Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 401 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (74) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (20) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (112) Power Train (49) Steering (132) Unknown Or Other (14) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Seat Belts (12) Structure (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

10/13/2017 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT WARNING INDICATOR INADVERTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LAP PRETENSIONER ON THE SEAT BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED HENDRICK CHEVROLET BUICK GMC SOUTHPOINT AT (919) 888-4896 (127 KENTINGTON DR, DURHAM, NC 27713) AND THE CONTACT WAS TRANSFERRED TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V266000 (SEAT BELTS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,295.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/12/2017 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
MY STABILITRAK HAS BEEN GOING IN AND OUT FOR YEARS WITH NO ISSUES. I HAD IT CHECKED BUT TOLD IT WAS OK. NOW IT HAS STARTED STALLING ON ME. AND I WAS SLIGHTLY REAR ENDED LAST NIGHT ON VACATION. I CALLED THE CHEVROLET 1 800 # AND TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS. HOWEVER ON LINE IS HUNDREDS OF ISSUES WITH THIS MODEL. SO OVER THE LAST 2 WEEKS IT HAS BEEN GOING FREQUENTLY. THE STEERING IS JUST MAKING NOISES AND CRUNCHING SOUNDS WHEN TURNING

View Details

STEERING

10/12/2017 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
MY STABILITRAK HAS BEEN GOING IN AND OUT FOR YEARS WITH NO ISSUES. I HAD IT CHECKED BUT TOLD IT WAS OK. NOW IT HAS STARTED STALLING ON ME. AND I WAS SLIGHTLY REAR ENDED LAST NIGHT ON VACATION. I CALLED THE CHEVROLET 1 800 # AND TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS. HOWEVER ON LINE IS HUNDREDS OF ISSUES WITH THIS MODEL. SO OVER THE LAST 2 WEEKS IT HAS BEEN GOING FREQUENTLY. THE STEERING IS JUST MAKING NOISES AND CRUNCHING SOUNDS WHEN TURNING

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2017 - SANFORD, MI
VEHICLE HAD HAD BEEN SHUDDERING AND MISFIRING ON AND OFF FOR QUITE SOME TIME, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, TOOK TO SHOP FOR DIAGNOSIS. SHOP STATED CODES WERE RELATED TO STRETCHED TIMING CHAINS. I THEN TOOK TO DEALER, GOT SAME DIAGNOSIS AND A $2,000 ESTIMATE. HAD REPAIRS DONE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS NOT COME BACK ON SINCE. CAR WOULD HESITATE AND LOOSE POWER ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE WHEN TAKING OFF IN TRAFFIC. FELT UNSAFE DRIVING, AS I NEVER KNEW WHEN CAR WAS GOING ACCELERATE OR NOT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/4/2017 - MILFORD, NJ
WENT TO THE DEALER FOR AN OIL CHANGE. LEFT WITH A $4,600 REPAIR ESTIMATE. THE CAR HAS NEVER BEEN IN ACCIDENT HAS 130,00 MILES. THEY ARE SAYING THE FRONT TIMING COVER IS LEAKING $1314, THE STEERING RACK IS LEAKING $1804 , SWAYBAR BUSHING IS LOOSE $233 AND BUNCH OF OTHER THINGS. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED AT 100,000 MILES AND A FEW OTHE MAJOR PROBLEMS THAT WERE COVER UNDER WARRANTY

View Details

ENGINE

9/29/2017 - SIOUX CITY, IA
WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ENGINE MADE A TICKING SOUND THEN KNOCKED A LITTLE UPON ACCELERATION, NO LIGHTS CAME ON AND I WAS WITHIN A 1/2 MILE TO MY HOME SO I KEPT DRIVING. CAR DIED AS I PULLED INTO DRIVEWAY, HAD I BEEN ON THE STREET I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO PULL OVER AS THERE WAS NO WARNING. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER WHO SAID THE TIMING BELT WENT OUT AND RUINED THE ENGINE, TOTAL COST FOR NEW ENGINE $7250 AND DESPITE OTHER YEARS AND VIN NUMBERS BEING RECALLED THEY REFUSED TO COVER MY VEHICLE THAT ONLY HAS 52,000 MILES. MECHANIC ALL BUT ADMITTED IT WAS A FLAW AND TOLD ME TO SAVE MY RECEIPT. I ASKED HIM IF THE ONLY WAY CHEVY WILL COVER IT IS IF SOMEONE GETS KILLED, OR IF ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAIN AND HE SAID YES. WHY NOT BE HONEST ABOUT IT AND STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT? NOW I'M SCARED EVEN WITH A NEW ENGINE IT COULD HAPPEN AGAIN, ONLY I MIGHT NOT BE LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE IN MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2017 - LANSING, MI
WENT FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THEN NOTICED MY COOLANT RESERVOIR COMPLETELY. I CONTACTED OIL COMPANY AND TOPPED COOLANT OFF. NEXT DAY WENT TO WORK AND OIL COMPANY CAME TO INSPECT THE CAR AND COOLANT EMPTY AGAIN. WENT TO OIL COMPANY AFTER WORK AND WAS ADVISED TO GO TO DEALERSHIP AS IT APPEARS TO BE A WATER PUMP LEAK. NEXT MORNING WENT TO SHAHEEN CHEVROLET AND PAID $101.86 AND THE ADVISED IT WAS MY WATER PUMP LEAKING AT SHAFT WEEP HOLE. I RESEARCH3RD AND FOUND RECALL 13079 AND CONTACTED GM AT 18002221020 AND S/W ANNA AND WAS ADVISED ITS NOT A RECALL BUT A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM. AND THAT I HAD THE CUSTOMER SATISFACTION ON 4/19/2014 AND IT ONLY CARRIED A 12 MONTH WARRANTY. HOWEVER SINCE THIS SEEMS RELATED THEY WILL ASSIGN MY CASE TO A SENIOR ADVISOR ...CASE 8-3280633041

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/11/2017 - LANSING, MI
WENT FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THEN NOTICED MY COOLANT RESERVOIR COMPLETELY. I CONTACTED OIL COMPANY AND TOPPED COOLANT OFF. NEXT DAY WENT TO WORK AND OIL COMPANY CAME TO INSPECT THE CAR AND COOLANT EMPTY AGAIN. WENT TO OIL COMPANY AFTER WORK AND WAS ADVISED TO GO TO DEALERSHIP AS IT APPEARS TO BE A WATER PUMP LEAK. NEXT MORNING WENT TO SHAHEEN CHEVROLET AND PAID $101.86 AND THE ADVISED IT WAS MY WATER PUMP LEAKING AT SHAFT WEEP HOLE. I RESEARCH3RD AND FOUND RECALL 13079 AND CONTACTED GM AT 18002221020 AND S/W ANNA AND WAS ADVISED ITS NOT A RECALL BUT A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM. AND THAT I HAD THE CUSTOMER SATISFACTION ON 4/19/2014 AND IT ONLY CARRIED A 12 MONTH WARRANTY. HOWEVER SINCE THIS SEEMS RELATED THEY WILL ASSIGN MY CASE TO A SENIOR ADVISOR ...CASE 8-3280633041

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2017 - FOREST CITY, IA
WE WERE DOING NORMAL DRIVING AROUND TOWN WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE STARTED RUNNING VERY ROUGH. WE WERE ABLE TO DRIVE SLOWLY AND GET THE VEHICLE HOME. THE ENGINE STARTED MAKING A KNOCKING SOUND. WE TOOK THE CAR TO A CHEVROLET DEALER TO BE LOOKED AT. THE DEALER SAID THE TIMING CHAIN AND PISTONS WERE OUT AND THEY RECOMMENDED REPLACING THE MOTOR. THEY SAID THEY HAD SEEN THIS BEFORE ON THE TRAVERSE AND WOULDN'T KNOW FOR SURE UNTIL THEY TOOK THE ENGINE APART BUT THAT WAS WHAT THE DIAGNOSTICS WERE SHOWING. WE TOWED THE CAR TO ANOTHER SHOP TO GET A SECOND OPINION. THEY ALSO STATED THE PISTONS AND BEARINGS WERE BAD, THE TIMING BELT WAS BAD AND THEY WOULD KNOW MORE IF THEY TOOK IT APART. THEY ALSO RECOMMENDED REPLACING THE MOTOR BECAUSE OF THE EXTENT OF THE DAMAGE. WE REPLACED THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE HAD 108,000 MILES AT THE TIME OF THE ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2017 - BETHEL, PA
I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW WHY THE POWER STEERING RACK IS NOT IMPORTANT ENOUGH OF A PART ON A VEHICLE TO INSURE A SAFE RIDE? THERE ARE LITERALLY HUNDREDS OF REPORTS ON THE TRAVERSE ABOUT THIS PART GIVING OUT. THIS HAPPENED TO ME AND THEY WANT $2000.00 TO FIX IT? WHAT? IT SHOULD BE ON A RECALL LIST AND TAKEN CARE OF BEFORE A NUMBER OF DEATHS HAPPEN. VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT GM HAS MANEUVERED AROUND FIXING THIS IMPORTANT PART OF A VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds