Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2008 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 304 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (53) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (10)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (20) Steering (32) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (6) Structure (9) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (38) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (18) Tires (25) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/15/2019 - CHICAGO, IL
ABS MODULE FAILURE, SAME US OTHER PEOPLE COMPLAINING. GOT DASH LIGHTS ON AND THE CAR LOST COMPLETE BRAKE POWER. ABS ACTUATOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THE PRICE FOR THE PART IS UNBELIEVABLE HIGH AND SEEMS TO BE RECALLED ON EARLIER MODELS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/15/2019 - CHICAGO, IL
ABS MODULE FAILURE, SAME US OTHER PEOPLE COMPLAINING. GOT DASH LIGHTS ON AND THE CAR LOST COMPLETE BRAKE POWER. ABS ACTUATOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THE PRICE FOR THE PART IS UNBELIEVABLE HIGH AND SEEMS TO BE RECALLED ON EARLIER MODELS

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2019 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
THE CAR WAS TRAVELING APPROX. 65 MPH ON THE FREEWAY WHEN SUDDENLY I NOTICED SMOKE COMING UP FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND IN THE PROCESS NOTICED THE ENGINE SOUNDING DIFFERENT AND PERFORMANCE LEVEL QUICKLY DROPPING. I THEN NOTICED THE OIL LIGHT COME ON, SO I CONTINUED TO FIND THE FIRST SAFE SPOT AVAILABLE TO PULL OVER. I THEN CALLED AAA AND THEY HAD TO TOW THE VEHICLE BECAUSE THE CAR HAD EVIDENTLY DRAINED ALL OF ITS OIL, LEAVING A PUDDLE. THE CAR WAS THEN TOWED TO NEIGHBORHOOD CAR CARE IN MISSION VIEJO. IT WAS NOTICED AT THE SHOP THAT THE ENGINE AND COMPARTMENT WERE COVERED IN OIL. I WAS TOLD THE ENGINE OIL COOLER LINE HAD FAILED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED WITH AN UPGRADED PART. I WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT HAVING THE ENGINE COATED IN OIL IS A FIRE HAZARD, AND HE TOLD ME I WAS LUCKY MY ENGINE DIDN'T CATCH FIRE WHILE ON THE FREEWAY. HE TOLD ME AFTER THE REPAIR, THAT I WOULD NEED TO GET THE ENGINE AND COMPARTMENT CLEANED TO AVOID A FIRE. OUT OF CONCERN OF THE POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS SITUATION I WAS IN, I CONTACTED TOYOTA. THEY WERE AWARE OF THE PROBABLE FAILURE OF THE PART, AND SAID THERE WAS A WARRANTY, BUT THEY DON'T INFORM CUSTOMERS UNLESS THEY HAVE A FAILURE WITHIN THE WARRANTY PERIOD. HAD I BEEN INFORMED OF THIS POTENTIAL DANGER, I WOULD HAVE HAD IT REPAIRED IMMEDIATELY, BEFORE PUTTING MYSELF AND FAMILY AT RISK.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2019 - PFAFFTOWN, NC
VVT-I OIL LINE FAILURE CAUSING COMPLETE LOSS OF ENGINE OIL WHILE DRIVING AT SPEED ON A HIGHWAY. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED AND REPAIRED DUE TO LACK OF QUALITY PARTS USED IN THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS. TOYOTA IDENTIFIED THIS PROBLEM INTERNALLY YET FAILED TO TAKE APPROPRIATE MEASURE TO IDENTIFY ALL MODELS EQUIPPED WITH SUBSTANDARD OIL LINES AND, LIKEWISE, DID NOT ATTEMPT IN EARNEST TO NOTIFY OWNERS OF AFFECTED MODELS. THE RESULT OF TOYOTA'S LACK OF APPROPRIATE EFFORT IN NOTIFYING OWNERS RESULTED IN OIL LINE PARTS FAILURES OCCURRING OUTSIDE OF AN EXTENDED COVERAGE PERIOD INSTITUTED BY TOYOTA. BECAUSE TOYOTA DID NOT ACT IN GOOD FAITH, OWNERS WERE NOT NOTIFIED AND WERE SUBSEQUENTLY PUT AT RISK OF OIL LINE PARTS FAILURES RESULTING IN ENGINE DAMAGE OR EVEN ENGINE FAILURE. MANY OF THE AFFECTED MODELS ARE STILL IN OPERATION AND THE DRIVERS OF THESE VEHICLES WILL HAVE NO IDEA UNTIL THE PART FAILS DUE TO TOYOTA'S LACK OF APPROPRIATE ACTION. TOYOTA OFFERS NO SUPPORT FOR THIS DEFECT OUTSIDE OF A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT OR LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN WHICH OWNERS WERE NOT SUFFICIENTLY MADE AWARE OF.

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2019 - LOWELL, MA
POPING CLUNKING NOISE WHILE DRIVING TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT. HAD MECHANIC CHECKED IT AND NOTIFIED TOYOTA VIA EMAIL TO NO AVAIL . THEN THIS YEAR HAD THE CAR STICKER INSPECTION DONE WAS INFORMED ABOUT THE CLICKING SOUNDS. NOW I START TO GET WORRY IS THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE HAS AN IMPACT ON MY LIFE WHILE DRIVING THE CAR. CHECKED THE INTERNET AND FOUND SIMILAR ISSUE WITH OWNER'S COMPLAINT ABOUT INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT. HOPEFULLY TOYOTA WILL DO A RECALL TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM AND SAFEGUARD THE PUBLIC SAFETY.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2019 - HOWARD, OH
THE STEERING MAKES A LOUD KNOCK WHEN TURNED TO LEFT OR RIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2019 - RENTON, WA
THE STEER WHEEL MAKES A KLUNK NOISE WHEN TURNING IN EITHER DIRECTIONS AT LOW SPEED. THIS PROBLEM DEVELOPED AT ABOUT 90,000 MILES AND THE NOISE HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN MORE FREQUENT AND LOUDER. MY CAR HAS ABOUT 110,000 MILES NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/12/2019 - MCLEAN, VA
2008 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARD TO DEFECTIVE SRS AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/12/2019 - MCLEAN, VA
2008 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARD TO DEFECTIVE SRS AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS: AIR BAG CONTROL MODULE

3/12/2019 - MCLEAN, VA
2008 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARD TO DEFECTIVE SRS AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds