Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 130 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (4) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (31) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/28/2016 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
SINCE I FIRST PURCHASED THE CAR, IT HAS GIVEN NOTHING BUT ISSUES, THE AC WENT OUT WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY, IT WAS FIXED SO I THOUGHT, IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN AND BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO DESCRIBE WORD BY WORD, I WAS TOLD IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED SINCE IT WAS NOT THE SAME ISSUE AND I NO LONGER HAD THE WARRANTY. A MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT GMC INSTALLED REALLY CHEAP AC COMPRESORS/UNIT AND HE HAS HAD A LOT OF CUSTOMERS WITH SAME ISSUE. IT IS A SHAME THAT WE PAY SO MUCH MONEY IN THE PURCHASE OF A VEHICLE AND IN RETURN WE GET A PIECE OF JUNK. I NEED HELP.

View Details

SEATS

3/28/2016 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
SINCE I FIRST PURCHASED THE CAR, IT HAS GIVEN NOTHING BUT ISSUES, THE AC WENT OUT WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY, IT WAS FIXED SO I THOUGHT, IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN AND BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO DESCRIBE WORD BY WORD, I WAS TOLD IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED SINCE IT WAS NOT THE SAME ISSUE AND I NO LONGER HAD THE WARRANTY. A MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT GMC INSTALLED REALLY CHEAP AC COMPRESORS/UNIT AND HE HAS HAD A LOT OF CUSTOMERS WITH SAME ISSUE. IT IS A SHAME THAT WE PAY SO MUCH MONEY IN THE PURCHASE OF A VEHICLE AND IN RETURN WE GET A PIECE OF JUNK. I NEED HELP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/28/2016 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
SINCE I FIRST PURCHASED THE CAR, IT HAS GIVEN NOTHING BUT ISSUES, THE AC WENT OUT WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY, IT WAS FIXED SO I THOUGHT, IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN AND BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO DESCRIBE WORD BY WORD, I WAS TOLD IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED SINCE IT WAS NOT THE SAME ISSUE AND I NO LONGER HAD THE WARRANTY. A MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT GMC INSTALLED REALLY CHEAP AC COMPRESORS/UNIT AND HE HAS HAD A LOT OF CUSTOMERS WITH SAME ISSUE. IT IS A SHAME THAT WE PAY SO MUCH MONEY IN THE PURCHASE OF A VEHICLE AND IN RETURN WE GET A PIECE OF JUNK. I NEED HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2016 - STOVER, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT FELL ASLEEP CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE SPINE, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED TO THE DRIVER OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I USE 1 QT.OF OIL EVERY 450 MILES AND THERE IS A LOUD CLATTERING NOISE ON INITIAL START UP

View Details

TIRES

3/10/2016 - CONYERS, GA
2011 GMC TERRAIN. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE TIRES DO NOT MATCH.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/27/2016 - ALPHARETTA, GA
MY TERRAIN SHUT OFF THE FIRST TIME DAYS AFTER OIL CHANGE WHILE PARKED IN A PARKING LOT AND RUNNING FOR 5 MINUTES. DAYS LATER WHILE TURNING LEFT AT BUSY INTERSECTION TO ENTER EXPRESSWAY IT STALLED AND I BARELY ROLLED TO SIDE OF ROAD AND WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED. THEN A FEW DAYS LATER WHILE AT A BUS STOP AND READY TO ACCELERATE IT STALLED AGAIN. I HAD TO RESTART. DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY. HAD TO GET OVER $3000 IN WORK ON ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2016 - ALPHARETTA, GA
MY TERRAIN SHUT OFF THE FIRST TIME DAYS AFTER OIL CHANGE WHILE PARKED IN A PARKING LOT AND RUNNING FOR 5 MINUTES. DAYS LATER WHILE TURNING LEFT AT BUSY INTERSECTION TO ENTER EXPRESSWAY IT STALLED AND I BARELY ROLLED TO SIDE OF ROAD AND WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED. THEN A FEW DAYS LATER WHILE AT A BUS STOP AND READY TO ACCELERATE IT STALLED AGAIN. I HAD TO RESTART. DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY. HAD TO GET OVER $3000 IN WORK ON ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2016 - CHAUNCEY, OH
VEHICLE EXPERIENCED CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE THAT WAS NOT COVERED BY GMC UNDER ANY WARRANTY. ENGINE BLEW UP AND ALL THE OIL LEAKED OUT DUE TO THE HOLE THAT WAS FORMED IN THE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/12/2016 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
TERRAIN WAS RECALLED FOR OIL CONSUMPTION AND WOULD STALL ABOUT 500-700 MILES AFTER OIL CHANGE BECAUSE OIL WAS AT LEAST 1 QUART LOW. THE DEALERSHIP FIXED IT WITH THE OIL CONSUMPTION RECALL PARTS AND PUT LESS THAN 15 MILES AFTER THE FIX, THE TERRAIN FLAT OUT DIED IN AN INTERSECTION WHEN ATTEMPTING TO GO AT THE GREEN LIGHT. I ALMOST GOT T-BONED AND REAR ENDED BECAUSE I WAS AT THE END OF A GREEN LIGHT WITH A CAR BEHIND ME AND I COULDN'T GET IT STARTED BEFORE THE CROSS TRAFFIC'S LIGHT TURNED GREEN. DANGEROUS! I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID TO BRING IT BACK. I'M JUST WORRIED BECAUSE I'M READING ABOUT SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH TERRAINS AND EQUINOXES HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE WITH NO END IN SIGHT AND THE DEALERSHIPS NOT WANTING TO FIX THIS SERIOUS ISSUE. I CHECKED THE OIL WHEN I GOT IT OFF THE STREET BUT THE OIL WAS NOT LOW. IT HAS NEVER STALLED WHEN IT WAS GOOD ON OIL....THIS IS A BRAND NEW, DANGEROUS PROBLEM!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds