Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1378 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (339) Equipment (31) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (111) Power Train (58) Service Brakes Hydraulic (451) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (93) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (18) Steering (31) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (33) Structure (30) Visibility (20)
Engine (161) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (50) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (7) Wheels (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 134
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2018 - BRADENTON, FL
GRINDING NOISE PRESENTS WHEN COLD START THE CAR, POSSIBLELY THE VTC ACTUATOR FAILURE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/15/2018 - HONOLULU, HI
SINCE LAST 5 YEARS I NOTICED LOUD GRINDING NOISE AT STARTUP, ONLY IN THE MORNING WHEN I FIRST START THE ENGINE. NOISE DOES NOT HAPPEN ON STARTUPS DURING THE DAY AND THE ENGINE RUNS FINE. JUST THE ANNOYING ABOUT 2 SECOND LONG SCRATCH NOISE AT FIRST START IN THE MORNING. BUT SINCE LAST 2-3 WEEKS IT HAS GONE WORST AND GET THAT NOICE EVEN WHEN I START DRIVING AND EVERY TIME I SLOW DOWN AND START SPEED UP AGAIN IT GET THAT NOICE LIKE GEAR SLIPPING OR GRINDING NOISE UNTIL I REACH TO FASTER SPEED LIKE ABOVE 30-35. ITS HAPPENING EVERY TIME NOW. ON HONDA'S WEBSITE IT DEFINES PROBLEM AS "ENGINE RATTLES AT COLD START-UP" JUST DIFFERENCE FOR ME IS NOW ITS HAPPENING ALL THE TIME WHEN I AM DRIVING. AND I WAS WAITING FOR HOPE TO GET RECALL NOTIFICATION SINCE IT'S HAPPENING TO ALL 2008 HONDA ACCORD CUSTOMERS. HERE IS THE LINK OF HONDA WEBSITE WHICH HAS MORE INFORMATION . HTTPS://HONDA.OEMDTC.COM/219/ENGINE-RATTLES-AT-COLD-START-UP-2008-2013-HONDA WHICH EVEN SAYS THE 2008-2012 ALL HONDA ACCORD MODELS HAS THIS PROBLEM. SO BEFORE I SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO DEALERSHIP I THOUGHT TO TAKE THIS STEP TO MENTION ABOUT COMMON PROBLEM OF PARTICULAR 2008 HONDA ACCORD TO NHTSA UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION HOPING I WILL GET SOME KIND OF HELP OR SOLUTION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2018 - HONOLULU, HI
SINCE LAST 5 YEARS I NOTICED LOUD GRINDING NOISE AT STARTUP, ONLY IN THE MORNING WHEN I FIRST START THE ENGINE. NOISE DOES NOT HAPPEN ON STARTUPS DURING THE DAY AND THE ENGINE RUNS FINE. JUST THE ANNOYING ABOUT 2 SECOND LONG SCRATCH NOISE AT FIRST START IN THE MORNING. BUT SINCE LAST 2-3 WEEKS IT HAS GONE WORST AND GET THAT NOICE EVEN WHEN I START DRIVING AND EVERY TIME I SLOW DOWN AND START SPEED UP AGAIN IT GET THAT NOICE LIKE GEAR SLIPPING OR GRINDING NOISE UNTIL I REACH TO FASTER SPEED LIKE ABOVE 30-35. ITS HAPPENING EVERY TIME NOW. ON HONDA'S WEBSITE IT DEFINES PROBLEM AS "ENGINE RATTLES AT COLD START-UP" JUST DIFFERENCE FOR ME IS NOW ITS HAPPENING ALL THE TIME WHEN I AM DRIVING. AND I WAS WAITING FOR HOPE TO GET RECALL NOTIFICATION SINCE IT'S HAPPENING TO ALL 2008 HONDA ACCORD CUSTOMERS. HERE IS THE LINK OF HONDA WEBSITE WHICH HAS MORE INFORMATION . HTTPS://HONDA.OEMDTC.COM/219/ENGINE-RATTLES-AT-COLD-START-UP-2008-2013-HONDA WHICH EVEN SAYS THE 2008-2012 ALL HONDA ACCORD MODELS HAS THIS PROBLEM. SO BEFORE I SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO DEALERSHIP I THOUGHT TO TAKE THIS STEP TO MENTION ABOUT COMMON PROBLEM OF PARTICULAR 2008 HONDA ACCORD TO NHTSA UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION HOPING I WILL GET SOME KIND OF HELP OR SOLUTION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2018 - EAST ST. LOUIS, IL
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN NOTICED ENGINE OIL LEAKING ONTO THE SPARK PLUGS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO TAKEN TO THE DEALER (MEYER HONDA, 1268 CENTRAL PARK DR, O'FALLON, IL 62269, (618) 622-0588), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED EVERY 30,000 MILES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 173,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/27/2018 - OLYMPIA, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE CONTACT SWERVED TO THE RIGHT TO AVOID A VEHICLE ENTERING HER LANE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT STRUCK A CURB AND THE FRONT PASSENGER CURTAIN AND SEAT AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES DUE TO THE DEPLOYMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CAPITOL CITY HONDA (2370 CARRIAGE LOOP SW, OLYMPIA, WA 98502, (360) 754-3399), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 176,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/17/2018 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE BRAKE LIGHT CONTINUES TO GO ON AND OFF ON THE DASHBOARD. I HAVE CHANGED MY BRAKES, REPLACED THE BRAKE FLUID AND THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. I HAVE WENT TO HONDA AND THEY CAN ONLY TELL YOU THE COST FOR THE REPAIR. I HAVE SEEN QUITE A FEW COMPLAINTS ON OTHER WEBSITES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I HAVE FOUND MULTIPLE WEBSITES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM FOR THE 2008, 2009 AND 2007 HONDA ACCORD, I CANNOT UNDERSTAND HOW IT+S AFFECTING A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF VEHICLES FOR THE HONDA ACCORD AND THERE IS NOT A RECALL LISTED. ESPECIALLY WHEN IT CAN CAUSE HAZARDOUS DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE LIGHT COMES ON WITHIN A MINUTE OR TWO OF DRIVING AND TURNS OFF AFTER REACHING 40 MPH. OTHER TIMES IT STAYS ON AND THE VSA LIGHT COMES ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/16/2018 - HARTSDALE, NY
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER, MY CAR HAS APPROX. 24000 MILES, I HAVING BREAK PROBLEM THAT IS DEVELOPED APPROX. GOOD 5000 MILES AGO. WHEN THE BREAK IS APPLIED THE FONT END OF THE CAR STARTS VIBRATING AND SHAKING, ALSO CAN FILLED IN THE STARRING WHEEL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2018 - CLARKSDALE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO RECEIVED A TAKATA SETTLEMENT NOTICE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 200,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2018 - CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER (CAPE GIRARDEAU HONDA, 385 SIEMERS DR, CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO 63701, (573) 334-6919) WAS CONTACTED, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

SEATS

2/10/2018 - BOZEMAN, MT
THERE IS A SHARP METAL EDGE THAT I ASSUME IS PART OF THE INTERNAL SEAT FRAME THAT HAS SLICED THROUGH THE SEAT FOAM AND THE SEAT FABRIC ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT AND PRESSES AGAINST THE BODY OF THE DRIVER. NO INJURIES HAVE OCCURED YET, BUT I DON'T RELISH THE THOUGHT OF THIS BEING SHOVED INTO MY SHOULDER BLADE IF I WERE TO GET HIT FROM BEHIND.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 134
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds