Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2010 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 286 complaints filed for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (50) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (49) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (63) Seats (1) Suspension (23) Visibility (5)
Engine (7) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (6) Tires (7) Wheels (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/17/2014 - MITCHELL, SD
I HAVE A 2010 JEEP WRANGLER THAT I RUN ON MAIL ROUTES. THE TPMS ALWAYS GOES OFF AND I TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE UNABLE TO FIX THIS. FOR SAFETY REASONS, I PUT THE SPARE TIRE INSIDE SO I HAVE A BETTER VIEW IN MY REAR WINDOW SO I CAN SEE WHO IS BEHIND ME. I DROVE THE JEEP A FEW MONTHS LIKE THIS AND HAD NO PROBLEM THEN ONE DAY THE TPMS LIGHT AND CHIME GOES OFF EACH TIME I START THE JEEP. THE DEALERSHIP IS GUESSING IT MIGHT BE THE SPARE TIRE THAT IS INSIDE. I EMAILED CHRYSLER A NUMBER OF TIMES TO FIX THE ISSUE AND THEY REFUSE TO FIX THE ISSUE BECAUSE THE DEALERSHIP EXCUSE IS THE SPARE TIRE IS ON THE INSIDE INSTEAD OF THE OUTSIDE. IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO TO GET THIS FIXED OR IS THERE NOTHING I CAN DO AT ALL BECAUSE THE DEALERSHIP AND CHRYSLER REFUSES TO HELP? WOULD THIS NOT BE AGAINST THE LAW IF THIS IS FAULTY AND THEY ALSO TOLD ME IT WOULD BE AGAINST THE LAW TO TURN THE TPMS OFF OR LOWER THE POUNDS PER TIRE? THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY WENT OVER ALL THE TROUBLESHOOTING INSTRUCTIONS FROM CHRYSLER AND THEY CAN NOT FIND THE ISSUE TO FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/13/2014 - PUYALLUP, WA
THE VEHICLE FAILS TO ACCELERATE AT A REASONABLE SAFE SPEED TO MERGE WITH INTERSTATE TRAFFIC IN THE GIVEN DISTANCE ALLOWED FOR MERGING. WHEN ACCELERATING TO A SPEED OF 60-65 MPH AND THE VEHICLES ENGINE REACHES AN INDICATED RPM OF APPROX 3500-4000 RPM, THE VEHICLE WILL CEASE TO ACCELERATE AND ACTUALLY DECELERATE WHILE THE VEHICLE'S ENGINE RPM CONTINUES TO INCREASE UNTIL THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IS RELEASED. THE DRIVER HAS TO RELEASE FOOT FROM ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO ALLOW THE ENGINE RPM TO DROP BELOW AN RPM OF 3500 AND THE VEHICLE TO RESUME ACCELERATION. THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/1/2014 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
IN 2012 MY VEHICLE ENCOUNTERED A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL TANK ASSEMBLY THAT RESULTED IN GASOLINE SPITTING OUT OF THE FILLER TUBE WHILE I WAS FILLING IT UP AT THE GAS STATION. THE DEALERSHIP REPAIRED IT UNDER WARRANTY ON DECEMBER 3, 2012. ON SEPTEMBER 20, 2014; THE EXACT SAME FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN. ALMOST 5 GALLONS OF GASOLINE SPILLED OUT BEFORE I COULD SHUT THE PUMP OFF WHICH RESULTED IN MY CLOTHS BEING SATURATED WITH FUEL AND A HAZMAT SPILL THAT CAUSED THE GAS STATION TO SHUT DOWN UNTIL IT WAS TAKEN CARE OF. THIS IS CAUSING BOTH A HAZARDOUS SPILL IN THE ENVIRONMENT AND A SAFETY ISSUE FOR ALL PERSONS SURROUNDING THE AREA. I CONTACTED MY LOCAL JEEP DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND THAT IT WOULD COST ME $1,400 TO REPAIR THE ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED JEEP CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY STATED THAT THERE IS NO SAFETY RECALL OR TECHNICAL BULLETIN IN PLACE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - PLEASANT HILL, IA
I'M OWNED THE JEEP FOR ABOUT A MONTH. I'VE FILLED THE TANK 4 TIMES AND TWICE THE FUEL TANK HAS OVERFLOWED. IT SOUNDS VERY SIMILAR TO WHAT I'M SEEING WAS RECALLED EARLIER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2014 - OXFORD, MI
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE HEADLAMPS BLINKED ON AND OFF TWICE THEN WENT OUT. I TRIED CYCLING THE SWITCH ON AND OFF BUT THEY WOULD NOT TURN ON. SHORTLY AFTER SWITCHING TO HIGH BEAMS, THESE TOO TURNED OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES SINCE 9/12/14.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/8/2014 - REDMOND, WA
THE CLOCK SPRING UNIT IS EXPERIENCING A BROKEN AIRBAG CIRCUIT. THE AIRBAG INDICATOR REPEATEDLY CHIMES AND ILLUMINATES A DASH PANEL INDICATOR. THERE IS ALREADY A RECALL FOR RHD, BUT NOT FOR LHD. THE SAME PROBLEM EXISTS ON LHD. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND WELL KNOW ISSUE AMONG JEEP OWNERS. PLEASE CHRYSLER, FIX THIS DEFECT. ADDITIONALLY MY HORN HAS NEVER OPERATED PROPERLY; IT EITHER DOESN'T ACTIVATE WHEN PRESSED OR WILL REMAIN ON AFTER PRESSED AND YOU HAVE TO HIT THE HORN OVER AN OVER TO GET IT TO STOP. ALSO MY CRUISE CONTROL HAS STOPPED WORKING. ALL OF THESE GO THROUGH THE CLOCK SPRING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/6/2014 - GREENWOOD, AR
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING. CLOCKSPRING MODULE IS BAD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/29/2014 - WILDOMAR, CA
WANT TO UPDATE ODI #10629109 WITH THIS INFORMATION: AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ELIMINATED AND STARTED A SEQUENCE OF 2 BELLS, LIGHT ON FOR APRX 10 SECONDS, THEN OFF FOR SAME, THEN SEQUENCE STARTS AGAIN. DEALER DIAGNOSED A BROKEN CLOCK SPRING BUT MY VIN NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL INFO I PROVIDED THEM. CONTACTED MANUFACTURER AND FILED COMPLAINT, THEY SAID THIS RECALL WAS FOR RHD VEHICLES AND I DISAGREED ACCORDING TO THE NHTSA INVESTIGATION; ACTION #PE11019 AND RECALL #11V52800. WHEN ASKED WHAT GRIEVANCE PROCESS WAS AVAILABLE TO ME, SHE SAID NONE. COMPLAINT #25543107 WAS FILED AND SHE SAID I WILL BE CONTACTED IF MY VIN IS ADDED TO THE RECALL. SHE COULD NOT TELL ME WHY WOULD MY VEHICLE DID NOT QUALIFY FOR THE RECALL? I PAID FOR THE REPAIRS AND RETAINED THE BROKEN PART;, WHICH THE TEC SAID WAS CLEARLY BROKEN WHILE STILL IN THE COLUMN AND CAME OUT IN PIECES. WHILE THE WARNING LAMP WAS ELIMINATED IT AFFECTED THE STABILITY OF THE VEHICLE AND CAUSED SWAY OR WANDERING WHEN AT HIGH SPEED ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/28/2014 - WILDOMAR, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,300...UPDATED 09-24-14

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/27/2014 - WILDOMAR, CA
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT WOULD COME ON INTERMITTENTLY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds