Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 141 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (71) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Structure (2) Visibility (7)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

6/23/2011 - CHARLOTTE, NC
2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO RECALL RELATED TO DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION CAUSING LOSS OF MOTIVE POWER THE CONSUMER STATED SHE WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE ONLY FOUND OUT ABOUT THE RECALL, WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER IT SUDDENLY STOPPED ON A SIX LANE HIGHWAY AND WOULD NOT ENGAGE. UPON INSPECTION OF THE VEHICLE, IT WAS DETERMINED THE TRANSMISSION HAD BEEN DESTROYED AND DAMAGED THE AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT NO CHARGE TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/10/2011 - NORFOLK, VA
THE WEEKEND WE PURCHASED OUR 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE LIMITED, V6, WHILE DRIVING IN AREA WITH MODERATE GRADES VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE SHIFTING BETWEEN 1ST & 2ND GEARS, 2ND & 3RD GEARS. WE THOUGHT IT COULD BE THE AREA WE WERE DRIVING IN, SO WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE IT TO SEE IF THAT WAS IT. IT WAS NOT. HARD SHIFTING HAS CONTINUED FOR THE COMPLETE EXTENT OF OUR OWNERSHIP COMMENCING AT THE START. ON 12/7/2010, TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO BE CHECKED, CAUSE: FOUND TRANSMISSION JERKING. MODULE ASSY-AUTO TRANS CONTROL RE, RESET ADAPTIVE TRANS VALUES. RECALL, P0111, ECM UPDATE, PERFORMED CAMP TC7. BRING BACK IF CONTINUES AFTER A COUPLE WEEKS. IT DID CONTINUE, BUT I AM A BUSY PERSON. ON 4/21/2011, RETURNED AGAIN STATING THAT VEHICLE WAS CONTINUING TO SHIFT HARD, JERKING. DEALER SVC STATES COULD NOT DUPLICATE. VEHICLE DUPLICATED FOR ME ON WAY HOME FROM SVC APPT. ON 6/10/11, RETURNED AGAIN FOR SAME PROBLEM WITH HARD SHIFTING AT LOW SPEEDS, JERKING. CAUSE: TCM UPGRADE, RE-RESET ADAPTIVE TRANS VALUES, AFTER WHICH SVC DEPT SAID COULD NOT DUPLICATE AGAIN. SVC MGR STATES THAT A NEW REFLASH HAD BEEN ISSUED SINCE THEY UPGRADED IT LAST ON 12/7/2010. THRU RESEARCH I FIND NO NEW UPGRADE HAS BEEN RELEASED ON SVC MESSAGES/NOTIFICATIONS. I BELIEVE I'VE BEEN MISLEAD. I AM POSITIVE THAT THE VEHICLE WILL DO THIS AGAIN. ALSO, INTERMITTENTLY WHEN ONLY CRANKING THE VEHICLE AND BEFORE THE VEHICLE IS PUT IN GEAR IT WILL IMMEDIATELY HAVE A FEELING OF A LARGE "BANG OR SLAM" AND THEN LUNGE FORWARD EVEN THOUGH STILL IN PARK. THE VEHICLE ALSO MAKES "POPPING" SOUNDS WHEN IN PARK KIND OF LIKE SMALL "BACKFIRES". I HAVE ALSO ASKED THEM TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND DID NOT GET A SATISFACTORY RESPONSE. THEY STATE THAT ALL OF THESE SYMPTOMS ARE CONNECTED TO THE "NEW REFLASH" THAT HAS COME OUT SINCE THE 12/7/2010 SVC APPT. IT "SHOULD" FIX IT. I SAY RECALL IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/10/2011 - BECKER, MN
I PURCHASED THE 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE NEW WITH ONLY 60 MILES ON IT IN JUNE 2010. IN JANUARY 2011 WE BEGAN SMELLING A FUEL SMELL. THIS OCCURRED ONLY AFTER THE CAR WAS RUNNING AND SHUT OFF THEN SUBSEQUENTLY TURNED BACK ON LESS THAN AN HOUR LATER LIKE WHEN RUNNING ERRANDS. I NEVER SMELLED GAS IF THE CAR SAT OVERNIGHT. WE ALSO WOULD EXPERIENCE AN INTERMITTENT LONG CRANK. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER IN JANUARY 2011 AND THEY REPLACED 2 O-RINGS THAT THEY STATED WERE LEAKING AND FOUND FUEL AROUND. AFTER THESE WERE REPLACED, I STILL HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN FEBRUARY 2011 AND NO KNOWN PROBLEMS WERE FOUND BY THE DEALER. AGAIN, I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN MARCH. THIS TIME THEY FOUND FUEL IN THE CHARCOAL CANISTER. THEY STATED I WAS OVERFILLING THE TANK WHICH WAS WHY THERE WAS FUEL IN THE CHARCOAL CANISTER. AFTER SPEAKING WITH THE MANAGER, THEY AGREED TO COVER THE PART AND LABOR AT NO CHARGE AND REPLACED THE CHARCOAL CANISTER. AFTER THIS WAS REPLACED, I NO LONGER EXPERIENCED THE LONG CRANK BUT I STILL SMELL GAS AFTER RUNNING ERRANDS. HYUNDAI WILL AGAIN BE LOOKING AT THE CAR FOR ANY OTHER PROBLEMS, BUT THE DEALER IS REALLY STUMPED SO FAR ON THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/18/2011 - PAINESVILLE, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH THE CONTACT TOOK HER FOOT OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND WAS COASTING. WHEN THE CONTACT APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL THE RPMS INCREASED AND THERE WAS A HARD BUMP AND A SHUTTER FELT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER THREE TIMES. THE TRANSMISSION ADAPTER WAS RESET, THE KEEP ALIVE MEMORY AND ADAPTIVE VALUES WERE CLEARED, AND AN ECU UPDATE WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR. THE CONTACT WAS TAKING THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER A FORTH TIME FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,889. UPDATED 5/9/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS A HARSH SHIFT BETWEEN 20-30 MPH. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER SIX TIMES FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED TWICE. UPDATED 08/17/11.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/14/2011 - RIO RANCHO, NM
GAS/FUEL SMELL COMING FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT INTO CABIN OF 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE GLS (2.4 L AUTOMATIC). SMELL IS NOT NOTICEABLE AT COLD START OVERNIGHT, OR AFTER A COUPLE OF HOURS OF SITTING. SMELL IS VERY NOTICEABLE AFTER THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN TO OPERATING TEMPERATURE AND THEN SHUT OFF FOR ANYWHERE FROM 10 MINUTES TO AN HOUR. THE FUEL SMELL COMES DIRECTLY INTO THE CABIN WHEN THE HVAC SYSTEM IS SET TO VENT, BUT NOT ON RECIRCULATE. DEALER HAS REMOVED AND REPLACED FUEL INJECTORS AND FUEL RAIL. SMELL STILL PERSISTS. THIS IS A DAILY OCCURRENCE. THE SMELL ALSO OCCURS WHEN STOPPED FOR ANY AMOUNT OF TIME WHILE DRIVING/IDLING. THE SMELL OCCURS WHEN THE VEHICLE'S ENGINE IS OFF, BUT THE KEY IS TURNED TO THE POINT THE HVAC WILL TURN ON. THIS MEANS THE SMELL OCCURS REGARDLESS OF WHETHER THE ENGINE IS RUNNING OR NOT. THE SMELL ACCUMULATES UNDER THE HOOD AND IS STRONGEST NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE MIDDLE. THE SMELL IS BAD ENOUGH TO PERMEATE CLOTHES WHILE DRIVING AND TO BE SMELLED INSIDE THE HOUSE WHEN THE DOOR TO THE GARAGE IS OPENED. IT'S BAD ENOUGH TO FORCE PARKING THE VEHICLE OUTDOORS. IT APPEARS THIS ISSUE IS BEING DISCUSSED ON THE HYUNDAI FORUMS WEBSITE AND MOST COMPLAINTS ARE FOR THE HYUNDAI SONATA AND SONATA TURBO, BUT THE DESCRIPTION OF THE ISSUE AND POTENTIAL SOLUTIONS POINT TO THE SAME CAUSE FOR MY SANTA FE. THE DEALER HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THE SMELL, BUT NOT IN WRITING. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN FIVE TIMES FOR THIS COMPLAINT - TWICE WITH WORK DONE, TWICE WITH NO WORK DONE (CLAIM WAS COULD NOT REPLICATE), AND ONCE I WAS SENT HOME BEFORE ANY WORK WAS DONE AS THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE DETERMINED THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AT THAT TIME. THERE APPEARS TO BE NO KNOWN SOLUTION TO THIS ISSUE COMING FORTH FROM HYUNDAI AT THIS TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/8/2011 - NEW HIDE PARK, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. HE ALSO NOTICED THAT THE RPMS WOULD INCREASE AND DECREASE WITHOUT APPLYING PRESSURE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE DEALER MADE FOUR ATTEMPTS TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT SINCE THE COMPUTER DID NOT DISPLAY ANY ERROR CODES THEN THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 18,000. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 10,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/17/2011 - MINEOLA, NY
OCT 2010 FIRST INCIDENT- WITH A COLD ENGINE IN THE MORNING WHILE TRAVELING BETWEEN 20-40 MPH MY 2010 6 CYL HYUNDAI SANTA FE LURCHED FORWARD WITH A LOUD BANG AS IF WE WERE HIT FROM BEHIND. WE HAD 6230 MILES ON VEHICLE. OVER THE NEXT 2 DAYS THE SAME THING HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES NOT AS SEVERE AS THE FIRST INCIDENT. AFTER CHECKING THE INTERNET FOUND MANY REPORTS OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS. BROUGHT TO DEALER WHO DENIED HEARING OF THIS PROBLEM, KEPT OVERNIGHT, COULDN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM AND RESET ADAPTIVE LEARNING AND RESET DRIVING HISTORY. PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN MARCH 2011 ON MARCH 8, 2011 BROUGHT TO DEALER KEPT OVERNIGHT, COULDN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM FOUND TRANSMISSION FLUID LOW, RESET TRANSMISSION, DID AN UPDATE THEY SAID WAS RELATED TO A COMPUTER MODULE THAT WAS RELATED TO THE PROBLEM. VEHICLE HAD 10,000 MILES. CALLED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND HAD A CASE OPENED TO DOCUMENT PROBLEM AS I MAY HAVE TO GO THROUGH NEW YORK LEMON LAW IF THEY DON'T FIX PROBLEM. MARCH 15, 2011 TRAMSMISSION PROBLEM BACK AGAIN CALLED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND HAD THEM REOPEN CASE AND ANOTHER APPOINTMENT SCHEDULED WITH DEALER ON MARCH 23, 2011 TO TEST DRIVE WITH TECH AND SERVICE MANAGER. THIS WILL BE THIRD ATTEMPT TO FIX TRANSMISSION PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/14/2011 - COCOA, FL
CONSTANT, UNSAFE, AND UNCOMFORTABLE STEERING TO THE RIGHT, ENOUGH TO CHANGE LANES ON ITS OWN.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

3/10/2011 - FLUSHING, NY
SINCE PURCHASING A NEW 2010 HYUNDAI SANTE FE AWD IN MAY 2010, THERE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WITH IT'S TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM (TPMS) IN NOVEMBER 2010 AND A REOCCURRENCE NOW IN FEBRUARY 2011. I WAS SO UPSET THAT I WROTE THE MANUFACTURER DIRECTLY AND ITS NOW BEING OVERSEEN BY THE HYUNDAI EAST COAST REGIONAL OFFICE--BUT STILL NO RESOLUTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/22/2011 - BURKE, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE NOTICED SCRATCHES ON HER VEHICLE WHICH SUDDENLY TURNED INTO RUST WITHIN A COUPLE OF DAYS. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER AND THEY ADVISED HER THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE AND THAT IT WAS JUST PAINT DAMAGE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AS WELL AND ADVISED HER TO CALL HER INSURANCE COMPANY. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 9,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds