Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/14/2014 - RENSSELAER, NY
WITHIN THE LAST MONTH, MY 2011 CRV HAS HAD A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE DOOR LOCK. WHEN I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON, THE DRIVER'S DOOR REMAINS LOCKED AND WILL ONLY TURN MANUALLY. LIKEWISE, IT WILL ONLY LOCK MANUALLY. THE OTHER DAY I COULDN'T OPEN MY TRUNK BECAUSE OF THE LOCKING ISSUE. BECAUSE OF THE UNLOCKING, THE SENSORS AFFECTED MY DOME LIGHT AND MY BATTERY DIED AFTER 3 YEARS. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALLS YET. IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2014 - RENSSELAER, NY
WITHIN THE LAST MONTH, MY 2011 CRV HAS HAD A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE DOOR LOCK. WHEN I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON, THE DRIVER'S DOOR REMAINS LOCKED AND WILL ONLY TURN MANUALLY. LIKEWISE, IT WILL ONLY LOCK MANUALLY. THE OTHER DAY I COULDN'T OPEN MY TRUNK BECAUSE OF THE LOCKING ISSUE. BECAUSE OF THE UNLOCKING, THE SENSORS AFFECTED MY DOME LIGHT AND MY BATTERY DIED AFTER 3 YEARS. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALLS YET. IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CRV. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE SPUN AROUND 3 TIMES AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE MEDIAN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE RECHARGED. NO REPAIRS WERE DONE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,000 MILES.SR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON SUNDAY MARCH 30 I WAS COMING OUT OF THE GROCERY STORE AND I WENT TO MY CAR TO PUT MY THINGS AWAY BUT WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN MY CAR WITH MY KEY FOB IT WOULD OPEN SO I KEPT TRYING FOR A FEW MINUTES UNTIL I DECIDED TO USE THE ACTUAL KEY ITSELF TO UNLOCK AND EVEN THEN IT ONLY OPEN ONE DOOR. ALSO WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN THE LOCKS MANUALLY WITH THE BUTTONS IN THE INSIDE THAT DIDN'T WORK EITHER. LATER THAT DAY I TRIED OPENING ALL THE DOORS WITH MY KEY BUT BY THE TIME I GET TO THE NEXT ONE IT LOCKS BY ITSELF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/4/2014 - MODESTO, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2011 HONDA CRV BRAND NEW FROM OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP. I HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH IT UNTIL LAST MONTH. I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT WHENEVER I CAME TO A STOP OR SLOWED DOWN BELOW 10 MPH AND THEN ACCELERATED, MY DOORS WOULD MAKE THE LOCKING SOUND EVEN THOUGH THEY WERE ALREADY LOCKED. IT HAPPENS REPEATEDLY AS I SLOW DOWN/STOP AND THEN ACCELERATE. THEN TODAY (3/4/2014) THE PROBLEM ESCALATED. I CAME OUT OF THE GROCERY STORE AND COULDN'T UNLOCK THE CARGO DOOR WITH MY KEY FOB. I NOTICED THAT THE LEFT PASSENGER DOOR DIDN'T UNLOCK AS WELL. I PRESSED THE BUTTON A FEW MORE TIMES AND THEY WOULDN'T UNLOCK. THE DRIVER DOOR, FRONT PASSENGER AND RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOORS DID UNLOCK. SO THEN I PRESSED THE UNLOCK BUTTON ON THE DRIVER DOOR ARMREST BUT THE CARGO DOOR AND THE LEFT PASSENGER DOOR STILL DIDN'T UNLOCK. I HAD TO PUT MY GROCERIES IN THROUGH THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR SINCE THE CARGO DOOR DOESN'T HAVE A WAY TO OPEN MANUALLY FROM THE INSIDE, NOR MANUALLY WITH A KEY FROM THE OUTSIDE. IF THIS PROBLEM GETS WORSE, THIS CAN POSE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM. WHAT IF THERE'S AN EMERGENCY AND YOUR CAR DOESN'T UNLOCK? I JUST DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE PROBLEM TO SEE IF IT WAS SOMETHING SIMPLE THAT COULD BE FIXED. A QUICK ONLINE SEARCH BROUGHT MY ATTENTION TO COUNTLESS COMPLAINTS OF DOOR LOCK FAILURES ON CRV'S. SEEMS THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT'S BEEN GOING ON FOR YEARS (AT LEAST 2007-2011). I WAS SHOCKED TO FIND OUT HONDA HASN'T ISSUED A RECALL. THIS IS A WIDESPREAD AND SERIOUS PROBLEM! I CALLED MY HONDA DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT THE APPROXIMATE COST TO REPLACE THE DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS. THIS ISN'T A CHEAP FIX! THEY WOULD CHARGE $180 LABOR FOR EACH DOOR THEY WOULD NEED TO FIX ON TOP OF THE COST OF EACH DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR WHICH RANGES FROM $59 TO $75 EACH, DEPENDING ON WHICH DOOR THE PART IS FOR. I WOULD NEED 2, POSSIBLY 3, REPLACED SO THAT WOULD BE ABOUT $500 TO ALMOST $750.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/27/2014 - ROCKPORT, MA
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK ON MAJOR HIGHWAY TRAVELING APPROX. 60-65 MPH PASSED A CAR AND THEN TOUCHED THE BRAKES.. SUDDENLY THE CAR ACCELERATED TO OVER 100 MPH WITH THE R PM'S RED-LINED. I HAVE TO STAND ON THE BRAKES WITH BOTH FEET TO TRY TO SLOW IT DOWN AND EVEN WHEN IT DID IT WAS STILL REVVING OFF THE CHARTS. HAD IT TOWED TO HONDA DEALER WHO SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT AND MOST LIKELY WAS "OPERATOR ERROR". I'M TOO SCARED TO EVEN DRIVE IT NOW. DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/27/2014 - BAY SHORE, NY
WITH 23,700 MILES, HONDA DEALER INFORMED ME THAT TIRES WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED DUE TO "EXCESSIVE WEAR AND TEAR". HAVE LEARNED THAT MANY 2011 CRV OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM, AND THAT ALTHOUGH HONDA ISSUED A TSB ON THE TIRE MATTER, THEY HAVE PROVIDED NO CAUSE, RECALL OR MONETARY INCENTIVE. IS IT SUSPENSION, ALIGNMENT, WHAT? FURTHERMORE HAVE BEEN ILL ALL WINTER AND CAR HAS HARDLY MOVED FROM THE GARAGE, IT WORRIES ME THAT SOMETHING IS DEFECTIVE CAUSING THIS TIRE PROBLEM, AND HONDA HAS NOT STEPPED UP TO THE PLATE FOR RESOLUTION OR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/15/2014 - ENGLEWOOD, CO
WHILE DRIVING ON UN-CROWDED HIGHWAY SUNROOF LOUDLY EXPLODED AND RAINED GLASS INTO AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. HIGHWAY SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH OUTDOOR TEMPERATURE APPROXIMATELY 40 DEGREES. PASSENGERS UNINJURED BUT VERY SCARED. GLASS WAS BLOWN OUT FROM INSIDE TO OUT. NO INDICATION OF AN IMPACT WAS PRESENT. NO OTHER VEHICLES WERE PRESENT TO CAUSE IMPACT. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LOCAL DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY EXPLAINED IT MUST HAVE BEEN A "TINY ROCK" THAT CAUSED THE IMPACT SO THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR OR REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE PART EXCEPT AT THE OWNERS EXPENSE. SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WITH REFUSAL DIRECTLY FROM AMERICAN HONDA AND LOCAL DEALERSHIP TO REMEDY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/15/2014 - ENGLEWOOD, CO
WHILE DRIVING ON UN-CROWDED HIGHWAY SUNROOF LOUDLY EXPLODED AND RAINED GLASS INTO AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. HIGHWAY SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH OUTDOOR TEMPERATURE APPROXIMATELY 40 DEGREES. PASSENGERS UNINJURED BUT VERY SCARED. GLASS WAS BLOWN OUT FROM INSIDE TO OUT. NO INDICATION OF AN IMPACT WAS PRESENT. NO OTHER VEHICLES WERE PRESENT TO CAUSE IMPACT. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LOCAL DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY EXPLAINED IT MUST HAVE BEEN A "TINY ROCK" THAT CAUSED THE IMPACT SO THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR OR REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE PART EXCEPT AT THE OWNERS EXPENSE. SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WITH REFUSAL DIRECTLY FROM AMERICAN HONDA AND LOCAL DEALERSHIP TO REMEDY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2013 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOCKS MALFUNCTIONED AND WOULD NOT ENGAGE MANUALLY OR BY USING THE ELECTRONIC KEY FOB. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds