Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2174 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (114) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (115) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (11) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (268)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (26) Visibility (12)
Engine (63) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (201) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 239
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/19/2016 - SAN CLEMENTE, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
OIL WARNING SYSTEM CAME ON 4-20-16. OIL CHANGE NOT DUE FOR ANOTHER 1000 MILES. GARAGE CHANGED OIL AT 95188 MILES. LESS THAN 4 MONTHS LATER ON AUG. 9,2016, OIL WARNING SYSTEM CAME ON. I WATCHED AS 3 QUARTS OF OIL WERE ADDED AT MILEAGE 99712, 4524 MILES LATER. PRIUS IS USING 1 QUART OF OIL FOR EVERY 1500 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/15/2016 - ASHVILLE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS) WAS RECEIVED IN AUGUST OF 2016. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE GIVEN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2016 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
DRIVING ON A EXTREMELY ROUGH STREET, MY CAR JERKED TO THE LEFT. I TRIED BRAKING, BUT UNMOVABLE OBJECTS (STREET SIGN AND PHONE JUNCTION BOX) PROVIDED THE STOP. AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, BUT FORCE OF CAR PUSHED ME HARD INTO THE STEERING WHEEL. I HAD MY SAFETY BELT ON, PLUS BACK BRACE. EMTS NOTED 60% O2, IN ICU ON RESPIRATOR FOR A WEEK, HOSPITAL FOR 2 WKS. DISTINCTLY, I REMEMBER THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED TO THE LEFT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/15/2016 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
DRIVING ON A EXTREMELY ROUGH STREET, MY CAR JERKED TO THE LEFT. I TRIED BRAKING, BUT UNMOVABLE OBJECTS (STREET SIGN AND PHONE JUNCTION BOX) PROVIDED THE STOP. AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, BUT FORCE OF CAR PUSHED ME HARD INTO THE STEERING WHEEL. I HAD MY SAFETY BELT ON, PLUS BACK BRACE. EMTS NOTED 60% O2, IN ICU ON RESPIRATOR FOR A WEEK, HOSPITAL FOR 2 WKS. DISTINCTLY, I REMEMBER THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED TO THE LEFT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/13/2016 - STANLEY, NC
OVER THE PAST THREE WEEKS I HAVE NOTICED THE CHECK MAJOR SYSTEM LIGHT FLICKERING WHEN TURNING TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT OR COMING TO A SUDDEN STOP. I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE 80,000 MILE CHECK AND TOLD THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN WHAT I HAD SEEN. HE TOLD ME HE COULD TELL ME WHAT THE ISSUE WAS WITHOUT LOOKING AT THE CAR. HE SAID THE CAR WAS BURNING EXCESSIVE OIL, THE ISSUE HAS BEEN REPORTED TO TOYOTA AND HE WOULD FILE A CASE WITH THEM FOR ME. HE ALSO TOLD ME THE COST WAS ABOUT $3000 TO FIX THE PROBLEM, THAT I MAY OR MAY NOT HEAR BACK FROM TOYOTA ABOUT THIS. WHEN THEY FINISHED SERVICING MY CAR THE TECHNICIAN TOLD ME THEY HAD ADDED EXTRA OIL TO TOP IT OFF. THIS IS THE FIRST TOYOTA I HAVE OWNED. I BOUGHT IT NEW AND HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE WITH IT. I HAVE TAKEN IT IN FOR EVERY MAINTENANCE CHECK. I WAS DISAPPOINTED THAT TOYOTA KNOWS ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND HAS DONE NOTHING TO NOTIFY OWNERS OF THE ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/12/2016 - LAYTON, UT
WHILE ACCELERATING ON A HIGHWAY GOING FROM THE RIGHT LANE TO A LEFT LANE WITH MY TWO YOUNG CHILDREN IN THE CAR, I GOT A" CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM" ON THE SCREEN. WHICH MADE THE CAR UNABLE TO ACCELERATE, ALL I COULD DO WAS TO PUT MY HAZARDS ON AND PULL THRU 3 LANES OF HIGH SPEED CARS TO GET TO A BREAKDOWN LANE NEXT TO AN ON RAMP, SO I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE 4 LANE HIGHWAY AND 2 LANE ON RAMP. I THEN GOT MY KIDS OUT AND RAN ACROSS THE ON RAMP TO PUT THEM ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CONCRETE BARRIER FOR PROTECTION. THEN I WENT BACK TO THE CAR TO GATHER WATERS AND FOOD BECAUSE IT WAS 90 DEGREES OUT IN UTAH, I WAITED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD FOR 30 MINUTES UNTIL A TOW TRUCK CAME. I AM VERY VERY UPSET ABOUT THIS BECAUSE IT COULD'VE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT AND ALSO PUT OUR LIVES AT STAKE FROM POSSIBLE RE END.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/9/2016 - CONWAY, AR
MY LOW BEAN HEADLIGHTS KEEP BURNING OUT ON MY PRIUS. I HAVE REPLACED THEM WITH OEM REPLACEMENT BULBS AND OTHER HIGH QUALITY AFTER MARKET BULBS AND NO MATTER WHICH ONE IT IS IT CONTINUES TO BURN OUT. THEY CONTINUALLY BURN OUT AFTER VERY LITTLE USE AND IN A VERY SHORT TIME FRAME. I MAKE SURE I FOLLOW THE RECOMMENDED HANDLING AND INSTALLATION PROCEDURES TO ENSURE I DON'T COMPROMISE OR WRONGLY INSTALL THE BULBS. THIS IS A MAJOR HAZARD WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. I NEVER KNOW WHEN MY HEADLIGHTS ARE GOING TO FAIL. THIS HAS OCCURRED AT NIGHT AND IN WEATHER WHERE HEADLIGHTS WERE NEEDED. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD AND FROM READING FORUMS, THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY TOYOTA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2016 - LITTLE ROCK, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL REQUIRED TO BE DEPRESSED SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO COME TO A STOP. THE ABS, THE TRACTION CONTROL, AND THE BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 159,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2016 - RICHLAND, WA
EXCESS OIL CONSUMPTION AT 93,000 MILES. THE TOYOTA DEALER HAS TOLD ME THAT IT WILL COST $13,000 TO REPLACE THE ENGINE AND THAT IS MY ONLY OPTION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 239
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds