Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 340 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Electric (11) Tires (1)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (36) Structure (94) Visibility (6)
Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

4/26/2013 - NEW HYDE PARK, NY
THE REAR TAILGATE STRUT FAILED ON MY ODYSSEY EX- IMPORTANT TO DIFFERENTIATE FROM THE EX-L, WHICH WAS AFFECTED BY A RECALL FOR THE SAME THING (NHTSA CAMPAIGN #12V062000). THE RECALL DID NOT APPLY TO THE EX NOR LX MODELS. PROBLEM IS THE EX-L, EX & LX MODELS SHARE THE SAME STRUT PART #74820-SHJ-A21, PRICE $63.91/EACH. THE PARTS INFORMATION IS RIGHT OFF HONDA'S OWN WEBSITE. THE RECALL MAKES NO MENTION OF FAILURES TO ANY MOTORS, GENERATORS OR POWER LOCKS. THE ONLY REFERENCE IS TO THE STRUT ITSELF. IF THE STRUT IS THE PROBLEM, WHY DOESN'T THE RECALL APPLY TO ALL '08 ODYSSEYS IF ALL ODYSSEYS SHARE THE SAME PART? I CALLED HONDA FOR AN EXPLANATION & THE REP SAID THEY WOULD ONLY PAY FOR REPAIRS TO MODELS COVERED BY THE RECALL. SINCE MY VEHICLE WASN'T, THEY WOULDN'T PAY &, AS IT STANDS NOW, I'M OUT $213.71, WHICH IS THE COST FOR BOTH PARTS & LABOR. I BELIEVE I AM ENTITLED TO REIMBURSEMENT OF THE FULL COST OF REPLACING THE STRUTS & I ALSO BELIEVE ALL '08 ODYSSEY MODELS SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM AS FAILURE OF THE PART POSES A SERIOUS RISK OF INJURY TO ANYONE STANDING UNDER THE DOOR, WHICH HAPPENS ALOT WHILE LOADING/UNLOADING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2013 - NEW HYDE PARK, NY
THE REAR TAILGATE STRUT FAILED ON MY ODYSSEY EX- IMPORTANT TO DIFFERENTIATE FROM THE EX-L, WHICH WAS AFFECTED BY A RECALL FOR THE SAME THING (NHTSA CAMPAIGN #12V062000). THE RECALL DID NOT APPLY TO THE EX NOR LX MODELS. PROBLEM IS THE EX-L, EX & LX MODELS SHARE THE SAME STRUT PART #74820-SHJ-A21, PRICE $63.91/EACH. THE PARTS INFORMATION IS RIGHT OFF HONDA'S OWN WEBSITE. THE RECALL MAKES NO MENTION OF FAILURES TO ANY MOTORS, GENERATORS OR POWER LOCKS. THE ONLY REFERENCE IS TO THE STRUT ITSELF. IF THE STRUT IS THE PROBLEM, WHY DOESN'T THE RECALL APPLY TO ALL '08 ODYSSEYS IF ALL ODYSSEYS SHARE THE SAME PART? I CALLED HONDA FOR AN EXPLANATION & THE REP SAID THEY WOULD ONLY PAY FOR REPAIRS TO MODELS COVERED BY THE RECALL. SINCE MY VEHICLE WASN'T, THEY WOULDN'T PAY &, AS IT STANDS NOW, I'M OUT $213.71, WHICH IS THE COST FOR BOTH PARTS & LABOR. I BELIEVE I AM ENTITLED TO REIMBURSEMENT OF THE FULL COST OF REPLACING THE STRUTS & I ALSO BELIEVE ALL '08 ODYSSEY MODELS SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM AS FAILURE OF THE PART POSES A SERIOUS RISK OF INJURY TO ANYONE STANDING UNDER THE DOOR, WHICH HAPPENS ALOT WHILE LOADING/UNLOADING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2013 - STANARDSVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR POWER LIFTGATE WOULD NOT REMAIN OPEN WHEN ACTIVATED AND WOULD CLOSE ABRUPTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO STATED THAT BOTH POWER LIFTGATE GAS STRUTS WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE FAILURE UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 12V062000 (STRUCTURE). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000...UPDATED 06/24/13 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY HONDA AT NO COST THE OWNER. UPDATED 06/28/2013

View Details

STEERING

4/24/2013 - VAIL, AZ
I JUST BOUGHT THE VAN IT IS A CARFAX ONE OWNER PRE OWNED 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY BOUGHT AT THE SAME DEALER IT CAME FROM SO THEY WERE THE ONES TO SERVICE IT IT'S WHOLE LIFE 72,000 WHEN I GOT IT. I HAVE TO KEEP TAKING IT BACK BECAUSE IT WON'T GO STRAIGHT DOWN THE ROAD WITHOUT PULLING EVEN AFTER THEY PUT NEW TIRES ON IT PLUS DID AN ALIGNMENT. ADD THIS TO THE OTHER PROBLEMS I'M HAVING LIKE A VIBRATION BETWEEN 45 AND 52, OIL SMOKE COMING OUT THE EXHAUST WHEN YOU FIRST IT UP. HONDA SAYS ITS OK TO USE 1 QUART OF MOTOR OIL EVERY ONE THOUSAND MILES NOW TO ME THAT'S NOT ACCEPTABLE. I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS VAN AND HONDA FOR LETTING PEOPLE DRIVE THERE VEHICLES LIKE THIS. I HAVE LOOKED AT SO MANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS HONDA MINIVAN THAT ONLINE WITH EVEN MORE PROBLEMS THAN I HAVE AND ENOUGH IS ENOUGH THIS IS JUST NOT RIGHT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

4/18/2013 - GRAFTON, MA
THE POWER SLIDING DOORS WILL SOMETIMES NOT CLOSE... ONE WILL START TO CLOSE WHEN WE PUSH THE LEVER, THEN SHUDDER OR JERK AND THEN REVERSE ITSELF SO THAT IT IS FULLY OPEN ONCE AGAIN. THIS STARTED FIRST WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR, AND HAS RECENTLY STARTED HAPPENING ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE AS WELL. WE BROUGHT IT TO A DEALER AND SEEMED QUITE FAMILIAR WITH THE SYMPTOMS, SUGGESTING THAT THE MIDDLE SET OF ROLLERS ON THE DOOR WERE CAUSING THE ISSUE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A DEFECT IN EITHER THE MATERIAL OR THE DESIGN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE

4/17/2013 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
POWER-TAILGATE STRUTS HAVE FAILED AND TRUNK WILL NOT REMAIN OPEN. WHEN MY WIFE LIFTED THE TRUNK IT NEARLY FELL ON HER AND HIT HER HEAD. THIS SAME EXACT ISSUE HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED IN THE 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY TOURING MODELS AND A RECALL WAS ISSUED. I BELIEVE THE RECALL SHOULD EXTEND TO NON-TOURING MODEL AS WELL (I HAVE A LX 5 SPEED AUTOMATIC TRIM LEVEL). I CALLED HONDA AND THEY SAID THAT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, BUT I BELIEVE THAT IT SHOULD BE. IN ORDER TO REPAIR IT, I WILL HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/15/2013 - MIDLOTHIAN , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TAILGATE FELL RAPIDLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY, AFTER IT WAS LIFTED UP. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE STRUTS HAD LEAKED GAS, WHICH CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE 71,061....UPDATED 05/22/13 THE CONSUMER WAS REIMBURSED. UPDATED 05/30/13

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: SUPPORT DEVICE

4/15/2013 - MIDLOTHIAN , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TAILGATE FELL RAPIDLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY, AFTER IT WAS LIFTED UP. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE STRUTS HAD LEAKED GAS, WHICH CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE 71,061....UPDATED 05/22/13 THE CONSUMER WAS REIMBURSED. UPDATED 05/30/13

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2013 - BRONX, NY
ALL FIVE ENGINES MOUNTS ARE BAD AND HAVE TO BE REPLACED AT ONLY 46,000 MILES. DRONING, VIBRATING AND LUGGING , SO BRAKES THAT RATTLE WHEN BRAKING HARD. NO WAY ENGINE MOUNTS SHOT AT SUCH LOW MILEAGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2013 - CAMPBELL HALL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN HER GARAGE AND IGNITED INTO FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FIRE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THE CAUSE OF FIRE WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION WITH THE SLIDING DOOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000...UPDATED 05/29/13 UPDATED 06/12/2013

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds