Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 46 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine (5) Power Train (15) Structure (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2016 - SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI
SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. ALL MY DOOR LOCKS REPEATEDLY LOCK AND UNLOCK, ALL MY EMERGENCY CHECKS AND SERVICE LIGHT GO ON AND OFF, MY GAUGES ALL DROP TO ZERO, AND MOST RECENTLY MY VEHICLE HAS SHUT DOWN WHILE I'M DRIVING IT. BUT IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY. SOMETIMES IT'S WORSE THAN OTHERS. I RECENTLY HAD TO STEER UP ONTO A CURB BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING AND MY GAUGES DROPPED TO ZERO AND MY ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OUT. AND THAT WAS AFTER MY AIRBAGS SHUT OFF AND MY LIGHTS AND DOOR LOCKS FLICKERED REPEATEDLY. MAYBE THERE'S A SHORT IN A CIRCUIT OR WIRE OR MAYBE IT'S MY ALTERNATOR BUT SERVICES AT A DEALERSHIP ARE HAVING A DIFFICULT TIME FINDING IT. AND AL THESE THINGS HAPPEN WHETHER I'M DRIVING OR STATIONARY. RAIN OR DRY. DOESN'T MATTER. BUT IT'S CLEARLY UNSAFE. AND I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO DRIVE IT BECAUSE IT'S MY ONLY MEANS FOR TRANSPORTATION.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2016 - SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI
SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. ALL MY DOOR LOCKS REPEATEDLY LOCK AND UNLOCK, ALL MY EMERGENCY CHECKS AND SERVICE LIGHT GO ON AND OFF, MY GAUGES ALL DROP TO ZERO, AND MOST RECENTLY MY VEHICLE HAS SHUT DOWN WHILE I'M DRIVING IT. BUT IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY. SOMETIMES IT'S WORSE THAN OTHERS. I RECENTLY HAD TO STEER UP ONTO A CURB BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING AND MY GAUGES DROPPED TO ZERO AND MY ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OUT. AND THAT WAS AFTER MY AIRBAGS SHUT OFF AND MY LIGHTS AND DOOR LOCKS FLICKERED REPEATEDLY. MAYBE THERE'S A SHORT IN A CIRCUIT OR WIRE OR MAYBE IT'S MY ALTERNATOR BUT SERVICES AT A DEALERSHIP ARE HAVING A DIFFICULT TIME FINDING IT. AND AL THESE THINGS HAPPEN WHETHER I'M DRIVING OR STATIONARY. RAIN OR DRY. DOESN'T MATTER. BUT IT'S CLEARLY UNSAFE. AND I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO DRIVE IT BECAUSE IT'S MY ONLY MEANS FOR TRANSPORTATION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/18/2016 - SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI
SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. ALL MY DOOR LOCKS REPEATEDLY LOCK AND UNLOCK, ALL MY EMERGENCY CHECKS AND SERVICE LIGHT GO ON AND OFF, MY GAUGES ALL DROP TO ZERO, AND MOST RECENTLY MY VEHICLE HAS SHUT DOWN WHILE I'M DRIVING IT. BUT IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY. SOMETIMES IT'S WORSE THAN OTHERS. I RECENTLY HAD TO STEER UP ONTO A CURB BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING AND MY GAUGES DROPPED TO ZERO AND MY ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OUT. AND THAT WAS AFTER MY AIRBAGS SHUT OFF AND MY LIGHTS AND DOOR LOCKS FLICKERED REPEATEDLY. MAYBE THERE'S A SHORT IN A CIRCUIT OR WIRE OR MAYBE IT'S MY ALTERNATOR BUT SERVICES AT A DEALERSHIP ARE HAVING A DIFFICULT TIME FINDING IT. AND AL THESE THINGS HAPPEN WHETHER I'M DRIVING OR STATIONARY. RAIN OR DRY. DOESN'T MATTER. BUT IT'S CLEARLY UNSAFE. AND I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO DRIVE IT BECAUSE IT'S MY ONLY MEANS FOR TRANSPORTATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/30/2016 - SAINT ROSE, LA
CRACKED DASH IN SEVERAL PLACES, INCLUDING AROUND AIRBAG. CONCERNED ABOUT SAFETY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2016 - SAINT ROSE, LA
CRACKED DASH IN SEVERAL PLACES, INCLUDING AROUND AIRBAG. CONCERNED ABOUT SAFETY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/29/2016 - WEST NEWTON, PA
THE THROTTLE BODY AND PEDAL CHIP WENT BAD CAUSING A ROUGH RUNNING ENGINE, LOSS OF POWER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AND LOSS OF TRACTION CONTROL. MECHANIC STATED HE'S BEEN REPLACING 5-12 A MONTH ON THE SAME ENGINE (5.3 LITER V8). OTHER MODELS ARE SUPPOSEDLY UNDER RECALL. REPAIRS COST IN EXCESS OF $500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/4/2016 - NEWBURG, MO
MY SIERRA HAS TWO CRACKS IN THE DASH, ONE IN THE MIDDLE AND THE OTHER FROM THE AIRBAG TO THE VENT. THIS IS VERY COMMON IN GM TRUCKS FROM 2007-2013, WITH THE CRACK FROM THE AIRBAG TO THE VENT BEING THE MOST COMMON. THERE IS A FACEBOOK PAGE DEDICATED TO THIS DEFECT WITH THOUSANDS OF EXAMPLES. I BELIEVE THIS COULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD IF THE AIRBAG DEPLOYS AND SENDS PLASTIC SHARDS THROUGHOUT THE CAB.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/4/2016 - NEWBURG, MO
MY SIERRA HAS TWO CRACKS IN THE DASH, ONE IN THE MIDDLE AND THE OTHER FROM THE AIRBAG TO THE VENT. THIS IS VERY COMMON IN GM TRUCKS FROM 2007-2013, WITH THE CRACK FROM THE AIRBAG TO THE VENT BEING THE MOST COMMON. THERE IS A FACEBOOK PAGE DEDICATED TO THIS DEFECT WITH THOUSANDS OF EXAMPLES. I BELIEVE THIS COULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD IF THE AIRBAG DEPLOYS AND SENDS PLASTIC SHARDS THROUGHOUT THE CAB.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/18/2016 - MOBILE, AL
MY TRUCK HAS DEVELOPED SEVERAL CRACKS IN THE DASH. ONE IN PARTICULAR ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAGS WHICH LEADS ME TO FEEL VERY UNSAFE. IF THE AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED, WHAT'S TO PREVENT THE DASH FROM SHATTERING AND CUTTING THE AIRBAG RENDERING IT USELESS OR WORSE, THE DASH BECOMING SHRAPNEL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2015 - LITTLE ELM, TX
THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY VEHICLE, YET THE DEALERSHIP SENT ME A NOTICE SAYING THERE WAS A RECALL. THIS IS HIGHLY MISLEADING AND CAUSED ME TO BELIEVE SOMETHING WAS UNSAFE ABOUT MY TRUCK, CONSIDERING THE DOCUMENT FROM THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT'S A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds