Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2203 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (119) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (67) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (210) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/19/2017 - KANEOHE, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ABS, TRACTION CONTROL, AND BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DRIVER HAD TO APPLY EXTRA PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND MASTER CYLINDER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT WITHIN THE VIN RANGE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/15/2017 - GAINESVILLE, FL
ABS LIGHT CAME ON. DIAG CODE: C1391. ABNORMAL LEAK IN ACCUMULATOR. THIS PROBLEM IS SIMILAR TO A RECALL ON PRIUS 2010 FOR ABS BRAKE ISSUE. HOWEVER, TOYOTA SAID THAT MY PRIUS IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST TOYOTA TO FIX THIS PROBLEM FOR MY PRIUS 2010 SO THAT I CAN SAFELY DRIVE THIS CAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/8/2017 - ACCOKEEK, MD
I CHANGE THE BRAKE BOOSTER TWICE AND HACE THE SAME PROBLEM. MY BRAKE PEDAL LOSS OF BRAKING ABILITY OR SLIPPING BRAKES AND THE WARNING BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION LIGHT PERMANENTLY ON, AND NO CRUISE CONTROL WORKS AT ALL

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2017 - ACCOKEEK, MD
I CHANGE THE BRAKE BOOSTER TWICE AND HACE THE SAME PROBLEM. MY BRAKE PEDAL LOSS OF BRAKING ABILITY OR SLIPPING BRAKES AND THE WARNING BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION LIGHT PERMANENTLY ON, AND NO CRUISE CONTROL WORKS AT ALL

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/29/2017 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
BRAKES TURNED TO MUSH - PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR WITH ALMOST ZERO STOPPING POWER. SOUNDS LIKE A SIMILAR RECALL FROM 2013 OR SO. GOING 45 MPH (SPEED LIMIT) ON A BUSY 4 LANE HGHWAY APPROACHING STOPLIGHT AND SLOWING TRAFFIC FOR RED LIGHT AT INTERSECTION OF ANOTHER 4 LANE ROAD. BRAKES MOSTLY UNRESPONSIVE. ALMOST WENT THROUGH INTERSECTION AND NARROWLY MISSED HITTING A SLOWING CAR. BRAKING DID NOT ENGAGE PER USUAL ACTIVATION POSITION AND PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR INSTEAD. CAR WAS JUST SERVICED A WEEK AGO FOR UNRELATED RECALL ITEM. CAR HAS BEEN MAINTAINED DILIGENTLY SINCE NEW PURCHASE IN 2009, GETTING ALL RECALLS SERVICED PROMPTLY. MAYBE THE RANGE OF VINS IN THE OLDER RECALL WAS NOT WIDE ENOUGH?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/25/2017 - SEATTLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE, IT UNEXPECTEDLY ACCELERATED AND STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE BEFORE CRASHING INTO AN APARTMENT UNIT. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CALLED AND PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH AN INVESTIGATOR WHO REMOVED A BOX FROM THE VEHICLE, WHICH WOULD DETERMINE IF THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO DRIVER ERROR OR A SAFETY DEFECT. THE MANUFACTURER DETERMINED THAT IT WAS DRIVER ERROR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 53,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2017 - SMITHTOWN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30-40 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF A POLICE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT'S CHEST AND FACE STRUCK THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT RECEIVED INJURIES TO THE CLAVICLE AREA, SHOULDERS, FACE, EYES, HEAD/BRAIN, AND NECK AREA. EXTENSIVE MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TOWED; HOWEVER, A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR WAS MISSED BY A COUPLE OF MILLIMETERS, WHICH PREVENTED THEM FROM DEPLOYING. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED TOTALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. UPDATED 07/13/17

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/17/2017 - EDINA, MN
BECAUSE OF,AS DEALERSHIP SAID,THE CAR WAS STALLED AT THE HIGHWAY. I DON'T HAVE ANY STICKER ABOUT RECALL, BUT MOST PRIUS 2010 OWNERS SAID THAT OWNERS RECEIVING NOTIFICATION ABOUT INVERTER PROBLEM. I'M HEADING TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHO OFFERED ME TO FIX THE CAR FOR $3,500. COULD YOU PLEASE TAKE A LOOK, DO I HAVE ANY WARRANTY OR RECALLS ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE PLEASE. THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/16/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN DRIVING OVER BUMPY OR ROUGH SURFACES OR POT HOLES, WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKES OFTEN SEEM TO STOP WORKING. AND THE CAR SEEMS TO HAVE A LITTLE BOOST FORWARD. IT HAPPENS WHEREVER THE ROAD SURFACE HAS BUMPY AREAS ON STRAIGHTAWAYS OR CURVES. AND MOSTLY WHEN APPLYING LIGHT PRESSURE TO THE BREAK, LIKE SLOWING FOR AN UPCOMING TURN. IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I GOT THE CAR IN 2013. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO A MECHANIC, BUT THEY COULDN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES OVER LAST 3 1/2 YEARS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/4/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2010 PRIUS. WITHIN THE FIRST MONTH, I CONTACTED TOYOTA, COMPLAINING OF THE BRAKES, WHICH WERE NOT CONSISTENTLY SMOOTH. IN GENERAL, THE BRAKES WORK FINE, BUT IF I HIT A BUMP OR DITCH, THE BRAKES SUDDENLY STOP WORKING FOR A SPLIT SECOND, AND THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT IS LURCHING FORWARD, BEFORE THE BRAKES SUDDENLY START WORKING AGAIN. TOYOTA SERVICE WAS NEVER ABLE TO "REPRODUCE" THE PROBLEM, AND EVENTUALLY I GAVE UP. A COUPLE YEARS AGO, THE CAR WAS RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM, AND I BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO BE FIXED. UNFORTUNATELY, THE RECALL WORK HAS NOT REMEDIED THE PROBLEM. THE BRAKES STILL SEEM TO OCCASIONALLY MALFUNCTION WHEN THE CAR DRIVES OVER A ROUGH PATCH. TOYOTA SEEMS TO BELIEVE THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN SOLVED, BUT IT HAS NOT BE SOLVED. THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE SINCE THE RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds