Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CARAVAN - 2010 DODGE CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 147 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (12) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (2) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (12) Tires (12) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (19) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2017 - INWOOD, WV
THE KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION NOTHING WORKS AND IT IS STAYING "ON" WHEN KEY IS IN IGNITION KILLING THE BATTERY EVEN THOUGH NOTHING IS NOW WORKING. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS FOR 2010 DODGE VAN BUT MY VIN NUMBER DIDN'T SHOW UP. I FIND IT VERY STRANGE WHEN DOING RESEARCH THAT THIS IS THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM AS THE ONES ON RECALL. MY VAN WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY RAN PERFECT ONE EVENING THE NEXT MORNING NOTHING AND KEY GOT STUCK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS: SWITCH

3/3/2017 - BIMINGTON, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH BEGAN TO WORK INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/1/2017 - NANTICOKE, PA
MY KEY JUST TURNED TO THE ACC POSTION WHILE I WAS DRIVING LOST MY POWER STEARING AND BRAKES. IT HAPPENED TWICE NOW FIRST TIME I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A FLUKE BUT WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND A CAR HIT INTO THE BACK OFF ME I KNEW SOMETHING WASN'T RIGHT. I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 25MPH THERE IS ABOUT 85000 MILES ON THE VAN. I ONLY OWN IT FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS.I GOOGLE IT TO SEE WHAT IT CAN BE TO FIND OUT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS SAME ISSUE FOR THAT YEAR,MAKE AND MODEL OF MY VAN. WHEN I CALLED THEY SAID MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL. SO HOW IS IT THAT FOR THE SAME YEAR SAME PROBLEM IT'S NOT COVERED. I HAVE NEVER HAD A CAR THAT KEY WOULD JUST SLIP BACK AND JUST SHUT DOWN MY CAR WHILE DRIVING. I DEFENTLY THINK THIS SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO AND IF I WAS ON A INTERSTATE WHEN IT HAPPENED I WOULD OF BEEN KILLED. I AM NOW AFRAID TO EVEN DRIVE THE CAR. NO CODES CAME ON OR NOTHING IT WAS RUNNING PERFECTLY AND THE KEY JUST WENT BACK TO THE ACC SPOT IT STARTED RIGHT BACK UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/22/2017 - MINERAL POINT, MO
ALL OF MY PROBLEMS STARTED ABOUT 30-45 DAYS AGO. I WAS DRIVIN ALONG AT 65 MPH AND LIGHTS STARTED LIGHTING UP ON MY DAS AND THEN STARTED FLICKERING. NOT LONG AFTER THAT THE DASH WOULD LIGHT UP AND THE ALL OF A SUDDEN DIE AND HAVE NO POWER AT ALL. EVERYTHING STOPPED WORKING, RADIO, CLOCK, SPPEDOMETER, ETC. SINCE THEN THE VAN HAS BEEN BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE FIRST DIAGNOSIS WAS A BRAKE SWITH RELAY AND THEY SAID THAT SHOULD FIX IT. WELL THE SAME PROBLEMS OCCURED A FEW MORE TIMES WITH NO COMMON DENOMINATOR AS TO WHY IT WAS NOT RUNNING. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE CHRYSLER DEALER AND THEY UNPLUGGED THE TIPM (TOTAL INTEGRATED POWER MODULE). THEY SAID THAT CLEARED ALL CODES AND A RESET FIXES THE PROBLEM SOME TIMES. I PICKED IT UP THE NEXT AND EVERYTHING WAS FOR MY TRIP TO ST. LOUIS AND BACK. I GOT IN THE VAN LATER THAT EVENING AND WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE DRIVEWAY THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THE VAN LOST ALL POWER. I ALMOST TOO OUT MY FENCE WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I PUT IT IN PARK AND THE KEY WOULDN'T COME OUT. AFTER A LITTLE WHILE THE KEY CAME OUT ANBD THE VAN FINALLY STARTED. I CALLED THE TOW TRUCK AND HAD IT HAULED DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER. AFTER A FEW DAYS THE DETERMINED IT WAS HE TIPM AND THE BILL WAS APP. $1000.00. I HAVE A CASE OPENED WITH CHRYSLER (CASE #: 31057897) WITH THERESA. AFTER GOOGLING THE TIPM I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH CARAVANS, TOWN & COUNTRY'S, DODGE RAMS, DURANGOS AND SOME JEEP MODELS. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO RECTIFIED BY CHRSLER.ALL OF THESE INCIDENTS HAVE OCCURED IN VARIOUS LOCATION (PAKKING LOTS, DRIVEWAY, RURAL HIGHWAYS WITH NO SHOULDER, STOP LIGHTS AND STOP SIGNS.)

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/22/2017 - MINERAL POINT, MO
ALL OF MY PROBLEMS STARTED ABOUT 30-45 DAYS AGO. I WAS DRIVIN ALONG AT 65 MPH AND LIGHTS STARTED LIGHTING UP ON MY DAS AND THEN STARTED FLICKERING. NOT LONG AFTER THAT THE DASH WOULD LIGHT UP AND THE ALL OF A SUDDEN DIE AND HAVE NO POWER AT ALL. EVERYTHING STOPPED WORKING, RADIO, CLOCK, SPPEDOMETER, ETC. SINCE THEN THE VAN HAS BEEN BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE FIRST DIAGNOSIS WAS A BRAKE SWITH RELAY AND THEY SAID THAT SHOULD FIX IT. WELL THE SAME PROBLEMS OCCURED A FEW MORE TIMES WITH NO COMMON DENOMINATOR AS TO WHY IT WAS NOT RUNNING. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE CHRYSLER DEALER AND THEY UNPLUGGED THE TIPM (TOTAL INTEGRATED POWER MODULE). THEY SAID THAT CLEARED ALL CODES AND A RESET FIXES THE PROBLEM SOME TIMES. I PICKED IT UP THE NEXT AND EVERYTHING WAS FOR MY TRIP TO ST. LOUIS AND BACK. I GOT IN THE VAN LATER THAT EVENING AND WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE DRIVEWAY THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THE VAN LOST ALL POWER. I ALMOST TOO OUT MY FENCE WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I PUT IT IN PARK AND THE KEY WOULDN'T COME OUT. AFTER A LITTLE WHILE THE KEY CAME OUT ANBD THE VAN FINALLY STARTED. I CALLED THE TOW TRUCK AND HAD IT HAULED DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER. AFTER A FEW DAYS THE DETERMINED IT WAS HE TIPM AND THE BILL WAS APP. $1000.00. I HAVE A CASE OPENED WITH CHRYSLER (CASE #: 31057897) WITH THERESA. AFTER GOOGLING THE TIPM I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH CARAVANS, TOWN & COUNTRY'S, DODGE RAMS, DURANGOS AND SOME JEEP MODELS. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO RECTIFIED BY CHRSLER.ALL OF THESE INCIDENTS HAVE OCCURED IN VARIOUS LOCATION (PAKKING LOTS, DRIVEWAY, RURAL HIGHWAYS WITH NO SHOULDER, STOP LIGHTS AND STOP SIGNS.)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/18/2017 - GRAND ISLAND, NE
WHILE DRIVING ON A STREET AND HITTING A LARGE BUMP OR DRIVING OVER BUMPY RAILROAD TRACKS THE VEHICLE WILL JUST SHUT OFF LIKE SOMEONE TURNED OFF THE IGNITION. YOU HAVE TO PUT THE CAR BACK IN PARK AND TURN THE IGNITION SWITCH ON TO START THE CAR AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE LAST MONTH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2016 - SAYVILLE, NY
UNEXPECTED SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY,TAKE FOOT OFF GAS PEDAL VEHICLE STALLS OUT,LOSE STEERING CONTROL AND BRAKES,IT WOULD HAPPEN AT LEAST 10 TIMES IN A 10 MILE STRETCH,TOOK VEHICLE TO DODGE DEALER NO CODES TO LOCATE PROBLEM ASK ABOUT IGNITION MODULE REPLACEMENT IT WAS TOLD ALREADY REPLACED,THEY ARE MASKING A HAZARD FOR THAT VEHICLE,PLEASE DO SOMETHING FOR THAT VEHICLE BEFORE SOME DIES OR ARE SERIOUS INJURED,THAT PROBLEM HAS HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES IN A WEEK,TOOK VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD FOR WINTER DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

10/24/2016 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
WHILE DRIVING THE VAN, THE VEHICLE CUTS OFF, STEERING BECOMES DIFFICULT AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. I HAVE TO RESTART THE CAR IN ORDER TO DRIVE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TO HAVE A CAR TO JUST "SHUT-OFF" WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 5 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST WEEK. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON DIFFERENT CITIES STREET AND ONCE WHILE TURNING INTO MAJOR TRAFFIC. I CONTACTED A CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND WAS TOLD THIS PARTICULAR CAR WAS NOT IN A RECALL BUT THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR DODGE CARAVANS FOR MANY YEARS FROM MY RESEARCH.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2016 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
WHILE DRIVING THE VAN, THE VEHICLE CUTS OFF, STEERING BECOMES DIFFICULT AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. I HAVE TO RESTART THE CAR IN ORDER TO DRIVE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TO HAVE A CAR TO JUST "SHUT-OFF" WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 5 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST WEEK. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON DIFFERENT CITIES STREET AND ONCE WHILE TURNING INTO MAJOR TRAFFIC. I CONTACTED A CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND WAS TOLD THIS PARTICULAR CAR WAS NOT IN A RECALL BUT THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR DODGE CARAVANS FOR MANY YEARS FROM MY RESEARCH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/19/2016 - HUDSONVILLE, MI
I WAS WALKING BACK TO MY RUNNING, SET IN PARK VAN, AS I WALKED THROUGH THE FRONT OF MY VAN, AND BACK OF ANOTHER VEHICLE, I TOUCHED MY VAN HOOD, AND MY CAR WENT FORWARD BY ITSELF PINNING ME BETWEEN BOTH CARS CRUSHING MY KNEES! IT WENT UPHILL SET IN PARK WHILE RUNNING IN A DRIVEWAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds