Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 301 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (125) Seat Belts (2) Steering (65) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (98) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (4) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (38) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/5/2015 - GOLIAD, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND BECAME UNRESPONSIVE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,800.

View Details

STEERING

1/5/2015 - COLORADO CITY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING).THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 116,920.

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2015 - COLORADO CITY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING).THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 116,920.

View Details

STEERING

1/4/2015 - COOPER, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON THE HIGHWAY AND WENT TO CHANGE LANES AND MY VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. I HAD TO PULL OVER AND HAVE MY CAR HAULED HOME. I HAD A MECHANIC LOOK AT IT AND HE INFORMED ME ABOUT A RECALL FOR THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSIST. I CONTACTED DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED IT AND THEY SAID IT WASN'T PART OF THE RECALL FOR THIS DEFECTIVE PART EVEN THOUGH IT MATCHES THE YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL.

View Details

STEERING

1/1/2015 - ORRUM, NC
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT. RESTARTED THE CAR SEEMED TO RESOLVE IT FOR A DAY OR TWO. NOW IT HAPPENS SEVERAL TIMES. WHEN CONTACTED DEALER ABOUT A RECALL, I WAS TOLD MINE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER RECALL AND THEY COULD FIX IT FOR $800. WHEN IT OR IF IT BECOMES A RECALL I COULD BE REIMBURSED. AT THIS POINT I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO DEAL WITH IT. IT'S MY ONLY CAR AND DON'T HAVE MONEY FOR REPAIR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/1/2015 - GREENSBORO, NC
HEAD LIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT...THE WIRES CONNECTED WITH THE LOW BEAM LIGHTS ARE BURNT AND CORRODED. I HAVE REPLACE THESE PARTS 20 TIMES SINCE 2009. THIS TIME ON JANUARY 1, 2015 THE WIRES AND CONNECTORS ARE TO BURNT TO REPAIR AND THE DEALER SHIP SAID I WILL HAVE TO BUY THE WHOLE HARNESS KIT ASSEMBLY INSTEAD OF JUST THE WIRES. WHY SHOULD I, THIS PROBLEMS IS FAR AND WIDE ON THE INTERNET WITH THE PONTIAC G6. I TRAVEL WITH MY JOB AND I HAVE EXPERIENCED MULTIPLE TIMES BOTH HEADLIGHTS GOING OUT ON ME AND I HAD TO USE THE HIGH BEAM JUST TO GET HOME. PLEASE LET GM KNOW AND ISSUE SOME KIND OF RECALL BEFORE I DIE ON THE HIGHWAY DUE TO THESE FAULTY HEADLIGHT WIRES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/1/2015 - GREENSBORO, NC
HEAD LIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT...THE WIRES CONNECTED WITH THE LOW BEAM LIGHTS ARE BURNT AND CORRODED. I HAVE REPLACE THESE PARTS 20 TIMES SINCE 2009. THIS TIME ON JANUARY 1, 2015 THE WIRES AND CONNECTORS ARE TO BURNT TO REPAIR AND THE DEALER SHIP SAID I WILL HAVE TO BUY THE WHOLE HARNESS KIT ASSEMBLY INSTEAD OF JUST THE WIRES. WHY SHOULD I, THIS PROBLEMS IS FAR AND WIDE ON THE INTERNET WITH THE PONTIAC G6. I TRAVEL WITH MY JOB AND I HAVE EXPERIENCED MULTIPLE TIMES BOTH HEADLIGHTS GOING OUT ON ME AND I HAD TO USE THE HIGH BEAM JUST TO GET HOME. PLEASE LET GM KNOW AND ISSUE SOME KIND OF RECALL BEFORE I DIE ON THE HIGHWAY DUE TO THESE FAULTY HEADLIGHT WIRES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/31/2014 - JENISON, MI
THE DRIVERS SIDE, LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT HAS BEEN REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES. THE WIRING HARNESS MELTS! THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON COMPLAINT WITH G6 OWNERS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/27/2014 - CONYERS, GA
DRIVER SIDE HIGHLIGHT NOT WORKING. FURTHER INSPECTION SHOWS THAT THE HEADLIGHT WIRE IS CORRODED & BURNT. THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS CAR & SEVERAL OTHERS, YET GENERAL MOTORS REFUSES TO ISSUE A RECALL WHICH CAN LEAD TO A DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/23/2014 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL), THE COOLING FANS ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY CAUSING THE AIR CONDITIONER TO FAIL. IN ADDITION, THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, BUT THE TIRES DID NOT NEED AIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds