Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1333 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (319) Equipment (31) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (110) Power Train (56) Service Brakes Hydraulic (451) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (88) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (16) Steering (30) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (32) Structure (27) Visibility (20)
Engine (145) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (45) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (7) Wheels (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
TAKATA RECALL, EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, VTC ACTUATOR LOUD GRINDING ON START UP COLD OR WARM!!!!! HONDA WOULD NOT FIX BECAUSE I WAS 15,000 MILES OVER THEIR GRACE PERIOD. I ASKED FOR GOOD WILL AND A BIG COMPANY THAT HONDA IS SURE WON'T GO BANKRUPT FIXING MY CAR.... BUT THE GIRL I TALKED TO WAS SOME WHAT RUDE TO ME AND JUST ASKED IF I WANTED THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAU PHONE NUMBER. THEIR NEEDS TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE VTC ACTUATOR, BECAUSE SOONER OR LATER I WILL HAVE ENGINE FAILURE AND HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE READ 90% OF THE 2008 4 CYLINDER ACCORDS HAVE THE PROBLEM AND SOME OF THE NEWER MODELS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AND I HAVE HEARD THEY WILL REPLACE THE PART, AND SOON AFTER IT DOES IT AGAIN!!!! DEFECTIVE PART!!!! I HOPE I CAN GET SOME HELP, BECAUSE HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND I CANT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE WHEN THE TIMING CHAIN GOES AND EVERYTHING WITH IT!!!! THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
TAKATA RECALL, EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, VTC ACTUATOR LOUD GRINDING ON START UP COLD OR WARM!!!!! HONDA WOULD NOT FIX BECAUSE I WAS 15,000 MILES OVER THEIR GRACE PERIOD. I ASKED FOR GOOD WILL AND A BIG COMPANY THAT HONDA IS SURE WON'T GO BANKRUPT FIXING MY CAR.... BUT THE GIRL I TALKED TO WAS SOME WHAT RUDE TO ME AND JUST ASKED IF I WANTED THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAU PHONE NUMBER. THEIR NEEDS TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE VTC ACTUATOR, BECAUSE SOONER OR LATER I WILL HAVE ENGINE FAILURE AND HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE READ 90% OF THE 2008 4 CYLINDER ACCORDS HAVE THE PROBLEM AND SOME OF THE NEWER MODELS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AND I HAVE HEARD THEY WILL REPLACE THE PART, AND SOON AFTER IT DOES IT AGAIN!!!! DEFECTIVE PART!!!! I HOPE I CAN GET SOME HELP, BECAUSE HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND I CANT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE WHEN THE TIMING CHAIN GOES AND EVERYTHING WITH IT!!!! THANK YOU.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/12/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
TAKATA RECALL, EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, VTC ACTUATOR LOUD GRINDING ON START UP COLD OR WARM!!!!! HONDA WOULD NOT FIX BECAUSE I WAS 15,000 MILES OVER THEIR GRACE PERIOD. I ASKED FOR GOOD WILL AND A BIG COMPANY THAT HONDA IS SURE WON'T GO BANKRUPT FIXING MY CAR.... BUT THE GIRL I TALKED TO WAS SOME WHAT RUDE TO ME AND JUST ASKED IF I WANTED THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAU PHONE NUMBER. THEIR NEEDS TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE VTC ACTUATOR, BECAUSE SOONER OR LATER I WILL HAVE ENGINE FAILURE AND HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE READ 90% OF THE 2008 4 CYLINDER ACCORDS HAVE THE PROBLEM AND SOME OF THE NEWER MODELS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AND I HAVE HEARD THEY WILL REPLACE THE PART, AND SOON AFTER IT DOES IT AGAIN!!!! DEFECTIVE PART!!!! I HOPE I CAN GET SOME HELP, BECAUSE HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND I CANT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE WHEN THE TIMING CHAIN GOES AND EVERYTHING WITH IT!!!! THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/10/2017 - HAVERHILL, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE SIDE CURTAIN AND FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ROCKINGHAM HONDA (402 S BROADWAY, SALEM, NH 03079) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED DUE TO THE DEFECT DESCRIBED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V056000 (AIR BAGS). THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE MAY NOT HAVE BEEN PROPERLY SERVICED UNDER THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TWO DIFFERENT INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED FOR A NEW BATTERY, AND REBUILT ECU HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALER (BELL HONDA, 701 W BELL RD, PHOENIX,AZ, 85023) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE FAILED, CAUSING THE COUNTER SHAFT BEARING TO HIT AGAINST THE SPEED SENSOR AND ALL THREE PARTS NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE UNDER THE CASE NUMBER: 6198619, WHERE THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V395000 (POWER TRAIN) AS OF SEPTEMBER 26TH OF 2012, HOWEVER THE REMEDY FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED DEPENDING ON WHAT INFORMATION THE CONTACT FOUND OUT THAT THEY WOULD ESCALATE THE CASE TO A CASE MANAGER, NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 103,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/2/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TWO DIFFERENT INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED FOR A NEW BATTERY, AND REBUILT ECU HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALER (BELL HONDA, 701 W BELL RD, PHOENIX,AZ, 85023) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE FAILED, CAUSING THE COUNTER SHAFT BEARING TO HIT AGAINST THE SPEED SENSOR AND ALL THREE PARTS NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE UNDER THE CASE NUMBER: 6198619, WHERE THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V395000 (POWER TRAIN) AS OF SEPTEMBER 26TH OF 2012, HOWEVER THE REMEDY FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED DEPENDING ON WHAT INFORMATION THE CONTACT FOUND OUT THAT THEY WOULD ESCALATE THE CASE TO A CASE MANAGER, NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 103,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2017 - DUBLIN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING NOISE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE BURNED OIL EXCESSIVELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (DUBLIN HONDA LOCATED AT 6300 DUBLIN BLVD CA 94588) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IRREPARABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/27/2017 - DUBLIN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING NOISE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE BURNED OIL EXCESSIVELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (DUBLIN HONDA LOCATED AT 6300 DUBLIN BLVD CA 94588) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IRREPARABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/26/2017 - IRVING, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VSA WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AT: MC DAVID HONDA, IRVING, TX, WHERE THE ACTUATOR WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 157,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/15/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
TERRIBLE GAS MILAGE AND MASSIVE OIL BURNING. TOOK IT INTO O'HARE HONDA WHO REPLACED 2 OIL PRESSURE SWITCHES AFTER THEY UPDATED THE VCM SOFTWARE. I ALSO HAD OIL CONSUMPTION MONITORING DONE AND WAS TOLD MY CAR DOESN'T BURN ENOUGH OIL. IT WAS MONITORED TO BURN 9/10THS A QUART FOR EVERY 1000 MILES AND WAS TOLD IT NEEDED TO BURN AT LEAST A FULL QUART FOR EVERY 1000 MILES FOR HONDA TO OFFER AN ENGINE REPLACEMENT. FOR THE LAST 2 TO 3 YEARS I HAVE BEEN ADDING 2-3 QUARTS EVERY OIL CHANGE AND I USED TO GET 4000-6000 MILES PER OIL CHANGE WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED (CPO). WHILE UNDER WARRANTY I MADE CLAIMS TO HONDA AND THEY WOULD TELL ME I AM USING THE WRONG OIL. THE DEALER VALLEY HONDA WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR SPECIFICALLY TOLD ME THAT I NEEDED TO PUT THE SAME QUALITY OIL INTO THE CAR AS THE PREVIOUS OWNER AND ACCORDING TO THEIR RECORDS THE VEHICLE WAS ONLY SERVICED BY THEM AND THE ONLY OIL TO PUT IN THE CAR WAS FULL SYNTHETIC 0W20 AND THAT IS ALL IT HAS EVER HAD. PLEASE NOTE OIL CHANGES EVERY 4K TO 6K MILES AT 80 DOLLARS EACH SEEMED GOOD, BUT NOW IT+S EVERY 2K TO 3K MILES AT THE SAME PRICE NOT TO INCLUDE THE ADDITIONAL QUARTS AT 10 DOLLARS EACH COSTING ME AN ADDITIONAL 20 TO 30 DOLLARS EACH OIL CHANGE AND I AM AVERAGING 13 TO 17 MILES PER GALLON CITY/HIGHWAY COMBINED A FAR CRY FROM THE ORIGINAL 19 TO 29 MILES PER GALLON PREVIOUSLY ACHIEVED AS PROMISED. ALL SERVICES DONE TO THE VEHICLE INCLUDE: TIMING BELT REPLACED, OIL PRESSURE SWITCHES REPLACED, FLUID SERVICED AND FLUSHED; BRAKES, TRANSMISSION, POWER STEERING, COOLANT SYSTEM ALL OF THESE WERE DONE ON THE SAME DAY, WITH A HEAVY BILL OF 1300 DOLLARS. TIMING WAS DONE BECAUSE THE ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE AND BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THE VEHICLE HAD OVER 100K MILES AND IT WAS REQUIRED. CURRENTLY I HAVE 133K MILES MY 2008 ACCORD EX-L V6 NAVI.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds