Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2194 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (117) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (208) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

1/5/2017 - THRALL, TX
THE CONTACTS OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT DECELERATE NORMALLY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,514.

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2017 - SAVANNAH, GA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION AFTER HAVING MY OIL CHANGED AT THE DEALERSHIP AT 100K MILES, I LEFT ON A CROSS-COUNTRY TRIP. DURING THE TRIP, THE LOW OIL PRESSURE SIGNAL FLASHED ON MY DASHBOARD. UPON PULLING OVER AND CHECKING THE OIL, I FOUND THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE AT ALL. I ADDED 4 QUARTS CHECKING THE LEVEL IN INCREMENTS WITH THE DIPSTICK, AND CONTINUED. I HAD TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL QUART OF OIL TO THE ENGINE OVER THE FOLLOWING WEEK, UNTIL RETURNING HOME. UPON RETURNING, THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ISSUE AND INFORMED ME THAT I NEEDED NEW PISTONS AND RINGS. THEY DID NOT INFORM ME THAT THIS IS A RECURRING ISSUE WITH MY GENERATION OF PRIUS AND WERE QUITE FIRM THAT IT WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. THERE IS NOT REASON THAT A TOYOTA WITH 100,000 MILE ON IT SHOULD RANDOMLY START BURNING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL WITHIN A FEW THOUSAND MILES OF AN OIL AND FILTER CHANGE. ALL OF THE MAINTENANCE IS PERFORMED AT THE DEALERSHIP AT THE SPECIFIED INTERVALS, AND I WOULD EXPECT THAT TOYOTA WOULD STAND BEHIND A TOYOTA THAT IS MAINTAINED PER TOYOTA SPECIFICATIONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/2/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN HER BRAKES TOTALLY FAILED. SHE APPLIED BRAKE PRESSURE AS HARD AS SHE COULD, BUT IT HAD NOT EFFECT. FORTUNATELY, SINCE SHE WAS IN THE LEFT LANE OF THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, SHE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP IN THE LEFT HAND SHOULDER. SEVERAL RED LIGHTS LIT UP ON THE DASHBOARD, INCLUDING THE BRAKE AND ABS LIGHTS. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO WORLD TOYOTA DEALERSHIP IN ATLANTA. THEY SAID THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER FAILED. I PAID THEM TO FIX IT. SEE ATTACHED WORK ORDER FROM WORLD TOYOTA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/28/2016 - RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED SEVERAL TIMES AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND VIBRATION. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/23/2016 - SHELBY TWP, MI
I HAVE A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHEN TRYING TO SLOW DOWN, ANY TIME A BUMP IS HIT, (OR A POTHOLE) THE BRAKING POWER SIGNIFICANT DECREASES . THIS GREATLY INCREASES THE STOPPING DISTANCE AND IS VERY SCARY IN TRAFFIC AND IN WINTER DRIVING. IS THIS A PROBLEM? I CALLED TOYOTA EARLIER FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS IS NORMAL AND THIS OCCURS BECAUSE ONLY ONE TIRE IS HITTING THE POTHOLE OR BUMP+ IT IS VERY SCARY AND I HAVE TO LEAVE A LOT OF SPACE AHEAD OF MY CAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/20/2016 - WILMINGTON, NC
I'VE HAD TO REPLACE MY LOW BEAM HEAD LAMPS 4 TIMES IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS. FIRST I WAS ON A 2 HOUR LONG TRIP WHEN MY PASSENGER AND I COULD SPECIFICALLY SEE BOTH HEADLIGHTS WERE GETTING DIM. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR OF DRIVING THEY HAD BOTH GONE OUT COMPLETELY AND I WAS FORCED TO USE MY HIGH BEAMS ON THE INTERSTATE. WHEN WE ARRIVED IN TOWN, BOTH BULBS WERE REPLACED AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE BULB LASTED 3 MONTHS BEFORE DYING OUT. I RODE AROUND LIKE THAT FOR A WEEK BECAUSE I KEPT FORGETTING UNTIL I'D DRIVE AT NIGHT AND THE SHOPS WERE CLOSED. SO ABOUT A WEEK AFTER MY DRIVER'S SIDE BULB DIED, I WENT TO THE AUTO STORE AND BOUGHT A NEW BULB, ONLY TO FIND OUT MY PASSENGER SIDE BULB HAD GONE OUT THAT SAME DAY; I DIDN'T NOTICE BECAUSE IT WAS DURING THE DAY. THANKFULLY I WAS ALREADY AT THE AUTO SHOP AND WAS ABLE TO HAVE TWO NEW BULBS INSTALLED AT THE SAME TIME. WELL...WITH MY BRAND NEW BULBS I WAS CONFIDENT THAT IT WAS GOING TO BE FINE THIS GO-AROUND AND THEY WERE BRIGHT FOR A COUPLE MONTHS. UNTIL MY DRIVER'S SIDE BULB WENT OUT UNEXPECTEDLY WHEN I WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY. I WAS GETTING READY TO LEAVE AND SAW THE REFLECTION ON MY NEIGHBOR'S WINDOW -- NO MORE DRIVER'S SIDE LIGHT. I PUT MY PLANS ON HOLD UNTIL I WENT TO THE AUTO SHOP AND THEY REPLACED THE BULB NO PROBLEM. FOUR DAYS LATER, THE PASSENGER SIDE BULB GOES OUT. I'M FED UP WITH HAVING TO GET NEW BULBS EVERY FEW MONTHS (OR DAYS FOR THAT MATTER). IT'S OCCURRED WHEN I WAS PARKED, DRIVING SLOW IN THE CITY, AND GOING FAST ON THE INTERSTATE. IT DOESN'T MATTER THE STATE IN WHICH THE VEHICLE WAS BEING HANDLED. THE LIGHTS ARE GOING OUT CONSISTENTLY AND IT'S OCCURRING FAR TOO FREQUENTLY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/14/2016 - N LITTLE ROCK, AR
IN 2014 MY REGULAR BEAM HEADLIGHT WENT OUT. THE DEALERS WANTED $130 TO PUT IN A NEW BULB SAYING THE BUMPER HAD TO BE REMOVED. MY HUSBAND BOUGHT A BULB AT THE AUTO PARTS STORE AND INSTALLED IT WITHOUT REMOVING THE BUMPER. SINCE THEN I HAVE REPLACED SEVERAL BULBS ON BOTH SIDES AND WAS FINALLY TOLD BY SYLVANIA THAT I NEED TO CHANGE BOTH AT THE SAME TIME WHICH I DID ABOUT A MONTH AGO. A COUPLE OF NIGHTS AGO, I STARTED THE CAR AND BOTH HEADLIGHTS WERE OUT AND THE FUSES WERE INTACT. I PUT IN TWO MORE BULBS, BUT I CAN BARELY SEE WITH THEM ALTHOUGH THEY ARE LIT. THE BEAM IS VERY WEAK. THE DEALERS WANT OVER $100 TO DO A DIAGNOSTIC TO FIND THE PROBLEM OR BEFORE THEY WILL GIVE ME A QUOTE OF THE COST TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM AS STATED BY TOYOTA IN A TECHNICAL BULLETIN. THIS WAS MY THIRD PRIUS, AND LAST ONE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/13/2016 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
IN THE PAST YEAR I HAVE HAD 2 OCCURRENCES OF UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. THE FIRST IN FEBRUARY OF 2016. I WAS EXITING A PARKING RAMP UP HILL AND STEPPING ON THE ACCELERATOR. I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT THEN TURNING TO THE LEFT (90 DEGREE TURN). WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR, THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE AND I WAS UNABLE TO GET IT SLOWED/STOPPED FOR ABOUT + A BLOCK EVEN THOUGH I WAS APPLYING HEAVY BRAKE PRESSURE. THE CAR WAS REVVING AGAINST THE BRAKE PRESSURE. NO DAMAGE OR INJURIES OCCURRED. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED IT (PURCHASE DATE 8/3/13). THEY CHECKED THE CAR OVER AND FOUND NO APPARENT CAUSE FOR THE ACCELERATION. I TOOK THE CAR HOME, AND IT DROVE NORMALLY UNTIL 11/26/16. ON THAT DATE I WAS DRIVING VERY SLOWLY IN A FLAT PARKING LOT, AND THE CAR BEGAN ACCELERATING WITHOUT MY PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AND THEN TURNING TO THE RIGHT (90 DEGREE. I GOT THE CAR STOPPED IN A FEW FEET BY PRESSING EXTREMELY HARD ON THE BRAKE. MY CAR DID NOT HIT ANYTHING. TECHNICIANS FROM THE DEALERSHIP HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND A CAUSE AND I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET PAST TOYOTA+S CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO ESCALATE THE ISSUE FOR MORE DETAILED DIAGNOSTICS. I HAVE ATTACHED THE TIMELINE OF TRYING TO GET THE CAR DIAGNOSED AND THE ISSUE ESCALATED AS WELL AS WHY I DON+T THINK USER ERROR IS A FACTOR.

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2016 - NEWHALL, CA
AT 92,000 MILES MY VEHICLE STARTED TO BURN OIL EXCESSIVELY, I MADE MULTIPLE TRIPS TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY DID MULTIPLE TESST AND CONTINUED TO MAINTAIN(PER TOYOTA CORPORATE) THAT I WAS WITHIN TOYOTA GUIDELINES. THIS CAUSES ME TO FILL OIL EVERY 400-600 MILES TO BE SAFE AND I HAVE FOUND IT COMPLETELY DEVOID OF OIL MANY TIMES.I UNDERSTAND FROM THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOME OF THE PRIUS MODELS HAVE ALSO HAD THIS ISSUE AND HAVE BEEN SHOWING UP AT THE DEALERSHIP BUT THE COMPANY HAS REFUSED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THIS HAS ME CONCERNED - THERE NEEDS TO BE SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THIS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION AS MY ENGINE COULD COMPLETELY CEASE AT ANY TIME CAUSING A MASSIVE SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE ALL THE RECORDS AND FORMAL COMPLAINT TO TOYOTA ON FILE. I HAVE TRIED TO WORK WITH THEM IN GOOD FAITH UNTIL NOW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/10/2016 - SACO, ME
HELLO. I RECENTLY STARTED TO EXPERIENCE AN ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE. MY BRAKES STARTED TO MAKE SOME KIND OF UNUSUAL NOISES EVERY TIME I PRESS ON THEM. I'VE NEVER HAD THAT BEFORE AND I SERVICE MY CAR PRETTY OFTEN. I WENT TO AUTHORIZED TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS A COMPUTER ISSUE AND THEY FIXED IT FOR $110. IT CONTINUED TO MAKE NOISES AND ALL OF THE SUDDEN IT BEGAN SHOWING ABS/BRAKE/VSC LIGHTS ON MY CAR DASHBOARD EITHER WHILE I WAS DRIVING OR BEING IN THE +PARK+ MODE. AT THE SAME TIME MY BRAKES STOPPED WORKING WELL WHILE DRIVING WHEN THE ABS/BRAKE/VSC LIGHTS WERE ON. I CHECKED THE CODE OF THE ERROR THROUGH THE CAR COMPUTER AND IT SHOWED ME +C1391+. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN AND THEY DID ANOTHER CHECK AND THIS TIME THEY FOUND THAT BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER/BOOSTER/ABS ASSEMBLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED WITH $3,170 PRICE. I ATTACHED HERE THE PAPER THAT MY TOYOTA PRIME DEALERSHIP LOCATED HERE IN SACO, ME GAVE ME. I+VE BEEN READING A LOT ABOUT IT ONLINE AND PEOPLE WITH THE SAME TYPE OF HYBRID VEHICLES HAVE EXPERIENCED IT. I THINK TOYOTA NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THE ISSUE AND ACKNOWLEDGE THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM IN THEIR HYBRID VEHICLES. I SERVICE MY CAR ALL THE TIME, I DO OIL CHANGE AND CHECK ALL THE SYSTEMS VERY THOROUGHLY, SO I DON+T UNDERSTAND WHY WE, CONSUMERS, HAVE TO PAY THAT BIG OF A PRICE FOR THE CAR REPAIR. I HOPE YOU CAN LOOK INTO THE ISSUE AND HELP ME (AND TO ALL OTHER CAR OWNERS) TO RESOLVE THIS KIND OF ISSUE. THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds