Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA BORREGO - 2009 KIA BORREGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2009 KIA BORREGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 KIA BORREGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 KIA BORREGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

12/6/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
DRIVER'S SEAT BELT DOES NOT LATCH PROPERLY. IT WILL DISENGAGE AT ANY TIME, WITH OR WITHOUT PRESSURE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/24/2014 - BENSENVILLE, IL
ON FRIDAY, 14 NOVEMBER 2014 I WAS DRIVING TO THE VA HOSPITAL AT GREAT NAVAL BASE, ILLINOIS IN MY 2009 KIA BORREGO WHEN THE ESC LIGHT CAME ON. AT THAT TIME,L I WAS DRIVING IN THE I-294 (HIGHWAY) AT THE 55 MILES SPEED WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, SUDDENLY THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME REDUCED THE SPEED AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES TO REDUCE THE CRUISE CONTROL DID NOT DISENGAGED ALMOST CAUSING ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT. I CALLED THE SAME DATE THE KIA DEALER AT ED NAPLETON KIA IN ELMHURST, IL, MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND BROUGHT IT IN ON 18 NOV 14 AT 10:30 SUPPOSEDLY THE VEHICLE WAS FIXED AND I WAS CHARGED $320.94 FOR A SWITCH ASSY- BRAKE AND LABOR. TODAY, 24 NOVEMBER 2014 I WAS DRIVING AGAIN IN THE SAME HIGHWAY BEFORE MENTIONED AND ALMOST HAD ANOTHER ACCIDENT DUE TO THE SAME ISSUE. I WENT TO THE DEALER TO TALK TO THE MAINTENANCE PERSONNEL AND I ASKED FOR THE MANAGER. THE MANAGER CAME OUT I EXPLAINED HIM THE SITUATION AND HE SEND A MECHANIC TO TEST DRIVE WITH ME THE VEHICLE AND I SHOWED HIM THE ESC LIGHT ON AND EXPLAINED HIM THAT THE VEHICLE CONTINUE WITH THE SAME ISSUES THAT HAD BEFORE. HE REPLIED THAT FIRST THEY HAD TO CHANGE THE BRAKE SWITCH TO SEE IF THAT WILL FIXED THE ISSUE BUT NOW I MUST CHANGE THE BRAKE MODULE WHICH IS $1,500 DOLLARS THE PART AND ABOUT $800 DOLLARS IN LABOR. THE DEALER PERSONNEL AND THE MANAGER NEVER LET ME THAT THIS ISSUE WAS A RECALL AND I WAS CHARGED FOR IT. IN ADDITION, THE MECHANICAL/SAFETY ISSUE WAS NOT FIXED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/24/2014 - BENSENVILLE, IL
ON FRIDAY, 14 NOVEMBER 2014 I WAS DRIVING TO THE VA HOSPITAL AT GREAT NAVAL BASE, ILLINOIS IN MY 2009 KIA BORREGO WHEN THE ESC LIGHT CAME ON. AT THAT TIME,L I WAS DRIVING IN THE I-294 (HIGHWAY) AT THE 55 MILES SPEED WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, SUDDENLY THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME REDUCED THE SPEED AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES TO REDUCE THE CRUISE CONTROL DID NOT DISENGAGED ALMOST CAUSING ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT. I CALLED THE SAME DATE THE KIA DEALER AT ED NAPLETON KIA IN ELMHURST, IL, MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND BROUGHT IT IN ON 18 NOV 14 AT 10:30 SUPPOSEDLY THE VEHICLE WAS FIXED AND I WAS CHARGED $320.94 FOR A SWITCH ASSY- BRAKE AND LABOR. TODAY, 24 NOVEMBER 2014 I WAS DRIVING AGAIN IN THE SAME HIGHWAY BEFORE MENTIONED AND ALMOST HAD ANOTHER ACCIDENT DUE TO THE SAME ISSUE. I WENT TO THE DEALER TO TALK TO THE MAINTENANCE PERSONNEL AND I ASKED FOR THE MANAGER. THE MANAGER CAME OUT I EXPLAINED HIM THE SITUATION AND HE SEND A MECHANIC TO TEST DRIVE WITH ME THE VEHICLE AND I SHOWED HIM THE ESC LIGHT ON AND EXPLAINED HIM THAT THE VEHICLE CONTINUE WITH THE SAME ISSUES THAT HAD BEFORE. HE REPLIED THAT FIRST THEY HAD TO CHANGE THE BRAKE SWITCH TO SEE IF THAT WILL FIXED THE ISSUE BUT NOW I MUST CHANGE THE BRAKE MODULE WHICH IS $1,500 DOLLARS THE PART AND ABOUT $800 DOLLARS IN LABOR. THE DEALER PERSONNEL AND THE MANAGER NEVER LET ME THAT THIS ISSUE WAS A RECALL AND I WAS CHARGED FOR IT. IN ADDITION, THE MECHANICAL/SAFETY ISSUE WAS NOT FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/24/2014 - BENSENVILLE, IL
ON FRIDAY, 14 NOVEMBER 2014 I WAS DRIVING TO THE VA HOSPITAL AT GREAT NAVAL BASE, ILLINOIS IN MY 2009 KIA BORREGO WHEN THE ESC LIGHT CAME ON. AT THAT TIME,L I WAS DRIVING IN THE I-294 (HIGHWAY) AT THE 55 MILES SPEED WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, SUDDENLY THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME REDUCED THE SPEED AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES TO REDUCE THE CRUISE CONTROL DID NOT DISENGAGED ALMOST CAUSING ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT. I CALLED THE SAME DATE THE KIA DEALER AT ED NAPLETON KIA IN ELMHURST, IL, MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND BROUGHT IT IN ON 18 NOV 14 AT 10:30 SUPPOSEDLY THE VEHICLE WAS FIXED AND I WAS CHARGED $320.94 FOR A SWITCH ASSY- BRAKE AND LABOR. TODAY, 24 NOVEMBER 2014 I WAS DRIVING AGAIN IN THE SAME HIGHWAY BEFORE MENTIONED AND ALMOST HAD ANOTHER ACCIDENT DUE TO THE SAME ISSUE. I WENT TO THE DEALER TO TALK TO THE MAINTENANCE PERSONNEL AND I ASKED FOR THE MANAGER. THE MANAGER CAME OUT I EXPLAINED HIM THE SITUATION AND HE SEND A MECHANIC TO TEST DRIVE WITH ME THE VEHICLE AND I SHOWED HIM THE ESC LIGHT ON AND EXPLAINED HIM THAT THE VEHICLE CONTINUE WITH THE SAME ISSUES THAT HAD BEFORE. HE REPLIED THAT FIRST THEY HAD TO CHANGE THE BRAKE SWITCH TO SEE IF THAT WILL FIXED THE ISSUE BUT NOW I MUST CHANGE THE BRAKE MODULE WHICH IS $1,500 DOLLARS THE PART AND ABOUT $800 DOLLARS IN LABOR. THE DEALER PERSONNEL AND THE MANAGER NEVER LET ME THAT THIS ISSUE WAS A RECALL AND I WAS CHARGED FOR IT. IN ADDITION, THE MECHANICAL/SAFETY ISSUE WAS NOT FIXED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/29/2014 - DELTONA, FL
LOW BEAMS DON'T WORK. IT ISN'T THE BULBS.I'M NOT CAR SAVVY I FIGURED SINCE THERE WAS LIGHT IT WAS MY HEADLIGHTS, LATER I FOUND OUT THE LIGHT WAS FROM MY FOG LIGHTS.CONTACTED FAMILY FRIEND WHOM IS A CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND JUST BY WHAT I TOLD HIM HE SAID IT WAS A BAD HEADLAMP SWITCH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/27/2014 - LAMONT, CA
I HAVE A 2009 KIA BORREGO IT HAS COST ME $900.00 TO REPLACE THE SWAY BARS ON BOTH SIDES MY CAR HAS ALMOST 100,000 MILES ON IT AND NOW I HAVE THE FLASHING CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON MY SUV I HAVE HAD IT LOOKED ABOUT AND IT IS GOING TO COST ME $1,300 MORE BECAUSE IT IS THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR 5 YEARS NOW I GOT IT USED AND IT IS BECOMING A MONEY PIT I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING SOME LAGGING ON THE ACCELERATOR AND SOME SHIFTING NOISES WHEN IN PARK TO REVERSE IT WILL SOUND LIKE THE TRANSMISSION FALLING OUT AND NOW MY TRUCK SOUNDS LIKE A DIESEL FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON KIA NEEDS TO DO A RECALL ON ALL THE 2009 KIA BORREGO AND GIVE PEOPLE A CHOICE TO TAKE AN REPLACE THE SUV.. NOW MY FAMILY LOVE KIA BUT THIS HAS BEEN THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER WITH THIS CAR NOW WE'RE THINKING ABOUT CHANGING TO FORD...

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/20/2014 - KINGSTON, WA
THE LOCKING MECHANISM RELEASES UNDER MODERATE PRESSURE (PULL). OCCURS AT ANY SPEED, INCLUDING WHILE PARKED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/30/2014 - LANARK, IL
I HIT A PARKED CAR ON PASSENGER FRONT SIDE. NO PASSENGERS WERE IN THE VEHICLE. SIDE AND WINDOW AIR BAGS DEPLOYED ON DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE. STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND I SLAMMED INTO THE STEERING WHEEL CAUSING INJURY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/24/2014 - OREGON CITY, OR
IN LATE MARCH, OUR 2009 KIA BORREGO EX WOULD NOT START, ALTHOUGH THE BATTERY WAS STRONG AND ALL ACCESSORIES WORKED. WE ALMOST ALWAYS PARK IN OUR GARAGE, AND THE CAR GETS USED A LOT ON A DAILY BASIS. MY WIFE HAD DRIVEN IT A COUPLE HOURS EARLIER. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY PULLED ERROR CODE P1656 - AUTHENTICATION FAILURE OFF THE ELECTRONIC MODULE. WE HAD TO HAVE ALL OF OUR KEYS REPROGRAMMED TO THE CAR. THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOT ABLE TO OFFER ANY EXPLANATION FOR THE ERROR. MY CONCERN IS THAT WE COULD HAVE BEEN STRANDED OFF IN THE BOONDOCKS OR SOME OTHER LOCATION. I AM ALSO CONCERNED THAT THE CAR COULD SHUT DOWN WHILE WE ARE DRIVING IT, CREATING A SERIOUS PROBLEM, ESPECIALLY AT HIGH SPEEDS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/9/2014 - MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS, OH
WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MILES AN HOUR SUDDENLY ABS,VEHICLE STABILITY ICON,BREAK ICON,ENGINE ICON,CRUISE CONTROL TURNED ON AND SPEEDOMETER FAILED AND SHOWED SPEED OF ZERO WHILE I AM STILL GOING AT SAME SPEED OF 60. FEW SECONDS LATER ALL ICONS DISAPPEARED AS I PREPARED TO STOP SO I KEPT DRIVING TILL DESTINATION. ONCE CAR WAS TURNED ON AGAIN AT DESTINATION, ABOVE ICONS CAME ON, HAD CAR TOWED TO KIA DEALERSHIP. MAIN ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE FAILED AND WAS REPLACED WITHOUT CHARGE BY KIA. NOT CLEAR WHAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED TOTAL FAILURE OF MAIN ECM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds