Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 124 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (65) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/7/2011 - NETHERLANDS ANTILLES, NN
VEHICLE STOPPED ON INCLINE OF A HILL, THEN REVERSED (GEAR SHIFT IN DRIVE) BACK DOWN 600 FEET THE HILL AND CRASHED AGAINST A CONCRETE WALL CORNER. HAVE 2 WITNESSES THAT SWITCHED OFF THE ENGINE, INSPECTED WRECK, FOUND NO FAULT CODES WITH A LAUNCH 431-READER BUT FIGURED THAT BATTERY WAS DRAINED AFTER 2 MONTHS. SURVIVING DAUGHTER SUFFERS FROM MEMORY LOSS BUT AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT CLAIMS THE BRAKES FAILED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/3/2011 - IRWIN, PA
I HAVE A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. SOMETIMES WHEN IT SHIFTS FROM 1ST TO 2ND IT FEELS LIKE ANOTHER VEHICLE HAS REAR-ENDED ME. IT HAPPENS A LOT WHEN THE SANTA FE IS COLD, BUT IT HAS HAPPENED AT OTHER TIMES ALSO. IT WILL ALSO HESITATE AS IT GOES FROM ONE GEAR TO THE NEXT. I HAVE HAD IT TO THE DEALER TWICE (ONCE I LEFT IT OVER NIGHT SO THEY WOULD HAVE IT WHEN IT WAS COLD) AND OF COURSE IT DIDN'T DO IT FOR THEM. WHEN THE TRANSMISSION HESITATES THE TACHOMETER WILL GO BETWEEN 3000 AND 4000 RPM, AND THEN LURCH VIOLENTLY AS IT BECOMES "UNSTUCK." EVERY TIME I GO TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR AN OIL CHANGE OR ANY OTHER WORK, I MENTION THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. THE LAST TIME I WAS THERE THE TECHNICIAN SAID THEY CONTACTED HYUNDAI AND WAS TOLD THAT IS NORMAL. THAT IS NOT NORMAL. I RECEIVED A QUESTIONNAIRE FROM HYUNDAI ABOUT MY SANTA FE AND AGAIN MENTIONED THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. I NEVER HEARD FROM THEM. I HAVE READ OTHER OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND HYUNDAI WILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/30/2010 - PONCE, PR
I HAVE A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, GLS. WHILE DRIVING IT, THE TRANSMISSION BROKE. I WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER, AND PULL OVER. IT DID NOT MOVE AT ALL. IT JUST HAPPENED WITHOUT ANY WARNINGS OR PREVIOUS PROBLEMS, NOISES, ETC. IT HAS 21,082 MILES / 7MONTHS OF USE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/30/2010 - ROYERSFORD, PA
ON MY 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, THE TRANSMISSION INTERMITTENTLY SLIPS, THEN SLAMS INTO GEAR WITH SUCH FORCE THAT THE VEHICLE LURCHES FORWARD, AND FEELS LIKE YOU ARE BEING REAR-ENDED. THERE ARE NUMEROUS OTHER REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING, HOWEVER HYUNDAI HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL FOR SAME, AND THE DEALER HAS BEEN UNABLE TO FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/17/2010 - PEACHTREE CITY, GA
BOUGHT OUR 2010 SANTA FE WITH 2700 MILES (THE OWNERS WIFE HAD BEEN DRIVING IT) ON NOVEMBER 11TH. ALMOST IMMEDIATELY I NOTICED THAT IT BANGED LOUDLY AND LURCHED SOMEWHAT UPON GOING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE. IT DOES IT AT ANY TIME OF DAY SO IT'S NOT LIMITED TO COLD STARTS. BROUGHT INTO DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY TESTED AND RESET THE COMPUTER. MY SERVICE MANAGER SEEMED TO BE AWARE OF THE OBVIOUS PROBLEMS THE TRANSMISSION IS HAVING. THEN WAS TOLD IT WAS MY TRANSMISSION AND THEY ORDERED A REPLACEMENT. I ASKED IF IT WOULD BE NEW OR REBUILT, THEY SAID NEW. THEN I WAS TOLD IT WAS POLICY TO PUT IN REBUILT. IT ONLY HAS 5000 MILES ON IT! AFTER SOME CONVERSATION, THEY AGREED TO PUT A NEW TRANSMISSION IN IT. THEY STILL HAVE MY VEHICLE-OVER A WEEK NOW AND I MIGHT NOT GET IT BACK FOR ANOTHER WEEK. STILL DON'T HAVE THE PART.....SO WE'LL SEE WHEN WE GET IT BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/14/2010 - MITHCELLVILLE, MD
SAFETY: 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE ENGINE SEEMS TO RACE AT SLOW SPEEDS/COASTING, THEN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION "SKIPS" THEN "SLAMS" BACK INTO GEAR. BROUGHT BACK INTO DEALERSHIP TWICE, FIRST WAS TOLD THEY HAD HEARD OF A SIMILAR ISSUE BUT THAT IT WAS "WITHIN TOLERANCE" SO IT WAS NOT FIXED, WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND BEFORE STARTING A LONG TRIP I TOOK IT BACK AND HAD THEIR SENIOR TECH DRIVE IT HOME (TO SEE IF COLD STARTING COULD BE A CONTRIBUTOR) THEY "REPROGRAMMED" THE TRANSMISSION AND TOLD US IT WOULD BE IN "LEARNING MODE" FOR THE NEXT FEW THOUSAND MILES. PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED TWICE MORE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. WANT TO TAKE IT BACK FOR REPAIR BUT NEED SOME HELP IN TELLING THEM WHAT (AND OBVIOUSLY FROM THE ONLINE FORUMS) HOW WIDESPREAD THIS ISSUE IS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR

12/12/2010 - APO, AE
BRAKE HARD TO STOP EVEN AFTER PRESSING REALLY HARD DOWN ON THEM. VEHICLE ONLY SLOWS DOWN TO 20MPH WHEN INITIALLY SLAM ON THE BRAKE. I ALMOST REAR ENDED SOMEONE. I WAS ONLY DRIVING NO MORE THAN 40 MPH ON A 50 MPH ZONE. BRAKE FEELS REALLY HARD AND DOES NOT WORK WHEN SLAM ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/6/2010 - SAYVILLE, NY
WE PURCHASED 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE ALMOST FROM THE START WE NOTICE AN OCCASION SHE WOULD BANG INTO GEAR WHILE DRIVING IN 30 - 40 MPH TRAFFIC AND STOPS. AFTER NUMEROUS TRIPS TO DEALER THEIR ANSWER WAS THEY COULDN'T DUPLICATE. THE LAST 2 TRIPS TO THE DEALER I EXPLAINED IF YOU DRIVE IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC MOVING ABOUT 30-40 MPH YOU WILL FEEL THE BANG LIKE YOU HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED. I WAS TOLD THE CANNOT TEST FOR THAT PERIOD OF TIME THEY REFLASH THE COMPUTER. THEN LISTED IT AS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE AND SET UP N APPOINTMENT WITH A FACTORY REP. FOR DECEMBER 15,2010 @10:30AM. MY WIFE WILL NOT CURRENTLY TAKE HER PARENTS FOR TREATMENTS AT THE MEDICAL CENTER BECAUSE THE BANG STARTLES HERE PARENTS AND SHE FEARS A BREAKDOWN. UNACCEPTABLE FOR A CAR LESS THAN ONE YEAR OLD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/3/2010 - SAYVILLE, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION WOULD THROW ITSELF INTO GEAR WITH A HARD BANG AS IF IT WERE HIT FROM THE REAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO RESET THE COMPUTER; THE BANGING STOPPED FOR A WHILE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 3,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS APPROXIMATELY 10,000. UPDATED 01/18/11 UPDATED 01/31/11

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/2/2010 - SEATTLE, WA
A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END IMPACT . THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL BODY SHOP FOR REPAIRS. IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF REPAIRS, THE SHOP REPLACED THE COMPONENTS OF THE SUPPLEMENTARY RESTRAINT SYSTEM AND SENT THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL DEALER TO CHECK FOR ERROR CODES AND TO RESET THE SYSTEM. ONE OF THE ERROR CODES WOULD NOT CLEAR. THE DEALER, IN WASHINGTON STATE ADVISED THE REPAIR SHOP AND US THAT PURSUANT TO A TSB,01-90-013, HYUNDAI RECOMMENDS THAT THE WIRING HARNESS ALSO MUST BE REPLACED IN ADDITION TO THE STANDARD PARTS OF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM, WHEN THE AIR BAGS ARE DEPLOYED. THERE WAS NO DIRECT DAMAGE TO THE WIRING HARNESS AND THIS APPEARS TO BE SOME UNIQUE REQUIREMENT DESIGNED INTO THE HARNESS BY HYUNDAI. IT IS UNCLEAR WHY THIS IS REQUIRED OR WHAT UNIQUE FEATURE WAS BUILT INTO THE HARNESS THAT DEMANDS THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE HARNESS. THIS ADDED REQUIREMENT ADDS AN ADDITIONAL $6,767.75 TO THE REPAIR COST OVER AND ABOVE THE REGULAR COLLISION RELATED COST. WHEREAS THIS REQUIREMENT IS UNIQUE TO THE NEW 2010 SANTA FE MODEL AND IS NOT FUNCTION REQUIRED DURING THE STANDARD REPLACEMENT OF AIR BAGS IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE THAT WE ARE AWARE OF, WE MUST ASK IS THIS A DEFECT, IS THIS SIMPLY A DESIGN FEATURE TO ENHANCE PROFIT FROM REPAIRS OR IS THERE SOME UNIQUE FEATURE TO THE WIRE HARNESS DESIGN THAT SERVES SOME OTHER PURPOSE OR FUNCTION? ANY INFORMATION WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds