Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (7) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/27/2017 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
THE COOLANT PUMP PULLEY BROKE AND ENGINE GOT OVERHEATED AND STOPPED ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY AND HAD TO BE TOWED. THE VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 60K MILES ON IT. DEALER TELLS ME THAT BOTH THE ENGINE AND WATER PUMP HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND WOULD COST OVER $9,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/28/2017 - WINCHENDON, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/4/2017 - CHUBBUCK, ID
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN IN EARLY 2015, THE DRIVER'S SIDE VISOR BEGAN TO FAIL IN MY 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER VIN [XXX]. MY DESCRIPTION OF THE WORD FAIL, FOR THE VISOR, IS THAT IT WOULD NO LONGER STAY IN THE CLOSED STORED POSITION. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, A BUMP, ROAD VIBRATION, OR OTHER FACTOR WOULD CAUSE THE DRIVER'S SIDE VISOR TO LOWER FROM ITS CLOSED STORED POSITION AND THUS IMPAIRING DRIVER VISIBILITY. EVENTUALLY THE FAULTY VISOR WOULD LOWER TO THE POINT OF BEING A HAZARDOUS DISTRACTION. LOWERING ONLY PARTIALLY, IT WOULD FREQUENTLY IMPAIR THE DRIVER?S VISION OF THE ROAD. THIS FAILED VISOR IS NOT A CONDITION LIMITED TO THE 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. I HAVE ATTACHED A COPY OF WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM ZF1 WHICH DESCRIBES THE CONDITION I HAVE DEALT WITH. WHILE IT IS UNCLEAR WHY TOYOTA LIMITED THIS WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT TO CERTAIN 2010 TO 2013 HIGHLANDERS, I SEE LITTLE OR NO DIFFERENCE TO THE DESIGN FLAW WHICH HAS OCCURRENCE IN THE 2009 HIGHLANDER I OWN. AFTER READING THROUGH MANY FORUMS, IN REGARDS TO THE HIGHLANDER, THE FAILING VISOR IS A SAFETY/VISIBILITY PROBLEM, COMMON TO MANY NEWER AND OLDER MODEL YEARS IN THE TOYOTA HIGHLANDER AFTER DEALING WITH THE FAULTY EQUIPMENT FOR A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF TIME, I PURCHASED A REPLACEMENT VISOR AT [XXX] TOYOTA. I PAID THE PRICE OF THE PART ONLY IN THE AMOUNT OF $89.11 PLUS TAX, NO LABOR. I INSTALLED THE PART MYSELF. ADDITIONALLY, I AM REQUESTING FULL REIMBURSEMENT FROM TOYOTA FOR THE REPLACEMENT PART TO RESOLVE THIS IMPAIRED VISIBILITY SAFETY CONDITION IN THE AMOUNT OF $89.11. PLEASE REMIT PAYMENT, AND RESOLUTION OF THE ENHANCED REVIEW TO [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/21/2017 - BALLWIN, MO
MY VEHICLE HAS AN ISSUE WITH THE DOOR LOCKS WHICH IS A SAFETY CONCERN, THE POWER DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS HAVE REPEATEDLY FAILED ON MY VEHICLE. EACH OF THE FOUR DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND SEVERAL MULTIPLE TIMES. THE MOST RECENT WAS A DRIVERS (LEFT) SIDE REAR WHICH WAS REPLACED IN MARCH 2014 AND FAILED AGAIN. THIS MAKES THE 6TH OR 7TH TIME AN ACTUATOR HAS FAILED ON MY VEHICLE. THE COST TO REPLACE THESE IS APPROXIMATELY $600. HOWEVER MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS THAT THE VEHICLE IS UNLOCKED WHEN I BELIEVE IT IS LOCKED. THIS IS A WORRY BOTH WHEN TRANSPORTING YOUNG CHILDREN (WHO CAN OPEN THE DOOR AS CHILD SAFETY LOCKS ARE INOPERATIVE) AND POTENTIAL UNAUTHORIZED ACCESS OR THEFT OF THE VEHICLE. I OPENED A CASE WITH TOYOTA #1701210527. TOYOTA REFUSE TO CONTINUE TO ASSIST WITH THIS OR DETERMINE WHY MY VEHICLE REPEATEDLY HAS DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS FAIL.

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2016 - ST LOUIS, MO
2009 HIGHLANDER, PURCHASED NEW, HAD 105000 MILES ON 3.5L V6 ENGINE. OIL CHANGED EVERY 7000 MILES, FULLY SYNTHETIC. NO WARNING LIGHTS OR ENGINE NOISES PRIOR TO INCIDENT. CAR STARTED AFTER WORK, DROVE .6 MILE. STARTED RUNNING VERY ROUGH, PULLED OVER TO SHOULDER THINKING I HAD A FLAT TIRE. CAR DIED BEFORE FINISHING MANEUVER, COASTED TO SHOULDER. ENGINE WOULD NOT START. TOWED TO REPAIR SHOP, THEY DIAGNOSED "ENGINE FULLY SEIZED UP". CONTACTED TOYOTA, THEY OFFERED NO SATISFACTION AS " CAR NOT BEING REPAIRED BY DEALER, NOT UNDER WARRANTY". I FIND THIS ANSWER TO BE WRONG, DUE TO LOW MILEAGE, HISTORY OF MAINTENANCE, NO REASON FOR CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF ENGINE. MECHANIC STATED THEORY OF "OIL PORTS CLOGGING UP", SINCE HEARD THEORY OF "OIL PUMP FAILURE".

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2016 - RED HOOK, NY
MARCH 10, 2016 VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR OIL CHANGE. PARKED VEHICLE AFTER RETURN HOME (10 MILES DRIVE BETWEEN DEALERSHIP AND HOME) SAME DAY AND AFTER A FEW HOURS, NOTICED ALL OIL HAD LEAKED FROM VEHICLE. VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO DEALER THAT DAY. UPON INVESTIGATION DEALER SAID THE PROBLEM WAS THE OIL COOLER PIPE. DEALER SAID TOYOTA ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN T-SB-0201-11 OVER 5 YEARS PRIOR THAT ISSUED A REPAIR PROCEDURE TO REPLACE THIS OIL COOLER PIPE. DEALER REPLACED OIL COOLER PIPE UNDER WARRANTY PER TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN AND ASSURED ME THAT NO DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE WAS "APPARENT" AFTER THE REPAIR. JULY 18, 2016 RETURNED TO SAME DEALER FOR A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE MAKING A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND UPON FAST ACCELERATION. DEALER DIAGNOSED PROBLEM AS A ROD KNOCK AND CONFIRMED IT WAS DUE TO THE OIL COOLER PIPE LEAK FROM MARCH. THE REPAIR INVOLVES REPLACING THE ENGINE AN EXTENSIVE AND VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR. TOYOTA NEEDS TO MAKE THIS TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN PROBLEM A RECALL TO AVOID UNNECESSARY ENGINE DAMAGE AND POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD TO THE 533500 ESTIMATED VEHICLES INCLUDED IN THE BULLETIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2016 - TROY, MI
THE CAR WAS PURCHASED FROM KOOL TOYOTA, GRAND RAPIDS, MI BACK 19 NOV 2009. THEN IT WAS GIVEN BACK TO DEALER IN MARCH 2010. MOTION SICKNESS / MIND NUMBNESS, THOUGHT IMPAIRMENTS, SPEECH IMPAIRMENTS, ETC.. CAR WAS CHECKED BY LOCAL DEALER AS WELL SHOWING NO SIGNS OF ANY ISSUES. LOST I THINK AROUND $10,000 DOLLARS TO RETURN THE CAR BACK TO DEALER. DRIVER AND PASSENGERS THROUGH THE CAR WERE AFFECTED. THE CAR WAS SET IN THE GARAGE UNUSED MOST OF THE TIME BETWEEN PURCHASE AND RETURN TO DEALER. WENT THROUGH TOYOTA DEALER DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROCESS. I STILL HAVE RECORDS. DID NOT HAVE TIME AND/OR UNDERSTANDING WHO ELSE TO CONTACT BACK IN 2010.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2016 - ASHBURN, VA
THE WATER PUMP WENT ON MY TOYOTA HIGHLAND. I LOOKED IT UP ONLINE AND FOUND OUT THE WATER PUMPS ARE FAULTY AND WILL MAKE A SOUND LIKE THERE IS GRAVEL IN THE MOTOR. I HAD TOYOTA FIX THE PROBLEM UNDER WARRANTY, BUT I LOOKED ONLINE AND FOUND THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO DUE TO BEING BAD PUMPS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/20/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE POWER BACK DOOR/LIFTGATE DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY. THE READ DOOR OF THE HIGHLANDER WOULD COME WITHIN AN INCH OF CLOSING WHEN YOU OPERATED THE POWERED CLOSE FUNCTION AND STOP, REQUIRING A PHYSICAL NUDGE TO COMPLETELY ENGAGE THE LOCK AND CLOSE. THIS WENT ON FOR ABOUT A YEAR UNTIL ONE DAY THERE WAS A LOUD CRUNCHING NOISE WHEN IT WAS CLOSED AND WOULD NOT OPEN. AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR SOLUTIONS AND FINDING THIS IS AN EXTREMELY COMMON PROBLEM (EVEN SEVERAL WEBSITES DEDICATED TO FORMING CLASS ACTION LAWSUITS) INCLUDING TOYOTA ISSUING T-SB-0091-12, I CALLED TOYOTA'S HELP LINE WHERE I WAS VERY RUDELY TOLD THAT SINCE THE WARRANTEE WAS OVER, THEY WOULD NOT COVER ANY OF IT. WE HAVE A 1 YEAR OLD BABY AND WE GOT THIS CAR WITH THAT IN MIND. WE CURRENTLY HAVE NO ACCESS TO THE TRUNK AND CANNOT FIT HER STROLLER IN THROUGH THE WINDOW. WE ARE NOW FACED WITH A SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLAR REPAIR! I DISASSEMBLED THE PART MYSELF TO FIND OUT THAT THE METAL GEAR ABOUT 1/2 AN INCH THICK HAD SHEARED OFF AND BROKEN - EXACTLY AS SHOWN IN FIGURE 2 OF THEIR OFFICIAL BULLETIN. TOYOTA TRIED TO BLAME US FOR THE FAILURE SAYING WE PROBABLY TRIED TO CLOSE THE DOOR ON CARGO (WE DID NOT) AND THAT THIS IS NOT A KNOWN ISSUE (WHY WOULD THEY ISSUE A TSB IF THIS WAS NOT A FREQUENT ISSUE?). FROM RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET, THERE APPEARS TO BE MANY MANY PEOPLE WITH THIS PROBLEM AND UNFORTUNATELY FOR US, OUR OCCURRED OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTEE PERIOD SO WE ARE LEFT WITH LITTLE RECOURSE. I THINK IT WOULD BE APPROPRIATE FOR TOYOTA TO EXTEND COVERAGE FOR THIS COMMON ISSUE SINCE ITS FAILURE MAKES THE TRUNK UNUSABLE AND BECAUSE IT HAS SUCH A COMMON OCCURRENCE. TSB: HTTP://MEDIA.FIXED-OPS.COM/TOY_SERVICEBULLETINS/SB0091T12.PDF

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/26/2015 - FRANKLIN, TN
LIFTGATE WILL NOT CLOSE OR OPEN WHEN AUTOMATIC BUTTON IS PUSHED EITHER ON THE DASH OR THE BUTTON ON THE LIFTGATE ITSELF. STAYS OPEN AND HAVE TO FORCE THE LIFTGATE DOWN MANUALLY. AT TIMES LIFTGATE WILL OPEN BY ITSELF WHILE STATIONARY OR VEHICLE IS MOVING. CLOSING OR OPENING THE LIFTGATE AUTOMATICALLY PROBLEM HAS BE ONGOING FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS. BROUGHT TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT REPAIR, BUT I COULD TAKE TO BODY SHOP FOR REPAIR. CURRENTLY A SERVICE BULLETIN HAS BEEN ISSUED, BUT SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds