Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 90 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (3) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (7) Steering (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/2/2015 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
IN LATE AUGUST I PULLED INTO MY CHURCH PARKING LOT AS I DO EVERY SUNDAY. MY RIGHT FOOT WAS ON THE BREAK PEDAL AND I WAS GOING ABOUT 5 MPH WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. WHILE I PRESSED DOWN HARD ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE SHOT PAST THE PARKING SPACE HITTING A TREE. THE CAR BARELY MISSED A PARISHIONER WALKING ON THE SIDEWALK. THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW AND SIDE OF THE CAR WERE SMASHED. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A HONDA COLLISION REPAIR SHOP. AMERICAN HONDA CAME OUT AND INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION AND THAT WHAT HAPPENED TO ME "IS NOT KNOWN TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE." THE DAMAGE WAS $5885. I WAS VERY UPSET BECAUSE I LOVED THE CRV, BUT KNEW I COULD NOT CHANCE A REPEAT PERFORMANCE. THIS MEANT TRADING IT IN AT A SIGNIFICANT FINANCIAL LOSS TO MY FAMILY. WE GOT NOWHERE TRYING TO GET AMERICAN HONDA TO REDUCE THE FINANCIAL BURDEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/6/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
AT 125,000 MILES MY TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. $3,600 FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION??? THAT IS WAY ABOVE OTHER MODEL SUV I HAVE SEEN. THERE ARE SIX VERSIONS FOR THIS ONE MODEL OF SUV, THAT IS CRAZY. NOT TO MENTION TO REMOVE IT ADDS A OT OF COST VS FORD OR CHEVY ( THIS IS THE WORD OF THE REPAIR SHOP)

View Details

WHEELS

10/5/2015 - MARSHFIELD, WI
ORIGINAL OWNER NOTED MISSING LUGNUT ON REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL-STUD WAS BROKEN OFF DURING ROUTINE TIRE CHECK. UNKNOWN WHEN THIS FELL OFF. TOOK IN FOR SERVICE. MECHANIC NOTED THAT THREE ADDITIONAL WHEEL STUDS ON DIFFERENT WHEELS SNAPPED WITH MINIMAL TORQUE WHILE ROTATING TIRES. AUTO WITH 40,000 MILES, TIRES ARE AFTERMARKET, WHEEL RIM OEM. WHEELS LAST CHANGED (WITH NEW TIRE PURCHASE) ABOUT 15 MO PRIOR TO THIS EVENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/1/2015 - PLANO, TX
WAS AT VERY LOW SPEED AND ATTEMPTING TO PARK MY CAR IN A MALL PARKING SPOT. AS I TRIED TO SLOW DOWN FURTHER AND PARK THE CAR AND TURNING INTO THE SPOT, THE CAR ACCELERATED EVEN THOUGH I APPLIED MAXIMUM PRESSURE TO THE BRAKES. THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE AND I SIDE SWIPED ONE CAR ON MY LEFT AND RAMMED THE CAR IN FRONT OF MY SPACE---MY CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED BECAUSE OF THE IMPACT TO THE OTHER VEHICLE AND I FINALLY COULD TURN THE CAR OFF AS IT WAS STILL RUNNING. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. BOTH INSTANCES WERE VERY SIMILAR AS I WAS PARKING THE CAR IN A SPACE AT LOW SPEED. THE FIRST INSTANCE WAS VERY MINOR (OCCURRED IN MAR 2013) BUT THIS INSTANCE IS VERY MAJOR--SERIOUS DAMAGE TO MY CAR AND THE OTHER CARS--I WAS LUCKY I DID NOT GET HURT IN EITHER CASE--SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THIS CAR AND MAYBE 2011 CR-VS.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2015 - PLANO, TX
WAS AT VERY LOW SPEED AND ATTEMPTING TO PARK MY CAR IN A MALL PARKING SPOT. AS I TRIED TO SLOW DOWN FURTHER AND PARK THE CAR AND TURNING INTO THE SPOT, THE CAR ACCELERATED EVEN THOUGH I APPLIED MAXIMUM PRESSURE TO THE BRAKES. THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE AND I SIDE SWIPED ONE CAR ON MY LEFT AND RAMMED THE CAR IN FRONT OF MY SPACE---MY CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED BECAUSE OF THE IMPACT TO THE OTHER VEHICLE AND I FINALLY COULD TURN THE CAR OFF AS IT WAS STILL RUNNING. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. BOTH INSTANCES WERE VERY SIMILAR AS I WAS PARKING THE CAR IN A SPACE AT LOW SPEED. THE FIRST INSTANCE WAS VERY MINOR (OCCURRED IN MAR 2013) BUT THIS INSTANCE IS VERY MAJOR--SERIOUS DAMAGE TO MY CAR AND THE OTHER CARS--I WAS LUCKY I DID NOT GET HURT IN EITHER CASE--SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THIS CAR AND MAYBE 2011 CR-VS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/17/2015 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
WE PURCHASED A HONDA CERTIFIED VEHICLE IN JAN 2015. AFTER 4,000 MILES THE OIL LIGHT FLASHED ON PERIODICALLY. WE CHECKED THE OIL AND THE DIPSTICK WAS DRY. I ADDED TWO QUARTS OF OIL, IT STILL SHOWED ONLY HALF ON THE DIP STICK AND WE TOOK IT TO HONDA. THEY CHARGED US FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND SAID THEY NEEDED TO DO A CONSUMPTION TEST. AFTER TWO 1,000 MILES CONSUMPTION CHECKS, IT WAS BURNING A QUART OF OIL IN EACH CHECK. THE LAST CHECK, WE TOOK A PICTURE OF THE DIPSTICK AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT BEFORE WE TOOK IT TO HONDA. IT WAS A QUART LOW AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT TOLD US THAT IT WAS BARELY LOW. THEY LIED TO US. THEY ALSO TOLD US THIS IS NORMAL CONSUMPTION. WE CALLED HONDA DIRECTLY AND CAN'T SEEM TO GET ANYONE TO LISTEN TO US.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/10/2015 - ROCHESTER, NY
FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR CANNOT BE LOCKED USING THE KEY FOB OR THE CENTRAL LOCK BUTTON ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. THE ONLY WAY TO LOCK/UNLOCK IT IS TO DO IT MANUALLY. THE TRUNK CANNOT BE UNLOCKED IF THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR IS LOCKED. TRUNK CAN ONLY BE UNLOCKED WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR IS UNLOCKED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/3/2015 - NEW MARKET, MD
DRIVERS SIDE DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS FAILING INCONSISTENTLY AND RANDOMLY. SOMETIMES VEHICLE CANNOT BE LOCKED OR UNLOCKED. WHEN DRIVERS SIDE REAR ACTUATOR FAILS THE TRUNK ALSO FAILS TO OPEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/9/2015 - OKEMOS, MI
DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR PROBLEM: DRIVERS REAR DOOR LOCK IS IN OPEN MODE TO LOCK AND UNLOCK. HONDA DEALER TESTED AND THEN REPLACED DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR. DUE TO THE SAME ACTUATOR PROBLEM HONDA SETTLED A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR CLASS VEHICLES (2007-2009 HONDA CR-VS AND CERTAIN 2009 HONDA CR-VS) ON SEPTEMBER 19, 2014, BY AND BETWEEN AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC. (ôHONDAö) AND PLAINTIFFS IN DAVITT V. HONDA NORTH AMERICA, INC., CASE NO. 13-381 (D.N.J.) (THE ôLITIGATIONö). (HTTP://SETTLEMENT-CLAIMS.COM/DOORLOCK/INDEX.ASPX).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2015 - OKEMOS, MI
DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR PROBLEM: DRIVERS REAR DOOR LOCK IS IN OPEN MODE TO LOCK AND UNLOCK. HONDA DEALER TESTED AND THEN REPLACED DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR. DUE TO THE SAME ACTUATOR PROBLEM HONDA SETTLED A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR CLASS VEHICLES (2007-2009 HONDA CR-VS AND CERTAIN 2009 HONDA CR-VS) ON SEPTEMBER 19, 2014, BY AND BETWEEN AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC. (ôHONDAö) AND PLAINTIFFS IN DAVITT V. HONDA NORTH AMERICA, INC., CASE NO. 13-381 (D.N.J.) (THE ôLITIGATIONö). (HTTP://SETTLEMENT-CLAIMS.COM/DOORLOCK/INDEX.ASPX).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds