Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 406 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (157)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (73) Power Train (121) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (81) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (124) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/19/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
ONE MONTH AFTER MY NHTSA COMPLAINT # 10563879, THE LEFT SIDE TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT SYSTEM IS NOW RESPONDING IN THE SAME MANNER. IE: BRAKE LIGHTS FUNCTION NORMALLY DURING THE DAY WITHOUT THE TAIL LIGHTS ON, BUT WHEN TAIL LIGHTS ARE ACTIVATED, THEY SHINE AT FULL 100% INTENSITY, AS IF THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. BRAKE APPLICATION IS NOW ONLY SHOWN BY THE SMALL THIRD CENTER LIGHT. WHENEVER I SEE A MILAN IN MY CITY AT NIGHT, WHICH IS THE ONLY TIME IT WILL BE EVIDENT, I TRY TO FOLLOW IT TO SEE IF IT HAS THIS ISSUE ALSO. I'LL FIND THAT USUALLY 1 OR BOTH OF THIS VEHICLES LIGHTS DO THIS, AND THE OWNERS DO NOT REALIZE IT. I FEEL THIS IS A WIDESPREAD SAFETY ISSUE, COMPOUNDED BY THE OWNER BEING UNAWARE OF A PROBLEM. NO DASH WARNING IS SHOWN. AND YES, FORD WANTS $400 FOR THIS LAMP. REPLACING IT IS THE ONLY FIX.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/19/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
ONE MONTH AFTER MY NHTSA COMPLAINT # 10563879, THE LEFT SIDE TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT SYSTEM IS NOW RESPONDING IN THE SAME MANNER. IE: BRAKE LIGHTS FUNCTION NORMALLY DURING THE DAY WITHOUT THE TAIL LIGHTS ON, BUT WHEN TAIL LIGHTS ARE ACTIVATED, THEY SHINE AT FULL 100% INTENSITY, AS IF THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. BRAKE APPLICATION IS NOW ONLY SHOWN BY THE SMALL THIRD CENTER LIGHT. WHENEVER I SEE A MILAN IN MY CITY AT NIGHT, WHICH IS THE ONLY TIME IT WILL BE EVIDENT, I TRY TO FOLLOW IT TO SEE IF IT HAS THIS ISSUE ALSO. I'LL FIND THAT USUALLY 1 OR BOTH OF THIS VEHICLES LIGHTS DO THIS, AND THE OWNERS DO NOT REALIZE IT. I FEEL THIS IS A WIDESPREAD SAFETY ISSUE, COMPOUNDED BY THE OWNER BEING UNAWARE OF A PROBLEM. NO DASH WARNING IS SHOWN. AND YES, FORD WANTS $400 FOR THIS LAMP. REPLACING IT IS THE ONLY FIX.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/12/2014 - FERGUSON, MO
THROTTLE BODY FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. CAR IMMEDIATELY LOST POWER AND HAD NO ACCELERATOR RESPONSE AND WOULD ONLY IDLE. THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN DANGEROUS HAD THE VEHICLE NOT BEEN IN AN AREA WHERE IT WAS IMMEDIATELY SAFE TO PULL OVER. THROTTLE BODY WAS CHANGED, THE SECOND TIME IT'S HAPPENED TO THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/12/2014 - FERGUSON, MO
THROTTLE BODY FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. CAR IMMEDIATELY LOST POWER AND HAD NO ACCELERATOR RESPONSE AND WOULD ONLY IDLE. THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN DANGEROUS HAD THE VEHICLE NOT BEEN IN AN AREA WHERE IT WAS IMMEDIATELY SAFE TO PULL OVER. THROTTLE BODY WAS CHANGED, THE SECOND TIME IT'S HAPPENED TO THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/2/2014 - CASPER, WY
MY WIFE NOTICED APX 1 YEAR AGO THAT HER LEFT BRAKE LIGHT WAS NOT WORKING. WE DISCOVERED IT WAS LED & APPARENTLY THE COMPLETE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY NEEDS CHANGED. WE RECENTLY BROUGHT IT TO OUR FORD DEALERSHIPS' ATTENTION, BUT THEY SAID THEY DID NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX. ALTHOUGH, WE REALIZE THAT OCCASIONALLY, CHANGING LAMPS IS THE OWNERS RESPONSIBILITY, WE FEEL THAT CHANGING A VERY EXPENSIVE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY IS NOT THE NORM. THIS CAR HAS HAD NO WRECKS & NO AFTER MARKET DEVICES OF ANY KIND. PLEASE HELP!! THANK YOU

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - IRMO, SC
2010 MERCURY MILAN WITH 3.0 LITER V-6 BUILD DATE MARCH 2010. CAR WENT INTO LIMITED LIMP MODE WHILE IT WAS BEING DRIVEN AT LESS THAN 30 MPH. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON THREE OCCASIONS. EACH TIME THE ENGINE DROPS TO A ROUGH IDLE AT 500 TO 900 RPM AND THE "WRENCH" LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED. ENGINE DOES NOT RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUT. CAR SPEED DROPS DRASTICALLY BUT STEERING AND BRAKES APPEAR TO OPERATE NORMALLY. (ENGINE IS STILL RUNNING AN CLOSE TO NORMAL IDLE SPEEDS.) ENGINE DOES NOT PRODUCE ENOUGH POWER TO GO UP THE SLIGHTEST OF INCLINES. AFTER RESTARTING, THE ENGINE THE CONDITION CLEARS AND CAR DRIVES NORMALLY. PORTABLE OBDII SCAN TOOLS DO NOT INDICATE ANY DTC CODES. DEALER REPLACED THROTTLE BODY MECHANISM DUE TO AN INTERMITTENT SHORT IN THE POSITION SENSING CIRCUIT. DEALER KEPT OLD UNIT DUE TO CORE CHARGE. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN IN THAT UNDER MANY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS THE CAR MAY BE HIT FROM BEHIND OR UNABLE TO MOVE TO A SAFE SHOULDER OUT OF THE TRAFFIC FLOW.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
MY WIFE AND I OWN A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. ONE DAY LAST WEEK, AS MY WIFE WAS LEAVING WORK, THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER, SPUTTERED AND WAS NOT ABLE GO FASTER THAN 10 MPH. THE CAR WENT INTO THE "LIMP HOME" MODE. WE SUBSEQUENTLY TOOK THE CAR TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP WHERE THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS A "NETWORKING PROBLEM" AND WAS TOLD THAT THE THROTTLE BODY MUST BE REPLACED! NOW, I AM TOLD THAT THERE IS A NATIONWIDE SHORTAGE OF THIS PART AND IT WILL BE AT LEAST TWO WEEKS BEFORE THE PART WILL ARRIVE! THE DEALER ESTIMATES THAT THE REPAIR WILL COST $750. I RESPECTFULLY REQUEST THAT YOUR AGENCY ISSUE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES. I BELIEVE THAT THIS THROTTLE BODY DEFECT HAS PRODUCED A LIFE-SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED QUICKLY! THANK YOU. MAX A STEWART

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/26/2014 - RICHMOND, KY
DUE TO A DEFECTIVE CONNECTION BOTH OF MY TAIL LIGHTS ARE OUT IN MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE DEALER HAS TOLD ME THAT REPLACING THE WHOLE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY, AS THAT IS THE ONLY OPTION AT $400.00 A PIECE IS "NORMAL MAINTENANCE". WHEN I CONTACTED FORD I WAS TOLD THE SAME THING, THAT IT WAS NORMAL TO HAVE TO REPLACE TAIL LIGHTS. WHILE I AGREE, THESE ARE LED LIGHTS THAT HAVE A BAD CONNECTION AND FORD HAS HAD MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE. FORD REFUSES TO FIX AN ISSUE THAT HAD TO DO WITH DEFECTIVE PARTS, THE COST AND THE FORDS REFUSAL TO FIX THIS ISSUE, EQUATES TO HUGE SAFETY ISSUES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/11/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
MY SON WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED ON THE FREEWAY, WHICH PROMPTED MY INSPECTION OF OUR 2010 MERCURY MILAN. I FOUND THE BRAKE LIGHTS WORK AS THEY SHOULD IN DAYLIGHT. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS COME ON THOUGH, THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LIGHT SHOWS THE BRAKE LIGHTS INTENSITY 100% OF THE TIME, AND IS UNAFFECTED BY BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATION. LEFT REAR BRAKE/TAIL LIGHT, AND UPPER 3RD BRAKE LIGHT OPERATE NORMALLY. I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, ESPECIALLY AFTER RESEARCHING THIS LED LIGHT SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE SHOWS REPEATED WIDESPREAD INCIDENTS, EXACTLY AS I DESCRIBE. SOME PEOPLE REPORT BOTH LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONING. MY CONCERN IS THAT IT TAKES A THIRD PARTY TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR TAIL/BRAKE LIGHTS ARE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY, SO MOST OWNERS WONT KNOW THEY HAVE A PROBLEM. THIS COULD BE MORE COMMON TO THIS VEHICLE THAN IT ALREADY APPEARS TO BE. I ONLY PERSONALLY KNOW ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND THEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM ! ISSUE IS NOT CURRENTLY ACKNOWLEDGED BY FORD, PROBABLY BECAUSE IT IS A $400 LAMP THAT MUST BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/11/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
MY SON WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED ON THE FREEWAY, WHICH PROMPTED MY INSPECTION OF OUR 2010 MERCURY MILAN. I FOUND THE BRAKE LIGHTS WORK AS THEY SHOULD IN DAYLIGHT. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS COME ON THOUGH, THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LIGHT SHOWS THE BRAKE LIGHTS INTENSITY 100% OF THE TIME, AND IS UNAFFECTED BY BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATION. LEFT REAR BRAKE/TAIL LIGHT, AND UPPER 3RD BRAKE LIGHT OPERATE NORMALLY. I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, ESPECIALLY AFTER RESEARCHING THIS LED LIGHT SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE SHOWS REPEATED WIDESPREAD INCIDENTS, EXACTLY AS I DESCRIBE. SOME PEOPLE REPORT BOTH LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONING. MY CONCERN IS THAT IT TAKES A THIRD PARTY TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR TAIL/BRAKE LIGHTS ARE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY, SO MOST OWNERS WONT KNOW THEY HAVE A PROBLEM. THIS COULD BE MORE COMMON TO THIS VEHICLE THAN IT ALREADY APPEARS TO BE. I ONLY PERSONALLY KNOW ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND THEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM ! ISSUE IS NOT CURRENTLY ACKNOWLEDGED BY FORD, PROBABLY BECAUSE IT IS A $400 LAMP THAT MUST BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds