Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (4) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (35) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (6) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/13/2015 - PEOIRA, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUFFERED BODILY PAIN THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE PASSENGER DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES, BUT RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/24/2015 - MANAHAWKIN, NJ
2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER RECEIVED RECALL FOR VEHICLE BUT HAS TO WAIT FOR REPAIR BECAUSE OF STAFF OF DEALERSHIP. CONSUMER UNSATISFIED. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE RECALL COULD NOT BE PERFORMED AS THERE WERE TOO MANY ITEMS IN THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE HAD TOO MUCH GAS. RECALL # 14V112000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/14/2015 - NEW BERN, NC
MY TAILGATE SUPPORT STRUTS FAILED IN 2012. THEY WERE SUBJECT TO A RECALL AND WERE REPLACED. THEY HAVE NOW FAILED AGAIN IN THE SAME MANNER. I HAD TO REPLACE THEM AGAIN 2/12/2015 AT A COST OF $!56.31. JUST AS WHEN THEY WERE RECALLED, THE STRUTS STOPPED SUPPORTING THE WEIGHT OF THE DOOR SO THAT WHEN IT OPENS, IT SUDDENLY COMES DOWN AGAIN. IT HAS HIT ME IN THE HEAD AS I REACHED INTO THE REAR TO GRAB A BAG. EVEN WHEN YOU OPEN IT MANUALLY, THE STRUTS CANNOT HOLD THE DOOR OPEN AND IT SLUMPS DOWN ABOUT HALFWAY OPEN. THIS IS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE THAT CAUSED THE STRUTS TO BE RECALLED IN 2012. THIS IS A DESIGN DEFECT IN THE 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY AND HONDA SHOULD PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2015 - WATERFORD, NY
I THOUGHT THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR ON MY 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY WAS CLOSED BUT WHEN DRIVING AT A SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE DOOR FLEW OPEN. I PULLED OVER AND TRIED TO CLOSE THE DOOR BUT IT WOULD NOT CLOSE. AFTER TRYING SEVERAL TIMES, I DECIDED I NEEDED TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. I REACHED BACK AND HELD THE DOOR CLOSED WITH MY LEFT ARM/HAND AS I DROVE SLOWLY TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER WAS CLOSED BUT A SALESMAN GAVE ME A RENTAL CAR FOR THE NIGHT AND SAID THEY WOULD CALL THE NEXT DAY, WHICH THEY DID. THEY TOLD ME THE LATCH WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND WOULD NEED TO REPLACE IT. WHAT CHOICE DID I HAVE SINCE I COULDN'T DRIVE IT THE WAY IT WAS. SO, I PAID $376.61 TO HAVE IT REPLACED. I THOUGHT THE PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED, BUT THE SAME EXACT THING HAPPENED ON THE SAME DOOR ABOUT 2 MONTHS LATER. AGAIN I REACHED BACK AND HELD THE DOOR CLOSED AS I DROVE IT BACK TO THE DEALER. AS YOU CAN IMAGINE I WAS QUITE UPSET SINCE I HAD SPENT ALL THAT MONEY TO SUPPOSEDLY HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED. AFTER THE MECHANIC PLAYED AROUND WITH THE LATCHES WITH A SCREW DRIVER AND GREASE HE WAS ABLE TO CLOSE THE DOOR. HE INFORMED ME THAT THE REAR LATCH ON THE DOOR WAS STICKING PREVENTING THE DOOR FROM CLOSING. HE WAS SURPRISED THEY DIDN'T TRY THAT 2 MONTHS PRIOR BEFORE REPLACING THE LATCH. THE SERVICE MANAGER EVEN TOLD ME THEY HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE A LATCH ASSEMBLY IN THESE VANS. SO, I ASKED IF I COULD GET REIMBURSED FOR THE COST OF REPLACING THE LATCH BUT WAS DENIED. THIS IS WHY I AM WRITING HONDA TO SEE IF YOU WILL REIMBURSE ME THE $376.61 I PAID TO HAVE THE LATCH ASSEMBLY REPLACED THAT DIDN'T NEED TO BE. I CAN PROVIDE YOU WITH A COPY OF THE RECEIPT FROM THE DEALER, IF NEEDED. THIS IS THE 2ND ODYSSEY I HAVE OWNED AND HAVE ALWAYS HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE SLIDING DOORS STICKING MAKING IT HARD TO OPEN THEM BUT HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM CLOSING THEM. I HOPE YOU WILL ASSIST ME IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/19/2014 - FRANKLIN, NJ
ON TWO RECENT OCCASIONS, THE TAILGATE HAS LOWERED ITSELF WITHOUT THE DRIVER PRESSING THE TAILGATE BUTTON ON THE DASHBOARD OR ON THE TAILGATE ITSELF. IT LOWERS WITHOUT GIVING THE NORMAL AUDIBLE SIGNAL. AND IN BOTH CASES, THERE WAS A MINOR INJURY OCCURRING AS A RESULT OF THE PROBLEM. ONCE TO A CHILD, AND THE LATEST TO AN ADULT. IN THE LATEST INCIDENT, THE DRIVERS HEAD (EAR) WAS IMPACTED BY THE DOWNWARD FORCE OF THE TAILGATE, PRESSING THE HEAD AGAINST THE LEFT REAR CORNER OF THE VEHICLE WHILE THE DRIVER WAS LEANING INTO THE REAR COMPARTMENT. VERY PAINFUL TO THE DRIVER'S LEFT EAR, BUT NOT IMMEDIATELY REQUIRING MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT OF OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP - WHERE THE VEHICLE IS NORMALLY MAINTAINED - STATES THIS VIN IS NOT UNDER RECALL FOR FAULTY TAILGATE STRUTS OR RELATED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/19/2014 - FRANKLIN, NJ
ON TWO RECENT OCCASIONS, THE TAILGATE HAS LOWERED ITSELF WITHOUT THE DRIVER PRESSING THE TAILGATE BUTTON ON THE DASHBOARD OR ON THE TAILGATE ITSELF. IT LOWERS WITHOUT GIVING THE NORMAL AUDIBLE SIGNAL. AND IN BOTH CASES, THERE WAS A MINOR INJURY OCCURRING AS A RESULT OF THE PROBLEM. ONCE TO A CHILD, AND THE LATEST TO AN ADULT. IN THE LATEST INCIDENT, THE DRIVERS HEAD (EAR) WAS IMPACTED BY THE DOWNWARD FORCE OF THE TAILGATE, PRESSING THE HEAD AGAINST THE LEFT REAR CORNER OF THE VEHICLE WHILE THE DRIVER WAS LEANING INTO THE REAR COMPARTMENT. VERY PAINFUL TO THE DRIVER'S LEFT EAR, BUT NOT IMMEDIATELY REQUIRING MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT OF OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP - WHERE THE VEHICLE IS NORMALLY MAINTAINED - STATES THIS VIN IS NOT UNDER RECALL FOR FAULTY TAILGATE STRUTS OR RELATED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

12/8/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE RETRIEVING HER INFANT FROM THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THE SLIDING DOOR DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TOP ROLLER OF THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2014 - PLEASANTIVILE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE SERPENTINE BELT FRACTURED AND THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED ON THE SECOND OCCASION THAT THE SERPENTINE BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,852.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/28/2014 - KISSIMMEE, FL
WHEN USING THE VAN ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS IN THE CITY STREETS. WHILE RAINING AND AFTER IT HAS RAINED, THE VAN THE BATTERY LIGHT HAS TURNED ON THE HAS VAN TURNED OFF. I HAVE TAKEN THE VAN TWICE TO GET THIS CHECKED OUT AND THEY HAVE TOLD ME IT DOES NOT HAVE ANYTHING. I TOOK IT ON SEPTEMBER 2014 AND AGAIN IN NOVEMBER 2014. WHILE USING THE VAN IN THE RAIN I HAVE COME TO A STOP SIGN TO TURN AND GOING IN TO TRAFFIC THE VAN IT TURNS OFF . THIS HAPPENED AGAIN THIS LAST WEEK ON NOV. 25 2014. BECAUSE OF THIS I AM SCARED OF USING THE VAN WHEN IT RAINS. MY WIFE IS ALWAYS USING THE VAN WITH ARE GRANDCHILDREN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/25/2014 - ONANCOCK, VA
WE WERE COMING DOWN A MOUNTAIN AND EVEN THOUGH I WAS USING THE ENGINE TO SLOW DOWN THE BRAKES STARTED PULSING AND THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED SHAKING. SINCE THAT TIME THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN WORSE AND NOW HAPPENS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE PROBLEM DOES NOT GO AWAY UNTIL THE BRAKES HAVE COOLED COMPLETELY DOWN. I CHECKED ON LINE AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WITH THE ODYSSEY'S FOR YEARS AND HAPPENS EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE PADS AND ROTORS. OUR VEHICLE NOW HAS 74,000 MILES ON IT AND WHEN THE PROBLEM OCCURS THE SHAKING OF THE STEERING WHEEL CAN BE SEVERE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds