAIN. I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE AND THERE WAS ONE MAN IN PARTICULAR WHO WAS VERY HELPFUL AND I WISHED I HAD HIS NAME TO TELL YOU. SO, I HAD AN APT TODAY AT 9:15 AND GOT THERE AT EARLY AT 8:50. THE GUY FINALLY CAME BACK TO ME ABOUT 10:30 OR SO AND SAID THEY COULDN'T FIX THE BACK SEAT BECAUSE THE WAY THIS WAS BUILT WASN'T DONE PROPERLY AND THESE THIS WILL JUST KEEP BREAKING. HE SAID I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE SEAT BACK AND THE COST WOULD BE $335.00 PLUS TAX AND SHOP SUPPLIES. REALLY? I SAID THEN WHY WASN'T I TOLD THIS WHEN I WAS HERE A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO. WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING THAT IS A DEFECT IN THE FIRST PLACE? HE SAID SORRY I JUST FIX THE CARS I DON'T MAKE THEM. HE WAS VERY NICE A POLITE BUT I DON'T FEEL I SHOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS AT ALL. I ASKED HIM .... WHY DIDN'T YOU TELL ME WHEN I WAS HERE BEFORE AND HE REPLIED BECAUSE OF MY MONEY RESTRAINTS. THAT MAKES NO SENSE!!! WHY BEFORE YOU CAN JUST REPLACE THE PLASTIC CLIPS AND NOW ALL OF THE SUDDEN YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE BACK PANEL. I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON BUT I WOULD LIKE FOR SOMEONE TO CALL ME AND TALK TO ME ABOUT THIS SITUATION. I AM NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/9/2015 - MAGNOLIA, TX
WAVED ON AS CLEAR TO GO BY THE PERSON LOOKING THE ONLY WAY TRAFFIC COULD BE LEGALLY COMING; MY WIFE PROCEEDED TO ATTEMPT TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION. UNBEKNOWNST TO HER AND THE PERSON THAT WAVED HER IN AN ALL CLEAR MANNER WAS THAT SOMEONE WAS SPEEDING DOWN THE MIDDLE OR TURNING LANE IN THE SAME DIRECTION THAT STOPPED TRAFFIC WAS FACING AND HIT HER AT AN ESTIMATED SPEED OF 50 MPH. HE HIT HER FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE AND SPUN HER AROUND STRIKING THE VEHICLE A SECOND TIME. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND MY WIFE WAS TAKEN IN A C-COLLAR BY AMBULANCE TO A LOCAL HOSPITAL. WHEN THE EYE INJURY WAS DISCOVERED TO BE BEYOND THE SCOPE OF THE ER TEAM AT THE INITIAL HOSPITAL SHE WAS TRANSPORTED DOWNTOWN TO A TRAUMA CENTER TO HAVE HER EYE EVALUATED FOR RETINAL TEAR OR OTHER TRAUMA. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NOT FRONT OR SIDE CURTAIN NOT PASSENGER NOR DRIVER'S SIDE. MY WIFE'S HEAD HIT MULTIPLE TIMES, DOOR WINDOW TWICE AND STEERING WHEEL TO THE BEST OF HER RECOLLECTION. BLACK EYE AND VISUAL DISTURBANCE THAT HAS YET TO RESOLVE FIVE DAYS LATER. CULPABILITY ASIDE I AM CONCERNED THAT THE AIRBAGS ON OUR VEHICLE DID NOT DEPLOY IN A CRASH OF THAT MAGNITUDE. .. UPDATED 02/19/15

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/9/2015 - MAGNOLIA, TX
WAVED ON AS CLEAR TO GO BY THE PERSON LOOKING THE ONLY WAY TRAFFIC COULD BE LEGALLY COMING; MY WIFE PROCEEDED TO ATTEMPT TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION. UNBEKNOWNST TO HER AND THE PERSON THAT WAVED HER IN AN ALL CLEAR MANNER WAS THAT SOMEONE WAS SPEEDING DOWN THE MIDDLE OR TURNING LANE IN THE SAME DIRECTION THAT STOPPED TRAFFIC WAS FACING AND HIT HER AT AN ESTIMATED SPEED OF 50 MPH. HE HIT HER FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE AND SPUN HER AROUND STRIKING THE VEHICLE A SECOND TIME. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND MY WIFE WAS TAKEN IN A C-COLLAR BY AMBULANCE TO A LOCAL HOSPITAL. WHEN THE EYE INJURY WAS DISCOVERED TO BE BEYOND THE SCOPE OF THE ER TEAM AT THE INITIAL HOSPITAL SHE WAS TRANSPORTED DOWNTOWN TO A TRAUMA CENTER TO HAVE HER EYE EVALUATED FOR RETINAL TEAR OR OTHER TRAUMA. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NOT FRONT OR SIDE CURTAIN NOT PASSENGER NOR DRIVER'S SIDE. MY WIFE'S HEAD HIT MULTIPLE TIMES, DOOR WINDOW TWICE AND STEERING WHEEL TO THE BEST OF HER RECOLLECTION. BLACK EYE AND VISUAL DISTURBANCE THAT HAS YET TO RESOLVE FIVE DAYS LATER. CULPABILITY ASIDE I AM CONCERNED THAT THE AIRBAGS ON OUR VEHICLE DID NOT DEPLOY IN A CRASH OF THAT MAGNITUDE. .. UPDATED 02/19/15

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/31/2015 - ANAHEIM, CA
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON INTERMITTENTLY, THEN STAYED ON. WHEN TO HONDA DEALER IN YORBA LINDA, CA. DEALER TESTED SRS SYSTEM, NO ERRORS ON DIAGNOSTIC CODE. ONLY THING DEALER SAID WAS TO RETURN AND LEAVE CAR FOR SEVERAL DAYS, THAT THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THIS. DEALER ALSO SAID WOULD BE AT MY EXPENSE IF THEY FOUND ANYTHING WRONG AND FOR TIME TO INVESTIGATE. I HAVE NOT RETURNED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/31/2015 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
DEPARTING A PARKING LOT AT LOW SPEED, I MADE A TURN TO THE LEFT AND HEARD A LOUD RATTLE FROM THE ENGINE. I STOPPED AT THE SERVICE STATION UP THE ROAD AND CHECKED FOR OBVIOUS LOOSE PARTS. CHECKED THE OIL AND FOUND THAT THE LEVEL BARELY REGISTERED ON THE DIPSTICK, INDICATING APPROX. 2 QUARTS LOW. I ADDED OIL AND VERIFIED THAT THE LEVEL WAS FULL. AT NO TIME DID THE ENGINE OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATE. SINCE THAT TIME I HAVE HAD TO ADD ONE QUART OF OIL APPROXIMATELY EVERY 900 MILES. I NOTIFIED MY HONDA DEALER AND WAS ADVISED TO HAVE THEM PERFORM A SOFTWARE UPDATE. THE UPDATE WAS ACCOMPLISHED BUT THE RATE OF CONSUMPTION HAS NOT CHANGED. HONDA DEALER ADVISED ME THAT THIS RATE OF CONSUMPTION IS CONSIDERED NORMAL. CONSIDERING THAT THIS ENGINE HOLDS 4 QUARTS AND THAT THE AVERAGE OIL CHANGE INTERVAL IS 4,000 MILES (ACCORDING TO THE HONDA MAINTENANCE MINDER SOFTWARE), THIS MEANS THAT I AM REPLACING THE ENTIRE CONTENTS OF THE CRANKCASE BETWEEN EACH OIL CHANGE. I WAS THEN ADVISED THAT HONDA CAN PERFORM AN OIL CONSUMPTION CHECK THAT WOULD REQUIRE ME TO COME BACK TO THE DEALER EVERY 1,000 MILES (+/- 50) FOR APPROX. 1 YEAR. AFTER THAT TIME, HONDA WOULD DETERMINE, BASED ON THE RESULTS OF THE TESTS AND THE AGE/MILEAGE OF MY VEHICLE, WHETHER THEY WOULD TAKE ANY ACTION. THIS IS CLEARLY A DEFECT IN THE ENGINE, AS I CHANGE MY OIL WHEN INDICATED BY THE MAINTENANCE MINDER AND CAN PRODUCE ALL THE RECORDS TO PROVE THE CAR HAS BEEN SERVICED PROPERLY. I SEEK THE APPROPRIATE CORRECTION OF THIS PROBLEM BY HONDA.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/30/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
I PULLED OVER TO LET MY SON OUT OF MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD VEHICLE, HE WAS SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. WHEN HE CLOSED THE DOOR THE PASSENGER SEAT AND PASSENGER CURTAIN AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. ONCE I REALIZED WHAT THEY WERE, I GOT OUT TO CHECK ON MY SON BECAUSE I THOUGHT WE HAD BEEN HIT. THERE WAS NO VEHICLE OR EXTERIOR DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE. THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO A HONDA DEALER. IT WAS INSPECTED AND PHOTOS WERE TAKEN. AFTER A WEEK OF NO DIRECT ANSEWERS FROM THIS DEALER, I DECIDED TO CONTACT AMERICAN HONDA. ANOTHER INSPECTION WAS SCHEDULED AND THEY DETERMAINED THAT THERE WAS "RIM DAMAGE" (CAUSED FROM PARKING TOO CLOSE TO THE CURB) AND THAT COULD HAVE "POSSIBLY" CAUSED THE AIRBAGS TO DEPLOY. I WAS NOT PARKED NEXT TO THE CURB WHEN THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND I HAVE TO DISAGREE WITH THERE FINDING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - PEARL, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO START AND AN ABNORMAL NOISE WAS HEARD WHEN SHIFTING GEARS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE VTC ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/19/2015 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE PAINT ON MY BLACK 08 HONDA ACCORD IS BEGINNING TO PEEL ON THE HOOD. IT JUST STARTED THIS WEEK AND IS ABOUT THE SIZE OF A 50 CENT PIECE OR A BIT LARGER. I UNDERSTAND THAT HONDA IS NOT INTERESTED IN CORRECTING THE PROBLEM. MY 1998 CIVIC NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM EVEN AFTER 224,000 MILES AND 12 YEARS. WHAT A SHAME THE HONDA CORP IS UNDER AN OBLIGATION TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEMS THAT THEY CREATE BUT WITHOUT A CLASS ACTION SUIT I DOUBT THAT WE WILL SEE ANY HELP WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/19/2015 - RICHMOND , IN
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. WHEN LOCAL HONDA DEALER CHECKED IT OUT WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL FAILURE OF THE SRS CONTROL UNIT. WAS TOLD IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WHEN ASKED WHAT CAUSED IT, WAS TOLD THAT IF THE CAR WAS NOT IN AN ACCIDENT THEY DIDN'T KNOW. THE CAR HAD NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT. AM PLANNING TO HAVE IT REPLACED BUT WITH THE RECALLS OF THIS PART IN OLDER MODELS, FELT AS IF I NEEDED TO REPORT THIS DEFECT IN CASE IT TURNED OUT TO BE A PROBLEM IN OTHER MODELS OF THIS CAR. DEALER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2015 - CANTON, OH
RECENTLY I NOTICED THAT MY ENGINE IS CONSUMING MORE AND MORE OIL. I ROUTINELY GET MY OIL CHANGED EVERY 3,000-5,000 MILES AS SUGGESTED IN THE MANUAL. THIS LAST TIME, I WAS AT THE 2,000 MILE MARK WHEN MY OIL LIGHT FLASHED; I SAY FLASHED, BECAUSE THE LIGHT DID NOT STAY ON, RATHER IT WOULD GO ON ONLY WHEN I TURN A CORNER. CLEARLY THERE IS AN ISSUE AS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT HAS BEEN INITIATED BY PEOPLE WHO HAD TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT THEMSELVES. FIRST, CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR SPENDING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS A YEAR TO MAINTAIN OIL IN THEIR CAR DUE TO HONDA'S ERROR. SECOND, THIS ISSUE CAN CAUSE THE ENGINE TO FREEZE/LOCK-UP WHILE OPERATING WHICH IS A MAJOR CONCERN WHILE DRIVING. I DO NOT DRIVE EXCESSIVELY EITHER, I HAVE A 10 MINUTE COMMUTE TO WORK. MY CAR SHOULD NOT BE BURNING OIL THIS QUICKLY. THIS IS THE SECOND HONDA I HAVE OWNED, MY FIRST WAS A 2004 AND I NEVER HAD ISSUES WITH THE OIL. IN FACT, I WOULD NOT RECEIVE A LOW OIL NOTIFICATION UNTIL I WAS AT 10,000 MILES. HONDAS HAVE THE REPUTATION TO LAST A LIFETIME; HOWEVER, IF THIS CONTINUES, I WILL BE FORCED TO PURCHASE A NEW CAR THAT I CANNOT AFFORD DUE TO THEIR ERROR AND REFUSAL TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds