Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 134 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (3) Steering (87) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/12/2014 - MENOMONEE FALLS, WI
POWER STEERING OCCASIONALLY STOPS RESPONDING. TYPICALLY OCCURS AT LOW SPEEDS AND PARKING LOT SITUATIONS. THE ISSUE IS RANDOM, BUT OCCURRING ON A MUCH MORE FREQUENT BASIS. I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED AS MY SON IS JUST BEGINNING TO DRIVE. IF A FAILURE WERE TO OCCUR WITH HIM IT VERY WELL COULD BE CATASTROPHIC.

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2014 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING UNDER 30 MPH MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THE POWER STEERING STOP WORKING MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 98,000. PM

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2014 - BERLIN CENTER, OH
STARTING IN JUNE OF LAST YEAR, THE POWER STEERING IN MY CAR GOES OUT SUDDENLY WHEN MAKING TURNS AT SLOWER SPEEDS. IT HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY LAST SUMMER, DIDN'T HAPPEN MUCH OVER THE COLDER MONTHS AND NOW HAPPENS JUST ABOUT EVERY TIME I MAKE A TURN. USED TO ONLY HAPPEN WHEN TURNING INTO PARKING SPOTS, HAS NOW HAPPENED A FEW TIMES WHEN TURNING ON TO SIDE STREETS. A FEW TIMES I ENDED UP ON THE BERM OR GRASS BECAUSE THE WHEEL WAS SO HARD TO TURN. THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT WITHOUT WARNING. I'M AFRAID IT MAY HAPPEN WHEN GOING AT HIGHER SPEEDS AND I'LL END UP IN A BAD ACCIDENT. I'VE HEARD THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST GM FOR THIS VERY PROBLEM, BUT HAVEN'T HEARD IF IT'S BEEN RECTIFIED. IT'S RIDICULOUS THAT THESE CARS HAVE NOT YET BEEN RECALLED! GM IS PUTTING MILLIONS OF LIVES IN DANGER.

View Details

STEERING

4/4/2014 - SOUTH JORDAN, UT
2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE LOST STEERING CONTROL ON THE FREEWAY ALMOST MAKING THE VEHICLE UNCONTROLLABLE AS EXITING THE OFF RAMP. HAD CARE BEEN DRIVEN BY MY WIFE, SHE WOULD NOT HAVE HAD THE STRENGTH TO GET THE VEHICLE UNDER CONTROL AND LIKELY WOULD HAVE RESULTED IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. SUBSEQUENT INVESTIGATION ON THE INTERNET REVEALED THAT HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS OF OTHERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME MALFUNCTION. THE SUV JUST BARELY TURNED 5 YEARS OLD AND HAS ONLY BEEN USED IN NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS COMPONENT DEFECT THAT WILL ULTIMATELY COST LIVES, IF NOT ALREADY. PLEASE CROSS REFERENCE ALL OF THE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS FOR ALL OF THE GM LAMDA PLATFORM VEHICLES WHICH ARE VIRTUALLY THE SAME VEHICLE, SAME COMPONENTS, BUT ARE REBADGED WITH DIFFERENT BODIES AND INTERIOR FOR EACH GM BRAND. THIS WOULD INCLUDE SATURN OUTLOOK, GMC ACADIA, CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, AND BUICK ENCLAVE....ALL WITH THE SAME STEERING COMPONENTS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/3/2014 - BISMARCK, IL
THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR COIL SPRING BROKE. THIS HAPPENED WHILE SITTING STILL IN TRAFFIC, I HEARD AN LOUD NOISE --- LIKE A FASTENER BREAKING AND THEN VEHICLE ROCKED. I PULLED OVER VERY SHORTLY AND CHECKED TO SEE IF A LUG NUTS OR TIRE BLEW AND DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING UNUSUAL. I JUST HAD MY TIRES ROTATED (4-2-14 ) AT LOCAL SHOP AND TOLD THEM ABOUT THE INCIDENT AND THEY FOUND THE TOP PART OF COIL SPRING -- APPROX. 3 TO 4 INCHES HAD BROKEN OFF. I GOT AN EST TO REPAIR AND WAS TOLD THAT THEIR PARTS SUPPLIER HAD OVER 150 UNITS OF THESE SPRINGS IN STOCK.( VERY UNUSUAL TO HAVE THIS MANY PCS IN STOCK UNLESS THERE ARE PROBLEMS W/ IT ) I ALSO THEN WENT HOME AND CHECKED ON INTERNET AND THERE ARE LOTS OF GMC & CHEVY VEH'S OF THIS TYPE THAT ARE HAVING SIMILAR PROBLEMS / ISSUES W/ THE COIL SPRING BREAKING. I CHECKED TO SEE IF ANY RECALL OR ADVISORY WAS LISTED -- NOTHING. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING -- I DRIVE MAY ROAD MILES AND THERE CERTAINLY IS NO ABUSE TO THIS VEH. I NOW MAY BE STUCK W/ A $ 300.00 PLUS REPAIR BILL WHICH IS NOT SOMETHING I'M LOOKING TO DO BECAUSE IT'S RECOMMENDED THAT BOTH COIL SPRINGS BE REPLACED BECAUSE WITH ONLY PUTTING ON 1 IT WILL BE STIFFER THAN THE ONE ON DRIVERS SIDE AND MOST LIKELY IT WILL BREAK ALSO BECAUSE OF THE SHIFT IN WEIGHT FROM THE NEW ONE. MY NEXT CONCERN -- IF DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE OR ANY ROAD FOR THAT MATTER AND THE COIL SPRING BREAKS AND IT CAUSES MY TIRE TO BE DAMAGED IT COULD BE THE CAUSE OF AN ACCIDENT OR MAYBE IT HAS ALREADY BEEN THE CAUSE AND NOT YET DISCOVERED !!!!!

View Details

STEERING

4/2/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
I BOUGHT MY TRAVERSE NEW IN 2009 AND ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY CROSSOVER, HOWEVER ABOUT TWO YEARS AFTER PURCHASE I STARTED HAVING LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER ON MORE THEN ONE OCCASIONS TO NO AVAIL THEY TELL ME THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I'VE LOOKED ONLINE AND I SEE NUMEROUS OWNERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I'VE LOSS POWER STEERING WHILE PARKING, BACKING UP, MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS I FEEL LIKE A HOSTAGE WITH THIS AUTOMOBILE SINCE THERE SEEMS TO BE NO KNOWN SOLUTION. I RECEIVED A PHONE CALL FROM A MECHANIC WHO'S AWARE OF MY PROBLEM AND HE INFORMED ME THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE (STEERING:ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM) HOWEVER I DON'T SEE MY MODEL VEHICLE LISTED. I NEED HELP AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT TO DO NOW THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE STEERING BUT IT DOESN'T INCLUDE MY VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

4/1/2014 - MARION, IN
AFTER CAR WARMS UP, NO POWER STEERING AT SPEEDS UNDER 20 MPH.

View Details

STEERING

4/1/2014 - LAKE WORTH, FL
INTERMITTENT STEERING FAILURE IN 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE. SPEED IS NOT A FACTOR SINCE THE STEERING JUST STOPS WORKING AT NO MATTER WHAT MY SPEED IS. IT DOESN'T MATTER IF YOUR TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT. IT STARTED OUT JUST HAPPENING ON OCCASION NOT VERY FREQUENTLY. NOW IT IS HAPPENING ALL THE TIME. I HAVE HAD THE STEERING JUST STOP WORKING TO THE POINT THAT YOU CANNOT STEER AT ALL LIKE IT JUST LOCKS UP, NOT EVEN MANUAL STEERING IS AVAILABLE. I HAVE HAD THE STEERING STOP WORKING WHILE TRYING TO TURN A CORNER AND HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE STEERING TO COME BACK BEFORE I CAN FINISH THE TURN. IT ONLY TAKES A FEW SECONDS FOR IT TO COME BACK AND I HAVE NOT GOTTEN INTO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF IT YET BUT MY FEAR IS THAT IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT WITH THIS ISSUE. THIS HAS HAPPENED DOING 70 MPH DOWN THE EXPRESSWAY. THIS IS MY WIFE'S CAR AND I HAVE GREAT CONCERN WITH HER DRIVING THIS CAR. I HAVE READ SEVERAL STEERING ISSUES ON THE INTERNET DEALING WITH THE SAME ISSUE THAT I AM HAVING HOWEVER GM HAS NOT RECALLED THIS PROBLEM YET.

View Details

STEERING

4/1/2014 - MCLOUD, OK
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING STOP WORKING AND A RESULT, HE CRASH INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING AND RACK AND PINION MIGHT BE DEFECTIVE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 90,000. RK

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/26/2014 - CAMDEN, SC
RIDING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE STABILITRACK/TRACTION LIGHT COMES ON, CAR POWERS DOWN AND CAR BEHIND ME ALMOST HIT ME CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. GOOD THING KIDS WERE NOT IN CAR. DANGEROUS AND SCARY SITUATION, GETTING A LAWYER...

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds