Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (63) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/14/2010 - MITHCELLVILLE, MD
SAFETY: 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE ENGINE SEEMS TO RACE AT SLOW SPEEDS/COASTING, THEN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION "SKIPS" THEN "SLAMS" BACK INTO GEAR. BROUGHT BACK INTO DEALERSHIP TWICE, FIRST WAS TOLD THEY HAD HEARD OF A SIMILAR ISSUE BUT THAT IT WAS "WITHIN TOLERANCE" SO IT WAS NOT FIXED, WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND BEFORE STARTING A LONG TRIP I TOOK IT BACK AND HAD THEIR SENIOR TECH DRIVE IT HOME (TO SEE IF COLD STARTING COULD BE A CONTRIBUTOR) THEY "REPROGRAMMED" THE TRANSMISSION AND TOLD US IT WOULD BE IN "LEARNING MODE" FOR THE NEXT FEW THOUSAND MILES. PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED TWICE MORE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. WANT TO TAKE IT BACK FOR REPAIR BUT NEED SOME HELP IN TELLING THEM WHAT (AND OBVIOUSLY FROM THE ONLINE FORUMS) HOW WIDESPREAD THIS ISSUE IS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR

12/12/2010 - APO, AE
BRAKE HARD TO STOP EVEN AFTER PRESSING REALLY HARD DOWN ON THEM. VEHICLE ONLY SLOWS DOWN TO 20MPH WHEN INITIALLY SLAM ON THE BRAKE. I ALMOST REAR ENDED SOMEONE. I WAS ONLY DRIVING NO MORE THAN 40 MPH ON A 50 MPH ZONE. BRAKE FEELS REALLY HARD AND DOES NOT WORK WHEN SLAM ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/6/2010 - SAYVILLE, NY
WE PURCHASED 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE ALMOST FROM THE START WE NOTICE AN OCCASION SHE WOULD BANG INTO GEAR WHILE DRIVING IN 30 - 40 MPH TRAFFIC AND STOPS. AFTER NUMEROUS TRIPS TO DEALER THEIR ANSWER WAS THEY COULDN'T DUPLICATE. THE LAST 2 TRIPS TO THE DEALER I EXPLAINED IF YOU DRIVE IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC MOVING ABOUT 30-40 MPH YOU WILL FEEL THE BANG LIKE YOU HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED. I WAS TOLD THE CANNOT TEST FOR THAT PERIOD OF TIME THEY REFLASH THE COMPUTER. THEN LISTED IT AS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE AND SET UP N APPOINTMENT WITH A FACTORY REP. FOR DECEMBER 15,2010 @10:30AM. MY WIFE WILL NOT CURRENTLY TAKE HER PARENTS FOR TREATMENTS AT THE MEDICAL CENTER BECAUSE THE BANG STARTLES HERE PARENTS AND SHE FEARS A BREAKDOWN. UNACCEPTABLE FOR A CAR LESS THAN ONE YEAR OLD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/3/2010 - SAYVILLE, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION WOULD THROW ITSELF INTO GEAR WITH A HARD BANG AS IF IT WERE HIT FROM THE REAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO RESET THE COMPUTER; THE BANGING STOPPED FOR A WHILE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 3,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS APPROXIMATELY 10,000. UPDATED 01/18/11 UPDATED 01/31/11

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/2/2010 - SEATTLE, WA
A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END IMPACT . THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL BODY SHOP FOR REPAIRS. IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF REPAIRS, THE SHOP REPLACED THE COMPONENTS OF THE SUPPLEMENTARY RESTRAINT SYSTEM AND SENT THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL DEALER TO CHECK FOR ERROR CODES AND TO RESET THE SYSTEM. ONE OF THE ERROR CODES WOULD NOT CLEAR. THE DEALER, IN WASHINGTON STATE ADVISED THE REPAIR SHOP AND US THAT PURSUANT TO A TSB,01-90-013, HYUNDAI RECOMMENDS THAT THE WIRING HARNESS ALSO MUST BE REPLACED IN ADDITION TO THE STANDARD PARTS OF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM, WHEN THE AIR BAGS ARE DEPLOYED. THERE WAS NO DIRECT DAMAGE TO THE WIRING HARNESS AND THIS APPEARS TO BE SOME UNIQUE REQUIREMENT DESIGNED INTO THE HARNESS BY HYUNDAI. IT IS UNCLEAR WHY THIS IS REQUIRED OR WHAT UNIQUE FEATURE WAS BUILT INTO THE HARNESS THAT DEMANDS THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE HARNESS. THIS ADDED REQUIREMENT ADDS AN ADDITIONAL $6,767.75 TO THE REPAIR COST OVER AND ABOVE THE REGULAR COLLISION RELATED COST. WHEREAS THIS REQUIREMENT IS UNIQUE TO THE NEW 2010 SANTA FE MODEL AND IS NOT FUNCTION REQUIRED DURING THE STANDARD REPLACEMENT OF AIR BAGS IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE THAT WE ARE AWARE OF, WE MUST ASK IS THIS A DEFECT, IS THIS SIMPLY A DESIGN FEATURE TO ENHANCE PROFIT FROM REPAIRS OR IS THERE SOME UNIQUE FEATURE TO THE WIRE HARNESS DESIGN THAT SERVES SOME OTHER PURPOSE OR FUNCTION? ANY INFORMATION WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/2/2010 - SEATTLE, WA
A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END IMPACT . THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL BODY SHOP FOR REPAIRS. IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF REPAIRS, THE SHOP REPLACED THE COMPONENTS OF THE SUPPLEMENTARY RESTRAINT SYSTEM AND SENT THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL DEALER TO CHECK FOR ERROR CODES AND TO RESET THE SYSTEM. ONE OF THE ERROR CODES WOULD NOT CLEAR. THE DEALER, IN WASHINGTON STATE ADVISED THE REPAIR SHOP AND US THAT PURSUANT TO A TSB,01-90-013, HYUNDAI RECOMMENDS THAT THE WIRING HARNESS ALSO MUST BE REPLACED IN ADDITION TO THE STANDARD PARTS OF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM, WHEN THE AIR BAGS ARE DEPLOYED. THERE WAS NO DIRECT DAMAGE TO THE WIRING HARNESS AND THIS APPEARS TO BE SOME UNIQUE REQUIREMENT DESIGNED INTO THE HARNESS BY HYUNDAI. IT IS UNCLEAR WHY THIS IS REQUIRED OR WHAT UNIQUE FEATURE WAS BUILT INTO THE HARNESS THAT DEMANDS THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE HARNESS. THIS ADDED REQUIREMENT ADDS AN ADDITIONAL $6,767.75 TO THE REPAIR COST OVER AND ABOVE THE REGULAR COLLISION RELATED COST. WHEREAS THIS REQUIREMENT IS UNIQUE TO THE NEW 2010 SANTA FE MODEL AND IS NOT FUNCTION REQUIRED DURING THE STANDARD REPLACEMENT OF AIR BAGS IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE THAT WE ARE AWARE OF, WE MUST ASK IS THIS A DEFECT, IS THIS SIMPLY A DESIGN FEATURE TO ENHANCE PROFIT FROM REPAIRS OR IS THERE SOME UNIQUE FEATURE TO THE WIRE HARNESS DESIGN THAT SERVES SOME OTHER PURPOSE OR FUNCTION? ANY INFORMATION WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/15/2010 - GARDNER, MA
ON A LARGE NUMBER OF OCCASIONS, THE TRANSMISSION OF MY 2010 HYUNDAI SANTAFE AWD WOULD SLIP INTO NEUTRAL AS IT WENT THROUGH THE GEARS. THAT IS WHEN THE CAR WAS STILL RELATIVELY COOL AS IN THE MORNING, IT WOULD START OFF IN FIRST, SHIFT TO SECOND AND THEN ON SOME OCCASIONS SLIP INTO NEUTRAL. WITH A LITTLE ON AND OFF ON THE ACCELERATOR IT WOULD THEN GO INTO THIRD AND THEN SHIFT NORMALLY. THE ONLY TIMES THAT IT WOULD HAPPEN WAS WHEN THE TRANSMISSION OIL WAS STILL COLD. HYUNDAI CHANGED THE TRANSMISSION COMPUTER PER A SERVICE BULLETIN. WHEN THE CONDITION REAPPEARED IT THEN OFFERED TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION IN ITS ENTIRETY. THIS SEEMS TO HAVE SOLVED THE PROBLEM. MY CONCERN WOULD BE THAT IF IT DID HAPPEN WHEN ONE ENTERED A LINE OF TRAFFIC. THIS CERTAINLY COULD HAVE CREATED A DANGEROUS SITUATION. TILL THE SITUATION WAS RESOLVED, IT HAPPENED ON A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF OCCASIONS. HYUNDAI WAS RESPONSIVE TO THE PROBLEM, AND SEEMS TO HAVE TRIED TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 10,000 MILES AT THIS TIME. IT WAS PURCHASED NEW IN APRIL AND THE PROBLEM BEGAN IN JUNE. THAT AT LEAST IS WHEN WE FIRST OBSERVED IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/10/2010 - BOULDER, CO
I WAS ACCELERATING WHILE ENTERING TRAFFIC FROM A SIDE STREET AND THE COMPUTER FOR THE TRANSMISSION PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL. I LOST POWER AS THE ENGINE RPM SPIKED UP. THE TRANSMISSION WAS STILL IN DRIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION DID NOT ENGAGE AGAIN UNTIL I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN REAPPLIED IT. ASIDE FROM THIS PROBLEM BEING A VEHICLE DEFECT, THIS SITUATION COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THIS PROBLEM SINCE THE END OF JULY. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK IT IN THE DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO REPRODUCE THE DEFECT BUT THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE DEFECT THE SECOND TIME. UNFORTUNATELY THIS TYPE OF FAILURE DOES NOT SHOW UP IN THE CARS COMPUTER. EACH TIME THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP THE TRANSMISSION SOFTWARE WAS UPDATED AND THE CAR WAS DRIVEN FOR A PERIOD OF TIME AS A RELEARNING EXERCISE. OBVIOUSLY THIS DID NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM AND WITHOUT A FAILURE CODE IN THE COMPUTER TO PINPOINT THE PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP IS UNSURE WHICH COMPUTER OR COMPONENT NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED. WITH THIS DEFECT THIS VEHICLE SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD BECAUSE OF THE RISK OF AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2010 - HONOLULU, HI
2001 HYUNDAI SANTA FE LURCHES WHEN GEAR IS PUT TO DRIVE, OR WHEN DRIVING AT LOW OR HIGH SPEEDS WHERE IT IS WORST (FEELING THAT WE JUST GOT REAR ENDED). STARTED ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO. THIS HAPPENED BEFORE, ABOUT 3 TO 4 YEARS AGO, AND WAS DIAGNOSED AND HAVE REPLACED THE INPUT/OUTPUT SPEED CONTROL BY THE DEALERSHIP. THIS SEEMS TO BE A RAMPANT PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED SOON BECAUSE IT IS BIG SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/30/2010 - ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL
EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN JERKING OF SANTA FE 2010. DURING THE PAST MONTH OR SO, THIS PROBLEM HAD OCCURRED FEW TIMES WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED DURING THE WARM UP PERIOD. CAR WAS BROUGHT IN THE HYUNDAI SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND IS BEING INVESTIGATED AND REPAIRED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds