Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (14) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (60) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (25) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/2/2019 - MICKLETON, NJ
FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK MANUALLY OR ELECTRONICALLY. WHILE TAKING A DRIVE TO THE STORE AND UPON ARRIVING TODAY I WAS UNABLE TO GET OUT OF THE DRIVER DOOR. THIS COULD PRESENT A DANGER IF FOR SOME REASON I CAN+T EXIT MY CAR IN A HURRY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/1/2019 - PGH, PA
DRIVERS SIDE SLIDING DOOR LATCHING MECHANISM WONT LATCH A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN WITH KIDS IN BACK SEAT

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2019 - ST. LOUIS, MO
WHILE MY CAR WAS PARKED AT A STORE, MY ENGINE CAUGHT FIRE LEADING TO A TOTAL LOSS OF THE VEHICLE. I DROVE MY CAR FOR A SHORT DISTANCE TO DO TWO ERRANDS (MAYBE 15 MIN. DRIVE). I PARKED MY CAR AND WENT IN TO SHOP FOR MAYBE 15 - 20 MINUTES. WHEN I CAME OUT OF THE STORE, BLACK SMOKE WAS BILLOWING OUT FROM THE ENGINE FOLLOWED SHORTLY AFTER BY FLAMES. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO PUT OUT THE FIRE, THE CAR'S ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS DESTROYED. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED AT HOME WHILE MY CAR WAS IN THE GARAGE, MY HOUSE COULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE AS WELL. THANKFULLY THERE WERE NOT MANY CARS PARKED CLOSE TO MINE SO NO OTHER VEHICLE WAS AFFECTED. MY CAR HAD THE FUEL PUMP REPLACED WITH THE 2014/5 RECALL NOTICE. THE CAR HAD BEEN SERVICED AT THE DEALER IN JANUARY AND SUCCESSFULLY PASSED A STATE SAFETY AND VEHICLE EMISSIONS TEST TWO DAYS BEFORE THE FIRE. THE FIRE CLEARLY STARTED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/13/2019 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR THAT I BELIEVE IS A DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE.THE DRIVERS DOOR HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE ACTUATOR, WHICH CONTROLS THE AUTOMATED LOCKING AND UNLOCKING OF THE DOOR. THE ACTUATOR IS DEFECTIVE AND NO LONGER WORKS. AS A DIRECT RESULT, THE DOOR (AND ALL OF THE REMAINING DOORS IN THE VEHICLE) WILL NO LONGER AUTOMATICALLY UNLOCK. IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY, THE DOOR LATCH TO OPEN AND EXIT THE CAR IMMEDIATELY WILL NOT WORK. THE DOOR KNOB MUST BE MANUALLY LIFTED; THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO UNLOCK THE DOOR. PRIOR TO THIS ISSUE, THE VEHICLE DOOR SWOULD AUTOMATICALLY UNLOCK WHEN THE CAR WAS PLACED IN PARK POSITION AND THEN LOCKED WHEN THE CAR WAS MOVED OUT OF PARK (EITHER REVERSE, NEUTRAL OR DRIVE). I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THIS IS A $400 REPAIR TO REPLACE THE ARM ACTUATOR. THIS PART SPECIFICALLY CONTROLS THE AUTOMATED LOCKING/UNLOCKING MECHANISM FOR THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR (AND ALL OTHER DOORS OF THE MINIVAN, WHICH MUST ALL BE MANUALLY UNLOCKED SINCE THIS PART IS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY). I HAVE TRIED TO USE THE DOOR LEVER TO OPEN THE CAR AND WHEN IT IS IN THE LOCKED POSITION, THE DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK, EVER. THE DOOR KNOB MUST BE LIFTED IN ALL INSTANCES AND I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR ALL PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2019 - NAPERVILLE, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE VEHICLE LOSES POWER AND SHAKES. THE VEHICLE CONSUMES EXCESSIVE OIL WHICH CAUSES THE PLUGS TO FOUL AND FAIL. THE KNOWN ISSUE IS CAUSED BY A DEFECTIVE VEHICLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (VCM). WHEN THIS OCCURS, THE VEHICLE EXHIBITS A BURNING OIL SMELL AND GAS SMELL IN THE CABIN. THIS HAS ALMOST CAUSED A MAJOR HIGH SPEED ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THE INABILITY OF THE VEHICLE TO MAINTAIN HIGHWAYS SPEEDS AND THE REDUCED POWER TO THE ENGINE MAKES THE VEHICLE HARD TO STEER DUE TO LOSS OF POWER ASSISTED STEERING CAUSE BY THE REDUCED ENGINE POWER. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL OF THE HONDA VCM SYSTEM BEFORE A FATALITY OCCURS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/12/2019 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LEAKED FUEL. THE CONTACT HAD TO FILL THE FUEL TANK MORE THAN USUAL AND THE FUEL WOULD CONTINUE TO LEAK. THE FAILURE CAUSED A FUEL ODOR TO BE PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO HONDA OF ORLANDO (2211 NORTH SEMORAN BLVD, ORLANDO, FL 32807, 866-938-0927) AND THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FUEL LEAK CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,754.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/7/2019 - DELAWARE, OH
LEAK ON DRIVER SIDE SIDE AIRBAG. POSSIBLY TRIM PIECE THAT RUNS ENTIRE LENGTH OF THE CAR. SHORTED OUT ENTIRE ELECTRICAL FUSE BOX I UNDER THE HOOD. TOLD IT WAS CAUSE OF THE WINDSHIELD GASKET. REPLACED ENTIRE ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND WINDSHIELD TO NOW HAVE THE SAME LEAK ISSUE AGAIN!

View Details

TIRES

2/18/2019 - FORT MYERS, FL
DRIVING ON I-75 SOUTH BETWEEN EXIT 123 AND EXIT 116. I HEARD A POP AND THE CAR STARTED TO SHIMMY I DECELERATED AND PULLED TO THE SHOULDER. THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE WAS TOTALLY SHREDDED. THE ENTIRE SIDE WALL WAS GONE. I HAD JUST CHECK THE PRESSURES THE DAY BEFORE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/15/2019 - JOHNSON CREEK, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A DEER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE FLATTENED AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. TWO INDEPENDENT MECHANICS CAME TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE WHERE THEY ATTEMPTED TO MANUALLY DEPLOY THE AIR BAGS; HOWEVER, THEY WERE UNSUCCESSFUL. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY WAITING TO BE DIAGNOSED BY ANOTHER INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,500.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2019 - KIRKLAND, WA
ON 2/3/2019 I WAS ATTEMPTING TO PARK MY 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY ON A CITY STREET WHEN IT ACCELERATED WITHOUT ANY PRESSURE BEING APPLIED TO THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS BRAKING WHILE ROLLING FORWARD SLOWLY AND TURNING RIGHT INTO THE PARKING SPACE WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY REVVED AND ACCELERATED THE VEHICLE FORWARD. I APPLIED INCREASING BRAKING PRESSURE WHILE THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV, EXCEEDING THE STOPPING POWER OF THE BRAKES AND CAUSING THE CAR TO LURCH FORWARD TOWARD A PARKED CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I MANAGED TO STOP BY QUICKLY SHIFTING THE TRANSMISSION FROM DRIVE TO PARK. IF I HAD NOT SHIFTED INTO PARK I WOULD HAVE HIT THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. THE ENTIRE TIME THIS WAS HAPPENING, MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE AND NO PRESSURE WAS BEING APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. AFTER I SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED THE CAR, IT RETURNED TO NORMAL OPERATION. I HAVE REPORTED THIS INCIDENT TO AMERICAN HONDA (CASE NUMBER 09315543) AND I AM BRINGING THE VEHICLE IN TO A HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE AND IT HAD APPROXIMATELY 121,000 MILES ON IT AND IT HAS NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds