Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 216 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (71) Exterior Lighting (100) Seat Belts (2) Steering (34) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (4) Structure (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (33) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/16/2014 - DEXTER, MI
THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR LOCK FAILS TO OPEN AT TIMES. SOME DAYS IT WILL UNLOCK, OTHERS IT WILL NOT. UPON CALLING A FEW DEALERS I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS THE DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR. AS THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE, I FEEL IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN IT DOES NOT OPERATE PROPERLY. I WAS ALSO TOLD IT WOULD COST ~$350 TO FIX. AGAIN, I FEEL THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT GM SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF. THE ONLY WAY TO UNLOCK THAT DOOR IS TO GET IN THE CAR AND REACH ACROSS AND PULL THE LOCK UP, PULLING ON THE DOOR HANDLE DOES NOT POP THE LOCK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2014 - DEXTER, MI
THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR LOCK FAILS TO OPEN AT TIMES. SOME DAYS IT WILL UNLOCK, OTHERS IT WILL NOT. UPON CALLING A FEW DEALERS I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS THE DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR. AS THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE, I FEEL IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN IT DOES NOT OPERATE PROPERLY. I WAS ALSO TOLD IT WOULD COST ~$350 TO FIX. AGAIN, I FEEL THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT GM SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF. THE ONLY WAY TO UNLOCK THAT DOOR IS TO GET IN THE CAR AND REACH ACROSS AND PULL THE LOCK UP, PULLING ON THE DOOR HANDLE DOES NOT POP THE LOCK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/10/2014 - PAULDING, OH
I STARTED THE CAR TO LEAVE WORK AND MY SECURTY LIGHT WOULD NOT SHUT OFF. I MADE A STOP AT A STORE AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR THE LIGHT WENT OFF. A FEW DAYS LATER, MY CAR WOULD NOT START. ALL THE LIGHTS AND THE RADIO ETC CAME ON BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT TURN OVER. I WAS TOLD SHUT EVERYTHING OFF IN MY CAR AND PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND TURN IT BUT DON'T ACTUALLY START IT, LET IS SIT LIKE THAT FOR 20 MINUTES AND START. I DID THAT AND IT WORKED, BUT I'VE HAD TO DO THAT A COUPLE TIME WITH BOTH OF MY KEYS. (I WAS TOLD I MAY JUST HAVE A BAD KEY). I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS IS PART OF THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL FOR GM. I TOOK IT TO STYKEMAIN IN DEFIANCE OH ON 6/4/14 AND WAS TOLD THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

6/9/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY ANOTHER MOTORIST THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE WERE CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2014 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
WHILE DRIVING, THE GAS GAGE AND MPH NEEDLES DROPPED TO ZERO AND THE CAR COULD NOT DRIVE FORWARD. THERE WAS ALSO AN "ERROR" NOTICE FLASHING ON THE DASHBOARD. IT LASTED FOR A FRACTION OF SECOND BUT KEPT DOING IT ABOUT EVERY 20-30 SECONDS. I REALIZED THE THEFT PROTECTION LIGHT STAYED ON AFTER STARTNG THE VEHICLE BUT WHEN I WENT OUT YESTERDAY THE THEFT PROTECTION LIGHT WAS NOT ON AFTER STARTING THE CAR. IT CAME ON SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING AND I WAS UNABLE TO GET THE GAS GAGE TO WORK. IT IS LASTING LONGER NOW ALSO. I ALSO NOTICED THE TRACTION CONTROL WORDS SHOWED UP ON THE DASH BOARD THIS LAST TIME. CONDITIONS WERE CLEAR AND DRY. I DID READ THE MANUAL AND CHECKED THE FUSE AS RECOMMENDED. THE FUSE LOOKS FINE AND FOR ONE WHOLE DAY AFTER REMOVING AND REPLACING THE FUSE I DID NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM BUT THE NEXT TIME I DROVE, IT WAS MUCH WORSE AS I MENTIONED ABOVE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

6/5/2014 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
WHILE DRIVING, THE GAS GAGE AND MPH NEEDLES DROPPED TO ZERO AND THE CAR COULD NOT DRIVE FORWARD. THERE WAS ALSO AN "ERROR" NOTICE FLASHING ON THE DASHBOARD. IT LASTED FOR A FRACTION OF SECOND BUT KEPT DOING IT ABOUT EVERY 20-30 SECONDS. I REALIZED THE THEFT PROTECTION LIGHT STAYED ON AFTER STARTNG THE VEHICLE BUT WHEN I WENT OUT YESTERDAY THE THEFT PROTECTION LIGHT WAS NOT ON AFTER STARTING THE CAR. IT CAME ON SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING AND I WAS UNABLE TO GET THE GAS GAGE TO WORK. IT IS LASTING LONGER NOW ALSO. I ALSO NOTICED THE TRACTION CONTROL WORDS SHOWED UP ON THE DASH BOARD THIS LAST TIME. CONDITIONS WERE CLEAR AND DRY. I DID READ THE MANUAL AND CHECKED THE FUSE AS RECOMMENDED. THE FUSE LOOKS FINE AND FOR ONE WHOLE DAY AFTER REMOVING AND REPLACING THE FUSE I DID NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM BUT THE NEXT TIME I DROVE, IT WAS MUCH WORSE AS I MENTIONED ABOVE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/5/2014 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
WHILE DRIVING, THE GAS GAGE AND MPH NEEDLES DROPPED TO ZERO AND THE CAR COULD NOT DRIVE FORWARD. THERE WAS ALSO AN "ERROR" NOTICE FLASHING ON THE DASHBOARD. IT LASTED FOR A FRACTION OF SECOND BUT KEPT DOING IT ABOUT EVERY 20-30 SECONDS. I REALIZED THE THEFT PROTECTION LIGHT STAYED ON AFTER STARTNG THE VEHICLE BUT WHEN I WENT OUT YESTERDAY THE THEFT PROTECTION LIGHT WAS NOT ON AFTER STARTING THE CAR. IT CAME ON SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING AND I WAS UNABLE TO GET THE GAS GAGE TO WORK. IT IS LASTING LONGER NOW ALSO. I ALSO NOTICED THE TRACTION CONTROL WORDS SHOWED UP ON THE DASH BOARD THIS LAST TIME. CONDITIONS WERE CLEAR AND DRY. I DID READ THE MANUAL AND CHECKED THE FUSE AS RECOMMENDED. THE FUSE LOOKS FINE AND FOR ONE WHOLE DAY AFTER REMOVING AND REPLACING THE FUSE I DID NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM BUT THE NEXT TIME I DROVE, IT WAS MUCH WORSE AS I MENTIONED ABOVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/3/2014 - OLLA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT THE BRAKES BEING ENGAGED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIOEND THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL BECAME INOPERABLE.THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF A RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED ON THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/3/2014 - OLLA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT THE BRAKES BEING ENGAGED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIOEND THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL BECAME INOPERABLE.THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF A RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED ON THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/31/2014 - TIBURON, CA
IN EARLY MAY MY 2009 PONTIAC G6 SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY WHILE REVERSING IN A PARKING SPOT. I TESTED THE CAR IN DRIVE ALSO AND REALIZED THE IGNITION COULD BE SWITCHED OFF WHILE IN GEAR. I HAVE TRIED TO GET GM TO REPAIR THE FAULTY IGNITION BUT SINCE IT HAS NOT YET BEEN ADDED TO THEIR GROWING LIST OF RECALLS, THEY WONT EVEN LOOK AT IT WITHOUT LEAVING THE CAR FOR A $150 INSPECTION. THIS IS ABSURD SINCE THE PART SHOULD TAKE 30 MINUTES TO INSTALL AND COSTS THEM NEXT TO NOTHING. I'M SURE THERE ARE MANY OTHER VEHICLES NOT UNDER THE RECALL THAT ALSO HAVE THE ISSUE. I AM DISGUSTED WITH GM FOR CONTINUING TO NEGLECT RESPONSIBILITY FOR AN OBVIOUS PROBLEM! I'M NOT SURE WHAT ELSE TO DO AT THIS POINT BUT TO SEEK THE HELP OF AN ATTORNEY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds