Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 34 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Steering (6) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (14) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

4/16/2015 - ARMADA, MI
WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH. WITH OUT NOTICE, THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE EXPLODED. CHECKING THE TIRE SHOWS IN MIDDLE OF TREAD THE TIRES STEEL BELT JUST BLEW AND POPPED OUT OF THE TREAD. THO THERE IS HIGH MILEAGE ON THE TIRES THE TREAD WEAR IS STILL VERY GOOD. NO DAMAGE TO SIDE WALL AND NOTHING WAS HIT ON ROADWAY. TIRE JUST EXPLODED WITH OUT NOTICE. THE GAP IS ACCROSS THE ENTIRE WIDTH OF TREAD APPROX 6 INCES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/9/2015 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
MY 2011 GMC SIERRA HAD 40000 MILES ON IT AND THE DASHBOARD ABOVE THE AIRBAG HAS CRACKED. I AM AFRAID OF WHAT MY HAPPEN TO THE DASH IF THE AIRBAG DEPLOYS. THE DASH MAY SPLINTER AND BECOME PROJECTILES IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE HEARD THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE AND 1500+ PEOPLE HAVE SIGNED A PETITION ABOUT IT. PLEASE LOOK INTO HAVING GM RECALL THESE VEHICLES BEFORE SOMEONE IS SEVERELY INJURED. THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/4/2015 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE GAUGES FAILED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL AND AIR BAG WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE WASHER FLUID WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, ALTHOUGH THE WASHER FLUID WAS FULL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBERS: 13V315000 (AIR BAGS), AND 14V614000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/4/2015 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE GAUGES FAILED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL AND AIR BAG WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE WASHER FLUID WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, ALTHOUGH THE WASHER FLUID WAS FULL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBERS: 13V315000 (AIR BAGS), AND 14V614000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2015 - LOUISVILLE, CO
PULLING OUT OF A SNOW COVERED PARKING LOT THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DIC THEN THE MESSAGE, REDUCED ENGINE POWER, THE ENGINE BEGAN TO RUN VERY ROUGH AT A LOWER IDLE SPEED, AS BEGAN TO HAPPEN THE TRUCK LURCHED FORWARD AND I HAD TO PRESS HARD ON THE BRAKES VERY HARD LIKE I WAS FIGHTING THE ENGINE SPEED TO SLOW, THEN THE MESSAGE CHANGED TO SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE GAS PEDAL AND COULD ONLY MOVE AT ABOUT 5MPH, THEN THE MESSAGE CHANGED TO SERVICE STABILITRAK, I GOT TO ANOTHER AREA OF THE PARKING LOT, PARKED AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE FOR A FEW MINUTES AND THE ISSUE WOULD NOT GO AWAY. I WAS MORE THAN TWO HOURS FROM MY HOME. I REMOVED THE RED BATTERY CABLE THEN REPLACED IT AND WAS ABLE TO START THE ENGINE AND IT OPERATED NORMALLY FOR A WHILE. ONE AND A HALF HOURS LATER WHILE DRIVING 60MPH IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND I COSTED OFF THE INTERSTATE AND COULD NOT GET IT RUNNING AGAIN. HAD TO BE TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY BUT WANT TO CHARGE ME $215 TO CLEAN THE OTHER FUEL RELATED PARTS. THIS NEEDS TO BE A RECALL. IF IT WAS A RECALL I WOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY $215 TO COMPLETE THE WORK PROPERLY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/4/2015 - LOUISVILLE, CO
PULLING OUT OF A SNOW COVERED PARKING LOT THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DIC THEN THE MESSAGE, REDUCED ENGINE POWER, THE ENGINE BEGAN TO RUN VERY ROUGH AT A LOWER IDLE SPEED, AS BEGAN TO HAPPEN THE TRUCK LURCHED FORWARD AND I HAD TO PRESS HARD ON THE BRAKES VERY HARD LIKE I WAS FIGHTING THE ENGINE SPEED TO SLOW, THEN THE MESSAGE CHANGED TO SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE GAS PEDAL AND COULD ONLY MOVE AT ABOUT 5MPH, THEN THE MESSAGE CHANGED TO SERVICE STABILITRAK, I GOT TO ANOTHER AREA OF THE PARKING LOT, PARKED AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE FOR A FEW MINUTES AND THE ISSUE WOULD NOT GO AWAY. I WAS MORE THAN TWO HOURS FROM MY HOME. I REMOVED THE RED BATTERY CABLE THEN REPLACED IT AND WAS ABLE TO START THE ENGINE AND IT OPERATED NORMALLY FOR A WHILE. ONE AND A HALF HOURS LATER WHILE DRIVING 60MPH IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND I COSTED OFF THE INTERSTATE AND COULD NOT GET IT RUNNING AGAIN. HAD TO BE TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY BUT WANT TO CHARGE ME $215 TO CLEAN THE OTHER FUEL RELATED PARTS. THIS NEEDS TO BE A RECALL. IF IT WAS A RECALL I WOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY $215 TO COMPLETE THE WORK PROPERLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/14/2014 - HICKORY, PA
NEAR 69,150 MILES THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE FOR MY GMC SIERRA 1500 2011, ALL AT ONCE, WENT TO ZERO GIVING ME A WARNING MESSAGE TO IMMEDIATELY STOP THE ENGINE. IT TURNED OUT TO BE A FAULTY OIL PRESSURE SENSOR. IN ADDITION OIL WAS LEAKING BADLY OUT AROUND THE SENSOR AND COMPLETELY COATED EVERYTHING IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND UNDERNEATH. A YEAR LATER THE SENSOR WENT BAD AGAIN. GMC SAYS ITS NOT COVERED UNDER THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY AND ITS COSTING ME $400 EACH TIME IT GOES BAD.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: FOG LIGHTS

8/21/2014 - HUMBLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BUMPER FOG LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS FRACTURED ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/1/2014 - PETALUMA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED UPON ENGAGING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND RELEASING IT, THE HOOD LATCH OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/26/2014 - LEANEER, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY AFTER A TRACTOR TRAILER CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE KNEE, NECK, BACK AND SHOULDER. THE DRIVER HAD TO UNDERGO KNEE AND SHOULDER SURGERY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds