Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2008 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 115 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (11) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/9/2015 - CARROLLTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS WITH THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPIED, THE PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SYSTEM FAILED AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - EULESS, TX
WE WERE DRIVING ON A BUSY FREEWAY ON THE WAY TO WORK, THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED GETTING STIFF SO WE SLOWED DOWN AND MOVED OVER TO THE FAR RIGHT. THE CAR DIED BUT WE WERE ABLE TO COAST OVER OUT OF TRAFFIC THOUGH THE BACK OF THE CAR WAS STILL NOT OUT ALL THE WAY DUE TO THE ANGLE. WE WERE NOT ABLE TO STEER AND STRAIGHTEN THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. WE CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO JUMP THE CAR. IT WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC. THE ENGINE WAS LOCKED. THE MECHANIC SAID A SCREW BROKE OFF. THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE CRANKSHAFT. I HAD TO GET A NEW ENGINE PUT IN AT THE COST OF JUST OVER $2400.

View Details

STEERING

2/25/2015 - EULESS, TX
WE WERE DRIVING ON A BUSY FREEWAY ON THE WAY TO WORK, THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED GETTING STIFF SO WE SLOWED DOWN AND MOVED OVER TO THE FAR RIGHT. THE CAR DIED BUT WE WERE ABLE TO COAST OVER OUT OF TRAFFIC THOUGH THE BACK OF THE CAR WAS STILL NOT OUT ALL THE WAY DUE TO THE ANGLE. WE WERE NOT ABLE TO STEER AND STRAIGHTEN THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. WE CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO JUMP THE CAR. IT WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC. THE ENGINE WAS LOCKED. THE MECHANIC SAID A SCREW BROKE OFF. THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE CRANKSHAFT. I HAD TO GET A NEW ENGINE PUT IN AT THE COST OF JUST OVER $2400.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/21/2015 - HOUSTON , TX
WAS DRIVING AT A 35 MPH SPEED WHEN I TRIED TO BREAK AND INSTEAD THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED CAUSING ME TO HIS THE VEHICLE I FRONT OF ME. IT WAS AT THE SHOP FOR REPAIR FOR A WEEK THE BREAKS WHERE CHECKED. 2 HOURS AFTER THE CAR WAS OUT THE SHOP I WAS TURNING WHEN INSTEAD OF BREAKING IT ACCELERATES AGAIN CAUSING THE VEH TO LOOSE CONTROL AND HIT THE CURB. I ONLY HAD THE SUB FOR 3 MONTHS AND NEARLY CAUSE ACCIDENTS 3 TIMES... ALSO ON THE HIGHWAY THE BREAKS WON'T WORK I HAVE TO PRESS ON THE BREAK PEDAL VERY HARD AND STILL TAKES A LONG TIME TO BREAK. THE VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE AT ALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/19/2014 - CALDWELL, ID
DIM LIGHTS BOTH QUIT AT THE SAME TIME IN EARLY MORNING (DARK) DRIVING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/2/2014 - SOMERSET, TX
FOR YEARS NOW I HAVE REPLACED LIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE REPLACED HEADLIGHTS AT LEAS15 TIMES AND BREAK LIGHTS ABOUT 20 TIMES. ON AT LEAST 5 OCCASIONS ALL LIGHTS BURNED OUT AT ONCE.. THE FUSES AND RELAYS HAVE NEVER BEEN BAD BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACE THE LIGHTS THEY WORK.SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE KNOWN MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG. I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/2/2014 - SOMERSET, TX
FOR YEARS NOW I HAVE REPLACED LIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE REPLACED HEADLIGHTS AT LEAS15 TIMES AND BREAK LIGHTS ABOUT 20 TIMES. ON AT LEAST 5 OCCASIONS ALL LIGHTS BURNED OUT AT ONCE.. THE FUSES AND RELAYS HAVE NEVER BEEN BAD BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACE THE LIGHTS THEY WORK.SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE KNOWN MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG. I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/2/2014 - SOMERSET, TX
FOR YEARS NOW I HAVE REPLACED LIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE REPLACED HEADLIGHTS AT LEAS15 TIMES AND BREAK LIGHTS ABOUT 20 TIMES. ON AT LEAST 5 OCCASIONS ALL LIGHTS BURNED OUT AT ONCE.. THE FUSES AND RELAYS HAVE NEVER BEEN BAD BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACE THE LIGHTS THEY WORK.SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE KNOWN MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG. I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH MY 2008 KIA, FIRST IT WAS THE FRONT ROTORS REPLACED THREE TIMES WITHIN 3 MOS. AFTER MULTIPLE DIAGNOSES TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS, I JUST PUT 800.00 IN NEW ROTORS AND TIRES AND FUEL/AIR INDUCTION SERVICES. THEN THE OTHER DAY DRIVING 45 MPH THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE, MAKING A THUD THUD THUD NOISE IN THE FRONT END, FELT LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE, I PULLED OVER, NO FLAT TIRES. I STARTED DRIVING AGAIN AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WORSE THAN THE FIRST TIME IT SOUNDED LIKE A HELICOPTER IN MY VEHICLE AND IT VIBRATED AND WHILE SLOWLY DRIVING IT FELT LIKE IT WAS GLIDING. I WAS AFRAID THE WHEELS WERE GOING TO FALL OFF, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IMMEDIATELY AND THEY CALLED ME LATER WITH THE DIAGNOSES OF A CARRIER BEARING COMING APART, THE CARRIER BEARINGS ARE NOT ABLE TO BE REPLACED ALONE, THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT HAS TO BE REPLACED AS IN THIS MODEL IT IS ALL ONE PIECE. TO REPLACE THE DRIVE SHAFT IT WILL COST $1100.00 TO REPLACE. I DECLINED THE REPAIRS I CAN NOT AFFORD THAT, ESPECIALLY AFTER ALL THE MONEY I HAVE HAD TO INVEST IN THIS VEHICLE JUST TO KEEP IT RUNNING. I FEEL KIA SHOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS, I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER KIA. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/18/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH MY 2008 KIA, FIRST IT WAS THE FRONT ROTORS REPLACED THREE TIMES WITHIN 3 MOS. AFTER MULTIPLE DIAGNOSES TO FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS, I JUST PUT 800.00 IN NEW ROTORS AND TIRES AND FUEL/AIR INDUCTION SERVICES. THEN THE OTHER DAY DRIVING 45 MPH THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE, MAKING A THUD THUD THUD NOISE IN THE FRONT END, FELT LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE, I PULLED OVER, NO FLAT TIRES. I STARTED DRIVING AGAIN AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WORSE THAN THE FIRST TIME IT SOUNDED LIKE A HELICOPTER IN MY VEHICLE AND IT VIBRATED AND WHILE SLOWLY DRIVING IT FELT LIKE IT WAS GLIDING. I WAS AFRAID THE WHEELS WERE GOING TO FALL OFF, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IMMEDIATELY AND THEY CALLED ME LATER WITH THE DIAGNOSES OF A CARRIER BEARING COMING APART, THE CARRIER BEARINGS ARE NOT ABLE TO BE REPLACED ALONE, THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT HAS TO BE REPLACED AS IN THIS MODEL IT IS ALL ONE PIECE. TO REPLACE THE DRIVE SHAFT IT WILL COST $1100.00 TO REPLACE. I DECLINED THE REPAIRS I CAN NOT AFFORD THAT, ESPECIALLY AFTER ALL THE MONEY I HAVE HAD TO INVEST IN THIS VEHICLE JUST TO KEEP IT RUNNING. I FEEL KIA SHOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS, I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER KIA. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME IN THIS MATTER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds