Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 274 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (93) Exterior Lighting (118) Seat Belts (2) Steering (52) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (4) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (37) Suspension (2) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
THE DRIVER SIDE HEADLIGHT BURNED OUT. I CHECKED THE BULB, AND THE CONNECTORS WERE BURNED AND MELTED ON THE LIGHT AS WELL AS THE HARNESS. I CHANGED THE HARNESS MYSELF, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY ONE YEAR LATER. THERE IS A SEVERE MALFUNCTION IN THE ELECTRICAL COMPONENT OF THE HEADLIGHT SYSTEM. I AM AFRAID IF THIS CONTINUES TO OCCUR, IT COULD START A FIRE IN THE VEHICLE. POSSIBLY WHILE IT IS BEING DRIVEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - BLUE SPRINGS, MO
DRIVER SIDE, REAR PASSENGER DOOR WON'T LOCK OR UNLOCK. ALSO, A COUPLE MONTHS LATER, THE DRIVER DOOR DID THE SAME THING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/29/2014 - BLUE SPRINGS, MO
PASSEGER LOW BEAM WENT OUT. REPLACED HEADLIGHT. WENT OUT ABOUT A WEEK LATER. GOT ANOTHER HEADLIGHT AND REPLACED IT AGAIN, SAME THING HAPPENED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/10/2014 - WATERTOWN, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SIDE AIR BAG MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
ON OCTOBER 7, 2014, AS I WAS WAITING FOR THE STOP LIGHT TO CHANGE. MY CAR TURNED OFF AND THEN ON AGAIN. ON THE FOLLOWING DAY, AFTER I PARKED MY CAR, I WENT TO START IT, AND IT DIDN'T CRANK AT ALL. I WENT TO GET THE BATTERY, STARTER, AND ALTERNATOR CHECKED, THEY ALL PASSED WITH FLYING COLORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
ON OCTOBER 7, 2014, AS I WAS WAITING FOR THE STOP LIGHT TO CHANGE. MY CAR TURNED OFF AND THEN ON AGAIN. ON THE FOLLOWING DAY, AFTER I PARKED MY CAR, I WENT TO START IT, AND IT DIDN'T CRANK AT ALL. I WENT TO GET THE BATTERY, STARTER, AND ALTERNATOR CHECKED, THEY ALL PASSED WITH FLYING COLORS.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2014 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THE PROBLEM WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS NOT ABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIRED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/7/2014 - APPLE VALLEY, CA
VEHICLE STARTED SMELLING OF GASOLINE WITH NO APPARENT LEAKS. THE MOTOR HAD BEGUN TO RUN ROUGHLY AND DID NOT START IMMEDIATELY UPON TURNING OVER. NOT LONG AFTER, GASOLINE BEGAN TO DRIP FROM THE HEAT SHIELD BELOW THE FUEL TANK. UPON REMOVAL OF THE FUEL TANK, IT WAS FOUND THAT GASOLINE HAD POOLED ON TOP OF THE TANK AND WAS LEAKING FROM A CRACKED FUEL LINE ELBOW DIRECTLY ABOVE THE FUEL PUMP. UPON REMOVAL OF THE TANK, THE LINE BROKE COMPLETELY FROM THE PUMP.

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2014 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AS THE ESC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,666.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THE DRIVER'S SIDE HEADLIGHT WENT OUT. I HAVE REPLACED THE SAME HEADLIGHT AT LEAST THREE TIMES. TODAY, 26 SEP 2014, I ATTEMPTED TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHT BULB AGAIN, BUT FOUND THAT THE CONNECTOR HAS MELTED. I'M CONCERNED THAT MY OTHER HEADLIGHT MAY GO OUT WHILE DRIVING, SO I WILL SEE WHAT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS AFTER THE VEHICLE INSPECTION. I HAVE HEARD THAT IT CAN COST BETWEEN 400 TO 500 DOLLARS. PLEASE HAVE THIS INVESTIGATED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR KILLED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds