Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUZUKI SX4 - 2008 SUZUKI SX4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Suzuki Motor of America, Inc.

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2008 SUZUKI SX4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 SUZUKI SX4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 SUZUKI SX4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (9) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2011 - ELLENBURGH DEPOT, NY
I PURCHASED MY SUZUKI SX4 IN APRIL 2008, FROM A DEALER HERE IN PLATTSBURGH NY, THE CAR SEEMED TO BE WELL MADE FOR THE PRICE, AND THE CAR HAD A DECENT SAFETY RATING, HAD GOOD GAS MILEAGE AND WAS AWD. SEEMED LIKE EVERYTHING WE NEEDED IN A CAR. THE DEALER SOLD A GOOD STORY. I WISH I WOULD HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON SUZUKI BEFORE I MADE THIS PURCHASE. AFTER COMPLETING THE PAPER WORK I DROVE THE CAR HOME WITH A SMILE, THIS WAS THE FIRST BRAND NEW CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED AND WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO DRIVING IT. I PARKED THE CAR THAT NIGHT WITH 30 MILES ON IT. THE NEXT MORNING I WOKE UP TO FIND MY MIRRORS HAD SHORTED AND CAUSED THEM TO SPLIT. I CALLED THE DEALER FIRST THING IN THE MORNING AND THEY SAID TO DROP IT OFF AND THEY WOULD FIX IT NO PROBLEM. THE CAR DROVE WELL FOR ALL OF 2008 AND 2009 BUT THEN IN 2010 WHEN I WENT TO GET THE CAR INSPECTED I WAS INFORMED THAT THE WHEEL BARRING IN THE DRIVER SIDE REAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND BECAUSE THE WHEEL BARRING HAD WENT IT CAUSED ONE TIRE TO WEAR MORE THAN THE OTHER, SO MY TIRES WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. I ENDED UP PAYING FOR 2 REAR TIRES AND THEY FIXED THE WHEEL BARING. THE BEARING HAD TO BE ORDER SO I WAS OUT A CAR FOR 2 DAYS. THEN NOT 2 WEEKS LATER WE START TO HEAR A REALLY WIRED NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE CAR, SO I BRING IT BACK IN AND IT TURNS OUT THAT THE CV JOINT HAD FALLEN APART. SO THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEN ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATTER I START HEARING A REALLY WIRED CLANKING NOISE IN THE CENTER OF THE CAR SO I BRING IN BACK IN AND IT TURNS OUT THAT THE WHOLE DRIVE SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THINGS SEEMED TO BE GOING GOOD UNTIL I JUST RECENTLY HAD TO GET THE CAR INSPECTED AGAIN? GUESS WHAT IT NEEDS A NEW WHEEL BEARING AND A TIE ROD. THEY WILL REPLACE THE WHEEL BEARING AT NO COST BUT THEY WANT 300.00 TO REPLACE THE TIE ROD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2011 - WALTON, NY
COPIED THIS FROM THIS SITE"THE ECU ALSO PERFORMS REGULAR DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. IF THE ECU IDENTIFIES A PROBLEM, THE AIR BAG READINESS (WARNING) LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." PART OF THE REQUIRED SAFETY FEATURES REQUIRED ON MOST NEW VEHICLES IS WHAT WAS STATED. CORRECTED THE MILEAGE FROM PREVIOUS COMPLAINT.... MY 2008 SUZUKI SX4 SHOWS THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON ALONG WITH THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT LIGHT ON(EVEN WHEN OCCUPIED) ACCORDING TO THE ABOVE STATEMENT "WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." SO HERE I AM. I FOLLOWED UP WITH A VISIT TO SUZUKI DEALER AND $45 LATER THEY TOLD ME EXACTLY WHAT WAS STATED ON SITES CODE B1312 AND THAT I NEED A NEW PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION, THAT THE SENSOR WAS NOT WORKING. THEN THEY HIT ME WITH A COST OF $1009.82 + TAX TO REPLACE A CUSHION...MIND YOU A PART THAT IS MANDATED TO BE ON VEHICLE AND WORKING. THIS IS OBSCENE AND I REFUSED THEN THEY OFFERED TO CUT IT IN HALF $600 +...WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING FOR A OBVIOUS DEFECT IN THEIR SYSTEM AS INDICATED BY OTHER ENTRIES ON HERE AND OTHER SITES PERTAINING TO THE SAME PROBLEM. IS EVERYONE WAITING FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT. ALSO THEY COULD NOT TELL ME IF ALL WAS DISABLED, PART DISABLED OR NONE WERE DISABLED. ACTION IS DEFINITELY NEEDED BY SOMEONE OR SOME AGENCY TO STEP IN AND ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/28/2011 - WALTON, NY
COPIED THIS FROM THIS SITE"THE ECU ALSO PERFORMS REGULAR DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. IF THE ECU IDENTIFIES A PROBLEM, THE AIR BAG READINESS (WARNING) LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." PART OF THE REQUIRED SAFETY FEATURES REQUIRED ON MOST NEW VEHICLES IS WHAT WAS STATED. CORRECTED THE MILEAGE FROM PREVIOUS COMPLAINT.... MY 2008 SUZUKI SX4 SHOWS THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON ALONG WITH THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT LIGHT ON(EVEN WHEN OCCUPIED) ACCORDING TO THE ABOVE STATEMENT "WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." SO HERE I AM. I FOLLOWED UP WITH A VISIT TO SUZUKI DEALER AND $45 LATER THEY TOLD ME EXACTLY WHAT WAS STATED ON SITES CODE B1312 AND THAT I NEED A NEW PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION, THAT THE SENSOR WAS NOT WORKING. THEN THEY HIT ME WITH A COST OF $1009.82 + TAX TO REPLACE A CUSHION...MIND YOU A PART THAT IS MANDATED TO BE ON VEHICLE AND WORKING. THIS IS OBSCENE AND I REFUSED THEN THEY OFFERED TO CUT IT IN HALF $600 +...WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING FOR A OBVIOUS DEFECT IN THEIR SYSTEM AS INDICATED BY OTHER ENTRIES ON HERE AND OTHER SITES PERTAINING TO THE SAME PROBLEM. IS EVERYONE WAITING FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT. ALSO THEY COULD NOT TELL ME IF ALL WAS DISABLED, PART DISABLED OR NONE WERE DISABLED. ACTION IS DEFINITELY NEEDED BY SOMEONE OR SOME AGENCY TO STEP IN AND ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/28/2011 - WALTON, NY
COPIED THIS FROM THIS SITE"THE ECU ALSO PERFORMS REGULAR DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. IF THE ECU IDENTIFIES A PROBLEM, THE AIR BAG READINESS (WARNING) LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." PART OF THE REQUIRED SAFETY FEATURES REQUIRED ON MOST NEW VEHICLES IS WHAT WAS STATED. CORRECTED THE MILEAGE FROM PREVIOUS COMPLAINT.... MY 2008 SUZUKI SX4 SHOWS THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON ALONG WITH THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT LIGHT ON(EVEN WHEN OCCUPIED) ACCORDING TO THE ABOVE STATEMENT "WHEN THE AIR BAG READINESS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT PERFORM PROPERLY IN A CRASH." SO HERE I AM. I FOLLOWED UP WITH A VISIT TO SUZUKI DEALER AND $45 LATER THEY TOLD ME EXACTLY WHAT WAS STATED ON SITES CODE B1312 AND THAT I NEED A NEW PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION, THAT THE SENSOR WAS NOT WORKING. THEN THEY HIT ME WITH A COST OF $1009.82 + TAX TO REPLACE A CUSHION...MIND YOU A PART THAT IS MANDATED TO BE ON VEHICLE AND WORKING. THIS IS OBSCENE AND I REFUSED THEN THEY OFFERED TO CUT IT IN HALF $600 +...WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING FOR A OBVIOUS DEFECT IN THEIR SYSTEM AS INDICATED BY OTHER ENTRIES ON HERE AND OTHER SITES PERTAINING TO THE SAME PROBLEM. IS EVERYONE WAITING FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT. ALSO THEY COULD NOT TELL ME IF ALL WAS DISABLED, PART DISABLED OR NONE WERE DISABLED. ACTION IS DEFINITELY NEEDED BY SOMEONE OR SOME AGENCY TO STEP IN AND ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY

9/12/2011 - SENECA, SC
REAR WINDOW WIPER FAILURE, DOES NOT WORK. PASSENGER AIR BAG NONE FUNCTIONING, LIGHT COMES ON DASH INDICATING PASSENGER AIR BAG IS OFF! REMOTE TRUNK ENTRY FAILURE, REMOTE LATCH IS NOT FUNCTIONING AND THERE IS NO KEY ENTRY LOCK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2011 - SENECA, SC
REAR WINDOW WIPER FAILURE, DOES NOT WORK. PASSENGER AIR BAG NONE FUNCTIONING, LIGHT COMES ON DASH INDICATING PASSENGER AIR BAG IS OFF! REMOTE TRUNK ENTRY FAILURE, REMOTE LATCH IS NOT FUNCTIONING AND THERE IS NO KEY ENTRY LOCK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2011 - SENECA, SC
REAR WINDOW WIPER FAILURE, DOES NOT WORK. PASSENGER AIR BAG NONE FUNCTIONING, LIGHT COMES ON DASH INDICATING PASSENGER AIR BAG IS OFF! REMOTE TRUNK ENTRY FAILURE, REMOTE LATCH IS NOT FUNCTIONING AND THERE IS NO KEY ENTRY LOCK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/28/2011 - TWIN LAKES, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER MAKING 5 TO 15 DEGREE TURNS WITH EITHER TURN SIGNAL ACTIVATED, THE SIGNAL WOULD NOT CANCEL SOON ENOUGH OR AFTER COMPLETING A SHALLOW TURN. THIS IS NOT A DEVELOPED MALFUNCTION, BUT, ONE INHERENT ON THE VEHICLE FROM THE MANUFACTURE AUTOMATICALLY WHICH REQUIRED THE TURN SIGNAL SWITCH TO MANUALLY BE ENGAGED TO DEACTIVATE THE OPERATION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT PLANNED TO NOTIFY THE MANUFACTURER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 10/13/2011

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

6/29/2011 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE PASSENGER AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT WOULD COME ON WITH A PASSENGER IN THE SEAT WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. IT WOULD STAY ON FOR A FEW MINUTES AND EVENTUALLY GO OFF. THIS WENT ON FOR A FEW MONTHS AND WAS INITIALLY BLAMED ON THE POSITION OF THE PASSENGER IN THE SEAT AS WIGGLING WOULD CAUSE THE LIGHT TO GO OFF. APPROXIMATELY THREE MONTHS AGO THE LIGHT CAME IN AND STAYED ON, ALONG WITH THE DRIVER'S AIR BAG LIGHT. MY DAUGHTER TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER WHO ADVISED IT WOULD COST $2000 TO REPAIR BECAUSE THE CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY DUE TO THE MILEAGE. WHEN MY BOYFRIEND RETURNED TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AFTER RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM TO INQUIRE ABOUT A GOOD WILL REPAIR WE WERE ADVISED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER TWO THINGS: FIRST THAT HE WAS NOT AWARE THAT WAS A COMMON PROBLEM AND SECOND THAT HE DOES THEM ALL THE TIME FOR LOCAL DEALERS BECAUSE OWNERS USUALLY TRADE THEM IN RATHER THAN PAY FOR THE REPAIRS AND THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO SELL THEM WITHOUT FIXING THEM. HE REFUSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM, RE-STATING WHAT HE TOLD MY DAUGHTER, THAT IT WOULD COST $2,000 TO FIX. IT SEEMED TO US THAT HE CONTRADICTED HIMSELF, EITHER IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH MANY OF THE DEALERS BRINGING IN USED VEHICLES TO HAVE THE SENSOR FIXED FOR $2,000 OR IT ISN'T. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW TO GET SUZUKI TO APPROVE A GOOD WILL REPAIR FOR THIS PROBLEM THAT IS MORE THAN 75% OF THE REPORTED ISSUES FOR THIS MODEL CAR FOR 2008.

View Details

SEATS

6/27/2011 - MARION, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 SUZUKI SX4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT EXPRESSED CONCERN OVER THE POSSIBILITY OF THE AIR BAG DEPLOYING WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds