Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 398 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (157)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (65) Power Train (120) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (81) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (123) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/26/2014 - RICHMOND, KY
DUE TO A DEFECTIVE CONNECTION BOTH OF MY TAIL LIGHTS ARE OUT IN MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE DEALER HAS TOLD ME THAT REPLACING THE WHOLE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY, AS THAT IS THE ONLY OPTION AT $400.00 A PIECE IS "NORMAL MAINTENANCE". WHEN I CONTACTED FORD I WAS TOLD THE SAME THING, THAT IT WAS NORMAL TO HAVE TO REPLACE TAIL LIGHTS. WHILE I AGREE, THESE ARE LED LIGHTS THAT HAVE A BAD CONNECTION AND FORD HAS HAD MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE. FORD REFUSES TO FIX AN ISSUE THAT HAD TO DO WITH DEFECTIVE PARTS, THE COST AND THE FORDS REFUSAL TO FIX THIS ISSUE, EQUATES TO HUGE SAFETY ISSUES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/11/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
MY SON WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED ON THE FREEWAY, WHICH PROMPTED MY INSPECTION OF OUR 2010 MERCURY MILAN. I FOUND THE BRAKE LIGHTS WORK AS THEY SHOULD IN DAYLIGHT. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS COME ON THOUGH, THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LIGHT SHOWS THE BRAKE LIGHTS INTENSITY 100% OF THE TIME, AND IS UNAFFECTED BY BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATION. LEFT REAR BRAKE/TAIL LIGHT, AND UPPER 3RD BRAKE LIGHT OPERATE NORMALLY. I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, ESPECIALLY AFTER RESEARCHING THIS LED LIGHT SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE SHOWS REPEATED WIDESPREAD INCIDENTS, EXACTLY AS I DESCRIBE. SOME PEOPLE REPORT BOTH LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONING. MY CONCERN IS THAT IT TAKES A THIRD PARTY TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR TAIL/BRAKE LIGHTS ARE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY, SO MOST OWNERS WONT KNOW THEY HAVE A PROBLEM. THIS COULD BE MORE COMMON TO THIS VEHICLE THAN IT ALREADY APPEARS TO BE. I ONLY PERSONALLY KNOW ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND THEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM ! ISSUE IS NOT CURRENTLY ACKNOWLEDGED BY FORD, PROBABLY BECAUSE IT IS A $400 LAMP THAT MUST BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/11/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
MY SON WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED ON THE FREEWAY, WHICH PROMPTED MY INSPECTION OF OUR 2010 MERCURY MILAN. I FOUND THE BRAKE LIGHTS WORK AS THEY SHOULD IN DAYLIGHT. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS COME ON THOUGH, THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LIGHT SHOWS THE BRAKE LIGHTS INTENSITY 100% OF THE TIME, AND IS UNAFFECTED BY BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATION. LEFT REAR BRAKE/TAIL LIGHT, AND UPPER 3RD BRAKE LIGHT OPERATE NORMALLY. I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, ESPECIALLY AFTER RESEARCHING THIS LED LIGHT SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE SHOWS REPEATED WIDESPREAD INCIDENTS, EXACTLY AS I DESCRIBE. SOME PEOPLE REPORT BOTH LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONING. MY CONCERN IS THAT IT TAKES A THIRD PARTY TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR TAIL/BRAKE LIGHTS ARE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY, SO MOST OWNERS WONT KNOW THEY HAVE A PROBLEM. THIS COULD BE MORE COMMON TO THIS VEHICLE THAN IT ALREADY APPEARS TO BE. I ONLY PERSONALLY KNOW ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND THEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM ! ISSUE IS NOT CURRENTLY ACKNOWLEDGED BY FORD, PROBABLY BECAUSE IT IS A $400 LAMP THAT MUST BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2014 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE DESPITE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BEING DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED BUT DID NOT HAVE A CLEAR DIAGNOSIS HOW IT FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH MY VEHICLE STALLED, LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME WITH THE WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. WAS ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE HOME AT 45MPH AND THE CAR BUCKED AND STALLED TWO TIMES. WILL BE CALLING FORD FOR REPAIR. LUCKILY I SIGNED UP FOR THE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE WHICH I WILL BE EXPLAINING TO THE TECH'S WHEN I BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THIS CAR AND OTHER CARS INVOLVED IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH MY VEHICLE STALLED, LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME WITH THE WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. WAS ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE HOME AT 45MPH AND THE CAR BUCKED AND STALLED TWO TIMES. WILL BE CALLING FORD FOR REPAIR. LUCKILY I SIGNED UP FOR THE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE WHICH I WILL BE EXPLAINING TO THE TECH'S WHEN I BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THIS CAR AND OTHER CARS INVOLVED IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH MY VEHICLE STALLED, LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME WITH THE WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. WAS ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE HOME AT 45MPH AND THE CAR BUCKED AND STALLED TWO TIMES. WILL BE CALLING FORD FOR REPAIR. LUCKILY I SIGNED UP FOR THE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE WHICH I WILL BE EXPLAINING TO THE TECH'S WHEN I BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THIS CAR AND OTHER CARS INVOLVED IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2014 - PEMBROKE, NC
I WAS TRAVELING AT NIGHT, AT A SPEED OF 30 MPH. I HEARD A BELL AND LOOKED AT MY DASH AND SAW A MESSAGE THAT SAID POWERTRAC SERVICE NOW. I PULLED OVER TO A PARKING LOT, RESTARTED MY CAR, AND AT THIS POINT.... THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING. THANK GOD MY HUSBAND WAS WITH ME. I COULDN'T EVEN TURN THE WHEEL MYSELF. I WAS LUCKY THAT OUR CHILDREN WERE NOT IN THE CAR. THERE IS TO MANY OF THESE SAME ISSUES LISTED WITHIN THE LAST MONTH. OH AND BY THE WAY, I HAD MY CAR SERVICED (AT THE DEALERSHIP) YESTERDAY AND WAS TOLD MY CAR WAS GREAT! WONDERING WHAT IN THE WORLD IS GOING ON .

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/13/2014 - NEWTON, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE BRAKE LIGHT CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED ON A DIFFERENT OCCASION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE THROTTLE BODY AND RADIATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHO FOUND THAT THE TAIL LIGHT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/9/2014 - BRIGHTON, MI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AT ABOUT 60 MPH WHEN MY CAR SUDDENLY LOST ALL DRIVE POWER WITHOUT WARNING. I MANAGED TO COAST TO THE SNOW-COVERED RIGHT SHOULDER. WHEN I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, IT WAS SHUDDERING AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. I TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR A MINUTE AND THEN TURNED IT BACK ON. THE CAR SEEMED TO DRIVE OK THEN, BUT I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND LEARNED THAT THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES INDICATED A FAILURE IN THE THROTTLE BODY. IF THIS IS A FAULTY PART IT SHOULD BE RECALLED. I FEEL I WAS LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO GET MY DISABLED CAR OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT INCIDENT. THE NEXT PERSON MAY NOT BE SO FORTUNATE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds