Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (9) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (40) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Power Train (28) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/18/2017 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
I BOUGHT THE CAR USED THREE WEEKS AGO. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE OTHER DAY AND I HAD THE CODE READ. IT SAID MY INTAKE CAMSHAFT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE LIGHT TURNED OFF A DAY LATER, BUT I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP ANYWAYS AND THEY SAID SOMETIMES IT WILL JUST RED CODES WRONG AND NOT TOO WORRY ABOUT IT RIGHT NOW. A FEW DAYS AFTER THAT I WAS AT A STOP LIGHT AND WENT TO ACCELERATE AND MY CARE SHUT OFF. THIS THEN HAPPENED THE NEXT DAY AFTER I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT AND LATER THE SAME DAY WHEN I WENT TO PARK MY CAR ON THE STREET. IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR IS IN LOW IDLE.I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS BY OTHER GMC TERRAIN OWNERS WHO HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. I DON'T NEED TO BE STUCK IN TRAFFIC STALLED WITH THE POSSIBILITY OF BEING HIT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2017 - LOMPOC, CA
VEHICLE TRANSMISSION WILL SUDDENLY DROP INTO 2ND GEAR WHILE DRIVING AND REFUSE TO SHIFT FURTHER. THIS CAUSED VEHICLE TO SUDDENLY DROP SPEED ON HIGHWAY FROM 65MPH TO 40 MPH WITH NO PRIOR WARNING. VEHICLE WILL ALSO SUDDENLY DROP OUT OF MANUAL TRANSMISSION MODE, ALSO WITHOUT WARNING OR INDICATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/24/2017 - TOPEKA, KS
LIFTGATE NOT WORKING. ACCESS TO THE BACK COMPARTMENT IS COMPROMISED AS THE LIFTGATE DOES NOT WORK EITHER USING THE WIRELESS KEYS OR PRESSING ON THE BUTTON TO MANUALLY OPEN THE LIFTGATE. THE DOOR CONTINUOUSLY LATCHES AND MAKES IT NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO OPEN. I HAVE TO TRICK THE TIMING AND ATTEMPT TO PULL (USING GREAT FORCE) BEFORE THE LIFTGATE WILL LATCH AGAIN. LOTS OF FORCE HAS TO BE USED AS COMPRESSED AIR MAKES IT VERY DIFFICULT TO LIFT AND CLOSE THE BACK LIFTGATE. ALTHOUGH GM HAS HAD NEARLY 900,000 VEHICLES RECALLS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM, I WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE DOES NOT FALL IN THIS RECALL. PLEASE CONSIDER MY 2011 GMC TERRAIN AS PART OF THIS RECALL, SO I CAN GET IT REPAIRED. THANK YOU!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/15/2017 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING DURING A RAINSTORM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,550.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2017 - DAVENPORT, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN ODOR OF BURNING OIL EMITTING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND DISCOVERED SMOKE UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT THEN OBSERVED OIL POURING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO POLICE OR FIRE REPORT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR MAIN ENGINE SEAL FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TOWED TO A SECOND INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS ALSO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR MAIN ENGINE SEAL FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/28/2017 - NORFOLK, VA
EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKED BETWEEN CYLINDERS 2 AND 3 UPSTREAM OXYGEN SENSOR FROM HOT EXHAUST GASES FROM THE LEAK PASSING ON THE WIRES AND HEATER ELEMENT WITHIN THE OXYGEN SENSOR AND EXHAUST MANIFOLD TOP HEAT SHIELD. CARBON MONOXIDE LEAKING THROUGH FLOOR BOARD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/28/2017 - NORFOLK, VA
EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKED BETWEEN CYLINDERS 2 AND 3 UPSTREAM OXYGEN SENSOR FROM HOT EXHAUST GASES FROM THE LEAK PASSING ON THE WIRES AND HEATER ELEMENT WITHIN THE OXYGEN SENSOR AND EXHAUST MANIFOLD TOP HEAT SHIELD. CARBON MONOXIDE LEAKING THROUGH FLOOR BOARD

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/20/2017 - SAUK CITY, WI
WAS SOLD A VEHICLE WITH MULTIPLE MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH IT WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF PURCHASE AS WELL AS AN OPEN RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/20/2017 - SAUK CITY, WI
WAS SOLD A VEHICLE WITH MULTIPLE MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH IT WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF PURCHASE AS WELL AS AN OPEN RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - BELLEVILLE, MI
PURCHASED MY CERTIFIED 2011 GMC TERRAIN 7/12/2016. AFTER DRIVING A FEW DAYS NOTICED CAR WAS STALLING WHILE ACCELERATING OR IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC. (1ST SERVICE) TOOK IT IN 7/28/2016 TO BE SERVICED, WAS TOLD IT WAS THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER-VEHICLE WAS BETTER, BUT STILL HESITATES ON TAKE OFF (2ND SERVICE) TOOK IT IN 11/10/2016 RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE ABOUT THE FUEL PUMP. FINALLY IT SEEMS TO BE DRIVING BETTER+FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS (3RD SERVICE) TOOK IN 1/16/2017 TO BE SERVICED- CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON BUSY HIGHWAY SEVERAL TIMES DURING MORNING RUSH HOUR (STOP AND GO TRAFFIC), THIS TIME ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WAS TOLD SOMETHING TO DO WITH ELECTRICAL PROGRAMMING COMMUNICATING WITH THE FUEL PUMP?! AS OF TODAY CAR IS STARTING TO STALL AND HESITATE AGAIN. MY CERTIFIED WARRANTY IS UP IN 3/2017, MY FEAR IS NEXT FEW INCIDENTS WILL NOT BE COVERED. KEEP IN MIND I HAVE NOT HAD THIS VEHICLE A YEAR YET. I HAVE A CERTIFIED LEMON. I DESERVE A REFUND/UPGRADE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds