Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 230 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (47) Power Train (34) Steering (68) Traction Control System (13) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (63) Seat Belts (8) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seats (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/21/2015 - MELVILLE, NY
STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT WHEN DRIVING. MY 2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE WAS BROUGHT TO DEALER, DIAGNOSED FAILURE OF POWER STEERING PUMP AND RACK AND PINION. WAS INFORMED THAT CHEVY WOULD ONLY COVER POWER STEERING PUMP UNDER SEPARATE EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUED BY GM AND THAT RACK AND PINION IS NOT COVERED AND I WOULD NEED TO PAY FULL COST OF REPLACEMENT. STEERING ISSUES APPEAR TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. GM SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO EXTEND WARRANTY FOR ENTIRE STEERING SYSTEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/14/2015 - LEDYARD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE SERVICE STABILITRAC, TRACTION CONTROL OFF, AND ENGINE POWER REDUCED MESSAGES SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED TO APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEALER REPLACED A COMPUTER AND THROTTLE BODY, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

4/14/2015 - LEDYARD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE SERVICE STABILITRAC, TRACTION CONTROL OFF, AND ENGINE POWER REDUCED MESSAGES SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED TO APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEALER REPLACED A COMPUTER AND THROTTLE BODY, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - LEDYARD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE SERVICE STABILITRAC, TRACTION CONTROL OFF, AND ENGINE POWER REDUCED MESSAGES SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED TO APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEALER REPLACED A COMPUTER AND THROTTLE BODY, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/14/2015 - GLADE SPRING, VA
I WAS DRIVING AROUND 55MPH WHEN I NOTICED MY STEERING BECOMING VERY TIGHT SO I PULLED OFF THE ROAD. WHEN I PULLED OFF THE ROAD AND TRIED TO TURN INTO A PARKING PLACE, MY STEERING WAS VERY TIGHT AND I HAD A HARD TIME TURNING. I WAS WORRIED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK WITH MY POWER STEERING FLUID SO I HAD MY LOCAL GARAGE CHECK IT, THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS FULL. WHEN I STARTED TO RESEARCH THE PROBLEM, I AM FINDING THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR/MAKE/MODEL AND WONDER WHY THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL ISSUED? MY NEXT STEP IS TO CONTACT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP, I HAVE SEEN SOME QUOTE THE REPAIR EXPENSE UP INTO THE THOUSANDS..

View Details

STEERING

4/6/2015 - LAUREL, MD
MY VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A WHIRING SOUND WHILE I WAS SITTING STILL AT A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. WHEN I TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL, THE NOISE GOT LOUDER, BUT IT DID NOT GET TIGHTER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT MY RACK AND PINION STEERING WAS BAD AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. APPARENTLY THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FLUID WHICH WAS CAUSING THE NOISE. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WOULD CAUSE ME $1100 - $1200 TO BE REPAIRED BECAUSE IT IS NOT COVERED UNDER MY POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. THE STEERING PUMP IS COVERED UNDER A SPECIAL WARRANTY AND CAN BE REPAIRED WITHOUT ANY COST. MY CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD, I BROUGHT IT BRAND NEW AND HAVE TAKEN GREAT CAR OF IT. I SHOULD NOT BE HAVING THESE TYPES OF PROBLEMS SO SOON. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS A DEPENDABLE CAR, BUT APPARENTLY I WAS WRONG. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY IN THE FUTURE. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THIS PROBLEM AND GM SHOULD BE ASHAMED FOR SELLING VEHICLES THAT ARE NOT SAFE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

4/1/2015 - SANTA CLARA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE IDLING, THE REAR TAILGATE WINDOW GLASS POPPED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS NOT ABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2015 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/31/2015 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2015 - QUINCY, IL
I BEGAN EXPERIENCING A WHIRRING NOISE WHEN I WOULD STEER MY CAR. THEN ONE DAY LAST WEEK AS I WAS DRIVING THE STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT AND IT FELT LIKE SOMETHING HAPPENED WITH THE POWER STEERING. I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE TO FIND THAT THERE WAS A SPECIAL WARRANTY ON THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND THAT IT WOULD BE REPLACED UNDER THAT WARRANTY AT NO CHARGE BUT DUE TO THE STEERING PUMP FAILING THE STEERING GEAR WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED WHICH WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE "SPECIAL" WARRANTY AND I WOULD HAVE TO COVER THE COST OF THIS MYSELF TO THE TUNE OF $1157.62. THE ISSUE I HAVE IS THAT ALTHOUGH I CAN AFFORD TO FIX MY VEHICLE, WHICH I DID PAY TO FIX, I FIND THAT THIS IS A RECURRING ISSUE AMOUNGST MANY CONSUMERS WHO OWN ANY OF THE VEHICLES ON THE LAMBDA LINE WHICH INLCUDES GMC ACADIA, CHEVY TRAVERSE, BUICK ENCLAVE AND SATURN OUTLOOK. THIS IS NOT ISSUE OF COST TO REPAIR, THIS IS AN ISSUE OF SAFETY THAT THE MANUFACTURER REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE AND WILL NOT FIX UNDER RECALL. I AM HAPPY I FOUND MY PROBLEM BEFORE I WAS TRAVELING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED AND NO ONE WAS INJURED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds