Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 207 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Structure (12) Visibility (15)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (57) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (8)
Equipment (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
RIDES ROUGH SHAKES FEELS THAT IT'S GOING TO STALL. VERY OBVIOUS WHEN STOPPING FOR RED LIGHTS. VIBRATION OCCURS IF I PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL. SOMETIMES IT STOPS IT BUT IT DOES REOCCUR. ALSO THE A/C MAKES THE CAR VIBRATE EVEN MORE. WAS SERVICED HOWEVER HAD TO BRING IT BACK, PAYING $160. , IN AUGUST 2012 FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY TOOK IT FOR A RIDE FELT SOMETHING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND PROCEEDED TO REALIGN FRONT WHEELS. RODE WITH A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT FOR A GOOD 20 MINUTES AND NOTHING HAPPENED TO THE CAR. WHEN I DROVE THE CAR HOME IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND, TO DATE, IT IS STILL HAPPENING. A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT TOLD ME IN CONFIDENCE THERE IS A RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND THE A/C BUT THEY HAVEN'T FOUND HOW TO FIX IT. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF OTHER CIVICS COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/3/2014 - PEABODY, MA
UNEVEN TIRE WEAR, FEATHERING AND NOISE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/24/2014 - FRANKLIN, TN
I WAS TOLD THAT MY BRAKES WERE GONE AT APPROXIMATELY 30K MILES. THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM OR AN ISSUE. NEW FRONT BRAKES WERE INSTALLED. THEN AS OF JUNE 2014, WITH ONLY 23K MILES ON THIS SET I AGAIN HAD TO REPLACE THE FRONT BRAKES. NO WARNING LIGHTS OR INDICATORS. NO SQUEALING TO INDICATE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. I'M VERY NERVOUS NOW BECAUSE THERE IS NO WAY TO TELL IF THE BRAKES ARE GOING. I DEEM THIS TO BE AN EXTREME HAZARD AND NO LONGER FEEL SAFE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/20/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S TIRE CAVED IN. THE CONTACT TOOK THE TIRE OFF AND NOTICED THAT THE TIRE MOUNT WAS BENT AND THE WHEEL SUSPENSION ARM WAS FRACTURED IN HALF. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/9/2014 - ZIONSVILLE, IN
DAY1: I HAVE A 2010 HONDA CIVIC EX-L SEDAN WITH MILEAGE OF 95-100K. I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 40-MPH (BEST GUESS-TIMATE), THE VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, GREEN LIGHT NEXT TO DRIVE (D) BEGAN FLASHING AND VSA INDICATOR WAS LIT TOO; VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE A BIT JERKY SHIFTING. TOOK IT INTO HONDA AND THEY CHANGED TRANSMISSION FLUID, AS WELL AS REPLACED THE 3RD GEAR PRESSURE SWITCH. DAY 3: I EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR PROBLEM, WITH THE ADDITIONAL SYMPTOM OF THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAY FLUCTUATING WILDLY / READING TOO LOW OR ZERO VALUES. THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A COMPUTER UPDATE, CLEARED ERROR CODES, AND A 10-MIN TEST DRIVE DID NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE. DAY4: WHILE GENTLY ACCELERATING TO 45-MPH, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED AND THE SPEEDOMETER ABRUPTLY DROPPED TO NEAR "ZERO". IT WAS AT THIS POINT THAT THE TRANSMISSION ABRUPTLY DOWN-SHIFTED TO EITHER 1ST OR 2ND GEAR AND CAUSED THE TIRES TO SCREECH (AS IF I HAD JAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT I HAD NOT). THE ABRUPT DECELERATION OF MY VEHICLE NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CAR BEHIND ME, WHO WAS ALSO ACCELERATING AND NARROWLY AVOIDED REAR-ENDING MY VEHICLE (I IMAGINE BECAUSE OF THE SUDDEN DECELERATION WITHOUT WARNING OF BRAKE LIGHTS). THIS TIME, BEFORE RETURNING TO DEALERSHIP, I PERFORMED ONLINE RESEARCH AND WHEN I DID RETURN TO THAT DEALERSHIP, I SUGGESTED THEY CHECK THE ENGINE'S SPEED SENSOR. SURE ENOUGH, THEY ENDED UP REPLACING THE SPEED SENSOR AND HAVEN'T HAD THE PROBLEM SINCE (3 WEEKS NOW). I'M REPORTING NOW BECAUSE OF MY CONCERN THIS MALFUNCTION COULD OCCUR TO SOMEONE ELSE AND CAUSE THEIR VEHICLE TO BE REAR-ENDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/9/2014 - ZIONSVILLE, IN
DAY1: I HAVE A 2010 HONDA CIVIC EX-L SEDAN WITH MILEAGE OF 95-100K. I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 40-MPH (BEST GUESS-TIMATE), THE VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, GREEN LIGHT NEXT TO DRIVE (D) BEGAN FLASHING AND VSA INDICATOR WAS LIT TOO; VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE A BIT JERKY SHIFTING. TOOK IT INTO HONDA AND THEY CHANGED TRANSMISSION FLUID, AS WELL AS REPLACED THE 3RD GEAR PRESSURE SWITCH. DAY 3: I EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR PROBLEM, WITH THE ADDITIONAL SYMPTOM OF THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAY FLUCTUATING WILDLY / READING TOO LOW OR ZERO VALUES. THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A COMPUTER UPDATE, CLEARED ERROR CODES, AND A 10-MIN TEST DRIVE DID NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE. DAY4: WHILE GENTLY ACCELERATING TO 45-MPH, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED AND THE SPEEDOMETER ABRUPTLY DROPPED TO NEAR "ZERO". IT WAS AT THIS POINT THAT THE TRANSMISSION ABRUPTLY DOWN-SHIFTED TO EITHER 1ST OR 2ND GEAR AND CAUSED THE TIRES TO SCREECH (AS IF I HAD JAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT I HAD NOT). THE ABRUPT DECELERATION OF MY VEHICLE NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CAR BEHIND ME, WHO WAS ALSO ACCELERATING AND NARROWLY AVOIDED REAR-ENDING MY VEHICLE (I IMAGINE BECAUSE OF THE SUDDEN DECELERATION WITHOUT WARNING OF BRAKE LIGHTS). THIS TIME, BEFORE RETURNING TO DEALERSHIP, I PERFORMED ONLINE RESEARCH AND WHEN I DID RETURN TO THAT DEALERSHIP, I SUGGESTED THEY CHECK THE ENGINE'S SPEED SENSOR. SURE ENOUGH, THEY ENDED UP REPLACING THE SPEED SENSOR AND HAVEN'T HAD THE PROBLEM SINCE (3 WEEKS NOW). I'M REPORTING NOW BECAUSE OF MY CONCERN THIS MALFUNCTION COULD OCCUR TO SOMEONE ELSE AND CAUSE THEIR VEHICLE TO BE REAR-ENDED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/9/2014 - ZIONSVILLE, IN
DAY1: I HAVE A 2010 HONDA CIVIC EX-L SEDAN WITH MILEAGE OF 95-100K. I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 40-MPH (BEST GUESS-TIMATE), THE VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, GREEN LIGHT NEXT TO DRIVE (D) BEGAN FLASHING AND VSA INDICATOR WAS LIT TOO; VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE A BIT JERKY SHIFTING. TOOK IT INTO HONDA AND THEY CHANGED TRANSMISSION FLUID, AS WELL AS REPLACED THE 3RD GEAR PRESSURE SWITCH. DAY 3: I EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR PROBLEM, WITH THE ADDITIONAL SYMPTOM OF THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAY FLUCTUATING WILDLY / READING TOO LOW OR ZERO VALUES. THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A COMPUTER UPDATE, CLEARED ERROR CODES, AND A 10-MIN TEST DRIVE DID NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE. DAY4: WHILE GENTLY ACCELERATING TO 45-MPH, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED AND THE SPEEDOMETER ABRUPTLY DROPPED TO NEAR "ZERO". IT WAS AT THIS POINT THAT THE TRANSMISSION ABRUPTLY DOWN-SHIFTED TO EITHER 1ST OR 2ND GEAR AND CAUSED THE TIRES TO SCREECH (AS IF I HAD JAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT I HAD NOT). THE ABRUPT DECELERATION OF MY VEHICLE NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CAR BEHIND ME, WHO WAS ALSO ACCELERATING AND NARROWLY AVOIDED REAR-ENDING MY VEHICLE (I IMAGINE BECAUSE OF THE SUDDEN DECELERATION WITHOUT WARNING OF BRAKE LIGHTS). THIS TIME, BEFORE RETURNING TO DEALERSHIP, I PERFORMED ONLINE RESEARCH AND WHEN I DID RETURN TO THAT DEALERSHIP, I SUGGESTED THEY CHECK THE ENGINE'S SPEED SENSOR. SURE ENOUGH, THEY ENDED UP REPLACING THE SPEED SENSOR AND HAVEN'T HAD THE PROBLEM SINCE (3 WEEKS NOW). I'M REPORTING NOW BECAUSE OF MY CONCERN THIS MALFUNCTION COULD OCCUR TO SOMEONE ELSE AND CAUSE THEIR VEHICLE TO BE REAR-ENDED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/4/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THERE IS A WATER LEAK INSIDE OF MY 2010 HONDA CIVIC LX THAT OCCURS WHEN IT RAINS.THE WATER LEAK IS EVIDENT AROUND THE DRIVER'S SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AND OTHER SECTIONS WHICH MAY NOT BE VISIBLE.SEE MY YOUTUBE VIDEO THAT I MADE WHICH SHOWS THE PROBLEM AS IT IS OCCURRING: HTTP://YOUTU.BE/XIYZNF6IGBE ONE OF MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS THAT THE WATER LEAK WILL CORRODE THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG AND PREVENT IT FROM WORKING PROPERLY IN AN ACCIDENT. A SEARCH ON YOUTUBE AND GOOGLE ABOUT THE WATER LEAK ON THAT TYPE OF VEHICLE REVEALED THAT OTHER HONDA CIVIC CUSTOMERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. SINCE MY VIDEO UPLOAD OF THE ISSUE, AT LEAST ONE PERSON HAS E-MAILED ME VIA MY YOUTUBE ACCOUNT AND REQUESTED FOR ME TO LET HIM KNOW HOW THE ISSUE IS RESOLVED BECAUSE HE IS ALSO HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHEN I NOTICED THE WATER LEAK I CONTACTED HONDA MOTORS AND HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED OUT AT SLOANE HONDA'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT IN PHILADELPHIA, PA. HOWEVER THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE THE WATER LEAK AND THEREFORE ARE NOT ABLE TO DETERMINE THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT COMPLETED THE ASSESSMENT AS A COURTESY TO ME.THE VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 28K MILES; HOWEVER THE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WHICH IS A 2010 MODEL IS OVER 3 YEARS OLD. BECAUSE THE WATER LEAK WAS NOT ABLE TO BE REPLICATED AT THE SERVICE LOCATION,HONDA MOTORS IS UNWILLING TO GO ANY FURTHER WITH ADDRESSING THE ISSUE. ANY FURTHER VISITS TO THE SERVICE STATION WOULD REQUIRE FOR ME TO PAY OUT OF POCKET SINCE THE VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. MY REQUEST FOR HONDA MOTORS TO EXTEND THEIR MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY UNTIL THE SOURCE OF THE WATER LEAK IS IDENTIFIED AND THE PROBLEM FIXED WAS DENIED. PLEASE ASSIST IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE AND OTHER'S WHO ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM. MAYBE A RECALL TO IDENTIFY AND CORRECT THE PROBLEM IS WARRANTED. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/4/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THERE IS A WATER LEAK INSIDE OF MY 2010 HONDA CIVIC LX THAT OCCURS WHEN IT RAINS.THE WATER LEAK IS EVIDENT AROUND THE DRIVER'S SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AND OTHER SECTIONS WHICH MAY NOT BE VISIBLE.SEE MY YOUTUBE VIDEO THAT I MADE WHICH SHOWS THE PROBLEM AS IT IS OCCURRING: HTTP://YOUTU.BE/XIYZNF6IGBE ONE OF MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS THAT THE WATER LEAK WILL CORRODE THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG AND PREVENT IT FROM WORKING PROPERLY IN AN ACCIDENT. A SEARCH ON YOUTUBE AND GOOGLE ABOUT THE WATER LEAK ON THAT TYPE OF VEHICLE REVEALED THAT OTHER HONDA CIVIC CUSTOMERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. SINCE MY VIDEO UPLOAD OF THE ISSUE, AT LEAST ONE PERSON HAS E-MAILED ME VIA MY YOUTUBE ACCOUNT AND REQUESTED FOR ME TO LET HIM KNOW HOW THE ISSUE IS RESOLVED BECAUSE HE IS ALSO HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHEN I NOTICED THE WATER LEAK I CONTACTED HONDA MOTORS AND HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED OUT AT SLOANE HONDA'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT IN PHILADELPHIA, PA. HOWEVER THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE THE WATER LEAK AND THEREFORE ARE NOT ABLE TO DETERMINE THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT COMPLETED THE ASSESSMENT AS A COURTESY TO ME.THE VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 28K MILES; HOWEVER THE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WHICH IS A 2010 MODEL IS OVER 3 YEARS OLD. BECAUSE THE WATER LEAK WAS NOT ABLE TO BE REPLICATED AT THE SERVICE LOCATION,HONDA MOTORS IS UNWILLING TO GO ANY FURTHER WITH ADDRESSING THE ISSUE. ANY FURTHER VISITS TO THE SERVICE STATION WOULD REQUIRE FOR ME TO PAY OUT OF POCKET SINCE THE VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. MY REQUEST FOR HONDA MOTORS TO EXTEND THEIR MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY UNTIL THE SOURCE OF THE WATER LEAK IS IDENTIFIED AND THE PROBLEM FIXED WAS DENIED. PLEASE ASSIST IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE AND OTHER'S WHO ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM. MAYBE A RECALL TO IDENTIFY AND CORRECT THE PROBLEM IS WARRANTED. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

6/2/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
ABOUT A YEAR AGO - THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT OF ENGINE WHILE DRIVING. WE STOPPED AND HONDA SAID THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE AND CHANGED THE ENGINE (UNDER WARRANTY STILL). SINCE THEN, WE HAVE MULTIPLE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT SIGNS WHILE DRIVING IN HIGHWAY OR MIDDLE OF CROWDED CITY, AS WELL AS THE DRIVE LIGHT JUST STARTS RANDOMLY BLINKING FORCING US TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND RE-START THE CAR. THROUGHOUT THIS TIME, THEY ARE NOW CHANGING THE ENGINE FOR THE 3RD TIME AND THERE IS CONSTANT LEAK AND WARNING SIGNS STILL. THEY HAVE OBVIOUSLY NOT FIGURED OUT THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY KNOW OUR WARRANTY IS RUNNING OUT IN OCTOBER - SO THEY JUST CHANGE ENGINE OR REPAIR A LEAK (WITHOUT ACTUALLY FIGURING OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS) AND THEY ARE WAITING FOR WARRANTY TO RUN OUT. IT IS ALL BEEN AN ENGINE PROBLEM AND THE DEALER AND NOW HONDA JUST DO NOT SEEM TO CARE - WE ARE STILL UNDER WARRANTY. WE THINK THIS IS A VIOLATION OF THE MAGNUSON-MOSS WARRANTY ACT AS THEY HAVE OBVIOUSLY NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM (IE ENGINE) THAT IS UNDER WARRANTY AND JUST REPLACE IT WITH SOMETHING THAT DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FOR US TO BE DRIVING THIS CAR AS HONDA AND US BOTH KNOW THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED AND DRIVING IN HIGHWAY OR A ROAD COULD MEAN AN ACCIDENT ANYTIME. HOWEVER, HONDA DOES NOT SEEM TO CARE - THEY SAY WELL WE WILL KEEP ON REPLACING ENGINE UNTIL WARRANTY RUNS OUT. WE WOULD LIKE TO GET A NEW CAR OR A CAR WITH EQUAL MILEAGE (AS OF FEBRUARY 2013), AS WE HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO PROPERLY USE THE CAR AND FEEL IN DANGER EVERY TIME WE DRIVE THE CAR GIVEN ALL THE WARNINGS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds