Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 141 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (36) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (10) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (16) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (20) Steering (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/19/2016 - QUAKERTOWN, PA
ON OCCASION, "PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF" LIGHT GOES ON WHILE AN ADULT (>120LBS.) IS SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/6/2016 - POPLAR BLUFF, MO
CHECK ENGINE AND ESC LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. TRUCK IMMEDIATELY LOSES POWER.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/6/2016 - POPLAR BLUFF, MO
CHECK ENGINE AND ESC LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. TRUCK IMMEDIATELY LOSES POWER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/6/2016 - POPLAR BLUFF, MO
CHECK ENGINE AND ESC LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. TRUCK IMMEDIATELY LOSES POWER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE FROM A KIA DEALERSHIP NOW OUT OF BUSINESS IN FEBRUARY 2009 AS A NEW VEHICLE. THE ODOMETER READING TODAY IS 31000 MILES. DESPITE REGULAR KIA MAINTAINANCE A FEW WEEKS AGO WE NOTICED SLUGGISH ACCELERATION AND A HUM AT INCREASED SPEED FROM THE REAR END. WE TOOK IT TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND WAS DIAGNOSED AS ENTIRE REAR AXLE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL AS LEFT REAR TIRE. THE SERVICE TECH SAID IT WAS UNSAFE WITHOUT THE REPAIRS AND THE ORIGINAL MICHELIN LEFT DRIVER SIDE TIRE WAS CLOSE TO FAILURE. I NOTICE THAT NHTSAID# 10625749 COMPLAINT ON THIS SITE IS NEARLY IDENTICAL. AUTHORIZED REPLACEMENT OF REAR AXLE AT A COST OF $2219 AND PICKED UP VEHICLE YESTERDAY AND BOUGHT NEW TIRE FROM TIRE STORE. WHILE CAR IN KIA SHOP I NOTICED 10 YEAR 100000 MILE WARRANTY COVERED REAR AXLE SO CALLED KIA MOTORS USA AND OPENED A CASE. CASE STILL UNDER REVIEW BUT WAS SURPRISED TO LEARN KIA CLAIMS 100 K WARRANTY NOT APPLICABLE BECAUSE THEIR RECORD SHOWS WE ARE NOT THE ORIGINAL OWNER DESPITE ALL OUR PURCHASE DOCUMENTS SAY IT IS NEW AND NOT A USED OR DEMONSTRATOR WE PURCHASED. REALIZE THAT IS WARRANTY DISPUTE WITH KIA BUT SHOWS HOW KIA WILL TRY ALL IN ITS POWER TO COVER UP DEFECTS THEY SHOULD KNOW ABOUT AND NOT HONOR THEIR WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/23/2016 - RIVERDALE, GA
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS HIT HEAD ON WHERE MY AIRBAGS NEVER CAME OUT. AIRBAG LIGHTS ARE ON BUT AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. I WAS AT A COMPLETE STAY STEAL WHEN I WAS HIT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2016 - MARYSVILLE, KS
THE ENGINE MAKES A HIGH PITCH WHINING NOISE. HAVE NOT HAD ANY REPAIRS AS OF YET. KIA THINKS IT'S THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER. KIA STATES THIS WILL COST 4000 OR MORE TO FIX

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/29/2016 - PALM SPRINGS, FL
THIS COMPLAINT IS ON A KIA SORENTO 2008 DOOR LOCKS. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2009, MY DRIVER+S DOOR WOULDN'T NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE, I HAD THE DOOR HANDLE CHANGED WHICH COST ME $200.00. NOW MY PASSENGER BACK LEFT DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OR INSIDE AND WITH TIME I+M SURE THE OTHER 2 LEFT WILL NEED REPAIR. HOW CAN KIA SAY, "THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE THEREFORE IT IS NOT A RECALL". THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN I HAVE PASSENGERS IN THE BACK AND AN ACCIDENT OCCURS AND THEY ARE UNABLE TO GET OUT TO SAFETY. I HAVE A 4 DOOR CAR AND AFRAID TO DRIVE ANYONE AS PASSENGERS DUE TO THEIR SAFETY. FROM MY ONLINE RESEARCH THIS HAS BEEN AN OCCURRING PROBLEMS WITH KIA AND I+M GLAD THERE HAS BEEN NO DEATHS RESULTING FROM IT. BUT IF THIS PROBLEM IS NOT FIX AND KIA DOESN+T TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR A DEFECTED PARTS THERE WILL MOST LIKELY BE DEATH RESULTING FROM IT IN THE FUTURE. PLEASE HELP US OUT AND LET THIS BECOME A RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/3/2016 - FLOYDS KNOBS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE AND IN PARK, THE AIR BAG DEPLOYED INADVERTENTLY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LEFT ARM INJURIES AND LEFT LEG INJURIES DUE TO DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAGS. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED AND NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2016 - ROUND ROCK, TX
MY 2008 KIA SORENTO HAS HAD NUMEROUS INSTANCES OF THE REAR TAILLIGHT/SIGNALLIGHT FAILING TO OPERATE CORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE DOES HAVE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE FOR WHICH IT WAS TAKEN IN FOR SERVICE AND THE DEALERSHIP HAS SINCE WORKED ON THE VEHICLE TO REMEDY THE SITUATION A NUMBER OF TIMES. THEY HAVE SAID AND NOTED THAT IN A PRIOR VISIT THEY REPLACED THE STOPLIGHT SWITCH. HOWEVER THE PROBLEM CONTINUES AND I HAVE BEEN CITED A NUMBER OF TIMES WITH A WARNING FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT. ATTACHED IS ONE OF THE RECEIPTS FROM THE DEALERSHIP NOTING THE RECALL AND PROBLEM. NOW, THE DEALERSHIP IS INSISTING THAT WE SHOULD PAY FOR THE LATEST ATTEMPT TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, ALTHOUGH THE ISSUE HAS NEVER BEEN FIXED WITHOUT A RECURRENCE OF THE ISSUE. THE REAR TAILLIGHT/SIGNAL LIGHT FAILS TO ILLUMINATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds