Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (15) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

2/15/2017 - LOXAHATCHEE, FL
SEAT COLLAPSED BACKWARD AFTER REAR END COLLISION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/12/2017 - KILLEEN, TX
NOTICED ON A TRIP FROM HOUSTON TX, THAT THERE WAS A CRACK ON MY DASH RIGHT SIDE ABOVE AIR BAG

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/2/2017 - OSAGE BEACH, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED FROM THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER TO THE DRIVER SIDE WINDSHIELD. THERE WAS AN ADDITIONAL CRACK THAT EXTENDED TO THE FAR LEFT CORNER OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER AND THE DASHBOARD WAS REPLACED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/30/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS) WAS RECEIVED IN JUNE OF 2016. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE RECALL REMEDY WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE PROVIDED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/25/2017 - MASSENA, NY
DUE TO A FAULTY DESIGN AND OR MATERIALS USED THE FUEL PUMP MODULE ASSEMBLY LOCATED ON THE TOP OF THE TANK HAS PREMATURELY CORRODED AND CAUSED A DANGEROUS SITUATION WITH POTENTIAL THREAT TO LIFE AS WELL AS CONTAMINATING THE ENVIRONMENT. GAS IS LEAKED OUT OF THE UNIT AND CAN BECOME VERY DANGEROUS IF UNNOTICED OR NOT REPAIRED. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW IN 2012 AND HAS ONLY SEEN 4 WINTERS. MECHANICS AT THE GARAGE STATED IT WAS A COMMON OCCURRENCE THEY HAD SEEN IN NUMEROUS VEHICLES AND CAUSED BY A POOR DESIGN IN WHICH SNOW AND SALT CAN ACCUMULATE ON TOP OF THE TANK RATTING THE UNIT AND GAS LINES PREMATURELY. I CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY WERE NOT CONCERNED AND CONSIDERED IT "NORMAL" WEAR AND WAS AN UNFORTUNATE SITUATION. GAS LEAKS WHEN STATIONARY AND IS LEAKED WHEN SYSTEM IS PRESSURIZED SPRAYING THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE AND A MAJOR CONCERN FOR POTENTIAL FIRE OR EXPLOSION WHEN GASOLINE IS VAPORIZED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/8/2017 - OXFORD, PA
CRACKED DASH OVER AIR BAG PANEL ON 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/6/2017 - FITZGERALD, GA
MY DASHBOARD IS CRACKING IN TWO PLACES

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/2/2017 - HOPE MILLS, NC
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW, MY DASH BOARD IS CRACKING IN SEVERAL PLACES, AND I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS. I FEAR THE AIRBAG COULD GO OFF AND SEND FLYING PLASTIC DEBRIS. GM SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/2/2017 - HOPE MILLS, NC
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW, MY DASH BOARD IS CRACKING IN SEVERAL PLACES, AND I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS. I FEAR THE AIRBAG COULD GO OFF AND SEND FLYING PLASTIC DEBRIS. GM SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/19/2016 - MOONEY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR AND THE HANDLE DETACHED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLES HAD TO BE REPLACED APPROXIMATELY A YEAR AGO. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds