Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (85) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (7) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/30/2017 - CLERMONT, FL
"TAKATA RECALL"-I'VE BEEN TOLD BY THE DEALERS THAT THE AIR BAG ISN'T BEING MADE AVAILABLE TO THEM YET,THE RECALL NOTICE I RECEIVED SAID THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALERS HAD UNTIL AUGUST 31ST TO COMPLY WITH THE RECALL REQUIREMENTS TO REPLACE THE AIR BAGS AND WHILE EVERYONE IS SAYING IT'S OK I WORRY EVERYDAY I DRIVE MY VEHICLE.THE DEALER TELLS ME THEY HAVE AIR BAGS BUT NONE FOR THE RECALL PROGRAM AND DUE TO THE BANKRUPTCY THEY WON'T GET PAID.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/30/2017 - VENICE, FL
SINCE SUBMITTING MY PREVIOUS SAFETY COMPLAINT, MY "SERVICE AIRBAG SYSTEM" MESSAGE IS NOW DISPLAYED CONTINUOUSLY AND LONGER INTERMITTENTLY DISPLAYED. I HAVE ALSO RECEIVED WRITTEN CORRESPONDENCE FROM TAKATA ANNOUNCING THEIR CHAPTER 11 FILING AND CONFIRMATION THAT MY VEHICLE MAY HAVE A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG. THE NOTICE ALSO ADVISED ME TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT WITH A LOCAL CAR DEALER TO GET THE DEFECT REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT ON 10-30-2017 FOR THE REPAIR WORK BUT WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT THEY COULD NOT COMPLETE THE REPAIRS AS "GM HAS NOT ISSUED A FIX YET". WHAT IS TAKING GM SO LONG TO ADDRESS THIS CLEAR, WELL DOCUMENTED SAFETY THREAT? IT HAS BEEN AT LEAST A YEAR SINCE MY VEHICLE WAS ADDED TO THE RECALL. SHOULD I NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE? CAN THE AIRBAG BE DISABLED? GM IS NOT OFFERING ANY TIMEFRAME FOR RESOLUTION NOR ARE THEY PROVIDING GUIDANCE ON WHAT CAR OWNERS SHOULD DO WHILE THEY FINALIZE A SOLUTION. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO PAY FOR THIS OUT OF POCKET AND DO NOT HAVE AN ALTERNATIVE FORM OF TRANSPORTATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2017 - MANSFIELD, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED GENE MESSER CHEVROLET AT (806) 747-3211 (1302 S LOOP 289, LUBBOCK, TX 79412) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE/PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2017 - HAMILTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/26/2017 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
TAKATA RECALL RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF SAFETY RECALL IN JULY 2016. AS OF OCTOBER 26, 2017 I HAVE STILL BEEN UNABLE TO HAVE THE DEFECTIVE AIRBAGS REPLACED. THERE HAS BEEN NO ACCIDENTS OR INJURIES BUT WANT THEM REPLACED. I LIVE THE HOUSTON AREA, KNOWN FOR HOT AND HUMID CONDITIONS WHICH MAKE THIS PROBLEM WORSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/25/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED MUNDAY CHEVROLET AT 281-397-8600 AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2017 - CLEVELAND, GA
TAKATA RECALL , CHEVEROLET HAS YET TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE AIRBAG UNDER RECALL # 20149151

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2017 - RUSSELLVILLE, TN
TAKATA RECALL, GM STILL HAS NO RECALL ACTION ON THIS THEY HAVE NO FIX AVAILABLE FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THESE AIR BAGS. THE GM RECALL NUMBER IS 2049151. GM IS CONTESTING THIS RECALL BECAUSE THEY DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH EVIDENCE TO JUSTIFY THE REPLACEMENT OF THESE DEFECTIVE AIRBAGS. I HAVE NOT BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH THIS VEHICLE I JUST WANT THE AIRBAGS REPLACED AS RECOMMENDED BY TAKATA AND IN THE NHTSA RECALL NUMBER 16V381. RECEIVED A NOTICE OF RECALL FROM GM ON MAY 27, 2016 ADVISING ME OF THE RECALL STATING THAT GM CONSIDERS THE VEHICLE SAFE TO DRIVE AND THE STATUS OF THE RECALL IS "INCOMPLETE, REMEDY NOT YET AVAILABLE" GM IS STILL PROTESTING THIS RECALL AND HAS NOT RECEIVED A FINAL RULING FROM THE NHTSA ON ITS POSITION THAT THE GM VEHICLES ARE SAFE TO DRIVE. I BELIEVE THAT GM IS STALLING AND SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO REPLACE THESE DEFECTIVE AIRBAGS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2017 - CHAMBERSBURG, PA
AT 75MPH ON TOLL ROAD AT NIGHT, SUDDENLY THE LIGHTS (ALL EXTERNAL & INTERNAL) WENT DARK. HAZARD LIGHT WOULD NOT WORK, ENGINE QUIT, BELL WENT OFF (DOOR-KEY IN IGNITION BELL), RPM SURGED. WAS ABLE TO GET OFF ROAD AND WAITED 10 MINUTES AND TRUCK STARTED. DROVE OFF, GOT TO 60 AND SAME THING HAPPENED. WAITED 30 MINUTES AND TRUCK WAS OK EXCEPT WHEN BRAKES APPLIED -DOOR/KEY BELL WENT OFF. DEALER HAD TRUCK FOR THREE DAYS AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE. WENT TO UTUBE AND TYPED IN ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS-2009 SILVERADO AND SEVERAL PAGES OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM APPEARED.CALLED DEALER TOLD THEM TO REPLACE THE BATTERY GROUND CABLE AND TO CHECK THE MEGA FUSE. SO FAR THE TRUCK IS RUNNING OK (INCIDENT HAPPENED IN JULY 2017) SEEMS LIKE THE BACK YARD MECHANICS KNOW MORE ABOUT HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS SERIOUS, DRIVING AT NIGHT AT 75 AND LOSING ALL ELECTRICS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. THE MANUFACTURE NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THE POOR QUALITY GROUND CABLES; THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL!!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/24/2017 - CHAMBERSBURG, PA
AT 75MPH ON TOLL ROAD AT NIGHT, SUDDENLY THE LIGHTS (ALL EXTERNAL & INTERNAL) WENT DARK. HAZARD LIGHT WOULD NOT WORK, ENGINE QUIT, BELL WENT OFF (DOOR-KEY IN IGNITION BELL), RPM SURGED. WAS ABLE TO GET OFF ROAD AND WAITED 10 MINUTES AND TRUCK STARTED. DROVE OFF, GOT TO 60 AND SAME THING HAPPENED. WAITED 30 MINUTES AND TRUCK WAS OK EXCEPT WHEN BRAKES APPLIED -DOOR/KEY BELL WENT OFF. DEALER HAD TRUCK FOR THREE DAYS AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE. WENT TO UTUBE AND TYPED IN ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS-2009 SILVERADO AND SEVERAL PAGES OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM APPEARED.CALLED DEALER TOLD THEM TO REPLACE THE BATTERY GROUND CABLE AND TO CHECK THE MEGA FUSE. SO FAR THE TRUCK IS RUNNING OK (INCIDENT HAPPENED IN JULY 2017) SEEMS LIKE THE BACK YARD MECHANICS KNOW MORE ABOUT HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS SERIOUS, DRIVING AT NIGHT AT 75 AND LOSING ALL ELECTRICS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. THE MANUFACTURE NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THE POOR QUALITY GROUND CABLES; THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds