Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1338 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (321) Equipment (31) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (110) Power Train (56) Service Brakes Hydraulic (451) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (88) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (16) Steering (30) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (32) Structure (28) Visibility (20)
Engine (147) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (46) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (7) Wheels (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/23/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I WAS TRAVELING ON HIGHWAY 99 SOUTH WHEN A VEHICLE HIT THE BACK OF MY CAR CUASING ME TO SPIN INTO ANOTHER LANE AND GETTING HIT ON MY DRIVER SIDE. MY AIR BAG ON THE DRIVERSIDE DOOR DEPLOYED ONLY, BUT NO AIR BAG FOR MY ADULT PASSENGER DEPLOYED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/12/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
TAKATA RECALL, EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, VTC ACTUATOR LOUD GRINDING ON START UP COLD OR WARM!!!!! HONDA WOULD NOT FIX BECAUSE I WAS 15,000 MILES OVER THEIR GRACE PERIOD. I ASKED FOR GOOD WILL AND A BIG COMPANY THAT HONDA IS SURE WON'T GO BANKRUPT FIXING MY CAR.... BUT THE GIRL I TALKED TO WAS SOME WHAT RUDE TO ME AND JUST ASKED IF I WANTED THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAU PHONE NUMBER. THEIR NEEDS TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE VTC ACTUATOR, BECAUSE SOONER OR LATER I WILL HAVE ENGINE FAILURE AND HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE READ 90% OF THE 2008 4 CYLINDER ACCORDS HAVE THE PROBLEM AND SOME OF THE NEWER MODELS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AND I HAVE HEARD THEY WILL REPLACE THE PART, AND SOON AFTER IT DOES IT AGAIN!!!! DEFECTIVE PART!!!! I HOPE I CAN GET SOME HELP, BECAUSE HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND I CANT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE WHEN THE TIMING CHAIN GOES AND EVERYTHING WITH IT!!!! THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
TAKATA RECALL, EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, VTC ACTUATOR LOUD GRINDING ON START UP COLD OR WARM!!!!! HONDA WOULD NOT FIX BECAUSE I WAS 15,000 MILES OVER THEIR GRACE PERIOD. I ASKED FOR GOOD WILL AND A BIG COMPANY THAT HONDA IS SURE WON'T GO BANKRUPT FIXING MY CAR.... BUT THE GIRL I TALKED TO WAS SOME WHAT RUDE TO ME AND JUST ASKED IF I WANTED THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAU PHONE NUMBER. THEIR NEEDS TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE VTC ACTUATOR, BECAUSE SOONER OR LATER I WILL HAVE ENGINE FAILURE AND HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE READ 90% OF THE 2008 4 CYLINDER ACCORDS HAVE THE PROBLEM AND SOME OF THE NEWER MODELS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AND I HAVE HEARD THEY WILL REPLACE THE PART, AND SOON AFTER IT DOES IT AGAIN!!!! DEFECTIVE PART!!!! I HOPE I CAN GET SOME HELP, BECAUSE HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND I CANT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE WHEN THE TIMING CHAIN GOES AND EVERYTHING WITH IT!!!! THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
TAKATA RECALL, EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, VTC ACTUATOR LOUD GRINDING ON START UP COLD OR WARM!!!!! HONDA WOULD NOT FIX BECAUSE I WAS 15,000 MILES OVER THEIR GRACE PERIOD. I ASKED FOR GOOD WILL AND A BIG COMPANY THAT HONDA IS SURE WON'T GO BANKRUPT FIXING MY CAR.... BUT THE GIRL I TALKED TO WAS SOME WHAT RUDE TO ME AND JUST ASKED IF I WANTED THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAU PHONE NUMBER. THEIR NEEDS TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE VTC ACTUATOR, BECAUSE SOONER OR LATER I WILL HAVE ENGINE FAILURE AND HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE READ 90% OF THE 2008 4 CYLINDER ACCORDS HAVE THE PROBLEM AND SOME OF THE NEWER MODELS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AND I HAVE HEARD THEY WILL REPLACE THE PART, AND SOON AFTER IT DOES IT AGAIN!!!! DEFECTIVE PART!!!! I HOPE I CAN GET SOME HELP, BECAUSE HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND I CANT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE WHEN THE TIMING CHAIN GOES AND EVERYTHING WITH IT!!!! THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/10/2017 - HAVERHILL, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE SIDE CURTAIN AND FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ROCKINGHAM HONDA (402 S BROADWAY, SALEM, NH 03079) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED DUE TO THE DEFECT DESCRIBED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V056000 (AIR BAGS). THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE MAY NOT HAVE BEEN PROPERLY SERVICED UNDER THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TWO DIFFERENT INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED FOR A NEW BATTERY, AND REBUILT ECU HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALER (BELL HONDA, 701 W BELL RD, PHOENIX,AZ, 85023) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE FAILED, CAUSING THE COUNTER SHAFT BEARING TO HIT AGAINST THE SPEED SENSOR AND ALL THREE PARTS NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE UNDER THE CASE NUMBER: 6198619, WHERE THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V395000 (POWER TRAIN) AS OF SEPTEMBER 26TH OF 2012, HOWEVER THE REMEDY FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED DEPENDING ON WHAT INFORMATION THE CONTACT FOUND OUT THAT THEY WOULD ESCALATE THE CASE TO A CASE MANAGER, NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 103,000. ..UPDATED 09/05/17

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/2/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TWO DIFFERENT INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED FOR A NEW BATTERY, AND REBUILT ECU HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALER (BELL HONDA, 701 W BELL RD, PHOENIX,AZ, 85023) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE FAILED, CAUSING THE COUNTER SHAFT BEARING TO HIT AGAINST THE SPEED SENSOR AND ALL THREE PARTS NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE UNDER THE CASE NUMBER: 6198619, WHERE THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V395000 (POWER TRAIN) AS OF SEPTEMBER 26TH OF 2012, HOWEVER THE REMEDY FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED DEPENDING ON WHAT INFORMATION THE CONTACT FOUND OUT THAT THEY WOULD ESCALATE THE CASE TO A CASE MANAGER, NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 103,000. ..UPDATED 09/05/17

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/27/2017 - DUBLIN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING NOISE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE BURNED OIL EXCESSIVELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (DUBLIN HONDA LOCATED AT 6300 DUBLIN BLVD CA 94588) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IRREPARABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2017 - DUBLIN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING NOISE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE BURNED OIL EXCESSIVELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (DUBLIN HONDA LOCATED AT 6300 DUBLIN BLVD CA 94588) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IRREPARABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/26/2017 - IRVING, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VSA WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AT: MC DAVID HONDA, IRVING, TX, WHERE THE ACTUATOR WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 157,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds