Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 30 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (14) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (6) Tires (1) Visibility (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/14/2014 - HICKORY, PA
NEAR 69,150 MILES THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE FOR MY GMC SIERRA 1500 2011, ALL AT ONCE, WENT TO ZERO GIVING ME A WARNING MESSAGE TO IMMEDIATELY STOP THE ENGINE. IT TURNED OUT TO BE A FAULTY OIL PRESSURE SENSOR. IN ADDITION OIL WAS LEAKING BADLY OUT AROUND THE SENSOR AND COMPLETELY COATED EVERYTHING IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND UNDERNEATH. A YEAR LATER THE SENSOR WENT BAD AGAIN. GMC SAYS ITS NOT COVERED UNDER THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY AND ITS COSTING ME $400 EACH TIME IT GOES BAD.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: FOG LIGHTS

8/21/2014 - HUMBLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BUMPER FOG LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS FRACTURED ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/1/2014 - PETALUMA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED UPON ENGAGING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND RELEASING IT, THE HOOD LATCH OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/26/2014 - LEANEER, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY AFTER A TRACTOR TRAILER CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE KNEE, NECK, BACK AND SHOULDER. THE DRIVER HAD TO UNDERGO KNEE AND SHOULDER SURGERY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2014 - NAPLES, FL
NOTICED ONE MORNING WHEN STARTING UP MY TRUCK THE VALVES WERE TAPPING. LIKE OUT OF ADJUSTMENT. MY 5.3 IS ROLLER LIFTERS SO I WAS SURPRISED. TOOK IT TO DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT GM HAD A RECALL ON CADILLAC, CHEVY AND GMC 5.3 AND 6.2 ENGINES WITH DEFECTIVE LIFTERS. DEALER REPLACED THE LIFTERS. TOOK A WEEK. WHEN I PICKED UP TRUCK SERVICE ADVISER TOLD ME TO EXPECT TO COME BACK AROUND 60K FOR A NEW CAMSHAFT. NOW WHAT!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/18/2014 - NAPLES, FL
NOTICED ONE MORNING WHEN STARTING UP MY TRUCK THE VALVES WERE TAPPING. LIKE OUT OF ADJUSTMENT. MY 5.3 IS ROLLER LIFTERS SO I WAS SURPRISED. TOOK IT TO DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT GM HAD A RECALL ON CADILLAC, CHEVY AND GMC 5.3 AND 6.2 ENGINES WITH DEFECTIVE LIFTERS. DEALER REPLACED THE LIFTERS. TOOK A WEEK. WHEN I PICKED UP TRUCK SERVICE ADVISER TOLD ME TO EXPECT TO COME BACK AROUND 60K FOR A NEW CAMSHAFT. NOW WHAT!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/8/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
TRANSMISSION VIBRATION IN THE 1500 TO 2000 RPM RANGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/8/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
STARTED TRUCK UP AND LET IDLE FOR TWO MINUTES. UPON TAKE OFF, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON AND WAS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH A MESSAGE STATING ENGINE REDUCED POWER. THE TRUCK THEN BEGINS TO RUN VERY ROUGH AND WHEN THE BRAKES WHERE APPLIED IT VIOLENTLY AND UNCONTROLLABLY LUNGED FORWARD. I PULLED OFF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, AND WAITED A MINUTE OR TWO. UPON RESTARTING THE ENGINE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON BUT THE REDUCED POWER MESSAGE AND TRACTION LIGHT WHERE GONE. AFTER SITTING AT A LIGHT FOR A FEW SECONDS, THE SYMPTOMS WHERE BACK, NEARLY CAUSING ME TO REAREND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I PULLED OVER AGAIN, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE FOR A MINUTE, RESTARTED AND THE SAME RESULTS AS BEFORE OCCURED. NOW THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE TRUCK IS RUNNING AND SITS IN THE SAME SPOT FOR MORE THAN TWO OR THREE MINUTES.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
STARTED TRUCK UP AND LET IDLE FOR TWO MINUTES. UPON TAKE OFF, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON AND WAS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH A MESSAGE STATING ENGINE REDUCED POWER. THE TRUCK THEN BEGINS TO RUN VERY ROUGH AND WHEN THE BRAKES WHERE APPLIED IT VIOLENTLY AND UNCONTROLLABLY LUNGED FORWARD. I PULLED OFF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, AND WAITED A MINUTE OR TWO. UPON RESTARTING THE ENGINE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON BUT THE REDUCED POWER MESSAGE AND TRACTION LIGHT WHERE GONE. AFTER SITTING AT A LIGHT FOR A FEW SECONDS, THE SYMPTOMS WHERE BACK, NEARLY CAUSING ME TO REAREND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I PULLED OVER AGAIN, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE FOR A MINUTE, RESTARTED AND THE SAME RESULTS AS BEFORE OCCURED. NOW THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE TRUCK IS RUNNING AND SITS IN THE SAME SPOT FOR MORE THAN TWO OR THREE MINUTES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
STARTED TRUCK UP AND LET IDLE FOR TWO MINUTES. UPON TAKE OFF, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON AND WAS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH A MESSAGE STATING ENGINE REDUCED POWER. THE TRUCK THEN BEGINS TO RUN VERY ROUGH AND WHEN THE BRAKES WHERE APPLIED IT VIOLENTLY AND UNCONTROLLABLY LUNGED FORWARD. I PULLED OFF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, AND WAITED A MINUTE OR TWO. UPON RESTARTING THE ENGINE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON BUT THE REDUCED POWER MESSAGE AND TRACTION LIGHT WHERE GONE. AFTER SITTING AT A LIGHT FOR A FEW SECONDS, THE SYMPTOMS WHERE BACK, NEARLY CAUSING ME TO REAREND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I PULLED OVER AGAIN, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE FOR A MINUTE, RESTARTED AND THE SAME RESULTS AS BEFORE OCCURED. NOW THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE TRUCK IS RUNNING AND SITS IN THE SAME SPOT FOR MORE THAN TWO OR THREE MINUTES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds