Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 245 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (14) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Structure (12) Visibility (19)
Engine (9) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (62) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (10)
Equipment (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (18)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/12/2015 - SANTA CLARITA, CA
SUN VISOR CAME DOWN WHILE DRIVING AND IT DOES NOT STAYS UP, CAUSING TO BLOCK DRIVING VIEW. I HAVE NOTICED BODY OF THE SUN VISOR DEVELOPED A CRACK, BULGED OUT. I CAN SEE PARTS INSIDE FROM WHERE THE CRACK DEVELOPED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/6/2015 - ZIONSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE DRIVER SIDE SUN VISOR FAILED TO STAY IN THE UPWARDS POSITION AND BLOCKED THE VIEW OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE VISOR WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2015 - BUTLER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE EMITTING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND ALL THE DOORS FAILED TO UNLOCK. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT HAD TO EXIT THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WINDOW, WHICH WAS ROLLED DOWN. IN ADDITION THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2015 - BUTLER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE EMITTING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND ALL THE DOORS FAILED TO UNLOCK. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT HAD TO EXIT THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WINDOW, WHICH WAS ROLLED DOWN. IN ADDITION THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I AM A FIRST TIME BUYER SO I DIDN'T KNOW MUCH ABOUT BUYING A CAR . I RECENTLY BOUGHT A HONDA CIVIC AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS FLASHING NON STOP, CALL HONDA DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MEANS SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH MY AIRBAGS . ALSO, IT SHOWS THAT ALL SIDE AIRBAGS ARE OFF . THEREFORE , I DIDN'T KNOW THAT THE DEALERSHIP WAS REQUIRED TO SHOW ME THE CAR FAX OF THE CAR SO I AM NOT SURE IF THIS CAR HAS BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT OR SALVAGE . I CALL THE DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF THEY CAN CHECK THE AIR BAG FOR ME THEY STATED TO GO IN THE NEXT DAY, THEREFORE I WENT IN THE NEXT DAY THE DEALERSHIP ALREADY WENT OUT OF BUSINESS WITHIN THAT SHORT OF TIME BEING . NOW , I AM WORRY ABOUT MY SAFETY THEREFORE I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW I CAN SEEK ANY HELP OR ADVICE UPON THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/25/2015 - WEYMOUTH, MA
BRAKES NEED TO CHANGED AROUND 10 K MILES EACH TIME. DEALERSHIP SAID THERE IS NO ISSUE ON THE BRAKES AND COULDN'T TELL ME WHY I NEED TOO CHANGE IT SO OFTEN. PER OTHER CIVIC USERS, THERE MAY BE SOMETHING THAT MADE THE BRAKE WEAR SO QUICKLY. THERE IS NO REASON WHY THE BRAKES SO WEAR QUICKLY. I BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/14/2015 - NORTHRIDGE , CA
THE BREAKS WERE CHANGED IN THE FRONT AT ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND THE CAR NOW HAS 65,000. A DAY AFTER THE BREAKS WERE CHANGED, AT A DEALERSHIP, THEY BEGAN TO SQUEAL VERY LOAD. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR BACK 4 TIMES TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE NOISE. EACH TIME THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY SANDED THE BREAKS LIGHTLY AND PUT STOP SQUEAK ON. NOT MORE THAN A FEW DAYS AFTER EACH INCIDENT THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. THE BREAKS TEND TO MAKE THIS EAR SPLITTING SOUND ON DECLINE AND AT LOW RATES OF SPEED. HOT OR COLD DOES NOT SEEM TO MATTER. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENS ABOUT 70% OF THE TIME WHEN BREAKING. THE CAR IS USED 50%/50% FOR CITY AND FREEWAY DRIVING. 40% OF WHICH IS TRAFFIC. I JUST WANT THIS PROBLEM TO STOP. ALSO SUN VISOR NO LONGER WILL STAY UP. ANNOYING.

View Details

VISIBILITY

4/7/2015 - CENTEREACH, NY
ONE-OWNER 2010 HONDA CIVIC WITH 33,000 MILES-- THE DRIVER SIDE SUN VISOR CAN NO LONGER STAY IN THE "UP" POSITION. IT HAS CRACKED WHERE THE HINGE SPRING IS, AND MAY SOON FALL APART.

View Details

VISIBILITY

3/28/2015 - CERRITOS, CA
THE FIRST SUNVISOR BROKE JUST BEFORE THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. IT WASN'T MUCH OF PROBLEM TO GET IT REPLACED. ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF LATER THE SECOND SUNVISOR BROKE AND CAME OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD. IT COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. AFTER CONTACTING AMERICAN HONDA THE SUNVISOR WAS REPLACED FOR 17.00. HOWEVER, I REFRAIN FROM USING IT BECAUSE I WORRY THAT IT WILL FALL APART AGAIN. BOTH TIMES IT WAS THE SUNVISOR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. LAST WEEK THE SUNVISOR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE BROKE. ALTHOUGH THESE ARE SMALL PARTS, THEY ARE INTEGRAL TO SAFETY AS THEY SHIELD THE DRIVER' EYES FROM THE SUN. EVEN IF HONDA KEEPS REPLACING THIS PARTS AT NO CHARGE, THEY ARE AT BEAT ORNAMENTAL. THE SUNVISORS SHOULD BE REPAIRED WITH GOOD QUALITY SUNVISORS THAT LAST THE LIFETIME OF THE CAR. MY 1997 ACCORD STILL HAS FUNCTIONING SUNVISORS AFTER MORE THAN 200K MILES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/31/2015 - FORT MILL, SC
BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SUN VISORS HAVE FAILED. THE VISORS ARE MADE UP OF TWO HORIZONTAL PIECES OF PLASTIC SNAPPED TOGETHER. BOTH VISORS HAVE SEPARATED AND NO LONGER "GRIP" THE VISOR SWING ARM, THE METAL PIECE THAT ATTACHES THE VISOR TO THE CAR AND ALLOWS IT TO BE REPOSITIONED. ATTEMPTING TO ADJUST THE VISOR RESULTS IN THE TWO PIECES OF THE VISOR SEPARATING FROM EACH OTHER AND THE VISOR BECOMING DISENGAGED; MEANING, IT WILL NO LONGER ALLOW ITSELF TO BE ADJUSTED. IT WILL NO LONGER STAY IN ANY SET POSITION. ALL ATTEMPTS TO PUT IT BACK TO ITS RETRACTED POSITION AGAINST THE HEADLINER WILL RESULT IN IT JUST FALLING BACK DOWN TO THE NEUTRAL VERTICAL POSITION. MY HONDA DEALER REPLACED THE INITIAL FAILED DRIVER'S SIDE VISOR AFTER I COMPLAINED MULTIPLE TIMES AND BEING THAT MY CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. HOWEVER THE SAME DEALER REFUSED TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SIDE WHEN IT FAILED EVEN THOUGH MY CAR WAS STILL UNDER THE 36 MONTH / 36000 MILE WARRANTY. AT ABOUT 52000 MILES, THE DRIVER'S VISOR THAT WAS REPLACED FAILED AGAIN. THE DEALER SERVICE REP TOLD ME THAT IT WOULD COST ME $90 TO REPLACE EACH SIDE. CURRENTLY WE HAVE PLACARDED BOTH WITH "DO NOT ATTEMPT TO PULL DOWN INOP." MY CIVIC HAS A THROUGH MAINTENANCE HISTORY RECORD AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN SERVICED BY THE SAME HONDA DEALER. THE DATES AND MILEAGE ARE ESTIMATED BUT WITH A LITTLE RESEARCH, IT WOULD BE POSSIBLE TO DETERMINE BOTH MILEAGE AND DATES WITHIN A COUPLE THOUSAND MILES OR A COUPLE MONTHS USING THE SERVICE RECORDS/NOTES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds