Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 134 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (6) Visibility (11)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (41) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2012 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
WITH ONLY 25,000 MILES MY BRAKE PADS NEED TO BE REPLACED. DIAGNOSIS CAME FROM LOUD SCREECHING AND WHISTLING NOISE FROM FRONT DRIVERS-SIDE TIRES. HAD NO CONSISTENCY WITH SPEED OR BRAKING - SOMETIMES IT WHISTLED WHILE GOING FAST, SOMETIMES WHILE SLOW, SOMETIMES WHILE TURNING, SOMETIMES WHILE BRAKING. I TAKE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION TO WORK AND USE THIS CAR VERY INFREQUENTLY. I AM DISGUSTED BY HAVING TO CHANGE BRAKE PADS AT 25,000 MILES - THE MAJORITY OF WHICH IS DISTANCE DRIVING TO FAMILY OUT OF TOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/10/2012 - AUSTIN, TX
I DROVE MY CAR ONTO A MAJOR HIGHWAY, SPEED LIMIT 70 MPH. ENTERING THE HIGHWAY MY CAR ACCELERATED FROM 70-79 BY ITSELF WITH MY ABS KICKING IN AT THE SAME TIME. NOT ALLOWING ME TO BRAKE. NEARLY CAUSING A PILE UP, I EXITED IMMEDIATELY TURNING INTO A SHOPPING CENTER TO PARK MY CAR. WITH TWO PASSENGERS IN THE CAR WITH ME, I PROCEEDED INTO THE LOT, UP A HILL WHEN I COULD FEEL MY CAR ACCELERATING BY ITSELF. WITH MY PASSENGERS IN DISBELIEF, I LIFTED MY RIGHT FOOT IN THE AIR SO THEY COULD SEE, MY CAR ACCELERATED FROM 0-21 MPH BY ITSELF, UP A HILL. SCARED OUT OF MY MIND, I PULLED MY CAR OVER AND PARKED IT. I CONTACTED HONDA, TOOK MY CAR IN FOR SERVICE ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THEY "HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS ISSUE BEFORE" AND THAT THIS WAS THEIR FIRST TIME LOOKING INTO SUCH A POSSIBILITY. A COUPLE DAYS LATER AFTER THEY BLAMED THIS ISSUE ON MY "THIRD PARTY FLOOR MATS" AND ADVISED ME TO TAKE THEM OUT OF MY CAR, I DID. I DROVE WITHOUT THE FLOOR MAT FOR TWO WEEKS, TO MAKE SURE THAT IT WAS MY CAR ACTING UP AND NOT THE MATS. SURE ENOUGH, MY CAR ACTED UP 2 MORE TIMES IN THOSE TWO WEEKS. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC, IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUNCH OF STOP LIGHTS. I WOULD BRAKE A LITTLE TOO EARLY & ATTEMPT TO COAST IN TRAFFIC TO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I'D TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND THE CAR WOULD FULLY ACCELERATE ALL BY ITSELF, CAUSING ME TO SLAM MY BRAKES. SECOND OCCURRENCE, WAS WHEN I WAS GETTING INTO MY CAR, TURNED IT ON, BUT NEVER PUT IT INTO GEAR OR EVEN SHUT MY DOOR, THE ENGINE STARTED REVVING WITH RPMS UP IN THE "REDS". MULTIPLE TIMES. AFTER TAKING MY CAR IN A SECOND TIME, THEY WERE ONCE AGAIN BLAMING THESE PROBLEMS ON MY FLOOR MATS AND THAT THEY WEREN'T GOING TO SERVICE OR TAKE CARE OF ANYTHING AT ALL, I AM WRITING THIS COMPLAINT TO FURTHER ENFORCE THAT THE 2010 HONDA CIVIC NEEDS TO BE RECALLED. THE COMPUTERS ARE DEFECTIVE AND HONDA IS DOING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/10/2012 - AUSTIN, TX
I DROVE MY CAR ONTO A MAJOR HIGHWAY, SPEED LIMIT 70 MPH. ENTERING THE HIGHWAY MY CAR ACCELERATED FROM 70-79 BY ITSELF WITH MY ABS KICKING IN AT THE SAME TIME. NOT ALLOWING ME TO BRAKE. NEARLY CAUSING A PILE UP, I EXITED IMMEDIATELY TURNING INTO A SHOPPING CENTER TO PARK MY CAR. WITH TWO PASSENGERS IN THE CAR WITH ME, I PROCEEDED INTO THE LOT, UP A HILL WHEN I COULD FEEL MY CAR ACCELERATING BY ITSELF. WITH MY PASSENGERS IN DISBELIEF, I LIFTED MY RIGHT FOOT IN THE AIR SO THEY COULD SEE, MY CAR ACCELERATED FROM 0-21 MPH BY ITSELF, UP A HILL. SCARED OUT OF MY MIND, I PULLED MY CAR OVER AND PARKED IT. I CONTACTED HONDA, TOOK MY CAR IN FOR SERVICE ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THEY "HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS ISSUE BEFORE" AND THAT THIS WAS THEIR FIRST TIME LOOKING INTO SUCH A POSSIBILITY. A COUPLE DAYS LATER AFTER THEY BLAMED THIS ISSUE ON MY "THIRD PARTY FLOOR MATS" AND ADVISED ME TO TAKE THEM OUT OF MY CAR, I DID. I DROVE WITHOUT THE FLOOR MAT FOR TWO WEEKS, TO MAKE SURE THAT IT WAS MY CAR ACTING UP AND NOT THE MATS. SURE ENOUGH, MY CAR ACTED UP 2 MORE TIMES IN THOSE TWO WEEKS. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC, IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUNCH OF STOP LIGHTS. I WOULD BRAKE A LITTLE TOO EARLY & ATTEMPT TO COAST IN TRAFFIC TO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I'D TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND THE CAR WOULD FULLY ACCELERATE ALL BY ITSELF, CAUSING ME TO SLAM MY BRAKES. SECOND OCCURRENCE, WAS WHEN I WAS GETTING INTO MY CAR, TURNED IT ON, BUT NEVER PUT IT INTO GEAR OR EVEN SHUT MY DOOR, THE ENGINE STARTED REVVING WITH RPMS UP IN THE "REDS". MULTIPLE TIMES. AFTER TAKING MY CAR IN A SECOND TIME, THEY WERE ONCE AGAIN BLAMING THESE PROBLEMS ON MY FLOOR MATS AND THAT THEY WEREN'T GOING TO SERVICE OR TAKE CARE OF ANYTHING AT ALL, I AM WRITING THIS COMPLAINT TO FURTHER ENFORCE THAT THE 2010 HONDA CIVIC NEEDS TO BE RECALLED. THE COMPUTERS ARE DEFECTIVE AND HONDA IS DOING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/10/2012 - AUSTIN, TX
I DROVE MY CAR ONTO A MAJOR HIGHWAY, SPEED LIMIT 70 MPH. ENTERING THE HIGHWAY MY CAR ACCELERATED FROM 70-79 BY ITSELF WITH MY ABS KICKING IN AT THE SAME TIME. NOT ALLOWING ME TO BRAKE. NEARLY CAUSING A PILE UP, I EXITED IMMEDIATELY TURNING INTO A SHOPPING CENTER TO PARK MY CAR. WITH TWO PASSENGERS IN THE CAR WITH ME, I PROCEEDED INTO THE LOT, UP A HILL WHEN I COULD FEEL MY CAR ACCELERATING BY ITSELF. WITH MY PASSENGERS IN DISBELIEF, I LIFTED MY RIGHT FOOT IN THE AIR SO THEY COULD SEE, MY CAR ACCELERATED FROM 0-21 MPH BY ITSELF, UP A HILL. SCARED OUT OF MY MIND, I PULLED MY CAR OVER AND PARKED IT. I CONTACTED HONDA, TOOK MY CAR IN FOR SERVICE ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THEY "HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS ISSUE BEFORE" AND THAT THIS WAS THEIR FIRST TIME LOOKING INTO SUCH A POSSIBILITY. A COUPLE DAYS LATER AFTER THEY BLAMED THIS ISSUE ON MY "THIRD PARTY FLOOR MATS" AND ADVISED ME TO TAKE THEM OUT OF MY CAR, I DID. I DROVE WITHOUT THE FLOOR MAT FOR TWO WEEKS, TO MAKE SURE THAT IT WAS MY CAR ACTING UP AND NOT THE MATS. SURE ENOUGH, MY CAR ACTED UP 2 MORE TIMES IN THOSE TWO WEEKS. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC, IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUNCH OF STOP LIGHTS. I WOULD BRAKE A LITTLE TOO EARLY & ATTEMPT TO COAST IN TRAFFIC TO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I'D TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND THE CAR WOULD FULLY ACCELERATE ALL BY ITSELF, CAUSING ME TO SLAM MY BRAKES. SECOND OCCURRENCE, WAS WHEN I WAS GETTING INTO MY CAR, TURNED IT ON, BUT NEVER PUT IT INTO GEAR OR EVEN SHUT MY DOOR, THE ENGINE STARTED REVVING WITH RPMS UP IN THE "REDS". MULTIPLE TIMES. AFTER TAKING MY CAR IN A SECOND TIME, THEY WERE ONCE AGAIN BLAMING THESE PROBLEMS ON MY FLOOR MATS AND THAT THEY WEREN'T GOING TO SERVICE OR TAKE CARE OF ANYTHING AT ALL, I AM WRITING THIS COMPLAINT TO FURTHER ENFORCE THAT THE 2010 HONDA CIVIC NEEDS TO BE RECALLED. THE COMPUTERS ARE DEFECTIVE AND HONDA IS DOING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/10/2012 - REDONDO BEACH, CA
SQUEALING NOISE COMES AND GOES. MONTHS LATER IT RETURNED AND LASTED FOR LONGER INTERVALS. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE BRAKES NEEDED REPLACING. THE CAR IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD AND LESS THAN 20,000 MILES. ALL DRIVING IS DONE LOCALLY. HAVE BEEN A LONG-TIME OWNER OF HONDAS AND HAVE NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT IS NOT A "USUAL" ISSUE. THIS IS CLEARLY A POORLY MADE VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

10/1/2012 - OERELAND, PA
THERE WAS A LOT OF NOISE FROM THE FRONT END. I TOOK TO THE DEALER (MARY SUSSMAN HONDA, ABINGTON, PA) AND THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A FRONT END BRAKE JOB (PADS, ROTOR POLISHING ETC). TWO DAYS AGO (9/27/12) I HAD TO TAKE TO HAVE MY REAR BEARING REPLACED AND THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED FRONT BRAKES AGAIN. NOW MILEAGE IS 44,500, SO ONLY ~18,000 MILES FROM LAST REPAIR. I THINK TWO BRAKE JOBS AT 40K MILES IS NOT RIGHT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/1/2012 - OERELAND, PA
THERE WAS A LOT OF NOISE FROM THE FRONT END. I TOOK TO THE DEALER (MARY SUSSMAN HONDA, ABINGTON, PA) AND THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A FRONT END BRAKE JOB (PADS, ROTOR POLISHING ETC). TWO DAYS AGO (9/27/12) I HAD TO TAKE TO HAVE MY REAR BEARING REPLACED AND THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED FRONT BRAKES AGAIN. NOW MILEAGE IS 44,500, SO ONLY ~18,000 MILES FROM LAST REPAIR. I THINK TWO BRAKE JOBS AT 40K MILES IS NOT RIGHT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/25/2012 - OCEANSIDE, CA
ON OUR NEW HONDA CIVIC, OUR FRONT BRAKES WENT OUT AT 15,900 MILES. OF COURSE, THE SERVICE REPS TRIED TO BLAME THE "HARD DRIVING" WHICH WAS THEIR ASSUMPTION. THEY DID REPLACE THEM, BUT NOW AT 29,000 MILES, THE FRONT BRAKES ARE OUT AGAIN. CLEARLY, HONDA IS USING EITHER POOR QUALITY PADS OR THE BRAKING SYSTEM IS DEFECTIVE. WE ARE TAKING IT IN AGAIN, BUT DON'T HAVE A LOT OF CONFIDENCE THAT THEY'LL DO THE RIGHT THING AND FIX THIS.

View Details

STEERING

9/17/2012 - NAPERVILLE, IL
BOUGHT DEMO 2010 HONDA CIVIC EX IN DECEMBER 2010, SO IT WAS VIRTUALLY NEW. PROBLEM BEGAN OCCURRING AROUND THE BEGINNING OF SEPTEMBER 2012, WHEN THE MILEAGE OF CAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 53,000. UPON IGNITION, THE NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE WAS A HIGHER-PITCHED WHIR THAN I WAS ACCUSTOMED TO. THIS HIGHER-PITCHED WHIR WOULD WORSEN AS I ACCELERATED AND AS I TURNED CORNERS. THOUGHT I JUST NEEDED TO ALLOW THE CAR TO WARM UP. THAT SOLUTION DID NOT WORK. TOOK THE CAR INTO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT THE CAR. I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE POWER STEERING RACK, AND THAT THIS LEAK WAS DRAINING INTO MY WHEEL BOOTS, BY WHICH I'M GUESSING HE MEANT STEERING RACK BOOTS. I DO NOT HAVE GOOD KNOWLEDGE OF CARS. WAS TOLD THAT SOMEHOW THE DRAINAGE OF POWER STEERING FLUID INTO MY STEERING BOOTS WAS CREATING THIS HIGH-PITCHED WHIR. FOR THE FEW WEEKS THIS NOISE WAS OCCURRING BEFORE I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF LEAKS UNDER MY CAR. WAS TOLD THAT UNTIL THE STEERING BOOT WAS COMPLETELY SATURATED WITH POWER STEERING FLUID THAT THERE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ANY SIGNS OF LEAKAGE UNDER THE CAR. FORTUNATELY THE HONDA CARE WARRANTY COVERS THIS REPAIR. THOUGH I DON'T KNOW IF IT'S THE EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT I BOUGHT AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE. CAR IS BEING REPAIRED AS I TYPE THIS. WILL POST AGAIN IF I LEARN OF ANY ADDITIONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/10/2012 - PANORAMA CITY, CA
I OWN A 2010 HONDA CIVIC LX MODEL. MY CAR WAS SERVICED AT 18,800 MILES. I WAS TOLD BY THE HONDA SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT MY BRAKES HAD TO BE CHANGED. I BOUGHT THE CAR WITH 6,400 MILES ON IT. I WAS SHOCKED AT THE FACT THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE CHANGED AT ABOUT 12,000 MILES INTO DRIVING THE CAR. BRAKES ARE MEANT TO LAST ABOUT 30,000 MILES BEFORE BEING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. HONDA DOES NOT LET THE OWNERS OF THESE CARS KNOW THAT THEY HAVE FAULTY BRAKES THAT THEY WEAR OUT QUICKER. NOR ARE THEY WILLING TO COVER THE COSTS OF EARLY BRAKE CHANGES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds