Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 346 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Seat Belts (9) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (19) Power Train (39) Steering (209) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/15/2017 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
I WAS COMING BACK FROM DROPPING OFF MY KIDS AT SCHOOL WHEN I HEARD A BEEPING NOISE AND THEN I REALIZED THAT I HAD LOSS OF POWER, I THEN LOOKED AT MY DASHBOARD AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT AND THE BRAKE LIGHT WAS ON, I DIDN'T THINK NOTHING OF IT SINCE IT ONLY LASTED FOR A FEW MINUTES BUT THE NEXT DAY IT HAPPENED AGAIN:( I'M SO SCARED TO DRIVE ON THE FREEWAY BECAUSE I HAVE 4 KIDS FROM AGES 12 TO 9 MONTHS AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO RISK GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT IF ALL OF THE SUDDEN MY TRUCK DOES THAT AND I GET HIT FROM THE BACK. I BEEN LOOKING INTO THIS ISSUE AND I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE I CAN'T AFFORD TO BE PAYING UNNECESSARY MONEY FOR A PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT MORE DEEPLY PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/2/2017 - KYLE, TX
IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY UPHILL THE STABILITY TRACK, REDUCE ENGINE POWER WENT ON. SUDDENLY LOST POWER FROM 70MPH TO BARELY 40 MPH. IMMEDIATELY HAD TO PULL OVER ON HIGHWAY EMERGENCY LANE. SERVICED 3 TIMES AND PROBLEM CONTINUES. VERY UNSAFE AS THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER. I HAVE HAD TMC REPLACE, CONNECTOR REPLACED, THROTTLE BODY REPLACE. BIG ISSUE EVERYONE IS HAVING!! THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 3 YEARS. PROBLEM GETS "FIXED" AND MONTHS LATER IT COMES BACK. FUSTRATING AND HAS COST LOTS OF $$$$ WE DON'T HAVE TO SPARE. PLEASE VIEW LINK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/HBVAOIIXNXY

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/2/2017 - KYLE, TX
IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY UPHILL THE STABILITY TRACK, REDUCE ENGINE POWER WENT ON. SUDDENLY LOST POWER FROM 70MPH TO BARELY 40 MPH. IMMEDIATELY HAD TO PULL OVER ON HIGHWAY EMERGENCY LANE. SERVICED 3 TIMES AND PROBLEM CONTINUES. VERY UNSAFE AS THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER. I HAVE HAD TMC REPLACE, CONNECTOR REPLACED, THROTTLE BODY REPLACE. BIG ISSUE EVERYONE IS HAVING!! THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 3 YEARS. PROBLEM GETS "FIXED" AND MONTHS LATER IT COMES BACK. FUSTRATING AND HAS COST LOTS OF $$$$ WE DON'T HAVE TO SPARE. PLEASE VIEW LINK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/HBVAOIIXNXY

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2017 - NEW PALESTINE, IN
ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS WITHIN THE PAST YEAR, THE POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT IN MY 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE WHILE I AM DRIVING. ON TWO OCCASIONS, IT WAS RAINING AND MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT AS I WAS TURNING - BOTH INSTANCES ON A CITY STREET. THE THIRD INSTANCE WAS ON A CITY STREET (IN A NEIGHBORHOOD) AND THE POWER STEERING AGAIN WENT OUT AS I WAS GOING AROUND A TURN. THERE WAS A SMALL AMOUNT OF WATER ON THE ROAD BUT IT WAS NOT RAINING AT THE TIME. IN ALL THREE INSTANCES, THE VEHICLES WAS IN MOTION, TURNING, AND ON A CITY STREET. IT IS UNKNOWN TO ME WHAT THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM WAS, BUT QUITE SCARY WHEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. THE LAST TWO INCIDENTS WERE CLOSE TOGETHER AND WITHIN THE LAST COUPLE OF WEEKS (DURING JULY 2017).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/6/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
AS SOON AS MY VEHICLE REACHED JUST OVER 102,000 MILES, MY ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WHILE WE WERE DRIVING OUR KIDS TO PRACTICE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP THAT HAS BEEN REPAIRING MY VEHICLE SINCE WE PURCHASED IT (1.5 YEARS PRIOR TO THE ENGINE SHUTTING DOWN) AND THEY HAVE INFORMED US WE NEED A COMPLETELY NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THE CRANKSHAFT IS COMPLETELY BLOWN. WHEN THEY FINALLY GOT IT STARTED UP, IT SOUNDED LIKE A BAG OF HAMMERS BEING VIOLENTLY SHAKEN. IN THE 1.5 YEARS THAT WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE, THE TIMING BELT HAS GONE OUT, AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT CAUSED THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY AS WELL, AND ANOTHER REPAIR THAT MY HUSBAND HANDLED SHORTLY AFTER WE GOT THE CAR. CHEVY HAS TOLD US WE ARE OUT OF LUCK AND THAT WE HAVE TO PAY FOR A NEW ENGINE. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP CHECKED THE VALUE OF THE VEHICLE BECAUSE WE WERE GOING TO TRY TO TRADE IT IN, THEY TOLD US THE CAR, IN PERFECT WORKING CONDITION WOULD ONLY BE WORTH $6,000.00, EVEN THOUGH 1.5 YEARS PRIOR, IT WAS WORTH $20,000. THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT IS GOING TO COST US MORE THAN THE VEHICLE IS WORTH! FROM WHAT WE HAVE SEEN, A LOT OF THESE CARS (SAME YEAR MAKE AND MODEL) ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AND SHOULD BE RECALLED COMPLETELY!

View Details

ENGINE

7/6/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
AS SOON AS MY VEHICLE REACHED JUST OVER 102,000 MILES, MY ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WHILE WE WERE DRIVING OUR KIDS TO PRACTICE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP THAT HAS BEEN REPAIRING MY VEHICLE SINCE WE PURCHASED IT (1.5 YEARS PRIOR TO THE ENGINE SHUTTING DOWN) AND THEY HAVE INFORMED US WE NEED A COMPLETELY NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THE CRANKSHAFT IS COMPLETELY BLOWN. WHEN THEY FINALLY GOT IT STARTED UP, IT SOUNDED LIKE A BAG OF HAMMERS BEING VIOLENTLY SHAKEN. IN THE 1.5 YEARS THAT WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE, THE TIMING BELT HAS GONE OUT, AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT CAUSED THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY AS WELL, AND ANOTHER REPAIR THAT MY HUSBAND HANDLED SHORTLY AFTER WE GOT THE CAR. CHEVY HAS TOLD US WE ARE OUT OF LUCK AND THAT WE HAVE TO PAY FOR A NEW ENGINE. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP CHECKED THE VALUE OF THE VEHICLE BECAUSE WE WERE GOING TO TRY TO TRADE IT IN, THEY TOLD US THE CAR, IN PERFECT WORKING CONDITION WOULD ONLY BE WORTH $6,000.00, EVEN THOUGH 1.5 YEARS PRIOR, IT WAS WORTH $20,000. THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT IS GOING TO COST US MORE THAN THE VEHICLE IS WORTH! FROM WHAT WE HAVE SEEN, A LOT OF THESE CARS (SAME YEAR MAKE AND MODEL) ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AND SHOULD BE RECALLED COMPLETELY!

View Details

STEERING

6/12/2017 - TYNGSBOROUGH, MA
GOOD AFTERNOON. I HAVE A 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE LS. I WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING AND RECEIVED THE SPECIAL COVERAGE NOTICE NUMBER 14329 TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE. ACCORDING TO NOTICE, THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FLUSHED, THE STEERING PUMP REPLACED AND A NEW STEERING GEAR INSTALLED. I RECENTLY WENT IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AT THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP IN LOWELL AND CAME ACROSS SOME ISSUES WITH THE STEERING. THERE WAS FLUID LEAKING FROM THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR. IT HASN'T BEEN A YEAR AND IF THESE WERE REPLACED LAST JULY THIS PROBLEM SHOULD NOT BE OCCURRING AGAIN. HOW DO I GO ABOUT HAVING THIS PROBLEM RESOLVED? THANK YOU

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2017 - BRADY, TX
2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION AFTER RECALL INSPECTION AND EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN FOR AN INSPECTION OF THE TRANSMISSION, PER THE RECALL REQUEST, NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. 5 DAYS LATER THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER WAS 1,000 MILES OVER THE WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. ALSO, THE ALL 3 CATALYTIC CONVERTERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

5/23/2017 - BRADY, TX
2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION AFTER RECALL INSPECTION AND EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN FOR AN INSPECTION OF THE TRANSMISSION, PER THE RECALL REQUEST, NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. 5 DAYS LATER THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER WAS 1,000 MILES OVER THE WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. ALSO, THE ALL 3 CATALYTIC CONVERTERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/2/2017 - RIVERDALE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING AND STRUCK THE CONTACT. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A LIGHT POLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE RIGHT EYE AND SUFFERED NAUSEA AND DIZZINESS, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE CRASH. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds