Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 456 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (146) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (152) Seats (7) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (124) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (14) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (27)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/16/2016 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
A FRIEND FOLLOWING ME 09-21-2016 NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON CONSTANTLY. DRIVING HOME THAT NIGHT I COULD TELL THE BRAKE LIGHT STAYED ON, UNLESS I WAS APPLYING THE BRAKE AND THEY WOULD GO OFF. ALSO CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE LOCAL GM DEALERSHIP WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW FOR 09-27-2016. DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED CAR WITH A BAD BRAKE SWITCH. CAR WAS REPAIRED AND PICKED UP ON 09-30-2016 (BRAKE SWITCH REPLACED) COST 194.81. DROVE THE CAR ON A 300 MILE TRIP ON 10-13-2016. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT WOULD COME ON INTERMITTENTLY AND WHEN THE LIGHT WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. ALSO CHECKED ON BRAKE LIGHTS AND NOW THEY STAY CONSTANTLY. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT STAYS ON CONSTANTLY ALSO NOW.. THE CAR DID GO ON FOR THE RECALL NOTICE BACK IN 2014. WE WERE NOT EXPERIENCING ANY PROBLEMS PRIOR TO THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/12/2016 - ENCHANTED OAKS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLAMPS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BULB NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/9/2016 - FLORISSANT, MO
THE AIR BAG LIGHT AND THE TIRE LIGHT BOTH COME ON (NOT NECESSARILY AT THE SAME TIME) FOR NO APPARENT REASON WHEN CAR IS STARTED, THE CAR IS NOT MOVING AT THIS TIME. THERE IS ALSO A "SERVICE AIR BAG" AND SERVICE TIRE MONITOR" WARNING ON THE RADIO DISPLAY. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY TIME THE CAR IS STARTED. ALSO, IF THE LIGHTS, ETC. DO NOT COME ON WHEN STARTED, THEY DO NOT COME ON WHILE DRIVING, ONLY AFTER TURNING OFF AND RESTARTING THE CAR. THIS WOULD APPEAR TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE AS I UNDERSTAND THAT WHEN THE "SERVICE AIR BAG" AND AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON, THE AIR BAGS AND POSSIBLY THE SEAT BELTS ARE DISABLED. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/23/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
I PURCHASED THE 2009 PONTIAC G6 IN 2011, SINCE THEN I'VE REPLACED THE PASSENGERS SIDE LOW BEAM HEAD LIGH BULB A TOTAL OF 10 TIMES. I'VE HAD 2 PIG TAILS INSTALLED IN THE LAST 2 YEARS; NOW THE PROBLEM STILL PERSIST AS OF TODAY. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH PONTIAC G6 HEADLIGHTS SYSTEM. I'VE READ SERVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THE SAME THING.

View Details

STEERING

9/14/2016 - OAKHILL, OH
YESTERDAY, MY POWER STEERING LOCKED UP WHILE BACKING THE CAR. I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED AND THE POWER STEERING BEGAN WORKING. I CALLED PONTIAC IN REGARDS TO THE STEERING RECALL AND THEY STATED THAT MY VIN DID NOT INDICATE A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. THE SAME ISSUE OTHER CARS SAME YEAR AS MINE HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR. IT WOULD BE AT MY EXPENSE TO CORRECT. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY IT ISN'T EVERY MANUFACTURED 2009 PONTIAC G6 WITH EPS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

9/7/2016 - LECLAIRE, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, WHICH MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR OTHER DRIVERS TO KNOW WHEN THE BRAKES WERE ACTUALLY APPLIED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CRUISE CONTROL TO MALFUNCTION WITHOUT WARNING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2016 - PITTSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING, THE TRACTION INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE BRAKE LIGHTS DID NOT ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V25200 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

8/18/2016 - PITTSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING, THE TRACTION INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE BRAKE LIGHTS DID NOT ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V25200 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

8/18/2016 - PITTSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING, THE TRACTION INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE BRAKE LIGHTS DID NOT ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V25200 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/3/2016 - KENTON, OH
I HAD POWER STEERING LOSE ABOUT A YEAR AGO AND THEN IT JUST HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY. WHEN I SHUT THE CAR OFF IT LIKE RESETS AND THEN IT'S FINE I ALSO HAD A FRIEND OF MINE TEXT ME AND TOLD ME THAT MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE BACKWARDS WHEN I WHEN I WAS BREAKING THE LIGHTS WERE OFF WHEN I WAS DRIVING AND MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON. I HAVE ALSO ALWAYS NOTICED THAT MY CAR SHIFTS WEIRD SOMETIMES WHEN I'M PASSING IT DOESN'T SEEM LIKE I CAN GET UP TO SPEED. I HAVE ALSO HAD TROUBLE WITH MY PASSENGER FRONT AIRBAG SENSOR SINCE I'VE HAD THE CAR. I BOUGHT MY CAR AND 2010 IT WAS ONLY A YEAR OLD WITH VERY FEW MILES. RIGHT NOW I ONLY HAVE ABOUT 81,000 MILES ON IT. WITH ALL OF MY INCIDENTS WITH THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKE LIGHTS I HAVE BEEN IN TOWN DRIVING ALL WERE IN MOTION. IN TOWN DRIVING HAS PROBABLY BEEN ABOUT 35 MILE AN HOUR I WOULD NEVER WANT TO EXPERIENCE OR HAVE ANY OF THESE ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds