Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2269 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (127) Power Train (66) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (59)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seat Belts (12) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (81) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (245) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 247
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/14/2017 - JENSEN BEACH, FL
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THE BRAKES WENT OUT. WARRANTY COVERAGE FROM TOYOTA ON THE SAME MODEL, MAKE, AND YEAR FOR THIS PROBLEM. MY VIN NOT INCLUDED IN THIS COVERAGE. THE BRAKE ACCUATOR ASSY IS THE ISSUE. HIGH DOLLAR REPAIR!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/6/2017 - BURKBURNETT, TX
I TOOK MY 2010 PRIUS IN FOR AIRBAG WORK & THEY ASKED HOW LONG I HAD BEEN DRIVING W/ MY BRAKE WARNING LIGHTS ON. THEY HAD NOT BEEN ON PRIOR TO THEN. THEY HOOKED UP A COMPUTER & SHOWED ME THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN STARTED 31 TIMES SINCE THE WARNING WAS 1ST DETECTED. THEY SAID THERE WAS MOST LIKELY A LEAK IN THE BRAKE BOOSTER SYSTEM. THEY RESET THE WARNING, I DROVE FOR A DAY & IT CAME BACK ON AGAIN WHILE DRIVING AFTER ABOUT 10 STARTS. AFTER THE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN, I NOTED AN IMMEDIATE & SIGNIFICANT CHANGE IN BRAKING RESPONSIVENESS & VEHICLE CONTROL...STARTED PULLING TO THE RIGHT. THIS WAS ON THE HIGHWAY WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT. I TOOK THE CAR IN TO A LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER FOR FULL DIAGNOSTIC & THEY SAID THAT THEY'RE WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THE EXACT LEAK LOCATION, BUT THAT THEIR TECH ORDER SHOWS TO JUST REPLACE THE BOOSTER WHICH WILL COST ABOUT $3,300 O REPLACE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/6/2017 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
AIRBAG LIGHT STARTED TURNING ON EVERY SO OFTEN. AFTER RECALL WORK AT DEALER, IT WENT AWAY, BUT AGAIN NOW HOLDS CONSTANT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/6/2017 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
AIRBAG LIGHT STARTED TURNING ON EVERY SO OFTEN. AFTER RECALL WORK AT DEALER, IT WENT AWAY, BUT AGAIN NOW HOLDS CONSTANT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2017 - DENVER, CO
BRAKE ACTUATOR FAILURE. COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER BRAKE FUNCTION WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY. CURRENTLY A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT LETTER COVERING THIS ISSUE, BUT ONLY UP TO 2009 MODEL PRIUS, I HAVE A 2010, NOT COVERED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AS IT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING WITH NO INDICATION OF TROUBLE BEFOREHAND.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/27/2017 - BOCRATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE BRAKE, AIR BAG, AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. WHEN THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL SLOWLY, THE VEHICLE ENGAGED. THE CONTACT CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT ABOUT A RECALL FOR THE BRAKES. THE CONTACT CALLED AL HENDRICKSON TOYOTA AT 954-972-1100 AND THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V235000 (SERVICE BRAKES). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

11/27/2017 - BOCRATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE BRAKE, AIR BAG, AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. WHEN THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL SLOWLY, THE VEHICLE ENGAGED. THE CONTACT CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT ABOUT A RECALL FOR THE BRAKES. THE CONTACT CALLED AL HENDRICKSON TOYOTA AT 954-972-1100 AND THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V235000 (SERVICE BRAKES). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/27/2017 - BOCRATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE BRAKE, AIR BAG, AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. WHEN THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL SLOWLY, THE VEHICLE ENGAGED. THE CONTACT CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT ABOUT A RECALL FOR THE BRAKES. THE CONTACT CALLED AL HENDRICKSON TOYOTA AT 954-972-1100 AND THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V235000 (SERVICE BRAKES). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/26/2017 - MERCED, CA
48 MPG WHEN PURCHASED NEW IN JULY 2009. 30 MPG AT 130,000 MILES IN 2016. GUMOUT AND SEAFOAM HELPED CLEAN OUT FUEL INJECTORS WITH IMPROVED 35 MPG.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/20/2017 - PINEVILLE, LA
SEVERAL BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASH WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING AND THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD A DIFFERENT SENSATION. SHE SAID IT STILL WORKED, BUT FELT VERY DIFFERENT - ENOUGH THAT SHE WOULD HAVE THOUGHT SOMETHING WAS WRONG EVEN IF THE LIGHTS HADN'T COME ON. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL SHOP WHO SAID IT HAD TO GO TO DEALERSHIP. DEALER WANTED $3983 TO REPAIR SAYING THAT ABS ACCUMULATOR WAS BAD. IN DOING RESEARCH I DISCOVERED THAT MANY PRIUS' WERE RECALLED, BUT UNFORTUNATELY MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. ALSO DISCOVERED THAT TOYOTA ISSUED AN "ENHANCED WARRANTY PROGRAM (ZG1) FOR MODELS 2004-2009. BUT MY NEWER MODEL (2010) IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE ENHANCED WARRANTY PROGRAM. IT FEELS LIKE TOYOTA KNOWS THEY HAVE A PROBLEM, BUT ARE NOT STANDING BEHIND THEIR VEHICLES. I CONTACTED TOYOTA CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SPOKE WITH TWO DIFFERENT INDIVIDUALS WHO CONFIRMED THAT BECAUSE MY VIN NUMBER DID NOT MATCH THE RECALLS, THERE WAS NOTHING TOYOTA WOULD DO FOR ME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 247
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds