Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHALLENGER - 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 127 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine (38) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/18/2015 - HOCKLEY , TX
IT WAS OBSERVED THAT A GAS SMELL WAS NOTICED WHILE IN MY CAR WHEN PARKED IN THE GARAGE AND THREW OUT MY VEHICLE CABIN. AFTER A DAY OR SO I CALLED THE DODGE DEALERSHIP AND REQUESTED TO BRING IT IN DUE TO A STRONG GAS VAPOR SMELL COMING FROM MY VEHICLE. THEY ACTED VERY UNCONCERNED AND SAID NO APPOINTMENT WAS AVAILABLE UNTIL THE FOLLOWING WEEK. SAME DAY I TOOK MY CARE TO A SERVICE SHOP AND ASKED THEM TO RUN A DIAGNOSTICS CHECK TO LOCATE THE SMELL. AFTER A HOUR THE SERVICE REPAIR MAN LOCATED AND FOUND THAT MY RIGHT REAR FUEL MODULE WAS LEAKING GAS UNDERNEATH MY RIGHT PASSENGER REAR BACK SEAT. IMMEDIATELY I CALLED BACK TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP AND EXPLAINED THE HEALTH HAZARD OF DRIVING AROUND IN A CAR BOMB. AT THAT POINT I WAS REQUESTED TO BRING MY VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP. COME TO FIND OUT THAT THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THE FUEL TANK ITSELF. THE NEW PLASTIC GAS TANKS THEY USE SOMETIMES SHIFT FROM OVER EX-POSER TO THE WEATHER ELEMENTS AND BROKE THE SEAL OF THE O - RING TO THE FUEL MODULE THAT IS CONNECTED TO MY GAS TANK. THE SERVICE MANAGER EXPLAINED THAT IT WAS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE NEW GAS TANKS AND THEY WILL HAVE TO REPLACE MY GAS TANK AND FUEL MODULE TO FIX THE DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2015 - MARTINEZ, CA
2 DAYS PRIOR TO FAILURE I NOTICED A WHINING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE AFTER WHICH THE CAR WAS NOT DRIVEN UNTIL 4/2/15. ON 4/2/15, UPON RETURNING HOME AFTER DRIVING THE CAR, I NOTICED THE WINDOWS WERE VERY SLOW TO ROLL UP. I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TRIED A RESTART, WOULD NOT START, APPEARED TO BE A DEAD BATTERY. WHEN WIFE ARRIVED HOME WE JUMP STARTED THE CAR AND PROCEEDED TO THE LOCAL DODGE DEALER. ON THE WAY THE CAR WAS VERY SLUGGISH, ALMOST STALLED SEVERAL TIMES AND VARIOUS DASH LIGHTS CAME ON; BATTERY, ABS, TRACTION CONTROL. THE CAR FINALLY STALLED ABOUT 1/8TH MILE FROM DEALER AND WAS TOWED THE REST OF THE WAY. ON FRIDAY, 4/3, A SERVICE WRITER TOLD ME THE ALTERMATOR AND BATTERY WERE BAD. IT WAS AT THAT TIME I LEARNED ABOUT A RECALL FOR DEFECTIVE ALTERNATOR WAS IN PROGRESS FOR 2011 TO 2014 V-6 EQUIPPED CHRYSLER VEHICLES. MY CAR IS A 2010 WITH A 5.7L V-8, HOWEVER AFTER CHECKING POST ON A CHALLENGER FORUM, I DISCOVERED MY CAR HAD THE EXACT SAME SYMPTOMS AS THE V-6 EQUIPPED VEHICLES PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. I SPOKE WITH A SERVICE TECH WHO SAID HE KNOWS OF OTHER V-8 EQUIPPED CHALLENGERS THAT SUFFERED AN ALTERNATOR FAILURE AND WOULD NOT BE SURPRISED IF THE RECALL IS EXPANDED. ALSO, I WAS INFROMED THAT THE BATTERY IS NOT COVERED UNDER MY ESP EVEN THOUGH THE ALTERNATOR IS CLEARLY THE CAUSE OF THE BATTERY FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/10/2015 - ANAHEIM, CA
ETC LIGHT FLASHES CONSTANTLY AND THE CAR DOESN'T RESPOND TO THE GAS PEDAL VERY WELL. I'VE RESEARCHED THE ISSUE AND MANY COMPLAIN THERE IS NO RIGHT FIX OTHER THAN REPLACING THE ETC.

View Details

STEERING

2/9/2015 - WAYNE, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER SRT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING PRESSURE HOSE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2015 - CONCORD, NC
THE POWER STEERING HAS LOST FUNCTION AT LOW IDLE IN MY LOW MILEAGE 2010 RT CLASSIC, MAKING IT VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - TYLER, TX
I HEARD A TERRIBLE WHINE AND THEN SMOKE CAME OUT OF THE HOOD AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. LUCKILY, I WAS A BLOCK AWAY FROM MY HOUSE SO I PULLED IT INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND OPENED THE HOOD AND SAW SMOKE COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. THE ALTERNATOR WINDINGS WERE BLACK AND THE CAR WOULDN'T START. BATTERY DIED FROM NOT BEING CHARGED. I REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR FROM A LOCAL AUTO PARTS STORE AND THE CAR RUNS FINE. I WAS ALSO ABLE TO RECHARGE THE BATTERY AND IT STILL IS WORKING. BY THE WAY, THE CAR USED TO DIE ONCE A MONTH OR SO WHEN I WOULD BE TURNING RIGHT INTO A PARKING LOT. SINCE I HAVE REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR, I DO NOT HAVE THAT PROBLEM ANYMORE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2014 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVIVG ON MY WAY HOME DOING ABOUT 60MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I COULDN'T EVEN STEER THE CAR, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP NO BREAKING CAPEABILITY, HAD TO LET THE CAR COAST INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE, LUCKLY THERE WEREN'T ANY CARS IN FRONT OR BEHAIND ME. WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. WHILE IN THE EMERGENCY LANE PUT THE CAR IN PARK TURNED OFF THER IGNITION, TURNED ON THE IGNITION PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD MOVE, PUT IT BACK IN PARK TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AGAIN, STARTED IT AGAIN PUT IN DRIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/30/2014 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVIVG ON MY WAY HOME DOING ABOUT 60MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I COULDN'T EVEN STEER THE CAR, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP NO BREAKING CAPEABILITY, HAD TO LET THE CAR COAST INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE, LUCKLY THERE WEREN'T ANY CARS IN FRONT OR BEHAIND ME. WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. WHILE IN THE EMERGENCY LANE PUT THE CAR IN PARK TURNED OFF THER IGNITION, TURNED ON THE IGNITION PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD MOVE, PUT IT BACK IN PARK TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AGAIN, STARTED IT AGAIN PUT IN DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/30/2014 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVIVG ON MY WAY HOME DOING ABOUT 60MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I COULDN'T EVEN STEER THE CAR, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP NO BREAKING CAPEABILITY, HAD TO LET THE CAR COAST INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE, LUCKLY THERE WEREN'T ANY CARS IN FRONT OR BEHAIND ME. WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. WHILE IN THE EMERGENCY LANE PUT THE CAR IN PARK TURNED OFF THER IGNITION, TURNED ON THE IGNITION PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD MOVE, PUT IT BACK IN PARK TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AGAIN, STARTED IT AGAIN PUT IN DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

12/17/2014 - ELK GROVE, CA
WHILE DOING AN OIL CHANGE ON MY CAR, I FOUND THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE WAS LEAKING WHERE THE HOSE IS CRIMPED TO THE HARD LINE. AFTER SOME ONLINE SEARCHING I FOUND RECALL 10V475000 RELATED TO THIS SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER CHRYSLER VEHICLES. ACCORDING TO THE RECALL, CHRYSLER DOES NOT INCLUDE THE BUILD DATE OF MY VEHICLE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW MY VEHICLE, WHICH WAS BUILT ONLY A FEW MONTHS PRIOR TO THE RECALL, WOULD NOT BE COVERED WHEN THE ISSUE OCCURRING WITH MY VEHICLE IS IDENTICAL TO THE RECALL. POWER STEERING LINES ON A 3 YEAR OLD CAR SHOULD NOT FAIL THIS EARLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds