Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (6) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (10) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (5) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/22/2014 - KENNER, LA
AFTER REMOVING THE GEAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, THE ACCELERATION WILL NOT COMPLY, GOES LESS THAN 10 MPH WHILE PRESSING ON THE GAS. I STOPPED AND SWITCHED BACK TO PARK. TRIED THE DRIVE GEAR AGAIN, AND IT WAS STILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGING THE CHANGE, IT RESPONDS LIKE IT'S IN NEUTRAL. I PARKED FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE. AFTER 10 MINUTES I TRIED IT AGAIN AND IT WAS FINE. THIS HAS SINCE HAPPENED ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. AFTER THE FIRST INCIDENT I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED BY A MECHANIC, TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE, NO SIGN OF THE PROBLEM. PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED IN PUBLIC AREAS WHERE HELP MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE SHOULD THE GEARS NOT CORRECT THEMSELVES. THE PROBLEM USE TO OCCUR ONLY COMING OFF A SLANTED PARKING AREA LIKE A DRIVEWAY, BUT IT'S STARTED HAPPENING WHILE PARKED ON A LEVELED PARKING SPACE ALSO.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/21/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE ESC LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2014. WHEN THIS HAPPENS THERE IS VERY LITTLE ACCELERATION AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET TO THE SPEED LIMIT. THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS A CHIP THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND IT WOULD COST ABOUT $3,000. WE WERE ALSO TOLD IT WAS NOT A GUARANTEE IT WOULD STILL FIX THE ISSUE. WE WERE ALSO TOLD THAT THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE CAR TO GO FROM DRIVE FROM DRIVE TO PARK WHILE DRIVING. THIS ALONE IS A DANGER IN ITSELF CAUSING HARM TO US AND TO OTHERS IN TRAFFIC. WHEN THE LIGHT IS ON THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE AND TRYING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC IS DIFFICULT ESPECIALLY UP HILL. I TALKED TO KIA CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD TALK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE PERSON I TALKED TO WAS NOT VERY HELPFUL. IF THIS A CHIP ISSUE THEN IT SHOULD BE A RECALL OR AT LEAST SOMETHING THAT KIA SHOULD FIX. IT IS SOMETHING THAT IS OUT OF CONTROL OF THE OWNER. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN THE LIGHT IS OFF AND THE VEHICLE RUNS OK. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A SITUATION THAT SHOULD BE HANDLED WITH GREAT URGENCY BEFORE THERE IS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/21/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE ESC LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2014. WHEN THIS HAPPENS THERE IS VERY LITTLE ACCELERATION AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET TO THE SPEED LIMIT. THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS A CHIP THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND IT WOULD COST ABOUT $3,000. WE WERE ALSO TOLD IT WAS NOT A GUARANTEE IT WOULD STILL FIX THE ISSUE. WE WERE ALSO TOLD THAT THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE CAR TO GO FROM DRIVE FROM DRIVE TO PARK WHILE DRIVING. THIS ALONE IS A DANGER IN ITSELF CAUSING HARM TO US AND TO OTHERS IN TRAFFIC. WHEN THE LIGHT IS ON THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE AND TRYING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC IS DIFFICULT ESPECIALLY UP HILL. I TALKED TO KIA CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD TALK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE PERSON I TALKED TO WAS NOT VERY HELPFUL. IF THIS A CHIP ISSUE THEN IT SHOULD BE A RECALL OR AT LEAST SOMETHING THAT KIA SHOULD FIX. IT IS SOMETHING THAT IS OUT OF CONTROL OF THE OWNER. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN THE LIGHT IS OFF AND THE VEHICLE RUNS OK. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A SITUATION THAT SHOULD BE HANDLED WITH GREAT URGENCY BEFORE THERE IS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE SLOWLY DECELERATED TO 20 MPH. THE SERVICE ENGINE AND ESC SENSORS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2014 - DERIDDER, LA
AFTER BEING PARKED WITH VEHICLE OFF, TURNED VEHICLE ON AND VEHICLE WOULD ONLY ACCELERATE AT A VERY SLOW SPEED, MAYBE 5 MPH. TRIED TO SWITCH IT TO MANUAL SHIFT BUT IT WOULD NOT REGISTER. TURNED VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND IT WAS BACK TO NORMAL. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST THREE TIMES A MONTH SINCE AND HAS NOT DONE IT ONCE FOR THE DEALER TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. THEY ALWAYS ACT LIKE I AM INSANE AND DON'T KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT. VEHICLE IS NOW OVER 60,000 MILES AND THE DEALERS COULD CARE LESS ABOUT MY ISSUE. IT IS SO IMMENSELY FRUSTRATING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/11/2014 - EVERETT, WA
AUTO HAS A DASHBOARD ALERT WHEN SOMEONE SITS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE WARNING LIGHT GOES OUT AND THERE BY ARMING THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. IF THIS LIGHT DOESN'T GO OUT, THE AIRBAG SYSTEM ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WILL NOT ACTIVATE. I WENT TO THE KIA DEALER TO CONFIRM THIS IS WHAT WOULD HAPPEN. HE SAID IF THE LIGHT STAYS ON, THE SYSTEM WILL NOT ACTIVATE. HE STATED THAT IT WAS BECOMING A PROBLEM IN MY MODEL OF KIA. IT IS APPROXIMATELY $2,000.00 TO REPAIR. TO ME THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN WORTHY OF FURTHER ACTION BY YOUR AGENCY.

View Details

SEATS

5/11/2014 - EVERETT, WA
AUTO HAS A DASHBOARD ALERT WHEN SOMEONE SITS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE WARNING LIGHT GOES OUT AND THERE BY ARMING THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. IF THIS LIGHT DOESN'T GO OUT, THE AIRBAG SYSTEM ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WILL NOT ACTIVATE. I WENT TO THE KIA DEALER TO CONFIRM THIS IS WHAT WOULD HAPPEN. HE SAID IF THE LIGHT STAYS ON, THE SYSTEM WILL NOT ACTIVATE. HE STATED THAT IT WAS BECOMING A PROBLEM IN MY MODEL OF KIA. IT IS APPROXIMATELY $2,000.00 TO REPAIR. TO ME THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN WORTHY OF FURTHER ACTION BY YOUR AGENCY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/22/2014 - SENECA, SC
MY CAR WILL ROCK BACK AND FORTH VIOLENTLY WHILE DRIVING. NOTICE IT MORE AT HIGHER SPEEDS, SEEMS TO HAPPEN WHEN I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL. IT'S PROGRESSIVELY GETTING WORSE AND I'M TERRIFIED OF HAVING A WRECK. HAVE TRIED NEW TIRES, TIRE ROTATIONS, ALIGNMENTS ETC.. I'VE BEEN TOLD IT MAY BE THE DIFFERENTIAL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/18/2014 - RAMER, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 169,720. UPDATED 6/10/14

View Details

ENGINE

2/27/2014 - GRAHAM, NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE CAR SHUT DOWN AND THE ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS CAME ON. HAD TO STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO START THE CAR. OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND TOOK TO MY MECHANIC. REPLACE ON OIL PUMP AND CAR WILL NOT START. HE STATED MOTOR WAS GONE. PLEASE HELP ME. HAVE 30 MORE PAYMENTS ON THIS 2008 KIA SORENTO. GOD BLESS ND HAVE A GOOD DAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds