Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 319 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Seat Belts (8) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (12) Power Train (35) Steering (196) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/13/2016 - MURFREESBORO, TN
STEERING WHINE, SOME LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL. CALLED DEALER FIRST SAID RACK COVERED ON DAY OF APPOINTMENT, RACK NOT COVERED. CALLED GM, WON'T COVER. CASE 8-2095354928.

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2016 - WEST LAFAYETTE, IN
2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE WITH 68000 MILES. VEHICLE HAS HAD STEERING PROBLEMS WHICH I BROUGHT TO DEALER WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. WAS TOLD THAT SOUND (SQUEEL/REV) WAS NORMAL. NOW CAR NOT UNDER WARRANTY. NOISE GETTING LOUDER. TAKE TO DEALER. SAYS I NEED NEW POWER STEERING PUMP, AND RACK AND PINION. I NOTICE THERE IS A SPECIAL COVERAGE 14329 WHICH COVERS POWER STEERING ISSUES (PUMP ETC.). PRICE QUOTED TO FIX EVERYTHING WAS $2500. I ASKED FOR PRICE RELIEF GIVEN THE HISTORY OF THE POWER STEERING PROBLEMS, I HAD RAISED THE ISSUE WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, AND THE SPECIAL COVERAGE. DEALER AND GM REFUSE TO OFFER ANY REIMBURSEMENT. NOT EVEN FOR THE PUMP WHICH IS COVERED UNDER SPECIAL COVERAGE 14329. I AM NOW OUT $2500. THIS STEERING SYSTEM WAS A LEMON FROM THE GET GO. STEERING IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED FRO ALL VEHICLES IN THE 2009-11 RANGE FOR TRAVERSE/ACADIA/ENCLAVE. IT IS NOT ONLY IRRESPONSIBLE, BUT GROSS NEGLIGENCE NOT TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM AND PASS THE PROBLEM TO THE CUSTOMER.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

4/22/2016 - VIENNA, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO THIRD GEAR WHICH RESULTED IN A LACK OF ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WAVE CLUTCH PLATE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2016 - VIENNA, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO THIRD GEAR WHICH RESULTED IN A LACK OF ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WAVE CLUTCH PLATE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2016 - VIENNA, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO THIRD GEAR WHICH RESULTED IN A LACK OF ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WAVE CLUTCH PLATE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/6/2016 - TYLER, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" THIS CAR HAS BEEN A NIGHTMARE FROM THE DAY WE BOUGHT IT. IT HAS HAD 4 RACK AND PINIONS, THE STRUTS REPLACED, A GEAR REPLACED IN THE STEERING COLUMN, A NEW POWER STEERING PUMP, A FUEL INJECTOR, AND TIMING CHAIN REPAIR. NOW IT IS IN THE SHOP AGAIN FOR ANOTHER ROUND OF TIMING CHAIN GONE BAD AND TENSIONERS, AS WELL AS NOW THE MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER IS LEAKING BACK INTO THE SYSTEM WHICH I WAS TOLD WILL CAUSE MY BRAKES TO JUST NO LONGER WORK AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT. I DRIVE MY CHILDREN IN THIS CAR, I PAID OVER $25,000.00 FOR IT AND I HAVE PUT OVER $8,000.00 IN REPAIRS INTO IT. I AM NOW HAVING TO REPAIR THE BRAKE ISSUE OR CHANCE MY FAMILY BEING KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT. WHILE MY HUSBAND HAS LOST HIS JOB IN THE OIL AND GAS INDUSTRY. I CAN'T EVEN SALE THE STUPID CAR, BECAUSE IT IS WORHTLESS!!! I AM DISGUSTED AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS VEHICLE, THE MANUFACTURER FOR DOING NOTHING FOR THEIR BUYERS AND THE FACT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NO RECALLS ON THE BRAKE ISSUE, WHEN THERE ARE MULTITUDES OF PAGES ON THE WEB OF COMPLAINTS OVER THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/6/2016 - TYLER, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" THIS CAR HAS BEEN A NIGHTMARE FROM THE DAY WE BOUGHT IT. IT HAS HAD 4 RACK AND PINIONS, THE STRUTS REPLACED, A GEAR REPLACED IN THE STEERING COLUMN, A NEW POWER STEERING PUMP, A FUEL INJECTOR, AND TIMING CHAIN REPAIR. NOW IT IS IN THE SHOP AGAIN FOR ANOTHER ROUND OF TIMING CHAIN GONE BAD AND TENSIONERS, AS WELL AS NOW THE MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER IS LEAKING BACK INTO THE SYSTEM WHICH I WAS TOLD WILL CAUSE MY BRAKES TO JUST NO LONGER WORK AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT. I DRIVE MY CHILDREN IN THIS CAR, I PAID OVER $25,000.00 FOR IT AND I HAVE PUT OVER $8,000.00 IN REPAIRS INTO IT. I AM NOW HAVING TO REPAIR THE BRAKE ISSUE OR CHANCE MY FAMILY BEING KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT. WHILE MY HUSBAND HAS LOST HIS JOB IN THE OIL AND GAS INDUSTRY. I CAN'T EVEN SALE THE STUPID CAR, BECAUSE IT IS WORHTLESS!!! I AM DISGUSTED AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS VEHICLE, THE MANUFACTURER FOR DOING NOTHING FOR THEIR BUYERS AND THE FACT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NO RECALLS ON THE BRAKE ISSUE, WHEN THERE ARE MULTITUDES OF PAGES ON THE WEB OF COMPLAINTS OVER THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - TYLER, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" THIS CAR HAS BEEN A NIGHTMARE FROM THE DAY WE BOUGHT IT. IT HAS HAD 4 RACK AND PINIONS, THE STRUTS REPLACED, A GEAR REPLACED IN THE STEERING COLUMN, A NEW POWER STEERING PUMP, A FUEL INJECTOR, AND TIMING CHAIN REPAIR. NOW IT IS IN THE SHOP AGAIN FOR ANOTHER ROUND OF TIMING CHAIN GONE BAD AND TENSIONERS, AS WELL AS NOW THE MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER IS LEAKING BACK INTO THE SYSTEM WHICH I WAS TOLD WILL CAUSE MY BRAKES TO JUST NO LONGER WORK AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT. I DRIVE MY CHILDREN IN THIS CAR, I PAID OVER $25,000.00 FOR IT AND I HAVE PUT OVER $8,000.00 IN REPAIRS INTO IT. I AM NOW HAVING TO REPAIR THE BRAKE ISSUE OR CHANCE MY FAMILY BEING KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT. WHILE MY HUSBAND HAS LOST HIS JOB IN THE OIL AND GAS INDUSTRY. I CAN'T EVEN SALE THE STUPID CAR, BECAUSE IT IS WORHTLESS!!! I AM DISGUSTED AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS VEHICLE, THE MANUFACTURER FOR DOING NOTHING FOR THEIR BUYERS AND THE FACT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NO RECALLS ON THE BRAKE ISSUE, WHEN THERE ARE MULTITUDES OF PAGES ON THE WEB OF COMPLAINTS OVER THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

4/4/2016 - RAVENEL, SC
I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES FOR SEVERAL MONTHS NOW REGARDING THE STEERING. THE PROBLEM IS NOW OCCURRING MORE OFTEN. AT TIMES THE STEERING BECOMES STIFF MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO TURN. BASICALLY THE POWER STEERING CEASES TO FUNCTION MID-TURN WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE VEHICLE GOES INTO MANUAL STEERING AND IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. I HAVE HAD THIS OCCUR WHEN ATTEMPTING TO PULL IN OR OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, TURN IN A PARKING GARAGE, TURN IN A STORE PARKING LOT, MAKING A TURN AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, ETC. I HAVE MENTIONED THIS ISSUE TO THE DEALER BUT SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING. I HAD THE RACK AND PINION REPLACED TWO YEARS AGO BUT IT WAS NOT BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP WAS MAKING OTHERS REPAIRS AND NOTED THAT RACK AND PINION NEEDED REPLACEMENT. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I NOTICED THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE STEERING. WHY IS THIS PROBLEM NOT A RECALL? THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE IT CAUSES A FATALITY. THE STEERING PROBLEM CONCERNS ME AND I AM CURRENTLY LOOKING FOR ANOTHER VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/21/2016 - GATESVILLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO INCREASE TO 110 MPH WITHOUT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BEING DEPRESSED. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. IN ORDER TO DECREASE SPEED, THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 99,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds