Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 117 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (9) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (11) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/18/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
WE HEARD GRINDING NOISES WHEN DRIVING OUR 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN PULLING, JERKING, AND LUNGING. WE NOTICED NICKEL-SIZE CHIPPED PIECES OF METAL IN THE DRIVE THAT HAD FALLEN FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR. WE TOWED THE CAR TO OUR LOCAL AUTO REPAIR SHOP. THE MECHANIC DISCOVERED THAT THE RIGHT WHEEL BEARING HAD DISINTEGRATED; THE ROTOR AND HUB TO RIDE INTO THE CALIPER AND SEIZE--THE WHEEL WAS WITHIN SECONDS OF FLYING OFF THE AXLE. THEY HAD DIFFICULTY FINDING PARTS BECAUSE THIS SEEMED TO HAVE BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM WITH KIA SORENTOS. I CONTACTED THE NEWLY OPENED KIA DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE RECENT CAR REPAIR AND THAT AFTER HEARING OF THE DIFFICULTY IN FINDING PARTS AND BEING TOLD THAT THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM, I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THIS REPAIR. I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENTIRE REPAIR IS COVERED UNDER THE 100,000 MILE WARRANTY (MILEAGE ON THE KIA WAS 90,317). I WAS DIRECTED TO KIA OF AMERICA (1-800-333-4542) TO SUBMIT A REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST FOR THE REPAIR. MY CLAIM WAS DENIED SIMPLY BECAUSE WE HAD NOT TAKEN THE CAR TO A KIA DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. I ASKED FOR AN APPEAL AND WAS DIRECTED TO THE REGIONAL OFFICE. THE KIA REPRESENTATIVE MISTAKENLY STATED THAT WE HAD SAID WE KNOWINGLY WERE AWARE THAT THE CAR WAS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BUT WE TOOK THE CAR ELSEWHERE. I STATED THIS WAS INCORRECT--THAT WE HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND THAT WE TOOK IT TO THE SAME PLACE WE ALWAYS GO. I ASSURED KIA OF AMERICA, IF WE HAD KNOWN THAT THE REPAIR WAS COVERED BY A WARRANTY, WE WOULD HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE NEWLY OPENED KIA DEALERSHIP. BOTTOM LINE: KIA OF AMERICA DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR WARRANTY. OUR MAJOR CONCERN IS WITH THE SAFETY OF OUR FAMILY AND DRIVING A WELL-MAINTENANCED CAR. OUR REQUEST IS THAT KIA OF AMERICA HONOR THE WARRANTY. PLEASE INVESTIGATE WHY A RECALL HAS NOT BEEN ISSUED ON THIS CONCERN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/30/2015 - DUSON, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V473000 (AIR BAGS) BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/9/2015 - CARROLLTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS WITH THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPIED, THE PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SYSTEM FAILED AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - EULESS, TX
WE WERE DRIVING ON A BUSY FREEWAY ON THE WAY TO WORK, THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED GETTING STIFF SO WE SLOWED DOWN AND MOVED OVER TO THE FAR RIGHT. THE CAR DIED BUT WE WERE ABLE TO COAST OVER OUT OF TRAFFIC THOUGH THE BACK OF THE CAR WAS STILL NOT OUT ALL THE WAY DUE TO THE ANGLE. WE WERE NOT ABLE TO STEER AND STRAIGHTEN THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. WE CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO JUMP THE CAR. IT WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC. THE ENGINE WAS LOCKED. THE MECHANIC SAID A SCREW BROKE OFF. THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE CRANKSHAFT. I HAD TO GET A NEW ENGINE PUT IN AT THE COST OF JUST OVER $2400.

View Details

STEERING

2/25/2015 - EULESS, TX
WE WERE DRIVING ON A BUSY FREEWAY ON THE WAY TO WORK, THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED GETTING STIFF SO WE SLOWED DOWN AND MOVED OVER TO THE FAR RIGHT. THE CAR DIED BUT WE WERE ABLE TO COAST OVER OUT OF TRAFFIC THOUGH THE BACK OF THE CAR WAS STILL NOT OUT ALL THE WAY DUE TO THE ANGLE. WE WERE NOT ABLE TO STEER AND STRAIGHTEN THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. WE CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO JUMP THE CAR. IT WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC. THE ENGINE WAS LOCKED. THE MECHANIC SAID A SCREW BROKE OFF. THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE CRANKSHAFT. I HAD TO GET A NEW ENGINE PUT IN AT THE COST OF JUST OVER $2400.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/21/2015 - HOUSTON , TX
WAS DRIVING AT A 35 MPH SPEED WHEN I TRIED TO BREAK AND INSTEAD THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED CAUSING ME TO HIS THE VEHICLE I FRONT OF ME. IT WAS AT THE SHOP FOR REPAIR FOR A WEEK THE BREAKS WHERE CHECKED. 2 HOURS AFTER THE CAR WAS OUT THE SHOP I WAS TURNING WHEN INSTEAD OF BREAKING IT ACCELERATES AGAIN CAUSING THE VEH TO LOOSE CONTROL AND HIT THE CURB. I ONLY HAD THE SUB FOR 3 MONTHS AND NEARLY CAUSE ACCIDENTS 3 TIMES... ALSO ON THE HIGHWAY THE BREAKS WON'T WORK I HAVE TO PRESS ON THE BREAK PEDAL VERY HARD AND STILL TAKES A LONG TIME TO BREAK. THE VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE AT ALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/19/2014 - CALDWELL, ID
DIM LIGHTS BOTH QUIT AT THE SAME TIME IN EARLY MORNING (DARK) DRIVING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/2/2014 - SOMERSET, TX
FOR YEARS NOW I HAVE REPLACED LIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE REPLACED HEADLIGHTS AT LEAS15 TIMES AND BREAK LIGHTS ABOUT 20 TIMES. ON AT LEAST 5 OCCASIONS ALL LIGHTS BURNED OUT AT ONCE.. THE FUSES AND RELAYS HAVE NEVER BEEN BAD BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACE THE LIGHTS THEY WORK.SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE KNOWN MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG. I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/2/2014 - SOMERSET, TX
FOR YEARS NOW I HAVE REPLACED LIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE REPLACED HEADLIGHTS AT LEAS15 TIMES AND BREAK LIGHTS ABOUT 20 TIMES. ON AT LEAST 5 OCCASIONS ALL LIGHTS BURNED OUT AT ONCE.. THE FUSES AND RELAYS HAVE NEVER BEEN BAD BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACE THE LIGHTS THEY WORK.SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE KNOWN MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG. I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/2/2014 - SOMERSET, TX
FOR YEARS NOW I HAVE REPLACED LIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE REPLACED HEADLIGHTS AT LEAS15 TIMES AND BREAK LIGHTS ABOUT 20 TIMES. ON AT LEAST 5 OCCASIONS ALL LIGHTS BURNED OUT AT ONCE.. THE FUSES AND RELAYS HAVE NEVER BEEN BAD BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACE THE LIGHTS THEY WORK.SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE KNOWN MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG. I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds