Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2244 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (127) Power Train (64) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (56)
Electrical System (124) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seat Belts (12) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (75) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (228) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 244
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2017 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. THE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TOYOTA OF GREENVILLE LOCATED AT 2686 LAURENS RD, GREENVILLE, SC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS AN IPM FAILURE AND THE INVERTER WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V053000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 132,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/23/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
I WAS DRIVING TO MY HOUSE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE BOTTOM. SEVERAL LIGHTS APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD. I WAS DRIVING IN THE HIGHWAY AND FORTUNATELY THERE WAS AN EXIT AND I COULD GET OUT OF THE HIGHWAY AND I MANAGE HOW TO STOP AND I DID NOT CRASH. THE STORY COULD BE ANOTHER IF I WAS DRIVING FASTER. THE NEXT DAY I TOOK IT TO THE TOYOTA DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PROBLEM WAS THE BOOSTER PUMP (ATTACHED YOU CAN FIND THE ESTIMATE). I WAS SHOCKED WHEN I FOUND HOW MUCH WAS GOING TO COST ME. MY CAR HAS NEVER HAD A PROBLEM AND ALL OIL CHANGES HAD BEEN AT THE SAME TOYOTA DEALER. I HAVE NEVER TAKEN THE CAR ANYWHERE ELSE. INVESTIGATING I FOUND THAT THIS MODEL PRIUS 2010 IN 2013 HAD A RECALL FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM AFFECTING 82000 PEOPLE. UNFORTUNATELY, THE VIN NUMBER OF MY VEHICLE IS NOT IN THIS RANGE THAT REACHES A0067875 AND MINE IS A0205005. I NEED FOR TOYOTA TO EXTEND THE RECALL RANGE BECAUSE THE PROBLEM IS EXACTLY THE SAME AND ALSO HELP ME TO COVER THE COST OF THE REPAIR. AT THIS MOMENT, MY CAR IS PARKED AT HOME BECAUSE IS NOT DRIVABLE. I ALREADY SPOKE WITH TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WILL NOT HELP ME WITH THE COST OF THE REPAIR, IT IS REALLY EXPENSIVE AND IT IS NOT MY FAULT. DOES TOYOTA HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL THERE IS AN ACCIDENT? OR INJURY OR DEAD PEOPLE?

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2017 - AZUSA, CA
ENGINE BURNING EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL. CAR HAS BEEN REGULARLY SERVICED. LAST NIGHT, I NOTICED THAT THE OIL RESERVOIR LEVEL WAS SO LOW, THE DIP STICK DID NOT EVEN REGISTER IT. I HAD TO ADD 2.5 QUARTS OF OIL BEFORE IT STARTED READING THE OIL LEVEL AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/18/2017 - ATHENS, OH
WE WERE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 70 MILES PER HOUR WHEN THE READING LIGHTS AND DASHBOARD FLASHED ON AND THEN OFF IN A MATTER OF ABOUT 5 SECONDS. THE DASH SHOWED A TRIANGLE INDICATOR LIGHT WITH AN EXCLAMATION POINT. THE DASH ALSO SEEMED TO RESET AND SHOWED THE DISPLAY AS IS THE CAR HAD JUST BEEN TURNED ON. THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED TWICE WITHIN A 4 HOUR PERIOD. ONCE ON THE HIGHWAY AND ONCE ON A BACK ROAD GOING ABOUT 40 MPH. THE CAR DID NOT STOP EITHER TIME, BUT IT IS STILL CONCERNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/18/2017 - ATHENS, OH
WE WERE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 70 MILES PER HOUR WHEN THE READING LIGHTS AND DASHBOARD FLASHED ON AND THEN OFF IN A MATTER OF ABOUT 5 SECONDS. THE DASH SHOWED A TRIANGLE INDICATOR LIGHT WITH AN EXCLAMATION POINT. THE DASH ALSO SEEMED TO RESET AND SHOWED THE DISPLAY AS IS THE CAR HAD JUST BEEN TURNED ON. THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED TWICE WITHIN A 4 HOUR PERIOD. ONCE ON THE HIGHWAY AND ONCE ON A BACK ROAD GOING ABOUT 40 MPH. THE CAR DID NOT STOP EITHER TIME, BUT IT IS STILL CONCERNING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/18/2017 - ATHENS, OH
WE WERE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 70 MILES PER HOUR WHEN THE READING LIGHTS AND DASHBOARD FLASHED ON AND THEN OFF IN A MATTER OF ABOUT 5 SECONDS. THE DASH SHOWED A TRIANGLE INDICATOR LIGHT WITH AN EXCLAMATION POINT. THE DASH ALSO SEEMED TO RESET AND SHOWED THE DISPLAY AS IS THE CAR HAD JUST BEEN TURNED ON. THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED TWICE WITHIN A 4 HOUR PERIOD. ONCE ON THE HIGHWAY AND ONCE ON A BACK ROAD GOING ABOUT 40 MPH. THE CAR DID NOT STOP EITHER TIME, BUT IT IS STILL CONCERNING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/6/2017 - BURKBURNETT, TX
I TOOK MY 2010 PRIUS IN FOR AIRBAG WORK & THEY ASKED HOW LONG I HAD BEEN DRIVING W/ MY BRAKE WARNING LIGHTS ON. THEY HAD NOT BEEN ON PRIOR TO THEN. THEY HOOKED UP A COMPUTER & SHOWED ME THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN STARTED 31 TIMES SINCE THE WARNING WAS 1ST DETECTED. THEY SAID THERE WAS MOST LIKELY A LEAK IN THE BRAKE BOOSTER SYSTEM. THEY RESET THE WARNING, I DROVE FOR A DAY & IT CAME BACK ON AGAIN WHILE DRIVING AFTER ABOUT 10 STARTS. AFTER THE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN, I NOTED AN IMMEDIATE & SIGNIFICANT CHANGE IN BRAKING RESPONSIVENESS & VEHICLE CONTROL...STARTED PULLING TO THE RIGHT. THIS WAS ON THE HIGHWAY WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT. I TOOK THE CAR IN TO A LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER FOR FULL DIAGNOSTIC & THEY SAID THAT THEY'RE WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THE EXACT LEAK LOCATION, BUT THAT THEIR TECH ORDER SHOWS TO JUST REPLACE THE BOOSTER WHICH WILL COST ABOUT $3,300 O REPLACE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/6/2017 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
AIRBAG LIGHT STARTED TURNING ON EVERY SO OFTEN. AFTER RECALL WORK AT DEALER, IT WENT AWAY, BUT AGAIN NOW HOLDS CONSTANT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/6/2017 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
AIRBAG LIGHT STARTED TURNING ON EVERY SO OFTEN. AFTER RECALL WORK AT DEALER, IT WENT AWAY, BUT AGAIN NOW HOLDS CONSTANT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2017 - DENVER, CO
BRAKE ACTUATOR FAILURE. COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER BRAKE FUNCTION WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY. CURRENTLY A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT LETTER COVERING THIS ISSUE, BUT ONLY UP TO 2009 MODEL PRIUS, I HAVE A 2010, NOT COVERED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AS IT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING WITH NO INDICATION OF TROUBLE BEFOREHAND.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 244
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds