Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (7) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (9) Suspension (2) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (3) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (61) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Power Train (40) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2018 - FLEETWOOD, PA
STALLS WHEN SLOWING DOWN OR LETTING OFF ACCELERATION... LOSES ALL POWER STEERING, ABS BRAKING. DIFFICULT AND DANGEROUS AS IT HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED. HIGHWAY, CITY STREET, TURNING, ETC.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2018 - FLEETWOOD, PA
ABS GOES OUT WHILE DRIVING...BRAKES SHUTTER. SPEED SENSOR PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2018 - KILN, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS INTERNAL OIL CONSUMPTION FAILURE CONCERNING THE ENGINE, WHICH AFFECTED OTHER COMPONENTS IN THE VEHICLE. THE INDEPENDENT FACILITY WHO SOLD THE VEHICLE TO THE CONTACT WAS TO HAVE THEIR MECHANIC PROVIDE AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST; HOWEVER, THEY INDICATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD A SPECIAL COVERAGE CAMPAIGN TO PROVIDE A REMEDY. THE DEALER (MANDAL BUICK GMC IN D'LBERVILLE, MS 39540, (228) 392-1515) WAS CONTACTED AND INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BY TWO MONTHS. THE DEALER WAS TO PROVIDE AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST AS WELL; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT HAD NOT APPROVED THE DEALER TO PROVIDE THE TESTING DUE TO THE VEHICLE BEING EXCLUDED FROM A WARRANTY CAMPAIGN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT PROVIDED NO SPECIFIC TESTING RECOMMENDATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/26/2018 - MILFORD, OH
AFTER A 2 HOUR HIGHWAY DRIVE I NOTICED THE VEHICLE BEGAN RUNNING LOUD, A RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AS I WAS GETTING OFF THE HIGHWAY. AFTER PARKING AND SHUTTING THE VEHICLE DOWN AND LETTING IT REST, I WENT TO RESTART IT. AGAIN IT WAS STILL LOUD BUT QUICKLY SHUT ITSELF OFF AND WOULD NOT START BACK UP. UPON INSPECTION, THE TIMING CHAIN WENT OUT CAUSING, TO QUOTE THE SERVICE MANAGER, "CATASTROPHIC ENGINE DAMAGE" THAT WAS WELL BEYOND ABLE TO BE REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2018 - MILFORD, OH
AFTER A 2 HOUR HIGHWAY DRIVE I NOTICED THE VEHICLE BEGAN RUNNING LOUD, A RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AS I WAS GETTING OFF THE HIGHWAY. AFTER PARKING AND SHUTTING THE VEHICLE DOWN AND LETTING IT REST, I WENT TO RESTART IT. AGAIN IT WAS STILL LOUD BUT QUICKLY SHUT ITSELF OFF AND WOULD NOT START BACK UP. UPON INSPECTION, THE TIMING CHAIN WENT OUT CAUSING, TO QUOTE THE SERVICE MANAGER, "CATASTROPHIC ENGINE DAMAGE" THAT WAS WELL BEYOND ABLE TO BE REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/25/2018 - ROCK ISLAND, IL
I PURCHASED MY CAR USED IN SEPTEMBER TWO WEEKS LATER I STARTED EXPERIENCING STALLING AND ERRATIC JERKING WHILE DRIVING. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR (WHILE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY) AND WAS TOLD NOT TO WORRY IT'S JUST THE O2 SENSORS. THE CAR WAS LOOSING OIL LIKE CRAZY. DECEMBER THE CAR BECAME WORSE AND STALLED AND WOULD NOT START. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME I NEED A NEW ENGINE, I AM NO LONGER COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND STILL PAYING FOR THIS CAR. NO ONE WILL HELP ME SO NOW I'M STUCK WITH A PAYMENT AND AN INOPERABLE CAR.. OH DID I MENTION I GOT A CAR FAX ONCE THE CAR BROKE DOWN TO SEE THE VEHICLE HISTORY THE TITLE IS BRANDED MANUFACTOR BUY BACK/LEMON.. I HAVE SEEN ON SEVERAL FORUMS AND GOOGLE THAT MANY PEOPLE HAVE COMPLAINED AND GM WILL NOT DO A RECALL THIS ISSUE IS TOTALLY UNSAFE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2018 - ROCK ISLAND, IL
I PURCHASED MY CAR USED IN SEPTEMBER TWO WEEKS LATER I STARTED EXPERIENCING STALLING AND ERRATIC JERKING WHILE DRIVING. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR (WHILE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY) AND WAS TOLD NOT TO WORRY IT'S JUST THE O2 SENSORS. THE CAR WAS LOOSING OIL LIKE CRAZY. DECEMBER THE CAR BECAME WORSE AND STALLED AND WOULD NOT START. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME I NEED A NEW ENGINE, I AM NO LONGER COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND STILL PAYING FOR THIS CAR. NO ONE WILL HELP ME SO NOW I'M STUCK WITH A PAYMENT AND AN INOPERABLE CAR.. OH DID I MENTION I GOT A CAR FAX ONCE THE CAR BROKE DOWN TO SEE THE VEHICLE HISTORY THE TITLE IS BRANDED MANUFACTOR BUY BACK/LEMON.. I HAVE SEEN ON SEVERAL FORUMS AND GOOGLE THAT MANY PEOPLE HAVE COMPLAINED AND GM WILL NOT DO A RECALL THIS ISSUE IS TOTALLY UNSAFE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/17/2018 - COLUMBIA, SC
WHILE DRIVE DOWN THE INTERSTATE MY CAR SAID SERVICE STABILITY TRACK THEN SAID ENGINE POWER REDUCED, SPEED DROPPED DRAMATICALLY THEN SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN BACK OVER. HAD IT TOWED TO THE SHOP ONLY TO FIND OUT THE ENGINE LOCKED UP DUE TO NO OIL. DEALER SAID IT WAS DUE TO A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH GM WITH EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION! I HAD MY OIL CHANGED AND A FULL TUNE UP 2 WEEKS AGO! CALLED TO CHECK RECALLS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT IN FACT THERE WAS AN RECALL FOR EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION BUT MY VIN WASN+T INVOLVED. DEALER SAYS IN FACT IT SHOULD BE! THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A ACCIDENT AND CAUSED MY CHILDREN AND I TO BE SERIOUSLY INJURED!

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2018 - COLUMBIA, SC
WHILE DRIVE DOWN THE INTERSTATE MY CAR SAID SERVICE STABILITY TRACK THEN SAID ENGINE POWER REDUCED, SPEED DROPPED DRAMATICALLY THEN SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN BACK OVER. HAD IT TOWED TO THE SHOP ONLY TO FIND OUT THE ENGINE LOCKED UP DUE TO NO OIL. DEALER SAID IT WAS DUE TO A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH GM WITH EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION! I HAD MY OIL CHANGED AND A FULL TUNE UP 2 WEEKS AGO! CALLED TO CHECK RECALLS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT IN FACT THERE WAS AN RECALL FOR EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION BUT MY VIN WASN+T INVOLVED. DEALER SAYS IN FACT IT SHOULD BE! THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A ACCIDENT AND CAUSED MY CHILDREN AND I TO BE SERIOUSLY INJURED!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/6/2018 - WINTERS, CA
GAS STATION PUMP WILL NOT STAY ON WHEN REFUELING

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds