Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 581 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (3) Power Train (135) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (166)
Electrical System (83) Exterior Lighting (124) Service Brakes (23) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (91) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (141) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Steering (79) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/30/2015 - LITHIA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER TWO ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

9/29/2015 - TEMPERANCE, MI
WHILE PULLING INTO GARAGE THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ,ALL MOST HIT THE HOUSE READ IN NEWS PAPER THAT FORD HAD A RECALL AND FIXED ALL THE PROBLEMS WITH THE STEERING BOX BLONDES FORD IN TOLEDO SAID NO RECALL ON MY CAR.IT COST ME1790.39 TO GET STEERING GEAR FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

9/29/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
NO POWER STEERING, CALLED DEALER AND THEY WHAT $80 TO TELL ME I HAVE NO POWER STEERING AND MIGHT COST $1800 TO REPAIR. SO MANY REPORTS OF THIS WHY HAVEN'T THEY RECALLED THESE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/28/2015 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LED TAIL LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED WHILE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. UPDATED 11/19/15

View Details

STEERING

9/21/2015 - NORCROSS, GA
WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, THE STEERING SUDDENLY LOCKED UP AND I COULD NO LONGER STEER. MESSAGES SAYING SERVICE ADVANCETRAC AND POWER STEERING FAILURE WERE DISPLAYED. I CHECKED THE FLUIDS AND EVERYTHING WAS OK. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM ONLINE, I SAW THAT THE 2011 MILAN WAS ALREADY UNDER RECALL ALONG WITH MANY OTHER FORD MODELS. THE 2010 MILAN NEEDS TO BE ADDED TO THE RECALL AS THE ISSUE ALSO OCCURS WITH THIS MODEL. THIS IS DEFINITELY GOING TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE AS I DO NOT HAVE $2000 TO GET THIS FIXED AND I HAVE NO OTHER OPTION BUT TO DRIVE WITHOUT POWER STEERING UNTIL THE RECALL GOES THROUGH.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/16/2015 - MUNCIE, IN
FIRST OF ALL THIS HAS HAPPENED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE THE CAR WILL STALL AND BEGIN TO SHAKE AND PUTS A WRENCH ICON ON THE DASH, THE VEHICLE HAS NO RESPONSE TO THE ACCELERATION PEDAL. I HAVE TO PULL OVER AND SH U THINK THE CAR OFF A FEW MINUTES AND THEN GO AGAIN. IT HAS ALSO HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE PULLING ACROSS TRAFFIC FROM A STOP, ONE TIME NEARLY GETTING ME HIT FROM ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO TELL WHEN OR WHERE THIS WILL HAPPEN. I HAVE CALLED FORD AND WAS DENIED A REPAIR BECAUSE MY VIN WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST FOR THE THROTTLE BODY EVEN THOUGH IT HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE ONES COVERED. I HAVE HAD THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND RECEIVED CODES THAT MATCH AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

9/1/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
WHILE I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY ON SATURDAY MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT. THERE WAS A MESSAGE SAYING POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT. THIS HAS HAPPENED 2 TIMES BEFORE AND WHEN I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TURN BACK ON THE MESSAGE GOES AWAY AND I HAVE POWER STEERING BACK. THIS SATURDAY WAS NOT THE CASE, THE WARNING DIDN'T GO AWAY AND THE CAR WAS NOT DRIVABLE. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS THE STEERING GEAR AND IT WOULD COST AROUND $1800. I'VE RESEARCH THE RECALLS AND FOUND A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE. IN FACT THE 2011 MILAN HAS A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2015 - WALLKILL, NY
WHEN DRIVING MY VEHICLE DOWNHILL, THE BRAKES DO NOT GRAB AT ALL. MOST TIMES ON THE ROAD, THEY WORK FINE. HAD MECHANIC CHECK MASTER CYLINDER, PADS AND ROTORS. ALL CHECKED OUT FINE. HE'S HAD OTHER VEHICLES WITH SAME PROBLEM, CHANGED ALL THE PREVIOUS LISTED PARTS WITHOUT ANY SUCCESS. UPON CHANGING THE ABS MODULE, THE PROBLEM IS SOLVED. MY HUSBAND'S COMPANY HAS A FLEET OF FORD FUSIONS (BASICALLY SAME CAR AS MY MILAN) AND PEOPLE HAVE ENCOUNTERED THIS SAME PROBLEM WHICH HAS BEEN RESOLVED WHEN THE ABS MODULE IS CHANGED. I HAVE ALSO READ OF MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE EXACT SAME ISSUE ONLINE. I BELIEVE THIS POSES AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION. THE BRAKE PEDAL GOES COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR. I HAVE TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE. I HAVE TO WONDER HOW MANY ACCIDENTS WERE CAUSED DUE TO THE ABS MODULE INTERFERING WITH THE BRAKES ABILITY TO WORK PROPERLY. MY CAR CURRENTLY ONLY HAS 25,000 MILES AND HAS ALREADY BEEN RECALLED FOR THEIR LIGHTS. I TRULY BELIEVE FORD IS AWARE THIS IS A PROBLEM BUT IS DENYING ANY RESPONSIBILITY. ## VIN PASSED ## MERCURY MILAN 2010 ##

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/28/2015 - DURHAM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND UPON RETURNING TO THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE GEAR SELECTOR LEVER OUT OF THE PARK POSITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SELECTOR LEVER SEIZED AND WAS UNABLE TO BE RELEASED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/28/2015 - BROOKLYN, NY
JUNE 2015: MADE A 'HARD STOP' TO GET OUT OF PATH OF EMERGENCY VEHICLE. MADE 2 TURNS (SLOWING CAR DOWN) AND SAFELY MADE TURNS WITHOUT INCIDENT. THIRD TURN (RIGHT TURN), RELEASED GAS PEDAL, STEPPED ON BRAKES, BRAKE PEDAL WENT LOW (TOWARDS FLOOR), CAR EVENTUALLY STOPPED, APPROXIMATELY 15FT, FURTHER THAN EXPECTED. THIS HAPPENED WITHIN 10 MINUTES FROM INITIAL 'HARD STOP'. CHECKED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL, NOTICED FLUID LEVEL ABOVE MINIMUM LINE, BUT ALSO NOTED FLUID COLOR HAD SOME COLOR (AWARE THAT COLOR IN BRAKE FLUID IS NOT GOOD). MADE APPOINTMENT FOR SERVICE AT DEALERSHIP AUTHORIZED SERVICE CENTER .SERVICE CENTER INDICATED BRAKE LINING PROBLEM (NOT WITHIN TOLERANCE), AND REPLACED THEM. NOTE: CITY DRIVING, DRY DAY, LIGHT MORNING TRAFFIC. NO BRAKE WARNING LIGHT OR ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATION ON DASH BOARD. JULY 2015: EXITING ONE HIGHWAY TO GET ONTO ANOTHER HIGHWAY, NEEDED TO BRAKE TO GET ONTO EXIT RAMP. TOOK FOOT OFF GAS PEDAL, SIGNALED TO TURN RIGHT, STEPPED ON BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN AND EXIT. BRAKE PEDAL WENT LOW (TOWARDS FLOOR), CAR TOOK MORE TIME TO SLOW DOWN THAN ANTICIPATED. MADE WAY TO DESTINATION (AT REDUCED SPEED) AND DEPRESSED BRAKE PEDAL TO IDENTIFY IF/HOW CAR COULD STOP. CALLED SERVICE CENTER, EXPLAINED WHAT OCCURRED AND BROUGHT CAR BACK TO SERVICE CENTER. SERVICE CENTER IDENTIFIED MASTER CYLINDER NEEDED REPLACING AND IT WAS REPLACED. NOTE: HIGHWAY DRIVING, DRY DAY, MIDDAY TRAFFIC-LIGHT. NO BRAKE WARNING LIGHT OR ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATION ON DASH BOARD. AUGUST 2015: LOCAL DRIVING, ON HIGHWAY, EXITING TO THE RIGHT, TOOK FOOT OFF GAS PEDAL, THEN STARTED TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL. CAR STARTED TO SLOW DOWN THEN FELT RAPID THUMPING UNDERFOOT WHILE DEPRESSING BRAKE PEDAL, BRAKE PEDAL WENT LOW (TOWARDS FLOOR). CAR EVENTUALLY STOPPED. CHECK BRAKE FLUID LEVEL (AT MAX LINE) AND FLUID COLOR CLEAR. CAR TOWED TO DEALERSHIP SERVICE CENTER. IT IS STILL THERE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds