Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 381 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (70) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (20) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (101) Power Train (45) Steering (128) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (11) Structure (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/23/2017 - CHESAPEAKE, OH
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WITH CODE P008, TOOK TO DEALER & FOUND 3 TIMING CHAINS NEEDED REPLACED WHICH MEANS THE ENGINE MUST COME OUT AND AN OPEN ESTIMATE OF AT LEAST $2350.00. FOUND ON CARTRUCKINFO.COM AND NHTSA.GOV THIS IS A COMMON COMPLAINT AND NEEDS CORRECTED BY GENERAL MOTORS AND CHEVROLET. UNACCEPTABLE FOR A 2011 VEHICLE WITH 64,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2017 - ORLAND PARK, IL
CODE P0008 AND P0017 WAS PULLED. LOOKED ONLINE AND FOUND THIS - HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2010/CHEVROLET/TRAVERSE/ENGINE/PROBLEM.ASPX. LOOKS LIKE THIS IS A MAJOR COMMON ISSUE. LOOKS LIKE CHEVY HAS HAD IT SINCE 2008 ON THAT SAME MODEL AND THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON 2008-2009 MODELS BUT NOTHING SINCE, JUST THE ISSUE STILL REMAINS. IT IS A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE THAT HAS OCCURRED IN MANY MANY CASES. HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2010/CHEVROLET/TRAVERSE/ENGINE/PROBLEM.ASPX HTTP://WWW.CARTRUCKINFO.COM/MECHANIC/TRAVERSE-TIMING-CHAINS/

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/1/2017 - BRANDYWINE, MD
WIPERS STOP WORKING WHEN THE LEFT SIGNAL TURN WAS ACTIVATED, WIPERS WOULD RESTART WHEN LEFT SIGNAL WAS TURN OFF AND IN THE NEUTRAL POSITION. WHEN DRIVING WIPERS WOULD PERIODICALLY STOP WORKING AND WOULD RETURN TO FUNCTIONING WHEN LEFT WIPER WAS PARTIALLY ACTIVATED AND NOT PUSHED DOWN COMPLETELY. VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2017 - BRANDYWINE, MD
WIPERS STOP WORKING WHEN THE LEFT SIGNAL TURN WAS ACTIVATED, WIPERS WOULD RESTART WHEN LEFT SIGNAL WAS TURN OFF AND IN THE NEUTRAL POSITION. WHEN DRIVING WIPERS WOULD PERIODICALLY STOP WORKING AND WOULD RETURN TO FUNCTIONING WHEN LEFT WIPER WAS PARTIALLY ACTIVATED AND NOT PUSHED DOWN COMPLETELY. VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2017 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHENEVER THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO USE THE KEY TO UNLOCK THE VEHICLE, THE ALARM SYSTEM WOULD SOUND. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PLACE THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION TO TURN OFF THE ALARM SYSTEM; HOWEVER, THE KEY COULD NOT BE TURNED IN THE IGNITION TO START THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IF THE KEY FOB WAS USED TO OPEN THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE STARTED AND FUNCTIONED NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2017 - BELLFLOWER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK AND THE RPMS INCREASED AND DECREASED RAPIDLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,411.

View Details

STEERING

5/10/2017 - BELLFLOWER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK AND THE RPMS INCREASED AND DECREASED RAPIDLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,411.

View Details

STEERING

5/8/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
I PURCHASE THE BRAND NEW CHEVY TRAVERSE IN AUG 2011, ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO I WAS MAKING A U-TURN AND THE VEHICLE STUCK ON THE ROAD AND WOULD NOT TURN, CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY SAID TURN OFF THE CAR AND RE START IN 2 MINUTES. I HAD AROUND 20,000 MILES AT TIME. CURRENTLY I HAVE ABOUT 27K MILES AND 6 MONTHS AGO I MENTION THAT WE HAVE SOME NOISE COMING OUT WHEN WE TURN THE STEERING, DEALER CHECKED DURING MY OIL CHANGE VISIT AND SAID ITS ALL NORMAL. THE NOISE WAS GETTING WORST SO TOOK THE CAR AGAIN AT 25K MILES AND THEY CHECKED IN DETAIL AND SAID RACK AND PINION IS GONE BAD, I WAS SHOCKED THAT AT 25K MILES HOW THIS CAN BE POSSIBLE? THEY SAID ITS VEHICLE AND ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN, THEY CHARGING ME $1861.00 TO REPLACE AS IT IS NOT IN WARRANTY. THIS IS RIDICULOUS THAT AT 25K-27K MILES, GM MEASURE COMPONENT BREAK DOWNS AND THERE IS NO RECALL, I FEEL ME AND MY FAMILY IN DANGER ON THE ROAD DRIVING THE UNSAFE VEHICLE FROM GM/CHEVY

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2017 - MAPLE GROVE, MN
TIMING CHAINS WORN OUT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2017 - YOUNG HARRIS, GA
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, I OWN A 2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE AND THE TIMING CHAIN BROKE ON MY WIFE LAST WEEKEND. THIS WAS VERY SCARY FOR HER AND MY KIDS AS THEY WERE ON A MOUNTAIN GOING INTO A CURVE. SHE LOST ALL CONTROL OF STEERING AND BRAKES. I WAS WONDERING IF THERE ARE ANY RECALLS AND OR HELP FROM GM ON GETTING THIS CAR REPAIRED. TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT, I AM JUST GLAD MY WIFE AND KIDS WERE FINE. THE OUTCOME COULD OF BEEN DIFFERENT AS THEY DESCRIBED IT TO ME. PLEASE GET BACK WITH ME ASAP ON THIS MATTER. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT, BY TOWING THIS BACK TO MY HOUSE AND TO THE SHOP IT HAS BEEN A NIGHTMARE. I THINK IT CAUSED THE MOTOR TO MESS UP AS WELL. SO, I AM LOOKING FOR HELP IN THIS MATTER. LOOKS LIKE THE DESIGN OF THIS IS QUESTIONABLE ON HOW THIS CARE WAS MADE AND CAUSES SERIOUS PROBLEMS WHEN A TIMING CHAIN GOES OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds