Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (5) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (3)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (1) Structure (50) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (16) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (21) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2018 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
FRONT PASSENGER DOORS DOESN'T OPEN FROM INSIDE OF THE CAR UNLESS UNLOCK/LOCK/UNLOCK IS PRESSED FROM DRIVER SIDE. THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING FROM 2010. TALKED TO DEALER BUT THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. AND I DIDN'T WANT TO PAY FOR INVESTIGATION. THEY SAID IT HAS TO BE FAIL AND REMAINED FAILURE FOR THEM TO SEE AND INVESTIGATE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/31/2018 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
UNABLE TO LIFT THE WINDOW GLASS UP WHEN IT'S DOWN. GENERALLY OCCURS IN WINTER. THIS WAS THE SAME PROBLEM THAT I HAD FROM THE FIRST YEAR THAT I BOUGHT THE CAR. ONCE THE PROBLEM OCCURS IF I WAIT A WHILE NO FIRM TIMING I CAN BRING THE WINDOWS UP. GENERALLY OCCURS ON PASSENGER SIDE OF THE WINDOWS BOTH FRONT AND REAR WINDOW. TAKEN TO DEALER BUT BY THAT TIME IT RECOVERS SO I AM STUCK WITH PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

8/13/2018 - WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI
3.5L V6 ENGINE MISFIRE, PLUGS FOULING, PISTON RING REPLACEMENT AS PART OF THE CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT FOR ENGINE MISFIRE, HONDA CORP ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN TO UPDATE THE PCM SOFTWARE AND REPLACE THE AFFECTED SPARK PLUGS. THIS REMEDY DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. RECOGNIZING THE ORIGINAL REMEDY WAS NOT AFFECTIVE, HONDA CORP ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN TO EXTEND ENGINE WARRANTY TO 8 YEARS OR 125,000 MILES WHICHEVER IT COMES FIRST. FOR MY SPECIFIC CASE, THE FIRST TIME THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING IN AUG 2014 WITH 57,486 MILES (MIL LIGHT ON, ENGINE STUMBLES, LOSS OF POWER), THE HONDA DEALERSHIP SERVICED MY VEHICLE BY FOLLOWING THE SERVICE BULLETIN TO UPDATE THE PCM SOFTWARE AND REPLACE THE AFFECTED SPARK PLUGS. THE 2ND TIME THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN APR 2018 WHILE DRIVING WITH 112,805 MILES (MIL LIGHT ON, ROUGH IDLE, VIBRATES EXCESSIVELY WHILE DRIVING), THE HONDA DEALERSHIP CHARGED ME A FEE IN EXCESS OF $619 TO REPLACE FOUL PLUGS AND V TEC SWITCHES. THE 3RD TIME THIS ISSUE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON AUG 2018 WITH 112,805 (MIL LIGHT ON, VEHICLE VIBRATES EXCESSIVELY WHILE DRIVING, LOSS OF POWER AND STUMBLE), THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IS CHARGING ME OVER $1100 TO REPLACE PISTON RINGS AND AFFECTED FOUL PLUGS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN THE ENGINE IS LOSING POWER AND VIBRATES EXCESSIVELY WHILE DRIVING. THE SERVICE BULLETIN AND THE EXTENDED WARRANTY DOES NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM COMPLETELY AND LEAVE THE CUSTOMERS WITH A LARGE COST TO REPAIR FOR SOMETHING THAT SHOULD BE RESOLVED. A SAFETY RECALL IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE AFFECTED VEHICLES WITH 3.5L V6 ENGINES. MANY CUSTOMERS ARE AT RISK WHILE DRIVING THEIR VEHICLES WITH LOSS OF POWER, STUMBLES, VIBRATES EXCESSIVELY, AS WELL AS MANY ANGRY CUSTOMERS ARE DEMANDING ACTION TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE COMPLETELY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/2/2018 - NORTHFIELD, MN
THE POWER SLIDING DOOR ON THE DRIVER SIDE FELL OFF. THE DOOR WAS STICKING AND WOULD NOT SLIDE CLOSED, SO I TURNED OFF THE POWER TO THE DOOR. WHEN I TRIED TO MANUALLY CLOSE THE DOOR, THE DOOR PULLED OFF THE TRACK. I COULD NOT GET THE DOOR BACK ON THE TRACK. I TRIED TO MANUALLY CLOSE THE DOOR, BUT BECAUSE THE DOOR HAD BEEN PULLED OFF THE TRACK, THE BRACE COMPLETELY SCRATCHED UP THE DOOR AND BENT UP THE PANEL THAT COVERS THE TRACK ON WHICH THE BRACE FOR THE DOOR SLIDES. I NEEDED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE BODY SHOP TO REPLACE THE BRACE. I AM SPENDING HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS OF $$ BECAUSE THE DOOR FELL OFF. THERE ARE MANY POSTS ABOUT SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH HONDA ODYSSEYS. THE FAULTY SLIDING MECHANISM APPEARS TO BE A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. IT'S RIDICULOUS THAT I NEED TO REPAIR A DOOR BECAUSE IT HAS WORN OUT. I'M ATTACHING A PICTURE OF THE CLOSED DOOR WITH THE BRACE STICKING OUT AND THE DAMAGE TO THE BODY FROM WHEN I HAD ATTEMPTED TO CLOSE THE DOOR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/4/2018 - ROCKY POINT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOORS INADVERTENTLY OPENED AND ALSO FAILED TO CLOSE AUTOMATICALLY. THE DOOR AJAR INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE DRAINED THE BATTERY, CAUSING THE CONTACT TO REPLACE THE BATTERY TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO APPLE HONDA (1375 US-58, RIVERHEAD, NY 11901, 631-727-0555) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LATCHES AND THE CENTER ROLLERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURES WERE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 99,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/2/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CAR WAS OFF AND THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS STARTED COMING ON WHICH WAS DRAINING THE BATTERY. DIFFERENT LIGHTS STARTED TO ILLUMINATE ON THE DASHBOARD WITH THE CAR OFF. THE VSA LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK IT TO A COUPLE OF DIFFERENT SHOPS TO GET IT DIAGNOSED AND THEY DETERMINED THAT THE CABIN WIRE HARNESS IS CORRODED DUE TO A LEAK IN THE ROOF RUN CHANNELS AND OR WINDSHIELD. THE UNDER THE DASH FUSE BOX IS ALSO SHOWING CORROSION AND NEEDS REPLACING. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS 64000 MILES AND THE REPAIR IS QUOTED AT $3465. A VERY COSTLY REPAIR WHICH SEEMS IS DUE TO FAULTY MANUFACTURING OR ASSEMBLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/2/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CAR WAS OFF AND THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS STARTED COMING ON WHICH WAS DRAINING THE BATTERY. DIFFERENT LIGHTS STARTED TO ILLUMINATE ON THE DASHBOARD WITH THE CAR OFF. THE VSA LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK IT TO A COUPLE OF DIFFERENT SHOPS TO GET IT DIAGNOSED AND THEY DETERMINED THAT THE CABIN WIRE HARNESS IS CORRODED DUE TO A LEAK IN THE ROOF RUN CHANNELS AND OR WINDSHIELD. THE UNDER THE DASH FUSE BOX IS ALSO SHOWING CORROSION AND NEEDS REPLACING. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS 64000 MILES AND THE REPAIR IS QUOTED AT $3465. A VERY COSTLY REPAIR WHICH SEEMS IS DUE TO FAULTY MANUFACTURING OR ASSEMBLY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2018 - NAVARRE, FL
ENGINE IS BURNING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL RESULTING IN A P3497 OBD II FAULT CODE. LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT DOES NOT TURN ON, EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE BURNED OVER 2 QUARTS OF OIL. BECAME AWARE OF ISSUE WHEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. ADDED 2 QUARTS OF OIL, THEN OBTAINED AN OIL CHANGE THE NEXT DAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. THERE IS A VERY HIGH RISK OF ENGINE SEIZING. HONDA HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL. HONDA DID ISSUE A SERVICE BULLETIN 11-033 TO REPROGRAM THE COMPUTER AT A COST OF $125. I ONLY BECAME AWARE OF THE SERVICE BULLETIN AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET...NO NOTIFICATION FROM HONDA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/9/2018 - DUNKIRK, MD
THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY. THE DRIVER-SIDE SLIDING DOOR FELL OFF WHEN WE OPENED IT, FALLING TO THE GROUND, CAUSING EXTENSIVE BODY DAMAGE TO THE REAR PANEL. WE HAD THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR REPAIRED ALREADY BUT ARE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH IT OPENING AGAIN. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL FROM HONDA. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT MANY HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS SAME EXPERIENCE

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/13/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
STARTED VEHICLE IN DRIVEWAY MONDAY 3/12/17, OUTSIDE TEMP APPROXIMATELY 37* WITH RAIN. TURNED ON WIPERS, FRONT AND REAR. TURNED ON DEFROST FRONT AND REAR. IMMEDIATELY REAR HATCH WINDOW SHATTERED, GLASS ALL FELL INTO REAR COMPARTMENT BEHIND 3RD ROW SEATS. HAD NOT EVEN YET PUT VEHICLE INTO GEAR TO BACK UP. VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN MOVED AT ALL. HAD USED WIPERS PREVIOUSLY WITH NO ISSUES. THERE WAS NOTHING TO INDICATE ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE REAR GLASS BEFORE IT SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED. PHOTOS WERE TAKEN NEXT DAY AFTER HAVING PULLED VEHICLE INTO GARAGE OVERNIGHT TO KEEP FROM WATER DAMAGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds