Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 82 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seats (6) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (12) Power Train (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/18/2014 - WOODRIDGE, IL
SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE LAST WEEK MY CAR IS STALLING. IT HAPPENS IF I AM AT A STOPLIGHT, DON'T GET UP TO SPEED FAST ENOUGH, ETC. THE M AS MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP KEEPS GOING ON AND OFF. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF SIMILAR ISSUES AND THIS SHOULD BE HANDLED BY GMC.

View Details

SEATS

11/19/2014 - HELENDALE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V447000 (SEATS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/14/2014 - ELLENWOOD, GA
I HAVE TAKEN MY TERRAIN TO THE DEALERSHIP A COUNTLESS NUMBER OF TIMES FOR VARIOUS REPAIRS. THE LATEST ISSUE IS THE "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED!" NOTIFICATION. WHILE I WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP, I HEARD AN EXTREMELY LOUD RATTLING NOISE COME FROM UNDER THE HOOD OF MY CAR. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF TO SEE IF THE NOISE WOULD STOP. TO MY SURPRISE THE CAR DID NOT IMMEDIATELY RESTART. AFTER TURNING THE KEY SEVERAL TIMES THE CAR STARTED BUT WITH AN EVEN LOUDER RATTLING NOISE. I TRIED TO LATER TAKE THE CAR TO THE MECHANIC ONLY TO FIND THAT THE CAR WOULD NOT CRANK AGAIN. AFTER REPEATEDLY TRYING TO CRANK THE CAR, IT FINALLY STARTED. I WAS NOT ABLE TO DRIVE FASTER THAN 15 MILES PER HOUR. I LATER FOUND OUT THAT I NEEDED MUCH MORE THAN A CATALYIC CONVERTER (GMC DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT THIS MAY BE THE ISSUE), INSTEAD I NEEDED A NEW ENGINE THAT MAY NOT BE COVERED ALTHOUGH I WAS STILL WITHIN MY FACTORY WARRANTY. THIS CAR IS HORRIBLE STAY FAR, FAR AWAY...

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2014 - WEATHERFORD, TX
MARCH 2014 WE HAD A AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT COME ON AND A WARNING ON THE ODOMETER SCREEN AS WELL SO WE TOOK IT IN TO GMC WEATHERFORD TX AND REPORTED IT BUT THEY SAID IT WOULD BE $125 TO JUST CHECK IT. WELL WE DIDN'T AND DON'T HAVE THE $125 TO CHECK IT AND THEN MAYBE NOT BE FIXED AND WE DON'T HAVE IT NOW. AFTER THIS LAST AIRBAG RECALL I HAVE TO WONDER IF IT SHOULD HAVE INCLUDED MY 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE LIGHT AND ALARM STILL GOES OFF SO IT IS VERY SCARY. IS THERE A WAY THAT THIS CAN BE CHECKED WITHOUT COST?

View Details

SEATS

10/9/2014 - NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V447000 (SEATS). HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A SPECIFIC DATE WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE.

View Details

SEATS

9/11/2014 - AIEA, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SEAT BOLT UNSCREWED CAUSING THE SEAT TO MOVE INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V447000 (SEAT). HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/25/2014 - SAN ANGELO, TX
I STARTED TAKING MY 2011 GMC TERRAIN INTO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM WHEN MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT STARTED RANDOMLY COMING ON AND OFF AS I WAS DRIVING. IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AT THAT TIME AND THEY WOULD GET IT TO GO OFF FOR A DAY... BUT THEN IT WOULD COME BACK ON. ONE TIME I TOOK IT IN, AND THE LADY LOOKED AND SAID THAT IT WAS NOTHING AND TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE IT UNTIL THEY COULD GET TO IT IN A FEW WEEKS BECAUSE THEY WERE BACKED UP. WHEN I TOOK IT IN...MY MILEAGE WAS 100 MILES TILL MY WARRANTY WAS OUT...THEY AGAIN... STATED THAT IT WAS SOMETHING THAT I WAS DOING AND RELEASED IT BACK TO ME. IT NOW REMAINS ON CONSTANTLY... AND ALL OF THESE RECALLS ARE HAPPENING WITH AIRBAGS GOING OFF OR NOT GOING OFF! I AM SCARED TO DEATH TO DRIVE MY CAR, BUT I HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE. I AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS ON THIS VEHICLE THAT IS A POTENTIAL HAZARD TO MYSELF AND MY FAMILY! THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THEY CAN SEE IF THEY CAN GET A CODE FROM SCANNING IT FOR $100 PLUS WHATEVER IS WRONG WITH IT. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON WAY TOO LONG FOR ME TO HAVE TO BE OUT OF POCKET ANY MONEY! THEY SHOULD BE PAYING ME FOR ALL OF THIS MESS! PLEASE HELP ME!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2014 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
WHEN PARKING AFTER DRIVING , THE KEY WILL NOT BE RELEASED . YOU MAY HAVE TO TURN THE KEY ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL IT RELEASES. THERE IS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH STARTING THE CAR WHERE YOU TURN THE KEY AND THE CAR WILL NOT START. ON OCCASION (NOT EVERY TIME) YOU NEED TO TURN THE KEY ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL IT STARTS. THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM- STILL HAPPENING. TWO DIFFERENT DEALERS HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE EVEN THOUGH IT HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES DAILY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/5/2014 - ASHEBORO, NC
I WAS IN TRAFFIC ON AN ICY DAY AND HAD TO BRAKE QUICKLY TO AVOID STRIKING THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. SINCE THAT DAY, THE ABS LIGHT AND THE SKIDDING VEHICLE LIGHT REMAINS ON ALL THE TIME. WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE THE DASHBOARD MESSAGE SHOWS SERVICE STABILITRAK. I DON'T KNOW IF THE ABS SYSTEM IS WORKING PROPERLY. I HAD IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN TOWN AND THEY TOLD ME THEY MAY NEED TO KEEP IT SEVERAL DAYS AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE ALLEGEDLY THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. THAT COULD RUN INTO THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. I TOOK IT TO AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND ANOTHER GARAGE AND THEY HOOKED UP THE CODE READER AT BOTH PLACES AND IT DIDN'T SHOW ANY CODE. I CHECKED ON THE INTERNET IF OTHER PEOPLE WERE HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES AND THERE ARE QUITE A FEW THAT SHOWED UP. SOME STATED HOW THEY HAD SPENT SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLARS TO HAVE IT FIXED AND WHEN THEY GOT IT BACK IT DID THE SAME THING. I HAVE CONTACTED GM AND ALTHOUGH THEY HAVE "ASSURED" ME IT WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF, I HAVEN'T HEARD ANY FURTHER FROM THEM. SOME PEOPLE ON THE INTERNET HAVE SAID HOW THEY WERE CHARGED LARGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY TO REPLACE THE MODULE ONLY TO HAVE THE PROBLEM RETURN. I WOULD LIKE THE PROBLEM FIXED BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THAT THE ABS IS WORKING PROPERLY IF NEEDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2014 - CANONSBURG, PA
STARTED CAR AND SHIFTED FROM PARK TO REVERSE. CAR DID NOT CHANGE INTO GEAR. CAR WAS IN NEUTRAL. SHIFTED TO DRIVE AND STILL NO GEAR CHANGE. SHIFTED TO MANUAL DRIVE MODE AND STILL DID NOT SHIFT. TURNED CAR OFF AND BACK ON, THEN GEAR CHANGES WERE MADE. SECOND TIME THIS OCCURRED IN ABOUT THREE MONTHS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds