Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 118 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (63) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/2/2010 - SEATTLE, WA
A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END IMPACT . THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL BODY SHOP FOR REPAIRS. IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF REPAIRS, THE SHOP REPLACED THE COMPONENTS OF THE SUPPLEMENTARY RESTRAINT SYSTEM AND SENT THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL DEALER TO CHECK FOR ERROR CODES AND TO RESET THE SYSTEM. ONE OF THE ERROR CODES WOULD NOT CLEAR. THE DEALER, IN WASHINGTON STATE ADVISED THE REPAIR SHOP AND US THAT PURSUANT TO A TSB,01-90-013, HYUNDAI RECOMMENDS THAT THE WIRING HARNESS ALSO MUST BE REPLACED IN ADDITION TO THE STANDARD PARTS OF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM, WHEN THE AIR BAGS ARE DEPLOYED. THERE WAS NO DIRECT DAMAGE TO THE WIRING HARNESS AND THIS APPEARS TO BE SOME UNIQUE REQUIREMENT DESIGNED INTO THE HARNESS BY HYUNDAI. IT IS UNCLEAR WHY THIS IS REQUIRED OR WHAT UNIQUE FEATURE WAS BUILT INTO THE HARNESS THAT DEMANDS THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE HARNESS. THIS ADDED REQUIREMENT ADDS AN ADDITIONAL $6,767.75 TO THE REPAIR COST OVER AND ABOVE THE REGULAR COLLISION RELATED COST. WHEREAS THIS REQUIREMENT IS UNIQUE TO THE NEW 2010 SANTA FE MODEL AND IS NOT FUNCTION REQUIRED DURING THE STANDARD REPLACEMENT OF AIR BAGS IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE THAT WE ARE AWARE OF, WE MUST ASK IS THIS A DEFECT, IS THIS SIMPLY A DESIGN FEATURE TO ENHANCE PROFIT FROM REPAIRS OR IS THERE SOME UNIQUE FEATURE TO THE WIRE HARNESS DESIGN THAT SERVES SOME OTHER PURPOSE OR FUNCTION? ANY INFORMATION WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/15/2010 - GARDNER, MA
ON A LARGE NUMBER OF OCCASIONS, THE TRANSMISSION OF MY 2010 HYUNDAI SANTAFE AWD WOULD SLIP INTO NEUTRAL AS IT WENT THROUGH THE GEARS. THAT IS WHEN THE CAR WAS STILL RELATIVELY COOL AS IN THE MORNING, IT WOULD START OFF IN FIRST, SHIFT TO SECOND AND THEN ON SOME OCCASIONS SLIP INTO NEUTRAL. WITH A LITTLE ON AND OFF ON THE ACCELERATOR IT WOULD THEN GO INTO THIRD AND THEN SHIFT NORMALLY. THE ONLY TIMES THAT IT WOULD HAPPEN WAS WHEN THE TRANSMISSION OIL WAS STILL COLD. HYUNDAI CHANGED THE TRANSMISSION COMPUTER PER A SERVICE BULLETIN. WHEN THE CONDITION REAPPEARED IT THEN OFFERED TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION IN ITS ENTIRETY. THIS SEEMS TO HAVE SOLVED THE PROBLEM. MY CONCERN WOULD BE THAT IF IT DID HAPPEN WHEN ONE ENTERED A LINE OF TRAFFIC. THIS CERTAINLY COULD HAVE CREATED A DANGEROUS SITUATION. TILL THE SITUATION WAS RESOLVED, IT HAPPENED ON A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF OCCASIONS. HYUNDAI WAS RESPONSIVE TO THE PROBLEM, AND SEEMS TO HAVE TRIED TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 10,000 MILES AT THIS TIME. IT WAS PURCHASED NEW IN APRIL AND THE PROBLEM BEGAN IN JUNE. THAT AT LEAST IS WHEN WE FIRST OBSERVED IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/10/2010 - BOULDER, CO
I WAS ACCELERATING WHILE ENTERING TRAFFIC FROM A SIDE STREET AND THE COMPUTER FOR THE TRANSMISSION PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL. I LOST POWER AS THE ENGINE RPM SPIKED UP. THE TRANSMISSION WAS STILL IN DRIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION DID NOT ENGAGE AGAIN UNTIL I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN REAPPLIED IT. ASIDE FROM THIS PROBLEM BEING A VEHICLE DEFECT, THIS SITUATION COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THIS PROBLEM SINCE THE END OF JULY. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK IT IN THE DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO REPRODUCE THE DEFECT BUT THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE DEFECT THE SECOND TIME. UNFORTUNATELY THIS TYPE OF FAILURE DOES NOT SHOW UP IN THE CARS COMPUTER. EACH TIME THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP THE TRANSMISSION SOFTWARE WAS UPDATED AND THE CAR WAS DRIVEN FOR A PERIOD OF TIME AS A RELEARNING EXERCISE. OBVIOUSLY THIS DID NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM AND WITHOUT A FAILURE CODE IN THE COMPUTER TO PINPOINT THE PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP IS UNSURE WHICH COMPUTER OR COMPONENT NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED. WITH THIS DEFECT THIS VEHICLE SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD BECAUSE OF THE RISK OF AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2010 - HONOLULU, HI
2001 HYUNDAI SANTA FE LURCHES WHEN GEAR IS PUT TO DRIVE, OR WHEN DRIVING AT LOW OR HIGH SPEEDS WHERE IT IS WORST (FEELING THAT WE JUST GOT REAR ENDED). STARTED ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO. THIS HAPPENED BEFORE, ABOUT 3 TO 4 YEARS AGO, AND WAS DIAGNOSED AND HAVE REPLACED THE INPUT/OUTPUT SPEED CONTROL BY THE DEALERSHIP. THIS SEEMS TO BE A RAMPANT PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED SOON BECAUSE IT IS BIG SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/30/2010 - ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL
EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN JERKING OF SANTA FE 2010. DURING THE PAST MONTH OR SO, THIS PROBLEM HAD OCCURRED FEW TIMES WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED DURING THE WARM UP PERIOD. CAR WAS BROUGHT IN THE HYUNDAI SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND IS BEING INVESTIGATED AND REPAIRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/21/2010 - ALGONQUIN, IL
PROBLEMS WITH MY 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE WITH 11,000 MILES. LIKE HUNDREDS OF OTHERS MY CAR BANGS WHEN STARTING AND BANGS SO BAD WHILE TRYING TO SHIFT GEARS WHEN COLD THAT I THOUGHT I WAS HIT FROM BEHIND. WHEN DRIVING SLOW THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS SO HARD THAT MY WIFE IS AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS NEW VEH. AFTER READING ABOUT ALL THE PROBLEMS OTHERS ARE HAVING ON EDMONDS.COM I THOUGHT I WOULD E-MAIL YOU PEOPLE. THE WAY, REPS AT THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT SAY THAT THIS IS NORMAL, I HAVE TO LAUGH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/20/2010 - LEAWOOD, KS
2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. "LURCHES" FROM 2ND GEAR TO 3RD GEAR. LOUD CLANKING SOUND WHEN STARTING (NOT ON ALL STARTS, ABOUT EVERY 7-10 STARTS). SLOW SPEED SPUTTERS. SLIPS AT SLOW SPEEDS WHEN ACCELERATING THEN SLAMS INTO GEAR VERY ROUGHLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/11/2010 - NORRISTOWN, PA
I HAVE A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. I HAVE BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH IT SHIFTING. IT WILL SHIFT REALLY HARD AND SOMETIMES WHEN I GO TO GIVE IT THE GAS IT WILL REV TO 4RPMS BEFORE IT GOES THEN IT BANGS IN TO GEAR. I HAVE IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP A FEW TIMES AND THEY TELL ME THEY CAN NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THIS IS BEING TO BE REALLY FRUSTRATING. I HAVE HAD MUCH PATIENCE WITH THE DEALERSHIP, BUT WHEN THE SAY THEY PUT IT ONTO THE COMPUTER AND CAN NOT GET A CODE AND THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I AM GETTING AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR. I DON'T KNOW WHAT MORE TO DO. IS THERE ANYONE OUT THERE THAT HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AND HAS HAD IT FIXED SO I CAN TELL THE DEALERSHIP?

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/29/2010 - ABILENE, TX
MY PROBLEM IS WITH A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, 4 CYL. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES HESITATES TO MOVE FORWARD, AND THEN SUDDENLY ACCELERATES. IT HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STOPPED AS IN TRAFFIC. WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS DEPRESSED THE VEHICLE DOES NOT IMMEDIATELY MOVE FORWARD, AND THEN IT SUDDENLY MOVES FORWARD VERY QUICKLY. I HAVE REPORTED THIS PROBLEM THREE TIMES TO MY DEALER. THEY HAD A " FACTORY" SERVICE MGR RIDE WITH ME FOR ABOUT A HALF HOUR. THE PROBLEM DID NOT HAPPEN. IT HAS HAPPENED UNEXPECTEDLY MANY TIMES SINCE THEN. I WAS ALMOST IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT FROM THIS PROBLEM. THE DEALER PUT THE CAR ON THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE AND FINDS NO PROBLEM. TODAY A FRIEND OF MINE WHO HAS A GAS STATION IN ASHEVILLE, NC HAD A CUSTOMER ASK HIM ABOUT THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM WITH THE IDENTICAL VEHICLE. I SPOKE WITH THE INDIVIDUAL AND HIS PROBLEM IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS MINE ! THAT IS WHY I AM WRITING TO YOUR OFFICE. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH HYUNDAI [XXX] BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. I WILL BE HAPPY TO LET THE GOV TEST MY VEHICLE. IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. MY DAUGHTER HAD THE SAME EXPERIENCE AND SAID SHE WOULD NOT DRIVE IT ANY MORE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/29/2010 - PALM COAST, FL
MY HUSBAND AND I WERE TRAVELING NORTH FROM PALM COAST, FL TO SLATINGTON, PA. TRAVELING NORTH ON RTE I-95, MY HUSBAND DROVE ABOUT 300 MILES AND THAN I DROVE ANOTHER 300 MILES, STOPPING TO EAT AND AT VARIOUS REST AREAS. JUST BEFORE THE VIRGINIA BORDER, WE STOPPED AT A REST AREA AND MY HUSBAND TOOK OVER DRIVING. HE SAID WE SHOULD STOP FOR GAS AND A BIT TO EAT. WE WENT OVER THE STATE LINE AND GOT OFF AT EXIT 4, WE EXIT, STOPPED AT THE STOP SIGN, TURNED RIGHT TO GO INTO THE STATION AND WE HEARD A LOUD SNAP. AT THIS POINT, THE ONLY WAY HE COULD STOP THE CAR WAS TO PUT ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKE THERE WAS NO CONTROL OF THE CAR. AFTER BEING TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, WE WERE TOLD THAT POSSIBLY THE DRIVESHAFT SNAPPED AND THE TRANSMISSION ALSO WENT. THE MECHANIC THERE SAID THAT THIS IS THE THIRD ONE HE HAD SEEN LIKE THAT. THE NEXT DAY WE WERE TOLD THAT IN FACT THAT IS WHAT HAD HAPPENED. LUCKILY, WE HAD GOTTEN OFF WHEN WE DID, OR ELSE WE MAY HAVE BEEN IN A MAJOR CRASH ON BUSY RTE I-95 OR MAY EVEN HAD BEEN KILLED BECAUSE OF NO CONTROL OF THE CAR. THIS IS 2010 CAR WITH ONLY 17,700 MILES ON IT. TODAY, WE FOUND OUT THAT HYUNDAI KNEW OF THE PROBLEM AND THAT THE DEALERS HAVE RECEIVED A BULLETIN ABOUT THIS. WE WERE NOT TOLD OF THIS DANGEROUS DEFECT AND NOW DO NOT KNOW IF THIS HAS BEEN CORRECTED PROPERLY. WE ARE SUPPOSED TO PICK UP THE CAR IN VIRGINIA BY THE END OF THE WEEK. WE DO HAVE A MAJOR CONCERN ABOUT THIS CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds