Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2203 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (119) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (67) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (210) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2017 - EDMOND, OK
BOTH FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOOR MOTORS HAVE WENT OUT. THUS HAPPENED LAST YEAR AND AFTER FURTHER READING IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH ALL THEM. WE ONLY HAVE 65,000 MILES ON THIS CAR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/17/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE MIDDLE AT TIMES AND THE SEAT BELT DIRECTLY BEHIND THE DRIVER DO NO STAY IN AND LOCK. I HAVE TAKEN IT BACK UP TO CARMAX WHERE I PURCHASED IT AND THE GUY SAID, "OH THE KIDS HAD SOME CANDY IN IT" HAHAHAHAHA NO SIR THATS WHERE MY ELDERLY MOTHER SITS WHEN I DRIVE HERE AROUND TOWN TO DO HER SHOPPING. I WAS VERY UNIMPRESSED THAT THEY DIDNT FIX SUCH A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

ENGINE

7/15/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE ENGINE IS NOW BURNING OIL AND MUST BE REPLACED. TOYOTA IS QUOTING ME OVER 3,000 IN PARTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/13/2017 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. ALL OF A SUDDEN BRAKE, ABS AND SUCTION TRACTION LIGHT TURNED ON. AFTER THAT I HAVE TO PUSH MY BRAKE HARDER TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT BACK HOME SAFELY. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER WHO SAID I NEED TO REPLACE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER WITH BRAKE BOOSTER. DOING RESEARCH I FOUND MANY OWNERS OF THE SAME MODEL CAR HAVE SAME PROBLEM AND SOME OF THE CARS ARE RECALLED BUT NOT ALL. I BELIEVE MOST OF 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS CAR HAVE ISSUES WITH BRAKE SYSTEM WHICH IS BAD FOR OUR SAFETY. IT CAN CAUSE SERIOUS HARM FOR OUR SAFETY. I REQUEST YOUR GOOD DEPARTMENT TO INVESTIGATE THE BRAKING ISSUES FOR 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS VEHICLE. AS A GOOD CITIZEN OF THE COUNTRY, I FELT I NEED TO DISCUSS THIS ISSUE WITH YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/13/2017 - CHINI HILLS, CA
ABS BRAKE LIGHT STAYS ON ALL TIME.REAR WHEEL GETS EXTREMELY HOT,

View Details

ENGINE

7/10/2017 - WEST BRANCH, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL EXCESSIVELY AND THE SERVICE VEHICLE WARNING INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THERE WAS ALSO AN ABNORMAL RATTLING NOISE WHEN IDLING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LABADIE TOYOTA (LOCATED AT 909 N EUCLID AVE BAY CITY, MI 48706) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTON RINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 1707100976, BUT DID NOT OFFER ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 296,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/27/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ATA RECALL I WAS INVOLVED IN A MAJOR CAR ACCIDENT DURING LUNCH HOUR ON THE 405 SOUTH FWY IN LOS ANGELES, CA. I WAS STRUCK BY A SEMI TRUCK WHO WAS MERGING INTO MY LANE AND WHILE I TRIED TO GET OUT OF HIS WAY BY SPEEDING UP. I WAS CLIPPED BY THE TRUCK AND MY CAR CAREENED INFRONT OF THE TRUCK AND WAS PUSHED BEFORE HE APPLIED HIS BRAKES. MY CAR THEN SPUN OUT OF CONTROL ACROSS ALL FWY LANES. I WAS HIT BY TWO OTHER ON COMING CARS BEFORE COMING TO A STOP IN THE CARPOOL LANE. ALL CARS INCLUDING THE TRUCK WERE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65-70 MPH BASED ON THE POLICE REPORT. MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS THE ENTIRE TIME AS I SPUN OUT OF CONTROL. MY COMPLAINT IS REGARDING THE AIRBAGS. NONE OF THE SIDE OR FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AT THE TIME OF ALL IMPACTS. I HAD THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDANT INSPECTION COMPANY AFTER CONTACTING TOYOTA. I HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK FROM TOYOTA EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HAD THE REPORT FOR ALMOST TWO MONTHS. I FINALLY RECEIVED THE REPORT FROM THE INSPECTOR AFTER THREATNING TO HAVE MY ATTORNEY CONTACT THEM. I DON'T KNOW HOW TO READ THE FINDINGS OF THE REPORT SINCE ITS ALL TECHNICAL ENGINEERING. I AM ATTACHING THE REPORT AND HOPE THAT SOMEONE IN YOUR DEPARTMENT CAN REVIEW IT AND FOLLOWUP. THANK YOU

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/27/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ATA RECALL I WAS INVOLVED IN A MAJOR CAR ACCIDENT DURING LUNCH HOUR ON THE 405 SOUTH FWY IN LOS ANGELES, CA. I WAS STRUCK BY A SEMI TRUCK WHO WAS MERGING INTO MY LANE AND WHILE I TRIED TO GET OUT OF HIS WAY BY SPEEDING UP. I WAS CLIPPED BY THE TRUCK AND MY CAR CAREENED INFRONT OF THE TRUCK AND WAS PUSHED BEFORE HE APPLIED HIS BRAKES. MY CAR THEN SPUN OUT OF CONTROL ACROSS ALL FWY LANES. I WAS HIT BY TWO OTHER ON COMING CARS BEFORE COMING TO A STOP IN THE CARPOOL LANE. ALL CARS INCLUDING THE TRUCK WERE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65-70 MPH BASED ON THE POLICE REPORT. MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS THE ENTIRE TIME AS I SPUN OUT OF CONTROL. MY COMPLAINT IS REGARDING THE AIRBAGS. NONE OF THE SIDE OR FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AT THE TIME OF ALL IMPACTS. I HAD THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDANT INSPECTION COMPANY AFTER CONTACTING TOYOTA. I HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK FROM TOYOTA EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HAD THE REPORT FOR ALMOST TWO MONTHS. I FINALLY RECEIVED THE REPORT FROM THE INSPECTOR AFTER THREATNING TO HAVE MY ATTORNEY CONTACT THEM. I DON'T KNOW HOW TO READ THE FINDINGS OF THE REPORT SINCE ITS ALL TECHNICAL ENGINEERING. I AM ATTACHING THE REPORT AND HOPE THAT SOMEONE IN YOUR DEPARTMENT CAN REVIEW IT AND FOLLOWUP. THANK YOU

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
ALL BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON (BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL) AND POWER ASSIST BREAKING STOPS WORKING AND BRAKES FEEL VERY WEAK. BRAKE ACTUATOR RUNS FREQUENTLY WHEN LIGHTS ARE NOT ON. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ONLINE AND TOYOTA CLAIMED THEY FIXED THIS ISSUE IN 2009 AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR 2009 AND EARLIER, BUT THE PROBLEM IS CLEARLY NOT FIXED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/19/2017 - HEMET, CA
REAR WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR WOULD NOT TURN OFF, EVEN AFTER THE FUSE WAS PULLED. THE DEALER SAID IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR. THIS OCCURRED WHEN THE CAR WAS TURNED ON AND STOPPED WHEN THE CAR WAS TURNED OFF. THE NORMAL WIPER CONTROLS ON THE WIPER COLUMN DID NOT WORK. CHARGE TO REPLACE IT WAS $500.00

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds