Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 365 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (134) Seat Belts (2) Steering (108) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (109) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (5) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (39) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/17/2015 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT AN OCCUPANT PRESENT. THE FAILURE ALSO RECURRED WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,630.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/14/2015 - HAMBURG, NJ
ON 4/7/15, WHILE DRIVING HEARD CHIMES. ALL ICONS ON INSTRUMENT PANEL TURNED ON. THE FUEL GAUGE NEEDLE MOVED TO EMPTY. THE LOW FUEL GAUGE TURNED ON. ALL THIS INDICATING MALFUNCTION. THE ODOMETER TURNED OFF AND THE CODE ERROR CAME ON AND TURNED OFF; THEN THE ODOMETER CAME BACK ON. ALL THE ICONS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL TURNED OFF EXCEPT FOR THE SECURITY LIGHT ICON WHICH STAYED ON. IT FELT AS IF SOMEONE WAS ATTEMPTING TO DISABLE MY VEHICLE. LATER THAT DAY TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND EVERYTHING SEEMED NORMAL, LIKE IT RESET ITSELF. ON 4/8/15, AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MILES ON THE HIGHWAY, THE SECURITY LIGHT ICON TURNED ON AND STAYED ON. I TOOK THE VEHICLE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER AND THEY INFORMED ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE RESULT WAS INCONCLUSIVE, THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. SO NOT ONLY WAS I PUT IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION, THIS END UP COSTING ME $140.00 JUST TO TELL ME THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING - NOT ONLY AM I IN THE HOLE FOR $140 BUT I AM BACK TO SQUARE ONE. I FEEL GM SHOULD FOOT THIS BILL AS A CUSTOMER COURTESY DUE TO THE PREDICAMENT THIS VEHICLE PUT ME IN. THIS SHOULD NEVER HAVE HAPPENED TO A VEHICLE THAT IS 6 YEARS OLD AND 80,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/14/2015 - HAMBURG, NJ
ON 4/7/15, WHILE DRIVING HEARD CHIMES. ALL ICONS ON INSTRUMENT PANEL TURNED ON. THE FUEL GAUGE NEEDLE MOVED TO EMPTY. THE LOW FUEL GAUGE TURNED ON. ALL THIS INDICATING MALFUNCTION. THE ODOMETER TURNED OFF AND THE CODE ERROR CAME ON AND TURNED OFF; THEN THE ODOMETER CAME BACK ON. ALL THE ICONS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL TURNED OFF EXCEPT FOR THE SECURITY LIGHT ICON WHICH STAYED ON. IT FELT AS IF SOMEONE WAS ATTEMPTING TO DISABLE MY VEHICLE. LATER THAT DAY TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND EVERYTHING SEEMED NORMAL, LIKE IT RESET ITSELF. ON 4/8/15, AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MILES ON THE HIGHWAY, THE SECURITY LIGHT ICON TURNED ON AND STAYED ON. I TOOK THE VEHICLE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER AND THEY INFORMED ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE RESULT WAS INCONCLUSIVE, THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. SO NOT ONLY WAS I PUT IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION, THIS END UP COSTING ME $140.00 JUST TO TELL ME THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING - NOT ONLY AM I IN THE HOLE FOR $140 BUT I AM BACK TO SQUARE ONE. I FEEL GM SHOULD FOOT THIS BILL AS A CUSTOMER COURTESY DUE TO THE PREDICAMENT THIS VEHICLE PUT ME IN. THIS SHOULD NEVER HAVE HAPPENED TO A VEHICLE THAT IS 6 YEARS OLD AND 80,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - HAMBURG, NJ
ON 4/7/15, WHILE DRIVING HEARD CHIMES. ALL ICONS ON INSTRUMENT PANEL TURNED ON. THE FUEL GAUGE NEEDLE MOVED TO EMPTY. THE LOW FUEL GAUGE TURNED ON. ALL THIS INDICATING MALFUNCTION. THE ODOMETER TURNED OFF AND THE CODE ERROR CAME ON AND TURNED OFF; THEN THE ODOMETER CAME BACK ON. ALL THE ICONS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL TURNED OFF EXCEPT FOR THE SECURITY LIGHT ICON WHICH STAYED ON. IT FELT AS IF SOMEONE WAS ATTEMPTING TO DISABLE MY VEHICLE. LATER THAT DAY TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND EVERYTHING SEEMED NORMAL, LIKE IT RESET ITSELF. ON 4/8/15, AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MILES ON THE HIGHWAY, THE SECURITY LIGHT ICON TURNED ON AND STAYED ON. I TOOK THE VEHICLE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER AND THEY INFORMED ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE RESULT WAS INCONCLUSIVE, THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. SO NOT ONLY WAS I PUT IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION, THIS END UP COSTING ME $140.00 JUST TO TELL ME THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING - NOT ONLY AM I IN THE HOLE FOR $140 BUT I AM BACK TO SQUARE ONE. I FEEL GM SHOULD FOOT THIS BILL AS A CUSTOMER COURTESY DUE TO THE PREDICAMENT THIS VEHICLE PUT ME IN. THIS SHOULD NEVER HAVE HAPPENED TO A VEHICLE THAT IS 6 YEARS OLD AND 80,000 MILES.

View Details

STEERING

4/13/2015 - ELMA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING INPUT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/8/2015 - TULSA , OK
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V540000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT FELT THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE...UPDATED 05/19/15

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/6/2015 - BELLEVIEW, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHT FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE HEADLIGHT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE INSIDE OF THE HEADLIGHT CASING MELTED AND BURNED THE WIRING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS WOULD LOCK AND UNLOCK WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/6/2015 - BELLEVIEW, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHT FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE HEADLIGHT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE INSIDE OF THE HEADLIGHT CASING MELTED AND BURNED THE WIRING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS WOULD LOCK AND UNLOCK WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/2/2015 - SUN VALLEY , CA
MY 2009 G6 HAS 38,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS. THE PIGTAILS ARE MELTED & BURNED. I HAVE TRIED TO REPLACE THESE EXACTLY AS THEY WERE HOOKED UP & NOW THE DRIVERS SIDE LIGHT WILL NOT WORK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds