Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUZUKI SX4 - 2008 SUZUKI SX4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Suzuki Motor of America, Inc.

There are 84 complaints filed for the 2008 SUZUKI SX4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 SUZUKI SX4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 SUZUKI SX4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (63) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (10) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/4/2011 - BAYAMON, PR
I OWN A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. A FEW TIMES THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT HAS TURNED ON. THE PROBLEM USUALLY IS SOLVED BY UNLOCKING AND REFASTENING THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT. MORE RECENTLY, (ACTUALLY LAST WEEK) THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT TURNED ON AND HAS STAYED ON EVER SINCE. THIS IS NOT AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM LIKE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WARNING. I HAVE SEEN A LOT OF OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES, (YEARS 2007 TO 2009) COMPLAINING IN THE NET ABOUT THIS LIFE-THREATENING PROBLEM . MOST OF THEM REFER TO THE B1061 AND /OR B1312 CODES AND THEIR VEHICLES ARE OUT OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD ALREADY. THIS LEADS ME TO THINK THAT WE ARE TALKING ABOUT A DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING FLAW IN THESE VEHICLES AND SHOULD BE PROPERLY ADDRESSED BY A RECALL CAMPAIGN BY THE MANUFACTURER AND/OR ITS REPRESENTATIVES IN THIS COUNTRY. I UNDERSTAND THESE CODES AND WARNING LIGHTS PREVENT THE AIR BAGS FROM BEING DEPLOYED DURING AN ACCIDENT AND THE COST OF REPLACING THE SEAT WITH THE SENSOR CAN RUN UP TO $2,000 PER SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/2/2011 - ARVADA, CO
AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND TOOK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DIAGNOSTIC CODE IS B1312 - OCCUPANCY MAT PERFORMANCE DUE TO OPEN IN OCM. BASICALLY THERE WAS A SHORT IN THE AIRBAG CONTROLLER THAT IS BUILT INTO THE PASSENGER SEAT RENDERING ALL OF THE AIRBAGS NON FUNCTIONAL. COST FOR REPLACEMENT WAS QUOTED AT $1500 FOR THE PART PLUS $300-$500 LABOR. THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH SUZUKI IF YOU LOOK ONLINE YET THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALLS AND IT'S NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AFTER 30,000 MILES. SO THE REPAIR COST COULD BE UP TO $2000 FOR A PART THAT IS FAILING LEFT AND RIGHT ON SUZUKI OWNERS RENDERING THE COMPLETE AIRBAG SYSTEM WORTHLESS SO BASICALLY TWO OPTIONS, EITHER PAY THE $2000 OR DRIVE A CAR THAT COULD BE DEADLY IN A CRASH. I CAN'T BELIEVE THAT SUZUKI CORPORATION IS OK WITH THIS?

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/9/2011 - WARWICK, NY
I OWN A 2008 SUZUKI SX-4 CROSSOVER. THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON, SO I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY SUZUKI DEALER TO HAVE THE PROBLEM DIAGNOSED. THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT THE PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE DEFECT WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THE COST OF REPLACEMENT WAS ESTIMATED TO BE $1,125 FOR A NEW SEAT CUSHION AND $250 FOR LABOR. THE DEALER DID NOT KNOW IF THIS WOULD AFFECT THE AIR BAG IN AN ACCIDENT. DUE TO THE COST, I COULD NOT HAVE THE SEAT CUSHION REPLACED AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINS ON. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE SX-4. THERE IS NO WAY THAT THE SEAT WAS DAMAGED IN NORMAL USE AND IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. IT SEEMS THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM AND THE CAR SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR REPAIR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/8/2011 - CEDAR BLUFF, AL
THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON CONSTANTLY, I WENT TO THE SUZUKI DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THERE WERE FAULTY AIRBAG SENSORS IN THE SEAT AND THE ENTIRE SEAT WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AT MY COST OF APPROXIMATELY $2000, THAT THE AIRBAGS WOULD NOT WORK WITHOUT THE SEAT BEING REPLACED AND NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT WAS A SAFETY ISSUE. I AM A SINGLE MOM, SCHOOL TEACHER AND BOUGHT THE VEHICLE EXPECTING RELIABLE TRANSPORTATION. I HAVE TO DRIVE IT OR LOOSE MY JOB AND DO NOT HAVE $2000 TO FIX IT. AFTER I RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE. THERE NEEDS TO BE A SAFETY RECALL AT THE MANUFACTURERS EXPENSE.

View Details

STEERING

11/4/2011 - ELLENBURGH DEPOT, NY
I PURCHASED MY SUZUKI SX4 IN APRIL 2008, FROM A DEALER HERE IN PLATTSBURGH NY, THE CAR SEEMED TO BE WELL MADE FOR THE PRICE, AND THE CAR HAD A DECENT SAFETY RATING, HAD GOOD GAS MILEAGE AND WAS AWD. SEEMED LIKE EVERYTHING WE NEEDED IN A CAR. THE DEALER SOLD A GOOD STORY. I WISH I WOULD HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON SUZUKI BEFORE I MADE THIS PURCHASE. AFTER COMPLETING THE PAPER WORK I DROVE THE CAR HOME WITH A SMILE, THIS WAS THE FIRST BRAND NEW CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED AND WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO DRIVING IT. I PARKED THE CAR THAT NIGHT WITH 30 MILES ON IT. THE NEXT MORNING I WOKE UP TO FIND MY MIRRORS HAD SHORTED AND CAUSED THEM TO SPLIT. I CALLED THE DEALER FIRST THING IN THE MORNING AND THEY SAID TO DROP IT OFF AND THEY WOULD FIX IT NO PROBLEM. THE CAR DROVE WELL FOR ALL OF 2008 AND 2009 BUT THEN IN 2010 WHEN I WENT TO GET THE CAR INSPECTED I WAS INFORMED THAT THE WHEEL BARRING IN THE DRIVER SIDE REAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND BECAUSE THE WHEEL BARRING HAD WENT IT CAUSED ONE TIRE TO WEAR MORE THAN THE OTHER, SO MY TIRES WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. I ENDED UP PAYING FOR 2 REAR TIRES AND THEY FIXED THE WHEEL BARING. THE BEARING HAD TO BE ORDER SO I WAS OUT A CAR FOR 2 DAYS. THEN NOT 2 WEEKS LATER WE START TO HEAR A REALLY WIRED NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE CAR, SO I BRING IT BACK IN AND IT TURNS OUT THAT THE CV JOINT HAD FALLEN APART. SO THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEN ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATTER I START HEARING A REALLY WIRED CLANKING NOISE IN THE CENTER OF THE CAR SO I BRING IN BACK IN AND IT TURNS OUT THAT THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THINGS SEEMED TO BE GOING GOOD UNTIL I JUST RECENTLY HAD TO GET THE CAR INSPECTED AGAIN? GUESS WHAT IT NEEDS A NEW WHEEL BEARING AND A TIE ROD. THEY WILL REPLACE THE WHEEL BEARING AT NO COST BUT THEY WANT 300.00 TO REPLACE THE TIE ROD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2011 - ELLENBURGH DEPOT, NY
I PURCHASED MY SUZUKI SX4 IN APRIL 2008, FROM A DEALER HERE IN PLATTSBURGH NY, THE CAR SEEMED TO BE WELL MADE FOR THE PRICE, AND THE CAR HAD A DECENT SAFETY RATING, HAD GOOD GAS MILEAGE AND WAS AWD. SEEMED LIKE EVERYTHING WE NEEDED IN A CAR. THE DEALER SOLD A GOOD STORY. I WISH I WOULD HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON SUZUKI BEFORE I MADE THIS PURCHASE. AFTER COMPLETING THE PAPER WORK I DROVE THE CAR HOME WITH A SMILE, THIS WAS THE FIRST BRAND NEW CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED AND WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO DRIVING IT. I PARKED THE CAR THAT NIGHT WITH 30 MILES ON IT. THE NEXT MORNING I WOKE UP TO FIND MY MIRRORS HAD SHORTED AND CAUSED THEM TO SPLIT. I CALLED THE DEALER FIRST THING IN THE MORNING AND THEY SAID TO DROP IT OFF AND THEY WOULD FIX IT NO PROBLEM. THE CAR DROVE WELL FOR ALL OF 2008 AND 2009 BUT THEN IN 2010 WHEN I WENT TO GET THE CAR INSPECTED I WAS INFORMED THAT THE WHEEL BARRING IN THE DRIVER SIDE REAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND BECAUSE THE WHEEL BARRING HAD WENT IT CAUSED ONE TIRE TO WEAR MORE THAN THE OTHER, SO MY TIRES WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. I ENDED UP PAYING FOR 2 REAR TIRES AND THEY FIXED THE WHEEL BARING. THE BEARING HAD TO BE ORDER SO I WAS OUT A CAR FOR 2 DAYS. THEN NOT 2 WEEKS LATER WE START TO HEAR A REALLY WIRED NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE CAR, SO I BRING IT BACK IN AND IT TURNS OUT THAT THE CV JOINT HAD FALLEN APART. SO THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEN ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATTER I START HEARING A REALLY WIRED CLANKING NOISE IN THE CENTER OF THE CAR SO I BRING IN BACK IN AND IT TURNS OUT THAT THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THINGS SEEMED TO BE GOING GOOD UNTIL I JUST RECENTLY HAD TO GET THE CAR INSPECTED AGAIN? GUESS WHAT IT NEEDS A NEW WHEEL BEARING AND A TIE ROD. THEY WILL REPLACE THE WHEEL BEARING AT NO COST BUT THEY WANT 300.00 TO REPLACE THE TIE ROD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/28/2011 - WALTON, NY
COPIED THIS FROM THIS SITE"THE ECU ALSO PERFORMS REGULAR DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. IF THE ECU IDENTIFIES A PROBLEM, THE AIR BAG READINESS (WARNING) LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." PART OF THE REQUIRED SAFETY FEATURES REQUIRED ON MOST NEW VEHICLES IS WHAT WAS STATED. CORRECTED THE MILEAGE FROM PREVIOUS COMPLAINT.... MY 2008 SUZUKI SX4 SHOWS THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON ALONG WITH THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT LIGHT ON(EVEN WHEN OCCUPIED) ACCORDING TO THE ABOVE STATEMENT "WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." SO HERE I AM. I FOLLOWED UP WITH A VISIT TO SUZUKI DEALER AND $45 LATER THEY TOLD ME EXACTLY WHAT WAS STATED ON SITES CODE B1312 AND THAT I NEED A NEW PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION, THAT THE SENSOR WAS NOT WORKING. THEN THEY HIT ME WITH A COST OF $1009.82 + TAX TO REPLACE A CUSHION...MIND YOU A PART THAT IS MANDATED TO BE ON VEHICLE AND WORKING. THIS IS OBSCENE AND I REFUSED THEN THEY OFFERED TO CUT IT IN HALF $600 +...WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING FOR A OBVIOUS DEFECT IN THEIR SYSTEM AS INDICATED BY OTHER ENTRIES ON HERE AND OTHER SITES PERTAINING TO THE SAME PROBLEM. IS EVERYONE WAITING FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT. ALSO THEY COULD NOT TELL ME IF ALL WAS DISABLED, PART DISABLED OR NONE WERE DISABLED. ACTION IS DEFINITELY NEEDED BY SOMEONE OR SOME AGENCY TO STEP IN AND ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2011 - WALTON, NY
COPIED THIS FROM THIS SITE"THE ECU ALSO PERFORMS REGULAR DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. IF THE ECU IDENTIFIES A PROBLEM, THE AIR BAG READINESS (WARNING) LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." PART OF THE REQUIRED SAFETY FEATURES REQUIRED ON MOST NEW VEHICLES IS WHAT WAS STATED. CORRECTED THE MILEAGE FROM PREVIOUS COMPLAINT.... MY 2008 SUZUKI SX4 SHOWS THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON ALONG WITH THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT LIGHT ON(EVEN WHEN OCCUPIED) ACCORDING TO THE ABOVE STATEMENT "WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." SO HERE I AM. I FOLLOWED UP WITH A VISIT TO SUZUKI DEALER AND $45 LATER THEY TOLD ME EXACTLY WHAT WAS STATED ON SITES CODE B1312 AND THAT I NEED A NEW PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION, THAT THE SENSOR WAS NOT WORKING. THEN THEY HIT ME WITH A COST OF $1009.82 + TAX TO REPLACE A CUSHION...MIND YOU A PART THAT IS MANDATED TO BE ON VEHICLE AND WORKING. THIS IS OBSCENE AND I REFUSED THEN THEY OFFERED TO CUT IT IN HALF $600 +...WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING FOR A OBVIOUS DEFECT IN THEIR SYSTEM AS INDICATED BY OTHER ENTRIES ON HERE AND OTHER SITES PERTAINING TO THE SAME PROBLEM. IS EVERYONE WAITING FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT. ALSO THEY COULD NOT TELL ME IF ALL WAS DISABLED, PART DISABLED OR NONE WERE DISABLED. ACTION IS DEFINITELY NEEDED BY SOMEONE OR SOME AGENCY TO STEP IN AND ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/28/2011 - WALTON, NY
COPIED THIS FROM THIS SITE"THE ECU ALSO PERFORMS REGULAR DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. IF THE ECU IDENTIFIES A PROBLEM, THE AIR BAG READINESS (WARNING) LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." PART OF THE REQUIRED SAFETY FEATURES REQUIRED ON MOST NEW VEHICLES IS WHAT WAS STATED. CORRECTED THE MILEAGE FROM PREVIOUS COMPLAINT.... MY 2008 SUZUKI SX4 SHOWS THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON ALONG WITH THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT LIGHT ON(EVEN WHEN OCCUPIED) ACCORDING TO THE ABOVE STATEMENT "WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." SO HERE I AM. I FOLLOWED UP WITH A VISIT TO SUZUKI DEALER AND $45 LATER THEY TOLD ME EXACTLY WHAT WAS STATED ON SITES CODE B1312 AND THAT I NEED A NEW PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION, THAT THE SENSOR WAS NOT WORKING. THEN THEY HIT ME WITH A COST OF $1009.82 + TAX TO REPLACE A CUSHION...MIND YOU A PART THAT IS MANDATED TO BE ON VEHICLE AND WORKING. THIS IS OBSCENE AND I REFUSED THEN THEY OFFERED TO CUT IT IN HALF $600 +...WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING FOR A OBVIOUS DEFECT IN THEIR SYSTEM AS INDICATED BY OTHER ENTRIES ON HERE AND OTHER SITES PERTAINING TO THE SAME PROBLEM. IS EVERYONE WAITING FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT. ALSO THEY COULD NOT TELL ME IF ALL WAS DISABLED, PART DISABLED OR NONE WERE DISABLED. ACTION IS DEFINITELY NEEDED BY SOMEONE OR SOME AGENCY TO STEP IN AND ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY

9/12/2011 - SENECA, SC
REAR WINDOW WIPER FAILURE, DOES NOT WORK. PASSENGER AIR BAG NONE FUNCTIONING, LIGHT COMES ON DASH INDICATING PASSENGER AIR BAG IS OFF! REMOTE TRUNK ENTRY FAILURE, REMOTE LATCH IS NOT FUNCTIONING AND THERE IS NO KEY ENTRY LOCK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds