Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2269 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (127) Power Train (66) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (59)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seat Belts (12) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (81) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (245) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 247
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/6/2018 - BOUNTIFUL, UT
MY EMERGENCY BRAKE HAS FAILED. I PARK ON A HIL AND MY CAR ALMOST WENT DOWN WITHOUT ME IN IT , I WAS GETTING SOMETHING OUT OF THE BACK SEAT WHEN THE EB FAILED, LUCKILY THE DRIVERS DOOR WAS OPEN AND I WAS ABLE TO JUMP IN AND BRAKE WITH THE NORMAL BRAKES. ALSO WHILE BRAKING AND GOING OVER A BUMP MY BRAKES FAIL FOR A SECOND.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/5/2018 - RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA
WITHOUT WARNING, WHILE TRAVELING DOWNHILL AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND BRAKING, THE CAR LOST POWER AND WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO CONTROL. SEVERAL DASH WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE A SHORT DISTANCE , AT 10-15 MPH, TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS. A TRANSISTOR IN THE INVERTER HAD OVER-HEATED AND FAILED. THE EVENT OCCURRED ON 28 JAN 2017. TOYOTA KNEW OF THIS POTENTIAL FAILURE AND RECALLED THE CAR FOR A SOFTWARE FIX (EOE RECALL SSC#EOE AGG09A ), INSTALLED IN THE CAR ON 29 APRIL 2014, BY DCH TOYOTA ( 2955 PACIFIC COAST HIGHWAY, TORRANCE , CA) ALSO THE DEALER WHO REPAIRED THE FAILURE. I ONLY RECENTLY LEARNED THE RECALL AND THE FAILURE WERE RELATED AND I BELIEVE THE FAILURE COULD REPEAT WITH POTENTIALLY CATASTROPHIC RESULTS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2018 - SACRAMENTO, CA
MY 2010 PRIUS HAS RELATIVELY LOW MILEAGE - APPROXIMATELY 44,000 MILES. IT HAS BEEN ROUTINELY MAINTAINED AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED NEW. I JUST REPLACED THE TIRES A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO, AND THE ONLY ISSUES HAVE BEEN THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL & THE NEED TO REPLACE AIR FILTERS MORE FREQUENTLY THAN MAY BE NORMAL BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE A GARAGE SO IT IS PARKED OUTSIDE IN A DRIVEWAY WHERE EXPOSURE TO POLLEN & DEBRIS FROM TREES IS EXCESSIVE. AFTER A SIGNIFICANT WIND & RAIN STORM WEDNESDAY NIGHT, THE ENGINE RATTLED & MADE UNUSUAL NOISES FOR SEVERAL SECONDS WHEN I STARTED THE CAR. THEN, THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON. I CHECKED THE MANUAL, WHICH SAID NOT TO DRIVE & TO CALL A DEALERSHIP IMMEDIATELY, WHICH I DID. I WAS TOLD IT WAS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE & IT SHOULD BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. I WAITED UNTIL THE FOLLOWING MORNING & STARTED IT AGAIN TO VERIFY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEFORE HAVING IT TOWED. AFTER I WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR 3 HOURS, THE SERVICE GUY TOLD ME THAT WHEN HE STARTED IT, THE CAR RUN FINE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF, & THEY WERE NOT SURE WHAT CAUSED THE PROBLEM, BUT THEIR DIAGNOSTIC EVALUATION SHOWED A PROBLEM WITH AN OIL LEAK IN THE HEAD GASKET. I WAS QUOTED A COST OF APPROX. $1500 TO OPEN IT UP, FIX THE LEAK, & CHECK FOR ANY OTHER PROBLEMS. I GAVE THE GO-AHEAD, BUT AM WONDERING IF THIS IS SYMPTOMATIC OF A GREATER PROBLEM THAT WILL BE REPEATED. I AM WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM THE DEALERSHIP AFTER THE REPAIR TODAY. MY GOAL IS TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT HAS 100,000 MILES OR SO & THEN TRADE IN FOR THE NEWER MODEL. DID I MAKE THE RIGHT DECISION? DO I HAVE A LEMON? IS THIS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2010 MODEL? IS IT REPARABLE, OR COULD THE ENGINE NOW BE WARPED AND IRREPARABLE?

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2018 - CONROE, TX
I JUST TESTED ALL YEARS FROM 2010 TO 2011 PRIUS, THOSE PRIUS BURNS A LOT OF OIL AT EVERY 2,000 MILES. I DID FILL IT (AT 4.4 QUARTS OF OIL) CORRECTLY IT BUT PRIUS ATE OVER 3 QUARTS IN 2000 MILES. LIKE MANY OF PEOPLE HAVE BEEN REPORTS THIS ON PRIUSCHAT.COM AND ETC ONLINE FORUMS. I HATE TO SPEND MY MONEY TO BUY MOTOR OILS! WHY THIS PRIUS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION? "WHAT DID THIS HAPPEN?" I JUST PURCHASED 2010 PRIUS ON OCT. 2016. AND I TESTED IT. IT STILL OIL CONSUMPTION. TOYOTA DEALER CAN'T DO ANYTHING FOR MOTOR OIL. SINCE IT HAPPENED, I STILL CHECK OIL LEVEL AT EVERY 2,000 MILES AND PUT IT SOME MOTOR OIL IN IT UNTIL IT REACH TO 5,000 MILES FOR SYNTHETIC OIL CHANGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/19/2018 - BALTIMORE, MD
ABS LIGHT STAYS ON, I HAVE NO BRAKES WHEN EMERGENCY BRAKING, THERE WAS A TOYOTA PRIUS RECALL ON BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER AND BOOSTER PUMP BUT TOYOTA SAID IT WAS NOT FOR MY VEHICLE. MY PROBLEM IS EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM AS OTHER PRIUS BRAKE RECALLS BUT TOYOTA WILL NOT COVER IT. LESS THEN 65,000 MILES ON THE CAR . HOW CAN A MASTER CYL BE BAD BY NOW, THEY USUALLY LAST OVER 100,000 MILES. VERY UNSAFE , AND MAY KILL SOMEONE. THIS SHOULD BE COVERED BY TOYOTA WITH ALL THE OTHER BRAKE RECALL PROBLEMS WITH THIS YEAR AND MODEL. I HAD TO SLAM ON MY BRAKES BUT MY CAR WOULD NOT STOP CAUSING ME TO RUN INTO A WALL AT THE BALTIMORE HARBOR TUNNEL. THIS IS A RECALL AND LETTERS WERE SENT OUT BY TOYOTA ABOUT THIS FAULTY BRAKING BUT NOW TOYOTA WILL NOT HONOR THE RECALL

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/16/2018 - RENTON, WA
MY CAR NEED TO REPLACE THE BRAKE PUMP ASSEMBLY WHICH IS SAME AS ONE OF THEIR PAST RECALL IN 2013. I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID MY CAR+S WAS NOT IN THE RANGE SO THEY DON+T COVER IT. YEA, CERTAIN VINS BUT IT IS CLEARLY THAT ALL THE 2010 PRIUS HAVE THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/15/2018 - AUBURN, AL
COPIED THE BELOW FROM ANOTHER COMPLAINT BECAUSE THIS GUY IS HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUE I AM HAVING, I BOUGHT THE CAR AUG 2017 RIGHT BEFORE THE PERIOD TO GET IT REPLACED EXPIRED, WAS NEVER NOTIFIED IN ANY WAY OF THIS WARRANTY CHANGE SO HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO KNOW I HAVE A DEFECTIVE PART ON MY CAR.. BUT THE DEALERSHIP STILL SOLD IT TO ME, NOW A MONTH AFTER THE ELIGIBILITY TO GET IT REPAIRED EXPIRES, MY BRAKES DIE AND TOYOTA SAYS THEY WONT HELP NOR IS THE DEALERSHIP RESPONSIBLE FOR SELLING ME THE CAR WITHOUT CHECKING IF THE RECALLED PART WAS REPLACED. THEY ALSO KEEP MENTIONING THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE ACTUATOR IS ONLY FOR "CERTAIN VIN'S". SO THEY ARE GONNA EXTEND THE WARRANTY ON CERTAIN 2010 PRIUS' BUT NOT ALL OF THEM.. THIS MAKES NO SENSE.. PLEASE HELP MY 2010 PRIUS IS HAVING ISSUES AS SAME AS THE SAFETY RECALL BACK IN 2013 ( 13V-235 ). THE ABS LIGHT, VSC LIGHT, AND BRAKE LIGHT WERE ON AFTER A BUMPY ROOAD IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD. I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY INDICATED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE ACCUMULATOR. AFTER RESET THE SYSTEM, ALL THE LIGHTS WENT OFF BUT I STILL FEEL THE LOSSES OF PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. HOWEVER, MY CAR HAS 0 OPEN RECALL AND THE DEALER QUOTED ME OVER 5K FOR THE REPAIR WHICH IS RIDICULOUS COMPARE TO THE VALUE OF THE CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/11/2018 - RENTON, WA
MY 2010 PRIUS IS HAVING ISSUES AS SAME AS THE SAFETY RECALL BACK IN 2013 ( 13V-235 ). THE ABS LIGHT, VSC LIGHT, AND BRAKE LIGHT WERE ON AFTER A BUMPY ROOAD IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD. I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY INDICATED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE ACCUMULATOR. AFTER RESET THE SYSTEM, ALL THE LIGHTS WENT OFF BUT I STILL FEEL THE LOSSES OF PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. HOWEVER, MY CAR HAS 0 OPEN RECALL AND THE DEALER QUOTED ME OVER 5K FOR THE REPAIR WHICH IS RIDICULOUS COMPARE TO THE VALUE OF THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2018 - GREENSBORO, NC
AT ABOUT 125K MILES, MY PRIUS NEARLY RAN OUT OF OIL BETWEEN SERVICES, AND I RELIGIOUSLY SERVICE MY VEHICLE. I BURNED 1 TO 2 QUARTS BETWEEN SERVICES SINCE. AT 272,408 MILES, I JUST PAID $5751.59 FOR A COMPLETE ENGINE REBUILD... REST OF CAR IS IN GREAT SHAPE. OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS WERE KNOWN BY THE DEALERSHIPS, BUT I WAS GIVEN NO RECOURSE EXCEPT DEALING WITH IT. LATEST ISSUE..CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, MISFIRE ON CYLINDERS 1 AND 4 (PROGRESSING TO ALL), HORRIFIC KNOCKING NOISE WITH SOUND OF RUSHING WATER UPON START-UP. EVENTUALLY, (ONCE THE CYLINDERS FIRED SIGNIFICANTLY) THE ENGINE COULD RUN SATISFACTORILY FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE DRIVE... UNTIL THE NEXT START. EARLY ON I READ THAT TOYOTA KNEW OF THE UNDER-ENGINEERED MOTOR OF THE 2010S, BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANYTHING ANNOUNCING A RECALL OR CARE TO FIX THEIR ENGINEERING ISSUE. I HAVE MY SERVICE RECORDS TO VALIDATE THE CARE I'VE GIVEN TO MY CAR. THE DATE OF THE ENGINE REBUILD IS WHAT I WILL PROVIDE AS TO WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT THE OIL CONSUMPTION BEGAN YEARS AGO.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2018 - GREENSBORO, NC
AT ABOUT 125K MILES, MY PRIUS NEARLY RAN OUT OF OIL BETWEEN SERVICES, AND I RELIGIOUSLY SERVICE MY VEHICLE. I BURNED 1 TO 2 QUARTS BETWEEN SERVICES SINCE. AT 272,408 MILES, I JUST PAID $5751.59 FOR A COMPLETE ENGINE REBUILD... REST OF CAR IS IN GREAT SHAPE. OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS WERE KNOWN BY THE DEALERSHIPS, BUT I WAS GIVEN NO RECOURSE EXCEPT DEALING WITH IT. LATEST ISSUE..CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, MISFIRE ON CYLINDERS 1 AND 4 (PROGRESSING TO ALL), HORRIFIC KNOCKING NOISE WITH SOUND OF RUSHING WATER UPON START-UP. EVENTUALLY, (ONCE THE CYLINDERS FIRED SIGNIFICANTLY) THE ENGINE COULD RUN SATISFACTORILY FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE DRIVE... UNTIL THE NEXT START. EARLY ON I READ THAT TOYOTA KNEW OF THE UNDER-ENGINEERED MOTOR OF THE 2010S, BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANYTHING ANNOUNCING A RECALL OR CARE TO FIX THEIR ENGINEERING ISSUE. I HAVE MY SERVICE RECORDS TO VALIDATE THE CARE I'VE GIVEN TO MY CAR. THE DATE OF THE ENGINE REBUILD IS WHAT I WILL PROVIDE AS TO WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT THE OIL CONSUMPTION BEGAN YEARS AGO.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 247
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds