Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 42 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Steering (6) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (15) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/18/2016 - MOBILE, AL
MY TRUCK HAS DEVELOPED SEVERAL CRACKS IN THE DASH. ONE IN PARTICULAR ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAGS WHICH LEADS ME TO FEEL VERY UNSAFE. IF THE AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED, WHAT'S TO PREVENT THE DASH FROM SHATTERING AND CUTTING THE AIRBAG RENDERING IT USELESS OR WORSE, THE DASH BECOMING SHRAPNEL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2015 - LITTLE ELM, TX
THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY VEHICLE, YET THE DEALERSHIP SENT ME A NOTICE SAYING THERE WAS A RECALL. THIS IS HIGHLY MISLEADING AND CAUSED ME TO BELIEVE SOMETHING WAS UNSAFE ABOUT MY TRUCK, CONSIDERING THE DOCUMENT FROM THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT'S A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/11/2015 - MUSTANG, OK
A VISIBLE AND CONCERNING CRACK APPEARING IN A CORNER OF THE PASSENGER AIRBAG DASHBOARD. NO PERSONAL -WHETHER INTENTIONAL OR NOT- DAMAGE HAS BEEN MADE TO THE DASH. I HAVE BEEN THE SOLE OWNER OF THIS TRUCK SINCE IT WAS BOUGHT NEW. IT WAS FOUND ONE MORNING AS I WAS GETTING READY TO LEAVE. IS VERY NOTICEABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2015 - ELIZABETH, CO
DASHBOARD IS CRACKED DIRECTLY ADJACENT TO THE AIR BAG, THIS IS HAPPENING TO A LARGE NUMBER OF GMC AND CHEVY OWNERS, I AM CONCERNED THAT PLASTIC PIECES OF DASHBOARD WILL BECOME DANGEROUS FLYING OBJECTS IN THE EVENT OF AN IMPACT THAT DEPLOYS THE AIRBAG. I HAVE BEEN TALKING WITH GM AND THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND THEY WILL NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2015 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT 65 MPH AND HEARD A POP. I LOOKED OVER AND MY DASHBOARD HAD CRACKED RIGHT NEXT TO THE AIRBAG. ON A NON RELATED INSTANCE MY ENGINE IS NOW MAKING A TICKING NOISE THAT I WILL BE TAKING TO A DEALER TO CHECK OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/9/2015 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT 65 MPH AND HEARD A POP. I LOOKED OVER AND MY DASHBOARD HAD CRACKED RIGHT NEXT TO THE AIRBAG. ON A NON RELATED INSTANCE MY ENGINE IS NOW MAKING A TICKING NOISE THAT I WILL BE TAKING TO A DEALER TO CHECK OUT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/11/2015 - DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE WOULD MOMENTARILY GET STUCK IN THE START POSITION. THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V827000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) BY A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO CONFIRMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2015 - KATY, TX
A CRACK HAS APPEARED ON THE TOP LEFT CORNER OF WHERE THE AIRBAG IS. FAILURE IN THIS AREA SHOULD BE A CAUSE FOR CONCERN AND DURING AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT, THIS WEAK POINT COULD BE AN AREA OF PROJECTILE. A NUMBER OF OTHER VEHICLE OWNERS OF THE SAME VEHICLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE, AND THIS SHOULD BE CONSIDERED FOR A RECALL DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/29/2015 - KATY, TX
A CRACK HAS APPEARED ON THE TOP LEFT CORNER OF WHERE THE AIRBAG IS. FAILURE IN THIS AREA SHOULD BE A CAUSE FOR CONCERN AND DURING AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT, THIS WEAK POINT COULD BE AN AREA OF PROJECTILE. A NUMBER OF OTHER VEHICLE OWNERS OF THE SAME VEHICLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE, AND THIS SHOULD BE CONSIDERED FOR A RECALL DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/26/2015 - NORTH ADAMS, MA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 GMC ON A HIGHWAY IN MASSACHUSETTS WHEN THE TRANSMISSION DECIDED TO FAIL. MY REAR WHEELS LOCKED UP AND WAS CAUSED TO TURN SIDEWAYS ON A HIGHWAY. MY TRUCK WAS HIT BY FOUR OTHER VECHICLES. WELL THE TRUCK GOT FIXED. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED 3 TIMES! WITH ALL THE SAME FAILURES. GM NEEDS TO CHECK INTO THERE TRANSMITTIONS BEFORE IT COULD KILL SOMEONE. 3 TIMES ITS BEEN REPLACED AND ALL 3 TIMES MY REAR WHEELS HAVE LOCKED UP. WHY? YOU GUYS NEED TO FIX THIS ISSUE...

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds