Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Suspension (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (2) Tires (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (12) Steering (150)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/1/2014 - NEW BADEN, IL
A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING STARTED ABOUT A MONTH AND A HALF AGO IN WHICH THE POWER STEERING WOULD STOP WORKING. AT FIRST IT WAS INFREQUENT, BUT NOW THE POWER STEERING QUITS ON EVERY SIGNIFICANT TURN. SO FAR IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AT HIGH SPEEDS ON LANE CHANGES AND THE LIKE. TOOK IT TO THE GM DEALER WHO STATED THE GEAR BOX NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT JUST UNDER $1200. I ASKED THEM TO CHECK IF GM WOULD ASSIST WITH (NOT FULLY COVER) THE COST OF THE REPAIRS SINCE IT BEGAN AT UNDER 100,000 MILES. GM STATED THEY WOULD NOT HELP. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WITH A LOT OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

8/29/2014 - NICEVILLE, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE SAFETY TRACT AND TRACT CONTROL SERVICE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,090. SR

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/27/2014 - WATERFORD, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V266000 (SEAT BELTS) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V118000 (AIR BAGS) HAD EXCEEDED THE REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. LUCKILY, THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. AZ

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/27/2014 - WATERFORD, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V266000 (SEAT BELTS) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V118000 (AIR BAGS) HAD EXCEEDED THE REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. LUCKILY, THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. AZ

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2014 - O'FALLON, MO
AT LOW SPEEDS, IN BOTH DRIVE MODE @ 20 MPH OR LESS AND IN REVERSE, STEERING LOSES POWER. THE FIRST SIGN OF TROUBLE CAME @60K MILES WHEN TRYING TO TURN LEFT AND GRADUALLY AFFECTED TURNING IN EITHER DIRECTION. IT IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO NAVIGATE THE CAR IN A PARKING LOT AND DON'T EVEN TRY TO PARALLEL PARK. IT IS SO HARD TO TURN THE WHEEL I BREAK OUT IN A SWEAT FROM HAVING TO CRANK IT SO HARD. IT HAS NOW BEEN GOING ON FOR 10 MONTHS. MY DAUGHTER WOULD LIKE TO TAKE HER DRIVING TEST BUT CAN'T BECAUSE OF THE STEERING ISSUE. I HAVE TO RENT A CAR SO SHE CAN GET HER LICENSE. REPORTED IT TO MY LOCAL CHEVY TECHNICIAN BACK IN DECEMBER 2013 WHEN I WAS IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE. CAR PORT SAID HE NOTICED IT AS WELL WHEN BRINGING CAR AROUND FRONT AFTER MY APPOINTMENT. HAVE HAD THREE SEPARATE TECHNICIANS LOOK AT THE ISSUE, OVER THE LAST 6 MONTHS, TWO DIFFERENT CHEVY DEALERSHIPS AND NTB, AND THEY HAD ONLY GUESSES AS TO WHAT MIGHT BE CAUSING THE PROBLEM OR HOW TO FIX IT.

View Details

STEERING

8/25/2014 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
IN OCTOBER 2013 I NOTICED THAT I WAS LOSING POWER STEERING WHENEVER I MADE A LEFT HAND TURN. IT WAS INTERMITTENT AND DID NOT OCCUR WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP TO BE CHECKED. IT CONTINUES WHEN TURNING LEFT AND NOW ALSO OCCURS WHEN TURNING RIGHT FROM A STOP. IN ADDITION WHEN I AM TRYING TO BACK OUT, IT LOCKS UP COMPLETELY THEN RELEASES ONCE I START MOVING. I HAVE ONLY EXPERIENCED THIS AT LOW SPEED 20-30 MPH AND HOPE I NEVER HAVE TO FIND OUT THAT IT HAPPENS AT HIGH SPEED TOO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/21/2014 - BELEN, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V118000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - SHELBY, AL
SINCE RECEIVING RECALL NOTICES ON OUR 2009 TRAVERSE, I HAVE CONTACTED A LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER TO GET THE RECALLS CLEARED ON THIS VEHICLE. IN ALL INSTANCES, EXCEPT THE RECALL ON THE 2ND ROW SEAT BELT RECALL, I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS HAVE NOT BEEN ISSUED TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THE RECALL ON THE AIR BAG HARNESS IS NOW THREE MONTHS OLD AND THE DEALER IS STILL SAYING THE REPAIR PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALERSHIP IN QUESTION IS EDWARDS CHEVROLET 280, LOCATED ON HWY 280 IN INVERNESS, ALABAMA.

View Details

STEERING

8/18/2014 - BENTON, LA
AT FIRST WHEN MAKING LEFT TURNS ONLY IF WOULD MAKE A FUNNY NOISE, THEN GOING AROUND A CURVE IT FELT LIKE THE TRAVERSE WAS TRYING TO DIE, WARRANTY CONVENIENTLY RAN OUT IN MAY 2014 I WILL HAVE THIS VEHICLE 1 YEAR END OF OCTOBER. DID NOT GET EXTENDED WARRANTY DUE TO NOTE WAS ALREADY HIGH, TOOK MY TRAVERSE TO MECHANIC WAS TOLD I NEEDED A RACK AND PINION AND A STEERING PUMP DUE TO LEAKING, WHICH WOULD END UP COSTING ANYWHERE FROM DIFFERENT PLACES $1600 TO $2100.00 YOU WOULD THINK WITH GM GOING INTO DEBT SO MUCH THEY WOULD MAKE THINGS RIGHT TO KEEP FROM LOSING BUSINESS!!! SOOOOO WISH I WOULD HAVE DONE MORE INVESTIGATING WHEN I NEED A BIGGER VEHICLE FOR MY 3 SMALL CHILDREN!!!

View Details

STEERING

8/18/2014 - KANKAKEE, IL
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PERFORM A LEFT HAND TURN AFTER RECEIVING A GREEN LIGHT, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF. CONTINUES TO BE A CONSTANT PROBLEM WITH A WHINING NOISE COMING FROM STEERING WHEEL. TOOK TO CHEVY DEALER AND THEY SAID RACK "BEGINNING TO SEAP." QUOTED ME $1300 TO FIX BUT I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE AN INVESTIGATION INTO THIS ISSUE SINCE SO MANY OTHER TRAVERSE OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds