Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN MKS - 2009 LINCOLN MKS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 35 complaints filed for the 2009 LINCOLN MKS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 LINCOLN MKS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 LINCOLN MKS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Seats (4) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (7) Structure (2) Visibility (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

PARKING BRAKE

1/14/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PARKING BRAKE FAILED TO ENGAGE AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/12/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
BRAKE PEDAL WHEN COMING TO STOP SOMETIMES GOES ALL WAY TO FLOOR. WHEN SITTING AT IDEAL SPEED THE BRAKE PEDAL WILL GO ALL WAY TO FLOOR. THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR THE PAST YEAR AND REPORTED TO LINCOLN DEALER FOR WARRANTY WORK UNDER A SEVEN YEAR WARRANTY. CAR ACCELERATES WHEN BRAKES DEPRESSED WHEN COMING TO STOP AND FOOT IS ON BRAKES AND BRAKE PEDAL IS DEPRESSED AND EDGE OF FOOT ALSO HITS ACCELERATES. DEALER HAD AUTO FROM LATE JULY 2015 TILL JAN. 5, 2016. PROBLEM STILL EXISTS AS OF JAN. 5 2016 BUT DEALER STATES THAT IT IS MY FAULT, TOOK TO ANOTHER DEALER AND THE SERVICE GUY SAID THE REASON THE BRAKE PEDAL GOES TO FLOOR IS THAT LINCOLN HAS WHAT HE CALLED A PASS THROUGH BRAKE SYSTEM. WHEN CAR IS NOT RUNNING THE BRAKE PEDAL IS SOLID AND WILL NOT GO TO FLOOR. WHILE I TOOK CAR TO DEALER FOR THIS PROBLEM IN JULY 2015 IT HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL YEARS BUT KEEPS GETTING WORSE. BRAKES HAVE BEEN BAD FROM DAY ON WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR ORIGINALLY THE ROTORS HAD NOT BEEN TURNED AND WERE THROWING BRAKE DUST. DUE TO THAT TURNING THE ROTORS HAD TO BE REPLACED A COUPLE YEARS LATER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/29/2015 - PENNINGTON GAP, VA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/7/2015 - SNELLVILLE, GA
ACCELERATOR PEDAL JAMMED AND ENGINE WAS REVVING HIGH AT 5000 , I HAVE PRESS HARD ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN TO AVOID HITTING OTHER CARS WHILE TRYING TO PULL AWAY SAME WAY LIKE THE PREVIOUS INCIDENT THAT HAPPENS 7 MONTHS EARLIER. I THEN DISENGAGED THE TRANSMISSION TO NEUTRAL TO BE ABLE TO CUT OFF THE ENGINE , WAIT FOR 10 AND SHAKE THE GAS PEDAL , BEFORE I CRANKED UP AND CONTINUED TO GO ON .

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/7/2015 - SNELLVILLE, GA
AS I WAS DRIVING THE GAS PEDAL GOT LOCKED AS I WAS APPROACHING A STOP SIGN AND THE ENGINE WAS REVVING HIGH AT 5000 RPM . I TRIED TO TURN OFF THE ENGINE BUT IT WILL NOT RESPOND , SO I HAD TO MAKE A SUDDEN RIGHT TURN ONTO A LESS TRAVELED STREET TO AVOID HITTING OTHER CARS . I THEN DISENGAGED THE TRANSMISSION TO NEUTRAL TO BE ABLE TO SHUT THE ENGINE OFF .

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2015 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
TAKING OFF FROM A SIGNAL AND THE TRANSMISSION MADE A CLUNKING SOUND AND FEEL. THE CAR REV'D UP AND WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF 1ST OR 2ND GEAR. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED TWICE. ON MORE THAN 5 OCCASIONS, WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOPPED POSITION, THE TIRES HIT A SMALL PATCH OF SAND AND THE CAR WILL JERK AND STOP IMMEDIATELY WITH THE OVER DRIVE LIGHT FLASHING. THE CAR WILL TAKE UP TO 30 SECONDS TO RECOVER BEFORE IT WILL LET YOU MOVE FORWARD ONCE AGAIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/10/2015 - TOLEDO, OH
WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT SLOW SPEED, THE FRONT BRAKE LOCKED UP WITHOUT MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE (11/2014). IT HAS ALSO HAPPENED TWICE SINCE THEN. DEALER HAS CHECKED IT OUT TWICE AND HAS FOUND NOTHING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - DENVER, CO
MY VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH THE THX SOUND SYSTEM AND FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS WHEN STARTING COLD THERE'S BEEN A LOUD CRACKING/POPPING SOUND WHEN FIRST STARTED. UPON TURNING THE CAR OFF THEN ON, THE SYSTEM SEEMED TO RESET ITSELF, HOWEVER, NOW THERE'S NO AUDIO COMING FROM THE SYSTEM YET IT SHOWS ON THE EQUALIZER THAT THERE SHOULD BE SOUND COMING OUT. I'VE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND TSB 09-5-1 BEST REFLECTS THE SITUATION THAT IS OCCURRING WITH MY CAR. I PURCHASED THE CAR LAST SUMMER AND THIS WAS MY FIRST WINTER IN THE VEHICLE. ALSO, WITHIN THE PAST 6 MONTHS, THE LEFT REAR DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK PROPERLY WHEN USING EITHER THE KEY FOB OR THE MANUAL UNLOCK BUTTON. ONE HAS TO HAVE PERFECT TIMING WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOOR AND PULLING ON THE DOOR HANDLE FOR THE DOOR TO ACTUALLY BE UNLOCKED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2015 - DENVER, CO
MY VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH THE THX SOUND SYSTEM AND FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS WHEN STARTING COLD THERE'S BEEN A LOUD CRACKING/POPPING SOUND WHEN FIRST STARTED. UPON TURNING THE CAR OFF THEN ON, THE SYSTEM SEEMED TO RESET ITSELF, HOWEVER, NOW THERE'S NO AUDIO COMING FROM THE SYSTEM YET IT SHOWS ON THE EQUALIZER THAT THERE SHOULD BE SOUND COMING OUT. I'VE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND TSB 09-5-1 BEST REFLECTS THE SITUATION THAT IS OCCURRING WITH MY CAR. I PURCHASED THE CAR LAST SUMMER AND THIS WAS MY FIRST WINTER IN THE VEHICLE. ALSO, WITHIN THE PAST 6 MONTHS, THE LEFT REAR DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK PROPERLY WHEN USING EITHER THE KEY FOB OR THE MANUAL UNLOCK BUTTON. ONE HAS TO HAVE PERFECT TIMING WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOOR AND PULLING ON THE DOOR HANDLE FOR THE DOOR TO ACTUALLY BE UNLOCKED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/9/2014 - MIDDLEVILLE, MI
WHILE PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC ON A VERY BUSY FOUR LANE STREET, I TURNED LEFT TO GET INTO THE TURN LANE. ALL OF A SUDDEN THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON, THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL JERKED AND GRABBED AND THE ACCELERATOR WOULD NOT LET ME GET OUT OF THE ON-COMING LANE FOR A FEW SECONDS. THIS COULD HAVE ENDED A LOT WORST. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AND THE DEALER SAYS THERE IS NO BULLETIN FOR THIS PROBLEM!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds