Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CARAVAN - 2010 DODGE CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 94 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (9) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (32) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I TOOK MY VAN TO THE DEALER BECAUSE THE WINDOWS WOULD EITHER ROLL DOWN ON THEIR OWN AND THE SWITCH ON THE DOOR WORKED SOMETIMES. I PURCHASED A BATTERY FOR MY KEY FOB BECAUSE THE DOORS WOULD NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK ALL THE TIME. THE DEALER FIXED THE RECALL SWITCH FOR THE VENT WINDOWS, AND I WAS CHARGED $4.03, $400.00, LABOR AND TOTAL OF $179.56 IN PARTS. THEY DID NOT OFFER A LOANER CAR WHILE MY VAN WAS BEING WORKED ON. I HAD TO PAY 82.00 FOR A RENTAL. I HAD 3 QUARTERS OF A TANK OF GAS WHEN I DROPPED IT OFF, AND WHEN I GOT THE VEHICLE BACK IT WAS A LITTLE UNDER THE 1/2 MARK AND NO ONE OFFERED TO REPLACE IT. THE DEALER DID TAKE $200.00 OFF, AND I WAS TOLD THAT THEY DID IT BECAUSE I WAS A GOOD CUSTOMER. WELL, I DON'T THINK GOOD CUSTOMERS SHOULD BE TREATED THIS WAY. THE WINDOWS AND MIRRORS DO WORK NOW, HOWEVER; THEY MUST HAVE BROKE SOMETHING ELSE BECAUSE MY SIDE DOORS WILL NOT LOCK, THEY CHANGED THE BATTERY IN THE KEY FOB AND IT STILL DOES NOT WORK. I'VE HAD PROBLEMS WHERE AS THE FRONT WINDOWS WOULD GO DOWN 1/2 WAY ON THEIR OWN. I HAVE READ WHERE THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS REPORTS ABOUT THE WINDOWS GOING DOWN ON THEIR OWN AND IT WOULD SEEM TO ME THAT THIS IS WERE THE PROBLEM STEMMED FROM. THE WINDOWS GO DOWN WHENEVER THEY WANT TO AND MOISTURE GETS IN SIDE THE VEHICLE AND CAUSES THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP BACK ON 3/13/2015 AND NO ONE ANSWERED AND I COULD NOT LEAVE A MESSAGE. I CALLED BACK ON 3/15/2015 AND SPOKE WITH A VERY NICE YOUNG LADE NAMED COURTNEY AND SHE SAYS THEY WOULD NOT HAVE A LOANER UNTIL THURSDAY, 3/18/2015 EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE A RELATIONSHIP WITH THE ENTERPRISE RENT A CAR COMPANY. WHAT AM I LOOKING FOR?? I AM EXPECTING TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THE $381.55. I FEEL STRONGLY THAT THIS WAS A FACTORY ISSUE AND THE DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP DEALER SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL CHARGES, INCLUDING THE MONEY SPENT ON A RENTAL CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/16/2015 - CABOT, AR
WHILE DRIVING ONE DAY, OUT OF THE BLUE MY CAN WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 TO 30 MPH. IT WOULD SHAKE VIOLENTLY IF WE WENT FASTER. WE GOT IT TO THE MECHANIC AND THE BRAKES HAD ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. IT RUINED ONE TIRE AND THE BRAKES AND CALIPERS. THE MECHANIC SAID THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED. IT WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I REPORTED IT TO DODGE. THEY SAID IT HAD NEVER HAPPENED. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT IT DOES GET REPORTED. I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THIS. THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO SINCE IT NEVER ACTUALLY CAUGHT ON FIRE. REALLY?

View Details

WHEELS

3/16/2015 - CABOT, AR
WHILE DRIVING ONE DAY, OUT OF THE BLUE MY CAN WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 TO 30 MPH. IT WOULD SHAKE VIOLENTLY IF WE WENT FASTER. WE GOT IT TO THE MECHANIC AND THE BRAKES HAD ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. IT RUINED ONE TIRE AND THE BRAKES AND CALIPERS. THE MECHANIC SAID THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED. IT WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I REPORTED IT TO DODGE. THEY SAID IT HAD NEVER HAPPENED. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT IT DOES GET REPORTED. I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THIS. THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO SINCE IT NEVER ACTUALLY CAUGHT ON FIRE. REALLY?

View Details

ENGINE

3/10/2015 - WESTERVILLE , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V373000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/9/2015 - CABOT, AR
MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DRIVING ONE DAY, OUT OF THY BLUE, THE VAN BEGAN TO SHAKE TOWARDS THE FRONT OF THE VAN. WE COULDN'T GET THE SPEED OVER 25 MPH. WE GOT IT TO THE NEAREST MECHANIC SHOP. THEY SAID IT WAS THE CALIPERS. THEY SAID THAT IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO CATCHING ON FIRE. I HAD TO HAVE BOTH CALIPERS REPLACED AND A BRAKE JOB. I ALSO HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW TIRE. I CALLED AND REPORTED IT TO DODGE/CHRYSLER. THEY SAID THAT THERE HAD NOT BEEN ANY PROBLEMS WITH OTHER VANS. IT WAS AN EXTREMELY SCARY INCIDENT TO GO THROUGH. THEY SAID THAT THEY MIGHT BE ABLE TO DO SOMETHING IF THE VAN HAD ACTUALLY CAUGHT ON FIRE. THAT'S JUST CRAZY. THIS HAS COST ME ABOUT $800.00. I JUST WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT THIS GETS REPORTED IN CASE OTHER VANS HAVE SIMILAR PROBLEMS. THE MECHANICS WERE SHOCKED AT WHAT THEY SAW. THEY SAID THAT IT SHOULD NOT HAVE DONE WHAT IT DID.

View Details

STEERING

2/19/2015 - WAYNESVILLE, NC
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE USING CRUISE CONTROL. STEERING COLUMN REFUSED TO RESPOND WHEN ATTEMPTING TO STEER THE VAN WITH THE CURVE IN THE ROAD. VAN DROVE OFF ROAD ONTO EMBANKMENT AND FLIPPED OVER. THE VAN WAS TOTALED. SUFFERED A CONCUSSION AND DAMAGE TO BACK AND ELBOW FROM IMPACT. EYE GLASSES WERE BROKEN. EYE WITNESS BEHIND ME TOLD STATE TROOPER THAT THEY COULD SEE THAT I WAS STRUGGLING FOR CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2015 - YONKERS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR AN UNKNOWN MANUFACTURER RECALL; HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/3/2015 - SURFSIDE BEACH, SC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/3/2015 - BLAKELY, GA
THE DEALERSHIP IN DOTHAN, ALABAMA HAS REFUSED TO REPAIR THIS RECALL. THE EXCUSE THAT THEY ARE WAITING ON APPROVAL AND PARTS HAS BEEN USED SEVERAL TIMES. SOMEONE HAS TO TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/23/2015 - WHITE LAKE, MI
ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE. THIS IS ACTUALLY A REPORT OF 5-6 SEPARATE INCIDENTS OF THE SAME ISSUE WITHIN A WEEK'S SPAN. THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. IT IS INSTANT AND SILENT, WITH NO PRE-WARNING. DRIVER LOSES ALL POWER STEERING / BRAKES DURING THE OCCURANCE. LAST INCIDENT ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE VEHICLE'S ENGINE STALLED AND A FOLLOWING VEHICLE HAD TO TAKE ACTION TO AVOID A COLLISION. MY WIFE AND KIDS WERE IN THE VAN AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. WHEN IT HAPPENS, THE VAN ALWAYS STARTS BACK UP, BUT IT HAS TO BE STATIONARY AND IN-PARK. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 01/23/15 FOR REPAIR. DEALERSHIP INDICATED THE EGR VALVE AND TEMPERATURE SENSOR WAS FAULTY AND HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR DECADES. THIS IS THE SECOND TEMPERATURE SENSOR THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED BY THE DEALER. INTERNET SEARCH CONFIRMS MANY ISSUES SUCH AS THIS ARE EVIDENT ON THE ROAD. REPAIR MADE 01/23/15 AT A CONSUMER COST OF $513.41. OUR PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRNATY COVERED ALL OF IT, BUT $150.00. I CONSIDER THE ISSUE, IN REGARD TO A DFMEA FORMAT TO BE, LOSS OF FUNCTION WHICH SHALL BE A SEVERITY OF 10 AND AN INVERTED DELTA BY THE MANUFACTURER. I ASK THAT NHTSA INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE AS MY FAMILIES WELL BEING WAS AT STAKE THIS MORNING WHICH DOES NOT SIT LIGHTLY WITH ME AS A HUSBAND / FATHER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds