Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 344 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (97) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (38) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2013 - PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL
BRAKES AUTOMATICALLY APPLIED DURING ACCELERATION FROM 20-50 WHILE ENTERING BUSY HIGHWAY SLOWING VEHICLE NEARLY TO A STOP. MANAGED TO AVOID APPROACHING TRAFFIC AND LIMP OFF THE HIGHWAY AT THE NEXT EXIT. PROBLEM RECURRED AS I TOOK SIDE ROAD BACK HOME. PROBLEM ALSO RECURRED AS I TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER TO DIAGNOSE THE FOLLOWING MORNING. DEALER WAS UNABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM OR PROVIDE SOLUTION. PROBLEM PERSISTED AND VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP TWO MORE TIMES IN 2011 WITH NO RESOLUTION AS WELL. NOW 2013 WITH OVER 40,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE (OUT OF 36,000 MILE WARRANTY), PROBLEM PERSISTS. DRIVER HAS LEARNED TO PULL OVER AND TURN ENGINE OFF TO RESET ELECTRONICS NECESSARY TO TEMPORARILY OVERCOME THE ISSUE. STILL NO DIAGNOSIS OR RESOLUTION BY DEALERSHIP OR HONDA. THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE CAUSED BY WARPED BRAKE ROTORS, WORN BRAKE PADS, OR AIR IN BRAKE LINES. ECM/PCM SOFTWARE UPDATES IN APR AND MAY 2011 WERE FRUITLESS. I SUSPECT THAT THE PROBLEM IS IN EITHER A SENSOR, A PRIMARY CONTROL UNIT, OR SOFTWARE OPERATING SUCH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/24/2013 - WESTERVILLE, OH
WE TRIED TO START OUR VAN EARLY SATURDAY MORNING 6/15/13 AND IT WAS COMPLETELY DEAD. AFTER JUMPING IT, WE REALIZED WE HADN'T LEFT ANY LIGHTS ON SO WE DROVE IT TO THE NEAREST HONDA DEALERSHIP. WE WERE TOLD THERE'S BEEN A RASH OF THIS ISSUE RECENTLY AND TO JUST MAKE SURE WE TURN OFF THE AIR CONDITIONER BEFORE TURNING OFF THE ENGINE AND WE SHOULD BE OKAY. WE DROVE 2 HOURS AWAY FROM HOME AND STAYED OVERNIGHT. THE NEXT MORNING THE CAR DIDN'T START AGAIN EVEN THOUGH WE HAD TURNED OFF THE AIR CONDITIONER. WE BOUGHT A NEW BATTERY FOR THE CAR THINKING IT WAS THE BATTERY. THE NEXT WEEKEND THE CAR DIED AGAIN. THIS TIME WE TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER. THEY TOLD US THAT THE A/C COMPRESSOR RELAY WAS STUCK AND CAUSED THE A/C SYSTEM TO OVER PRESSURIZE RELEASING FREON INTO THE ATMOSPHERE AND DISCHARGING OUR BATTERY. THE DEALER SAID THAT THIS HAS BEEN A RECALL IN OTHER MODELS BUT NOT OUR VAN. I FEEL THAT, ALTHOUGH WE WERE NOT IN IMMEDIATE DANGER, THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THE ODYSSEY AND ALL OTHER OWNERS SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/19/2013 - POOLESVILLE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE, CAUSING A CHAIN REACTION. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND THE CONTACT SUSTAINED BURNS TO BOTH HANDS FROM THE AIR BAG FRAGMENTS. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION CENTER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/6/2013 - COSTA MESA, CA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET ABOUT 40MPH WITH MY FOOT ONLY ON THE GAS PEDAL, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE BRAKES SLAMMED ON, SLOWING ME DOWN RAPIDLY. LUCKILY THERE WAS NOBODY BEHIND ME. THIS HAPPENED ON MY WAY HOME 2 MORE TIMES. THE SUBSEQUENT TIMES I WAS DRIVING SLOWER. THEE WERE NEVER ANY WARNING LIGHTS. THERE WAS NO SMELLS. AFTER THE 3 TIMES DURING THAT 1 TRIP, IT DID NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. I DROPPED THE CAR OFF AT HONDA DEALERSHIP TODAY AND AM AFRAID THAT THEY WONT BE ABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM AGAIN. I AM TERRIFIED THAT THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN WITH MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR. IT WAS LIKE THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY OUT OF MY CONTROL. WHAT HAPPENS IF I AM MERGING ONTO THE FREEWAY, IN FRONT OF A SEMI AND THE BRAKES GET SLAMMED ON AGAIN?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/23/2013 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE INDEPENDENTLY CLOSED WITH AN ABNORMALLY LARGE AMOUNT OF FORCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE STRUTS WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/14/2013 - WEST MELBOURNE, FL
I TRIED TO OPEN THE TRUNK AND REALIZED IT FELT LIKE DEAD WEIGHT. I LIFTED IT, CLOSED IT SLOWLY AND TRIED AGAIN. I'M GUESSING THE PNEUMATIC LIFT IS NOT WORKING. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS IF I LIFTED IT AND LET IT GO WITHOUT REALIZING THE WEIGHT. FOR NOW, I CANNOT USE THE TRUNK.

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/14/2013 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE TAILGATE STRUTS ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE TAILGATE STRUTS BROKE AND LOST THEIR GAS DUE TO LEAKAGE. THE CONSUMER STATED A RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR VEHICLES WITH POWER TAILGATES. HE BELIEVED EVEN THE VANS WITHOUT POWER TAILGATES, SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

5/14/2013 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE TAILGATE STRUTS ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE TAILGATE STRUTS BROKE AND LOST THEIR GAS DUE TO LEAKAGE. THE CONSUMER STATED A RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR VEHICLES WITH POWER TAILGATES. HE BELIEVED EVEN THE VANS WITHOUT POWER TAILGATES, SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/26/2013 - NEW HYDE PARK, NY
THE REAR TAILGATE STRUT FAILED ON MY ODYSSEY EX- IMPORTANT TO DIFFERENTIATE FROM THE EX-L, WHICH WAS AFFECTED BY A RECALL FOR THE SAME THING (NHTSA CAMPAIGN #12V062000). THE RECALL DID NOT APPLY TO THE EX NOR LX MODELS. PROBLEM IS THE EX-L, EX & LX MODELS SHARE THE SAME STRUT PART #74820-SHJ-A21, PRICE $63.91/EACH. THE PARTS INFORMATION IS RIGHT OFF HONDA'S OWN WEBSITE. THE RECALL MAKES NO MENTION OF FAILURES TO ANY MOTORS, GENERATORS OR POWER LOCKS. THE ONLY REFERENCE IS TO THE STRUT ITSELF. IF THE STRUT IS THE PROBLEM, WHY DOESN'T THE RECALL APPLY TO ALL '08 ODYSSEYS IF ALL ODYSSEYS SHARE THE SAME PART? I CALLED HONDA FOR AN EXPLANATION & THE REP SAID THEY WOULD ONLY PAY FOR REPAIRS TO MODELS COVERED BY THE RECALL. SINCE MY VEHICLE WASN'T, THEY WOULDN'T PAY &, AS IT STANDS NOW, I'M OUT $213.71, WHICH IS THE COST FOR BOTH PARTS & LABOR. I BELIEVE I AM ENTITLED TO REIMBURSEMENT OF THE FULL COST OF REPLACING THE STRUTS & I ALSO BELIEVE ALL '08 ODYSSEY MODELS SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM AS FAILURE OF THE PART POSES A SERIOUS RISK OF INJURY TO ANYONE STANDING UNDER THE DOOR, WHICH HAPPENS ALOT WHILE LOADING/UNLOADING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2013 - NEW HYDE PARK, NY
THE REAR TAILGATE STRUT FAILED ON MY ODYSSEY EX- IMPORTANT TO DIFFERENTIATE FROM THE EX-L, WHICH WAS AFFECTED BY A RECALL FOR THE SAME THING (NHTSA CAMPAIGN #12V062000). THE RECALL DID NOT APPLY TO THE EX NOR LX MODELS. PROBLEM IS THE EX-L, EX & LX MODELS SHARE THE SAME STRUT PART #74820-SHJ-A21, PRICE $63.91/EACH. THE PARTS INFORMATION IS RIGHT OFF HONDA'S OWN WEBSITE. THE RECALL MAKES NO MENTION OF FAILURES TO ANY MOTORS, GENERATORS OR POWER LOCKS. THE ONLY REFERENCE IS TO THE STRUT ITSELF. IF THE STRUT IS THE PROBLEM, WHY DOESN'T THE RECALL APPLY TO ALL '08 ODYSSEYS IF ALL ODYSSEYS SHARE THE SAME PART? I CALLED HONDA FOR AN EXPLANATION & THE REP SAID THEY WOULD ONLY PAY FOR REPAIRS TO MODELS COVERED BY THE RECALL. SINCE MY VEHICLE WASN'T, THEY WOULDN'T PAY &, AS IT STANDS NOW, I'M OUT $213.71, WHICH IS THE COST FOR BOTH PARTS & LABOR. I BELIEVE I AM ENTITLED TO REIMBURSEMENT OF THE FULL COST OF REPLACING THE STRUTS & I ALSO BELIEVE ALL '08 ODYSSEY MODELS SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM AS FAILURE OF THE PART POSES A SERIOUS RISK OF INJURY TO ANYONE STANDING UNDER THE DOOR, WHICH HAPPENS ALOT WHILE LOADING/UNLOADING THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds