Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 112 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (36) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
TOOK THE CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR EMISSIONS CHECK LIGHT. DIAGNOSED AS "NOX SENSOR WIRING HARNESS CHEWED BY MOUSE" PER HONDA DEALERSHIP. THERE IS NO EVIDENCE OF RODENT DAMAGE OR PRESENCE ELSEWHERE IN THE VEHICLE. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP DID NOT PROVIDE ME THE PICTURES OR THE DAMAGED PART SAYING THAT IT WAS THROWN IN THE TRASH. THE WIRING WAS APPARENTLY COVERED BY HONDA RODENT DETERRENT TAPE. I HAVE CONTACTED ACURA/HONDA DEALERSHIPS, THEIR EXTENDED WARRANTY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALSO THE RESPECTIVE ACURA/HONDA MANUFACTURER CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO MY OTHER CAR (ACURA MDX 2009) WITHIN A SPAN OF ONE WEEK WITH EXACTLY SIMILAR PRESENTATION. WHEN I REQUESTED INFORMATION FROM THE ABOVE SOURCES, I WAS TOLD THAT THIS WAS CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION AND IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR CUSTOMERS AND THAT IS IT IS A RARE EVENT AND NOT RELATED TO MANUFACTURING DEFECTS AND ALSO THERE WAS NO DEFINITIVE TREND IN ACURA/HONDA(SAME COMPANY) NOX SENSOR WIRING HARNESS BEING CHEWED BY RODENTS AND HAVE REFUSED TO COVER IT UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY PROGRAM TO WHICH I HAVE SUBSCRIBED/PURCHASED. I HAVE ANOTHER ENTRY REGARDING THE OTHER VEHICLE AT THE NHTSA.GOV WEBSITE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/27/2015 - LOWELL, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH MY WIFE'S 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY BEGAN TO SHAKE AS I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE POWER AND I HAD TO MANUALLY STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY.. UPON OPENING THE HOOD I COULD SMELL THAT SOMETHING WAS BURNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED 79 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. I WAS INFORMED THAT A SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT COMPLETELY AND A PORTION OF THAT PLUG ENTERED THE CYLINDER AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE ENTIRE THREADING OF THE SPARK PLUG WAS DAMAGED AND MELTED INTO THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2015 - LOWELL, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH MY WIFE'S 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY BEGAN TO SHAKE AS I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE POWER AND I HAD TO MANUALLY STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY.. UPON OPENING THE HOOD I COULD SMELL THAT SOMETHING WAS BURNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED 79 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. I WAS INFORMED THAT A SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT COMPLETELY AND A PORTION OF THAT PLUG ENTERED THE CYLINDER AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE ENTIRE THREADING OF THE SPARK PLUG WAS DAMAGED AND MELTED INTO THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/27/2015 - LOWELL, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH MY WIFE'S 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY BEGAN TO SHAKE AS I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE POWER AND I HAD TO MANUALLY STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY.. UPON OPENING THE HOOD I COULD SMELL THAT SOMETHING WAS BURNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED 79 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. I WAS INFORMED THAT A SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT COMPLETELY AND A PORTION OF THAT PLUG ENTERED THE CYLINDER AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE ENTIRE THREADING OF THE SPARK PLUG WAS DAMAGED AND MELTED INTO THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2015 - COLUMBIA, SC
POWER LIFT GATE FAILED WHILE TRUNK WAS OPENING; I PRESSED THE TRUNK BUTTON ON THE INSIDE OF THE CAR AND THE LIFT GATE BEGAN TO OPEN AS USUAL. MY 10 YEAR OLD CHILD WAS PUTTING BASEBALL GEAR IN TRUNK AND THE LIFT GATE BEEPED TWICE AS IT WAS TRYING TO FULLY OPEN BUT COULD NOT. IT THEN BEEPED CONTINUOUSLY AS IT LOWERED. MY SON WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE WAY. NOW THE LIFT GATE WILL NOT STAY PROPPED OPEN AND IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO OPEN MANUALLY. I WILL TAKE VEHICLE TO HONDA DEALER MONDAY BUT IT DOES NOT APPEAR MY VIN IS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL FOR THE STRUTS IN THE POWER LIFT GATE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/20/2015 - WOODSIDE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT LOCATED IN THE REAR THIRD ROW SEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE FAILED TO RELEASE. THE CHILD HAD TO BE CUT OUT OF THE SEAT BELT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE INSPECTED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/13/2015 - PEOIRA, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUFFERED BODILY PAIN THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE PASSENGER DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES, BUT RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/24/2015 - MANAHAWKIN, NJ
2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER RECEIVED RECALL FOR VEHICLE BUT HAS TO WAIT FOR REPAIR BECAUSE OF STAFF OF DEALERSHIP. CONSUMER UNSATISFIED. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE RECALL COULD NOT BE PERFORMED AS THERE WERE TOO MANY ITEMS IN THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE HAD TOO MUCH GAS. RECALL # 14V112000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/14/2015 - NEW BERN, NC
MY TAILGATE SUPPORT STRUTS FAILED IN 2012. THEY WERE SUBJECT TO A RECALL AND WERE REPLACED. THEY HAVE NOW FAILED AGAIN IN THE SAME MANNER. I HAD TO REPLACE THEM AGAIN 2/12/2015 AT A COST OF $!56.31. JUST AS WHEN THEY WERE RECALLED, THE STRUTS STOPPED SUPPORTING THE WEIGHT OF THE DOOR SO THAT WHEN IT OPENS, IT SUDDENLY COMES DOWN AGAIN. IT HAS HIT ME IN THE HEAD AS I REACHED INTO THE REAR TO GRAB A BAG. EVEN WHEN YOU OPEN IT MANUALLY, THE STRUTS CANNOT HOLD THE DOOR OPEN AND IT SLUMPS DOWN ABOUT HALFWAY OPEN. THIS IS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE THAT CAUSED THE STRUTS TO BE RECALLED IN 2012. THIS IS A DESIGN DEFECT IN THE 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY AND HONDA SHOULD PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2015 - WATERFORD, NY
I THOUGHT THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR ON MY 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY WAS CLOSED BUT WHEN DRIVING AT A SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE DOOR FLEW OPEN. I PULLED OVER AND TRIED TO CLOSE THE DOOR BUT IT WOULD NOT CLOSE. AFTER TRYING SEVERAL TIMES, I DECIDED I NEEDED TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. I REACHED BACK AND HELD THE DOOR CLOSED WITH MY LEFT ARM/HAND AS I DROVE SLOWLY TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER WAS CLOSED BUT A SALESMAN GAVE ME A RENTAL CAR FOR THE NIGHT AND SAID THEY WOULD CALL THE NEXT DAY, WHICH THEY DID. THEY TOLD ME THE LATCH WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND WOULD NEED TO REPLACE IT. WHAT CHOICE DID I HAVE SINCE I COULDN'T DRIVE IT THE WAY IT WAS. SO, I PAID $376.61 TO HAVE IT REPLACED. I THOUGHT THE PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED, BUT THE SAME EXACT THING HAPPENED ON THE SAME DOOR ABOUT 2 MONTHS LATER. AGAIN I REACHED BACK AND HELD THE DOOR CLOSED AS I DROVE IT BACK TO THE DEALER. AS YOU CAN IMAGINE I WAS QUITE UPSET SINCE I HAD SPENT ALL THAT MONEY TO SUPPOSEDLY HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED. AFTER THE MECHANIC PLAYED AROUND WITH THE LATCHES WITH A SCREW DRIVER AND GREASE HE WAS ABLE TO CLOSE THE DOOR. HE INFORMED ME THAT THE REAR LATCH ON THE DOOR WAS STICKING PREVENTING THE DOOR FROM CLOSING. HE WAS SURPRISED THEY DIDN'T TRY THAT 2 MONTHS PRIOR BEFORE REPLACING THE LATCH. THE SERVICE MANAGER EVEN TOLD ME THEY HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE A LATCH ASSEMBLY IN THESE VANS. SO, I ASKED IF I COULD GET REIMBURSED FOR THE COST OF REPLACING THE LATCH BUT WAS DENIED. THIS IS WHY I AM WRITING HONDA TO SEE IF YOU WILL REIMBURSE ME THE $376.61 I PAID TO HAVE THE LATCH ASSEMBLY REPLACED THAT DIDN'T NEED TO BE. I CAN PROVIDE YOU WITH A COPY OF THE RECEIPT FROM THE DEALER, IF NEEDED. THIS IS THE 2ND ODYSSEY I HAVE OWNED AND HAVE ALWAYS HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE SLIDING DOORS STICKING MAKING IT HARD TO OPEN THEM BUT HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM CLOSING THEM. I HOPE YOU WILL ASSIST ME IN THIS MATTER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds