Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC SOLSTICE - 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 103 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (29) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (5) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/16/2016 - MIDLAND, GA
THE INTERIOR TRUNK RELEASE DOES NOT COMPLY WITH 49 CFR 571.401 IN THAT IT IS NOT DESIGNED TO RELEASE ALL LATCHES FROM INSIDE THE TRUNK. THE BUTTRESS RELEASE CABLES(2) ARE CONNECTED TO A SOLENOID THAT MUST BE OPERATED ELECTRICALLY AND ARE NOT CONNECTED TO THE EMERGENCY RELEASE CABLE. IT IS ALSO A KNOWN COMMON FAILURE FOR THESE CABLES TO FAIL AND NOT RELEASE THE BUTTRESS FLAPS FROM THE EXTERIOR. MY CABLES HAVE FAILED SEVERAL TIMES AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE EMERGENCY RELEASE CABLE AND TRUNK RELEASE DESIGN DO NOT MEET THE SAFETY STANDARDS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/11/2016 - GLENDALE, CA
PASSENGER AIR BAG SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON AT 67K. THE CAR WAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN ANY ACCIDENT AND HAS NO DAMAGE. TOOK IT TO GM DEALER, THEY WANT $900 TO FIX THE FAULTY SENSOR WHAT IT SHOULD BE A MANUFACTURE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/19/2015 - SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA
I RECENTLY STARTED A RELATIONSHIP WHERE MY SIGNIFICANT OTHER HAS CHILDREN (ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO). I PREVIOUSLY DID NOT HAVE PASSENGERS VERY OFTEN. WHILE DRIVING WITH MY STEPCHILD AGE 12 IN THE PASSENGER SEAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM FAILED. WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 70MPH THE THERE WAS A CHIME FROM THE CAR AND THE DASH DISPLAY SAID 'SERVICE AIRBAG'. THE AIR DIC LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE PASSENGER AIRBAG ACTIVATION LIGHT SWITCHED TO OFF. IT TURNS OUT THAT THE SENSOR IN THE SEAT IS BAD. THIS CAUSES THE PASSENGER AIR BAG TO BE ALWAYS OFF, PUTTING ALL MY PASSENGERS AT RISK OR SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. MY CAR ONLY HAS 56K MILES ON IT, BUT A BRIEF SEARCH HAS SHOWN THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM FOR 2007 AND 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICES -- OFTEN WITH MILES IN MID TO HIGH TWENTIES. THE FAILURE RATE OF THIS CRITICAL SYSTEM AND THE FACT IT DEFAULTS TO ALWAYS OFF WITH NO BYPASS FOR SELECTION PRESENTS A SERIOUS CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY. THE COST OF DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR IS JUST SHORT OF $1000, WHICH MEANS THAT A CRITICAL SAFETY FEATURE OF THE CARE THAT FAILS REGULARLY WITH LOW MILES AND IN MY CASE VERY LOW USE OF THE PASSENGER SIDE UNTIL RECENTLY WILL COST A MUCH MORE THAN I CAN AFFORD IN ORDER TO KEEP MY FAMILY SAFE. I HAVE OWNED NUMEROUS VEHICLES WITH AIR BAG SYSTEMS AND NEVER HAD ANY ISSUES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/27/2015 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
THE VEHICLE WAS IN TO THE LOCAL GM DEALER FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE SERVICE ON 8/7/14. SHORTLY AFTER THAT, THE INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON SHOWING THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WAS INOPERATIVE, APPARENTLY DUE TO A FAILED PASSENGER PRESENCE SENSOR ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, AND WAS TOLD THE REPAIR WAS APPROXIMATELY $1,000. THE CAR HAD FEWER THAN 13,000 MILES OF USE OVER SIX YEARS. THERE IS NO EXCUSE FOR A MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT OF THE VEHICLE TO FAIL. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT THIS COMPONENT HAS BEEN RECALLED BY GM ON OTHER VEHICLES. WHY HAS IT NOT BEEN RECALLED FOR THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/27/2015 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
THE VEHICLE WAS IN TO THE LOCAL GM DEALER FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE SERVICE ON 8/7/14. SHORTLY AFTER THAT, THE INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON SHOWING THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WAS INOPERATIVE, APPARENTLY DUE TO A FAILED PASSENGER PRESENCE SENSOR ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, AND WAS TOLD THE REPAIR WAS APPROXIMATELY $1,000. THE CAR HAD FEWER THAN 13,000 MILES OF USE OVER SIX YEARS. THERE IS NO EXCUSE FOR A MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT OF THE VEHICLE TO FAIL. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT THIS COMPONENT HAS BEEN RECALLED BY GM ON OTHER VEHICLES. WHY HAS IT NOT BEEN RECALLED FOR THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/23/2015 - PITTSFIELD, MA
THE SOLSTICE MAINTENANCE LIGHT ON THE DASH COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY READING "ESC SERVICE". WITH THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND STAY ON WITHOUT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PUSHED. AFTER SHUTTING THE CAR OFF IT WOULD RESET ITSELF. NOW, AS SOON AS WE START THE CAR, THE BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON AND ARE STAYING ON WITHOUGHT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PUSHED AND THERE IS NO ESC SERVICE LIGHT INDICATION LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE BRAKE PEDAL IS HIGH AND HARD TO PRESS. IN ADDITION WE'VE EXPERIENCED DIFFICULTY SHUTTING OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL. ALL OF THESE SYMPTOMS ARE CALLED OUT ON A GM RECALL #13036 FOR OVER 2 MILLION VEHICLES BUT THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE IS NOT LISTED UNDER THE RECALL. IT APPEARS IT SHOULD BE. ALL OF THE PROBLEMS NOTED ON THIS RECALL ARE SYMPTOMATIC TO WHAT WE ARE EXPERIENCING WITH OUR CAR. THE CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE AT THIS POINT. IT'S NOTED ON THE RECALL THAT ANY OF THE ABOVE CONDITION INCREASES THE RISK OF A CRASH. WE CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS AND OPENED A CLAIM. WE ARE BEING TOLD THAT ANY REPAIRS / ADJUSTMENTS THAT ARE DONE WILL NEED TO COME OUT OF OUR POCKETS AS THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE IS NOT LISTED ON THIS RECALL. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSES EXPEDITIOUSLY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/23/2015 - PITTSFIELD, MA
THE SOLSTICE MAINTENANCE LIGHT ON THE DASH COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY READING "ESC SERVICE". WITH THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND STAY ON WITHOUT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PUSHED. AFTER SHUTTING THE CAR OFF IT WOULD RESET ITSELF. NOW, AS SOON AS WE START THE CAR, THE BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON AND ARE STAYING ON WITHOUGHT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PUSHED AND THERE IS NO ESC SERVICE LIGHT INDICATION LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE BRAKE PEDAL IS HIGH AND HARD TO PRESS. IN ADDITION WE'VE EXPERIENCED DIFFICULTY SHUTTING OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL. ALL OF THESE SYMPTOMS ARE CALLED OUT ON A GM RECALL #13036 FOR OVER 2 MILLION VEHICLES BUT THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE IS NOT LISTED UNDER THE RECALL. IT APPEARS IT SHOULD BE. ALL OF THE PROBLEMS NOTED ON THIS RECALL ARE SYMPTOMATIC TO WHAT WE ARE EXPERIENCING WITH OUR CAR. THE CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE AT THIS POINT. IT'S NOTED ON THE RECALL THAT ANY OF THE ABOVE CONDITION INCREASES THE RISK OF A CRASH. WE CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS AND OPENED A CLAIM. WE ARE BEING TOLD THAT ANY REPAIRS / ADJUSTMENTS THAT ARE DONE WILL NEED TO COME OUT OF OUR POCKETS AS THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE IS NOT LISTED ON THIS RECALL. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSES EXPEDITIOUSLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/23/2015 - PITTSFIELD, MA
THE SOLSTICE MAINTENANCE LIGHT ON THE DASH COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY READING "ESC SERVICE". WITH THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND STAY ON WITHOUT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PUSHED. AFTER SHUTTING THE CAR OFF IT WOULD RESET ITSELF. NOW, AS SOON AS WE START THE CAR, THE BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON AND ARE STAYING ON WITHOUGHT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PUSHED AND THERE IS NO ESC SERVICE LIGHT INDICATION LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE BRAKE PEDAL IS HIGH AND HARD TO PRESS. IN ADDITION WE'VE EXPERIENCED DIFFICULTY SHUTTING OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL. ALL OF THESE SYMPTOMS ARE CALLED OUT ON A GM RECALL #13036 FOR OVER 2 MILLION VEHICLES BUT THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE IS NOT LISTED UNDER THE RECALL. IT APPEARS IT SHOULD BE. ALL OF THE PROBLEMS NOTED ON THIS RECALL ARE SYMPTOMATIC TO WHAT WE ARE EXPERIENCING WITH OUR CAR. THE CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE AT THIS POINT. IT'S NOTED ON THE RECALL THAT ANY OF THE ABOVE CONDITION INCREASES THE RISK OF A CRASH. WE CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS AND OPENED A CLAIM. WE ARE BEING TOLD THAT ANY REPAIRS / ADJUSTMENTS THAT ARE DONE WILL NEED TO COME OUT OF OUR POCKETS AS THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE IS NOT LISTED ON THIS RECALL. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSES EXPEDITIOUSLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/19/2015 - NORTH BAY VILLAGE, FL
PASSENGER AIRBAG SENSORS FAILED AT 50,000 MILES

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
THE AIRBAG SENSOR UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT IS MALFUNCTIONING. "SERVICE AIR BAG" LIGHT IS COMMING ON IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM FOR THESE CARS AND HAPPENS BETWEEN 20K AND 50K MILES ON CAR WHICH IS UNACCEPTABLE. AND EXTREMELY UNSAFE FOR A PASSENGER IN A CONVERTIBLE. THIS REPAIR CAN COST UP TO $800. ON TOP OF THAT THERE ARE MANY DOCUMENTED CASES WHERE THE NEW SENSOR FAILED WITHIN A YEAR OR TWO OF BEING INSTALLED. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALLED PART. PEOPLE SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PUT IN HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS EVERY FEW YEARS JUST TO MAKE SURE THEIR LIVES ONES ARE SAFE!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds