Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (7) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/24/2015 - MILLERSVILLE, MD
THIS VEHICLE HAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MOST MECHANIC SHOPS I TOOK IT WERE NOT ABLE TO FIND OUT THE NATURE OF THE PROBLEM. I'VE CHANGED THE BATTERY TWICE AND STILL EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM. AT THE HIGH WAY I NOTICED THE THAT THE TEMPERATURE OF THE ENGINE GETS HIGH, WHICH OBLIGED TO DRIVE IN A MUCH LOWER SPEED WITH THE FLASHERS ON WHICH ALWAYS INCREASES THE TRAFFIC SAFETY RISKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2015 - LEWISVILLE , TX
THE POWER TAILGATE WILL NOT OPEN AND CLOSE AUTOMATICALLY. YOU HAVE TO FORCE IT TO OPEN MANUALLY AND FORCE IT TO CLOSE MANUALLY BECAUSE THE MOTOR GETS STUCK IN ONE POSITION. WE CALLED THE TOYOTA TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY RECALLS AFTER READING SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET AND FEW LAWSUITS AGAINST TOYOTA FOR THE SAME PROBLEM, AND TOYOTA SAID NO THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR THE TAILGATE MOTOR. THE MOTOR ITSELF COSTS ABOUT $1200 AND ONLY THE TOYOTA HAS IT, PLUS THE LABOR TO REPLACE IT WHICH COULD AMOUNTS UP TO $1500 IF YOU FIND AN OUTSIDE MECHANIC/BODY SHOP TO DO IT FOR YOU. IN ADDITION, YOU MIGHT NEED TO CHANGE THE RAILS AND SHOCKS THAT HOLD THE TAILGATE TO THE BODY OF THE CAR. IF YOU TAKE IT TO THE TOYOTA, IT COULD COST CLOSE TO $5000.00. SINCE THIS HAS OCCURRED WITH TOO MANY CONSUMERS, WE BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT COULD CAUSE SOME INJURIES IF SOMEONE GETS TRAPPED BETWEEN THE TAILGATE AND THE REAR BUMPER/CARGO AREA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE

4/18/2015 - LEWISVILLE , TX
THE POWER TAILGATE WILL NOT OPEN AND CLOSE AUTOMATICALLY. YOU HAVE TO FORCE IT TO OPEN MANUALLY AND FORCE IT TO CLOSE MANUALLY BECAUSE THE MOTOR GETS STUCK IN ONE POSITION. WE CALLED THE TOYOTA TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY RECALLS AFTER READING SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET AND FEW LAWSUITS AGAINST TOYOTA FOR THE SAME PROBLEM, AND TOYOTA SAID NO THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR THE TAILGATE MOTOR. THE MOTOR ITSELF COSTS ABOUT $1200 AND ONLY THE TOYOTA HAS IT, PLUS THE LABOR TO REPLACE IT WHICH COULD AMOUNTS UP TO $1500 IF YOU FIND AN OUTSIDE MECHANIC/BODY SHOP TO DO IT FOR YOU. IN ADDITION, YOU MIGHT NEED TO CHANGE THE RAILS AND SHOCKS THAT HOLD THE TAILGATE TO THE BODY OF THE CAR. IF YOU TAKE IT TO THE TOYOTA, IT COULD COST CLOSE TO $5000.00. SINCE THIS HAS OCCURRED WITH TOO MANY CONSUMERS, WE BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT COULD CAUSE SOME INJURIES IF SOMEONE GETS TRAPPED BETWEEN THE TAILGATE AND THE REAR BUMPER/CARGO AREA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SEAT. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V743000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2015 - SPRING, TX
THE TAILGATE MOTOR UNEXPECTEDLY MALFUNCTIONED AND CLOSED THE DOOR IN AN UNBALANCED WAY CAUSING THE BREAKING OF THE TAILGATE HINGES / ARMS. THE TAILGATE STOPPED / FROZE AND REMAINED AJAR ABOUT 1 INCH ON RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE DOOR AND LATCHING ON DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE DOOR. THE DOOR WOULD NOT MANUALLY OR ELECTRONICALLY OPEN BACK UP. HAD TO HAVE THE DOOR PHYSICALLY REMOVED BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND REPLACED ENTIRE TAILGATE HATCH, MOTOR AND HINGES. COSTING ME IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD OF $5,000 FOR PARTS, LABOR, AND A RENTAL CAR FOR 12 DAYS TO REPAIR AS MY INSURANCE WITH PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE DECLINED COVERAGE UNDER MY COMPREHENSIVE INSURANCE AS THEY RELATED BACK TO WEAR AND TEAR. POTENTIAL SEVERE CRUSHING INJURY OR FATALITY COULD HAVE RESULTED FROM WHAT OCCURRED. SINCE THE DOOR CONTINUED TO CLOSE AFTER MALFUNCTIONING AND FROZE IN PLACE (UNABLE TO PHYSICALLY OPEN), HAD SOMEONE'S HAND OR BODY PART BEEN CAUGHT UNDER COULD HAVE RESULTED IN BEING CAUGHT / TRAPPED BETWEEN THE DOOR AND THE LATCHING AREA. QUICK SEARCH ON THE INTERNET SHOWS THAT THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THAT THIS HAS OCCURRED. ALL SHOWING SIMILAR COST ASSOCIATED WITH REPAIR AND ALL WITH THE SAME LIFE ALTERING OR SEVERE INJURY CONSEQUENCE. WOULD LIKE TO GET TOYOTA TO RECALL THE HIGHLANDER AND FIX THE FAULTY MOTOR BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR WORSE, KILLED BY THIS DEFAULT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE

3/31/2015 - SPRING, TX
THE TAILGATE MOTOR UNEXPECTEDLY MALFUNCTIONED AND CLOSED THE DOOR IN AN UNBALANCED WAY CAUSING THE BREAKING OF THE TAILGATE HINGES / ARMS. THE TAILGATE STOPPED / FROZE AND REMAINED AJAR ABOUT 1 INCH ON RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE DOOR AND LATCHING ON DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE DOOR. THE DOOR WOULD NOT MANUALLY OR ELECTRONICALLY OPEN BACK UP. HAD TO HAVE THE DOOR PHYSICALLY REMOVED BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND REPLACED ENTIRE TAILGATE HATCH, MOTOR AND HINGES. COSTING ME IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD OF $5,000 FOR PARTS, LABOR, AND A RENTAL CAR FOR 12 DAYS TO REPAIR AS MY INSURANCE WITH PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE DECLINED COVERAGE UNDER MY COMPREHENSIVE INSURANCE AS THEY RELATED BACK TO WEAR AND TEAR. POTENTIAL SEVERE CRUSHING INJURY OR FATALITY COULD HAVE RESULTED FROM WHAT OCCURRED. SINCE THE DOOR CONTINUED TO CLOSE AFTER MALFUNCTIONING AND FROZE IN PLACE (UNABLE TO PHYSICALLY OPEN), HAD SOMEONE'S HAND OR BODY PART BEEN CAUGHT UNDER COULD HAVE RESULTED IN BEING CAUGHT / TRAPPED BETWEEN THE DOOR AND THE LATCHING AREA. QUICK SEARCH ON THE INTERNET SHOWS THAT THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THAT THIS HAS OCCURRED. ALL SHOWING SIMILAR COST ASSOCIATED WITH REPAIR AND ALL WITH THE SAME LIFE ALTERING OR SEVERE INJURY CONSEQUENCE. WOULD LIKE TO GET TOYOTA TO RECALL THE HIGHLANDER AND FIX THE FAULTY MOTOR BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR WORSE, KILLED BY THIS DEFAULT

View Details

ENGINE

1/31/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
MASSIVE OIL LEAK FROM OIL COOLER LINE OF 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER WITH TOW PACKAGE AT ~78,000 MILES. RUBBER HOSES BURST AND OIL LEAKED OUT FROM ENGINE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/21/2015 - BRADENTON, FL
THE DRIVER SIDE SUN VISOR DROOPS DOWN. TOYOTA IS NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE. IT SEEMS TO BE HAPPENING ALOT. IT FALLS WHILE I'M DRIVING, AND I'M AFRAID IT WILL CAUSE ME TO GET IN A WRECK. TOYOTA NEEDS TO RECALL THIS VISOR. POOR DESIGN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2014 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT WITH THIS VEHICLE, HOWEVER I WAS TOLD BY TOYOTA TO CHECK THIS WEBSITE TO SEE IF MY PARTICULAR YEAR AND MODEL IS ONE OF THE ONES AFFECTED BY THE AIRBAG MALFUNCTION. IF SO, I WANT TO GET IT IN TO BE REPAIRED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE IN CASE THERE IS AN ACCIDENT AND SOMEONE IN MY VEHICLE IS KILLED OR INJURED. I AM A SPORTS MOM SO AT TIMES I HAVE 6 CHILDREN IN MY VEHICLE AND 2 ARE MY GRANDCHILDREN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/2/2014 - NORTHBROOK, IL
LIFTGATE DOES WILL NOT OPEN. SCHAUMBURG TOYOTA REPORTED THE FOLLOWING ON THEIR SERVICE REPORT THE FOLLOWING: "FOUND AUTO OPEN & CLOSE MOTOR SEIZED. NEED: TO GO TO BODYSHOP - REPLACE L/HINGE, MOTOR-DOOR". TOYOTA SCHAUMBURG IS SPECULATING (PURE SPECULATION) THAT THE CAR WAS BUMPED INTO AND THEREFORE THE DISTANCES (WHICH DISTANCES ?) ARE SKEWED. WE (OWNERS) BELIEVE THAT NO SUCH INCIDENCE HAPPENED. WE E-MAILED TOYOTA (CASE # [XXX].) WHO REFERRED US BACK TO [XXX]. [XXX] DID CALL BUT OFFERED NO PROOF OF THEIR SPECULATION (THAT THE CAR WAS BUMPED INTO), NEITHER DID [XXX] PROVIDE THE MISALIGNMENT NUMBERS. [XXX] DID MENTION THAT TOYOTA HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BUT THEY WILL HONOR THE PROBLEM ONLY WITHIN 3 MONTHS/36,000 MILES. THE POWER TO MY LIFTGATE IS NOW DISABLED AND I WOULD LIKE FOR TOYOTA TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY HAVE KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND THEREFORE MAKE THE LIFTGATE FULLY FUNCTIONAL (POWER CONNECTED) FOR ME. WE (OWNERS) ARE HONEST WHEN WE SAY THAT THE CARE WAS NOT BUMPED INTO FROM REAR-SIDE AND WE SHOULD NOT BE PAYING FOR THESE REPAIRS. I HAVE TRIED MY BEST TO WORK IT OUT WITH TOYOTA CORPORATION AND SCHAUMBURG TOYOTA, HOWEVER, BOTH ARE TRYING TO DEFLECT THE RESPONSIBILITY AWAY FROM THEMSELVES. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds