Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2225 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (124) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (55)
Electrical System (122) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (69) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (220) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 243
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/25/2017 - SEATTLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE, IT UNEXPECTEDLY ACCELERATED AND STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE BEFORE CRASHING INTO AN APARTMENT UNIT. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CALLED AND PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH AN INVESTIGATOR WHO REMOVED A BOX FROM THE VEHICLE, WHICH WOULD DETERMINE IF THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO DRIVER ERROR OR A SAFETY DEFECT. THE MANUFACTURER DETERMINED THAT IT WAS DRIVER ERROR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 53,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2017 - SMITHTOWN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30-40 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF A POLICE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT'S CHEST AND FACE STRUCK THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT RECEIVED INJURIES TO THE CLAVICLE AREA, SHOULDERS, FACE, EYES, HEAD/BRAIN, AND NECK AREA. EXTENSIVE MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TOWED; HOWEVER, A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR WAS MISSED BY A COUPLE OF MILLIMETERS, WHICH PREVENTED THEM FROM DEPLOYING. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED TOTALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. UPDATED 07/13/17

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/17/2017 - EDINA, MN
BECAUSE OF,AS DEALERSHIP SAID,THE CAR WAS STALLED AT THE HIGHWAY. I DON'T HAVE ANY STICKER ABOUT RECALL, BUT MOST PRIUS 2010 OWNERS SAID THAT OWNERS RECEIVING NOTIFICATION ABOUT INVERTER PROBLEM. I'M HEADING TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHO OFFERED ME TO FIX THE CAR FOR $3,500. COULD YOU PLEASE TAKE A LOOK, DO I HAVE ANY WARRANTY OR RECALLS ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE PLEASE. THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/16/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN DRIVING OVER BUMPY OR ROUGH SURFACES OR POT HOLES, WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKES OFTEN SEEM TO STOP WORKING. AND THE CAR SEEMS TO HAVE A LITTLE BOOST FORWARD. IT HAPPENS WHEREVER THE ROAD SURFACE HAS BUMPY AREAS ON STRAIGHTAWAYS OR CURVES. AND MOSTLY WHEN APPLYING LIGHT PRESSURE TO THE BREAK, LIKE SLOWING FOR AN UPCOMING TURN. IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I GOT THE CAR IN 2013. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO A MECHANIC, BUT THEY COULDN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES OVER LAST 3 1/2 YEARS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/4/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2010 PRIUS. WITHIN THE FIRST MONTH, I CONTACTED TOYOTA, COMPLAINING OF THE BRAKES, WHICH WERE NOT CONSISTENTLY SMOOTH. IN GENERAL, THE BRAKES WORK FINE, BUT IF I HIT A BUMP OR DITCH, THE BRAKES SUDDENLY STOP WORKING FOR A SPLIT SECOND, AND THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT IS LURCHING FORWARD, BEFORE THE BRAKES SUDDENLY START WORKING AGAIN. TOYOTA SERVICE WAS NEVER ABLE TO "REPRODUCE" THE PROBLEM, AND EVENTUALLY I GAVE UP. A COUPLE YEARS AGO, THE CAR WAS RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM, AND I BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO BE FIXED. UNFORTUNATELY, THE RECALL WORK HAS NOT REMEDIED THE PROBLEM. THE BRAKES STILL SEEM TO OCCASIONALLY MALFUNCTION WHEN THE CAR DRIVES OVER A ROUGH PATCH. TOYOTA SEEMS TO BELIEVE THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN SOLVED, BUT IT HAS NOT BE SOLVED. THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE SINCE THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES. TOYOTA SERVICE TECHIE'S DIAGNOSTIC SHOWED A DISCONNECTED SPIRAL CABLE. TECHIE EXPLAINED THAT THE SPIRAL CABLE HAS ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS TO THE DRIVER'S AIRBAG MODULE AND THE DRIVER'S AIR BAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT. HE SAID I SHOULD INSTALL A NEW CABLE SPIRAL ASSEMBLY KIT (AKA "CLOCK SPRING"), PART # 8430747020 AT A COST OF NEARLY $1000, INCLUDING OVER $700 FOR THE PART. I DID SOME RESEARCH. PART # 8430747020 WAS INSTALLED IN MANY TOYOTA VEHICLES, AND HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR THE SAME PROBLEM IN THE COROLLA, MATRIX, HIGHLANDER, TACOMA, RAV4, AND YARIS. SEE SAFETY RECALL E0M (E1M) APRIL 2015, UPDATE 5/12/14. THE PRIUS IS NOT MENTIONED IN THE RECALL, ALTHOUGH MY CAR HAS THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM WITH THE IDENTICAL PART, AND THE TOYOTA SERVICE SUPERVISOR AGREES IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM AND PART. I EXPLAINED THIS TO THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND SUPERVISOR, WHO CALLED TOYOTA, AND TOYOTA OFFERED TO COVER 50% OF THE COST OF THE PART, AND NONE OF THE LABOR COST. I ASKED WHETHER THEY COULD DO THE SAME FIX IN MY CAR AS THEY DO ON THE RECALLED VEHICLES, NAMELY INSTALLING PART # 04004-07122, AND THEY DECLINED. SEE TECHNICAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR SAFETY RECALL E0M SPIRAL CABLE REPLACEMENT. TOYOTA SHOULD BE RECALLING MY CAR AND FIXING THIS PROBLEM AT THEIR EXPENSE, NOT JUST REDUCING THE COST OF THE PART. SECOND, THEY SHOULD NOT BE REPLACING THIS DEFECTIVE PART WITH THE SAME DEFECTIVE PART. THEY SHOULD DO A FIX THAT WILL LAST. I ASSUME THE FIX THEY'VE DONE ON ALL OTHER VEHICLES, WITH PART # 04004-07122, WOULD WORK FOR MY PRIUS. THEY REFUSE. FYI- THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON AND OFF FOR YEARS, AND SEEN BY TOYOTA DURING THAT PERIOD. THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED MAY 1, 2017. THEY BELIEVE THE PREVIOUS AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WERE UNRELATED TO THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/4/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES. TOYOTA SERVICE TECHIE'S DIAGNOSTIC SHOWED A DISCONNECTED SPIRAL CABLE. TECHIE EXPLAINED THAT THE SPIRAL CABLE HAS ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS TO THE DRIVER'S AIRBAG MODULE AND THE DRIVER'S AIR BAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT. HE SAID I SHOULD INSTALL A NEW CABLE SPIRAL ASSEMBLY KIT (AKA "CLOCK SPRING"), PART # 8430747020 AT A COST OF NEARLY $1000, INCLUDING OVER $700 FOR THE PART. I DID SOME RESEARCH. PART # 8430747020 WAS INSTALLED IN MANY TOYOTA VEHICLES, AND HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR THE SAME PROBLEM IN THE COROLLA, MATRIX, HIGHLANDER, TACOMA, RAV4, AND YARIS. SEE SAFETY RECALL E0M (E1M) APRIL 2015, UPDATE 5/12/14. THE PRIUS IS NOT MENTIONED IN THE RECALL, ALTHOUGH MY CAR HAS THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM WITH THE IDENTICAL PART, AND THE TOYOTA SERVICE SUPERVISOR AGREES IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM AND PART. I EXPLAINED THIS TO THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND SUPERVISOR, WHO CALLED TOYOTA, AND TOYOTA OFFERED TO COVER 50% OF THE COST OF THE PART, AND NONE OF THE LABOR COST. I ASKED WHETHER THEY COULD DO THE SAME FIX IN MY CAR AS THEY DO ON THE RECALLED VEHICLES, NAMELY INSTALLING PART # 04004-07122, AND THEY DECLINED. SEE TECHNICAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR SAFETY RECALL E0M SPIRAL CABLE REPLACEMENT. TOYOTA SHOULD BE RECALLING MY CAR AND FIXING THIS PROBLEM AT THEIR EXPENSE, NOT JUST REDUCING THE COST OF THE PART. SECOND, THEY SHOULD NOT BE REPLACING THIS DEFECTIVE PART WITH THE SAME DEFECTIVE PART. THEY SHOULD DO A FIX THAT WILL LAST. I ASSUME THE FIX THEY'VE DONE ON ALL OTHER VEHICLES, WITH PART # 04004-07122, WOULD WORK FOR MY PRIUS. THEY REFUSE. FYI- THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON AND OFF FOR YEARS, AND SEEN BY TOYOTA DURING THAT PERIOD. THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED MAY 1, 2017. THEY BELIEVE THE PREVIOUS AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WERE UNRELATED TO THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2017 - NEWMARKET, NH
WENT TO SWAP THE LICENSE PLATE IN MY PRIUS AFTER REGISTERING IN NEW STATE. BACK LICENSE PLATE BOLT ON UPPER-RIGHT SIDE UNSCREWED PARTIALLY AND THEN THE BOLT HOUSING DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE SCREW CANNOT BE UNSCREWED AND THE LICENSE PLATE CANNOT BE REMOVED. CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY KNEW WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT. SAID THE REPAIR WOULD TAKE ONE HOUR AND COST $110+FOR A BOLT THAT MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE ISN'T TECHNICALLY STREET LEGAL NOW AND THEY CAN'T SEE ME FOR SEVERAL DAYS. I SAID THAT I DIDN'T THINK A COMPONENT LIKE THAT SHOULD JUST BREAK OFF, AND I WAS TOLD IT MAY HAVE BEEN A RESULT OF THE WRONG BOLT SIZE BEING USED. THAT'S UNLIKELY AS THIS CAR HAS ONLY EVER SEEN TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS AND THAT WAS WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED. VERY DISAPPOINTED AND IT SOUNDS LIKE TOYOTA KNOWS ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/30/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
THIS AFTERNOON, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN A TWO LANE, PAVED STREET AT ABOUT 25 MPH. THE STREET HAS A SLIGHT DECLINE AND SHE BEGAN TO APPLY THE BREAKS TO SLOW DOWN SLIGHTLY. JUST A SECOND OR TWO LATER, SHE HIT A SMALL BUMP IN THE ROAD AND THE CAR ACCELERATED (WHILE SHE HAD HER FOOT ON THE BREAK) FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND. WE DIDN'T HEAR THE SOUND OF THE ENGINE REVVING. THANKFULLY, THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD AT THIS TIME AND THERE WAS TIME TO PRESS THE BREAK AGAIN. BASED ON LOOKING AROUND ONLINE, MANY PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED SIMILAR ISSUES (HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERREPORTS.ORG/CRO/NEWS/2010/02/TOYOTA-ADDS-2010-PRIUS-BRAKING-PROBLEM-TO-THE-LIST-RECALL-POSSIBLE/INDEX.HTM).

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
THIS AFTERNOON, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN A TWO LANE, PAVED STREET AT ABOUT 25 MPH. THE STREET HAS A SLIGHT DECLINE AND SHE BEGAN TO APPLY THE BREAKS TO SLOW DOWN SLIGHTLY. JUST A SECOND OR TWO LATER, SHE HIT A SMALL BUMP IN THE ROAD AND THE CAR ACCELERATED (WHILE SHE HAD HER FOOT ON THE BREAK) FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND. WE DIDN'T HEAR THE SOUND OF THE ENGINE REVVING. THANKFULLY, THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD AT THIS TIME AND THERE WAS TIME TO PRESS THE BREAK AGAIN. BASED ON LOOKING AROUND ONLINE, MANY PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED SIMILAR ISSUES (HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERREPORTS.ORG/CRO/NEWS/2010/02/TOYOTA-ADDS-2010-PRIUS-BRAKING-PROBLEM-TO-THE-LIST-RECALL-POSSIBLE/INDEX.HTM).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 243
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds