Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (76) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (1) Structure (4) Visibility (8)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/12/2011 - PORTLAND, OR
THE AUTOMATIC CLIMATE CONTROL SYSTEM IN MY 2010 SANTA FE LIMITED WOULD OCCASIONALLY STOP RUNNING THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR, USUALLY DURING HEAVY RAIN OR HUMID CONDITIONS. EVEN WITH THE A/C SWITCH AND INDICATOR LIGHT ON, THE COMPRESSOR WOULD STILL NOT ACTIVATE UNTIL THE IGNITION WAS CYCLED. THIS CAUSED THE INTERIOR WINDOWS TO FOG UP HEAVILY AND NOT CLEAR, LEADING TO A DANGEROUS SITUATION IN WHICH ONE INSTANCE MY OUTWARD VISIBILITY BEING REDUCED TO ALMOST ZERO AND COULD HAVE CAUSED A CRASH AS I HAD NOWHERE TO PULL OVER. EVENTUALLY I WAS ABLE TO REPLICATE THE CONDITION TO THE DEALER WHO REPLACED THE CLIMATE CONTROL MODULE IN THE DASH. THE PROBLEM HAS NOT RESURFACED SINCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2011 - WETUMPKA , AL
THE VEHICLE WAS DELIVERED IN 01/2010, SHORTLY AFTER WE NOTICED SHUTTERING IN THE TRANSMISSION AND HARD SHIFTS FROM 2-3 3RD GEAR, AT 7800 MILE WE TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THERE DEALER WHO STATED THEY WERE UNABLE TO RECREATE. THEY CHANGED THE SHIFT SETTINGS OF THE ECU AND WAS TOLD NOTHING TO BE DONE, THE PROBLEM CONTINUED WITH MULTIPLE VISITS TO THE DEALER, 2 WEEKS AGO THEY REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION WITH A REMANAFACTURED UNIT, LASTNIGHT THE NEW TRANSMISSION EXPLODED AND IT FELT LIKE A BOMB WENT OFF UNDER THE HOOD THERE WAS TRANSMISSION FLUID EVERYWHERE AND THE AND HORRIBLE GRINDING SOUND WAS NOTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR AND WE ARE STILL AWAITING WORD. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE DIES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/19/2011 - CHENANGO BRIDGE, NY
WHEN SLOWING DOWN FOR TRAFFIC LIGHTS, TURNS OR MERGING INTO TRAFFIC LANES, WHEN THE BRAKE IS RELEASED AND THE ACCELERATOR IS PUSHED, AT RANDOM TIMES THE CAR HESITATES AND ALL POWER IS LOST MOMENTARILY. THE VEHICLE SEEMS AS IF IT HAS OR IS IN THE PROCESS OF STALLING OUT. AT FIRST, IT FEELS AS IF ALL POWER HAS BEEN LOST AND THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE STEERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HOWEVER, THEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY RE-ENGAGES AND THE VEHICLE LUNGES FORWARD. THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON, AND THE ENGINE APPARENTLY DOES NOT "DIE," SINCE THERE IS NO REQUIREMENT FOR AN IGNITION RE-START. THE PROBLEM HAPPENS SPORADICALLY (ABOUT ONCE OR TWICE A WEEK--BUT SOMETIMES ONCE OR MORE IN THE SAME DAY). THE VEHICLE STARTS WELL, IDLES WELL AND OTHERWISE PERFORMS IN AN OKAY FASHION. THE DEALER CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THE CAR DID NOT DO THIS FOR THE FIRST 20,000 OR SO MILES. ON AT LEAST TWO OCCASIONS, THIS "STALLING OUT" HAS ALMOST CREATED AN ACCIDENT SITUATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2011 - CHENANGO BRIDGE, NY
WHEN SLOWING DOWN FOR TRAFFIC LIGHTS, TURNS OR MERGING INTO TRAFFIC LANES, WHEN THE BRAKE IS RELEASED AND THE ACCELERATOR IS PUSHED, AT RANDOM TIMES THE CAR HESITATES AND ALL POWER IS LOST MOMENTARILY. THE VEHICLE SEEMS AS IF IT HAS OR IS IN THE PROCESS OF STALLING OUT. AT FIRST, IT FEELS AS IF ALL POWER HAS BEEN LOST AND THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE STEERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HOWEVER, THEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY RE-ENGAGES AND THE VEHICLE LUNGES FORWARD. THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON, AND THE ENGINE APPARENTLY DOES NOT "DIE," SINCE THERE IS NO REQUIREMENT FOR AN IGNITION RE-START. THE PROBLEM HAPPENS SPORADICALLY (ABOUT ONCE OR TWICE A WEEK--BUT SOMETIMES ONCE OR MORE IN THE SAME DAY). THE VEHICLE STARTS WELL, IDLES WELL AND OTHERWISE PERFORMS IN AN OKAY FASHION. THE DEALER CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THE CAR DID NOT DO THIS FOR THE FIRST 20,000 OR SO MILES. ON AT LEAST TWO OCCASIONS, THIS "STALLING OUT" HAS ALMOST CREATED AN ACCIDENT SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/19/2011 - CHENANGO BRIDGE, NY
WHEN SLOWING DOWN FOR TRAFFIC LIGHTS, TURNS OR MERGING INTO TRAFFIC LANES, WHEN THE BRAKE IS RELEASED AND THE ACCELERATOR IS PUSHED, AT RANDOM TIMES THE CAR HESITATES AND ALL POWER IS LOST MOMENTARILY. THE VEHICLE SEEMS AS IF IT HAS OR IS IN THE PROCESS OF STALLING OUT. AT FIRST, IT FEELS AS IF ALL POWER HAS BEEN LOST AND THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE STEERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HOWEVER, THEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY RE-ENGAGES AND THE VEHICLE LUNGES FORWARD. THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON, AND THE ENGINE APPARENTLY DOES NOT "DIE," SINCE THERE IS NO REQUIREMENT FOR AN IGNITION RE-START. THE PROBLEM HAPPENS SPORADICALLY (ABOUT ONCE OR TWICE A WEEK--BUT SOMETIMES ONCE OR MORE IN THE SAME DAY). THE VEHICLE STARTS WELL, IDLES WELL AND OTHERWISE PERFORMS IN AN OKAY FASHION. THE DEALER CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THE CAR DID NOT DO THIS FOR THE FIRST 20,000 OR SO MILES. ON AT LEAST TWO OCCASIONS, THIS "STALLING OUT" HAS ALMOST CREATED AN ACCIDENT SITUATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/1/2011 - BENTONVILLE, AR
TRANSMISSION SLAMS INTO GEAR, ALSO SLIPS INTO GEAR AND SOMETIMES MOVES WHEN IN PARK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

8/28/2011 - MOBILE, AL
PURCHASED 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE IN FEB 2010. DROVE TO DALLAS, TX IN MAY 2010 THE CAR STARTED STALLING AFTER BEING IDLE AT TRAFFIC LIGHT, ON TURNS AND FROM PULLING OUT AFTER BEING STOPPED. YOU WOULD THE THINK IT WAS GOING DEAD BUT WOULD CATCH UP. THIS OCCURED NUMEROUS TIMES DURING THE TRIP TO & FROM. IMMEDIATELY TOOK TO DEALERSHIP ON RETURN BUT THEY FOUND NO PROBLEMS. HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES SINCE THEN, ONCE AT 20 MPH MERGEING IN TRAFFIC AND TWICE TODAY. HAVE TAKEN IT IN 3 TIMES BUT THEY NEVER FIND ANYTHING AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE PROBLEM. I DON'T KNOW WHEN THIS WILL HAPPEN AND DON'T DARE PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC UNLESS I HAVE PLENTY OF CLEARANCE FROM OTHER CARS! I FEEL AT RISK EVERYTIME THE CAR IN DRIVEN AND FEEL IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/25/2011 - CYPRUS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS ENGAGED IT TOOK 3-4 SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD RESPOND. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE WHEN IT SHOULDN'T. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 7,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2011 - NICEVILLE, FL
INTERMITTENT ISSUE WHERE THE GAS PEDAL DOES NOT WORK - DEPRESSING IT DOES NOT CAUSE THE ENGINE TO REV AT ALL. THIS HAS OCCURRED WITH THE VEHICLE AT 40 MPH, THEN NO POWER AS VEHICLE SLOWED DOWN TO 15 MPH BEFORE IT STARTED WORKING. OTHER SYMPTOMS WHEN THIS OCCURS ARE AS FOLLOWS: WITH HEADLIGHTS TURNED ON, THE LEFT TURN SIGNAL IS STUCK "ON". IF HEADLIGHTS ARE OFF, SELECTING THE LEFT TURN SIGNAL CAN CAUSE VARIOUS DASH LIGHTS TO BLINK, AND ENGINE LOSES POWER IN SYNCH WITH THE BLINKING LIGHTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/22/2011 - MULINO, OR
MY 2010 AT SANTA FE STARTED WITH OCCASIONAL LURCHING FORWARD WHEN STARTED, THEN PROGRESSED TO HARSH SHIFTING, BUMPING AND BANGING NOISES FROM THE AT. THIS WAS EPISODIC, WHEN THE CAR WAS COLD. (SEE MY INITIAL COMPLAINT #10379504) SINCE MY ORIGINAL COMPLAINT, THE DEALER PUT IN A "DATA RECORDER" TO TRY TO CAPTURE WHAT WAS HAPPENING. DESPITE 2-3 EPISODES OF THIS HAPPENING WHILE THE RECORDER WAS ON, THEY WERE NOT CAPTURED ON THE UNIT. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, YET IT CONTINUED TO GET PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. AT ABOUT 9000 MILES, IT HAPPENED AGAIN- THE WORST EPISODE YET. AT THAT POINT I WAS AFRAID FOR MY SAFETY. I DROVE THE CAR HOME AND THEN TO THE DEALER. AFTER THE DEALER DID FURTHER TESTING ON THE AT, THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS IN FACT SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE AT, AND THEY PUT IN A NEW TRANSMISSION. WITHIN 1000- 2000 MILES ON THE NEW TRANSMISSION, IN STARTED BUMPING AGAIN WHEN COLD, SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER, BUT OF COURSE THEY CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEY SAID IT HAD A FAST IDLE AND ADJUSTED IT. THEY ALSO SAID I SHOULD WARM THE CAR UP 5-7 MINUTES PRIOR TO DRIVING IT EACH TIME, SINCE I REPORT THIS ONLY OCCURS WHILE IT IS COLD. THEY SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR, JUST AS THEY TOLD ME EARLIER, PRIOR TO FINDING OUT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE AT. WHEN I LEFT THE DEALER AFTER TELLING ME THIS, IT BUMPED TWICE BEFORE I GOT OUT OF THEIR PARKING LOT, AND CONTINUES TO DO SO, ONCE EVEN WHILE IT WAS WARM. I CALLED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS, THEY PARROT BACK TO ME EVERYTHING THE DEALER TELLS ME, AND OFFER NO NEW SUGGESTIONS OTHER THAN TO CONSULT MY OWNERS MANUAL ON CONFLICT RESOLUTION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds