Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 554 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (3) Power Train (134) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (164)
Electrical System (81) Exterior Lighting (122) Service Brakes (23) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (88) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (135) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Steering (63) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/29/2015 - MONROVIA, CA
IT STARTED IN RECENT WEEKS WHEN WE START THE CAR WE GET AN ERROR MESSAGE "ELECTRIC POWER STEERING MALFUNCTION" AND THERE IS NO POWER ASSIST. SHUTTING OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTING CLEARS THE ERROR MESSAGE. TWICE NOW WHILE DRIVING RIGHT AFTER START UP THE STEER MALFUNCTION ERROR CAME UP AND WITH IT WE HAD A LOSS OF POWER STREERING. BOTH TIMES WE WERE ABLE TO MOVE TO THE CURB, PUT IN PARK SHUT OFF AND RESTART AND NO PROBLEMS. WE WILL BE GETTING THIS TO THE DEALER BUT DON'T ANTICIPATE A FIX. THEY ONLY REPAIR WHEN THEY CAN DUPLICATE A PROBLEM AND THIS PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT.

View Details

STEERING

5/28/2015 - RADCLIFFE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS REQUIRED TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/18/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY BURNED OUT AFTER AN UNUSUALLY SHORT PERIOD OF TIME, THEY ARE LED TYPE AND LASTED ONLY 5 YEARS. LED'S WITH THIS SHORT LIFE SPAN SHOULD BE CONSIDERED DEFECTIVE AS THERE ARE NUMEROUS INCIDENTS BEING REPORTED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/18/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY BURNED OUT AFTER AN UNUSUALLY SHORT PERIOD OF TIME, THEY ARE LED TYPE AND LASTED ONLY 5 YEARS. LED'S WITH THIS SHORT LIFE SPAN SHOULD BE CONSIDERED DEFECTIVE AS THERE ARE NUMEROUS INCIDENTS BEING REPORTED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

3/12/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
WHILE DRIVING, AS I TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL THE TURN WAS SLOW TO RESPOND AND TURNING BACK TO STRAIGHT DRIVING POSITION, STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY HARD TO TURN WHICH ALMOST CAUSED ME TO HIT A PARKED CAR. AFTER PARKING (WHICH TOOK EXTREME EFFORT AND ARM/SHOULDER PAIN) AND STARTING AGAIN, AUTOMATIC STEERING ABILITY HAD FAILED AND INDICATOR LIGHT READ "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW". THE CAR CAN NOT BE DRIVEN BECAUSE IT IS TOO HARD TO TURN STEERING WHEEL AND FOR FEAR THAT THE LACK OF POWER STEERING WILL CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I ALSO NOTICED THAT THERE HAS BEEN NUMEROUS SIMILAR COMPLAINTS POSTED ON THE INTERNET WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AND CONCERNS. PLEASE ADD MY VEHICLE IN THE RECALL LIST SO THAT NOT ONLY I AND MY FAMILY WILL BE SAFE BUT ALSO ANYONE ELSE THAT MAY BE ON THE ROAD WHO CAN BE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT CAUSED BY THE INABILITY TO MANEUVER SAFELY DUE TO NO POWER STEERING CAPABILITY. ACCORDING TO FORD'S MOTTO "BUILT FOR THE ROAD AHEAD", I CAN'T GET TO THE "ROAD AHEAD" SAFELY WITHOUT POWER STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

3/11/2015 - ANN ARBOR, MI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN I94 IN WASHTENAW COUNTY AND I RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION TO THE EXTENT "SERVICE POWER STEERING SYSTEMS" WITHIN THE NEXT 5 MINUTES I COMPLETELY LOSS POWER STEERING. ONCE IN A SAFE LOCATION, I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTED; THE PROBLEM REMAINED. REPEATED TWICE TO NO AVAIL. REPRESENTATIVES AT FORD CLIENT RELATIONS STATES "NO OUTSTANDING RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE" DEALER STATES "NOT A LOT OF KNOWN PROBLEMS THAT THEY HAVE SEEN". I REITERATED TO BOTH THAT MY RESEARCH SHOWS THE OPPOSITE THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS INCIDENTS OF THE SAME REPORT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/6/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
APPROXIMATELY 25% OF THE REAR PASSENGER-SIDE BRAKE LIGHTS ON MY CAR PERMANENTLY WENT OUT WHEN I FIRST DISCOVERED THIS PROBLEM IN JULY 2014. DURING THE FOLLOWING MONTH, ADDITIONAL LED LIGHTS IN THE REAR LIGHT ASSEMBLY FAILED UNTIL, FINALLY, NONE OF THEM WOULD LIGHT UP. THIS WAS OUTRAGEOUS IN THAT MY CAR, BOUGHT BRAND NEW IN AUGUST 2009 AND CONSISTENTLY HOUSED IN A GARAGE, WAS FEWER THAN 5 YEARS OLD AND HAD YET TO REACH THE 30,000-MILE MARK. A LICENSED PENNSYLVANIA CAR INSPECTION STATION REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT MY CAR WOULD NOT PASS ITS SAFETY INSPECTION UNLESS THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. CONSEQUENTLY, I WAS FORCED TO DO SO; THE BILL CAME TO $445 FOR ITS REPLACEMENT. BECAUSE THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY CONSISTS OF LED LIGHTS, THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY SHOULD HAVE LASTED FOR THE LIFE OF THE AUTOMOBILE, IN MY OPINION. OBVIOUSLY, THIS IS A GLARING SAFETY DEFECT SINCE ITS MALFUNCTION ALONE RESULTS IN A FAILURE TO PASS AN ANNUAL PENNSYLVANIA AUTOMOBILE SAFETY INSPECTION. NOT TO MENTION THAT ITS REPLACEMENT COST IS ASTONISHING. I FEEL STRONGLY THAT FORD MOTOR COMPANY SHOULD ADDRESS THIS SITUATION SINCE OTHER MERCURY MILAN OWNERS, AS WELL AS OWNERS OF ITS TWINS -- THE FORD FUSION AND THE LINCOLN MKZ -- HAVE REPORTED ON THIS DATABASE NEARLY IDENTICAL SAFETY FAILURES. OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR A SAFETY PROBLEM THAT IS REPEATEDLY REPORTED ON THIS WEBSITE. FORD CERTAINLY CAN NO LONGER VALIDLY CLAIM THAT IT IS UNAWARE OF THIS SAFETY DEFECT; IT SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL ON ITS OWN AND FIX THIS DESIGN PROBLEM IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
I PURCHASED MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN USED ON AUGUST 30, 2012 WITH 987 MILES. APPROXIMATELY IN JUNE, 2013 THE CAR'S RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY OUT AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. IN NOVEMBER, 2013 THE CAR'S LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. NOW, MARCH 6, 2015 THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP HAS GONE OUT AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP ON PAYING THESE EXPENSES WHEN I NOW KNOW THAT THIS IS A FORD PROBLEM AND DUE TO POOR ENGINEERING OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY AND BECAUSE IT HAS NOT BEEN RE-ENGINEERED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR. I RUN THE CHANCE OF BEING STOPPED BY THE POLICE FOR AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/6/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
I PURCHASED MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN USED ON AUGUST 30, 2012 WITH 987 MILES. APPROXIMATELY IN JUNE, 2013 THE CAR'S RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY OUT AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. IN NOVEMBER, 2013 THE CAR'S LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP WENT COMPLETELY AND I HAD A NEW TAIL LAMP INSTALLED FOR $408 + LABOR. NOW, MARCH 6, 2015 THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LAMP HAS GONE OUT AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP ON PAYING THESE EXPENSES WHEN I NOW KNOW THAT THIS IS A FORD PROBLEM AND DUE TO POOR ENGINEERING OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY AND BECAUSE IT HAS NOT BEEN RE-ENGINEERED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR. I RUN THE CHANCE OF BEING STOPPED BY THE POLICE FOR AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/3/2015 - MUSKEGON,, MI
THE ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST STEERING WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY AND A MESSAGE WOULD DISPLAY TO THAT EFFECT MOST OF THE TIME. SOMETIMES RESTARTING THE CAR WOULD MAKE IT WORK AND OTHER TIMES IT WOULD JUST START WORKING.THIS ONLY HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR WAS NOT ROLLING BUT WE COULD NOT TRUST IT AND HAD IT REPLACED, AT A COST OF $1789.00.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds