Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 251 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (48) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (15) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (65) Power Train (36) Steering (80) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/18/2015 - CENTERVILLE, OH
THERE SEEMS TO BE A WIDESPREAD ISSUE WITH THE STEERING RACK WITH THE CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE 2 YEARS THAT I AM AWARE OF ARE THE 2010 AND 2011 TRAVERSE. CHEVY DEALERS ARE CHARGING OVER $1000 TO REPAIR BUT WAS CONCERNED THAT THERE SHOULD BE AN INVESTIGATION INTO A POTENTIAL RECALL SITUATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2015 - SIMSPONVILLE, SC
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE IN 95¦ TEMPERATURES WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE VENTS BEGAN BLOWING HOT AIR BUT THE DRIVER'S SIDE WAS STILL BLOWING COLD AIR. WE HAD TO OPEN THE WINDOWS AS THE CAR GOT HOT VERY QUICKLY. THIS DISTRACTION COULD'VE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT FROM ADDRESSING THE SITUATION. WE'VE SEEN MANY OTHERS HAVING DEFECTIVE BLEND DOOR ACTUATORS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2015 - SEAFORD, NY
2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE- I BOUGHT THE TRUCK IN 2013 CERTIFIED, PRE-OWNED FOR ROUGHLY $35K ALL IN FROM ROBERT CHEVROLET. HAVE HAD SEVERAL ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ISSUES WITH IT OVER THE PAST 2 YEARS. WINDOWS HAVE STOPPED WORKING NUMEROUS TIMES, MIRRORS AS WELL. LEFT TAIL LIGHT HAS GONE OUT 3 TIMES, HEADLIGHTS HAVE HAD ISSUES AS WELL. MOST RECENTLY MY PASSENGER SIDE STEP RAIL SNAPPED OFF AS MY 13 YEAR OLD 115 LB DAUGHTER STEPPED ON IT. I HAVE 4 CHILDREN, MY YOUNGEST IS ONE AND A HALF YEARS OLD AND ONE CONCERN I HAVE IS THAT THE OTHER SIDE RAIL SNAPS OFF AND AS MY WIFE IS PUTTING MY SON IN CAR THEY FALL ON CONCRETE IF THAT RAIL SHOULD SNAP AS WELL. IN GENERAL, I DO NOT TRUST THIS CAR OR FEEL SAFE IN IT AT ALL. THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS SCARE ME THE MOST, GOD FORBID THERE SHOULD BE SOME KIND OF SHORT AND STEERING OR SOMETHING WORSE GOES OUT AND MY WIFE CRASHES WITH ONE OR ALL OF MY 4 CHILDREN IN THE CAR.. MY SALES REP AT ROBERT CHEVROLET HAS BEEN CONTACTED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, FOR A YEAR HAS BEEN TELLING US TO COME IN AFTER SEVERAL COMPLAINTS. FINALLY I TOOK OFF OF WORK AND TOLD HIM HE NEEDED TO TAKE A LOOK AT THIS UNSAFE VEHICLE AND IT NEEDED TO BE ADDRESSED. THEY ASSURED ME THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT, EVEN SUGGESTED HE WOULD TAKE ME OUT OF THE CAR AND EAT THE BULK OF THE LOSS. NEEDLESS TO SAY THEY DID NONE OF THAT, INDICATED EVERYTHING THAT'S WRONG WITH THE CAR IS WEAR AND TEAR. I BOUGHT AN EXTENDED POLICY ON THE VEHICLE AS WELL, BASICALLY NOTHING IS COVERED. AND TO BOOT, THEY SUGGESTED I PAY 1200-1500 TO FIX THE VEHICLE. AGAIN I STRESS, THE MONEY ISN'T THE BIGGEST ISSUE, I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/17/2015 - SEAFORD, NY
2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE- I BOUGHT THE TRUCK IN 2013 CERTIFIED, PRE-OWNED FOR ROUGHLY $35K ALL IN FROM ROBERT CHEVROLET. HAVE HAD SEVERAL ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ISSUES WITH IT OVER THE PAST 2 YEARS. WINDOWS HAVE STOPPED WORKING NUMEROUS TIMES, MIRRORS AS WELL. LEFT TAIL LIGHT HAS GONE OUT 3 TIMES, HEADLIGHTS HAVE HAD ISSUES AS WELL. MOST RECENTLY MY PASSENGER SIDE STEP RAIL SNAPPED OFF AS MY 13 YEAR OLD 115 LB DAUGHTER STEPPED ON IT. I HAVE 4 CHILDREN, MY YOUNGEST IS ONE AND A HALF YEARS OLD AND ONE CONCERN I HAVE IS THAT THE OTHER SIDE RAIL SNAPS OFF AND AS MY WIFE IS PUTTING MY SON IN CAR THEY FALL ON CONCRETE IF THAT RAIL SHOULD SNAP AS WELL. IN GENERAL, I DO NOT TRUST THIS CAR OR FEEL SAFE IN IT AT ALL. THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS SCARE ME THE MOST, GOD FORBID THERE SHOULD BE SOME KIND OF SHORT AND STEERING OR SOMETHING WORSE GOES OUT AND MY WIFE CRASHES WITH ONE OR ALL OF MY 4 CHILDREN IN THE CAR.. MY SALES REP AT ROBERT CHEVROLET HAS BEEN CONTACTED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, FOR A YEAR HAS BEEN TELLING US TO COME IN AFTER SEVERAL COMPLAINTS. FINALLY I TOOK OFF OF WORK AND TOLD HIM HE NEEDED TO TAKE A LOOK AT THIS UNSAFE VEHICLE AND IT NEEDED TO BE ADDRESSED. THEY ASSURED ME THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT, EVEN SUGGESTED HE WOULD TAKE ME OUT OF THE CAR AND EAT THE BULK OF THE LOSS. NEEDLESS TO SAY THEY DID NONE OF THAT, INDICATED EVERYTHING THAT'S WRONG WITH THE CAR IS WEAR AND TEAR. I BOUGHT AN EXTENDED POLICY ON THE VEHICLE AS WELL, BASICALLY NOTHING IS COVERED. AND TO BOOT, THEY SUGGESTED I PAY 1200-1500 TO FIX THE VEHICLE. AGAIN I STRESS, THE MONEY ISN'T THE BIGGEST ISSUE, I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/17/2015 - SEAFORD, NY
2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE- I BOUGHT THE TRUCK IN 2013 CERTIFIED, PRE-OWNED FOR ROUGHLY $35K ALL IN FROM ROBERT CHEVROLET. HAVE HAD SEVERAL ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ISSUES WITH IT OVER THE PAST 2 YEARS. WINDOWS HAVE STOPPED WORKING NUMEROUS TIMES, MIRRORS AS WELL. LEFT TAIL LIGHT HAS GONE OUT 3 TIMES, HEADLIGHTS HAVE HAD ISSUES AS WELL. MOST RECENTLY MY PASSENGER SIDE STEP RAIL SNAPPED OFF AS MY 13 YEAR OLD 115 LB DAUGHTER STEPPED ON IT. I HAVE 4 CHILDREN, MY YOUNGEST IS ONE AND A HALF YEARS OLD AND ONE CONCERN I HAVE IS THAT THE OTHER SIDE RAIL SNAPS OFF AND AS MY WIFE IS PUTTING MY SON IN CAR THEY FALL ON CONCRETE IF THAT RAIL SHOULD SNAP AS WELL. IN GENERAL, I DO NOT TRUST THIS CAR OR FEEL SAFE IN IT AT ALL. THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS SCARE ME THE MOST, GOD FORBID THERE SHOULD BE SOME KIND OF SHORT AND STEERING OR SOMETHING WORSE GOES OUT AND MY WIFE CRASHES WITH ONE OR ALL OF MY 4 CHILDREN IN THE CAR.. MY SALES REP AT ROBERT CHEVROLET HAS BEEN CONTACTED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, FOR A YEAR HAS BEEN TELLING US TO COME IN AFTER SEVERAL COMPLAINTS. FINALLY I TOOK OFF OF WORK AND TOLD HIM HE NEEDED TO TAKE A LOOK AT THIS UNSAFE VEHICLE AND IT NEEDED TO BE ADDRESSED. THEY ASSURED ME THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT, EVEN SUGGESTED HE WOULD TAKE ME OUT OF THE CAR AND EAT THE BULK OF THE LOSS. NEEDLESS TO SAY THEY DID NONE OF THAT, INDICATED EVERYTHING THAT'S WRONG WITH THE CAR IS WEAR AND TEAR. I BOUGHT AN EXTENDED POLICY ON THE VEHICLE AS WELL, BASICALLY NOTHING IS COVERED. AND TO BOOT, THEY SUGGESTED I PAY 1200-1500 TO FIX THE VEHICLE. AGAIN I STRESS, THE MONEY ISN'T THE BIGGEST ISSUE, I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/10/2015 - COVINA, CA
HAVING ROUTINE MAINTENANCE DONE AT DEALER. UPON INVESTIGATION, I WAS INFORMED THE STEERING GEAR BOX WAS DAMP BUT NO SIGNS OF A LEAK. AT 39391 MILES SEEMS THAT PART(S) ARE DEFECTIVE. SEEMS TO ME THAT SUCH AN IMPORTANT PART OF THE STEERING SYSTEM SHOULD BE ABLE TO LAST WELL ABOVE 40000 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/9/2015 - TUCUMCARI, NM
I WAS TURNING ON A GREEN ARROW FROM AN ON RAMP. A WOMAN IN AN LARGE FORD VAN HIT THE REAR DOOR AND QUARTER OF MY VEHICLE ON THE DRIVER SIDE SENDING US UP AND IN A CIRCLE. WE CAME DOWN HARD AFTER A COMPLETE CIRCLE. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. ONSTAR DID NOT WORK. MY HUSBAND WENT TO THE HOSPITAL VIA AMBULANCE AND MY MOTHER AND I RECEIVED SIGNIFICANT BRUISING. I HIT MY HEAD SO HARD ON THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW IT THREW MY GLASSES INTO THE PASSENGER FLOOR. I COULD NOT BELIEVE THERE WAS NO AIRBAG SYSTEM AS THIS WAS THE REASON I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE FOR MY FAMILY OF 7. I CALLED CHEVROLET AND WAS GIVEN ALL KINDS OF EXCUSES. I ARGUED SEVERAL TIMES WITH THEM. LATER - WE RECEIVE MASSIVE RECALLS ON FAILED AIRBAGS! THANK YOU CHEVY! THANKS A LOT FOR A VEHICLE THAT HAS LET US DOWN OVER AND OVER. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND A CHEVY! LITTLE WARRANTY, AND THEY WILL LET IT RUN OUT BEFORE THEY DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. SEE MY OTHER COMPLAINT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/9/2015 - TUCUMCARI, NM
MY CAR NEVER COOLED WELL. THERE WOULD BE BURSTS OF COOL AIR AND THEN WARMER. IT WAS NEVER AS COLD AS OTHER CARS I RODE IN. WE BEGAN NOTICING A STRANGE NOISE ON ACCELERATION. I TOOK IT IN A COUPLE TIMES AND THEY HAD A MECHANIC JUST COME LISTEN, BUT NEVER HAD A REASON TO SEND IT IN FOR SERVICING. I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN FORMALLY ON 6-25-13 TO THE DEALERSHIP IN MISSOURI WHO FIXED THE CAR AFTER IT WAS HIT BY A DISTRACTED DRIVER AND CURTAIN AIRBAGS FAILED! NOTHING WAS FOUND, ALTHOUGH THE BODYSHOP MAN WROTE UP THE WORK ORDER WRONG AS A SURGING. IT WAS A STRANGE SURGING CLICKING ON ACCELERATION, BUT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS UNDER THE DASH. WE THEN WOULD NOTICE THE AIR WOULD WARM SIGNIFICANTLY FOR A FEW MINUTES. I ALSO TOOK IT INTO HAMILTON WHERE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE, THEY FOUND NOTHING. NOW, 4 YEARS OLD THE AIR-CONDITIONED HAS CONTINUED TO MAKE THE SOUND, BT MUCH LOUDER AND MORE LIKE A COMPRESSOR, AND WHEN BREAKING AND ACCELERATING. NOW, THEY FIND THE ISSUE ISA COMPUTER MODULE. 4 YEAR OLD CARS SHOULD NOT HAVE AN AIR-CONDITIONER GO OUT!

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2015 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
I WAS MAKING A RIGHT TURN INTO A PARKING DECK WHEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. I STOPPED, AND TRIED TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. THIS WAY WAS HARD TO TURN ALSO. THE POWER STEERING RESUMED THERE AFTER, HOWEVER, HARD STEERING OCCURRED AGAIN SEVERAL TIMES WHEN I SLOWED TO MAKE RIGHT TURNS.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION: RACK

6/2/2015 - KANSAS CITY, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING RACK SYSTEM WAS DEFECTIVE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60-65 MPH, THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT LANES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CLASSIFIED UNDER A SPECIAL WARRANTY FOR A STEERING PUMP; HOWEVER, THE FAULTY STEERING PUMP CAUSED THE RACK SYSTEM TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds