Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 373 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (6) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (109) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (43) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/6/2013 - HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL
CAR BRAKES APPLY ABRUPTLY AND WITH GREAT FORCE WITHOUT DRIVER INPUT. OCCURS AT SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH AND RPMS BETWEEN 1500-2000. USUALLY HAPPENS AS TRANSMISSION IS IN THE PROCESS OF DOWNSHIFTING FROM 5TH TO 4TH GEAR. WHEN CONDITION OCCURS, VEHICLE WILL SLOW APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH FROM ORIGINAL SPEED PRIOR TO BRAKING. THIS CONDITION HAS PRESENTED ITSELF SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. HONDA DEALER EXAMINED VEHICLE AND FOUND NO DEFECT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/6/2013 - HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL
CAR BRAKES APPLY ABRUPTLY AND WITH GREAT FORCE WITHOUT DRIVER INPUT. OCCURS AT SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH AND RPMS BETWEEN 1500-2000. USUALLY HAPPENS AS TRANSMISSION IS IN THE PROCESS OF DOWNSHIFTING FROM 5TH TO 4TH GEAR. WHEN CONDITION OCCURS, VEHICLE WILL SLOW APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH FROM ORIGINAL SPEED PRIOR TO BRAKING. THIS CONDITION HAS PRESENTED ITSELF SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. HONDA DEALER EXAMINED VEHICLE AND FOUND NO DEFECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/4/2013 - SCARSDALE, NY
9/27/10: DRIVER'S SIDE HALF AXLE/POWERTRAIN FAILED AT 19,500 MILES AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. 7/15/13 AT 44,550 MILES, BOTH THE REPLACEMENT DRIVER'S SIDE HALF AXLE FAILED AND ALSO THE PASSENGER'S SIDE FAILED FOR THE FIRST TIME. AT THIS RATE IT SEEMS THAT THE HALF-AXLES HAVE TO BE REPLACED EVERY 20-25 K MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/2/2013 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
WE WERE ACCELERATING ON A MAIN ROAD AND WE GOT UP TO ABOUT 25 MPH AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY BRAKED BY ITSELF AND WE CAME TO ALMOST A COMPLETE STOP WITH NO CONTROL. THE BRAKE PEDAL AUTOMATICALLY WENT DOWN LIKE SOMEONE WAS PUSHING THE PEDAL TO BRAKE. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO ONE BEHIND US OR WE WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT. THE BRAKE THEN AUTOMATICALLY RELEASED, NO INTERIOR LIGHTS CAME ON TO INDICATE ANY ISSUES, AND THE VEHICLE IS WORKING FINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE IN A YEAR ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/11/2013 - WOODBURY, MN
THE LIFTGATE/TAILGATE ON THE HONDA ODYSSEY 2008 EXL DOES NOT STAY UP. IT FALLS DOWN DUE TO THE WEIGHT OF THE LIFTGATE AND HAS THE POTENTIAL TO INJURE THE PERSON USING IT. THIS IS A NON POWERED LIFTGATE. HONDA DID HAVE A RECALL ON THE POWERED LIFTGATES FOR THE 2008 EXL, BUT NOT FOR THE NON POWERED ONES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/9/2013 - CHESTERFIELD, NJ
MY HUSBAND, MYSELF AND MY 3 CHILDREN (AGES 7, 4, AND 1) WERE COMING HOME FROM THE PHILLIES GAME AT APPROXIMATELY 10:30 PM SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 7TH, 2013. UPON ENTERING THE ON RAMP FOR A MAJOR ROADWAY, MY HUSBAND BEGAN ACCELERATING TO APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH. HE HAD HIS FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL, WHEN THE VAN BRAKED SPONTANEOUSLY. IN A MATTER OF SECONDS, OUR SPEED DECREASED FROM 50 TO 25-30. OUR SEATBELTS ALL LOCKED AS WE WERE LUNGED FORWARD. THERE WAS A CAR DIRECTLY BEHIND US, WHO HAD TO SWERVE INTO ANOTHER LANE TO AVOID REAR ENDING US. IT WAS AS IF SOMEONE SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, HOWEVER NO ONE DID. THIS HAPPEN 3 OR 4 MORE TIMES WITHIN A 5-7 MINUTE TIME FRAME, SO WE IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO TRY AND FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS HAPPENING. I IMMEDIATELY GOOGLED THIS ISSUE AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION FOR 2007 AND 2008 ODYSSEYS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I READ THAT THIS HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE VEHICLE STABILITY SYSTEM, SO WE PRESSED THE VSA OFF BUTTON AND DROVE HOME AT A SPEED OF 30 MPH IN CASE IT HAPPENED AGAIN. NO FURTHER SPONTANEOUS BRAKING OCCURRED ONCE THE VSA WAS OFF. I TOOK THE CAR INTO HAMILTON HONDA THIS MORNING AND SPOKE TO SERVICE MANAGER. THEY ARE CURRENTLY EVALUATING THE VAN. I AM WAITING TO HEAR WHAT THEY FIND.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/9/2013 - CHESTERFIELD, NJ
MY HUSBAND, MYSELF AND MY 3 CHILDREN (AGES 7, 4, AND 1) WERE COMING HOME FROM THE PHILLIES GAME AT APPROXIMATELY 10:30 PM SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 7TH, 2013. UPON ENTERING THE ON RAMP FOR A MAJOR ROADWAY, MY HUSBAND BEGAN ACCELERATING TO APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH. HE HAD HIS FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL, WHEN THE VAN BRAKED SPONTANEOUSLY. IN A MATTER OF SECONDS, OUR SPEED DECREASED FROM 50 TO 25-30. OUR SEATBELTS ALL LOCKED AS WE WERE LUNGED FORWARD. THERE WAS A CAR DIRECTLY BEHIND US, WHO HAD TO SWERVE INTO ANOTHER LANE TO AVOID REAR ENDING US. IT WAS AS IF SOMEONE SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, HOWEVER NO ONE DID. THIS HAPPEN 3 OR 4 MORE TIMES WITHIN A 5-7 MINUTE TIME FRAME, SO WE IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO TRY AND FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS HAPPENING. I IMMEDIATELY GOOGLED THIS ISSUE AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION FOR 2007 AND 2008 ODYSSEYS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I READ THAT THIS HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE VEHICLE STABILITY SYSTEM, SO WE PRESSED THE VSA OFF BUTTON AND DROVE HOME AT A SPEED OF 30 MPH IN CASE IT HAPPENED AGAIN. NO FURTHER SPONTANEOUS BRAKING OCCURRED ONCE THE VSA WAS OFF. I TOOK THE CAR INTO HAMILTON HONDA THIS MORNING AND SPOKE TO SERVICE MANAGER. THEY ARE CURRENTLY EVALUATING THE VAN. I AM WAITING TO HEAR WHAT THEY FIND.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/9/2013 - CHESTERFIELD, NJ
MY HUSBAND, MYSELF AND MY 3 CHILDREN (AGES 7, 4, AND 1) WERE COMING HOME FROM THE PHILLIES GAME AT APPROXIMATELY 10:30 PM SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 7TH, 2013. UPON ENTERING THE ON RAMP FOR A MAJOR ROADWAY, MY HUSBAND BEGAN ACCELERATING TO APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH. HE HAD HIS FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL, WHEN THE VAN BRAKED SPONTANEOUSLY. IN A MATTER OF SECONDS, OUR SPEED DECREASED FROM 50 TO 25-30. OUR SEATBELTS ALL LOCKED AS WE WERE LUNGED FORWARD. THERE WAS A CAR DIRECTLY BEHIND US, WHO HAD TO SWERVE INTO ANOTHER LANE TO AVOID REAR ENDING US. IT WAS AS IF SOMEONE SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, HOWEVER NO ONE DID. THIS HAPPEN 3 OR 4 MORE TIMES WITHIN A 5-7 MINUTE TIME FRAME, SO WE IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO TRY AND FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS HAPPENING. I IMMEDIATELY GOOGLED THIS ISSUE AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION FOR 2007 AND 2008 ODYSSEYS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I READ THAT THIS HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE VEHICLE STABILITY SYSTEM, SO WE PRESSED THE VSA OFF BUTTON AND DROVE HOME AT A SPEED OF 30 MPH IN CASE IT HAPPENED AGAIN. NO FURTHER SPONTANEOUS BRAKING OCCURRED ONCE THE VSA WAS OFF. I TOOK THE CAR INTO HAMILTON HONDA THIS MORNING AND SPOKE TO SERVICE MANAGER. THEY ARE CURRENTLY EVALUATING THE VAN. I AM WAITING TO HEAR WHAT THEY FIND.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

9/3/2013 - SUNNYVALE, CA
TAILGATE STRUTS FAIL TO HOLD UP THE TAILGATE - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX. DOOR IS VERY HEAVY, VERY HARD TO LIFT UP AND COULD EASILY HIT YOUR HEAD/BODY IF NOT MANUALLY HOLDING UP CAREFULLY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/2/2013 - CARROLLTON, GA
IN FEBRUARY 2008, I PURCHASED A NEW HONDA ODYSSEY MINIVAN FOR MY FAMILY. IN THE SPRING OF 2010, I BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE THE FOLLOWING PROBLEM: AFTER MAKING A TURN (RIGHT OR LEFT),DURING ACCELERATION, THE ODYSSEY'S BRAKES WILL AUTOMATICALLY ENGAGE, IMMEDIATELY SLOWING THE VAN DOWN. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE VEHICLE DECELERATES FROM 55MPH TO 20MPH IN SECONDS, ENGAGING THE SHOULDER HARNESS OF OUR SEAT-BELTS. OVER THE PAST THREE YEARS, THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST SEVEN TO TEN TIMES AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND IN VARIOUS SEASONS OF THE YEAR. I HAVE RETURNED THE VAN TO HONDA AT LEAST FOUR TIMES. BECAUSE AN INDICATOR LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON AND BECAUSE THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, OUR SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT HONDA TELLS US THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. IN NOVEMBER 2012, HOWEVER, THE COMPUTER REGISTERED A VSA CODE AFTER ONE OF SEVERAL BRAKING INCIDENTS. HONDA THEN REPLACED THE VSA MODULE IN THE STEERING COLUMN. THAT SEEMED TO HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEM UNTIL TWO WEEKS AGO, WHEN WE HAD YET ANOTHER SUDDEN HALT WHEN PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC. WHEN MY WIFE TOOK THE VAN TO HONDA, THE YOUNG SERVICE MAN BLAMED THE VSA MALFUNCTION ON TIRE WEAR AND THEN TRIED TO SELL HER A NEW SET OF TIRES. HONDA DID RE-CALIBRATE THE VSA AGAIN DURING THIS VISIT. TODAY, SEPTEMBER 2, 2013 THE BRAKES LOCKED DOWN AGAIN, THIS TIME, WHEN ACCELERATING AT A SLOWER SPEED. IT HAS BEEN VERY FRUSTRATING TO DEAL WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT OF OUR HONDA DEALERSHIP. I HAVE READ ONLINE OF IDENTICAL INCIDENTS. HAVING EXPERIENCED THIS SUDDEN BRAKING, THERE WILL BE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS IF HONDA DOES NOT SEEK TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds