Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC SOLSTICE - 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (75) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (29) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (6) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/11/2017 - MALOTT, WA
TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING. THIS SPRING I TOOK MY CAR OUT OF STORAGE AND RECONNECTED THE BATTERY. I FIRST NOTICED THE REMOTE ENTRY FOBS NO LONGER WOULD LOCK OR UNLOCK THE DOORS. I STARTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THE TIRE PRESSURE INFORMATION WAS NOT AVAILABLE ON THE DASH ON 8/10/17, I TOOK MY SOLSTICE TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER IN OMAK WA TO HAVE THEM TROUBLESHOOT THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM. A QUICK REVIEW BY A TECHNICIAN TOLD ME THAT THE REMOTE ENTRY NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. AFTER PERSONAL RESEARCH I FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE TO THIS YEAR AND SEVERAL OTHER MODELS. GM WROTE A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN, 08-03-16-001B ON JULY 31, 2008, ACKNOWLEDGING THE ISSUE OF BAD FIRMWARE BUT HID THE INFORMATION FROM THEIR CUSTOMERS REGARDING THIS KEY SAFETY SYSTEM. IT IS MY CONTENTION THAT GM DID KNOWINGLY AND WILLINGLY SELL ME A VEHICLE WITH KNOWN A FAULTY SAFETY SYSTEM AND NOW REFUSES TO CORRECT THE ISSUE. I AM ASKING THE GM BE HELD REASONABLE FOR THEIR DECEPTIVE PRACTICE AND PROVIDE ALL REPAIRS REQUIRED TO CORRECT THE FAULTY SAFETY SYSTEM. I AM ALSO ASKING THAT I BE REIMBURSED FOR ALL TIME AND EXPENSES INCURRED DUE TO GMS NEGLIGENCE. I ALSO BELIEVE THAT DUE TO GMS DECEPTIVE PRACTICE OF HIDING KNOWN FAULTY SAFETY SYSTEMS FAULT SHOULD INCLUDE PUNITIVE DAMAGES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2017 - SANTA FE, NM
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V061000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (GARCIA BUICK GMC LOCATED AT 961 FOUR MILE RD, RICHMOND, KY 40475, NC 28269; (859) 624-1313) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED APPROXIMATELY TWO TIMES AT 800-620-7668, BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. CASE NUMBER: 8-3064846813 WAS PROVIDED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/8/2017 - JIGGER, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR DID NOT INDICATE A PASSENGER WAS PRESENT WHILE THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS SEATED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V061000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE SUNGO DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE CONTACT ALSO REFUSED TO PERFORM THE INTERIM REPAIR DUE TO THE DRIVER'S OCCUPANT NOT BEING OVER 150 LBS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE AND CONFIRMED WHAT THE DEALER STATED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2017 - LINDEN, MI
DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS RELATED TO TAKATA RECALL OR NOT. I WANT TO KNOW HOW SAFE AM I DRIVING A 9 YEAR OLD CAR WITH NO AIR BAGS WORKING. CANNOT GET IT FIXED BECAUSE DEALERS SAY THEY CANNOT GET THE PART FROM GM. MEANWHILE I FEEL I AM DRIVING AN UNSAFE CAR WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON AND A MESSAGE STATING CHECK AIRBAG SETTINGS. I ASSUME THIS WILL NOT GO AWAY UNTIL THE PROBLEM IS FIXED. I JUST HAVE TO HOPE THAT I DON'T HAVE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2017 - ST. HELENA, CA
CAR SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 17036 ISSUED MARCH 2017, UPDATED MAY 2017 CONCERNING POSSIBLE DEFECTIVE PASSENGER DETECTION SYSTEM/ MY CAR HAS DEFECT. NO KNOWN DATE FOR REPAIR GIVEN DESPITE MAY UPDATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/13/2017 - LAKELAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V061000 (AIR BAGS). THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AT 813-359-5000 AND CONFIRMED THAT PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 08/08/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/8/2017 - BEAR VALLEY SPRINGS, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V061000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE LOCAL DEALER (THREE-WAY CHEVROLET CADILLAC, 4501 WIBLE RD, BAKERSFIELD, CA 93313, (661) 283-3300) CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE CONTACT CALLED THE PONTIAC MANUFACTURER AT 800-620-7668 AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO CALL THE GM MANUFACTURER. THE GM MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 866-790-5700 EXT. 5921113 AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD CALL BACK WITHIN 24 HOURS. THE CONTACT DID NOT RECEIVE ANY CALLS FROM THE GM MANUFACTURER, BUT WAS PROVIDED WITH CASE NUMBER: 8-2982866994. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/30/2017 - COLUMBIA, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V061000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER (JIM HUDSON) ADVISED HER THAT THEY WOULD ONLY TIGHTEN A SCREW. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2017 - MAPLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V061000 (AIR BAGS). THE LOCAL DEALER WAS CALLED AND STATED THAT THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/15/2017 - VALRICO, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V061000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND THE CONTACT WAS PLACED ON HOLD FOR ABOUT 35 MINUTES. THE CONTACT TRIED CALLING THE MANUFACTURER BACK, BUT ONLY HEARD THE RECORDED MESSAGES. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds