Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 382 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (11)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (22) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (113) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (44) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/14/2013 - TOLEDO, OH
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN SUDDENLY FOR NO REASON THE BRAKES CAME ON BRINGING THE CARS SPEED DOWN TO UNDER 20 MPH. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO CATCH MY BREATH. AFTER A FEW MINUTES, I PROCEEDED SLOWLY UNTIL I FELT SAFE TO TRY IT AGAIN. NO FURTHER INCIDENTS UNTIL LAST MAY, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT UNTO A CITY STREET, AS I APPROACHED 40MPH, THE BRAKES SUDDENLY CAME ON. NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. HONDA SAYS THEY WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CORRECT THIS UNTIL MARCH 2014? (IT HAPPENED 1 MORE TIME).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/4/2013 - STAFFORD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE BRAKES ENGAGED WITHOUT ANY WARNING AND AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE HALT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE YAW SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V500000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) WILL BEGIN SPRING OF NEXT YEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000. UPDATED 02/11/14 THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. UPDATED 02/20/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2013 - STAFFORD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE BRAKES ENGAGED WITHOUT ANY WARNING AND AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE HALT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE YAW SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V500000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) WILL BEGIN SPRING OF NEXT YEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000. UPDATED 02/11/14 THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. UPDATED 02/20/14

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/10/2013 - OSWEGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE IN PARK, THE TAILGATE WOULD NOT REMAIN OPEN. HE ALSO STATED THAT THE LIFT GATE LOCK COULD NOT BE UNLOCKED WITH THE KEY OR MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT LISTED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V062000 (STRUCTURE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/6/2013 - HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL
CAR BRAKES APPLY ABRUPTLY AND WITH GREAT FORCE WITHOUT DRIVER INPUT. OCCURS AT SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH AND RPMS BETWEEN 1500-2000. USUALLY HAPPENS AS TRANSMISSION IS IN THE PROCESS OF DOWNSHIFTING FROM 5TH TO 4TH GEAR. WHEN CONDITION OCCURS, VEHICLE WILL SLOW APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH FROM ORIGINAL SPEED PRIOR TO BRAKING. THIS CONDITION HAS PRESENTED ITSELF SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. HONDA DEALER EXAMINED VEHICLE AND FOUND NO DEFECT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/6/2013 - HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL
CAR BRAKES APPLY ABRUPTLY AND WITH GREAT FORCE WITHOUT DRIVER INPUT. OCCURS AT SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH AND RPMS BETWEEN 1500-2000. USUALLY HAPPENS AS TRANSMISSION IS IN THE PROCESS OF DOWNSHIFTING FROM 5TH TO 4TH GEAR. WHEN CONDITION OCCURS, VEHICLE WILL SLOW APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH FROM ORIGINAL SPEED PRIOR TO BRAKING. THIS CONDITION HAS PRESENTED ITSELF SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. HONDA DEALER EXAMINED VEHICLE AND FOUND NO DEFECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/4/2013 - SCARSDALE, NY
9/27/10: DRIVER'S SIDE HALF AXLE/POWERTRAIN FAILED AT 19,500 MILES AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. 7/15/13 AT 44,550 MILES, BOTH THE REPLACEMENT DRIVER'S SIDE HALF AXLE FAILED AND ALSO THE PASSENGER'S SIDE FAILED FOR THE FIRST TIME. AT THIS RATE IT SEEMS THAT THE HALF-AXLES HAVE TO BE REPLACED EVERY 20-25 K MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/2/2013 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
WE WERE ACCELERATING ON A MAIN ROAD AND WE GOT UP TO ABOUT 25 MPH AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY BRAKED BY ITSELF AND WE CAME TO ALMOST A COMPLETE STOP WITH NO CONTROL. THE BRAKE PEDAL AUTOMATICALLY WENT DOWN LIKE SOMEONE WAS PUSHING THE PEDAL TO BRAKE. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO ONE BEHIND US OR WE WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT. THE BRAKE THEN AUTOMATICALLY RELEASED, NO INTERIOR LIGHTS CAME ON TO INDICATE ANY ISSUES, AND THE VEHICLE IS WORKING FINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE IN A YEAR ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/11/2013 - WOODBURY, MN
THE LIFTGATE/TAILGATE ON THE HONDA ODYSSEY 2008 EXL DOES NOT STAY UP. IT FALLS DOWN DUE TO THE WEIGHT OF THE LIFTGATE AND HAS THE POTENTIAL TO INJURE THE PERSON USING IT. THIS IS A NON POWERED LIFTGATE. HONDA DID HAVE A RECALL ON THE POWERED LIFTGATES FOR THE 2008 EXL, BUT NOT FOR THE NON POWERED ONES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/9/2013 - CHESTERFIELD, NJ
MY HUSBAND, MYSELF AND MY 3 CHILDREN (AGES 7, 4, AND 1) WERE COMING HOME FROM THE PHILLIES GAME AT APPROXIMATELY 10:30 PM SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 7TH, 2013. UPON ENTERING THE ON RAMP FOR A MAJOR ROADWAY, MY HUSBAND BEGAN ACCELERATING TO APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH. HE HAD HIS FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL, WHEN THE VAN BRAKED SPONTANEOUSLY. IN A MATTER OF SECONDS, OUR SPEED DECREASED FROM 50 TO 25-30. OUR SEATBELTS ALL LOCKED AS WE WERE LUNGED FORWARD. THERE WAS A CAR DIRECTLY BEHIND US, WHO HAD TO SWERVE INTO ANOTHER LANE TO AVOID REAR ENDING US. IT WAS AS IF SOMEONE SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, HOWEVER NO ONE DID. THIS HAPPEN 3 OR 4 MORE TIMES WITHIN A 5-7 MINUTE TIME FRAME, SO WE IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO TRY AND FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS HAPPENING. I IMMEDIATELY GOOGLED THIS ISSUE AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION FOR 2007 AND 2008 ODYSSEYS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I READ THAT THIS HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE VEHICLE STABILITY SYSTEM, SO WE PRESSED THE VSA OFF BUTTON AND DROVE HOME AT A SPEED OF 30 MPH IN CASE IT HAPPENED AGAIN. NO FURTHER SPONTANEOUS BRAKING OCCURRED ONCE THE VSA WAS OFF. I TOOK THE CAR INTO HAMILTON HONDA THIS MORNING AND SPOKE TO SERVICE MANAGER. THEY ARE CURRENTLY EVALUATING THE VAN. I AM WAITING TO HEAR WHAT THEY FIND.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds