Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 313 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (26) Service Brakes Electric (11) Tires (1)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (15) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (4) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (29) Structure (84) Visibility (6)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/2/2012 - ODENTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE WAS HAVING DIFFICULTY LIFTING THE REAR LIFT GATE. UPON SUCCESSFULLY OPENING THE LIFT GATE, THE HYDRAULICS FAILED AND THE DOOR ERRONEOUSLY CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 12V062000 (STRUCTURE:BODY:HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE:HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 40,778.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

10/21/2012 - GRESHAM, OR
ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO...OCTOBER 1, 2012, I TOOK MY HONDA BACK IN TO HONDA. MY CAR HAD BEEN ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. I LEFT MY HONDA THERE FOR 3 DAYS, AT WHICH POINT THEY DETERMINED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, AND THEY WOULD LIKE ME TO BRING IT BACK IN TO DRIVE IT "WITH THEM." THERE IS 100% SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY VAN AGAIN! IN ADDITION A FEW DAYS AGO, I WAS PUTTING BOOKS IN THE BACK OF MY VAN, AND THE HATCH STRUTS FAILED, AND THE BACK HATCH DOOR FELL DOWN ON MY HEAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/21/2012 - GRESHAM, OR
ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO...OCTOBER 1, 2012, I TOOK MY HONDA BACK IN TO HONDA. MY CAR HAD BEEN ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. I LEFT MY HONDA THERE FOR 3 DAYS, AT WHICH POINT THEY DETERMINED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, AND THEY WOULD LIKE ME TO BRING IT BACK IN TO DRIVE IT "WITH THEM." THERE IS 100% SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY VAN AGAIN! IN ADDITION A FEW DAYS AGO, I WAS PUTTING BOOKS IN THE BACK OF MY VAN, AND THE HATCH STRUTS FAILED, AND THE BACK HATCH DOOR FELL DOWN ON MY HEAD.

View Details

ENGINE

10/21/2012 - GRESHAM, OR
ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO...OCTOBER 1, 2012, I TOOK MY HONDA BACK IN TO HONDA. MY CAR HAD BEEN ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. I LEFT MY HONDA THERE FOR 3 DAYS, AT WHICH POINT THEY DETERMINED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, AND THEY WOULD LIKE ME TO BRING IT BACK IN TO DRIVE IT "WITH THEM." THERE IS 100% SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY VAN AGAIN! IN ADDITION A FEW DAYS AGO, I WAS PUTTING BOOKS IN THE BACK OF MY VAN, AND THE HATCH STRUTS FAILED, AND THE BACK HATCH DOOR FELL DOWN ON MY HEAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/21/2012 - GRESHAM, OR
ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO...OCTOBER 1, 2012, I TOOK MY HONDA BACK IN TO HONDA. MY CAR HAD BEEN ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. I LEFT MY HONDA THERE FOR 3 DAYS, AT WHICH POINT THEY DETERMINED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, AND THEY WOULD LIKE ME TO BRING IT BACK IN TO DRIVE IT "WITH THEM." THERE IS 100% SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY VAN AGAIN! IN ADDITION A FEW DAYS AGO, I WAS PUTTING BOOKS IN THE BACK OF MY VAN, AND THE HATCH STRUTS FAILED, AND THE BACK HATCH DOOR FELL DOWN ON MY HEAD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/21/2012 - GRESHAM, OR
REAR LIFTGATE STRUTS FAILED CAUSING LIFTGATE TO FALL SUDDENLY ON ME BENEATH THE REAR DOOR. HONDA HAS ALREADY ISSUED A RECALL ON SOME 2008 MODELS. WHEN I CALLED THE DEALER AND HONDA CUSTOMER SUPPORT REGARDING THE INCIDENT, THEY REFUSED TO COVER REPAIR UNDER RECALL. INFORMED ABOUT SAFETY CONCERN BUT NO ACKNOWLEDGMENT BY HONDA THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE WITH POTENTIAL FOR INJURY. RECALL SHOULD BE EXPANDED TO COVER MORE VEHICLES THAN ACKNOWLEDGED BY HONDA. HONDA SHOULD ACT RESPONSIBLY TO PREVENT INJURY TO OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES AND RECALL AND REPLACE ALL AFFECTED VEHICLES BEFORE MORE INJURIES OCCUR. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME IT WOULD COST ME $200 TO REPLACE THE STRUTS. MY ODYSSEY DOES NOT HAVE ELECTRIC COMPONENT STRUTS FOR THE REAR HATCH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

10/20/2012 - GLEN SPEY, NY
REAR LIFT GATE WAS IN FULLY OPEN POSITION THEN FELL AND HIT ME ON HEAD WHILE REMOVING GROCERIES FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. APPEARS THAT THE LIFT GATE STRUTS FAILED. THE LIFT GATE OPERATES MANUALLY, NOT ELECTRONICALLY OR AUTOMATICALLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/12/2012 - WESTERVILLE, OH
BRAKES AUTOMATICALLY APPLIED WHILE FOOT WAS ON THE GAS PEDAL - THE VEHICLE WAS GOING ABOUT 35 MILES AN HOUR AND THE BRAKES APPLIED FORCING YOU INTO THE SEAT BELT UNTIL THE VEHICLE WAS ALMOST TO A STOP. IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT 300 FEET LATER. THE BRAKES APPLIED ON THEIR OWN WITHOUT TOUCHING THE BRAKE PEDAL OR E-BRAKE. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 15,000 MILES IT HAPPENED - THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED WE DID NOT TAKE IT TO THE DEALER THINKING IT WAS HUMAN ERROR OR A ONE TIME ISSUE. NOW THAT IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND I FOUND 7 OR 8 OTHER ODYSSEY OWNERS FILE COMPLAINTS WITH THE NHTSA WE KNOW THERE IS SOMETHING ELSE GOING ON. TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALER BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE. CALLED HONDA AND THEY SENT 3 ENGINEERS TO LOOK AT VEHICLE BUT COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. HONDA REPLACED ALL BRAKING SYSTEM PARTS WITH NEW PARTS, PROVIDED A RENTAL CAR ALL AT NO CHARGE. THEY HAVE NO ANSWERS TO WHAT CAUSED THE ISSUE BUT PLAN ON PUTTING THE PARTS FROM MY VEHICLE ONTO ANOTHER VEHICLE SO THEY CAN DO MORE TESTS. HOPEFULLY THE NEW PARTS WILL RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/19/2012 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE DOOR HAD BECOME ABNORMALLY HEAVY. THE LIFTGATE DOOR WOULD ALSO CLOSE ABRUPTLY AND INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V062000(STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: SUPPORT DEVICE) AND THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER ANY RECALLS AND OFFERED NO ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,803.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/7/2012 - MAUMEE, OH
REAR LIFTGATE OF ODYSSEY FAILED, LUCKILY THERE WERE NO INJURIES AS THE TRUNK SLAMMED SHUT. TOOK TO DEALER TODAY AND ASKED ABOUT THE RECALL BUT APPARENTLY ONLY SOME, NOT ALL, HAVE BEEN RECALLED, SO I AM PAYING FOR THIS FAILURE TO BE REPAIRED MYSELF. FRUSTRATING!

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds