Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 128 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (41) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (13) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/7/2017 - VERO BEACH, FL
SAFETY ISSUE NO PROBLEM. ASKING ABOUT A PAINT ISSUE. THE VEHICLES PAINT HAS OXIDIZED A LOT ON ROOF AND STARTING ON OTHER PARTS OF VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2017 - WOLFFORTH, TX
WE WERE DRIVING DOWN A RESIDENTIAL STREET, ON EASTER MORNING ON OUR WAY TO CHURCH, AT 20-30 MPH WHEN OUR PASSENGER CURTAIN-SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. THERE WAS NO IMPACT. WE DID NOT HIT ANYTHING AND NO ONE HIT US. OUR FAMILY (TWO ADULTS, 5 Y.O, 3 Y.O, AND 6 WEEK OLD) WERE IN THE CAR WITH NO INJURIES. WE TOOK OUR CASE TO THE LOCAL HONDA DEALER, WHERE THEY RAN DIAGNOSTICS. THEY FOUND NO ISSUES AND REFERRED OUR CASE TO AMERICAN HONDA (CASE #05962968). THEIR ENGINEERS AND SPECIALISTS DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG EITHER AND WILL BE DENYING OUR CLAIM (LETTER OF REJECTION PENDING). OUR STATE FARM INSURANCE WILL NOT BE COVERING THE ISSUE EITHER (LETTER OF REJECTION PENDING) (CASE#43-1404-3H2). I BELIEVE THERE TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE AIRBAGS SINCE ONLY ONE MAJOR AIRBAG DEPLOYED AND NOT THE ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED FROM OUR DASHBOARD. I FEEL THAT HONDA SHOULD BE COVERING OUR REPAIRS BECAUSE NO IMPACT OCCURRED AND THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. OUR INSURANCE COMPANY HAS PICTURES AND ALL DOCUMENTATION INCLUDING A CRASH REPORT ON THE VEHICLE. I CURRENTLY DO NOT HAVE THEM, BUT CAN RETRIEVE THEM IF NECESSARY. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND CONSIDERATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2017 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL VIBRATED WHEN DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH AND ABOVE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE MADE A DROWNING, LOUD NOISE AT THE SAME TIME IT VIBRATED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SIX TIMES FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TORQUE CONVERTER WAS REPLACED, BUT THE REPAIRS DID NOT CORRECT THE VIBRATION. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT AUTHORIZE ANY FUTURE REPAIRS ON THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED EVER SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FROM THE DEALER ON DECEMBER 30, 2016. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,223.

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2017 - BELTON, SC
BOUGHT THIS VAN AT 83,000 MILES BEFORE IT TURNED 100,000 IT IS BURNING AT LEAST 2 QUARTS OF OIL BETWEEN REGULAR CHANGES. READ ON FORUMS THAT THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUES WITH THE 3.5LITRE ENGINES

View Details

WHEELS

11/28/2016 - YARDLEY, PA
THE TPMS CAUSES SLOW AIR LEAKS TO DEVELOP DUE TO FAULTY GASKETS/O RINGS. TIRES WITH THIS PROBLEM REQUIRE REFILLING WITH APPROXIMATELY 5 LBS OF AIR PRESSURE PER WEEK.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2016 - FARMVILLE, VA
DURING DRIVING IN THE CITY OR ON THE HIGHWAY I'VE BEEN HAVING AN ENGINE MISFIRE WITH SPARK PLUG FOULING CAUSING PROBLEMS RESULTING IN A CATALYTIC CONVERTER AND O2 SENSOR REPLACEMENT. MY VAN IS STILL IN THE SHOP AND HAS TO BE TOWED TO A DEALER 46 MILES AWAY TO SEE IF THEY CAN GET IT TO STOP SPEWING OIL INTO THE COMBUSTION CHAMBER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/20/2016 - CONYERS, GA
MY 2009 ODYSSEY 06/05/15 IT CURRENTLY HAS 115,000 MILES ON IT. THIS IS THE SECOND ENGINE LIGHT DEALING WITH THE TRANSMISSION. WHEN I FIRST GOT THE CAR I HAD IT ROUTINELY SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS THE CLUTCH THIS TIME IT IS THE TORQUE CONVERTER, SO ALL INTERNAL. THE GEARS ARE FINE UNTIL 5TH OR OVERDRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2016 - HAMILTON, OH
I JUST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON APRIL 19, 2016. I HAD THE OIL CHANGED MID JUNE. MY WIFE HAD A TRIP TO FLORIDA NEAR THE END OF JUNE, SO I CHECKED THE OIL AND IT WAS FINE. AS OF TODAY I HEARD A KNOCKING SOUND AND CHECKED THE OIL. IT WAS TWO QUARTS LOW. I FILLED THE OIL AND THE KNOCKING SOUND REMAINS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2016 - ARLINGTON, VA
FRONT AND SIDE ENGINE MOUNTS FAILED AT LESS THAN 60,000 MILES WITH REGULAR LIGHT USE AND NO ACCIDENTS. SYMPTOMS WERE CLUNKING OF THE ENGINE WHEN SHIFTING INTO GEAR AND STARTING AND STOPPING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/10/2016 - LAFAYETTE HILL, PA
WE OWN A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY THAT RECENTLY EXPERIENCED FAILED GAS STRUTS IN THE HATCH.THE CAR WAS PARKED & I WAS LOADING GROCERIES INTO IT WHEN THE REAR LIFTGATE CAME CRASHING DOWN - I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO JUMP OUT OFTHE WAY IN TIME OR COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT.. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE 2009 ODYSSEY FOR THE EXACT SAME FAILURE MODE, BUT ONLY FOR THE MOTORIZED HATCH. (OURS IS NOT MOTORIZED). I WOULD LIKE YOU TO LOOK INTO THE POSSIBILITY OF HAVING HONDA INCREASE THE SCOPE OF THE RECALL TO INCLUDE NON-MOTORIZED HATCHES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds