Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 132 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (10) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/4/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT ON. DEALER TEST SHOWED PROBLEM IS WITH THE SENSOR LOCATED INSIDE THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT. THEY SAY THE SOLUTION REQUIRES ME TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT FOR $2500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/3/2015 - DIAMOND, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ESC, PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG, AND MOTOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED BEFORE THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V473000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2015 - DIAMOND, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ESC, PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG, AND MOTOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED BEFORE THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V473000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2015 - SUN CITY CENTER, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON IN DASHBOARD AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND STAYED ON, ALSO LIGHT STATING PASSENGER AIRBAG IS OFF GOES ON AN OFF. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERS BACK ON 8/9/12 FOR PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT, SUPPOSEDLY IT WAS REPAIRED BUT STILL HAPPENING. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER FOR AIR BAG LIGHT IN DASH WAS ADVISED B1448 OCS, PASSENGER BOTTOM SEAT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED WHICH WOULD COST $2219.34. INFORMED DEALER CHOOSING NOT TO HAVE REPAIRED, FEEL IT SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALL 11V473000, THEY STATED MY VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF RECALL

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/9/2015 - STONE MOUNTAIN, GA
I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR LESS THAN A YEAR AND HAVE OBSERVED SEVERAL AFFECTED PARTS THAT PRESENT SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUES AND SUBSTANTIAL CONCERNS TO MY OVERALL WELFARE. MOST ALARMING IS THE VEHICLE LOSES POWER DURING OPERATION EITHER IN AND INABILITY TO ACCELERATE OR THE COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHILE MERGING OR DRIVING WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC ON THE HIGHWAYS AND INTESTATES. THE ESC AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY AND REMAIN ON UNTIL ENGINE IS TURNED OFF. THE DASH PANEL LIGHTS FLICKERS OFF/ON WHEN BRAKE PEDAL IS ENGAGED. THE BACK DRIVERS BRAKE LIGHT GOES OUT SPORADICALLY. IN THE EVENT THAT THERE IS A NEED TO CUT THE HEAD LIGHTS OR WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION, THERE IS A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER OR ACCELERATION AND THE CAR WILL SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDST OF HEAVY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS. THE PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT IS CONSISTENTLY ON. THE CRUISE CONTROL FUNCTION COMES ON WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY WITHOUT PROMPTING AND THE PANEL KEYS ARE NON RESPONSIVE TO OFF ON COMMANDS. THERE IS ALSO A HEAVY SHAKING THAT OCCURS ON THE FRONT END WHEN TRAVELING AT SPEED OF 55 MPH OR GREATER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/2/2015 - ALABASTER, AL
I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT BULBS AT LEAST 3 TIMES IN THE 3 YEARS I HAVE OWNED MY CAR. JUST HAD MY RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE REPLACED AGAIN, WAS WORKING IMMEDIATELY AFTER BEING REPLACED, AND NOW THE NEXT MORNING WHEN I GET IN MY CAR NEITHER HEADLIGHT WORKS. I AM A SINGLE MOM ON A FIXED INCOME AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP REPLACING THESE BULBS AT $20 EACH TIME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/28/2015 - TULSA, OK
AFTER STOPPING AND LOOKING FOR ONCOMING CARS AND STARTING AGAIN, THE CAR JETTISONED CAUSING ME TO HIT ANOTHER CAR AND THE CAR WOULDN'T STOP FOR ABOUT A HALF BLOCK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/19/2015 - ALBEMARLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE BRAKE LAMP FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE BRAKE LAMP SWITCH GROUND WIRE WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V114000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 02/05/16

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/19/2015 - ALBEMARLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE BRAKE LAMP FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE BRAKE LAMP SWITCH GROUND WIRE WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V114000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 02/05/16

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2015 - CELEBRATION, FL
EVERY 6 MONTHS THE ENGINE LIGHT AND ECS OFF LIGHTS COME ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER INTERMITTENTLY. THIS IS DANGEROUS WHEN IT HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY. I BOUGHT THE CAR FROM CARMAX IN JULY 2014. BY NOVEMBER, IT STARTED TO HAVE THE ISSUE, IT PROGRESSED AT I CHECKED IT ON THE INTERNET AND SAW A RECALL AND BROUGHT IT IN TO CITY KIA IN ORLANDO. THE MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE WHY THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AND THERE WAS NO CLEAR CODE. HOWEVER, WHEN HE REPLACED THE RECALL LAMP SWITCH PART IT WENT AWAY UNTIL NOW (OCT 2015). IT IS CLEAR TO ME THAT THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM THAT CAN CAUSE THE LOSS OF POWER. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMMENTS FROM OTHERS WITH THE SAME ISSUE AND THE SAME SYMPTOMS. I EXPECT CARMAX AND KIA UNDERSTAND THERE IS AN ISSUE. I BOUGHT THE CAR WITH 32K MILES ON IT FROM CARMAX AND IT ALREADY HAD 2 PREVIOUS OWNERS. THE AVERAGE KIA MECHANIC SEEMS INCAPABLE OF DIAGNOSING AND RESOLVING THIS ISSUE. THEY WILL JUST CHANGE OUT PARTS EVERY 6 MONTHS AND HOPEFULLY RESET THE ELECTRONICS SOMEHOW. I AM A LICENSED MECHANICAL ENGINEER AND SAFETY ENGINEER WORKING IN THE RIDE INDUSTRY FOR 30 YEARS. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND I WOULD LIKE KIA TO EITHER FIX IT OR TAKE MY CAR BACK OR CARMAX TO TAKE THE CAR BACK. THE LOSS OF POWER CAN OCCUR WHEN YOU START OR WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING. THE ENGINE LIGHT AND ECS LIGHT COME ON AND ALWAYS ACCOMPANY THIS ISSUE. TYPICAL POSTS ON INTERNET JUN 30, 2014 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY - POWER TRAIN THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE SLOWLY DECELERATED TO 20 MPH. THE SERVICE ENGINE AND ESC SENSORS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds