Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2008 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 953 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (81) Equipment (19) Parking Brake (9) Service Brakes Electric (58) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (105) Power Train (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (449) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (7) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (23) Structure (21) Visibility (19)
Engine (49) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (25) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (39) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Air (9) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/22/2014 - LAYTON, UT
08 HONDA ACCORD EX L 4 CYL BRAKES CONTINUOUSLY HAVE ISSUES WITH WEARING UNEVENLY. THE ISSUE SEEMS TO BE MORE PREVALENT IN THE REAR. THE LAST TIME I HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED AND "FIXED" I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP 3 TIMES BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT SEEM TO CORRECT THE ISSUE WITH VIBRATION OF THE CAR WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. EVEN AFTER 3RD TIME GOING TO THE DEALERSHIP THERE WAS STILL A SLIGHT VIBRATION WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. WHEN I SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER ABOUT THE ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS KNOWN ISSUE, BUT THERE WAS NOTHING MORE THEY COULD DO TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/22/2014 - LAYTON, UT
2008 HONDA ACCORD EX L 4 CYL BURNS AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL. GENERALLY I HAVE TO PUT IN A QUART OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY UPDATED THE SOFTWARE, BUT THAT DID NOT FIX THE ISSUE. THERE IS ALSO A LOUD SOUND THAT COMES FROM THE ENGINE WHEN THE ENGINE IS STARTED. I USED TO ONLY HERE THE SOUND ON COLD ENGINE STARTS, BUT NOW IT MAKES THE SOUND EVERY TIME IT IS STARTED.

View Details

TIRES

7/22/2014 - LONG BRANCH, NJ
FOUR MICHELINE PILOT P225/50P17 MIXED AGE/MILEAGE DUE TO INDIVIDUAL TIRE DAMAGE/REPLACEMENTS SINCE 2008. TREAD WEAR IS ACCEPTABLE ON ALL FOUR TIRES @ 64,000 MILES. SIDEWALLS ON ALL 4 TIRES EXPERIENCING DRY ROT DOT B90A VJLX 0808 M30A DECX 3109, 3909, 0207 ADVISED TIRES UNSAFE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS DUE TO DRY ROT ON SIDEWALLS. NOTE; SPARE IS A MINI

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/10/2014 - EASLEY, SC
FEW MONTHS AGO MY CAR LOCKS STARTED TO LOCK, UNLOCK, LOCK, UNLOCK, ETC EVERY TIME WHEN MY DRIVING SPEED PASSED 10 MPH. THEN I NOTICED THAT MY DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR WAS UNLOCKING IN FEW SECONDS AFTER I LOCKED MY CAR DOORS. LAST NIGHT MY CAR LOCKED ITSELF (EXCEPT DRIVER SIDE READ DOOR). THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE FOR A SINGLE WOMAN. VERY UNSAFE TO PARK IN PUBLIC PLACES WHEN YOU CANNOT LOCK THE CAR DOORS. TODAY I AM AT HONDA AND WAITING FOR THE FINAL BILL FOR THEIR REPAIR. I TOLD THEM THAT THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINT OF THIS ISSUE, BUT THE SERVICE TECHNICIANS IS NOT AWARE (???).

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2014 - RUTHERFORDTON, NC
MY HUSBAND AND I ALONG WITH MY 2 DAUGHTERS GOT IN OUR 2008 HONDA ACCORD ON MONDAY AFTERNOON, MY HUSBAND WAS THE LAST ONE IN. HE GOT IN THE FRONT PASSENGERS SIDE SEAT AND WHEN HE SHUT THE DOOR THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED! MY OLDESR DAUGHTER WAS IN THE SEAT BEHIND HIM AND WHEN THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED IT HIT HER IN THE FACE CAUSING BURN MARKS ON HER FACE AND NECK AND ALSO SHE HAS SOME LOSS OF HEARING IN HER RIGHT EAR AND A CONSTANT RINGING IN HER EAR! WE CONTACTED OUR INSURANCE COMPANY THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT HELP US! WE THEN CONTACTED OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALER WHERE WE PURCHASED THE CAR AND THEY SAID SORRY NO RECALL ON YOUR CAR AND ITS NOT UNDER WARRANTY BUT WHEN I EXPLAINED MY DAUGHTER WAS INJURED THEIR ATTITUDE CHANGED AND WERE TOLD TO CALL AMERICAN HONDA AND TELL THEM WHAT HAPPENED! AT THIS POINT WE WERE TOLD TO DRIVE THE CAR TO OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO RUN TESTS ON THE CAR TO SEE WHY THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED! NOW IT IS JUST A WAITING GAME I GUESS!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2014 - MERIDEN, CT
MY VEHICLE WAS HIT HEAD ON BY A PICKUP TRUCK. THE WHOLE FRONT END OF MY VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED. THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DID DEPLOY, HOWEVER I HAVE A FIRST DEGREE AIR BAG BURN ON MY RIGHT INNER WRIST/ FOREARM. MY VEHICLE WAS DETERMINED TO BE A TOTAL LOSS. I RECEIVED A VEHICLE REPORT ON MY CAR AFTER THE ACCIDENT AND FOUND THAT THE NHTSA HAS ISSUED 1 SAFETY RELATED RECALL NOTICE ON MY VEHICLE IN THE PAST INVOLVING POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION : CONTROL MODULE. THIS RECALL BEGAN ON 7/31/2011. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON 2/1/2012. I SHOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN SOLD THIS VEHICLE UNTIL IT WAS INSPECTED AND REPAIRED.

View Details

TIRES

7/2/2014 - LOS ANGELES , CA
PURCHASED A SET OF FOUR NEW HANKOOK VENTUS V12 EVO TIRES BACK IN JUNE 2013. I DRIVE VERY LITTLE- HAVE ONLY 30K IN MY '08 VEHICLE. I WAS PLANNING A ROAD TRIP THIS MONTH & OF COURSE DID ALL THAT WAS NECESSARY INCLUDING A VEHICLE CHECKUP. AFTER DRIVING ABOUT 2 HOURS ON THE HIGHWAY (W/ A BREAK AFTER AN HOUR, WHICH INCLUDED ANOTHER VEHICLE CHECKUP), THE STEERING WHEEL STARTING SHAKING VIOLENTLY & I SAW SMOKE COMING FROM THE SIDE OF MY CAR THROUGH MY SIDE VIEW MIRROR. PULLED OVER TO FIND THAT ONE OF MY TIRES WAS COMPLETELY BLOWN OUT & THE SIDE WALL WAS TORN. I WAS IN COMPLETE SHOCK. THESE WERE NEW TIRES- ONLY A YEAR OLD, WITH CONSIDERABLE TREAD ON THEM. THERE WAS NO REASON FOR IT TO GET BLOWN OUT LIKE THIS. CALLED AAA FOR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE & THEY HAD TO PUT A SPARE TIRE ON. I WAS HUNDREDS OF MILES AWAY FROM HOME & FROM MY DESTINATION & THERE WERE NO TIRE SHOPS OPEN IN THE AREA. HAD TO DRIVE CLOSE TO 100 MILES, IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT WITH THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS ON AT 50 MPH TO GET TO A 24 HR TIRE SHOP. FIRST SHOP DIDN'T HAVE MY TIRE SIZE, BUT SECOND ONE DID. TIRE WAS INSPECTED & THERE WAS NO OTHER DAMAGE OR ADVERSE OBJECTS FOUND WITH THE TIRE OTHER THAN THE SIDEWALL BEING TORN & THE TIRE BLOWN OUT. HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO PAY FOR A NEW TIRE (THEY HAD NO USED TIRE), SINCE I WAS STILL HUNDREDS OF MILES AWAY FROM HOME & MY DESTINATION, & I COULDN'T KEEP DRIVING WITH A SPARE TIRE ON. I ENDED UP PAYING A HEFTY FEE FOR THE NEW TIRE & OTHER CHARGES. I INITIALLY PAID A VERY HIGH AMOUNT, FOR WHAT I THOUGHT WERE QUALITY TIRES FROM HANKOOK, APPARENTLY I WAS VERY WRONG. AFTER THIS EXPERIENCE I WILL NEVER BUY HANKOOK TIRES AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/1/2014 - ZACHERY, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE FAILURE THE DRIVERS SIDE SEATBELT LOCKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V351000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/1/2014 - ZACHERY, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE FAILURE THE DRIVERS SIDE SEATBELT LOCKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V351000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/30/2014 - RATON, NM
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT TWHILE ENTERING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG ON THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds