Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2292 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (130) Power Train (68) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (59)
Electrical System (129) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seat Belts (12) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (270)
Electronic Stability Control (36) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (14)
Engine (87) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (255) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 249
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2018 - GREENSBORO, NC
AT ABOUT 125K MILES, MY PRIUS NEARLY RAN OUT OF OIL BETWEEN SERVICES, AND I RELIGIOUSLY SERVICE MY VEHICLE. I BURNED 1 TO 2 QUARTS BETWEEN SERVICES SINCE. AT 272,408 MILES, I JUST PAID $5751.59 FOR A COMPLETE ENGINE REBUILD... REST OF CAR IS IN GREAT SHAPE. OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS WERE KNOWN BY THE DEALERSHIPS, BUT I WAS GIVEN NO RECOURSE EXCEPT DEALING WITH IT. LATEST ISSUE..CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, MISFIRE ON CYLINDERS 1 AND 4 (PROGRESSING TO ALL), HORRIFIC KNOCKING NOISE WITH SOUND OF RUSHING WATER UPON START-UP. EVENTUALLY, (ONCE THE CYLINDERS FIRED SIGNIFICANTLY) THE ENGINE COULD RUN SATISFACTORILY FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE DRIVE... UNTIL THE NEXT START. EARLY ON I READ THAT TOYOTA KNEW OF THE UNDER-ENGINEERED MOTOR OF THE 2010S, BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANYTHING ANNOUNCING A RECALL OR CARE TO FIX THEIR ENGINEERING ISSUE. I HAVE MY SERVICE RECORDS TO VALIDATE THE CARE I'VE GIVEN TO MY CAR. THE DATE OF THE ENGINE REBUILD IS WHAT I WILL PROVIDE AS TO WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT THE OIL CONSUMPTION BEGAN YEARS AGO.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2018 - GREENSBORO, NC
AT ABOUT 125K MILES, MY PRIUS NEARLY RAN OUT OF OIL BETWEEN SERVICES, AND I RELIGIOUSLY SERVICE MY VEHICLE. I BURNED 1 TO 2 QUARTS BETWEEN SERVICES SINCE. AT 272,408 MILES, I JUST PAID $5751.59 FOR A COMPLETE ENGINE REBUILD... REST OF CAR IS IN GREAT SHAPE. OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS WERE KNOWN BY THE DEALERSHIPS, BUT I WAS GIVEN NO RECOURSE EXCEPT DEALING WITH IT. LATEST ISSUE..CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, MISFIRE ON CYLINDERS 1 AND 4 (PROGRESSING TO ALL), HORRIFIC KNOCKING NOISE WITH SOUND OF RUSHING WATER UPON START-UP. EVENTUALLY, (ONCE THE CYLINDERS FIRED SIGNIFICANTLY) THE ENGINE COULD RUN SATISFACTORILY FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE DRIVE... UNTIL THE NEXT START. EARLY ON I READ THAT TOYOTA KNEW OF THE UNDER-ENGINEERED MOTOR OF THE 2010S, BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANYTHING ANNOUNCING A RECALL OR CARE TO FIX THEIR ENGINEERING ISSUE. I HAVE MY SERVICE RECORDS TO VALIDATE THE CARE I'VE GIVEN TO MY CAR. THE DATE OF THE ENGINE REBUILD IS WHAT I WILL PROVIDE AS TO WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT THE OIL CONSUMPTION BEGAN YEARS AGO.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/3/2018 - FT LAUDERDALE, FL
MY CAR HAD THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ON AND I HEARD A STRANGE NOISE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. LAST YEAR. ON OCTOBER 7, 2017, I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND ANOTHER DRIVER CUT ME OFF, SO I HAD TO BREAK HARD. THE CAR PULLED HARD TO ONE SIDE AND I HIT THE RETAINING WALL. FORTUNATELY, THE DAMAGE TO THE CAR WAS ON THE BUMPER COVER ONLY, AND I WAS NOT INJURED, SO I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. THE DEALER RAN DIAGNOSTICS ON MY CAR AFTER THE CRASH AND REPORTED I NEEDED TO HAVE CERTAIN PARTS REPLACED. TOYOTA SAFETY RECALL 13V-235 DESCRIBES EXACTLY THE SYMPTOMS MY CAR SHOWS AND REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF EXACTLY THE SAME PARTS. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT MY CAR'S VIN DOES NOT FALL IN THE RANGE TOYOTA REPORTED IN THE RECALL. APART FROM THAT , THE PROBLEM IS THE SAME. MY ACCIDENT COULD HAVE BEEN VERY SERIOUS HAD THE RETAINING WALL THAT STOPPED ME NOT BEEN THERE. I COULD HAVE BEEN IN THE CENTER LANES AND THE STORY WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY DIFFERENT, EVEN WITH ME SURVIVING THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/2/2018 - ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL
I NOTICED A 'CLICKING' IN MY BRAKES AND LOSS OF PRESSURE IN NOV. 2017. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC FRIEND TO LOOK IT OVER AND I WAS ADVISED THAT IT WAS THE BRAKE BOOSTER LEAKING AND I SHOULD TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THERE HAD BEEN A 'RECALL' SENT ON CERTAIN VIN #S BUT MINE WASN'T LISTED ON IT. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY WANTED TO CHARGE ME $700+ TO DIAGNOSE AND 'FIX' THE ISSUE. IT WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST BECAUSE OF THE PRODUCTION DATE OF MY CAR. I FOUGHT WITH TOYOTA CORP AND THEY DECIDED TO COVER THE COST AS A 'COURTESY'. THE CLICKING STOPPED FOR ABOUT 3 WEEKS THEN CAME BACK MUCH LOUDER AND MORE FREQUENTLY. STILL LOSING PRESSURE, ENOUGH SO THAT WHEN I WAS SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT I WOULD PUT THE CAR IN 'PARK' TO KEEP IT FROM MOVING FORWARD. AGAIN THE DEALERSHIP SAID THIS WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL AND THIS TIME THE COST WOULD BE $4700+ TO 'FIX' THE ISSUE. THIS TIME THEY TOLD ME THEY CONFIRMED THE NITROGEN LEAK WITH THE 'BUBBLE TEST' SO IT WAS, IN FACT, THE BRAKE BOOSTER, BUT IT WAS STILL NOT COVERED. THIS TIME TOYOTA SAID THEY WOULD ONLY PAY $2000 FOR THE TOTAL COST, AGAIN AS A 'COURTESY', BUT I WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REMAINING AMOUNT. I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP IF THERE WAS SOMETHING I HAD DONE TO CAUSE THIS ISSUE AND I WAS TOLD 'NO'. TO ME THEN THAT IS A DEFECT FROM THE MANUFACTURER AND I SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE. I HAVE MAINTAINED THIS VEHICLE WITH THE DEALERSHIP ON A CONSISTENT BASIS, ALWAYS TAKING IT TO THEM FOR OIL CHANGES, ROTATIONS, ETC. ALWAYS ON THE SUGGESTED TIME SCHEDULE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/1/2018 - FT LAUDERDALE, FL
MY CAR HAD THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ON AND I HEARD A STRANGE NOISE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. LAST YEAR. ON OCTOBER 7, 2017, I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND ANOTHER DRIVER CUT ME OFF, SO I HAD TO BREAK HARD. THE CAR PULLED HARD TO ONE SIDE AND I HIT THE RETAINING WALL. FORTUNATELY, THE DAMAGE TO THE CAR WAS ON THE BUMPER COVER ONLY, AND I WAS NOT INJURED, SO I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. THE DEALER RAN DIAGNOSTICS ON MY CAR AFTER THE CRASH AND REPORTED I NEEDED TO HAVE CERTAIN PARTS REPLACED. TOYOTA SAFETY RECALL 13V-235 DESCRIBES EXACTLY THE SYMPTOMS MY CAR SHOWS AND REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF EXACTLY THE SAME PARTS. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT MY CAR'S VIN DOES NOT FALL IN THE RANGE TOYOTA REPORTED IN THE RECALL. APART FROM THAT , THE PROBLEM IS THE SAME. MY ACCIDENT COULD HAVE BEEN VERY SERIOUS HAD THE RETAINING WALL THAT STOPPED ME NOT BEEN THERE. I COULD HAVE BEEN IN THE CENTER LANES AND THE STORY WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY DIFFERENT, EVEN WITH ME SURVIVING THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/1/2018 - FT LAUDERDALE, FL
ON OCTOBER 7, 2017 A DRIVER CUT ME OFF ON THE HIGHWAY, I PRESSED MY BRAKES HARD AND THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE SIDE AND I HIT THE RETAINING WALL. THE IMPACT WAS NOT TOO HARD AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE TRAVELLING. THE ABS WARNING LIGHT IS ON AND I HEAR A STRANGE HUMMING NOISE UNDER THE HOOD. THE DEALER RAN DIAGNOSTICS AND SAID I NEEDED TO REPLACE TWO MAIN PARTS IN THE BRAKE SYSTEM. I FOUND A TOYOTA SAFETY RECALL 13V-235 AFFECTING OTHER PRIUS 2010 THAT DESCRIBES EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM AND REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF EXACTLY THE SAME PARTS INDICATED IN THE SAFETY RECALL. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT TOYOTA REPORTED THIS PROBLEM IN VEHICLES OF THE SAME YEAR AND MODEL, BUT MY CAR'S VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THEIR INDICATED RANGE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP

View Details

ENGINE

1/29/2018 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL POUNDING NOISE AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LINKED TO ODOMETER FRAUD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (TOYOTA OF HOLLYWOOD, 6000 HOLLYWOOD BLVD, HOLLYWOOD, CA 90026), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TOYOTA OF DOWNTOWN LA (1901 S FIGUEROA ST, LOS ANGELES, CA 90007) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE WAS MISFIRING AND AN ENGINE COMPRESSION TEST WAS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,984.

View Details

ENGINE

1/24/2018 - AUSTIN, TX
AT ABOUT 100,000 MILES ENGINE BEGAN USING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL, EXCEEDING 1 QUART PER 1000 MILES. TOYOTA KNOWS THIS IS A PROBLEM, AND EVEN HAS A TSB ON IT: TSB 0168-16, YET REFUSES TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/20/2018 - PEARLAND, TX
TURNING LEFT AFTER A STOP SIGN ON A SINGLE LANE STREET (30 MPH), SUDDENLY THE DASH BOARD STARTED FLASHING 'STOP CAR' WARNING AND CONTINUES BEEPING. ALSO, REALIZED THAT APPLYING BREAK PADDLE DID NOT HELP A BIT. IT WAS HARD TO PRESS THE PADDLE THAT MOVED A LITTLE BIT. GOING STRAIGHT ABOUT 300 FT. CAR REDUCED TO IDLING SPEED. TURNING LEFT INTO A PARKING LOT OF A SCHOOL, I TRIED STOPPING IT INTO A PARKING SPACE. BREAK DID NOT WORK AGAIN. SO, CAR STOPPED AFTER HITTING THE CURB. TOYOTA DEALERSHIP WAS CALLED AND ARRANGEMENTS WERE MADE TO TOW AWAY CAR FROM SCHOOL'S PARKING LOT. THE CAR DID NOT STOP WHEN TOWING PERSON TRIED TO REVERSE DRIVE. SOMEHOW HE MANAGED TO MANEUVER IT ON A TOW TRUCK. I WAS INFORMED BY DEALERSHIP THAT BREAK ASSIST SYSTEM (BAS), BUILT INTO PRIUS HYBRID MODEL, FAILED. THE SYSTEM COMPRISES OF ACCUMULATOR & PUMP THAT ASSISTS TO STOP THE CAR WHEN BREAK PADDLE IS PRESSED. THOUGH CAR WAS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, BREAK SYSTEM AND ASSOCIATED COMPONENTS WERE NOT COVERED. REPAIR COST OVER $1900 TO REPLACE BAS. PURPOSE OF THIS COMPLAINT TO HIGHLIGHT NHTSA OF THE CRITICAL FAILURE OF PRIUS DESIGN TO ALLOW BREAK SYSTEM TO FAIL IN SUCH A COLOSSAL WAY. THE CAR COULD NOT BE STOPPED. THIS IS A SERIOUS DRIVING SAFETY CONCERN. ANY FAILURE OF BREAK ASSIST COMPONENT SHOULD NEVER EVER TAKE AWAY THIS CRITICAL CONTROL. INTENT OF THIS COMPLAINT IS FOR THE PUBLIC SAFETY, HAVING TOYOTA INFORMED OF THE INCIDENT. IT HAS BEEN VERY DISAPPOINTING THAT TOYOTA HAS NOT GIVEN ANY RESPONSE EXCEPT GIVING A CASE NUMBER BY A CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER. REQUEST NHTSA TO LOOK INTO THE INCIDENT AND MOST IMPORTANTLY REVIEW DESIGN OF BREAK ASSIST SYSTEM FOR PRIUS IN THE INTEREST OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND DEFENSIVE DRIVING. PLEASE ADVISE SHOULD NHTSA REQUIRE FURTHER DETAILS OR INCIDENT NARRATIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/17/2018 - URBANA, IL
APPROACHING A STOP THE BRAKE PEDAL IN THE PRIUS WILL SUDDENLY LOSE RESISTANCE AND WILL NEED TO BE PUSHED TO THE FLOOR WHERE THE BRAKES WILL FINALLY ENGAGE AND THE AUTO WILL COME TO A HARD STOP. THIS HAPPENS RANDOMLY AND IS DIFFICULT FOR A MECHANIC TO DUPLICATE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A TRUSTED MECHANIC (NOT THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP) AND HE CONFIRMED IT IS AN HYDRAULIC PROBLEM AND THAT PADS/DRUMS/ETC. ARE OK. A RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR 2010 PRIUS+S DESCRIBING THIS EXACT SITUATION BUT MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL. RECALL DETAILS THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP CONTAINS A COMPARTMENT FILLED WITH NITROGEN GAS. THIS NITROGEN GAS CAN LEAK INTO THE BRAKE FLUID CAUSING REDUCED HYDRAULIC PRESSURE DURING APPLICATION OF THE BRAKES. REDUCED BRAKING EFFICIENCY CAN INCREASE THE RISK OF A CRASH. DEALERS WILL REPLACE THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP ASSEMBLY AS NECESSARY TO CORRECT THIS CONCERN. OUR QUICK TAKE REDUCED BRAKING PERFORMANCE MAY BE EXPERIENCED DUE TO A BRAKE BOOSTER SYSTEM ISSUE. WHAT SHOULD YOU DO? TOYOTA WILL BEGIN NOTIFYING OWNERS OF THE AFFECTED VEHICLES DURING JULY, 2013. IF YOU NOTICE PROBLEMS WITH THE BRAKING SYSTEM, OR YOU DON'T RECEIVE NOTIFICATION AND YOU FEEL YOU SHOULD HAVE, PLEASE CONTACT YOUR DEALER FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTION. THEY MAY ASK FOR YOUR VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN), SO PLEASE HAVE IT HANDY WHEN YOU CALL. ON JAN 16, 2018 I CALLED MY LOCAL TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND WAS TOLD NOTHING COULD BE DONE AS I HAVE NO OUTSTANDING RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. I THEN CALLED TOYOTA ON JAN 17 AND THEY TOLD ME MUCH THE SAME AND OPENED A CASE NUMBER FOR THE ISSUE. THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE COVERED ON NHTSA NUMBER 13V235000. I AM REQUESTING NHTSA ADVICE AS TO HOW TO PROCEED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 249
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds