Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 226 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Structure (12) Visibility (18)
Engine (9) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (62) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (10)
Equipment (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/14/2014 - STAFFORD, TX
PREMATURE BRAKE PAD WEAR. HAD TO REPLACE FRONT BRAKE PAD AT 24,022 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/5/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
IT STARTED AS A SCRAPING NOISE LOCATED ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE WHEEL, ON THE FOURTH DAY THE NOISE WAS OVERWHELMINGLY LOUD, SCRAPING SOUND EVEN THOUGH MY SPEED WAS UNDER THE LIMIT. I TOOK MY CAR TO NTB FOR REPAIR AND WAS SHOCKED! REPLACED DISC BRAKE PADS,BRAKE SHOES,TWO ROTORS EVEN THOUGH THE ONE LOOKED SMOOTH THEY BOTH HSD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

9/29/2014 - MARYSVILLE, OH
BROUGHT MY HONDA CIVIC IN FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE ON 9/27/14. WAS TOLD I HAD A POWER STEERING LEAK AND MY ENTIRE POWER STEERING RACK HAD TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $1200.00. I WAS TOLD THE LEAK IS VERY SLOW AND NOT AN IMMEDIATE CONCERN BUT THAT IT WILL GET WORSE. THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THIS PARTICULAR MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR FOR THE CIVIC. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL!

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/29/2014 - MARYSVILLE, OH
BROUGHT MY HONDA CIVIC IN FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE ON 9/27/14. WAS TOLD I HAD A POWER STEERING LEAK AND MY ENTIRE POWER STEERING RACK HAD TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $1200.00. I WAS TOLD THE LEAK IS VERY SLOW AND NOT AN IMMEDIATE CONCERN BUT THAT IT WILL GET WORSE. THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THIS PARTICULAR MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR FOR THE CIVIC. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/24/2014 - SANTA CLARA, CA
TODAY, 9/24/2014, I HAD TO REPLACE MY FRONT BRAKES FOR THE SECOND TIME AND THE CAR HAS ONLY 46,147 MILES ON IT. MY WIFE AND I DRIVE THE CAR VERY CAREFULLY AND WE DON'T LIVE IN A MOUNTAIN AREA. FIRST TIME WE CHANGED THE BRAKES WAS AT 10,000 MILES. I CHOSE HONDA CIVIC BECAUSE OF PREVIOUS HONDAS I HAD, AND NONE OF THE PREVIOUS HONDA HAD BRAKES ISSUES LIKE OUR 2010 CIVIC. I HAD A 2008 CIVIC WHICH I LEASED AT THAT TIME, AND I EXITED THE LEASE AT 36,000 MILES WITHOUT HAVING TO CHANGE THE BRAKES ONCE! I FEEL THAT MY 2010 CIVIC HAS A DEFECTIVE BRAKES AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WHERE I HAD MY CAR SERVICED AT SAID THEY HEARD SIMILAR COMPLAINTS. HONDA NEEDS TO PUT THE SAFETY OF THEIR CLIENTS AHEAD AND ADMIT OF THEIR FAULTY BRAKE PADS AND ISSUE A RECALL ON THE 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THANK YOU!

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/16/2014 - REISTERSTOWN , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG AND CEILING AIR BAG DEPLOYED UNEXPECTEDLY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED AN INJURY TO THE FACE AND THE DRIVER SEAT WAS FRACTURED IN HALF BY A METAL FRAGMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V351000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,011. ..UPDATED 10/07/14 REMAILED 11/19/14 UPDATED 3/25/2015

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/13/2014 - LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA
VEHICLE HAS GRINDING NOISE. BROUGHT TO HONDA (NORM REEVES HONDA/HUNTINGTON BEACH) DEALERSHIP. FOUND THAT LEFT FRONT SENSOR BROKE OFF . ISSUE: WHY WOULD A BRAKE PAD EARLY WARNING DEVICE (SENSOR BREAK OFF). LEFT SIDE BROKE COMPLETELY, THE RIGHT SIDE WAS HALF BROKE. IS THIS A SAFETY ISSUE? MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT BRAKES ARE COMPROMISED. IT ALSO CAUSED EXTRA COST BY CAUSING ROTORS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - CALIFORNIA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A TURN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSIS AND THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - MARIETTA, GA
PLASTIC PART OF CAR KEY HOUSING FELL FROM THE METAL PART OF THE KEY AND ENGINE SHUT OFF. AT HOME, AFTER THE KEY HOUSING FELL TO THE CAR FLOOR, I EXAMINED IT. THE PLASTIC KEY HOUSING HAD FINE CRACKS WHERE METAL PART OF KEY WAS SUPPOSED BE SECURED WITH A TINY SCREW THAT WAS STILL IN THE METAL KEY. THE FINE CRACKS WAS ENOUGH TO ALLOW THE HOUSING TO OPEN AND SLIP OFF THE METAL KEY. APPARENTLY, THE METAL END OF THE KEY ISN'T LONG ENOUGH TO BE A LEVER WHEN TURNING ON THE IGNITION. THE PLASTIC HOUSING OF THE KEY TWISTED WHEN TURNING ON THE IGNITION AND RESULTED IN THE CRACKS AT THE BASE OF THE KEY. WITHOUT THE PROGRAMMED CHIP ATTACHED TO THE METAL KEY, THE IGNITION SHUTS OFF.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/1/2014 - ORO VALLEY, AZ
DRIVER'S SIDE SUN VISOR SPLIT AT SEAM, DROPPING VISOR INTO LINE OF SIGHT. COMMON PROBLEM ON CIVICS, CLASS ACTION SUIT RESULTED IN WARRANTY EXTENSION TO SEVEN YEARS FOR MODELS THROUGH 2009. THEY KEPT INSTALLING THE SAME DEFECTIVE VISORS, BUT THE 2010 MODEL IS NOT COVERED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds