Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 238 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (81) Exterior Lighting (108) Seat Belts (2) Steering (40) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (4) Structure (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (34) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/21/2014 - HAMMOND, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSE THAT THE BELT TENSIONER PULLEY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2014 - JANESVILLE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STEERING MOTOR MODULE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 31,000. UPDATED 09/02/14 UPDATED 09/18/2014

View Details

STEERING

7/19/2014 - WEST HAVEN, CT
AT LOW SPEED THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD "POP" SOUND, WHICH WAS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY SMOKE FILLING THE INTERIOR VIA THE AIR VENTS. THE CAR WAS IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF AND THE HOOD OPENED. THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS ON FIRE WITH FLAMES BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND FIRE WALL. UPON PUTTING THE FIRE OUT IT WAS FOUND THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID HAD LEAKED OUT OF THE CAR ONTO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD, RESULTING IN MELTING THE ENGINE WIRING AND OTHER COMPONENTS. THE ENTIRE SIDE OF THE CAR WAS SPRAYED WITH POWER STEERING FLUID AND THE TOP OF THE FENDER HAD BLACK SOOT FROM THE FIRE. THE HOOD PAD AND FIRE WALL INSULATION SHOWED LARGE AMOUNTS OF FIRE DAMAGE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/19/2014 - WEST HAVEN, CT
AT LOW SPEED THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD "POP" SOUND, WHICH WAS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY SMOKE FILLING THE INTERIOR VIA THE AIR VENTS. THE CAR WAS IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF AND THE HOOD OPENED. THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS ON FIRE WITH FLAMES BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND FIRE WALL. UPON PUTTING THE FIRE OUT IT WAS FOUND THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID HAD LEAKED OUT OF THE CAR ONTO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD, RESULTING IN MELTING THE ENGINE WIRING AND OTHER COMPONENTS. THE ENTIRE SIDE OF THE CAR WAS SPRAYED WITH POWER STEERING FLUID AND THE TOP OF THE FENDER HAD BLACK SOOT FROM THE FIRE. THE HOOD PAD AND FIRE WALL INSULATION SHOWED LARGE AMOUNTS OF FIRE DAMAGE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/18/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
HEADLAMPS & TAILLIGHTS BURN OUT EVERY FEW MONTHS. TECHNICIAN AT GM DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS OCCURRING IN NUMEROUS GM VEHICLES. IT IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT CAUSES THE BULBS TO BURN OUT. SINCE IT IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT SENDS TOO MUCH POWER AND CAUSES BURNING WIRES, I AM AFRAID THIS WILL EVENTUALLY START A FIRE. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO SWITCH THESE BULBS OUT CONSTANTLY. I AM ALSO SURPRISED I HAVE NOT BEEN PULLED OVER OR IN AN ACCIDENT YET DUE TO NON FUNCTIONING TAIL LIGHTS OR HEADLAMPS. NOR SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY TO GET THIS FIXED WHEN IT IS CLEARLY AN ISSUE WITH THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE CAR. I AM CURRENTLY AT 45,000 MILES AND I AM NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. I SENT AN EMAIL TO GM (WHICH I CAN FORWARD YOU IF NEED BE) AND A WEEK LATER I SAW THAT A RECALL WAS ISSUED ABOUT HEADLAMPS/TAIL LIGHTS. A GM DEALER SEARCHED MY VIN NUMBER AND MY CAR DID NOT COME UP UNDER SAID RECALL. I TRIED TO CALL GM TODAY AND WAITED FOR 20 MINUTES ON HOLD AND THEN WAS DISCONNECTED. I REFUSE TO DO THIS AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
HEADLAMPS & TAILLIGHTS BURN OUT EVERY FEW MONTHS. TECHNICIAN AT GM DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS OCCURRING IN NUMEROUS GM VEHICLES. IT IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT CAUSES THE BULBS TO BURN OUT. SINCE IT IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT SENDS TOO MUCH POWER AND CAUSES BURNING WIRES, I AM AFRAID THIS WILL EVENTUALLY START A FIRE. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO SWITCH THESE BULBS OUT CONSTANTLY. I AM ALSO SURPRISED I HAVE NOT BEEN PULLED OVER OR IN AN ACCIDENT YET DUE TO NON FUNCTIONING TAIL LIGHTS OR HEADLAMPS. NOR SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY TO GET THIS FIXED WHEN IT IS CLEARLY AN ISSUE WITH THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE CAR. I AM CURRENTLY AT 45,000 MILES AND I AM NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. I SENT AN EMAIL TO GM (WHICH I CAN FORWARD YOU IF NEED BE) AND A WEEK LATER I SAW THAT A RECALL WAS ISSUED ABOUT HEADLAMPS/TAIL LIGHTS. A GM DEALER SEARCHED MY VIN NUMBER AND MY CAR DID NOT COME UP UNDER SAID RECALL. I TRIED TO CALL GM TODAY AND WAITED FOR 20 MINUTES ON HOLD AND THEN WAS DISCONNECTED. I REFUSE TO DO THIS AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2014 - SALINAS, CA
ON 2/22/14 AROUND 8:40 AM, I WAS TRAVELING TO WORK. I HAD STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION AND WAS WAITING FOR THE LEFT TURN SIGNAL TO TURN GREEN. WHEN THE TURN SIGNAL TURNED GREENED I PROCEEDED TO TURN; HOWEVER, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT TURN. I WAS IN UTTER PANIC. I PULLED AS HARD AS I COULD AND BARELY GOT IT TO TURN IN TIME TO AVOID HITTING ANOTHER CAR THAT WAS PREPARING TO MAKE THE RIGHT TURN AND A PEDESTRIAN WAITING ON THE CURB TO CROSS. I CONTINUED DRIVING TO STOP FROM IMPEDING TRAFFIC AND TRIED TO MOVE THE STEERING WILL BUT I HAD COMPLETELY LOST POWERING STEERING. I HAD TO TRY AND TURN OFF A BUSY CONGESTED MAIN STREET, WHEN I DID MY CAR SWUNG OUT REALLY FAR DUE TO LACK OF POWER STEERING. I'M JUST GLAD THAT I WAITED BEFORE TURNING OR ELSE I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT BY A CITY BUS. I PARKED AND CALLED A TOW TRUCK AND THEY TOWED MY CAR TO TO A GM DEALERSHIP. WHEN I ASKED IF THERE WAS A RECALL BECAUSE OF THE DANGEROUS NATURE OF THE OCCURRENCE , THE DEALER SAID THERE WAS NO RECALL ON FILE FOR MY VIN SO I HAD TO PAY OVER $750 FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/15/2014 - ROSELAND , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE BRAKE LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V25000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/10/2014 - WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THE OFF AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS FAILED TO LOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT SENSOR MALFUNCTIONED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/10/2014 - WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THE OFF AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS FAILED TO LOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT SENSOR MALFUNCTIONED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds