Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 168 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (9) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (47) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Power Train (30) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2017 - PATTERSON, NY
(TW DEALER INFO) TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
"TAKATA RECALL" MY VEHICLE IS BURNING 2-3 QUARTS OF OIL BETWEEN SCHEDULED OIL CHANGES. I HAVE RETURNED IT TO THE DEALERSHIP 3 DIFFERENT TIMES, ONLY TO BE TOLD NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS THOROUGHLY, AND THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS REGARDING EXTREME OIL CONSUMPTION. THE VEHICLE IS ONLY DRIVEN IN THE CITY. I VERY RARELY TAKE IT ON AN INTERSTATE OR HIGHWAY. THERE ARE NO SIGNS OF LEAKAGE ON MY DRIVEWAY, PARKING SPOT AT WORK, OR ON THE UNDERNEATH SIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2017 - FLEETWOOD, PA
EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKED, ALLOWING FUMES INTO CAR

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2017 - STEPHENVILLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A STOP SIGN, IT LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER ONE ATTEMPT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE ALLEN SAMUELS CHEVROLET BUICK GMC DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CAMSHAFT POSITION ACTUATOR SOLENOID INTAKE BANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,783. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/30/2017 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
WHILE DRIVING HOME ON THE HIGHWAY, IT BEGAN TO RAIN HEAVILY. I WENT TO TURN ON MY WINDSHEILD WIPERS AND THEY WOULD NOT ENGAGE. I WAS TERRIFIED AND COULD NOT SEE A THING. BECAUSE THE TRAFFIC WAS HEAVY, I WAS NOT GOING FAST, BUT SLOWED DOWN EVEN MORE TO AFFORD MYSELF SOME VISIBILITY. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS PROBLEM AND FOUND RECALLS FOR THE 2013 MODEL. I ALSO FOUND WEBSITES WHERE OTHER MODEL YEAR OWNERS HAVE DETAILED THE SAME TERRIFYING DEFAULT. I CALLED GMC AND WAS TOLD MY VIN WAS NOT UNDER RECALL. A MECHANIC HAS ADVISED THAT IT SOUNDS LIKE THE MOTOR NEEDS REPLACING BECAUSE HE HEARS THE GEARS GRINDING, BUT THIS WAS NOT AN OFFICIAL DIAGNOSTIC. I DID NOT PURCHASE THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR IN DECEMBER 2016. I CANNOT BELIEVE I HAVE TO FORK OVER $$$ TO FIX AN KNOWN GMC ISSUE. I HAVE READ COMPLAINTS ON THE LINK BELOW FROM 2010 OWNERS AS WELL. I HOPE GMC WILL EITHER MAKING THIS MODEL YEAR PART OF THE RECALL, OR REIMBURSING THE OWNERS EXPENSES TO FIX IT. THANKS FOR THE PLATFORM TO BE HEARD.

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2017 - AUSTINBURG, OH
WE ARE EXPERIENCING A SHUDDER, STEERING VIBRATION FELT THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL AND VEHICLE STRUCTURE, COMBINED WITH A MOAN TYPE NOISE. THIS CONDITION IS NOTICED IN DURING LOW SPEED MANEUVERS OR WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY AND THE WHEEL IS TURNED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/20/2017 - WASHINGTON, PA
I HAVE A 2011 GMC TERRAIN WITH 59000 MILES ON IT AND THE CATALIC CONVERTOR IS ROTTING AWAY AND I WAS WONDERING IF THERE WAS ANY OTHER PROBLEMS OR IF IT WILL BE COVERED

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2017 - WASHINGTON, PA
I HAVE A 2011 GMC TERRAIN WITH 59000 MILES ON IT AND THE CATALIC CONVERTOR IS ROTTING AWAY AND I WAS WONDERING IF THERE WAS ANY OTHER PROBLEMS OR IF IT WILL BE COVERED

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/16/2017 - MATTHEWS, NC
WHILE DRIVING ON 77 SOUTH IN CHARLOTTE GETTING ON THE BROOKSHIRE FREEWAY. GOING WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. IT WAS A LEFT MERGE AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS WENT OFF. THERE WAS NO DEBRIS IN THE ROAD AND NOTHING WAS HIT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
AS I READ THROUGH ALL THE COMPLAINTS I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THERE ARE NOT MORE RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE. I LOVE THE CAR ITSELF BUT AFTER ONLY HAVING THE CAR FOR 15 MONTHS THE MOTOR COMPLETELY FAILED WITH NO WARNING. OUR TERRAIN HAS THE 3.0 ENGINE BUT THERE IS AN EXTENSION OF WARRANTY ON THE 2.4 ENGINE. HOWEVER THE COMPLAINTS ON THE 2.4 MOTOR MIRRORS WHAT HAPPENED TO US. WE HAD FUEL INJECTORS REPLACED A FEW MONTHS AGO AND OIL CHANGED AT THAT TIME. THE NIGHT THE ENGINE DIED IT HAD MADE SOME STRANGE NOISES BUT NO HESITATION AND NO WARNING LIGHTS. NOT EVEN A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. MY HUSBAND CHECKED THE OIL AND IT WAS LOW. THERE IS NO WAY IT COULD HAVE BEEN LOW. HE ADDED SOME BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT WE ARE CONDITIONED TO DO BUT IT NEVER WOULD REGISTER ON THE DIPSTICK. WE DROVE 1/2 MILE AND THE WITHOUT WARNING; NO NOISES OR WARNING LIGHTS THE CAR DIED AT A BUSY INTERSECTION. THANKFULLY MY HUSBAND WAS ABLE TO PUSH ME IN THE CAR TO SAFETY BUT THE CAR NEVER RESTARTED. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER WE PURCHASED IT FROM AND THEY SAID THE MOTOR SEIZED UP BUT ARE UNABLE TO TELL US WHY UNLESS WE PAY FOR THEM TO TAKE THE MOTOR APART. THEY ARE UNABLE TO FIND ANY ERROR CODES. THEY ARE TELLING US WE NEED A NEW MOTOR COSTING $7400 TO PURCHASE AND PUT IN. THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY. WE ONLY BOUGHT THE VEHICLE 15 MONTHS AGO SO WE HAVEN'T HAD IT LONG; WE BOUGHT IT USED. MAKES NO SENSE BUT DOES SOUND LIKE THE STORIES ON THE 2.4 MOTORS. WHEN IS SOMEONE GOING TO TAKE NOTICE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE GMC MOTORS WHETHER IT IS THE 2.4 OR THE 3.0 ENGINES. DOES IT TAKE SOMEONE TO GET KILLED BEFORE GMC ADMITS THERE IS A PROBLEM??????

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds