Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2225 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (124) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (55)
Electrical System (122) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (69) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (220) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 243
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/10/2017 - WEST BRANCH, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL EXCESSIVELY AND THE SERVICE VEHICLE WARNING INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THERE WAS ALSO AN ABNORMAL RATTLING NOISE WHEN IDLING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LABADIE TOYOTA (LOCATED AT 909 N EUCLID AVE BAY CITY, MI 48706) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTON RINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 1707100976, BUT DID NOT OFFER ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 296,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/27/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ATA RECALL I WAS INVOLVED IN A MAJOR CAR ACCIDENT DURING LUNCH HOUR ON THE 405 SOUTH FWY IN LOS ANGELES, CA. I WAS STRUCK BY A SEMI TRUCK WHO WAS MERGING INTO MY LANE AND WHILE I TRIED TO GET OUT OF HIS WAY BY SPEEDING UP. I WAS CLIPPED BY THE TRUCK AND MY CAR CAREENED INFRONT OF THE TRUCK AND WAS PUSHED BEFORE HE APPLIED HIS BRAKES. MY CAR THEN SPUN OUT OF CONTROL ACROSS ALL FWY LANES. I WAS HIT BY TWO OTHER ON COMING CARS BEFORE COMING TO A STOP IN THE CARPOOL LANE. ALL CARS INCLUDING THE TRUCK WERE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65-70 MPH BASED ON THE POLICE REPORT. MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS THE ENTIRE TIME AS I SPUN OUT OF CONTROL. MY COMPLAINT IS REGARDING THE AIRBAGS. NONE OF THE SIDE OR FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AT THE TIME OF ALL IMPACTS. I HAD THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDANT INSPECTION COMPANY AFTER CONTACTING TOYOTA. I HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK FROM TOYOTA EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HAD THE REPORT FOR ALMOST TWO MONTHS. I FINALLY RECEIVED THE REPORT FROM THE INSPECTOR AFTER THREATNING TO HAVE MY ATTORNEY CONTACT THEM. I DON'T KNOW HOW TO READ THE FINDINGS OF THE REPORT SINCE ITS ALL TECHNICAL ENGINEERING. I AM ATTACHING THE REPORT AND HOPE THAT SOMEONE IN YOUR DEPARTMENT CAN REVIEW IT AND FOLLOWUP. THANK YOU

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/27/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ATA RECALL I WAS INVOLVED IN A MAJOR CAR ACCIDENT DURING LUNCH HOUR ON THE 405 SOUTH FWY IN LOS ANGELES, CA. I WAS STRUCK BY A SEMI TRUCK WHO WAS MERGING INTO MY LANE AND WHILE I TRIED TO GET OUT OF HIS WAY BY SPEEDING UP. I WAS CLIPPED BY THE TRUCK AND MY CAR CAREENED INFRONT OF THE TRUCK AND WAS PUSHED BEFORE HE APPLIED HIS BRAKES. MY CAR THEN SPUN OUT OF CONTROL ACROSS ALL FWY LANES. I WAS HIT BY TWO OTHER ON COMING CARS BEFORE COMING TO A STOP IN THE CARPOOL LANE. ALL CARS INCLUDING THE TRUCK WERE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65-70 MPH BASED ON THE POLICE REPORT. MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS THE ENTIRE TIME AS I SPUN OUT OF CONTROL. MY COMPLAINT IS REGARDING THE AIRBAGS. NONE OF THE SIDE OR FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AT THE TIME OF ALL IMPACTS. I HAD THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDANT INSPECTION COMPANY AFTER CONTACTING TOYOTA. I HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK FROM TOYOTA EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HAD THE REPORT FOR ALMOST TWO MONTHS. I FINALLY RECEIVED THE REPORT FROM THE INSPECTOR AFTER THREATNING TO HAVE MY ATTORNEY CONTACT THEM. I DON'T KNOW HOW TO READ THE FINDINGS OF THE REPORT SINCE ITS ALL TECHNICAL ENGINEERING. I AM ATTACHING THE REPORT AND HOPE THAT SOMEONE IN YOUR DEPARTMENT CAN REVIEW IT AND FOLLOWUP. THANK YOU

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
ALL BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON (BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL) AND POWER ASSIST BREAKING STOPS WORKING AND BRAKES FEEL VERY WEAK. BRAKE ACTUATOR RUNS FREQUENTLY WHEN LIGHTS ARE NOT ON. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ONLINE AND TOYOTA CLAIMED THEY FIXED THIS ISSUE IN 2009 AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR 2009 AND EARLIER, BUT THE PROBLEM IS CLEARLY NOT FIXED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/19/2017 - HEMET, CA
REAR WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR WOULD NOT TURN OFF, EVEN AFTER THE FUSE WAS PULLED. THE DEALER SAID IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR. THIS OCCURRED WHEN THE CAR WAS TURNED ON AND STOPPED WHEN THE CAR WAS TURNED OFF. THE NORMAL WIPER CONTROLS ON THE WIPER COLUMN DID NOT WORK. CHARGE TO REPLACE IT WAS $500.00

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/19/2017 - KANEOHE, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ABS, TRACTION CONTROL, AND BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DRIVER HAD TO APPLY EXTRA PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND MASTER CYLINDER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT WITHIN THE VIN RANGE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/15/2017 - GAINESVILLE, FL
ABS LIGHT CAME ON. DIAG CODE: C1391. ABNORMAL LEAK IN ACCUMULATOR. THIS PROBLEM IS SIMILAR TO A RECALL ON PRIUS 2010 FOR ABS BRAKE ISSUE. HOWEVER, TOYOTA SAID THAT MY PRIUS IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST TOYOTA TO FIX THIS PROBLEM FOR MY PRIUS 2010 SO THAT I CAN SAFELY DRIVE THIS CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2017 - ACCOKEEK, MD
I CHANGE THE BRAKE BOOSTER TWICE AND HACE THE SAME PROBLEM. MY BRAKE PEDAL LOSS OF BRAKING ABILITY OR SLIPPING BRAKES AND THE WARNING BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION LIGHT PERMANENTLY ON, AND NO CRUISE CONTROL WORKS AT ALL

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/8/2017 - ACCOKEEK, MD
I CHANGE THE BRAKE BOOSTER TWICE AND HACE THE SAME PROBLEM. MY BRAKE PEDAL LOSS OF BRAKING ABILITY OR SLIPPING BRAKES AND THE WARNING BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION LIGHT PERMANENTLY ON, AND NO CRUISE CONTROL WORKS AT ALL

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/29/2017 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
BRAKES TURNED TO MUSH - PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR WITH ALMOST ZERO STOPPING POWER. SOUNDS LIKE A SIMILAR RECALL FROM 2013 OR SO. GOING 45 MPH (SPEED LIMIT) ON A BUSY 4 LANE HGHWAY APPROACHING STOPLIGHT AND SLOWING TRAFFIC FOR RED LIGHT AT INTERSECTION OF ANOTHER 4 LANE ROAD. BRAKES MOSTLY UNRESPONSIVE. ALMOST WENT THROUGH INTERSECTION AND NARROWLY MISSED HITTING A SLOWING CAR. BRAKING DID NOT ENGAGE PER USUAL ACTIVATION POSITION AND PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR INSTEAD. CAR WAS JUST SERVICED A WEEK AGO FOR UNRELATED RECALL ITEM. CAR HAS BEEN MAINTAINED DILIGENTLY SINCE NEW PURCHASE IN 2009, GETTING ALL RECALLS SERVICED PROMPTLY. MAYBE THE RANGE OF VINS IN THE OLDER RECALL WAS NOT WIDE ENOUGH?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 243
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds