Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (33) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Power Train (23) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/15/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
IT HAS A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND WHICH GETS LOUDER WITH THE A C ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
IT HAS A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND WHICH GETS LOUDER WITH THE A C ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2016 - FLSUHING, NY
THE CAR DID NOT CHANGE GEARS AT THE ?PROPER? TIME, AND THEN WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED OR ACCELERATION WAS ENDED THE CAR WOULD HARD SHIFT TO THE NEXT GEAR. IT IS ALMOST AS IF THE GEAR WAS LOCKED INTO PLACE BY THE ACCELERATION. BECAUSE OF THIS SHIFTING ISSUE, IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS BUCKING, WHICH CAN BE A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE FOR MYSELF AND MY FAMILY. ISSUE MAINLY OCCURS ON SLOPE LIKE CONDITIONS IN THE 25 TO 35 MILE PER HOUR RANGE, OUR CAR IS UP TO DATE ON ALL RECALLS PER DEALER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE ISSUE, BUT REPLACED THE SHIFT STICK, THIS ALSO PREVENTS THE CAR FROM SHIFTING GEARS BY ACCIDENT I.E. WITHOUT THE BUTTON PUSHED, THIS REPAIR HAS CORRECTED THE MANUAL SHIFTING ISSUE. THE AUTOMATIC SHIFT ISSUE STILL REMAINSTHE CAR HAS LESS THEN 50K MILES. THE ISSUE WAS 1ST DISCOVERED IN THE MOUNTAINS OF PA ON THE 80 HWY THE STICKINESS WAS BETWEEN ALL GEARS BUT MOSTLY 1ST/2ND AND 3ND/4ND SINCE WE ARE BACK IN THE CITY WE CAN ONLY DEAL WITH 1/2 GEAR ON THE HWY AND THIS PROBLEM PERSISTS. WHEN DOING BASIC RESEARCH ON THIS ISSUE I NOTICED THAT OTHERS EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR PROBLEM IN 2011 SHORTLY AFTER THE CARS RELEASE, BUT A FLASH TO THE EMC "FIXED" THE PROBLEM. OUR DEALER SAYS THAT ALL RECALLS AND SOFTWARE ARE UP TO DATE. LAST OCCURRENCE 7/26/16 WE DONT DRIVE THE CAR MUCH SINCE THEN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2016 - MADISON, FL
WHILE ON TRIP HOME FROM JACKSONVILLE MY CAR RAN HOT AT 62,000 MILES WHILE DRIVING.NO PREVIOUS WARNING OF ANY KIND. AFTER A LOT OF TOWING EXPENSES AND UNCESSARY REPLACEMENTS OF OTHER PARTS TO TRY AND FIX IT , I FINALLY HAD TO AGAIN HAVE IT TOWED TO DEALER. THERE I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A FAULTY CHAIN THAT COMES FROM ENGINE THAT DRIVES THE WATER PUMP TO WORK CORRECTLY. WELL, GMC KNEW OF THE PROBLEM . AS I FOUND OUT ,THEY HAD PUT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THAT PART . NO RECALL, NO NOTIFICATION TO OWNERS THAT THIS COULD BECOME AN ISSUE. I WAS ON INTERSTATE 10 AND HAD THE CAR STALLED IN TRAFFIC I WOULD PROBABLY NOT BE HERE TODAY. THEY ARE FIXING THE CHAIN BUT NOW ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY ARE FINDING ALL KIND OF OTHER PROBLEMS WHILE IN THE MOTOR. I AM TRYING TO AT LEAST GET MY TOWING REIMBURSED . THIS IS ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF GMC TRYING TO CUT CORNERS INSTEAD OF ISSUING RECALL TO CORRECT THE FAULTY PART. I AM FURIOUS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/1/2016 - DEERING, NH
THE CAR IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND NOW THE COMPRESSOR AND CONDENSER ARE BROKEN AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. SEEM LIKE GM PRODUCTS AREN'T HOLDING UP VERY WELL. I HAD TO HAVE FREION ADDED LAST YEAR BECAUSE THE AC WOULDN'T WORK AND AGAIN THIS YEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2016 - DEERING, NH
THE CAR IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND NOW THE COMPRESSOR AND CONDENSER ARE BROKEN AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. SEEM LIKE GM PRODUCTS AREN'T HOLDING UP VERY WELL. I HAD TO HAVE FREION ADDED LAST YEAR BECAUSE THE AC WOULDN'T WORK AND AGAIN THIS YEAR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/10/2016 - BARTLESVILLE, OK
TAKATA RECALL? ON MARCH 12, MY WIFE AND I WERE IN A COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE. WE WERE ON A CITY STREET IN TULSA, OKLAHOMA WHEN WE REARENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. IT WAS A FAIRLY MINOR ACCIDENT AT LESS THAN 40 MPH, BUT MY WIFE SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES TO HER RIGHT EYE AND BOTH ARMS. SHE BROKE THE MAJOR BONE IN BOTH OF HER ARMS RIGHT ABOVE THE WRIST AREA, AND HER RIGHT EYE WAS LACERATED AND EXPLODED FROM THE SOCKET. SHE HAS BEEN THROUGH NUMEROUS SURGERIES FOR HER EYE AND ARMS. SHE IS CURRENTLY BLIND IN HER RIGHT EYE. HER SEATBELT DID NOT RESTAIN HER FROM COMING FORWARD, AND WE STILL DO NOT KNOW WHAT HIT HER IN THE EYE. ALL OF THE AIRBAGS IN THE CAR EXPLODED, AND WE BELIEVE THAT THIS MIGHT HAVE CAUSED HER EYE INJURY, BUT WE ARE UNSURE AS TO WHY HER SEATBELT WOULD HAVE NOT RESTRAINED HER FROM WHAT CAUSED THE INJURIES TO HER ARMS AND EYE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/10/2016 - BARTLESVILLE, OK
TAKATA RECALL? ON MARCH 12, MY WIFE AND I WERE IN A COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE. WE WERE ON A CITY STREET IN TULSA, OKLAHOMA WHEN WE REARENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. IT WAS A FAIRLY MINOR ACCIDENT AT LESS THAN 40 MPH, BUT MY WIFE SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES TO HER RIGHT EYE AND BOTH ARMS. SHE BROKE THE MAJOR BONE IN BOTH OF HER ARMS RIGHT ABOVE THE WRIST AREA, AND HER RIGHT EYE WAS LACERATED AND EXPLODED FROM THE SOCKET. SHE HAS BEEN THROUGH NUMEROUS SURGERIES FOR HER EYE AND ARMS. SHE IS CURRENTLY BLIND IN HER RIGHT EYE. HER SEATBELT DID NOT RESTAIN HER FROM COMING FORWARD, AND WE STILL DO NOT KNOW WHAT HIT HER IN THE EYE. ALL OF THE AIRBAGS IN THE CAR EXPLODED, AND WE BELIEVE THAT THIS MIGHT HAVE CAUSED HER EYE INJURY, BUT WE ARE UNSURE AS TO WHY HER SEATBELT WOULD HAVE NOT RESTRAINED HER FROM WHAT CAUSED THE INJURIES TO HER ARMS AND EYE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/10/2016 - BARTLESVILLE, OK
TAKATA RECALL? ON MARCH 12, MY WIFE AND I WERE IN A COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE. WE WERE ON A CITY STREET IN TULSA, OKLAHOMA WHEN WE REARENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. IT WAS A FAIRLY MINOR ACCIDENT AT LESS THAN 40 MPH, BUT MY WIFE SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES TO HER RIGHT EYE AND BOTH ARMS. SHE BROKE THE MAJOR BONE IN BOTH OF HER ARMS RIGHT ABOVE THE WRIST AREA, AND HER RIGHT EYE WAS LACERATED AND EXPLODED FROM THE SOCKET. SHE HAS BEEN THROUGH NUMEROUS SURGERIES FOR HER EYE AND ARMS. SHE IS CURRENTLY BLIND IN HER RIGHT EYE. HER SEATBELT DID NOT RESTAIN HER FROM COMING FORWARD, AND WE STILL DO NOT KNOW WHAT HIT HER IN THE EYE. ALL OF THE AIRBAGS IN THE CAR EXPLODED, AND WE BELIEVE THAT THIS MIGHT HAVE CAUSED HER EYE INJURY, BUT WE ARE UNSURE AS TO WHY HER SEATBELT WOULD HAVE NOT RESTRAINED HER FROM WHAT CAUSED THE INJURIES TO HER ARMS AND EYE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/28/2016 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
SINCE I FIRST PURCHASED THE CAR, IT HAS GIVEN NOTHING BUT ISSUES, THE AC WENT OUT WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY, IT WAS FIXED SO I THOUGHT, IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN AND BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO DESCRIBE WORD BY WORD, I WAS TOLD IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED SINCE IT WAS NOT THE SAME ISSUE AND I NO LONGER HAD THE WARRANTY. A MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT GMC INSTALLED REALLY CHEAP AC COMPRESORS/UNIT AND HE HAS HAD A LOT OF CUSTOMERS WITH SAME ISSUE. IT IS A SHAME THAT WE PAY SO MUCH MONEY IN THE PURCHASE OF A VEHICLE AND IN RETURN WE GET A PIECE OF JUNK. I NEED HELP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds