Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 220 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Structure (12) Visibility (17)
Engine (9) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (61) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (10)
Equipment (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (17)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/13/2014 - LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA
VEHICLE HAS GRINDING NOISE. BROUGHT TO HONDA (NORM REEVES HONDA/HUNTINGTON BEACH) DEALERSHIP. FOUND THAT LEFT FRONT SENSOR BROKE OFF . ISSUE: WHY WOULD A BRAKE PAD EARLY WARNING DEVICE (SENSOR BREAK OFF). LEFT SIDE BROKE COMPLETELY, THE RIGHT SIDE WAS HALF BROKE. IS THIS A SAFETY ISSUE? MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT BRAKES ARE COMPROMISED. IT ALSO CAUSED EXTRA COST BY CAUSING ROTORS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - CALIFORNIA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A TURN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSIS AND THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - MARIETTA, GA
PLASTIC PART OF CAR KEY HOUSING FELL FROM THE METAL PART OF THE KEY AND ENGINE SHUT OFF. AT HOME, AFTER THE KEY HOUSING FELL TO THE CAR FLOOR, I EXAMINED IT. THE PLASTIC KEY HOUSING HAD FINE CRACKS WHERE METAL PART OF KEY WAS SUPPOSED BE SECURED WITH A TINY SCREW THAT WAS STILL IN THE METAL KEY. THE FINE CRACKS WAS ENOUGH TO ALLOW THE HOUSING TO OPEN AND SLIP OFF THE METAL KEY. APPARENTLY, THE METAL END OF THE KEY ISN'T LONG ENOUGH TO BE A LEVER WHEN TURNING ON THE IGNITION. THE PLASTIC HOUSING OF THE KEY TWISTED WHEN TURNING ON THE IGNITION AND RESULTED IN THE CRACKS AT THE BASE OF THE KEY. WITHOUT THE PROGRAMMED CHIP ATTACHED TO THE METAL KEY, THE IGNITION SHUTS OFF.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/1/2014 - ORO VALLEY, AZ
DRIVER'S SIDE SUN VISOR SPLIT AT SEAM, DROPPING VISOR INTO LINE OF SIGHT. COMMON PROBLEM ON CIVICS, CLASS ACTION SUIT RESULTED IN WARRANTY EXTENSION TO SEVEN YEARS FOR MODELS THROUGH 2009. THEY KEPT INSTALLING THE SAME DEFECTIVE VISORS, BUT THE 2010 MODEL IS NOT COVERED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

7/29/2014 - FORT WORTH, TX
I HAVE REPLACED MY DRIVER'S SIDE VISOR 3 TIMES BECAUSE EACH TIME IT BREAKS. THE FIRST TIME IT BROKE THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED IT FOR FREE BECAUSE IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. THE SECOND TIME THEY SAID MY WARRANTY HAD JUST EXPIRED SO I WOULD HAVE TO PAY. THE THIRD TIME MY BROTHER BOUGHT THE VISOR AND INSTALLED IT FOR ME. I HAVE NOT REPLACED IT AGAIN AFTER SEEING THAT THESE VISORS SIMPLY WILL NOT LAST. I OBVIOUSLY TRIED BEING MORE CAREFUL AFTER SEEING THAT USING THE VISOR WOULD BREAK IT. THE SECOND AND THIRD IT HAPPENED WHEN I TRIED USING IT AFTER I GOT IN THE CAR, THE FIRST TIME HOWEVER, IT WAS ALREADY BROKEN WHEN I GOT IN THE CAR. I BELIEVE THAT IT HAS TO DO WITH THE HEAT, BUT I HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM LIKE THIS WITH OTHER VEHICLES. THIS MAKES ME BELIEVE THAT IT IS DEFINITELY A DEFECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

7/29/2014 - BRADENTON, FL
MY 2010 CIVIC HAS 40,000 MILES NOW. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE WINDSHIELD DUE TO THE FACTORY SEAL LEAKING AND CAUSING WATER TO COME INTO MY CAR. HENDRICK HONDA IN BRADENTON, FL ADVISED IT WAS DUE TO "LUCK OF THE DRAW...VERY BAD LUCK" AND "I'VE NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN BEFORE." HOWEVER, IT WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. IN THE STATE OF FL YOUR CAR INSURANCE WILL PAY TO REPLACE YOUR WINDSHIELD ONLY IF THERE IS A CRACK IN THE WINDSHIELD SO THAT WAS $300+ OUT OF POCKET. MY DRIVERS SIDE SUN VISOR HAS SPLIT IN TWO CAUSING IT TO DANGLE IN FRONT OF MY FACE... AGAIN NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. THE DEALER QUOTED $100 PER VISOR FOR REPLACEMENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY

7/29/2014 - BRADENTON, FL
MY 2010 CIVIC HAS 40,000 MILES NOW. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE WINDSHIELD DUE TO THE FACTORY SEAL LEAKING AND CAUSING WATER TO COME INTO MY CAR. HENDRICK HONDA IN BRADENTON, FL ADVISED IT WAS DUE TO "LUCK OF THE DRAW...VERY BAD LUCK" AND "I'VE NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN BEFORE." HOWEVER, IT WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. IN THE STATE OF FL YOUR CAR INSURANCE WILL PAY TO REPLACE YOUR WINDSHIELD ONLY IF THERE IS A CRACK IN THE WINDSHIELD SO THAT WAS $300+ OUT OF POCKET. MY DRIVERS SIDE SUN VISOR HAS SPLIT IN TWO CAUSING IT TO DANGLE IN FRONT OF MY FACE... AGAIN NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. THE DEALER QUOTED $100 PER VISOR FOR REPLACEMENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2014 - NATICK, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE AS A RESULT THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,365.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
RIDES ROUGH SHAKES FEELS THAT IT'S GOING TO STALL. VERY OBVIOUS WHEN STOPPING FOR RED LIGHTS. VIBRATION OCCURS IF I PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL. SOMETIMES IT STOPS IT BUT IT DOES REOCCUR. ALSO THE A/C MAKES THE CAR VIBRATE EVEN MORE. WAS SERVICED HOWEVER HAD TO BRING IT BACK, PAYING $160. , IN AUGUST 2012 FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY TOOK IT FOR A RIDE FELT SOMETHING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND PROCEEDED TO REALIGN FRONT WHEELS. RODE WITH A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT FOR A GOOD 20 MINUTES AND NOTHING HAPPENED TO THE CAR. WHEN I DROVE THE CAR HOME IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND, TO DATE, IT IS STILL HAPPENING. A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT TOLD ME IN CONFIDENCE THERE IS A RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND THE A/C BUT THEY HAVEN'T FOUND HOW TO FIX IT. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF OTHER CIVICS COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
RIDES ROUGH SHAKES FEELS THAT IT'S GOING TO STALL. VERY OBVIOUS WHEN STOPPING FOR RED LIGHTS. VIBRATION OCCURS IF I PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL. SOMETIMES IT STOPS IT BUT IT DOES REOCCUR. ALSO THE A/C MAKES THE CAR VIBRATE EVEN MORE. WAS SERVICED HOWEVER HAD TO BRING IT BACK, PAYING $160. , IN AUGUST 2012 FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY TOOK IT FOR A RIDE FELT SOMETHING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND PROCEEDED TO REALIGN FRONT WHEELS. RODE WITH A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT FOR A GOOD 20 MINUTES AND NOTHING HAPPENED TO THE CAR. WHEN I DROVE THE CAR HOME IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND, TO DATE, IT IS STILL HAPPENING. A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT TOLD ME IN CONFIDENCE THERE IS A RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND THE A/C BUT THEY HAVEN'T FOUND HOW TO FIX IT. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF OTHER CIVICS COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds