Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 464 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (152) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (153) Seats (7) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (125) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Service Brakes (49) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (27)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

11/28/2016 - DESTREHAN, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR LOCKS MADE A CLICKING NOISE WHILE DRIVING AND THE DOORS WERE DIFFICULT TO OPEN. ALSO, THE HORN SOUNDED WITHOUT WARNING. THE WARNING INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,226.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/28/2016 - DESTREHAN, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR LOCKS MADE A CLICKING NOISE WHILE DRIVING AND THE DOORS WERE DIFFICULT TO OPEN. ALSO, THE HORN SOUNDED WITHOUT WARNING. THE WARNING INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,226.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2016 - HICKSVILLE, NY
ENGINE IS 3.5 L V6 . AFTER STARTING ENGINE, SEVERAL MINUTES LATER ENGINE STARTS MAKING A LOUD RAPPING NOISE WHICH LASTS SEVERAL MORE MINUTES, THEN SLOWLY DISAPPEARS. GM DEALER INVESTIGATED AND SAID IT DID NOT KNOW CAUSE. SAID WAIT TILL NOISE IS SEVERE.I THINK IT IS TIMING CHAIN RELATED! TENSIONER, WORN GUIDE. ONLY 3000 MILES ON ENGINE. 11/5/2016.

View Details

STEERING

10/24/2016 - MONTE VISTA, CO
I PUT IN A COMPLAINT ABOUT MY G6 JUST THE OTHER DAY AND THE POWER STEERING FLUCTUATING ON AND OFF AND MY STEERING WHEEL MOVING UNCONTROLLABLY WHILE IN IDLE. I STATED HOW I HAVE AN 18 MONTH OLD AND HATE DRIVING WITH HER IN THE CAR BECAUSE I WAS AFRAID THE POWER STEERING WOULD GO OUT WHILE DRIVING. UNFORTUNATELY, THAT HAPPENED OVER THE WEEKEND. I WAS DRIVING HOME AND THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON AND THERE WAS NO MORE POWER STEERING ASSIST. FORTUNATELY I WASN'T ON CURVE OR HAD TO TURN ANYTIME SOON. BEING A PETITE WOMAN, I BARELY HAD ENOUGH STRENGTH TO PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAIT FOR MY HUSBAND TO SHOW UP AND DRIVE IT THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND I'M FORTUNATE THAT I WAS ON A ROAD THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. WHY IS MY CAR NOT ON A RECALL LIST? I WANT THIS FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

10/23/2016 - MONTE VISTA, CO
POWER STEERING WARNING BEGAN COMING ON A FEW MONTHS AGO ON THE DISPLAY. THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT TURN WHEN THIS WOULD HAPPEN. THE CAR WOULD HAVE TO BE SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED TO GET THE WARNING TO GO AWAY AND THE WHEEL TO TURN. SOMETIMES IT TOOK MORE THAN ONE ATTEMPT. AT ONE POINT IT TOOK HALF AN HOUR OF RESTARTING THE CAR TO GET THE POWER STEERING TO WORK. I NOTICED WHEN THE CAR WAS IN IDLE, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD SHAKE. ONE DAY, THE PROBLEM JUST WENT AWAY. WELL, THE OTHER DAY, THIS STARTED AGAIN, ONLY IT'S BEEN MUCH WORSE.. THE CAR HAS TO BE SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES. IN IDLE, THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES SO HARD THAT IT SHAKES THE WHOLE CAR.WHEN DRIVING, THE CAR NOW JERKS TO THE RIGHT AND THE STEERING WHEEL IS HARD TO KEEP STRAIGHT BECAUSE OF THE SHAKING! I HAVE BEEN SO AFRAID THE POWER STEERING WILL GO OUT WHEN I'M DRIVING. I HAVE AN 18 MONTH OLD DAUGHTER THAT I HATE PUTTING INTO THE CAR BECAUSE IF IT DOES GO OUT AND I LOSE CONTROL, I DON'T WANT HER TO LOSE HER LIFE. I RESEARCHED MY CAR AND FOUND OUT MY POWER STEERING IS ALL ELECTRIC. WHAT SHOULD I DO FROM HERE? I FEAR FOR MY LIFE & MY CHILD'S EVERY TIME I GET IN MY VEHICLE. IT SHOULDN'T BE THAT WAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/20/2016 - MOULTRIE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO AVOID AN OBJECT IN THE ROAD. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE DROVE INTO A DITCH AND ROLLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/16/2016 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
A FRIEND FOLLOWING ME 09-21-2016 NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON CONSTANTLY. DRIVING HOME THAT NIGHT I COULD TELL THE BRAKE LIGHT STAYED ON, UNLESS I WAS APPLYING THE BRAKE AND THEY WOULD GO OFF. ALSO CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE LOCAL GM DEALERSHIP WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW FOR 09-27-2016. DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED CAR WITH A BAD BRAKE SWITCH. CAR WAS REPAIRED AND PICKED UP ON 09-30-2016 (BRAKE SWITCH REPLACED) COST 194.81. DROVE THE CAR ON A 300 MILE TRIP ON 10-13-2016. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT WOULD COME ON INTERMITTENTLY AND WHEN THE LIGHT WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. ALSO CHECKED ON BRAKE LIGHTS AND NOW THEY STAY CONSTANTLY. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT STAYS ON CONSTANTLY ALSO NOW.. THE CAR DID GO ON FOR THE RECALL NOTICE BACK IN 2014. WE WERE NOT EXPERIENCING ANY PROBLEMS PRIOR TO THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/16/2016 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
A FRIEND FOLLOWING ME 09-21-2016 NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON CONSTANTLY. DRIVING HOME THAT NIGHT I COULD TELL THE BRAKE LIGHT STAYED ON, UNLESS I WAS APPLYING THE BRAKE AND THEY WOULD GO OFF. ALSO CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE LOCAL GM DEALERSHIP WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW FOR 09-27-2016. DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED CAR WITH A BAD BRAKE SWITCH. CAR WAS REPAIRED AND PICKED UP ON 09-30-2016 (BRAKE SWITCH REPLACED) COST 194.81. DROVE THE CAR ON A 300 MILE TRIP ON 10-13-2016. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT WOULD COME ON INTERMITTENTLY AND WHEN THE LIGHT WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. ALSO CHECKED ON BRAKE LIGHTS AND NOW THEY STAY CONSTANTLY. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT STAYS ON CONSTANTLY ALSO NOW.. THE CAR DID GO ON FOR THE RECALL NOTICE BACK IN 2014. WE WERE NOT EXPERIENCING ANY PROBLEMS PRIOR TO THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/16/2016 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
A FRIEND FOLLOWING ME 09-21-2016 NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON CONSTANTLY. DRIVING HOME THAT NIGHT I COULD TELL THE BRAKE LIGHT STAYED ON, UNLESS I WAS APPLYING THE BRAKE AND THEY WOULD GO OFF. ALSO CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE LOCAL GM DEALERSHIP WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW FOR 09-27-2016. DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED CAR WITH A BAD BRAKE SWITCH. CAR WAS REPAIRED AND PICKED UP ON 09-30-2016 (BRAKE SWITCH REPLACED) COST 194.81. DROVE THE CAR ON A 300 MILE TRIP ON 10-13-2016. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT WOULD COME ON INTERMITTENTLY AND WHEN THE LIGHT WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. ALSO CHECKED ON BRAKE LIGHTS AND NOW THEY STAY CONSTANTLY. TRACTION WARNING LIGHT STAYS ON CONSTANTLY ALSO NOW.. THE CAR DID GO ON FOR THE RECALL NOTICE BACK IN 2014. WE WERE NOT EXPERIENCING ANY PROBLEMS PRIOR TO THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/12/2016 - ENCHANTED OAKS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLAMPS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BULB NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds