Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 93 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Seats (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (19) Seat Belts (2) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/16/2014 - CENTRALIA, IL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. MH

View Details

STEERING

4/13/2014 - MOUNT PLEASANT, TX
MY WIFE BOUGHT A NEW 2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE WHICH NOW HAS 78,572 MILES ON IT. THE POWER STERLING JUST FAILED ON IT YESTERDAY. I CHECKED THE FLUID LEVEL AND IT WAS OK. THE PUMP GROWLS WHEN TURNING AND IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN WHEN THE CAR IS IDLING. I DROVE IT TO CHURCH THIS MORNING AND ALMOST HIT A PARKED VEHICLE WHILE TRYING TO TURN INTO A PARKING SPOT. MY WIFE WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO TURN THE VEHICLE IF SHE WERE DRIVING. THIS IS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE SINCE THE PUMP FAILS WITH NO WARNING. I KNOW THIS WON'T BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, BUT IS THERE A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM YET?

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/11/2014 - LANSING, MI
I GOT INTO MY CAR ONE DAY. I PULLED THE SEATBELT TO BUCKLE IT AND THE PIECE THAT HOOKS NEXT TO THE SEAT AND DOOR WAS BROKEN OFF. I TOOK IT INTO SUNDANCE AND THE MECHANIC TOLD ME ITD BE $250 TO FIX IT BUT HES NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THAT IN 40 YEARS AND THERES NO WAY WE COULDVE BROKEN IT. I STILL HAVENT HAD MONEY TO FIX IT AND ITS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY FOR SOME REASON.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2014 - ALLEN PARK, MI
MY VEHICLE HAS HAD A WHINING NOISE WHEN STEERING. IT ALSO FEELS "LOOSE" AS IF I'M NOT IN COMPLETE CONTROL OF THE STEERING. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR STATED THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AND THE STEERING COULD LIKELY GET WORSE IF NOT SERVICED. HE ALSO STATED THAT THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT AND IS VERY COMMON. I HAVE HEARD REPORTS OF OWNERS OF THE SAME VEHICLES HAVING LOST CONTROL OF STEERING. I HAVE A THREE YEAR OLD DAUGHTER AND SAFETY WAS A MAJOR FACTOR IN PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE KNOWING THAT THIS PROBLEM EXISTS. I HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED AT MY OWN EXPENSE. GENERAL MOTORS DOES HAVE A BULLETIN ON THIS PROBLEM SO THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. HOWEVER, I BELIEVE THAT THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD INVESTIGATE AS THEIR MIGHT BE CONSUMERS OUT THERE THAT ARE NOT AWARE OF THIS SAFETY ISSUE. THEY MAY THINK THAT IT IS JUST A SIMPLE SQUEAK AND NOT AS SEVERE AS I WAS MADE AWARE. THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2014 - JOPPA, MD
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, SHE TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE RIGHT AND BEGAN TO HEAR A WHINNING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THEY STATED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. AP

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
CONDENSER AND ALL BELTS HAD MAJOR LEAKS FOR NO APPARENT REASON. LOST ALL REFRIGERANT IN LESS THAT 24 HOURS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
CONDENSER AND ALL BELTS HAD MAJOR LEAKS FOR NO APPARENT REASON. LOST ALL REFRIGERANT IN LESS THAT 24 HOURS.

View Details

STEERING

4/5/2014 - ENDWELL, NY
EXITING THE HIGHWAY ONTO THE OFF RAMP OF A REST AREA, THE CAR HAD COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER STEERING AS I DECELERATED. IT FELT LIKE THE CAR POWERED OFF, BUT I REALIZED IT WAS STILL RUNNING ONCE I BROUGHT THE CAR TO A STOP. HAD TO TURN OFF CAR AND RE-START TO REGAIN POWER STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

4/5/2014 - MCKEES ROCKS, PA
ON MARCH 8, 2014, (2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE) I WAS TURNING RIGHT INTO A RESTAURANT WHEN MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT. IT TOOK ALL OF MY STRENGTH AND MY 20 YR OLD SON (PASSENGER) TO TURN THE WHEEL TO GET OFF THE ROAD. WE ALMOST WENT INTO THE GUARDRAIL AND COULD HAVE VERY WELL BEEN PLOWED INTO FROM THE CAR BEHIND US. IN PARKING LOT WE CHECKED STEERING FLUID & ADDED SOME. ON WAY TO OUR HOUSE ABOUT 2 HOURS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN WHEN I MADE A LEFT TURN. THIS TIME I WENT OFF THE ROAD A BIT, INCHES AWAY FROM HEDGES & SOMEONE'S LAWN. VERY DANGEROUS. TOOK IT TO CHEVY DEALERSHIP WHO WANTED OVER $1,800.00 TO FIX THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND RACK & PINION. OF COURSE IT WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY!!! I ENDED UP TAKING IT TO A PRIVATE SHOP AND PAID $1,470. I AGREE THAT THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL AND WE SHOULD GET OUR MONEY BACK. IF YOU RESEARCH THIS LIKE I HAVE DONE...THERE ARE A LOT OF PEOPLE OUT THERE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. HOPE ALL OF YOU FILE A COMPLIANT TO FORCE A RECALL !!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/4/2014 - COTTAGE GROVE, MN
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, MULTIPLE WARNINGS AND LIGHTS CAME ON AND SPEED WAS REDUCED BY THE ENGINE TO 20 MPH FROM 65MPH. IF THERE HAD BEEN ANOTHER VEHICLE BEHIND US AT THE TIME WE WOULD HAVE EASILY BEEN HIT BECAUSE OF THE RAPID DECELERATION. THE FIX WAS TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY ON THE ENGINE. AFTER MUCH RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY COMMON ISSUE IN CHEVROLET VEHICLES, AND BECAUSE OF THE MANNER OF THE VEHICLE SLOWING DOWN SO RAPIDLY I FEAR THAT THERE HAVE PROBABLY ALREADY BEEN ACCIDENTS RELATED TO THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds