Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 323 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (128) Seat Belts (2) Steering (81) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (103) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (4) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (38) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/3/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN IN THE APPROPRIATE DIRECTION AND THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/31/2015 - OAKDALE, MN
WHEN I WENT TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS NO RESISTANCE IN THE SHIFT LEVER, IT MOVED BACK AND FORTH FREELY IN THE CASING. CAR WOULD NOT GO INTO PARK OR ANY OTHER GEAR. IT BROKE IN DRIVE AND WOULD NOT RESTART. HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO KEEP IT FROM ROLLING FORWARD, HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED . THE DEALER SAID WE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE SHIFT CABLE, AND SAID THE PART WAS A G.M. RECALL PART. HOWEVER, OUR CAR WASN'T COVERED ON THE RECALL. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW A PART CAN BE RECALLED, BUT NOT ALL CARS WITH THE PART ARE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, IT JUST DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE AT ALL TO ME. I HAD TO PAY THE G.M DEALER $306. TO HAVE THE CAR FIXED. I REALLY WANT MY MONEY BACK, I WORK HARD FOR IT, AND THIS JUST ISN'T RIGHT. WE DID NOTIFY G.M. AND THEY TOLD US TO NOTIFY YOU. THANK YOU

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/31/2015 - OAKDALE, MN
WHEN I WENT TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS NO RESISTANCE IN THE SHIFT LEVER, IT MOVED BACK AND FORTH FREELY IN THE CASING. CAR WOULD NOT GO INTO PARK OR ANY OTHER GEAR. IT BROKE IN DRIVE AND WOULD NOT RESTART. HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO KEEP IT FROM ROLLING FORWARD, HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED . THE DEALER SAID WE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE SHIFT CABLE, AND SAID THE PART WAS A G.M. RECALL PART. HOWEVER, OUR CAR WASN'T COVERED ON THE RECALL. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW A PART CAN BE RECALLED, BUT NOT ALL CARS WITH THE PART ARE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, IT JUST DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE AT ALL TO ME. I HAD TO PAY THE G.M DEALER $306. TO HAVE THE CAR FIXED. I REALLY WANT MY MONEY BACK, I WORK HARD FOR IT, AND THIS JUST ISN'T RIGHT. WE DID NOTIFY G.M. AND THEY TOLD US TO NOTIFY YOU. THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

1/21/2015 - OAK PARK, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING WOULD SUDDENLY MALFUNCTION CAUSING THE STEERING WHEEL TO BECOME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE POWER STEERING SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/21/2015 - CLEWISTON, FL
2009 PONTIAC G6. REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT FOR REPAIRS DUE TO RECALL. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE BCM SHORTED OUT. RECALL #14V252000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/21/2015 - CLEWISTON, FL
2009 PONTIAC G6. REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT FOR REPAIRS DUE TO RECALL. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE BCM SHORTED OUT. RECALL #14V252000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/21/2015 - CLEWISTON, FL
2009 PONTIAC G6. REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT FOR REPAIRS DUE TO RECALL. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE BCM SHORTED OUT. RECALL #14V252000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/21/2015 - CLEWISTON, FL
2009 PONTIAC G6. REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT FOR REPAIRS DUE TO RECALL. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE BCM SHORTED OUT. RECALL #14V252000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/21/2015 - CLEWISTON, FL
2009 PONTIAC G6. REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT FOR REPAIRS DUE TO RECALL. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE BCM SHORTED OUT. RECALL #14V252000.

View Details

STEERING

1/20/2015 - THE COLONY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE EXCESSIVE FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL IN ORDER TO TURN THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING TORQUE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds