Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 394 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (73) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (20) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (108) Power Train (48) Steering (131) Unknown Or Other (13) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Seat Belts (11) Structure (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/17/2017 - BETHEL, PA
I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW WHY THE POWER STEERING RACK IS NOT IMPORTANT ENOUGH OF A PART ON A VEHICLE TO INSURE A SAFE RIDE? THERE ARE LITERALLY HUNDREDS OF REPORTS ON THE TRAVERSE ABOUT THIS PART GIVING OUT. THIS HAPPENED TO ME AND THEY WANT $2000.00 TO FIX IT? WHAT? IT SHOULD BE ON A RECALL LIST AND TAKEN CARE OF BEFORE A NUMBER OF DEATHS HAPPEN. VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT GM HAS MANEUVERED AROUND FIXING THIS IMPORTANT PART OF A VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/14/2017 - LYNWOOD, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING MY TRACTION COMTROL WENT OUT AND IS TELLING ME TO SERVICE STABILITRACK..I JUST REPLACE THE THROTTLE NOT EVEN 2 YEARS AGO

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2017 - KATY, TX
A NUMBER OF MONTHS AGO, WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD WENT ON AN A MESSAGE DISPLAYING "REDUCED POWER ENGINE" WAS DISPLAYED. AT THE SAME TIME, THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED., THE ENGINE POWER WAS REDUCED FOR FEW SECONDS AND THEN EVERYTHING WENT BACK TO NORMAL. MONTHS BEFORE THE DESCRIBED INCIDENT, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM CHEVROLET DESCRIBING THIS ISSUE AND STATING ABOUT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY TO COVER THIS ISSUE. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND I WAS I WILL BE CHARGED ROUGHLY $150.00 TO DETECT THE ISSUE AND, IF AND ONLY IF, CERTAIN CODES WERE DISPLAYED ON THE SCAN, IT WILL BE COVERED BY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. SINCE IT WAS EXPENSIVE I DECIDED TO GO TO ANOTHER PLACE AND THE SCAN FOR FREE AND OBTAIN THE CODES. NO CODES WERE DISPLAYED. SINCE 4 MONTHS AGO THE ENGINE SHUTOFF WHILE THE VEHICLE IS MOVING, TO START THE ENGINE IS REQUIRED TO STOP BY ANY POSSIBLE WAY, AND RESTART THE ENGINE. ONCE AGAIN, ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD TURN AND THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUTOFF. THIS HAD HAPPENED AT LEAST SIX TIMES IN THE LAST 4 MONTHS. IN ALL OF THIS INCIDENTS I CAN NOT TELL IF THE "REDUCED POWER ENGINE" MESSAGE IS DISPLAYED SINCE THE PRIORITY IS TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE COUPLE WEEKS AGO TO THE DEALERSHIP AND I WAS CHARGED ABOUT $150.00 TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THE FEEDBACK FROM CHEVROLET WAS THAT NOTHING WAS WITH IN THE VEHICLE. IT IS INCONCEIVABLE THAT I WAS CHARGED THAT MUCH BY CHEVROLET TO COME BACK WITH A RESPONSE THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. CHEVROLET IS WELL AWARE (THE LETTER RECEIVED IN THE PAST) THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. FURTHERMORE, THE INTERNET IS PLENTY OF PEOPLE DESCRIBING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE TRAVERSE. I DO NOT KNOW THE PARAMETERS OF NHTSA TO CALL WHEN SHOULD BE A RECALL , BUT BASED ON THE LETTER THAT CHEVROLET SENT, AND THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINS SUGGESTS IT MIGHT BE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/12/2017 - KATY, TX
A NUMBER OF MONTHS AGO, WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD WENT ON AN A MESSAGE DISPLAYING "REDUCED POWER ENGINE" WAS DISPLAYED. AT THE SAME TIME, THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED., THE ENGINE POWER WAS REDUCED FOR FEW SECONDS AND THEN EVERYTHING WENT BACK TO NORMAL. MONTHS BEFORE THE DESCRIBED INCIDENT, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM CHEVROLET DESCRIBING THIS ISSUE AND STATING ABOUT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY TO COVER THIS ISSUE. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND I WAS I WILL BE CHARGED ROUGHLY $150.00 TO DETECT THE ISSUE AND, IF AND ONLY IF, CERTAIN CODES WERE DISPLAYED ON THE SCAN, IT WILL BE COVERED BY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. SINCE IT WAS EXPENSIVE I DECIDED TO GO TO ANOTHER PLACE AND THE SCAN FOR FREE AND OBTAIN THE CODES. NO CODES WERE DISPLAYED. SINCE 4 MONTHS AGO THE ENGINE SHUTOFF WHILE THE VEHICLE IS MOVING, TO START THE ENGINE IS REQUIRED TO STOP BY ANY POSSIBLE WAY, AND RESTART THE ENGINE. ONCE AGAIN, ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD TURN AND THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUTOFF. THIS HAD HAPPENED AT LEAST SIX TIMES IN THE LAST 4 MONTHS. IN ALL OF THIS INCIDENTS I CAN NOT TELL IF THE "REDUCED POWER ENGINE" MESSAGE IS DISPLAYED SINCE THE PRIORITY IS TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE COUPLE WEEKS AGO TO THE DEALERSHIP AND I WAS CHARGED ABOUT $150.00 TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THE FEEDBACK FROM CHEVROLET WAS THAT NOTHING WAS WITH IN THE VEHICLE. IT IS INCONCEIVABLE THAT I WAS CHARGED THAT MUCH BY CHEVROLET TO COME BACK WITH A RESPONSE THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. CHEVROLET IS WELL AWARE (THE LETTER RECEIVED IN THE PAST) THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. FURTHERMORE, THE INTERNET IS PLENTY OF PEOPLE DESCRIBING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE TRAVERSE. I DO NOT KNOW THE PARAMETERS OF NHTSA TO CALL WHEN SHOULD BE A RECALL , BUT BASED ON THE LETTER THAT CHEVROLET SENT, AND THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINS SUGGESTS IT MIGHT BE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2017 - TIFFIN, OH
MY ENGINE KEEPS USING OIL BUT NOT LEAKING ANYWHERE BETWEEN OIL CHANGES

View Details

STEERING

8/7/2017 - NASELLE, WA
THE STEERING IS HARD AT LOW SPEEDS. TRYING TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT THE CAR DOESN'T WANT TO TURN EASILY. AT OTHER TIMES IT WORKS FINE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/7/2017 - NASELLE, WA
THE STEERING IS HARD AT LOW SPEEDS. TRYING TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT THE CAR DOESN'T WANT TO TURN EASILY. AT OTHER TIMES IT WORKS FINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2017 - WALKERSVILLE, MD
OBD-II CODE: P0008; TIMING CHAIN STRETCHED CAUSING CHECK ENGINE LIGHT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/1/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
IN JANUARY 2016, MY VEHICLE STARTED HAVING STABILITY TRACK ISSUES. IT GOT SO BAD I HAD THE CAR SIT UP FOR A MONTH THEN CALLED A MECHANIC OUT TO DIAGNOSIS THE CAR. THEY SENT ME TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIXED SOMETHING WITHIN THE STEERING, BUT THAT DID NOT STOP MY STABILITRAK FROM MALFUNCTIONING. WHILE DRIVING THE STABILITRAK LIGHT TURNS ON AND SAYS IT NEEDS SERVICING. THEN IT MAKES THE ENGINE SLOW DOWN AND IT STARTS STALLING SO WE HAVE TO PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON FOR IT TO DO THE SAME THING AGAIN WITHIN MINUTES. IF THE CRUISE CONTROL IS ON IT TURNS IT OFF STARTS TO STALL AND PUTS MY FAMILY AND I IN DANGER, I JUST THANK GOD WE'VE BEEN ABLE TO ALLEVIATE MAJOR ACCIDENTS. IT'S BEEN ONE MINOR ACCIDENT BUT BECAUSE WE WERE ALREADY GOING SLOW IT DIDN'T AFFECT EITHER CAR, SO WE LET IT GO ESPECIALLY BECAUSE OUR VEHICLE WAS AT FAULT NOT THE PEOPLE BEHIND US.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
IN JANUARY 2016, MY VEHICLE STARTED HAVING STABILITY TRACK ISSUES. IT GOT SO BAD I HAD THE CAR SIT UP FOR A MONTH THEN CALLED A MECHANIC OUT TO DIAGNOSIS THE CAR. THEY SENT ME TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIXED SOMETHING WITHIN THE STEERING, BUT THAT DID NOT STOP MY STABILITRAK FROM MALFUNCTIONING. WHILE DRIVING THE STABILITRAK LIGHT TURNS ON AND SAYS IT NEEDS SERVICING. THEN IT MAKES THE ENGINE SLOW DOWN AND IT STARTS STALLING SO WE HAVE TO PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON FOR IT TO DO THE SAME THING AGAIN WITHIN MINUTES. IF THE CRUISE CONTROL IS ON IT TURNS IT OFF STARTS TO STALL AND PUTS MY FAMILY AND I IN DANGER, I JUST THANK GOD WE'VE BEEN ABLE TO ALLEVIATE MAJOR ACCIDENTS. IT'S BEEN ONE MINOR ACCIDENT BUT BECAUSE WE WERE ALREADY GOING SLOW IT DIDN'T AFFECT EITHER CAR, SO WE LET IT GO ESPECIALLY BECAUSE OUR VEHICLE WAS AT FAULT NOT THE PEOPLE BEHIND US.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds