Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 924 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (69) Equipment (19) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (104) Power Train (27) Service Brakes Hydraulic (449) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (72) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (5) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (21) Structure (21) Visibility (19)
Engine (40) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (22) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (39) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (4) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/16/2014 - TALLASSEE, AL
MY AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON. MY PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT THAT SAYS "OFF" IS ALWAYS ILLUMINATED. RECENTLY, MY "SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT" STAYS ON FOR ABOUT A MINUTE AFTER MY CAR IS ON. IT DID NOT DO THIS BEFORE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2014 - ANGLETON, TX
SUMMARY: THERE WAS A PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE SRS MODULE IN MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD WHICH, ACCORDING TO A LOCAL HONDA REPRESENTATIVE, RENDERS THE AIRBAGS USELESS IN A CRASH OR CAN CAUSE PREMATURE DEPLOYMENT. THE AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON AS WELL AS THE ENGINE LIGHT WHICH THE DEALERSHIP MENTIONED THEY WERE BOTH RELATED. CHARGING A DIAGNOSTICS FEE WHEN I HAD ALREADY PERFORMED THE DIAGNOSTICS THROUGH WORK AND ASSOCIATED PARTNERSHIPS (FLEET MANAGEMENT PROVIDER AND MAINTENANCE VENDORS). I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET CLOSE TO $640 FOR PARTS AND LABOR. SEEMS SILLY AS THIS WAS A SAFETY RELATED SERVICE. MY ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO AND THEY SAID THE LIGHT WAS ON DUE TO MY CADALLIC CONVERTOR, SO THEY REPLACED AND NOW THE ENGINE LIGHT IS BACK ON AND THIS IS DUE TO AIRBAG ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/16/2014 - ANGLETON, TX
SUMMARY: THERE WAS A PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE SRS MODULE IN MY 2008 HONDA ACCORD WHICH, ACCORDING TO A LOCAL HONDA REPRESENTATIVE, RENDERS THE AIRBAGS USELESS IN A CRASH OR CAN CAUSE PREMATURE DEPLOYMENT. THE AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON AS WELL AS THE ENGINE LIGHT WHICH THE DEALERSHIP MENTIONED THEY WERE BOTH RELATED. CHARGING A DIAGNOSTICS FEE WHEN I HAD ALREADY PERFORMED THE DIAGNOSTICS THROUGH WORK AND ASSOCIATED PARTNERSHIPS (FLEET MANAGEMENT PROVIDER AND MAINTENANCE VENDORS). I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET CLOSE TO $640 FOR PARTS AND LABOR. SEEMS SILLY AS THIS WAS A SAFETY RELATED SERVICE. MY ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO AND THEY SAID THE LIGHT WAS ON DUE TO MY CADALLIC CONVERTOR, SO THEY REPLACED AND NOW THE ENGINE LIGHT IS BACK ON AND THIS IS DUE TO AIRBAG ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2014 - HYDE PARK, MA
DESPITE THE RECALL A FEW YEARS AGO, HONDA STILL IGNORES THE PROBLEM OF REAR BRAKES THAT WEAR OUT RAPIDLY AND THEREFORE REQUIRE FREQUENT REPLACEMENT. AT JUST OVER 91,000 MILES, I NOW HAVE TO SCHEDULE MY 3RD REAR BRAKE REPLACEMENT AND IT WILL BE THE SECOND TIME THAT I MUST REPLACE THE REAR ROTORS. HONDA REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEIR REAR BRAKES ARE FLAWED AND SEEM TO NOT FEEL OBLIGATED TO CORRECT THEM. THEY ALSO DO NOT FEEL AS THOUGH THEY SHOULD OFFER ANY FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THEIR SUBSTANDARD REAR BRAKES. WE ARE THEREFORE FORCED INTO HIGH REAR BRAKE AND ROTOR REPLACEMENT BILLS. PERHAPS IT WAS THEIR PLAN ALL ALONG TO BILK UNSUSPECTING CUSTOMERS. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO REMEDY IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/11/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I STOPPED MY CAR TO LET MY BOYFRIEND OUT OF THE CAR. WHEN HE CLOSED THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS WERE DEPLOYED AS WELL AS THE ONE OUT OF THE PASSENGER SEAT. THERE WAS NO IMPACT TO MY CAR WHATSOEVER, NO DINGS, DENTS OR DAMAGE. HE JUST CLOSED THE DOOR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/8/2014 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
THERE WAS A PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE SRS MODULE IN OUR 2008 HONDA ACCORD WHICH, ACCORDING TO A LOCAL HONDA REPRESENTATIVE, RENDERS THE AIRBAGS USELESS IN A CRASH OR CAN CAUSE PREMATURE DEPLOYMENT. AT THE TIME, MY WIFE WAS PREGNANT AND DROVE 100 MILES ROUNDTRIP (HIGHWAY) DAILY TO WORK. I NEEDED THIS PART ADDRESSED ASAP. MULTIPLE HONDA DEALERSHIPS REFUSED TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE IN A TIMELY FASHION (INSIDE A 2 WEEK WINDOW), WOULD NOT OFFER A COMPLEMENTARITY VEHICLE, AND INSISTED ON CHARGING A DIAGNOSTICS FEE WHEN I HAD ALREADY PERFORMED THE DIAGNOSTICS THROUGH WORK AND ASSOCIATED PARTNERSHIPS (FLEET MANAGEMENT PROVIDER AND MAINTENANCE VENDORS). HONDA REFUSED TO WARRANTY THE PART AND I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET CLOSE TO $500 FOR PARTS AND LABOR. SEEMS SILLY AS THIS WAS A SAFETY RELATED SERVICE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/8/2014 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
THERE WAS A PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE SRS MODULE IN OUR 2008 HONDA ACCORD WHICH, ACCORDING TO A LOCAL HONDA REPRESENTATIVE, RENDERS THE AIRBAGS USELESS IN A CRASH OR CAN CAUSE PREMATURE DEPLOYMENT. AT THE TIME, MY WIFE WAS PREGNANT AND DROVE 100 MILES ROUNDTRIP (HIGHWAY) DAILY TO WORK. I NEEDED THIS PART ADDRESSED ASAP. MULTIPLE HONDA DEALERSHIPS REFUSED TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE IN A TIMELY FASHION (INSIDE A 2 WEEK WINDOW), WOULD NOT OFFER A COMPLEMENTARITY VEHICLE, AND INSISTED ON CHARGING A DIAGNOSTICS FEE WHEN I HAD ALREADY PERFORMED THE DIAGNOSTICS THROUGH WORK AND ASSOCIATED PARTNERSHIPS (FLEET MANAGEMENT PROVIDER AND MAINTENANCE VENDORS). HONDA REFUSED TO WARRANTY THE PART AND I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET CLOSE TO $500 FOR PARTS AND LABOR. SEEMS SILLY AS THIS WAS A SAFETY RELATED SERVICE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/24/2014 - DETROIT, MI
8/11:CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED PURCHASED FROM HONDA DEALER AT 35787 MI OIL CHANGES: 3/15/2012: 41659MI; 9/6/2012: 48687MI 7/1/13: 54340MI-OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT AND RATTLING NOISE APPEARS;VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY TAKEN TO SUBURBAN HONDA DEALER (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI);NO DIAGNOSTIC CODES GIVEN. ONLY EXPLANATION WAS THE OIL LEVEL WAS TOO LOW AND THE NOISE DISAPPEARED WHEN OIL WAS FILLED. NO EXPLANATION FOR SUSPECTED LEAK/EXCESSIVE CONSUMPTION DESPITE LAST OIL CHANGE BEING JUST 6000MI BACK 3/18/14:OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT FLASHES ONCE AND CAR WAS NOT STARTED UNTIL I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH SUBURBAN HONDA ON 3/20/2013 3/20/14: 62450 MI- WITHIN 0.25MI OF MY WAY TO DEALER, THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT FLASHES IN THE MIDDLE OF A SIGNAL INTERSECTION AND ENGINE FAILS AMIDST HEAVY TRAFFIC THEREBY, COMPROMISING MY SAFETY. ON 1ST NOTICE(7/13), DEALER COMPLETELY NEGLECTED MY CONCERNS FOR OIL LEAK/MALFUNCTION WHICH LED TO MASSIVE ENGINE DAMAGE (ESTIMATE $8000). NEGLIGENCE LED TO ENGINE FAILURE ON ROAD CAUSING MASSIVE COMPROMISE TO MY SAFETY. DEATH COULD HAVE BEEN IMMINENT IF MY CAR STALLED ON A FREEWAY. HONDA HAS A DESIGN FLAW RESULTING IN EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION NOTED BY MULTIPLE CUSTOMERS.DEALER DID NOT RECOMMEND AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST DESPITE OIL LEVELS REACHING CRITICAL LEVELS WITHIN 6000MI OF PREVIOUS OIL CHANGE.I WAS INFORMED ACCORD CONSUMES 1 QUART OF OIL/ 1000MI AND SINCE MY MILEAGE WAS BEYOND HONDA LIMITS, I'M TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE. DEALER MENTIONED THAT -++APOLOGY-+¥ IS WHAT THEY CAN OFFER AND THAT -++NO COST WILL BE ON DEALER SINCE IT IS NOT THEIR RESPONSIBILITY-+¥. OFFICIAL REP OF AMERICAN HONDA STATED THAT THIS IS PURELY A MAINTENANCE ISSUE AND THAT THEY DO NOT POSSESS OWNERSHIP OF DEALER AND HAVE NOTHING TO SAY REG IRRESPONSIBILITY OF THE OFFICIAL HONDA DEALER. HONDA'S DESIGN FLAW&IRRESPONSIBLE DEALERS NEGLECTING THIS ISSUE COULD RESULT IN SEVERE BODILY INJURY OR DEATH.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - DETROIT, MI
8/11:CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED PURCHASED FROM HONDA DEALER AT 35787 MI OIL CHANGES: 3/15/2012: 41659MI; 9/6/2012: 48687MI 7/1/13: 54340MI-OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT AND RATTLING NOISE APPEARS;VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY TAKEN TO SUBURBAN HONDA DEALER (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI);NO DIAGNOSTIC CODES GIVEN. ONLY EXPLANATION WAS THE OIL LEVEL WAS TOO LOW AND THE NOISE DISAPPEARED WHEN OIL WAS FILLED. NO EXPLANATION FOR SUSPECTED LEAK/EXCESSIVE CONSUMPTION DESPITE LAST OIL CHANGE BEING JUST 6000MI BACK 3/18/14:OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT FLASHES ONCE AND CAR WAS NOT STARTED UNTIL I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH SUBURBAN HONDA ON 3/20/2013 3/20/14: 62450 MI- WITHIN 0.25MI OF MY WAY TO DEALER, THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT FLASHES IN THE MIDDLE OF A SIGNAL INTERSECTION AND ENGINE FAILS AMIDST HEAVY TRAFFIC THEREBY, COMPROMISING MY SAFETY. ON 1ST NOTICE(7/13), DEALER COMPLETELY NEGLECTED MY CONCERNS FOR OIL LEAK/MALFUNCTION WHICH LED TO MASSIVE ENGINE DAMAGE (ESTIMATE $8000). NEGLIGENCE LED TO ENGINE FAILURE ON ROAD CAUSING MASSIVE COMPROMISE TO MY SAFETY. DEATH COULD HAVE BEEN IMMINENT IF MY CAR STALLED ON A FREEWAY. HONDA HAS A DESIGN FLAW RESULTING IN EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION NOTED BY MULTIPLE CUSTOMERS.DEALER DID NOT RECOMMEND AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST DESPITE OIL LEVELS REACHING CRITICAL LEVELS WITHIN 6000MI OF PREVIOUS OIL CHANGE.I WAS INFORMED ACCORD CONSUMES 1 QUART OF OIL/ 1000MI AND SINCE MY MILEAGE WAS BEYOND HONDA LIMITS, I'M TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE. DEALER MENTIONED THAT -++APOLOGY-+¥ IS WHAT THEY CAN OFFER AND THAT -++NO COST WILL BE ON DEALER SINCE IT IS NOT THEIR RESPONSIBILITY-+¥. OFFICIAL REP OF AMERICAN HONDA STATED THAT THIS IS PURELY A MAINTENANCE ISSUE AND THAT THEY DO NOT POSSESS OWNERSHIP OF DEALER AND HAVE NOTHING TO SAY REG IRRESPONSIBILITY OF THE OFFICIAL HONDA DEALER. HONDA'S DESIGN FLAW&IRRESPONSIBLE DEALERS NEGLECTING THIS ISSUE COULD RESULT IN SEVERE BODILY INJURY OR DEATH.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - MEDINA, OH
I BOUGHT THIS ACCORD USED WITH 95,000 MILES ON IT. WHEN I WENT TO CHANGE THE OIL AFTER 3000 MILES, IT WAS VERY, VERY LOW ON OIL. I MIGHT HAVE TAKEN TWO QUARTS OUT, MAYBE LESS. I STARTED WATCHING THE OIL CONSUMPTION, WHICH HAS GOTTEN WORSE. I NOW ADD ABOUT 1.5 QUARTS EVERY 1000 MILES. IT EMITS NO BLUE SMOKE FROM THE EXHAUST AND HAS NO OIL LEAKS. IT'S GETTING WORSE. AFTER OWNING A VERY RELIABLE 2005 CIVIC, THIS CAR HAS BEEN A COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT. MY HONDA DEALER WON'T EVEN RETURN MY CALL (I'VE CALLED THEM 18 TIMES) AND WHEN I GO IN PERSON, THEY TELL ME THEY WILL HAVE TO CONSULT WITH THE MANUFACTURER'S SPECIALIST, WHO ONLY STOPS IN THE DEALERSHIP EVERY 2 WEEKS. I'VE GOING IN PERSON TO ASK ABOUT THIS 4 TIMES. HONDA HAS OFFERED A HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE THUS FAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds