Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 105 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (15) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/19/2017 - FORT PIERCE, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/17/2017 - MIDLAND, TX
TAKATA CORPORATION (+TAKATA+) HAS DECIDED THAT A DEFECT WHICH RELATES TO MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY EXISTS IN CERTAIN 2007-2011 CADILLAC ESCALADE, ESCALADE ESV, ESCALADE EXT, CHEVROLET AVALANCHE, SILVERADO 1500, SUBURBAN, TAHOE, GMC SIERRA 1500, YUKON, YUKON XL, AND 2009-2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500/3500 AND GMC SIERRA 2500/3500 VEHICLES. THIS IS BASED UPON TAKATA+S DECISION THAT FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATORS IT SUPPLIED TO GM ARE DEFECTIVE. GM HAS SUBMITTED TO NHTSA A PETITION FOR INCONSEQUENTIALITY AND NHTSA HAS GRANTED GM UNTIL AUGUST 2017 TO COMPLETE ITS INVESTIGATION AND TO SUBMIT ALL DATA SUPPORTING THE PETITION. IF THE PETITION IS DENIED, GM WILL CONDUCT A RECALL OF THE AIRBAG INFLATORS COVERED BY TAKATA+S DEFECT INFORMATION REPORT. FOR MORE INFORMATION VISIT WWW.REGULATIONS.GOV AND SEARCH FOR DOCKET NO. NHTSA-2016-0124. SAFETY RISK: THE PROPELLANT IN SOME TYPES OF TAKATA AIRBAG INFLATORS CAN DEGRADE OVER TIME, ESPECIALLY AFTER LONG TERM EXPOSURE IN HOT AND HUMID REGIONS. IF THE PROPELLANT DEGRADES TO A CERTAIN LEVEL, THE INFLATORS MAY RUPTURE DURING DEPLOYMENT, CAUSING SERIOUS OR FATAL INJURIES. REMEDY: THE NECESSITY OF A REMEDY IS DEPENDENT UPON NHTSA+S DECISION ON GM+S PETITION FOR INCONSEQUENTIALITY. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WILL BE AVAILABLE FOLLOWING THAT DECISION. IN THE MEANTIME, YOU CAN ALSO CHECK THE STATUS OF THIS RECALL AT MY.GM.COM/RECALLS. GM CONSIDERS YOUR VEHICLE SAFE TO DRIVE. RECALL STATUS: RECALL INCOMPLETE. REMEDY NOT YET AVAILABLE MANUFACTURER NOTES: VISIT MANUFACTURER WEBSITE AT HTTPS://MY.GM.COM/RECALLS FOR MORE INFORMATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/13/2017 - NEW BERN, NC
VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE DASHBOARD BEING CRACKED IN MULTIPLE AREAS ESPECIALLY BY THE AIRBAG.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/7/2017 - ¦+¦¦, AR
--++

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2017 - ¦+¦¦, AR
--++

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2017 - ¦+¦¦, AR
--++

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/6/2017 - ALLEN, TX
TAKAT RECALL. RECALLS STARTED MAY 2016, CALLED THE DEALER AND HAVE BEEN ADVISED THEY DO NOT HAVE REPLACEMENTS PARTS AND HAVE NO ETA ON WHEN THEY WILL GET THEM AND TO KEEP DRIVING THE VEHICLE. IT'S BEEN ALMOST A YEAR, PARTS SHOULD BE AVAILABLE TO RETAIL CONSUMERS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/29/2017 - RICHMOND, MI
DASH CRACKED AROUND PASSENGER AIR BAG UNIT. SAFETY HAZARD IF DEPLOYED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/22/2017 - COACHELLA, CA
FOR THE AIR BAG, THE LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALER; THEY SAID IT WAS FINE, BUT WHEN I TOOK IT LATER; DEALER SAID THAT WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND IT WOULD COST ME $800. I JUST LEFT IT ALONE. LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND TURNS ITSELF OFF. FOR THE SEAT BELT, BACK SEAT MIDDLE, THE DEALER REPAIRED IT TWICE, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THAN THEY WOULDN'T FIX IT ANYMORE UNLESS I PAID. FOR THE GAS, I PUMP GAS AND IT CONSTANT CAUSES PUMP TO POP AND SHUT OFF. THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM AT DEALER, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THEY STOPPED. I HAD TO PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/22/2017 - COACHELLA, CA
FOR THE AIR BAG, THE LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALER; THEY SAID IT WAS FINE, BUT WHEN I TOOK IT LATER; DEALER SAID THAT WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND IT WOULD COST ME $800. I JUST LEFT IT ALONE. LIGHT CONTINUALLY GOES ON AND TURNS ITSELF OFF. FOR THE SEAT BELT, BACK SEAT MIDDLE, THE DEALER REPAIRED IT TWICE, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THAN THEY WOULDN'T FIX IT ANYMORE UNLESS I PAID. FOR THE GAS, I PUMP GAS AND IT CONSTANT CAUSES PUMP TO POP AND SHUT OFF. THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM AT DEALER, BUT ONCE WARRANTY EXPIRED THEY STOPPED. I HAD TO PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds