Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 426 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (132) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (147) Seats (7) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Service Brakes (46) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (13) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (26)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/5/2016 - BUZZARDS BAY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW ROLLED DOWN WITHOUT BEING PROMPTED OR A WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED CONTINUOUSLY AS THE CONTACT DROVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDOW UNLOCKED, THE ALARM SYSTEM DISENGAGED, AND THE BATTERY DRAINED. THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE JUMPSTARTED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE BODY CONTROL MODULE AND THE DOOR WINDOW ACTUATOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

4/5/2016 - BUZZARDS BAY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW ROLLED DOWN WITHOUT BEING PROMPTED OR A WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED CONTINUOUSLY AS THE CONTACT DROVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDOW UNLOCKED, THE ALARM SYSTEM DISENGAGED, AND THE BATTERY DRAINED. THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE JUMPSTARTED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE BODY CONTROL MODULE AND THE DOOR WINDOW ACTUATOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2016 - CANFIELD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14E044000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,600.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/10/2016 - ROUND O, SC
NOTICED A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE, MOST NOTABLY IN THE TRUNK. ONLINE SEARCHES HAVE NOTED THAT IT IS LIKELY A CRACKED ELBOW ON THE FUEL PUMP MODULE THAT FEEDS THE FUEL LINES. ODOR HAS STEADILY INCREASED OVER THE PAST MONTH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/8/2016 - WAUSAU, WI
I'VE BEEN REPLACING PARTS TO TRY TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM OF WHY THE BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON, THE CRUISE CONTROL KICKS OFF, THE TRACTION CONTROL STAYS ON. ALL THESE PROBLEMS ARE ALL AT THE SAME TIME.I GET IT FIXED AND THEN 3 WEEKS LATER ITS THE SAME ALL OVER AGAIN BUT IT KEEPS GETTING WORSE. ALOT OF PEOPLE I KNOW WITH THIS CAR KEEP SPENDING MONEY AND IT NEVER GETS FIXED THE RIGHT WAY. WE ALL NEED A SOLUTION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/8/2016 - WAUSAU, WI
I'VE BEEN REPLACING PARTS TO TRY TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM OF WHY THE BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON, THE CRUISE CONTROL KICKS OFF, THE TRACTION CONTROL STAYS ON. ALL THESE PROBLEMS ARE ALL AT THE SAME TIME.I GET IT FIXED AND THEN 3 WEEKS LATER ITS THE SAME ALL OVER AGAIN BUT IT KEEPS GETTING WORSE. ALOT OF PEOPLE I KNOW WITH THIS CAR KEEP SPENDING MONEY AND IT NEVER GETS FIXED THE RIGHT WAY. WE ALL NEED A SOLUTION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/5/2016 - JOHNSTON CITY, IL
LOW BEAM HEAD LIGHTS GO OUT WHEN DRIVING SOMETIMES THE LEFT AND SOMETIMES THE RIGHT. WHEN I START THE CAR HEADLIGHTS WONT COME ON I HAVE TO TAP ON THE HEADLIGHT LENS TO GET THEM TO COME ON, HAVE REPLACED BULBS AND STILL HAPPENS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR. I HAVE TALKED WITH OTHER G6 OWNERS THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AND THE LIGHTS GO OUT IT IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2016 - ROSEVILLE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SYSTEM NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/9/2016 - GREELEY, CO
POWER STEERING GOES OUT RECENTLY WHILE DRIVING. ONCE I TURN OFF THE CAR THE ELECTRIC STEERING ASSIST RESETS AND THE POWER STEERING IS FINE FOR AWHILE WHILE DRIVING. THEN IT GOES OUT AGAIN.... AND IT OCCURS A MAJORITY OF THE TIME WHILE TURNING. GM SAYS THE RECALL IS VIN NUMBER SPECIFIC. I HAVE THE RIGHT YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL. BUT, MY VIN NUMBER DOES NOT BRING UP A RECALL FOR THE ISSUE. I AM NOT UNDERSTANDING. IT IS THE SAME AND A MOST DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT OTHER 2009 PONTIAC G6'S HAVE. WHAT IF MY SON, WHO IS LEARNING TO DRIVE WITH HIS PERMIT, WAS BEHIND THE WHEEL AT THE TIME? I THINK GM NEEDS TO LOOK INTO ADDING A FEW MORE VIN NUMBERS TO THEIR RECALL LIST. I BELIEVE THAT READING OTHERS POSTS PRIOR TO MINE SHOWS THIS ALSO... ESPECIALLY NEEDS TO HAPPEN BEFORE SOMETHING SERIOUS HAPPENS.

View Details

STEERING

2/3/2016 - ALBION, MI
2009 PONTIAC G6. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE POWER STEERING ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD LOCK UP WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. THE CONSUMER STATED THE STEERING LOCKING UP, WAS A RESULT OF THE STEERING TORQUE INPUT BEING DEFECTIVE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds