Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (7) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/17/2019 - LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA
OIL COOLANT LINE BURSTS WHICH CAUSES IMMEDIATE LOSS OF ALL OIL. PROBLEM HAPPENS WHILE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION, AND IN THIS CASE WHILE IN MOTION ON A HIGH TRAFFICKED FREEWAY. FIX COST ABOUT $1,000 OUT OF POCKET. THIS IS A VERY LARGE LEAK WHICH COVERS THE GROUND, ENGINE, AND UNDERCARRIAGE. IF THE OIL LINE RUPTURES WHILE DRIVING, THE LOW ENGINE OIL MESSAGE AND ENGINE OIL PRESSURE WARNINGS WILL ILLUMINATE. CONTINUED USE AFTER THESE WARNINGS WILL RESULT IN COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE DUE TO OIL STARVATION. THE LINE IS KNOWN TO BE DEFECTIVE, AND A REVISED PART HAS BEEN ISSUED BY TOYOTA BUT RECALL HAS NOT BEEN ISSUED. COVERED UNDER A WARRANTY ISSUED BY TOYOTA BUT COVERS UNDER A SHORT TIME FRAME.

View Details

ENGINE

7/10/2019 - CAMBRIDGE, WI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE IN WISCONSIN DURING RUSH HOUR WHEN I TOOK OFF MY CRUISE CONTROL TO SLOW DOWN TO TAKE THE NEXT EXIT. I NOTICED AN ABNORMAL DOWN SHIFT WHEN I TOOK OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL. ALMOST IMMEDIATELY THE OIL AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS CAME ON. AS I SLOWED TO THE STOP SIGN AT THE END OF THE EXIT THE DISPLAY SCREEN BEGAN DINGING AND READ LOW OIL PRESSURE AND IMMEDIATELY STOP THE CAR AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER ONCE OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC AND SHUT DOWN THE CAR. UPON CHECKING THE OIL THERE WAS NONE ON THE DIPSTICK. THERE WAS OIL DRIPPING DOWN FROM THE GRILL ALL UNDERNEATH THE CAR INCLUDING IN THE FRONT TIRE WHEEL WELLS. I ALSO HEARD KNOCKING FROM THE ENGINE, SO I AM CONCERNED THAT THE LIFTERS AND THE TOP END OF THE ENGINE MAY BE COMPROMISED. THIS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH TOYOTA, WHO HAS REFUSED TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR FAULTY OIL LINES AND SEALS. LUCKILY, I WAS AT AN EXIT WHERE I COULD SAFELY PULL OVER BEFORE MORE MAJOR DAMAGE WAS DONE TO THE VEHICLE. MY PERSONAL SAFETY, THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY AS WELL AS OTHER DRIVERS COULD HAVE COMPROMISED BY THE NEGLECT THAT TOYOTA HAS SHOWN BY CONTINUING TO IGNORE THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/24/2019 - SAN JUAN, PR
WHEN VEHICLE IS STATIONARY, ENGINE ALWAYS MAKES STRANGE NOISE UPON INITIAL START.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2019 - MILFORD, MA
I WAS TURNING INTO A PARKING LOT AND I STARTED GETTING "LOW OIL PRESSURE" ALERTS ON MY DASHBOARD. I WAS WORRIED IF IT WAS A SENSOR ISSUE AND KEPT MOVING TILL I PARKED MY VEHICLE. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, I SAW THAT OIL HAD STARTED TO DRIP FROM WHERE I HAD TURNED, AND WHEN I PARKED THE CAR THE OIL DRIP GOT BIGGER AND HAD POOLED UNDER THE VEHICLE. BASED ON THE INFORMATION I GOT FROM THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP, THIS WAS A KNOWN ISSUE WHICH STARTS AS A SMALL LEAK BUT DUE TO PRESSURE, THE OIL COOLER PIPE BURSTS OPEN. THIS KNOWN PROBLEM IS DOCUMENTED HERE: HTTPS://WWW.TOYOHEADQUARTERS.COM/THREADS/2007-2011-TOYOTA-SIENNA-HIGHLANDER-AND-VENZA-ENGINE-OIL-COOLER-PIPE-LEAK-LSC-ZE2.358/ TOYOTA REFUSED TO PAY MY REPAIR BILL AS I WAS OVER THE MILEAGE REQUIREMENT BY 2700 MILES. I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY TOYOTA DID NOT CONSIDER THIS A SAFETY ISSUE/RECALL. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, MY ENGINE COULD HAVE BEEN COMPLETELY DAMAGED AND THE HEAVILY LEAKING OIL COULD HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO AN ACCIDENT(S). THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP ALSO AGREED WITH ME THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A SAFETY RECALL. TOYOTA CLAIMS THEY SENT OUT A LETTER FOR THIS WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT (ZE2) WHICH I NEVER RECEIVED. TOYOTA HAS REFUSED TO ESCALATE THIS ISSUE WITHIN THE COMPANY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/6/2019 - TAMPA, FL
THERE HAS BEEN A LATCHING ISSUE WITH THE REAR POWER HATCH SINCE WE HAVE OWNED THE CAR. TOYOTA ISSUED A REPAIR RECALL IN 2017 TO FIX THE ISSUE BUT IT IS BROKEN ONCE AGAIN. EITHER THEY ARE USING DEFECTIVE PARTS OR A DESIGN FLAW, BUT IT IS VERY DANGEROUS AS WE HAVE HAD THE REAR DOOR OPEN WHILE DRIVING SEVERAL TIMES. THEY DO NOT WANT TO REPAIR BECAUSE THEY DO NOT THINK IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2019 - BERLIN, CT
LOCK ACTUATORS MAL-FUNCTION WHEN USING THE REMOTE OR WHEN USING THE POWER LOCKS. UNABLE TO LOCK DOORS EXCEPT MANUALLY WITH KEY OR BY HAND. AT TIMES, CERTAIN LOCKS WILL WORK AND SEEM IMPACTED BY WEATHER CONDITIONS, I.E. HUMIDITY OR RAINY DAY VS. FAIR WEATHER DAY. THIS CAUSES THE OWNER TO BELIEVE THE DOORS ARE LOCKED WHEN THEY ARE NOT AND THE INCONVENIENCE THEY ARE UNLOCKED WHEN LEAVING YOUR CAR PARKED IN A PUBLIC LOT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/13/2019 - WHITE MARSH, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE CRASHED BETWEEN A BUILDING AND PYLON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS DIFFICULT TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE WINCHED OUT OF WHERE IT WAS LODGED. THERE WAS DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE AND THE BUILDING. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BRUISE TO THE RIGHT ARM HOWEVER, MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT SOUGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW LOT. GEICO INSURANCE COMPANY AND A REPRESENTATIVE FROM THOMPSON TOYOTA (1101 BUSINESS CENTER WAY, EDGEWOOD, MD 21040, (410) 679-1500) WAS SCHEDULED TO INSPECT AND INVESTIGATE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V023000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED OR NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 189,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/11/2019 - PATERSON, NJ
WHILE DRIVING, THE BATTERY LIGHT ON THE DASH ILLUMINATED, WHILE THE POWER ASSIST STEERING NO LONGER WORKED. THE CAR COULD STILL DRIVE AND STEER, BUT IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WOULD INTERMITTENTLY COME BACK ON, AND THEN GO OFF AGAIN, MAKING IT EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO OPERATE THE CAR SAFELY. IN THIS CONDITION, IF THERE WERE A NEED TO TUNER THE CAR SUDDENLY, IT WOULD NOT BE POSSIBLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/29/2018 - GLENDALE, AZ
2009 VEHICLE (MANUFACTURED 9/2008) ONLY HAS 83K MILES ON IT. CROAKING SOUND FOR WEEK OR SO AND THEN ONE MORNING ABS FAILURE WARNING ON DISPLAY. CODES ARE C1241 AND C1391. SAME PROBLEM AS OTHERS. NEEDS NEW ABS PUMP AND ACTUATOR. THE PARTS ARE #44050-48320 AND #44070-48020AND COST OVER $3K FOR PARTS ALONE. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN TOYOTA, I THOUGHT TOYOTA QUALITY WAS BETTER THAN THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/22/2018 - BALTIMORE, MD
2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER LIMITED DOOR ACTUATORS HAVE ALL BROKE, BEEN REPLACED AND BROKE AGAIN. SOME ARE BEING REPLACED FOR THE 3RD TIME SINCE I OWED THE VEHICLE (MAKING IT THE 4TH LOCK ON THE CAR). AT THE MOMENT ONLY 1 DOOR LOCK WORKS AND I HAVE TO CLIMB ACROSS TO OPEN THE OTHER DOORS. I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED THAT THEY WILL ALL BREAK AND I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GET MY DAUGHTER OUT OF THE CAR. I STARTED CONTACTING TOYOTA IN 2013 WHEN THEY ALL STARTED BREAKING. I ALSO CAN NOT OPEN THE CAR WITH THE KEY. 8/2012- DRIVERS LOCK AND ACTUATOR REPLACED AND WINDOW 6/2013- RIGHT REAR DOOR ACTUATOR REPLACED 7/2013- PASSENGER DOOR ACTUATOR REPLACED 3/2014- LEFT REAR DOOR ACTUATOR REPLACED 4/2014- DRIVERS LOCK ACTUATOR REPLACED (AGAIN) 5/2014- RIGHT REAR DOOR ACTUATOR REPLACED (AGAIN) 2015- LEFT REAR ACTUATOR BROKE AGAIN THIS TIME MY EXTENDED WARRANTY IS UP AND THEY WANT 600 TO FIX. 2016- PASSENGER ACTUATOR BROKE 9/2018- DRIVERS ACTUATOR BROKE FOR THE 3RD TIME. I AM LEFT WITH LEAVING THE CAR UNLOCKED AND HOPING NO ONE GOES IN OR CLIMB ACROSS MY VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED TOYOTA NUMEROUS TIMES TO TRY AND GET THEM TO HELP AND THEY HAVENT DONE ANYTHING BUT TELL ME I'M NOW OUT WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH I CONTACTED THEM REGARDING THE ISSUES BEFORE MY EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds