Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 418 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (130) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (144) Seats (7) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (117) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Service Brakes (43) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (26)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/20/2016 - CANTON, MS
MY CAR HAS NOW ALSO LOST POWER STEERING ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION (LOSS OF POWER STEERING FIRST OCCURRED THIS YEAR)THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND MY HEADLIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT, EVEN WHEN THE BULBS ARE BRAND NEW (THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE FOR TWO YEARS NOW). WHEN I SMACK THE HEADLIGHTS, THEY COME BACK ON. I DO NOT ALWAYS FEEL SAFE WHEN DRIVING THIS CAR.

View Details

STEERING

12/11/2015 - PATCHOGUE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 3 MPH AND MAKING A U-TURN, THE VEHICLE STARTED SMOKING WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER AND OPENED THE HOOD AND NOTICED THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THERE WAS NO POLICE REPORT FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOTOR MOUNTS AND THE POWER STEERING LINES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,500.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/11/2015 - PATCHOGUE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 3 MPH AND MAKING A U-TURN, THE VEHICLE STARTED SMOKING WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER AND OPENED THE HOOD AND NOTICED THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THERE WAS NO POLICE REPORT FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOTOR MOUNTS AND THE POWER STEERING LINES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,500.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/26/2015 - COLLEGE STATION, TX
I HAVE NOTICED A ODD GAS SMELL IN MY CAR AROUND 60,000 MILES. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE GAS CAP, SO I REPLACED IT AND THE SMELL PERSISTED. I HAD MY CAR DIAGNOSED BY BOTH A GM AND A FIRESTONE TECHNICIAN AND THEY CONCLUDED IT WAS A CRACKED FUEL PUMP. IT SEEPS GAS OUT UNDER MY VEHICLE AND IF THERE IS AN IGNITION SOURCE I COULD BLOW UP AND DIE. KNOWING OF THE SEVERITY OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE I AM SCARED TO DEATH TO DRIVE IT. I HAVEN'T DRIVEN IT IN 2 MONTHS SINCE IT HAS BEEN DIAGNOSED. MY FAMILY DIDN'T WANT ME TO DRIVE HOME FOR THANKSGIVING BECAUSE THEY FEARED MY CAR WOULD HURT ME. THE GM DEALERSHIP DID NOT OFFER TO FIX IT FOR OTHER THAN FULL COSTS EVEN WHEN THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL SIMILAR MODELS AND THE PONTIAC G5 ALSO HAD A RECALL ON THE CRACKED FUEL PUMP FOR 2009S. GM USES THE SAME PARTS IN THEIR CARS ESPECIALLY THE PLASTIC PART THAT IS PRONE TO CRACK IN THE FUEL PUMP, SO I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY HAVEN'T RECALLED THE CARS YET. IT STARTED AT 60,000 MILES. IT IS ATYPICAL OF A CAR TO HAVE A DEFECT AT THAT YOUNG OF A AGE, IT CAN'T BE DUE TO NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. I HAVE CONTACTED GM DIRECTLY SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY KEEP SHUTTING ME DOWN AND HAVE EVEN TRIED THE DEALERSHIP AND ALL THEY WANT TO DO IS MAKE MONEY OFF ME AND THEY DON'T REALIZE THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE HERE AND LIVES COULD BE AT STAKE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/18/2015 - TEGA CAY, SC
THE SOLUTION GM HAS FOR RECALL #14V252000 DOES NOT WORK. THE RECALL WAS FIXED 9/2014 AND ON 10/31/15 THE SAME PROBLEM WAS NOTICED. THIS HAS BEEN NOTICED WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON WHEN BRAKES ARE NOT APPLIED, GO OFF WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED. I BROUGHT VEHICLE INTO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP ON 11/09/15. THEY REPLACED A BRAKE PEDAL POSITION SENSOR. NOTICED ON 11/09/15 IN PM THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAIN ON AND DO NOT CHANGE WHEN THE BRAKE IS PRESSED. A SERVICE TRACTION CAME ON 11/10/15 AND AGAIN ON 11/17/15. I HAVE NOT HAD AN OPPORTUNITY TO DRIVE BEHIND THE VEHICLE WHILE THIS SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT IS ON. I HAVE TAKEN A PICTURE OF THE SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT TWICE SHOWING THE MILEAGE AND TIME. I HAVE READ SIMILAR COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS NHTSA RECALL #14V252000 (GM RECALL #13036) ON THIS WEBSITE! I KNOW THIS WILL NOT BE TAKEN CARE OF UNLESS A NUMBER OF PEOPLE DIE FROM AN ACCIDENT JUST LIKE THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/18/2015 - TEGA CAY, SC
THE SOLUTION GM HAS FOR RECALL #14V252000 DOES NOT WORK. THE RECALL WAS FIXED 9/2014 AND ON 10/31/15 THE SAME PROBLEM WAS NOTICED. THIS HAS BEEN NOTICED WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON WHEN BRAKES ARE NOT APPLIED, GO OFF WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED. I BROUGHT VEHICLE INTO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP ON 11/09/15. THEY REPLACED A BRAKE PEDAL POSITION SENSOR. NOTICED ON 11/09/15 IN PM THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAIN ON AND DO NOT CHANGE WHEN THE BRAKE IS PRESSED. A SERVICE TRACTION CAME ON 11/10/15 AND AGAIN ON 11/17/15. I HAVE NOT HAD AN OPPORTUNITY TO DRIVE BEHIND THE VEHICLE WHILE THIS SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT IS ON. I HAVE TAKEN A PICTURE OF THE SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT TWICE SHOWING THE MILEAGE AND TIME. I HAVE READ SIMILAR COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS NHTSA RECALL #14V252000 (GM RECALL #13036) ON THIS WEBSITE! I KNOW THIS WILL NOT BE TAKEN CARE OF UNLESS A NUMBER OF PEOPLE DIE FROM AN ACCIDENT JUST LIKE THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2015 - TEGA CAY, SC
THE SOLUTION GM HAS FOR RECALL #14V252000 DOES NOT WORK. THE RECALL WAS FIXED 9/2014 AND ON 10/31/15 THE SAME PROBLEM WAS NOTICED. THIS HAS BEEN NOTICED WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON WHEN BRAKES ARE NOT APPLIED, GO OFF WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED. I BROUGHT VEHICLE INTO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP ON 11/09/15. THEY REPLACED A BRAKE PEDAL POSITION SENSOR. NOTICED ON 11/09/15 IN PM THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAIN ON AND DO NOT CHANGE WHEN THE BRAKE IS PRESSED. A SERVICE TRACTION CAME ON 11/10/15 AND AGAIN ON 11/17/15. I HAVE NOT HAD AN OPPORTUNITY TO DRIVE BEHIND THE VEHICLE WHILE THIS SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT IS ON. I HAVE TAKEN A PICTURE OF THE SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT TWICE SHOWING THE MILEAGE AND TIME. I HAVE READ SIMILAR COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS NHTSA RECALL #14V252000 (GM RECALL #13036) ON THIS WEBSITE! I KNOW THIS WILL NOT BE TAKEN CARE OF UNLESS A NUMBER OF PEOPLE DIE FROM AN ACCIDENT JUST LIKE THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/8/2015 - RIVERSIDE, CA
STARTED NOTICING A PROMINENT GAS SMELL EVERYTIME I PULLED MY DAUGHTER OUT OF THE BACK SEAT. I LOKKED UNDERNEATH THE CAR AND NOTICED A DRIP, TOOK THE CAR IN TO A LOCAL SHOP AND THEY FOUND THE FUEL LINE RUPTURED. I FOUND A GM CAMPAIGN NUMBER 12190, THE DEALER SAID I AM NOT COVERED. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE IN CA WHICH IS ONE THE STATES THAT SUCH CAMPAING MENTIONS TO BE COVERING. THE SMELL IS VERY NOTICEABLE AFTER PLACING THE IGNITION IN ACC, WHICH PRIMES THE PUMP I ASSUME, IF THE CAR HAS BEEN SITTING FOR A FEW HOURS OR OVERNIGHT THE SMELL IS GONE. I BELIEVE THAT MY VIN SHOULD STILL BE COVERED BY GM AS THIS IS PRESENT A FIRE HAZRD AND POTENTIAL FOR SERIOUS INJURY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/28/2015 - RUSSIAVILLE, IN
MY G6 WAS RECALLED LAST YEAR BECAUSE OF A PROBLEM WITH THE BCM. THE PROBLEM CAUSED LOSS OF TRACTION CONTROL, CRUISE CONTROL AND THE LIGHTS TO MALFUNCTION. SINCE MY VEHICLE WAS FIXED, I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES. A SWITCH WAS REPLACED A FEW WEEKS AGO AND THIS TOOK CARE OF THE PROBLEM TEMPORARILY. I AM NOW BEING TOLD THE BCM NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND WILL COST $800. THE REASON FOR THE RECALL WAS "INCREASED RESISTANCE IN THE BMC MAY RESULT IN VOLTAGE FLUCTUATIONS". I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE RECALL DID NOT INCLUDE REPLACING THE BCM. IT IS VERY SCARY AND UPSETTING WHEN THE "SERVICE TRACTION" WARNING APPEARS WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT AND NOT KNOWING IF THE BRAKE LIGHTS ARE ON OR NOT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/23/2015 - NOCONA, TX
STARTED SMELLING FUEL ON EXTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE, MOST PROMINENTLY NEAR THE GAS TANK. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND FOUND THAT THE LINE CONNECTED TO THE FUEL PUMP WAS CORRODING AND FUEL WAS LEAKING. THEY WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE FUEL PUMP MODULE, AS PARTS ARE NOT SOLD SEPARATELY. THE MECHANIC SAID THAT THESE ARE KNOWN ISSUES WITH PONTIACS. DID A LITTLE DIGGING AND FOUND THAT THERE WERE OVER 40,000 RECALLS ON GM PRODUCTS WITH THIS SAME ISSUE, HOWEVER, FOR SOME REASON THE 2009 PONTIAC G6 DID NOT MAKE THAT LIST. APPARENTLY WE NEED SOME MORE COMPLAINTS TO GET GM TO ADD THE G6 TO THE RECALL LIST (AS LEAKING FUEL COULD BE A FIRE HAZARD!!!!).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds