Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 404 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (14)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (24) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (116) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/30/2014 - TALLMADGE, OH
UNINTENDED ACCELERATION HAS OCCURRED SIX (6) TIMES SINCE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW. THE FIRST THREE INCIDENCES TOOK PLACE OVER A FOUR (4) YEAR PERIOD STARTING ABOUT 2009 WITH ABOUT 25000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. IN EACH OF THESE INSTANCES THE CAR WAS ENTERING A PARKING SPACE MOVING FORWARD. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND THE CAR WAS ALMOST STOPPED WHEN THE ENGINE BEGIN TO RACE. PRESSURE WAS MAINTAINED ON THE BRAKE AND THE ENGINE SPEED RETURNED TO NORMAL. THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AFTER THE FIRST TWO (2) OF THESE INCIDENCES BUT COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. IN THE LAST TWO YEARS THERE HAVE BEEN THREE ADDITIONAL OCCURRENCES. IN ONE INSTANCE THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED AND THE CAR WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP AT A TRAFFIC CIRCLE. ALTHOUGH THE DRIVER?S FOOT REMAINED FIRMLY ON THE BRAKE, THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP. THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE PLACED IN NEUTRAL TO PREVENT THE CAR MOVING FORWARD INTO TRAFFIC. ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN IN TRAFFIC WHEN THE ENGINE?S RPM INCREASE RAPIDLY. TO PREVENT A POSSIBLE COLLISION THE TRANSMISSION AGAIN HAD TO BE PLACED IN NEUTRAL. ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM DOES NOT OCCUR FREQUENTLY WHEN IT DOES OCCUR, THERE IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2014 - AYDEN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FLAMES EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND EVENTUALLY ENGULFED THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED WHO DETERMINED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER HAD FAILED AND CAUSED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/18/2014 - CARLSBAD, CA
THE LIFTGATE STRUTS FAILED SUDDENLY AND NO LONGER SUPPORT THE HEAVY DOOR. THERE WAS NO GRADUAL DETERIORATION. OURS IS A MANUAL VERSION - NOT POWERED AND FOR SOME REASON ISN'T COVERED BY THE RECALL 12V062000, EVEN THOUGH IT USES THE SAME PART THAT WAS DETERMINED TO BE DEFECTIVE IN THAT INVESTIGATION - NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : PE11034. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT IT FAILED AT UNACCEPTABLE RATE AND THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FROM MANUAL LIFTGATES IS HIGHER THAN THOSE OF THE POWERED LIFTGATES. THIS IS AT LEAST AS DANGEROUS AS A POWERED LIFTGATE SITUATION, ESPECIALLY FOR MY WIFE AND 3 YOUNG CHILDREN. THE INVESTIGATION AND RECALL NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO COVER ALL MODELS USING THIS PART, NOT JUST THE POWERED DOORS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

4/18/2014 - CARLSBAD, CA
THE LIFTGATE STRUTS FAILED SUDDENLY AND NO LONGER SUPPORT THE HEAVY DOOR. THERE WAS NO GRADUAL DETERIORATION. OURS IS A MANUAL VERSION - NOT POWERED AND FOR SOME REASON ISN'T COVERED BY THE RECALL 12V062000, EVEN THOUGH IT USES THE SAME PART THAT WAS DETERMINED TO BE DEFECTIVE IN THAT INVESTIGATION - NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : PE11034. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT IT FAILED AT UNACCEPTABLE RATE AND THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FROM MANUAL LIFTGATES IS HIGHER THAN THOSE OF THE POWERED LIFTGATES. THIS IS AT LEAST AS DANGEROUS AS A POWERED LIFTGATE SITUATION, ESPECIALLY FOR MY WIFE AND 3 YOUNG CHILDREN. THE INVESTIGATION AND RECALL NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO COVER ALL MODELS USING THIS PART, NOT JUST THE POWERED DOORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE JERKED ABNORMALLY AS THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS FLASHED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT THEN SHIFTED INTO PARK AND NEUTRAL BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED BUT TO NO AVAIL, THE FAILURE LATER RECURRED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111785.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

4/6/2014 - GLEN ALLEN, VA
RE: TAILGATE/ STRUT FAILURE I WAS OUT SHOPPING AND AT MY LAST STOP THE TAILGATE WAS SUDDENLY VERY HARD TO OPEN. I HAD A LARGE CART OF GROCERIES AND IT WAS RAINING, SO I RAISED IT UP WITH ONE HAND, BUT WHEN I TURNED TO GET MORE GROCERIES, I EXPECTED IT TO STAY AND IT DROPPED DOWN. FORTUNATELY, I DID NOT HAVE MY CHILDREN WITH ME, SO I COULD PUT THE REST OF THE GROCERIES IN THE SEAT AREA AND DEAL WITH IT LATER. IT HAS NOT RESOLVED, SO IT WAS NOT A "RAIN" ISSUE. IN THE WEEK THAT HAS PASSED, I HAVE DONE SOME OF RESEARCH. I FOUND THAT HONDA DID INDEED HAVE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM HTTP://WWW-ODI.NHTSA.DOT.GOV/ACMS/CS/JAXRS/DOWNLOAD/DOC/UCM416791/RCAK-12V062-3793.PDF HOWEVER, WHEN I CALLED MY HONDA DEALER, * VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL. I'M HAVING A HARD TIME FIGURING OUT WHICH MODELS ARE BY THE OFFICIAL NOTICES. THEY QUOTED ME $276 TO FIX IT. I HAVE DISCOVERED THIS IS VERY EASY TO FIX - $50 FOR THE STRUTS, A FLATHEAD SCREWDRIVER, AND LADDER TO PROP OPEN THE TAILGATE AND EVEN A 115 LB WOMAN CAN FIX THEM. HOWEVER, WHY AREN'T ALL 2008 HONDA ODYSSEYS IN THIS RECALL? HAD MY CHILDREN BEEN HELPING ME OR HAD I BEEN HALF IN THE VAN WHEN THE STRUTS SUDDENLY FAILED, ANY OF US COULD HAVE BEEN BADLY INJURED OR KILLED BY THE DEAD WEIGHT OF THAT DOOR. FOR NOW I WILL ORDER THE STRUTS AND FIX THEM AS SOON AS I CAN SINCE I REALLY DON'T HAVE TIME TO DUKE IT OUT WITH HONDA.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/31/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE DOOR WOULD INDEPENDENTLY OPEN. THE CONTACT WOULD EXPERIENCE DIFFICULTY IN MANUALLY CLOSING THE LIFT GATE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:12V062000 (STRUCTURE) DUE TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER STATING THAT THE FAILURE WAS ONLY ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER LIFT GATE MODELS. THE CONTACTS STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE AS THE POWER LIFT GATE AND ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92500. .. UPDATED 06/03/14 UPDATED 06/13/2014

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/31/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE DOOR WOULD INDEPENDENTLY OPEN. THE CONTACT WOULD EXPERIENCE DIFFICULTY IN MANUALLY CLOSING THE LIFT GATE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:12V062000 (STRUCTURE) DUE TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER STATING THAT THE FAILURE WAS ONLY ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER LIFT GATE MODELS. THE CONTACTS STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE AS THE POWER LIFT GATE AND ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92500. .. UPDATED 06/03/14 UPDATED 06/13/2014

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2014 - GREAT FALLS, VA
WHEN BRAKING, EVEN PRESS THE BRAKE VERY HARD, THE CAR IS MAKING SQUEAKING NOISE, AND IT WILL NOT STOP. HAD TO RELEASE AND PRESS THE BRAKE THREE TIMES, TO FINALLY STOP THE CAR. GOOD THING WE WERE DOING ONLY 20MPH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/18/2014 - LAKE GROVE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR HATCH WOULD CLOSE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 12V062000(STRUCTURE) BUT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,116.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds