Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 224 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (45) Power Train (34) Steering (65) Traction Control System (12) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (61) Seat Belts (8) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seats (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/24/2015 - QUINCY, IL
I BEGAN EXPERIENCING A WHIRRING NOISE WHEN I WOULD STEER MY CAR. THEN ONE DAY LAST WEEK AS I WAS DRIVING THE STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT AND IT FELT LIKE SOMETHING HAPPENED WITH THE POWER STEERING. I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE TO FIND THAT THERE WAS A SPECIAL WARRANTY ON THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND THAT IT WOULD BE REPLACED UNDER THAT WARRANTY AT NO CHARGE BUT DUE TO THE STEERING PUMP FAILING THE STEERING GEAR WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED WHICH WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE "SPECIAL" WARRANTY AND I WOULD HAVE TO COVER THE COST OF THIS MYSELF TO THE TUNE OF $1157.62. THE ISSUE I HAVE IS THAT ALTHOUGH I CAN AFFORD TO FIX MY VEHICLE, WHICH I DID PAY TO FIX, I FIND THAT THIS IS A RECURRING ISSUE AMOUNGST MANY CONSUMERS WHO OWN ANY OF THE VEHICLES ON THE LAMBDA LINE WHICH INLCUDES GMC ACADIA, CHEVY TRAVERSE, BUICK ENCLAVE AND SATURN OUTLOOK. THIS IS NOT ISSUE OF COST TO REPAIR, THIS IS AN ISSUE OF SAFETY THAT THE MANUFACTURER REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE AND WILL NOT FIX UNDER RECALL. I AM HAPPY I FOUND MY PROBLEM BEFORE I WAS TRAVELING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED AND NO ONE WAS INJURED.

View Details

STEERING

3/23/2015 - KEARNEY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT AN UNKNOWN PART OF THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,020.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2015 - KEARNEY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT AN UNKNOWN PART OF THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,020.

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2015 - BALLWIN, MO
I WAS ON MY WAY THE CHEVY DEALER TO HAVE THE SAFETY BELT AND AIRBAG RECALL REPAIRS COMPLETED ON MY 2011 TRAVERSE. I HAD FOUR CHILDREN AGES 12 AND UNDER IN THE CAR WITH ME. AFTER COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP AT AN INTERSECTION I MADE A LEFT HAND TURN INTO THE INSIDE TRAFFIC LANE ON A BUSY 5 LANE ROAD AND BEGAN ACCELERATE TO THE SPEED OF TRAFFIC. AS SOON AS I REACHED 40 MPH, MY SPEED QUICKLY DROPPED TO BETWEEN 15 AND 20 MPH AND THE FOLLOWING WARNING MESSAGES SHOWED UP ON MY DASH: REDUCED ENGINE POWER, SERVICE STABILITRAC AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL. FORTUNATELY, I WAS ABLE TO MERGE BACK OVER TO THE RIGHT LANE AND THEN COMPLETELY PULL OFF THE ROAD INTO A PARKING LOT WITHOUT GETTING REAR-ENDED BY THE CARS BEHIND ME THAT WERE TRAVELING AT THE SPEED LIMIT. I TURNED THE CAR OFF, THEN BACK ON, AND ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE. THE MAXIMUM RATE OF SPEED MY CAR WOULD REACH WAS 20 MPH, BUT I MANAGED TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALER TAKING BACK ROADS AND SUBDIVISION ROADS. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A FAULTY THROTTLE BODY. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND DISCOVERED THIS IS A WELL-KNOWN ISSUE WITH THESE GM VEHICLES AND A SERIOUS SAFETY RISK. AFTER TWO DAYS IN THE SHOP THEY COMPLETED THE TWO RECALL RELATED REPAIRS WITHOUT CHARGE, BUT MY COST TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY AND AND RESET THE IDLE WAS $513.00. I TOLD THE DEALER THAT I WAS AWARE THAT THIS IS A WELL-KNOWN AND WELL-DOCUMENTED ISSUE SO I DID NOT FEEL THAT I SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR COSTS, BUT THEY REFUSED TO COVER ANY OF THE COST BECAUSE NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR THIS PROBLEM. I BELIEVE THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND GM SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL. I AM A FREQUENT HIGHWAY DRIVER AND IF I HAD BEEN MERGING ONTO THE INTERSTATE THIS INCIDENT COULD HAVE ENDED IN TRAGEDY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2015 - BROWNSBURG, IN
ENGINE OVERHEATED, REDUCED ENGINE POWER CAME ON AND CAR SHUT DOWN. HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED. WATER PUMP HAD TO BE REPLACED, CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD. DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2015 - BROWNSBURG, IN
ENGINE OVERHEATED, REDUCED ENGINE POWER CAME ON AND CAR SHUT DOWN. HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED. WATER PUMP HAD TO BE REPLACED, CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD. DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2015 - EDGEWOOD, MD
CAR BECAME VERY SLUGGISH SPEED DROPPED DOWN TO 40MPH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOLLOWED BY TWO MESSAGES "TRACTION CONTROL OFF" AND "SERVICE STABILITRAK" CAR BARELY MOVED AFTER THAT. I PULLED ONTO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD TURNED THE CAR OFF, ATTEMPTED TO TURN IT BACK ON THE CAR WOULDN'T START AFTER 3 MINS THE CAR STARTED AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME HOWEVER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON AND THE ERROR MESSAGES ARE STILL BEING DISPLAYED. I GOOGLED THE PROBLEM APPARENTLY IT'S VERY COMMON AND A RECALL NEED TO BE ISSUED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/14/2015 - EDGEWOOD, MD
CAR BECAME VERY SLUGGISH SPEED DROPPED DOWN TO 40MPH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOLLOWED BY TWO MESSAGES "TRACTION CONTROL OFF" AND "SERVICE STABILITRAK" CAR BARELY MOVED AFTER THAT. I PULLED ONTO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD TURNED THE CAR OFF, ATTEMPTED TO TURN IT BACK ON THE CAR WOULDN'T START AFTER 3 MINS THE CAR STARTED AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME HOWEVER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON AND THE ERROR MESSAGES ARE STILL BEING DISPLAYED. I GOOGLED THE PROBLEM APPARENTLY IT'S VERY COMMON AND A RECALL NEED TO BE ISSUED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/9/2015 - FAIRMONT, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ON A HIGHWAY, THE SERVICE STABILITRAK AND THE REDUCED ENGINE POWER WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY SENSOR AND THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY THE CONTACT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/9/2015 - FAIRMONT, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ON A HIGHWAY, THE SERVICE STABILITRAK AND THE REDUCED ENGINE POWER WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY SENSOR AND THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY THE CONTACT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds