Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 90 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (10) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (29) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
WE OWNED A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY . THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN MAINTAINED WELL FOR YEARS AT HODA DEALERSHIPS. I HAVE PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRANTEE FOR 120K MILES ON THIS VEHICLE SINCE WE WERE PLANNING TO USE THIS VEHICLE FOR A LONG TIME. LAST TIME I HAD ANY WORK DONE ON THIS CAR WAS IN 12/31/13 AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP. IT WAS A MAJOR SERVICE. WE DID NOT HAVE ANY ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE EVENT THAT LED TO THE FIRE ON THE VEHICLE. AS MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HER ODYSSEY ON I-280/CA-85, SHE STATED THAT ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS/GAUGE ON THE DASHBOARD CAME ON. AT THE SAME TIME SHE REALIZED THAT CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. WHEN SHE INSTINCTIVELY LOOKED AT THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE ON THE DASHBOARD, IT WAS NORMAL (ABOUT HALFWAY UP) DUE TO THIS SYMPTOM, SHE WAS FORCED TO PARK THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. AT THIS POINT, MY WIFE ORDERED BOTH OF MY KIDS IN THE CAR TO EXIT THE VEHICLE AND MOVE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD ON THE HIGHWAY. SHE DID EXIT THE VEHICLE AS WELL. AS THE SMOKE FROM THE CAR CHANGED FROM WHITE TO BLACK, SHE CALLED 911. AS SHE WAITED FOR THE FIRE ENGINE TO ARRIVE (WHICH ACCORDING TO HER TOOK 10 MINUTES), WHOLE CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FIRE FROM BUMPER TO BUMPER. WHEN I ARRIVED AT THE SCENE, THERE WERE POLICE CARS AND FIRE TRUCKS. TWO LANES ON CA-85 WAS CLOSED. MY WIFE AND MY KIDS WERE IN SHOCK AND WERE CRYING. I TOOK MY WIFE AND KIDS HOME AFTERWARDS. WE LOST PERSONAL ITEMS THAT WERE LEFT IN THE CAR SUCH AS GLASSES, JACKETS, AND OTHER ITEMS. SANTA CLARA COUNTY FIRE DEPARTMENT TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL BE OPENING UP A CASE. I CAN NOT STOP TO THINK ABOUT WHAT IS THE REASON WHY THIS FIRE OCCURRED ON THE VEHICLE. WE DID NOT HAVE ANY INDICATION THAT THIS WOULD OCCUR EXCEPT FOR THE LAST MINUTE DASHBOARD INDICATION. CONSIDERING THE VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT/SERVICED AT HONDA, WE ARE BEGINNING TO LOSE FAITH ON HONDA VEHICLE/SERVICE IN GENERAL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

12/18/2013 - WILMINGTON, DE
THE TAILGATE STRUTS THAT SUPPORT THE TAILGATE (BACK) DOOR OF THE MINIVAN FAILED (COLLAPSED) WHEN THE AUTOMATIC DOOR WAS OPENING. THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VERY PROBLEM, MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR: HONDA ODYSSEY 2009, HOWEVER, MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. HONDA INC CONFIRMS THAT THEY ARE RECEIVING REPORTS LIKE THIS ONE FROM OTHER PEOPLE WHOSE CARS WERE NOT MADE PART OF THE RECALL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

11/13/2013 - BALLSTON SPA, NY
THE STRUTS SUPPORTING THE REAR HATCH DOOR ARE NO LONGER SUPPORTING THE DOOR AND IT FELL ON MY HEAD WHEN PUTTING IN MY GOLF CLUBS. I BELIEVE IT IS THE SAME STRUT PROBLEM THEY HAD IN THE RECALL FOR SIMILAR MODELS, OTHER VIN NUMBERS. I TALKED TO MY DEALER AND HONDA CORPORATION BUT IT IS A DIFFERENT VIN AND NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL. I THINK IT IS THE STRUTS ON ALL OF THE 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY'S AND NOT JUST A SELECT FEW AS IN THE RECALL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/15/2013 - WOODMERE, NY
THE TAILGATE STRUTS THAT SUPPORT THE TAILGATE (BACK) DOOR OF THE MINIVAN FAILED (COLLAPSED) WHEN THE DOOR WAS IN ITS OPEN POSITION. THIS CAUSED THE BACK DOOR TO SLAM SHUT WITH GREAT FORCE. THE STRUTS ARE CYLINDERS FILLED WITH GAS UNDER PRESSURE USED TO POP THE DOOR OPEN AND HOLD IT OPEN. THE DOOR IS VERY HEAVY AND DID NOT FAIL IN A FAILSAFE MANNER (LOCKUP FOR EXAMPLE), INSTEAD THE SYSTEM FAILED TO SUPPORT THE DOOR IN ITS OPEN POSITION. THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VERY PROBLEM, MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR: HONDA ODYSSEY 2009, HOWEVER, MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. HONDA INC CONFIRMS THAT THEY ARE RECEIVING REPORTS LIKE THIS ONE FROM OTHER PEOPLE WHOSE CARS WERE NOT MADE PART OF THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2013 - WAYNESBORO, VA
AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT ON DASH APPEARED. THIS HAPPENED OFF & ON FOR 2 MONTHS. WONDERED IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE AIRBAG OR THE WARNING LIGHT! HONDA DEALER HAS TOLD US THAT THE DRIVER SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG NEEDS A NEW INFLATER. WE ARE CONCERNED THAT THIS SAFETY FEATURE HAS ONLY LASTED 4 YEARS ON A VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 40,000 MILES ON IT. COST TO REPLACE IS OVER $1100.00. HONDA HAS AGREED TO PAY ABOUT 1/2, BUT WE FEEL THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT -- WE SHOULD BE ABLE TO RELY ON A SAFETY FEATURE FOR MORE THAN 4 YEARS ON A VEHICLE THAT SHOULD SERVE US FOR MANY YEARS!

View Details

ENGINE

9/9/2013 - BEAVERTON, OR
VAN BEGAN TO STUTTER ON ACCELERATION AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK TO PERSONAL MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED A MIS-FIRE IN CYLINDER #2. REMOVED SPARK PLUG TO FIND IT COATED WITH OIL AND CARBON. SAYS IT APPEARS OIL IS LEAKING THROUGH THE ENGINE VALVE STEM SEALS AND COATING THE PLUG. HE REPLACED THE PLUG. HAVE SINCE TOOK IT TO LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP AND PERFORMED AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. OVER 1 QUART CONSUMED IN 1200 MILES OF DRIVING. HAVE ASKED THAT STEM SEALS BE REPLACED UNDER GOOD WILL BUT HONDA HAS DENIED REQUEST BECAUSE SERVICE HAS NOT BEEN PERFORMED AT DEALERSHIP AND THUS THEY CANNOT GUARANTEE WORKMANSHIP AND PARTS INSTALLED. VEHICLE CONTINUES TO CONSUME OIL AND AFTER CHECKING #2 CYLINDER PLUG RECENTLY, CONTINUES TO CONTAMINATE SPARK PLUGS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/13/2013 - LAKELAND, FL
ON MAY 12, 2012, I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH WHEN THE VAN STARTED TO SPUTTER. I CAME TO A RED LIGHT AND THE CAR ACTED AS IF IT WERE ABOUT TO CUT OFF. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING ALONG WITH THE VSA LIGHT. IT RODE VERY ROUGH ALL THE WAY TO THE CLOSEST HONDA DEALERSHIP AS I WAS NOT IN MY HOMETOWN. THEY INFORMED ME THAT ONE OF THE SPARK PLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I WENT AHEAD AND REPLACED ALL OF THEM TO THE TUNE OF $308.23. ON NOVEMBER 23, 2012, I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 60 MPH WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THE MILEAGE WAS 105,001. AGAIN, I WAS OUT OF TOWN AND DROVE THE CAR TO THE NEAREST HONDA DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THE #3 SPARK PLUG HAD FOULED OUT. I TOLD THEM TO REPLACE ONLY THE #3 PLUG. ON MY RECEIPT IT SAYS, "RETRIEVED CODE P0303...MISFIRE #3 CYLINDER...FOUND SPARK PLUG FOULED OUT. POSSIBLE FAULTY VALVE SEALS...REPLACED SPARK PLUG AND PERFORMED PCM SOFTWARE UPDATE." THAT COST ME $138.76. ON THE DRIVE HOME THE AIR CONDITIONING STARTED TO ACT UP. IT WOULD RUN BUT SOMETIMES IT WAS COLD AND SOMETIMES THE AIR WAS NOT. ON NOVEMBER 24, 2012, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP THAT I NORMALLY USE. THEY COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING EXCEPT FOR A DIRTY CABIN FILTER. THEY REPLACED IT AND CHARGED ME $131.97. HOWEVER, THEY SAID MY BRAKES WERE WORN OUT. THAT COST $359.68. THEN THERE WAS THE BRAKE FLUID EXCHANGE, TRANSMISSION FLUID EXCHANGE, AND POWER STEERING FLUSH. ALL IN ALL THE VISIT COST ME $1049.61. FUNNY, ON NOVEMBER 19, 2012, I HAD TAKEN THE VAN IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THEY DID A COURTESY INSPECTION. NO MENTION OF BRAKE PROBLEM. NOVEMBER 26, 2012, CAR DEAD, WOULDN'T START. THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY UNDER WARRANTY. DECEMBER 3, 2012, CAR DEAD AGAIN. INVOICE READS, "A/C CLUTCH RELAY STUCK KILLING BATTERY MAKING A/C COMPRESSOR RUN EVEN WHEN A/C OFF." FIXED FOR FREE DUE TO ALL THE PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/13/2013 - LAKELAND, FL
ON MAY 12, 2012, I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH WHEN THE VAN STARTED TO SPUTTER. I CAME TO A RED LIGHT AND THE CAR ACTED AS IF IT WERE ABOUT TO CUT OFF. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING ALONG WITH THE VSA LIGHT. IT RODE VERY ROUGH ALL THE WAY TO THE CLOSEST HONDA DEALERSHIP AS I WAS NOT IN MY HOMETOWN. THEY INFORMED ME THAT ONE OF THE SPARK PLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I WENT AHEAD AND REPLACED ALL OF THEM TO THE TUNE OF $308.23. ON NOVEMBER 23, 2012, I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 60 MPH WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THE MILEAGE WAS 105,001. AGAIN, I WAS OUT OF TOWN AND DROVE THE CAR TO THE NEAREST HONDA DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THE #3 SPARK PLUG HAD FOULED OUT. I TOLD THEM TO REPLACE ONLY THE #3 PLUG. ON MY RECEIPT IT SAYS, "RETRIEVED CODE P0303...MISFIRE #3 CYLINDER...FOUND SPARK PLUG FOULED OUT. POSSIBLE FAULTY VALVE SEALS...REPLACED SPARK PLUG AND PERFORMED PCM SOFTWARE UPDATE." THAT COST ME $138.76. ON THE DRIVE HOME THE AIR CONDITIONING STARTED TO ACT UP. IT WOULD RUN BUT SOMETIMES IT WAS COLD AND SOMETIMES THE AIR WAS NOT. ON NOVEMBER 24, 2012, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP THAT I NORMALLY USE. THEY COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING EXCEPT FOR A DIRTY CABIN FILTER. THEY REPLACED IT AND CHARGED ME $131.97. HOWEVER, THEY SAID MY BRAKES WERE WORN OUT. THAT COST $359.68. THEN THERE WAS THE BRAKE FLUID EXCHANGE, TRANSMISSION FLUID EXCHANGE, AND POWER STEERING FLUSH. ALL IN ALL THE VISIT COST ME $1049.61. FUNNY, ON NOVEMBER 19, 2012, I HAD TAKEN THE VAN IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THEY DID A COURTESY INSPECTION. NO MENTION OF BRAKE PROBLEM. NOVEMBER 26, 2012, CAR DEAD, WOULDN'T START. THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY UNDER WARRANTY. DECEMBER 3, 2012, CAR DEAD AGAIN. INVOICE READS, "A/C CLUTCH RELAY STUCK KILLING BATTERY MAKING A/C COMPRESSOR RUN EVEN WHEN A/C OFF." FIXED FOR FREE DUE TO ALL THE PROBLEMS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/13/2013 - LAKELAND, FL
ON MAY 12, 2012, I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH WHEN THE VAN STARTED TO SPUTTER. I CAME TO A RED LIGHT AND THE CAR ACTED AS IF IT WERE ABOUT TO CUT OFF. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING ALONG WITH THE VSA LIGHT. IT RODE VERY ROUGH ALL THE WAY TO THE CLOSEST HONDA DEALERSHIP AS I WAS NOT IN MY HOMETOWN. THEY INFORMED ME THAT ONE OF THE SPARK PLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I WENT AHEAD AND REPLACED ALL OF THEM TO THE TUNE OF $308.23. ON NOVEMBER 23, 2012, I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 60 MPH WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THE MILEAGE WAS 105,001. AGAIN, I WAS OUT OF TOWN AND DROVE THE CAR TO THE NEAREST HONDA DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THE #3 SPARK PLUG HAD FOULED OUT. I TOLD THEM TO REPLACE ONLY THE #3 PLUG. ON MY RECEIPT IT SAYS, "RETRIEVED CODE P0303...MISFIRE #3 CYLINDER...FOUND SPARK PLUG FOULED OUT. POSSIBLE FAULTY VALVE SEALS...REPLACED SPARK PLUG AND PERFORMED PCM SOFTWARE UPDATE." THAT COST ME $138.76. ON THE DRIVE HOME THE AIR CONDITIONING STARTED TO ACT UP. IT WOULD RUN BUT SOMETIMES IT WAS COLD AND SOMETIMES THE AIR WAS NOT. ON NOVEMBER 24, 2012, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP THAT I NORMALLY USE. THEY COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING EXCEPT FOR A DIRTY CABIN FILTER. THEY REPLACED IT AND CHARGED ME $131.97. HOWEVER, THEY SAID MY BRAKES WERE WORN OUT. THAT COST $359.68. THEN THERE WAS THE BRAKE FLUID EXCHANGE, TRANSMISSION FLUID EXCHANGE, AND POWER STEERING FLUSH. ALL IN ALL THE VISIT COST ME $1049.61. FUNNY, ON NOVEMBER 19, 2012, I HAD TAKEN THE VAN IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THEY DID A COURTESY INSPECTION. NO MENTION OF BRAKE PROBLEM. NOVEMBER 26, 2012, CAR DEAD, WOULDN'T START. THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY UNDER WARRANTY. DECEMBER 3, 2012, CAR DEAD AGAIN. INVOICE READS, "A/C CLUTCH RELAY STUCK KILLING BATTERY MAKING A/C COMPRESSOR RUN EVEN WHEN A/C OFF." FIXED FOR FREE DUE TO ALL THE PROBLEMS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/4/2013 - GIBSONBURG, OH
MY PASSENGER POWER SLIDE DOOR KEPT OPENING UP WHILE DRIVING AND WOULD LATCH WHEN TURNED OFF WHICH DEADENED THE BATTERY IT WAS FIXED FOR $680.00. NOW THE OTHER SLIDE DOOR IS DOING THE SAME THING. LOOKING ONLINE THERE ARE MANY THAT HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO. WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A SAFETY RECALL ON THOSE DOORS. MY GRANDKIDS ARE ALWAYS BUCKLED IN, BUT DO YOU KNOW HOW IT FEELS WHEN YOUR TRAVELING AND THE DOORS OPEN WHEN THEY ARE IN THE VAN, AND NOW I'M FACED WITH ANOTHER EXPENSIVE BILL AGAIN. WILL PROBABLY NEVER BUY ANOTHER HONDA AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds