Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 166 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Power Train (23) Steering (56) Traction Control System (9) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (36) Seat Belts (8) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seats (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/14/2014 - ONAGA, KS
STEERING WHEEL JERKED HARD TO THE RIGHT AT 60 MPH NEARLY COLLIDED WITH A BRIDGE IN HEAVY ONCOMING TRAFFIC ON TWO LANE ROAD. STEERING WHEEL JERKED SO HARD IT WAS ALL I COULD DO TO MAINTAIN DIRECTIONAL CONTROL OF MY CAR. I AM A LARGE MAN AND I ESTIMATE THE PULL ON THE STEERING WHEEL AT APPROXIMATELY 30 POUNDS AND IT TOOK BOTH OF MY HANDS TO CORRECT THE STEERING. EVENT LASTED LESS THAN ONE SECOND, I DID NOT NOTICE ANY WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASH INDICATING THE ACTIVATION OF STABILITY CONTROL OR TRACTION CONTROL. AFTER THIS EVENT MY WIFE TOLD ME THAT SHE HAD DROPPED OFF THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PREVIOUS DAYS AND JUST THOUGHT SHE WAS NOT USED TO THE WAY THIS NEW TO US VEHICLE DROVE, WE PURCHASED THIS CAR ON NOVEMBER 26, 2014. I HAVE NO DOUBT THAT A INEXPERIENCED WOULD HAVE HAD A SERIOUS IF NOT FATAL ACCIDENT IN THIS SITUATION. ROAD CONDITIONS: NIGHT, DRY ASPHALT ROAD SURFACE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - WINCHESTER, VA
IWAS DRIVING FROM HAGERSTOWN MD. WHEN BY TRAVERSE WENT FOMR ME DRIVING 70MILESPH. TO 35 MILES PH. IT PUT MY TRAVERSE IN LIMP MODE IT SHUT DOWN RIGHTWHEN IAM GETTTING READY TO PASS I BARELY GOT OFF OF 81 SOUTH I DIDNT HAVE ENOUGH POWER TO EVEN PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY THE THROTTLE BODY SENSOR SHUT DOWN TURNED OFF THE TRACTION CONTROL SLOWED THE ENGINE DOWN TO ALMOST A COMPLETE STOP.

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2014 - MASON CTIY , IA
2011 CHEVY TRAVERSE 54000 MILES- VEHICLE WHINING AT LOW SPEEDS, BECOMING DIFFICULT TO TURN AND AT TIMES LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING. I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GM INDICATING A POWERSTEERING PUMP WOULD BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE ONLY IF I WAS EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS, THIS WAS NOT A RECALL NOTIFICATION. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THE PUMP REPLACED. I WAS LATER CONTACTED BY THE DEALER TO BE INFORMED THAT MY POWER STEERING GEAR IS LEAKING AND I NEED A WHOLE NEW POWERSTEERING RACK AT THE COST OF $1400. I HAVE READ SEVERAL SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, AND IF GM HAS IDENTIFIED A PROBLEM WITH THE POWER STEERING PUMP, THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING RACK SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/10/2014 - NOBLESVILLE, IN
WHILE DRIVING 2011 TRAVERSE THE SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THE SERVICE THE STABILITRAK LIGHT CAME ON. WHILE CONTINUING TO DRIVE THE CAR COMPLETELY LOST ENGINE POWER. I WAS NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE. HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAIT 2-3 MINUTES. RESTARTED THE CAR. DROVE A FEW MORE MILES DOWN THE ROAD AND HAPPENED AGAIN. NO POWER AT ALL IN THE ENGINE. COULD NOT ACCELERATE. PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED. WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE DEALER. WAS TOLD IT WAS A THROTTLE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM THAT HAD TO BE REPLACED. WHILE RESEARCHING ONLINE APPEARS TO BE A KNOWN PROBLEM AT GM DATING BACK TO THEIR 2004 MODELS. NO RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED BUT THE PROBLEMS CONTINUE.

View Details

STEERING

12/8/2014 - YARDLEY , PA
ON AUGUST 6, 2014 WE HAD OUR VEHICLE SERVICED BY THE DEALER DUE TO AN AIRBAG RECALL AND AT THE TIME THE VEHICLE HAD 38,000 MILES. SHORTLY THERE AFTER WE NOTICED A GRINDING NOISE WHEN WE MADE A RIGHT HAND TURN. AT FIRST IT HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY BUT EVENTUALLY IT BECAME NOTICEABLE AT LOW RATES OF SPEED (5 - 10 MPH). TODAY WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE THIRD RECALL THIS BEING THE POWER STEERING PUMP. WE WERE INFORMED THAT THIS WAS COVERED BY GM BUT WE ALSO HAD A LEAK IN OUR RACK AND PINION AND IT WOULD COST $1200 TO REPAIR. WE INTEND TO FIGHT THIS SINCE IT APPEARS IT MAY BE LINKED TO THE STEERING RECALL. WE ALSO HAVE NOTICED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT HAS CUT A GROOVE INTO THE PLASTIC SEATBELT COVER NEAR THE SHOULDER HARNESS. WE WERE TOLD THAT THIS WAS NOT RELATED TO THE EARLIER SEAT BELT RECALL WHICH HAD BEEN SERVICED. THIS COULD EFFECT THE INTEGRITY OF THE SEAT BELT SYSTEM IF THE BELT GETS SNAGGED BY THE PLASTIC GROOVE WHICH HAS APPEARED. THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH A CAR THAT IS LESS THAN 3 YEARS OLD

View Details

STEERING

12/6/2014 - WEST POINT, MS
POWER STEERING FAILURE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/2/2014 - OLATHE, KS
I WAS ENTERING ONTO THE FREEWAY WHEN MY STABILITRACK TURNED OFF BY ITSELF AND MY ENGINE POWER WAS REDUCED. I WAS VERY NEARLY REAR-ENDED AS MY CAR COULDN'T SAFELY ACCELERATE (ACCELERATE AT ALL REALLY) AS I WAS COMING ONTO THE FREEWAY. A SEARCH ON PROBLEMS SIMILAR TO THIS APPEARS VERY PREVALENT WITHIN THE CHEVY LINE OF VEHICLES, ESPECIALLY THE TRAVERSE. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND WAS VERY UNSAFE WHERE IT OCCURRED. IT ALMOST CAUSED. IT'S VERY DISAPPOINTING TO SEE HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THIS SAME ISSUE AND CHEVY HASN'T ISSUED ANY KIND OF RECALL TO TRY AND FIX IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/2/2014 - OLATHE, KS
I WAS ENTERING ONTO THE FREEWAY WHEN MY STABILITRACK TURNED OFF BY ITSELF AND MY ENGINE POWER WAS REDUCED. I WAS VERY NEARLY REAR-ENDED AS MY CAR COULDN'T SAFELY ACCELERATE (ACCELERATE AT ALL REALLY) AS I WAS COMING ONTO THE FREEWAY. A SEARCH ON PROBLEMS SIMILAR TO THIS APPEARS VERY PREVALENT WITHIN THE CHEVY LINE OF VEHICLES, ESPECIALLY THE TRAVERSE. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND WAS VERY UNSAFE WHERE IT OCCURRED. IT ALMOST CAUSED. IT'S VERY DISAPPOINTING TO SEE HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THIS SAME ISSUE AND CHEVY HASN'T ISSUED ANY KIND OF RECALL TO TRY AND FIX IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2014 - OLATHE, KS
I WAS ENTERING ONTO THE FREEWAY WHEN MY STABILITRACK TURNED OFF BY ITSELF AND MY ENGINE POWER WAS REDUCED. I WAS VERY NEARLY REAR-ENDED AS MY CAR COULDN'T SAFELY ACCELERATE (ACCELERATE AT ALL REALLY) AS I WAS COMING ONTO THE FREEWAY. A SEARCH ON PROBLEMS SIMILAR TO THIS APPEARS VERY PREVALENT WITHIN THE CHEVY LINE OF VEHICLES, ESPECIALLY THE TRAVERSE. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND WAS VERY UNSAFE WHERE IT OCCURRED. IT ALMOST CAUSED. IT'S VERY DISAPPOINTING TO SEE HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THIS SAME ISSUE AND CHEVY HASN'T ISSUED ANY KIND OF RECALL TO TRY AND FIX IT.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

12/2/2014 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE SPEED REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PART NOT BEING AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds