Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2011 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seats (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (10) Power Train (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

9/11/2014 - AIEA, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SEAT BOLT UNSCREWED CAUSING THE SEAT TO MOVE INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V447000 (SEAT). HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/25/2014 - SAN ANGELO, TX
I STARTED TAKING MY 2011 GMC TERRAIN INTO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM WHEN MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT STARTED RANDOMLY COMING ON AND OFF AS I WAS DRIVING. IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AT THAT TIME AND THEY WOULD GET IT TO GO OFF FOR A DAY... BUT THEN IT WOULD COME BACK ON. ONE TIME I TOOK IT IN, AND THE LADY LOOKED AND SAID THAT IT WAS NOTHING AND TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE IT UNTIL THEY COULD GET TO IT IN A FEW WEEKS BECAUSE THEY WERE BACKED UP. WHEN I TOOK IT IN...MY MILEAGE WAS 100 MILES TILL MY WARRANTY WAS OUT...THEY AGAIN... STATED THAT IT WAS SOMETHING THAT I WAS DOING AND RELEASED IT BACK TO ME. IT NOW REMAINS ON CONSTANTLY... AND ALL OF THESE RECALLS ARE HAPPENING WITH AIRBAGS GOING OFF OR NOT GOING OFF! I AM SCARED TO DEATH TO DRIVE MY CAR, BUT I HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE. I AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS ON THIS VEHICLE THAT IS A POTENTIAL HAZARD TO MYSELF AND MY FAMILY! THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THEY CAN SEE IF THEY CAN GET A CODE FROM SCANNING IT FOR $100 PLUS WHATEVER IS WRONG WITH IT. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON WAY TOO LONG FOR ME TO HAVE TO BE OUT OF POCKET ANY MONEY! THEY SHOULD BE PAYING ME FOR ALL OF THIS MESS! PLEASE HELP ME!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2014 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
WHEN PARKING AFTER DRIVING , THE KEY WILL NOT BE RELEASED . YOU MAY HAVE TO TURN THE KEY ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL IT RELEASES. THERE IS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH STARTING THE CAR WHERE YOU TURN THE KEY AND THE CAR WILL NOT START. ON OCCASION (NOT EVERY TIME) YOU NEED TO TURN THE KEY ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL IT STARTS. THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM- STILL HAPPENING. TWO DIFFERENT DEALERS HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE EVEN THOUGH IT HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES DAILY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/5/2014 - ASHEBORO, NC
I WAS IN TRAFFIC ON AN ICY DAY AND HAD TO BRAKE QUICKLY TO AVOID STRIKING THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. SINCE THAT DAY, THE ABS LIGHT AND THE SKIDDING VEHICLE LIGHT REMAINS ON ALL THE TIME. WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE THE DASHBOARD MESSAGE SHOWS SERVICE STABILITRAK. I DON'T KNOW IF THE ABS SYSTEM IS WORKING PROPERLY. I HAD IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN TOWN AND THEY TOLD ME THEY MAY NEED TO KEEP IT SEVERAL DAYS AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM BECAUSE ALLEGEDLY THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. THAT COULD RUN INTO THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. I TOOK IT TO AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND ANOTHER GARAGE AND THEY HOOKED UP THE CODE READER AT BOTH PLACES AND IT DIDN'T SHOW ANY CODE. I CHECKED ON THE INTERNET IF OTHER PEOPLE WERE HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES AND THERE ARE QUITE A FEW THAT SHOWED UP. SOME STATED HOW THEY HAD SPENT SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLARS TO HAVE IT FIXED AND WHEN THEY GOT IT BACK IT DID THE SAME THING. I HAVE CONTACTED GM AND ALTHOUGH THEY HAVE "ASSURED" ME IT WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF, I HAVEN'T HEARD ANY FURTHER FROM THEM. SOME PEOPLE ON THE INTERNET HAVE SAID HOW THEY WERE CHARGED LARGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY TO REPLACE THE MODULE ONLY TO HAVE THE PROBLEM RETURN. I WOULD LIKE THE PROBLEM FIXED BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THAT THE ABS IS WORKING PROPERLY IF NEEDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2014 - CANONSBURG, PA
STARTED CAR AND SHIFTED FROM PARK TO REVERSE. CAR DID NOT CHANGE INTO GEAR. CAR WAS IN NEUTRAL. SHIFTED TO DRIVE AND STILL NO GEAR CHANGE. SHIFTED TO MANUAL DRIVE MODE AND STILL DID NOT SHIFT. TURNED CAR OFF AND BACK ON, THEN GEAR CHANGES WERE MADE. SECOND TIME THIS OCCURRED IN ABOUT THREE MONTHS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2014 - MCDONOUGH, GA
I HAD A AIRBAG WARNING INDICATION. I TOOK THE SUV TO GMC AND THEY INDICATED THE ISSUE IS IN THE SEAT, AS THE INDIVIDUAL SIT IN THE SEAT IT FLEXES THE CANNON PLUG WITH CAUSE THE AIRBAG SYSTEM TO DISABLE , AND SEND A WARNING. THEY INDICATED THEY COULD NOT CORRECT THE ISSUE WITHOUT DEVIATING DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS AND THEY ASKED ME TO CONTACT NTSB TO INDICATE THE SAFETY ISSUE

View Details

TIRES

7/18/2014 - WAHIAWA, HI
WHILE DRIVING @ 55 CENTER LANE FREEWAY INDICATOR LIGHTS SHOWED LOSS OF TIRE PRESSURE ON PASSENGER REAR TIRE. MOVED TO SHOULDER OF FREEWAY AND SAW REAR TIRE HAD NUMEROUS CRACKS ON BOTH INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR SIDE WALLS OF TIRE COVERING TOTAL CIRCUMFERENCE OF TIRE; TIRE HAD BEGUN SMOKING. ASSISTED BY STATE SAFETY PATROL AND TECHNICIAN MADE COMMENTS AS TO HAVE "NEVER SEEN A TIRE SHRED IN THIS MANNER". TREAD HAD BEGUN TO SEPARATE FROM TIRES EDGE AND CRACKS WERE APPROX.. 3 INCH'S APART AND ABOUT 2 INCH'S IN LENGTH. TIRE TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP FOR REVIEW AND REPLACEMENT; DEALERSHIP ALSO COMMENTED ON THE DAMAGE AS BEING EXTREMELY UNUSUAL. VEHICLE IS 2011, SINGLE DRIVER WITH APPROX. 31000 MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/29/2014 - UNION, KY
I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO WHEN A DEER CROSSED OVER THE JERSEY WALL ONTO THE ROADWAY AS I WAS JUST BEGINNING TO EXIT. I HIT THE DEER AT A MINIMUM SPEED OF 45-50MPH. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ALTHOUGH I WAS UNHARMED I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE AIRBAG TO DEPLOY GIVEN MY SPEED AND FRONT IMPACT. MY VEHICLE HAS ALSO RECENTLY HAD AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WITH SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER THAT HAS BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM. GIVEN THE RECENT RASH OF INCIDENTS SURROUNDING GMC VEHICLES AND THE LACK OF RECALLS ON THE TERRAIN VEHICLE, I AM REPORTING THESE INCIDENTS AT THIS TIME AS I AM CONCERNED THAT THEY MAY BE INDICATIVE OF BROADER PROBLEM WITH THE TERRAIN MODEL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/29/2014 - UNION, KY
I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO WHEN A DEER CROSSED OVER THE JERSEY WALL ONTO THE ROADWAY AS I WAS JUST BEGINNING TO EXIT. I HIT THE DEER AT A MINIMUM SPEED OF 45-50MPH. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ALTHOUGH I WAS UNHARMED I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE AIRBAG TO DEPLOY GIVEN MY SPEED AND FRONT IMPACT. MY VEHICLE HAS ALSO RECENTLY HAD AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WITH SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER THAT HAS BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM. GIVEN THE RECENT RASH OF INCIDENTS SURROUNDING GMC VEHICLES AND THE LACK OF RECALLS ON THE TERRAIN VEHICLE, I AM REPORTING THESE INCIDENTS AT THIS TIME AS I AM CONCERNED THAT THEY MAY BE INDICATIVE OF BROADER PROBLEM WITH THE TERRAIN MODEL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/29/2014 - UNION, KY
I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO WHEN A DEER CROSSED OVER THE JERSEY WALL ONTO THE ROADWAY AS I WAS JUST BEGINNING TO EXIT. I HIT THE DEER AT A MINIMUM SPEED OF 45-50MPH. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ALTHOUGH I WAS UNHARMED I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE AIRBAG TO DEPLOY GIVEN MY SPEED AND FRONT IMPACT. MY VEHICLE HAS ALSO RECENTLY HAD AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WITH SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER THAT HAS BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM. GIVEN THE RECENT RASH OF INCIDENTS SURROUNDING GMC VEHICLES AND THE LACK OF RECALLS ON THE TERRAIN VEHICLE, I AM REPORTING THESE INCIDENTS AT THIS TIME AS I AM CONCERNED THAT THEY MAY BE INDICATIVE OF BROADER PROBLEM WITH THE TERRAIN MODEL OF VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds