Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHALLENGER - 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (35) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2014 - ATHENS, AL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, THE KEY FELL OUT OF THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE AFTER MARKET SECURITY SYSTEM WAS CAUSING THE ISSUE AND THE IGNITION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 10V200000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000. MH

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - SAND GAP, KY
DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED AND DECELERATING TO ENTER I40 WEST OF ASHVILLE, NC. ENGINE SUDDENLY LOST POWER. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A SAFE STOP AT THE RIGHT SHOULDER. IF THE FAILURE HAD HAPPENED 10 MILES FARTHER THEIR WOULD HAVE NOT BEEN ENOUGH SHOULDER ON EITHER SIDE. TOWED CAR TO DODGE DEALER, WAS INFORMED NEXT DAY THAT TIMING CHAIN FAILED (5.7 L HEMI AUTO ). VEHICLE WAS SERVICED AT DEALER 1 WEEK PREVIOUSLY AND I WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS FOR THE TIMING CHAIN RECALL WERE ON BACK ORDER AND IT WOULD BE 4-6 WEEKS TILL I COULD GET THE REPAIR. POTENTIALY VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. VEHICLE IS BEING REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/22/2014 - MUSTANG, OK
AFTER CHANGING A DEAD BATTERY THE ETC LIGHT CAME ON (SOLID WHEN STARTING AND RUNNING). BEFORE CHANGING THE BATTERY THERE WAS NO ABNORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS OR NOTICEABLE HORSEPOWER ISSUES. THE MANUAL STATES TO TAKE THESE ACTIONS "IF THE LIGHT COMES ON WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING, SAFELY BRING THE VEHICLE TO A COMPLETE STOP AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, PLACE THE SHIFT LEVER IN PARK, AND CYCLE THE IGNITION KEY. THE LIGHT SHOULD TURN OFF. IF THE LIGHT REMAINS LIT WITH THE ENGINE RUNNING, YOUR VEHICLE WILL USUALLY BE DRIVABLE. HOWEVER, SEE AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR SERVICE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE." IF THE LIGHT IS FLASHING WHEN THE ENGINE IS RUNNING, IMMEDIATE SERVICE IS REQUIRED. IN THIS CASE, YOU MAY EXPERIENCE REDUCED PERFORMANCE, AN ELEVATED/ROUGH IDLE OR ENGINE STALL, AND YOUR VEHICLE MAY REQUIRE TOWING." AFTER I CHANGED THE BATTERY, I STARTED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND I HAD NO HORSEPOWER. SO AFTER PERFORMING VERY COMMON MAINTENANCE (CHANGING THE BATTERY), I HAVE TO DECIDE IF I AM GOING TO DRIVE TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THE MANUAL VAGUELY INTERPRETS THIS ERROR CODE AND HOW TO PROCEED TO FIX IT? THESE IS A SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE CHRYSLER USES THE WORDING "USUALLY BE DRIVABLE" THE LOSS OF ANY THROTTLE CONTROL IS DANGEROUS. MY VEHICLE IS DRIVABLE, BUT ONLY AT 5 MPH. THIS IS THE ONLY INFORMATION CHRYSLER HAS IN THE OWNERS MANUAL. I CALLED THE CHRYSLER GROUP LLC CUSTOMER CENTER AND THAT WAS ALL THE INFORMATION THEY HAD AVAILABLE ALSO. CASE NUMBER 24772432. DOES CHRYSLER HAVE KNOWN ISSUES WITH THE ETC AND HOW TO INTERPRET THE ERROR CODE? WHY WOULD THIS HAPPEN AFTER A BATTERY CHANGE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - CLINTON, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED, WITH ALL POWER OFF, WINDOWS UP, DOORS LOCKED. PASSENGER REAR QUARTER PANEL MARKER LIGHT SHORTED AND CAUGHT FIRE, RESULTING IN CHARRED PAINT, MELTED LIGHT ASSEMBLY, MELTED WIRING, AND MELTED REAR BUMPER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/5/2014 - CLINTON, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED, WITH ALL POWER OFF, WINDOWS UP, DOORS LOCKED. PASSENGER REAR QUARTER PANEL MARKER LIGHT SHORTED AND CAUGHT FIRE, RESULTING IN CHARRED PAINT, MELTED LIGHT ASSEMBLY, MELTED WIRING, AND MELTED REAR BUMPER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/5/2014 - CLINTON, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED, WITH ALL POWER OFF, WINDOWS UP, DOORS LOCKED. PASSENGER REAR QUARTER PANEL MARKER LIGHT SHORTED AND CAUGHT FIRE, RESULTING IN CHARRED PAINT, MELTED LIGHT ASSEMBLY, MELTED WIRING, AND MELTED REAR BUMPER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/3/2014 - GRAYSLAKE, IL
WAS DRIVING ON 4TH OF JULY FOR A HOLIDAY CELEBRATION. SHIFTED FROM 3RD TO 4TH GEAR AT 35 MPH AND THE SHIFTER HANDLE BROKE OFF. I HAD TO VERY CAREFULLY TURN AROUND AND DRIVE HOME WITH THIS BROKEN SHIFTER HANDLE. AT ONE POINT THE HANDLE CAME OUT OF THE MOUNT AND I HAD TO FIND THE HOLE AGAIN FOR THE SHIFT HANDLE WITH THE DUST BOOT OBSCURING MY VIEW WHILE DRIVING. SINCE IT WAS A HOLIDAY WEEKEND I DECIDED THIS WAS A TIME TO REPLACE THE SHIFTER HANDLE WITH THE HURST SHIFTER HANDLE SUPPLIED BY DODGE AS A PART OF MY AUTO PURCHASE USING MOPAR BUCKS. AFTER I INSTALLED THIS STRONGER SHIFTER/HANDLE I TOOK MY CAR IN TO THE DEALER TO SHOW THEM THE OBVIOUS SAFELY HAZARD FROM THE BROKEN SHIFTER HANDLE. THE DEALER TOOK THIS OPPORTUNITY TO RIDICULE ME AND MAKE IT APPEAR THAT I MUST HAVE DONE SOMETHING WRONG TO BREAK A PART LIKE THIS. I ASKED THEM TO CONTACT DODGE TO NOTIFY THEM OF A SAFETY HAZARD AND THEY WOULD NOT DO THIS. THEY TOLD ME MY VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. I BELIEVE THE WEAK ALLOY IN DODGE ORIGINAL MANUFACTURER SHIFT HANDLES SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM PRODUCTION AND REPLACED WITH STRONGER STEEL LIKE THE SHIFT HANDLE SUPPLIED WITH HURST SHIFTERS. I BELIEVE THE ENGINEERS AT DODGE NEED TO KNOW THESE PARTS ARE BREAKING FROM REGULAR USE. THIS IS A SAFELY HAZARD. I HAVE THE BROKEN SHIFT HANDLE FOR INSPECTION IF ANYBODY IN INTERESTED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2014 - RAYMOND, WA
TIMING CHAIN BROKE

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/15/2014 - ROCHESTER, IN
THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT,BUT I HAD TO HAVE ALL FOUR ROTORS REPLACED AT THE SAME TIME,THEN CAME THE LOUD CLUNK IN THE FRONT END OF CAR,TOOK IT IN TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT,THEY SAID IT WAS THE TIE RODS,SO THEY WERE REPLACED,NOT LONG AFTER THAT ANOTHER RATTLE FROM FRONT END STARTED,TOOK IT IN AGAIN,THEY SAID IT WAS THE SWAY BARS,SO THEY REPLACED THEM,AND ABOUT A WEWEK LATER THE CLUNK WAS BACK,SAME CLUNK AS THE FRIST ONE.THIS WASN'T MAKING THE CLUNK UNTIL THEY G REPLACED THE SWAY BARS. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER,NOW THEY ARE TELLING ME THE UPPER BALL JOINTS ARE BAD,SO HERE GOES ANOTHER 3 OR 4 HUNDRED DOLLARS.THIS SHOULDN'T BE GOING OUT IN THIS CAR.COULD YOU PLEASE TELL ME WHY?

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/7/2014 - LONDON , KY
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THERE WAS BLACK ICE WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO TRAVEL OFF THE ROAD AND ROLL DOWN A HILL. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE LANDED IN FIELD AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DECLARED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. DR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds