Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2010 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 527 complaints filed for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (134) Equipment (1) Power Train (63) Steering (56) Unknown Or Other (19)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (17) Seat Belts (3) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (53) Fuel Propulsion System (109) Seats (1) Suspension (33) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (68) Service Brakes (12) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (21) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/4/2017 - MADISON, MS
AFTER AIRBAG RECALL SERVICE, THE HORN STOPPED WORKING AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSIS IS THE TIPM MODULE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2017 - LONGWOOD, FL
TAKATA RECALL WHEN AT A STOP AND IN FIRST GEAR, WHEN I PROCEED TO GO FORWARD THE GEAR WILL POP OUT OF 1ST INTO NEUTRAL. THIS HAPPENS SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK. SPORADIC.

View Details

WHEELS

7/3/2017 - MENIFEE, CA
AFTER RESEARCHING THE INTERNET I CAM ACROSS THE ACRONYM OF THE ISSUE. WHAT HAPPENED IS EXACTLY DESCRIBED IN THIS ARTICLE AS THE "DEATH WOBBLE." HTTP://ABC7NEWS.COM/ARCHIVE/8547340/ THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WHILE I'M DRIVING AT AN AVERAGE SPEED OR HIGH SPEED. IF I HIT A DIP OR TURN AT A AVERAGE TO HIGH SPEED MY JEEP SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY. TODAY I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ON THE 60 EASTBOUND IN THE HIGH SPEED LANE GOING THE SPEED LIMIT (CRUISE CONTROL). MY JEEP HIT A DIP AND SHOOK SO UNCONTROLLABLY I ALMOST HAD TO DO A COMPLETE STOP ON THE FREEWAY. I TRIED THE BEST I COULD TO MERGE TO THE SLOW SPEED LANE TO POSSIBLY EXIT THE FREEWAY. A FEW VEHICLES WERE BEHIND ME WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND IT ALMOST CAUSED A SEVERE ACCIDENT. IT LITERALLY FEELS LIKE THE AXEL IS GOING TO SNAP IN HALF OR THE VEHICLE MAY EVEN FLIP IF THE SHAKING WERE TO CONTINUE. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS SHAKING LIKE THIS THE ONLY WAY I'VE EXPERIENCED FOR IT TO STOP IS QUICKLY SLOWING DOWN ALMOST TO A COMPLETE STOP. IF I SLOW DOWN SLOWLY IT STILL SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY SO MUCH SO THAT IT PUTS ME IN THE OTHER LANE. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE FIXED AND CAN MOST DEFINITELY KILL SOMEONE. THIS HAPPENED TODAY AT LEAST 3 TIMES. I THEN FINALLY PUT MY VEHICLE IN FOUR WHEEL DRIVE AT 2H WHILE DRIVING FEARING IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, MY AXEL MAY BREAK; OR WORSE MY LIFE TAKEN. BEFORE THIS INCIDENT I'D SAY IT'S HAPPENED EVERY NOW AND THEN. APPROX. ONCE EVERY 3-6 MONTHS SINCE I GOT THE VEHICLE. I ALSO HAVE MY TIRES ROTATED EVERY TIME I GET MY OIL CHANGED AT 3,000 MILES. THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/3/2017 - MENIFEE, CA
AFTER RESEARCHING THE INTERNET I CAM ACROSS THE ACRONYM OF THE ISSUE. WHAT HAPPENED IS EXACTLY DESCRIBED IN THIS ARTICLE AS THE "DEATH WOBBLE." HTTP://ABC7NEWS.COM/ARCHIVE/8547340/ THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WHILE I'M DRIVING AT AN AVERAGE SPEED OR HIGH SPEED. IF I HIT A DIP OR TURN AT A AVERAGE TO HIGH SPEED MY JEEP SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY. TODAY I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ON THE 60 EASTBOUND IN THE HIGH SPEED LANE GOING THE SPEED LIMIT (CRUISE CONTROL). MY JEEP HIT A DIP AND SHOOK SO UNCONTROLLABLY I ALMOST HAD TO DO A COMPLETE STOP ON THE FREEWAY. I TRIED THE BEST I COULD TO MERGE TO THE SLOW SPEED LANE TO POSSIBLY EXIT THE FREEWAY. A FEW VEHICLES WERE BEHIND ME WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND IT ALMOST CAUSED A SEVERE ACCIDENT. IT LITERALLY FEELS LIKE THE AXEL IS GOING TO SNAP IN HALF OR THE VEHICLE MAY EVEN FLIP IF THE SHAKING WERE TO CONTINUE. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS SHAKING LIKE THIS THE ONLY WAY I'VE EXPERIENCED FOR IT TO STOP IS QUICKLY SLOWING DOWN ALMOST TO A COMPLETE STOP. IF I SLOW DOWN SLOWLY IT STILL SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY SO MUCH SO THAT IT PUTS ME IN THE OTHER LANE. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE FIXED AND CAN MOST DEFINITELY KILL SOMEONE. THIS HAPPENED TODAY AT LEAST 3 TIMES. I THEN FINALLY PUT MY VEHICLE IN FOUR WHEEL DRIVE AT 2H WHILE DRIVING FEARING IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, MY AXEL MAY BREAK; OR WORSE MY LIFE TAKEN. BEFORE THIS INCIDENT I'D SAY IT'S HAPPENED EVERY NOW AND THEN. APPROX. ONCE EVERY 3-6 MONTHS SINCE I GOT THE VEHICLE. I ALSO HAVE MY TIRES ROTATED EVERY TIME I GET MY OIL CHANGED AT 3,000 MILES. THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2017 - MENIFEE, CA
AFTER RESEARCHING THE INTERNET I CAM ACROSS THE ACRONYM OF THE ISSUE. WHAT HAPPENED IS EXACTLY DESCRIBED IN THIS ARTICLE AS THE "DEATH WOBBLE." HTTP://ABC7NEWS.COM/ARCHIVE/8547340/ THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WHILE I'M DRIVING AT AN AVERAGE SPEED OR HIGH SPEED. IF I HIT A DIP OR TURN AT A AVERAGE TO HIGH SPEED MY JEEP SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY. TODAY I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ON THE 60 EASTBOUND IN THE HIGH SPEED LANE GOING THE SPEED LIMIT (CRUISE CONTROL). MY JEEP HIT A DIP AND SHOOK SO UNCONTROLLABLY I ALMOST HAD TO DO A COMPLETE STOP ON THE FREEWAY. I TRIED THE BEST I COULD TO MERGE TO THE SLOW SPEED LANE TO POSSIBLY EXIT THE FREEWAY. A FEW VEHICLES WERE BEHIND ME WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND IT ALMOST CAUSED A SEVERE ACCIDENT. IT LITERALLY FEELS LIKE THE AXEL IS GOING TO SNAP IN HALF OR THE VEHICLE MAY EVEN FLIP IF THE SHAKING WERE TO CONTINUE. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS SHAKING LIKE THIS THE ONLY WAY I'VE EXPERIENCED FOR IT TO STOP IS QUICKLY SLOWING DOWN ALMOST TO A COMPLETE STOP. IF I SLOW DOWN SLOWLY IT STILL SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY SO MUCH SO THAT IT PUTS ME IN THE OTHER LANE. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE FIXED AND CAN MOST DEFINITELY KILL SOMEONE. THIS HAPPENED TODAY AT LEAST 3 TIMES. I THEN FINALLY PUT MY VEHICLE IN FOUR WHEEL DRIVE AT 2H WHILE DRIVING FEARING IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, MY AXEL MAY BREAK; OR WORSE MY LIFE TAKEN. BEFORE THIS INCIDENT I'D SAY IT'S HAPPENED EVERY NOW AND THEN. APPROX. ONCE EVERY 3-6 MONTHS SINCE I GOT THE VEHICLE. I ALSO HAVE MY TIRES ROTATED EVERY TIME I GET MY OIL CHANGED AT 3,000 MILES. THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2017 - CUTLER BAY, FL
SEE ATTACHED FILE

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/13/2017 - CUTLER BAY, FL
SEE ATTACHED FILE

View Details

WHEELS

6/13/2017 - CUTLER BAY, FL
SEE ATTACHED FILE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2017 - LANCASTER, SC
ON 5/12/17 MY WIFE LEFT FOR WORK ABOUT 7:20 AM, ABOUT 20 MIN. LATER SHE CAME BACK IN OUR HOME AND SAID THE JEEP WENT CRAZY, SHE EXPLAINED ABOUT HALF WAY DOWN OUR DRIVE WAY WHICH IS ABOUT A 1/4 OF A MILE, THE WIPERS SPEEDED UP ALL THE LIGHTS IN THE GAUGE CLUSTER LIT UP,A CONSTANT NOISE LIKE A SMOKE ALARM STARTED AND LASTED FOR A FEW SECONDS, THEN THE WIPERS WERE GOING REAL SLOW AND JUMPING, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND SMOKE CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD ON THE LEFT SIDE. SHE SWITCHED OFF THE JEEP AND ALL THE CLUSTER LIGHTS STAYED ON. I WENT TO THE JEEP THE CLUSTER LIGHTS WERE STILL ON, I OPEN THE HOOD AND SMOKE WAS COMING FROM THE FUSE BOX. I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND REMOVED THE FUSE BOX COVER, THERE WERE MELTED FUSES IN THE BOX AND I COULD SEE SOME MELTED WIRES UNDER THE FUSE BOX. I CALLED A LOCAL BODY SHOP TO COME AND PICK UP OUR JEEP. I CALLED MY INSURANCE AND FILLED A CLAIM. SINCE THERE WAS NO FIRE WE HAD NO CLAIM. I RENTED A TOW DOLLY AND TOOK IT TO STATELINE DODGE IN FORT MILL, S.C. I DECIDED TO CALL JEEP FOR HELP. THEY SENT SOMEONE FROM ENGINEERING ANALYSIS TO DETERMINE WHAT HAPPEN. I DON'T REMEMBER HIS NAME BUT HE TOLD ME IT WAS A MASSIVE TIPM FAILURE. JEEP SENT ME A LETTER SAYING IT WAS NOT A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AND WOULD NOT HELP US OUR JEEP HAS ONLY ABOUT 67000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/2/2017 - FERNDALE, MI
I HAVE A 2010 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED SAHARA. MY WRANGLER AS A DEFECT ON THE TRANSMISSION CAUSING IT TO VIOLENTLY POP OUT OF FIRST GEAR WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE (EVERY SINGLE TIME). LOOKING INTO THE ISSUE, I HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS VERY COMMON WITH THE 2010 MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS, YET THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL ISSUED REGARDING THE TRANSMISSION- EVEN THOUGH IT CAN BE DANGEROUS. BECAUSE OF THIS DEFECT, I HAVE TO START MY JEEP IN SECOND GEAR CAUSING EXTRA WEAR AND TEAR ON MY CLUTCH. ACCORDING TO MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP, IN ORDER TO FIX THE ISSUE, I WILL HAVE TO EITHER COMPLETELY REBUILD MY TRANSMISSION OR GET A NEW ONE (IN THE TSB THAT CHRYSLER PUT OUT REGARDING THE ISSUE, ONLY THE 1-2 SYNCHRONIZER ASSEMBLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED TO REPAIR THE ISSUE.) IT IS ABSURD THAT CHRYSLER HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THIS ISSUE, YET A RECALL HAS STILL NOT BEEN ISSUED. SEE TSB REGARDING THE ISSUE HERE: SEE THE TSB HERE: HTTPS://CHRYSLER.OEMDTC.COM/128/MANUAL-TRANSMISSION-POPS-OUT-OF-GEAR-2007-2010-JEEP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds