Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 368 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (270) Equipment (1) Power Train (9) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (3) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (12) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/24/2017 - OMAHA, NE
OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM - TOOK MY CAR IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE. 96662 MILES. OIL LIFE AT 15% PER MANUAL OIL MAINTENANCE. EXCLUSIVE HONDA (NOT A DEALER) FOUND NO OIL IN MY CAR. SENT ME TO A HONDA DEALER IMMEDIATELY TO TAKE CARE OF. SINCE THEY ARE NOT A HONDA DEALER THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING TO MY CAR OR MAY NEGATE THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE HONDA DEALER FOUND A SEAL OIL LEAK STATED IT WAS PROBABLY DUE TO THE HIGH MILES. I WENT BACK AFTER 1000 MILES PER THE REQUIREMENTS FOR OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE OIL LEVEL & USE WAS CORRECT FOR 1000 MILES. OIL LIFE WAS AT 80%. I PLANNED TO CHANGE MY OIL EVERY 5000 TO AVOID THIS PROBLEM. HOWEVER I AM ON MY 3RD TIME TO HAVE THE HONDA DEALER TO CHECK FOR OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS. I WILL BE SENDING ALL THE COMPLAINTS SEPARATELY. I AM NOTIFYING ALL THAT I CAN IN HOPES TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED BY HONDA.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/24/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
"TAKAYA RECALL" I RECENTLY RECEIVED A LETTER FOR MY AUTOMOBILE DEALER ABOUT THE RECALL AND I FEAR DRIVING IT DUE TO THE REPORTED INCIDENTS OF FATALITIES AND NUMEROUS INJURIES!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2017 - NAPA, CA
TAKATA RECALL DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AIR BAGS HAVE BEEN REPLACED. SINCE REPLACEMENT I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE DASH WARNING LIGHTS INDICATE THAT THE BAGS ARE NOT WORKING AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS ALSO ARE NOT WORKING, THESE WARNINGS HAPPEN EVERY TIME I START THE CAR! I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER (THE ONE THAT REPLACED BOTH BAGS) AND PAID AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED. AT THAT TIME I ALSO MENTIONED MY COMPLAINT FROM PURCHASE THAT THE IGNITION KEY GETS VERY HOT AND THAT THE AUTO BATTERY MUST BE REPLACED EVERY TWO YEARS! THEIR RESPONSE WAS THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR UNUSUAL! THE AUTO HAD 34849 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AT THE TIME (2/13/17) AND CONTIUES TO DATE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/24/2017 - NAPA, CA
TAKATA RECALL DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AIR BAGS HAVE BEEN REPLACED. SINCE REPLACEMENT I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE DASH WARNING LIGHTS INDICATE THAT THE BAGS ARE NOT WORKING AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS ALSO ARE NOT WORKING, THESE WARNINGS HAPPEN EVERY TIME I START THE CAR! I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER (THE ONE THAT REPLACED BOTH BAGS) AND PAID AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED. AT THAT TIME I ALSO MENTIONED MY COMPLAINT FROM PURCHASE THAT THE IGNITION KEY GETS VERY HOT AND THAT THE AUTO BATTERY MUST BE REPLACED EVERY TWO YEARS! THEIR RESPONSE WAS THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR UNUSUAL! THE AUTO HAD 34849 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AT THE TIME (2/13/17) AND CONTIUES TO DATE!

View Details

ENGINE

6/15/2017 - LANG HORNE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE WRENCH WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SLOANE HONDA DEALER LOCATED IN PHILADELPHIA PA, FOR A THIRD OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE LEVELS WERE PERFECT AND DID NOT NEED RINGS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN USED A DIPSTICK AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT SHE NEEDED TO PROVIDE A TWO YEAR HISTORY OF THE OIL CONSUMPTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,102.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2017 - GREAT FALLS, MT
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V061000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (LITHIA HONDA IN GREAT FALLS, MONTANA) CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT KNOW WHEN THE PARTS WOULD ARRIVE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/31/2017 - BURBANK, CA
LETTER FROM CONGRESSMAN SCHIFF ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT RE 2011 HONDA CRV AIRBAG EXPLODED TOTALING HER CAR. THE CONSUMER THE CONSUMER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN AUGUST OF 2016 FOR THE VEHICLE'S AIRBAGS. THE RECALL REQUESTED FOR THE CONSUMER TO RETURN A POST CARD THEN THE DEALER WOULD SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT. THE DEALER NEVER RESPONDED WITH A DATE AND TIME. THE AIRBAG EXPLODED ON FEB 2, 2017, WITHOUT A REASON CAUSING BRIGHT COLORED BRUISING ON THE CONSUMERS ARMS AND CHEST, AND A BROKEN HAND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO PULL THE SRS CODES FROM THE VEHICLE RENDERING, THE CONSUMER UNABLE TO COMPLETE THE INSURANCE CLAIM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2017 - BURLINGAME, CA
THE LEFT REAR DOOR AND THE TRUNK OF MY HONDA CRV 2011 WON'T OPEN ANYMORE. THEY ARE COMPLETELY LOCKED DESPITE TRYING MULTIPLE TIMES TO UNLOCK THEM MANUALLY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
HI. I HAVE A 2011 HONDA CRV. VIN # 5J6RE4H78BL122909. IT HAS A LITTLE OVER 98,500 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT IT FROM SCHLOSSMANN HONDA CITY 3450 S 108TH ST, MILWAUKEE, WI 53227. IT WAS A LEASED VEHICLE BEFORE I PURCHASED IT. I HAVE NOTICED SINCE OWNING IT THAT IT CONSUMES OIL. I HAVE BEEN DOING SOME RESEARCHING ON THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE FOUND OUT THAT HONDA MOTORS HAVE BEEN REPORTED WITH THIS SUCH PROBLEM. MY QUESTION TO HONDA; 1.HOW LONG IS THIS WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE FOR MOTOR AND DRIVETRAIN? 2.HOW DO I PROVE THAT IT CONSUMES OIL, SINCE I HAVE NO PRIOR RECORDS OF SERVICE FROM THE PAST? I DO ALL MY OWN WORK ON VEHICLES, IE; OIL CHANGES, AIR FILTER CHANGES, BRAKES & ROTORS REPLACEMENT, SPARK PLUGS, AND EVEN ADDING AIR TO THE TIRES AND PUMPING GAS. YOU DON+T NEED TO BE A CERTIFIED MECHANIC TO DO ANY OF THIS WORK. I+M NOT SAYING THAT EVERYONE IS CAPABLE OF DOING THIS KIND OF WORK, BUT I FEEL I AM. I HAVE ALWAYS WORKED MY MY OWN VEHICLES SINCE I WAS 16 YEARS OLD. I HAVE 42 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE WITH MAINTENANCE OF VEHICLES. I HAVE PROOF THAT IT CONSUMES OIL, AS I HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTING IT MYSELF. IT IS (1) QUART OF OIL DOWN IN 500 MILES SINCE I JUST CHANGED IT. I USUALLY HAVE TO ADD (3) QUARTS BEFORE MY OIL CHANGE IS EVEN AT 50% LIFE LEFT ON THE OIL LIFE MAINTENANCE DISPLAY ON THE DASH. I END UP CHANGING THE OIL EARLY, (BEFORE 3000 MILES OR 0% OIL LIFE) OF RECOMMENDED SCHEDULE OIL CHANGE. I USE QUALITY VALVOLINE OR MOBIL 1 OIL, SAE 0 + 20W FULL SYNTHETIC OIL. I ALSO USE FRAM OIL FILTERS PH7317. I DON+T USE CHEAP OIL, OIL FILTERS, AIR FILTERS OR INFERIOR PRODUCTS IN MY VEHICLES. THE SAME GOES FOR MY HARLEY DAVIDSON. I LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR RESPONSE ON THIS MATTER. SINCERELY, JEFF BULTMAN

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/15/2017 - CLEVELAND, OH
VEHICLE IN MOTION IN ALL ACCOUNTS. TPMS WARNING LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY ON AND OFF SIGNALING FAULTY TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM. CENTRAL COMPUTER REPLACED. AGAIN TPMS WARNING LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY CAME ON AND OFF. 3 WHEEL SENSORS SUBSEQUENTLY REPLACED. AGAIN TPMS WARNING LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY CAME ON AND OFF. TOLD BY DEALER THERE IS SIGNAL OF FAILURE TO TRANSMIT TO REAR SENSORS IN HISTORY - HOWEVER SYSTEM FUNCTIONING NORMALLY AT THIS TIME AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO NOW. THEY RECOMMENDED NOT PLUGGING ANY PHONE CHARGERS OR ANYTHING ELSE INTO THE CAR POWER JACKS THAT COULD CAUSE INTERFERENCE. THIS SOUNDS LIKE OVERALL FAULTY ELECTRICAL SYSTEM TO ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds