Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2194 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (117) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (208) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2017 - SYOSSET, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE BRAKED PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO OPERATE AS INTENDED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SEVERAL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V235000 (SERVICE BRAKES). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2017 - SYOSSET, NY
THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP ASSEMBLY FAILED, WHICH LEFT ME WITH NO BRAKES AND IN A LIFE-THREATENING SITUATION. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AND I NARROWLY AVOIDED A BAD ACCIDENT ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
SPEEDOMETER AND GAS METER ELECTRONIC DISPLAY NO LONGER WORKS. IT STOPPED ONCE IT WAS IN MOTION AND HAS NOT TURNED BACK ON. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP AND IT IS NOT A FUSE. ENTIRE DIGITAL DISPLAY PANEL WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE UP UNTIL THE 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS MODELS. CAR WAS REVIEWED AT RED MCCOMBS TOYOTA, SAN ANTONIO TX I10-W.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2017 - OCEANSIDE, CA
ON PICKING UP MY PRIUS AFTER ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS 3 QUARTS LOW IN ENGINE OIL. I WAS STUNNED AS I HAD HAD NO WARNING OF LOW OIL PRESSURE OR LOSS OF PERFORMANCE. THE DEALER IS CONDUCTING AN "OIL CONSUMPTION TEST" TO MEASURE HOW MUCH OIL WILL BE CONSUMED IN 1200 MILES. THE ESTIMATED REPAIR COST WAS $2000, BUT MY HUSBAND WHO IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT ENGINES DOESN'T BELIEVE THE SUGGESTED REPAIR WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE ONLY RECENTLY BECOME AWARE THAT THIS IS A PREVALENT PROBLEM WITH LATE MODEL TOYOTAS, NOT JUST PRIUS. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT AND THE SERVICE TECH WE SPOKE WITH WERE CAGEY WHEN ASKED HOW FREQUENTLY THEY HAVE SEEN THIS PROBLEM. I BELIEVE TOYOTA IS VERY AWARE OF THE ISSUE, BUT ARE WILLFULLY NOT ADDRESSING A REMEDY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/28/2017 - TIMONIUM, MD
HEADLIGHTS FAIL FREQUENTLY. THIS HAPPENED OVER A PERIOD OF 18 MONTHS. IT BEGAN WITH A FRONT DRIVER-SIDE HEADLIGHT NOT WORKING, THEN BOTH HEADLIGHTS NOT WORKING - EACH WAS REPLACED WHEN NOTICED THEY WERE NOT WORKING. THE MOST RECENT TIME, 5 MONTHS AFTER THE LAST REPLACEMENT, I NOTICED ONE HEADLIGHT WAS OUT AGAIN, THEN, WHILE IN PARK, WITH THE CAR STILL ON, I TURNED THE LIGHTS OFF THEN ON AGAIN, AND AFTER THAT BOTH HEADLIGHTS AND ONE DAYTIME RUNNING WILL NOT WORK. NEEDLESS TO SAY THIS IS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2017 - KALAMA, WA
MY 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS IV HAS 98,731 MILES ON IT. THE ENGINE AND POWER TRAIN MALFUNCTIONED DURING A COLD START SO I HAD TO TAKE IT INTO THE TOYOTA DEALER. IT HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP ON A FLAT-BED TOW TRUCK BECAUSE THE CAR TRANSAXLE/TRANSMISSION WAS LOCKED IN THE DRIVE POSITION, WOULD NOT GO INTO NEUTRAL, AND THE CAR ENGINE WOULD NOT START REV ABOVE AN IDLE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO START IT THE ENGINE ACTED LIKE IT WAS MISFIRING VERY BADLY AND RATTLED VERY BADLY. IT SOUNDED LIKE THE ENGINE WAS NOT GETTING ANY OIL CIRCULATION SO I DIDN+T ATTEMPT ANY MORE COLD STARTS. I COULD NOT GET THE ENGINE INTO NEUTRAL OR ANY OTHER GEAR SO I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN THE CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP I WENT THROUGH MY RECORDS AND FOUND A LETTER TITLED +WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM NOTIFICATION - ZF3+ THAT I HAD RECEIVED SEVERAL YEARS PREVIOUS. THE DOCUMENT EXTENDED MY PRIMARY COVERAGE UNTIL 31 MARCH 2017 DUE TO A POTENTIAL FAULTY EXHAUST GAS RECIRCULATION (EGR) VALVE. +A FAULTY EGR VALVE WOULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO ROUGH IDLE/RATTLE FROM THE TRANSAXLE AT A COLD START DUE TO A STICKING EGR VALVE. IF THIS OCCURS, THE VEHICLE MAY ILLUMINATE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND SET DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODE DTC P0401. IF THE CONDITION IS VERIFIED THE VEHICLE WILL BE REPAIRED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE APPLICABLE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN UNDER THE TERMS OF THIS WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM.+ THE SYMPTOMS MY CAR EXPERIENCE DURING COLD STARTS BEGIN AROUND 92,000 MILES BUT NO +CHECK ENGINE LIGHT+ OR +DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODE+ EVER ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. AFTER 92,000 MILES IT ONLY HAPPENED OCCASIONALLY, AND ALWAYS DURING COLD STARTS. NORMALLY AFTER A FEW SECONDS OF IDLING THE RATTLING WOULD GO AWAY AND THE ENGINE AND DRIVETRAIN WOULD PERFORM AS IT SHOULD. I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR A SERVICE AND TOLD THE DEALERSHIP WHAT WAS HAPPENING, BUT THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE ANY PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/25/2017 - WILMETTE, IL
ON JAN 24, 2017 WHILE DRIVING THIS CAR AT NIGHT BOTH HEADLIGHTS TURNED OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE KNOB TO TURN THE LIGHTS BACK ON ONLY THE PARKING LIGHTS CAME ON. THE CAR WAS IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/23/2017 - LOS ANGELOS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/15/2017 - ANGOLA, NY
I GOT IN MY PRIUS ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND TURNED THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH ON, AND NEITHEROF MY LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WORKED. I THOUGHT IT SEEMED ODD THAT BOTH LIGHTS WENT OUT AT THE SAME TIME. I PURCHASED THE MOST EXPENSIVE BULBS AT MY LOCAL AUTO PARTS STORE AND REPLACE THE BULBS. THEY WORKED GREAT UNTIL ABOUT AN HOUR AGO. I STARTED MY CAR AND WHEN I TURNED THE HEAD LIGHTS ON, BOTH OF THEM CAME ON FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND AND THEN IMMEDIATELY WENT OUT. I HAD TO DRIVE HOME WITH MY BRIGHT LIGHTS ON.I STARTED READING PRIUS FORUMS AND CAME TO REALIZE THAT HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PRIUS MODEL AND YEAR WERE HAVING THE SAME EXACT SYMPTOMS IN THIER CARS. THERE'S OBVIOUSLY AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THE 2010 PRIUS. IT'S TIME TO ISSUE A RECALL. NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO BY ANOTHER SET OF BULBS WHICH WILL COST ME ANOTHER $60. PLEASE HELP US. IT'S UNFAIR THAT 100'S OF US HAVE TO SUFFER FROM SUCH A FLAW. THANKS

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2017 - ELLIJAY, GA
EXCESSIVE USE OF OIL BEGAN AT 80,000 MILES. DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IT WAS NORMAL FOR MY MODEL AND IF I KEPT AN EYE ON IT AND KEPT OIL IN IT EVERYTHING WOULD BE OK. I DO NOT GET A WARNING LIGHT. ONE TIME I HAD TO PUT OVER 3 QUARTS INTO IT--NO WARNING. I NOW CHECK IT EVERY 800 MILES AND MUST PUT A QUART OF OIL IN ABOUT EVERY 1000 MILES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds