Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 69 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - FOUNTAIN HILLS, AZ
IN MAY, 2014, THE RIGHT REAR POWER WINDOW QUIT WORKING AND WOULD NOT GO BACK UP AFTER HAVING IT COMPLETELY DOWN. I TOGGLED THE WINDOW SWITCH A FEW TIMES AND THE WINDOW EVENTUALLY WENT BACK UP, SO I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A GLITCH. WE LIVE IN ARIZONA WHERE THE SUMMERTIME IS VERY HOT, SO THE WINDOW WAS NEVER USED AGAIN DUE TO AIR CONDITIONING. THE WINDOW WAS USED RECENTLY BECAUSE THE WEATHER HAS COOLED DOWN FROM THE SUMMER HEAT. THIS TIME, TOGGLING THE SWITCH DID NOT WORK AND THE WINDOW STAYED IN THE DOWN POSITION COMPLETELY. I TOOK THE HONDA CR-V TO A LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP WHICH DIAGNOSED THE ISSUE AS A FAULTY MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCH. I'VE RESEARCHED AND DISCOVERED THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH FAULTY MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCHES ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT HONDA MODELS. THERE ARE SEVERAL RECALLS AFFECTING JUST UNDER ONE MILLION AUTOMOBILES MANUFACTURED AND THERE IS A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD ACCORDING TO HONDA. THE COMPANY'S RECALL STATEMENT SAYS, "WATER, RAIN, OR OTHER LIQUID MAY ENTER THE DRIVER'S WINDOW AND REACH THE MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCH, RESULTING IN IMPAIRED FUNCTION OF THE SWITCH...SWITCH IS DAMAGED AS A RESULT OF THE LIQUID INTRUSION, IT MAY RESULT IN FAILURE OF THE SWITCH AND OVERHEATING...AN OVERHEATING SWITCH MAY CAUSE SMOKE, MELTING OR, POTENTIALLY, FIRE." THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION OPENED AN INVESTIGATION INTO A FIRE HAZARD WITH THE MASTER POWER SWITCH ON THE HONDA CR-VS. ALSO, CHRIS NAUGHTON, A HONDA SPOKESMAN, SAID ONE PERSON DIED IN SOUTH AFRICA IN A FIRE ATTRIBUTED TO THE PROBLEM. IT IS APPARENT HONDA STILL HAS NOT PROPERLY CORRECTED THE MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCH ISSUE. PLEASE CONTINUE YOUR INVESTIGATION OF THIS ISSUE. HONDA'S ENGINEERS NEED TO RE-DESIGN THE SWITCH; IT-++S HOUSING, AND REPLACE ALL POTENTIAL FAULTY MASTER SWITCHES TO ENSURE CONSUMERS-++ SAFETY FROM FIRE/DEATH AND FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/15/2014 - STOW, OH
WE PULLED OUR HONDA CRV 2011 INTO A PARKING LOT AT BONEFISH GRILL IN CANTON OHIO ON NOVEMBER 30, 2014. MY MOTHER WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND THE ACCELERATOR MOVED TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR COULD NOT BE STOPPED BY SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES. WE ENDED UP RUNNING INTO A CAR PARKED IN FRONT OF US THEN A CAR TO THE LEFT OF US AND THEN THE CAR WAS FINALLY STOPPED WHEN WE RAN INTO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER CAR PARKED IN THE LOT WHERE IT FINALLY CAME TO REST. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, AND WE WERE NOT INJURED. WE WERE VERY SCARED AND THERE WAS SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO THE 3 OTHER CARS AS WELL AS OUR OWN. WE HAVE READ ONLINE THE STORIES OF OTHERS THAT HAD VERY SIMILAR SITUATIONS WITH THIS PARTICULAR MAKE AND MODEL VEHICLE. WE DO NOT PLAN ON EVER GETTING IN THIS VEHICLE AGAIN AND WILL NOT TRUST ANY VEHICLE THAT HONDA BUILDS AS WELL. THIS INCIDENT LUCKILY HAPPENED IN A PARKING LOT. IF WE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN INTERSECTION WE OR SOMEONE ELSE WOULD LIKELY HAVE BEEN KILLED. THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED AND CUSTOMERS SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THE NEGLIGENCE ON THE PART OF THE COMPANY. IT LOOKS LIKE FROM THE STORIES THAT WE HAVE READ THAT HONDA IS CLAIMING NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE AND BLAMING IT ON DRIVER ERROR. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE AND HONDA NEEDS TO OWN UP TO THEIR INCOMPETENCE AND DISHONESTY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/28/2014 - SUWANEE, GA
I WAS PARKING MY CAR AND WHILE APPLYING BRAKE, THE CAR ACCELERATED VERY FAST AND FORTUNATELY THERE WERE HEDGES WHICH STOPPED THE CAR. THIS IS SCARY AND WE STOPPED DRIVING THIS CAR FOR NOW UNTIL WE FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/17/2014 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
ON 15 NOVEMBER 2014 AT 9:09PM MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I HAVE A GARMIN GPS HOOKED INTO MY COMPUTER AND THIS UNIT CAN READ THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES. THE CODE FOR THIS CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OCCURRENCE WAS A (P2422). THE PROBLEM I HAVE WITH THIS IS THAT THIS CAR IS 3.5 YEARS OLD AND HAS 91K MILES ON IT AND THIS IS THE 6TH (YES SIXTH) TIME FOR THIS FAILURE. THIS CODE HAS TO DO WITH THE EMISSIONS/FUEL SYSTEM. THE CAR HAS BEEN TO 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS TO BE RESOLVED AND IS STILL NOT RESOLVED. I AM AGAIN TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THIS OCCURRENCE BUT AM RUNNING OUT OF WARRANTY AND PATIENCE. THIS CAR HAS ALSO BEEN THROUGH 4 BATTERIES, A WATER PUMP, FUEL PUMP AND ALL POWER STEERING COMPONENTS REPLACED. THE MESSAGE ASSOCIATED WWITH CODE P2422 IS "EVAPORATIVE EMISSION SYSTEM VENT VALVE STUCK CLOSED". IS THERE ANYONE ELSE OUTY THERE FIGHTING THESE ISSUES THAT CAN GIVE ME ANY INSIGHT??

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/7/2014 - KULA, HI
PULLED INTO TURNING LANE OFF HIGHWAY. IN PREPARING TO TURN, I PRESSED ON THE BRAKES BUT INSTEAD OF SLOWING DOWN, THE CAR ACCELERATED. PRESSED BRAKE TO FLOOR BUT FELT NO RESISTANCE (SOFT BRAKE). PRESSED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO THE FLOOR AND THREW CAR INTO NEUTRAL. LUCKILY I WAS GOING SLOW ENOUGH AND THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS COMING SO I WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE TURN EVEN THOUGH BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING. I TURNED THE WHEEL QUICKLY ONTO A STRAIGHT AWAY AND RELEASED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. I PRESSED THE BRAKES AND THEY WORKED FINE. SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED WHERE CAR ACCELERATED INSTEAD OF STOPPING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/7/2014 - KULA, HI
PULLED INTO TURNING LANE OFF HIGHWAY. IN PREPARING TO TURN, I PRESSED ON THE BRAKES BUT INSTEAD OF SLOWING DOWN, THE CAR ACCELERATED. PRESSED BRAKE TO FLOOR BUT FELT NO RESISTANCE (SOFT BRAKE). PRESSED EMERGENCY BRAKE TO THE FLOOR AND THREW CAR INTO NEUTRAL. LUCKILY I WAS GOING SLOW ENOUGH AND THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS COMING SO I WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE TURN EVEN THOUGH BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING. I TURNED THE WHEEL QUICKLY ONTO A STRAIGHT AWAY AND RELEASED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. I PRESSED THE BRAKES AND THEY WORKED FINE. SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED WHERE CAR ACCELERATED INSTEAD OF STOPPING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/3/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPROACHING A STOP SIGN, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND SURGED FORWARD. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND APPLIED FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/31/2014 - NEEDHAM, MA
AT 2 YEARS, AFTER 19,000 MILES OF NORMAL SUBURBAN DRIVING, LOUD GRATING AND CLUNKING NOISES AND REPETITIVE VIBRATIONS CAME FROM THE BRAKES WHEN DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED [3-5 MPH] AND BECAME LOUDER WHEN BRAKES APPLIED. DEALER SAID ROTORS SEVERELY RUSTED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED [OEM] FOR $1,000. SAID RESURFACING COULD NOT BE DONE DUE TO SEVERITY OF RUST. 30 DAYS LATER SAME THING HAPPENED. AGAIN ALL FOUR BRAKE ROTORS WERE REPLACED [OEM]. NOW 12 MONTHS LATER AGAIN HAVE RUSTY BRAKE ROTORS WITH HARSH GRATING AND CLUNKING NOISES. CAR IS ROUTINELY PARKED IN LARGE GARAGE IN HIGH-RISE APARTMENT BUILDING MORE THAN 99% OF NIGHTS. THIS MAKES THREE FULL SETS OF FOUR ROTORS AFTER 19,000 MILES. DEALER ASKS IF I PARK IN DAMP LOCATION, BUT THE SECOND FLOOR GARAGE IS NEVER DAMP AND NOT NEAR WINDOW. DEALER SAYS HE HAS NO IDEA; MAYBE CHINESE USE BOGUS MATERIALS. BUT THESE ARE HONDA OEM. BRAKE ROTORS SHOULD CERTAINLY LAST MORE THAN 19,000 MILES [FIRST EPISODE] AND THREE FULL SETS SHOULD LAST MORE THAN 28,000 MILES AND 38 MONTHS. BRAKE ROTORS THAT RUST SO QUICKLY WHEN NOT ABUSED AND ARE SO DAMAGED THAT RESURFACING IS NOT EVEN POSSIBLE MUST SURELY BE CONSIDERED A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE. IF THE ROTORS BECOME THIS THIN THIS FAST, THE BRAKES MAY VERY WELL FRACTURE DURING EMERGENCY BRAKING.

View Details

WHEELS

7/28/2014 - CAPE CORAL, FL
SAID HONDA CR-V PURCHASED 05/22/14 AT PORT CHARLOTTE HONDA AND WAS TRADED IN ABOUT 2 HOURS PRIOR TO PURCHASE.OUR 2007 LINCOLN TOWN CAR WAS SUPPOSEDLY SOLD PRIOR TO OUR ARRIVAL AT DEALERSHIP. WE WANTED TO DRIVE OUR LINCOLN BACK HOME & LEAVE THE HONDA FOR SAFETY INSPECTION AND DETAILING PER OUR AGREEMENT WITH SALES PERSON (MIKE HOMER) AND FINANCE MANAGER (ERIC DANE). THEY INSISTED WE DRIVE THE HONDA HOME AND RETURN FOR THE SERVICES THE NEXT WEEK AS PROMISED. THE FRONT TIRES WERE VERY BALD BEING THE ORIGINAL TIRES THAT CAME ON IT IN 2011. WE INSISTED THAT AT THE LEAST THE FRONT AND REAR TIRES BE ROTATED SO THE BETTER (NOT EXACTLY TRUE) WERE ON THE FRONT SINCE IT WAS A FRONT WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE. UPON RETURNING FOR SERVICE I TOLD MIKE AND ERIC I WASN'T AT ALL HAPPY WITH THE CONDITION OF THE 2 TIRES ON THE FRONT, IT WAS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE. THEY ASSURED ME THE TIRES MET THE SPECS AND WERE SAFE THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID THE TIRE SPECS WERE BETWEEN 2/32TH AND 4/32TH. THIS ISN'T A TRUE STATEMENT & I WAS TOLD BY THE GENERAL SALES MANAGER THEY COULDN'T SPEND ANY ADDITIONAL ON THE VEHICLE. BEING THE FIRST HONDA WE HAVE EVER PURCHASED IT WAS A MAJOR DECISION SWITCHING FROM FORD (WHICH WE HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLES OR THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT). ERIC SAID WE WOULD BE REAL HAPPY WITH THE HONDA CR-V WHICH WE ARE EXCEPT FOR THE SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE TIRES. I'VE MADE NUMEROUS CALLS BUT THE DEALERSHIP STILL REFUSES TO REPLACE THE TIRES WITHOUT CHARGING US FOR THEM. I REFUSE TO PAY HUNDREDS FOR DOLLARS FOR TIRES THAT SHOULD HAVE NEVER LEFT THE DEALERSHIP. I TOOK THE HONDA TO THE LOCAL BRIDGESTONE DEALERSHIP HERE IN CAPE CORAL FOR EVALUATION AND THE MEASUREMENT WAS 1/32 AND HE SAID HE WOULDN'T DRIVE 2 MILES ON THOSE DANGEROUS TIRES. THE LEFT DRIVER'S TIRE WAS FLAT EVERY MORNING SO WE ARE NOW ON A DONUT TIRE. WE NEEDED THIS ISSUED RESOLVED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - TROY, OH
WIFE HAD PURSE IN THE CAR AND THE DOORS LOCKED ON THEIR OWN. THIS LOCKED HER OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS OCCURRED A NUMBER OF TIMES SINCE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds