Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (63) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (15) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (45)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (26) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/8/2018 - DENNISON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (PARKWAY BUICK GMC, 3314 TEXOMA PKWY, SHERMAN, TX 75090, (903) 274-4116) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE VIA CHAT AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 8-4142603693. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/6/2018 - SPENCER, TN
TAKATA RECALL - I WAS NOTIFIED IN MAY 2016 OF THE RECALL FOR THE TAKATA AIRBAGS FOR MY 2011 GMC PICKUP (GM RECALL # 2049151, HTSA # 16V381). I CHECK WITH MY DEALER (EDD ROGERS IN SPARTA, TN) EVERY TIME I TAKE MY VEHICLE IN FOR A 5,000 MILE OIL CHANGE. THE ANSWER IS ALWAYS THAT WE DON'T HAVE THE PARTS YET. I FIND IT INCREDIBLY DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE THAT THE NHTSA HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET TAKATA TO GET THIS FIX TAKEN CARE OF IN OVER TWO YEARS!! WILL IT TAKE MY WIFE OR I BEING INJURED OR KILLED TO FINALLY HAVE SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THIS? WE HAVE HEARD VIRTUALLY NOTHING ABOUT THIS UNTIL JUST RECENTLY GETTING A CARD FROM TAKATA HOLDINGS, INC. I AM OF THE OPINION THAT IS TAKATA CAN'T TAKE CARE OF THE RECALL THAT GM NEEDS TO FIND OTHER AIRBAGS COMPATIBLE WITH THESE AFFECTED VEHICLES AND HAVE THIS SITUATION FINALIZED ASAP! GM CAN THEN GO AFTER TAKATA FOR REIMBURSEMENT! I WANT....NO....I NEED THIS RECTIFIED ASAP BEFORE ANYONE IN MY FAMILY, INCLUDING ME, GETS INJURED OR KILLED BECAUSE OF THE INACTION OF THE NHTSA, GM OR TAKATA!

View Details

WHEELS

4/28/2018 - SCHERTZ, TX
SPARE TIRE WILL NOT LOWER AS DESCRIBED IN THE OWNER'S MANUAL, DEALERS ARE UNABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, WHICH COULD LEAD TO BEING STRANDED ON THE ROAD IN ADVERSE WEATHER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/27/2018 - SPRING, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (BECK & MASTEN BUICK GMC NORTH, 11300 FARM TO MARKET 1960 RD W, HOUSTON, TX 77065, (281) 469-5222) CONFIRMED PART UNAVAILABILITY AND DID NOT KNOW WHEN THEY WOULD BE SUPPLIED FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED TO DETERMINE IF THEY COULD VERIFY WHEN THE PART WOULD BE SUPPLIED TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2018 - PALESTINE, TX
TAKADA INFLATOR HAS BEEN ON RECALL FOR WAY TOO MANY YEARS WHILE PEOPLE CONTINUE TO BE INJURED AND OR KILLED, WHILE GM STANDS BY AND REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING. THEY DIDN'T MIND TAKING MY MONEY. THIS IS A 2011 HOW MANY MORE YEARS WILL IT TAKE? I ASKED FOR A LOANER VECHICLE BUT THAT WAS ALSO DENIED. NOW I DEMAND MY TRUCK FIXED AND A LOANER UNTIL YOU CAN GET THE PARTS.I AM SCARED TO DEATH EVERY TIME I NEED TO UNEXPECTED THE TRUCK, DON'T YOU THINK IT'S ABOUT TIME YOU START HELPING YOUR GM CUSTOMERS OUT? I THINK IT'S BEEN WAY TOO LONG.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/22/2018 - GROVETOWN, GA
DANGEROUS CRACKED CONDITION OF DASHBOARD SURROUNDING AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT AREA. DASHBOARD IS SO BADLY CRACKED AND BRITTLE THAT IF THE AIRBAG WERE TO GO OFF, SHARP AND JAGGED PIECES OF PLASTIC WOULD BECOME FLYING SCHRAPNEL. THE VELOCITY OF AN AIRBAG EXPLOSION COUPLED WITH FLYING BITS OF HARD SHARP PLASTIC COULD CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY OR EVEN DEATH. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN WELL CARED FOR AND AS SUCH THE DASH CRACKING IS A RESULT OF DEFECTIVE ENGINEERING AND MATERIALS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/20/2018 - INGLEWOOD, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS) WAS RECEIVED IN JUNE OF 2016. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER (PENSKE GMC IN CERRITOS, CA), THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/11/2018 - HINESVILLE, GA
TAKATA INFLATORS. SINCE 2011 AI HAVE BEEN ASKING MY DEALER TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE AIR BAG AND THEY KEEP TELLING ME GM WILL NOT AUTHORIZE IT. IT IS NOW APRIL 2018. I WANT TO KNOW WHEN THIS REPAIR WILL BE DONE. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/6/2018 - MIAMI, FL
GM RECALL # 2049151, NHTSA #16V381 THIS REFERENCES A PROBLEM GM RECALL CENTER HAS ON LINE THIS STATEMENT: SAFETY RISK DESCRIPTION THE PROPELLANT IN SOME TYPES OF TAKATA AIRBAG INFLATORS CAN DEGRADE OVER TIME, ESPECIALLY AFTER LONG EXPOSURE IN HOT AND HUMID REGIONS. IF THE PROPELLANT DEGRADES TO A CERTAIN LEVEL, THE INFLATORS MAY RUPTURE DURING DEPLOYMENT, CAUSING SERIOUS OR FATAL INJURIES. GM'S PETITION FOR INCONSEQUENTIALITY AND NHTSA ARE BEYOND THE AUGUST 2017 DEADLINE. YOU ARE BOTH NOW CULPABLE FOR MY TRUCK AND OTHER VEHICLES NOT HAVING SERVED UP SAFETY TO THE PUBLIC FOR BUSINESS OR GOVERNANCE ISSUES FOR THEIR WELFARE. (THIS FORM WILL DO TO CONVEY)

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/29/2018 - PALESTINE, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CONTACTED (HALL BUICK GMC DEALER (903) 705-1546 LOCATED AT 3010 S SW LOOP 323, TYLER, TX 75701) AND (BACON AUTOPLEX CHEVROLET DEALER (903) 481-5028 LOCATED AT 1216 E PALESTINE AVE, PALESTINE, TX 75801) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND CASE NUMBER: 8-4640547777 WAS OPENED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds