Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 373 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (271) Equipment (1) Power Train (9) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (3) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (12) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/9/2017 - DEPTFORD, NJ
WAS TOLD BY HONDA THAT THE POWER STEERING RAKE IS LEAKING AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED OR CAR COULD LOSE POWER STEERING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/28/2017 - PHELPS, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V061000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER (RHINELANDER HONDA, 1737 N STEVENS ST, RHINELANDER, WI 54501) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH CLOCKSPRING FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT RELATED TO THE AIR BAG INFLATOR REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER OFFERED NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 137,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/2/2017 - NEEDHAM, MA
THE LOCKS ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE PASSENGER'S DOOR AND THE BACK HATCH HAVE SEIZED. I CONTACTED HONDA REGARDING THEIR CAMPAIGN TO REPLACE FAULTY ACTUATORS AND WAS TOLD ALTHOUGH MY MODEL AND YEAR DOES FALL WITHIN THE WARRANTY EXTENSION, MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE CAMPAIGN. MY PROBLEM IS CONSISTENT WITH THE COMPLAINTS LEADING TO THE SETTLEMENT AND SUBSEQUENT CAMPAIGN. I WAS TOLD BY ONE REPRESENTATIVE THAT UNFORTUNATELY MY NEIGHBOR WITH SAME MAKE/MODEL MAY BE INCLUDED IN THE CAMPAIGN, AS IF IT WAS SOME SORT OF LOTTERY. THE LOCKS SEIZED WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AND MY CHILDREN WERE IN THE BACK SEAT, POSING A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY THREAT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/22/2017 - PALM BAY, FL
I DROVE WITH MY HUSBAND TO A GROCERY STORE. AFTER STOPPING THE CAR IN THE PARKING LOT AND TURNING OFF THE ENGINE, I WAS UNABLE TO OPEN THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. WE WERE ABLE TO OPEN THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR, SO I SLID OUT OVER TO THAT SIDE AND EXITED THE VEHICLE. WE LOCKED THE CAR AND WENT INTO THE STORE. WHEN WE RETURNED TO THE CAR, NONE OF THE DOORS WOULD OPEN. I WENT BACK INTO THE STORE TO CALL AAA WHILE MY HUSBAND CONTINUED TRYING TO GET THE DOORS OPEN. HE WAS EVENTUALLY ABLE TO UNLOCK A PASSENGER DOOR, SO I ENTERED ON THAT SIDE, SLID OVER TO THE DRIVER SEAT, STARTED THE CAR AND DROVE HOME. THIS WAS ON SUNDAY 8/20/2017. ON MONDAY WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE HONDA DEALER TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED. AGAIN, THE DRIVER'S DOOR WOULDN'T OPEN. WE WENT INSIDE TO TALK TO THE DESK PEOPLE. THE HONDA SERVICE MAN WANTED TO SEE THIS FOR HIMSELF, SO HE TOOK A KEY OUT TO THE CAR AND STARTED TRYING TO LOCK AND UNLOCK DOORS. HE ENDED UP GETTING ALL THE DOORS LOCKED AND NONE WOULD OPEN. THE HONDA PEOPLE WORKED ON THE CAR. THEY WERE EVENTUALLY ABLE TO GET A PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPEN, BUT COULD NOT GET THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPEN UNTIL THEY REMOVED THAT DOOR PANEL WHILE WORKING ON THE INSIDE OF THE CAR. THE GOT IT FIXED. THEIR "LABOR AND PARTS" DESCRIPTION SAYS "DRIVER DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR FAILURE." THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. FORTUNATELY WE WERE NOT LOCKED INSIDE THE CAR, LIKE WE WERE ON 8/6/2015 (SEE COMPLAINT NUMBER 11018955).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/22/2017 - PALM BAY, FL
FOR SOME REASON THE CAR LOST ALL ELECTRICITY WHILE WE WERE STOPPED AT A RED STOPLIGHT. COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR. COULD NOT OPEN ANY DOORS, NOT THE DRIVER'S SIDE, NOR PASSENGER SIDE. COULD NOT OPEN ANY WINDOWS. CAR WAS STATIONARY ON A BUSY CITY STREET. IT WAS DANGEROUS. I COULD SEE CARS APPROACHING FROM THE REAR AND THEY HAD NO IDEA I WAS STUCK. I HAD NO WAY TO TURN ON THE EMERGENCY FLASHERS, NO WAY TO STICK MY ARM OUT THE WINDOW TO SIGNAL ANYONE OF THE DANGER NOR OF OUR DISTRESS. FORTUNATELY A NICE STRANGER TOOK IT UPON HIMSELF TO PUSH OUR CAR OUT OF THE ROADWAY. THIS HAPPENED ON 8/6/2015. - - - - - NOW SOMETHING SIMILAR HAPPENED TWO DAYS AGO, I'LL SUBMIT IT SEPARATELY. THIS 8/2015 INCIDENT WAS THE FIRST INVOLVING BEING TRAPPED IN THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/24/2017 - OMAHA, NE
OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM - TOOK MY CAR IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE. 96662 MILES. OIL LIFE AT 15% PER MANUAL OIL MAINTENANCE. EXCLUSIVE HONDA (NOT A DEALER) FOUND NO OIL IN MY CAR. SENT ME TO A HONDA DEALER IMMEDIATELY TO TAKE CARE OF. SINCE THEY ARE NOT A HONDA DEALER THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING TO MY CAR OR MAY NEGATE THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE HONDA DEALER FOUND A SEAL OIL LEAK STATED IT WAS PROBABLY DUE TO THE HIGH MILES. I WENT BACK AFTER 1000 MILES PER THE REQUIREMENTS FOR OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE OIL LEVEL & USE WAS CORRECT FOR 1000 MILES. OIL LIFE WAS AT 80%. I PLANNED TO CHANGE MY OIL EVERY 5000 TO AVOID THIS PROBLEM. HOWEVER I AM ON MY 3RD TIME TO HAVE THE HONDA DEALER TO CHECK FOR OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS. I WILL BE SENDING ALL THE COMPLAINTS SEPARATELY. I AM NOTIFYING ALL THAT I CAN IN HOPES TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED BY HONDA.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/24/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
"TAKAYA RECALL" I RECENTLY RECEIVED A LETTER FOR MY AUTOMOBILE DEALER ABOUT THE RECALL AND I FEAR DRIVING IT DUE TO THE REPORTED INCIDENTS OF FATALITIES AND NUMEROUS INJURIES!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2017 - NAPA, CA
TAKATA RECALL DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AIR BAGS HAVE BEEN REPLACED. SINCE REPLACEMENT I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE DASH WARNING LIGHTS INDICATE THAT THE BAGS ARE NOT WORKING AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS ALSO ARE NOT WORKING, THESE WARNINGS HAPPEN EVERY TIME I START THE CAR! I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER (THE ONE THAT REPLACED BOTH BAGS) AND PAID AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED. AT THAT TIME I ALSO MENTIONED MY COMPLAINT FROM PURCHASE THAT THE IGNITION KEY GETS VERY HOT AND THAT THE AUTO BATTERY MUST BE REPLACED EVERY TWO YEARS! THEIR RESPONSE WAS THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR UNUSUAL! THE AUTO HAD 34849 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AT THE TIME (2/13/17) AND CONTIUES TO DATE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/24/2017 - NAPA, CA
TAKATA RECALL DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AIR BAGS HAVE BEEN REPLACED. SINCE REPLACEMENT I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE DASH WARNING LIGHTS INDICATE THAT THE BAGS ARE NOT WORKING AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS ALSO ARE NOT WORKING, THESE WARNINGS HAPPEN EVERY TIME I START THE CAR! I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER (THE ONE THAT REPLACED BOTH BAGS) AND PAID AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED. AT THAT TIME I ALSO MENTIONED MY COMPLAINT FROM PURCHASE THAT THE IGNITION KEY GETS VERY HOT AND THAT THE AUTO BATTERY MUST BE REPLACED EVERY TWO YEARS! THEIR RESPONSE WAS THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR UNUSUAL! THE AUTO HAD 34849 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AT THE TIME (2/13/17) AND CONTIUES TO DATE!

View Details

ENGINE

6/15/2017 - LANG HORNE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE WRENCH WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SLOANE HONDA DEALER LOCATED IN PHILADELPHIA PA, FOR A THIRD OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE LEVELS WERE PERFECT AND DID NOT NEED RINGS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN USED A DIPSTICK AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT SHE NEEDED TO PROVIDE A TWO YEAR HISTORY OF THE OIL CONSUMPTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,102.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds