Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/31/2014 - NEEDHAM, MA
AT 2 YEARS, AFTER 19,000 MILES OF NORMAL SUBURBAN DRIVING, LOUD GRATING AND CLUNKING NOISES AND REPETITIVE VIBRATIONS CAME FROM THE BRAKES WHEN DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED [3-5 MPH] AND BECAME LOUDER WHEN BRAKES APPLIED. DEALER SAID ROTORS SEVERELY RUSTED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED [OEM] FOR $1,000. SAID RESURFACING COULD NOT BE DONE DUE TO SEVERITY OF RUST. 30 DAYS LATER SAME THING HAPPENED. AGAIN ALL FOUR BRAKE ROTORS WERE REPLACED [OEM]. NOW 12 MONTHS LATER AGAIN HAVE RUSTY BRAKE ROTORS WITH HARSH GRATING AND CLUNKING NOISES. CAR IS ROUTINELY PARKED IN LARGE GARAGE IN HIGH-RISE APARTMENT BUILDING MORE THAN 99% OF NIGHTS. THIS MAKES THREE FULL SETS OF FOUR ROTORS AFTER 19,000 MILES. DEALER ASKS IF I PARK IN DAMP LOCATION, BUT THE SECOND FLOOR GARAGE IS NEVER DAMP AND NOT NEAR WINDOW. DEALER SAYS HE HAS NO IDEA; MAYBE CHINESE USE BOGUS MATERIALS. BUT THESE ARE HONDA OEM. BRAKE ROTORS SHOULD CERTAINLY LAST MORE THAN 19,000 MILES [FIRST EPISODE] AND THREE FULL SETS SHOULD LAST MORE THAN 28,000 MILES AND 38 MONTHS. BRAKE ROTORS THAT RUST SO QUICKLY WHEN NOT ABUSED AND ARE SO DAMAGED THAT RESURFACING IS NOT EVEN POSSIBLE MUST SURELY BE CONSIDERED A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE. IF THE ROTORS BECOME THIS THIN THIS FAST, THE BRAKES MAY VERY WELL FRACTURE DURING EMERGENCY BRAKING.

View Details

WHEELS

7/28/2014 - CAPE CORAL, FL
SAID HONDA CR-V PURCHASED 05/22/14 AT PORT CHARLOTTE HONDA AND WAS TRADED IN ABOUT 2 HOURS PRIOR TO PURCHASE.OUR 2007 LINCOLN TOWN CAR WAS SUPPOSEDLY SOLD PRIOR TO OUR ARRIVAL AT DEALERSHIP. WE WANTED TO DRIVE OUR LINCOLN BACK HOME & LEAVE THE HONDA FOR SAFETY INSPECTION AND DETAILING PER OUR AGREEMENT WITH SALES PERSON (MIKE HOMER) AND FINANCE MANAGER (ERIC DANE). THEY INSISTED WE DRIVE THE HONDA HOME AND RETURN FOR THE SERVICES THE NEXT WEEK AS PROMISED. THE FRONT TIRES WERE VERY BALD BEING THE ORIGINAL TIRES THAT CAME ON IT IN 2011. WE INSISTED THAT AT THE LEAST THE FRONT AND REAR TIRES BE ROTATED SO THE BETTER (NOT EXACTLY TRUE) WERE ON THE FRONT SINCE IT WAS A FRONT WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE. UPON RETURNING FOR SERVICE I TOLD MIKE AND ERIC I WASN'T AT ALL HAPPY WITH THE CONDITION OF THE 2 TIRES ON THE FRONT, IT WAS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE. THEY ASSURED ME THE TIRES MET THE SPECS AND WERE SAFE THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID THE TIRE SPECS WERE BETWEEN 2/32TH AND 4/32TH. THIS ISN'T A TRUE STATEMENT & I WAS TOLD BY THE GENERAL SALES MANAGER THEY COULDN'T SPEND ANY ADDITIONAL ON THE VEHICLE. BEING THE FIRST HONDA WE HAVE EVER PURCHASED IT WAS A MAJOR DECISION SWITCHING FROM FORD (WHICH WE HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLES OR THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT). ERIC SAID WE WOULD BE REAL HAPPY WITH THE HONDA CR-V WHICH WE ARE EXCEPT FOR THE SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE TIRES. I'VE MADE NUMEROUS CALLS BUT THE DEALERSHIP STILL REFUSES TO REPLACE THE TIRES WITHOUT CHARGING US FOR THEM. I REFUSE TO PAY HUNDREDS FOR DOLLARS FOR TIRES THAT SHOULD HAVE NEVER LEFT THE DEALERSHIP. I TOOK THE HONDA TO THE LOCAL BRIDGESTONE DEALERSHIP HERE IN CAPE CORAL FOR EVALUATION AND THE MEASUREMENT WAS 1/32 AND HE SAID HE WOULDN'T DRIVE 2 MILES ON THOSE DANGEROUS TIRES. THE LEFT DRIVER'S TIRE WAS FLAT EVERY MORNING SO WE ARE NOW ON A DONUT TIRE. WE NEEDED THIS ISSUED RESOLVED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - TROY, OH
WIFE HAD PURSE IN THE CAR AND THE DOORS LOCKED ON THEIR OWN. THIS LOCKED HER OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS OCCURRED A NUMBER OF TIMES SINCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - TROY, OH
WIFE HAD PURSE IN THE CAR AND THE DOORS LOCKED ON THEIR OWN. THIS LOCKED HER OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS OCCURRED A NUMBER OF TIMES SINCE.

View Details

WHEELS

6/30/2014 - NASHUA, NH
I CALLED IN A CLAIM/COMPLAINT AROUN JUNE 8 2012 FOR PREMATURE WEAR FOR CONTINENTAL 225/65R17-102T TIRES EQUIPPED ON 2011 HONDA CR-V TO CONTINENTAL &HONDA. CONTINENTAL ADVERTISES TIRES ARE WARRANTED FOR 65,000 MILES OR 6 YEARS. IT BECAME NECESSARY TO REPLACE ALL 4 TIRES 0608/2012 AT 31,463 MILES OR LESS THAN HALF THE EXPECTED LIFE OF THE TIRE BECAUSE THE TIRES CAUSE MY VEHICLE TO FAIL INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE AND TIRES CONSISTENTLY WERE SERVICED BY ACCREDITED HONDA DEALER & TIRE PRESSURE MAINTAINED.BOTH HONDA AND CONTINENTAL REFUSED TO HONOR THE WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2014 - DANVILLE, VA
PASSENGER DOOR AND REAR HATCH DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK. DEALER REPLACED FRONT DOOR LATCH ASSEMBLY. COST: LATCH ASSEMBLY: $69.72: LABOR: $340.00; SHOP SUPPLIES: $25.00: TOTAL COST: $438.42

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2014 - PLYMOUTH, MI
I FILED A CLAIM/COMPLAINT APRIL 6, 2014 FOR PREMATURE WEAR FOR CONTINENTAL 225/65R17-102T TIRES EQUIPPED ON 2011 HONDA CR-V TO CONTINENTAL &HONDA. CONTINENTAL ADVERTISES TIRES ARE WARRANTED FOR 65,000 MILES OR 6 YEARS. IT BECAME NECESSARY TO REPLACE ALL 4 TIRES 3/19/14 AT 31,013 MILES OR LESS THAN HALF THE EXPECTED LIFE OF THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE AND TIRES CONSISTENTLY WERE SERVICED BY ACCREDITED HONDA DEALER & TIRE PRESSURE MAINTAINED. ADDITIONALLY, ON APRIL 6, 2012 THE RIGHT REAR TIRE WENT FLAT WITH NO CAUSE PROVIDED AND REPLACED AT A COST OF $193.00. I HAVE RECEIVED NO COMPENSATION FOR THAT TIRE. SUBSEQUENTLY, ON 4/22/14 HONDA REPRESENTATIVE MICHAEL RESPONDED TO MY LETTER OF 4/6/14. HE REFERRED ME TO CONTINENTAL TIRE & DENIED ANY COMPENSATION FROM HONDA. ON 4/23/14, ôJESSIEö WITH CONTINENTAL TIRES CALLED TO CONFIRM THEY ôNEVER GUARANTEE OR WARRANT MILEAGE ON TIRESö. SHE SPECIFICALLY DIRECTED ME TO ADJUSTMENT POLICY, #3. "TREAD WEAROUT UP TO A PREDETERMINED MILEAGE IS NOT COVERED UNDER THIS POLICY."SHE, TOO, REFUSED ANY ADJUSTMENT OR RESOLUTION TO THE PREMATURE TIRE WEAR. ADDITIONALLY, SHE WOULD NOT CONSIDER THE TIRE REPLACED 4/6/12 BECAUSE THE DEALER DID NOT FILE A CLAIM. HONDA CORPORATION UNILATERALLY CONTRACTS WITH CONTINENTAL TO PROVIDE THE 225/65R17-102T TIRES FOR THEIR CR-V PRODUCT. THE CUSTOMER CANNOT SUBSTITUTE THE BRAND OF TIRES. HONDA CONTINUES TO EQUIP CR-V MODELS WITH CONTINENTAL 225/65R17-102T TIRES EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE BEEN ON NOTICE OF POOR TREAD PERFORMANCE FOR YEARS AND CONTINUE THE RELATIONSHIP KNOWING CONTINENTAL DOES NOT WARRANT THE PRODUCT. CONTINENTAL WILL NOT GIVE AN ADJUSTMENT AND HONDA CLAIMS THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE. NEITHER CONTINENTAL OR HONDA WILL PROVIDE, IN WRITING, THEIR BASIS FOR DENIAL NOR WOULD THEY ALLOW ME TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/14/2014 - RENSSELAER, NY
WITHIN THE LAST MONTH, MY 2011 CRV HAS HAD A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE DOOR LOCK. WHEN I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON, THE DRIVER'S DOOR REMAINS LOCKED AND WILL ONLY TURN MANUALLY. LIKEWISE, IT WILL ONLY LOCK MANUALLY. THE OTHER DAY I COULDN'T OPEN MY TRUNK BECAUSE OF THE LOCKING ISSUE. BECAUSE OF THE UNLOCKING, THE SENSORS AFFECTED MY DOME LIGHT AND MY BATTERY DIED AFTER 3 YEARS. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALLS YET. IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2014 - RENSSELAER, NY
WITHIN THE LAST MONTH, MY 2011 CRV HAS HAD A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE DOOR LOCK. WHEN I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON, THE DRIVER'S DOOR REMAINS LOCKED AND WILL ONLY TURN MANUALLY. LIKEWISE, IT WILL ONLY LOCK MANUALLY. THE OTHER DAY I COULDN'T OPEN MY TRUNK BECAUSE OF THE LOCKING ISSUE. BECAUSE OF THE UNLOCKING, THE SENSORS AFFECTED MY DOME LIGHT AND MY BATTERY DIED AFTER 3 YEARS. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALLS YET. IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CRV. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED ABRUPTLY AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SPIN THREE TIMES BEFORE CRASHING INTO THE MEDIAN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED INTO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE RECHARGED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds