Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 373 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (54) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (155)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (48) Power Train (117) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (119) Fuel Propulsion System (81) Service Brakes (9) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/25/2013 - HINESVILLE, GA
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY THROUGH TOWN AND VEHICLE DIED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET CAUSING ME TO NARROWLY AVOID AN ACCIDENT WITH MY THREE SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION OF THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY, I DISCOVERED THAT THE PROBLEM IS A $20.00-$60.00 ELECTRIC MOTOR THAT FORD USES TO RUN THE THROTTLE BODY THE THROTTLE BODY IS NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO DO THE JOB FOR A VERY LONG PERIOD OF TIME CAUSING THE THROTTLE BODY TO GO OUT AT AROUND 50000 - 60000 MILES. I WAS A MECHANIC FOR FORD FOR 7 YEARS BEFORE JOINING THE ARMY AND HAVE SEEN THIS ISSUE WITH THIS EXACT MODEL THROTTLE BODY PLENTY OF TIMES. FORD COULD EASILY SELL THE REPLACEMENT ELECTRIC MOTOR FOR THE PRICE LISTED ABOVE, BUT INSTEAD THEY PREFER TO PRICE GOUGE THEIR CUSTOMERS BY FORCING THEM TO PAY OVER $200.00 FOR THE WHOLE NEW THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY. ALSO ACCORDING TO OUR LOCAL FORD PARTS DEALER IT IS SUCH A COMMON PART THAT NEEDS REPLACED THAT THE KEEP 3-4 ON HAND AT ALL TIMES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/25/2013 - FORT MYERS, FL
VEHICLE IS RANDOMLY STALLING OUT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON. IT STARTS VIBRATING AND MAKING CLUNKING NOISE. IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY WHETHER SITTING AT A LIGHT TAKING OFF OR DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS. THIS CAR IS LITERALLY FALLING APART AND I HAVEN'T EVEN OWNED IT A YEAR. I WOULD NEVER BUY ANOTHER MERCURY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2013 - FORT MYERS, FL
VEHICLE IS RANDOMLY STALLING OUT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON. IT STARTS VIBRATING AND MAKING CLUNKING NOISE. IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY WHETHER SITTING AT A LIGHT TAKING OFF OR DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS. THIS CAR IS LITERALLY FALLING APART AND I HAVEN'T EVEN OWNED IT A YEAR. I WOULD NEVER BUY ANOTHER MERCURY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2013 - RALEIGH, NC
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, FELT A JERK IN THE ENGINE, AND WAS NO LONGER ABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN AND ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS (LIGHTS, RADIO, ETC.) WERE OPERATIONAL, BUT THE CAR WOULD ONLY DECREASE SPEED SO I STOPPED THE CAR ON THE SHOULDER. I NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE STUTTERED CONSIDERABLY WHILE IDLING AND WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE THROTTLE. THE WRENCH WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD. I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK. THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER ARRIVED AFTER 20 MINUTES AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR ONTO THE FLATBED. SOME ABILITY TO DRIVE FORWARD HAD RETURNED BUT I WAS WARY. I HAD THE CAR TRANSPORTED TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN IDENTIFIED THE THROTTLE BODY AS THE CULPRIT ($425 TO REPAIR). I'VE LEARNED SUBSEQUENT TO MY EXPERIENCE THAT THIS PROBLEM IS QUITE COMMON WITH 2009 - 2011 MERCURY MILANS. THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIR IS COVERED FOR 2 YEARS. I'M CONCERNED THAT THIS PROBLEM MAY REPEAT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/25/2013 - RALEIGH, NC
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, FELT A JERK IN THE ENGINE, AND WAS NO LONGER ABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN AND ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS (LIGHTS, RADIO, ETC.) WERE OPERATIONAL, BUT THE CAR WOULD ONLY DECREASE SPEED SO I STOPPED THE CAR ON THE SHOULDER. I NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE STUTTERED CONSIDERABLY WHILE IDLING AND WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE THROTTLE. THE WRENCH WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD. I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK. THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER ARRIVED AFTER 20 MINUTES AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR ONTO THE FLATBED. SOME ABILITY TO DRIVE FORWARD HAD RETURNED BUT I WAS WARY. I HAD THE CAR TRANSPORTED TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN IDENTIFIED THE THROTTLE BODY AS THE CULPRIT ($425 TO REPAIR). I'VE LEARNED SUBSEQUENT TO MY EXPERIENCE THAT THIS PROBLEM IS QUITE COMMON WITH 2009 - 2011 MERCURY MILANS. THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIR IS COVERED FOR 2 YEARS. I'M CONCERNED THAT THIS PROBLEM MAY REPEAT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/24/2013 - QUINCY, MA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, ON MY WAY HOME WHEN MY CAR SEEMED LIKED IT STALLED. THE WRENCH IMAGE ON THE DASH BOARD APPEARED, AND I COASTED MY CAR OFF OF THE HIGHWAY BECAUSE I WAS COMING UP TO AN EXIT. ONCE MY CAR SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 10-15 MPH THE CAR SEEMED LIKE IT WAS ACTUALLY JUMPING, OR BUCKING AND TRYING TO DRIVE AT A VERY SLOW PACE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND SHUT THE CARE OFF. I RESTARTED THE CAR, AND THE SAMETHING HAPPENED WITH THE MOTOR RUNNING ROUGH, AND THE IMAGE OF THE WRENCH ON MY DASH APPEARING. I SHUT THE CAR OFF AGAIN, AND LET IT SIT FOR A COUPLE OF MINUTES, AND RESTARTED THE CAR WHILE HOLDING THE THROTTLE DOWN, AND THE CAR SEEMED TO FUNCTION FINE AFTER THAT. THIS ALSO HAPPENED THE NEXT DAY ON MY WAY TO WORK SAME EXACT SCENARIO JUST A DIFFERENT PLACE ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/24/2013 - QUINCY, MA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, ON MY WAY HOME WHEN MY CAR SEEMED LIKED IT STALLED. THE WRENCH IMAGE ON THE DASH BOARD APPEARED, AND I COASTED MY CAR OFF OF THE HIGHWAY BECAUSE I WAS COMING UP TO AN EXIT. ONCE MY CAR SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 10-15 MPH THE CAR SEEMED LIKE IT WAS ACTUALLY JUMPING, OR BUCKING AND TRYING TO DRIVE AT A VERY SLOW PACE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND SHUT THE CARE OFF. I RESTARTED THE CAR, AND THE SAMETHING HAPPENED WITH THE MOTOR RUNNING ROUGH, AND THE IMAGE OF THE WRENCH ON MY DASH APPEARING. I SHUT THE CAR OFF AGAIN, AND LET IT SIT FOR A COUPLE OF MINUTES, AND RESTARTED THE CAR WHILE HOLDING THE THROTTLE DOWN, AND THE CAR SEEMED TO FUNCTION FINE AFTER THAT. THIS ALSO HAPPENED THE NEXT DAY ON MY WAY TO WORK SAME EXACT SCENARIO JUST A DIFFERENT PLACE ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/22/2013 - PFAFFTOWN, NC
CAR IDLE AT STOP SIGN, ACCELERATED INTO HIGHWAYS TO MAKE A LEFT TURN, LOSS OF POWER, ENGINE ACCELERATING, BUT CAR MOVING VERY SLOWLY, STALLED. I PULLED THE CAR OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR A FEW MINUTES LATER, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HOME WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. THEN, A FEW DAYS LATER, AS I WAS ON THE WAY TO FLOW AUTO IN WINSTON-SALEM, NC, ABOUT 6 MILES FROM MY HOME, THE CAR STALLED DURING ANOTHER LEFT HAND TURN FROM A STOPLIGHT. I PURCHASED THIS CAR LESS THAN 3 MONTHS AGO. IT HAD 36,205 MILES ON IT AT PURCHASE. FLOW AUTO SAYS THE PROBLEM IS THE THROTTLE DRIVE AND IT ISN'T COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. WITHIN 90 DAYS OF PURCHASE, I HAVE TO PAY $662 FOR A REPAIR THAT HAS BEEN REPORTED THOUSANDS OF TIMES BY OWNERS OF FORD FOCUS AND MERCURY MILAN OWNERS, SINCE THE CAR WAS PRODUCED.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2013 - PFAFFTOWN, NC
CAR IDLE AT STOP SIGN, ACCELERATED INTO HIGHWAYS TO MAKE A LEFT TURN, LOSS OF POWER, ENGINE ACCELERATING, BUT CAR MOVING VERY SLOWLY, STALLED. I PULLED THE CAR OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR A FEW MINUTES LATER, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HOME WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. THEN, A FEW DAYS LATER, AS I WAS ON THE WAY TO FLOW AUTO IN WINSTON-SALEM, NC, ABOUT 6 MILES FROM MY HOME, THE CAR STALLED DURING ANOTHER LEFT HAND TURN FROM A STOPLIGHT. I PURCHASED THIS CAR LESS THAN 3 MONTHS AGO. IT HAD 36,205 MILES ON IT AT PURCHASE. FLOW AUTO SAYS THE PROBLEM IS THE THROTTLE DRIVE AND IT ISN'T COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. WITHIN 90 DAYS OF PURCHASE, I HAVE TO PAY $662 FOR A REPAIR THAT HAS BEEN REPORTED THOUSANDS OF TIMES BY OWNERS OF FORD FOCUS AND MERCURY MILAN OWNERS, SINCE THE CAR WAS PRODUCED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2013 - KNOXVILLE, TN
SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION OR ABILITY TO DRIVE. IMMEDIATE DISPLAY OF ICON SHOWING MECHANICAL PROBLEM. TOWED TO DEALER, WHERE THROTTLE BODY FAILURE WAS DIAGNOSED. THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED ON A TREACHEROUS STRETCH OF I-40 ENTERING NORTH CAROLINA, WHERE SHOULDER IS VERY NARROW, AND WE BARELY ESCAPED INJURY AND/OR DEATH.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds