Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHALLENGER - 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 122 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (1) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine (38) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - TYLER, TX
I HEARD A TERRIBLE WHINE AND THEN SMOKE CAME OUT OF THE HOOD AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. LUCKILY, I WAS A BLOCK AWAY FROM MY HOUSE SO I PULLED IT INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND OPENED THE HOOD AND SAW SMOKE COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. THE ALTERNATOR WINDINGS WERE BLACK AND THE CAR WOULDN'T START. BATTERY DIED FROM NOT BEING CHARGED. I REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR FROM A LOCAL AUTO PARTS STORE AND THE CAR RUNS FINE. I WAS ALSO ABLE TO RECHARGE THE BATTERY AND IT STILL IS WORKING. BY THE WAY, THE CAR USED TO DIE ONCE A MONTH OR SO WHEN I WOULD BE TURNING RIGHT INTO A PARKING LOT. SINCE I HAVE REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR, I DO NOT HAVE THAT PROBLEM ANYMORE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/30/2014 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVIVG ON MY WAY HOME DOING ABOUT 60MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I COULDN'T EVEN STEER THE CAR, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP NO BREAKING CAPEABILITY, HAD TO LET THE CAR COAST INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE, LUCKLY THERE WEREN'T ANY CARS IN FRONT OR BEHAIND ME. WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. WHILE IN THE EMERGENCY LANE PUT THE CAR IN PARK TURNED OFF THER IGNITION, TURNED ON THE IGNITION PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD MOVE, PUT IT BACK IN PARK TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AGAIN, STARTED IT AGAIN PUT IN DRIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/30/2014 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVIVG ON MY WAY HOME DOING ABOUT 60MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I COULDN'T EVEN STEER THE CAR, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP NO BREAKING CAPEABILITY, HAD TO LET THE CAR COAST INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE, LUCKLY THERE WEREN'T ANY CARS IN FRONT OR BEHAIND ME. WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. WHILE IN THE EMERGENCY LANE PUT THE CAR IN PARK TURNED OFF THER IGNITION, TURNED ON THE IGNITION PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD MOVE, PUT IT BACK IN PARK TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AGAIN, STARTED IT AGAIN PUT IN DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2014 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVIVG ON MY WAY HOME DOING ABOUT 60MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I COULDN'T EVEN STEER THE CAR, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP NO BREAKING CAPEABILITY, HAD TO LET THE CAR COAST INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE, LUCKLY THERE WEREN'T ANY CARS IN FRONT OR BEHAIND ME. WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. WHILE IN THE EMERGENCY LANE PUT THE CAR IN PARK TURNED OFF THER IGNITION, TURNED ON THE IGNITION PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD MOVE, PUT IT BACK IN PARK TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AGAIN, STARTED IT AGAIN PUT IN DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

12/17/2014 - ELK GROVE, CA
WHILE DOING AN OIL CHANGE ON MY CAR, I FOUND THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE WAS LEAKING WHERE THE HOSE IS CRIMPED TO THE HARD LINE. AFTER SOME ONLINE SEARCHING I FOUND RECALL 10V475000 RELATED TO THIS SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER CHRYSLER VEHICLES. ACCORDING TO THE RECALL, CHRYSLER DOES NOT INCLUDE THE BUILD DATE OF MY VEHICLE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW MY VEHICLE, WHICH WAS BUILT ONLY A FEW MONTHS PRIOR TO THE RECALL, WOULD NOT BE COVERED WHEN THE ISSUE OCCURRING WITH MY VEHICLE IS IDENTICAL TO THE RECALL. POWER STEERING LINES ON A 3 YEAR OLD CAR SHOULD NOT FAIL THIS EARLY.

View Details

STEERING

12/17/2014 - ELK GROVE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING PRESSURE HOSE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN: 10V475000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,364.

View Details

ENGINE

11/11/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
I WAS TRAVELING ON SR 10 EASBOUND AND AFTER PASSING THE FL STATE LINE COMING FROM ALABAMA, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IMMEDIATELY AFTER THAT THE ENGINE STOPPED. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO THE NEAREST DODGE DEALERSHIP TO PENSACOLA, FL. THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THE BROKEN TIMING BELT CHAIN THAT DODGE HAS A NATIONAL RECALL ON. THE REPAIR COST OF THE DAMAGE IS $4500 (VALVES, CYLINDER-HEAD ETC.) AND DODGE WOULD NOT GIVE AUTHORIZATION TO THE DEALER TO REPAIR IT FREE OF CHARGE TO ME CLAIMING THAT THE CAR HAS A REBUILT TITLE. THIS IS NOT A WARRANTY ISSUE, IT'S A SAFETY RECALL ISSUE AND IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FACT THAT MY CAR WAS IN A SMALL ACCIDENT AND IT'S REAR WAS REPAIRED BY USING ORIGINAL PARTS. IT WAS INSPECTED AND GIVEN NOT A SALVAGE BUT A REBUILT TITLE THAT IS A MARKETABLE TITLE.I BELIEVE THAT BY LAW THEY SHOULD BE OBLIGATED TO REPAIR IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2014 - CHINA GROVE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROLLER MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000. UPDATED 10/22/14

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/29/2014 - SPRING LAKE, NC
HAVE A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER WITH LESS THAN 40,000 MILES. TOOK CAR TO SHOP AT DODGE DEALERSHIP DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (AT 38,000 MILES). AFTER NOT DIAGNOSING MY CAR CORRECTLY ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THEY FINALLY "DETERMINED" THAT THE CAR NEEDED A NEW POWER MODULE, AND SEVERAL ENGINE SENSORS WERE FAULTY AND NOT WORKING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - SPRING LAKE, NC
HAVE A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER WITH LESS THAN 40,000 MILES. TOOK CAR TO SHOP AT DODGE DEALERSHIP DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (AT 38,000 MILES). AFTER NOT DIAGNOSING MY CAR CORRECTLY ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THEY FINALLY "DETERMINED" THAT THE CAR NEEDED A NEW POWER MODULE, AND SEVERAL ENGINE SENSORS WERE FAULTY AND NOT WORKING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds