Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 110 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (10) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/18/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH MY 2008 KIA, FIRST IT WAS THE FRONT ROTORS REPLACED THREE TIMES WITHIN 3 MOS. AFTER MULTIPLE DIAGNOSES TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS, I JUST PUT 800.00 IN NEW ROTORS AND TIRES AND FUEL/AIR INDUCTION SERVICES. THEN THE OTHER DAY DRIVING 45 MPH THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE, MAKING A THUD THUD THUD NOISE IN THE FRONT END, FELT LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE, I PULLED OVER, NO FLAT TIRES. I STARTED DRIVING AGAIN AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WORSE THAN THE FIRST TIME IT SOUNDED LIKE A HELICOPTER IN MY VEHICLE AND IT VIBRATED AND WHILE SLOWLY DRIVING IT FELT LIKE IT WAS GLIDING. I WAS AFRAID THE WHEELS WERE GOING TO FALL OFF, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IMMEDIATELY AND THEY CALLED ME LATER WITH THE DIAGNOSES OF A CARRIER BEARING COMING APART, THE CARRIER BEARINGS ARE NOT ABLE TO BE REPLACED ALONE, THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT HAS TO BE REPLACED AS IN THIS MODEL IT IS ALL ONE PIECE. TO REPLACE THE DRIVE SHAFT IT WILL COST $1100.00 TO REPLACE. I DECLINED THE REPAIRS I CAN NOT AFFORD THAT, ESPECIALLY AFTER ALL THE MONEY I HAVE HAD TO INVEST IN THIS VEHICLE JUST TO KEEP IT RUNNING. I FEEL KIA SHOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS, I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER KIA. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH MY 2008 KIA, FIRST IT WAS THE FRONT ROTORS REPLACED THREE TIMES WITHIN 3 MOS. AFTER MULTIPLE DIAGNOSES TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS, I JUST PUT 800.00 IN NEW ROTORS AND TIRES AND FUEL/AIR INDUCTION SERVICES. THEN THE OTHER DAY DRIVING 45 MPH THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE, MAKING A THUD THUD THUD NOISE IN THE FRONT END, FELT LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE, I PULLED OVER, NO FLAT TIRES. I STARTED DRIVING AGAIN AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WORSE THAN THE FIRST TIME IT SOUNDED LIKE A HELICOPTER IN MY VEHICLE AND IT VIBRATED AND WHILE SLOWLY DRIVING IT FELT LIKE IT WAS GLIDING. I WAS AFRAID THE WHEELS WERE GOING TO FALL OFF, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IMMEDIATELY AND THEY CALLED ME LATER WITH THE DIAGNOSES OF A CARRIER BEARING COMING APART, THE CARRIER BEARINGS ARE NOT ABLE TO BE REPLACED ALONE, THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT HAS TO BE REPLACED AS IN THIS MODEL IT IS ALL ONE PIECE. TO REPLACE THE DRIVE SHAFT IT WILL COST $1100.00 TO REPLACE. I DECLINED THE REPAIRS I CAN NOT AFFORD THAT, ESPECIALLY AFTER ALL THE MONEY I HAVE HAD TO INVEST IN THIS VEHICLE JUST TO KEEP IT RUNNING. I FEEL KIA SHOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS, I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER KIA. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH MY 2008 KIA, FIRST IT WAS THE FRONT ROTORS REPLACED THREE TIMES WITHIN 3 MOS. AFTER MULTIPLE DIAGNOSES TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS, I JUST PUT 800.00 IN NEW ROTORS AND TIRES AND FUEL/AIR INDUCTION SERVICES. THEN THE OTHER DAY DRIVING 45 MPH THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE, MAKING A THUD THUD THUD NOISE IN THE FRONT END, FELT LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE, I PULLED OVER, NO FLAT TIRES. I STARTED DRIVING AGAIN AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WORSE THAN THE FIRST TIME IT SOUNDED LIKE A HELICOPTER IN MY VEHICLE AND IT VIBRATED AND WHILE SLOWLY DRIVING IT FELT LIKE IT WAS GLIDING. I WAS AFRAID THE WHEELS WERE GOING TO FALL OFF, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IMMEDIATELY AND THEY CALLED ME LATER WITH THE DIAGNOSES OF A CARRIER BEARING COMING APART, THE CARRIER BEARINGS ARE NOT ABLE TO BE REPLACED ALONE, THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT HAS TO BE REPLACED AS IN THIS MODEL IT IS ALL ONE PIECE. TO REPLACE THE DRIVE SHAFT IT WILL COST $1100.00 TO REPLACE. I DECLINED THE REPAIRS I CAN NOT AFFORD THAT, ESPECIALLY AFTER ALL THE MONEY I HAVE HAD TO INVEST IN THIS VEHICLE JUST TO KEEP IT RUNNING. I FEEL KIA SHOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS, I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER KIA. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/26/2014 - CARLETON PLACE, NY
FOR THE 3RD TIME IN AS MANY YEARS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND ESC LIGHT COME ON AT THE SAME TIME CAUSING THE CAR TO GO INTO LIMP MODE. SOMETIMES IT WILL RESET IF YOU TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART. HAVE REPLACE CADALIDIC CONVERTER. SEE THIS IS A COMMON THEME WITH THIS CAR. I HAVE NO IDEA WHY IT HAS NOT BECOME A RECALL. WHEN LOSING ALL POWER ON HWY IN TRAFFIC THIS IS SURE TO BECOME A FATALITY ISSUE BEFORE LONG. I WOULD THINK THE COMPANY WOULD RATHER RECALL BEFORE IT BECOMES A LAWSUIT..

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2014 - DRACUT, MA
THE VEHICLE IS MAKING A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR END. I HAD THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE KIA SORENTO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THEY CONFIRMED REAR CARRIER ASSEMBLY ( REAR DIFFERENTIAL GEARS) NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $1942.00. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH I FOUND OUT IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THAT YEAR VEHICLE DUE TO SUB-STANDARD SUPPLIER PARTS. VECHICLE WARRANTY 5YR/60,000 MLIES ;NOT COVERED. I BELIEVE THIS IS A PREMATURE AND A MANUFACTURER DEFECT , THAT MAKES THE VEHICLE UNSAFE AND A DANGER ON THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE HAS LOSE POWER (NOT STALLED) WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE(NOT SURE IF RELATED TO PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/13/2014 - VENICE, FL
2008 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT WOULD STAY ON AFTER THE PASSENGER FASTENED THE SEAT BELT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - RUSSELL SPRINGS, KY
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PUMP GAS INTO THE TANK, IT FORCEFULLY SPEWED OUT ALL UP MY ARM AND ON MY FEET BEFORE I COULD JUMP BACK OUT IF THE WAY. I TRIED AGAIN, THIS TIME VERY SLOWLY BUT IT SPEWED OUT AGAIN. HAVING ENOUGH GAS TO GET HOME, I LEFT THE CAP LOOSE. BY THE NEXT DAY, IT HELD THE GASOLINE JUST FINE. SO I CONTINUED TO LEAVE THE CAP LOOSE, WHICH WAS WORKING UNTIL YESTERDAY. I WAS OUT OF TOWN SHOPPING. THE LOW FUEL LIGHT CAME ON, SO I ATTEMPTED TO GET GAS BUT IT SPEWED OUT ALL OVER MY ARM AND FEET AGAIN. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS A KIA DEALERSHIP NEARBY AND I HAD ENOUGH GAS TO GET THERE. AS OF TODAY, THEY TELL ME THAT TWO VALVES ARE CLOGGED AND REPAIRS WILL BE AROUND $500 ASSUMING THE CHARCOAL FILTER IS OKAY, WHICH THEY HADN'T YET CHECKED WHEN THEY CALLED ME. IN RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT 2003-04 KIA SORENTOS WERE RECALLED FOR FAULTY FUEL VALVES THAT RESULTED IN THE EXACT SPEWING PROBLEMS I EXPERIENCED. MINE IS A 2008 BUT SEEMS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS NOT DUE TO NEGLECT OF MAINTENANCE OR TO ROUTINE WEAR AND TEAR. I DON'T FEEL THAT I'M FINANCIALLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. I DO FEEL VERY FORTUNATE THAT I WASN'T BURNED. I AM STILL LEERY OF DRIVING IT AFTER REPAIR THOUGH IN FEAR OF A GAS TANK EXPLOSION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/4/2014 - ATHENS, AL
APPROXIMATELY 2 YEARS AGO, THE ESC LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THE VEHICLE HAD NO ACCELERATION AND PULLING OUT INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC WOULD BE VERY SCARY TO SAY THE LEAST. IT WOULD BE VERY SLUGGISH AND NO ACCELERATION AND ONCOMING TRAFFIC WOULD COME UP ON YOU BEFORE YOU COULD GET IT GOING. I CARRIED IT TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED AND THEY SAID IT WAS A FAULTY ACCELERATOR AND REPLACED IT AT A COST OF 350 DOLLARS. IT HAS STARTED DOING IT AGAIN. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT AND DON'T HAVE 350 DOLLARS TO TRY AND FIX IT AGAIN. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT I HAVE FOUND TONS OF COMPLAINTS WITH THIS. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AND IT SHOULD NOT BE AT THE COST OF THE CONSUMER FOR A FAULTY PRODUCT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/22/2014 - KENNER, LA
AFTER REMOVING THE GEAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, THE ACCELERATION WILL NOT COMPLY, GOES LESS THAN 10 MPH WHILE PRESSING ON THE GAS. I STOPPED AND SWITCHED BACK TO PARK. TRIED THE DRIVE GEAR AGAIN, AND IT WAS STILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGING THE CHANGE, IT RESPONDS LIKE IT'S IN NEUTRAL. I PARKED FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE. AFTER 10 MINUTES I TRIED IT AGAIN AND IT WAS FINE. THIS HAS SINCE HAPPENED ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. AFTER THE FIRST INCIDENT I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED BY A MECHANIC, TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE, NO SIGN OF THE PROBLEM. PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED IN PUBLIC AREAS WHERE HELP MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE SHOULD THE GEARS NOT CORRECT THEMSELVES. THE PROBLEM USE TO OCCUR ONLY COMING OFF A SLANTED PARKING AREA LIKE A DRIVEWAY, BUT IT'S STARTED HAPPENING WHILE PARKED ON A LEVELED PARKING SPACE ALSO.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/21/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE ESC LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2014. WHEN THIS HAPPENS THERE IS VERY LITTLE ACCELERATION AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET TO THE SPEED LIMIT. THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS A CHIP THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND IT WOULD COST ABOUT $3,000. WE WERE ALSO TOLD IT WAS NOT A GUARANTEE IT WOULD STILL FIX THE ISSUE. WE WERE ALSO TOLD THAT THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE CAR TO GO FROM DRIVE FROM DRIVE TO PARK WHILE DRIVING. THIS ALONE IS A DANGER IN ITSELF CAUSING HARM TO US AND TO OTHERS IN TRAFFIC. WHEN THE LIGHT IS ON THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE AND TRYING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC IS DIFFICULT ESPECIALLY UP HILL. I TALKED TO KIA CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD TALK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE PERSON I TALKED TO WAS NOT VERY HELPFUL. IF THIS A CHIP ISSUE THEN IT SHOULD BE A RECALL OR AT LEAST SOMETHING THAT KIA SHOULD FIX. IT IS SOMETHING THAT IS OUT OF CONTROL OF THE OWNER. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN THE LIGHT IS OFF AND THE VEHICLE RUNS OK. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A SITUATION THAT SHOULD BE HANDLED WITH GREAT URGENCY BEFORE THERE IS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds