Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 388 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (157)
Electrical System (61) Exterior Lighting (58) Power Train (119) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (81) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (122) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH MY VEHICLE STALLED, LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES EACH TIME WITH THE WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. WAS ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE HOME AT 45MPH AND THE CAR BUCKED AND STALLED TWO TIMES. WILL BE CALLING FORD FOR REPAIR. LUCKILY I SIGNED UP FOR THE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE WHICH I WILL BE EXPLAINING TO THE TECH'S WHEN I BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THIS CAR AND OTHER CARS INVOLVED IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2014 - PEMBROKE, NC
I WAS TRAVELING AT NIGHT, AT A SPEED OF 30 MPH. I HEARD A BELL AND LOOKED AT MY DASH AND SAW A MESSAGE THAT SAID POWERTRAC SERVICE NOW. I PULLED OVER TO A PARKING LOT, RESTARTED MY CAR, AND AT THIS POINT.... THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING. THANK GOD MY HUSBAND WAS WITH ME. I COULDN'T EVEN TURN THE WHEEL MYSELF. I WAS LUCKY THAT OUR CHILDREN WERE NOT IN THE CAR. THERE IS TO MANY OF THESE SAME ISSUES LISTED WITHIN THE LAST MONTH. OH AND BY THE WAY, I HAD MY CAR SERVICED (AT THE DEALERSHIP) YESTERDAY AND WAS TOLD MY CAR WAS GREAT! WONDERING WHAT IN THE WORLD IS GOING ON .

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/13/2014 - NEWTON, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE BRAKE LIGHT CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED ON A DIFFERENT OCCASION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE THROTTLE BODY AND RADIATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHO FOUND THAT THE TAIL LIGHT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/9/2014 - BRIGHTON, MI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AT ABOUT 60 MPH WHEN MY CAR SUDDENLY LOST ALL DRIVE POWER WITHOUT WARNING. I MANAGED TO COAST TO THE SNOW-COVERED RIGHT SHOULDER. WHEN I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, IT WAS SHUDDERING AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. I TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR A MINUTE AND THEN TURNED IT BACK ON. THE CAR SEEMED TO DRIVE OK THEN, BUT I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND LEARNED THAT THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES INDICATED A FAILURE IN THE THROTTLE BODY. IF THIS IS A FAULTY PART IT SHOULD BE RECALLED. I FEEL I WAS LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO GET MY DISABLED CAR OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT INCIDENT. THE NEXT PERSON MAY NOT BE SO FORTUNATE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/7/2014 - LADY LAKE, FL
THE CONTACTS OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH HE HEARD AUDIO SIGNALS. THERE WERE WARNING INDICATOR LIGHTS ILLUMINATED THAT STATED CHECK BRAKE SYSTEM, ABS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER SYSTEM AND THE BRAKE MECHANISM HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,250.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/3/2014 - OFALLON, MO
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 50MPH WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY STARTED TO LOSE POWER AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE--CAR WAS COASTING. THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AT THE SAME TIME AS WELL. I TURNED ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. THE CAR STARTED TO SPUTTER AS IT SLOWED DOWN AND EVENTUALLY LOST ALL POWER/STOPPED. I TURNED THE CAR OFF, AND WAS ABLE TO START BACK UP AGAIN...VERY CONFUSING AND ANNOYING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/30/2013 - WEST BURLINGTON, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE BRAKE LIGHT FAILED. THE CONTACT FOUND OUT THE BRAKE AND TAIL LIGHTS WERE FAULTY BY BEING STOPPED BY A SHERIFF. A REPAIR SHOP INFORMED HER, THE COMPUTER CHIP IN THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 44,000. UPDATED 02/11/14

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/27/2013 - CARLSBAD, CA
WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE ON (AT NIGHT), THE REAR LIGHTS ARE CONTINUOUSLY AT THEIR HIGHEST BRIGHTNESS, AS IF THE BRAKES WERE PRESSED DOWN. SO, IT APPEARS THAT THE BRAKES ARE ON CONTINUOUSLY. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL IS PRESSED DOWN IS THAT THE CENTRAL LIGHT HIGH UP ON THE TRUNK TURNS ON. THIS IS ONLY AN ISSUE AT NIGHT- DURING THE DAY THE BRAKE LIGHTS FUNCTION NORMALLY. BASED ON INTERNET FORUMS AT EDMUNDS AND CONSUMER REPORTS, AMONG OTHERS, I HAVE FOUND AT LEAST 10 OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM WITH 2010 MERCURY MILANS, MOST WITH LOW MILEAGE: E.G. HTTP://FORUMS.CONSUMERREPORTS.ORG/N/PFX/FORUM.ASPX?NAV=MESSAGES&TSN=1&WEBTAG=CR-38AUJOHN&TID=5115 ; HTTP://WWW.EDMUNDS.COM/MERCURY/MILAN/2010/CONSUMER-DISCUSSIONS.HTML. MY CAR HAS ONLY 15,000 MILES ON IT. THIS CLEARLY APPEARS TO BE A FACTORY WIRING DEFECT, AND ONE THAT IS NOT IMMEDIATELY OBVIOUS WHEN THE CAR IS PURCHASED (WE ONLY FOUND OUT ABOUT IT WHEN SOMEONE WE KNEW WAS FOLLOWING OUR CAR AT NIGHT, THREE MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE OF THE CAR). THE FIX, ACCORDING TO FORD, IS TO REPLACE BOTH TAIL LIGHTS, AT A COST OF $1000. FORD REFUSES TO HELP PAY FOR THE REPAIRS OR ACKNOWLEDGE THE DEFECT. GIVEN THE OBVIOUS SAFETY IMPLICATIONS OF CONTINUOUSLY ACTIVE BRAKE LIGHTS, THE DOCUMENTED RECORD OF THE DEFECT, AND THE NON-OBVIOUS NATURE OF THE PROBLEM (MANY PEOPLE MAY BE DRIVING AROUND WITH THIS PROBLEM WITHOUT REALIZING IT), NHTSA NEEDS TO PRESS FORD TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE DEFECT AND PERFORM A RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2013 - CARLSBAD, CA
WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE ON (AT NIGHT), THE REAR LIGHTS ARE CONTINUOUSLY AT THEIR HIGHEST BRIGHTNESS, AS IF THE BRAKES WERE PRESSED DOWN. SO, IT APPEARS THAT THE BRAKES ARE ON CONTINUOUSLY. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL IS PRESSED DOWN IS THAT THE CENTRAL LIGHT HIGH UP ON THE TRUNK TURNS ON. THIS IS ONLY AN ISSUE AT NIGHT- DURING THE DAY THE BRAKE LIGHTS FUNCTION NORMALLY. BASED ON INTERNET FORUMS AT EDMUNDS AND CONSUMER REPORTS, AMONG OTHERS, I HAVE FOUND AT LEAST 10 OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM WITH 2010 MERCURY MILANS, MOST WITH LOW MILEAGE: E.G. HTTP://FORUMS.CONSUMERREPORTS.ORG/N/PFX/FORUM.ASPX?NAV=MESSAGES&TSN=1&WEBTAG=CR-38AUJOHN&TID=5115 ; HTTP://WWW.EDMUNDS.COM/MERCURY/MILAN/2010/CONSUMER-DISCUSSIONS.HTML. MY CAR HAS ONLY 15,000 MILES ON IT. THIS CLEARLY APPEARS TO BE A FACTORY WIRING DEFECT, AND ONE THAT IS NOT IMMEDIATELY OBVIOUS WHEN THE CAR IS PURCHASED (WE ONLY FOUND OUT ABOUT IT WHEN SOMEONE WE KNEW WAS FOLLOWING OUR CAR AT NIGHT, THREE MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE OF THE CAR). THE FIX, ACCORDING TO FORD, IS TO REPLACE BOTH TAIL LIGHTS, AT A COST OF $1000. FORD REFUSES TO HELP PAY FOR THE REPAIRS OR ACKNOWLEDGE THE DEFECT. GIVEN THE OBVIOUS SAFETY IMPLICATIONS OF CONTINUOUSLY ACTIVE BRAKE LIGHTS, THE DOCUMENTED RECORD OF THE DEFECT, AND THE NON-OBVIOUS NATURE OF THE PROBLEM (MANY PEOPLE MAY BE DRIVING AROUND WITH THIS PROBLEM WITHOUT REALIZING IT), NHTSA NEEDS TO PRESS FORD TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE DEFECT AND PERFORM A RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/23/2013 - KANSAS CITY , MO
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 60MPH WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY STALLED AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AT THE SAME TIME AS WELL. I TURNED ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. THE CAR STARTED TO SHAKE A LOT AS IT SLOWED DOWN. I TURNED THE CAR OFF, AND WAS ABLE TO START BACK UP AGAIN. THE VERY NEXT MORNING WHILE TRAVELING A 50MPH ON A DIFFERENT HIGHWAY THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC RUN ON THE CAR AS I HAD NO IDEA WHY IT WAS STOPPING. AS I WAS ABOUT TO TURN INTO THE DEALERSHIP TRAVELING AT 25MPH IT STALLED AGAIN. THE RESULT OF THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS THERE WAS A CODE STORED IN SYSTEM OF THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY. IT WAS GIVING A CODE FOR BEING STUCK OPEN WHEN IT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN. IT WAS A FAILED COMPONENT. AFTER FURTHER INTERNET RESEARCH THERE IS AN OPEN NHTSA INVESTIGATION ACTION NUMBER PE13003 (HTTP://WWW-ODI.NHTSA.DOT.GOV/CARS/PROBLEMS/DEFECT/RESULTS.CFM?ACTION_NUMBER=PE13003&SEARCHTYPE=QUICKSEARCH&SUMMARY=TRUE) FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. I WOULD LIKE MY VEHICLE TO BE ADDED TO THE INVESTIGATION AS THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY DEFECT WITH MY VEHICLE THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED ME BODILY HARM OR DEATH. IT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AND THE PART RECALLED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds