Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2194 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (117) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (208) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/30/2017 - CHESTER SPRINGS, PA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION STARTING AT 100,000 WHICH WORSENED. I NOW HAVE TO PUT A QUART OF OIL EVERY 750-1000 MILES IN MY 2010 PRIUS. NO ONE AT TOYOTA WILL ADMIT THIS IS A PROBLEM, ALBEIT THERE ARE AN EXTREME AMOUNT OF THESE COMPLAINTS ONLINE THROUGH DIFFERENT BLOGS AND WEB SITES. REALLY, WE TOYOTA OWNERS BOUGHT THIS CAR TO DECREASE OUR CARBON FOOTPRINT...IRONIC, RIGHT?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2017 - CHESTER SPRINGS, PA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION STARTING AT 100,000 WHICH WORSENED. I NOW HAVE TO PUT A QUART OF OIL EVERY 750-1000 MILES IN MY 2010 PRIUS. NO ONE AT TOYOTA WILL ADMIT THIS IS A PROBLEM, ALBEIT THERE ARE AN EXTREME AMOUNT OF THESE COMPLAINTS ONLINE THROUGH DIFFERENT BLOGS AND WEB SITES. REALLY, WE TOYOTA OWNERS BOUGHT THIS CAR TO DECREASE OUR CARBON FOOTPRINT...IRONIC, RIGHT?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
WHEN I AM COMING TO A STOP (BRAKING NORMALLY) AND HIT A BUMP, THE CAR SURGES SLIGHTLY AND THE BRAKES BECOME LESS RESPONSIVE. IT FEELS LIKE I'M FIGHTING THE ENGINE AS IT ACCELERATES AND I'M TRYING TO BRAKE AGAINST IT. RELEASING THE BRAKE AND ATTEMPTING AGAIN SEEMS TO BE A SOLUTION, BUT I OFTEN DON'T HAVE TIME BEFORE REACHING THE INTERSECTION I'M APPROACHING. THIS CONSISTENTLY HAPPENS IN TWO PLACES IN MY DAILY COMMUTE WITH A SLIGHT BUCKLE IN THE ROAD APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION ON CITY STREETS AND COUNTY ROADS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
WHEN I AM COMING TO A STOP (BRAKING NORMALLY) AND HIT A BUMP, THE CAR SURGES SLIGHTLY AND THE BRAKES BECOME LESS RESPONSIVE. IT FEELS LIKE I'M FIGHTING THE ENGINE AS IT ACCELERATES AND I'M TRYING TO BRAKE AGAINST IT. RELEASING THE BRAKE AND ATTEMPTING AGAIN SEEMS TO BE A SOLUTION, BUT I OFTEN DON'T HAVE TIME BEFORE REACHING THE INTERSECTION I'M APPROACHING. THIS CONSISTENTLY HAPPENS IN TWO PLACES IN MY DAILY COMMUTE WITH A SLIGHT BUCKLE IN THE ROAD APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION ON CITY STREETS AND COUNTY ROADS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
WHEN I AM COMING TO A STOP (BRAKING NORMALLY) AND HIT A BUMP, THE CAR SURGES SLIGHTLY AND THE BRAKES BECOME LESS RESPONSIVE. IT FEELS LIKE I'M FIGHTING THE ENGINE AS IT ACCELERATES AND I'M TRYING TO BRAKE AGAINST IT. RELEASING THE BRAKE AND ATTEMPTING AGAIN SEEMS TO BE A SOLUTION, BUT I OFTEN DON'T HAVE TIME BEFORE REACHING THE INTERSECTION I'M APPROACHING. THIS CONSISTENTLY HAPPENS IN TWO PLACES IN MY DAILY COMMUTE WITH A SLIGHT BUCKLE IN THE ROAD APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION ON CITY STREETS AND COUNTY ROADS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2017 - LEETONIA, OH
IN FALL OF 2015 RECALL FOR HYBRID SYSTEM FAILURE WAS PREFORMED TO COMPUTER SYSTEM. IN THE FALL OF 2016 I WAS PULLING OUT ONTO TRAFFIC ONTO A STATE ROUTE WHEN ENGINE LOST POWER AND LIGHTS FOR THE HYBRID SYSTEM CAME ON. WAS RUNNING ON ONLY GAS ENGINE WITH LIMITED SLOW ACCELERATION TO ABOUT 35 MPH. WAS ABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE IT TO A LOCATION TO PARK IT UNTIL FLAT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. WAS TOLD BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP THAT THE HYBRID SYSTEM FAILED, UPON RESEARCH I FOUND IT FAILED EXACTLY AS STATED IN THE RECALL THAT WAS DONE IN FALL OF 2015. THE PREVIOUS RECALL "FIX" WAS TOO LITTLE TOO LATE THE DAMAGE HAD ALREADY BEEN DONE. FOUGHT WITH TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND CORPORATE ABOUT THAT THIS WAS A RECALL FIX THAT FAILED AND DIDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE COST OF THE $3000 REPAIR ENTIRELY AND I AM STUCK PAYING HALF OF THE REPAIR THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED ENTIRELY UNDER THE RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/18/2017 - LAREDO, TX
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY AT POSTED SPEED LIMIT (75MPH), I TRIED TO SLOW DOWN DUE TO TRAFFIC AND NOTICED MY CARS ABILITY TO BRAKE WAS SEVERELY COMPROMISED. I THEN NOTICED MY CARS BRAKES, ABS, MASTER WARNING AND VSC LIGHTS HAD CAME ON. GIVEN THAT MY CAR HAS 103K MILES ON IT, I FIGURED IT IS TIME FOR A BRAKE PAD SERVICE. WITH THE LIMITED BRAKING ABILITY, I DECIDED TO MAKE THE SHORT DRIVE TO THE TOYOTA DEALER FOR BRAKE SERVICE. AFTER THE DEALER INSPECTED MY CAR, A REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOT THE BRAKE PADS THAT ARE CAUSING THE LIGHTS IN YOUR DASH TO GO ON BUT RATHER THE BRAKE BOOSTER. THEY ADVISED ME THAT IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE UNTIL THE ISSUE IS REMEDIED BY REPLACING THE BRAKE BOOSTER AT A COST OF OVER 2K. I HAD TO ALSO INCUR THE COST OF A RENTAL SINCE THE BOOSTER WAS NOT IN STOCK AND WOULD TAKE OVER THE WEEKEND TO RECEIVE. I WAS TAKEN ABACK BY THE TOTAL COST OF THE SERVICE BUT HAD NO CHOICE AND PROCEED TO GET IT REPAIRED. UPON RECEIVING MY CAR A FEW DAYS LATER, I DROVE TO WORK AND UPON MY RETURN HOME, THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF WITH ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH LIGHTING UP AND THE CARS BRAKING ABILITY WAS AGAIN COMPROMISED. EXTREMELY IRATE, I DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER AND UPON INSPECTING THE CAR THEY TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOW THE ACCUMULATOR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS TIME THE DEALER ABSORBED THE COST OF OVER 3K TO REPLACE IT. I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANY KNOWN RECALLS AND FOUND THE ISSUE WAS BEING ADDRESSED BY TOYOTA WITH A RECALL HOWEVER MY CARS VIN WAS NOT PART OF IT. IT IS MY HOPES THAT YOU MAKE TOYOTA AWARE OF THE SAFETY ISSUE AND INITIATE A RECALL ON ALL 2010 PRIUS MODELS AND NOT JUST SOME. I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO GET THE COST I INCURRED WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE REIMBURSED AT SOME POINT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/18/2017 - LAREDO, TX
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY AT POSTED SPEED LIMIT (75MPH), I TRIED TO SLOW DOWN DUE TO TRAFFIC AND NOTICED MY CARS ABILITY TO BRAKE WAS SEVERELY COMPROMISED. I THEN NOTICED MY CARS BRAKES, ABS, MASTER WARNING AND VSC LIGHTS HAD CAME ON. GIVEN THAT MY CAR HAS 103K MILES ON IT, I FIGURED IT IS TIME FOR A BRAKE PAD SERVICE. WITH THE LIMITED BRAKING ABILITY, I DECIDED TO MAKE THE SHORT DRIVE TO THE TOYOTA DEALER FOR BRAKE SERVICE. AFTER THE DEALER INSPECTED MY CAR, A REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOT THE BRAKE PADS THAT ARE CAUSING THE LIGHTS IN YOUR DASH TO GO ON BUT RATHER THE BRAKE BOOSTER. THEY ADVISED ME THAT IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE UNTIL THE ISSUE IS REMEDIED BY REPLACING THE BRAKE BOOSTER AT A COST OF OVER 2K. I HAD TO ALSO INCUR THE COST OF A RENTAL SINCE THE BOOSTER WAS NOT IN STOCK AND WOULD TAKE OVER THE WEEKEND TO RECEIVE. I WAS TAKEN ABACK BY THE TOTAL COST OF THE SERVICE BUT HAD NO CHOICE AND PROCEED TO GET IT REPAIRED. UPON RECEIVING MY CAR A FEW DAYS LATER, I DROVE TO WORK AND UPON MY RETURN HOME, THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF WITH ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH LIGHTING UP AND THE CARS BRAKING ABILITY WAS AGAIN COMPROMISED. EXTREMELY IRATE, I DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER AND UPON INSPECTING THE CAR THEY TOLD ME THAT IT IS NOW THE ACCUMULATOR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS TIME THE DEALER ABSORBED THE COST OF OVER 3K TO REPLACE IT. I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANY KNOWN RECALLS AND FOUND THE ISSUE WAS BEING ADDRESSED BY TOYOTA WITH A RECALL HOWEVER MY CARS VIN WAS NOT PART OF IT. IT IS MY HOPES THAT YOU MAKE TOYOTA AWARE OF THE SAFETY ISSUE AND INITIATE A RECALL ON ALL 2010 PRIUS MODELS AND NOT JUST SOME. I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO GET THE COST I INCURRED WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE REIMBURSED AT SOME POINT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/15/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
BOTH LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS DO NOT GO ON AT ALL. WERE WORKING PROPERLY ON WAY TO A DESTINATION AT 9PM, THEN DID NOT GO ON AFTER CAR WAS PARKED AFTER 2 HOURS. THIS HAS NEVER OCCURRED BEFORE. BULBS ARE NOT BURNED OUT, FUSE IS NOT BLOWN. ALL OTHER MECHANISMS ON FUSE WORKING PROPERLY (BACKUP LIGHTS, HORN). PARKING LIGHTS AND HI-BEAMS WORK. VERY DANGEROUS DRIVE HOME, USE OF HI-BEAMS ON SURFACE STREETS NOT SAFE FOR OTHER DRIVERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2017 - NATIONAL CITY, CA
I'VE HAD TWO TOYOTA PRIUS IN MY LIFETIME, A 2005 AND A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, BOTH HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WHERE THE ENGINE WOULD EAT UP ALL OF MY OIL, I WOULD HAVE AN OIL CHANGE DONE AND LESS THAN 2 WEEKS LATER I WOULD HAVE TO CHECK THE OIL GAUGE ROD AND FIND THAT THE OIL LEVELS WERE BELOW THE BOTTOM LINE, ALMOST EMPTY! THE ENGINE WOULD BE BURNING OIL AT SUCH AN ALARMING RATE THAT I WOULD REPEATEDLY BRING THE VEHICLE TO TOYOTA FOR OIL CHANGES. I'M VERY UNSATISFIED WITH MY TOYOTA PRIUSES. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT 166,384 MILES AND THE ENGINE CYLINDER HAS NOW GIVEN WAY AND ALSO THE HYBRID BATTERY. I'VE GONE ONLY TO TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS TO HAVE PRISTINE CONSECUTIVE SERVICE AND NO THIRD PARTY REPAIR FACILITIES HAVE PROVIDED SERVICE. I AM LOCATED IN SOUTHER CALIFORNIA IN SAN DIEGO. I HAVE SPOKEN TO MANY OTHER TOYOTA PRIUS OWNERS AND IF YOU DO A GOOGLE SEARCH ONLINE AS OF (04/10/17) "TOYOTA PRIUS ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION" YOU'LL FIND MANY FORUMS WITH "EXCESSIVE CONSUMPTION" FROM MANY OTHER USERS. ONCE YOU REACH PAST THE 140,000 MILE MARK, YOUR CAR IS PRETTY MUCH DONE. CONSIDER BUYING A NEW ONE. TOYOTA PRIUSES AND THEIR ENGINEERS HAVE TO COME UP WITH A WAY TO SATISFY CURRENT AND FUTURE PRIUS OWNERS AS MANY OF US WILL FIND THAT THERE WILL BE MANY PROBLEMS AND ISSUES DOWN THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds