Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (10) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/3/2016 - FLOYDS KNOBS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE AND IN PARK, THE AIR BAG DEPLOYED INADVERTENTLY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LEFT ARM INJURIES AND LEFT LEG INJURIES DUE TO DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAGS. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED AND NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2016 - ROUND ROCK, TX
MY 2008 KIA SORENTO HAS HAD NUMEROUS INSTANCES OF THE REAR TAILLIGHT/SIGNALLIGHT FAILING TO OPERATE CORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE DOES HAVE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE FOR WHICH IT WAS TAKEN IN FOR SERVICE AND THE DEALERSHIP HAS SINCE WORKED ON THE VEHICLE TO REMEDY THE SITUATION A NUMBER OF TIMES. THEY HAVE SAID AND NOTED THAT IN A PRIOR VISIT THEY REPLACED THE STOPLIGHT SWITCH. HOWEVER THE PROBLEM CONTINUES AND I HAVE BEEN CITED A NUMBER OF TIMES WITH A WARNING FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT. ATTACHED IS ONE OF THE RECEIPTS FROM THE DEALERSHIP NOTING THE RECALL AND PROBLEM. NOW, THE DEALERSHIP IS INSISTING THAT WE SHOULD PAY FOR THE LATEST ATTEMPT TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, ALTHOUGH THE ISSUE HAS NEVER BEEN FIXED WITHOUT A RECURRENCE OF THE ISSUE. THE REAR TAILLIGHT/SIGNAL LIGHT FAILS TO ILLUMINATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT'S WIFE, WHO WAS 5 FOOT 6 INCHES TALL AND WEIGHED 130 LBS, WAS SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED, INDICATING THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WAS DEACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO REPLACED THE SEAT CUSHION AND RE-FLASHED THE SOFTWARE, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,648.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/4/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT ON. DEALER TEST SHOWED PROBLEM IS WITH THE SENSOR LOCATED INSIDE THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT. THEY SAY THE SOLUTION REQUIRES ME TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT FOR $2500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/3/2015 - DIAMOND, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ESC, PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG, AND MOTOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED BEFORE THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V473000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2015 - DIAMOND, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ESC, PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG, AND MOTOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED BEFORE THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V473000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2015 - SUN CITY CENTER, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON IN DASHBOARD AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND STAYED ON, ALSO LIGHT STATING PASSENGER AIRBAG IS OFF GOES ON AN OFF. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERS BACK ON 8/9/12 FOR PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT, SUPPOSEDLY IT WAS REPAIRED BUT STILL HAPPENING. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER FOR AIR BAG LIGHT IN DASH WAS ADVISED B1448 OCS, PASSENGER BOTTOM SEAT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED WHICH WOULD COST $2219.34. INFORMED DEALER CHOOSING NOT TO HAVE REPAIRED, FEEL IT SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALL 11V473000, THEY STATED MY VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF RECALL

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/9/2015 - STONE MOUNTAIN, GA
I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR LESS THAN A YEAR AND HAVE OBSERVED SEVERAL AFFECTED PARTS THAT PRESENT SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUES AND SUBSTANTIAL CONCERNS TO MY OVERALL WELFARE. MOST ALARMING IS THE VEHICLE LOSES POWER DURING OPERATION EITHER IN AND INABILITY TO ACCELERATE OR THE COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHILE MERGING OR DRIVING WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC ON THE HIGHWAYS AND INTESTATES. THE ESC AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY AND REMAIN ON UNTIL ENGINE IS TURNED OFF. THE DASH PANEL LIGHTS FLICKERS OFF/ON WHEN BRAKE PEDAL IS ENGAGED. THE BACK DRIVERS BRAKE LIGHT GOES OUT SPORADICALLY. IN THE EVENT THAT THERE IS A NEED TO CUT THE HEAD LIGHTS OR WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION, THERE IS A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER OR ACCELERATION AND THE CAR WILL SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDST OF HEAVY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS. THE PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT IS CONSISTENTLY ON. THE CRUISE CONTROL FUNCTION COMES ON WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY WITHOUT PROMPTING AND THE PANEL KEYS ARE NON RESPONSIVE TO OFF ON COMMANDS. THERE IS ALSO A HEAVY SHAKING THAT OCCURS ON THE FRONT END WHEN TRAVELING AT SPEED OF 55 MPH OR GREATER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/2/2015 - ALABASTER, AL
I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT BULBS AT LEAST 3 TIMES IN THE 3 YEARS I HAVE OWNED MY CAR. JUST HAD MY RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE REPLACED AGAIN, WAS WORKING IMMEDIATELY AFTER BEING REPLACED, AND NOW THE NEXT MORNING WHEN I GET IN MY CAR NEITHER HEADLIGHT WORKS. I AM A SINGLE MOM ON A FIXED INCOME AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP REPLACING THESE BULBS AT $20 EACH TIME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/28/2015 - TULSA, OK
AFTER STOPPING AND LOOKING FOR ONCOMING CARS AND STARTING AGAIN, THE CAR JETTISONED CAUSING ME TO HIT ANOTHER CAR AND THE CAR WOULDN'T STOP FOR ABOUT A HALF BLOCK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds