Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (7) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/12/2018 - WINDCREST, TX
I WAS SOLD OVER INTERNET BY VANDERGRIFT TOYOTA OF ARLINGTON,TX A FALSELY ADVERTISED 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER,THAT WAS DELIVERED TO ME IN SAN ANTONIO, TX IN ENCLIMATE WEATHER AND WHILE I WAS IN A FULL BODY BRACE, I HAD TOLD THEM OF WEATHER, AND WAS IN DOWN POUR WHEN THEY DELIVERED, I WAS UNABLE TO EXAMINE CAR IN MY CONDITION AND WEATHER TILL NEXT MORNING. CAR HAD BEEN WRECKED, HAD SILT IN REAR TAIL LIGHTS, I TRIED TO HAVE DEALERSHIP FIX IT, BY TAKING CAR BACK TO THEM, I DID NOT HV ANOTHER CAR. THE CONDITIONS OF THE CAR WERE NEVER DISCLOSED, I DID NOT RECEIVED A BUYERS GUIDE, ONLY A BLANK SALES CONTRACT WITH MY NAME, CAR MAKE AND MODEL AND VIN WITH PRICE PAID. I HV REPEATEDLY TRIED TO RESOLVE MATTER, DEALER HAS LIED REPEATEDLY AND BILLIGERENT. I HAVE CALLED OWNERS OF DEALERSHIP, BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY, THEY DEFER TO DEALER, DEALER HAS DONE NOTHING, I HAVE TRIED TO TELL PEOPLE AT BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY THIS IS SOMETHING A DEALER HAS DROPPED ON ME, WHO ARE AND REPRESENT THE BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY BRAND, I TOLD BH, I WOULD PERSUE AND SEEK TO EXPOSE TO AUTHORITATIVE ENTITIES, AND PRESS,THEY HAVE DONE NOTHING. I HAVE ALSO FILED A PENDING COMPLAINT WITH TEXAS DMV. I ALSO HAVE ACCORDING TO USE TITLE 18 2511 (2)(D), RECORDED CONVERSATIONS WITH DLRSHIPS USED SALES MNGR, GENERAL MNGR/PARTNER, AND BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY, AND PREVIOUS OWNER WHO TOLD ME WHEN CAR TRADED IN, DLR SD WOLD NOT KEEP DO TO MILES AND AGE, WD GO TO WHOLES AUCTION. I ALSO HV SCREEN SHOT WHERE DEALER CONTINUED TO ADVERTISE CAR FOR SALE AT REDUCED PRICE 12 DAYS AFTER INITIAL DEPOSIT AND OVER A WEEK AFTER WIRE TRNSFER, AND 5 DAYS AFTER DELIVERY. OTHER, PROBLEMS INCLUDED COMPONENTS ADVERTISED OR OPTIONS NOT INCLUDED. TOYOTA TOW PKG, TURNED OUT TO BE UHAUL HITCH BOLTED ON, NO WIRING TO EVEN COONECT TO BRAKES, AND NO ADDITIONAL RADIATOR/FANS/ TO AID IN HAULING /TOWING, AND NO STELLITE RADIO AS ADVERTISED. ORIGINAL AD PHOTOS FAKED

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/12/2018 - WINDCREST, TX
I WAS SOLD OVER INTERNET BY VANDERGRIFT TOYOTA OF ARLINGTON,TX A FALSELY ADVERTISED 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER,THAT WAS DELIVERED TO ME IN SAN ANTONIO, TX IN ENCLIMATE WEATHER AND WHILE I WAS IN A FULL BODY BRACE, I HAD TOLD THEM OF WEATHER, AND WAS IN DOWN POUR WHEN THEY DELIVERED, I WAS UNABLE TO EXAMINE CAR IN MY CONDITION AND WEATHER TILL NEXT MORNING. CAR HAD BEEN WRECKED, HAD SILT IN REAR TAIL LIGHTS, I TRIED TO HAVE DEALERSHIP FIX IT, BY TAKING CAR BACK TO THEM, I DID NOT HV ANOTHER CAR. THE CONDITIONS OF THE CAR WERE NEVER DISCLOSED, I DID NOT RECEIVED A BUYERS GUIDE, ONLY A BLANK SALES CONTRACT WITH MY NAME, CAR MAKE AND MODEL AND VIN WITH PRICE PAID. I HV REPEATEDLY TRIED TO RESOLVE MATTER, DEALER HAS LIED REPEATEDLY AND BILLIGERENT. I HAVE CALLED OWNERS OF DEALERSHIP, BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY, THEY DEFER TO DEALER, DEALER HAS DONE NOTHING, I HAVE TRIED TO TELL PEOPLE AT BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY THIS IS SOMETHING A DEALER HAS DROPPED ON ME, WHO ARE AND REPRESENT THE BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY BRAND, I TOLD BH, I WOULD PERSUE AND SEEK TO EXPOSE TO AUTHORITATIVE ENTITIES, AND PRESS,THEY HAVE DONE NOTHING. I HAVE ALSO FILED A PENDING COMPLAINT WITH TEXAS DMV. I ALSO HAVE ACCORDING TO USE TITLE 18 2511 (2)(D), RECORDED CONVERSATIONS WITH DLRSHIPS USED SALES MNGR, GENERAL MNGR/PARTNER, AND BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY, AND PREVIOUS OWNER WHO TOLD ME WHEN CAR TRADED IN, DLR SD WOLD NOT KEEP DO TO MILES AND AGE, WD GO TO WHOLES AUCTION. I ALSO HV SCREEN SHOT WHERE DEALER CONTINUED TO ADVERTISE CAR FOR SALE AT REDUCED PRICE 12 DAYS AFTER INITIAL DEPOSIT AND OVER A WEEK AFTER WIRE TRNSFER, AND 5 DAYS AFTER DELIVERY. OTHER, PROBLEMS INCLUDED COMPONENTS ADVERTISED OR OPTIONS NOT INCLUDED. TOYOTA TOW PKG, TURNED OUT TO BE UHAUL HITCH BOLTED ON, NO WIRING TO EVEN COONECT TO BRAKES, AND NO ADDITIONAL RADIATOR/FANS/ TO AID IN HAULING /TOWING, AND NO STELLITE RADIO AS ADVERTISED. ORIGINAL AD PHOTOS FAKED

View Details

SEATS

8/12/2018 - WINDCREST, TX
I WAS SOLD OVER INTERNET BY VANDERGRIFT TOYOTA OF ARLINGTON,TX A FALSELY ADVERTISED 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER,THAT WAS DELIVERED TO ME IN SAN ANTONIO, TX IN ENCLIMATE WEATHER AND WHILE I WAS IN A FULL BODY BRACE, I HAD TOLD THEM OF WEATHER, AND WAS IN DOWN POUR WHEN THEY DELIVERED, I WAS UNABLE TO EXAMINE CAR IN MY CONDITION AND WEATHER TILL NEXT MORNING. CAR HAD BEEN WRECKED, HAD SILT IN REAR TAIL LIGHTS, I TRIED TO HAVE DEALERSHIP FIX IT, BY TAKING CAR BACK TO THEM, I DID NOT HV ANOTHER CAR. THE CONDITIONS OF THE CAR WERE NEVER DISCLOSED, I DID NOT RECEIVED A BUYERS GUIDE, ONLY A BLANK SALES CONTRACT WITH MY NAME, CAR MAKE AND MODEL AND VIN WITH PRICE PAID. I HV REPEATEDLY TRIED TO RESOLVE MATTER, DEALER HAS LIED REPEATEDLY AND BILLIGERENT. I HAVE CALLED OWNERS OF DEALERSHIP, BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY, THEY DEFER TO DEALER, DEALER HAS DONE NOTHING, I HAVE TRIED TO TELL PEOPLE AT BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY THIS IS SOMETHING A DEALER HAS DROPPED ON ME, WHO ARE AND REPRESENT THE BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY BRAND, I TOLD BH, I WOULD PERSUE AND SEEK TO EXPOSE TO AUTHORITATIVE ENTITIES, AND PRESS,THEY HAVE DONE NOTHING. I HAVE ALSO FILED A PENDING COMPLAINT WITH TEXAS DMV. I ALSO HAVE ACCORDING TO USE TITLE 18 2511 (2)(D), RECORDED CONVERSATIONS WITH DLRSHIPS USED SALES MNGR, GENERAL MNGR/PARTNER, AND BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY, AND PREVIOUS OWNER WHO TOLD ME WHEN CAR TRADED IN, DLR SD WOLD NOT KEEP DO TO MILES AND AGE, WD GO TO WHOLES AUCTION. I ALSO HV SCREEN SHOT WHERE DEALER CONTINUED TO ADVERTISE CAR FOR SALE AT REDUCED PRICE 12 DAYS AFTER INITIAL DEPOSIT AND OVER A WEEK AFTER WIRE TRNSFER, AND 5 DAYS AFTER DELIVERY. OTHER, PROBLEMS INCLUDED COMPONENTS ADVERTISED OR OPTIONS NOT INCLUDED. TOYOTA TOW PKG, TURNED OUT TO BE UHAUL HITCH BOLTED ON, NO WIRING TO EVEN COONECT TO BRAKES, AND NO ADDITIONAL RADIATOR/FANS/ TO AID IN HAULING /TOWING, AND NO STELLITE RADIO AS ADVERTISED. ORIGINAL AD PHOTOS FAKED

View Details

STEERING

8/7/2018 - EATONVILLE, WA
AUGUST 4,2018 BACKING ON OF GARAGE AND POWER STEERING COMPLEXLY QUIT WORKING. YOU CAN STILL STEER BUT WITH GREAT EFFORT , MILEAGE 134,521. IN MARCH 1, 2015 POWER STEERING QUIT WORKING WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET AT ABOUT 25MPH MAKING IT VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN .IT HAD 88644 MILES. THE TOYOTA DEALER REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN PART # 45250-48181 & COMPUTER PART # 89650-48060. TWO STEERING FAILURES IN 134,000 SEEMS RATHER HIGH IN A SYSTEM THAT IMPORTANT.. THERE WAS NO PRIOR WARNING AND HAD THEY OCCURRED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ON A WINDING RROAD ONE COULD HAVE LOST CONTROL ON THE VEHICLE.08

View Details

AIR BAGS: CLOCKSPRING

8/2/2018 - BEAVERTON, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY, WHICH WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. IN ADDITION, THE HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL BECAME COMPLETELY INOPERATIVE. THE DEALER (ROYAL MOORE TOYOTA, 1415 SOUTHEAST RIVER ROAD, HILLSBORO, OREGON 97124) DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPIRAL CABLE IN THE AIR BAG NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER (BEAVERTON TOYOTA, 4300 SOUTHWEST MURRAY BLVD, BEAVERTON, OREGON 97705) SERVICED THE VEHICLE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V168000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH CASE NUMBER: 1807132735. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2018 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
THE SUNROOF, IN IT'S ENTIRETY FLEW OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE. THE SUNROOF WAS OPEN, SO WE CLOSED IT AND IT BEGAN MAKING A WEIRD NOISE, SO WE BEGAN TO RE-OPEN THE ROOF, AND THE ENTIRE PIECE OF GLASS FLEW OFF. WE WERE ON AN INTERSTATE, GOING ABOUT 70MPH, AND HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE SUNROOF UNTIL IT FLEW OFF. THANKFULLY, WE DID NOT SEE IT EFFECT ANY CARS AND LANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/27/2017 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S WINDOW INTERMITTENTLY CEASED TO FUNCTION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 103,659. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/4/2017 - LANETT, AL
THE SUN VISOR REPEATEDLY FLOPS DOWN OBSCURING THE DRIVER'S VIEW. THE VISOR WILL NOT STAY IN THE "UP" POSITION. ALSO WHEN ENTERING THE VEHICLE, IF THE VISOR IS IN THE VERTICAL POSITION, I.E. NOT UP WHERE IT SHOULD BE, THE DRIVER WILL HIT HIS/HER HEAD ON THE EDGE OF THE VISOR. THIS ISSUE IS NOT NEW TO THIS VEHICLE, THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL FOR EARLIER YEAR MODELS AS WELL AS OTHER TOYOTA MODELS AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

8/10/2017 - MELBOURNE, FL
WHEN YOU DRIVE BACK AND TURN, THE TIRES MAKE A STRANGE MOVEMENT, IT SEEMS LIKE IT WILL BE DETACHED FROM THE AXLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2017 - FREDERICKBURG, VA
OIL COOLER HOSE BURST IN CAR. YO HAVE ABOUT 20 SECONDS TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF BEFORE IT SEIZES UP BECAUSE ALL THE OIL IS POURING OUT OF THE CAR. WE HAD IT TOWED TO MIDAS DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIXED IT. I CALLED TOYOTA BECAUSE I NOTICED THEY HAD A CUSTOMER SUPPORT PROGRAM COVERING THIS PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD IF I WOULD HAVE TAKEN IT STRAIGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP, IT WOULD BE COVERED BUT INSTEAD I HAD TO SUBMIT PAPERWORK WHICH I DID. WELL IT IS NOT COVERED. THEY ARE CLAIMING THAT THE PART ON THE INVOICE IS NOT COVERED. HOWEVER, THE OIL COOLER HOSE THAT BURST WHICH IS ORIGINAL TO THE CAR WAS RUBBER AND THE TOYOTA REPLACEMENT PART IS METAL. THEY ARE MERELY NOT COVERING THIS BECAUSE IT IS NOT A RECALL AND THEY ARE NOT GETTING IN TROUBLE FOR IT. IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE, AS WHEN THIS BURSTS (WITH NO HEADS UP), YOU HAVE ONLY A FEW SECONDS TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. TOYOTA IS FULLY AWARE OF THE ISSUE BUT THE GOV'T HAS NOT REQUIRED THEM TO PUT IN A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds