Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN MKS - 2009 LINCOLN MKS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 21 complaints filed for the 2009 LINCOLN MKS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 LINCOLN MKS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 LINCOLN MKS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Equipment (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (2) Steering (1) Visibility (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/12/2013 - TRUMBULL , CT
I PURCHASED A MOPAR VEHICLE PROTECTION PLAN AS MY FIRST EXTENDED PLAN FROM CHRYSLER FOR A PRE-OWNED 2009 LINCOLN MKS MODEL. I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO A REPUTABLE LINCOLN-FORD DEALERSHIP TO HAVE A FEW ISSUES RESOLVED. THESE ISSUES ARE: 1) BAD SMELLING FUMES ENTERING THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE WHEN THE AIR IS ON IN ANY MODE SETTING SUCH AS THE WINDSHIELD OR BASE MODE. THE FUMES SMELL SO TOXIC THAT SOMETIMES IT RESULTS IN NAUSEA AND HEADACHES. YOU HAVE TO TURN OFF THE AIR AND PUT DOWN ALL THE WINDOWS TO AIR OUT ALL THE FUMES IN THE CAR. THE SMELL COMES AND GOES AND USUALLY HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR OVER 20-30 MINUTES WITH THE AIR OR HEAT ON. THE DEALER QUICKLY FOUND THE ISSUE AND GAVE ME A DIAGNOSIS. THERE WAS A LEAK AND THEY EVEN SHOWED ME WHERE THE LEAK WAS COMING FROM. THE LEAK WAS BURNING INTO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD AND CREATED HARMFUL FUMES WHICH WAS GOING INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. I LEFT THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALER BECAUSE IT WAS NOT HEALTHY TO DRIVE IT, ESPECIALLY SINCE I DID NOT WANT MY FAMILY GOING INTO THE CAR; ESPECIALLY MY NEW BORN AND BEING EXPOSED TO POTENTIAL NAUSEA, HEADACHES OR ANY ILLNESSES. THE CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR ALMOST TWO WEEKS BEFORE AN INSPECTOR CAME OUT TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. 1) THE INSPECTOR FELT IT WAS NOT A SERIOUS LEAK AND THAT HE QUALIFIED IT AS A SEEPAGE AND NOT A LEAK? THIS RAISES A LOT OF QUESTIONS ON THE INSPECTOR SINCE I BELIEVE THAT MOPAR IS PAYING HIM A PERCENTAGE TO KEEP THE REPAIR COSTS DOWN BY REJECTING HONEST CLAIMS 2) THE INSPECTORS CLAIMS RAISES QUESTIONS ON WHETHER OR NOT HE IS TRULY QUALIFIED TO INSPECT THIS VEHICLE. IF HE WAS DOING HIS JOB CORRECTLY HE WOULD HAVE MADE SENSE THAT IF THE VEHICLE IS SEATING (NOT DRIVING), THE GASKET OR SEALS WON'T EXPAND CAUSING THE HEAT TO SHRINK THE SEAL OR GASKET CAUSING THE OIL TO POUR OUT! ANY PROFESSIONAL WOULD KNOW THE DIFFERENCE! OVERALL MY CAR WAS NOT FIXED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/15/2013 - NEW ALBANY , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES TO COMPLETE A TURN AT 10 MPH, A LOUD METAL-ON-METAL NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FRONT BRAKES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/5/2012 - HAZEL CREST, IL
WHILE DRIVING HOME LAST EVENING,I SLOWED FOR THE STOP LIGHT @ RT 83 & RT 7, IN PALOS HEIGHTS, IL. AS I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP, MY BRAKES LOCKED, VIBRATIONS SHOOK THE ENTIRE VEHICLE, I RELEASED THE BRAKE PEDAL, AND BEGAN TO SMELL A BURNING SMELL--NO BRAKE FAILURE LIGHT CAME ON. I INCHED FORWARD- A LOUD GRINDINGSOUND WAS EVIDENT. I STOPPED THE VEHICLE- WAITED FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE, BEGAN DRIVING WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED- SLOWLY THE GRINDING, VIBRATIONS, AND SMELL, STOPPED AS I APPROACHED 10 MPH. MY WIFE WAS RIDING IN THE IN THE VEHICLE AND CAN VERIFY ALL THAT IS STATED. ON 11/14/08 RECEIPT # CS320391 WAS SERVICED ON MY VEHICLE @ 1,532 MILES, TO ADDRESS GRINDING BRAKES. MY CURRENT MILAGE IS 40,651, WITH A MORE SEVERE PROBLEM. I RESEARCHED THE LINCOLN OWNERS WEBSITE AND FOUND TSB 09-24-14 HAS BEEN ISSUED TO ADDRESS THIS THIS PROBLEM. TWO WEEKS AGO WELL, AFTER I HAD THIS ISSUE SERVICED, I FELT A BRIEF VIBRATION AFTER I BEGAN TO EXIT FROM PARKING LOT!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/3/2012 - ROGERSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH AND AS THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED, A LOUD METAL TO METAL NOISE WAS EMITTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SIX TIMES FOR THE FAILURE. THE FRONT BRAKES, ROTORS AND THE ENTIRE BRAKE SYSTEM WAS REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE AT VARIOUS TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,300. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS

7/20/2011 - PLANTATION , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART THAT CONTROLLED THE POSITION OF THE DRIVERS SEAT WAS BROKEN, AS A RESULT THE BACK PART OF THE SEAT WAS UNABLE TO STAY IN THE UPRIGHT POSITION. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT IN ORDER TO REMEDY THE FAILURE THEY WOULD INSTALL A METAL PLATE IN ORDER TO KEEP THE SEAT TOGETHER SINCE THE ORIGINAL PLATE WAS MADE OF PLASTIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,476 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 26,000. UPDATED 9/13/11 UPDATED 09/30/11.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/16/2010 - FORT MYERS, FL
MULTIPLE INSTANCES OF FRONT BRAKES GRINDING WHEN BRAKING. PURCHASED CAR AS A DEMO IN DECEMBER 2009 WITH 7800 MILES. BRAKES WERE GRINDING WITHIN 30 DAYS. HAS BEEN IN THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES. GOING FOR FOURTH (?) REPAIR AS SOON AS PARTS ARRIVE. APPARENTLY THERE IS AN TSB ISSUED BY FORD/LINCOLN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/9/2010 - BEVERLY HILLS, FL
WE LEASED THE 2009 LINCOLN MKS WITH 71 MILES ON IT IN FEBRUARY 2009. THE PROBLEM IS A GRINDING NOISE AND VIBRATION OCCURRING WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED COMING FROM THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL (PASSENGER SIDE OF VEHICLE). TOOK THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP STARTING IN AUG.2009 VEHICLE HAD 3476 MILES AND THEY STATED THEY HAD TO ORDER PARTS. BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN FOR THE FIX- NEW BRAKE PADS. HAD TO BRING THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR AN ADDITIONAL 3 TIMES FROM DEC.2009 TO MAY 2010 FOR SAME RECURRING PROBLEM. THEY CHANGED BRAKE PADS AS ONLY FIX. SENT LINCOLN A DEFECT NOTICE AS REQUIRED PER FLORIDA 'S LEMON LAW AND CONTACTED THE BBB AUTO-LINE TO INITIATE OUR CLAIM. AUG 31, 2010 FINAL ATTEMPT TO REPAIR WAS DONE BY FORD. THEY STATED THEY COULD NOT VERIFY GRINDING NOISE PER THEIR ROAD TEST, BUT PROCEEDED WITH TSB 10-17-03. THIS LATEST TSB NEWLY DESIGNED BRAKE PADS WERE INSTALLED. WE DON'T LIKE BEING THEIR TEST CASE AND WE HAVE NO CONFIDENCE THAT ANOTHER SET OF BRAKE PADS REGARDLESS OF THE NEW DESIGN WILL SOLVE THE PROBLEM. CURIOUS THAT THE NOISE AND VIBRATIONS OCCUR ONLY ON ONE SIDE OF THE CAR (PASSENGER RIGHT FRONT SIDE WHEEL AREA) AND FORD HAD NO ANSWER WHEN QUESTIONED. PREVIOUSLY, THE GRINDING NOISE HAS RETURNED ABOUT 60-90 DAYS AFTER THE NEW BRAKE PADS HAVE BEEN INSTALLED. THERE IS NO GUARANTEE THAT THIS "FINAL ATTEMPT TO REPAIR" THE BRAKE PROBLEM WILL BE THE CURE. WE ARE NOT SATISFIED WITH FORD'S FIX. FIELD SERV.TECH WROTE ON THE SERVICE REPORT HE BELIEVED THAT THERE WERE NO SAFETY ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES AND PROBLEM WE DESCRIBED HAVING. WE DO NOT HAVE CONFIDENCE IN THAT OPINION. WE ARE AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR AND AFTER HAVING THE CAR FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS HAVE ONLY 10,717 MILES. WE WILL PURSUE OUR LEMON LAW CASE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

7/23/2010 - CYPRESS, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE BRAKES WERE ENGAGED THERE WAS A LOUD GRINDING NOISE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED, TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE BUT WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. FORD MOTOR COMPANY ISSUED FIVE TSB'S REGARDING THE BRAKES GRINDING. THE BRAKES HAVE BEEN REPAIRED FIVE TIMES. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED THE NOISE DID NOT RECUR FOR APPROXIMATELY 2000 MILES. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 25,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/7/2010 - HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH APPROACHING A STOP SIGN HE ENGAGED THE BRAKES AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. HE STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UP TO 4000 RPMS AND BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN ON ITS OWN. HE DID NOT CONTACT THE DEALER. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH; YET, HE ENGAGED THE BRAKES AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. HE SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL GEAR IN ORDER TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. HE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY REFERRED HIM TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 14,700. UPDATED 08/24/10. UPDATED 08/25/10

View Details

SEATS

7/1/2010 - NORTH WILDWOOD, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE EQUIPMENT UNDER THE SEAT USED FOR HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING HAS INJURED HIS TAIL BONE. THE SUSPENSION BEGAN TO DETERIORATE AND CAUSED THE EQUIPMENT UNDERNEATH THE SEAT TO PENETRATE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 8000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds