Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 265 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (9) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (6) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)
Engine (8) Power Train (29) Steering (173)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/22/2015 - EAST ISLIP, NY
DURING THE WINTER SEASON, I PERIODICALLY STARTED HEARING A CLUNKING SOUND AS I WAS MAKING DIRECTIONAL TURNS IN MY VEHICLE (A 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE). THEREFORE, DURING MY PREVIOUS OIL CHANGE, I ASKED MY MECHANIC TO TAKE IT FOR A TEST DRIVE, BUT HE DID NOT HEAR ANYTHING AT THAT TIME. YESTERDAY, I WAS IN FOR ANOTHER OIL CHANGE AND AGAIN I ASKED MY MECHANIC TO TEST DRIVE IT, BUT THIS TIME HE DID HEAR THE CLUNKING SOUND AND ULTIMATELY FOUND THAT THE RACK & PINION STEERING UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. BOTH PROFESSIONALLY AND ON COMPUTER "ON-LINE" WEB SITES, THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF EARLY FAILURES OF THE RACK & PINION STEERING, ON THE GMC ACADIA, BUICK ENCLAVE AND CHEVY TRAVERSE, SUV TYPE VEHICLES. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL VEHICLES OVER THE LAST 30 YEARS AND NEVER HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE RACK & PINION STEERING UNIT ON A VEHICLE THAT WAS LESS THAN TEN YEARS OLD (ONLY SIX, IN THIS INSTANCE) AND HAD SUCH LOW MILEAGE (RECENTLY PASSED 60,000 MILES). OBVIOUSLY, THERE IS A FLAW IN THE DESIGN OR IN THE PRODUCTION OF THIS STEERING MECHANISM. THERE ARE TOO MANY PREMATURE FAILURES ON THESE SERIES OF VEHICLES. GM SHOULD OWN UP TO THEIR MISTAKES, BUT AS WITH THEIR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS, THEY WOULD RATHER IGNORE THE PROBLEM. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL GM VEHICLES AND HAVE MOSTLY BEEN SATISFIED WITH THEIR PRODUCTS. IF I HAVE TO SPEND ALMOST $2000 TO FIX THEIR MISTAKE, THIS WILL BE THE LAST NEW (OR USED) GM CAR I PURCHASE. MY PREVIOUS SUV WAS A 2002 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. I PURCHASED IT "NEW" AND KEPT IT FOR OVER TEN YEARS AND DROVE OVER 100,000 MILES ON IT. OTHER THAN WEAR AND TEAR ITEMS (BRAKES, TIRES, BATTERY, ETC.), I DID NOT EXPERIENCE ANY "ABNORMAL" FAILURES, IN ANY OF THE VEHICLES MAJOR COMPONENTS.

View Details

STEERING

5/21/2015 - HAVRE DE GRACE, MD
POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONS AT LOW TO MODERATE SPEEDS OF 5 TO 25 MPH. THE VEHICLE GOES INTO MANUAL STEERING AND IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN THE WHEEL IN ORDER TO GO IN TO A TURN. THIS HAS BEGUN HAPPENING WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF 45 TO 55MPH AS WELL. I NOTICED THE PROBLEM WHEN I FIRST BROUGHT MY VEHICLE AND REPORTED IT TO THE DEALER. THE SAID THERE WAS NO ISSUE. NOW THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE. I MUST REMAIN IN MY LANE AND NOT ATTEMPT TO MAKE ANY QUICK TURNS. OR THE STEERING WHEEL WILL LOCKUP ON ME. I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CONTROL MY VEHICLE AND DO INJURY TO OTHERS AS WELL AS, MYSELF,

View Details

STEERING

5/11/2015 - VANDALIA, OH
POWER STEERING CEASES TO FUNCTION AT LOW SPEEDS, AS IN NO POWER STEERING AT ALL. HAS CAUSED NEAR COLLISION SEVERAL TIMES DURING SLOW SPEED TURNS AS POWER STEERING CEASES TO FUNCTION MID-TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THIS CAUSES MANUAL STEERING MODE ON A LARGE CAR IN A TIGHT SPACE. HAS ALSO HAPPENED AT MODERATE SPEEDS. MANUAL STEERING ON THIS CAR IS DIFFICULT FOR AN ADULT MALE. NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE FOR MY LADY DRIVERS. AGAIN, SIGNIFICANT SAFETY HAZARD AS IT OCCURS WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

TIRES

5/6/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR FORTERA HL TIRES, SIZE: P255/65R18 109S. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRE HAD DRY ROTTED AND HAD CRACKS. THE TECHNICIAN FILLED THE TIRE WITH AIR; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS WITH ALL FOUR TIRES. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15T002000 (TIRES); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/30/2015 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING OUR KIDS TO SCHOOL WHEN SHE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, SHE REALIZED THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE IN FORWARD OR REVERSE. I AM GRATEFUL THIS HAPPENED WHILE SHE WAS STOPPED, HOWEVER, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN IF CAR IS ON THE HIGHWAY CONSIDERING THAT THE PROBABLE CAUSE OF THIS IS THE 35R WAVE PLATE WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION. CHEVY KNOWS THERE IS A POSSIBLE PROBLEM WITH THIS, AND HAS ISSUED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS PIECE, HOWEVER, THIS PIECE IS CAUSING MORE PROBLEMS THAN IT SHOULD.

View Details

STEERING

4/29/2015 - FRANKLIN, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/29/2015 - FRANKLIN, LA
I NOTICED WHEN I WENT FROM PARK TO DRIVE LEAVING A SPOT AND TURNED BY STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT IT WAS A LITTLE TIGHT. AS TIME HAS GONE, IT HAS GOTTEN EXTREMELY WORSE. ON APRIL 26, 2015, I WAS LEAVING A DRIVEWAY AND TRIED TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE RIGHT AND COULD HARDLY TURN IT. THIS IS HAPPENING EVERY DAY NOW WHEN I START OFF AND IT HAPPENS MORE WHEN I TURN LEFT THAN WHEN I TURN RIGHT. I AM AFRAID THAT IF I AM AT A CROSSOVER ON A MULTI-LANE HIGHWAY, I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO TURN MY STEERING WHEEL IN TIME TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF ON-COMING TRAFFIC. WHAT IS BEING DONE ABOUT THIS. MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR 5 RECALLS ALREADY. THIS WAS A LEMON FROM GET GO.

View Details

STEERING

4/20/2015 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE STEERING GEAR IN MY 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE HAS FAILED PREMATURELY FOR A SECOND TIME. THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED DURING A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THE ORIGINAL STEERING GEAR WAS REPLACED AT 46,000 MILES IN 2011 AND MY VEHICLE REQUIRES A NEW UNIT APPROXIMATELY 43,000 MILES LATER. FAILURE TO REPLACE THE COMPONANT WILL RESULT IN STEERING DIFFICULTY THAT CAN LEAD TO A CRASH. TO PUT THIS IN PERSPECTIVE, I AM REPLACING THE STEERING GEAR AT THE SAME FREQUENCY ONE WOULD NORMALLY BUY NEW TIRES FOR VEHICLE. THERE ARE SEVERAL INDICATIONS THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH GENERAL MOTORS' LAMDA PLATFORM. VIA A 2012 SERVICE BULLETIN, GM MODIFIED THE STEERING GEAR PART NUMBER AND MADE CHANGES TO THE REPLACEMENT PROCESS TO PREVENT STEERING GEAR SEAL FAILURES. SECONDLY, A SERVICE MANAGER AT AN INDEPENDANT CHEVY DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED THAT HE HAS SEEN A SIGNIFICANT INCREASE IN STEERING GEAR FAILURES AT HIS FACILILTY. LASTLY, THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF DOCUMENTED COMPLAINTS ON THE NHTSA SITE AND CHEVY INTERNET FORUMS DESCRIBING THIS EXACT PROBLEM. DESPITE THE EVIDENCE ABOVE, GM WILL NOT REPLACE THE STEERING GEAR AND COVER THE COST 100%. THE CORPORATION IS NOT STANDING BEHIND THEIR CHEVY PRODUCT BUT, MORE IMPORTANTLY, I BELIEVE THEIR COMPLAINT RESOLUTION PROCESSES ARE MASKING A CLEAR QUALITY AND SAFETY ISSUE. I HOPE THE NHTSA CAN EFFECT SOME CHANGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2015 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
VEHICLE BEGAN SHIFTING ROUGH. WOULD NOT SHIFT HIGHER THAN 4TH GEAR ON OPEN ROAD. VEHICLE HAS BAD HESITATION IN REVERSE. RECEIVED COPY OF GM'S SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT THE WAVE PLATE FAILURE IN THESE VEHICLES ON APRIL 9, 2015. CONTACTED GM ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND WAS TOLD BECAUSE MY VEHICLE HAS 122,000 MILES ON IT, THEY WILL NOT COVER REPAIRS. WAS TOLD THE MAX ALLOWED MILEAGE WAS 120,000. THE ISSUE IS MY VEHICLE MAY VERY WELL HAVE BEEN BELOW THE THRESHOLD WHEN THE BULLETIN WAS RELEASED. IT TOOK OVER A MONTH TO RECEIVE NOTICE OF THE DEFECT. IF GM KNOWS THEY HAVE PUT DEFECTIVE PARTS IN VEHICLES, WHY WOULD THEY NOT FIX THE ISSUE?

View Details

STEERING

4/2/2015 - EDEN PRAIRIE, MN
BROUGHT VEHICLE IN FOR OIL CHANGE, TECH NOTED STEERING GEAR WAS LEAKING FLUID AND QUOTED $2000 TO REPLACE. AFTER READING THE TSB, SEVERAL FORUMS ONLINE AND THESE COMPLAINTS IT HAS BECOME APPARENT THAT RACK FAILURE IS COMMON PLACE ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds