Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2292 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (130) Power Train (68) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (59)
Electrical System (129) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seat Belts (12) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (270)
Electronic Stability Control (36) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (14)
Engine (87) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (255) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 249
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

1/11/2018 - FORT WORTH, TX
BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY. POWER BRAKES SEEMED TO FAIL AND A LARGE AMOUNT OF PRESSURE WAS REQUIRED TO STOP VEHICLE. TOYOTA OF FORT WORTH DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WE PERFORMED REPAIR (AT A COST OF ROUGHLY $2,000.) A FEW DAYS LATER ON A LONGER DRIVE THE BRAKE LIGHTS TURNED BACK ON. WE RETURNED IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WERE TOLD THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER/MASTER CYLINDER ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT AN ADDITIONAL COST OF $2,900. I NOTICE THAT TOYOTA HAD A RECALL FOR THIS PART ON OTHER 2010 PRIUS VEHICLES BUT MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2018 - OMAHA, NE
REFERENCE: TOYOTA PRIUS BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP ASSEMBLY RECALL 2013 THE 2013 RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR APPROXIMATELY 82,000 PRIUS VEHICLES MANUFACTURED FROM MARCH 2009 TO OCTOBER 2009. THE CAR I OWN AND OPERATE, ACCORDING TO A TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE, WAS BUILT IN DECEMBER 2009 -- THUS, I PRESUME, DID NOT FIT WITHIN PARAMETERS OF THIS PARTICULAR RECALL. A TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SAID THAT THE VEHICLE MATCHING MY VIN NUMBER HAS NO SAFETY RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH IT. HOWEVER, THE SAME ISSUE REFERENCED IN THE RECALL -- A FAULTY BRAKE PRESSURE ACCUMULATOR THAT COMPROMISES THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP ASSEMBLY SYSTEM -- APPEARS TO HAVE SURFACED IN MY 2010 PRIUS. NO ACCIDENT HAS OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE IS INDICATING A PROBLEM VIA ITS DASHBOARD WARNING LIGHTS. A TOYOTA MAINTENANCE TECHNICIAN, ON SEPT 21, 2017, DIAGNOSED THAT THE CAR'S BRAKE ACCUMULATOR PUMP IS MALFUNCTIONING -- AND THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I AM PETITIONING FOR CONSIDERATION TO EXPAND THE 2013 RECALL, WHICH WAS ORDERED TO CORRECT A DESIGN/MANUFACTURING DEFECT. THE SAME FLAW IS PRESENT IN MY VEHICLE (EVEN THOUGH MY VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED BY THE ORIGINAL RECALL).

View Details

STEERING

1/7/2018 - ARCADIA, CA
THERE IS A CLICKING SOUND WHEN YOU MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL BACK AND FORTH WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY, SOUND IS COMING FROM THE STEERING SHAFT CONNECTION TO THE RACK AND PINION. SAME CLICKING SOUND WHEN CAR DRIVES OVER BUMPS IN THE ROAD. PREVIOUS RECALL OF THIS PROBLEM FOR 2004 TO 2009 PRIUS MODEL STATED A DEFECTIVE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. THIS PROBLEM SOUNDS IDENTICAL TO THE RECALLS OF 2004-2009 PRIUS MODELS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/4/2018 - TAMPA, FL
LEAK OF NITROGEN IS RELEASED INTO THE BRAKE FLUID, THE BRAKE PEDAL MAY HAVE REDUCED HYDRAULIC PRESSURE. UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES, THIS CONDITION COULD AFFECT STOPPING DISTANCE AND INCREASE THE RISK OF A CRASH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/2/2018 - CLAXTON, GA
MY 2010 PRIUS HAS HAD LIGHTS COME UP ON THE DASHBOARD. VSC, BRAKE, TRACTION & ABS. AFTER THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP RAN DIAGNOSTICS, IT CAME TO LIGHT THAT THE BRAKE ASSEMBLY WITH ACCUMULATOR WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED FOR NEAR $5,000. IT WOULD SEEM THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM THAT HAS RESULTED IN A RECALL FOR ONLY SOME OF THE 2010 PRIUS MODELS. MINE WAS NOT ONE OF THESE RECALLED. I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST RECOGNITION THAT THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE SAME RECALL. TOYOTA IS A GOOD PRODUCT, AND I UNDERSTAND THAT RECALLS ARE JUST A PART OF LIFE. AS IT STANDS, MY REGENERATIVE BRAKING NO LONGER WORKS AND I HAVE BEEN INFORMED THAT I WILL LOSE ALL BRAKING EVENTUALLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2017 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. THE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TOYOTA OF GREENVILLE LOCATED AT 2686 LAURENS RD, GREENVILLE, SC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS AN IPM FAILURE AND THE INVERTER WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V053000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 132,000.

View Details

HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/27/2017 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. THE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TOYOTA OF GREENVILLE LOCATED AT 2686 LAURENS RD, GREENVILLE, SC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS AN IPM FAILURE AND THE INVERTER WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V053000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 132,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/23/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
I WAS DRIVING TO MY HOUSE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE BOTTOM. SEVERAL LIGHTS APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD. I WAS DRIVING IN THE HIGHWAY AND FORTUNATELY THERE WAS AN EXIT AND I COULD GET OUT OF THE HIGHWAY AND I MANAGE HOW TO STOP AND I DID NOT CRASH. THE STORY COULD BE ANOTHER IF I WAS DRIVING FASTER. THE NEXT DAY I TOOK IT TO THE TOYOTA DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PROBLEM WAS THE BOOSTER PUMP (ATTACHED YOU CAN FIND THE ESTIMATE). I WAS SHOCKED WHEN I FOUND HOW MUCH WAS GOING TO COST ME. MY CAR HAS NEVER HAD A PROBLEM AND ALL OIL CHANGES HAD BEEN AT THE SAME TOYOTA DEALER. I HAVE NEVER TAKEN THE CAR ANYWHERE ELSE. INVESTIGATING I FOUND THAT THIS MODEL PRIUS 2010 IN 2013 HAD A RECALL FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM AFFECTING 82000 PEOPLE. UNFORTUNATELY, THE VIN NUMBER OF MY VEHICLE IS NOT IN THIS RANGE THAT REACHES A0067875 AND MINE IS A0205005. I NEED FOR TOYOTA TO EXTEND THE RECALL RANGE BECAUSE THE PROBLEM IS EXACTLY THE SAME AND ALSO HELP ME TO COVER THE COST OF THE REPAIR. AT THIS MOMENT, MY CAR IS PARKED AT HOME BECAUSE IS NOT DRIVABLE. I ALREADY SPOKE WITH TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WILL NOT HELP ME WITH THE COST OF THE REPAIR, IT IS REALLY EXPENSIVE AND IT IS NOT MY FAULT. DOES TOYOTA HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL THERE IS AN ACCIDENT? OR INJURY OR DEAD PEOPLE?

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2017 - AZUSA, CA
ENGINE BURNING EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL. CAR HAS BEEN REGULARLY SERVICED. LAST NIGHT, I NOTICED THAT THE OIL RESERVOIR LEVEL WAS SO LOW, THE DIP STICK DID NOT EVEN REGISTER IT. I HAD TO ADD 2.5 QUARTS OF OIL BEFORE IT STARTED READING THE OIL LEVEL AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/18/2017 - ATHENS, OH
WE WERE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 70 MILES PER HOUR WHEN THE READING LIGHTS AND DASHBOARD FLASHED ON AND THEN OFF IN A MATTER OF ABOUT 5 SECONDS. THE DASH SHOWED A TRIANGLE INDICATOR LIGHT WITH AN EXCLAMATION POINT. THE DASH ALSO SEEMED TO RESET AND SHOWED THE DISPLAY AS IS THE CAR HAD JUST BEEN TURNED ON. THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED TWICE WITHIN A 4 HOUR PERIOD. ONCE ON THE HIGHWAY AND ONCE ON A BACK ROAD GOING ABOUT 40 MPH. THE CAR DID NOT STOP EITHER TIME, BUT IT IS STILL CONCERNING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 249
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds