Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 116 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (38) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/4/2016 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
UNABLE TO LIFT UP PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW (FRONT AND REAR) ONCE WINDOW IS DOWN MAINLY IN COLD WEATHER. ALSO TIME TO TIME, UNABLE TO OPEN FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FROM INSIDE. I HAVE TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR USING DRIVE SIDE BUTTON FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE, OR USE REMOTE CONTROL TO PERFORM LOCK/UNLOCK FUNCTION. FOR WINDOW OPERATION IT DOESN'T MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR NOT MOVING. FOR LOCK OPERATION VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING. FOR BOTH OPERATION VEHICLE ENGINE COULD BE ON. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE DAY ONE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS INFORMED BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME PROBLEM RECOVERS BY THE TIME WE REACH DEALERSHIP (30 MINUTES LATER)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/4/2016 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
UNABLE TO LIFT UP PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW (FRONT AND REAR) ONCE WINDOW IS DOWN MAINLY IN COLD WEATHER. ALSO TIME TO TIME, UNABLE TO OPEN FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FROM INSIDE. I HAVE TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR USING DRIVE SIDE BUTTON FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE, OR USE REMOTE CONTROL TO PERFORM LOCK/UNLOCK FUNCTION. FOR WINDOW OPERATION IT DOESN'T MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR NOT MOVING. FOR LOCK OPERATION VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING. FOR BOTH OPERATION VEHICLE ENGINE COULD BE ON. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE DAY ONE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS INFORMED BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME PROBLEM RECOVERS BY THE TIME WE REACH DEALERSHIP (30 MINUTES LATER)

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/15/2015 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
PAINT IS RELEASING FROM THE PRIMER ON AND IN FRONT/BACK OF EACK FRONT DOOR. THERE IS NO PEELING ON THE ROOF OR BEHIND EACH REAR TIRE WHERE WE WOULD EXPECT PROBLEMS. HONDA REFUSES TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN CORPUS CHRISTI, TX AFTER THE LOCAL DEALER PERFORMED MINOR BODY WORK (NEW FRONT BUMPER AND TWO SCRATCHES ON THE REAR PANESL) - BUT THE PEELING IS NOT OCCURRING WHERE THE BODY WORK WAS DONE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2015 - PORTER RANCH, CA
ENGINE BURNS EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OIL WITHOUT ANY WARNING LIGHTS. SLOWING EATING UP THE CAMSHAFT AND VALVE ROCKER ARM. CASING MISFIRE TO THE ENGINE AND EVENTUALLY ENGINE STOPS WORKING. MINE DID NOT HAVE THE ENGINE STOP, BUT LOCAL MECHANIC VERIFIES THAT THERE IS A EXCESSIVE WEAR TO THE CAMSHAFT UNITS

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2015 - NAPA, CA
IVTEC 3.5L ENGINE. TOURING MODEL. REAR ENGINE MOUNT FAILURE. ALUMINUM ENGINE MOUNT ATTACHMENT SHEARED. NO CAR DAMAGE HISTORY OR ABUSE. FAMILY CAR, DAILY DRIVING AROUND TOWN AND HIGHWAY. NOT SURE WHEN IT FAILED, BUT TOTAL MILEAGE IS 120,000 MILES. OWNED THIS CAR SINCE NEW. DEALER SAID THE PROTECTIVE BOOT HAD TORN, AND THE MOUNT NEEDED REPLACING. HONDA PART, $650, COMPLETELY UNREASONABLE. I BOUGHT A PART, AND REPLACED IT MYSELF, THAT IS WHEN I DISCOVERED THE PART HAD FAILED. THE DEALER REFUSED TO REMEDY THE SITUATION, AND SAID ENGINE MOUNTS BREAK ALL THE TIME. ENGINE MOUNTS? A PRIMARY PART OF THE ENGINE STRUCTURE? SHOULD NEVER FAIL LIKE THIS. THE PART IS SIGNIFICANTLY UNDER DESIGNED AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REINFORCED, MOST LIKELY REPLACE THE ALUMINUM WITH A STEEL PART. AGAIN, NOT SURE WHEN THE PART FAILED, COULD HAVE BEEN THAT WAY FROM THE FACTORY FOR ALL I KNOW. HAVE NEVER HIT ANYTHING OR BOTTOMED OUT THE CAR. UPON INSPECTION OF THE FAILED PART, IT DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE A DEFECT, OR FATIGUE FAILURE, BUT AN OVERLOAD OF THE DESIGN. I AM AN ENGINEER AND AIRCRAFT MECHANIC. I CAN GIVE YOU THE FAILED PART IF YOU DESIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
TOOK THE CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR EMISSIONS CHECK LIGHT. DIAGNOSED AS "NOX SENSOR WIRING HARNESS CHEWED BY MOUSE" PER HONDA DEALERSHIP. THERE IS NO EVIDENCE OF RODENT DAMAGE OR PRESENCE ELSEWHERE IN THE VEHICLE. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP DID NOT PROVIDE ME THE PICTURES OR THE DAMAGED PART SAYING THAT IT WAS THROWN IN THE TRASH. THE WIRING WAS APPARENTLY COVERED BY HONDA RODENT DETERRENT TAPE. I HAVE CONTACTED ACURA/HONDA DEALERSHIPS, THEIR EXTENDED WARRANTY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALSO THE RESPECTIVE ACURA/HONDA MANUFACTURER CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO MY OTHER CAR (ACURA MDX 2009) WITHIN A SPAN OF ONE WEEK WITH EXACTLY SIMILAR PRESENTATION. WHEN I REQUESTED INFORMATION FROM THE ABOVE SOURCES, I WAS TOLD THAT THIS WAS CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION AND IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR CUSTOMERS AND THAT IS IT IS A RARE EVENT AND NOT RELATED TO MANUFACTURING DEFECTS AND ALSO THERE WAS NO DEFINITIVE TREND IN ACURA/HONDA(SAME COMPANY) NOX SENSOR WIRING HARNESS BEING CHEWED BY RODENTS AND HAVE REFUSED TO COVER IT UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY PROGRAM TO WHICH I HAVE SUBSCRIBED/PURCHASED. I HAVE ANOTHER ENTRY REGARDING THE OTHER VEHICLE AT THE NHTSA.GOV WEBSITE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/27/2015 - LOWELL, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH MY WIFE'S 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY BEGAN TO SHAKE AS I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE POWER AND I HAD TO MANUALLY STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY.. UPON OPENING THE HOOD I COULD SMELL THAT SOMETHING WAS BURNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED 79 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. I WAS INFORMED THAT A SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT COMPLETELY AND A PORTION OF THAT PLUG ENTERED THE CYLINDER AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE ENTIRE THREADING OF THE SPARK PLUG WAS DAMAGED AND MELTED INTO THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2015 - LOWELL, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH MY WIFE'S 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY BEGAN TO SHAKE AS I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE POWER AND I HAD TO MANUALLY STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY.. UPON OPENING THE HOOD I COULD SMELL THAT SOMETHING WAS BURNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED 79 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. I WAS INFORMED THAT A SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT COMPLETELY AND A PORTION OF THAT PLUG ENTERED THE CYLINDER AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE ENTIRE THREADING OF THE SPARK PLUG WAS DAMAGED AND MELTED INTO THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/27/2015 - LOWELL, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH MY WIFE'S 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY BEGAN TO SHAKE AS I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE POWER AND I HAD TO MANUALLY STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY.. UPON OPENING THE HOOD I COULD SMELL THAT SOMETHING WAS BURNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED 79 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. I WAS INFORMED THAT A SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT COMPLETELY AND A PORTION OF THAT PLUG ENTERED THE CYLINDER AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE ENTIRE THREADING OF THE SPARK PLUG WAS DAMAGED AND MELTED INTO THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2015 - COLUMBIA, SC
POWER LIFT GATE FAILED WHILE TRUNK WAS OPENING; I PRESSED THE TRUNK BUTTON ON THE INSIDE OF THE CAR AND THE LIFT GATE BEGAN TO OPEN AS USUAL. MY 10 YEAR OLD CHILD WAS PUTTING BASEBALL GEAR IN TRUNK AND THE LIFT GATE BEEPED TWICE AS IT WAS TRYING TO FULLY OPEN BUT COULD NOT. IT THEN BEEPED CONTINUOUSLY AS IT LOWERED. MY SON WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE WAY. NOW THE LIFT GATE WILL NOT STAY PROPPED OPEN AND IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO OPEN MANUALLY. I WILL TAKE VEHICLE TO HONDA DEALER MONDAY BUT IT DOES NOT APPEAR MY VIN IS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL FOR THE STRUTS IN THE POWER LIFT GATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds