Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (7) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (14) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/30/2015 - SAGINAW, MI
I WAS DRIVING ON I-75 WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY 2011 GMC TERRAIN SLOWED DOWN TREMENDOUSLY. ALSO, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE GAGE READ ENGINE POWER DECREASING, SERVICE STABILITRAK. I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED AND IT WAS DIFFICULT FOR ME TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER. GENERAL MOTORS NEED TO RECALL AND FIX THIS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. COME ON GENERAL MOTORS. I JUST RECENTLY PAID NEARLY $5,000 FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T MOVE WHILE IN DRIVE AND HAD THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER REPLACED. LOTS OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/19/2015 - BATTLE CREEK, MI
I HAD OIL CHANGED THAT MORNING. THAT NIGHT, WHILE DRIVING, "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" AND "SERVICE STABILITRAC" LIGHTS CAME ON AND VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 15 MPH. I HAD TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AND TURN OFF THE VEHICLE, WAIT A FEW MINUTES AND TRY AGAIN. IT WAS FINE UNTIL THE NEXT DAY WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. IT HAS BEEN ONE WEEK AND HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES EVERYDAY SINCE. I READ MANY COMPLAINTS ON-LINE ADDRESSING THIS SAME ISSUE AND STATING THAT IT IS THE THROTTLE BODY. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE DIAGNOSTIC SAID THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDS REPLACED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! IMAGINE TRAVELING 70 MPH DOWN THE HIGHWAY, AND YOU LOSE POWER TO YOUR ENGINE! THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN!

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2015 - BATTLE CREEK, MI
I HAD OIL CHANGED THAT MORNING. THAT NIGHT, WHILE DRIVING, "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" AND "SERVICE STABILITRAC" LIGHTS CAME ON AND VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 15 MPH. I HAD TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AND TURN OFF THE VEHICLE, WAIT A FEW MINUTES AND TRY AGAIN. IT WAS FINE UNTIL THE NEXT DAY WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. IT HAS BEEN ONE WEEK AND HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES EVERYDAY SINCE. I READ MANY COMPLAINTS ON-LINE ADDRESSING THIS SAME ISSUE AND STATING THAT IT IS THE THROTTLE BODY. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE DIAGNOSTIC SAID THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDS REPLACED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! IMAGINE TRAVELING 70 MPH DOWN THE HIGHWAY, AND YOU LOSE POWER TO YOUR ENGINE! THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/18/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE VEHICLE JUST STOPS WHILE DRIVING, THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND CAN CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. DEALER SAID THE FUEL PUMP WAS LEAKING!..FOR AN ALMOST BRAND NEW CAR THIS WAS UNACCEPTABLE!..NOW IT JUST HAPPEND AGAIN..THE VEHICLE STOPS/THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING!..IM TAKING THE VEHICLE AGAIN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO SEE WHAT THEY SAY...

View Details

ENGINE

1/17/2015 - BRONX, NY
WE WERE DRIVING TOWARDS A STOP SIGN AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR STARTED SHAKING AND SLOWED DOWN ON ITS OWN, THE DASHBOARD READ STABILITRAK OFF, ENGINE POWER REDUCED, AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WE COULD BARELY DRIVE THE CAR, SO PARKED AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND THE PROBLEM STOPPED, BUT THE ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY IT WOULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I TOOK IT TO THE SHOP TO RUN THE COMPUTER AND IT REPORTS THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDS REPLACING. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH CHEVY AND GMC CARS (MANY REPORTS ON CHEVY AND GMC FORUMS AND OTHER WEBSITES, AND MY MECHANIC SAID IT WAS COMMON AS WELL) AND NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BEFORE PEOPLE SERIOUSLY GET INJURED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/15/2015 - SAGINAW, MI
I OWN A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE AND BACKED OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, THEN I PUT THE VEHICLE IN DRIVE AND IT WOULDN'T GO FORWARD.THEREFORE, I PUT IN REVERSE AND BACKED BACK INTO THE DRIVEWAY I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER WENT BAD ON THE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/12/2015 - FENTON, MI
VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. VEHICLE ENGINE POWER CUT BY 50%. SAFETY ISSUE - I WAS RIDING ON THE HIGH WAY AND THE VEHICLE SPEED WAS CUT FROM 70 TO 30 - COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/9/2015 - ROSCOMMON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY TO 30 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THE THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

SEATS

12/31/2014 - WESTBROOK, ME
SHOULDER BOLT THAT CONTROLS HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT ON POWER DRIVER'S SEAT. I HAVE ASKED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS AND ALWAYS NO PARTS AVAILABLE. DO NOT ALLOW WIFE TO DRIVE VEHICLE AS THERE IS SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCE IN OUR HEIGHTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/31/2014 - WESTBROOK, ME
SHOULDER BOLT THAT CONTROLS HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT ON POWER DRIVER'S SEAT. I HAVE ASKED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS AND ALWAYS NO PARTS AVAILABLE. DO NOT ALLOW WIFE TO DRIVE VEHICLE AS THERE IS SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCE IN OUR HEIGHTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds