Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 526 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (33) Steering (180) Unknown Or Other (13)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (169) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electrical System (133) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Seats (9) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (51) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/9/2017 - CLINTON, IA
WHEN I START THE CAR, OCCASIONALLY THE STEERING LIGHT WILL DISPLAY AND THE STEERING WHEEL IS LOCKED. I TURN THE CAR OFF AND START IT AGAIN AND THEN THERE IS NO PROBLEM. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY TIME I START IT BUT IT IS A CONCERN AND THERE ARE SOME RECALLS CONCERNING STEERING BUT I DO NOT FIND MY CAR LISTED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2017 - FAIRPORT, NY
THE TRANSMISSION IN MY 2009 G6 FAILED WITHOUT ANY WARNING. I WAS AT AN INTERSECTION AND PULLED ONTO A VERY BUSY ROAD. AFTER GOING ABOUT 200 FEET, THE ENGINE REVVED, BUT THE CAR WAS NOT "PULLING". OTHER CARS CAME UP BEHIND ME VERY QUICKLY AND NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. THERE WAS NO PLACE FOR ME TO PULL OVER, AND THERE WAS A SLIGHT HILL AHEAD OF ME. I "PLAYED" WITH THE GAS PEDAL TO TRY TO GET THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION TO CATCH, ALL THE WHILE CARS WERE PRACTICALLY PUSHING ME. THEY PROBABLY THOUGHT THAT I HAD PULED OUT AND WAS JUST DRIVING VERY SLOWLY. THEY STARTED TO HONK THEIR HORNS. THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION BUCKED AND BANGED AND I MADE IT TO THE TOP OF THE HILL, AND OVER TO A SPOT ALONG SIDE THE ROAD WHERE I COULD PULL OVER. THE COMPUTER HAD PUT UP TWO ERROR CODES OF P0776 (CONTROL SOLENOID VALVE 2 STUCK OFF), AND P0700 (TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE REQUESTED MIL ILLUMINATION). I DID A SEARCH ONLINE AND FOUND THAT THIS LIKELY WAS A FAILURE OF THE "3, 5, REVERSE PLATE" INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT WITH THIS PARTICULAR CAR AND TRANSMISSION. GENERAL MOTORS IS AWARE OF THIS DEFECT AND HAS EVEN EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THIS FAILURE FOR 2007 TO 2009 PONTIAC G6'S FOR UP TO 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES. I PURCHASED MY CAR NEW ON 12/20/09, AND IT HAD 100,160 MILES ON IT WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I CALLED GM (CASE #8-3040834630) AND THEY CLAIMED THAT MY TRANSMISSION HAS A CODE OF MH8. THEY SAID ONLY TRANSMISSIONS WITH A BUILD CODE OF MH2, MH4, MH6, AND MY9 ARE COVERED. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE TRANSMISSIONS ARE IDENTICAL, BUT "MORE THAN LIKELY SOMEONE WAS KILLED WHEN THIS FAILURE OCCURRED IN CARS WITH THOSE CODES, AND PROBABLY THIS WASN'T THE CASE FOR MY CODE". THEY SUGGESTED THAT I CONTACT NHTSA TO FILE A COMPLAINT SO THAT MY TRANSMISSION CODE COULD BE COVERED, AND GET REIMBURSED. I DID HAVE THIS FIXED. IT WAS THE 3, 5, REVERSE PLATE AND IT COST ME $2442.38 (SEE ATTACHED).

View Details

STEERING

10/10/2017 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN SEIZED AFTER THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED. THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 115,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2017 - BEDFORD, VA
ANOTHER GM CAR FIRE: 2009 PONTIAC G-6. RECEIVED BCM ELECTRICAL HARNESS RECALL BULLETIN 13036 (AUGUST 2014) IN THE MAIL, 2.5 YEARS AFTER THE FACT, IN SPRING 2017. ALLEGED FIX WAS APPLIED ON 5/17/17, 4.5 MONTHS LATER, CAR IS TOTALLED DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL FIRE IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT. SPORADIC ELECTRICAL ISSUES ENSUED AFTER THE RECALL WORK, HEADLIGHT SPORADICALLY CUTTING OUT, TRUNK OPENING UNTOUCHED, ETC. STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, CAR DIED, SMOKE THEN FLAMES COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. SALEM, VIRGINIA FIRE DEPARTMENT INCIDENT NUMBER 20174058.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2017 - BEDFORD, VA
ANOTHER GM CAR FIRE: 2009 PONTIAC G-6. RECEIVED BCM ELECTRICAL HARNESS RECALL BULLETIN 13036 (AUGUST 2014) IN THE MAIL, 2.5 YEARS AFTER THE FACT, IN SPRING 2017. ALLEGED FIX WAS APPLIED ON 5/17/17, 4.5 MONTHS LATER, CAR IS TOTALLED DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL FIRE IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT. SPORADIC ELECTRICAL ISSUES ENSUED AFTER THE RECALL WORK, HEADLIGHT SPORADICALLY CUTTING OUT, TRUNK OPENING UNTOUCHED, ETC. STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, CAR DIED, SMOKE THEN FLAMES COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. SALEM, VIRGINIA FIRE DEPARTMENT INCIDENT NUMBER 20174058.

View Details

STEERING

10/4/2017 - GIBBSBORO, NJ
THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION WITHOUT WARNING. AN ALERT IS SURFACED ON THE DIGITAL READOUT AND THE STEERING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED ON THE DASH. IF THE CAR IS RESTARTED, THE SYSTEM IS FINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE IN TRAFFIC AND IS VERY DANGEROUS. MANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS POSTED ONLINE. CAR HAS 131K MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
TRANS FAILURE WHINING, LESS IN 3 AND 5 GEARS 6T70 REQUIRED TRANS REPLACEMENT. CALLED GM, THEY CALLED DEALER, DEALER FAILED TO SUBMIT WARRANTY REQUEST --NO WARRANTY HELP

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/10/2017 - PRINCETON, TX
I RECEIVED A BRAKE LIGHT RECALL IN THE MAIL. CONTACTED DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR MY CAR. I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH MY BRAKE LIGHTS WORKING AND SOMETIMES NOT. THEY SOMETIMES COME ON WHEN I AM NOT BRAKING AND SOMETIMES DO NOT LIGHT UP WHEN I AM BRAKING. I CLEARLY HAVE THE PROBLEM NOTED IN THE RECALL NOTICE. I AM NOW TRYING TO FIND THE NOTICE THAT CAME IN THE MAIL. I HAVE MISPLACED IT, UNFORTUNATELY FOR ME. I AM A LOW INCOME PERSON AND CANNOT AFFORD THE EXPENSE OF HAVING THIS REPAIRED AND SHOULD NOT HAVE TO SINCE I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL. NOT SURE WHAT TO DO AT THIS POINT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/30/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
" TAKATA RECAL " IT WAS LAST WEEK WHEN I STARTED SEEN THE SIGN OF THE AIR BAG IN THE SCREEN OF MY CAR AND AFTER LIKE TWO DAYS THE SAME WEEK, I RECEIVED THE LETTER THAT TELLING ME THAT I HAVE TO GO TO THE LOCAL RETAILER THAT THEY CAN FIX IT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2017 - FLORENCE, AL
GERALD HORNE A & A AUTOMOTIVE 1620 STATE ST. FLORENCE, AL 35630 CONFIDENTIAL THIS MAN SOLD ME A 2009 PONTIAC G6 GXP THAT HE BOUGHT AT AN AUCTION THAT HAD BEEN WRECKED ON JULY 17, 2017 FOR $6,000. HE TOLD ME HE WOULD +FIX EVERYTHING THAT NEEDED FIXING ON THE CAR TO MAKE IT DRIVABLE AND ACCEPTABLE BEFORE I BOUGHT IT,+ EVEN SAYING HE WOULD +PROVIDE AN OIL CHANGE.+ ON JULY 17, 2017, HE DELIVERED CAR TO MY HOME. CAR +LOOKED+ PRETTY GOOD EXCEPT FOR THE TWO BACK +CHROME+ (HE+D TOLD ME +CHROME+ BUT THEY ARE PLASTIC) RIMS. THEY WERE SCRATCHED REALLY BAD. MY GRANDSON CHECKED THE OIL AND IT WAS QUITE LOW, DIRTY, AND DARK. I CONTACTED MR. HORNE AND TOLD HIM I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THE SCRATCHED RIMS AND THAT HE NEEDED TO PERFORM THE OIL CHANGE HE HAD PROMISED. HE SAID HE WOULD REPLACE THE RIMS AND PERFORM THE OIL CHANGE. HE PICKED UP THE CAR THAT DAY OR THE NEXT DAY, WHICH WOULD HAVE BEEN JULY 18, 2017. ON JULY 20, 2017, HE DELIVERED THE CAR TO THE FLORENCE, AL YMCA WHERE MY GRANDSON WAS PLAYING BASKETBALL AND MY GRANDSON DROVE THE CAR TO OUR HOME, WHICH IS CLOSE TO DOWNTOWN FLORENCE. [THE RIMS WERE STILL THE SAME. HE SAID HE COULD NOT FIND ANY MORE USED RIMS AND WOULD HAVE TO ORDER NEW ONES. I TOLD HIM OK. HE HAS YET TO PROVIDE THOSE NEW RIMS.] WE DID NOT CHECK THE OIL AT THIS TIME, AS HORNE HAD GIVEN HIS WORD THE OIL WAS CHANGED AT THIS TIME, BUT I DO NOT KNOW IF THE OIL WAS CHANGED OR NOT, AS HE SAID IT WAS. REMEMBER, UPON INITIAL DELIVERY, OIL WAS CHECKED AND WAS QUITE LOW, DARK, AND VERY DIRTY. GRANDSON THEN DROVE CAR WITH ME IN IT TO A GAS STATION DOWNTOWN SO I COULD FILL UP GAS TANK. HE THEN DROVE CAR TO OUR HOME. AROUND 5:00 P.M., HE DROVE CAR TO THE FLORENCE MALL. HE LEFT MALL AT APPROXIMATELY 9:00 P.M. DRIVING HOME, ENGINE BLEW, NO FAULT OF GRANDSON, ALMOST GOT HIM KILLED BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC, HE HAD TO SWERVE INTO ONCOMING LANE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds