Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 157 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (39) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (12) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (21) Steering (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2018 - CHARLOTTE, NC
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE STEERING BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 126,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/18/2018 - CHARLOTTE, NC
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE STEERING BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 126,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2018 - BRANDON, FL
I DROVE MY 08 KIA SORENTO HOME AT ABOUT 730 AM. I WORK NIGHT SHIFT AND WENT TO SLEEP AND WAS WOKEN UP AT 945 BY EMS TO MY CAR UP IN FLAMES. IT WAS SHOWING NO SIGNS OF ANY PROBLEMS, NOT RUNNING HOT, NOTHING. IT WAS PARKED FOR ABOUT AN HOUR WHEN IT WENT UP IN FLAMES. THE FIRE CHIEF WAS ON THE TRUCK THAT DAY AS HE HAD ORIENTEE'S, AND SAID THE FIRE STARTED BEHIND THE STEERING WHEEL/DASH AND THAT IT WAS AN ELECTRICAL ENGINE FIRE WHICH IS STATED ON MY FIRE REPORT. I CONTACTED KIA THEY TOLD ME IT WAS NO WAY IT WAS THEIR PROBLEM AND HAD TO BE A USER ERROR. I HAVE PHOTOS BUT MY COMPUTER WOULD NOT LET ME UPLOAD THEM FOR A REASON.

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2018 - BRANDON, FL
I DROVE MY 08 KIA SORENTO HOME AT ABOUT 730 AM. I WORK NIGHT SHIFT AND WENT TO SLEEP AND WAS WOKEN UP AT 945 BY EMS TO MY CAR UP IN FLAMES. IT WAS SHOWING NO SIGNS OF ANY PROBLEMS, NOT RUNNING HOT, NOTHING. IT WAS PARKED FOR ABOUT AN HOUR WHEN IT WENT UP IN FLAMES. THE FIRE CHIEF WAS ON THE TRUCK THAT DAY AS HE HAD ORIENTEE'S, AND SAID THE FIRE STARTED BEHIND THE STEERING WHEEL/DASH AND THAT IT WAS AN ELECTRICAL ENGINE FIRE WHICH IS STATED ON MY FIRE REPORT. I CONTACTED KIA THEY TOLD ME IT WAS NO WAY IT WAS THEIR PROBLEM AND HAD TO BE A USER ERROR. I HAVE PHOTOS BUT MY COMPUTER WOULD NOT LET ME UPLOAD THEM FOR A REASON.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/17/2018 - RICHARDSON, TX
THE STARTER BURNED OUT AND THE STARTER RELAY IS STICKING. IT STARTED STICKING AND MAKING FUNNY NOISES AROUND MID OCTOBER OR BEGINNING OF NOVEMBER 2017 AND ACUTALLY BURNED OUT DECEMBER 8, 2017 AND WAS REPLACED DECEMBER 9, 2017. NOW THE STARTER WENT OUT AGAIN JANUARY 16, 2018. ALSO I HAD MY DRIVER SIDE BRAKE LIGHT BULB REPLACED AROUND JULY OR AUGUST 2017 AND NOW THE SAME DRIVER SIDE BRAKE LIGHT IS OUT AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

1/17/2018 - RICHARDSON, TX
THE STARTER BURNED OUT AND THE STARTER RELAY IS STICKING. IT STARTED STICKING AND MAKING FUNNY NOISES AROUND MID OCTOBER OR BEGINNING OF NOVEMBER 2017 AND ACUTALLY BURNED OUT DECEMBER 8, 2017 AND WAS REPLACED DECEMBER 9, 2017. NOW THE STARTER WENT OUT AGAIN JANUARY 16, 2018. ALSO I HAD MY DRIVER SIDE BRAKE LIGHT BULB REPLACED AROUND JULY OR AUGUST 2017 AND NOW THE SAME DRIVER SIDE BRAKE LIGHT IS OUT AGAIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/17/2018 - RICHARDSON, TX
THE STARTER BURNED OUT AND THE STARTER RELAY IS STICKING. IT STARTED STICKING AND MAKING FUNNY NOISES AROUND MID OCTOBER OR BEGINNING OF NOVEMBER 2017 AND ACUTALLY BURNED OUT DECEMBER 8, 2017 AND WAS REPLACED DECEMBER 9, 2017. NOW THE STARTER WENT OUT AGAIN JANUARY 16, 2018. ALSO I HAD MY DRIVER SIDE BRAKE LIGHT BULB REPLACED AROUND JULY OR AUGUST 2017 AND NOW THE SAME DRIVER SIDE BRAKE LIGHT IS OUT AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2017 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE WENT INTO LIMP MODE. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO SHAWNEE MISSION KIA (7591 SHAWNEE MISSION, KS 66202), BUT THEY COULD NOT REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE SIX YEARS AGO. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND WAS UNABLE TO ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,970. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/7/2017 - THEDES, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE SIDE OF A SECOND VEHICLE. THE CRASH CAUSED SEVERE DAMAGE TO THE FRONT END OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A HEAD CONTUSION, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. AN UNKNOWN KIA DEALER IN CAPE DORODO, MISSOURI AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/11/2017 - ZANESVILLE, OH
ESC OFF LIGHT COMES ON AND SENDS THE TRANSMISSION INTO A "LIMP" MODE. THIS CAUSES EXTREME LOSS OF ACCELERATION. DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE ABS CONTROL MODULE, BUT IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHY THE VEHICLE IS DOING THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds