Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2203 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (119) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (67) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (210) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2017 - KALAMA, WA
MY 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS IV HAS 98,731 MILES ON IT. THE ENGINE AND POWER TRAIN MALFUNCTIONED DURING A COLD START SO I HAD TO TAKE IT INTO THE TOYOTA DEALER. IT HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP ON A FLAT-BED TOW TRUCK BECAUSE THE CAR TRANSAXLE/TRANSMISSION WAS LOCKED IN THE DRIVE POSITION, WOULD NOT GO INTO NEUTRAL, AND THE CAR ENGINE WOULD NOT START REV ABOVE AN IDLE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO START IT THE ENGINE ACTED LIKE IT WAS MISFIRING VERY BADLY AND RATTLED VERY BADLY. IT SOUNDED LIKE THE ENGINE WAS NOT GETTING ANY OIL CIRCULATION SO I DIDN+T ATTEMPT ANY MORE COLD STARTS. I COULD NOT GET THE ENGINE INTO NEUTRAL OR ANY OTHER GEAR SO I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN THE CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP I WENT THROUGH MY RECORDS AND FOUND A LETTER TITLED +WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM NOTIFICATION - ZF3+ THAT I HAD RECEIVED SEVERAL YEARS PREVIOUS. THE DOCUMENT EXTENDED MY PRIMARY COVERAGE UNTIL 31 MARCH 2017 DUE TO A POTENTIAL FAULTY EXHAUST GAS RECIRCULATION (EGR) VALVE. +A FAULTY EGR VALVE WOULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO ROUGH IDLE/RATTLE FROM THE TRANSAXLE AT A COLD START DUE TO A STICKING EGR VALVE. IF THIS OCCURS, THE VEHICLE MAY ILLUMINATE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND SET DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODE DTC P0401. IF THE CONDITION IS VERIFIED THE VEHICLE WILL BE REPAIRED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE APPLICABLE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN UNDER THE TERMS OF THIS WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM.+ THE SYMPTOMS MY CAR EXPERIENCE DURING COLD STARTS BEGIN AROUND 92,000 MILES BUT NO +CHECK ENGINE LIGHT+ OR +DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODE+ EVER ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. AFTER 92,000 MILES IT ONLY HAPPENED OCCASIONALLY, AND ALWAYS DURING COLD STARTS. NORMALLY AFTER A FEW SECONDS OF IDLING THE RATTLING WOULD GO AWAY AND THE ENGINE AND DRIVETRAIN WOULD PERFORM AS IT SHOULD. I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR A SERVICE AND TOLD THE DEALERSHIP WHAT WAS HAPPENING, BUT THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE ANY PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/25/2017 - WILMETTE, IL
ON JAN 24, 2017 WHILE DRIVING THIS CAR AT NIGHT BOTH HEADLIGHTS TURNED OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE KNOB TO TURN THE LIGHTS BACK ON ONLY THE PARKING LIGHTS CAME ON. THE CAR WAS IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/23/2017 - LOS ANGELOS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/15/2017 - ANGOLA, NY
I GOT IN MY PRIUS ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND TURNED THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH ON, AND NEITHEROF MY LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WORKED. I THOUGHT IT SEEMED ODD THAT BOTH LIGHTS WENT OUT AT THE SAME TIME. I PURCHASED THE MOST EXPENSIVE BULBS AT MY LOCAL AUTO PARTS STORE AND REPLACE THE BULBS. THEY WORKED GREAT UNTIL ABOUT AN HOUR AGO. I STARTED MY CAR AND WHEN I TURNED THE HEAD LIGHTS ON, BOTH OF THEM CAME ON FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND AND THEN IMMEDIATELY WENT OUT. I HAD TO DRIVE HOME WITH MY BRIGHT LIGHTS ON.I STARTED READING PRIUS FORUMS AND CAME TO REALIZE THAT HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PRIUS MODEL AND YEAR WERE HAVING THE SAME EXACT SYMPTOMS IN THEIR CARS. THERE'S OBVIOUSLY AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THE 2010 PRIUS. IT'S TIME TO ISSUE A RECALL. NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO BY ANOTHER SET OF BULBS WHICH WILL COST ME ANOTHER $60. PLEASE HELP US. IT'S UNFAIR THAT 100'S OF US HAVE TO SUFFER FROM SUCH A FLAW. THANKS

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2017 - ELLIJAY, GA
EXCESSIVE USE OF OIL BEGAN AT 80,000 MILES. DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IT WAS NORMAL FOR MY MODEL AND IF I KEPT AN EYE ON IT AND KEPT OIL IN IT EVERYTHING WOULD BE OK. I DO NOT GET A WARNING LIGHT. ONE TIME I HAD TO PUT OVER 3 QUARTS INTO IT--NO WARNING. I NOW CHECK IT EVERY 800 MILES AND MUST PUT A QUART OF OIL IN ABOUT EVERY 1000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/5/2017 - THRALL, TX
THE CONTACTS OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT DECELERATE NORMALLY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,514.

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2017 - SAVANNAH, GA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION AFTER HAVING MY OIL CHANGED AT THE DEALERSHIP AT 100K MILES, I LEFT ON A CROSS-COUNTRY TRIP. DURING THE TRIP, THE LOW OIL PRESSURE SIGNAL FLASHED ON MY DASHBOARD. UPON PULLING OVER AND CHECKING THE OIL, I FOUND THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE AT ALL. I ADDED 4 QUARTS CHECKING THE LEVEL IN INCREMENTS WITH THE DIPSTICK, AND CONTINUED. I HAD TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL QUART OF OIL TO THE ENGINE OVER THE FOLLOWING WEEK, UNTIL RETURNING HOME. UPON RETURNING, THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ISSUE AND INFORMED ME THAT I NEEDED NEW PISTONS AND RINGS. THEY DID NOT INFORM ME THAT THIS IS A RECURRING ISSUE WITH MY GENERATION OF PRIUS AND WERE QUITE FIRM THAT IT WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. THERE IS NOT REASON THAT A TOYOTA WITH 100,000 MILE ON IT SHOULD RANDOMLY START BURNING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL WITHIN A FEW THOUSAND MILES OF AN OIL AND FILTER CHANGE. ALL OF THE MAINTENANCE IS PERFORMED AT THE DEALERSHIP AT THE SPECIFIED INTERVALS, AND I WOULD EXPECT THAT TOYOTA WOULD STAND BEHIND A TOYOTA THAT IS MAINTAINED PER TOYOTA SPECIFICATIONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/2/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN HER BRAKES TOTALLY FAILED. SHE APPLIED BRAKE PRESSURE AS HARD AS SHE COULD, BUT IT HAD NOT EFFECT. FORTUNATELY, SINCE SHE WAS IN THE LEFT LANE OF THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, SHE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP IN THE LEFT HAND SHOULDER. SEVERAL RED LIGHTS LIT UP ON THE DASHBOARD, INCLUDING THE BRAKE AND ABS LIGHTS. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO WORLD TOYOTA DEALERSHIP IN ATLANTA. THEY SAID THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER FAILED. I PAID THEM TO FIX IT. SEE ATTACHED WORK ORDER FROM WORLD TOYOTA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/28/2016 - RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED SEVERAL TIMES AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND VIBRATION. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/23/2016 - SHELBY TWP, MI
I HAVE A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHEN TRYING TO SLOW DOWN, ANY TIME A BUMP IS HIT, (OR A POTHOLE) THE BRAKING POWER SIGNIFICANT DECREASES . THIS GREATLY INCREASES THE STOPPING DISTANCE AND IS VERY SCARY IN TRAFFIC AND IN WINTER DRIVING. IS THIS A PROBLEM? I CALLED TOYOTA EARLIER FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS IS NORMAL AND THIS OCCURS BECAUSE ONLY ONE TIRE IS HITTING THE POTHOLE OR BUMP+ IT IS VERY SCARY AND I HAVE TO LEAVE A LOT OF SPACE AHEAD OF MY CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds