Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 173 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (9) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (50) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Power Train (34) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/7/2017 - MISSION, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING 35-45 MILES PER HOUR THE TRUCK TURNED OFF ON ITS OWN SO I PARKED TRUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND TRIED TO TURN VEHICLE ON AGAIN, IT TURNED ON AGAIN AND I CONTINUED DRIVING 20-30 PER HOUR. THEN AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT WHEN IT TURNED GREEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS AND THERE WAS A LOUD SOUND PLUS WE FELT LIKE IT HAD JUMPED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2017 - MISSION, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING 35-45 MILES PER HOUR THE TRUCK TURNED OFF ON ITS OWN SO I PARKED TRUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND TRIED TO TURN VEHICLE ON AGAIN, IT TURNED ON AGAIN AND I CONTINUED DRIVING 20-30 PER HOUR. THEN AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT WHEN IT TURNED GREEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS AND THERE WAS A LOUD SOUND PLUS WE FELT LIKE IT HAD JUMPED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2017 - MISSION, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING 35-45 MILES PER HOUR THE TRUCK TURNED OFF ON ITS OWN SO I PARKED TRUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND TRIED TO TURN VEHICLE ON AGAIN, IT TURNED ON AGAIN AND I CONTINUED DRIVING 20-30 PER HOUR. THEN AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT WHEN IT TURNED GREEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS AND THERE WAS A LOUD SOUND PLUS WE FELT LIKE IT HAD JUMPED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2017 - MACOMB, MI
I PURCHASED MY CAR BRAND NEW IN APRIL OF 2011. I DIDN'T EVEN HAVE IT A YEAR AND I HAD TO TAKE IT IN 3 DIFFERENT TIMES FOR STALLING. THE ENGINE LIGHT NEVER CAME ON THEREFORE THEY COULDN'T PULL A CODE TO KNOW WHAT EXACTLY WAS WRONG BUT BECAUSE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY, THEY JUST STARTED REPLACING PARTS. THE VERY FIRST TIME IT STALLED THEY TOLD ME TO WATCH WHAT KIND OF GAS I WAS PUTTING IT. THEY TOLD ME TO TRY ONLY GOING TO MOBIL, BP OR SHELL. I SHOOK MY HEAD THE WHOLE TIME THEY WERE SAYING THIS BUT TO RULE IT OUT FOR THEM, THAT'S WHAT I DID. OBVIOUSLY THAT WASN'T THE PROBLEM. THEN, UPON A COLD START, THE ENGINE WAS VERY LOUD AND MADE A RATTLING NOISE. AGAIN, NO ENGINE LIGHT. THE WHOLE TIME I'VE HAD THE VEHICLE IT HESITATES WHEN PULLING INTO TRAFFIC SOMETIMES. SOMETIMES THE KICK BACK IT GIVES OFF IS SO BIG THAT IT ACTUALLY JERKS YOUR BODY FORWARD. I'VE HAD THE CAR FOR 6 YEARS AND HAVE OVER 10 RECEIPTS FROM DEALERSHIPS FOR TAKING IT IN OVER THE YRS.THEY HAVE "REPLACED/FIXED" CAM AUCTOR SOLONOIDS, ACTUATOR, TENSIONER, TIMING CHAIN, CATALYTIC CONVERTER, GASKET, MANIFOLD AND PISTON..TO NAME A FEW.THE OTHER DAY I NOTICED A SLIGHT GRINDING NOISE WHEN TURNING RIGHT.I WENT STRAIGHT HOME AND WAS GOING TO HAVE MY FRIEND LISTEN TO IT SO WE COULD FIGURE OUT WHERE IT WAS POSSIBLY COMING FROM.WITHIN 2 HRS JUST SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY THE GRINDING BECAME 20X WORSE AND EXTREMELY LOUD! I COULDN'T EVEN BACK IT OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY WITHOUT IT SOUNDING LIKE MY WHOLE ENTIRE ENGINE WAS GOING TO FALL OUT.WE WERE THINKING IT WAS THE TRANSFER CASE/TRANSMISSION.I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY CALLED ME A FEW HRS LATER ONLY TO CONFIRM IT WAS THE TRANSFER CASE AND IT WILL BE $2,400 BC IT'S NO LONG UNDER WARRANTY.I HAVE NUMEROUS RECEIPTS SHOWING ONGOING ISSUES WITH THIS AND OTHER THINGS.I'M FURIOUS AND DISAPPOINTED.I BOUGHT A NEW CAR TO FEEL SAFER IN AND I HAVEN'T FELT THAT ONCE!

View Details

ENGINE

7/18/2017 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
THE VEHICLE IS CONSUMING UP TO 2 QTS OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. THE LOW OIL LEVEL LIGHT DOES NOT ILLUMINATE, EVEN WHEN THE OIL LEVEL FALLS BELOW 2 QTS LOW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/18/2017 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
THE VEHICLE IS CONSUMING UP TO 2 QTS OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. THE LOW OIL LEVEL LIGHT DOES NOT ILLUMINATE, EVEN WHEN THE OIL LEVEL FALLS BELOW 2 QTS LOW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2017 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
THE VEHICLE IS CONSUMING UP TO 2 QTS OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. THE LOW OIL LEVEL LIGHT DOES NOT ILLUMINATE, EVEN WHEN THE OIL LEVEL FALLS BELOW 2 QTS LOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/14/2017 - MONROE, NC
THE ENGINE WILL RANDOMLY STALL AND SHUT OFF. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF YOU GOOGLE THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2017 - MONROE, NC
THE ENGINE WILL RANDOMLY STALL AND SHUT OFF. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF YOU GOOGLE THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/14/2017 - MONROE, NC
THE ENGINE WILL RANDOMLY STALL AND SHUT OFF. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF YOU GOOGLE THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds