Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 145 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (71) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (1) Structure (4) Visibility (8)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2011 - NICEVILLE, FL
INTERMITTENT ISSUE WHERE THE GAS PEDAL DOES NOT WORK - DEPRESSING IT DOES NOT CAUSE THE ENGINE TO REV AT ALL. THIS HAS OCCURRED WITH THE VEHICLE AT 40 MPH, THEN NO POWER AS VEHICLE SLOWED DOWN TO 15 MPH BEFORE IT STARTED WORKING. OTHER SYMPTOMS WHEN THIS OCCURS ARE AS FOLLOWS: WITH HEADLIGHTS TURNED ON, THE LEFT TURN SIGNAL IS STUCK "ON". IF HEADLIGHTS ARE OFF, SELECTING THE LEFT TURN SIGNAL CAN CAUSE VARIOUS DASH LIGHTS TO BLINK, AND ENGINE LOSES POWER IN SYNCH WITH THE BLINKING LIGHTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/22/2011 - MULINO, OR
MY 2010 AT SANTA FE STARTED WITH OCCASIONAL LURCHING FORWARD WHEN STARTED, THEN PROGRESSED TO HARSH SHIFTING, BUMPING AND BANGING NOISES FROM THE AT. THIS WAS EPISODIC, WHEN THE CAR WAS COLD. (SEE MY INITIAL COMPLAINT #10379504) SINCE MY ORIGINAL COMPLAINT, THE DEALER PUT IN A "DATA RECORDER" TO TRY TO CAPTURE WHAT WAS HAPPENING. DESPITE 2-3 EPISODES OF THIS HAPPENING WHILE THE RECORDER WAS ON, THEY WERE NOT CAPTURED ON THE UNIT. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, YET IT CONTINUED TO GET PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. AT ABOUT 9000 MILES, IT HAPPENED AGAIN- THE WORST EPISODE YET. AT THAT POINT I WAS AFRAID FOR MY SAFETY. I DROVE THE CAR HOME AND THEN TO THE DEALER. AFTER THE DEALER DID FURTHER TESTING ON THE AT, THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS IN FACT SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE AT, AND THEY PUT IN A NEW TRANSMISSION. WITHIN 1000- 2000 MILES ON THE NEW TRANSMISSION, IN STARTED BUMPING AGAIN WHEN COLD, SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER, BUT OF COURSE THEY CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEY SAID IT HAD A FAST IDLE AND ADJUSTED IT. THEY ALSO SAID I SHOULD WARM THE CAR UP 5-7 MINUTES PRIOR TO DRIVING IT EACH TIME, SINCE I REPORT THIS ONLY OCCURS WHILE IT IS COLD. THEY SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR, JUST AS THEY TOLD ME EARLIER, PRIOR TO FINDING OUT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE AT. WHEN I LEFT THE DEALER AFTER TELLING ME THIS, IT BUMPED TWICE BEFORE I GOT OUT OF THEIR PARKING LOT, AND CONTINUES TO DO SO, ONCE EVEN WHILE IT WAS WARM. I CALLED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS, THEY PARROT BACK TO ME EVERYTHING THE DEALER TELLS ME, AND OFFER NO NEW SUGGESTIONS OTHER THAN TO CONSULT MY OWNERS MANUAL ON CONFLICT RESOLUTION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/21/2011 - STAMFORD, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE HESITATED BEFORE ACCELERATING EXCESSIVELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SIX DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/17/2011 - HEATHSVILLE, VA
WHEN PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE FROM STOPPED POSITION THERE IS A NOTABLE PAUSE. (1-3 SECONDS??)THIS THEN CAUSES YOU TO PUSH ACCELERATOR FURTHER ,THEREBY CAUSING A MUCH MORE SUDDEN ACCELERATION. I AM USED TO IT BECAUSE IT HAS HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY SINCE CAR WAS NEW, BUT SOMEONE COULD GET IN TROUBLE. HYUNDAI SERVICE SAYS ITS BECAUSE THE PEDAL IS SENDING A POSITION OF PEDAL THROUGH AN ELECTRONIC SIGNAL TO FUEL METERING SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/17/2011 - HEATHSVILLE, VA
WHEN PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE FROM STOPPED POSITION THERE IS A NOTABLE PAUSE. (1-3 SECONDS??)THIS THEN CAUSES YOU TO PUSH ACCELERATOR FURTHER ,THEREBY CAUSING A MUCH MORE SUDDEN ACCELERATION. I AM USED TO IT BECAUSE IT HAS HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY SINCE CAR WAS NEW, BUT SOMEONE COULD GET IN TROUBLE. HYUNDAI SERVICE SAYS ITS BECAUSE THE PEDAL IS SENDING A POSITION OF PEDAL THROUGH AN ELECTRONIC SIGNAL TO FUEL METERING SYSTEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2011 - HEATHSVILLE, VA
WHEN PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE FROM STOPPED POSITION THERE IS A NOTABLE PAUSE. (1-3 SECONDS??)THIS THEN CAUSES YOU TO PUSH ACCELERATOR FURTHER ,THEREBY CAUSING A MUCH MORE SUDDEN ACCELERATION. I AM USED TO IT BECAUSE IT HAS HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY SINCE CAR WAS NEW, BUT SOMEONE COULD GET IN TROUBLE. HYUNDAI SERVICE SAYS ITS BECAUSE THE PEDAL IS SENDING A POSITION OF PEDAL THROUGH AN ELECTRONIC SIGNAL TO FUEL METERING SYSTEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/12/2011 - LANSING, KS
THIS IS A LOW-MILEAGE HYUNDAI AWD SANTA FE LIMITED WITH 19" ALLOW RIMS. AT ABOUT 11,500 MILES I NOTICED GREASE ON THE INSIDE OF THE FRONT-LEFT WHEEL. IT WAS THICK AND GREEN IN COLOR, THE GREASE USED TO LUBRICATE THE AXLE JOINT. THE CENTRIFUGAL FORCE FROM THE AXLE SPRAYED THE GREASE ALONG THE INSIDE OF THE WHEEL. I CHECKED THE CV BOOT AND AXLE AND IT APPEARED THE GREASE WAS LEAKING FROM THE SEAL BETWEEN THE BOOT AND THE AXLE HUB. THERE WAS A VERY SLIGHT LEAKAGE COMING FROM THE RIGHT WHEEL AXLE AS WELL. THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH A VEHICLE ONLY A YEAR OLD. I TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AND THEY CONFIRMED THE LEAKAGE ON BOTH WHEELS AND ORDERED TWO AXLE SEAL KITS, WHICH WILL INCLUDE REPLACEMENT OF THE JOINT. THERE WAS NO CHARGE FOR THE INSPECTION AND THERE WILL BE NO CHARGE FOR THE REPAIR. IF THIS WENT UNNOTICED IT COULD CAUSE AN AXLE TO OVERHEAT AND FAIL. AT HIGH SPEEDS THIS COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2011 - DALLAS, TX
I HAVE A 2010 SANTA FE WITH 19K MILES.....TWICE THIS WEEK I WAS DRIVING AND SUDDENLY THE GAS PEDAL STOPPED WORKING AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. BRAKES WORKED, THANK GOODNESS. ANYONE ELSE HAVE "SUDDEN UNINTENDED DECELERATION"?? AFTER THE FIRST EVENT, I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER (FOLLOWING PROTOCOL IN THE MANUAL). THEY REPORTED A NEW RECALL (IT HAD BEEN SERVICED A FEW MONTHS AGO), EXECUTED A COMPUTER UPDATE AND ALL WAS FIXED (OR SO I THOUGHT). 4 DAYS LATER, WITH LESS THAN 100 MILES DRIVEN SINCE THE REPAIR, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS TIME I WAS IN 35MPH TRAFFIC SO WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL NO LONGER WORKED, I ALMOST WAS REAR-ENDED. I WAS ABLE TO COAST OUT OF TRAFFIC (BRAKES AND STEERING FINE)TO A SIDE STREET. I WAS ABLE TO COAST HOME (.5 MILE OR SO). CAR WOULD ACCELERATE AFTER STOP SIGNS, ALTHOUGH THE GAS PEDAL DOESN'T RESPOND AT ALL. VERY SCARY THAT IT EVEN SHIFTED TO A HIGHER GEAR AND WOULD GO 30MPH AND KEEP ACCELERATING IF I DIDN'T BRAKE! THE FIRST REPAIR INFO: 1. SPRING PROTECTOR INSTALL (TSB#11-01-021); CAUSE: CAMP 2.TC7 CM ECM UPDATE P0111 10-01-034; CAUSE: CAMP

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

6/23/2011 - CHARLOTTE, NC
2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO RECALL RELATED TO DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION CAUSING LOSS OF MOTIVE POWER THE CONSUMER STATED SHE WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE ONLY FOUND OUT ABOUT THE RECALL, WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER IT SUDDENLY STOPPED ON A SIX LANE HIGHWAY AND WOULD NOT ENGAGE. UPON INSPECTION OF THE VEHICLE, IT WAS DETERMINED THE TRANSMISSION HAD BEEN DESTROYED AND DAMAGED THE AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT NO CHARGE TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/10/2011 - NORFOLK, VA
THE WEEKEND WE PURCHASED OUR 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE LIMITED, V6, WHILE DRIVING IN AREA WITH MODERATE GRADES VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE SHIFTING BETWEEN 1ST & 2ND GEARS, 2ND & 3RD GEARS. WE THOUGHT IT COULD BE THE AREA WE WERE DRIVING IN, SO WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE IT TO SEE IF THAT WAS IT. IT WAS NOT. HARD SHIFTING HAS CONTINUED FOR THE COMPLETE EXTENT OF OUR OWNERSHIP COMMENCING AT THE START. ON 12/7/2010, TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO BE CHECKED, CAUSE: FOUND TRANSMISSION JERKING. MODULE ASSY-AUTO TRANS CONTROL RE, RESET ADAPTIVE TRANS VALUES. RECALL, P0111, ECM UPDATE, PERFORMED CAMP TC7. BRING BACK IF CONTINUES AFTER A COUPLE WEEKS. IT DID CONTINUE, BUT I AM A BUSY PERSON. ON 4/21/2011, RETURNED AGAIN STATING THAT VEHICLE WAS CONTINUING TO SHIFT HARD, JERKING. DEALER SVC STATES COULD NOT DUPLICATE. VEHICLE DUPLICATED FOR ME ON WAY HOME FROM SVC APPT. ON 6/10/11, RETURNED AGAIN FOR SAME PROBLEM WITH HARD SHIFTING AT LOW SPEEDS, JERKING. CAUSE: TCM UPGRADE, RE-RESET ADAPTIVE TRANS VALUES, AFTER WHICH SVC DEPT SAID COULD NOT DUPLICATE AGAIN. SVC MGR STATES THAT A NEW REFLASH HAD BEEN ISSUED SINCE THEY UPGRADED IT LAST ON 12/7/2010. THRU RESEARCH I FIND NO NEW UPGRADE HAS BEEN RELEASED ON SVC MESSAGES/NOTIFICATIONS. I BELIEVE I'VE BEEN MISLEAD. I AM POSITIVE THAT THE VEHICLE WILL DO THIS AGAIN. ALSO, INTERMITTENTLY WHEN ONLY CRANKING THE VEHICLE AND BEFORE THE VEHICLE IS PUT IN GEAR IT WILL IMMEDIATELY HAVE A FEELING OF A LARGE "BANG OR SLAM" AND THEN LUNGE FORWARD EVEN THOUGH STILL IN PARK. THE VEHICLE ALSO MAKES "POPPING" SOUNDS WHEN IN PARK KIND OF LIKE SMALL "BACKFIRES". I HAVE ALSO ASKED THEM TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND DID NOT GET A SATISFACTORY RESPONSE. THEY STATE THAT ALL OF THESE SYMPTOMS ARE CONNECTED TO THE "NEW REFLASH" THAT HAS COME OUT SINCE THE 12/7/2010 SVC APPT. IT "SHOULD" FIX IT. I SAY RECALL IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds