Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1005 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (106) Equipment (20) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (106) Power Train (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (449) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (75) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (27) Structure (24) Visibility (20)
Engine (61) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (28) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 101
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/25/2015 - MONROVIA, CA
I BEEN IN A CAR ACCIDENT ON FEB. 20,2015 A COMPLETE CRASH IN THE FRONT SIDE OF MY HONDA ACCORD 2008 (HOOD,BUMBER,2 FRONT FINDERS,HEAD LIGHT) IT'S HORRIBLE ACCIDENT THE CAR IS TOTAL LOSS AND THE AIR BAGS DIDN'T EXPLODE SO I HIT THE STEERING WHEEL WITH MY CHEST AND THE SET BELT LOCKED ON MY SHOULDERS BECAUSE THERE'S NOTHING STOPPED ME I'M INJURED. HOW HONDA ONE OF THE BIGGEST POPULAR CARS DON'T CARE ABOUT THE LIFE OF THERE CUSTOMERS. I FELT REALLY BAD OF THAT. I'M SEEKING REAL HELP FROM U GUYS TO SUPPORT AND KEEP THE UNITED STATES SAFE FROM THIS INHUMANITY MANUFACTURING DEFECTS WHICH KILLED AND INJURED MANY PEOPLE. THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT ANY OF OUR COMPLAINTS ON THERE PRODUCTS WHEN I CALLED THERE PRODUCTS HELPS CUSTOMERS SERVICE THEY SAID IT'S AN OLD CAR THAT IS ABSOLUTELY REDICLIOUS BECAUSE THEY CARE ONLY ABOUT THE SALES NUMBERS AND STAYING IN THE MARKET WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO THE RIDERS OF THIS CAR. I EXPECT REAL ACTION TOWARDS HONDA AMERICA I WILL KEEP FOLLOWING AND STEPS UP TILL I GET ALL MY RIGHTS. IMPORTANT NOTE: MY CAR CHECKED WITH A TEAM OF ENGINEER & TECHNICIANS EXPERIENCED ONLY IN THE CAR SAFETY&AIR BAGS AND I DO HAVE ALL OF THIS REPORTS AND PICS. HERE WHAT THEY SAID THE FRONT AIRBAGS SENSORS A&B SENSED THE CRASH AND REPORTED THAT TO THE CONTROL UNIT (CAR COMPUTER) AND THE AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOYED OR EXPLODED BECAUSE THERE'S A POOR MANUFACTURING OR DEFECT. U GUYS AS A GOVERNMENT AGENCY RESPONSIBLE FOR OUR SAFETY AND SAFE PRODUCTION OF THIS CARS WHICH KILLS AND INJURING THE RIDERS. THANK YOU FOR PAYING ATTENTION AND WAITING FOR UR DECISION AND I DOCUMETED ALL THE REPORTS FOR THIS ACCIDENT

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2015 - IRVING, TX
DEAR SIR/MADAM, WE HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING TO HONDA MOTORS ABOUT NOISE COMING UP FIRST TIME WHEN WE START CAR IN A DAY. THE CRANKING NOISE IS SO LOUD THAT MY WIFE AND KIDS ARE WORRIED ABOUT THE CAR SITUATION AND FEEL VERY UNSAFE. THE NOISE GENERALLY OCCUR WHEN WE START CAR FIRST TIME IN THE MORNING. WE CONTACTED HONDA MOTORS LAST YEAR AND THEY RECOMMENDED US TO TAKE IT TO DEALERSHIP. WE WENT TO TWO DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY ISSUE WHEN THEY START CAR FIRST THING IN MORNING. THIS IS VERY UNUSUAL AS WE HAVE BEEN HEARING NOISE EVERY SINGLE MORNING SINCE THAN WHEN WE START CAR FIRST TIME. WE DO NOT KNOW HOW TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE? WITH SOME GOOGLE SEARCH I FOUND OUT THAT FAILURE OF VTC IS CAUSING SIMILAR ISSUE TO 2008 HONDA ACCORD MODELS. CAN YOU PLEASE GUIDE US HOW TO RESOLVE THIS MATTER? WE ARE WORRIED ABOUT OVERALL SITUATION WITH OUR CAR FOR LAST ONE YEAR. APPRECIATE YOUR ASSISTANCE. THANKS/NIRAV DESAI

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2015 - LAFAYETTE, LA
MY CAR WAS LEAKING FLUID WHICH I WAS UNAWARE. MY STARTER WENT OUT AND THE DEALER SAID THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING SO BAD IF I DID NOT REPAIR IT THERE COULD BE AN ENGINE FIRE AS WELL AS DAMAGE TO THE ALTERNATOR. HE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING PUMP BECAUSE HE SAID THAT THE LEAK WAS TOO BAD TO JUST REPLACE THE O RING AND HOSE. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO MOSS MOTORS IN LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA FOR THE REPAIR. I BELIEVE THAT SINCE I ONLY HAD 70,000 MILES ON MY CAR THAT THIS POWER STEERING SYSTEM IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT AND SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2015 - LAFAYETTE, LA
MY CAR WAS LEAKING FLUID WHICH I WAS UNAWARE. MY STARTER WENT OUT AND THE DEALER SAID THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING SO BAD IF I DID NOT REPAIR IT THERE COULD BE AN ENGINE FIRE AS WELL AS DAMAGE TO THE ALTERNATOR. HE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING PUMP BECAUSE HE SAID THAT THE LEAK WAS TOO BAD TO JUST REPLACE THE O RING AND HOSE. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO MOSS MOTORS IN LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA FOR THE REPAIR. I BELIEVE THAT SINCE I ONLY HAD 70,000 MILES ON MY CAR THAT THIS POWER STEERING SYSTEM IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT AND SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2015 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
2008 HONDA ACCORD: AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT SENSOR ACTIVATED AND STAYED ON. LOCAL DEALER IN MARYLAND ADVISED THE SRS MODULE NEEDS REPLACEMENT ($700 COST). DEALER ALSO STATED THEY ARE "NOT SURE IF THE AIR BAGS WOULD WORK PROPERLY" WITHOUT REPLACING THE SRS MODULE. ONLINE RESEARCH INDICATES NUMEROUS SIMILAR COMPLAINTS INVOLVING SRS MODULES THAT NEEDED REPLACEMENT AS A RESULT OF AN ACTIVATED AIR BAG WARNING SENSOR FOR THE 2008 HONDA ACCORDS (IE. WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM). BASED ON THIS RECURRING ISSUE, THIS ITEM IS BELIEVES TO BE A FAULTY/DEFECTIVE PART THAT ORIGINATED FROM THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS AND DIRECTLY AFFECTS THE OPERATION OF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM. THIS ALSO MEANS THAT THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE PASSENGERS AND OPERATORS ARE IN JEOPARDY AND POTENTIALLY FACE SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. ON APRIL 3, 2015 I SPOKE WITH A HONDA USA REPRESENTATIVE AND INFORMED THEM OF THE RECURRING ISSUE. I SUGGESTED A RECALL AND CONVEYED MY CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY OF ALL AFFECTED OPERATORS. THEY ADVISED I WAS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2015 - CLARKSTON , MI
APPROXIMATELY AT 9PM 2 APRIL 2015, MY SON WAS GETTING READY TO DRIVE HOME FROM WORK IN HIS 2008 HONDA ACCORD WHEN HIS DRIVERS-SIDE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED HITTING HIM IN THE HEAD. THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT OR SIDE COLLISION INVOLVED. HE WAS PARKED IN THE CLARKSON PUBLIC LIBRARY PARKING LOT. THE SAFETY RECALL ON THE AIRBAGS ARE ONLY UP TO 2007. AFTER THIS, THEN THE RECALL SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO COVER THE 2008 MODELS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/31/2015 - WINSTON SALEM , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2015 - BALTIMORE , MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT ALIGNED PROPERLY AND FAILED TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE PROPERLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE WHEELS WERE NOT ALIGNED ADJACENT. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THE WHEELS NEEDED TO BE ALIGNED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/24/2015 - BALTIMORE , MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT ALIGNED PROPERLY AND FAILED TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE PROPERLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE WHEELS WERE NOT ALIGNED ADJACENT. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THE WHEELS NEEDED TO BE ALIGNED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SEATS

2/13/2015 - STERLING, VA
I VISITED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN STERLING, VA A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO AND HAD TO GET MY BRAKES REPLACED. AT THAT TIME I ASKED IF THEY COULD FIX MY BACK DRIVER'S SEAT..(MY DAUGHTER WHO IS 10 GOT INTO THE CAR ONE DAY AND KICKED THE BACK SEAT BY ACCIDENT WITH HER FOOT AND IT FELL) I WAS TOLD THEY COULD FIX IT AND THEY COULD DO IT THAT DAY BECAUSE THEY HAD THE PLASTIC CLIPS IN STOCK BUT IT WOULD COST AN ADDITIONAL $197.00 (I CAN'T REMEMBER EXACT AMOUNT) BUT I TOLD THEM I WAS PAYING A LOT OF MONEY ALREADY FOR REPLACING MY BRAKES AND I COULDN'T AFFORD RIGHT NOW AND TOLD THEM I WOULD BE BACK. THE GUYS TRIED TO GET THE CLIP TO HOLD (AND I WAS VERY THANKFUL) BUT AS SOON AS I PULLED OUT OF THE DEALERSHIP IT FELL AGAIN. I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE AND THERE WAS ONE MAN IN PARTICULAR WHO WAS VERY HELPFUL AND I WISHED I HAD HIS NAME TO TELL YOU. SO, I HAD AN APT TODAY AT 9:15 AND GOT THERE AT EARLY AT 8:50. THE GUY FINALLY CAME BACK TO ME ABOUT 10:30 OR SO AND SAID THEY COULDN'T FIX THE BACK SEAT BECAUSE THE WAY THIS WAS BUILT WASN'T DONE PROPERLY AND THESE THIS WILL JUST KEEP BREAKING. HE SAID I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE SEAT BACK AND THE COST WOULD BE $335.00 PLUS TAX AND SHOP SUPPLIES. REALLY? I SAID THEN WHY WASN'T I TOLD THIS WHEN I WAS HERE A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO. WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING THAT IS A DEFECT IN THE FIRST PLACE? HE SAID SORRY I JUST FIX THE CARS I DON'T MAKE THEM. HE WAS VERY NICE A POLITE BUT I DON'T FEEL I SHOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS AT ALL. I ASKED HIM .... WHY DIDN'T YOU TELL ME WHEN I WAS HERE BEFORE AND HE REPLIED BECAUSE OF MY MONEY RESTRAINTS. THAT MAKES NO SENSE!!! WHY BEFORE YOU CAN JUST REPLACE THE PLASTIC CLIPS AND NOW ALL OF THE SUDDEN YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE BACK PANEL. I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON BUT I WOULD LIKE FOR SOMEONE TO CALL ME AND TALK TO ME ABOUT THIS SITUATION. I AM NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 101
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds