Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2174 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (114) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (115) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (11) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (268)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (26) Visibility (12)
Engine (63) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (201) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 239
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/18/2017 - LAREDO, TX
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY AT POSTED SPEED LIMIT (75MPH), I TRIED TO SLOW DOWN DUE TO TRAFFIC AND NOTICED MY CARS ABILITY TO BRAKE WAS SEVERELY COMPROMISED. I THEN NOTICED MY CARS BRAKES, ABS, MASTER WARNING AND VSC LIGHTS HAD CAME ON. GIVEN THAT MY CAR HAS 103K MILES ON IT, I FIGURED IT IS TIME FOR A BRAKE PAD SERVICE. WITH THE LIMITED BRAKING ABILITY, I DECIDED TO MAKE THE SHORT DRIVE TO THE TOYOTA DEALER FOR BRAKE SERVICE. AFTER THE DEALER INSPECTED MY CAR, A REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOT THE BRAKE PADS THAT ARE CAUSING THE LIGHTS IN YOUR DASH TO GO ON BUT RATHER THE BRAKE BOOSTER. THEY ADVISED ME THAT IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE UNTIL THE ISSUE IS REMEDIED BY REPLACING THE BRAKE BOOSTER AT A COST OF OVER 2K. I HAD TO ALSO INCUR THE COST OF A RENTAL SINCE THE BOOSTER WAS NOT IN STOCK AND WOULD TAKE OVER THE WEEKEND TO RECEIVE. I WAS TAKEN ABACK BY THE TOTAL COST OF THE SERVICE BUT HAD NO CHOICE AND PROCEED TO GET IT REPAIRED. UPON RECEIVING MY CAR A FEW DAYS LATER, I DROVE TO WORK AND UPON MY RETURN HOME, THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF WITH ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH LIGHTING UP AND THE CARS BRAKING ABILITY WAS AGAIN COMPROMISED. EXTREMELY IRATE, I DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER AND UPON INSPECTING THE CAR THEY TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOW THE ACCUMULATOR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS TIME THE DEALER ABSORBED THE COST OF OVER 3K TO REPLACE IT. I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANY KNOWN RECALLS AND FOUND THE ISSUE WAS BEING ADDRESSED BY TOYOTA WITH A RECALL HOWEVER MY CARS VIN WAS NOT PART OF IT. IT IS MY HOPES THAT YOU MAKE TOYOTA AWARE OF THE SAFETY ISSUE AND INITIATE A RECALL ON ALL 2010 PRIUS MODELS AND NOT JUST SOME. I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO GET THE COST I INCURRED WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE REIMBURSED AT SOME POINT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/18/2017 - LAREDO, TX
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY AT POSTED SPEED LIMIT (75MPH), I TRIED TO SLOW DOWN DUE TO TRAFFIC AND NOTICED MY CARS ABILITY TO BRAKE WAS SEVERELY COMPROMISED. I THEN NOTICED MY CARS BRAKES, ABS, MASTER WARNING AND VSC LIGHTS HAD CAME ON. GIVEN THAT MY CAR HAS 103K MILES ON IT, I FIGURED IT IS TIME FOR A BRAKE PAD SERVICE. WITH THE LIMITED BRAKING ABILITY, I DECIDED TO MAKE THE SHORT DRIVE TO THE TOYOTA DEALER FOR BRAKE SERVICE. AFTER THE DEALER INSPECTED MY CAR, A REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOT THE BRAKE PADS THAT ARE CAUSING THE LIGHTS IN YOUR DASH TO GO ON BUT RATHER THE BRAKE BOOSTER. THEY ADVISED ME THAT IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE UNTIL THE ISSUE IS REMEDIED BY REPLACING THE BRAKE BOOSTER AT A COST OF OVER 2K. I HAD TO ALSO INCUR THE COST OF A RENTAL SINCE THE BOOSTER WAS NOT IN STOCK AND WOULD TAKE OVER THE WEEKEND TO RECEIVE. I WAS TAKEN ABACK BY THE TOTAL COST OF THE SERVICE BUT HAD NO CHOICE AND PROCEED TO GET IT REPAIRED. UPON RECEIVING MY CAR A FEW DAYS LATER, I DROVE TO WORK AND UPON MY RETURN HOME, THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF WITH ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH LIGHTING UP AND THE CARS BRAKING ABILITY WAS AGAIN COMPROMISED. EXTREMELY IRATE, I DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER AND UPON INSPECTING THE CAR THEY TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOW THE ACCUMULATOR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS TIME THE DEALER ABSORBED THE COST OF OVER 3K TO REPLACE IT. I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANY KNOWN RECALLS AND FOUND THE ISSUE WAS BEING ADDRESSED BY TOYOTA WITH A RECALL HOWEVER MY CARS VIN WAS NOT PART OF IT. IT IS MY HOPES THAT YOU MAKE TOYOTA AWARE OF THE SAFETY ISSUE AND INITIATE A RECALL ON ALL 2010 PRIUS MODELS AND NOT JUST SOME. I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO GET THE COST I INCURRED WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE REIMBURSED AT SOME POINT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/15/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
BOTH LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS DO NOT GO ON AT ALL. WERE WORKING PROPERLY ON WAY TO A DESTINATION AT 9PM, THEN DID NOT GO ON AFTER CAR WAS PARKED AFTER 2 HOURS. THIS HAS NEVER OCCURRED BEFORE. BULBS ARE NOT BURNED OUT, FUSE IS NOT BLOWN. ALL OTHER MECHANISMS ON FUSE WORKING PROPERLY (BACKUP LIGHTS, HORN). PARKING LIGHTS AND HI-BEAMS WORK. VERY DANGEROUS DRIVE HOME, USE OF HI-BEAMS ON SURFACE STREETS NOT SAFE FOR OTHER DRIVERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2017 - NATIONAL CITY, CA
I'VE HAD TWO TOYOTA PRIUS IN MY LIFETIME, A 2005 AND A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, BOTH HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WHERE THE ENGINE WOULD EAT UP ALL OF MY OIL, I WOULD HAVE AN OIL CHANGE DONE AND LESS THAN 2 WEEKS LATER I WOULD HAVE TO CHECK THE OIL GAUGE ROD AND FIND THAT THE OIL LEVELS WERE BELOW THE BOTTOM LINE, ALMOST EMPTY! THE ENGINE WOULD BE BURNING OIL AT SUCH AN ALARMING RATE THAT I WOULD REPEATEDLY BRING THE VEHICLE TO TOYOTA FOR OIL CHANGES. I'M VERY UNSATISFIED WITH MY TOYOTA PRIUSES. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT 166,384 MILES AND THE ENGINE CYLINDER HAS NOW GIVEN WAY AND ALSO THE HYBRID BATTERY. I'VE GONE ONLY TO TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS TO HAVE PRISTINE CONSECUTIVE SERVICE AND NO THIRD PARTY REPAIR FACILITIES HAVE PROVIDED SERVICE. I AM LOCATED IN SOUTHER CALIFORNIA IN SAN DIEGO. I HAVE SPOKEN TO MANY OTHER TOYOTA PRIUS OWNERS AND IF YOU DO A GOOGLE SEARCH ONLINE AS OF (04/10/17) "TOYOTA PRIUS ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION" YOU'LL FIND MANY FORUMS WITH "EXCESSIVE CONSUMPTION" FROM MANY OTHER USERS. ONCE YOU REACH PAST THE 140,000 MILE MARK, YOUR CAR IS PRETTY MUCH DONE. CONSIDER BUYING A NEW ONE. TOYOTA PRIUSES AND THEIR ENGINEERS HAVE TO COME UP WITH A WAY TO SATISFY CURRENT AND FUTURE PRIUS OWNERS AS MANY OF US WILL FIND THAT THERE WILL BE MANY PROBLEMS AND ISSUES DOWN THE ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2017 - NATIONAL CITY, CA
I'VE HAD TWO TOYOTA PRIUS IN MY LIFETIME, A 2005 AND A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, BOTH HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WHERE THE ENGINE WOULD EAT UP ALL OF MY OIL, I WOULD HAVE AN OIL CHANGE DONE AND LESS THAN 2 WEEKS LATER I WOULD HAVE TO CHECK THE OIL GAUGE ROD AND FIND THAT THE OIL LEVELS WERE BELOW THE BOTTOM LINE, ALMOST EMPTY! THE ENGINE WOULD BE BURNING OIL AT SUCH AN ALARMING RATE THAT I WOULD REPEATEDLY BRING THE VEHICLE TO TOYOTA FOR OIL CHANGES. I'M VERY UNSATISFIED WITH MY TOYOTA PRIUSES. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT 166,384 MILES AND THE ENGINE CYLINDER HAS NOW GIVEN WAY AND ALSO THE HYBRID BATTERY. I'VE GONE ONLY TO TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS TO HAVE PRISTINE CONSECUTIVE SERVICE AND NO THIRD PARTY REPAIR FACILITIES HAVE PROVIDED SERVICE. I AM LOCATED IN SOUTHER CALIFORNIA IN SAN DIEGO. I HAVE SPOKEN TO MANY OTHER TOYOTA PRIUS OWNERS AND IF YOU DO A GOOGLE SEARCH ONLINE AS OF (04/10/17) "TOYOTA PRIUS ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION" YOU'LL FIND MANY FORUMS WITH "EXCESSIVE CONSUMPTION" FROM MANY OTHER USERS. ONCE YOU REACH PAST THE 140,000 MILE MARK, YOUR CAR IS PRETTY MUCH DONE. CONSIDER BUYING A NEW ONE. TOYOTA PRIUSES AND THEIR ENGINEERS HAVE TO COME UP WITH A WAY TO SATISFY CURRENT AND FUTURE PRIUS OWNERS AS MANY OF US WILL FIND THAT THERE WILL BE MANY PROBLEMS AND ISSUES DOWN THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2017 - NATIONAL CITY, CA
I'VE HAD TWO TOYOTA PRIUS IN MY LIFETIME, A 2005 AND A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, BOTH HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WHERE THE ENGINE WOULD EAT UP ALL OF MY OIL, I WOULD HAVE AN OIL CHANGE DONE AND LESS THAN 2 WEEKS LATER I WOULD HAVE TO CHECK THE OIL GAUGE ROD AND FIND THAT THE OIL LEVELS WERE BELOW THE BOTTOM LINE, ALMOST EMPTY! THE ENGINE WOULD BE BURNING OIL AT SUCH AN ALARMING RATE THAT I WOULD REPEATEDLY BRING THE VEHICLE TO TOYOTA FOR OIL CHANGES. I'M VERY UNSATISFIED WITH MY TOYOTA PRIUSES. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT 166,384 MILES AND THE ENGINE CYLINDER HAS NOW GIVEN WAY AND ALSO THE HYBRID BATTERY. I'VE GONE ONLY TO TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS TO HAVE PRISTINE CONSECUTIVE SERVICE AND NO THIRD PARTY REPAIR FACILITIES HAVE PROVIDED SERVICE. I AM LOCATED IN SOUTHER CALIFORNIA IN SAN DIEGO. I HAVE SPOKEN TO MANY OTHER TOYOTA PRIUS OWNERS AND IF YOU DO A GOOGLE SEARCH ONLINE AS OF (04/10/17) "TOYOTA PRIUS ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION" YOU'LL FIND MANY FORUMS WITH "EXCESSIVE CONSUMPTION" FROM MANY OTHER USERS. ONCE YOU REACH PAST THE 140,000 MILE MARK, YOUR CAR IS PRETTY MUCH DONE. CONSIDER BUYING A NEW ONE. TOYOTA PRIUSES AND THEIR ENGINEERS HAVE TO COME UP WITH A WAY TO SATISFY CURRENT AND FUTURE PRIUS OWNERS AS MANY OF US WILL FIND THAT THERE WILL BE MANY PROBLEMS AND ISSUES DOWN THE ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2017 - HENDERSON, NV
IN 2016 ABOUT THE 130,000+ MILE MARK ON MY VEHICLE, I STARTED COMPLAINING ABOUT MY CAR CONSUMING OIL. THE DEALER FINDLAY TOYOTA ASSURED ME THAT IT HAD TO DO WITH THE HEAT AND WAS NORMAL. I WAS LEAD TO BELIEVE THE PAPER I SIGNED AFTER THE WORK WAS COMPLETE HAS TO DO WITH THE MAINTENANCE BEING DONE, NO ONE MENTIONED IT MEANT ALL MY CONCERNS WERE ACKNOWLEDGED. THE DAYS CONTINUED AND EVEN IN DURING COLDER MONTHS OF THE YEAR OF 2016, I AGAIN NOTIFIED THE DEALERSHIP OF MY CAR EATING OIL AND IT WAS NOWHERE TO BE FOUND. AGAIN I COMPLAINED AND IT WAS NOT ANNOTATED OR WRITTEN ANYWHERE IN THEIR FILES. IT WAS NOT UNTIL 26,000 MILES PLUS MORE THAT THEY FINALLY ACKNOWLEDGED MY ISSUE AND TOOK THEIR TIME TO SEARCH FOR THE CAUSE. IN THE MONTH OF MARCH 2017, ONE INDIVIDUAL FROM TOYOTA ACTUALLY TOOK HIS TIME AND DID A FULL CHECK, INSTEAD OF THE USUAL ITS HOT HERE AND THAT EATS YOUR OIL EXCUSE, HE GIVE ME AN ANSWER WHICH LEAD TO ME HAVING CONCERNS ABOUT TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS, HE SAID THE PISTONS HAD A LEAK AND IT WAS BURNING UP MY OIL. I CALLED TOYOTA AND FOUND OUT MY CAR HAD A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BUT HERE IS THE CATCH, MY CAR WOULD HAVE TO BE UNDER 150,000 MILES, WHICH IT WAS UNDER WHEN I STARTED TO FIRST COMPLAIN. NOW THAT I AM OVER THAT MILEAGE AND WAS NEVER NOTIFIED, GREAT DEALERSHIPS TELL YOU WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR CAR FOR ANY MAINTENANCE ABOUT RECALLS, THEY SAY IT SUP TO ME TO FIX THIS ISSUE THEY KNEW THESE CARS HAVE. SINCE THEY NEVER WROTE DOWN ANY OF MY COMPLAINS, THERE IS NO PROOF OF ME COMPLAINING. THIS CAR BURNS OIL MOVING OR SITTING AS LONG AS THE PISTONS ARE MOVING. WHERE HAS THE HONESTY AND PROFESSIONALISM OF FINDLAY TOYOTA. WHAT IS MY NEXT STEP I ASK THE READER?

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2017 - FREDERICK, MD
CAR PURCHASED NEW AND SERVICED AT TOYOTA DEALERSHIP EVERY 10,000 MILES USING 0-20W SYNTHETIC OIL. AT AROUND 106,000 MILES I NOTICED THE DISPLAY FLASHING SOMETHING BUT COULD NOT, AT THAT TIME, READ WHAT THE WARNING WAS. IT SEEMED TO HAPPEN GOING AROUND CURVES, TURNING ETC. FINALLY, AT MAYBE 107,000 MILES, THE WARNING STAYED ON LONG ENOUGH TO SEE THE LOW OIL WARNING. TOOK THE CAR IN AT 108,000 (NO OIL ON DIPSTICK AT THAT POINT) AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CHECKED FOR LEAKS AND FOUND NONE. I WAS LIGHTLY ADMONISHED BY SERVICE FOR DRIVING WITHOUT OIL. FAIR ENOUGH, I THOUGHT AT THE TIME. I WAS SLIGHTLY CHAGRINED AS I HAVE ALWAYS RELIGIOUSLY HAD MY OIL CHANGED (OR CHANGED IT MYSELF) ON ALL MY CARS AT THE RECOMMENDED INTERVALS WITH NO SIGNS OF A PROBLEM. THE TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT RECOMMENDED THAT I MONITOR OIL USAGE. I DID, AND TO MY SURPRISE 2,500 HUNDRED MILES LATER, I HAD TO ADD A FULL QUART. THEN 1950 MILES LATER, ANOTHER QUART. YESTERDAY, ANOTHER QUART AT 1048 MILES. VERY DISAPPOINTED AS THE CAR HAS BEEN WITHOUT PROBLEMS UNTIL NOW. HAVE NOT DISCUSSED THIS WITH THE DEALERSHIP, BUT AM NOT ENCOURAGED BY THE TENOR OF COMMENTS POSTED HERE REGARDING TOYOTA STEPPING UP AND ACCEPTING RESPONSIBILITY. I SEE NO NEED, AT THIS POINT, TO PAY TO HAVE AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST DONE BY THE DEALERSHIP AS THE CAR IS OBVIOUSLY USING AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/3/2017 - BROOKLYN, NY
MY TOYOTA PRIUS IS IN GOOD WORKING ORDER, AS I JUST GOT IT INSPECTED FOR THE NY STATE ANNUAL INSPECTION ON 3/23/2017. LAST NIGHT, 4/2/2017, I DROVE MY CAR TO A RESTAURANT AND PARKED IT THERE. WHEN I GOT BACK INTO MY CAR TO LEAVE AFTER MY MEAL, I TURNED ON THE IGNITION AND SWITCHED THE HEADLIGHTS TO TURN ON WHILE THE CAR WAS STATIONARY AND PARKED, BUT BOTH APPEARED TO HAVE BURNED OUT SUDDENLY. ONLY THE RUNNING LIGHTS SWITCHED ON. TO DRIVE HOME, I HAD TO USE MY HIGH BEAMS. I TRIED TURNING THE CAR ON AND OFF, AND SWITCHING THE HEADLIGHTS ON AND OFF WHILE THE CAR WAS PARKED, IDLE AND IN MOTION TO SEE IF THEY'D TURN BACK ON, BUT THEY WOULDN'T. WHEN I GOT HOME, I DID SOME RESEARCH AND IT SEEMS THAT THIS IS A LONG-STANDING PROBLEM FOR THIS MODEL OF CAR, AS WELL AS PRIUSES MADE IN THE YEARS PRIOR. PLEASE SEE THE BELOW LINKS: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/TOYOTA/PRIUS/2010/RECALLS/ HTTPS://WHEELS.BLOGS.NYTIMES.COM/2011/01/21/TOYOTA-PRIUS-HEADLIGHT-FAILURE-SPARKS-CLASS-ACTION-SUIT/?_R=0

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2017 - COLUMBIA, MO
2010 TOYOTA PRIUS FAILED AN OIL ENGINE CONSUMPTION TEST AT 98,000 MILES. IT BURNED 3 QUARTS IN 1,100 MILES. TOYOTA HAS SERVICE BULLETIN ISSUED IN NOVEMBER 2016 TO COVER THIS CAR BUT INHERENTLY, IT ISN'T COVERED. I HAVE SERVICE RECORDS THAT THIS WAS HAPPENING IN JUNE 2015 AT 82000 MILES, BEFORE I BOUGHT THE CAR IN SEPT 2016. TOYOTA WILL ONLY COVER HALF OF $3000 COST OF REPAIR. ISSUE APPEARS TO BE WIDESPREAD, ACROSS MANY MODELS FROM WHAT I'VE READ ONLINE AND EXPERIENCED IN THE DEALERSHIP. TOYOTA'S FAILURE TO ADDRESS THIS SITUATION WHEN IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR YEARS IS HIGHLY ALARMING, CONSIDERING IT AFFECTS A MAJOR PART OF THE ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 239
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds