Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (7) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/2/2014 - NORTHBROOK, IL
LIFTGATE DOES WILL NOT OPEN. SCHAUMBURG TOYOTA REPORTED THE FOLLOWING ON THEIR SERVICE REPORT THE FOLLOWING: "FOUND AUTO OPEN & CLOSE MOTOR SEIZED. NEED: TO GO TO BODYSHOP - REPLACE L/HINGE, MOTOR-DOOR". TOYOTA SCHAUMBURG IS SPECULATING (PURE SPECULATION) THAT THE CAR WAS BUMPED INTO AND THEREFORE THE DISTANCES (WHICH DISTANCES ?) ARE SKEWED. WE (OWNERS) BELIEVE THAT NO SUCH INCIDENCE HAPPENED. WE E-MAILED TOYOTA (CASE # [XXX].) WHO REFERRED US BACK TO [XXX]. [XXX] DID CALL BUT OFFERED NO PROOF OF THEIR SPECULATION (THAT THE CAR WAS BUMPED INTO), NEITHER DID [XXX] PROVIDE THE MISALIGNMENT NUMBERS. [XXX] DID MENTION THAT TOYOTA HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BUT THEY WILL HONOR THE PROBLEM ONLY WITHIN 3 MONTHS/36,000 MILES. THE POWER TO MY LIFTGATE IS NOW DISABLED AND I WOULD LIKE FOR TOYOTA TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY HAVE KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND THEREFORE MAKE THE LIFTGATE FULLY FUNCTIONAL (POWER CONNECTED) FOR ME. WE (OWNERS) ARE HONEST WHEN WE SAY THAT THE CARE WAS NOT BUMPED INTO FROM REAR-SIDE AND WE SHOULD NOT BE PAYING FOR THESE REPAIRS. I HAVE TRIED MY BEST TO WORK IT OUT WITH TOYOTA CORPORATION AND SCHAUMBURG TOYOTA, HOWEVER, BOTH ARE TRYING TO DEFLECT THE RESPONSIBILITY AWAY FROM THEMSELVES. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/9/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
THE REAR HATCH IN MY 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER STOPPED WORKING - WITHOUT MISUSE OR HANDLING ON MY PART. AFTER PUSHING THE AUTOMATIC CLOSE BUTTON, THERE WAS A LOUD CLUNK SOUND. THERE WAS NOTHING OBSTRUCTING THE BACK AREA. THE BACK DOOR/HATCH WOULD NOT OPEN, NOR COULD I CLOSE IT. I IMMEDIATELY DROVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP - ON A SATURDAY. I WAS AFRAID MY BACK DOOR WAS GOING TO FLY OPEN. THEY WERE ABLE TO CLOSE THE HATCH BUT IT CANNOT BE OPENED. THE TECHNICIAN CONFIRMED THAT THEY HAD SEEN A LOT OF THESE AND SAID TOYOTA WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT. HE SAID THE PROBLEM IS THE HINGES WERE BENDING AND THEREFORE CAUSING THE DOOR NOT TO SHUT. I WAS ASKED TO RETURN ON MONDAY. AFTER A DIAGNOSTIC TEST, THE SERVICE MANAGER CONFIRMED THAT THE HINGES WERE BENT AND I WOULD NEED A WHOLE NEW DOOR. THE TOTAL COST OF THE PROBLEM COULD BE CLOSE TO $3,000 (DEPENDS ON WHETHER THE MOTOR CAN BE SALVAGED). I WAS ALSO TOLD THIS IS MY RESPONSIBILITY SINCE I AM OUT OF THE 3YR/36K MILE WARRANTY (59K MILES). THERE HAS BEEN A TSB ISSUED FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM, BUT AS HE POINTED OUT, IT IS FOR MALFUNCTION WITHIN THE TIMEFRAME. I HAVE NOT BEEN SUCCESSFUL WITH TOYOTA USA, BUT WILL CONTINUE TO PURSUE THIS. THIS IS A KNOW DEFECT AND SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE OR AT THE VERY LEAST, AN EXTENSION ON THE TIME ASSOCIATED WITH THE TSB. TOYOTA IS REPLACING THE SUBPAR HINGES WITH BETTER ONES. AN ISSUE IS AN ISSUE - EVEN IF IT DOESN'T HAPPEN WITHIN A TIMEFRAME. I HAVE DONE NOTHING TO CAUSE THIS ISSUE. AND NOW BECAUSE TOYOTA USED SUBPAR HINGES, I HAVE TO PAY $3K!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

4/4/2014 - MAHWAH, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIFT GATE FAILED TO OPEN OR CLOSE AUTOMATICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE HATCH PANEL WAS DEFORMED CAUSING THE POWER DOOR MOTOR TO WORK HARDER THAN DESIGNED. AS A RESULT THE POWER HATCH MOTOR, HATCH DOOR, LID HINGES, LID HINGE STAYS, AND REAR BUMPER ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/8/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE DRIVER'S SIDE VISOR NO LONGER STAYS UP, SO IT HAS PROGRESSIVELY DROPPED DOWN TO ABOUT A 30-45 DEGREE ANGLE TOWARD THE DRIVER'S HEAD. THIS IS A LARGE SAFETY HAZARD BOTH FOR GENERAL VISIBILITY WHEN DRIVING AND POTENTIAL CAUSE OF INJURY TO THE HEAD IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED CERTIFIED USED FROM A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. SUCH A PART SHOULD NOT BECOME FAULTY JUST OVER 3 YEARS FROM THE TIME IT WAS ORIGINALLY PUT ON THE MARKET. THE VISOR IS NOT USED AGGRESSIVELY OR EXCESSIVELY. BOTH THE DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA MOTORS WERE CONTACTED REGARDING THIS PROBLEM. TOYOTA ADVISED THIS PART WAS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY TYPE OF STANDARD WARRANTY, DESPITE THE FACT THAT IT IS A SAFETY AND VISIBILITY ISSUE. BOTH PARTIES WERE OF NO ASSISTANCE AND REQUIRED OWNER OF VEHICLE TO PAY FOR COST OF PARTS AND LABOR. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND CONSIDERATION TO THIS MATTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2013 - ENTERPRISE, AL
REAR DOOR/HATCH ELECTRIC MOTOR AND LATCH/LOCK ASSEMBLY FAILED. SEVERAL INCIDENCES OF THE REAR ELECTRIC HATCH FAILING TO SEAT/CLOSE OCCURRED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE DOOR WOULD START DOWN BUT WOULD NOT CLOSE/LATCH. TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT (DOTHAN, AL) SAID THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED AND DID SO. ABOUT ONE MONTH LATER THE DOOR CLOSED WITH A LOUD NOISE AND WOULD NOT OPEN AFTERWARDS. UPON OUTSIDE INSPECTION, I SAW THE DOOR WAS OFFSET ABOUT A QUARTER OF AN INCH TOWARD THE PASSENGER SIDE AND SEATED ABOUT THE SAME (1/4 INCH) FURTHER IN THAN NORMAL. THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN AT ALL AT THAT POINT. THE SAME SERVICE DEPARTMENT INITIALLY ACCUSED ME OF DAMAGING THE CAR IN AN ACCIDENT (UNTRUE). THEY PRIED THE DOOR OPEN, AND RECOMMENDED I DISABLE THE ELECTRIC DOOR MOTOR AND ONLY OPERATE THE DOOR MANUALLY. LATER THE SAME SERVICE PERSONNEL ADMITTED THERE WAS A DESIGN PROBLEM WITH THE DOOR HINGES THAT CAUSED THE FAILURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/5/2013 - ENTERPRISE, AL
REAR DOOR/HATCH ELECTRIC MOTOR AND LATCH/LOCK ASSEMBLY FAILED. SEVERAL INCIDENCES OF THE REAR ELECTRIC HATCH FAILING TO SEAT/CLOSE OCCURRED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE DOOR WOULD START DOWN BUT WOULD NOT CLOSE/LATCH. TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT (DOTHAN, AL) SAID THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED AND DID SO. ABOUT ONE MONTH LATER THE DOOR CLOSED WITH A LOUD NOISE AND WOULD NOT OPEN AFTERWARDS. UPON OUTSIDE INSPECTION, I SAW THE DOOR WAS OFFSET ABOUT A QUARTER OF AN INCH TOWARD THE PASSENGER SIDE AND SEATED ABOUT THE SAME (1/4 INCH) FURTHER IN THAN NORMAL. THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN AT ALL AT THAT POINT. THE SAME SERVICE DEPARTMENT INITIALLY ACCUSED ME OF DAMAGING THE CAR IN AN ACCIDENT (UNTRUE). THEY PRIED THE DOOR OPEN, AND RECOMMENDED I DISABLE THE ELECTRIC DOOR MOTOR AND ONLY OPERATE THE DOOR MANUALLY. LATER THE SAME SERVICE PERSONNEL ADMITTED THERE WAS A DESIGN PROBLEM WITH THE DOOR HINGES THAT CAUSED THE FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

9/5/2013 - ENTERPRISE, AL
ABOUT EIGHTY MILES/TWO DAYS PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, AN INTERMITTENT WHINE/HUMMING NOISE WAS HEARD IN THE VICINITY OF THE DRIVER SIDE DASH AREA WHILE TURNING AT SLOW SPEEDS. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT UNUSUAL AS THE POWER STEERING IS ELECTRICALLY ASSISTED AND THE ELECTRIC MOTOR WAS LIKELY MAKING THE NOISE. TWO DAYS AFTER THE FIRST SOUNDS, THE POWER STEERING FAILED UPON ENGINE START. THE STEERING WHEEL IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN NOW.

View Details

STEERING: ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

9/5/2013 - ENTERPRISE, AL
ABOUT EIGHTY MILES/TWO DAYS PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, AN INTERMITTENT WHINE/HUMMING NOISE WAS HEARD IN THE VICINITY OF THE DRIVER SIDE DASH AREA WHILE TURNING AT SLOW SPEEDS. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT UNUSUAL AS THE POWER STEERING IS ELECTRICALLY ASSISTED AND THE ELECTRIC MOTOR WAS LIKELY MAKING THE NOISE. TWO DAYS AFTER THE FIRST SOUNDS, THE POWER STEERING FAILED UPON ENGINE START. THE STEERING WHEEL IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN NOW.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/8/2013 - ORADELL, NJ
AS MY WIFE CAME HOW WITH MY DAUGHTER, SHE PROCEEDED TO REVERSE THE CAR INTO OUR DRIVEWAY TO PARK THE CAR IN OUR GARAGE AS SHE NORMALLY DOES EVERYDAY. IN THE DRIVEWAY WAS ALSO MY CAR WHERE IT IS PARKED EVERYDAY. AS SHE WAS PROCEEDING TO GO BACK, THE CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND TOOK OFF. SHE TRIED TO PRESS THE BRAKE BUT TO NO AVAIL. SHE CONTINUED TO PRESS THE BRAKE, HOWEVER THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP. SHE PROCEEDED TO HIT MY CAR AND DAMAGED BOTH CARS FROM FRONT TO BACK. HER CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE, AND MINE ON THE DRIVER SIDE. AFTER HITTING BOTH CARS, HER CAR PROCEEDED TO GO FURTHER BACK AND CRASH INTO THE HOUSE CAUSING MAJOR DAMAGE. THAT IS WHEN THE CAR ACTUALLY STOPPED. IT WAS AT THIS TIME THAT SHE WAS ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURN THE CAR OFF. BOTH CARS AND THE HOUSE NOW NEED MAJOR REPAIRS. MY DAUGHTER WAS SITTING IN THE BACK AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/8/2013 - ORADELL, NJ
AS MY WIFE CAME HOW WITH MY DAUGHTER, SHE PROCEEDED TO REVERSE THE CAR INTO OUR DRIVEWAY TO PARK THE CAR IN OUR GARAGE AS SHE NORMALLY DOES EVERYDAY. IN THE DRIVEWAY WAS ALSO MY CAR WHERE IT IS PARKED EVERYDAY. AS SHE WAS PROCEEDING TO GO BACK, THE CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND TOOK OFF. SHE TRIED TO PRESS THE BRAKE BUT TO NO AVAIL. SHE CONTINUED TO PRESS THE BRAKE, HOWEVER THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP. SHE PROCEEDED TO HIT MY CAR AND DAMAGED BOTH CARS FROM FRONT TO BACK. HER CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE, AND MINE ON THE DRIVER SIDE. AFTER HITTING BOTH CARS, HER CAR PROCEEDED TO GO FURTHER BACK AND CRASH INTO THE HOUSE CAUSING MAJOR DAMAGE. THAT IS WHEN THE CAR ACTUALLY STOPPED. IT WAS AT THIS TIME THAT SHE WAS ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURN THE CAR OFF. BOTH CARS AND THE HOUSE NOW NEED MAJOR REPAIRS. MY DAUGHTER WAS SITTING IN THE BACK AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds