Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 399 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (13)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (23) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (116) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE JERKED ABNORMALLY AS THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS FLASHED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT THEN SHIFTED INTO PARK AND NEUTRAL BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED BUT TO NO AVAIL, THE FAILURE LATER RECURRED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111785.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

4/6/2014 - GLEN ALLEN, VA
RE: TAILGATE/ STRUT FAILURE I WAS OUT SHOPPING AND AT MY LAST STOP THE TAILGATE WAS SUDDENLY VERY HARD TO OPEN. I HAD A LARGE CART OF GROCERIES AND IT WAS RAINING, SO I RAISED IT UP WITH ONE HAND, BUT WHEN I TURNED TO GET MORE GROCERIES, I EXPECTED IT TO STAY AND IT DROPPED DOWN. FORTUNATELY, I DID NOT HAVE MY CHILDREN WITH ME, SO I COULD PUT THE REST OF THE GROCERIES IN THE SEAT AREA AND DEAL WITH IT LATER. IT HAS NOT RESOLVED, SO IT WAS NOT A "RAIN" ISSUE. IN THE WEEK THAT HAS PASSED, I HAVE DONE SOME OF RESEARCH. I FOUND THAT HONDA DID INDEED HAVE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM HTTP://WWW-ODI.NHTSA.DOT.GOV/ACMS/CS/JAXRS/DOWNLOAD/DOC/UCM416791/RCAK-12V062-3793.PDF HOWEVER, WHEN I CALLED MY HONDA DEALER, * VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL. I'M HAVING A HARD TIME FIGURING OUT WHICH MODELS ARE BY THE OFFICIAL NOTICES. THEY QUOTED ME $276 TO FIX IT. I HAVE DISCOVERED THIS IS VERY EASY TO FIX - $50 FOR THE STRUTS, A FLATHEAD SCREWDRIVER, AND LADDER TO PROP OPEN THE TAILGATE AND EVEN A 115 LB WOMAN CAN FIX THEM. HOWEVER, WHY AREN'T ALL 2008 HONDA ODYSSEYS IN THIS RECALL? HAD MY CHILDREN BEEN HELPING ME OR HAD I BEEN HALF IN THE VAN WHEN THE STRUTS SUDDENLY FAILED, ANY OF US COULD HAVE BEEN BADLY INJURED OR KILLED BY THE DEAD WEIGHT OF THAT DOOR. FOR NOW I WILL ORDER THE STRUTS AND FIX THEM AS SOON AS I CAN SINCE I REALLY DON'T HAVE TIME TO DUKE IT OUT WITH HONDA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/31/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE DOOR WOULD INDEPENDENTLY OPEN. THE CONTACT WOULD EXPERIENCE DIFFICULTY IN MANUALLY CLOSING THE LIFT GATE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:12V062000 (STRUCTURE) DUE TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER STATING THAT THE FAILURE WAS ONLY ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER LIFT GATE MODELS. THE CONTACTS STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE AS THE POWER LIFT GATE AND ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92500. .. UPDATED 06/03/14 UPDATED 06/13/2014

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/31/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE DOOR WOULD INDEPENDENTLY OPEN. THE CONTACT WOULD EXPERIENCE DIFFICULTY IN MANUALLY CLOSING THE LIFT GATE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:12V062000 (STRUCTURE) DUE TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER STATING THAT THE FAILURE WAS ONLY ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER LIFT GATE MODELS. THE CONTACTS STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE AS THE POWER LIFT GATE AND ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92500. .. UPDATED 06/03/14 UPDATED 06/13/2014

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2014 - GREAT FALLS, VA
WHEN BRAKING, EVEN PRESS THE BRAKE VERY HARD, THE CAR IS MAKING SQUEAKING NOISE, AND IT WILL NOT STOP. HAD TO RELEASE AND PRESS THE BRAKE THREE TIMES, TO FINALLY STOP THE CAR. GOOD THING WE WERE DOING ONLY 20MPH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/18/2014 - LAKE GROVE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR HATCH WOULD CLOSE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 12V062000(STRUCTURE) BUT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,116.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/10/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE TRUNK LIFT (FROM AN OPEN POSITION) OF OUR 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L UNEXPECTEDLY FELL ON TOP OF MY WIFE'S HEAD WHILE SHE WAS USING THE TRUNK AREA. HER INJURY WAS NOT SERIOUS, AND CONSEQUENTLY WE DETERMINED THE FAILURE WAS THE GAS STRUTS THAT ASSIST IN OPENING AND CLOSING THE HATCH. HONDA ALREADY HAS A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE FOR POWERED LIFTGATE FOR 2008-9 MODELS, BUT IT DOESN'T INCLUDE MANUAL OPENING ODYSSEYS, CLAIMING THAT A DEGRADED STRUT IN A MANUAL LIFTGATE WILL BE NOTICEABLE. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE FOR US. CONSIDERING ODYSSEYS ARE BUILT FOR FAMILIES, I FEEL THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE SINCE MY OLDER CHILDREN FREQUENTLY OPERATE THE TAILGATES WITHOUT OUR HELP. SINCE THE REASON FOR THE LIFTGATE FAILURE IS THE SAME FOR MANUAL AND POWERED LIFTGATES, HONDA SHOULD EXTEND THE RECALL (OR AT LEAST A NOTIFICATION) TO ALL 2008-9 ODYSSEY OWNERS. JUST BECAUSE WE DIDN'T PURCHASE THE TOP OF THE LINE ODYSSEY, OUR SAFETY SHOULDN'T BE ANY LESS THAN THE TOURING OWNERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/4/2014 - TREVOR, WI
STRONG VIBRATION OR JUDDER WHILE BEING DRIVEN TYPICALLY AT 20-45 MPH OR WHILE BEING DRIVEN ON AN UP OR DOWN GRADE. ALSO EXPERIENCED NO RESPONSE OF ACCELERATION WHICH CAUSED VERY SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN. PER HONDA'S TSB, TORQUE CONVERTER IS THE ISSUE IF THE PROBLEM RETURNS AFTER THE SOFTWARE UPDATE. HOWEVER HONDA IS NOT WILLING TO TAKE CARE OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/24/2014 - BRANDON, FL
THE CAR ALARM HORN GOING OFF FOR NO REASON AT 2 AM IN THE MORNING. HIT THE LOCK BUTTON ON THE REMOTE AND ALARM STOPPED. WHEN DAYLIGHT, FOUND DRIVER SIDE DOOR WAS NOT LOCKED BUT ALL THE OTHER DOORS WERE LOCKED. THEN ANOTHER INCIDENT IN A WEEK, 4 AM THE CAR ALARM HORN GOING AGAIN. SHUT IT OFF WITH REMOTE. WITHIN 5 MINUTES THE CAR ALARM HORN WENT OFF AGAIN. SHUT IT OFF WITH REMOTE AND WENT OUTSIDE, OPENED THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WITH KEY. THEN LOCKED ALL THE DOORS WITH MANUAL SWITCH ON DRIVER SIDE DOOR PANEL AND CLOSED THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE VEHICLE, WHILE A 2008 MODEL HAS LESS THAN 27,000 MILES. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR HONDA AUTOMOBILES IN GENERAL FROM READING COMPLAINTS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/13/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE TEMPERATURE WAS BELOW TWENTY DEGREES, THE WINDSHIELD WASHER FLUID SYSTEM WOULD FREEZE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT ABLE TO CLEAN SNOW OFF THE VEHICLE DURING A SNOW STORM. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FREEZING WINDSHIELD WASHER FLUID WAS NORMAL DURING FREEZING WEATHER. THE CONTACT DID NOT CALL THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds