Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHALLENGER - 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 190 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (5) Visibility (3)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (31) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
PURCHASED NEW IN 11/2010. 2 YEARS INTO OWNERSHIP, ON ABOUT 4 OCCURANCES, ENGINE WOULD SHUT OFF, LOOSE STEERING CONTROL AND BRAKES AT THE SAME TIME WHILE MAKING A SLOW RIGHT HAND TURN. PROBLEM DISAPPEARED AND THOUGHT IT WAS A FLUKE OF SOME KIND. NOW 3 YEARS LATER IT HAS STARTED DOING IT AGAIN EVERY TIME I DRIVE IT. WHEN THE ENGINE DIES YOU CAN BARELY STEER AND HAVE TO REALLY PULL HARD ON THE STEERING WHEEL TO KEEP FROM GOING INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. BRAKES DO NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY EITHER, YOU LOOSE ALL POWER BRAKING AND IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STOP. I HAVE SEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR THIS ISSUE EXTENSIVELY. WHAT I HAVE FOUND IS ABOUT A HUNDRED OTHER DIFFERENT INDIVIDUALS ON SEVERAL FORUM SITES DESCRIBING EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM. NOBODY HAD AN ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM AND FOUND JUST AS MANY DIFFERENT THINGS THAT PEOPLE SAID WERE WRONG RANGING FROM ECM FAILURE TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT MODULES AND LOOSE CONNECTIONS. WHEN IT FIRST STARTED IT WOULD ONLY OCCUR WHEN SLOWING DOWN AND MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN. NOW IT DOES IT AT ANY TIME NO MATTER WHETHER SITTING IN A PARKING LOT OR DRIVING ON THE STREET. YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY ALL THE WAY OFF AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON TO START IT AND THERE IS ALWAYS A DELAY FROM THE TIME YOU DO THAT TILL THE TIME IT RESPONDS. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE AND A RECALL SHOULD BE DONE AS SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITHOUT IT EVER BEING CLEARLY UNDERSTOOD WHAT WAS CAUSING THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

4/18/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
PURCHASED NEW IN 11/2010. 2 YEARS INTO OWNERSHIP, ON ABOUT 4 OCCURANCES, ENGINE WOULD SHUT OFF, LOOSE STEERING CONTROL AND BRAKES AT THE SAME TIME WHILE MAKING A SLOW RIGHT HAND TURN. PROBLEM DISAPPEARED AND THOUGHT IT WAS A FLUKE OF SOME KIND. NOW 3 YEARS LATER IT HAS STARTED DOING IT AGAIN EVERY TIME I DRIVE IT. WHEN THE ENGINE DIES YOU CAN BARELY STEER AND HAVE TO REALLY PULL HARD ON THE STEERING WHEEL TO KEEP FROM GOING INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. BRAKES DO NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY EITHER, YOU LOOSE ALL POWER BRAKING AND IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STOP. I HAVE SEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR THIS ISSUE EXTENSIVELY. WHAT I HAVE FOUND IS ABOUT A HUNDRED OTHER DIFFERENT INDIVIDUALS ON SEVERAL FORUM SITES DESCRIBING EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM. NOBODY HAD AN ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM AND FOUND JUST AS MANY DIFFERENT THINGS THAT PEOPLE SAID WERE WRONG RANGING FROM ECM FAILURE TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT MODULES AND LOOSE CONNECTIONS. WHEN IT FIRST STARTED IT WOULD ONLY OCCUR WHEN SLOWING DOWN AND MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN. NOW IT DOES IT AT ANY TIME NO MATTER WHETHER SITTING IN A PARKING LOT OR DRIVING ON THE STREET. YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY ALL THE WAY OFF AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON TO START IT AND THERE IS ALWAYS A DELAY FROM THE TIME YOU DO THAT TILL THE TIME IT RESPONDS. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE AND A RECALL SHOULD BE DONE AS SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITHOUT IT EVER BEING CLEARLY UNDERSTOOD WHAT WAS CAUSING THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/18/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
PURCHASED NEW IN 11/2010. 2 YEARS INTO OWNERSHIP, ON ABOUT 4 OCCURANCES, ENGINE WOULD SHUT OFF, LOOSE STEERING CONTROL AND BRAKES AT THE SAME TIME WHILE MAKING A SLOW RIGHT HAND TURN. PROBLEM DISAPPEARED AND THOUGHT IT WAS A FLUKE OF SOME KIND. NOW 3 YEARS LATER IT HAS STARTED DOING IT AGAIN EVERY TIME I DRIVE IT. WHEN THE ENGINE DIES YOU CAN BARELY STEER AND HAVE TO REALLY PULL HARD ON THE STEERING WHEEL TO KEEP FROM GOING INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. BRAKES DO NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY EITHER, YOU LOOSE ALL POWER BRAKING AND IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STOP. I HAVE SEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR THIS ISSUE EXTENSIVELY. WHAT I HAVE FOUND IS ABOUT A HUNDRED OTHER DIFFERENT INDIVIDUALS ON SEVERAL FORUM SITES DESCRIBING EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM. NOBODY HAD AN ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM AND FOUND JUST AS MANY DIFFERENT THINGS THAT PEOPLE SAID WERE WRONG RANGING FROM ECM FAILURE TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT MODULES AND LOOSE CONNECTIONS. WHEN IT FIRST STARTED IT WOULD ONLY OCCUR WHEN SLOWING DOWN AND MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN. NOW IT DOES IT AT ANY TIME NO MATTER WHETHER SITTING IN A PARKING LOT OR DRIVING ON THE STREET. YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY ALL THE WAY OFF AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON TO START IT AND THERE IS ALWAYS A DELAY FROM THE TIME YOU DO THAT TILL THE TIME IT RESPONDS. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE AND A RECALL SHOULD BE DONE AS SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITHOUT IT EVER BEING CLEARLY UNDERSTOOD WHAT WAS CAUSING THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/5/2016 - HENDERSON, NC
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR IN TRAFFC AND THE CAR JUST SHUT DOWN AND IT WOULD NOT CRANK UP ,I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED, BECAUSE THE GAS PEDAL IS NOT PUMPING GAS INTO TTHE CAR.AND THE KEY GETS STUCK IN THE IGNITION. CHRYSLER SAYS ITS THE ACC PEDAL SENSOR

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/5/2016 - HENDERSON, NC
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR IN TRAFFC AND THE CAR JUST SHUT DOWN AND IT WOULD NOT CRANK UP ,I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED, BECAUSE THE GAS PEDAL IS NOT PUMPING GAS INTO TTHE CAR.AND THE KEY GETS STUCK IN THE IGNITION. CHRYSLER SAYS ITS THE ACC PEDAL SENSOR

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2016 - BEL AIR, MD
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V444000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/10/2016 - VICTORIA, WA
REAR CRADLE BUSHING FAILED. RECOGNIZED BY MECHANIC WHO WAS TASKED WITH INSTALLING A LARGER REAR SWAY BAR. OTHER EXAMPLES OF THIS HAVE BEEN DISCUSSED ON THE CHALLENGER FORUMS-SOME CATASTROPHIC(THE ENTIRE CRADLE COMING OFF, DESTROYING THE WHOLE UNDERSIDE OF THE BACK HALF OF THE CAR. IT'S DISCONCERTING AS MY CAR WAS NEVER DRIVEN "HARD" OR RECKLESSLY. IT HAS 45,000 MILES ON IT IN 5 YEARS AND IS A DAILY DRIVER. I HOPE OTHERS COME FORWARD, BUT, THE CRADLE BUSHINGS SHOULD BE PART OF EVERY INSPECTION WHEN SERVICING THE CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/25/2016 - FLOWERY BRANCH, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V444000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/9/2016 - HAMILTON, TX
MY SON WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY ROAD IN THE CITY GOING STRAIT AHEAD AND NOTICED THE BATTERY LIGHT HAD COME ON, VERY QUICKLY HE THEN NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE CAR, UNDER THE HOOD. FORTUNATELY HE WAS ABLE TO QUICKLY EXIT THE ROADWAY AND GET INTO A PARKING LOT. HE OPENED THE HOOD AND MORE SMOKE CAME OUT. HE CALLED ME (HIS FATHER) AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION. I ASKED IF IT WAS ON FIRE AND CAUTIONED HIM TO GET BACK AND TO LET IT COOL DOWN. HE LET IT COOL DOWN AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE CAR. THE CAR HAD NO ELECTRICAL POWER AT THIS TIME. DOOR LOCKS AND TRUNK LATCH WOULD NOT FUNCTION. AFTER PUTTING THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND REALIZING THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY DEAD HE ATTEMPTED TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND THE CAR WOULD NOT RELEASE THE KEY, THEREFORE HE WAS FORCED TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE CAR UNATTENDED AND EVENTUALLY TOWED FOR SERVICE. I HAVE CONCERNS ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS SITUATION GIVEN THAT IF HE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO EXIT QUICKLY THE CAR COULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE OR COMPLETELY LOST POWER/CONTROL WHILE HE WAS STUCK IN THE ROADWAY. APPARENTLY THE CAR ALTERNATOR GOT HOT ENOUGH TO DESTROY IT AND THE BATTERY. AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET THERE ARE NUMEROUS REPORTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM AND SUBSEQUENT RECALL OF LATER YEAR MODELS OF THIS EXACT SAME ALTERNATOR WITH A SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT ENGINE MODEL(NHTSA 14V-634) RECALL NUMBER P-60 ALTERNATOR. I HAVE CALLED DODGE/CHRYSLER AND FILED REPORTS/COMPLAINTS WITH THEM. I HAVE ATTACHED REPAIR INVOICE CONFIRMING THE ISSUE EXPLAINED. I BELIEVE THIS VEHICLE SHOULD FALL UNDER THE SAME RECALL AS LATER YEAR MODELS DUE TO UNSAFE AND DANGEROUS POTENTIAL OF MECHANICAL FAILURE. THANK YOU

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/4/2016 - NORTH PLATTE, NE
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V3444000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds