Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 485 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (31) Steering (160) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (158) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Seats (9) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (49) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

3/8/2017 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
I HAVE HAD A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS, WHERE THE POWER STEERING, TRACTION CONTROL AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALL ATOP WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE SOUGHT ASSISTANCE FROM GM. THE DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. I HAVE PROVIDED THEM WITH PICTURES, BUT THEY CHOOSE NOT TO HELP. THE PROBLEM IS A KNOWN PROBLEM ON OTHER YEARS OF THE PONTIAC G6. GM WEBSITE SAYS THEY FIX THE PROBLEM ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS. PICTURE AND VIDEO PROOF MEAN NOTHING IF THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. CODES FLASH ACROSS DISPLAY THAT SAY "CHECK POWER STEERING " "SERVICE TRACTION" "SERVICE ESC". ONLY WAY FOR ME TO CLEAR IS TO SHUT OFF CAR AND TURN BACK ON. ALL PEER STEERING IS LOST WHEN PROBLEM OCCURS. ALTHOUGH I'VE LISTED. ONLY ONE DATE, WHICH WAS THE MOST RECENT, THE PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 1/2014, TWICE IN 7/2014, 12/2016 AND IN 3/2017.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2017 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
I HAVE HAD A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS, WHERE THE POWER STEERING, TRACTION CONTROL AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALL ATOP WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE SOUGHT ASSISTANCE FROM GM. THE DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. I HAVE PROVIDED THEM WITH PICTURES, BUT THEY CHOOSE NOT TO HELP. THE PROBLEM IS A KNOWN PROBLEM ON OTHER YEARS OF THE PONTIAC G6. GM WEBSITE SAYS THEY FIX THE PROBLEM ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS. PICTURE AND VIDEO PROOF MEAN NOTHING IF THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. CODES FLASH ACROSS DISPLAY THAT SAY "CHECK POWER STEERING " "SERVICE TRACTION" "SERVICE ESC". ONLY WAY FOR ME TO CLEAR IS TO SHUT OFF CAR AND TURN BACK ON. ALL PEER STEERING IS LOST WHEN PROBLEM OCCURS. ALTHOUGH I'VE LISTED. ONLY ONE DATE, WHICH WAS THE MOST RECENT, THE PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 1/2014, TWICE IN 7/2014, 12/2016 AND IN 3/2017.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/8/2017 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
I HAVE HAD A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS, WHERE THE POWER STEERING, TRACTION CONTROL AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALL ATOP WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE SOUGHT ASSISTANCE FROM GM. THE DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. I HAVE PROVIDED THEM WITH PICTURES, BUT THEY CHOOSE NOT TO HELP. THE PROBLEM IS A KNOWN PROBLEM ON OTHER YEARS OF THE PONTIAC G6. GM WEBSITE SAYS THEY FIX THE PROBLEM ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS. PICTURE AND VIDEO PROOF MEAN NOTHING IF THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. CODES FLASH ACROSS DISPLAY THAT SAY "CHECK POWER STEERING " "SERVICE TRACTION" "SERVICE ESC". ONLY WAY FOR ME TO CLEAR IS TO SHUT OFF CAR AND TURN BACK ON. ALL PEER STEERING IS LOST WHEN PROBLEM OCCURS. ALTHOUGH I'VE LISTED. ONLY ONE DATE, WHICH WAS THE MOST RECENT, THE PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 1/2014, TWICE IN 7/2014, 12/2016 AND IN 3/2017.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2017 - RAMSEY, MN
THE CAR WAS PURCHASED IN AROUND 2012 AND SINCE HAS HAD POWER STEERING ISSUES. THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AT LEAST ONCE EVERY COUPLE MONTHS AND WHEN THIS HAPPENS THE CAR WOULD BE SHUT OFF THEN TURNED BACK ON AND THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED. IN THE LAST TWO DAYS THE POWER STEERING SHUTS OFF EVERY FEW MILES WHILE IN MOTION ON BOTH CITY STREETS AND ON THE HIGHWAY. WOULD TURN CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND FEW MILES LATER THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. THERE ARE OTHER RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE, SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE TAKEN CARE OF AND THE MANUFACTURERS SHOULD BE PAYING FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

3/1/2017 - RAMSEY, MN
THE CAR WAS PURCHASED IN AROUND 2012 AND SINCE HAS HAD POWER STEERING ISSUES. THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AT LEAST ONCE EVERY COUPLE MONTHS AND WHEN THIS HAPPENS THE CAR WOULD BE SHUT OFF THEN TURNED BACK ON AND THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED. IN THE LAST TWO DAYS THE POWER STEERING SHUTS OFF EVERY FEW MILES WHILE IN MOTION ON BOTH CITY STREETS AND ON THE HIGHWAY. WOULD TURN CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND FEW MILES LATER THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. THERE ARE OTHER RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE, SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE TAKEN CARE OF AND THE MANUFACTURERS SHOULD BE PAYING FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/16/2017 - AMERICUS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TAIL LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL) HOWEVER, THE REPAIR FAILED TO REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/13/2017 - TARPON SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, IT ROLLED FORWARD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT DIAGNOSED THAT THE SWAY BAR LINK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/10/2017 - LEESBURG, OH
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ON THE CAR HAS FAILED NUMEROUS TIMES AND ILLUMINATED A MESSAGE ON THE DISPLAY STATING "POWER STEERING". WHEN THIS HAPPENS, YOU LOSE ALL POWER STEERING ASSIST WHICH REQUIRES A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF STRENGTH TO MANEUVER THE CAR. GM HAS RECALLED MANY OF THE OTHER VEHICLES AROUND THIS MODEL YEAR, BUT THIS VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. IT IS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AS PREVIOUSLY RECALLED VEHICLES.

View Details

STEERING

1/30/2017 - MORTON, MS
DEAR NHTSA; I OWN A 2009 PONTIAC G6 THAT WITHIN THE LAST WEEK INCURRED A POWER STEERING FAILURE. RECALL RESEARCH SHOWS THAT ON MARCH 2014 THE NHTSA REQUIRED GM TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, HOWEVER, IT ONLY COVERED THE G6 MODELS UP TO THE YEAR 2009 BUT NOT ALL 2009. THE SERVICE ADVISOR AT THE DEALERSHIP ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THE "PROBLEM" WAS VERY SIMILAR TO THE STEERING PROBLEM FOR EARLIER MODELS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE RECALL. HOWEVER, SINCE NOT ALL OF THE 2009 MODEL YEAR WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA RECALL, THE COST TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM FALLS TO THE CONSUMER AND IS ESTIMATED TO BE IN THE $1,800 TO $2,000 RANGE. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE AND MIRRORS THE SAME CHARACTERISTIC'S AS EARLIER MODELS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. I URGE THE NHTSA TO RE-VISIT THE MODEL YEARS SUBJECT TO THE RECALL. THE CONSUMER SHOULD NOT BE BURDENED WITH THE COST OF REPAIRING WHAT IS OBVIOUSLY A DESIGN DEFECT. FURTHER AND MORE IMPORTANTLY IS SAFETY FOR THE PASSENGERS AND OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD. I HOPE THAT THE NHTSA WILL INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER ACCORDINGLY AND AMEND THE POWER STEERING RECALL TO INCLUDE ALL 2009 MODELS. THANK YOU.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2017 - VESPER, WI
LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN FIRST STARTED, BUT WOULD TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART TO GET IT WORKING AGAIN. THIS WENT ON FOR ABOUT A MONTH, THEN IT WORKED FOR A FEW MONTHS AND NOW HAVE NO POWER STEERING AT ALL. IT QUIT ALTOGETHER 2 WEEKS AGO.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds