Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 169 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (77) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (1) Structure (5) Visibility (8)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/13/2012 - ROSELLE PARK, NJ
WHILE SITTING IN CRAWLING TRAFFIC OR COMING TO A SLOW STOP AT A STOP SIGN, ON OCCASION THE CAR WILL LOSE ALL ELECTRICAL POWER (LIGHTS, RADIO, INTERIOR LIGHTING GOES BLACK) AND THE ENGINE THEN STALLS OUT. THE GAS TANK IS TYPICALLY HALF FULL OR BELOW BUT NEVER ON EMPTY. I HAVE TO PLACE THE CAR IN PARK OR NEUTRAL AND RESTART THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE RUNS FINE BEFORE AND AFTER THE INCIDENTS. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST THREE TIMES A MONTH SINCE JUNE 2011 AND HAS ALMOST CAUSED MULTIPLE CAR ACCIDENTS. THE CAR'S POWER ALSO SEEMS TO DIM WHEN APPLYING THE BREAKS DURING NORMAL DRIVING ON OCCASION. THE HEADLIGHTS, INTERIOR LIGHTS AND RADIO TOUCH SCREEN GO DIM WHEN BREAK IS APPLIED. I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE ALREADY AND COMPLAINED BUT NOTHING WAS DONE. SINCE THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT REPEAT THE EVENT, THEY CLAIMED THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE. THE DEALERSHIP SUGGESTED THAT I LEAVE THE CAR STALLED OUT AND HAVE IT TOWED IN. I EXPLAINED THAT THE CAR WILL START AGAIN ONCE IN PARK OR NEUTRAL, THEREFORE A TOW TRUCK WILL NOT TOW IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/22/2011 - NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD SPORADICALLY STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS IN THE PROCESS OF ASSISTING THE CONTACT WITH THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 7,650.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/20/2011 - HOUSTON, TX
DEC 16, 2011 AROUND 9:45AM MY HUSBAND AND I HAD JUST PICKED MY SISTER AND BROTHER IN LAW UP FROM THE AIRPORT AND HAD DECIDED ON GRABBING SOME BREAKFAST FROM WAFFLE HOUSE. I HAD COME TO A COMPLETE STOP TO TURN RIGHT INTO THE RESTAURANT PARKING LOT; I THEN DROVE ABOUT 15 FEET GOING MAYBE 5 MPH TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP TO THEN TURN RIGHT TO GET READY TO ENTER INTO THE PARKING SPOT. ONCE I RELEASED MY FOOT FROM THE BREAK (NOT NEEDING TO APPLY THE GAS AS MY PARKING WAS MAYBE 20 FEET TO MY RIGHT AND THE CAR SHOULD ACCELERATE AT A LOW SPEED ON ITS OWN) THE 2010 SANTA FE TOOK OFF AT AN ALARMING SPEED I PRESSED MY FOOT ALL WAY BACK DOWN ON THE BRAKE BUT THE CAR DID NOT STOP. I THEN LOOKED DOWN TO SEE IF MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE IT WAS DOWN TO THE FLOOR BOARD. THE SANTA FE WENT OVER THE PARKING SPOT AND INTO THE BUSHES THEN STOPPED ITSELF. THANK GOD BECAUSE THE ROAD WAS ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE BUSHES. I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED A VEHICLE DOING THIS? I THEN CONTACTED THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT HYUNDAI WHERE I PURCHASED MY CAR AND WAS TOLD THAT ONLY HAPPENS TO TOYOTA THAT THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT HAPPENING TO THEIR VEHICLES. MY HUSBAND AND I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE E-MAILED AND REVIEWED OF THE PHOTOS WITH MARK ODAT AND 2 OTHER MANAGERS SHOWING THE DAMAGE THAT ACCRUED WHILE GOING OVER THE CEMENT CURB. I DON'T KNOW IF THERE WERE ANY DAMAGES UNDER MY CAR, I NOTICED SCRATCHES TO THE PAINT AND A BENT LICENSE PLATE (WHICH I BENT BACK INTO PLACE). I HAD BROUGHT MY SANTA FE UP TO THE DEALERSHIP BACK IN LATE AUGUST OR EARLY SEPTEMBER 2011 WITH A COMPLAINT AND SPOKE DIRECTLY TO THE SERVICE MANAGER JR THAT TWICE WHEN I WAS ON MY TRIP FROM HOUSTON, TX TO ATLANTA, GA WHEN USING THE CRUISE CONTROL ONCE I TOUCHED THE BRAKE TO TURN THE CRUISE CONTROL OFF THE SANTA FE WOULD ACCELERATE INSTEAD OF DECELERATE AND THAT IT HAD A HARD TIME GOING UP HILLS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/2/2011 - FOSTER CITY, CA
BRAKE PEDAL CANNOT HOLD PRESSURE, CREATING DANGEROUS SITUATION IN EMERGENCY BRAKING. BROUGHT CAR TO DEALER ON NOVEMBER 29 FOR WARRANTY REPAIR. DEALER FOUND MASTER CYLINDER HAS INTERNAL LEAK. REPLACED MASTER CYLINDER AND RE-BLED THE SYSTEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/28/2011 - WEST HARTFORD , CT
THE CAR WILL GO INTO NEUTRAL GEAR ALL ON ITS OWN AND THEN SLIP BACK INTO GEAR LUNGING THE CAR FORWARD. OCCUPANTS OF THE CAR WILL GET A WHIPLASH EFFECT. THE CAR IS USUALLY IN 2ND OR THIRD GEAR WHEN IT NO LONGER HAS POWER. THIS CAN BE VERY VERY DANGEROUS IN A MERGING TYPE OF DRIVING SITUATION. THE DRIVER IS COUNTING ON THE CAR TO BRING THEM INTO TRAFFIC, MAINTAINING A CERTAIN SPEED AND CONTROL. ALL OF A SUDDEN WHEN THE CAR IS NOT RESPONDING. IT IS A VERY FRIGHTENING SITUATION. FOLLOWED BY THE LURCHING OF THE CAR. IT FEELS AS IF THE CAR HAS JUST BEEN HIT IN REAR. THE PROBLEM HAPPENS ONCE OR TWICE A MONTH, FOR OVER A YEAR NOW. THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ON LINE ON MANY MANY WEB SITES. EVERYONE SAYS THE SAME THING. THEY BRING IT TO THE DEALER, AND THE DEALER USUALLY CAN NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. IN SOME CASES THE DEALER HAS TEST DRIVEN THE CAR AND HAS FELT THE PROBLEM AND HAS REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION, ONLY TO HAVE THE NEW TRANSMISSION DO THE SAME THING. USUALLY THOUGH, THE DEALER AND OR HYUNDAI GET AROUND THIS PROBLEM BY SAYING THAT EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HEARD OF THIS AS BEING AN ISSUE, THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT UNTIL THE DEALER EXPERIENCES THE PROBLEM OR SEES THAT THE COMPUTER REGISTERS IT IN THE CARS COMPUTER SYSTEM. BUT THAT IS PART OF THE PROBLEM. NO CHECK LIGHT COMES ON, NOTHING REGISTERS. SO, ALL OF THESE UNSAFE CARS ARE OUT THERE. A SITUATION WAITING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. WE HAD A FRIEND'S CAR BEHIND US WHEN WE LOST POWER, AND THEY SAID THEY ALMOST ENDED UP REAR ENDING US. IT'S NOT A SAFE CAR. HYUNDAI SAID "THEY CAN NOT DO ANYTHING FOR US EVEN THOUGH THEY KNOW THERE IS AN ISSUE. THAT MORE PEOPLE HAVE TO COMPLAIN". THEY NEED TO DO A RECALL. IT IS MY HOPE THAT YOU ALL CAN TAKE SOME ACTION. I DO NOT WANT TO SELL THIS CAR OR TRADE IT IN, IT WOULD BE PUTTING SOMEONE ELSE'S LIFE ON THE LINE. HYUNDAI IS BRUSHING US ALL OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/28/2011 - WEST HARTFORD , CT
THE CAR WILL GO INTO NEUTRAL GEAR ALL ON ITS OWN AND THEN SLIP BACK INTO GEAR LUNGING THE CAR FORWARD. OCCUPANTS OF THE CAR WILL GET A WHIPLASH EFFECT. THE CAR IS USUALLY IN 2ND OR THIRD GEAR WHEN IT NO LONGER HAS POWER. THIS CAN BE VERY VERY DANGEROUS IN A MERGING TYPE OF DRIVING SITUATION. THE DRIVER IS COUNTING ON THE CAR TO BRING THEM INTO TRAFFIC, MAINTAINING A CERTAIN SPEED AND CONTROL. ALL OF A SUDDEN WHEN THE CAR IS NOT RESPONDING. IT IS A VERY FRIGHTENING SITUATION. FOLLOWED BY THE LURCHING OF THE CAR. IT FEELS AS IF THE CAR HAS JUST BEEN HIT IN REAR. THE PROBLEM HAPPENS ONCE OR TWICE A MONTH, FOR OVER A YEAR NOW. THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ON LINE ON MANY MANY WEB SITES. EVERYONE SAYS THE SAME THING. THEY BRING IT TO THE DEALER, AND THE DEALER USUALLY CAN NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. IN SOME CASES THE DEALER HAS TEST DRIVEN THE CAR AND HAS FELT THE PROBLEM AND HAS REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION, ONLY TO HAVE THE NEW TRANSMISSION DO THE SAME THING. USUALLY THOUGH, THE DEALER AND OR HYUNDAI GET AROUND THIS PROBLEM BY SAYING THAT EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HEARD OF THIS AS BEING AN ISSUE, THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT UNTIL THE DEALER EXPERIENCES THE PROBLEM OR SEES THAT THE COMPUTER REGISTERS IT IN THE CARS COMPUTER SYSTEM. BUT THAT IS PART OF THE PROBLEM. NO CHECK LIGHT COMES ON, NOTHING REGISTERS. SO, ALL OF THESE UNSAFE CARS ARE OUT THERE. A SITUATION WAITING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. WE HAD A FRIEND'S CAR BEHIND US WHEN WE LOST POWER, AND THEY SAID THEY ALMOST ENDED UP REAR ENDING US. IT'S NOT A SAFE CAR. HYUNDAI SAID "THEY CAN NOT DO ANYTHING FOR US EVEN THOUGH THEY KNOW THERE IS AN ISSUE. THAT MORE PEOPLE HAVE TO COMPLAIN". THEY NEED TO DO A RECALL. IT IS MY HOPE THAT YOU ALL CAN TAKE SOME ACTION. I DO NOT WANT TO SELL THIS CAR OR TRADE IT IN, IT WOULD BE PUTTING SOMEONE ELSE'S LIFE ON THE LINE. HYUNDAI IS BRUSHING US ALL OFF.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

11/28/2011 - FOSTER CITY, CA
TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF. WENT TO DEALER FOUR TIMES ON THIS ISSUE AND WAS ADVISED THAT THIS IS NORMAL AS THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR CAN BE AFFECTED BY HIGH VOLTAGE POWER LINES, RADIO FREQUENCY FROM AN AIRPORT, A POLICY STATION, AN INTERNAL ELECTRONIC DEVICE ATTACHED, ETC. ETC. HOWEVER, UNDERSTAND FROM MY FRIENDS WHO DRIVE TOYOTA AND HONDA THAT THIS ISSUE DOES NOT EXIST.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/19/2011 - VENICE, FL
IN RAINY HUMID CONDITIONS, THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR WILL SHUT DOWN CAUSING WARM AIR TO BLOW INSIDE THE CAR CABIN. THIS IMMEDIATELY CAUSES THE WINDOWS TO FOG UP CAUSING A VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITION. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED 5 TIMES SINCE OWNING THE CAR. IF YOU TURN THE CAR OFF, LET IT REST FOR A FEW MINUTES, THEN TURN BACK ON THE AIR COMPRESSOR WILL WORK AGAIN BUT ONLY FOR THE SHORT TIME. WE HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. AGAIN IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN IT'S HUMID AND RAINING OUTSIDE. AFTER NUMEROUS SEARCHES ON THE INTERNET, IT SEEMS THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON THIS IS HAPPENING TO. HYUNDAI HAS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND THEY SHOULD DO A RECALL TO FIX THIS!

View Details

VISIBILITY

10/19/2011 - VENICE, FL
IN RAINY HUMID CONDITIONS, THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR WILL SHUT DOWN CAUSING WARM AIR TO BLOW INSIDE THE CAR CABIN. THIS IMMEDIATELY CAUSES THE WINDOWS TO FOG UP CAUSING A VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITION. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED 5 TIMES SINCE OWNING THE CAR. IF YOU TURN THE CAR OFF, LET IT REST FOR A FEW MINUTES, THEN TURN BACK ON THE AIR COMPRESSOR WILL WORK AGAIN BUT ONLY FOR THE SHORT TIME. WE HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. AGAIN IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN IT'S HUMID AND RAINING OUTSIDE. AFTER NUMEROUS SEARCHES ON THE INTERNET, IT SEEMS THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON THIS IS HAPPENING TO. HYUNDAI HAS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND THEY SHOULD DO A RECALL TO FIX THIS!

View Details

VISIBILITY

10/13/2011 - BROKEN ARROW , OK
THE FRONT WINDOWS FOGGED COMPLETELY DURING AN RAIN STORM OF HIGH INTENSITY, THE AIRCONDITIONING SYSTEM WAS ON AND WORKING UNTIL THE HIGH HUMIDITY AND RAIN OVERTOOK THE SYSTEM THIS SITUATION HAPPENED AT NIGHT ON BUSY FREEWAY MAKING THIS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AS THE SIDE WINDOWS ALSO STARTED TO FOG ,THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME THE A/C COMPRESSOR SEEMS TO QUIT WORKING....ALSO PULLING THE VEHICLE OVER AND SHUTTING IT DOWN FOR 5 TO 10 MINUTES SEEMS TO CLEAR IT UP...THE COMMON FACTORS WERE HIGH HUMIDITY, TEMPERATURE DROP ,RAIN.....THE FIRST TIME TEMP WAS 65DEGF SECOND 55DEGF THIRD 64DEGF...

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds