Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2010 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 342 complaints filed for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (49) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (56) Steering (40) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (26) Fuel Propulsion System (79) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (64) Seats (1) Suspension (25) Visibility (5)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (9) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/10/2015 - VEGA BAJA, PR
WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ABOUT 20MPH, FIRST ON LINE TO A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND ON ABOUT 20 T0 25 FEET BEFORE THE INTERSECTION AND LIGHT WAS RED, AND WHEN THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED IT DID NOT STOP AND THE VEHICLE KEPT MOVING AND IT WAS STOPPED BY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. A BURNING SMELL GOT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND PEOPLE STOPPED YELLING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. WHEN THE HOOD WAS OPENED AND THE FIRE PUT OUT WE NOTICES THAT THE FIRE STARTED AT THE BRAKES PUMP SENSOR. IT BURNED ALL THE WIRING AROUND THERE TO INCLUDE PLASTIC COVER OF LEFT HAND SIDE WHEEL, THE STEERING COLUMN RUBBER JOINT, SENSORS, THE HOOD AND OTHER PARTS IN THAT SIDE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/10/2015 - VEGA BAJA, PR
WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ABOUT 20MPH, FIRST ON LINE TO A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND ON ABOUT 20 T0 25 FEET BEFORE THE INTERSECTION AND LIGHT WAS RED, AND WHEN THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED IT DID NOT STOP AND THE VEHICLE KEPT MOVING AND IT WAS STOPPED BY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. A BURNING SMELL GOT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND PEOPLE STOPPED YELLING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. WHEN THE HOOD WAS OPENED AND THE FIRE PUT OUT WE NOTICES THAT THE FIRE STARTED AT THE BRAKES PUMP SENSOR. IT BURNED ALL THE WIRING AROUND THERE TO INCLUDE PLASTIC COVER OF LEFT HAND SIDE WHEEL, THE STEERING COLUMN RUBBER JOINT, SENSORS, THE HOOD AND OTHER PARTS IN THAT SIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/10/2015 - VEGA BAJA, PR
WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ABOUT 20MPH, FIRST ON LINE TO A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND ON ABOUT 20 T0 25 FEET BEFORE THE INTERSECTION AND LIGHT WAS RED, AND WHEN THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED IT DID NOT STOP AND THE VEHICLE KEPT MOVING AND IT WAS STOPPED BY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. A BURNING SMELL GOT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND PEOPLE STOPPED YELLING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. WHEN THE HOOD WAS OPENED AND THE FIRE PUT OUT WE NOTICES THAT THE FIRE STARTED AT THE BRAKES PUMP SENSOR. IT BURNED ALL THE WIRING AROUND THERE TO INCLUDE PLASTIC COVER OF LEFT HAND SIDE WHEEL, THE STEERING COLUMN RUBBER JOINT, SENSORS, THE HOOD AND OTHER PARTS IN THAT SIDE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/10/2015 - NOTTINGHAM, MD
FUEL OVERFLOWS EVERY TIME I FILL UP. IF I FILL THE TANK TO THE AUTO SHUTOFF POINT A FAIR AMOUNT OF FUEL SPITS OUT AND DOWN THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THIS IS A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD, AND NOT VERY GOOD FOR THE ENVIRONMENT. SO NOW I ONLY PUT THREE FOURTHS IN SO I DON'T HAVE IT POURING OUT AND ONTO MY JEEP

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/29/2015 - ONTARIO , CA
GASOLINE SHOOTS OUT UPON FULL TANK, PUMP NOZZLE ON AUTO FILL. START TO REMOVE NOZZLE AND GAS SHOOTS OUT OF FILLER TUBE. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES OVER LAST TWO YEARS. GAS GETS ON CLOTHES AND SKIN. I FEEL CHRYSLER SHOULD CORRECT THIS PROBLEM AS THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/27/2015 - SIGNAL MOUNTAIN, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V176000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - HAMPTON, VA
VEHICLE HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE ON ACTIVATION OF THE HEADLIGHT CIRCUIT VIA CONTROL STALK. LIGHTS WOULD FLICKER IN A SPECIFIC PATTERN THEN GO DARK. ACTIVATING HIGH BEAM CIRCUIT REPEATED THE CYCLE WITH HIGH BEAM ILLUMINATION. COMPLETE RESET OF ELECTRICAL SYSTEM (BATTERY DISCONNECTED FOR HOUR +) WOULD CLEAR UP THE ISSUE FOR ~2-3 HOURS OF OPERATION BEFORE PROBLEM RESUMED. REQUIRED DEALER REPLACEMENT OF TIPM AS HEADLIGHT CONTROL CIRCUIT IS A PART OF THAT MODULE. TIPM WAS ON BACKORDER WHEN PROBLEM FIRST SURFACED, LEADING ME TO BELIEVE THAT THIS MODEL OF TIPM MAY BE THE SOURCE OF THE ISSUE. VEHICLE WAS UNDRIVABLE FOR COMMUTE DURING EARLY MORNING/EVENING HOURS DUE TO LACK OF FORWARD ILLUMINATION. ALL OTHER VEHICLE LIGHTING AND ACCESSORIES FUNCTIONED CORRECTLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2015 - MECHANICSVILLE, VA
AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON AND WARNING SOUND GOES OFF INTERMITTENTLY. RESEARCHED THE INTERNET AND THERE ARE A LARGE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME SYMPTOMS. APPEARS TO BE A DEFECTIVE CLOCK SPRING FOR WHICH CHRYSLER ISSUED A RECALL BUT ONLY ON RIGHT HAND DRIVES. CONTACTED CHRYSLER AND THEY DON'T BELIEVE IT IS AN ISSUE. I'M CONCERNED THAT MY AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. IF THIS IS AN ISSUE IN RIGHT HAND DRIVES, NOT SURE WHY IT WOULD NOT APPLY TO ALL. THEY DO USE THE SAME CLOCK SPRING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
KEEPS POPPING OUT OF 1ST GEAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/7/2015 - ALEXANDRIA, LA
I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN SEPTEMBER OF 2014 FOR MY 16 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER. EVERY TIME WE ATTEMPT TO FILL UP THE FUEL TANK, THE PUMP DOESN'T CUT OFF AND GAS SPEWS ALL DOWN THE JEEP AND WHOEVER IS PUMPING THE FUEL. I DID SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND FOUND IT WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE JEEP AND HAD HOPED THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED BY NOW TO FIX. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE GAS TANK HAS TO BE REPLACED TO FIX THE PROBLEM AT A COST OF $1,300 AND THAT THE TANKS WERE ON BACKORDER. SINCE I DON'T THINK IT IS SAFE FOR MY DAUGHTER TO PUMP THE GAS, I WILL CONTINUE TO DO IT FOR HER BUT I THINK GIVEN THE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS AND THE SAFETY ISSUES, A RECALL IS IMMINENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds