Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 200 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Structure (10) Visibility (15)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (54) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (8)
Equipment (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (14)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/4/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THERE IS A WATER LEAK INSIDE OF MY 2010 HONDA CIVIC LX THAT OCCURS WHEN IT RAINS.THE WATER LEAK IS EVIDENT AROUND THE DRIVER'S SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AND OTHER SECTIONS WHICH MAY NOT BE VISIBLE.SEE MY YOUTUBE VIDEO THAT I MADE WHICH SHOWS THE PROBLEM AS IT IS OCCURRING: HTTP://YOUTU.BE/XIYZNF6IGBE ONE OF MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS THAT THE WATER LEAK WILL CORRODE THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG AND PREVENT IT FROM WORKING PROPERLY IN AN ACCIDENT. A SEARCH ON YOUTUBE AND GOOGLE ABOUT THE WATER LEAK ON THAT TYPE OF VEHICLE REVEALED THAT OTHER HONDA CIVIC CUSTOMERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. SINCE MY VIDEO UPLOAD OF THE ISSUE, AT LEAST ONE PERSON HAS E-MAILED ME VIA MY YOUTUBE ACCOUNT AND REQUESTED FOR ME TO LET HIM KNOW HOW THE ISSUE IS RESOLVED BECAUSE HE IS ALSO HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHEN I NOTICED THE WATER LEAK I CONTACTED HONDA MOTORS AND HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED OUT AT SLOANE HONDA'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT IN PHILADELPHIA, PA. HOWEVER THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE THE WATER LEAK AND THEREFORE ARE NOT ABLE TO DETERMINE THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT COMPLETED THE ASSESSMENT AS A COURTESY TO ME.THE VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 28K MILES; HOWEVER THE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WHICH IS A 2010 MODEL IS OVER 3 YEARS OLD. BECAUSE THE WATER LEAK WAS NOT ABLE TO BE REPLICATED AT THE SERVICE LOCATION,HONDA MOTORS IS UNWILLING TO GO ANY FURTHER WITH ADDRESSING THE ISSUE. ANY FURTHER VISITS TO THE SERVICE STATION WOULD REQUIRE FOR ME TO PAY OUT OF POCKET SINCE THE VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. MY REQUEST FOR HONDA MOTORS TO EXTEND THEIR MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY UNTIL THE SOURCE OF THE WATER LEAK IS IDENTIFIED AND THE PROBLEM FIXED WAS DENIED. PLEASE ASSIST IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE AND OTHER'S WHO ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM. MAYBE A RECALL TO IDENTIFY AND CORRECT THE PROBLEM IS WARRANTED. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

6/2/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
ABOUT A YEAR AGO - THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT OF ENGINE WHILE DRIVING. WE STOPPED AND HONDA SAID THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE AND CHANGED THE ENGINE (UNDER WARRANTY STILL). SINCE THEN, WE HAVE MULTIPLE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT SIGNS WHILE DRIVING IN HIGHWAY OR MIDDLE OF CROWDED CITY, AS WELL AS THE DRIVE LIGHT JUST STARTS RANDOMLY BLINKING FORCING US TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND RE-START THE CAR. THROUGHOUT THIS TIME, THEY ARE NOW CHANGING THE ENGINE FOR THE 3RD TIME AND THERE IS CONSTANT LEAK AND WARNING SIGNS STILL. THEY HAVE OBVIOUSLY NOT FIGURED OUT THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY KNOW OUR WARRANTY IS RUNNING OUT IN OCTOBER - SO THEY JUST CHANGE ENGINE OR REPAIR A LEAK (WITHOUT ACTUALLY FIGURING OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS) AND THEY ARE WAITING FOR WARRANTY TO RUN OUT. IT IS ALL BEEN AN ENGINE PROBLEM AND THE DEALER AND NOW HONDA JUST DO NOT SEEM TO CARE - WE ARE STILL UNDER WARRANTY. WE THINK THIS IS A VIOLATION OF THE MAGNUSON-MOSS WARRANTY ACT AS THEY HAVE OBVIOUSLY NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM (IE ENGINE) THAT IS UNDER WARRANTY AND JUST REPLACE IT WITH SOMETHING THAT DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FOR US TO BE DRIVING THIS CAR AS HONDA AND US BOTH KNOW THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED AND DRIVING IN HIGHWAY OR A ROAD COULD MEAN AN ACCIDENT ANYTIME. HOWEVER, HONDA DOES NOT SEEM TO CARE - THEY SAY WELL WE WILL KEEP ON REPLACING ENGINE UNTIL WARRANTY RUNS OUT. WE WOULD LIKE TO GET A NEW CAR OR A CAR WITH EQUAL MILEAGE (AS OF FEBRUARY 2013), AS WE HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO PROPERLY USE THE CAR AND FEEL IN DANGER EVERY TIME WE DRIVE THE CAR GIVEN ALL THE WARNINGS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/27/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
BRAKE DOES NOT FUNCTION WELL. I HAVE TO PUSH IT HARD TO HAVE ENOUGH POWER TO STOP EVEN WHEN THE SPEED IS VERY LOW. I ALSO NOTICE THAT WHEN THE AIR CONDITION IS ON, BRAKE WORKS WORSE. I BELIEVE THERE MIGHT BE A SELF-ACCELERATION PROBLEM ESPECIALLY WHEN THE AIR CONDITION IS ON.

View Details

TIRES

4/23/2014 - SIERRA MADRE, CA
TIRE BLOWOUT ON FREEWAY. DRIVER SIDE REAR TIRE. SPEED APPROXIMATELY 60 MILES PER HOUR. CAUSED CAR TO SPIN OUT OF CONTROL. CAR ENDED UP FACING OPPOSING TRAFFIC BETWEEN CARPOOL LANE AND ADJACENT LANE. REQUIRED EMERGENCY PERSONNEL TO GET CAR OFF FREEWAY. TIRE INFORMATION: MICHELIN PRIMACY MXV. DOT N4TA Y4YX 2313. TIRES WERE PURCHASED DEC 30, 2013 FAILED IN LESS THAN 4 MONTHS. THE CAR HAD 41789 MILES WHEN TIRES WERE PURCHASED (TIRES HAD LESS THAN 4000 MILES ON THEM). THEY STILL HAVE HAIRS ON THEM FROM THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS. TIRE WAS INSPECTED BY SEARS PERSONNEL (EUNG LEE) ON FOOTHILL IN PASADENA. IT WAS HIS OPINION THAT IF THERE WAS A DEFECT ALL 4 TIRES WOULD HAVE FAILED INSTEAD OF A SINGLE TIRE.

View Details

WHEELS

4/23/2014 - SIERRA MADRE, CA
TIRE BLOWOUT ON FREEWAY. DRIVER SIDE REAR TIRE. SPEED APPROXIMATELY 60 MILES PER HOUR. CAUSED CAR TO SPIN OUT OF CONTROL. CAR ENDED UP FACING OPPOSING TRAFFIC BETWEEN CARPOOL LANE AND ADJACENT LANE. REQUIRED EMERGENCY PERSONNEL TO GET CAR OFF FREEWAY. TIRE INFORMATION: MICHELIN PRIMACY MXV. DOT N4TA Y4YX 2313. TIRES WERE PURCHASED DEC 30, 2013 FAILED IN LESS THAN 4 MONTHS. THE CAR HAD 41789 MILES WHEN TIRES WERE PURCHASED (TIRES HAD LESS THAN 4000 MILES ON THEM). THEY STILL HAVE HAIRS ON THEM FROM THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS. TIRE WAS INSPECTED BY SEARS PERSONNEL (EUNG LEE) ON FOOTHILL IN PASADENA. IT WAS HIS OPINION THAT IF THERE WAS A DEFECT ALL 4 TIRES WOULD HAVE FAILED INSTEAD OF A SINGLE TIRE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2014 - UNION CITY, CA
I BOUGHT THE CAR 3 YEARS AGO AND AFTER 6 MONTHS STARTED BRAKE PROBLEMS. CAR DOESN'T COME TO COMPLETE STOP IF DON'T PRESS IT VERY VERY HARD. WHEN I TOOK CAR TO DEALER, HE SAYS GOOD AND WORKING FINE. I TOOK CAR TO MORE THAN 10 DIFFERENT DEALERS AND EVERYONE SAYS THE SAME. BUT I CAN CLEARLY HEAR THE NOISE WHEN I APPLY BRAKES HARD.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/24/2014 - HAMPTON BAYS, NY
I PURCHASED NEW TIRES AT 52,000 MILES AFTER ROTATING THE OLD ONES EVERY 8,000 MILES. THE OLD TIRES ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WORE UNEVEN ON BOTH THE FRONT AND THE REAR SINCE I ROTATED THEM 5 TIMES. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO APPLE HONDA IN RIVERHEAD,NEW YORK WHERE I PURCHASED IT. THE SERVICE TECH. SAID "THE REAR RIGHT CAMBER IS OUT OF ALIGNMENT ,SOMETHING IS BENT. YOU HAVE TO TAKE IT TO A BODY SHOP".I THINK IT CAME THIS WAY WHEN I PURCHASED IT BRAND NEW IN 2010.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/24/2014 - GREENSBURG, PA
HERE WE ARE AGAIN AFTER 6 MONTHS WITH ANOTHER COUPLE HUNDRED DOLLARS IN BRAKES. HAVE SPEND OVER 1800 DOLLARS ON PADS, ROTORS AND CALIPERS. CAR STILL WEARING OUT BRAKES IN UNDER 10K. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. COUNTLESS FOLKS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL YEAR. SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT IN THE BRAKE DESIGN OR MATERIALS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2014 - BRONX, NY
THE IGNITION-LOCK SYSTEMS ALLOWS MY CAR TO SHUT OFF THE ENGINE WHEN I REMOVE THE KEY WITHOUT EVER PUTTING MY CAR INTO PARK. IT HAS ROLLING IN THE PARKING LOT. I VISIT MY LOCAL DEALER AT HONDA TARRYTOWN, THEY TOOK THE CARE FOR 6 DAYS CHANGE THE KEYS, THE COMPUTER, LOCK ASSY, CONTROL MODULE AND AT THE END OF THE DAY THE KEY STILL COMES OUT WHILE IN DRIVE. INITIALLY THEY TOLD ME EVERYTHING WAS COVER UNDER GUARANTEE. I AGREE TO ALL THE REPAIRS BUT THEY WANTED ME TO PAY $2,400 BECAUSE THE PART WERE NOT COVER. I ENDED UP PAYING $136.02 TO COVER THE DIAGNOSTICS. I STILL DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY. IT WAS THE WRONG DIAGNOSTIC AND THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED.

View Details

SEATS

1/10/2014 - SILVER SPRING, MD
OTHER DRIVER SLAMMED INTO REAR OF MY CAR AT ABOUT 30 MPH. I RECALL GOING FORWARD INSIDE MY CAR BUT IT SEEMS SEAT BELT DID NOT TIGHTEN. TURNS OUT MY DRIVER'S SEAT FRAME WAS BROKEN IN THE ACCIDENT AND MY BEST GUESS IS ENTIRE DRIVER'S SEAT WAS GOING FORWARD. DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS USUAL OR NOT. I'VE NOT HEARD OF IT. ALSO, WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHETHER THE FACT THAT THE ENTIRE DRIVER'S SEAT WAS MOVING FORWARD IS REASON SEAT BELT DID NOT TIGHTEN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds