Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 61 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - TROY, OH
WIFE HAD PURSE IN THE CAR AND THE DOORS LOCKED ON THEIR OWN. THIS LOCKED HER OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS OCCURRED A NUMBER OF TIMES SINCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - TROY, OH
WIFE HAD PURSE IN THE CAR AND THE DOORS LOCKED ON THEIR OWN. THIS LOCKED HER OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS OCCURRED A NUMBER OF TIMES SINCE.

View Details

WHEELS

6/30/2014 - NASHUA, NH
I CALLED IN A CLAIM/COMPLAINT AROUN JUNE 8 2012 FOR PREMATURE WEAR FOR CONTINENTAL 225/65R17-102T TIRES EQUIPPED ON 2011 HONDA CR-V TO CONTINENTAL &HONDA. CONTINENTAL ADVERTISES TIRES ARE WARRANTED FOR 65,000 MILES OR 6 YEARS. IT BECAME NECESSARY TO REPLACE ALL 4 TIRES 0608/2012 AT 31,463 MILES OR LESS THAN HALF THE EXPECTED LIFE OF THE TIRE BECAUSE THE TIRES CAUSE MY VEHICLE TO FAIL INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE AND TIRES CONSISTENTLY WERE SERVICED BY ACCREDITED HONDA DEALER & TIRE PRESSURE MAINTAINED.BOTH HONDA AND CONTINENTAL REFUSED TO HONOR THE WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2014 - DANVILLE, VA
PASSENGER DOOR AND REAR HATCH DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK. DEALER REPLACED FRONT DOOR LATCH ASSEMBLY. COST: LATCH ASSEMBLY: $69.72: LABOR: $340.00; SHOP SUPPLIES: $25.00: TOTAL COST: $438.42

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2014 - PLYMOUTH, MI
I FILED A CLAIM/COMPLAINT APRIL 6, 2014 FOR PREMATURE WEAR FOR CONTINENTAL 225/65R17-102T TIRES EQUIPPED ON 2011 HONDA CR-V TO CONTINENTAL &HONDA. CONTINENTAL ADVERTISES TIRES ARE WARRANTED FOR 65,000 MILES OR 6 YEARS. IT BECAME NECESSARY TO REPLACE ALL 4 TIRES 3/19/14 AT 31,013 MILES OR LESS THAN HALF THE EXPECTED LIFE OF THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE AND TIRES CONSISTENTLY WERE SERVICED BY ACCREDITED HONDA DEALER & TIRE PRESSURE MAINTAINED. ADDITIONALLY, ON APRIL 6, 2012 THE RIGHT REAR TIRE WENT FLAT WITH NO CAUSE PROVIDED AND REPLACED AT A COST OF $193.00. I HAVE RECEIVED NO COMPENSATION FOR THAT TIRE. SUBSEQUENTLY, ON 4/22/14 HONDA REPRESENTATIVE MICHAEL RESPONDED TO MY LETTER OF 4/6/14. HE REFERRED ME TO CONTINENTAL TIRE & DENIED ANY COMPENSATION FROM HONDA. ON 4/23/14, ôJESSIEö WITH CONTINENTAL TIRES CALLED TO CONFIRM THEY ôNEVER GUARANTEE OR WARRANT MILEAGE ON TIRESö. SHE SPECIFICALLY DIRECTED ME TO ADJUSTMENT POLICY, #3. "TREAD WEAROUT UP TO A PREDETERMINED MILEAGE IS NOT COVERED UNDER THIS POLICY."SHE, TOO, REFUSED ANY ADJUSTMENT OR RESOLUTION TO THE PREMATURE TIRE WEAR. ADDITIONALLY, SHE WOULD NOT CONSIDER THE TIRE REPLACED 4/6/12 BECAUSE THE DEALER DID NOT FILE A CLAIM. HONDA CORPORATION UNILATERALLY CONTRACTS WITH CONTINENTAL TO PROVIDE THE 225/65R17-102T TIRES FOR THEIR CR-V PRODUCT. THE CUSTOMER CANNOT SUBSTITUTE THE BRAND OF TIRES. HONDA CONTINUES TO EQUIP CR-V MODELS WITH CONTINENTAL 225/65R17-102T TIRES EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE BEEN ON NOTICE OF POOR TREAD PERFORMANCE FOR YEARS AND CONTINUE THE RELATIONSHIP KNOWING CONTINENTAL DOES NOT WARRANT THE PRODUCT. CONTINENTAL WILL NOT GIVE AN ADJUSTMENT AND HONDA CLAIMS THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE. NEITHER CONTINENTAL OR HONDA WILL PROVIDE, IN WRITING, THEIR BASIS FOR DENIAL NOR WOULD THEY ALLOW ME TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/14/2014 - RENSSELAER, NY
WITHIN THE LAST MONTH, MY 2011 CRV HAS HAD A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE DOOR LOCK. WHEN I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON, THE DRIVER'S DOOR REMAINS LOCKED AND WILL ONLY TURN MANUALLY. LIKEWISE, IT WILL ONLY LOCK MANUALLY. THE OTHER DAY I COULDN'T OPEN MY TRUNK BECAUSE OF THE LOCKING ISSUE. BECAUSE OF THE UNLOCKING, THE SENSORS AFFECTED MY DOME LIGHT AND MY BATTERY DIED AFTER 3 YEARS. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALLS YET. IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2014 - RENSSELAER, NY
WITHIN THE LAST MONTH, MY 2011 CRV HAS HAD A RECURRING ISSUE WITH THE DOOR LOCK. WHEN I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON, THE DRIVER'S DOOR REMAINS LOCKED AND WILL ONLY TURN MANUALLY. LIKEWISE, IT WILL ONLY LOCK MANUALLY. THE OTHER DAY I COULDN'T OPEN MY TRUNK BECAUSE OF THE LOCKING ISSUE. BECAUSE OF THE UNLOCKING, THE SENSORS AFFECTED MY DOME LIGHT AND MY BATTERY DIED AFTER 3 YEARS. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALLS YET. IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CRV. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED ABRUPTLY AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SPIN THREE TIMES BEFORE CRASHING INTO THE MEDIAN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED INTO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE RECHARGED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON SUNDAY MARCH 30 I WAS COMING OUT OF THE GROCERY STORE AND I WENT TO MY CAR TO PUT MY THINGS AWAY BUT WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN MY CAR WITH MY KEY FOB IT WOULD OPEN SO I KEPT TRYING FOR A FEW MINUTES UNTIL I DECIDED TO USE THE ACTUAL KEY ITSELF TO UNLOCK AND EVEN THEN IT ONLY OPEN ONE DOOR. ALSO WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN THE LOCKS MANUALLY WITH THE BUTTONS IN THE INSIDE THAT DIDN'T WORK EITHER. LATER THAT DAY I TRIED OPENING ALL THE DOORS WITH MY KEY BUT BY THE TIME I GET TO THE NEXT ONE IT LOCKS BY ITSELF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/4/2014 - MODESTO, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2011 HONDA CRV BRAND NEW FROM OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP. I HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH IT UNTIL LAST MONTH. I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT WHENEVER I CAME TO A STOP OR SLOWED DOWN BELOW 10 MPH AND THEN ACCELERATED, MY DOORS WOULD MAKE THE LOCKING SOUND EVEN THOUGH THEY WERE ALREADY LOCKED. IT HAPPENS REPEATEDLY AS I SLOW DOWN/STOP AND THEN ACCELERATE. THEN TODAY (3/4/2014) THE PROBLEM ESCALATED. I CAME OUT OF THE GROCERY STORE AND COULDN'T UNLOCK THE CARGO DOOR WITH MY KEY FOB. I NOTICED THAT THE LEFT PASSENGER DOOR DIDN'T UNLOCK AS WELL. I PRESSED THE BUTTON A FEW MORE TIMES AND THEY WOULDN'T UNLOCK. THE DRIVER DOOR, FRONT PASSENGER AND RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOORS DID UNLOCK. SO THEN I PRESSED THE UNLOCK BUTTON ON THE DRIVER DOOR ARMREST BUT THE CARGO DOOR AND THE LEFT PASSENGER DOOR STILL DIDN'T UNLOCK. I HAD TO PUT MY GROCERIES IN THROUGH THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR SINCE THE CARGO DOOR DOESN'T HAVE A WAY TO OPEN MANUALLY FROM THE INSIDE, NOR MANUALLY WITH A KEY FROM THE OUTSIDE. IF THIS PROBLEM GETS WORSE, THIS CAN POSE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM. WHAT IF THERE'S AN EMERGENCY AND YOUR CAR DOESN'T UNLOCK? I JUST DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE PROBLEM TO SEE IF IT WAS SOMETHING SIMPLE THAT COULD BE FIXED. A QUICK ONLINE SEARCH BROUGHT MY ATTENTION TO COUNTLESS COMPLAINTS OF DOOR LOCK FAILURES ON CRV'S. SEEMS THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT'S BEEN GOING ON FOR YEARS (AT LEAST 2007-2011). I WAS SHOCKED TO FIND OUT HONDA HASN'T ISSUED A RECALL. THIS IS A WIDESPREAD AND SERIOUS PROBLEM! I CALLED MY HONDA DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT THE APPROXIMATE COST TO REPLACE THE DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS. THIS ISN'T A CHEAP FIX! THEY WOULD CHARGE $180 LABOR FOR EACH DOOR THEY WOULD NEED TO FIX ON TOP OF THE COST OF EACH DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR WHICH RANGES FROM $59 TO $75 EACH, DEPENDING ON WHICH DOOR THE PART IS FOR. I WOULD NEED 2, POSSIBLY 3, REPLACED SO THAT WOULD BE ABOUT $500 TO ALMOST $750.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds