Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1014 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (111) Equipment (20) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (106) Power Train (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (449) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (75) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (9) Steering (30) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (28) Structure (24) Visibility (20)
Engine (63) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/22/2015 - SPRING HILL, FL
HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE REAR BRAKES REPAIRED TWICE SINCE I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE. ONCE AT 57,000 MILES AND AGAIN AT 140,000. WHILE I REALIZE THAT THIS IS NOW A HIGH MILEAGE VEHICLE, THE FRONT BRAKES ARE STILL THE ORIGINAL AND WHEN THE REAR BRAKES WERE REPAIRED, THE SHOP ESTIMATED I STILL HAD 70% LIFE REMAINING FOR THE FRONT PADS. THE COST OF THE REPAIRS AT 57,000 MILES WERE PARTIALLY COVERED BY A CLASS ACTION SUIT AGAINST HONDA AT THE TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/21/2015 - BRISTOW, OK
PULLED INTO SUBWAY SANDWICH SHOP, PASSENGER GOT OUT OF CAR SHUT DOOR AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
I PURCHASED MY 2008 ACCORD EX 4 DOOR 10 MONTHS AGO. WELL 05/16/2015 I GOT OUT WINDOWS WERE DOWN AND CLOSED MY DOOR AND BOOM SOUNDED LIKE A GUN SHOT MY NEIGHBORS ALL CAME OUT THE ENTIRE DRIVER SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED FOR NO REASON AT ALL..NOW I AM STUCK WITH $7000 OF DAMAGES RIPPED SEAT,AIR BAGS DEPLOYED HANGING OUT AND THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT TAKE NO ACTION SAYING ITS NOT A RECALL. THIS WILL BE THE LAST HONDA I PURCHASE. IT HAS 124K MILES ON IT WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2015 - CLINTON, MD
EVERY SINGLE DAY WHEN I START UP MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD 4 CYCL. AUTOMATIC FROM A COLD START THERE IS A HORRIBLE NOISE (RATTLE) FROM WHAT SOUNDS LIKE THE ENGINE. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN WALDORF, MD HAS TRIED TO FIX THIS PROBLEM 3 OR 4 TIMES. NOW THEY SAY THEY WON'T TRY TO FIX IT ANYMORE, EVEN THOUGH THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. I'VE BEEN TOLD BY HONDA THAT IT IS THE VTC ACTUATOR AND IT IS A DEFECTIVE PART. TIL THIS DAY 5/15/15, I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET THE ISSUE RESOLVED. THE PROBLEM STARTED ABOUT A YEAR AFTER I GOT THE CAR. IT IS THE ONLY ANNOYING AND UNNERVING PROBLEM WITH MY HONDA. WHY CAN'T THIS ISSUE BE RESOLVED? I FOUND ALL THESE COMPLAINTS IN THE HONDA TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN AND HAVE BEEN FIGHTING THIS ISSUE WITH HONDA EVER SINCE. OBVIOUSLY HONDA KNOWS ABOUT IT. AT COLD START-UP, CUSTOMERS MAY COMPLAIN ABOUT A LOUD ENGINE RATTLE THAT LASTS FOR ABOUT TWO SECONDS. THE PROBABLE CAUSE IS A FAULTY VTC (VARIABLE TIMING CONTROL) ACTUATOR. THIS APPLIES TO ALL 2008 ACCORD L4 (TWO/FOUR DOOR) VEHICLES, 2009 ACCORD L4 TWO-DOOR VIN 1HGCS1-+ª9A000001 THROUGH 1HGCS1-+ª9A004953, 2009 ACCORD L4 FOUR-DOOR VIN 1HGCP2-+ª9A000001 THROUGH 1HGCP2-+ª9A029528, AND 2009 ACCORD L4 FOUR-DOOR VIN JHMCP2-+ª9C000001 THROUGH JHMCP2-+ª9C010096. PARTS INFORMATION VTC ACTUATOR P/N 14310-R44-A01 VTC OIL CONTROL SOLENOID VALVE O-RING P/N 15832-RAA-A01

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2015 - DEPTFORD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED EVERY MORNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VTC ACTUATOR CONTROL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,838.

View Details

STEERING

5/5/2015 - L.A. , CA
THE CAR WAS BRAND NEW AND THE STEERING WAS TO HARD TO TURN, SO WE TOOK IT TO HONDA ON CENTINELA AVE. NEAR LADERA HEIGHTS, THEY WANTED TO CHARGE US $1200.00 TO REPLACE IT. A COUPLE MONTHS LATER WE TOOK THE CAR TO SANTA MONICA DEALER 18TH STREET. THEY STATED THE POWER SEETING PUMP WAS LEAKING AND THE RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID THAT I HAVE TO PAY $1200.00 BUT HONDA ACCORD AMERICA WAS GOING TO GIVE ME A 50% DISCOUNT. I PAID 50%. THEN WHEN DRIVING BACK TO MY HOUSE, I HEARD A LOT OF NOISE, LIKE SOMETHING WAS LOOSE. THE NOISE GOT WORSE, WHEN I WAS TURNING LEFT, RIGHT OR GOING INTO A DEEP AREA. SO I TOOK THE CAR BACK AND THEY SAID, THEY CANNOT HEAR THE NOISE. I TOOK THE CAR BACK AND NOW THEY ARE SAYING THAT NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. THEY SAID THE STRUTS ARE DAMAGED AND POWER STEERING HOSES ARE LIKING ALL OVER. CAR ONLY HAS 30,000 MILES, I DON'T REALLY USE IT THAT MUCH. THIS IS A LEMON CAR. CAN SOMETHING BE DONE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2015 - MONROVIA, CA
I BEEN IN A CAR ACCIDENT ON FEB. 20,2015 A COMPLETE CRASH IN THE FRONT SIDE OF MY HONDA ACCORD 2008 (HOOD,BUMBER,2 FRONT FINDERS,HEAD LIGHT) IT'S HORRIBLE ACCIDENT THE CAR IS TOTAL LOSS AND THE AIR BAGS DIDN'T EXPLODE SO I HIT THE STEERING WHEEL WITH MY CHEST AND THE SET BELT LOCKED ON MY SHOULDERS BECAUSE THERE'S NOTHING STOPPED ME I'M INJURED. HOW HONDA ONE OF THE BIGGEST POPULAR CARS DON'T CARE ABOUT THE LIFE OF THERE CUSTOMERS. ....I FELT REALLY BAD OF THAT. I'M SEEKING REAL HELP FROM U GUYS TO SUPPORT AND KEEP THE UNITED STATES SAFE FROM THIS INHUMANITY MANUFACTURING DEFECTS WHICH KILLED AND INJURED MANY PEOPLE. THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT ANY OF OUR COMPLAINTS ON THERE PRODUCTS WHEN I CALLED THERE PRODUCTS HELPS CUSTOMERS SERVICE THEY SAID IT'S AN OLD CAR THAT IS ABSOLUTELY REDICLIOUS BECAUSE THEY CARE ONLY ABOUT THE SALES NUMBERS AND STAYING IN THE MARKET WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO THE RIDERS OF THIS CAR. ....I EXPECT REAL ACTION TOWARDS HONDA AMERICA I WILL KEEP FOLLOWING AND STEPS UP TILL I GET ALL MY RIGHTS. IMPORTANT NOTE: MY CAR CHECKED WITH A TEAM OF ENGINEER & TECHNICIANS EXPERIENCED ONLY IN THE CAR SAFETY&AIR BAGS AND I DO HAVE ALL OF THIS REPORTS AND PICS. ....HERE WHAT THEY SAID THE FRONT AIRBAGS SENSORS A&B SENSED THE CRASH AND REPORTED THAT TO THE CONTROL UNIT (CAR COMPUTER) AND THE AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOYED OR EXPLODED BECAUSE THERE'S A POOR MANUFACTURING OR DEFECT. U GUYS AS A GOVERNMENT AGENCY RESPONSIBLE FOR OUR SAFETY AND SAFE PRODUCTION OF THIS CARS WHICH KILLS AND INJURING THE RIDERS. THANK YOU FOR PAYING ATTENTION AND WAITING FOR UR DECISION AND I DOCUMETED ALL THE REPORTS FOR THIS ACCIDENT ....UPDATED 05/07/15

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2015 - IRVING, TX
DEAR SIR/MADAM, WE HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING TO HONDA MOTORS ABOUT NOISE COMING UP FIRST TIME WHEN WE START CAR IN A DAY. THE CRANKING NOISE IS SO LOUD THAT MY WIFE AND KIDS ARE WORRIED ABOUT THE CAR SITUATION AND FEEL VERY UNSAFE. THE NOISE GENERALLY OCCUR WHEN WE START CAR FIRST TIME IN THE MORNING. WE CONTACTED HONDA MOTORS LAST YEAR AND THEY RECOMMENDED US TO TAKE IT TO DEALERSHIP. WE WENT TO TWO DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY ISSUE WHEN THEY START CAR FIRST THING IN MORNING. THIS IS VERY UNUSUAL AS WE HAVE BEEN HEARING NOISE EVERY SINGLE MORNING SINCE THAN WHEN WE START CAR FIRST TIME. WE DO NOT KNOW HOW TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE? WITH SOME GOOGLE SEARCH I FOUND OUT THAT FAILURE OF VTC IS CAUSING SIMILAR ISSUE TO 2008 HONDA ACCORD MODELS. CAN YOU PLEASE GUIDE US HOW TO RESOLVE THIS MATTER? WE ARE WORRIED ABOUT OVERALL SITUATION WITH OUR CAR FOR LAST ONE YEAR. APPRECIATE YOUR ASSISTANCE. THANKS/NIRAV DESAI

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2015 - LAFAYETTE, LA
MY CAR WAS LEAKING FLUID WHICH I WAS UNAWARE. MY STARTER WENT OUT AND THE DEALER SAID THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING SO BAD IF I DID NOT REPAIR IT THERE COULD BE AN ENGINE FIRE AS WELL AS DAMAGE TO THE ALTERNATOR. HE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING PUMP BECAUSE HE SAID THAT THE LEAK WAS TOO BAD TO JUST REPLACE THE O RING AND HOSE. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO MOSS MOTORS IN LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA FOR THE REPAIR. I BELIEVE THAT SINCE I ONLY HAD 70,000 MILES ON MY CAR THAT THIS POWER STEERING SYSTEM IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT AND SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2015 - LAFAYETTE, LA
MY CAR WAS LEAKING FLUID WHICH I WAS UNAWARE. MY STARTER WENT OUT AND THE DEALER SAID THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING SO BAD IF I DID NOT REPAIR IT THERE COULD BE AN ENGINE FIRE AS WELL AS DAMAGE TO THE ALTERNATOR. HE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING PUMP BECAUSE HE SAID THAT THE LEAK WAS TOO BAD TO JUST REPLACE THE O RING AND HOSE. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO MOSS MOTORS IN LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA FOR THE REPAIR. I BELIEVE THAT SINCE I ONLY HAD 70,000 MILES ON MY CAR THAT THIS POWER STEERING SYSTEM IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT AND SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds