Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2010 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 119 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (3) Power Train (15) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (22) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/4/2018 - NEWBURG, MD
AIR BAGS (MANUFACTURE UNKNOWN) ON SEPT 29, 2018 WHILE DRIVING ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY AT 50 MPH, MY STEERING WHEEL AND KNEE BAGS INFLATED FOR NO REASON. I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND LOST SIGHT OF THE ROAD FOR SEVERAL SECONDS BECAUSE OF THE FOG ON THE WINDSHIELD. WHEN THE FOG CLEARED, I COULD SEE THAT I WAS GOING TO END UP IN A FIELD AND THAT I HAD CROSSED THE CENTER LINE. I TRIED TO BACK OUT OF THE FIELD BUT COULD NOT BECAUSE OF THE MUDDY CONDITIONS. I CALLED MY WIFE, TOLD HER THE AIR BAGS HAD INFLATED FOR NO REASON. I ASKED HER TO CALL AAA FOR A TOW TRUCK. WHILE SPEAKING TO HER, A MAN WALKED UP TO ASK IF I WAS OKAY. I SAID YES. HE THEN ASKED IF I REALIZED I HAD HIT AN ONCOMING VEHICLE. I WAS NOT. I HAD NOT SEEN ANY OTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE "FOG" FROM THE AIR BAG. I ASKED HIM WHAT VEHICLE AND HE POINTED TO A MAN IN A RED SHIRT STANDING IN FRONT OF A WHITE PICKUP WITH DUEL REAR WHEELS. I TOLD MY WIFE I NEEDED TO GO SEE IF ANYONE WAS INJURED, GOT OUT OF MY TRUCK AND WALKED BACK TO THE OTHER TRUCK. NO ONE WAS INJURED IN THE ACCIDENT. I WAS TOLD BY MY INSURANCE ADJUSTER THAT THERE WAS APPROXIMATELY $7,000 DAMAGE TO THE OTHER TRUCK. MY VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2018 - NEWBURG, MD
AIR BAGS (MANUFACTURE UNKNOWN) ON SEPT 29, 2018 WHILE DRIVING ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY AT 50 MPH, MY STEERING WHEEL AND KNEE BAGS INFLATED FOR NO REASON. I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND LOST SIGHT OF THE ROAD FOR SEVERAL SECONDS BECAUSE OF THE FOG ON THE WINDSHIELD. WHEN THE FOG CLEARED, I COULD SEE THAT I WAS GOING TO END UP IN A FIELD AND THAT I HAD CROSSED THE CENTER LINE. I TRIED TO BACK OUT OF THE FIELD BUT COULD NOT BECAUSE OF THE MUDDY CONDITIONS. I CALLED MY WIFE, TOLD HER THE AIR BAGS HAD INFLATED FOR NO REASON. I ASKED HER TO CALL AAA FOR A TOW TRUCK. WHILE SPEAKING TO HER, A MAN WALKED UP TO ASK IF I WAS OKAY. I SAID YES. HE THEN ASKED IF I REALIZED I HAD HIT AN ONCOMING VEHICLE. I WAS NOT. I HAD NOT SEEN ANY OTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE "FOG" FROM THE AIR BAG. I ASKED HIM WHAT VEHICLE AND HE POINTED TO A MAN IN A RED SHIRT STANDING IN FRONT OF A WHITE PICKUP WITH DUEL REAR WHEELS. I TOLD MY WIFE I NEEDED TO GO SEE IF ANYONE WAS INJURED, GOT OUT OF MY TRUCK AND WALKED BACK TO THE OTHER TRUCK. NO ONE WAS INJURED IN THE ACCIDENT. I WAS TOLD BY MY INSURANCE ADJUSTER THAT THERE WAS APPROXIMATELY $7,000 DAMAGE TO THE OTHER TRUCK. MY VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/29/2018 - FARGO, ND
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, A LOUD RATTLING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE LEAD SPRING HAD FRACTURED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE LEANS TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKING TO CORWIN TOYOTA OF FARGO (222 40TH ST S, FARGO, ND 58103, (701) 282-8425) WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT FALL UNDER ANY RECALL PERTAINING TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/21/2018 - JAMESVILLE, NY
2 OF 3 LEAF SPRING ON DRIVER'S SIDE BROKE IN HALF AND 1 OF 3 ON PASSENGER SIDE BROKE IN HALF. UNSURE OF ACTUAL TIME OF FAILURE BUT ONE SPRING BROKE OFF AS I WAS STOPPING AT A STOP LIGHT ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/8/2018 - DANVERS, MA
I WAS DRIVING THE THE ROAD ON A CITY STREET WHEN I HEARD A RATTLING SOUND. I CHECKED UNDER THE TRUCK TO SEE WHAT THE NOISE WAS. THE LEFT REAR LEAF SPRING WAS BROKEN WHICH COULD HAVE GONE INTO THE TIRE POSSIBLY CREATING A SITUATION OR AN ACCIDENT. I AM UNSURE WHAT MAY HAVE CAUSED THIS. I DID NOT HIT ANY POT HOLES OR LARGE BUMPS IN THE ROAD. I CHECKED WITH THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. THEY WANT OVER $900 FOR A NEW LEAF SPRING ASSEMBLY, THIS DOES NOT INCLUDE LABOR. I HAVE NEVER HAD A LEAF SPRING BREAK IN THE 1997 GMC 1500K PICKUP TRUCK I PREVIOUSLY OWNED FOR 16 YEARS. I HAVE READ OTHER SIMILAR TOYOTA TUNDRA LEAF SPRING BREAK REPORTS ON THE INTERNET. I THINK TOYOTA SHOULD FIX THIS WITHOUT CHARGE. I HAVE APPROXIMATELY 88,000 MILES ON THE TUNDRA.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/26/2018 - MILWAUKEE, WI
REAR LEAF SPRINGS. REAR LEAF SPRING BROKEN- APPEARS TO HAVE JUST BROKE. DO MINOR TOWING MAYBE 4000 LBS A FEW TIMES A YEARS. VEHICLE HAS 88,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE NEVER HAD A LEAF SPRING BREAK. THIS IS DEFINITELY A MATERIAL FLAW.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/22/2018 - DRACUT, MA
I HEARD METAL RATTLE AS I RODE OVER SEWER COVERS / BUMPS ON THE ROAD. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE LEAF SPRING WAS COMPLETELY ROTTED THROUGH AND BROKEN. I WAS THE ONLY DRIVER OF THE TRUCK & PURCHASED IT BRAND NEW. IT WAS USED AS A PASSENGER VEHICLE AND IT HAD NEVER TOWED MORE THAN A POP-UP CAMPER & IT HAD NEVER BEEN USED TO CARRY ANYTHING HEAVIER THAN HOCKEY BAGS AND GROCERIES. THE TRUCK HAD 66,000 MILES ON IT WHEN THE SPRING BROKE. IT WAS NECESSARY TO REPLACE THE LEAF SPRING DUE TO THE FACT THAT HAD I BEEN HIT THE GAS TANK COULD HAVE PUNCTURED & EXPLODED. TOYOTA WOULD NOT COVER THE COST BECAUSE I WAS OVER 36,000 MILES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/9/2017 - HAVERHILL, MA
ONE OF THE LEAFS IN THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE LEAF SPRING BROKE AND SLID AGAINST THE TIRE RIM WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET. THE PIECE OF LEAF SPRING "COULD" HAVE JAMMED IN MY RIM AND CAUSED AN ACCIDENT OR DAMAGE OR FALLEN OFF CAUSING A PROBLEM FOR DRIVERS FOLLOWING ME. I HAVE SPOKEN TO SEVERAL OTHER TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNERS AND THEY HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH CRACKED / BROKEN REAR LEAF SPRINGS. I HAVE TO ASSUME THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE SINCE I WAS UNABLE TO PURCHASE NEW LEAF SPRINGS FROM TOYOTA IN A TIMELY FASHION BECAUSE THE HAD A LARGE BACK ORDER ON LEAF SPRINGS FOR MY MODEL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2017 - RUTLEDGE, TN
I WAS DRIVING NORMALLY DOWN THE ROAD AFTER WORK AND THE VEHICLE STARTED RUNNING ROUGH AND WOULDN+T GO OVER 40 MPH. I TOOK IT TO AUTOZONE AND CALLED THE TOYOTA DEALER IN MORRISTOWN, TN. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS A RECALL ON A OXYGEN PUMP UP TO 150,000 MILES ON MY VEHICLE AND THAT BECAUSE MY VEHICLE WAS OVER 150,OOO MILES THAT IT WOULDN+T BE COVERED AND IT COST OVER 2,000 TO FIX IT. I WROTE A LETTER TO TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY COULDN+T COVER IT BECAUSE IT WAS MY FAULT I DIDN+T CHECK FOR RECALLS WHEN I BOUGHT IT USED . THEY NEVER SENT ME A RECALL LETTER ON THIS AT ALL , I HAD BOUGHT IT AT AROUND 126,000 MILES AND RECEIVED NO RECALL LETTERS WHEN IT WOULD OF BEEN COVERED. THIS IS MY COMPLAINT THAT MAYBE YOU CAN HELP ME . I CAN NOT AFFORD TO FIX SOMETHING LIKE THIS. I SHOULD OF BEEN NOTIFIED. THEY SAID IT WAS MY FAULT I DIDN+T CHECK FOR RECALLS NOT THEIR PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/13/2017 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
MY TRUCK'S BED HAS RUSTED COMPLETELY THROUGH IN ONE SPOT. TOYOTA HAS ISSUED A TSB FOR THIS (TSB-0101-12) BUT REFUSES TO COMPLY. THEY CLAIM THAT MY TRUCK'S VIN DOES NOT FOLLOW IN THE RECOGNIZED RANGE AND THAT THE RUST WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED. THIS WAS DISCOVERED WHEN THE TRUCK WAS 6.5 YEARS OLD. IT TOOK SO LONG BECAUSE THERE IS A SPRAY-IN BEDLINER THAT COVERED THE DAMAGE. THIS OCCURS FROM UNDERNEATH THE TRUCK AND PERFORATES COMPLETELY THROUGH. TOYOTA'S SOLUTION IS TO DEAL WITH IT. MY CLAIM WAS DENIED AND IN THEIR OWN WORDS: 'THE DECISION HAS BEEN REVIEWED AND WILL NOT CHANGE.' SO MUCH FOR EVER BUYING ANOTHER TOYOTA AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds