Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 119 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (6) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (40) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/5/2016 - MAPLE VALLEY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED BURNS ON HER NECK FROM THE SEAT BELT. THE REAR PASSENGER OCCUPANT SUSTAINED SLIGHT BURNS TO THE WRIST. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROL SENSOR AND UNIT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,211. UPDATED 05/20/16

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/5/2016 - MAPLE VALLEY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED BURNS ON HER NECK FROM THE SEAT BELT. THE REAR PASSENGER OCCUPANT SUSTAINED SLIGHT BURNS TO THE WRIST. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROL SENSOR AND UNIT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,211. UPDATED 05/20/16

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/21/2016 - DULUTH, GA
REAR RIGHT WHEEL CAMBER CAN'T BE ALIGNED WITH EXTENSIVE NOISE FROM REAR SUSPENSION. CONCERN THAT SUSPENSION COULD BE FAILING. HAVE HONDA CARE WARRANTY FROM THE MANUFACTURER BUT THEY REFUSED TO DIAGNOSE AND SOLVE THE PROBLEM. DEALER WANTS THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO TEAR DOWN AND REBUILD THE SUSPENSION AT MY EXPENSE, WHICH IS A SIGNIFICANT FINANCIAL BURDEN IN SPITE OF THE WARRANTY

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/26/2016 - LAVALLETTE, NJ
SUBJECT: 2008-2009-2010 HONDA ODYSSEY TAIL LIGHT DEFECTS COMMENTS: 2008-2009-2010 HONDA ODYSSEY TAIL LIGHTS ARE SUSCEPTIBLE TO WATER PENETRATION WHICH WILL EVENTUALLY SHORT OUT THE TAIL LIGHTS. THIS APPLIES TO THE PORTION OF THE TAIL LIGHT WHICH IS ATTACHED TO THE REAR HATCH DOOR. WATER ACCUMULATES IN THE WHITE PART OF THE LENS WHICH IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TAIL LIGHT IN THESE MODEL YEARS (I.E., THE BACK UP LIGHTS). THERE IS APPARENTLY A DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING DEFECT IN THE SEALED LIGHT SYSTEM. I HAVE HAD BOTH TAIL LIGHTS REPLACED IN MY 2010 ODYSSEY DUE TO WATER PENETRATION & COLLECTION. I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THIS CLAIM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/4/2016 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
UNABLE TO LIFT UP PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW (FRONT AND REAR) ONCE WINDOW IS DOWN MAINLY IN COLD WEATHER. ALSO TIME TO TIME, UNABLE TO OPEN FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FROM INSIDE. I HAVE TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR USING DRIVE SIDE BUTTON FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE, OR USE REMOTE CONTROL TO PERFORM LOCK/UNLOCK FUNCTION. FOR WINDOW OPERATION IT DOESN'T MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR NOT MOVING. FOR LOCK OPERATION VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING. FOR BOTH OPERATION VEHICLE ENGINE COULD BE ON. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE DAY ONE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS INFORMED BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME PROBLEM RECOVERS BY THE TIME WE REACH DEALERSHIP (30 MINUTES LATER)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/4/2016 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
UNABLE TO LIFT UP PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW (FRONT AND REAR) ONCE WINDOW IS DOWN MAINLY IN COLD WEATHER. ALSO TIME TO TIME, UNABLE TO OPEN FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FROM INSIDE. I HAVE TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR USING DRIVE SIDE BUTTON FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE, OR USE REMOTE CONTROL TO PERFORM LOCK/UNLOCK FUNCTION. FOR WINDOW OPERATION IT DOESN'T MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR NOT MOVING. FOR LOCK OPERATION VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING. FOR BOTH OPERATION VEHICLE ENGINE COULD BE ON. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE DAY ONE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS INFORMED BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME PROBLEM RECOVERS BY THE TIME WE REACH DEALERSHIP (30 MINUTES LATER)

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/15/2015 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
PAINT IS RELEASING FROM THE PRIMER ON AND IN FRONT/BACK OF EACK FRONT DOOR. THERE IS NO PEELING ON THE ROOF OR BEHIND EACH REAR TIRE WHERE WE WOULD EXPECT PROBLEMS. HONDA REFUSES TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN CORPUS CHRISTI, TX AFTER THE LOCAL DEALER PERFORMED MINOR BODY WORK (NEW FRONT BUMPER AND TWO SCRATCHES ON THE REAR PANESL) - BUT THE PEELING IS NOT OCCURRING WHERE THE BODY WORK WAS DONE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2015 - PORTER RANCH, CA
ENGINE BURNS EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OIL WITHOUT ANY WARNING LIGHTS. SLOWING EATING UP THE CAMSHAFT AND VALVE ROCKER ARM. CASING MISFIRE TO THE ENGINE AND EVENTUALLY ENGINE STOPS WORKING. MINE DID NOT HAVE THE ENGINE STOP, BUT LOCAL MECHANIC VERIFIES THAT THERE IS A EXCESSIVE WEAR TO THE CAMSHAFT UNITS

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2015 - NAPA, CA
IVTEC 3.5L ENGINE. TOURING MODEL. REAR ENGINE MOUNT FAILURE. ALUMINUM ENGINE MOUNT ATTACHMENT SHEARED. NO CAR DAMAGE HISTORY OR ABUSE. FAMILY CAR, DAILY DRIVING AROUND TOWN AND HIGHWAY. NOT SURE WHEN IT FAILED, BUT TOTAL MILEAGE IS 120,000 MILES. OWNED THIS CAR SINCE NEW. DEALER SAID THE PROTECTIVE BOOT HAD TORN, AND THE MOUNT NEEDED REPLACING. HONDA PART, $650, COMPLETELY UNREASONABLE. I BOUGHT A PART, AND REPLACED IT MYSELF, THAT IS WHEN I DISCOVERED THE PART HAD FAILED. THE DEALER REFUSED TO REMEDY THE SITUATION, AND SAID ENGINE MOUNTS BREAK ALL THE TIME. ENGINE MOUNTS? A PRIMARY PART OF THE ENGINE STRUCTURE? SHOULD NEVER FAIL LIKE THIS. THE PART IS SIGNIFICANTLY UNDER DESIGNED AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REINFORCED, MOST LIKELY REPLACE THE ALUMINUM WITH A STEEL PART. AGAIN, NOT SURE WHEN THE PART FAILED, COULD HAVE BEEN THAT WAY FROM THE FACTORY FOR ALL I KNOW. HAVE NEVER HIT ANYTHING OR BOTTOMED OUT THE CAR. UPON INSPECTION OF THE FAILED PART, IT DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE A DEFECT, OR FATIGUE FAILURE, BUT AN OVERLOAD OF THE DESIGN. I AM AN ENGINEER AND AIRCRAFT MECHANIC. I CAN GIVE YOU THE FAILED PART IF YOU DESIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
TOOK THE CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR EMISSIONS CHECK LIGHT. DIAGNOSED AS "NOX SENSOR WIRING HARNESS CHEWED BY MOUSE" PER HONDA DEALERSHIP. THERE IS NO EVIDENCE OF RODENT DAMAGE OR PRESENCE ELSEWHERE IN THE VEHICLE. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP DID NOT PROVIDE ME THE PICTURES OR THE DAMAGED PART SAYING THAT IT WAS THROWN IN THE TRASH. THE WIRING WAS APPARENTLY COVERED BY HONDA RODENT DETERRENT TAPE. I HAVE CONTACTED ACURA/HONDA DEALERSHIPS, THEIR EXTENDED WARRANTY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALSO THE RESPECTIVE ACURA/HONDA MANUFACTURER CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO MY OTHER CAR (ACURA MDX 2009) WITHIN A SPAN OF ONE WEEK WITH EXACTLY SIMILAR PRESENTATION. WHEN I REQUESTED INFORMATION FROM THE ABOVE SOURCES, I WAS TOLD THAT THIS WAS CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION AND IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR CUSTOMERS AND THAT IS IT IS A RARE EVENT AND NOT RELATED TO MANUFACTURING DEFECTS AND ALSO THERE WAS NO DEFINITIVE TREND IN ACURA/HONDA(SAME COMPANY) NOX SENSOR WIRING HARNESS BEING CHEWED BY RODENTS AND HAVE REFUSED TO COVER IT UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY PROGRAM TO WHICH I HAVE SUBSCRIBED/PURCHASED. I HAVE ANOTHER ENTRY REGARDING THE OTHER VEHICLE AT THE NHTSA.GOV WEBSITE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds