Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G6 - 2009 PONTIAC G6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 538 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (33) Steering (185) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (170) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electrical System (135) Fuel Propulsion System (30) Seats (10) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (51) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/28/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TAKATA RECALL , MY HEADLIGHTS STARTED TO GO OUT AROUND LAST YEAR. I REPLACE THE BULBS WHICH WAS NO EASY TASK ALL TO FIND OUT THAT THE WIRE HARNESS IN THIS MAKE AND MODEL GO BAD .REAL BAD WHERE THE WIRES IN THE HEADLIGHTS SHORT OUT AND CORRODE , I HAD TO REPLACE BOTH HEADLIGHTS AND TO NO AVAIL THEY ARE GOING OUT AGAIN . I HAVE NEVER SEEN A CAR THAT I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE HEAD LIGHT OVER AND OVER AGAIN. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN YOU HAVE TO HAVE LIGHTS THAT WORK IN ORDER TO SEE TO DRIVE & IT IS THE LAW TO HAVE FULLY FUNCTIONS HEADLIGHTS AND TURN SIGNALS. THEY CAN GO OUT AT ANYTIME JUST BY TURNING THE CAR ON OR DRIVING. I PAID 22.00 X2 FOR EACH BULB , $150 ONLINE ( 200 FOR EACH AT DEALERS) FOR A PAIR OF HEADLIGHTS AND $80 TO INSTALL THEM AND NOW JUST ANTHER $50 TO DIAGNOSE & $65.00 FOR ANTHER BRAND NEW HEADLIGHT ONLINE CAUSE I CANT AFFORD ANTHER &200 FOR KEN TOWERY OR THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP TO DO IT, SINCE THE DRIVER SIDE HAS GONE COMPLETELY OUT YET AGAIN WITHIN LESS THAN YEAR OF ME JUST REPLACING THEM, I HAVE NO HEAD LIGHT ,NO PARK LIGHT, NO HIGH BEAM OR TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS CAUSE ALL THE WIRES IN THE HEAD LIGHT ARE CORRODED YET AGAIN. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ONLINE REGARDING THIS ISSUES WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL , GM MADE A BIG MISTAKE WITH THESE HEADLIGHTS AND CONSUMERS ARE THE ONES PAYING FOR THIS MISTAKE THAT SHOULD NEVER HAD HAPPENED WITH THIS CAR OR ANY OTHERS. I AM SURPRISED BY THE CORROSION IN THESE WIRE HARNESS & SCARED THAT IT COULD TRIGGER A FIRE HAZARD BY SHORTING OUT .

View Details

STEERING

2/28/2018 - GARRETTSVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN DRIVE, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PRESTON CHEVROLET (13600 W CENTER ST, BURTON, OH 44021) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND, AFTER A COUPLE OF MONTHS, THE POWER STEERING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE SAME DEALER AND THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE TORQUE SENSOR WITHOUT CHARGE. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE SAME DEALER AND THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED A CASE NUMBER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 57,900.

View Details

STEERING

2/20/2018 - JACKSON, MI
RECALL NUMBERS: 14E044000 AND 14V153000 RELATE DIRECTLY TO ISSUES I AM HAVING WITH MY VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD MY VIN WAS NOT IDENTIFIED AS BEING A PROBLEM VEHICLE, BUT I FEEL LIKE IT IS TOO MUCH OF A COINCIDENCE THAT I AM HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN EACH RECALL. PLEASE CONTACT ME AT [XXX] FOR FOLLOW-UP... 1) POWER STEERING MESSAGE POPS UP ON RADIO WHEN STATIONARY AND I CAN NOT TURN MY WHEEL..WHEN I TURN MY CAR OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON THE MESSAGE GOES AWAY AND I CAN TURN MY WHEEL - STEERING RACK PROBLEM IDENTIFIED INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2018 - GOSHEN, IN
ELECTRONIC STEERING SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING MAKING STEERING IMPOSSIBLE. IF YOU SHUT THE CAR OFF AND RESTART THE PROBLEM GOES AWAY. IT DOES NOT SHOW A SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT'S HAPPENED FOUR TIMES NOW, THE LAST TIME IT FORCED ME TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY DURING HIGH TRAFFIC. THERE IS AN OPEN RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE HOWEVER, THE DEALER WILL NOT REPAIR IT. HE SAID IT HAS TOO MANY MILES ON IT. IT WILL BE UP TO ME TO TAKE CARE OF THE REPAIR WHICH WILL COST OVER $1500

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2018 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
SINCE 2014, I HAVE HAD AN INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING LOSS ISSUE. I HAVE VIDEO EVIDENCE, WHICH INCLUDES THE MILEAGE AS WELL AS THE ERROR MESSAGE ON THE DISPLAY AND WARNING LIGHTS. THE DISPLAY WILL SAY SERVICE WAS SERVICE TRACTION POWER STEERING. HISTORICALLY, THE PROBLEM HAS ONLY OCCURRED WHILE STOPPED, MANY TIMES WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST TURNED ON. THE ERROR USUALLY CLEARS AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTING. TODAY, IT HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY GOING 70MPH. I HAVE BROUGHT MY CAR TO GM DEALERSHIPS IN THE PAST, BUT THEY COULD NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. THEY WILL NOT USE MY VIDEO TO HELP THEM DIAGNOSE. I WAS TOLD THE COMPUTER ISN'T STORING A CODE SO THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING. AFTER CONTACTING GM AGAIN TODAY, I WAS TOLD THERE IS A FIX, BUT ONLY IF THE DEALERSHIP CAN DIAGNOSE. I'M FRUSTRATED. I HAVE MORE THAN DONE MY PART. I HAVE A BABY THAT I PUT AT RISK EVERYTIME I PUT HER IN THE CAR. WHY IS THERE NO RECALL? WHY CAN'T THEY USE MY VIDEOS, YES MULTIPLE VIDEOS FROM DIFFERENT DAYS, WHEN THEY CAN'T RECREATE THE PROBLEM? I DO NOT HAVE VIDEO FROM TODAY BECAUSE I WAS GOING HIGHWAY SPEED. THERE ARE SO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE ISSUE. DO PEOPLE NEED TO DIE FOR THEM TO DO SOMETHING?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/4/2018 - APOPKA, FL
HEADLIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY STOP WORKING; HAVE CHANGED THE BULBS, CLEANED THE WIRES. THEY WORK FOR FEW WEEKS AND THEN WON'T COME ON. IN DOING A SEARCH ON LINE, I SEE PAGES AND PAGES OF SIMILAR COMPLAINT. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. SO FAR IT HAS BEEN ONE HEADLIGHT OUT AT A TIME, BUT WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THEY DO BOTH NOT WORK. I HAVE BEEN PULLED OVER, BUT DON'T EXPECT THEY WILL KEEP LETTING ME GO WITHOUT ISSUING ME A TICKET WHEN I TELL THEM IT'S BEEN IN FOR REPAIR MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

1/31/2018 - WHITMORE LAKE, MI
THE STEERING FAILED 2 OR SO YEARS AGO, THEY REPLACED THE MOTOR AND SENSOR UNDER A SERVICE ORDER FROM GM #15356 SO THEY NEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM AND DID NOT WANT TO GET RECALLS INVOLVED. THEY GAVE A WARRANTY TO 150,000 MILES THE CAR HAS 155867 MILES ON IT AND THEY ARE SAYING SORRY ITS NOT OUR PROBLEM, (#8-3849375898 CURRENT GM CASE #) EVEN WITH ALL STEERING ASSIST GONE.

View Details

STEERING

1/31/2018 - HARAHAN, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING AND ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE. AFTER A FEW MINUTES, THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/15/2018 - KIMBALL TOWNSHIP, MI
HI I HAVE A PROBLEM I HAVE A RECALL AND THE RECALL NUMBER IS N140115 AND IT WAS FOR MY POWER STEERING I HAVE CALLED PONTIAC AND IF TOLD ME IT WAS JUST A SPECIAL COVERAGE WITH A LIMITED WARRANTY AND I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THAT CANNOT BE A RECALL AND I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR IT, I ALMOST CRASHED GOING INTO WORK BECAUSE IT WENT OUT ON ME, I GET IN MY CAR TURN IT ON AND START DRIVING DOWN THE STREET ABOUT HALF WAY TO WORK AND I GO TO TURN AND IT GOT REAL HARD AND ALMOST WENT INTO A DITCH TRYING TO TURN, THIS IS NOT SAFE AND I NEED TO GET TO WORK, I HAVE TRIED TALKING TO GM AND PONTIAC BUT THEY WOULD NOT HELP, IT SAYS RECALL NOT "SPECIAL COVERAGE"

View Details

STEERING

1/3/2018 - LAKE CITY, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G6. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AND WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 125,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds