Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC SOLSTICE - 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (13) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Seats (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (29) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine (5) Power Train (2) Service Brakes (4) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/26/2014 - WHITTIER, CA
PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG SENSOR FAILED ON VEHICLE OUT OF NOWHERE. I DO NOT CARRY PASSENGERS IN MY CAR YET THE SENSOR FAILED ON ME. I AM NOT THE FIRST TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND IT ACTUALLY SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM IN PONTIAC SOLSTICE'S AND IT'S SIMPLY DISHEARTENING TO SEE IT. HTTP://WWW.SOLSTICEFORUM.COM/FORUM/F12/PANSSENGER-AIRBAG-SENSOR-75353/ LOOK HOW FAR SOME OF US HAVE GONE TO ATTEMPT TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. FROM WHAT WE'VE DISCOVERED THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT CANNOT BE REPAIRED AND INSTEAD FORCES US TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE SEAT CUSHION OUT OF POCKET. TO MAKE MATTERS WORST THE POINT OF FAILURE SEEMS TO LIE WITH GM. A DEFECTIVE SENSOR DESIGN HAS CAUSED A VERY LARGE AMOUNT OF SOLSTICE OWNERS TO HAVE ISSUES. I DON'T THINK IT'S ACCEPTABLE TO MAKE US PAY UPWARDS OF $800 FOR REPAIRS ON SOMETHING THAT IS A COMMON FAILURE ON SO MANY OF THESE BEAUTIFUL CARS.

View Details

SEATS

11/26/2014 - WHITTIER, CA
PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG SENSOR FAILED ON VEHICLE OUT OF NOWHERE. I DO NOT CARRY PASSENGERS IN MY CAR YET THE SENSOR FAILED ON ME. I AM NOT THE FIRST TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND IT ACTUALLY SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM IN PONTIAC SOLSTICE'S AND IT'S SIMPLY DISHEARTENING TO SEE IT. HTTP://WWW.SOLSTICEFORUM.COM/FORUM/F12/PANSSENGER-AIRBAG-SENSOR-75353/ LOOK HOW FAR SOME OF US HAVE GONE TO ATTEMPT TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. FROM WHAT WE'VE DISCOVERED THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT CANNOT BE REPAIRED AND INSTEAD FORCES US TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE SEAT CUSHION OUT OF POCKET. TO MAKE MATTERS WORST THE POINT OF FAILURE SEEMS TO LIE WITH GM. A DEFECTIVE SENSOR DESIGN HAS CAUSED A VERY LARGE AMOUNT OF SOLSTICE OWNERS TO HAVE ISSUES. I DON'T THINK IT'S ACCEPTABLE TO MAKE US PAY UPWARDS OF $800 FOR REPAIRS ON SOMETHING THAT IS A COMMON FAILURE ON SO MANY OF THESE BEAUTIFUL CARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/23/2014 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
PASSENGER AIRBAG SENSORS FAILED AT 50,000 MILES, OUTSIDE OF WARRANTY TIME LIMIT. AS A SAFETY ISSUE, THIS IS SOMETHING THAT GM NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE IN GOOD FAITH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/20/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON. DEALER RECOMMENDED REPLACING PASSENGER PRESENT SENSOR WHICH DETECTS THE WEIGHT OF A PASSENGER TO TURN THE AIRBAG ON OR OFF. THE COST WAS $885. I CAN'T AFFORD TO FIX IT, SO I AM RIDING AROUND WITH NONOPERATIONAL AIRBAGS WITH A CAR WITH ONLY 34K. BASED ON PONTIAC SOLSTICE FORUMS, THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH PONTIAC SOLSTICE, BUT NO RECALL TO FIX THIS OBVIOUS SAFETY FLAW. I WOULD BE GLAD TO SEND YOU A COPY OF THE DEALER INVOICE WITH THE ERROR CODES FROM 11/14/14.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/11/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
GOT IN ONE DAY AND THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT CAME ON. NOW IT COMES ON AND DINGS AT ME EVERY DAY AND UNTIL I GET THIS FIXED, DO NOT FEEL COMFORTABLE DRIVING MY SON TO SCHOOL..

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2014 - WINSLOW, ME
GIRLFRIEND SAT IN PASSENGER SEAT AND A "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAM ON MY INFO SCREEN. TURNED OFF AFTER A FEW SECONDS THEN TURNED BACK ON AND HAS BEEN ON SINCE.

View Details

SEATS

11/4/2014 - WINSLOW, ME
GIRLFRIEND SAT IN PASSENGER SEAT AND A "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAM ON MY INFO SCREEN. TURNED OFF AFTER A FEW SECONDS THEN TURNED BACK ON AND HAS BEEN ON SINCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2014 - WINSLOW, ME
GIRLFRIEND SAT IN PASSENGER SEAT AND A "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAM ON MY INFO SCREEN. TURNED OFF AFTER A FEW SECONDS THEN TURNED BACK ON AND HAS BEEN ON SINCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/3/2014 - BROOKFIELD, IL
AFTER A HARD BRAKE ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CAR STOPPED FINE WITH THE ABS BRAKES KICKING IN AS NEEDED. HOWEVER, AFTER THE CAR CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP, WE STARTED TO MOVE FORWARD, AND THE BRAKES WOULD NO LONGER FUNCTION PROPERLY. AS IT CAME TIME TO STOP AGAIN, I PRESSED THE BRAKE TO THE FLOOR, AND NOTHING HAPPENED. I THEN PROCEEDED TO ATTEMPT TO PUMP THE BRAKES, BUT BY THAT TIME, I WAS RIGHT UP ON THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, AND I REAR ENDED THAT VEHICLE RESULTING IN DAMAGE TO BOTH THAT CAR AND MINE. GIVEN THAT I ALWAYS HAD ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES NOT SEEMING TO FUNCTION PROPERLY AFTER THE CAR SAT OVERNIGHT OR FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME, I AM UNFORTUNATELY NOT SURPRISED THAT THIS HAPPENED. THE CAR SAT ALL DAY WHILE I WAS AT WORK ON A RELATIVELY COLD DAY FOR ME TO HAVE IT ON THE ROAD, AND I HADN'T USED THE BRAKES SINCE THE MORNING. JUST RECENTLY, THE ABS LIGHT HAD COME ON IN THE CAR, BUT AFTER TAKING THE CAR TO THE DEALER, I WAS TOLD THAT THE ISSUE WAS SOMEHOW RELATED TO THE BATTERY (WHICH I SUBSEQUENTLY REPLACED) AND THAT THERE WASN'T ANYTHING ACTUALLY WRONG WITH THE BRAKES, BUT NOW I AM THINKING THAT WAS NOT THE CASE. I OWN A 2008 PONTIAC SOLSTICE GXP AND HAVE HAD THE CAR FOR ABOUT 3 YEARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/1/2014 - HUMBLE, TX
THE "SERVICE AIR BAG" INDICATOR IN THE DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER CAME ON DURING THE NORMAL COURSE OF DRIVING AND HAS REMAINED ON CONSTANTLY SINCE THAT TIME, APPROXIMATELY 1 - 1.5 YRS. THIS WAS NOT RELATED TO ANY ACCIDENT. DIAGNOSIS USING ON OBD SCAN TOOL WAS COMPLETED BY A REPUTABLE LOCAL MECHANIC, WHO INDICATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT SENSOR IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS APPEARS TO BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN SINCE, AT A MINIMUM, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG HAS BEEN COMPROMISED AND MAY NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH DUE TO THIS FAULTY SEAT SENSOR. FURTHER RESEARCH COMPLETED BY MYSELF INDICATES THIS FAULTY PASSENGER SEAT SENSOR MAY BE A COMMON PROBLEM IN THE PONTIAC SOLSTICE AND SATURN SKY. THIS IS A RELATIVELY EXPENSIVE REPAIR ($800+) BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, AND THE ASSOCIATED REPAIR COSTS SHOULD NOT BE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE CONSUMER TO CORRECT THIS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds