Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 422 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (159)
Electrical System (66) Exterior Lighting (78) Power Train (123) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (80) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (128) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/13/2014 - NORTH BAY VILLAGE, FL
THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS (55MPH) IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. RAPID DECELERATION AND MANY DASHBOARD LIGHTS CAME ON. I WAS ABLE TO CHANGE TO THE RIGHT LANE AND THEN BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP ON THE SHOULDER SAFELY, AVOIDING AN ACCIDENT, AS THE CAR WAS IN RAPID DECELERATION AND STEPPING ON THE GAS WAS UNRESPONSIVE. THERE WAS NO ACCELERATION, OR ENGINE NOISE OR RESPONSE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS PEDAL WHILE IN DRIVE POSITION AND THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION.I TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR SEVERAL MINUTES, WONDERING WHAT TO DO. I THEN TURNED THE KEY BACK ON, AND THE CAR WAS ABLE TO DRIVE. I TOOK SIDE ROADS HOME AND THEN SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT AT THE SELLING MANUFACTURER DEALERSHIP. THE DEFECT WAS IN THE THROTTLE BODY? THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE $500 REPAIR UNDER THE NEW VEHICLE WARRANTY (OUT ON TIME), THE $1700 EXTENDED WARRANTY I PURCHASED (NOT COVERED PART), THE EMISSIONS WARRANTY (NOT COVERED PART) OR THE HYBRID WARRANTY ( NOT COVERED PART), OR ANY RECALL, OR GOODWILL SERVICE PLAN OR SERVICE BULLETIN REPAIRS. THEN I FOUND OUT THERE WAS A SETTLEMENT WITH THE NHTSA FOR SIMILAR INCIDENTS THAT FORD AGREED TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY ON THE THROTTLE BODY FOR 150,000 MILES OR 10 YEARS. (THIS VEHICLE IS A 2010 WITH JUST OVER 20,000 MILES. THEY SAID IT IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE SETTLEMENT BECAUSE IT A HYBRID AND THEY WERE NOT INCLUDED IN THE SETTLEMENT. I THINK THAT THIS PREMATURE FAILURE OF AN ITEM THAT THEY WILL REPLACE IF DEFECTIVE IN 150,000 MILES OR TEN YEARS AS PART OF A SETTLEMENT TO AVOID A RECALL AND ASSOCIATED PUBLIC DISCLOSURE, SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE AGREEMENT. I HAVE THE PART FROM THE DEALER. EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE FEWER HYBRIDS ON THE ROAD AS A STATISTIC, IT ONLY TAKES ONE FAILURE TO CAUSE A TRAGIC RESULT. I CAN SEND THE PART FOR INVESTIGATION TO DETERMINE IF THERE WERE NOT ENOUGH SUPPLIERS AND PARTS IDENTIFIED PRIOR TO THE SETTLEMENT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/11/2014 - LINCOLN, NE
BACK TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY (LED PANEL) OF THE 2010 MILAN IS FAULTY. SOME LIGHTS WOULD NOT LIGHT UP AT ALL AND AT ONE POINT SOMEONE REPORTED NONE WERE LIGHTING UP. THE CAR WAS JUST OVER THE WARRANTY WITH ONLY 16,000 MILES. CHECKING ONLINE IT APPEARS THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND YEAR CAR AND MANY HAVE EXPERIENCED THE PROBLEM WITH LOW MILEAGE EVEN WITH REPLACEMENT PANELS (AT UPWARDS OF $400 FOR THE PART). SINCE IT IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR A DRIVER TO KNOW IF/WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE OR ARE NOT WORKING - IT IS A SERIOUS DANGER FOR ANYONE DRIVING BEHIND A MILAN. NHTSA SHOULD FORCE A RECALL OF THE PARTS BEFORE SOMEONE IS REAR ENDED AND KILLED. FORD AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS DO NOT CARE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/2/2014 - LAKE GENEVA, WI
I WAS MERGING ONTO A HIGHWAY GOING ABOUT 60 MPH. MY CAR SUDDENLY WENT INTO AN IDLE AND THE WRENCH ICON CAME ON IN THE INDICATOR DASH. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND NO VEHICLE WAS BEHIND ME. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND WAS THEN ABLE TO ACCELERATE. LATER IN THE DAY, I WAS AGAIN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 65 MPH. WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I THEN WENT DIRECTLY TO A FORD DEALER. THEY IMMEDIATELY KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND SAID FORD HAD EXTENDED THEIR WARRANTY ON THIS PROBLEM TO 120,000 MILES. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I AM SURE SOMEONE WILL AND PROBABLY HAVE BEEN FATALLY INJURED BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE.THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/2/2014 - LAKE GENEVA, WI
I WAS MERGING ONTO A HIGHWAY GOING ABOUT 60 MPH. MY CAR SUDDENLY WENT INTO AN IDLE AND THE WRENCH ICON CAME ON IN THE INDICATOR DASH. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND NO VEHICLE WAS BEHIND ME. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND WAS THEN ABLE TO ACCELERATE. LATER IN THE DAY, I WAS AGAIN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 65 MPH. WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I THEN WENT DIRECTLY TO A FORD DEALER. THEY IMMEDIATELY KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND SAID FORD HAD EXTENDED THEIR WARRANTY ON THIS PROBLEM TO 120,000 MILES. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I AM SURE SOMEONE WILL AND PROBABLY HAVE BEEN FATALLY INJURED BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE.THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/2/2014 - LAKE GENEVA, WI
I WAS MERGING ONTO A HIGHWAY GOING ABOUT 60 MPH. MY CAR SUDDENLY WENT INTO AN IDLE AND THE WRENCH ICON CAME ON IN THE INDICATOR DASH. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND NO VEHICLE WAS BEHIND ME. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND WAS THEN ABLE TO ACCELERATE. LATER IN THE DAY, I WAS AGAIN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 65 MPH. WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I THEN WENT DIRECTLY TO A FORD DEALER. THEY IMMEDIATELY KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND SAID FORD HAD EXTENDED THEIR WARRANTY ON THIS PROBLEM TO 120,000 MILES. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I AM SURE SOMEONE WILL AND PROBABLY HAVE BEEN FATALLY INJURED BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE.THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/2/2014 - LIVERPOOL, NY
WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS SWITCH IS IN THE ON OR PAKING LIGHTS ONLY, THE RIGHT AND LEFT BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON AT FULL BRIGHTNESS. WHEN BRAKES PEDAL IS DEPRESSED, THERE IS NO CHANGE IN BRIGHTNESS OF RIGHT AND LEFT BRAKE LIGHTS AND THE CENTER REAR BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATES. WHEN THIS WAS TAKEN IN FOR A REQUIRED NY STATE INSPECTION, THE VEHICLE FAILED DUE TO THIS ISSUE. THE MECHANIC WORKING ON THE VEHICLE HAS STATED THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. DEALER HAS BEEN CONTACTED AND STATED THE COST WOULD BE IN EXCESS OF $1,000 TO REPAIR THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT IS MOST LIKELY TO LEAD TO REAR END COLLISIONS AND IS COMMON IN SEVERAL DIFFERENT VEHICLES OF THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE RECALLING VEHICLES OF THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL TO REPAIR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/2/2014 - LIVERPOOL, NY
WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS SWITCH IS IN THE ON OR PAKING LIGHTS ONLY, THE RIGHT AND LEFT BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON AT FULL BRIGHTNESS. WHEN BRAKES PEDAL IS DEPRESSED, THERE IS NO CHANGE IN BRIGHTNESS OF RIGHT AND LEFT BRAKE LIGHTS AND THE CENTER REAR BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATES. WHEN THIS WAS TAKEN IN FOR A REQUIRED NY STATE INSPECTION, THE VEHICLE FAILED DUE TO THIS ISSUE. THE MECHANIC WORKING ON THE VEHICLE HAS STATED THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. DEALER HAS BEEN CONTACTED AND STATED THE COST WOULD BE IN EXCESS OF $1,000 TO REPAIR THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT IS MOST LIKELY TO LEAD TO REAR END COLLISIONS AND IS COMMON IN SEVERAL DIFFERENT VEHICLES OF THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE RECALLING VEHICLES OF THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL TO REPAIR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/27/2014 - CONWAY, SC
AFTER BEING TOLD ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS THAT OUR LEFT TAIL LIGHT AND BRAKE LIGHT WAS NOT WORKING, ON 5/19/14 OUR 2010 MILAN WAS TAKEN IN FOR ROUTINE MAINTENTANCE BY THE DEALER. AT THAT TIME,THEY WERE ASKED TO ADDRESS THE TAIL LIGHT AND BRAKE LIGHT PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAD 35,070 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AND ALTHOUGH THE NEW CAR WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED, WE HAD PURCHASED BOTH PREMIUM CARE AND ESP AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE TO THE TUNE OF OVER $2000. I WAS SHOCKED AND VERY ANGRY WHEN I WAS INFORMED THAT THE LEFT LED TAIL LIGHT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF OVER $400 AND IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER EITHER PROGRAM. SUBSEQUENTLY, IN CHECKING THE SMALL PRINT, I DISCOVERED THAT LED LIGHTS WERE INDEED EXCLUDED UNDER EITHER PROGRAM. CHECKING FURTHER, I FOUND THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF WHAT CERTAINLY APPEARS TO BE A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AND A SAFETY ISSUE REGARDING THE LED TAIL LIGHTS THE FORD DEALER SERVICE ADVISOR DID NOT SEEM BE SURPRISED AT MY OUTRAGE SINCE THIS SEEMINGLY IS A PROBLEM THAT HE EVIDENTLY HAS DEALT WITH BEFORE. NOW IT APPEARS MY RIGHT BRAKE LIGHT IS STAYING LIT AND DOES NOT FUNCTION WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED AND I COULD BE FACED WITH A $1000 REPAIR BILL. EVIDENTLY FORD IS GOING TO HAVE TO BE FORCED TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM. ONE COULD BE DRIVING ALONG WITHOUT KNOWING THEIR STOP/BRAKE LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING SINCE THERE IS NO VISUAL ALERT ON THE MESSAGE CENTER AND WONDER WHY THEY WERE SUDDENLY REAR-ENDED BY A FOLLOWING VEHICLE AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. BESIDES THE EXPENSE TO THE OWNER, THERE IS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED! THE LACK OF BRAKE LIGHTS COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS INJURY AND OR DEATH AND CONSIDERABLE DAMAGE. THE PROBLEM IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT IN MATERIALS IF NOT WORKMANSHIP AND THE COMPANY IS CLEARLY LIABLE. THE LIFE EXPECTANCY OF LED LIGHT STRIPS IS CERTAINLY MUCH LONGER THAN THE ORDINARY LIGHT BULB, SO WHAT IS GOING ON?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/26/2014 - BRITT, MN
BRAKE LIGHT FAILURE. CAR HAS LED BRAKE/TAIL LIGHTS. BRAKE LIGHT ON LEFT SIDE WOULD INTERMITTENTLY FLASH WHEN HEADLIGHTS ON. CHANGED COMPLETE TAILLIGHT. ($375) PROBLEM FIXED. 13 MONTHS LATER SAME BRAKE LIGHT FAILED, BRAKE LIGHT DOES NOT ILLUMINATE AT ALL. WIRING OK, NEEDS ANOTHER TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY. ANOTHER $375.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/20/2014 - CHARLESTOWN, NH
IN APRIL 2013 I NOTICED THAT MY LEFT BACK TAIL LIGHT WOULD GO OUT AND COME BACK ON INTERMITTENTLY. EVENTUALLY THE TAIL LIGHT STAYED ON, BUT IT WAS NOT A NORMAL TAIL LIGHT THE BRIGHTNESS INDICATED THAT IT WAS A BRAKE LIGHT. EVERY TIME I TURN ON MY LIGHTS THE BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATES AS A TAIL LIGHT. NOW MARCH 2014 MY BRAKE LIGHT IN MY BACK WINDOW WENT OUT. I REPLACED THE BULB IN THIS LIGHT. TWO WEEKS AGO MAY 2014 MY TAIL LIGHT ON THE RIGHT SIDE WENT OUT AND WHEN I USED MY BRAKES THE RIGHT BRAKE WOULD BLINK LIKE A BLINKER. CURRENTLY TODAY. I HAVE A TAIL LIGHT ON THE LEFT THAT IS AS BRIGHT AS THE BRAKE, WHEN THE TAIL LIGHTS ARE ON I DON'T HAVE A BRAKE LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE OFF THE BRAKE LIGHT WORKS. ON THE RIGHT SIDE I DO NOT HAVE A TAIL LIGHT OR A BRAKE LIGHT. SO WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE ON, I HAVE ONE TAIL LIGHT OUT COMPLETELY. WHEN I HAVE MY TAIL LIGHTS ON THE ONLY BRAKE LIGHT I HAVE IS IN THE BACK WINDOW. I CALLED TODAY ABOUT REPLACEMENTS AND WAS QUOTED $376.20 A PIECE! THAT IS ONLY THE PART. I DID HAVE AN ELECTRICIAN FRIEND COME OUT AND TEST THE WIRING AND NOPE NOT THE WIRING, IT IS ALL IN THE LIGHT. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO GET THIS FIXED. FORD NEEDS TO STEP UP! THIS IS THE 6TH FORD WE HAVE HAD. THIS IS THE ONLY ISSUE I HAVE EVER HAD. IF FORD DOES NOT TAKE REASONABILITY I WILL BE TRADING IT IN FOR A TOYOTA!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds