Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CARAVAN - 2010 DODGE CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (9) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (35) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/22/2015 - KINGMAN, AZ
HELLO, I OWN A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. SUNDAY APRIL 19, 2015 I WAS DRIVING TOWARDS LAS VEGAS FROM KINGMAN, AZ AT NIGHT WHEN SUDDENLY MY HEADLIGHTS TURN OFF. KEEP IN MIND I HAVE MY 3 KIDS WITH ME, AGES 8,9 AND 10. I TURNED BACK AROUND AFTER DRIVING OVER 40 MILES, USING ONLY MY FOG LIGHTS THAT PROVIDE 40-50 FEET OF VISIBILITY. I CAUTIOUSLY DRIVE HOME ALMOST IN THE DARK, MADE IT HOME AND GOOGLED THIS PROBLEM. LOOKS LIKE A TIPM ISSUE FROM WHAT I GATHERED. SO IN THE MORNING MY VEHICLE DOESN'T START. I CALLED MY LOCAL DODGE DEALER, THEY AREN'T AWARE OF A RECALL ON THIS AND HAS NEVER HEARD THIS BEFORE. ADDITIONALLY THEY WANT $110 TO TELL ME WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE. SO I HAD MY VEHICLE TOWED TO MARTIN SWANTY HYUNDAI TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM FOR FREE, AND I SPENT $111 ON WHAT THEY SAID WAS A BAD POSITIVE BATTERY TERMINAL CONNECTION. WELL, GOT IT HOME, THE HEADLIGHTS WORKED AGAIN. NEXT DAY, IT'S NIGHT TIME AGAIN AND GUESS WHAT, NO HEADLIGHTS AGAIN! LOOKS LIKE IT WASN'T THE BATTERY CONNECTION, STILL HAVING THE FAMOUS TIPM M.O. THIS IS CLEARLY NOT THE FIRST VEHICLE TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. I SEE THIS IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT DODGE AND CHRYSLER ARE SWEEPING UNDER THE RUG. SO NOW I HAVE A FAMILY OF 5 (SOON TO BE 6) TO SUPPORT, AND DRIVE AROUND IN MY FAMILY VEHICLE WITH NO HEADLIGHTS AND THIS IS NOT A RECALL YET WITH DODGE? AND YOU WANT ME TO SPEND OVER $1000 TO GET IT FIXED JUST TO PUT ANOTHER FAULTY PART IN MY VAN AGAIN? I HAVE MY FAMILY TO FEED, NOT $1000 TO FEED INTO MY CAR THAT'S ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND PAID OFF. I WAS TOLD BY MY LOCAL DODGE DEALER TO CALL CHRYSLER AT 1-800-334-9200 AND SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE THAT SAID THAT THEY WILL NOT OFFER A COMPLEMENTARY DIAGNOSIS, I WOULD NEED TO PAY ANOTHER $110 TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT TO DIAGNOSE WHAT IS WRONG. I ASKED THEM IF THEY WERE FAMILIAR WITH THIS ISSUE AND THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2015 - KINGMAN, AZ
HELLO, I OWN A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. SUNDAY APRIL 19, 2015 I WAS DRIVING TOWARDS LAS VEGAS FROM KINGMAN, AZ AT NIGHT WHEN SUDDENLY MY HEADLIGHTS TURN OFF. KEEP IN MIND I HAVE MY 3 KIDS WITH ME, AGES 8,9 AND 10. I TURNED BACK AROUND AFTER DRIVING OVER 40 MILES, USING ONLY MY FOG LIGHTS THAT PROVIDE 40-50 FEET OF VISIBILITY. I CAUTIOUSLY DRIVE HOME ALMOST IN THE DARK, MADE IT HOME AND GOOGLED THIS PROBLEM. LOOKS LIKE A TIPM ISSUE FROM WHAT I GATHERED. SO IN THE MORNING MY VEHICLE DOESN'T START. I CALLED MY LOCAL DODGE DEALER, THEY AREN'T AWARE OF A RECALL ON THIS AND HAS NEVER HEARD THIS BEFORE. ADDITIONALLY THEY WANT $110 TO TELL ME WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE. SO I HAD MY VEHICLE TOWED TO MARTIN SWANTY HYUNDAI TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM FOR FREE, AND I SPENT $111 ON WHAT THEY SAID WAS A BAD POSITIVE BATTERY TERMINAL CONNECTION. WELL, GOT IT HOME, THE HEADLIGHTS WORKED AGAIN. NEXT DAY, IT'S NIGHT TIME AGAIN AND GUESS WHAT, NO HEADLIGHTS AGAIN! LOOKS LIKE IT WASN'T THE BATTERY CONNECTION, STILL HAVING THE FAMOUS TIPM M.O. THIS IS CLEARLY NOT THE FIRST VEHICLE TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. I SEE THIS IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT DODGE AND CHRYSLER ARE SWEEPING UNDER THE RUG. SO NOW I HAVE A FAMILY OF 5 (SOON TO BE 6) TO SUPPORT, AND DRIVE AROUND IN MY FAMILY VEHICLE WITH NO HEADLIGHTS AND THIS IS NOT A RECALL YET WITH DODGE? AND YOU WANT ME TO SPEND OVER $1000 TO GET IT FIXED JUST TO PUT ANOTHER FAULTY PART IN MY VAN AGAIN? I HAVE MY FAMILY TO FEED, NOT $1000 TO FEED INTO MY CAR THAT'S ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND PAID OFF. I WAS TOLD BY MY LOCAL DODGE DEALER TO CALL CHRYSLER AT 1-800-334-9200 AND SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE THAT SAID THAT THEY WILL NOT OFFER A COMPLEMENTARY DIAGNOSIS, I WOULD NEED TO PAY ANOTHER $110 TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT TO DIAGNOSE WHAT IS WRONG. I ASKED THEM IF THEY WERE FAMILIAR WITH THIS ISSUE AND THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/21/2015 - TINLEY PARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2015 - KANSASVILLE, WI
MY VAN, ON AT LEAST 5 OCCASIONS HAS HAD THE RADIO CUT OUT, THE WINDOWS NOT BE ABLE TO OPEN, AND THE WORST NO WIPERS, RADIO, LIGHTS IN OR OUTSIDE, HEAT, DEFROSTER FOR THE VEHICLE DURING A DOWN POUR. GETTING OFF THE ROAD MEANT I HAD TO OPEN THE WINDOW AND STICK MY HEAD OUT IN THE RAIN ALL WHILE I TRY TO CROSS A BUSY MILWAUKEE INTERSECTION AND PULL THE VEHICLE OVER, TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND THEN RESTART IT. NOTHING ELSE WILL WORK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I TOOK MY VAN TO THE DEALER BECAUSE THE WINDOWS WOULD EITHER ROLL DOWN ON THEIR OWN AND THE SWITCH ON THE DOOR WORKED SOMETIMES. I PURCHASED A BATTERY FOR MY KEY FOB BECAUSE THE DOORS WOULD NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK ALL THE TIME. THE DEALER FIXED THE RECALL SWITCH FOR THE VENT WINDOWS, AND I WAS CHARGED $4.03, $400.00, LABOR AND TOTAL OF $179.56 IN PARTS. THEY DID NOT OFFER A LOANER CAR WHILE MY VAN WAS BEING WORKED ON. I HAD TO PAY 82.00 FOR A RENTAL. I HAD 3 QUARTERS OF A TANK OF GAS WHEN I DROPPED IT OFF, AND WHEN I GOT THE VEHICLE BACK IT WAS A LITTLE UNDER THE 1/2 MARK AND NO ONE OFFERED TO REPLACE IT. THE DEALER DID TAKE $200.00 OFF, AND I WAS TOLD THAT THEY DID IT BECAUSE I WAS A GOOD CUSTOMER. WELL, I DON'T THINK GOOD CUSTOMERS SHOULD BE TREATED THIS WAY. THE WINDOWS AND MIRRORS DO WORK NOW, HOWEVER; THEY MUST HAVE BROKE SOMETHING ELSE BECAUSE MY SIDE DOORS WILL NOT LOCK, THEY CHANGED THE BATTERY IN THE KEY FOB AND IT STILL DOES NOT WORK. I'VE HAD PROBLEMS WHERE AS THE FRONT WINDOWS WOULD GO DOWN 1/2 WAY ON THEIR OWN. I HAVE READ WHERE THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS REPORTS ABOUT THE WINDOWS GOING DOWN ON THEIR OWN AND IT WOULD SEEM TO ME THAT THIS IS WERE THE PROBLEM STEMMED FROM. THE WINDOWS GO DOWN WHENEVER THEY WANT TO AND MOISTURE GETS IN SIDE THE VEHICLE AND CAUSES THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP BACK ON 3/13/2015 AND NO ONE ANSWERED AND I COULD NOT LEAVE A MESSAGE. I CALLED BACK ON 3/15/2015 AND SPOKE WITH A VERY NICE YOUNG LADE NAMED COURTNEY AND SHE SAYS THEY WOULD NOT HAVE A LOANER UNTIL THURSDAY, 3/18/2015 EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE A RELATIONSHIP WITH THE ENTERPRISE RENT A CAR COMPANY. WHAT AM I LOOKING FOR?? I AM EXPECTING TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THE $381.55. I FEEL STRONGLY THAT THIS WAS A FACTORY ISSUE AND THE DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP DEALER SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL CHARGES, INCLUDING THE MONEY SPENT ON A RENTAL CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/16/2015 - CABOT, AR
WHILE DRIVING ONE DAY, OUT OF THE BLUE MY CAN WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 TO 30 MPH. IT WOULD SHAKE VIOLENTLY IF WE WENT FASTER. WE GOT IT TO THE MECHANIC AND THE BRAKES HAD ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. IT RUINED ONE TIRE AND THE BRAKES AND CALIPERS. THE MECHANIC SAID THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED. IT WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I REPORTED IT TO DODGE. THEY SAID IT HAD NEVER HAPPENED. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT IT DOES GET REPORTED. I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THIS. THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO SINCE IT NEVER ACTUALLY CAUGHT ON FIRE. REALLY?

View Details

WHEELS

3/16/2015 - CABOT, AR
WHILE DRIVING ONE DAY, OUT OF THE BLUE MY CAN WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 TO 30 MPH. IT WOULD SHAKE VIOLENTLY IF WE WENT FASTER. WE GOT IT TO THE MECHANIC AND THE BRAKES HAD ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. IT RUINED ONE TIRE AND THE BRAKES AND CALIPERS. THE MECHANIC SAID THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED. IT WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I REPORTED IT TO DODGE. THEY SAID IT HAD NEVER HAPPENED. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT IT DOES GET REPORTED. I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THIS. THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO SINCE IT NEVER ACTUALLY CAUGHT ON FIRE. REALLY?

View Details

ENGINE

3/10/2015 - WESTERVILLE , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V373000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/9/2015 - CABOT, AR
MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DRIVING ONE DAY, OUT OF THY BLUE, THE VAN BEGAN TO SHAKE TOWARDS THE FRONT OF THE VAN. WE COULDN'T GET THE SPEED OVER 25 MPH. WE GOT IT TO THE NEAREST MECHANIC SHOP. THEY SAID IT WAS THE CALIPERS. THEY SAID THAT IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO CATCHING ON FIRE. I HAD TO HAVE BOTH CALIPERS REPLACED AND A BRAKE JOB. I ALSO HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW TIRE. I CALLED AND REPORTED IT TO DODGE/CHRYSLER. THEY SAID THAT THERE HAD NOT BEEN ANY PROBLEMS WITH OTHER VANS. IT WAS AN EXTREMELY SCARY INCIDENT TO GO THROUGH. THEY SAID THAT THEY MIGHT BE ABLE TO DO SOMETHING IF THE VAN HAD ACTUALLY CAUGHT ON FIRE. THAT'S JUST CRAZY. THIS HAS COST ME ABOUT $800.00. I JUST WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT THIS GETS REPORTED IN CASE OTHER VANS HAVE SIMILAR PROBLEMS. THE MECHANICS WERE SHOCKED AT WHAT THEY SAW. THEY SAID THAT IT SHOULD NOT HAVE DONE WHAT IT DID.

View Details

STEERING

2/19/2015 - WAYNESVILLE, NC
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE USING CRUISE CONTROL. STEERING COLUMN REFUSED TO RESPOND WHEN ATTEMPTING TO STEER THE VAN WITH THE CURVE IN THE ROAD. VAN DROVE OFF ROAD ONTO EMBANKMENT AND FLIPPED OVER. THE VAN WAS TOTALED. SUFFERED A CONCUSSION AND DAMAGE TO BACK AND ELBOW FROM IMPACT. EYE GLASSES WERE BROKEN. EYE WITNESS BEHIND ME TOLD STATE TROOPER THAT THEY COULD SEE THAT I WAS STRUGGLING FOR CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds