Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (7) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (17) Steering (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/26/2015 - KENT, WA
DRIVING DOWN I5 DURING A DOWNPOUR WHEN THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDSHIELD WIPER WENT OFF THE SIDE OF THE WINDSHIELD. SKIRTED TRAFFICTO BRING THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND MOVED THE WIPER BACK ONTO THE WINDSHIELD. WIPERS WOULD NO LONGER WORK. TOWED OFF INTERSTATE TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY STATED THE WIPER TRANSMISSION WAS "BROKEN" AND THEY REPLACED IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/20/2015 - ENGLEWOOD, OH
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT ON MONDAY NIGHT AND JUST BRUSHED THE CURB WITH THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE. AFTER I CAME TO A STOP, THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THE SERVICE STABILITRAK LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF AS WELL AS ALL OTHER DASH LIGHTS FLICKERING AS THE RADIO TURNED OFF AND THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/20/2015 - ENGLEWOOD, OH
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT ON MONDAY NIGHT AND JUST BRUSHED THE CURB WITH THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE. AFTER I CAME TO A STOP, THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THE SERVICE STABILITRAK LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF AS WELL AS ALL OTHER DASH LIGHTS FLICKERING AS THE RADIO TURNED OFF AND THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/20/2015 - ENGLEWOOD, OH
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT ON MONDAY NIGHT AND JUST BRUSHED THE CURB WITH THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE. AFTER I CAME TO A STOP, THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THE SERVICE STABILITRAK LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF AS WELL AS ALL OTHER DASH LIGHTS FLICKERING AS THE RADIO TURNED OFF AND THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/9/2015 - SHALLOWATER , TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TERMINAL CABLE ENDS AND BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 80,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/5/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE SEATBELT HAD A METAL PRONG PIECE THAT FRACTURED NEAR THE SEATBELT CAUSING THE SEATBELT TO PREMATURELY DETERIORATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE BELT BUCKLE ANCHOR MAY FRACTURE AT ANY TIME DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSIS. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V623000 (SEATBELTS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,500.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/3/2015 - SEYMOUR , CT
DURING A NORMAL COMMUTE ON ROUTE ON 2/15 RECEIVED ABOUT 3 MILES INTO THE DRIVE RECEIVED A WARNING ERROR - LOSS OF ENGINE POWER AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE CAR STARTED SHAKING VILOENTLY AND RECEIVED A STABILITRACT ERROR. THE CAR WAS PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PLACED IN NEUTRAL. THE SHAKING BECAME WORSE AND THE CAR WAS SHUT OFF. AFTER TWO MINUTES THE CAR WAS STARTED AGAIN, WITH NO ISSUES AND WAS DRIVEN 6 MORE MILES WITHOUT ISSUE. AFTER 6 MILES OF DRIVING THE SAME ENGINE POWER WARNING AND STABILITRACK ERROR CAME BACK. THE CAR WAS VILOENTLY SHAKING AND THE DRIVER SHUT IT OFF. IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP RECEIVED ONE CODE FOR THE THROTTLE SENSOR POSITIONER. THE CODE WAS RESET AND A LOOSE CONNECTION WAS DIAGNOSISED AS THE FAULT AND RETURNED TO OWNER. FIVE DAYS LATER THE CAR WAS STARTED IN THE GARAGE. UPON STARTUP IT STARTED AGAIN TO SHAKE VILONETLY. THE CAR WAS PUT IN REVERSE AND BEGAN TO SHAKE VILONTLY AND THE DRIVER RECEIVED A STABILITRACT WARNING LIGHT. THE CAR WAS SHUT OFF AND WAS AGAIN TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP FOUND TWO CODES CRANK POSITION SENSOR AND MISFIRE. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN FIVE MILES WITH NO ISSUES. THE DEALERSHIP CANNOT LOCATE THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THIS UNDIAGNOSED ISSUE POSSES A SEVERE SAFTEY RISK TO THE OWNER OF THE CAR AND FAMILY IF IT WERE TO OCCUR AGAIN WHILE DRIVING IN COGESTED TRAFFIC OR ON A HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2015 - SEYMOUR , CT
DURING A NORMAL COMMUTE ON ROUTE ON 2/15 RECEIVED ABOUT 3 MILES INTO THE DRIVE RECEIVED A WARNING ERROR - LOSS OF ENGINE POWER AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE CAR STARTED SHAKING VILOENTLY AND RECEIVED A STABILITRACT ERROR. THE CAR WAS PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PLACED IN NEUTRAL. THE SHAKING BECAME WORSE AND THE CAR WAS SHUT OFF. AFTER TWO MINUTES THE CAR WAS STARTED AGAIN, WITH NO ISSUES AND WAS DRIVEN 6 MORE MILES WITHOUT ISSUE. AFTER 6 MILES OF DRIVING THE SAME ENGINE POWER WARNING AND STABILITRACK ERROR CAME BACK. THE CAR WAS VILOENTLY SHAKING AND THE DRIVER SHUT IT OFF. IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP RECEIVED ONE CODE FOR THE THROTTLE SENSOR POSITIONER. THE CODE WAS RESET AND A LOOSE CONNECTION WAS DIAGNOSISED AS THE FAULT AND RETURNED TO OWNER. FIVE DAYS LATER THE CAR WAS STARTED IN THE GARAGE. UPON STARTUP IT STARTED AGAIN TO SHAKE VILONETLY. THE CAR WAS PUT IN REVERSE AND BEGAN TO SHAKE VILONTLY AND THE DRIVER RECEIVED A STABILITRACT WARNING LIGHT. THE CAR WAS SHUT OFF AND WAS AGAIN TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP FOUND TWO CODES CRANK POSITION SENSOR AND MISFIRE. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN FIVE MILES WITH NO ISSUES. THE DEALERSHIP CANNOT LOCATE THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THIS UNDIAGNOSED ISSUE POSSES A SEVERE SAFTEY RISK TO THE OWNER OF THE CAR AND FAMILY IF IT WERE TO OCCUR AGAIN WHILE DRIVING IN COGESTED TRAFFIC OR ON A HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

2/23/2015 - BATAVIA, OH
I WAS TRAVELING DOWN THE ROAD WITH MY FAMILY IN THE VEHICLE WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STARTING VIBRATING AND OPERATING ROUGHLY. THE STABILITRAK/REDUCED ENGINE POWER TROUBLE LIGHT WAS DISPLAYED. THIS CERTAINLY BECAME AN IMMEDIATE SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE THE VEHICLE COULD ONLY ACCELERATE TO 15 TO 30 MPH. I WAS ABLE TO MANAGE THE PROBLEM LONG ENOUGH TO RETURN HOME, WHICH WAS ONLY A FEW MILES AWAY FROM THE ONSET. I HAVE ALWAYS HAD PERFORMED THE REQUIRED SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE ON THIS VEHICLE. HOWEVER, SINCE PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE NEW IN 2011 AND EXPERIENCING MULTIPLE RECALLS AND A AIR BAG SAFETY ISSUE AND NOW THIS, I HAVE BECOME CONCERNED ABOUT THE RELIABILITY AND SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS ONLY 61,000 MILES ON IT AND SHOULD NOT BE EXPERIENCING THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM. I BELIEVE GMC CORPORATION SHOULD MAKE A CONCERTED EFFORT TO RECALL ANY OF THEIR VEHICLES WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/19/2015 - MONTEVIDEO, MN
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH AND ALL OF A SUDDEN LOST POWER. THE REDUCED POWER AND CHECK STABILITRAK MESSAGES APPEARED ON THE SCREEN. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. I IMMEDIATELY TRIED STARTING THE VEHICLE AGAIN AND IT DID, SO WENT ON MY WAY. GOT DOWN THE ROAD ABOUT THREE MILES AND THE SAME THING, SO PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. I TRIED TO START THE VEHICLE, BUT THERE WAS NO RESPONSE, EVERYTHING WAS DEAD. I WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES AND TRIED AGAIN AND IT STARTED. I CONTINUED ON MY WAY AND DIDN'T HAVE ANYMORE TROUBLE GETTING TO MY DESTINATION. A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, THE SAME THING HAPPENED EXCEPT WHEN I TRIED TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF, IT CONTINUED TO RUN VERY ROUGHLY AND THEN FINALLY SHUT OFF. IT DID START AGAIN AND HAD THE ENGINE LIGHT ON. I'VE HAD THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL GMC DEALER WHEN THE FIRST INCIDENT HAPPENED, HOWEVER WHEN THEY TRIED TO READ THE CODES, THERE WERE NO CODES TO READ EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. I WAS TOLD EVERYTHING CHECKED OUT FINE. I WAS DOWN THE TO DEALER AGAIN TODAY WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT ON AGAIN, BUT BEFORE THEY COULD CHECK IT OUT, THE ENGINE LIGHT HAD GONE OUT. TO ME THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM AS IT CAN VERY EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. SO FAR I'VE BEEN LUCKY THAT I HAVEN'T LOST THE POWER STEERING OR BRAKES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds