Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (4) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (32) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/25/2014 - WAPPINGERS, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE OPENING THE POWER LIFTGATE, THE DOOR FAILED TO OPERATE. SHE WAS NOT ABLE TO REOPEN THE TAILGATE. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN: 12V062000 (STRUCTURE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE 50,000. NE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2014 - CATONSVILLE, MD
BRAKE ROTORS SHOWED ABNORMAL WEAR WITH LITTLE NOTICE. IN PREVIOUS TWO WEEKS, THE BRAKES APPEARED "SOFT" AND HAVE REQUIRED FIRMER BRAKING. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR NEW BRAKE PADS, THE MECHANIC SHOWED THE ROTORS TO US AS WARPED AND UNABLE TO BE MACHINED. WE HAVE ABOUT 55K MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND ARE NOT HEAVY BRAKERS. LOOKING AT THE ONLINE FORUM, IT IS CLEAR THAT THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE BRAKE SYSTEM AND IN PARTICULAR WITH PREMATURE WEAR OF THE ROTORS. AS AN ASIDE, WE HAVE NEVER REPLACED OUR ROTORS IN OUR 2003 HONDA CIVIC WITH 150K MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - PARK RIDGE, NJ
THE CAR'S AC SYSTEM IS MALFUNCTIONING. THE AIR CONDITIONING WILL SOME TIMES BLOW COLD AIR AND OTHER TIMES BLOW WARM AIR WHEN ON THE LOWEST TEMPERATURE SETTING WITH THE AC ON. ALSO, IT WILL SOMETIMES BLOW HOT AIR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND COLD AIR ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE. WE'VE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO TWO DIFFERENT SHOPS (NON-HONDA) AND BOTH HAVE CONFIRMED THE UNIT IS COMPLETELY CHARGED AND CAN NOT DETERMINE WHAT THE ISSUE IS. A SEARCH ON THE ISSUE SEEMS THAT SEVERAL OTHER OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THEIR VEHICLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - PARK RIDGE, NJ
THE CAR'S AC SYSTEM IS MALFUNCTIONING. THE AIR CONDITIONING WILL SOME TIMES BLOW COLD AIR AND OTHER TIMES BLOW WARM AIR WHEN ON THE LOWEST TEMPERATURE SETTING WITH THE AC ON. ALSO, IT WILL SOMETIMES BLOW HOT AIR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND COLD AIR ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE. WE'VE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO TWO DIFFERENT SHOPS (NON-HONDA) AND BOTH HAVE CONFIRMED THE UNIT IS COMPLETELY CHARGED AND CAN NOT DETERMINE WHAT THE ISSUE IS. A SEARCH ON THE ISSUE SEEMS THAT SEVERAL OTHER OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THEIR VEHICLES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/26/2014 - READING, PA
WHILE MY WIFE WAS LOADING THE CARGO AREA IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AFTER SHOPPING, THE LIFT GATE DROPPED SUDDENLY. THE SUPPORTS NO LONGER HOLD THE LIFT GATE IN THE OPEN POSITION. FORTUNATELY, SHE WAS NOT STANDING UNDER THE LIFT GATE AT THE TIME.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: FILLER PIPE AND CAP

5/14/2014 - KANEOHE, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOOR WOULD LOCK INDEPENDENTLY AND FAIL TO OPEN. THE AUTOMATIC TRUNK ALSO COULD ONLY BE OPENED MANUALLY AND THE FUEL COVER WOULD NOT OPEN WHEN ACTIVATED, FORCING THE CONTACT TO PRY IT OPEN WITH A SHARP OBJECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2014 - KANEOHE, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOOR WOULD LOCK INDEPENDENTLY AND FAIL TO OPEN. THE AUTOMATIC TRUNK ALSO COULD ONLY BE OPENED MANUALLY AND THE FUEL COVER WOULD NOT OPEN WHEN ACTIVATED, FORCING THE CONTACT TO PRY IT OPEN WITH A SHARP OBJECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/14/2014 - KANEOHE, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOOR WOULD LOCK INDEPENDENTLY AND FAIL TO OPEN. THE AUTOMATIC TRUNK ALSO COULD ONLY BE OPENED MANUALLY AND THE FUEL COVER WOULD NOT OPEN WHEN ACTIVATED, FORCING THE CONTACT TO PRY IT OPEN WITH A SHARP OBJECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
WE OWNED A 2009 HONDA ODYSSEY . THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN MAINTAINED WELL FOR YEARS AT HODA DEALERSHIPS. I HAVE PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRANTEE FOR 120K MILES ON THIS VEHICLE SINCE WE WERE PLANNING TO USE THIS VEHICLE FOR A LONG TIME. LAST TIME I HAD ANY WORK DONE ON THIS CAR WAS IN 12/31/13 AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP. IT WAS A MAJOR SERVICE. WE DID NOT HAVE ANY ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE EVENT THAT LED TO THE FIRE ON THE VEHICLE. AS MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HER ODYSSEY ON I-280/CA-85, SHE STATED THAT ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS/GAUGE ON THE DASHBOARD CAME ON. AT THE SAME TIME SHE REALIZED THAT CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. WHEN SHE INSTINCTIVELY LOOKED AT THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE ON THE DASHBOARD, IT WAS NORMAL (ABOUT HALFWAY UP) DUE TO THIS SYMPTOM, SHE WAS FORCED TO PARK THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. AT THIS POINT, MY WIFE ORDERED BOTH OF MY KIDS IN THE CAR TO EXIT THE VEHICLE AND MOVE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD ON THE HIGHWAY. SHE DID EXIT THE VEHICLE AS WELL. AS THE SMOKE FROM THE CAR CHANGED FROM WHITE TO BLACK, SHE CALLED 911. AS SHE WAITED FOR THE FIRE ENGINE TO ARRIVE (WHICH ACCORDING TO HER TOOK 10 MINUTES), WHOLE CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FIRE FROM BUMPER TO BUMPER. WHEN I ARRIVED AT THE SCENE, THERE WERE POLICE CARS AND FIRE TRUCKS. TWO LANES ON CA-85 WAS CLOSED. MY WIFE AND MY KIDS WERE IN SHOCK AND WERE CRYING. I TOOK MY WIFE AND KIDS HOME AFTERWARDS. WE LOST PERSONAL ITEMS THAT WERE LEFT IN THE CAR SUCH AS GLASSES, JACKETS, AND OTHER ITEMS. SANTA CLARA COUNTY FIRE DEPARTMENT TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL BE OPENING UP A CASE. I CAN NOT STOP TO THINK ABOUT WHAT IS THE REASON WHY THIS FIRE OCCURRED ON THE VEHICLE. WE DID NOT HAVE ANY INDICATION THAT THIS WOULD OCCUR EXCEPT FOR THE LAST MINUTE DASHBOARD INDICATION. CONSIDERING THE VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT/SERVICED AT HONDA, WE ARE BEGINNING TO LOSE FAITH ON HONDA VEHICLE/SERVICE IN GENERAL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

12/18/2013 - WILMINGTON, DE
THE TAILGATE STRUTS THAT SUPPORT THE TAILGATE (BACK) DOOR OF THE MINIVAN FAILED (COLLAPSED) WHEN THE AUTOMATIC DOOR WAS OPENING. THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VERY PROBLEM, MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR: HONDA ODYSSEY 2009, HOWEVER, MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. HONDA INC CONFIRMS THAT THEY ARE RECEIVING REPORTS LIKE THIS ONE FROM OTHER PEOPLE WHOSE CARS WERE NOT MADE PART OF THE RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds