Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 149 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Power Train (26) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (5) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (9) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (38) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/20/2017 - SAUK CITY, WI
WAS SOLD A VEHICLE WITH MULTIPLE MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH IT WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF PURCHASE AS WELL AS AN OPEN RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/20/2017 - SAUK CITY, WI
WAS SOLD A VEHICLE WITH MULTIPLE MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH IT WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF PURCHASE AS WELL AS AN OPEN RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - BELLEVILLE, MI
PURCHASED MY CERTIFIED 2011 GMC TERRAIN 7/12/2016. AFTER DRIVING A FEW DAYS NOTICED CAR WAS STALLING WHILE ACCELERATING OR IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC. (1ST SERVICE) TOOK IT IN 7/28/2016 TO BE SERVICED, WAS TOLD IT WAS THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER-VEHICLE WAS BETTER, BUT STILL HESITATES ON TAKE OFF (2ND SERVICE) TOOK IT IN 11/10/2016 RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE ABOUT THE FUEL PUMP. FINALLY IT SEEMS TO BE DRIVING BETTER+FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS (3RD SERVICE) TOOK IN 1/16/2017 TO BE SERVICED- CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON BUSY HIGHWAY SEVERAL TIMES DURING MORNING RUSH HOUR (STOP AND GO TRAFFIC), THIS TIME ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WAS TOLD SOMETHING TO DO WITH ELECTRICAL PROGRAMMING COMMUNICATING WITH THE FUEL PUMP?! AS OF TODAY CAR IS STARTING TO STALL AND HESITATE AGAIN. MY CERTIFIED WARRANTY IS UP IN 3/2017, MY FEAR IS NEXT FEW INCIDENTS WILL NOT BE COVERED. KEEP IN MIND I HAVE NOT HAD THIS VEHICLE A YEAR YET. I HAVE A CERTIFIED LEMON. I DESERVE A REFUND/UPGRADE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/23/2016 - GRAND LEDGE, MI
GOING TO VISIT SON, DAUGHTER IN LAW AND GRANDAUGHTER IN VIRGINIA FROM MICHIGAN. GOT REDUCED POWER MESSAGE WITH STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT. FIRST TIME WAS WITHOUT WARNING ON THE CURVY HILLY PENNSYLVANIA TURNPIKE IN TRAFFIC AT APPX 70 MPH.. LOST POWER ON HILL HAD NO ACCELERATION, VEHICLE DECELERATED IN FRONT OF TRAFFIC. PUT ON HAZARDS AND WORKED OUR WAY OVER TO SHOULDER ACROSS 2 LANES OF TRAFFIC. THANK GOD THIS DIDN'T CAUSE A PILEUP OF HOLIDAY TRAVELERS. STOPPED VEHICLE, ENGINE WAS MISFIRING, THERE WAS NO THROTTLE RESPONSE. SHUT OFF ENGINE AND RESTARTED, POWER WAS BACK BUT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. CONTINUED TRIP, 2ND INCIDENT WAS ABOUT 1 HOUR LATER ALSO WITHOUT WARNING. HAD ABOUT 5 INCIDENTS THIS TRIP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/22/2016 - LITTLE COMPTON, RI
THERE WAS A RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE TO REPLACE THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. THIS WAS REPLACED AND 1 WEEK LATER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TAKEN TO DEALER. DIAGNOSED AS CATALYTIC CONVERTER. THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER IS UNDER A PUBLIC SERVICE EXTENDED WARRANTY (10 YEARS, 120,000 MILES WHICHEVER COMES FIRST). OF COURSE I NOW HAVE 138,000 MILE ON THE VEHICLE. GMC WILL NOT COVER REPAIR COSTS. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL NOT AN EXTENDED SERVICE WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING WHEN THE LIGHT CAME ON. I FIRST CALLED ABOUT REPLACING THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WHEN NOTIFIED BY MAIL OF THE EXTENDED SERVICE WARRANTY, AND BECAUSE THE MILEAGE WAS OVER 120,000 MILES AND THE LIGHT WAS NOT ON, I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO REASON TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. DEPENDING ON WHAT IS CAUSING THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER DIAGNOSTIC TO INDICATE IT HAS A PROBLEM, THIS COULD BE A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM. CLEARLY, GMC ISSUED AN EXTENDED SERVICE WARRANTY TO AVOID REPAIRING AFFECTED VEHICLES. THE 120,000 MILE LIMITATION EXCLUDES VEHICLES RANDOMLY. THIS ISSUE COULD OCCUR AT ANYTIME.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/22/2016 - OLEAN, NY
WHILE DRIVING WIPERS STOPPED WORKING, WAS TOLD I NEEDED AND NEW WIPER TRANSMISSION. THIS WAS EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS BECAUSE IT WAS RAINING HEAVILY. THE MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE WAS APPROXIMATELY 94000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/15/2016 - EPHRATA, PA
REPLACED TIMING CHAIN-51000 MILES, NOW AT 59000 MILES AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON: CODE; P00013XX CAM POSITION SENSORS (BOTH) ARE CODING AS WELL AS SOLENOIDS. THIS CODE COMES BEFORE ENGINE STARTS. INTERIOR LIGHTING OFTEN NOT WORKING INCLUDING SHIFT INDICATOR, WIPERS AND DEFROSTER. BOTH AT START AND WHILE DRIVING. CALLED LOCAL GMC- "NOT RECALLED AND OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/15/2016 - EPHRATA, PA
REPLACED TIMING CHAIN-51000 MILES, NOW AT 59000 MILES AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON: CODE; P00013XX CAM POSITION SENSORS (BOTH) ARE CODING AS WELL AS SOLENOIDS. THIS CODE COMES BEFORE ENGINE STARTS. INTERIOR LIGHTING OFTEN NOT WORKING INCLUDING SHIFT INDICATOR, WIPERS AND DEFROSTER. BOTH AT START AND WHILE DRIVING. CALLED LOCAL GMC- "NOT RECALLED AND OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/15/2016 - EPHRATA, PA
REPLACED TIMING CHAIN-51000 MILES, NOW AT 59000 MILES AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON: CODE; P00013XX CAM POSITION SENSORS (BOTH) ARE CODING AS WELL AS SOLENOIDS. THIS CODE COMES BEFORE ENGINE STARTS. INTERIOR LIGHTING OFTEN NOT WORKING INCLUDING SHIFT INDICATOR, WIPERS AND DEFROSTER. BOTH AT START AND WHILE DRIVING. CALLED LOCAL GMC- "NOT RECALLED AND OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

SEATS

12/14/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
CAR RATTLES ON START UP AND SEEMS TO BE NOISIER THAN IT SHOULD BE. DRIVERS SEAT HEATER UTILIZES HIGH HEAT NO MATTER WHAT SETTINGS IT IS ON. IF HEATER IS LEFT ON I GET A BURNING SMELL. POOR FUEL ECONOMY, AT BEST I GET 22 MPH. ENGINE RUNS ROUGH IN ECO MODE ESPECIALLY AT AN IDLE. I HAVE HAD AN OCCASIONAL ISSUE WITH HARD DOWNSHIFTS WHEN I DECELERATE THEN ACCELERATE. I DO MOSTLY CITY DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds