Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (34) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Power Train (25) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
WE HAVE A 2011 GMC TERRAIN THAT IS 91,000MILES. THIS MORNING ON THE WAY TO WORK, UNDERNEATH THE CAR JUST MAKING A HUGE CLICKING SOUND. WHEN THE CAR SLOW AND STOP, IT MAKES HUGE WHEEZING SOUND AND UNABLE TO SHIFT WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE. WE BROUGHT TO THE GMC DEALER RIGHT AWAY (THANK GOD, WE WERE CLOSE TO THE DEALER), AND THEY SAID WE NEED TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION AND IT COSTS $5,000!!!! THEY SAY THE FUEL LINE HAS ALL KIND OF METALS PARTICLE IN IT, SO THERE IS NO WAY OF KNOWING WHAT EXACTLY THE PROBLEM IS, IT'S BETTER OFF TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION. THIS CAR IS UNDER 91,000 MILES AND WE HAVE TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION!!! I THEN DO MORE RESEARCH ONLINE JUST TO FIND OUT THERE ARE MANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ABOUT GMC TERRAIN'S TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. IT ALL WENT DOWN WITHOUT ANY WARNINGS AND THE CAR CAN'T EVEN MAKE TO 100K MILES. I BELIEVE GM AWARE OF THIS BUT CHOOSE TO NOT FIXING THIS, LEAVING THE CONSUMER TO DEAL WITH THE PROBLEM, SINCE IT HAPPENS SHORTLY AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. TRANSMISSION IS MOST IMPORTANT PART IN A CAR, IF MY CAR CAN'T EVEN MAKE TO 100K WITHOUT REPLACING TRANSMISSION, WHAT ABOUT OTHER PARTS IN THE CAR?? HOW AM I GOING TO PUT MY TRUST IN GM CAR IN THE FUTURE? WE LOVE AMERICAN CAR AND SUPPORT AMERICAN PRODUCTS, BUT IF GM COULDN'T STAND UP AND FIX THE PROBLEM, THEN WE'LL BE FORCING TO GET DIFFERENT CAR OTHER THAN GM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/15/2016 - TAMPA, FL
AFTER BEING OPENED, REAR POWER LIFTGATE SUDDENLY FALLS, DROPS 3/4 OF THE WAY DOWN, COMES BACK UP TO FULL HEIGHT, DROPS AGAIN ALL THE WAY DOWN, AND THEN THE DOOR CLOSES. VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY AS I WAS GETTING MY DOG OUT OF THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2016 - MONROE, MI
TIMING CHAIN BROKE WHILE REVERSING OUT OF DRIVEWAY INTO ROAD CAUSING ENGINE TO STOP.

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2016 - MONROE, MI
TIMING CHAIN BROKE WHILE REVERSING OUT OF DRIVEWAY INTO ROAD CAUSING ENGINE TO STOP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
IT HAS A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND WHICH GETS LOUDER WITH THE A C ON.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
IT HAS A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND WHICH GETS LOUDER WITH THE A C ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2016 - FLSUHING, NY
THE CAR DID NOT CHANGE GEARS AT THE ?PROPER? TIME, AND THEN WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED OR ACCELERATION WAS ENDED THE CAR WOULD HARD SHIFT TO THE NEXT GEAR. IT IS ALMOST AS IF THE GEAR WAS LOCKED INTO PLACE BY THE ACCELERATION. BECAUSE OF THIS SHIFTING ISSUE, IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS BUCKING, WHICH CAN BE A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE FOR MYSELF AND MY FAMILY. ISSUE MAINLY OCCURS ON SLOPE LIKE CONDITIONS IN THE 25 TO 35 MILE PER HOUR RANGE, OUR CAR IS UP TO DATE ON ALL RECALLS PER DEALER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE ISSUE, BUT REPLACED THE SHIFT STICK, THIS ALSO PREVENTS THE CAR FROM SHIFTING GEARS BY ACCIDENT I.E. WITHOUT THE BUTTON PUSHED, THIS REPAIR HAS CORRECTED THE MANUAL SHIFTING ISSUE. THE AUTOMATIC SHIFT ISSUE STILL REMAINSTHE CAR HAS LESS THEN 50K MILES. THE ISSUE WAS 1ST DISCOVERED IN THE MOUNTAINS OF PA ON THE 80 HWY THE STICKINESS WAS BETWEEN ALL GEARS BUT MOSTLY 1ST/2ND AND 3ND/4ND SINCE WE ARE BACK IN THE CITY WE CAN ONLY DEAL WITH 1/2 GEAR ON THE HWY AND THIS PROBLEM PERSISTS. WHEN DOING BASIC RESEARCH ON THIS ISSUE I NOTICED THAT OTHERS EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR PROBLEM IN 2011 SHORTLY AFTER THE CARS RELEASE, BUT A FLASH TO THE EMC "FIXED" THE PROBLEM. OUR DEALER SAYS THAT ALL RECALLS AND SOFTWARE ARE UP TO DATE. LAST OCCURRENCE 7/26/16 WE DONT DRIVE THE CAR MUCH SINCE THEN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2016 - MADISON, FL
WHILE ON TRIP HOME FROM JACKSONVILLE MY CAR RAN HOT AT 62,000 MILES WHILE DRIVING.NO PREVIOUS WARNING OF ANY KIND. AFTER A LOT OF TOWING EXPENSES AND UNCESSARY REPLACEMENTS OF OTHER PARTS TO TRY AND FIX IT , I FINALLY HAD TO AGAIN HAVE IT TOWED TO DEALER. THERE I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A FAULTY CHAIN THAT COMES FROM ENGINE THAT DRIVES THE WATER PUMP TO WORK CORRECTLY. WELL, GMC KNEW OF THE PROBLEM . AS I FOUND OUT ,THEY HAD PUT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THAT PART . NO RECALL, NO NOTIFICATION TO OWNERS THAT THIS COULD BECOME AN ISSUE. I WAS ON INTERSTATE 10 AND HAD THE CAR STALLED IN TRAFFIC I WOULD PROBABLY NOT BE HERE TODAY. THEY ARE FIXING THE CHAIN BUT NOW ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY ARE FINDING ALL KIND OF OTHER PROBLEMS WHILE IN THE MOTOR. I AM TRYING TO AT LEAST GET MY TOWING REIMBURSED . THIS IS ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF GMC TRYING TO CUT CORNERS INSTEAD OF ISSUING RECALL TO CORRECT THE FAULTY PART. I AM FURIOUS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/1/2016 - DEERING, NH
THE CAR IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND NOW THE COMPRESSOR AND CONDENSER ARE BROKEN AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. SEEM LIKE GM PRODUCTS AREN'T HOLDING UP VERY WELL. I HAD TO HAVE FREION ADDED LAST YEAR BECAUSE THE AC WOULDN'T WORK AND AGAIN THIS YEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2016 - DEERING, NH
THE CAR IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND NOW THE COMPRESSOR AND CONDENSER ARE BROKEN AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. SEEM LIKE GM PRODUCTS AREN'T HOLDING UP VERY WELL. I HAD TO HAVE FREION ADDED LAST YEAR BECAUSE THE AC WOULDN'T WORK AND AGAIN THIS YEAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds