Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 212 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Structure (12) Visibility (16)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (59) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (9)
Equipment (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY

7/29/2014 - BRADENTON, FL
MY 2010 CIVIC HAS 40,000 MILES NOW. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE WINDSHIELD DUE TO THE FACTORY SEAL LEAKING AND CAUSING WATER TO COME INTO MY CAR. HENDRICK HONDA IN BRADENTON, FL ADVISED IT WAS DUE TO "LUCK OF THE DRAW...VERY BAD LUCK" AND "I'VE NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN BEFORE." HOWEVER, IT WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. IN THE STATE OF FL YOUR CAR INSURANCE WILL PAY TO REPLACE YOUR WINDSHIELD ONLY IF THERE IS A CRACK IN THE WINDSHIELD SO THAT WAS $300+ OUT OF POCKET. MY DRIVERS SIDE SUN VISOR HAS SPLIT IN TWO CAUSING IT TO DANGLE IN FRONT OF MY FACE... AGAIN NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. THE DEALER QUOTED $100 PER VISOR FOR REPLACEMENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

7/29/2014 - BRADENTON, FL
MY 2010 CIVIC HAS 40,000 MILES NOW. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE WINDSHIELD DUE TO THE FACTORY SEAL LEAKING AND CAUSING WATER TO COME INTO MY CAR. HENDRICK HONDA IN BRADENTON, FL ADVISED IT WAS DUE TO "LUCK OF THE DRAW...VERY BAD LUCK" AND "I'VE NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN BEFORE." HOWEVER, IT WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. IN THE STATE OF FL YOUR CAR INSURANCE WILL PAY TO REPLACE YOUR WINDSHIELD ONLY IF THERE IS A CRACK IN THE WINDSHIELD SO THAT WAS $300+ OUT OF POCKET. MY DRIVERS SIDE SUN VISOR HAS SPLIT IN TWO CAUSING IT TO DANGLE IN FRONT OF MY FACE... AGAIN NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. THE DEALER QUOTED $100 PER VISOR FOR REPLACEMENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2014 - NATICK, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE AS A RESULT THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,365.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
RIDES ROUGH SHAKES FEELS THAT IT'S GOING TO STALL. VERY OBVIOUS WHEN STOPPING FOR RED LIGHTS. VIBRATION OCCURS IF I PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL. SOMETIMES IT STOPS IT BUT IT DOES REOCCUR. ALSO THE A/C MAKES THE CAR VIBRATE EVEN MORE. WAS SERVICED HOWEVER HAD TO BRING IT BACK, PAYING $160. , IN AUGUST 2012 FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY TOOK IT FOR A RIDE FELT SOMETHING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND PROCEEDED TO REALIGN FRONT WHEELS. RODE WITH A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT FOR A GOOD 20 MINUTES AND NOTHING HAPPENED TO THE CAR. WHEN I DROVE THE CAR HOME IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND, TO DATE, IT IS STILL HAPPENING. A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT TOLD ME IN CONFIDENCE THERE IS A RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND THE A/C BUT THEY HAVEN'T FOUND HOW TO FIX IT. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF OTHER CIVICS COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
RIDES ROUGH SHAKES FEELS THAT IT'S GOING TO STALL. VERY OBVIOUS WHEN STOPPING FOR RED LIGHTS. VIBRATION OCCURS IF I PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL. SOMETIMES IT STOPS IT BUT IT DOES REOCCUR. ALSO THE A/C MAKES THE CAR VIBRATE EVEN MORE. WAS SERVICED HOWEVER HAD TO BRING IT BACK, PAYING $160. , IN AUGUST 2012 FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY TOOK IT FOR A RIDE FELT SOMETHING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND PROCEEDED TO REALIGN FRONT WHEELS. RODE WITH A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT FOR A GOOD 20 MINUTES AND NOTHING HAPPENED TO THE CAR. WHEN I DROVE THE CAR HOME IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND, TO DATE, IT IS STILL HAPPENING. A MEMBER OF THE SERVICE DEPT TOLD ME IN CONFIDENCE THERE IS A RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND THE A/C BUT THEY HAVEN'T FOUND HOW TO FIX IT. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF OTHER CIVICS COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/3/2014 - PEABODY, MA
UNEVEN TIRE WEAR, FEATHERING AND NOISE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/24/2014 - FRANKLIN, TN
I WAS TOLD THAT MY BRAKES WERE GONE AT APPROXIMATELY 30K MILES. THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM OR AN ISSUE. NEW FRONT BRAKES WERE INSTALLED. THEN AS OF JUNE 2014, WITH ONLY 23K MILES ON THIS SET I AGAIN HAD TO REPLACE THE FRONT BRAKES. NO WARNING LIGHTS OR INDICATORS. NO SQUEALING TO INDICATE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. I'M VERY NERVOUS NOW BECAUSE THERE IS NO WAY TO TELL IF THE BRAKES ARE GOING. I DEEM THIS TO BE AN EXTREME HAZARD AND NO LONGER FEEL SAFE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/20/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S TIRE CAVED IN. THE CONTACT TOOK THE TIRE OFF AND NOTICED THAT THE TIRE MOUNT WAS BENT AND THE WHEEL SUSPENSION ARM WAS FRACTURED IN HALF. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/9/2014 - ZIONSVILLE, IN
DAY1: I HAVE A 2010 HONDA CIVIC EX-L SEDAN WITH MILEAGE OF 95-100K. I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 40-MPH (BEST GUESS-TIMATE), THE VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, GREEN LIGHT NEXT TO DRIVE (D) BEGAN FLASHING AND VSA INDICATOR WAS LIT TOO; VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE A BIT JERKY SHIFTING. TOOK IT INTO HONDA AND THEY CHANGED TRANSMISSION FLUID, AS WELL AS REPLACED THE 3RD GEAR PRESSURE SWITCH. DAY 3: I EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR PROBLEM, WITH THE ADDITIONAL SYMPTOM OF THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAY FLUCTUATING WILDLY / READING TOO LOW OR ZERO VALUES. THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A COMPUTER UPDATE, CLEARED ERROR CODES, AND A 10-MIN TEST DRIVE DID NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE. DAY4: WHILE GENTLY ACCELERATING TO 45-MPH, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED AND THE SPEEDOMETER ABRUPTLY DROPPED TO NEAR "ZERO". IT WAS AT THIS POINT THAT THE TRANSMISSION ABRUPTLY DOWN-SHIFTED TO EITHER 1ST OR 2ND GEAR AND CAUSED THE TIRES TO SCREECH (AS IF I HAD JAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT I HAD NOT). THE ABRUPT DECELERATION OF MY VEHICLE NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CAR BEHIND ME, WHO WAS ALSO ACCELERATING AND NARROWLY AVOIDED REAR-ENDING MY VEHICLE (I IMAGINE BECAUSE OF THE SUDDEN DECELERATION WITHOUT WARNING OF BRAKE LIGHTS). THIS TIME, BEFORE RETURNING TO DEALERSHIP, I PERFORMED ONLINE RESEARCH AND WHEN I DID RETURN TO THAT DEALERSHIP, I SUGGESTED THEY CHECK THE ENGINE'S SPEED SENSOR. SURE ENOUGH, THEY ENDED UP REPLACING THE SPEED SENSOR AND HAVEN'T HAD THE PROBLEM SINCE (3 WEEKS NOW). I'M REPORTING NOW BECAUSE OF MY CONCERN THIS MALFUNCTION COULD OCCUR TO SOMEONE ELSE AND CAUSE THEIR VEHICLE TO BE REAR-ENDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/9/2014 - ZIONSVILLE, IN
DAY1: I HAVE A 2010 HONDA CIVIC EX-L SEDAN WITH MILEAGE OF 95-100K. I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 40-MPH (BEST GUESS-TIMATE), THE VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, GREEN LIGHT NEXT TO DRIVE (D) BEGAN FLASHING AND VSA INDICATOR WAS LIT TOO; VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE A BIT JERKY SHIFTING. TOOK IT INTO HONDA AND THEY CHANGED TRANSMISSION FLUID, AS WELL AS REPLACED THE 3RD GEAR PRESSURE SWITCH. DAY 3: I EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR PROBLEM, WITH THE ADDITIONAL SYMPTOM OF THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAY FLUCTUATING WILDLY / READING TOO LOW OR ZERO VALUES. THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A COMPUTER UPDATE, CLEARED ERROR CODES, AND A 10-MIN TEST DRIVE DID NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE. DAY4: WHILE GENTLY ACCELERATING TO 45-MPH, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED AND THE SPEEDOMETER ABRUPTLY DROPPED TO NEAR "ZERO". IT WAS AT THIS POINT THAT THE TRANSMISSION ABRUPTLY DOWN-SHIFTED TO EITHER 1ST OR 2ND GEAR AND CAUSED THE TIRES TO SCREECH (AS IF I HAD JAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT I HAD NOT). THE ABRUPT DECELERATION OF MY VEHICLE NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CAR BEHIND ME, WHO WAS ALSO ACCELERATING AND NARROWLY AVOIDED REAR-ENDING MY VEHICLE (I IMAGINE BECAUSE OF THE SUDDEN DECELERATION WITHOUT WARNING OF BRAKE LIGHTS). THIS TIME, BEFORE RETURNING TO DEALERSHIP, I PERFORMED ONLINE RESEARCH AND WHEN I DID RETURN TO THAT DEALERSHIP, I SUGGESTED THEY CHECK THE ENGINE'S SPEED SENSOR. SURE ENOUGH, THEY ENDED UP REPLACING THE SPEED SENSOR AND HAVEN'T HAD THE PROBLEM SINCE (3 WEEKS NOW). I'M REPORTING NOW BECAUSE OF MY CONCERN THIS MALFUNCTION COULD OCCUR TO SOMEONE ELSE AND CAUSE THEIR VEHICLE TO BE REAR-ENDED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds