Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (2) Power Train (15) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

7/18/2014 - WAHIAWA, HI
WHILE DRIVING @ 55 CENTER LANE FREEWAY INDICATOR LIGHTS SHOWED LOSS OF TIRE PRESSURE ON PASSENGER REAR TIRE. MOVED TO SHOULDER OF FREEWAY AND SAW REAR TIRE HAD NUMEROUS CRACKS ON BOTH INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR SIDE WALLS OF TIRE COVERING TOTAL CIRCUMFERENCE OF TIRE; TIRE HAD BEGUN SMOKING. ASSISTED BY STATE SAFETY PATROL AND TECHNICIAN MADE COMMENTS AS TO HAVE "NEVER SEEN A TIRE SHRED IN THIS MANNER". TREAD HAD BEGUN TO SEPARATE FROM TIRES EDGE AND CRACKS WERE APPROX.. 3 INCH'S APART AND ABOUT 2 INCH'S IN LENGTH. TIRE TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP FOR REVIEW AND REPLACEMENT; DEALERSHIP ALSO COMMENTED ON THE DAMAGE AS BEING EXTREMELY UNUSUAL. VEHICLE IS 2011, SINGLE DRIVER WITH APPROX. 31000 MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/29/2014 - UNION, KY
I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO WHEN A DEER CROSSED OVER THE JERSEY WALL ONTO THE ROADWAY AS I WAS JUST BEGINNING TO EXIT. I HIT THE DEER AT A MINIMUM SPEED OF 45-50MPH. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ALTHOUGH I WAS UNHARMED I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE AIRBAG TO DEPLOY GIVEN MY SPEED AND FRONT IMPACT. MY VEHICLE HAS ALSO RECENTLY HAD AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WITH SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER THAT HAS BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM. GIVEN THE RECENT RASH OF INCIDENTS SURROUNDING GMC VEHICLES AND THE LACK OF RECALLS ON THE TERRAIN VEHICLE, I AM REPORTING THESE INCIDENTS AT THIS TIME AS I AM CONCERNED THAT THEY MAY BE INDICATIVE OF BROADER PROBLEM WITH THE TERRAIN MODEL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/29/2014 - UNION, KY
I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO WHEN A DEER CROSSED OVER THE JERSEY WALL ONTO THE ROADWAY AS I WAS JUST BEGINNING TO EXIT. I HIT THE DEER AT A MINIMUM SPEED OF 45-50MPH. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ALTHOUGH I WAS UNHARMED I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE AIRBAG TO DEPLOY GIVEN MY SPEED AND FRONT IMPACT. MY VEHICLE HAS ALSO RECENTLY HAD AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WITH SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER THAT HAS BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM. GIVEN THE RECENT RASH OF INCIDENTS SURROUNDING GMC VEHICLES AND THE LACK OF RECALLS ON THE TERRAIN VEHICLE, I AM REPORTING THESE INCIDENTS AT THIS TIME AS I AM CONCERNED THAT THEY MAY BE INDICATIVE OF BROADER PROBLEM WITH THE TERRAIN MODEL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/29/2014 - UNION, KY
I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO WHEN A DEER CROSSED OVER THE JERSEY WALL ONTO THE ROADWAY AS I WAS JUST BEGINNING TO EXIT. I HIT THE DEER AT A MINIMUM SPEED OF 45-50MPH. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ALTHOUGH I WAS UNHARMED I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE AIRBAG TO DEPLOY GIVEN MY SPEED AND FRONT IMPACT. MY VEHICLE HAS ALSO RECENTLY HAD AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WITH SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER THAT HAS BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM. GIVEN THE RECENT RASH OF INCIDENTS SURROUNDING GMC VEHICLES AND THE LACK OF RECALLS ON THE TERRAIN VEHICLE, I AM REPORTING THESE INCIDENTS AT THIS TIME AS I AM CONCERNED THAT THEY MAY BE INDICATIVE OF BROADER PROBLEM WITH THE TERRAIN MODEL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/9/2014 - ERIE, PA
2011 GMC TERRAIN. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO BRAKE PADS WERE RUSTED IN THE SLIDES AND THEY WOULD NOT MOVE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/9/2014 - LAUREL, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE WIPER BLADE TRANSMISSION MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - ROMEO, MI
WELL IT APPEARS THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON HERE ABOUT THE 2011 TERRAIN STALLING. IT'S BEEN HAPPENING TO ME OFF AND ON THE PAST SEVERAL MONTHS. I WOULD BE IN TRAFFIC AND IT WOULD STALL, I WOULD BE AT A STOP LIGHT AND IT WOULD STALL, I WOULD GO TO BACK OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND IT WOULD STALL. I TOOK IT IN AND THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. WELL LAST NIGHT IT FINALLY DIED. GREAT!! I HEARD NOISE WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE THAT SOUNDED LIKE PLASTIC WATER BOTTLES RUBBING TOGETHER. I HAD A BAG IN MY FRONT SEAT SO ASSUMED IT WAS NOTHING. IT BUCKED FORWARD AS I PUT IT INTO DRIVE AND STALLED. WELL...THE STALLING I'D BECOME ACCUSTOMED TO SO I RE-STARTED. IT SEEMED FINE UNTIL I WENT TO ACCELERATE ONTO THE MAIN ROAD...IT BUCKED, STARTED SHUTTERING, AND WOULDN'T GO ABOVE 5 MPH. I BARELY GOT IT INTO A PARKING LOT BEFORE IT DIED. I COUNTED NO LESS THAN 5 SIMILAR REPORTS ON HERE. I LIVE IN THE METRO DETROIT AREA...HAD THIS HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY OR DURING RUSH HOUR, I COULD'VE BEEN KILLED. SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING BEFORE GMC HAS YET ANOTHER SCANDAL ON THEIR HANDS OR HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE TO BE HURT, MAIMED, OR KILLED BEFORE NHTSA GETS INVOLVED??

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - ROMEO, MI
WELL IT APPEARS THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON HERE ABOUT THE 2011 TERRAIN STALLING. IT'S BEEN HAPPENING TO ME OFF AND ON THE PAST SEVERAL MONTHS. I WOULD BE IN TRAFFIC AND IT WOULD STALL, I WOULD BE AT A STOP LIGHT AND IT WOULD STALL, I WOULD GO TO BACK OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND IT WOULD STALL. I TOOK IT IN AND THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. WELL LAST NIGHT IT FINALLY DIED. GREAT!! I HEARD NOISE WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE THAT SOUNDED LIKE PLASTIC WATER BOTTLES RUBBING TOGETHER. I HAD A BAG IN MY FRONT SEAT SO ASSUMED IT WAS NOTHING. IT BUCKED FORWARD AS I PUT IT INTO DRIVE AND STALLED. WELL...THE STALLING I'D BECOME ACCUSTOMED TO SO I RE-STARTED. IT SEEMED FINE UNTIL I WENT TO ACCELERATE ONTO THE MAIN ROAD...IT BUCKED, STARTED SHUTTERING, AND WOULDN'T GO ABOVE 5 MPH. I BARELY GOT IT INTO A PARKING LOT BEFORE IT DIED. I COUNTED NO LESS THAN 5 SIMILAR REPORTS ON HERE. I LIVE IN THE METRO DETROIT AREA...HAD THIS HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY OR DURING RUSH HOUR, I COULD'VE BEEN KILLED. SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING BEFORE GMC HAS YET ANOTHER SCANDAL ON THEIR HANDS OR HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE TO BE HURT, MAIMED, OR KILLED BEFORE NHTSA GETS INVOLVED??

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/9/2014 - ROMEO, MI
WELL IT APPEARS THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON HERE ABOUT THE 2011 TERRAIN STALLING. IT'S BEEN HAPPENING TO ME OFF AND ON THE PAST SEVERAL MONTHS. I WOULD BE IN TRAFFIC AND IT WOULD STALL, I WOULD BE AT A STOP LIGHT AND IT WOULD STALL, I WOULD GO TO BACK OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND IT WOULD STALL. I TOOK IT IN AND THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. WELL LAST NIGHT IT FINALLY DIED. GREAT!! I HEARD NOISE WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE THAT SOUNDED LIKE PLASTIC WATER BOTTLES RUBBING TOGETHER. I HAD A BAG IN MY FRONT SEAT SO ASSUMED IT WAS NOTHING. IT BUCKED FORWARD AS I PUT IT INTO DRIVE AND STALLED. WELL...THE STALLING I'D BECOME ACCUSTOMED TO SO I RE-STARTED. IT SEEMED FINE UNTIL I WENT TO ACCELERATE ONTO THE MAIN ROAD...IT BUCKED, STARTED SHUTTERING, AND WOULDN'T GO ABOVE 5 MPH. I BARELY GOT IT INTO A PARKING LOT BEFORE IT DIED. I COUNTED NO LESS THAN 5 SIMILAR REPORTS ON HERE. I LIVE IN THE METRO DETROIT AREA...HAD THIS HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY OR DURING RUSH HOUR, I COULD'VE BEEN KILLED. SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING BEFORE GMC HAS YET ANOTHER SCANDAL ON THEIR HANDS OR HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE TO BE HURT, MAIMED, OR KILLED BEFORE NHTSA GETS INVOLVED??

View Details

STEERING

4/6/2014 - WAYNESVILLE, OH
I WAS GOING TO A 930 AM DOCTOR APPT@THE CANCER CLINIC, WITH MY HUSBAND & FATHER AS PASSENGERS. I WAS IN THE LEFT TURN LANE NORTHBOUND ATTEMPTING TO TURN INTO THE HOSPITAL. IT WAS 910 AM. THERE WAS A LG. DELIVERY TRUCK OPPOSITE ME IN THE SOUTHBOUND LEFT TURN LANE. AS I PULLED IN THE SOUTHBOUND LANE,EASING FORWARD TO ENSURE CLEARANCE THE OTHER CAR BEHIND THE DELIVERY TRUCK PULLED OUT AND AROUND THE TRUCK AND SPED UP TO GO THROUGH THE INTERSECTION TO MAKE THE LIGHTTHAT WAS AMBER AT THIS POINT. MY FATHER SAID THAT HER HEAD WAS DOWN AND SHE DIDN'T LOOK UP UNTIL JUST BEFORE IMPACT. THERE WERE NO SKID MARKS & THE IMPACT WAS HIGH ON THE PASS. SIDE OF MY VEHICLE ROCKING US UP ONTO 2 WHEELS ON THE DRIVERS SIDE & THEN BACK DOWN ON ALL 4. MY VEHICLE WAS T-BONED ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. THE LADY CAME OUT FROM BEHIND THE DELIVERY TRUCK AT THE LAST SECOND, CHANGED LANES & PROCEEDED INTO THE INTERSECTION AT THE SAME TIME I WAS TRYING TO TURN LEFT. AT THIS POINT THE LIGHT WAS YELLOW. I HAVE, I DO BELIEVE 8 AIR BAGS, WITH 8 SENSORS IN THE TERRAIN'S. ALSO I HAVE A FULL SUBSCRIPTION TO ONSTAR WHICH ALSO HAS CRASH SENSORS IN MY CAR. * ONE AIR BAG WENT OFF NOR DID ANY SENSO*. ONSTAR DID NOT CALL ME AFTER THE CRASH TO TELL ME THAT THEY WOULD BE SENDING HELP, AMBULANCE, POLICE ETC. MY INJURIES WERE: CONTUSION TO LEFT SIDE OF HEAD ABOVE EAR. SCALP WOUND ABOVE RIGHT EAR, WITH PERMANENT INDENTATION TO RIGHT SIDE OF MY HEAD,2 SMALL CUTS RIGHT SIDE OF FOREHEAD. BLACK EYE'S. PAIN IN NECK & STIFFNESS. RIGHT EYE SOCKET @ EYE BROW SWOLLEN. HUSBAND: SEATBELT BRUISING, NECK PAIN/STIFFNESS. MY FATHER, NECK PAIN, STIFFNESS,SCRAPED SKIN ON INSTEP OF RIGHT FOOT. THIS FORMAL COMPLAINT IS WITH GENERAL MOTORS, GMC TERRAIN, & ONSTAR FOR NOT 1 AIRBAG HAVING NOT GONE OFF/DEPLOYED, NOR DID ONSTAR MAKE ANY EFFORT TO CONTACT ME. I CONTACTED BOTH GM & ONSTAR & THEY DID NOTHING TO COMPENSATE ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds