Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHALLENGER - 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 117 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine (36) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/9/2014 - CHINA GROVE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROLLER MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000. UPDATED 10/22/14

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - SPRING LAKE, NC
HAVE A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER WITH LESS THAN 40,000 MILES. TOOK CAR TO SHOP AT DODGE DEALERSHIP DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (AT 38,000 MILES). AFTER NOT DIAGNOSING MY CAR CORRECTLY ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THEY FINALLY "DETERMINED" THAT THE CAR NEEDED A NEW POWER MODULE, AND SEVERAL ENGINE SENSORS WERE FAULTY AND NOT WORKING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2014 - SPRING LAKE, NC
HAVE A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER WITH LESS THAN 40,000 MILES. TOOK CAR TO SHOP AT DODGE DEALERSHIP DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (AT 38,000 MILES). AFTER NOT DIAGNOSING MY CAR CORRECTLY ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THEY FINALLY "DETERMINED" THAT THE CAR NEEDED A NEW POWER MODULE, AND SEVERAL ENGINE SENSORS WERE FAULTY AND NOT WORKING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/29/2014 - SPRING LAKE, NC
HAVE A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER WITH LESS THAN 40,000 MILES. TOOK CAR TO SHOP AT DODGE DEALERSHIP DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (AT 38,000 MILES). AFTER NOT DIAGNOSING MY CAR CORRECTLY ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THEY FINALLY "DETERMINED" THAT THE CAR NEEDED A NEW POWER MODULE, AND SEVERAL ENGINE SENSORS WERE FAULTY AND NOT WORKING.

View Details

SEATS

8/6/2014 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
I PURCHASED MY CHALLENGER IN 2011 AND QUICKLY BECAME AWARE THAT THE HEADREST PUT MY HEAD IN A VERY UNCOMFORTABLE PUSHED-FORWARD POSITION. AFTER MANY ATTEMPTS AT MANIPULATING THE SEAT POSITION I CAME UP WITH SOMETHING THAT MADE IT TOLERABLE, BUT ON ANY LONG DRIVE (HALF AN HOUR OR MORE) I GET A STIFF NECK AND HEADACHE. I HAD NO HISTORY OF NECK PROBLEMS PRIOR TO THIS TIME. OVER TIME I SEEM TO HAVE DEVELOPED CHRONIC NECK STIFFNESS, MUSCLE TENSION AND NUMBNESS IN MY FINGERS. MY NECK HAS NOW STARTED CRACKING WHEN I TURN MY HEAD SUDDENLY. IT HAS NEVER DONE THIS BEFORE, BUT IT HAS SERIOUSLY AGGRAVATED THE PROBLEM. THE HEADACHES IT CAUSES ARE SEVERE AND CAN LAST WEEKS. I HAVE NOTICED WHENEVER I TAKE A "VACATION" FROM DRIVING MY CAR FOR SEVERAL WEEKS AT A TIME THE PROBLEM IMPROVES. JUST THIS WEEK, THOUGH, MY CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AND I HAVE A RENTAL, A 2013 CHEVY IMPALA. THIS CAR IS AN ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE REGARDING HEAD RESTRAINT PLACEMENT. NO MATTER WHAT SEAT POSITION I TRY, IT PUSHES MY HEAD FORWARD AT A SHARP ANGLE. BY THE TIME I DRIVE HOME FROM WORK - 20 MINUTES - I AM ALMOST SICK FROM THE DISCOMFORT AND PAIN. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE... RECONSIDER THE LEGISLATION PASSED TO MAKE THESE NEW HEAD RESTRAINTS "SAFER" FOR ME. I MAY NEVER, EVER BE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WHERE I SUFFER WHIPLASH INJURIES, BUT I AM CERTAINLY FEELING "WHIPLASH" PAIN. I BELIEVE IT IS CAUSING ME PERMANENT INJURY. THERE MUST BE A COMPROMISE TO MAKE CARS SAFER WITHOUT CHRONIC PAIN ISSUES FOR THEIR DRIVERS. I HAVE DONE EXTENSIVE RESEARCH ON THIS ISSUE, SO I KNOW I AM NOT ALONE. I WOULD FIND A NEW CAR, BUT ALL NEWER MODELS I LIKE SEEM TO HAVE THIS DESIGN FLAW. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO, OTHER THAN REMOVING OR MODIFYING MY HEADREST TO TRY AND GET SOME RELIEF. SURELY A BETTER RULE IS PREFERABLE TO MY SOLUTION WHICH LEAVES ME COMPLETELY UNPROTECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEED OF 35 MPH. I IMMEDETAELY TOOK MY 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER RT TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED MY THERE WAS ISSUES WITH THE TIMING CHAIN AND THAT WAS THE REASON FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON AND THAT THERE WOULD BE NO CHARGE TO ME FOR THEM TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN. WHEN I PICKED UP MY 2010 CHALLENGER RT A WEEK LATER THE CHECK ENGINE WAS STILL ON AND THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DIAGNOSE IT FURTHER. THE NEXT DAY THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE INFORMED ME THE MDS SOLENOID WIRING TO THE MAIN HARNESS HAD MELTED AND THAT THE ENGINE HARNESS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURES WARRANTY OR MY EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THAT IT WOULD BE $2000 OUT OF POCKET TO ME. THE DEALSERSHIP NEVER GAVE ANY EXPLANATION WHY THE WIRING MELTED AT THE MDS SOLENOID TO THE MAIN HARNESS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. AT THE TIME I ONLY HAD 38,000 MILES ON MY CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEED OF 35 MPH. I IMMEDETAELY TOOK MY 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER RT TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED MY THERE WAS ISSUES WITH THE TIMING CHAIN AND THAT WAS THE REASON FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON AND THAT THERE WOULD BE NO CHARGE TO ME FOR THEM TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN. WHEN I PICKED UP MY 2010 CHALLENGER RT A WEEK LATER THE CHECK ENGINE WAS STILL ON AND THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THEY WOULD HAVE TO DIAGNOSE IT FURTHER. THE NEXT DAY THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE INFORMED ME THE MDS SOLENOID WIRING TO THE MAIN HARNESS HAD MELTED AND THAT THE ENGINE HARNESS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURES WARRANTY OR MY EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THAT IT WOULD BE $2000 OUT OF POCKET TO ME. THE DEALSERSHIP NEVER GAVE ANY EXPLANATION WHY THE WIRING MELTED AT THE MDS SOLENOID TO THE MAIN HARNESS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. AT THE TIME I ONLY HAD 38,000 MILES ON MY CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2014 - EAST MEADOW, NY
HARD SHIFTING SIX SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSION. WHEN STOPPED THE CAR FAILS TO ENGAGE FIRST GEAR AND IS ALSO EXTREMELY HARD TO GET INTO REVERSE. BEEN HAVING THIS PROBLEM FOR A FEW DAYS NOW AND IS GETTING HARDER TO SHIFT WHILE DRIVING.DODGE HAS A STAR CASE NOTICE (STAR CASE # S1021000004-BAD GREASE IN THE 2009 TREMECS) ABOUT GREASE ON THE INPUT SHAFT SPLINE THAT THE CLUTCH SLIDES ON GETTING DIRTY FROM TOO MUCH GREASE AND DIRT WHICH MAKES THE DISC STICK AND NOT FULLY DISENGAGING.THIS TRANSMISSION IS ALSO IN THE NEW CHEVY CAMARO AND FORD MUSTANG SO IT SEEMS TO BE A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION MANUFACTURER TREMEC. THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT OR ASSEMBLY LINE DEFECT AND SHOULD BE A MANDATORY RECALL BEFORE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WITH INJURY OCCUR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

6/11/2014 - MADISON, AL
2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO TRANSMISSION ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE APPEARED TO BE A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION STICKING BETWEEN SHIFTS AS WELL AS BECOMING STUCK AFTER PARK. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, THE CONSUMER DISCOVERED THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO EXCESSIVE GREASE ON THE INPUT SHAFT SPLINES COLLECTING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF DIRT, WHICH DID NOT ALLOW SMOOTH MOVEMENT OF THE CLUTCH DISC ON THE INPUT SHAFT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2014 - ATHENS, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, THE KEY FELL OUT OF THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE AFTER MARKET SECURITY SYSTEM WAS CAUSING THE ISSUE AND THE IGNITION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 10V200000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds