Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CARAVAN - 2010 DODGE CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (10) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (7) Power Train (6) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seats (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/6/2014 - PIEDMONT, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/10/2014 - WITTMANN, AZ
UPON STARTING THE DODGE CARAVAN SE 2010 I CLOSED BOTH POWER PASSENGER DOORS WITH MY CHILDREN IN SAFETY BELTS, UPON ENTERING THE DRIVERS SIDE MY CHILD ASKED ME TO TURN ON THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS SO THAT SHE COULD FIND SOMETHING THAT DROPPED ON THE FLOOR WITH THE DRIVERS DOOR OPENED, AND THE VEHICLE RUNNING I TURNED ON THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS ONLY TO HAVE BOTH POWER PASSENGER DOORS OPEN ON THEIR OWN. I WAS ABLE TO REPLICATE THIS ERROR A NUMBER OF TIMES UNDER SIMILAR CONDITIONS, AND AM UNABLE TO PIN POINT A CAUSE. THIS COULD BE A LARGE SAFETY DEFECT. WHAT IF THIS WAS TO HAPPEN WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ? THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE A MINOR PASSENGER TO BE EJECTED FROM THE VEHICLE. I ASK FOR A RECALL / INVESTIGATION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/10/2014 - WITTMANN, AZ
UPON STARTING THE DODGE CARAVAN SE 2010 I CLOSED BOTH POWER PASSENGER DOORS WITH MY CHILDREN IN SAFETY BELTS, UPON ENTERING THE DRIVERS SIDE MY CHILD ASKED ME TO TURN ON THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS SO THAT SHE COULD FIND SOMETHING THAT DROPPED ON THE FLOOR WITH THE DRIVERS DOOR OPENED, AND THE VEHICLE RUNNING I TURNED ON THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS ONLY TO HAVE BOTH POWER PASSENGER DOORS OPEN ON THEIR OWN. I WAS ABLE TO REPLICATE THIS ERROR A NUMBER OF TIMES UNDER SIMILAR CONDITIONS, AND AM UNABLE TO PIN POINT A CAUSE. THIS COULD BE A LARGE SAFETY DEFECT. WHAT IF THIS WAS TO HAPPEN WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ? THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE A MINOR PASSENGER TO BE EJECTED FROM THE VEHICLE. I ASK FOR A RECALL / INVESTIGATION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/10/2014 - WITTMANN, AZ
UPON STARTING THE DODGE CARAVAN SE 2010 I CLOSED BOTH POWER PASSENGER DOORS WITH MY CHILDREN IN SAFETY BELTS, UPON ENTERING THE DRIVERS SIDE MY CHILD ASKED ME TO TURN ON THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS SO THAT SHE COULD FIND SOMETHING THAT DROPPED ON THE FLOOR WITH THE DRIVERS DOOR OPENED, AND THE VEHICLE RUNNING I TURNED ON THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS ONLY TO HAVE BOTH POWER PASSENGER DOORS OPEN ON THEIR OWN. I WAS ABLE TO REPLICATE THIS ERROR A NUMBER OF TIMES UNDER SIMILAR CONDITIONS, AND AM UNABLE TO PIN POINT A CAUSE. THIS COULD BE A LARGE SAFETY DEFECT. WHAT IF THIS WAS TO HAPPEN WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ? THIS ISSUE COULD CAUSE A MINOR PASSENGER TO BE EJECTED FROM THE VEHICLE. I ASK FOR A RECALL / INVESTIGATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2014 - WAUKEGAN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE HAD SEVERAL ELECTRICAL FAILURES. THE BRAKE LIGHT AND TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE POWER WINDOWS BEGAN TO OPERATE INDEPENDENTLY, THE HAZARD LIGHTS FAILED INTERMITTENTLY, THE RADIO FAILED TO FUNCTION WHEN ENGAGED AND THE IGNITION KEY WOULD SPORADICALLY FAIL TO EXTRACT FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURN SIGNAL BULBS AND BRAKE LIGHT BULBS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT DID NOT HAVE THE DEALER INSPECT THE VEHICLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE OTHER ELECTRICAL FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,521 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 48,800.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2014 - ERIE, PA
FIRST INCIDENT WAS MAY OF 2012 WHEN DRIVE AT I LOST POWER TO WINDOW WIPERS, TURN SIGNALS ,WINDOWS, DOOR LOCKS AND RADIO. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE NHTSA ON 09/28/2012 NO.10490319. SINCE THEN THE DEALER REPLACED THE CONTROL MODULE WITH REPLACEMENT FIX ON 01/03/2013 PER YOUR RECALL NOTICE. THE NEW MODULE IS NOW HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AS THE OLD DESIGN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2013 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
2010 DODGE CARAVAN. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. IN AUGUST 2012, WHILE TRAVELING AT NIGHT, ALL THE OF THE DRIVING LIGHTS WENT OUT ON THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST REVEALED, THE HEADLAMP SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN OCTOBER 2012, WHILE DRIVING AGAIN AT NIGHT, ALL OF THE LIGHTS WENT OUT. AFTER TAKING THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER IT WAS NOTED THAT AT TIMES THE LIGHTS WOULD WORK INTERMITTENTLY. THEY DETERMINED THROUGH DIAGNOSTICS TESTING IT AGAIN NEEDED A HEADLAMP SWITCH AS WELL AS AN INTEGRATED POWER MODULE. SINCE THE LIGHTS WERE OPERATIONAL AT THAT TIME, THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED TO CONTINUE DRIVING AND THE NECESSARY PARTS WOULD BE ORDERED. THE FIRST WEEK OF NOVEMBER WHILE DRIVING, THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AGAIN. THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO THE DEALER, WHERE SHE WAS GIVEN A LOANER VEHICLE, WHICH SHE HAD FOR 10 DAYS, BECAUSE THE PARTS HAD NOT ARRIVED. ON FRIDAY OCTOBER 4, 3013, WHILE DRIVING, ALL OF THE ELECTRICAL POWER CONTROLLING THE TURN SIGNALS, AIR CONDITIONING, POWER WINDOWS, RADIO, WINDSHIELD WIPERS, ETC. STOPPED WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE THEY DISCOVERED THE VEHICLE NEEDED AN IGNITION SWITCH. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, IT WAS AN APPARENT PROBLEM WITH THE 2010 MODELS. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THERE WAS A SHORTAGE OF PARTS, AS THE COMPANY THAT MANUFACTURED IT, HAD GONE OUT OF BUSINESS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/15/2013 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
THE WIN MODULE HAS BEEN REPLACED ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. MY VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING EACH TIME. IN ONE INSTANCE I WAS IN THE FAST LANE ON THE FREEWAY! I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE AFTER THE SECOND INCIDENT. ON SEVEN (7), OCCASIONS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BRAKES AND/OR ROTORS. THESE ARE VERY SERIOUS ISSUES. UPDATED 11/04/13

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/15/2013 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
THE WIN MODULE HAS BEEN REPLACED ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. MY VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING EACH TIME. IN ONE INSTANCE I WAS IN THE FAST LANE ON THE FREEWAY! I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE AFTER THE SECOND INCIDENT. ON SEVEN (7), OCCASIONS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BRAKES AND/OR ROTORS. THESE ARE VERY SERIOUS ISSUES. UPDATED 11/04/13

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2013 - FERNANDINA BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 70 MILES PER HOUR ON THE INTERSTATE, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. I WAS ABLE TO STEER THE VAN OFF THE ROAD. I HAD NO TROUBLE RESTARTING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SHUT DOWN PERIODICALLY OVER THE NEXT MONTH OR SO. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE SAID THAT THEY HAD IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM AND FIXED IT. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SHUT DOWN AND IT WAS MAKING ME AND MY FAMILY VERY NERVOUS, BECAUSE WE HAD NO IDEA WHEN IT WOULD JUST "STOP". IT WOULD MAKE A SHORT CLICK SOUND, THEN "STOP". I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER, AND THIS TIME, THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I CALLED AND REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO THE HEADQUARTERS, AND THEY REFERRED ME BACK TO THE LOCAL DEALER. THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM AND THAT I WOULD NEED TO BRING IT BACK AND LEAVE IT. I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH LEAVING IT, BUT BY THIS TIME, I WAS FEARFUL FOR MY LIFE AND HAD LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE DEALERSHIP TO REPAIR IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds