Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 401 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (157)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (67) Power Train (121) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (81) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (124) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - IRMO, SC
2010 MERCURY MILAN WITH 3.0 LITER V-6 BUILD DATE MARCH 2010. CAR WENT INTO LIMITED LIMP MODE WHILE IT WAS BEING DRIVEN AT LESS THAN 30 MPH. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON THREE OCCASIONS. EACH TIME THE ENGINE DROPS TO A ROUGH IDLE AT 500 TO 900 RPM AND THE "WRENCH" LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED. ENGINE DOES NOT RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUT. CAR SPEED DROPS DRASTICALLY BUT STEERING AND BRAKES APPEAR TO OPERATE NORMALLY. (ENGINE IS STILL RUNNING AN CLOSE TO NORMAL IDLE SPEEDS.) ENGINE DOES NOT PRODUCE ENOUGH POWER TO GO UP THE SLIGHTEST OF INCLINES. AFTER RESTARTING, THE ENGINE THE CONDITION CLEARS AND CAR DRIVES NORMALLY. PORTABLE OBDII SCAN TOOLS DO NOT INDICATE ANY DTC CODES. DEALER REPLACED THROTTLE BODY MECHANISM DUE TO AN INTERMITTENT SHORT IN THE POSITION SENSING CIRCUIT. DEALER KEPT OLD UNIT DUE TO CORE CHARGE. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN IN THAT UNDER MANY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS THE CAR MAY BE HIT FROM BEHIND OR UNABLE TO MOVE TO A SAFE SHOULDER OUT OF THE TRAFFIC FLOW.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
MY WIFE AND I OWN A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. ONE DAY LAST WEEK, AS MY WIFE WAS LEAVING WORK, THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER, SPUTTERED AND WAS NOT ABLE GO FASTER THAN 10 MPH. THE CAR WENT INTO THE "LIMP HOME" MODE. WE SUBSEQUENTLY TOOK THE CAR TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP WHERE THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS A "NETWORKING PROBLEM" AND WAS TOLD THAT THE THROTTLE BODY MUST BE REPLACED! NOW, I AM TOLD THAT THERE IS A NATIONWIDE SHORTAGE OF THIS PART AND IT WILL BE AT LEAST TWO WEEKS BEFORE THE PART WILL ARRIVE! THE DEALER ESTIMATES THAT THE REPAIR WILL COST $750. I RESPECTFULLY REQUEST THAT YOUR AGENCY ISSUE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES. I BELIEVE THAT THIS THROTTLE BODY DEFECT HAS PRODUCED A LIFE-SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED QUICKLY! THANK YOU. MAX A STEWART

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/26/2014 - RICHMOND, KY
DUE TO A DEFECTIVE CONNECTION BOTH OF MY TAIL LIGHTS ARE OUT IN MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE DEALER HAS TOLD ME THAT REPLACING THE WHOLE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY, AS THAT IS THE ONLY OPTION AT $400.00 A PIECE IS "NORMAL MAINTENANCE". WHEN I CONTACTED FORD I WAS TOLD THE SAME THING, THAT IT WAS NORMAL TO HAVE TO REPLACE TAIL LIGHTS. WHILE I AGREE, THESE ARE LED LIGHTS THAT HAVE A BAD CONNECTION AND FORD HAS HAD MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE. FORD REFUSES TO FIX AN ISSUE THAT HAD TO DO WITH DEFECTIVE PARTS, THE COST AND THE FORDS REFUSAL TO FIX THIS ISSUE, EQUATES TO HUGE SAFETY ISSUES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/11/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
MY SON WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED ON THE FREEWAY, WHICH PROMPTED MY INSPECTION OF OUR 2010 MERCURY MILAN. I FOUND THE BRAKE LIGHTS WORK AS THEY SHOULD IN DAYLIGHT. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS COME ON THOUGH, THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LIGHT SHOWS THE BRAKE LIGHTS INTENSITY 100% OF THE TIME, AND IS UNAFFECTED BY BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATION. LEFT REAR BRAKE/TAIL LIGHT, AND UPPER 3RD BRAKE LIGHT OPERATE NORMALLY. I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, ESPECIALLY AFTER RESEARCHING THIS LED LIGHT SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE SHOWS REPEATED WIDESPREAD INCIDENTS, EXACTLY AS I DESCRIBE. SOME PEOPLE REPORT BOTH LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONING. MY CONCERN IS THAT IT TAKES A THIRD PARTY TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR TAIL/BRAKE LIGHTS ARE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY, SO MOST OWNERS WONT KNOW THEY HAVE A PROBLEM. THIS COULD BE MORE COMMON TO THIS VEHICLE THAN IT ALREADY APPEARS TO BE. I ONLY PERSONALLY KNOW ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND THEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM ! ISSUE IS NOT CURRENTLY ACKNOWLEDGED BY FORD, PROBABLY BECAUSE IT IS A $400 LAMP THAT MUST BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/11/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
MY SON WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED ON THE FREEWAY, WHICH PROMPTED MY INSPECTION OF OUR 2010 MERCURY MILAN. I FOUND THE BRAKE LIGHTS WORK AS THEY SHOULD IN DAYLIGHT. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS COME ON THOUGH, THE RIGHT REAR TAIL LIGHT SHOWS THE BRAKE LIGHTS INTENSITY 100% OF THE TIME, AND IS UNAFFECTED BY BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATION. LEFT REAR BRAKE/TAIL LIGHT, AND UPPER 3RD BRAKE LIGHT OPERATE NORMALLY. I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, ESPECIALLY AFTER RESEARCHING THIS LED LIGHT SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE SHOWS REPEATED WIDESPREAD INCIDENTS, EXACTLY AS I DESCRIBE. SOME PEOPLE REPORT BOTH LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONING. MY CONCERN IS THAT IT TAKES A THIRD PARTY TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR TAIL/BRAKE LIGHTS ARE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY, SO MOST OWNERS WONT KNOW THEY HAVE A PROBLEM. THIS COULD BE MORE COMMON TO THIS VEHICLE THAN IT ALREADY APPEARS TO BE. I ONLY PERSONALLY KNOW ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND THEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM ! ISSUE IS NOT CURRENTLY ACKNOWLEDGED BY FORD, PROBABLY BECAUSE IT IS A $400 LAMP THAT MUST BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2014 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE DESPITE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BEING DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED BUT DID NOT HAVE A CLEAR DIAGNOSIS HOW IT FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH MY VEHICLE STALLED, LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME WITH THE WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. WAS ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE HOME AT 45MPH AND THE CAR BUCKED AND STALLED TWO TIMES. WILL BE CALLING FORD FOR REPAIR. LUCKILY I SIGNED UP FOR THE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE WHICH I WILL BE EXPLAINING TO THE TECH'S WHEN I BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THIS CAR AND OTHER CARS INVOLVED IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH MY VEHICLE STALLED, LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME WITH THE WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. WAS ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE HOME AT 45MPH AND THE CAR BUCKED AND STALLED TWO TIMES. WILL BE CALLING FORD FOR REPAIR. LUCKILY I SIGNED UP FOR THE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE WHICH I WILL BE EXPLAINING TO THE TECH'S WHEN I BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THIS CAR AND OTHER CARS INVOLVED IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH MY VEHICLE STALLED, LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME WITH THE WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. WAS ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE HOME AT 45MPH AND THE CAR BUCKED AND STALLED TWO TIMES. WILL BE CALLING FORD FOR REPAIR. LUCKILY I SIGNED UP FOR THE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE WHICH I WILL BE EXPLAINING TO THE TECH'S WHEN I BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THIS CAR AND OTHER CARS INVOLVED IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2014 - PEMBROKE, NC
I WAS TRAVELING AT NIGHT, AT A SPEED OF 30 MPH. I HEARD A BELL AND LOOKED AT MY DASH AND SAW A MESSAGE THAT SAID POWERTRAC SERVICE NOW. I PULLED OVER TO A PARKING LOT, RESTARTED MY CAR, AND AT THIS POINT.... THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING. THANK GOD MY HUSBAND WAS WITH ME. I COULDN'T EVEN TURN THE WHEEL MYSELF. I WAS LUCKY THAT OUR CHILDREN WERE NOT IN THE CAR. THERE IS TO MANY OF THESE SAME ISSUES LISTED WITHIN THE LAST MONTH. OH AND BY THE WAY, I HAD MY CAR SERVICED (AT THE DEALERSHIP) YESTERDAY AND WAS TOLD MY CAR WAS GREAT! WONDERING WHAT IN THE WORLD IS GOING ON .

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds