Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 357 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (65) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (19) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (92) Power Train (43) Steering (120) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (11) Structure (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/14/2017 - PHOENIX, MD
I HAD CONTACTED CHEVY CORPORATE ON THE STEERING ISSUE ON MY CAR WHILE IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. NEEDLESS TO SAY THERE WERE NO HELP. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP MANY TIMES BECAUSE OF THE STEERING ALONE. SINCE THEN I HAVE OTHER ISSUES WITH MY 2011 TRAVERSE. NOW THE CAR SHUTS WHILE DRIVING. IT SOUNDS LIKE A LOT OF GM OWNERS OF DIFFERENT VEHICLES ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. I GUESS THERE WILL NOT BE A RECALL UNTIL SOMEONE DIES OVER THIS. SOME OF THE ISSUES INCLUDED ALL 4 STRUTS WERE BAD UNDER 100,000 MILES, RACK AND PINION GOING UP, STEERING ISSUES, LEAKING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN, 3 TIMES THE AC ACTUATOR HAS GONE UP, ISSUES WITH THE LIFT GATE FAILING, LIFE GATE ONE TIME INJURED MY FATHER-IN-LAW, TIMING CHAIN FAILING PREMATURELY, AND NOW THE STABILITRAK AND TRACTION CONTROL IS GOING OFF. THE VEHICLE SHUTS UP WHILE DRIVING! MY WIFE GOT STUCK ON A BRIDGE AND WAS PUT IN DANGER DUE TO THIS. NOW THE TRAVERSE SITS IN THE DRIVEWAY. MY WIFE SAID A WARNING WAS DISPLAYED ABOUT REDUCING ENGINE POWER. THE TRAVERSE WENT DOWN TO 20MPG AND THEN SHUT OFF ON A BRIDGE. THIS IS VERY UNSAFE AND NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED.

View Details

STEERING

1/3/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND ATTEMPTING TO TURN LEFT, THE STEERING COLUMN MADE AN ABNORMAL WHINING SOUND. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TURN WOULD BE EXTREMELY HARD TO EXECUTE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING GEAR AND PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,522.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/19/2016 - SMYRNA, DE
TRACTION CONTROL COMES ON STATING TRACTION CONTROL IS OFF AND ENGINE POWER REDUCES TO 20 MPH AND WILL NOT ACCELERATE PASS 20MPH I WAS ON THE EXPRESSWAY TRAVELING ABOUT 50 MPH WHEN THE TRACTION LIGHT CAME ON AND REDUCED POWER TO 20MPH NO THROTTLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/16/2016 - VERONA, WI
WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN (NO MORE THAN 30 MPH), A BEEP OCCURS AND AN ERROR - NO TRACTION CONTROL - SERVICE STABILITRACK - ENGINE POWER REDUCED. I AM THEN UNABLE TO GO OVER 10 MPH. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO COMES ON AT THE END OF THIS. I HAVE TO PULL OVER, STOP MY CAR AND RESTART IN ORDER TO ASSUME REGULAR SPEED, HOWEVER, IT DID HAPPEN TWICE IN A DRIVE THAT WAS ONLY 10 MILES LONG.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/16/2016 - VERONA, WI
WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN (NO MORE THAN 30 MPH), A BEEP OCCURS AND AN ERROR - NO TRACTION CONTROL - SERVICE STABILITRACK - ENGINE POWER REDUCED. I AM THEN UNABLE TO GO OVER 10 MPH. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO COMES ON AT THE END OF THIS. I HAVE TO PULL OVER, STOP MY CAR AND RESTART IN ORDER TO ASSUME REGULAR SPEED, HOWEVER, IT DID HAPPEN TWICE IN A DRIVE THAT WAS ONLY 10 MILES LONG.

View Details

STEERING

12/5/2016 - EPHRATA, PA
WHILE DRIVING APPROX 20 MPH OUT OF A PARKING LOT ONTO THE MAIN ROAD AND TURNING LEFT, I HEARD A LOUD WHINING SOUND AND FELT A "THUMP" WITH SOME VIBRATION IN THE STEERING COLUMN. THE CAR CONTINUES TO MAKE THE SAME SOUND WHEN MAKING SHARPER TURNS, LIKE GOING INTO A PARKING SPACE. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT I HAVE A POWER STEERING LEAK AND NEED A NEW STEERING RACK TO THE TUNE OF $1300-1600 REPAIR! THIS CAR ONLY HAS 33,146 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

11/28/2016 - HAYESVILLE, NC
MY CAR HAD STARTED MAKING A NOISE IN THE FRONT BEFORE I COULD GET IT TO THE SHOP THAT I TAKE IT TO I WAS GOING TO GET MY DAUGHTER HAD MY SON NEICE AND NEPHEW WAS GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE DASH FLASHED LOW ENGINE POWER LOST THE BREAKS AND COULD NOT STEER THE CAR. I LATER FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS THE TIMING CHAINS. AFTER RESEARCH AND TALKING WITH CHEVY THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ALTHOUGH THERE HAS BEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS PUTTING PEOPLE IN DANGER AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING. THEY SAID WITH ME GOING TO A 3RD PARTY TO HAVE THE CAR WORKED ON THAT THEY WOULDN'T TOUCH MINE. MY CAR HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED I HAD JUST HAD THIS CAR OVER A YEAR WHEN IT STARTED THIS. I OWE 17K STILL ON THIS CAR AND NOT ABLE TO DRIVE IT. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM IN SEVERAL MODELS AND CHEVY IS NOT WANTING TO PAY FOR THEIR MISTAKE, I HAVE ALSO HAD THIS LOOKED AT BY CHEVY THEY TRIED SAYING THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE CAR BUT IT WAS CHANGED AND HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 MONTHS. A SINGLE MOM PAYING 400 A MONTH ON A VEHICLE THAT IS NOT MY FAULT THAT IT IS MESSED UP. I WILL NEVER HAVE ANOTHER CHEVY AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

11/16/2016 - COS COB, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/16/2016 - COS COB, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/15/2016 - MOUNT JULIET, TN
HAD A SQUEAKING NOISE WHEN APPLYING BRAKE PEDAL. TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC WHO SAID THE THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND MASTER CYLINDER HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT WAS LEAKING AND CAUSING THE PROBLEM. COULD EVENTUALLY LEAD TO BRAKING ISSUES. THEY ALSO STATING THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVROLET TRAVERSE MAKE AND MODEL. SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE AND NOT A $600 FIX FOR ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds