Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 371 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (44) Steering (216) Unknown Or Other (13)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (11) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (2) Suspension (11) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (28) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/10/2018 - HOLLY HILL, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER FAILURE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND LATER TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED MCELVEEN BUICK GMC AT 843-871-6800 (LOCATED AT 117 FARMINGTON RD, SUMMERVILLE, SC 29483) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2018 - HOLLY HILL, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER FAILURE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND LATER TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED MCELVEEN BUICK GMC AT 843-871-6800 (LOCATED AT 117 FARMINGTON RD, SUMMERVILLE, SC 29483) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/9/2018 - MODESTO, CA
AIR BAGS LIGHT KEEPS TURNING ON , MY FRONT SUSPENSION KEEPS RATTLING KEEP FIXING IT AND CAN+T FIND THE PROBLEM , MY SEAT BELTS KEEP BREAKING, WE HAVE A ELICTRICAL PROBLEM SOMETIMES THINGS WORK AND SOMETIMES IT DON+T , AND TAIL GATE JERKS SOMETIMES WHEN CLOSING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2018 - MODESTO, CA
AIR BAGS LIGHT KEEPS TURNING ON , MY FRONT SUSPENSION KEEPS RATTLING KEEP FIXING IT AND CAN+T FIND THE PROBLEM , MY SEAT BELTS KEEP BREAKING, WE HAVE A ELICTRICAL PROBLEM SOMETIMES THINGS WORK AND SOMETIMES IT DON+T , AND TAIL GATE JERKS SOMETIMES WHEN CLOSING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/9/2018 - MODESTO, CA
AIR BAGS LIGHT KEEPS TURNING ON , MY FRONT SUSPENSION KEEPS RATTLING KEEP FIXING IT AND CAN+T FIND THE PROBLEM , MY SEAT BELTS KEEP BREAKING, WE HAVE A ELICTRICAL PROBLEM SOMETIMES THINGS WORK AND SOMETIMES IT DON+T , AND TAIL GATE JERKS SOMETIMES WHEN CLOSING.

View Details

STEERING

4/20/2018 - BATONROUGE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE APPROACHING A STOP SIGN, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER IN BOTH DIRECTIONS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, BUT FOUND NOT VISIBLE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED GERRY LANE BUICK GMC (6615 FLORIDA BLVD, BATON ROUGE, LA 70806, (225) 341-5413). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED, BUT THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 168,500.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2018 - PEACHTREE CITY, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SHUTTERED WHILE BEING OPERATED AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THOMPSON CHEVROLET BUICK GMC (701 S 2ND ST, PATTERSON, CA 95363) ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS FOR THIS FAILURE, BUT IT COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SOUTHTOWNE CHEVROLET BUICK GMC (695 BUKKSBORO DR, NEWNAN, GA 30265) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2018 - HAMMOND, LA
POWER STEERING MAKES ODD, HIGH-PITCHED SQUEAKING NOISES, SOMETIMES CHATTERS AND HAS COMPLETELY FAILED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE WE PURCHASED THE CAR IN 2011 WITH ONLY ABOUT 12,000 MILES. I HAVE ASKED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS EVERY TIME THE CAR WAS SERVICED AND WAS TOLD THIS IS NORMAL. I DON'T SEE HOW IT'S NORMAL TO BE DRIVING A CAR AND SUDDENLY HAVE NO STEERING. I AM HONESTLY SCARED EVERY TIME I LEAVE MY DRIVEWAY THAT THIS WILL CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AND INJURE SOMEONE. NOW, THE DEALER FINALLY ADMITS THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG - NEEDS POWER STEERING PUMP AND RACK & PINION. BUT IT NOW HAS 94,000 MILES, SO THEY WON'T REPAIR IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2018 - SHERBORN, MA
WHILE MY CAR WAS IN MOTION ON CITY STREET I HAD SUDDEN LOSS OF GEARS AND CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO HIGHER GEARS NOR MOVE MORE THAN 25 MPH. HAD DIAGNOSIS THAT I NEEDED NEW TRANSMISSION AT CHEVY DEALERSHIP. DEALER REPEATEDLY DENIED THAT ISSUE WAS RELATED TO SPECIAL COVERAGE BULLETIN #14404, TRANSMISSION CLUTCH WAVE PLATE, WELL DOCUMENTED DEFECT WITH 2009 TRAVERSE AND THEN WANTED TO CHARGE ME RIDICULOUS FEE TO DIAGNOSIS AFTER I REPLACED TRANSMISSION. HAD TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT AT LOCAL SHOP AND OLD TRANSMISSION DISASSEMBLED TO REVEAL BROKEN WAVE PLATE IN 3 PIECES. CHEVY CUST. SERVICE NOW REFUSES TO REIMBURSE FOR ANY COSTS SINCE REPAIR WAS NOT MADE AT DEALER DESPITE THE FACT MY CAR MET REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIAL COVERAGE

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2018 - KENOSHA, WI
THE TIMING CHAIN HAS BEEN AN ISSUE NOW TWICE ON THIS CAR. I PURCHASED THE CAR AT 51,000 MILES. IN JANUARY OF 2015 I GOT THE TIMING CHAIN REPLACED. IN DECEMBER OF 2017 AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR STARTED TO SLOW DOWN WHILE ON A BUSY ROAD AND SHUT DOWN. 2 SEPARATE MECHANICS ARE SAYING THAT IT IS THE TIMING CHAIN THAT HAS SLIPPED A FEW TEETH AND CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD NOT NEED TO BE REPLACED IN THAT SHORT OF A TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds