Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 124 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (41) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (12) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

11/28/2016 - YARDLEY, PA
THE TPMS CAUSES SLOW AIR LEAKS TO DEVELOP DUE TO FAULTY GASKETS/O RINGS. TIRES WITH THIS PROBLEM REQUIRE REFILLING WITH APPROXIMATELY 5 LBS OF AIR PRESSURE PER WEEK.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2016 - FARMVILLE, VA
DURING DRIVING IN THE CITY OR ON THE HIGHWAY I'VE BEEN HAVING AN ENGINE MISFIRE WITH SPARK PLUG FOULING CAUSING PROBLEMS RESULTING IN A CATALYTIC CONVERTER AND O2 SENSOR REPLACEMENT. MY VAN IS STILL IN THE SHOP AND HAS TO BE TOWED TO A DEALER 46 MILES AWAY TO SEE IF THEY CAN GET IT TO STOP SPEWING OIL INTO THE COMBUSTION CHAMBER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/20/2016 - CONYERS, GA
MY 2009 ODYSSEY 06/05/15 IT CURRENTLY HAS 115,000 MILES ON IT. THIS IS THE SECOND ENGINE LIGHT DEALING WITH THE TRANSMISSION. WHEN I FIRST GOT THE CAR I HAD IT ROUTINELY SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS THE CLUTCH THIS TIME IT IS THE TORQUE CONVERTER, SO ALL INTERNAL. THE GEARS ARE FINE UNTIL 5TH OR OVERDRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2016 - HAMILTON, OH
I JUST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON APRIL 19, 2016. I HAD THE OIL CHANGED MID JUNE. MY WIFE HAD A TRIP TO FLORIDA NEAR THE END OF JUNE, SO I CHECKED THE OIL AND IT WAS FINE. AS OF TODAY I HEARD A KNOCKING SOUND AND CHECKED THE OIL. IT WAS TWO QUARTS LOW. I FILLED THE OIL AND THE KNOCKING SOUND REMAINS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2016 - ARLINGTON, VA
FRONT AND SIDE ENGINE MOUNTS FAILED AT LESS THAN 60,000 MILES WITH REGULAR LIGHT USE AND NO ACCIDENTS. SYMPTOMS WERE CLUNKING OF THE ENGINE WHEN SHIFTING INTO GEAR AND STARTING AND STOPPING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/10/2016 - LAFAYETTE HILL, PA
WE OWN A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY THAT RECENTLY EXPERIENCED FAILED GAS STRUTS IN THE HATCH.THE CAR WAS PARKED & I WAS LOADING GROCERIES INTO IT WHEN THE REAR LIFTGATE CAME CRASHING DOWN - I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO JUMP OUT OFTHE WAY IN TIME OR COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT.. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE 2009 ODYSSEY FOR THE EXACT SAME FAILURE MODE, BUT ONLY FOR THE MOTORIZED HATCH. (OURS IS NOT MOTORIZED). I WOULD LIKE YOU TO LOOK INTO THE POSSIBILITY OF HAVING HONDA INCREASE THE SCOPE OF THE RECALL TO INCLUDE NON-MOTORIZED HATCHES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/21/2016 - DULUTH, GA
REAR RIGHT WHEEL CAMBER CAN'T BE ALIGNED WITH EXTENSIVE NOISE FROM REAR SUSPENSION. CONCERN THAT SUSPENSION COULD BE FAILING. HAVE HONDA CARE WARRANTY FROM THE MANUFACTURER BUT THEY REFUSED TO DIAGNOSE AND SOLVE THE PROBLEM. DEALER WANTS THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO TEAR DOWN AND REBUILD THE SUSPENSION AT MY EXPENSE, WHICH IS A SIGNIFICANT FINANCIAL BURDEN IN SPITE OF THE WARRANTY

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/26/2016 - LAVALLETTE, NJ
SUBJECT: 2008-2009-2010 HONDA ODYSSEY TAIL LIGHT DEFECTS COMMENTS: 2008-2009-2010 HONDA ODYSSEY TAIL LIGHTS ARE SUSCEPTIBLE TO WATER PENETRATION WHICH WILL EVENTUALLY SHORT OUT THE TAIL LIGHTS. THIS APPLIES TO THE PORTION OF THE TAIL LIGHT WHICH IS ATTACHED TO THE REAR HATCH DOOR. WATER ACCUMULATES IN THE WHITE PART OF THE LENS WHICH IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TAIL LIGHT IN THESE MODEL YEARS (I.E., THE BACK UP LIGHTS). THERE IS APPARENTLY A DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING DEFECT IN THE SEALED LIGHT SYSTEM. I HAVE HAD BOTH TAIL LIGHTS REPLACED IN MY 2010 ODYSSEY DUE TO WATER PENETRATION & COLLECTION. I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THIS CLAIM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/4/2016 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
UNABLE TO LIFT UP PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW (FRONT AND REAR) ONCE WINDOW IS DOWN MAINLY IN COLD WEATHER. ALSO TIME TO TIME, UNABLE TO OPEN FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FROM INSIDE. I HAVE TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR USING DRIVE SIDE BUTTON FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE, OR USE REMOTE CONTROL TO PERFORM LOCK/UNLOCK FUNCTION. FOR WINDOW OPERATION IT DOESN'T MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR NOT MOVING. FOR LOCK OPERATION VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING. FOR BOTH OPERATION VEHICLE ENGINE COULD BE ON. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE DAY ONE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS INFORMED BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME PROBLEM RECOVERS BY THE TIME WE REACH DEALERSHIP (30 MINUTES LATER)

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/4/2016 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
UNABLE TO LIFT UP PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW (FRONT AND REAR) ONCE WINDOW IS DOWN MAINLY IN COLD WEATHER. ALSO TIME TO TIME, UNABLE TO OPEN FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FROM INSIDE. I HAVE TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR USING DRIVE SIDE BUTTON FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE, OR USE REMOTE CONTROL TO PERFORM LOCK/UNLOCK FUNCTION. FOR WINDOW OPERATION IT DOESN'T MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR NOT MOVING. FOR LOCK OPERATION VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING. FOR BOTH OPERATION VEHICLE ENGINE COULD BE ON. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE DAY ONE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS INFORMED BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME PROBLEM RECOVERS BY THE TIME WE REACH DEALERSHIP (30 MINUTES LATER)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds