Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 476 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (159) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (155) Seats (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Service Brakes (49) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (29)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/10/2017 - LEESBURG, OH
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ON THE CAR HAS FAILED NUMEROUS TIMES AND ILLUMINATED A MESSAGE ON THE DISPLAY STATING "POWER STEERING". WHEN THIS HAPPENS, YOU LOSE ALL POWER STEERING ASSIST WHICH REQUIRES A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF STRENGTH TO MANEUVER THE CAR. GM HAS RECALLED MANY OF THE OTHER VEHICLES AROUND THIS MODEL YEAR, BUT THIS VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. IT IS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AS PREVIOUSLY RECALLED VEHICLES.

View Details

STEERING

1/30/2017 - MORTON, MS
DEAR NHTSA; I OWN A 2009 PONTIAC G6 THAT WITHIN THE LAST WEEK INCURRED A POWER STEERING FAILURE. RECALL RESEARCH SHOWS THAT ON MARCH 2014 THE NHTSA REQUIRED GM TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, HOWEVER, IT ONLY COVERED THE G6 MODELS UP TO THE YEAR 2009 BUT NOT ALL 2009. THE SERVICE ADVISOR AT THE DEALERSHIP ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THE "PROBLEM" WAS VERY SIMILAR TO THE STEERING PROBLEM FOR EARLIER MODELS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE RECALL. HOWEVER, SINCE NOT ALL OF THE 2009 MODEL YEAR WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA RECALL, THE COST TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM FALLS TO THE CONSUMER AND IS ESTIMATED TO BE IN THE $1,800 TO $2,000 RANGE. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE AND MIRRORS THE SAME CHARACTERISTIC'S AS EARLIER MODELS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. I URGE THE NHTSA TO RE-VISIT THE MODEL YEARS SUBJECT TO THE RECALL. THE CONSUMER SHOULD NOT BE BURDENED WITH THE COST OF REPAIRING WHAT IS OBVIOUSLY A DESIGN DEFECT. FURTHER AND MORE IMPORTANTLY IS SAFETY FOR THE PASSENGERS AND OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD. I HOPE THAT THE NHTSA WILL INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER ACCORDINGLY AND AMEND THE POWER STEERING RECALL TO INCLUDE ALL 2009 MODELS. THANK YOU.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2017 - VESPER, WI
LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN FIRST STARTED, BUT WOULD TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART TO GET IT WORKING AGAIN. THIS WENT ON FOR ABOUT A MONTH, THEN IT WORKED FOR A FEW MONTHS AND NOW HAVE NO POWER STEERING AT ALL. IT QUIT ALTOGETHER 2 WEEKS AGO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - LAKE FOREST, CA
STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE NOTICEABLE FROM 10 OR MORE FEET AWAY FROM VEHICLE WHEN PARKED OR RUNNING. CANNOT PARK IN GARAGE DUE TO STRONG FUEL SMELL. VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN OVERFILLED. SMELL HAS BEEN NOTICEABLE FOR MANY MONTHS BUT IS GETTING STRONGER LATELY. RESEARCHING THIS ON THE INTERNET YIELDS MANY RESULTS WITH SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, FOCUSED ON A DEFECTIVE ELBOW ON THE FUEL PUMP ASSEMBLY.

View Details

STEERING

12/28/2016 - MOORE, OK
THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT INTERMITTENTLY WHILE DRIVING AND I HAVE TO SHUT THE CAR OFF IN ORDER TO FIX IT. I HAD THE POWER STEERING ASSIST MOTOR REPLACED BUT THIS DID NOT SOLVE THE ISSUE. WHILE RESEARCHING, I FOUND A RECALL ON THIS VERY ISSUE ALTHOUGH IT DOES NOT COME UP WHEN I PUT IN MY VEHICLE'S VIN NUMBER. IT IS RECALL NHTSA # 14V153000. PLEASE LET ME KNOW HOW I CAN GET THIS ISSUE FIXED UNDER THIS RECALL. I AM FEARFUL OF DRIVING MY CAR AS THERE IS NO WARNING OF WHEN THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE IS GOING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

STEERING

12/26/2016 - CORBIN, KY
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A CITY STREET AND TURNING RIGHT DOWN ANOTHER STREET MY DIC FLASHED ERROR MESSAGE POWER STEERING. WHILE NOTHING HAS HAPPENED AS OF YET ON 12/26/2016, I HAVE LOOKED INTO THE RECALLS REGARDING ALL OTHER MODEL YEARS OF THE PONTIAC G6 WITH THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ISSUE. IT CONCERNS ME DEEPLY. THIS IS MY WIFE'S CAR AND SHE DRIVES IT TO WORK DAILY, TAKES OUR 17 YEAR OLD TO WORK, AND DRIVES OUR 4 AND 10 YEAR OLDS PLACES TOO. I'M FEARING FOR THERE LIVES KNOWING THAT AT ANY MOMENT THE POWER STEERING COULD GO OUT AND CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT. WHILE KNOWING THAT ALMOST ALL OTHER G6'S ARE COVERED UNDER THE RECALL EXCEPT OURS IS VERY UPSETTING. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO TAKE THIS TO A GM DEALER FOR THEM TO FIX THIS ISSUE. I'M NOT NECESSARILY LOOKING FOR FREE PARTS AND LABOR TO FIX THIS ISSUE, BUT FOR THE SAFETY OF ME, MY FAMILY, OTHER G6 OWNERS NOT ON THE RECALL, AND OTHER MOTORISTS ON THE ROAD. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/12/2016 - AUBURN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT WAS DIFFICULT TO RELEASE OR PRESS DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

12/12/2016 - AUBURN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT WAS DIFFICULT TO RELEASE OR PRESS DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/12/2016 - AUBURN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT WAS DIFFICULT TO RELEASE OR PRESS DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

11/28/2016 - DESTREHAN, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR LOCKS MADE A CLICKING NOISE WHILE DRIVING AND THE DOORS WERE DIFFICULT TO OPEN. ALSO, THE HORN SOUNDED WITHOUT WARNING. THE WARNING INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,226.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds