Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 356 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (131) Seat Belts (2) Steering (103) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (107) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (5) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (38) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/27/2015 - CANTONMENT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V064000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 143,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/25/2015 - GRANDVILLE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL TORQUE INPUT SENSOR AND STEERING POSITION SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,758.

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2015 - SKOWHEGAN, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CONTACT TO USE EXCESSIVE FORCE ON THE STEERING WHEEL IN ORDER TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,095.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2015 - CARTERVILLE, IL
LUCKILY, THE CAR WASN'T DAMAGED BESIDES A SCRATCH TO THE SIDE AND DENTED RIM, BUT ONLY BECAUSE I WAS GOING SLOWLY. THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING. WHILE I WAS ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALER TO BE LOOKED AT IT, THE POWER STEERING TRIED TO COME BACK ON, SURGED, AND CAUSED MY CAR TO SWERVE OFF OF THE ROAD. IT WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. PONTIAC/GM HAS NOT TAKEN RESPONSIBILITY FOR IT SO FAR, EVEN THOUGH OTHER CARS OF THE EXACT SAME MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR HAVE THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. IF I HAD BEEN GOING ANY FASTER, I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT.

View Details

STEERING

3/16/2015 - IBERIA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED, AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME TIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V153000 (STEERING) AND 14E044000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/15/2015 - LUPTON, MI
THIS INITAILLY OCCURED IN NOVEMBER OF 2013. MILEAGE IS ESTIMATED AT 120000 MILES AT THE TIME. ONE DAY WHILE DRIVING A MESSAGE CAME ON THE DASH THAT SAID POWER STEERING. ALTHOUGH I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TO MY DESTINATION THE FORCE REQUIRED TO TURN THE WHEEL WHILE THE POWER ASSIST IS FAILING IS MASSIVE. I AM 6 FT TALL AND 200 POUNDS, AND I HAVE A DIFFICULT TIME MAKING A TURN OR SHARP CURVE WHEN THIS HAPPENS. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND PAID $700 OR MORE TO HAVE IT FIXED. 14 MONTHS LATER THE SAME THING BEGAN TO HAPPEN AGAIN AND THE STEERING WHEEL WILL TWITCH AT IDLE. HOWEVER THE CAR STOPPED HAVING THE POWER STEERING FAILING ALL THE TIME UNTIL 3/10/2015. WITH 167000 MILES NOW ON THE CAR THE REPLACED POWER STEERING IS FAILING WITH REGULAR FREQUENCY, EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE POWER STEERING MESSAGE IS DISPLAYED AND I HAVE NO ASSIST. IF ANYTHING THE STEERING SYSTEM FIGHTS YOU TO PREVENT TURNING. ALSO IT SEEMS AS IF THE STEERING PINION JUMPS OFF A TOOTH WHEN TURNING AT A STOP I HEAR A STRANGE PINGING NOISE AND THEN THE CAR PULLS TO WHATEVER DIRECTION I TURNED TO AT THE STOP UNTIL I STOP AND TURN BACK THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION. ALL IN ALL THE ORIGINAL POWER STEERING MODULE AND THE ONE I PAID TO REPLACE THE ORIGINAL ONE HAVE BOTH FAILED MISERABLY AND ARE A REAL DANGER ON THE ROADS. IF I HAVE A DIFFICULT TIME WITH THE FORCE REQUIRED TO TURN THE WHEEL WHEN THE STEERING FAILS I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT SOMEONE SMALLER THAN ME WILL DO IF THIS HAPPENS.

View Details

STEERING

3/12/2015 - CENTREVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/11/2015 - ROMULUS, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING BECAME SEIZED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2015 - UNION CITY, PA
POWER STEERING FLASHED ON THE DIC AND THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. AFTER TURNING THE WHEEL AND RESTARTING THE CAR THE POWER STEERING WORKED FINE. AFTER ABOUT A MONTH OF THIS HAPPENING IT STOPPED. HOWEVER, THE SAME PROBLEM IS OCCURRING AGAIN NOW. ALSO NOW THE STEERING IS MAKING SOME NOISED ACCOMPANIED BY SHAKING OF THE STEERING WHEEL, EVEN WHILE THE CAR IS IN PARK.

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2015 - ARLINGTON HIEGHTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ASKED THE DEALER ABOUT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING) BUT THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds