Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 352 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Seat Belts (9) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (21) Power Train (41) Steering (212) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/5/2017 - TEWKSBURY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD NO SPECIFIC FAILURES OTHER THAN FAILING AN INSPECTION. THE CONTACT CALLED A DEALER (LANNAN CHEVROLET, 40 WINN ST, WOBURN, MA 01801, (781) 897-0508) TO INSPECT AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT SEND A NOTIFICATION OF ANY EXTENDED WARRANTY CAMPAIGNS; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN A WATER PUMP SEAL LEAK, POWER STEERING, TRANSMISSION, AND ADDITIONAL SERVICE CAMPAIGNS. AFTER THE DEALER'S REPAIRS, THE VEHICLE WAS RODE ROUGHLY AND THE ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED TWO DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT FURTHER DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN AT THE DEALER FOR LONGER THAN TWO WEEKS WITH NO RESOLUTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND REFUSED TO PROVIDE A REMEDY FOR THE SEVERAL EXTENDED WARRANTY CAMPAIGNS, OF WHICH SOME WERE NOT COMPLETED, BUT THE DEALER SPECIFIED ON THE INVOICE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/5/2017 - TEWKSBURY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD NO SPECIFIC FAILURES OTHER THAN FAILING AN INSPECTION. THE CONTACT CALLED A DEALER (LANNAN CHEVROLET, 40 WINN ST, WOBURN, MA 01801, (781) 897-0508) TO INSPECT AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT SEND A NOTIFICATION OF ANY EXTENDED WARRANTY CAMPAIGNS; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN A WATER PUMP SEAL LEAK, POWER STEERING, TRANSMISSION, AND ADDITIONAL SERVICE CAMPAIGNS. AFTER THE DEALER'S REPAIRS, THE VEHICLE WAS RODE ROUGHLY AND THE ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED TWO DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT FURTHER DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN AT THE DEALER FOR LONGER THAN TWO WEEKS WITH NO RESOLUTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND REFUSED TO PROVIDE A REMEDY FOR THE SEVERAL EXTENDED WARRANTY CAMPAIGNS, OF WHICH SOME WERE NOT COMPLETED, BUT THE DEALER SPECIFIED ON THE INVOICE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/5/2017 - TEWKSBURY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD NO SPECIFIC FAILURES OTHER THAN FAILING AN INSPECTION. THE CONTACT CALLED A DEALER (LANNAN CHEVROLET, 40 WINN ST, WOBURN, MA 01801, (781) 897-0508) TO INSPECT AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT SEND A NOTIFICATION OF ANY EXTENDED WARRANTY CAMPAIGNS; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN A WATER PUMP SEAL LEAK, POWER STEERING, TRANSMISSION, AND ADDITIONAL SERVICE CAMPAIGNS. AFTER THE DEALER'S REPAIRS, THE VEHICLE WAS RODE ROUGHLY AND THE ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED TWO DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT FURTHER DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN AT THE DEALER FOR LONGER THAN TWO WEEKS WITH NO RESOLUTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND REFUSED TO PROVIDE A REMEDY FOR THE SEVERAL EXTENDED WARRANTY CAMPAIGNS, OF WHICH SOME WERE NOT COMPLETED, BUT THE DEALER SPECIFIED ON THE INVOICE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/21/2017 - EAST PROVIDENCE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INSPECTED THE DTC AND INDICATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN A WARRANTY CAMPAIGN AND CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE IF THEY HAD A SOLUTION TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/17/2017 - BUFFALO, NY
TOOK OUR CAR FOR RIDE PARK W HILLS HAVING PROBLEM W OUR 2009 TRAVERSE TRANSMISSION DOWN SIFT OUT OF CRUSE,DOWN SIFT ON ITS OWN,THEN NO REVERSING THEN NOT GOING INTO DRIVE THEN OVER HEATING HAD LET COOL DOWN 2X IT ONLY HAS71,000 MILES

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WHILE SPOUSE WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WITH KIDS ON EXPRESSWAY, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF BY ITSELF. SPOUSE PULLED OVER AND WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES BEFORE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AT ALL. TOOK TO DEALER A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER AS VEHICLE STILL WOULD NOT START. DEALER FOUND THE ELECTRONIC CHASSIS MODULE(ECM) WAS SHORTED. THERE IS A KNOWN RECALL FOR THIS SAME VEHICLE AND SYMPTOMS. DEALER AND GM STATE THIS VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF RECALL HOWEVER SAME MODEL AND YEAR ACROSS COUNTRY HAS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WHILE SPOUSE WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WITH KIDS ON EXPRESSWAY, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF BY ITSELF. SPOUSE PULLED OVER AND WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES BEFORE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AT ALL. TOOK TO DEALER A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER AS VEHICLE STILL WOULD NOT START. DEALER FOUND THE ELECTRONIC CHASSIS MODULE(ECM) WAS SHORTED. THERE IS A KNOWN RECALL FOR THIS SAME VEHICLE AND SYMPTOMS. DEALER AND GM STATE THIS VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF RECALL HOWEVER SAME MODEL AND YEAR ACROSS COUNTRY HAS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/15/2017 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
I WAS COMING BACK FROM DROPPING OFF MY KIDS AT SCHOOL WHEN I HEARD A BEEPING NOISE AND THEN I REALIZED THAT I HAD LOSS OF POWER, I THEN LOOKED AT MY DASHBOARD AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT AND THE BRAKE LIGHT WAS ON, I DIDN'T THINK NOTHING OF IT SINCE IT ONLY LASTED FOR A FEW MINUTES BUT THE NEXT DAY IT HAPPENED AGAIN:( I'M SO SCARED TO DRIVE ON THE FREEWAY BECAUSE I HAVE 4 KIDS FROM AGES 12 TO 9 MONTHS AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO RISK GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT IF ALL OF THE SUDDEN MY TRUCK DOES THAT AND I GET HIT FROM THE BACK. I BEEN LOOKING INTO THIS ISSUE AND I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE I CAN'T AFFORD TO BE PAYING UNNECESSARY MONEY FOR A PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT MORE DEEPLY PLEASE HELP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/2/2017 - KYLE, TX
IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY UPHILL THE STABILITY TRACK, REDUCE ENGINE POWER WENT ON. SUDDENLY LOST POWER FROM 70MPH TO BARELY 40 MPH. IMMEDIATELY HAD TO PULL OVER ON HIGHWAY EMERGENCY LANE. SERVICED 3 TIMES AND PROBLEM CONTINUES. VERY UNSAFE AS THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER. I HAVE HAD TMC REPLACE, CONNECTOR REPLACED, THROTTLE BODY REPLACE. BIG ISSUE EVERYONE IS HAVING!! THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 3 YEARS. PROBLEM GETS "FIXED" AND MONTHS LATER IT COMES BACK. FUSTRATING AND HAS COST LOTS OF $$$$ WE DON'T HAVE TO SPARE. PLEASE VIEW LINK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/HBVAOIIXNXY

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/2/2017 - KYLE, TX
IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY UPHILL THE STABILITY TRACK, REDUCE ENGINE POWER WENT ON. SUDDENLY LOST POWER FROM 70MPH TO BARELY 40 MPH. IMMEDIATELY HAD TO PULL OVER ON HIGHWAY EMERGENCY LANE. SERVICED 3 TIMES AND PROBLEM CONTINUES. VERY UNSAFE AS THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER. I HAVE HAD TMC REPLACE, CONNECTOR REPLACED, THROTTLE BODY REPLACE. BIG ISSUE EVERYONE IS HAVING!! THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 3 YEARS. PROBLEM GETS "FIXED" AND MONTHS LATER IT COMES BACK. FUSTRATING AND HAS COST LOTS OF $$$$ WE DON'T HAVE TO SPARE. PLEASE VIEW LINK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/HBVAOIIXNXY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds