Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 161 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (9) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (43) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Power Train (30) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/16/2017 - MATTHEWS, NC
WHILE DRIVING ON 77 SOUTH IN CHARLOTTE GETTING ON THE BROOKSHIRE FREEWAY. GOING WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. IT WAS A LEFT MERGE AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS WENT OFF. THERE WAS NO DEBRIS IN THE ROAD AND NOTHING WAS HIT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
AS I READ THROUGH ALL THE COMPLAINTS I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THERE ARE NOT MORE RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE. I LOVE THE CAR ITSELF BUT AFTER ONLY HAVING THE CAR FOR 15 MONTHS THE MOTOR COMPLETELY FAILED WITH NO WARNING. OUR TERRAIN HAS THE 3.0 ENGINE BUT THERE IS AN EXTENSION OF WARRANTY ON THE 2.4 ENGINE. HOWEVER THE COMPLAINTS ON THE 2.4 MOTOR MIRRORS WHAT HAPPENED TO US. WE HAD FUEL INJECTORS REPLACED A FEW MONTHS AGO AND OIL CHANGED AT THAT TIME. THE NIGHT THE ENGINE DIED IT HAD MADE SOME STRANGE NOISES BUT NO HESITATION AND NO WARNING LIGHTS. NOT EVEN A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. MY HUSBAND CHECKED THE OIL AND IT WAS LOW. THERE IS NO WAY IT COULD HAVE BEEN LOW. HE ADDED SOME BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT WE ARE CONDITIONED TO DO BUT IT NEVER WOULD REGISTER ON THE DIPSTICK. WE DROVE 1/2 MILE AND THE WITHOUT WARNING; NO NOISES OR WARNING LIGHTS THE CAR DIED AT A BUSY INTERSECTION. THANKFULLY MY HUSBAND WAS ABLE TO PUSH ME IN THE CAR TO SAFETY BUT THE CAR NEVER RESTARTED. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER WE PURCHASED IT FROM AND THEY SAID THE MOTOR SEIZED UP BUT ARE UNABLE TO TELL US WHY UNLESS WE PAY FOR THEM TO TAKE THE MOTOR APART. THEY ARE UNABLE TO FIND ANY ERROR CODES. THEY ARE TELLING US WE NEED A NEW MOTOR COSTING $7400 TO PURCHASE AND PUT IN. THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY. WE ONLY BOUGHT THE VEHICLE 15 MONTHS AGO SO WE HAVEN'T HAD IT LONG; WE BOUGHT IT USED. MAKES NO SENSE BUT DOES SOUND LIKE THE STORIES ON THE 2.4 MOTORS. WHEN IS SOMEONE GOING TO TAKE NOTICE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE GMC MOTORS WHETHER IT IS THE 2.4 OR THE 3.0 ENGINES. DOES IT TAKE SOMEONE TO GET KILLED BEFORE GMC ADMITS THERE IS A PROBLEM??????

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - DADE CITY, FL
THIS CAR STALLS FOR NO REASON WHILE DRIVING. I HAVE FIXED IT MULTIPLE TIMES BUT NO FIX WORKS. IT STALLED ON ME WHILE EXITING THE FREEWAY YESTERDAY, VERY SCARY SITUATION. I AM WORRIED I WILL BE IN A WRECK. I PRESS THE GAS AND THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE. VERY DANGEROUS IN CERTAIN SITUATIONS. ESPECIALLY WHEN IT STALLS WHILE MAKING A TURN IN A INTERSECTION. ALMOST GOT T-BONED THE OTHER DAY WHEN IT STALLED WHILE A CAR WAS ONCOMING. SINCE GM IS NOT WILLING TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM AND HAVE NOT FIX IN PLACE I WILL BE GETTING RID OF THE CAR AT MY LOSS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/8/2017 - DADE CITY, FL
THIS CAR STALLS FOR NO REASON WHILE DRIVING. I HAVE FIXED IT MULTIPLE TIMES BUT NO FIX WORKS. IT STALLED ON ME WHILE EXITING THE FREEWAY YESTERDAY, VERY SCARY SITUATION. I AM WORRIED I WILL BE IN A WRECK. I PRESS THE GAS AND THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE. VERY DANGEROUS IN CERTAIN SITUATIONS. ESPECIALLY WHEN IT STALLS WHILE MAKING A TURN IN A INTERSECTION. ALMOST GOT T-BONED THE OTHER DAY WHEN IT STALLED WHILE A CAR WAS ONCOMING. SINCE GM IS NOT WILLING TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM AND HAVE NOT FIX IN PLACE I WILL BE GETTING RID OF THE CAR AT MY LOSS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/4/2017 - GAINESVILLE, FL
AT APPROXIMATELY 80,000 MILES, THE TRANSMISSION WEIGHT PLATES DISINTEGRATED, FOULING THE CONTROLLING MODULES. THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE ENTIRELY REBUILT OR REPLACED. FIRST SCHEDULED TRANSMISSION SERVICE FOR THIS VEHICLE IS AT 100,000 MILES. THIS OCCURRED DURING NORMAL HIGHWAY DRIVING, STRANDING US.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/27/2017 - YPSILANTI, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OCS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 67,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2017 - GALLIPOLIS, OH
WE BOUGHT IT USED IN 2013 AND SHORTLY AFTER IT STARTED HAVE SERIOUS ISSUES . IT STARTED WITH THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMING ON AND IT POWER DOWN. THEN IT WOULD STAY RUNNING SPITTING AND SPUTTERING AFTER WE TURNED THE KEY OFF . SO THEN WE RECEIVED A LETTER STATING THERE IS A RECALL AND TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT FIXED . SO THEY FIXED IT OR AT LEAST THEY SAID IT WAS , SO WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE IT AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON SO I TOOK IT BACK AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY AND CATALYTIC CONVERT . THEN WE CHANGED THOSE PARTS AND IT STILL HAS THE ENGINE LIGHT ON AND SPITTING AND SPUTTERING AFTER WE TURN THE KEY OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/25/2017 - GALLIPOLIS, OH
WE BOUGHT IT USED IN 2013 AND SHORTLY AFTER IT STARTED HAVE SERIOUS ISSUES . IT STARTED WITH THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMING ON AND IT POWER DOWN. THEN IT WOULD STAY RUNNING SPITTING AND SPUTTERING AFTER WE TURNED THE KEY OFF . SO THEN WE RECEIVED A LETTER STATING THERE IS A RECALL AND TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT FIXED . SO THEY FIXED IT OR AT LEAST THEY SAID IT WAS , SO WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE IT AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON SO I TOOK IT BACK AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY AND CATALYTIC CONVERT . THEN WE CHANGED THOSE PARTS AND IT STILL HAS THE ENGINE LIGHT ON AND SPITTING AND SPUTTERING AFTER WE TURN THE KEY OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/25/2017 - GALLIPOLIS, OH
WE BOUGHT IT USED IN 2013 AND SHORTLY AFTER IT STARTED HAVE SERIOUS ISSUES . IT STARTED WITH THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMING ON AND IT POWER DOWN. THEN IT WOULD STAY RUNNING SPITTING AND SPUTTERING AFTER WE TURNED THE KEY OFF . SO THEN WE RECEIVED A LETTER STATING THERE IS A RECALL AND TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT FIXED . SO THEY FIXED IT OR AT LEAST THEY SAID IT WAS , SO WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE IT AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON SO I TOOK IT BACK AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY AND CATALYTIC CONVERT . THEN WE CHANGED THOSE PARTS AND IT STILL HAS THE ENGINE LIGHT ON AND SPITTING AND SPUTTERING AFTER WE TURN THE KEY OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2017 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
I BOUGHT THE CAR USED THREE WEEKS AGO. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE OTHER DAY AND I HAD THE CODE READ. IT SAID MY INTAKE CAMSHAFT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE LIGHT TURNED OFF A DAY LATER, BUT I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP ANYWAYS AND THEY SAID SOMETIMES IT WILL JUST RED CODES WRONG AND NOT TOO WORRY ABOUT IT RIGHT NOW. A FEW DAYS AFTER THAT I WAS AT A STOP LIGHT AND WENT TO ACCELERATE AND MY CARE SHUT OFF. THIS THEN HAPPENED THE NEXT DAY AFTER I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT AND LATER THE SAME DAY WHEN I WENT TO PARK MY CAR ON THE STREET. IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR IS IN LOW IDLE.I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS BY OTHER GMC TERRAIN OWNERS WHO HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. I DON'T NEED TO BE STUCK IN TRAFFIC STALLED WITH THE POSSIBILITY OF BEING HIT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds