Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 113 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (39) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (19)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/24/2013 - FOREST HILL, MD
ON JUNE 11, 2013 I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. I WAS IN A PARKING LOT AND HAD PULLED INTO A PARKING PLACE. I WAS STOPPED AND PUTTING MY CAR INTO PARK. AS I REACH NEUTRAL MY CAR ACCELERATED FAST...THIS WAS MORE THEN A LUNGE FORWARD, IT WAS MORE LIKE A POWER SURGE. MY CAR CONTINUED FORWARD AT A VERY FAST SPEED, DESPITE MY BRAKING ( THERE WERE SKID MARKS) AND HIT A WALL. I ENDED UP WITH LOTS OF MASSIVE BRUISING AND SPRAINED MUSCLES. PLUS I WAS VERY FRIGHTENED. THERE WAS LOTS OF DAMAGE TO MY CAR. IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE I PURCHASED IT. IT IS SILL IN THEIR BODY SHOP. A FEW DAYS AFTER THE ACCIDENT I CHECKED THE INTERNET TO SEE IF ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS PROBLEM. THERE WERE LOTS & LOTS OF EXAMPLES OF THIS, SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION PROBLEM, WITH THE 2011 SANTA FE. I DON'T SEE ANY RESPONSES FROM HYUNDAI. THIS PROBLEM HAS TO BE DEALT WITH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/24/2013 - FOREST HILL, MD
ON JUNE 11, 2013 I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. I WAS IN A PARKING LOT AND HAD PULLED INTO A PARKING PLACE. I WAS STOPPED AND PUTTING MY CAR INTO PARK. AS I REACH NEUTRAL MY CAR ACCELERATED FAST...THIS WAS MORE THEN A LUNGE FORWARD, IT WAS MORE LIKE A POWER SURGE. MY CAR CONTINUED FORWARD AT A VERY FAST SPEED, DESPITE MY BRAKING ( THERE WERE SKID MARKS) AND HIT A WALL. I ENDED UP WITH LOTS OF MASSIVE BRUISING AND SPRAINED MUSCLES. PLUS I WAS VERY FRIGHTENED. THERE WAS LOTS OF DAMAGE TO MY CAR. IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE I PURCHASED IT. IT IS SILL IN THEIR BODY SHOP. A FEW DAYS AFTER THE ACCIDENT I CHECKED THE INTERNET TO SEE IF ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS PROBLEM. THERE WERE LOTS & LOTS OF EXAMPLES OF THIS, SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION PROBLEM, WITH THE 2011 SANTA FE. I DON'T SEE ANY RESPONSES FROM HYUNDAI. THIS PROBLEM HAS TO BE DEALT WITH.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2013 - FORKED RIVER, NJ
I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE AFTER THE ENGINE HESITATED AND BUCKED FORWARD SEPT, 2012. IT HAD APPROX. 29,500 MILES. TODAY JUNE 21, 2013 WHILE PUTTING IT IN REVERSE, I HEARD A LOUD "CLUNK" AND ALSO HEARD SAME "CLUNK" WHEN I CHANGED IT FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE. ENGINE THEN PROCEEDED TO HESITATE AND BUCK ALL THE WAY HOME. IT IS GOING IN FOR SERVICE AGAIN (SECOND TIME) TOMORROW. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/29/2013 - JESUP, GA
I BOUGHT THE CAR IN LATE MARCH 2013 AND THE MILEAGE WAS AROUND 50,800. EVERY SINCE THEN IT PERIODICALLY HESITATES TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP OR SOMETIMES WHEN THE CAR IS ROLLING FORWARD VERY SLOWLY. IN EVERY CASE THE GAS PEDDLE (THROTTLE) IS FULLY RELEASED AND WHEN I PUSH ON THE GAS PEDDLE, NOTHING HAPPENS. THE MOTOR DOES NOT SPEED UP, THE THROTTLE IS NOT ENGAGING ANYTHING. SEVERAL TIMES I PUSHED THE PEDDLE HALF THE WAY TO THE FLOOR, AND NOTHING HAPPENED. THEN ALL AT ONCE, IT CATCHES, AND THE CAR TAKES OFF AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED. THE CAR IS NOT "CODING" SO THE BRUNSWICK, GA HYUNDAI DEALING WILL NOT REPAIR WHAT IS WRONG. AND NATURALLY IT HAS NOT HAPPENED THE FEW TIME THEY HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR. THIS IS A HIGHLY DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT COULD RESULT IN DEATH WHEN PULLING OUT FROM A STOP ON TO A BUSY ROAD. IT IS NERVE RACKING TO THINK, THIS MIGHT BE THE TIME THE CAR WON'T MOVE! I TOOK A QUICK LOOK AT THE DATA BASE OF COMPLAINTS AND THIS SAME COMPLAINT IS IN YOUR DATA BASE. AGAIN IT IS A PERIODIC HAPPENING WHICH MAKES IT MORE DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2013 - OAKLAND, CA
TOOK MY CAR IN TO HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN CONCORD, CA ON APPROX. MARCH 17TH OF THIS YEAR FOR PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS OF ENGINE SUDDENLY SHUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING. WAS TOLD AT THAT TIME THAT NO ERROR CODES WERE RECORDED BY THE CAR'S COMPUTER AND THAT HYUNDAI MECHANICS COULD NOT FIND ANY MECHANICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE. THEY THEN TALKED TO HYUNDAI ENGINEERS AND DECIDED THAT POSSIBLY THE CARS THROTTLE BODIES COULD BE A PROBLEM AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD DO A "GOOD WILL" REPLACEMENT OF THIS AUTO PART. SINCE THAT TIME, I HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR APPROXIMATELY 1K MILES WITHOUT INCIDENT, UNTIL THIS PAST SATURDAY MAY 18 2013. I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC, GOING AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 5-15 MPH. I PUSHED THE BRAKE TO DO A GRADUAL SLOW, THEN WENT TO PUSH THE ACCELERATOR BUT THERE WAS NO POWER. I LOOKED DOWN TO SEE MY DASH LIGHTS WERE PRESENT, BUT NO ENGINE SOUND. I SLOWED THE CAR TO A COMPLETE STOP, TURNED THE IGNITION OFF, THEN TURNED IT ON AND THE ENGINE STARTED RIGHT UP. AGAIN, AS PREVIOUS, NO ERROR MESSAGES APPEARED ON MY DASH. THE CAR HAS BEEN DRIVEN WITHOUT INCIDENT SO FAR 200 MILES SINCE THIS LAST INCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP HAS ASKED ME TO BRING THE CAR IN AND ALLOW THEM TEST DRIVE THE CAR FOR A DAY HOPING THAT THIS INTERMITTENT PROBLEM WILL OCCUR FOR THEM. IT APPEARS TO BE CONNECTED TO HITTING THE BRAKES, SLOWING, THEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. ALL TIMES THIS SO FAR THIS HAS OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON AN INCLINE. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 35, 500 MILES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/20/2013 - WAXHAW, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ON SEVEN OCCASIONS, THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD NOT MOVE OUT OF DRIVE INTO REVERSE OR NEUTRAL UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V113000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL HOWEVER, THE FAILURE THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED WAS NOT MENTIONED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/20/2013 - WAXHAW, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ON SEVEN OCCASIONS, THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD NOT MOVE OUT OF DRIVE INTO REVERSE OR NEUTRAL UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V113000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL HOWEVER, THE FAILURE THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED WAS NOT MENTIONED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/20/2013 - WAXHAW, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ON SEVEN OCCASIONS, THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD NOT MOVE OUT OF DRIVE INTO REVERSE OR NEUTRAL UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V113000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL HOWEVER, THE FAILURE THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED WAS NOT MENTIONED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/14/2013 - PRESQUE ISLE, MI
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THE VEHICLE SLIGHTLY BEGINS TO MOVE BUT NO ACCELERATION COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THIS RESULTS IN A VERY SLOW 1-2 MPH MOVEMENT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON A HANDFUL OF OCCASIONS AND IS VERY DANGEROUS. OFTEN WHEN PULLING OUT INTO A HIGHWAY WHEN ACCELERATION IS NEEDED THE VEHICLE JUST CREEPS INTO TRAFFIC. APPEARS THAT THE ENGINE IS JUST IDLING WITHOUT ANY INCREASE IN RPM WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS DEPRESSED. EVENTUALLY WHEN PULLING OFF TO SAFE AREA AND STOPPING WITH TRANS IN NEUTRAL, THE ENGINE ACTS NORMAL WITH PROPER ACCELERATION. SHIFTING INTO DRIVE WILL RETURN TO THE SAME PROBLEM. PROBLEM WILL EVENTUALLY SLOWLY DISSOLVE AFTER "PLAYING" WITH THE ACCELERATOR WHEN STOPPED AND THEN SHIFTING INTO DRIVE TO BEGIN ACCELERATION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2013 - PRESQUE ISLE, MI
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THE VEHICLE SLIGHTLY BEGINS TO MOVE BUT NO ACCELERATION COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THIS RESULTS IN A VERY SLOW 1-2 MPH MOVEMENT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON A HANDFUL OF OCCASIONS AND IS VERY DANGEROUS. OFTEN WHEN PULLING OUT INTO A HIGHWAY WHEN ACCELERATION IS NEEDED THE VEHICLE JUST CREEPS INTO TRAFFIC. APPEARS THAT THE ENGINE IS JUST IDLING WITHOUT ANY INCREASE IN RPM WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS DEPRESSED. EVENTUALLY WHEN PULLING OFF TO SAFE AREA AND STOPPING WITH TRANS IN NEUTRAL, THE ENGINE ACTS NORMAL WITH PROPER ACCELERATION. SHIFTING INTO DRIVE WILL RETURN TO THE SAME PROBLEM. PROBLEM WILL EVENTUALLY SLOWLY DISSOLVE AFTER "PLAYING" WITH THE ACCELERATOR WHEN STOPPED AND THEN SHIFTING INTO DRIVE TO BEGIN ACCELERATION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds