Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUZUKI SX4 - 2008 SUZUKI SX4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Suzuki Motor of America, Inc.

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2008 SUZUKI SX4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 SUZUKI SX4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 SUZUKI SX4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (70) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (10) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (5) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/3/2012 - DAVENPORT, IA
MY WIFE AND I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED AND AS-IS FROM A DEALER. WE HAD IT JUST 3 DAYS WHEN I NOTICED THE AIRBAG MALFUNCTION LIGHT IS ON. NOW I'M CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAGS AREN'T FUNCTIONING. THIS IS A RECURRENT PROBLEM, AND I'M SURE MANY HAVE GONE UNREPORTED. JUST ON THIS SITE ALONE, AIRBAG PROBLEMS ARE A LARGE PERCENTAGE OF THE COMPLAINTS MADE. WHEN I COUNT THE PROBLEMS AND ELIMINATE THE DUPLICATES, THERE ARE 44 ACTUAL PROBLEMS LISTED. 33 OF THOSE PROBLEMS ARE AIRBAG PROBLEMS, AND 3 WERE ACCIDENTS IN WHICH AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY. THAT MEANS THAT 36/44 PROBLEMS - 82% - INVOLVE AIRBAGS IN SOME WAY. HOW MANY MORE HAVE TO BE POSTED BEFORE THIS GETS INVESTIGATED AND A RECALL FORCED OR ISSUED??? COUNTING THIS COMPLAINT, IT'S 37/45 WITH AIRBAG PROBLEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/2/2012 - SHELTON, CT
THE "PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT OFF" WARNING LIGHT CAME ON WHILE WE WERE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET EVEN THOUGHT A 170LB PASSENGER WAS SITTING IN THE PASSENGER SEAT, WEARING A SEAT BELT. WE WERE NEAR THE AUTHORIZED SUZUKI DEALER IN MILFORD, CT WHERE WE BOUGHT THE CAR A FEW WEEKS EARLIER, SO I STOPPED IN AND INFORMED THE SALES MANAGER. HE SAID TO SHOW THE SERVICE DEPT. THERE WAS NO ONE IN SERVICE THAT HAD TIME TO SEE THE LIGHT ON SO I BROUGHT IT IN FOR SERVICE APPT. THEY SAID THERE WAS NO CODE WHEN THEY SCANNED THE CAR. WE DON'T KNOW IF THIS PROBLEM IS RELATED TO THE STATIC IN THE AM RADIO WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS OR AWD LOCK IS TURNED ON OR WHEN THE GPS OR PHONE IS PLUGGED IN BUT I AM TOLD THIS IS NOT AN ELECTRICAL LEMON. I RODE IN ANOTHER SX4 AND THERE WAS NO STATIC IN THE AM RADIO. THE NEXT TIME THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, WE TOOK PICTURES AND SENT THEM TO THE FINANCE REP. WE ALSO HAVE A VIDEO OF THE LIGHT ON AND HAVE SINCE FOUND COMPLAINTS OF THIS PROBLEM IN THE SUZUKI FORUM. PERHAPS ITS TIME FOR A RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS INJURED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/24/2012 - SAN JUAN, PR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. WHILE PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE AIR BAG AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WHERE THE TECHNICIANS STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT CUSHION WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE REPAIR THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/23/2012 - UNION CITY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE AND ACCELERATOR PEDALS WERE TOO CLOSE TO EACH OTHER, WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO ENGAGE BOTH PEDALS SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 37,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/18/2012 - KALAMAZOO, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 65 MPH WHEN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FUEL LEVEL GAUGE FAILED TO PROVIDE AN ACCURATE READING OF THE AMOUNT OF FUEL IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ONLY TO ADDRESS THE ILLUMINATION OF THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63,098.

View Details

WHEELS

1/18/2012 - KALAMAZOO, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 65 MPH WHEN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FUEL LEVEL GAUGE FAILED TO PROVIDE AN ACCURATE READING OF THE AMOUNT OF FUEL IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ONLY TO ADDRESS THE ILLUMINATION OF THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63,098.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/18/2012 - KALAMAZOO, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 65 MPH WHEN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FUEL LEVEL GAUGE FAILED TO PROVIDE AN ACCURATE READING OF THE AMOUNT OF FUEL IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ONLY TO ADDRESS THE ILLUMINATION OF THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63,098.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2012 - WICHITA , KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER ENGINE STARTUP, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 67,123.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/30/2011 - WEST BRANCH, IA
PASSENGER SIDE SEAT AIRBAG SAFETY SWITCH FAILED. THIS DISABLES ALL AIRBAGS IN THE VEHICLE WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT IS NOT A FAIL SAFE DESIGN. IF THIS SWITCH FAILS, AIR BAGS SHOULD REMAIN ENABLED. CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. YOU CAN REPLACE THIS SEAT SWITCH FOR $1,400 DOLLARS. SUZUKI WILL NOT REPLACE THIS SWITCH EVEN THOUGH IT RENDERS THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. MOST CUSTOMERS DO NOT REALIZE THEY HAVE NO AIR BAG PROTECTION. SUZUKI IS AT GREAT LIABILITY DUE TO POOR DESIGN. THIS NEEDS TO BE A SAFETY RECALL ITEM. MANY COMPLAINTS ARE ON FILE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/14/2011 - VALPARAISO, FL
PASSENGER AIRBAG LITE STAYS ON AND THE AIRBAG INDICATOR SYMBOL ON THE SPEEDOMETER REMAINS ON. WE WERE TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT THE AIR BAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY WITH THESE INDICATIONS. THE PROBLEM WAS CODED WITH A 10 DRIVEABILITY AND SAID IT WOULD BE $1100 FOR A NEW PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE REPAIRED BY SUZUKI. FAILURE AT 40,000 MILES IS NOT ACCEPTABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds