Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 244 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (118) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (7) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/4/2018 - COPPERAS COVE, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (DON RINGLER CHEVROLET, 7777 S GENERAL BRUCE DR, TEMPLE, TX 76502) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/4/2018 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
THE DASHBOARD IMMEDIATELY SURROUNDING THE CASE HOLDING THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG IN MY 2009 CHEVY SILVERADO IS CRACKED AND BROKEN IN THREE (3) DIFFERENT PLACES, INCLUDING TWO (2) CORNERS. I WAS ADVISED THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE IN GM TRUCKS, AND THAT IT IS A STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY ISSUE THAT COULD CAUSE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT WITHOUT ACCIDENT. I WAS ADVISED THAT SINCE OUR TRUCK IS PART OF THE TAKATA RECALL TO HAVE OUR AIRBAGS TURNED OFF, ESPECIALLY SINCE THE DASH HOLDING THE AIRBAG IS BROKEN AND DAMAGED. THREE-WAY CHEVROLET IN BAKERSFIELD, CA REFUSES TO TURN THE AIRBAG OFF, EVEN AFTER AGREEING THE CRACKED AND BROKEN DASHBOARD POSES AN INHERENT SAFETY RISK BY COMPROMISING THE ALREADY DEFECTIVE AIRBAGS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/4/2018 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
THE DASHBOARD IMMEDIATELY SURROUNDING THE CASE HOLDING THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG IN MY 2009 CHEVY SILVERADO IS CRACKED AND BROKEN IN THREE (3) DIFFERENT PLACES, INCLUDING TWO (2) CORNERS. I WAS ADVISED THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE IN GM TRUCKS, AND THAT IT IS A STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY ISSUE THAT COULD CAUSE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT WITHOUT ACCIDENT. I WAS ADVISED THAT SINCE OUR TRUCK IS PART OF THE TAKATA RECALL TO HAVE OUR AIRBAGS TURNED OFF, ESPECIALLY SINCE THE DASH HOLDING THE AIRBAG IS BROKEN AND DAMAGED. THREE-WAY CHEVROLET IN BAKERSFIELD, CA REFUSES TO TURN THE AIRBAG OFF, EVEN AFTER AGREEING THE CRACKED AND BROKEN DASHBOARD POSES AN INHERENT SAFETY RISK BY COMPROMISING THE ALREADY DEFECTIVE AIRBAGS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/1/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. IT HAS BE A YEAR AND A HALF SINCE RECEIVING THE NOTICE OF THE RECALL. I LIVE IN A HUMID CLIMATE, SO I FEEL I SHOULD BE IN A PRIORITY GROUP. I NEED THIS REPLACED ASAP

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2017 - DEER PARK, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (MONUMENT CHEVROLET, 3940 PASADENA FWY, PASADENA, TX 77503) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/23/2017 - RINGGOLD, GA
DASH IS CRACKED OVER PASSENGER AIR BAG ,ALSO CRACKED IN CENTER OF DASH, AND CRACKED ON DRIVER SIDE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/23/2017 - GEORGETOWN, TX
TAKATA RECALL WHAT IS TAKING SO LONG? ITS BEEN YEARS, AND TAKATA HAS FILED BANKRUPTCY...ARE THESE AIRBAGS GETTING FIXED, OR AM I JUST WAITING FOR THEM TO GO OFF ON MY FIANCE AND I? I LIVE IN TEXAS, WHICH IS A VERY HOT AND HUMID AREA. I NEED THIS PROBLEM FIXED! -BRYANT SHOCKLEY

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/22/2017 - KENESAW, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (CARL BLACK GMC, 1110 ROBERTS BLVD NW, KENNESAW, GA 30144, (888)733-9519) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTICE FROM TK HOLDINGS, ALERTING HIM THAT THE MANUFACTURER FILED FOR BANKRUPTCY. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/18/2017 - WILLINGTON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CARTER CHEVROLET (175 HARTFORD TURNPIKE, VERNON, CT 06066, (860) 646-6464), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTICE FROM TK HOLDINGS, ALERTING HIM THAT TAKATA FILED FOR BANKRUPTCY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/6/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD HAD CRACKS THAT PROGRESSED FROM THE MIDDLE TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CRACKS COULD AFFECT THE SAFETY OF THE AIR BAG COMPONENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS), BUT THE CONTACT DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTIFICATION. A DEALER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED YET TO DIAGNOSE AND REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED YEARS LATER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds