Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHALLENGER - 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 114 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (36) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEED OF 35 MPH. I IMMEDETAELY TOOK MY 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER RT TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED MY THERE WAS ISSUES WITH THE TIMING CHAIN AND THAT WAS THE REASON FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON AND THAT THERE WOULD BE NO CHARGE TO ME FOR THEM TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN. WHEN I PICKED UP MY 2010 CHALLENGER RT A WEEK LATER THE CHECK ENGINE WAS STILL ON AND THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DIAGNOSE IT FURTHER. THE NEXT DAY THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE INFORMED ME THE MDS SOLENOID WIRING TO THE MAIN HARNESS HAD MELTED AND THAT THE ENGINE HARNESS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURES WARRANTY OR MY EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THAT IT WOULD BE $2000 OUT OF POCKET TO ME. THE DEALSERSHIP NEVER GAVE ANY EXPLANATION WHY THE WIRING MELTED AT THE MDS SOLENOID TO THE MAIN HARNESS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. AT THE TIME I ONLY HAD 38,000 MILES ON MY CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEED OF 35 MPH. I IMMEDETAELY TOOK MY 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER RT TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED MY THERE WAS ISSUES WITH THE TIMING CHAIN AND THAT WAS THE REASON FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON AND THAT THERE WOULD BE NO CHARGE TO ME FOR THEM TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN. WHEN I PICKED UP MY 2010 CHALLENGER RT A WEEK LATER THE CHECK ENGINE WAS STILL ON AND THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DIAGNOSE IT FURTHER. THE NEXT DAY THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE INFORMED ME THE MDS SOLENOID WIRING TO THE MAIN HARNESS HAD MELTED AND THAT THE ENGINE HARNESS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURES WARRANTY OR MY EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THAT IT WOULD BE $2000 OUT OF POCKET TO ME. THE DEALSERSHIP NEVER GAVE ANY EXPLANATION WHY THE WIRING MELTED AT THE MDS SOLENOID TO THE MAIN HARNESS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. AT THE TIME I ONLY HAD 38,000 MILES ON MY CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2014 - EAST MEADOW, NY
HARD SHIFTING SIX SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSION. WHEN STOPPED THE CAR FAILS TO ENGAGE FIRST GEAR AND IS ALSO EXTREMELY HARD TO GET INTO REVERSE. BEEN HAVING THIS PROBLEM FOR A FEW DAYS NOW AND IS GETTING HARDER TO SHIFT WHILE DRIVING.DODGE HAS A STAR CASE NOTICE (STAR CASE # S1021000004-BAD GREASE IN THE 2009 TREMECS) ABOUT GREASE ON THE INPUT SHAFT SPLINE THAT THE CLUTCH SLIDES ON GETTING DIRTY FROM TOO MUCH GREASE AND DIRT WHICH MAKES THE DISC STICK AND NOT FULLY DISENGAGING.THIS TRANSMISSION IS ALSO IN THE NEW CHEVY CAMARO AND FORD MUSTANG SO IT SEEMS TO BE A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION MANUFACTURER TREMEC. THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT OR ASSEMBLY LINE DEFECT AND SHOULD BE A MANDATORY RECALL BEFORE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WITH INJURY OCCUR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

6/11/2014 - MADISON, AL
2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO TRANSMISSION ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE APPEARED TO BE A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION STICKING BETWEEN SHIFTS AS WELL AS BECOMING STUCK AFTER PARK. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, THE CONSUMER DISCOVERED THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO EXCESSIVE GREASE ON THE INPUT SHAFT SPLINES COLLECTING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF DIRT, WHICH DID NOT ALLOW SMOOTH MOVEMENT OF THE CLUTCH DISC ON THE INPUT SHAFT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2014 - ATHENS, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, THE KEY FELL OUT OF THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE AFTER MARKET SECURITY SYSTEM WAS CAUSING THE ISSUE AND THE IGNITION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 10V200000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - SAND GAP, KY
DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED AND DECELERATING TO ENTER I40 WEST OF ASHVILLE, NC. ENGINE SUDDENLY LOST POWER. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A SAFE STOP AT THE RIGHT SHOULDER. IF THE FAILURE HAD HAPPENED 10 MILES FARTHER THEIR WOULD HAVE NOT BEEN ENOUGH SHOULDER ON EITHER SIDE. TOWED CAR TO DODGE DEALER, WAS INFORMED NEXT DAY THAT TIMING CHAIN FAILED (5.7 L HEMI AUTO ). VEHICLE WAS SERVICED AT DEALER 1 WEEK PREVIOUSLY AND I WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS FOR THE TIMING CHAIN RECALL WERE ON BACK ORDER AND IT WOULD BE 4-6 WEEKS TILL I COULD GET THE REPAIR. POTENTIALY VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. VEHICLE IS BEING REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/22/2014 - MUSTANG, OK
AFTER CHANGING A DEAD BATTERY THE ETC LIGHT CAME ON (SOLID WHEN STARTING AND RUNNING). BEFORE CHANGING THE BATTERY THERE WAS NO ABNORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS OR NOTICEABLE HORSEPOWER ISSUES. THE MANUAL STATES TO TAKE THESE ACTIONS "IF THE LIGHT COMES ON WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING, SAFELY BRING THE VEHICLE TO A COMPLETE STOP AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, PLACE THE SHIFT LEVER IN PARK, AND CYCLE THE IGNITION KEY. THE LIGHT SHOULD TURN OFF. IF THE LIGHT REMAINS LIT WITH THE ENGINE RUNNING, YOUR VEHICLE WILL USUALLY BE DRIVABLE. HOWEVER, SEE AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR SERVICE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE." IF THE LIGHT IS FLASHING WHEN THE ENGINE IS RUNNING, IMMEDIATE SERVICE IS REQUIRED. IN THIS CASE, YOU MAY EXPERIENCE REDUCED PERFORMANCE, AN ELEVATED/ROUGH IDLE OR ENGINE STALL, AND YOUR VEHICLE MAY REQUIRE TOWING." AFTER I CHANGED THE BATTERY, I STARTED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND I HAD NO HORSEPOWER. SO AFTER PERFORMING VERY COMMON MAINTENANCE (CHANGING THE BATTERY), I HAVE TO DECIDE IF I AM GOING TO DRIVE TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THE MANUAL VAGUELY INTERPRETS THIS ERROR CODE AND HOW TO PROCEED TO FIX IT? THESE IS A SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE CHRYSLER USES THE WORDING "USUALLY BE DRIVABLE" THE LOSS OF ANY THROTTLE CONTROL IS DANGEROUS. MY VEHICLE IS DRIVABLE, BUT ONLY AT 5 MPH. THIS IS THE ONLY INFORMATION CHRYSLER HAS IN THE OWNERS MANUAL. I CALLED THE CHRYSLER GROUP LLC CUSTOMER CENTER AND THAT WAS ALL THE INFORMATION THEY HAD AVAILABLE ALSO. CASE NUMBER 24772432. DOES CHRYSLER HAVE KNOWN ISSUES WITH THE ETC AND HOW TO INTERPRET THE ERROR CODE? WHY WOULD THIS HAPPEN AFTER A BATTERY CHANGE?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/5/2014 - CLINTON, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED, WITH ALL POWER OFF, WINDOWS UP, DOORS LOCKED. PASSENGER REAR QUARTER PANEL MARKER LIGHT SHORTED AND CAUGHT FIRE, RESULTING IN CHARRED PAINT, MELTED LIGHT ASSEMBLY, MELTED WIRING, AND MELTED REAR BUMPER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - CLINTON, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED, WITH ALL POWER OFF, WINDOWS UP, DOORS LOCKED. PASSENGER REAR QUARTER PANEL MARKER LIGHT SHORTED AND CAUGHT FIRE, RESULTING IN CHARRED PAINT, MELTED LIGHT ASSEMBLY, MELTED WIRING, AND MELTED REAR BUMPER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/5/2014 - CLINTON, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED, WITH ALL POWER OFF, WINDOWS UP, DOORS LOCKED. PASSENGER REAR QUARTER PANEL MARKER LIGHT SHORTED AND CAUGHT FIRE, RESULTING IN CHARRED PAINT, MELTED LIGHT ASSEMBLY, MELTED WIRING, AND MELTED REAR BUMPER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds