Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN MKS - 2009 LINCOLN MKS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 27 complaints filed for the 2009 LINCOLN MKS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 LINCOLN MKS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 LINCOLN MKS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (5) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1) Seats (4) Steering (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/9/2014 - MIDDLEVILLE, MI
WHILE PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC ON A VERY BUSY FOUR LANE STREET, I TURNED LEFT TO GET INTO THE TURN LANE. ALL OF A SUDDEN THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON, THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL JERKED AND GRABBED AND THE ACCELERATOR WOULD NOT LET ME GET OUT OF THE ON-COMING LANE FOR A FEW SECONDS. THIS COULD HAVE ENDED A LOT WORST. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AND THE DEALER SAYS THERE IS NO BULLETIN FOR THIS PROBLEM!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/19/2014 - METAIRIE, LA
TWO ISSUES: THE REAR DOORS RETAIN WATER AFTER A STORM AND NEED TO BE DRAINED BY HAND BY HOLDING THE RUBBER FLAP AT THE BOTTOM OF THE DOOR AWAY FROM THE DOOR ITSELF. THE LOCKS RANDOMLY DO NOT FULLY UNLOCK WHEN YOU USE THE KEY REMOTE, THE UNLOCK BUTTON ON THE DOOR, OR EVEN MANUALLY PULLING ON THE LOCK KNOB. THE LOCK KNOBS JUMP UP AND DOWN AND YOU HAVE TO TRY TO OPEN THE DOOR HANDLE AT THE PERFECT TIME TO CATCH THE LOCK OPEN IN ORDER TO OPEN THE DOOR. THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO ROTATE THROUGH ALL 4 LOCKS FOR RANDOM INTERVALS AND WITH RANDOM SELECTION. IT ALWAYS SEEMS TO BE ON AT LEAST 2 LOCKS AT ANY GIVEN TIME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/19/2014 - METAIRIE, LA
TWO ISSUES: THE REAR DOORS RETAIN WATER AFTER A STORM AND NEED TO BE DRAINED BY HAND BY HOLDING THE RUBBER FLAP AT THE BOTTOM OF THE DOOR AWAY FROM THE DOOR ITSELF. THE LOCKS RANDOMLY DO NOT FULLY UNLOCK WHEN YOU USE THE KEY REMOTE, THE UNLOCK BUTTON ON THE DOOR, OR EVEN MANUALLY PULLING ON THE LOCK KNOB. THE LOCK KNOBS JUMP UP AND DOWN AND YOU HAVE TO TRY TO OPEN THE DOOR HANDLE AT THE PERFECT TIME TO CATCH THE LOCK OPEN IN ORDER TO OPEN THE DOOR. THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO ROTATE THROUGH ALL 4 LOCKS FOR RANDOM INTERVALS AND WITH RANDOM SELECTION. IT ALWAYS SEEMS TO BE ON AT LEAST 2 LOCKS AT ANY GIVEN TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/24/2014 - HAMMOND, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER RAINY WEATHER CONDITIONS, A SUBSTANTIAL AMOUNT OF WATER SETTLED IN BETWEEN THE FRONT AND REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR PANELS. THE FAILURE CAUSED A MUSTY ODOR AND MILDEW INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/19/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL TO THE FLOORBOARD AND SHIFT TO A LOWER GEAR IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE BRAKE BOOSTER WAS REPLACED TWICE HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,700.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/10/2014 - KINSALE, VA
IN DECEMBER 2013, I TOOK MY 2009 LINCOLN MKS TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE BECAUSE IT OCCASIONALLY ACCELERATES BEFORE SLOWING DOWN WHEN I APPLY THE BRAKES. ON A DIFFERENT OCCASION I WAS BEHIND A CAR THAT SLOWED DOWN THEN CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP TO AVOID HITTING A DEER. I APPLIED THE BRAKES, MY CAR SLOWED DOWN AND MADE A WEIRD NOISE AS IF THE CAR WAS TRYING TO START UP; INSTEAD OF COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, IT KEPT GOING WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKES. THE TECHNICIAN DROVE ME AND MY SON AROUND THE BLOCK BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I WAS INFORMED THAT IF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS NOT ON, OR IF THERE ARE NO CODES, AND IF THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. ON JANUARY 14, 2014 AS I PULLED INTO MY CARPORT BEFORE COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE CAR MADE THE SAME WEIRD NOISE, AND CONTINUED GOING FORWARD AND PUSHED ITS WAY INTO THE SIDE OF MY HOUSE WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. WHEN THE NOISE STOPS, THE CAR STOPS. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER ON JANUARY 20, 2014 AND THEY KEPT THE CAR TO DRIVE TO SEE IF THEY HAD A SIMILAR EXPERIENCE. THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR. I CAN UNDERSTAND THAT THEY CANNOT FIX A PROBLEM IF THEY CAN'T DUPLICATE IT, BUT THE PROBLEM IS SPORADIC. WHAT DISTURBS ME THE MOST IS THAT WHEN I GAVE DETAILS OF THE PROBLEMS TO THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT, THE FIRST TIME ON THE WRITE-UP THEY ONLY REPORTED THAT I HEAR A NOISE UPON ACCELERATION. THE SECOND TIME THEY DIDN'T GIVE ME ANY PAPERWORK. IF THEY ARE ONLY TELLING THEIR REPAIR DEPARTMENT TO CHECK FOR NOISE UPON ACCELERATION, THEN THEY WOULD NOT BE CHECKING THE CAR FOR THE ACTUAL PROBLEMS. I HAVE BEEN FORTUNATE BOTH TIMES THAT NO ONE WAS INJURED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/10/2014 - KINSALE, VA
IN DECEMBER 2013, I TOOK MY 2009 LINCOLN MKS TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE BECAUSE IT OCCASIONALLY ACCELERATES BEFORE SLOWING DOWN WHEN I APPLY THE BRAKES. ON A DIFFERENT OCCASION I WAS BEHIND A CAR THAT SLOWED DOWN THEN CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP TO AVOID HITTING A DEER. I APPLIED THE BRAKES, MY CAR SLOWED DOWN AND MADE A WEIRD NOISE AS IF THE CAR WAS TRYING TO START UP; INSTEAD OF COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, IT KEPT GOING WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKES. THE TECHNICIAN DROVE ME AND MY SON AROUND THE BLOCK BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I WAS INFORMED THAT IF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS NOT ON, OR IF THERE ARE NO CODES, AND IF THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. ON JANUARY 14, 2014 AS I PULLED INTO MY CARPORT BEFORE COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE CAR MADE THE SAME WEIRD NOISE, AND CONTINUED GOING FORWARD AND PUSHED ITS WAY INTO THE SIDE OF MY HOUSE WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. WHEN THE NOISE STOPS, THE CAR STOPS. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER ON JANUARY 20, 2014 AND THEY KEPT THE CAR TO DRIVE TO SEE IF THEY HAD A SIMILAR EXPERIENCE. THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR. I CAN UNDERSTAND THAT THEY CANNOT FIX A PROBLEM IF THEY CAN'T DUPLICATE IT, BUT THE PROBLEM IS SPORADIC. WHAT DISTURBS ME THE MOST IS THAT WHEN I GAVE DETAILS OF THE PROBLEMS TO THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT, THE FIRST TIME ON THE WRITE-UP THEY ONLY REPORTED THAT I HEAR A NOISE UPON ACCELERATION. THE SECOND TIME THEY DIDN'T GIVE ME ANY PAPERWORK. IF THEY ARE ONLY TELLING THEIR REPAIR DEPARTMENT TO CHECK FOR NOISE UPON ACCELERATION, THEN THEY WOULD NOT BE CHECKING THE CAR FOR THE ACTUAL PROBLEMS. I HAVE BEEN FORTUNATE BOTH TIMES THAT NO ONE WAS INJURED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/6/2014 - LA MESA, CA
2009 LINCOLN MKS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE IGNITION FAILURE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE HAS A KEYLESS IGNITION MODULE THAT WAS USED TO OPEN THE DOORS AND TO START THE ENGINE. RECENTLY, HE STARTED EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH OPENING THE DOORS. THE CONSUMER HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BY-PASS SYSTEM TO START THE ENGINE. ON MARCH 12, 2014, THE CONSUMER RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. AFTER AN EXAMINATION, THEY DETERMINED THE IGNITION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. HOWEVER, THEY HAD TO GET SOME NEW EQUIPMENT, SO THE REPROGRAMMING, WAS NOT DONE THAT DAY. BEFORE THE CONSUMER WAS ABLE TO RETURN TO THE DEALER, HIS WIFE BECAME STRANDED IN A STORE PARKING LOT. THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN, AND A PASSERBY HAD TO HER HELP HER, UNTIL THE DOOR OPENED. SHE WAS THEN ABLE TO START THE ENGINE WITH THE EMERGENCY BY-PASS SYSTEM. THE NEXT DAY, THE CONSUMER WAS STRANDED IN THE SAME WAY. A STORE EMPLOYEE TOOK HIS IGNITION MODULE AND KEPT WALKING AROUND THE CAR KEYING THE MODULE UNTIL THE RIGHT PASSENGER DOOR OPENED. THE HE WAS ABLE TO START THE ENGINE WITH THE EMERGENCY BY-PASS SYSTEM. THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO THE DEALER. AN INSPECTION REVEALED THE SMART JUNCTION BOX NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2013 - TRUMBULL , CT
I PURCHASED A MOPAR VEHICLE PROTECTION PLAN AS MY FIRST EXTENDED PLAN FROM CHRYSLER FOR A PRE-OWNED 2009 LINCOLN MKS MODEL. I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO A REPUTABLE LINCOLN-FORD DEALERSHIP TO HAVE A FEW ISSUES RESOLVED. THESE ISSUES ARE: 1) BAD SMELLING FUMES ENTERING THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE WHEN THE AIR IS ON IN ANY MODE SETTING SUCH AS THE WINDSHIELD OR BASE MODE. THE FUMES SMELL SO TOXIC THAT SOMETIMES IT RESULTS IN NAUSEA AND HEADACHES. YOU HAVE TO TURN OFF THE AIR AND PUT DOWN ALL THE WINDOWS TO AIR OUT ALL THE FUMES IN THE CAR. THE SMELL COMES AND GOES AND USUALLY HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR OVER 20-30 MINUTES WITH THE AIR OR HEAT ON. THE DEALER QUICKLY FOUND THE ISSUE AND GAVE ME A DIAGNOSIS. THERE WAS A LEAK AND THEY EVEN SHOWED ME WHERE THE LEAK WAS COMING FROM. THE LEAK WAS BURNING INTO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD AND CREATED HARMFUL FUMES WHICH WAS GOING INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. I LEFT THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALER BECAUSE IT WAS NOT HEALTHY TO DRIVE IT, ESPECIALLY SINCE I DID NOT WANT MY FAMILY GOING INTO THE CAR; ESPECIALLY MY NEW BORN AND BEING EXPOSED TO POTENTIAL NAUSEA, HEADACHES OR ANY ILLNESSES. THE CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR ALMOST TWO WEEKS BEFORE AN INSPECTOR CAME OUT TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. 1) THE INSPECTOR FELT IT WAS NOT A SERIOUS LEAK AND THAT HE QUALIFIED IT AS A SEEPAGE AND NOT A LEAK? THIS RAISES A LOT OF QUESTIONS ON THE INSPECTOR SINCE I BELIEVE THAT MOPAR IS PAYING HIM A PERCENTAGE TO KEEP THE REPAIR COSTS DOWN BY REJECTING HONEST CLAIMS 2) THE INSPECTORS CLAIMS RAISES QUESTIONS ON WHETHER OR NOT HE IS TRULY QUALIFIED TO INSPECT THIS VEHICLE. IF HE WAS DOING HIS JOB CORRECTLY HE WOULD HAVE MADE SENSE THAT IF THE VEHICLE IS SEATING (NOT DRIVING), THE GASKET OR SEALS WON'T EXPAND CAUSING THE HEAT TO SHRINK THE SEAL OR GASKET CAUSING THE OIL TO POUR OUT! ANY PROFESSIONAL WOULD KNOW THE DIFFERENCE! OVERALL MY CAR WAS NOT FIXED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/15/2013 - NEW ALBANY , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES TO COMPLETE A TURN AT 10 MPH, A LOUD METAL-ON-METAL NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FRONT BRAKES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds