Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 502 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (32) Steering (164) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (163) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (128) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Seats (9) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (51) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/11/2017 - PLEASANTVILLE, OH
WE HAVE REPLACED THE FRONT HEADLIGHTS ALMOST 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 MONTHS DUE TO WIRING 'BURNING' AND CAUSING THE LIGHTS TO GO OUT. THE ACTUAL LIGHT BULBS THEMSELVES ARE FINE. IT IS THE CONNECTION TO THE BULB THAT IS THE PROBLEM. IT IS FIRST NOTICED WHEN STARTING THE CAR WHILE EVEN HAVING HEADLAMPS SET TO AUTOMATIC, THEY DO NOT LIGHT UP. SOMETIMES ONCE YOU START DRIVING, ONE LIGHTS UP WHILE THE OTHER REMAINS OUT. HIGH BEAMS, FOG LIGHTS AND TURN SIGNALS ARE FINE.

View Details

STEERING

5/1/2017 - MANITOWOC, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK INDEPENDENTLY AND THE STEERING WHEEL ASSIST INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WAS DIFFICULT TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,019.

View Details

STEERING

4/27/2017 - GRIFFITH, IN
TWICE IN THE LAST 2 MONTHS MY POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT IN MY 09 PONTIAC G6. BOTH TIMES THE POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT HAS HAPPENED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN USE AND MAKING A TURN. I NOTICE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUED IN 2014, BUT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL. I HAD TO REPLACE THE PUMP IN FEBRUARY OF 2017, AND AM NOW ON APRIL 27 2017 HAVING TO TAKE IT BACK IN DUE TO POWER STEERING ISSUES. I AM UNCLEAR AS TO WHY THE 09 PONTIAC G6 POWER STEERING RECALL DID NOT EXTEND TO MY VIN NUMBER, BUT CLEARLY THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE'S POWER STEERING THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND NORMAL WEAR FOR AN 8 YEAR OLD VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2017 - COLUMBUS, MI
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A 45 MPH STREET WHEN POWER STEERING BECAME INOPERABLE WITH AN ALARM. SUDDEN LOSS OF CONTROL EXPERIENCED, BUT NO ACCIDENT. TURNED OFF CAR AND RESTARTED AND POWERSTEERING BECAME OPERABLE AGAIN. GOT VEHICLE HOME AND NEXT DAY TRIED STARTING AND ALARM CAME BACK ON WITH NO POWER STEERING. AFRAID TO DRIVE IT AND HOPE THERE IS A RECALL IN THE WORKS. NOT SAFE!

View Details

STEERING

4/23/2017 - COLUMBUS, MI
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A 45 MPH STREET WHEN POWER STEERING BECAME INOPERABLE WITH AN ALARM. SUDDEN LOSS OF CONTROL EXPERIENCED, BUT NO ACCIDENT. TURNED OFF CAR AND RESTARTED AND POWERSTEERING BECAME OPERABLE AGAIN. GOT VEHICLE HOME AND NEXT DAY TRIED STARTING AND ALARM CAME BACK ON WITH NO POWER STEERING. AFRAID TO DRIVE IT AND HOPE THERE IS A RECALL IN THE WORKS. NOT SAFE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2017 - ALTA VISTA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO PROPERLY FUNCTION IN SECOND, THIRD, AND FIFTH GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SERVICE CAMPAIGN NOR A MANUFACTURER RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2017 - BARTLESVILLE, OK
I HAVE REPLACED THE DRIVER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLAMP SOCKET TWICE. BOTH TIMES IT SHOWED SIGNS OF IT BEING MELTED. PASSENGER SIDE HEAD LAMPS WORK, SOMETIMES IT REQUIRES A TAP ON THE LENS COVER TO GET THEM WORKING. PLAYING AROUND WITH HOW THEY SIT IN THE SOCKET WORKS, UNTIL THEY WIGGLE OUT AND NO LONGER WORK UNTIL YOU WIGGLE IT BACK IN, OR TAP THE LENS COVER. I HAVE BEEN PULLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE OF MY HEADLAMPS.

View Details

STEERING

3/30/2017 - NEW HARMONY, IN
VEHICLE STEERING STUTTERS,CLANKS,CLUNKS AND HAS BEEN IN DEALERSHIP FOR THE PROBLEM. THEY REPLACED THE POWER STEERING ASSIST MOTOR/MODULE ASSEMBLY AND SAID IT WAS COVERED BY GM,AND WAS TOLD IT WAS A COMMON PROBLEM. AFTER DRIVING CAR IT STILL DID THE SAME THING,NOW THEY WANT TO CHARGE US TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM WE TOOK IT IN FOR TO BEGIN WITH. THE (ISS) INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT HAS ALSO BEEN REPLACED WITH FACTORY GM PART , WHICH WAS ALSO BAD WHEN 1ST TOOK IN BUT THEY DIDN'T POINT OUT. THIS HAS SO FAR BEEN A GREAT CAR AND NOW HAS OVER 144,000 MILES AND I REALIZE THERE ARE GONNA BE PROBLEMS WITH THIS MUCH MILEAGE , BUT THE STEERING ISSUE IS REALLY GETTING SCARY AND STILL NOT FIXED AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO KEEP REPLACING PARTS THAT AREN'T FIXING IT. GM SHOULD'VE RECALLED THIS PROBLEM ON MY CAR AS THEY DID OTHERS AND FIXED IT WITH NO COST...

View Details

STEERING

3/29/2017 - MT PROSPECT, IL
ELECTRIC POWER STEERING GOES OUT INTERMITTENTLY. DOES NOT WORK ABOUT ONCE OUT OF EVERY 4 TIME CAR IS STARTED. MUST SHUT OFF CAR AND RESTART TO HAVE STEERING WORK. SOMETIMES GOES OUT RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING, ESPECIALLY WHEN STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHEN CAR IS STOPPED OR IDLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. IN ADDITION, THE HEADLIGHTS SUDDENLY SHUT OFF. THE LIGHT BULBS WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds