Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 26 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (3) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Steering (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2018 - GAINESVILLE, FL
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN MY VEHICLE DURING A FIVE MILE TRIP TO WORK AND IS STILL ON. THE DIAGNOSTIC CODE REVEALED A FAULT IN AN AIR VALVE. AFTER SOME RESEARCH I DISCOVERED THAT TOYOTA ISSUED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS PART BECAUSE OF A KNOWN ISSUE AFFECTING THE SAME YEAR/MAKE/MODEL AS MY TUNDRA. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO ASK ABOUT THE REPAIR PROCESS AS I WAS WITHIN THE 10 YEAR/150K MILE EXTENDED WARRANTY PERIOD. THEY STATED THE PART WAS REPLACED IN 2014. I WAS THEN DIRECTED TO CALL TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE. CUSTOMER SERVICE TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT HONOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY BECAUSE THE PART WAS ALREADY REPLACED. I DO NOT HAVE FAITH THAT REPLACING THE PART WILL FIX MY TRUCK IN THE LONG RUN. TOYOTA OBVIOUSLY IDENTIFIED A FAULT WITH THEIR TRUCKS AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON A KNOWN BAD PART. BUT, THIS DID NOT FIX THE TRUCK. THE SAME PROBLEM HAS COME BACK AGAIN AFTER THE PART WAS REPLACED AT A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP ONLY FOUR YEARS AGO. I BELIEVE THAT EVEN IF I HAVE THE TRUCK FIXED, THE PROBLEM WILL PERSIST EVERY COUPLE OF YEARS. I BELIEVE TOYOTA SHOULD BE LIABLE FOR REPLACING THE PART.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/5/2017 - MEXICO, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM FAILED. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH AND HAULING A LOADED TRAILER, ACCORDING TO THE ESTIMATED CAPACITY, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT AND CAUSED THE TRAILER AND THE VEHICLE TO LOSE CONTROL. THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM ENGAGED AND FAILED TO STABILIZE THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A DITCH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 187,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/19/2017 - TIFFIN, OH
BED OF TRUCK IS RUSTING FROM BOTTOM UP FIRST NOTIFIED TOYOTA 11/04/2016 HAD A DEALER LOOK AT IT SORRY ABOUT BY LUCK THEY WILL NOT COVER IT ONLY HAD 38,794 MILE ON IT ALWAYS HAD A CAP ON IT AND WAS INSIDE AND RARELY DROVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/9/2017 - LANCASTER, PA
PURCHASED A 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA WITH 67 MILES ON IT, AT ABOUT 12,000 MILES IT STARTED TO MAKE A DRAGGING SOUND FROM THE FRONT DRIVE TRAIN. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT HEAR OR FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. HAD IT BACK ANOTHER TIME FOR INSPECTION AND MENTIONED NOISE AGAIN BUT STILL THEY COULD NOT "HEAR ANYTHING". I HAVE BEEN DRIVING THE TRUCK SINCE THEN WITH THE NOISE COMING AND SUBSIDING, THE TRUCK NOW HAS 46,000 MILES ON IT AND THE NOISE HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE WITH VIBRATIONS ON THE HIGHWAY. THE SEVEN YEAR WARRANTY RAN OUT AND I'M SURE THAT IF I TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER THEY WILL NOW HEAR THE NOISE. I LOOKED AT ONLINE FORUMS AND THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE TRUCKS, TOYOTA HAS TO KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM. I DON'T KNOW WHY THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL TO FIX THE PROBLEM WHEN THERE ARE SO MANY COMPLAINTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/21/2017 - NEW ORKEANS, LA
TAKATA RECALL HAVE BEEN GETTING CALLS AND MAILERS FOR A FEW OF YEARS. HAVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP MANY TIME,. BUT HAVE NEVER RECEIVED 'ANY' POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE RESPONSE FROM THEM.

View Details

TIRES

2/8/2017 - HAMPTON, VA
YOKOHAMA TIRE BLOW OUT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH 5 FEB 2017. YOKOHAMA P275/65R18 GEOLANDER HTS. READ TIRE, SIDEWALL RUPTURE. NO ROAD HAZARD CONTACT. TIRES PURCHASED FROM TREAD QUARTERS IN HAMPTON VA AUG 2016. APPROX. 7000 MILES ON THE TIRES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

2/4/2015 - BEAUMONT, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THERE WAS SUDDEN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. ALSO, WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT ASSEMBLY FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I [XXX] WAS RETURNING HOME FROM MY WORK SACRAMENTO INTL AIRPORT ON JUNE 26TH 2014 AT 1030PM HEADING SOUTH ON FREEWAY 5 MY TRUCK ENGINE DIED OR CUTOFF WITHOUT WARNING IN MIDDLE OF FREEWAY ,AS STRANDED IWAS PUSHED ASIDE BY C H P THAN IGOT IT TOWED TO MY HOME AT COST OF $100.00 ON JUNE 27TH 2014 I CALLED ELK GROVE TOYOTA DEALER AND GOT IT TOWED AGAIN TO TOYOTA DEALER .THERE SERVICE ADVISER CHECKED AND NOTIFIED ME THAT ALTERNATOR BATTERY BELT NEEDS TO BE FIXED AS EVERY THING WAS DEAD , THEY FIXED AT COST OF $761.00 AND I GOT MY TRUCK ON MONDAY 30TH 2014. I BELIEVE ITS A FACTORY FAULT AJD TOYOTA MANUFACTURE SHOULD BEAR COST. AS I CONSUMER IS THE SUFFERER AS IWAS STRANDED ON FREEWAY COULD HAVE BIG COLLISION. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

8/27/2012 - FALLBROOK, CA
I WAS THE OPERATOR OF THE VEHICLE ON MY DRIVEWAY WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE ACCELERATOR WAS WIDE OPEN WHILE I WAS HARD ON THE BRAKES. I WAS ABLE TO PUT THE GEAR SHIFT INTO PARK, AND ONCE I DID THE ENGINE STOPPED ITS ACCELERATION. I WAS ON HARD CONCRETE, THUS THE REAR WHEELS SPUN FREELY WITHOUT CATCHING TRACTION. THE VEHICLE LEFT ROUGHLY 30" OF FRONT AND REAR WHEEL MARKS. THE VEHICLE HAS RUN NORMALLY SINCE THE INCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/27/2012 - FALLBROOK, CA
I WAS THE OPERATOR OF THE VEHICLE ON MY DRIVEWAY WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE ACCELERATOR WAS WIDE OPEN WHILE I WAS HARD ON THE BRAKES. I WAS ABLE TO PUT THE GEAR SHIFT INTO PARK, AND ONCE I DID THE ENGINE STOPPED ITS ACCELERATION. I WAS ON HARD CONCRETE, THUS THE REAR WHEELS SPUN FREELY WITHOUT CATCHING TRACTION. THE VEHICLE LEFT ROUGHLY 30" OF FRONT AND REAR WHEEL MARKS. THE VEHICLE HAS RUN NORMALLY SINCE THE INCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds