Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (10) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2014 - DRACUT, MA
THE VEHICLE IS MAKING A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR END. I HAD THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE KIA SORENTO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THEY CONFIRMED REAR CARRIER ASSEMBLY ( REAR DIFFERENTIAL GEARS) NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $1942.00. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH I FOUND OUT IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THAT YEAR VEHICLE DUE TO SUB-STANDARD SUPPLIER PARTS. VECHICLE WARRANTY 5YR/60,000 MLIES ;NOT COVERED. I BELIEVE THIS IS A PREMATURE AND A MANUFACTURER DEFECT , THAT MAKES THE VEHICLE UNSAFE AND A DANGER ON THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE HAS LOSE POWER (NOT STALLED) WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE(NOT SURE IF RELATED TO PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/13/2014 - VENICE, FL
2008 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT WOULD STAY ON AFTER THE PASSENGER FASTENED THE SEAT BELT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - RUSSELL SPRINGS, KY
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PUMP GAS INTO THE TANK, IT FORCEFULLY SPEWED OUT ALL UP MY ARM AND ON MY FEET BEFORE I COULD JUMP BACK OUT IF THE WAY. I TRIED AGAIN, THIS TIME VERY SLOWLY BUT IT SPEWED OUT AGAIN. HAVING ENOUGH GAS TO GET HOME, I LEFT THE CAP LOOSE. BY THE NEXT DAY, IT HELD THE GASOLINE JUST FINE. SO I CONTINUED TO LEAVE THE CAP LOOSE, WHICH WAS WORKING UNTIL YESTERDAY. I WAS OUT OF TOWN SHOPPING. THE LOW FUEL LIGHT CAME ON, SO I ATTEMPTED TO GET GAS BUT IT SPEWED OUT ALL OVER MY ARM AND FEET AGAIN. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS A KIA DEALERSHIP NEARBY AND I HAD ENOUGH GAS TO GET THERE. AS OF TODAY, THEY TELL ME THAT TWO VALVES ARE CLOGGED AND REPAIRS WILL BE AROUND $500 ASSUMING THE CHARCOAL FILTER IS OKAY, WHICH THEY HADN'T YET CHECKED WHEN THEY CALLED ME. IN RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT 2003-04 KIA SORENTOS WERE RECALLED FOR FAULTY FUEL VALVES THAT RESULTED IN THE EXACT SPEWING PROBLEMS I EXPERIENCED. MINE IS A 2008 BUT SEEMS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS NOT DUE TO NEGLECT OF MAINTENANCE OR TO ROUTINE WEAR AND TEAR. I DON'T FEEL THAT I'M FINANCIALLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. I DO FEEL VERY FORTUNATE THAT I WASN'T BURNED. I AM STILL LEERY OF DRIVING IT AFTER REPAIR THOUGH IN FEAR OF A GAS TANK EXPLOSION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/4/2014 - ATHENS, AL
APPROXIMATELY 2 YEARS AGO, THE ESC LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THE VEHICLE HAD NO ACCELERATION AND PULLING OUT INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC WOULD BE VERY SCARY TO SAY THE LEAST. IT WOULD BE VERY SLUGGISH AND NO ACCELERATION AND ONCOMING TRAFFIC WOULD COME UP ON YOU BEFORE YOU COULD GET IT GOING. I CARRIED IT TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED AND THEY SAID IT WAS A FAULTY ACCELERATOR AND REPLACED IT AT A COST OF 350 DOLLARS. IT HAS STARTED DOING IT AGAIN. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT AND DON'T HAVE 350 DOLLARS TO TRY AND FIX IT AGAIN. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT I HAVE FOUND TONS OF COMPLAINTS WITH THIS. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AND IT SHOULD NOT BE AT THE COST OF THE CONSUMER FOR A FAULTY PRODUCT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/22/2014 - KENNER, LA
AFTER REMOVING THE GEAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, THE ACCELERATION WILL NOT COMPLY, GOES LESS THAN 10 MPH WHILE PRESSING ON THE GAS. I STOPPED AND SWITCHED BACK TO PARK. TRIED THE DRIVE GEAR AGAIN, AND IT WAS STILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGING THE CHANGE, IT RESPONDS LIKE IT'S IN NEUTRAL. I PARKED FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE. AFTER 10 MINUTES I TRIED IT AGAIN AND IT WAS FINE. THIS HAS SINCE HAPPENED ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. AFTER THE FIRST INCIDENT I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED BY A MECHANIC, TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE, NO SIGN OF THE PROBLEM. PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED IN PUBLIC AREAS WHERE HELP MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE SHOULD THE GEARS NOT CORRECT THEMSELVES. THE PROBLEM USE TO OCCUR ONLY COMING OFF A SLANTED PARKING AREA LIKE A DRIVEWAY, BUT IT'S STARTED HAPPENING WHILE PARKED ON A LEVELED PARKING SPACE ALSO.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/21/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE ESC LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2014. WHEN THIS HAPPENS THERE IS VERY LITTLE ACCELERATION AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET TO THE SPEED LIMIT. THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS A CHIP THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND IT WOULD COST ABOUT $3,000. WE WERE ALSO TOLD IT WAS NOT A GUARANTEE IT WOULD STILL FIX THE ISSUE. WE WERE ALSO TOLD THAT THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE CAR TO GO FROM DRIVE FROM DRIVE TO PARK WHILE DRIVING. THIS ALONE IS A DANGER IN ITSELF CAUSING HARM TO US AND TO OTHERS IN TRAFFIC. WHEN THE LIGHT IS ON THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE AND TRYING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC IS DIFFICULT ESPECIALLY UP HILL. I TALKED TO KIA CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD TALK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE PERSON I TALKED TO WAS NOT VERY HELPFUL. IF THIS A CHIP ISSUE THEN IT SHOULD BE A RECALL OR AT LEAST SOMETHING THAT KIA SHOULD FIX. IT IS SOMETHING THAT IS OUT OF CONTROL OF THE OWNER. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN THE LIGHT IS OFF AND THE VEHICLE RUNS OK. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A SITUATION THAT SHOULD BE HANDLED WITH GREAT URGENCY BEFORE THERE IS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/21/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE ESC LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2014. WHEN THIS HAPPENS THERE IS VERY LITTLE ACCELERATION AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET TO THE SPEED LIMIT. THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS A CHIP THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND IT WOULD COST ABOUT $3,000. WE WERE ALSO TOLD IT WAS NOT A GUARANTEE IT WOULD STILL FIX THE ISSUE. WE WERE ALSO TOLD THAT THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE CAR TO GO FROM DRIVE FROM DRIVE TO PARK WHILE DRIVING. THIS ALONE IS A DANGER IN ITSELF CAUSING HARM TO US AND TO OTHERS IN TRAFFIC. WHEN THE LIGHT IS ON THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE AND TRYING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC IS DIFFICULT ESPECIALLY UP HILL. I TALKED TO KIA CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD TALK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE PERSON I TALKED TO WAS NOT VERY HELPFUL. IF THIS A CHIP ISSUE THEN IT SHOULD BE A RECALL OR AT LEAST SOMETHING THAT KIA SHOULD FIX. IT IS SOMETHING THAT IS OUT OF CONTROL OF THE OWNER. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN THE LIGHT IS OFF AND THE VEHICLE RUNS OK. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A SITUATION THAT SHOULD BE HANDLED WITH GREAT URGENCY BEFORE THERE IS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE SLOWLY DECELERATED TO 20 MPH. THE SERVICE ENGINE AND ESC SENSORS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2014 - DERIDDER, LA
AFTER BEING PARKED WITH VEHICLE OFF, TURNED VEHICLE ON AND VEHICLE WOULD ONLY ACCELERATE AT A VERY SLOW SPEED, MAYBE 5 MPH. TRIED TO SWITCH IT TO MANUAL SHIFT BUT IT WOULD NOT REGISTER. TURNED VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND IT WAS BACK TO NORMAL. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST THREE TIMES A MONTH SINCE AND HAS NOT DONE IT ONCE FOR THE DEALER TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. THEY ALWAYS ACT LIKE I AM INSANE AND DON'T KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT. VEHICLE IS NOW OVER 60,000 MILES AND THE DEALERS COULD CARE LESS ABOUT MY ISSUE. IT IS SO IMMENSELY FRUSTRATING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/11/2014 - EVERETT, WA
AUTO HAS A DASHBOARD ALERT WHEN SOMEONE SITS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE WARNING LIGHT GOES OUT AND THERE BY ARMING THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. IF THIS LIGHT DOESN'T GO OUT, THE AIRBAG SYSTEM ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WILL NOT ACTIVATE. I WENT TO THE KIA DEALER TO CONFIRM THIS IS WHAT WOULD HAPPEN. HE SAID IF THE LIGHT STAYS ON, THE SYSTEM WILL NOT ACTIVATE. HE STATED THAT IT WAS BECOMING A PROBLEM IN MY MODEL OF KIA. IT IS APPROXIMATELY $2,000.00 TO REPAIR. TO ME THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN WORTHY OF FURTHER ACTION BY YOUR AGENCY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds