Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 980 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (95) Equipment (19) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (106) Power Train (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (449) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (25) Structure (22) Visibility (19)
Engine (56) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (25) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (39) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/7/2014 - RANDALLSTOWN, MD
I AM COMPLAINING ABOUT THE EXCESS ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION IN MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD. I WAS TOLD I HAVE TO PAY $3,200 TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM REPAIRED. HONDA CORP. SAID I WOULD HAVE TO COME UP WITH $1,600 WITHIN 30 DAYS TO HAVE THE PROBLEM CORRECTED. THIS IS A PROBLEM HONDA HAS BEEN AWARE OF (ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP). I RECENTLY FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. I FEEL I AM NOW STUCK WITH THIS VEHICLE AND THE PROBLEM. HONDA WILL NOT REPAIR THIS PROBLEM SAYING THEY ONLY RECENTLY BECAME AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. NOW I HAVE TO CONSTANTLY MONITOR MY OIL LEVEL BECAUSE HONDA REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH ALL 2008 ACCORDS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/4/2014 - MANLIUS, NY
I CANNOT FIND OUT IS THESE AIR BAGS ARE DEFECTIVE. THE DEALER WILL NOT OFFER ANY INFORMATION AND SAYS THEY HAVE HEARD NOTHING FROM HONDA. AM I DRIVING A TIME BOMB? AS OF THIS WRITING NOTHING HAS HAPPENED, THIS CAR HAS NEVER BEEN IN A CRASH YET ONLY HAS 24,000 MILES ON THE CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/2/2014 - ERWIN, NC
AIRBAG PASSENGER LIGHT KEPT STAYING ON LONGER AND LONGER, EVENTUALLY TURNS OFF. AT 114,XX LIGHT STAYED ON THEN SOON AFTER AIRBAG LIGHT INDICATOR ON DASH WAS ILLUMINATED. THERE ARE NO ACCIDENTS ON THE VEHICLE. NO REPAIRS OR MODIFICATIONS TO AFFECT SYSTEM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALER SINCE IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 3 MONTHS. I DID TELL THEM ABOUT THE INTERMITTENT ISSUES BUT ASSUMED ALL WAS WELL. THEY DID A DIAGNOSTIC THAT TOOK WELL OVER 4 HOURS TO ISOLATE THE POSSIBLE ISSUE. DEALER'S RESPONSE; AFTER PIN TESTING FUSE BOX FOUND BAD PSS FUSE/ RELAY BOX. WAS TOLD TO SIGN A WAIVER TO DRIVE MY OWN VEHICLE OUT THE LOT. THE ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM IS DOWN AND WILL NOT WORK UNTIL REPAIRED. I WAS IN SHOCK TO KNOW THAT IF I HAD AN ACCIDENT MY FAMILY AND I COULD BE IN GRAVE DANGER, THEY SAID THEY HAVE NO IDEA HOW LONG IT COULD OF NOT BEEN WORKING. I CALLED HONDA AMERICA TO COMPLAIN CASE# N012014-10-0900059. THEY SAID THE CAR IS TOO OLD AND OUT OF WARRANTY FOR THEM TO COVER THE REPAIR. I HAVE SINCE PARKED THE CAR AND HAVE'NT DRIVEN IT SINCE. THIS IS OUR 7TH HONDA AND NEVER WOULD EXPECT THIS TYPE OF SERVICE OR RELIABILITY ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/19/2014 - ENERGY, IL
WHILE DRIVING, HEADLIGHTS IN NORMAL POSITION DIM TO POINT OF NOT BEING SAFE TO SEE AND THEN THEY FLICKER TO BEING NORMAL LOW BEAMS AGAIN. THIS PROCESS OCCURRS AT SPEEDS FROM 0-70 AND OCCURRS 2-3 TIMES A MINUTE. THIS ALSO OCCURS WHEN BRIGHT LIGHTS ARE ON. PLEASE PRESSURE HONDA TO FIX THIS VERY WELL KNOWN AND IGNORED PROBLEM BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED. WHAT DOES IT TAKE? FORUMS ALL OVER INTERNET WITH SAME COMPLAINS. NOT ISOLATED EVENTS !!!

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2014 - COLUMBIA, MD
ENGINE VTC ACTUATOR FAILURE ON THIRD 3RD REPLACEMENT. HIGH OIL CONSUMPTION 1+ QUART / 1,000 MILES

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2014 - INTERLOCHEN, MI
I WAS PARKED, SOMEONE GOT OUT OF MY PASSENGER SIDE FRONT DOOR. AFTER SHUTTING THE DOOR, ALL OF MY PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED, INCLUDING THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2014 - LITHIA, FL
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS COMING ON INTERMITTENTLY STARTING ON APPROXIMATELY 10/6/2014, BECAME PERMANENT 11/02/2014. DURING THAT TIME SPAN SIDE AIRBAG OFF WARNING LIGHT CAME ON SEVERAL TIMES FOR SEVERAL MINUTES THEN TURNED OFF AND HAS STAYED OFF EXCEPTED WHEN CAR IS TURNED ON AND CAR RUNS THRU DIAGNOSTIC ROUTINE. HAD CAR SERVICED ON 11/13/2014----HONDA TECH INDICATED CODE OF 1018, PER TECH-INDICATES OPEN OR SHORT IN SYSTEM, HE WAS NOT SURE WHERE FAILURE IS--AND NOT SURE WHAT FEE WOULD BE TO LOCATE AND REPAIR FAILURE. SAID IT COULD RUN INTO THE $100'S JUST TO LOCATE FAILURE. CONSIDERING MY SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT OFF LIGHT CAME ON AND THE INVESTIGATION INTO SIDEAIR BAG DEPLOYMENT AND RECALL OF TANAKA AIRBAGS I WILL WAIT TO SEE DECISION AND SEE IF SRS LIGHT COMES ON FOR A MORE PRECISE DIAGNOSTIC AT MY NEXT VISIT TO HONDA DEALER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2014 - GROVELAND, FL
MY MOTHER'S CAR IS GARAGE KEPT AND ONLY HAS 31,000 MILES. I HAVEN'T DRIVEN HER CAR IN YEARS AND WHEN I DID THE OTHER DAY I NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON AND DID NOT COME OFF. SHE IS ELDERLY AND SHE THOUGHT THAT IT WAS HER SEAT BELT LIGHT. I TOOK IT INTO HONDA DEALER RIGHT AWAY BECAUSE OF ALL OF THE RECALLS GOING ON. THEY SAID THAT IT WOULD COST $517 TO FIX THE RESTRAINT CONTROL UNIT FOR THE AIRBAG. EXPLAINED AS LITTLE COMPUTER TO TELL THE AIRBAGS WHEN TO DEPLOY IF IN AN ACCIDENT. IF NOT FIXED AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY IF IN AN ACCIDENT. SHOULDN'T THIS BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTEE OR CONSIDERED IN THE RECALLS! NOW I AM SEEING COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ALL OVER THE NET. SO NOW WHAT? AND WILL THIS BE INCLUDED WITH ALL OF THE MASSIVE AIRBAG RECALL PROBLEMS? AT FIRST WE WERE TOLD THAT THE RECALL DID NOT INCLUDE THIS YEAR AND MODEL....I BEG TO DIFFER.

View Details

ENGINE

11/4/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
AROUND DECEMBER 20TH, 2012 I STARTED TO NOTICE A DECLINE IN MILEAGE WITH MY OIL CHANGES. IT HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE FROM THERE. THE CAR BURNS UP SO MUCH OIL AT THIS POINT SO QUICKLY, I WOULD SAY THAT AT ABOUT EVERY 1000 TO 2000 MILES I AM PUTTING 4QTS MORE OF OIL INTO MY ENGINE BECAUSE IT HAS ALL BURNED UP. I HAVE ALSO NOTICE THAT MY OIL LIGHT NEVER COMES ON DURING THIS TIME. THE ONLY WAY I KNOW THAT I HAVE NO OIL IN MY CAR IS BY CHECKING IT MYSELF AND/OR WHEN I START TO HEAR THE CYLINDERS GRIND. I TOOK MY CAR INTO HONDA AND ASKED THEM WHY MY OIL WAS GETTING BURNED UP SO QUICKLY AND THEY FED ME A LINE OF NONSENSE AND TOLD ME IT WAS BECAUSE WE SIT IN TRAFFIC SO MUCH. THEY BASICALLY WERE TRYING TO GET RID OF ME AND TELL ME IT WAS NORMAL. AFTER THAT EXPERIENCE I WENT TO A JIFFY LUBE A MONTH LATER TO GET MY OIL CHECKED AGAIN AND WHEN I BROUGHT IT IN THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING IN MY ENGINE THAT I HAD NO OIL IN MY CAR WHATSOEVER. HONDA REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH MY CAR. EVEN WITH THE EXCESSIVE OIL USE. ANOTHER PROBLEM I HAD IS WITH THE VTC ACTUATOR AND I AM STARTING TO WONDER IF THE TWO ARE INTERTWINED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/18/2014 - SAN RAMON, CA
I BOUGHT MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD NEW. RECENTLY AT 80K MILES, THE SRS LIGHT WILL STAY ON ALL THE TIME WHEN THE CAR IS RUNNING. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE LOCAL HONDA DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THE SRS MODULE NEED TO BE REPLACE AND THE COST FOR IT IS CLOSE TO $500. I JUST FEEL RIDICULOUS BECAUSE THE CAR HAD NEVER BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENT BEFORE AND HOW COME THE AIRBAG SYSTEM JUST FAIL JUST LIKE THAT. AMERICAN HONDA SHOULD COVER THIS UNDER THE WARRANTY. AND I DO BELIEVE THEY HAVE A DEFECTIVE SRS UNIT. PLEASE GO OVER WITH THE AIRBAG PROBLEMS AND YOU WILL SEE THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM HAPPENED TO MAY PEOPLE. SOMEONE NEEDS TO TAKE AN ACTION AND LET AMERICAN HONDA TO TAKE ACTION BEFORE SOMEONE GET HURTS. NOT EVERYONE CAN AFFORD TO FIX THIS OUT OF THEIR POCKETS AND MANY OF THEM JUST LET THE LIGHT ON/ SRS AIRBAG SYSTEM OFF WITHOUT FIXING IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds