Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2009 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 293 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (7) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Seats (4) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (93)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (48) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (19) Power Train (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/13/2019 - FAIRHOPE, AL
STEERING COLUMN CREAKS AND STICKS. AT TIMES IT DOES NOT RETURN TO THE NEUTRAL POSITION. ONE OF THE PEOPLE WHO SERVICED MY CAR FOR TIRES TODAY ALMOST HIT A RETAINING POST DUE TO THIS ISSUE. I HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED THE STICKING OF THE STEERING IN ONE POSITION AND HAD TO FORCIBLY RETURN THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE NEUTRAL POSITION. I AM NOT FEELING SAFE IN THIS VEHICLE AND KNOW THAT THIS ISSUE IS IMPACTING THE VALUE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DIFFERENTIAL UNIT

5/15/2019 - BOISE, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT HEARD ABNORMAL NOISES COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/2/2019 - ALMO, KY
ON MAY 26, 2016, MY MOTHER WAS TRAVELING NORTH ON I-69 NEAR EDDYVILLE, KENTUCKY IN HER 2009 TOYOTA RAV4 WITH MY SON IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. A DRIVER TRAVELING SOUTH ON I-69 CROSSED THE MEDIAN INTO THE NORTHBOUND LANE, AND COLLIDED WITH MY MOTHER'S VEHICLE HEAD-ON. AT THE TIME OF THE COLLISION, BOTH MY MOTHER AND SON WERE WEARING THEIR SEAT BELTS, HOWEVER, THE SEAT BELTS DID NOT WORK PROPERLY AND CONTRIBUTED TO MY MOTHER AND SON'S SERIOUS INJURIES. DURING THE COLLISION, THE LAP BELT ON BOTH SEAT BELTS TIGHTENED SUBSTANTIALLY, WHILE THE SHOULDER RESTRAINT NEVER TIGHTENED OR LOCKED. AS A RESULT OF THE SEAT BELT ISSUE, MY SON AND MOTHER SUSTAINED SIGNIFICANT ABDOMINAL INJURIES DUE TO THE EXTREME TIGHTENING OF THE LAP BELT, AND HEAD INJURIES AS A RESULT OF THE FAILURE OF THE SHOULDER RESTRAINT TO PROPERLY LOCK. SPECIFICALLY, MY SON SUSTAINED A LIVER LACERATION, PULMONARY CONTUSION, AND SUPERIOR MESENTERIC ARTERY THROMBOSIS AS A RESULT OF THE EXTREME TIGHTENING OF THE LAP BELT WITHOUT TIGHTENING OF THE SHOULDER RESTRAINT. ADDITIONALLY, BECAUSE THE SHOULDER RESTRAINT FAILED TO WORK PROPERLY, IT DID NOT STOP HIS FORWARD MOMENTUM, CAUSING HIM TO STRIKE HIS HEAD ON THE DASHBOARD OR WINDSHIELD AND SUSTAIN A TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY. MY MOTHER SUSTAINED MULTIPLE RIB FRACTURES, A LEFT PNEUMOTHORAX, SMALL BOWEL ENTEROTOMY, MESENTERIC TEAR, AVULSION OF THE SIGMOID COLON, AND TEARING OF HER ABDOMINAL MUSCULATURE AS A RESULT OF THE SEAT BELT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/11/2018 - FOND DU LAC, WI
HAVE A 2009 TOYOTA RAV4. HAD GROWLING NOISE IN REAR IN 2017. HAD REAR DIFFERENTIAL COUPLER SUB ASSEMBLY REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT. NOW 20000 MILES LATER IN NOVEMBER 2018 HAVE GROWLING NOISE AGAIN AND LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER SAYS COUPLER WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT EXPIRED OCTOBER 2018. TOYOTA WON'T STAND BY NEW PART AND DEALER SAYS WOULD COST ABOUT $1900 INCLUDING LABOR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/27/2018 - LIVONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND THE ENGINE RPMS SUDDENLY INCREASED. THE DRIVER QUICKLY SWITCHED THE TRANSMISSION INTO THE NEUTRAL POSITION IN ORDER TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER (PAGE TOYOTA, 21262 TELEGRAPH RD, SOUTHFIELD, MI) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2018 - DOWNEY, CA
BACK DOOR CANNOT UNLOCK, NO MANUAL ACCESSIBILITY TO OPEN DOOR FROM INSIDE, NO KEY ENTRY FROM OUTSIDE, LATCH ACTUATOR FAILED, IF STUCK IN TRUNK AFTER ACCIDENT DOOR CANNOT BE OPENED DUE TO NO HANDLE/NO MANUAL FUNCTION TO OPEN DOOR DUE TO NO OPERATING LATCH.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2018 - ORANGE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WATER PUMP LEAKED FLUID WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TOYOTA OF ORANGE (1400 N TUSTIN ST, ORANGE, CA 92867, 714-639-6750) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 34,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/4/2018 - FERRUM, VA
GROWLING NOISE FROM REAR DIFFERENTIAL WHILE DRIVING. 4 MONTHS PAST ENHANCED WARRANTY PERIOD. RECALL IS NEEDED. UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/20/2018 - WHITMORE LAKE, MI
2009 TOYOTA RAV 4, 2.5L V4, 4WD. A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO, I WAS DRIVING LIKE NORMAL, AND WHEN I PRESSED THE GAS, THE CAR DIDN'T MOVE. I TURNED IT OFF AND STARTED IT UP AGAIN AND PUT MY FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL AND IT MOVED AND THEN I HIT THE BRAKE AND IT DIDN'T MOVE WHEN I HIT THE GAS. THE RPM INCREASES BUT THE CAR DOES NOT MOVE FORWARD OR IN REVERSE. THE CAR STARTS JUST FINE AND IT WILL MOVE FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS - BASICALLY BEFORE IT'S WARMED UP. THEN AFTER 30 SECONDS, IF I HIT THE GAS, REGARDLESS OF PUTTING IT IN REVERSE, DRIVE, IT WON'T BUDGE. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN, AS THIS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND THERE WERE SEVERAL CARS BEHIND ME. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2018 - NAPLES, FL
SUSP RECAL 13V-383, MY VEH HAS TEMP REAR SUSP ARMS, DEALER NOT WILLING TO PERFOM PERMANENT REPAIR AND REPLACE CAUTION STICKERS STILL ON REAR TIEROD/CNTRL ARMS, KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE PLEASE HEL MY # 239-298-2508 NOTICED UPON INSPECTION NO INCIDENT YET

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds