Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 335 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Electric (11) Tires (1)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (35) Structure (92) Visibility (6)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/15/2013 - MIDLOTHIAN , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TAILGATE FELL RAPIDLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY, AFTER IT WAS LIFTED UP. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE STRUTS HAD LEAKED GAS, WHICH CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE 71,061....UPDATED 05/22/13 THE CONSUMER WAS REIMBURSED. UPDATED 05/30/13

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: SUPPORT DEVICE

4/15/2013 - MIDLOTHIAN , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TAILGATE FELL RAPIDLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY, AFTER IT WAS LIFTED UP. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE STRUTS HAD LEAKED GAS, WHICH CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE 71,061....UPDATED 05/22/13 THE CONSUMER WAS REIMBURSED. UPDATED 05/30/13

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2013 - BRONX, NY
ALL FIVE ENGINES MOUNTS ARE BAD AND HAVE TO BE REPLACED AT ONLY 46,000 MILES. DRONING, VIBRATING AND LUGGING , SO BRAKES THAT RATTLE WHEN BRAKING HARD. NO WAY ENGINE MOUNTS SHOT AT SUCH LOW MILEAGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2013 - CAMPBELL HALL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN HER GARAGE AND IGNITED INTO FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FIRE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THE CAUSE OF FIRE WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION WITH THE SLIDING DOOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000...UPDATED 05/29/13 UPDATED 06/12/2013

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

4/3/2013 - GRANBURY, TX
EXPLODING SUNROOF. GLASS SUNROOF EXPLODED OUTWARD WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. NO OTHER VEHICLES OR OVER PASSES NEARBY. RURAL AREA. OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS 83 DEGREES. AC/C WAS SET AT 73 DEGREES. CAR HAD BEEN H AND-WASHED ONE DAY EARLIER. NO FLAWS WERE OBSERVED IN GLASS SUNROOF WHILE WASHING OR DRYING THE VEHICLE. HAD SUNROOF INTERNAL SLIDER BEEN OPEN AT THE TIME OF THE GLASS EXPLOSION, THE DRIER AND FRONT PASSENGER COULD HAVE BEEN INJURED AND WE COULD HAVE EASILY HAD AN ACCIDENT. THIS APPEARS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW IN THE GLASS SUNROOF. A COMPUTER SEARCH REVEALED OTHER REPORTED INCIDENTS WHICH WERE NEARLY IDENTICAL ON SOME HONDA VEHICLES AND SOME OTHER MAKE AND MODELS. NOTE: VEHICLE ROOF WAS NOT STRUCK BY ANY OBJECT PRIOR TO INCIDENT... UPDATED 04/11/13

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/29/2013 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GAS-FILLED STRUTS THAT HELPED TO RAISE AND SUPPORT THE LIFTGATE OF TRANSPORTED EQUIPPED FAILED, CAUSING AN UNEXPECTED CLOSURE OF THE DOOR, WHICH STRUCK THE CONTACT BUT DID NOT RESULT IN ANY INJURY. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V062000 (STRUCTURE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/29/2013 - CAROL STREAM, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT PRESSURIZED GAS WAS LEAKING FROM THE STRUTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V062000 (STRUCTURE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2013 - MANCHESTER, CT
I BROUGHT THE ODYSSEY TO HONDA, SPOKE WITH SERVICE ADVISOR. I TOLD THE ADVISOR THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVEL WAS TOO FAR, ABOUT 75% OF RANGE TO INITIATE BRAKING. THIS WAS THE SAME CONDITION THAT THE VAN WAS IN ABOUT A YEAR AGO WHEN THE ("AIR IN BRAKE SYSTEM" RECALL WAS APPLIED). I ASKED HONDA TO BLEED THE BRAKES AND RE-APPLY THE SEALS CALLED OUT IN THE RECALL. HONDA REFUSED TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE OR APPLY THE RECALL A SECOND TIME (AS A RECALL CONDITION). HONDA DID RECOMMEND THAT I PAY FOR A BRAKE INSPECTION AND SERVICE. HONDA'S RECALL REPAIR WAS INSUFFICIENT AND HAS LEFT THE VEHICLE IN THE SAME DANGEROUS CONDITION OF LEAKING AIR INTO THE BRAKES AS IT WAS BEFORE THE RECALL. I PLAN TO BLEED THE BRAKES MYSELF RATHER THAN PAY HONDA A SMALL FORTUNE TO DO SOMETHING THEY SHOULD BE DOING FREE OF CHARGE FOR THERE FAULTY DESIGN. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF NHTSA WOULD LIKE TO EXAMINE THE VEHICLE TO DOCUMENT THE RECURRING PROBLEM, BEFORE I BLEED THE BRAKES. IN THE FUTURE I WOULD URGE THE NHTSA TO HOLD MANUFACTURERS LIABLE TO EITHER IMPLEMENT A REAL FIX, SUCH AS A NEW VSA MODULATOR THAT DOESN'T LEAK OR THAT THEY SHOULD REQUIRE THE MANUFACTURER TO APPLY THEIR 'BAND-AID FIX' RECALL OF BLEEDING THE BRAKES AND ADDING SEALS AS MANY TIMES AS THE CUSTOMER REQUESTS. BLEEDING THE BRAKES IS ONLY A TEMPORARY FIX, THIS NEEDS TO BE IMPLEMENTED ON A REGULAR BASIS, ITS NOT A ONE TIME FIX.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/5/2013 - VENICE, FL
YESTERDAY (3/4/2013), I LIFTED OPEN THE TRUNK, ON MY HONDA ODYSSEY 2008 (EX-L). I NOTICED THAT IT WAS A LITTLE HEAVY TO LIFT. WHEN I LIFTED IT ALL THE WAY UP AND LET IT GO, IT IMMEDIATELY CAME DOWN ON MY HEAD. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO CATCH IT BEFORE IT HIT MY HEAD. THE TRUNK DOOR WOULD NOT STAY IN THE OPEN POSITION, AND COMES DOWN TO A HARD CLOSE IF NOT HELD OPEN BY HAND. SO FAR, I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY COMMUNICATION FROM HONDA ON THE BELOW MENTIONED RECALL, THAT IS SAME AS THE ISSUE I AM FACING REPORT RECEIPT DATE: FEB 16, 2012 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V062000 COMPONENT(S): STRUCTURE POTENTIAL NUMBER OF UNITS AFFECTED: 45,747 RECALL NOTIFICATION :HONDA. 2008- EARLY 2009 MODEL YEAR HONDA ODYSSEY EX-LAND TOURING MODELS POWER LIFTGATE GAS STRUTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/4/2013 - MULBERRY, FL
I WENT TO OPEN AND LIFT UP THE REAR LIFT GATE TO RETRIEVE ITEMS IN THE BACK. WITHOUT ANY WARNING, THE REAR GATE CAME DOWN ABRUPTLY AND STRUCK ME ON THE BACK OF THE HEAD AND HURT MY NECK AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds