Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CARAVAN - 2010 DODGE CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 90 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (9) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/19/2015 - WAYNESVILLE, NC
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE USING CRUISE CONTROL. STEERING COLUMN REFUSED TO RESPOND WHEN ATTEMPTING TO STEER THE VAN WITH THE CURVE IN THE ROAD. VAN DROVE OFF ROAD ONTO EMBANKMENT AND FLIPPED OVER. THE VAN WAS TOTALED. SUFFERED A CONCUSSION AND DAMAGE TO BACK AND ELBOW FROM IMPACT. EYE GLASSES WERE BROKEN. EYE WITNESS BEHIND ME TOLD STATE TROOPER THAT THEY COULD SEE THAT I WAS STRUGGLING FOR CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2015 - YONKERS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR AN UNKNOWN MANUFACTURER RECALL; HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/3/2015 - SURFSIDE BEACH, SC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/3/2015 - BLAKELY, GA
THE DEALERSHIP IN DOTHAN, ALABAMA HAS REFUSED TO REPAIR THIS RECALL. THE EXCUSE THAT THEY ARE WAITING ON APPROVAL AND PARTS HAS BEEN USED SEVERAL TIMES. SOMEONE HAS TO TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2015 - WHITE LAKE, MI
ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE. THIS IS ACTUALLY A REPORT OF 5-6 SEPARATE INCIDENTS OF THE SAME ISSUE WITHIN A WEEK'S SPAN. THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. IT IS INSTANT AND SILENT, WITH NO PRE-WARNING. DRIVER LOSES ALL POWER STEERING / BRAKES DURING THE OCCURANCE. LAST INCIDENT ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE VEHICLE'S ENGINE STALLED AND A FOLLOWING VEHICLE HAD TO TAKE ACTION TO AVOID A COLLISION. MY WIFE AND KIDS WERE IN THE VAN AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. WHEN IT HAPPENS, THE VAN ALWAYS STARTS BACK UP, BUT IT HAS TO BE STATIONARY AND IN-PARK. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 01/23/15 FOR REPAIR. DEALERSHIP INDICATED THE EGR VALVE AND TEMPERATURE SENSOR WAS FAULTY AND HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR DECADES. THIS IS THE SECOND TEMPERATURE SENSOR THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED BY THE DEALER. INTERNET SEARCH CONFIRMS MANY ISSUES SUCH AS THIS ARE EVIDENT ON THE ROAD. REPAIR MADE 01/23/15 AT A CONSUMER COST OF $513.41. OUR PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRNATY COVERED ALL OF IT, BUT $150.00. I CONSIDER THE ISSUE, IN REGARD TO A DFMEA FORMAT TO BE, LOSS OF FUNCTION WHICH SHALL BE A SEVERITY OF 10 AND AN INVERTED DELTA BY THE MANUFACTURER. I ASK THAT NHTSA INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE AS MY FAMILIES WELL BEING WAS AT STAKE THIS MORNING WHICH DOES NOT SIT LIGHTLY WITH ME AS A HUSBAND / FATHER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/23/2015 - WHITE LAKE, MI
ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE. THIS IS ACTUALLY A REPORT OF 5-6 SEPARATE INCIDENTS OF THE SAME ISSUE WITHIN A WEEK'S SPAN. THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. IT IS INSTANT AND SILENT, WITH NO PRE-WARNING. DRIVER LOSES ALL POWER STEERING / BRAKES DURING THE OCCURANCE. LAST INCIDENT ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE VEHICLE'S ENGINE STALLED AND A FOLLOWING VEHICLE HAD TO TAKE ACTION TO AVOID A COLLISION. MY WIFE AND KIDS WERE IN THE VAN AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. WHEN IT HAPPENS, THE VAN ALWAYS STARTS BACK UP, BUT IT HAS TO BE STATIONARY AND IN-PARK. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 01/23/15 FOR REPAIR. DEALERSHIP INDICATED THE EGR VALVE AND TEMPERATURE SENSOR WAS FAULTY AND HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR DECADES. THIS IS THE SECOND TEMPERATURE SENSOR THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED BY THE DEALER. INTERNET SEARCH CONFIRMS MANY ISSUES SUCH AS THIS ARE EVIDENT ON THE ROAD. REPAIR MADE 01/23/15 AT A CONSUMER COST OF $513.41. OUR PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRNATY COVERED ALL OF IT, BUT $150.00. I CONSIDER THE ISSUE, IN REGARD TO A DFMEA FORMAT TO BE, LOSS OF FUNCTION WHICH SHALL BE A SEVERITY OF 10 AND AN INVERTED DELTA BY THE MANUFACTURER. I ASK THAT NHTSA INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE AS MY FAMILIES WELL BEING WAS AT STAKE THIS MORNING WHICH DOES NOT SIT LIGHTLY WITH ME AS A HUSBAND / FATHER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - WHITE LAKE, MI
ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE. THIS IS ACTUALLY A REPORT OF 5-6 SEPARATE INCIDENTS OF THE SAME ISSUE WITHIN A WEEK'S SPAN. THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. IT IS INSTANT AND SILENT, WITH NO PRE-WARNING. DRIVER LOSES ALL POWER STEERING / BRAKES DURING THE OCCURANCE. LAST INCIDENT ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE VEHICLE'S ENGINE STALLED AND A FOLLOWING VEHICLE HAD TO TAKE ACTION TO AVOID A COLLISION. MY WIFE AND KIDS WERE IN THE VAN AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. WHEN IT HAPPENS, THE VAN ALWAYS STARTS BACK UP, BUT IT HAS TO BE STATIONARY AND IN-PARK. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 01/23/15 FOR REPAIR. DEALERSHIP INDICATED THE EGR VALVE AND TEMPERATURE SENSOR WAS FAULTY AND HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR DECADES. THIS IS THE SECOND TEMPERATURE SENSOR THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED BY THE DEALER. INTERNET SEARCH CONFIRMS MANY ISSUES SUCH AS THIS ARE EVIDENT ON THE ROAD. REPAIR MADE 01/23/15 AT A CONSUMER COST OF $513.41. OUR PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRNATY COVERED ALL OF IT, BUT $150.00. I CONSIDER THE ISSUE, IN REGARD TO A DFMEA FORMAT TO BE, LOSS OF FUNCTION WHICH SHALL BE A SEVERITY OF 10 AND AN INVERTED DELTA BY THE MANUFACTURER. I ASK THAT NHTSA INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE AS MY FAMILIES WELL BEING WAS AT STAKE THIS MORNING WHICH DOES NOT SIT LIGHTLY WITH ME AS A HUSBAND / FATHER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/20/2015 - YONKERS, NY
THERE IS A RECALL ON THE REAR QUARTER WINDOW SWITCH THAT MAY OVERHEAT . I RECEIVED THE LETTER ON THURSDAY AND BY SUNDAY MY DOOR CAUGHT ON FIRE, NOW NOT ONLY THE SWITCH MUST BE REPLACED AND I SUPPOSE ALL WIRING AND REST OF THE SWITCHES AND THE DOOR INTERIOR PANEL SHOULD BE CHANGE BECAUSE OF DAMAGE. I CALLED THE RECALL CENTER AND AFTER TWO DAYS I'M STILL WAITING FOR A CALL WITH INSTRUCTIONS AS TO WHAT TO DO NOT TO MENTION THE SCARE ME AND MY WIFE GOT AND THE EXPENSES IT WILL COST ME BECAUSE I NEED TO RENT A CAR UNTIL THE ISSUE IS RESOLVED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - YONKERS, NY
THERE IS A RECALL ON THE REAR QUARTER WINDOW SWITCH THAT MAY OVERHEAT . I RECEIVED THE LETTER ON THURSDAY AND BY SUNDAY MY DOOR CAUGHT ON FIRE, NOW NOT ONLY THE SWITCH MUST BE REPLACED AND I SUPPOSE ALL WIRING AND REST OF THE SWITCHES AND THE DOOR INTERIOR PANEL SHOULD BE CHANGE BECAUSE OF DAMAGE. I CALLED THE RECALL CENTER AND AFTER TWO DAYS I'M STILL WAITING FOR A CALL WITH INSTRUCTIONS AS TO WHAT TO DO NOT TO MENTION THE SCARE ME AND MY WIFE GOT AND THE EXPENSES IT WILL COST ME BECAUSE I NEED TO RENT A CAR UNTIL THE ISSUE IS RESOLVED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/2/2015 - ST. THOMAS, MO
MY VAN HAS REPEATEDLY STOPPED WHILE DRIVING, APPROXIMATELY 10 TIMES FROM NOVEMBER 2014 TO JANUARY 2, 2014. I LOSE ALL POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WITHOUT WARNING AND HAVE TO CAREFULLY GET MYSELF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SCARES ME ESPECIALLY WHEN MY FAMILY IS IN THE VAN WITH ME. IN ALL INSTANCES I HAVE BEEN LUCKY AND HAVE ONLY BEEN GOING 20-40 MPH AND HAS BEEN IN PLACES THAT I'M ABLE TO GET OVER EASILY. THE NEXT TIME I MAY NOT BE SO LUCKY. WHEN I GET PULL OVER I PUT THE VAN IN PARK, TURN THE KEY TO OFF AND RESTART WITH NO PROBLEMS. I HAD THE VAN IN THE DEALERSHIP FOR AN ENTIRE DAY WITH NO LUCK. THEY TOOK IT OUT SEVERAL TIMES AND COULD NOT GET IT TO RECUR. THEY DID SOME UPDATING ON THE COMPUTER SYSTEM. THEY CHECKED ALL KINDS OF THINGS OUT AND EVERYTHING WAS COMING BACK ALRIGHT. THEY ALSO COULD NOT SEE ANY CODES THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM. I DID NOT HAVE IT OCCUR AGAIN FOR ALMOST 2 WEEKS IN THE SHOP SO I THOUGHT MAYBE IT WORKED, HOWEVER ON JAN. 2, 2014, IT OCCURRED AGAIN. THIS PROBLEM REALLY CONCERNS ME ESPECIALLY AFTER RECENTLY READING HOW OFTEN THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds