Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2010 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 169 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (8) Visibility (12)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (50) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2013 - PARADISE VALLEY, AZ
I PURCHASED A NEW 2010 HONDA HYBRID, I HAVE HAD 3 IMA BATTERIES REPLACED. THE LAST ONE THEY REPLACED CAME WITH A SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT HAS REDUCED MY MPG FROM OVER 40MPG TO 30MPG AND LESS POWER. I BELIEVE THIS IS IN VIOLATION OF STATED WINDOW STICKER MILEAGE CLAIMS, LEMON LAWS AND POSSIBLY AIR QUALITY LAWS, NOT TO MENTION THE LOSS OF POWER DANGERS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/19/2013 - ORLANDO, FL
THE STANDARD SUN VISOR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE IS DEFECTIVE. IT DIDN'T STAY UP PROPERLY STARTING RELATIVELY SOON AFTER PURCHASE, THEN SPLIT AND HAD TO BE REMOVED. IT IS EXACTLY THE SAME DEFECT AS OTHER OWNER'S HAVE DESCRIBED IN THEIR CLASS ACTION SUIT FOR 2006-2009 MODEL YEARS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/17/2013 - GILROY, CA
I WAS DRIVING TO SCHOOL AND HEARD THE FIRST DREADFUL, SQUEALING ALERT OF MY WEARING BRAKE PADS. I CALLED MY LOCAL HONDA DEALER AND ASKED WHAT MIGHT BE GOING ON AS I WAS A FIRST TIME VEHICLE OWNER. THEY TOLD ME THAT MY BRAKE PADS WERE SURLY WORN OUT AND BLAMED ME THAT IT WAS BECAUSE OF MY DRIVING HABITS, OR I WAS RACING. AT THIS POINT I BEGAN TO LAUGH IN DISBELIEF. THEY TOLD ME TO COME IN SO THEY CAN INSPECT THE PADS. I WENT IN AND WHEN I RECEIVED THE CAR THEY TOLD ME MY BRAKES HAD BEEN CHANGED AND I WOULD NOT BE PAYING ANYTHING SINCE THEY WERE CHANGED UNDER WARRANTY. NOT TOO LONG AFTER, THE SAME SQUEALING NOISE BEGAN AND THIS TIME AROUND I KNEW THE DRILL. EVER SINCE I'VE HAD TO REPLACE MY BRAKES MANY TIMES, ABOUT 5 TO BE EXACT, AND ONLY AT 60K MILES. NOT TO MENTION, IM BEGINNING TO WORRY A BIT BECAUSE MY BRAKES SINCE THE RECENTLY LAST TIME I CHANGED MY PADS, THE RESPONSE IN BRAKING HAS BEEN VERY BAD. I DO FEAR FOR MY SAFETY SOMETIMES. ESPECIALLY FOR MY SIBLINGS' SAFETY WHEN I RIDE THEM TO SCHOOL. PLEASE HELP THE THOUSANDS OF CONSUMERS THAT ARE IN THE SAME BOAT AS I AM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/13/2013 - ELK GROVE, CA
CUSTOMER STATED SQUEEL NOISE HEARD FROM LEFT FRONT WHEEL AREA, BEST HEARD WHEN SWERVING BACK AND FORTH VERIFIED BY HONDA TECHNICIAN ON ROAD TEST. HONDA DEALER REPLACED FRONT BRAKE PADS, RESURFACED FRONT BRAKE ROTORS & LUBED CALIPER SLIDE PINS FOR A TOTAL OF OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE OF $261.48. SECOND INCIDENT, AGAIN THE METALLIC GRINDING SOUND HEARD FROM THE FRONT END AT 19,344 MILES ON 6/9/12. TECHNICIAN FOUND FRONT BRAKES PADS WORN OUT. HONDA DEALER REPLACED FRONT BRAKE PADS AND RESURFACED FRONT BRAKE ROTORS AT ANOTHER OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE OF $265.32. THIRD INCIDENT, AGAIN THE METALLIC GRINDING SOUND HEARD FROM THE FRONT END AT 30,906 MILES ON 8/10/13. TECHNICIAN FOUND FRONT BRAKES PADS WORN OUT. HONDA DEALER REPLACED FRONT BRAKE PADS AND RESURFACED FRONT BRAKE ROTORS AT ANOTHER OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE OF $528.25! PLEASE TAKE NOTE THAT SINCE PURCHASE THE CIVIC HAS UNDERGONE 3 TIMES REPLACEMENT OF BRAKE PADS AND ROTOR RESURFACING, I.E., AN AVERAGE YEARLY OCCURENCE WHICH CUSTOMER THINKS IS OUT OF THE ORDINARY. THE LAST SERVICE HAVING THE MOST EXHORBITANT CHARGE FOR THE SAME SERVICE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/12/2013 - ELDERSBURG, MD
THE BRAKES HAVE COMPLETELY WORN OUT AT LESS THAN 40,000 MILES. I NOTICED A PROBLEM, AND BROUGHT IT IN TO BE CHECKED AND THEY TOLD ME THAT NOT ONLY THAT I NEED NEW PADS BUT I NEED NEW ROTORS AS WELL. THERE IS NO REASON THAT THESE COMPONENTS WORE OUT THIS FAST, ESPECIALLY THE ROTORS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/5/2013 - HONOLULU, HI
CAR BRAKES MAKES SQUEALING NOISE WHEN BRAKES APPLIED.CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY SO I REMOVED BOTH FRONT WHEELS AND DISCOVER BOTH FRONT BRAKE PADS ARE WORN TO THE METAL NOW BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS REQUIRE REPLACEMENT,I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR OVER 40 YEARS AND OWNED NUMEROUS DIFFERENT CARS OVER THE YEARS,THIS IS THE FIRST CAR THAT I HAVE SEEN THAT WEAR OUT BRAKES THIS FAST,MOST OF THE CARS I HAVE OWNED LASTED A MINIMUM OF 45,000 MILES SOME LASTED TO ABOUT 90,000 MILES,BY THE WAY I AM A PROFESSIONAL MECHANIC AND I DO NOT ABUSE MY VEHICLES IN FACT I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT I DRIVE LIKE A OLD LADY. I FEEL THAT THIS SHOULD BE A FACTORY SAFETY RECALL,SOME PEOPLE WITH NO MECHANICAL KNOWLEDGE MIGHT CONTINUE TO OPERATE THIS CAR AND GET THEMSELVES INTO A HORRIBLE SITUATION SOONER OR LATER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/2/2013 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, SHE HEARD THE BRAKES SQUEAL AS SHE DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE FAILURE WAS DIAGNOSED AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 39,700 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/22/2013 - ORINDA, CA
THE VISOR SPLIT/CRACKED OPEN, AND NOW IT WILL NOT STAY IN POSITION. SO, THE VISOR IS PERMANENTLY DOWN, AND THEREFORE, DECREASING VISIBILITY.

View Details

STEERING

7/22/2013 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I NOTICED WHEN PARALLEL PARKING THAT WHEN I TURNED MY STEERING WHEEL IT WOULD MAKE A CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE DRIVERS FRONT. I DROVE AGAIN THE NEXT DAY AND THE NOISE GOT WORSE AND STARTED HAPPENING WHEN I WAS TURNING MY WHEEL WHILE DRIVING, AND IF I WENT OVER ANY BUMPS. I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR SERVICING AND THEY SAID THAT I NEEDED MY STRUT TOP REPLACED DUE TO EXCESSIVE WEAR AND TEAR (I JUST BOUGHT THE CAR 2 WEEKS PRIOR)... WELL, THEY FIXED THE PART AND I TOOK MY CAR HOME AND LESS THAN A MONTH LATER THE PIECE WENT BAD AGAIN AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/22/2013 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I NOTICED WHEN PARALLEL PARKING THAT WHEN I TURNED MY STEERING WHEEL IT WOULD MAKE A CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE DRIVERS FRONT. I DROVE AGAIN THE NEXT DAY AND THE NOISE GOT WORSE AND STARTED HAPPENING WHEN I WAS TURNING MY WHEEL WHILE DRIVING, AND IF I WENT OVER ANY BUMPS. I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR SERVICING AND THEY SAID THAT I NEEDED MY STRUT TOP REPLACED DUE TO EXCESSIVE WEAR AND TEAR (I JUST BOUGHT THE CAR 2 WEEKS PRIOR)... WELL, THEY FIXED THE PART AND I TOOK MY CAR HOME AND LESS THAN A MONTH LATER THE PIECE WENT BAD AGAIN AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds