Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2251 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (127) Power Train (64) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (57)
Electrical System (124) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seat Belts (12) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (76) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (234) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 245
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO RED MACOMBS TOYOTA (13526 INTERSTATE 10 FRONTAGE RD, SAN ANTONIO, TX 78249) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER TO VERIFY THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2017 - LUBBOCK, TX
I HAVE A RECALL NOTICE WITH A DATE OF JUNE 28, 2016. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH GENE MESSER TOYOTA IN LUBBOCK, TX ON SEPTEMBER 9, 2017. I SHOWED THE RECALL NOTICE TO THE GUY AT THE SERVICE STATION AND WAS TOLD TO WAIT FOR A SECOND LETTER SAYING THAT PARTS ARE AVAILABLE. THE GUY DID NOT EVEN BOTHER TO ORDER THE PARTS. I WAS REJECTED RIGHT AWAY. I DON'T THINK ANOTHER LETTER IS SUPPOSE TO COME BECAUSE OF THE TIMELINE, BUT THAT WAS WHAT I WAS TOLD TO DO.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2017 - LARGO, FL
I DRIVE A TOYOTA PRIUS 2010, I WAS DRIVING WHEN MY BRAKE, ABS, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON AT ONCE. WHEN I TRIED TO APPLY THE BRAKE IT WOULD TAKE A LOT OF FORCE FOR MY CAR TO STOP. I WENT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP TO GET IT CHECKED OUT AND THEY SAID PART NUMBER C1391 HAS TO BE REPLACED. TECH FOUND ABNORMAL LEAK IN ACCUMULATOR. THE ACCUMULATOR PUMP ASSEMBLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. WHICH WOULD COST ME 2,000 DOLLARS PARTS AND LABOR. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THEY MIGHT FIND OUT THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER MIGHT HAVE TO BE REPLACED AS WELL IF DAMAGED. WHICH WOULD BE 3,300 DOLLARS. SO WORST CASE SCENARIO IT WOULD BE OVER 5,000 WITH TAX TO FIX MY CAR. I NOTICED OTHER 2010 PRIUS MODELS WERE RECALLED FOR THE EXACT ISSUE BUT ONLY CERTAIN VIN NUMBERS. MY VIN NUMBER WASN'T INCLUDED. I FEEL LIKE IT SHOULD BE IF MANY OTHER PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE WITH THIS CAR. I CAN'T AFFORD OVER 2,000 IN REPAIRS LET ALONE 5,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2017 - EL SOBRANTE, CA
MY 2010 PRIUS WITH 167,000 HAS BEGUN BURNING ENGINE OIL AT A RATE OF ABOUT 1 QUART PER THOUSAND MILES. 9 WEEKS AFTER MY LAST OIL CHANGE AND THE ENGINE WAS DOWN 3 QUARTS OF OIL. MPG HAS GONE DOWN SLIGHTLY DURING THIS TIME AND NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR LOW OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/11/2017 - CHANTILLY, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE BRAKES OPERATED INDEPENDENTLY WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO JACK TAYLOR TOYOTA ON 3750 JEFFERSON DAVIS HWY, ALEXANDRIA, VA 22305 WHERE THE DIAGNOSIS WAS UNDETERMINED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THE PRE COLLISION SYSTEM WAS DEACTIVATED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,250.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2017 - CANTON, IL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PEORIA TOYOTA DEALER, LOCATED IN PEORIA, IL, WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS REJECTED TO BE SERVICED DUE TO THE REMEDY PART NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PART DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/8/2017 - CHESTERTON, IN
SRS LIGHT ILLUMINATED. TOYOTA DIAGNOSTIC COMPLETED AT LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. DIAGNOSTIC INDICATED FAILURE OF SPIRAL CABLE (CLOCK SPRING)....SIMILAR TO OTHER TOYOTA VEHICLES THAT ARE PART OF A RECALL. CONTACTED TOYOTA 1-800-331-4331. PRIUS IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL, EVEN THOUGH IT SEEMS THAT IT HAS A SIMILAR FAILURE. TOYOTA LOGGED THE COMPLAINT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/1/2017 - VAN NUYS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE'S LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WOULD FAIL APPROXIMATELY EVERY TWO MONTHS. THE CONTACT HAD TO REPLACE THE LOW BEAM LIGHTS APPROXIMATELY 20 TIMES SINCE 2010. THE CONTACT CALLED THE JEYES TOYOTA DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE'S LOW BEAM HEAD LAMPS FAILED AND THE LOW BEAM LIGHTING HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/26/2017 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
TRAVELING STRAIGHT FORWARD AT 40 MPH AND APPROACHING A RED LIGHT. IMMEDIATELY UPON DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, AN ALARM SOUNDED AND THE ABS, BRAKE, AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LAMPS LIT UP ON THE DASHBOARD, AND MY PRIUS COMPLETELY FAILED TO BRAKE, CONTINUING UNABATED TOWARD THE OTHER VEHICLES STOPPED AT THE RED LIGHT. I BEGAN PUMPING THE BRAKES AND WAS ABLE TO BUILD UP PRESSURE AND SAFELY STOP WITHOUT COLLISION OR FURTHER INCIDENT. MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A "BRAKE ACCUMULATOR INTERNAL LEAK. RECOMMEND REPLACE BRAKE ACCUMULATOR". THIS NEEDS TO BE RECALLED, THIS IS EGREGIOUSLY IRRESPONSIBLE BY TOYOTA, I EASILY COULD HAVE BEEN HURT OR KILLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2017 - EDMOND, OK
BOTH FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOOR MOTORS HAVE WENT OUT. THUS HAPPENED LAST YEAR AND AFTER FURTHER READING IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH ALL THEM. WE ONLY HAVE 65,000 MILES ON THIS CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 245
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds