Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 550 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (3) Power Train (134) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (164)
Electrical System (80) Exterior Lighting (120) Service Brakes (22) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (87) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (135) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Steering (61) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/11/2015 - ANN ARBOR, MI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN I94 IN WASHTENAW COUNTY AND I RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION TO THE EXTENT "SERVICE POWER STEERING SYSTEMS" WITHIN THE NEXT 5 MINUTES I COMPLETELY LOSS POWER STEERING. ONCE IN A SAFE LOCATION, I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTED; THE PROBLEM REMAINED. REPEATED TWICE TO NO AVAIL. REPRESENTATIVES AT FORD CLIENT RELATIONS STATES "NO OUTSTANDING RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE" DEALER STATES "NOT A LOT OF KNOWN PROBLEMS THAT THEY HAVE SEEN". I REITERATED TO BOTH THAT MY RESEARCH SHOWS THE OPPOSITE THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS INCIDENTS OF THE SAME REPORT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/6/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
APPROXIMATELY 25% OF THE REAR PASSENGER-SIDE BRAKE LIGHTS ON MY CAR PERMANENTLY WENT OUT WHEN I FIRST DISCOVERED THIS PROBLEM IN JULY 2014. DURING THE FOLLOWING MONTH, ADDITIONAL LED LIGHTS IN THE REAR LIGHT ASSEMBLY FAILED UNTIL, FINALLY, NONE OF THEM WOULD LIGHT UP. THIS WAS OUTRAGEOUS IN THAT MY CAR, BOUGHT BRAND NEW IN AUGUST 2009 AND CONSISTENTLY HOUSED IN A GARAGE, WAS FEWER THAN 5 YEARS OLD AND HAD YET TO REACH THE 30,000-MILE MARK. A LICENSED PENNSYLVANIA CAR INSPECTION STATION REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT MY CAR WOULD NOT PASS ITS SAFETY INSPECTION UNLESS THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. CONSEQUENTLY, I WAS FORCED TO DO SO; THE BILL CAME TO $445 FOR ITS REPLACEMENT. BECAUSE THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY CONSISTS OF LED LIGHTS, THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY SHOULD HAVE LASTED FOR THE LIFE OF THE AUTOMOBILE, IN MY OPINION. OBVIOUSLY, THIS IS A GLARING SAFETY DEFECT SINCE ITS MALFUNCTION ALONE RESULTS IN A FAILURE TO PASS AN ANNUAL PENNSYLVANIA AUTOMOBILE SAFETY INSPECTION. NOT TO MENTION THAT ITS REPLACEMENT COST IS ASTONISHING. I FEEL STRONGLY THAT FORD MOTOR COMPANY SHOULD ADDRESS THIS SITUATION SINCE OTHER MERCURY MILAN OWNERS, AS WELL AS OWNERS OF ITS TWINS -- THE FORD FUSION AND THE LINCOLN MKZ -- HAVE REPORTED ON THIS DATABASE NEARLY IDENTICAL SAFETY FAILURES. OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR A SAFETY PROBLEM THAT IS REPEATEDLY REPORTED ON THIS WEBSITE. FORD CERTAINLY CAN NO LONGER VALIDLY CLAIM THAT IT IS UNAWARE OF THIS SAFETY DEFECT; IT SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL ON ITS OWN AND FIX THIS DESIGN PROBLEM IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/6/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
I PURCHASED MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN USED ON AUGUST 30, 2012 WITH 987 MILES. APPROXIMATELY IN JUNE, 2013 THE CAR'S RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY OUT AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. IN NOVEMBER, 2013 THE CAR'S LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY AND AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. NOW, MARCH 6, 2015 THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP HAS GONE OUT AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP ON PAYING THESE EXPENSES WHEN I NOW KNOW THAT THIS IS A FORD PROBLEM AND DUE TO POOR ENGINEERING OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY AND BECAUSE IT HAS NOT BEEN RE-ENGINEERED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR. I RUN THE CHANCE OF BEING STOPPED BY THE POLICE FOR AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/6/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
I PURCHASED MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN USED ON AUGUST 30, 2012 WITH 987 MILES. APPROXIMATELY IN JUNE, 2013 THE CAR'S RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY OUT AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. IN NOVEMBER, 2013 THE CAR'S LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY AND AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. NOW, MARCH 6, 2015 THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP HAS GONE OUT AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP ON PAYING THESE EXPENSES WHEN I NOW KNOW THAT THIS IS A FORD PROBLEM AND DUE TO POOR ENGINEERING OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY AND BECAUSE IT HAS NOT BEEN RE-ENGINEERED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR. I RUN THE CHANCE OF BEING STOPPED BY THE POLICE FOR AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
I PURCHASED MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN USED ON AUGUST 30, 2012 WITH 987 MILES. APPROXIMATELY IN JUNE, 2013 THE CAR'S RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY OUT AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. IN NOVEMBER, 2013 THE CAR'S LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY AND AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. NOW, MARCH 6, 2015 THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP HAS GONE OUT AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP ON PAYING THESE EXPENSES WHEN I NOW KNOW THAT THIS IS A FORD PROBLEM AND DUE TO POOR ENGINEERING OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY AND BECAUSE IT HAS NOT BEEN RE-ENGINEERED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR. I RUN THE CHANCE OF BEING STOPPED BY THE POLICE FOR AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/3/2015 - MUSKEGON,, MI
THE ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST STEERING WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY AND A MESSAGE WOULD DISPLAY TO THAT EFFECT MOST OF THE TIME. SOMETIMES RESTARTING THE CAR WOULD MAKE IT WORK AND OTHER TIMES IT WOULD JUST START WORKING.THIS ONLY HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR WAS NOT ROLLING BUT WE COULD NOT TRUST IT AND HAD IT REPLACED, AT A COST OF $1789.00.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/24/2015 - CORNING, NY
THE DRIVER SIDE OUTER TAIL LIGHT IS PARTIALLY OUT. THE OUTER 2 SEGMENTS STILL LIGHT UP, BUT THE INNER 5 ARE OUT. IF YOU TAP THE LIGHT IT FLICKS ON FOR A SECOND ON THEN GOES OUT AGAIN. THE LIGHTS DO NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN THE BRAKE IS PRESSED EITHER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/23/2015 - ROCK HILL, SC
I WAS ISSUED A WARNING BY LOCAL POLICE THAT MY LEFT REAR TAILLIGHT WAS NOT WORKING. THIS IS AN LED ARRAY THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED ONCE BEFORE. ON INVESTIGATION, I OBSERVED THAT THE TAILLIGHT ONLY WORKS INTERMITTENTLY, AND WILL FLICKER ON AND OFF WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON. FURTHER, THERE IS NO BRIGHTNESS DIFFERENCE BETWEEN BRAKING AND NON BRAKING INTENSITY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/21/2015 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
TAIL LIGHTS STAY ILLUMINATED BRIGHT WHENEVER THE HEAD/PARKING LIGHTS ARE ON. HAVE BEEN TOLD THIS NUMEROUS TIMES EVEN BY TENN HIGHWAY PATROL. TOOK IT MTN VIEW FORD, MY REGULAR DEALER WHO REPLACED THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH UNDER PREMIUMCARE FOR THE $100 DEDUCTIBLE. THEN THEY TOLD ME THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE BOTH OF MY TAIL LIGHTS WHICH IS $375 EACH PLUS LABOR DUE TO THE FACT THAT THEY WERE LED LIGHTS AND COULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THIS VERY DISHEARTENING SINCE I SEE THAT THIS IS EVIDENTLY A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE VEHICLES AND IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. I GUESS FORD KNEW THAT THERE WOULD BE A PROBLEM WITH THE LIGHTS AND EXCLUDED IT. I NEED THE NHTSA TO HAVE A RECALL ISSUED SO FORD WILL ADMIT THEIR PROBLEM AND MAKE IT RIGHT FOR THEIR CONSUMERS. THE APPROXIMATELY $1000 DOLLARS TO REPAIR THIS IS UNREASONABLE WHEN A SIMPLE BULB CHANGE COULD HAVE RESOLVED THE PROBLEM. YES, I DID HAVE A THROTTLE BODY PROBLEM WHICH WAS REPAIRED UNDER MY WARRANTY BEFORE THE RECALL AND WHEN THE RECALL WAS ISSUED MTN VIEW FORD SENT ME A CHECK FOR MY $100 DEDUCTIBLE. I WONDER WHAT WILL GO WRONG NEXT. THE ONLY INJURY OR FATALITY DUE TO THIS IS MAY WALLET.

View Details

STEERING

2/9/2015 - DETROIT, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRACK AND THE POWER STEERING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AS THE POWER STEERING SEIZED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS NOT REPAIRED OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000. THE VIN NUMBER WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds