Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2010 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 419 complaints filed for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (79) Equipment (1) Power Train (59) Steering (49) Unknown Or Other (16)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (39) Fuel Propulsion System (92) Seats (1) Suspension (28) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (68) Service Brakes (10) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/21/2016 - DALLAS, TX
WHEN REACHING SPEEDS OF 45MPH AND ABOVE THE STEERING WHEEL STARTS TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY FROM LEFT TO RIGHT. WHEN THIS STARTED, A MECHANIC SAW NOTHING WRONG EXCEPT FOR A WORN OUT STEERING STABILIZER, SO HE REPLACED IT. THE PROBLEM PERSISTS, BUT NOW IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I HIT A BUMP IN ROAD WHEN TRAVELING ABOVE 50MPH. I TOOK IT TO A SECOND MECHANIC AND HE INSTALLED AN AFTERMARKET TRACK BAR AND BALANCED THE WHEELS. THE PROBLEM IS STILL THERE. A SIMPLE INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS THAT THIS IS NOT AN UNCOMMON OCCURRENCE WITH JEEPS, YET THE MANUFACTURER HAS DONE NOTHING TO CORRECT IT. MY VEHICLE IS COMPLETELY STOCK, EXCEPT FOR THE TRACK BAR, AND CURRENTLY HAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STEERING

4/21/2016 - DALLAS, TX
WHEN REACHING SPEEDS OF 45MPH AND ABOVE THE STEERING WHEEL STARTS TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY FROM LEFT TO RIGHT. WHEN THIS STARTED, A MECHANIC SAW NOTHING WRONG EXCEPT FOR A WORN OUT STEERING STABILIZER, SO HE REPLACED IT. THE PROBLEM PERSISTS, BUT NOW IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I HIT A BUMP IN ROAD WHEN TRAVELING ABOVE 50MPH. I TOOK IT TO A SECOND MECHANIC AND HE INSTALLED AN AFTERMARKET TRACK BAR AND BALANCED THE WHEELS. THE PROBLEM IS STILL THERE. A SIMPLE INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS THAT THIS IS NOT AN UNCOMMON OCCURRENCE WITH JEEPS, YET THE MANUFACTURER HAS DONE NOTHING TO CORRECT IT. MY VEHICLE IS COMPLETELY STOCK, EXCEPT FOR THE TRACK BAR, AND CURRENTLY HAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/19/2016 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
THIRD CLOCK SPRING REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/4/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/30/2016 - ERIE, CO
LIKE MANY OTHERS THAT I HAVE SPOKEN WITH, I HAVE SEEN ON FORUMS, AND I HAVE SEEN ON SITES LIKE THIS, THE AIR BAG LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY CHIMES AND LIGHTS UP INDICATING THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM HAS MALFUNCTIONED AND WILL NOT DEPLOY IF NEEDED. I PREVIOUSLY HAD A 2008 JEEP WRANGLER, AND IT HAD THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. WHEN I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALER, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE CLOCK SPRING REQUIRED REPLACEMENT. I HAVE OWNED 2 WRANGLERS AND BOTH OF THEM HAVE HAD THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A COMMON ISSUE AND I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE THAT MY EXPERIENCE WITH THIS CLOCK SPRING ISSUE IS COINCIDENCE. FROM WHAT I UNDERSTAND, RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED FOR ALL 2007 MODELS AND FOR ALL RIGHT HAND DRIVE MODELS FROM 2008-2012. I BELIEVE THAT IT IS IMPERATIVE FOR PUBLIC SAFETY REASONS THAT AN INVESTIGATION BE PERFORMED TO CONSIDER REQUIRING JEEP TO ADDRESS THE REMAINDER OF THEIR FAULTY AIRBAG SYSTEMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/28/2016 - NORTH KANSAS CITY, MO
AIRBAG LIGHT AND CHIME COMES ON AND OFF WHILE THE JEEP IS BEING DRIVEN. HORN STILL WORKS, CRUISE CONTROL STILL WORKS, DEALERSHIP REVIEWED AND DIAGNOSIS IS CLOCKSPRING IS CAUSING THE ISSUE. DEALERSHIP ALSO VERIFIED THAT WHEN THE LIGHT COMES ON AND CHIME, THE AIRBAGS ARE DISABLED. SINCE THE ONLY PART NOT WORKING IS THE AIRBAG SENSOR, SHOULDN'T THIS BE A SAFETY ISSUE AND COVERED BY CHRYSLER? CHRYSLER SAYS THAT IF THIS HAPPENED WHILE THE JEEP WAS UNDER WARRANTY IT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/28/2016 - TORRANCE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 JEEP WANGLER. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND DROVE HOME. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/28/2016 - PHILLIPSBURG, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY WOBBLED MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE WAS ABLE TO AVOID A CRASH DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A STEERING DAMPER AND A TRACK BAR. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE ALSO WAS TAKEN TO GET A FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND TIRES ROTATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/28/2016 - PHILLIPSBURG, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY WOBBLED MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE WAS ABLE TO AVOID A CRASH DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A STEERING DAMPER AND A TRACK BAR. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE ALSO WAS TAKEN TO GET A FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND TIRES ROTATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/22/2016 - BISBEE, AZ
CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING A FEW MONTHS AGO. TODAY I STARTED GETTING THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT FLASHING ON AND OFF. LOOKS LIKE I'LL BE DROPPING $500+ FOR A NEW CLOCK SPRING. HOW IS THIS NOT ALREADY LISTED AS A RECALL?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds