Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 30 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (4) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Steering (2) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/16/2019 - GREAT FALLS, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH AND TOWING A CAMPER, THE RACK AND PINION FAILED AND THE POWER STEERING ABILITY WAS LOST. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ALSO OVERHEATED AND THE POWER STEERING PUMP MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S HOME. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE MANUFACTURER AND HELENA TOYOTA (3365 US-12, HELENA, MT 59601, (406) 442-6310) OF THE FAILURE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,544.

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2019 - GREAT FALLS, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH AND TOWING A CAMPER, THE RACK AND PINION FAILED AND THE POWER STEERING ABILITY WAS LOST. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ALSO OVERHEATED AND THE POWER STEERING PUMP MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S HOME. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE MANUFACTURER AND HELENA TOYOTA (3365 US-12, HELENA, MT 59601, (406) 442-6310) OF THE FAILURE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,544.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/8/2019 - WEST LINN, OR
AIR INJECTION SYSTEM FAILED WHILE DRIVING UP HILL. VEHICLE WOULD ONLY DRIVE ON FLAT OR DOWNHILL, NO MORE THAN 35 MPH. TOYOTA HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY OF 10 YRS OR 150K. WHICH OUR VEHICLE IS 103K AND 10 YEARS 1 MONTH. TOYOTA WOULD NOT FIT US INTO THE WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/9/2019 - KINGSVILLE, MD
REPORTING A SAFETY ISSUE REGARDING THE ECM, WIRE HARNESS, AND A SENSOR ATTACHED TO THE TRANSMISSION. IN PARTICULAR, A TRANSMISSION SENSOR FAILED AND ALLOWED A TRANSMISSION FLUID TO WICK ITS WAY THROUGH THE WIRE HARNESS AND INTO THE COMPUTER FOR THE TRUCK. IN THIS CASE, THIS CAUSED THE TRUCK'S STARTER TO ENGAGE WHEN THE LIGHTS FOR THE VEHICLE WERE TURNED ON, REGARDLESS OF WHETHER OR NOT THE TRUCK WAS ALREADY RUNNING. ADDITIONALLY, THE TRUCK WOULD NOT STOP RUNNING, EVEN WHEN THE KEY WAS DISENGAGED FROM THE IGNITION. UPON ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN THE DAYLIGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR SERVICE, THE TRUCK DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF MY STREET, JUST AFTER PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY. AFTER HAVING THE TRUCK FOR A FEW DAYS, THE DEALERSHIP DETERMINED THAT TRANSMISSION FLUID HAD GOTTEN INTO THE COMPUTER AND THAT THIS WAS MOST LIKELY THE CAUSE FOR THE PROBLEM. THE TECHNICIAN SHOWED ME THE COMPUTER, TURNED IT UPSIDE DOWN, AND I COULD SEE THE FLUID DRIPPING OUT. THE TOTAL COST OF REPAIRS WAS $3,855.95. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH TOYOTA CUSTOMER CARE, WHICH WAS DENIED CITING THE FACT THAT THE TRUCK WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. TOYOTA DID NOT ISSUE A WRITTEN RESPONSE, AND I SIMPLY RECEIVED A PHONE CALL TO TELL ME THAT THE CLAIM WAS DENIED. I EXPLAINED THAT AN ISSUE SUCH AS THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN OVER NIGHT AND THIS FLUID COULD HAVE BEEN LEAKING INTO THE COMPUTER FOR YEARS. THE TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE DID NOT CARE ABOUT THIS FACT OR THE POTENTIAL ISSUE WITH FLUID GETTING INTO THE TRUCK'S COMPUTER. A FAULTY COMPUTER, DAMAGED BY TRANSMISSION FLUID COULD CAUSE A NUMBER OF SAFETY ISSUES. IN THE CASE OF MY TRUCK, IT WAS THE FACT THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT TURN OFF WHEN THE KEY WAS REMOVED. IT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED IF NHTSA COULD LOOK INTO THIS. I AM AVAILABLE FOR ANY QUESTIONS OR FOLLOW UP. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/26/2018 - BURLINGTON, WI
I HAD THE ACCELERATOR STICK TWO TIMES RECENTLY. MY TIRES SPUN VERY FAST AND I ALMOST TOOK OFF INTO A VERY BUSY HIGHWAY. I WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IF I DIDN'T QUICKLY PUT THE TRUCK IN NEUTRAL UNTIL THE ENGINE REVVED DOWN. THIS IS A HELPLESS FEELING AND SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT WITH THE MANUFACTURING OF THE TRUCK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2018 - GAINESVILLE, FL
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN MY VEHICLE DURING A FIVE MILE TRIP TO WORK AND IS STILL ON. THE DIAGNOSTIC CODE REVEALED A FAULT IN AN AIR VALVE. AFTER SOME RESEARCH I DISCOVERED THAT TOYOTA ISSUED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS PART BECAUSE OF A KNOWN ISSUE AFFECTING THE SAME YEAR/MAKE/MODEL AS MY TUNDRA. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO ASK ABOUT THE REPAIR PROCESS AS I WAS WITHIN THE 10 YEAR/150K MILE EXTENDED WARRANTY PERIOD. THEY STATED THE PART WAS REPLACED IN 2014. I WAS THEN DIRECTED TO CALL TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE. CUSTOMER SERVICE TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT HONOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY BECAUSE THE PART WAS ALREADY REPLACED. I DO NOT HAVE FAITH THAT REPLACING THE PART WILL FIX MY TRUCK IN THE LONG RUN. TOYOTA OBVIOUSLY IDENTIFIED A FAULT WITH THEIR TRUCKS AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON A KNOWN BAD PART. BUT, THIS DID NOT FIX THE TRUCK. THE SAME PROBLEM HAS COME BACK AGAIN AFTER THE PART WAS REPLACED AT A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP ONLY FOUR YEARS AGO. I BELIEVE THAT EVEN IF I HAVE THE TRUCK FIXED, THE PROBLEM WILL PERSIST EVERY COUPLE OF YEARS. I BELIEVE TOYOTA SHOULD BE LIABLE FOR REPLACING THE PART.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/5/2017 - MEXICO, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM FAILED. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH AND HAULING A LOADED TRAILER, ACCORDING TO THE ESTIMATED CAPACITY, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT AND CAUSED THE TRAILER AND THE VEHICLE TO LOSE CONTROL. THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM ENGAGED AND FAILED TO STABILIZE THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A DITCH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 187,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/19/2017 - TIFFIN, OH
BED OF TRUCK IS RUSTING FROM BOTTOM UP FIRST NOTIFIED TOYOTA 11/04/2016 HAD A DEALER LOOK AT IT SORRY ABOUT BY LUCK THEY WILL NOT COVER IT ONLY HAD 38,794 MILE ON IT ALWAYS HAD A CAP ON IT AND WAS INSIDE AND RARELY DROVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/9/2017 - LANCASTER, PA
PURCHASED A 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA WITH 67 MILES ON IT, AT ABOUT 12,000 MILES IT STARTED TO MAKE A DRAGGING SOUND FROM THE FRONT DRIVE TRAIN. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT HEAR OR FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. HAD IT BACK ANOTHER TIME FOR INSPECTION AND MENTIONED NOISE AGAIN BUT STILL THEY COULD NOT "HEAR ANYTHING". I HAVE BEEN DRIVING THE TRUCK SINCE THEN WITH THE NOISE COMING AND SUBSIDING, THE TRUCK NOW HAS 46,000 MILES ON IT AND THE NOISE HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE WITH VIBRATIONS ON THE HIGHWAY. THE SEVEN YEAR WARRANTY RAN OUT AND I'M SURE THAT IF I TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER THEY WILL NOW HEAR THE NOISE. I LOOKED AT ONLINE FORUMS AND THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE TRUCKS, TOYOTA HAS TO KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM. I DON'T KNOW WHY THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL TO FIX THE PROBLEM WHEN THERE ARE SO MANY COMPLAINTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/21/2017 - NEW ORKEANS, LA
TAKATA RECALL HAVE BEEN GETTING CALLS AND MAILERS FOR A FEW OF YEARS. HAVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP MANY TIME,. BUT HAVE NEVER RECEIVED 'ANY' POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE RESPONSE FROM THEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds