Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 352 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (63) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (19) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (91) Power Train (43) Steering (118) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (11) Structure (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/28/2016 - HAYESVILLE, NC
MY CAR HAD STARTED MAKING A NOISE IN THE FRONT BEFORE I COULD GET IT TO THE SHOP THAT I TAKE IT TO I WAS GOING TO GET MY DAUGHTER HAD MY SON NEICE AND NEPHEW WAS GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE DASH FLASHED LOW ENGINE POWER LOST THE BREAKS AND COULD NOT STEER THE CAR. I LATER FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS THE TIMING CHAINS. AFTER RESEARCH AND TALKING WITH CHEVY THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ALTHOUGH THERE HAS BEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS PUTTING PEOPLE IN DANGER AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING. THEY SAID WITH ME GOING TO A 3RD PARTY TO HAVE THE CAR WORKED ON THAT THEY WOULDN'T TOUCH MINE. MY CAR HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED I HAD JUST HAD THIS CAR OVER A YEAR WHEN IT STARTED THIS. I OWE 17K STILL ON THIS CAR AND NOT ABLE TO DRIVE IT. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM IN SEVERAL MODELS AND CHEVY IS NOT WANTING TO PAY FOR THEIR MISTAKE, I HAVE ALSO HAD THIS LOOKED AT BY CHEVY THEY TRIED SAYING THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE CAR BUT IT WAS CHANGED AND HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 MONTHS. A SINGLE MOM PAYING 400 A MONTH ON A VEHICLE THAT IS NOT MY FAULT THAT IT IS MESSED UP. I WILL NEVER HAVE ANOTHER CHEVY AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

11/16/2016 - COS COB, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/16/2016 - COS COB, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/15/2016 - MOUNT JULIET, TN
HAD A SQUEAKING NOISE WHEN APPLYING BRAKE PEDAL. TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC WHO SAID THE THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND MASTER CYLINDER HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT WAS LEAKING AND CAUSING THE PROBLEM. COULD EVENTUALLY LEAD TO BRAKING ISSUES. THEY ALSO STATING THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVROLET TRAVERSE MAKE AND MODEL. SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE AND NOT A $600 FIX FOR ME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/14/2016 - BRONX, NY
WHEN RAINING WATER ENTERS INTO AC/HEATING BLOWER ACCESS PANEL AND ACCUMULATES THERE ULTIMATELY CAUSING THE BLOWER MOTOR TO FAIL. ALSO WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN WATER RUNS OUT FROM PANEL ONTO PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR. HAD TO HAVE BLOWER MOTOR REMOVED AND REPLACED WITH NEW ONE. A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM IS NEEDED AS IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/3/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
TAKATA RECALL I HAVE A 2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE LTZ WITH JUST UNDER 75K MILES. I HAD THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED IN OCTOBER 2014 BEFORE THERE WAS A RECALL. TODAY, I GOT OUT OF CLASS, PICKED UP MY CHILDREN FROM SCHOOL AND WENT TO THE GROCERY STORE. THIS IS A 2 MILE TRIP ROUND-TRIP. I WAS DRIVING PAST THE KIDS SCHOOL STRAIGHT AHEAD ON CITY STREETS DOING ABOUT 15 MPH, JUST A FEW BLOCKS FROM OUR HOUSE, THE WARNING LIGHTS BEGAN TO BEEP AND THE DIC HAD SEVERAL MESSAGES. "ENGINE HOT A/C OFF" "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED" AND "ENGINE OVERHEATED IDLE ENGINE". IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO HANDLE THE TRUCK. THE HIGH IN CHICAGO TODAY WAS 60 DEGREES AND I ONLY MADE THE ONE TRIP MENTIONED ABOVE. I PLAN ON TAKING IT TO THE DEALER TOMORROW BUT I WANT TO KNOW IF THIS IS A PROBLEM PEOPLE ARE HAVING.

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
TAKATA RECALL I HAVE A 2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE LTZ WITH JUST UNDER 75K MILES. I HAD THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED IN OCTOBER 2014 BEFORE THERE WAS A RECALL. TODAY, I GOT OUT OF CLASS, PICKED UP MY CHILDREN FROM SCHOOL AND WENT TO THE GROCERY STORE. THIS IS A 2 MILE TRIP ROUND-TRIP. I WAS DRIVING PAST THE KIDS SCHOOL STRAIGHT AHEAD ON CITY STREETS DOING ABOUT 15 MPH, JUST A FEW BLOCKS FROM OUR HOUSE, THE WARNING LIGHTS BEGAN TO BEEP AND THE DIC HAD SEVERAL MESSAGES. "ENGINE HOT A/C OFF" "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED" AND "ENGINE OVERHEATED IDLE ENGINE". IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO HANDLE THE TRUCK. THE HIGH IN CHICAGO TODAY WAS 60 DEGREES AND I ONLY MADE THE ONE TRIP MENTIONED ABOVE. I PLAN ON TAKING IT TO THE DEALER TOMORROW BUT I WANT TO KNOW IF THIS IS A PROBLEM PEOPLE ARE HAVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/1/2016 - WILMINGTON, NC
2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE. SPORADICALLY DECELERATES WHILE DRIVING, FLASHES TRACTION CONTROL OFF AND SERVICE STABILTRAK, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. PULL OVER AND LET IT "REST" FOR 15 MINUTES, IT WILL RESUME DRIVING. HAVE ALREADY HAD THIS ISSUE "REPAIRED" FROM CHEVY STORE10 MONTHS AGO. MOSTLY OCCURS WHILE IN MOTION, ONCE WHILE DRIVING 70MPH ON HWY DECELERATED TO 35 MPH AND ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENT. NOW DEALERSHIP IS SUGGESTING I MAKE ANOTHER EXPENSIVE FIX, WHICH MAY OR MAY NOT FIX THE ISSUE. THIS CAR IS A LEMON!!!! TODAY WE ARE BLOCKING TRAFFIC IN A PARKING DECK BECAUSE IT HAS DECIDED TO HAPPEN AGAIN, NO DRIVE, BUT REVERSE WORKS FINE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/1/2016 - WILMINGTON, NC
2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE. SPORADICALLY DECELERATES WHILE DRIVING, FLASHES TRACTION CONTROL OFF AND SERVICE STABILTRAK, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. PULL OVER AND LET IT "REST" FOR 15 MINUTES, IT WILL RESUME DRIVING. HAVE ALREADY HAD THIS ISSUE "REPAIRED" FROM CHEVY STORE10 MONTHS AGO. MOSTLY OCCURS WHILE IN MOTION, ONCE WHILE DRIVING 70MPH ON HWY DECELERATED TO 35 MPH AND ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENT. NOW DEALERSHIP IS SUGGESTING I MAKE ANOTHER EXPENSIVE FIX, WHICH MAY OR MAY NOT FIX THE ISSUE. THIS CAR IS A LEMON!!!! TODAY WE ARE BLOCKING TRAFFIC IN A PARKING DECK BECAUSE IT HAS DECIDED TO HAPPEN AGAIN, NO DRIVE, BUT REVERSE WORKS FINE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/1/2016 - WILMINGTON, NC
2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE. SPORADICALLY DECELERATES WHILE DRIVING, FLASHES TRACTION CONTROL OFF AND SERVICE STABILTRAK, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. PULL OVER AND LET IT "REST" FOR 15 MINUTES, IT WILL RESUME DRIVING. HAVE ALREADY HAD THIS ISSUE "REPAIRED" FROM CHEVY STORE10 MONTHS AGO. MOSTLY OCCURS WHILE IN MOTION, ONCE WHILE DRIVING 70MPH ON HWY DECELERATED TO 35 MPH AND ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENT. NOW DEALERSHIP IS SUGGESTING I MAKE ANOTHER EXPENSIVE FIX, WHICH MAY OR MAY NOT FIX THE ISSUE. THIS CAR IS A LEMON!!!! TODAY WE ARE BLOCKING TRAFFIC IN A PARKING DECK BECAUSE IT HAS DECIDED TO HAPPEN AGAIN, NO DRIVE, BUT REVERSE WORKS FINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds