Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 689 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment (3) Power Train (140) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (168)
Electrical System (86) Exterior Lighting (126) Service Brakes (32) Tires (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (98) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (147) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Steering (122) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/3/2017 - HUDSONVILLE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE SERVICE LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE. AFTER REFUELING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PURGE VALVE WAS FAULTY AND WOULD ERRONEOUSLY REMAIN OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V793000 (FUEL SYSTEM) IN APRIL OF 2016, BUT WAS NO LONGER ELIGIBLE FOR THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/6/2017 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
ON 2/1/17, STEERING WENT OUT. ALMOST HIT CO-WORKER'S PARKED CAR. NO WARNING MESSAGE OR SIGNAL OF ANY KIND. DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT HAPPENED. TURNED CAR OFF AND THEN BACK ON. OPERATED WITHOUT INCIDENT. ON 2/3/17, STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. THIS TIME, "SERVICE POWER STEERING" MESSAGE DISPLAYED FOLLOWED BY "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAK SYSTEM". TURNED CAR OFF AND BACK ON. OPERATED WELL ENOUGH TO DRIVE TO LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP, WHERE I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW RACK AND PINION ($2,800). LOOKED ONLINE TO DISCOVER THAT THIS IS A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE BY FORD AS THEY RECALLED THE 2011 AND 2012 MILANS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. MY 2010 HAS THE SAME COMPONENTS! THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FILED AGAINST FORD IN 2015 FOR THIS VERY SAME COMPLAINT. BOTH NHTSA AND FORD NEED TO STEP UP AND RECOGNIZE THE 2010 HAS THE SAME SAFETY HAZARD AND ITS OWNERS SHOULD RECEIVE THE BENEFIT OF THE SAME RECALL (#15V340000) THAT WAS ISSUED FOR THE 2011 AND 2012 MODELS.

View Details

STEERING

2/3/2017 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE REVERSING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE "POWER STEERING" AND "SERVICE ADVANCE TRACKING SYSTEM SOON" WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, WHILE REVERSING OUT OF A PARKING LOT AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL VEERED TO THE LEFT. THE CONTACT HAD TO SHIFT INTO PARK IN ORDER TO AVOID ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000. UPDATED 05/31/17

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2017 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
ENGINE GOES TO 4000 AT HIGHWAY SPEED AND TRANSMISSION SLIPS WHILE DRIVING AT 70 ON INTERSTATE. WON'T SHIFT UNLESS THROTTLE IS BACKED WAY OFF. AT LOW SPEED ON 2-1 DOWNSHIFT, IT BANGS INTO GEAR JERKING YOU OUT OF THE SEAT AND CAUSING POSSIBLE LOSS OF CONTROL. ONLY DOES IT ON SLIGHT INCLINES. I PURCHASED NEW 11/3/2009 CAR ONLY HAS 24,818 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN SERVICED ONLY AT FORD DEALERS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/19/2017 - MILTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND A WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2017 - MILTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND A WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2017 - ROANOKE, VA
WITH SOME SNOW AND ICE ON ROAD ON 1/8/17 IN ROANOKE, VA, CAR BRAKES WENT ALMOST ALL THE WAY TO FLOOR AND THEN REAR WHEEL STARTED LOCKING UP INTERMITTENTLY. THIS OCCURRED AS BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY AND STARTING DOWN RESIDENTIAL STREET. I GOT OUT OF CAR AND HAD SON DRIVE BACK INTO DRIVEWAY. I WITNESSED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR WHEEL LOCKED DOWN FOR ABOUT 30 FT. BEFORE THE WHEEL STARTED ROLLING AGAIN. WAS GOING VERY SLOW AT TIME SO NO ACCIDENT. STRUGGLED JUST TO GET CAR BACK IN DRIVEWAY. WILL TAKE CAR TO DEALER WHEN WEATHER CLEARS.

View Details

STEERING

12/21/2016 - DAVIS, CA
APPROXIMATELY 3 MONTHS AGO I GOT INTO MY CAR TO GO TO WORK. I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON THE CITY SIDE STREETS TO GET TO THE HIGHWAY THAT I TRAVEL TO WORK. THE TROUBLE LIGHT INDICATOR CAME ON INDICATING POOR STEERING AND THE VEHICLE DID SEEM TO BE STEERING INCORRECTLY. I RETURNED HOME AND DROVE MY WIFE'S VEHICLE TO WORK. NEXT DAY I WENT OUT TO CHECK TO SEE IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM. I STARTED UP MY VEHICLE AND TRIED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE OUT OF MY PARKING PLACE. THE POWER STEERING WON'T WORK AT ALL. NOW I DO NOT HAVE A VEHICLE TO GET TO WORK. THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL ON THE 2011, 2012 MERCURY MILAN FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN ONE FOR THE 2010????

View Details

STEERING

12/19/2016 - TURTLE LAKE, WI
POWER STEERING DOES NOT WORK. WAS WORKING FINE AND JUST TURNED THE CAR OFF ONE NIGHT AND THE NEXT MORNING I COULD NOT STEER. ITS A 2010 MILAN WITH 78,000 MILES ON IT. I'M WORRIED TO SEE WHAT THIS COSTS. FORD SHOULD STAND BEHIND THESE TROUBLES.

View Details

STEERING

12/18/2016 - EL PASO, TX
THE POWER STEERING NOT WORKING AT ALL, READ ONLINE ON REPORT ON SIMILAR CASE. FORD HAS RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE, BUT ONLY FOR CARS FROM 2011 AND BEYOND.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds