Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2203 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (119) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (67) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (210) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/4/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES. TOYOTA SERVICE TECHIE'S DIAGNOSTIC SHOWED A DISCONNECTED SPIRAL CABLE. TECHIE EXPLAINED THAT THE SPIRAL CABLE HAS ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS TO THE DRIVER'S AIRBAG MODULE AND THE DRIVER'S AIR BAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT. HE SAID I SHOULD INSTALL A NEW CABLE SPIRAL ASSEMBLY KIT (AKA "CLOCK SPRING"), PART # 8430747020 AT A COST OF NEARLY $1000, INCLUDING OVER $700 FOR THE PART. I DID SOME RESEARCH. PART # 8430747020 WAS INSTALLED IN MANY TOYOTA VEHICLES, AND HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR THE SAME PROBLEM IN THE COROLLA, MATRIX, HIGHLANDER, TACOMA, RAV4, AND YARIS. SEE SAFETY RECALL E0M (E1M) APRIL 2015, UPDATE 5/12/14. THE PRIUS IS NOT MENTIONED IN THE RECALL, ALTHOUGH MY CAR HAS THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM WITH THE IDENTICAL PART, AND THE TOYOTA SERVICE SUPERVISOR AGREES IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM AND PART. I EXPLAINED THIS TO THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND SUPERVISOR, WHO CALLED TOYOTA, AND TOYOTA OFFERED TO COVER 50% OF THE COST OF THE PART, AND NONE OF THE LABOR COST. I ASKED WHETHER THEY COULD DO THE SAME FIX IN MY CAR AS THEY DO ON THE RECALLED VEHICLES, NAMELY INSTALLING PART # 04004-07122, AND THEY DECLINED. SEE TECHNICAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR SAFETY RECALL E0M SPIRAL CABLE REPLACEMENT. TOYOTA SHOULD BE RECALLING MY CAR AND FIXING THIS PROBLEM AT THEIR EXPENSE, NOT JUST REDUCING THE COST OF THE PART. SECOND, THEY SHOULD NOT BE REPLACING THIS DEFECTIVE PART WITH THE SAME DEFECTIVE PART. THEY SHOULD DO A FIX THAT WILL LAST. I ASSUME THE FIX THEY'VE DONE ON ALL OTHER VEHICLES, WITH PART # 04004-07122, WOULD WORK FOR MY PRIUS. THEY REFUSE. FYI- THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON AND OFF FOR YEARS, AND SEEN BY TOYOTA DURING THAT PERIOD. THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED MAY 1, 2017. THEY BELIEVE THE PREVIOUS AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WERE UNRELATED TO THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES. TOYOTA SERVICE TECHIE'S DIAGNOSTIC SHOWED A DISCONNECTED SPIRAL CABLE. TECHIE EXPLAINED THAT THE SPIRAL CABLE HAS ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS TO THE DRIVER'S AIRBAG MODULE AND THE DRIVER'S AIR BAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT. HE SAID I SHOULD INSTALL A NEW CABLE SPIRAL ASSEMBLY KIT (AKA "CLOCK SPRING"), PART # 8430747020 AT A COST OF NEARLY $1000, INCLUDING OVER $700 FOR THE PART. I DID SOME RESEARCH. PART # 8430747020 WAS INSTALLED IN MANY TOYOTA VEHICLES, AND HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR THE SAME PROBLEM IN THE COROLLA, MATRIX, HIGHLANDER, TACOMA, RAV4, AND YARIS. SEE SAFETY RECALL E0M (E1M) APRIL 2015, UPDATE 5/12/14. THE PRIUS IS NOT MENTIONED IN THE RECALL, ALTHOUGH MY CAR HAS THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM WITH THE IDENTICAL PART, AND THE TOYOTA SERVICE SUPERVISOR AGREES IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM AND PART. I EXPLAINED THIS TO THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND SUPERVISOR, WHO CALLED TOYOTA, AND TOYOTA OFFERED TO COVER 50% OF THE COST OF THE PART, AND NONE OF THE LABOR COST. I ASKED WHETHER THEY COULD DO THE SAME FIX IN MY CAR AS THEY DO ON THE RECALLED VEHICLES, NAMELY INSTALLING PART # 04004-07122, AND THEY DECLINED. SEE TECHNICAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR SAFETY RECALL E0M SPIRAL CABLE REPLACEMENT. TOYOTA SHOULD BE RECALLING MY CAR AND FIXING THIS PROBLEM AT THEIR EXPENSE, NOT JUST REDUCING THE COST OF THE PART. SECOND, THEY SHOULD NOT BE REPLACING THIS DEFECTIVE PART WITH THE SAME DEFECTIVE PART. THEY SHOULD DO A FIX THAT WILL LAST. I ASSUME THE FIX THEY'VE DONE ON ALL OTHER VEHICLES, WITH PART # 04004-07122, WOULD WORK FOR MY PRIUS. THEY REFUSE. FYI- THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON AND OFF FOR YEARS, AND SEEN BY TOYOTA DURING THAT PERIOD. THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED MAY 1, 2017. THEY BELIEVE THE PREVIOUS AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WERE UNRELATED TO THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2017 - NEWMARKET, NH
WENT TO SWAP THE LICENSE PLATE IN MY PRIUS AFTER REGISTERING IN NEW STATE. BACK LICENSE PLATE BOLT ON UPPER-RIGHT SIDE UNSCREWED PARTIALLY AND THEN THE BOLT HOUSING DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE SCREW CANNOT BE UNSCREWED AND THE LICENSE PLATE CANNOT BE REMOVED. CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY KNEW WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT. SAID THE REPAIR WOULD TAKE ONE HOUR AND COST $110+FOR A BOLT THAT MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE ISN'T TECHNICALLY STREET LEGAL NOW AND THEY CAN'T SEE ME FOR SEVERAL DAYS. I SAID THAT I DIDN'T THINK A COMPONENT LIKE THAT SHOULD JUST BREAK OFF, AND I WAS TOLD IT MAY HAVE BEEN A RESULT OF THE WRONG BOLT SIZE BEING USED. THAT'S UNLIKELY AS THIS CAR HAS ONLY EVER SEEN TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS AND THAT WAS WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED. VERY DISAPPOINTED AND IT SOUNDS LIKE TOYOTA KNOWS ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/30/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
THIS AFTERNOON, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN A TWO LANE, PAVED STREET AT ABOUT 25 MPH. THE STREET HAS A SLIGHT DECLINE AND SHE BEGAN TO APPLY THE BREAKS TO SLOW DOWN SLIGHTLY. JUST A SECOND OR TWO LATER, SHE HIT A SMALL BUMP IN THE ROAD AND THE CAR ACCELERATED (WHILE SHE HAD HER FOOT ON THE BREAK) FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND. WE DIDN'T HEAR THE SOUND OF THE ENGINE REVVING. THANKFULLY, THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD AT THIS TIME AND THERE WAS TIME TO PRESS THE BREAK AGAIN. BASED ON LOOKING AROUND ONLINE, MANY PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED SIMILAR ISSUES (HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERREPORTS.ORG/CRO/NEWS/2010/02/TOYOTA-ADDS-2010-PRIUS-BRAKING-PROBLEM-TO-THE-LIST-RECALL-POSSIBLE/INDEX.HTM).

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
THIS AFTERNOON, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN A TWO LANE, PAVED STREET AT ABOUT 25 MPH. THE STREET HAS A SLIGHT DECLINE AND SHE BEGAN TO APPLY THE BREAKS TO SLOW DOWN SLIGHTLY. JUST A SECOND OR TWO LATER, SHE HIT A SMALL BUMP IN THE ROAD AND THE CAR ACCELERATED (WHILE SHE HAD HER FOOT ON THE BREAK) FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND. WE DIDN'T HEAR THE SOUND OF THE ENGINE REVVING. THANKFULLY, THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD AT THIS TIME AND THERE WAS TIME TO PRESS THE BREAK AGAIN. BASED ON LOOKING AROUND ONLINE, MANY PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED SIMILAR ISSUES (HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERREPORTS.ORG/CRO/NEWS/2010/02/TOYOTA-ADDS-2010-PRIUS-BRAKING-PROBLEM-TO-THE-LIST-RECALL-POSSIBLE/INDEX.HTM).

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2017 - CHESTER SPRINGS, PA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION STARTING AT 100,000 WHICH WORSENED. I NOW HAVE TO PUT A QUART OF OIL EVERY 750-1000 MILES IN MY 2010 PRIUS. NO ONE AT TOYOTA WILL ADMIT THIS IS A PROBLEM, ALBEIT THERE ARE AN EXTREME AMOUNT OF THESE COMPLAINTS ONLINE THROUGH DIFFERENT BLOGS AND WEB SITES. REALLY, WE TOYOTA OWNERS BOUGHT THIS CAR TO DECREASE OUR CARBON FOOTPRINT...IRONIC, RIGHT?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2017 - CHESTER SPRINGS, PA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION STARTING AT 100,000 WHICH WORSENED. I NOW HAVE TO PUT A QUART OF OIL EVERY 750-1000 MILES IN MY 2010 PRIUS. NO ONE AT TOYOTA WILL ADMIT THIS IS A PROBLEM, ALBEIT THERE ARE AN EXTREME AMOUNT OF THESE COMPLAINTS ONLINE THROUGH DIFFERENT BLOGS AND WEB SITES. REALLY, WE TOYOTA OWNERS BOUGHT THIS CAR TO DECREASE OUR CARBON FOOTPRINT...IRONIC, RIGHT?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
WHEN I AM COMING TO A STOP (BRAKING NORMALLY) AND HIT A BUMP, THE CAR SURGES SLIGHTLY AND THE BRAKES BECOME LESS RESPONSIVE. IT FEELS LIKE I'M FIGHTING THE ENGINE AS IT ACCELERATES AND I'M TRYING TO BRAKE AGAINST IT. RELEASING THE BRAKE AND ATTEMPTING AGAIN SEEMS TO BE A SOLUTION, BUT I OFTEN DON'T HAVE TIME BEFORE REACHING THE INTERSECTION I'M APPROACHING. THIS CONSISTENTLY HAPPENS IN TWO PLACES IN MY DAILY COMMUTE WITH A SLIGHT BUCKLE IN THE ROAD APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION ON CITY STREETS AND COUNTY ROADS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
WHEN I AM COMING TO A STOP (BRAKING NORMALLY) AND HIT A BUMP, THE CAR SURGES SLIGHTLY AND THE BRAKES BECOME LESS RESPONSIVE. IT FEELS LIKE I'M FIGHTING THE ENGINE AS IT ACCELERATES AND I'M TRYING TO BRAKE AGAINST IT. RELEASING THE BRAKE AND ATTEMPTING AGAIN SEEMS TO BE A SOLUTION, BUT I OFTEN DON'T HAVE TIME BEFORE REACHING THE INTERSECTION I'M APPROACHING. THIS CONSISTENTLY HAPPENS IN TWO PLACES IN MY DAILY COMMUTE WITH A SLIGHT BUCKLE IN THE ROAD APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION ON CITY STREETS AND COUNTY ROADS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
WHEN I AM COMING TO A STOP (BRAKING NORMALLY) AND HIT A BUMP, THE CAR SURGES SLIGHTLY AND THE BRAKES BECOME LESS RESPONSIVE. IT FEELS LIKE I'M FIGHTING THE ENGINE AS IT ACCELERATES AND I'M TRYING TO BRAKE AGAINST IT. RELEASING THE BRAKE AND ATTEMPTING AGAIN SEEMS TO BE A SOLUTION, BUT I OFTEN DON'T HAVE TIME BEFORE REACHING THE INTERSECTION I'M APPROACHING. THIS CONSISTENTLY HAPPENS IN TWO PLACES IN MY DAILY COMMUTE WITH A SLIGHT BUCKLE IN THE ROAD APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION ON CITY STREETS AND COUNTY ROADS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds