Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 204 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (12) Steering (147) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - SHELBY, AL
SINCE RECEIVING RECALL NOTICES ON OUR 2009 TRAVERSE, I HAVE CONTACTED A LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER TO GET THE RECALLS CLEARED ON THIS VEHICLE. IN ALL INSTANCES, EXCEPT THE RECALL ON THE 2ND ROW SEAT BELT RECALL, I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS HAVE NOT BEEN ISSUED TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THE RECALL ON THE AIR BAG HARNESS IS NOW THREE MONTHS OLD AND THE DEALER IS STILL SAYING THE REPAIR PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALERSHIP IN QUESTION IS EDWARDS CHEVROLET 280, LOCATED ON HWY 280 IN INVERNESS, ALABAMA.

View Details

STEERING

8/18/2014 - BENTON, LA
AT FIRST WHEN MAKING LEFT TURNS ONLY IF WOULD MAKE A FUNNY NOISE, THEN GOING AROUND A CURVE IT FELT LIKE THE TRAVERSE WAS TRYING TO DIE, WARRANTY CONVENIENTLY RAN OUT IN MAY 2014 I WILL HAVE THIS VEHICLE 1 YEAR END OF OCTOBER. DID NOT GET EXTENDED WARRANTY DUE TO NOTE WAS ALREADY HIGH, TOOK MY TRAVERSE TO MECHANIC WAS TOLD I NEEDED A RACK AND PINION AND A STEERING PUMP DUE TO LEAKING, WHICH WOULD END UP COSTING ANYWHERE FROM DIFFERENT PLACES $1600 TO $2100.00 YOU WOULD THINK WITH GM GOING INTO DEBT SO MUCH THEY WOULD MAKE THINGS RIGHT TO KEEP FROM LOSING BUSINESS!!! SOOOOO WISH I WOULD HAVE DONE MORE INVESTIGATING WHEN I NEED A BIGGER VEHICLE FOR MY 3 SMALL CHILDREN!!!

View Details

STEERING

8/18/2014 - KANKAKEE, IL
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PERFORM A LEFT HAND TURN AFTER RECEIVING A GREEN LIGHT, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF. CONTINUES TO BE A CONSTANT PROBLEM WITH A WHINING NOISE COMING FROM STEERING WHEEL. TOOK TO CHEVY DEALER AND THEY SAID RACK "BEGINNING TO SEAP." QUOTED ME $1300 TO FIX BUT I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE AN INVESTIGATION INTO THIS ISSUE SINCE SO MANY OTHER TRAVERSE OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

8/18/2014 - BLOUNTSVILLE, AL
THE POWER STEERING FAILED ON OUR 2009 TRAVERSE AT LOW SPEEDS WHILE PULLING OUT OF A MEDIAN INTO TRAFFIC. THIS TYPE OF POWER STEERING FAILURE HAS HAPPENED BEFORE.THE CHEVROLET DEALER SHIP SAID WE COULD HAVE THE RACK AND PINION REPLACED BUT COULD NOT SAY IT WOULD FIX IT AND IF YOU READ THE OTHER COMPLAINT ON HERE IT DIDN'T EVEN FIX THE PROBLEM SO I DIDN'T HAVE $1500 TO THROW AWAY. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. IT WOULD BE IMPOSSIBLE TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT BY TURNING THE VEHICLE. YOUR ONLY OPTIONS ARE TO STOP AND "MAN HANDLE" THE TRAVERSE INTO POSITION. AN ELDERLY PERSON OR A SMALLER PERSON WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AT ALL. GM HAS RE-DESIGNED THE NEWER TRAVERSE/ENCORE/ACADIA STEERING SYSTEMS, SO THEY KNOW A PROBLEM EXISTS. ONE DAY SOMEONE WILL GET KILLED FROM THIS STEERING PROBLEM AND EVERYONE WILL WONDER WHY A RECALL WASN'T ISSUED. SOME TYPE OF ACTION NEEDS TO TAKE PLACE WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

8/16/2014 - RUSHFORD, MN
DRIVING ON COUNTRY ROAD WHEN A DEER RAN ONTO THE ROAD, TRIED TO STEER AROUND IT AND WAS UNABLE TO STEER, THUS STRIKING DEER ON FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. HAVE HAD SEVERAL NEAR MISSES IN PARKING LOTS BECAUSE OF LOSS OF POWER STEERING. HAVE CHECKED POWER STEERING FLUID LEVELS AND THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM AS IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN AT THE RECOMMENDED LEVEL.

View Details

STEERING

8/11/2014 - SOUTH LYON, MI
THE POWER STEERING ON MY 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE DOES NOT WORK AT LOW SPEEDS (15 MPH OR LESS). PULLING INTO PARKING SPACES IS A MAJOR ISSUE AS IT REVERTS TO MANUAL STEERING OR NO STEERING. IT BECAME AN ISSUE IN JANUARY, BUT WAS NOT AS REPRODUCIBLE. NOW ANY TIME AT LOW SPEEDS THERE IS NO POWER STEERING. GM WANT TO CHARGE 1300 TO FIX, BUT BASED ON OTHER COMPLAINTS, THE WORK THEY WANT DOES NOT SOLVE THEIR ISSUE. WITH GM'S TRACK RECORD OF HIDING THE TRUTH AND THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE REPORTING THE SAME ISSUE, THIS SHOULD BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY. I UNDERSTAND GM'S STANCE THAT IT IS ONLY AN INCONVENIENCE WHEN PARKING, BUT I WOULD LIKE ASSURANCES THAT IT WON'T START TO FAIL AT 20MPH OR HIGHER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2014 - HUGER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE DRIVE BUT WOULD NOT MOVE TO ANOTHER GEAR AFTER DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON AND THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE BUT COULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 10 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2014 - HUGER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE BUT WOULD NOT MOVE AFTER DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MOVE BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 10 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/2/2014 - CRESTVIEW, FL
WHEN DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, BETWEEN 15 - 25 MPH, THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT AND BECOMES DIFFICULT TO ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER. WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL NEAR MISSES WHILE ENTERING TRAFFIC. THIS HAPPENS RANDOMLY AND WE NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL OCCUR. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEY BELIEVE IT TO BE THE RACK AND PINION STEERING, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

7/28/2014 - HOT SPRINGS , AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE TURNING THE VEHICLE AT 20 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds