Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CR-V - 2011 HONDA CR-V Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA CR-V

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA CR-V. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA CR-V, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (11) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (6) Steering (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2015 - SAINT CHARLES , MO
DRIVER DOOR LOCK STOPPED WORKING AND COULD ONLY BE OPERATED MANUALLY. ALL OTHER DOOR LOCKS WORK FINE WITH THE POWER LOCK BUTTON AND KEY FOB. THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE WI PREVIOUS YEARS OF THEIRS SAME MAKE AND MODEL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEATING CORE FAILED TO WORK, THERE WAS AIR BLOWING UNDER THE DASHBOARD, THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR, AND A FILM WAS PRESENT ON THE WINDOWS THAT IMPACTED THE CONTACTS VISIBILITY EACH TIME THE VENT CONTROLS WERE USED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-FREEZE WAS ENTERING THE CABIN AND THE VAPORS CAUSED THE CONTACT TO HAVE TO OPEN THE WINDOWS WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,300.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - HIGHLAND, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA CR-V. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL EXCESSIVELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN PERFORMED AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST AND DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTONS RINGS AND V-TEC ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

SEATS

1/21/2015 - STRATFORD, CT
DRIVERS SEAT BELT ( LAP PORTION ) FRAYING ON THE EDGE, AND THE DRIVERS SEAT BACK FABRIC HAS A 1-1/2 INCH TEAR (SEPARATION ).

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/21/2015 - STRATFORD, CT
DRIVERS SEAT BELT ( LAP PORTION ) FRAYING ON THE EDGE, AND THE DRIVERS SEAT BACK FABRIC HAS A 1-1/2 INCH TEAR (SEPARATION ).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/9/2015 - MANSFIELD, MA
ON DECEMBER 13TH AT APPROXIMATELY NOON I WAS STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT IN MANSFIELD, MA BEHIND THE WHEEL OF MY 2011 HONDA CRV( WITH A LITTLE OVER 66, 000 MILES), HEADING WEST ON ROUTE 106 AT THE INTERSECTION WITH ROUTE 140, IN THE LEFT LANE. WITH MY FOOT SQUARELY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE CAR BEGAN TO SLOWLY MOVE FORWARD. IT FELT LIKE I WAS BEING PUSHED FROM BEHIND. I IMMEDIATELY PUT THE GEAR SHIFT IN NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE REVVED UP TO RED LINE AT WHICH POINT I SHUT THE CAR OFF. I SAT THERE FOR A MINUTE AND DECIDE TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON TO SEE IF THE ENGINE WAS STILL REVVING. IT WAS NOT, SO I CAREFULLY DROVE HOME WITH ON HAND ON THE GEAR SHIFT. THE CAR WAS SUBSEQUENTLY INSPECTED BY PRIME HONDA AND HONDA MOTOR CO (CASE NO. N012014-12-15-0038) AND NO DEFECTS WERE FOUND. AT MY REQUEST ,THEY INSTALLED A NEW COMPUTER CHIP CHARGING ME THEIR COST.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/31/2014 - TUXEDO PARK, NY
LEFT REAR CALIPER PIN STUCK RESULTING IN CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF PADS AND BRAKE DRUM. DEALER UNABLE TO EXPLAIN HOW OR WHY AND UPON COMPLETION OF REPAIR STATED A NEW PIN WAS NOT NEEDED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/17/2014 - KALONA, IA
THERE IS AN "AIR BAG" WARNING LIGHT ON IN THIS VEHICLE. WHEN HOOKED UP TO COMPUTER IT READS "AIR BAG INFLATOR" PROBLEM. OLDER MODELS OF HONDA'S HAVE HAD RECALL NOTICES FOR THIS PROBLEM. I CALLED BILLION HONDA IN IOWA CITY, IA AND THEY RESPONDED "NO RECALL" ON THIS VEHICLE AND "NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY" AND WERE RUDE ON THE PHONE. WARRANT STATES 15 YEARS OR 150K MILE WARRANTY ON "SAFETY RESTRAINTS". WITH PAST HISTORY AND WARRANTY COVERAGE I WOULD THINK THEY WOULD CORRECT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THE LIABILITY BECOMES GREATER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - FOUNTAIN HILLS, AZ
IN MAY, 2014, THE RIGHT REAR POWER WINDOW QUIT WORKING AND WOULD NOT GO BACK UP AFTER HAVING IT COMPLETELY DOWN. I TOGGLED THE WINDOW SWITCH A FEW TIMES AND THE WINDOW EVENTUALLY WENT BACK UP, SO I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A GLITCH. WE LIVE IN ARIZONA WHERE THE SUMMERTIME IS VERY HOT, SO THE WINDOW WAS NEVER USED AGAIN DUE TO AIR CONDITIONING. THE WINDOW WAS USED RECENTLY BECAUSE THE WEATHER HAS COOLED DOWN FROM THE SUMMER HEAT. THIS TIME, TOGGLING THE SWITCH DID NOT WORK AND THE WINDOW STAYED IN THE DOWN POSITION COMPLETELY. I TOOK THE HONDA CR-V TO A LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP WHICH DIAGNOSED THE ISSUE AS A FAULTY MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCH. I'VE RESEARCHED AND DISCOVERED THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH FAULTY MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCHES ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT HONDA MODELS. THERE ARE SEVERAL RECALLS AFFECTING JUST UNDER ONE MILLION AUTOMOBILES MANUFACTURED AND THERE IS A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD ACCORDING TO HONDA. THE COMPANY'S RECALL STATEMENT SAYS, "WATER, RAIN, OR OTHER LIQUID MAY ENTER THE DRIVER'S WINDOW AND REACH THE MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCH, RESULTING IN IMPAIRED FUNCTION OF THE SWITCH...SWITCH IS DAMAGED AS A RESULT OF THE LIQUID INTRUSION, IT MAY RESULT IN FAILURE OF THE SWITCH AND OVERHEATING...AN OVERHEATING SWITCH MAY CAUSE SMOKE, MELTING OR, POTENTIALLY, FIRE." THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION OPENED AN INVESTIGATION INTO A FIRE HAZARD WITH THE MASTER POWER SWITCH ON THE HONDA CR-VS. ALSO, CHRIS NAUGHTON, A HONDA SPOKESMAN, SAID ONE PERSON DIED IN SOUTH AFRICA IN A FIRE ATTRIBUTED TO THE PROBLEM. IT IS APPARENT HONDA STILL HAS NOT PROPERLY CORRECTED THE MASTER POWER WINDOW SWITCH ISSUE. PLEASE CONTINUE YOUR INVESTIGATION OF THIS ISSUE. HONDA'S ENGINEERS NEED TO RE-DESIGN THE SWITCH; IT-++S HOUSING, AND REPLACE ALL POTENTIAL FAULTY MASTER SWITCHES TO ENSURE CONSUMERS-++ SAFETY FROM FIRE/DEATH AND FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/15/2014 - STOW, OH
WE PULLED OUR HONDA CRV 2011 INTO A PARKING LOT AT BONEFISH GRILL IN CANTON OHIO ON NOVEMBER 30, 2014. MY MOTHER WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND THE ACCELERATOR MOVED TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR COULD NOT BE STOPPED BY SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES. WE ENDED UP RUNNING INTO A CAR PARKED IN FRONT OF US THEN A CAR TO THE LEFT OF US AND THEN THE CAR WAS FINALLY STOPPED WHEN WE RAN INTO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER CAR PARKED IN THE LOT WHERE IT FINALLY CAME TO REST. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, AND WE WERE NOT INJURED. WE WERE VERY SCARED AND THERE WAS SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO THE 3 OTHER CARS AS WELL AS OUR OWN. WE HAVE READ ONLINE THE STORIES OF OTHERS THAT HAD VERY SIMILAR SITUATIONS WITH THIS PARTICULAR MAKE AND MODEL VEHICLE. WE DO NOT PLAN ON EVER GETTING IN THIS VEHICLE AGAIN AND WILL NOT TRUST ANY VEHICLE THAT HONDA BUILDS AS WELL. THIS INCIDENT LUCKILY HAPPENED IN A PARKING LOT. IF WE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN INTERSECTION WE OR SOMEONE ELSE WOULD LIKELY HAVE BEEN KILLED. THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED AND CUSTOMERS SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THE NEGLIGENCE ON THE PART OF THE COMPANY. IT LOOKS LIKE FROM THE STORIES THAT WE HAVE READ THAT HONDA IS CLAIMING NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE AND BLAMING IT ON DRIVER ERROR. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE AND HONDA NEEDS TO OWN UP TO THEIR INCOMPETENCE AND DISHONESTY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds