Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 494 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (31) Steering (160) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (161) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (9) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (51) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (16) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2017 - ALTA VISTA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO PROPERLY FUNCTION IN SECOND, THIRD, AND FIFTH GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SERVICE CAMPAIGN NOR A MANUFACTURER RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2017 - BARTLESVILLE, OK
I HAVE REPLACED THE DRIVER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLAMP SOCKET TWICE. BOTH TIMES IT SHOWED SIGNS OF IT BEING MELTED. PASSENGER SIDE HEAD LAMPS WORK, SOMETIMES IT REQUIRES A TAP ON THE LENS COVER TO GET THEM WORKING. PLAYING AROUND WITH HOW THEY SIT IN THE SOCKET WORKS, UNTIL THEY WIGGLE OUT AND NO LONGER WORK UNTIL YOU WIGGLE IT BACK IN, OR TAP THE LENS COVER. I HAVE BEEN PULLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE OF MY HEADLAMPS.

View Details

STEERING

3/30/2017 - NEW HARMONY, IN
VEHICLE STEERING STUTTERS,CLANKS,CLUNKS AND HAS BEEN IN DEALERSHIP FOR THE PROBLEM. THEY REPLACED THE POWER STEERING ASSIST MOTOR/MODULE ASSEMBLY AND SAID IT WAS COVERED BY GM,AND WAS TOLD IT WAS A COMMON PROBLEM. AFTER DRIVING CAR IT STILL DID THE SAME THING,NOW THEY WANT TO CHARGE US TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM WE TOOK IT IN FOR TO BEGIN WITH. THE (ISS) INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT HAS ALSO BEEN REPLACED WITH FACTORY GM PART , WHICH WAS ALSO BAD WHEN 1ST TOOK IN BUT THEY DIDN'T POINT OUT. THIS HAS SO FAR BEEN A GREAT CAR AND NOW HAS OVER 144,000 MILES AND I REALIZE THERE ARE GONNA BE PROBLEMS WITH THIS MUCH MILEAGE , BUT THE STEERING ISSUE IS REALLY GETTING SCARY AND STILL NOT FIXED AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO KEEP REPLACING PARTS THAT AREN'T FIXING IT. GM SHOULD'VE RECALLED THIS PROBLEM ON MY CAR AS THEY DID OTHERS AND FIXED IT WITH NO COST...

View Details

STEERING

3/29/2017 - MT PROSPECT, IL
ELECTRIC POWER STEERING GOES OUT INTERMITTENTLY. DOES NOT WORK ABOUT ONCE OUT OF EVERY 4 TIME CAR IS STARTED. MUST SHUT OFF CAR AND RESTART TO HAVE STEERING WORK. SOMETIMES GOES OUT RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING, ESPECIALLY WHEN STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHEN CAR IS STOPPED OR IDLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. IN ADDITION, THE HEADLIGHTS SUDDENLY SHUT OFF. THE LIGHT BULBS WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. IN ADDITION, THE HEADLIGHTS SUDDENLY SHUT OFF. THE LIGHT BULBS WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/15/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
I TOOK MY CAR IN TO DEALERSHIP BECAUSE POWER STEERING ALERT HAD BEEN APPEARING SPARATICALLY ON INFO CONSOLE. I NEVER LOST POWER STEERING. AT MY DEALERSHIP THEY SAID THAT ITHERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE, AND THAT THEY WOULD FIX IT. FOUR AND A HALF HOURS LATER, THEY HAVE TAKEN MY STEERING COLUMN APART AND SAY THEY CANNOT PUT IT TOGETHER AGAIN UNTIL THEY HAVE A NEW PART FOR IT. THAT WAS FIVE DAYS AGO NOW AND THEY TELL ME THAT THEY'VE REPLACED MY TORQUE SENSOR FIVE TIMES, BUT HAVN'T BEEN ABLE TO PROGRAM IT. SO NOW THEY'RE TELLING ME MY STEERING COLUMN IS BROKEN AND THAT I NEED TO SPEND $625 FOR A NEW ONE. MY STEERING COLUMN WAS NOT BROKEN WHEN I DROVE IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND WHAT I FIGURED WOULD BE ROUTINE MAINTENANCE. IF THE TORQUE SENSOR (RECALLED) REQUIRES A NEW STEERING COLUMN IN ORDER TO BE PROGRAMMED, THEN THAT SHOULDN'T THAT REPLACEMENT BE COVERED BY THE RECALL FULFILLMENT?

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2017 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
I HAVE HAD A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS, WHERE THE POWER STEERING, TRACTION CONTROL AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALL ATOP WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE SOUGHT ASSISTANCE FROM GM. THE DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. I HAVE PROVIDED THEM WITH PICTURES, BUT THEY CHOOSE NOT TO HELP. THE PROBLEM IS A KNOWN PROBLEM ON OTHER YEARS OF THE PONTIAC G6. GM WEBSITE SAYS THEY FIX THE PROBLEM ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS. PICTURE AND VIDEO PROOF MEAN NOTHING IF THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. CODES FLASH ACROSS DISPLAY THAT SAY "CHECK POWER STEERING " "SERVICE TRACTION" "SERVICE ESC". ONLY WAY FOR ME TO CLEAR IS TO SHUT OFF CAR AND TURN BACK ON. ALL PEER STEERING IS LOST WHEN PROBLEM OCCURS. ALTHOUGH I'VE LISTED. ONLY ONE DATE, WHICH WAS THE MOST RECENT, THE PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 1/2014, TWICE IN 7/2014, 12/2016 AND IN 3/2017.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/8/2017 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
I HAVE HAD A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS, WHERE THE POWER STEERING, TRACTION CONTROL AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALL ATOP WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE SOUGHT ASSISTANCE FROM GM. THE DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. I HAVE PROVIDED THEM WITH PICTURES, BUT THEY CHOOSE NOT TO HELP. THE PROBLEM IS A KNOWN PROBLEM ON OTHER YEARS OF THE PONTIAC G6. GM WEBSITE SAYS THEY FIX THE PROBLEM ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS. PICTURE AND VIDEO PROOF MEAN NOTHING IF THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. CODES FLASH ACROSS DISPLAY THAT SAY "CHECK POWER STEERING " "SERVICE TRACTION" "SERVICE ESC". ONLY WAY FOR ME TO CLEAR IS TO SHUT OFF CAR AND TURN BACK ON. ALL PEER STEERING IS LOST WHEN PROBLEM OCCURS. ALTHOUGH I'VE LISTED. ONLY ONE DATE, WHICH WAS THE MOST RECENT, THE PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 1/2014, TWICE IN 7/2014, 12/2016 AND IN 3/2017.

View Details

WHEELS

3/8/2017 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
I HAVE HAD A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS, WHERE THE POWER STEERING, TRACTION CONTROL AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALL ATOP WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE SOUGHT ASSISTANCE FROM GM. THE DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. I HAVE PROVIDED THEM WITH PICTURES, BUT THEY CHOOSE NOT TO HELP. THE PROBLEM IS A KNOWN PROBLEM ON OTHER YEARS OF THE PONTIAC G6. GM WEBSITE SAYS THEY FIX THE PROBLEM ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS. PICTURE AND VIDEO PROOF MEAN NOTHING IF THE CAR ISN'T STORING A CODE. CODES FLASH ACROSS DISPLAY THAT SAY "CHECK POWER STEERING " "SERVICE TRACTION" "SERVICE ESC". ONLY WAY FOR ME TO CLEAR IS TO SHUT OFF CAR AND TURN BACK ON. ALL PEER STEERING IS LOST WHEN PROBLEM OCCURS. ALTHOUGH I'VE LISTED. ONLY ONE DATE, WHICH WAS THE MOST RECENT, THE PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 1/2014, TWICE IN 7/2014, 12/2016 AND IN 3/2017.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds