Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 99 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (15) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

3/22/2017 - COACHELLA, CA
FOR THE AIR BAG, THE LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALER; THEY SAID IT WAS FINE, BUT WHEN I TOOK IT LATER; DEALER SAID THAT WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND IT WOULD COST ME $800. I JUST LEFT IT ALONE. LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND TURNS ITSELF OFF. FOR THE SEAT BELT, BACK SEAT MIDDLE, THE DEALER REPAIRED IT TWICE, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THAN THEY WOULDN'T FIX IT ANYMORE UNLESS I PAID. FOR THE GAS, I PUMP GAS AND IT CONSTANT CAUSES PUMP TO POP AND SHUT OFF. THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM AT DEALER, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THEY STOPPED. I HAD TO PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/22/2017 - COACHELLA, CA
FOR THE AIR BAG, THE LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALER; THEY SAID IT WAS FINE, BUT WHEN I TOOK IT LATER; DEALER SAID THAT WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND IT WOULD COST ME $800. I JUST LEFT IT ALONE. LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND TURNS ITSELF OFF. FOR THE SEAT BELT, BACK SEAT MIDDLE, THE DEALER REPAIRED IT TWICE, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THAN THEY WOULDN'T FIX IT ANYMORE UNLESS I PAID. FOR THE GAS, I PUMP GAS AND IT CONSTANT CAUSES PUMP TO POP AND SHUT OFF. THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM AT DEALER, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THEY STOPPED. I HAD TO PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/22/2017 - COACHELLA, CA
FOR THE AIR BAG, THE LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALER; THEY SAID IT WAS FINE, BUT WHEN I TOOK IT LATER; DEALER SAID THAT WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND IT WOULD COST ME $800. I JUST LEFT IT ALONE. LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND TURNS ITSELF OFF. FOR THE SEAT BELT, BACK SEAT MIDDLE, THE DEALER REPAIRED IT TWICE, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THAN THEY WOULDN'T FIX IT ANYMORE UNLESS I PAID. FOR THE GAS, I PUMP GAS AND IT CONSTANT CAUSES PUMP TO POP AND SHUT OFF. THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM AT DEALER, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THEY STOPPED. I HAD TO PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/19/2017 - MIAMI, FL
TAKATA RECALL - SEVERAL CRACKS HAVE FORMED ON THE TOP OF THE DASHBOARD. THE BIGGEST CRACK IS LOCATED AT THE TOP CORNER OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. CRACKS APPEARED OVERTIME DESPITE THE FACT THAT THE TRUCK IS MOSTLY GARAGE KEPT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/13/2017 - LEVITTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO CRACK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/23/2017 - SPRING HILL, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE'S DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED IN THREE DIFFERENT AREAS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED; HOWEVER, THE REPAIR WAS NOT COMPLETED DUE TO THE DEALER'S REFUSAL TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DID NOT CONSIDER THE RECALL VALID AND WAS TRYING TO GET THE RECALL OVERTURNED IN COURT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,308. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/23/2017 - SPRING HILL, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE'S DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED IN THREE DIFFERENT AREAS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED; HOWEVER, THE REPAIR WAS NOT COMPLETED DUE TO THE DEALER'S REFUSAL TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DID NOT CONSIDER THE RECALL VALID AND WAS TRYING TO GET THE RECALL OVERTURNED IN COURT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,308. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS

2/15/2017 - LOXAHATCHEE, FL
SEAT COLLAPSED BACKWARD AFTER REAR END COLLISION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/12/2017 - KILLEEN, TX
NOTICED ON A TRIP FROM HOUSTON TX, THAT THERE WAS A CRACK ON MY DASH RIGHT SIDE ABOVE AIR BAG

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/2/2017 - OSAGE BEACH, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED FROM THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER TO THE DRIVER SIDE WINDSHIELD. THERE WAS AN ADDITIONAL CRACK THAT EXTENDED TO THE FAR LEFT CORNER OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER AND THE DASHBOARD WAS REPLACED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds