Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 122 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (10) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (43) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (19)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

12/28/2014 - DERRY, NH
I BOUGHT THIS 2011 HYUNDAI SANTE FE I HAVE A NOISE COMING FROM THE BACK REAR I HAVE CALLED AND BROUGHT THIS BACK 5 X AND KEPT BEING TOLD ITS WIND SO I CALLED CORP. AND FIELD A COMPLAINT AND GOT NO WHERE A GUY SHOWED UP AND READ THE REPORT HE CLAIMED HE WAS FROM CORP. AND THEN WE TOOK IT OUT AND HE STARTED TO TALK TO ME AND ASKED I ANSWER AT 30 MILES AND UP , AND HE SAID AGAIN ITS THE WIND AND IN SUMMER WITH THE WINDOWS DOWN IT WILL GO AWAY. SO I HIT MY BUTTON OPENED ALL WINDOWS AND IT WAS EVEN LOUDER AND THEN HE SAID THAT THE 208 AND 209 DUE THIS AND ITS THE WIND I SAID THIS IS A 211 NOT A 208 OR 209 AND THAT'S WHEN HE SAID GET IT BACK TO THE DEALERS AUTO FAIR AND HE SAID HIS FINAL DECISION WAS FINIAL I SAID NO WAY I ALSO TOLD HIM I HEARD TWO OTHER IN WAITING AREA THAT THEY HAD SAME PROBLEM AND WHEN THE MECHANIC SAID AND REPLACE THE REAR AXLE ON 2 VECH. THEN HE WAS FIRED FOR DOING THIS. THE GUY FROM CORP.?? JUST WALKED AWAY AND THE WAITING LOBBY WAS FULL AND HE HAD NO FURTHER COMMENT AND SAID HIS DECISION WAS FINAL .... ALSO WHEN I BOUGHT THIS VECH. I BE LEAVE IT WAS SOLD TO ME UNDER FALSE PRETENSES BECAUSE IT HAD 2 WRONG SETS OF TIRES ON IT AS WELL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/6/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
WE OWN A 2011 HYNUDAI SANTA FE AND HAD AN INCIDENT LAST NIGHT PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT, WHICH APPEARS TO BE SOMETHING OTHERS HAVE EXPERIENCED: SUA SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. I WAS PULLING INTO THE PARKING SPACE WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THE MOTOR JUST STARTED RACING FULL THROTTLE FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I MASHED ON THE BRAKE AND FELT IT FADE OUT UNDER THE FORCE OF THE INCREASED MOTOR RPM. I QUICKLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RACE BUT I HAD MY FOOT COMPLETELY REMOVED FROM THE BRAKE OR ACCELERATOR PEDALS. I THEN SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. MY WIFE AND I WERE SHAKEN BUT UNINJURED. AFTER COMPLETING OUR REASON FOR THE STOP, THE VEHICLE STARTED NORMALLY AND WE RETURNED HOME WITH NO FURTHER INCIDENT. BUT OUR CONFIDENCE IN THE VEHICLE HAS GONE TO ZERO. THIS WAS THE FIRST AND ONLY TIME THIS HAS OCCURRED SO FAR ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/6/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
WE OWN A 2011 HYNUDAI SANTA FE AND HAD AN INCIDENT LAST NIGHT PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT, WHICH APPEARS TO BE SOMETHING OTHERS HAVE EXPERIENCED: SUA SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. I WAS PULLING INTO THE PARKING SPACE WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THE MOTOR JUST STARTED RACING FULL THROTTLE FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I MASHED ON THE BRAKE AND FELT IT FADE OUT UNDER THE FORCE OF THE INCREASED MOTOR RPM. I QUICKLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RACE BUT I HAD MY FOOT COMPLETELY REMOVED FROM THE BRAKE OR ACCELERATOR PEDALS. I THEN SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. MY WIFE AND I WERE SHAKEN BUT UNINJURED. AFTER COMPLETING OUR REASON FOR THE STOP, THE VEHICLE STARTED NORMALLY AND WE RETURNED HOME WITH NO FURTHER INCIDENT. BUT OUR CONFIDENCE IN THE VEHICLE HAS GONE TO ZERO. THIS WAS THE FIRST AND ONLY TIME THIS HAS OCCURRED SO FAR ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

TIRES

10/26/2014 - MADISON, TN
KUMHO TIRE KL21 P235/65R/17 PURCHASE 2013, SLOW AIR LEAKED AND TIRE HAS LESS 10K MILES AND CHECKED BY DEALER/TIRE CENTER WITH NO APPARENT PUNCTURE ON TIRE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/15/2014 - DERRY, NH
I PERCHED IT ON SEPT. 9. 214 I REPORTED THIS IN SEPT 214 PROBLEM THE BACK WHEELS SOUND LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE AS SOON AS YOU PICK UP SPEED OF 50 TO 65 MILES HOUR THEY REPLACE TIRES AND STILL NO CHANGE I HAD THE TECH. TAKE A ROAD TRIP TO HERE IT AND HOW LOUD IT WAS ON HIGHWAY. THEN THEY THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF LINIMENT SO THE DID THAT, AND STILL NO CHANGE, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS ARE WOBBLY AND IT WILL CONTINUE.SO. I WAS TOLD TO GIVE IT 2 WEEKS OR SO, BUT WHEN YOU GO ON HIGHWAY ITS LOUDER THEN VIBRATES AND WHEN YOU HIT THE BRAKES YOU CAN FEEL IT ALSO AND THE TECH. ALSO FELT IT, AND AT THIS POINT THEY STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS. I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK DO TO A FRIEND THAT RECOMMEND IT AND KNOW THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.AS MINE AND THEY ALSO COMPLAINED I BOUGHT THIS DO TO, I AM DISABLED AND NEED A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE AND NOT BIG PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT YET MADE A PAYMENT ITS NOT DUE UNTIL OCT. 29,2014.

View Details

WHEELS

10/15/2014 - DERRY, NH
I PERCHED IT ON SEPT. 9. 214 I REPORTED THIS IN SEPT 214 PROBLEM THE BACK WHEELS SOUND LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE AS SOON AS YOU PICK UP SPEED OF 50 TO 65 MILES HOUR THEY REPLACE TIRES AND STILL NO CHANGE I HAD THE TECH. TAKE A ROAD TRIP TO HERE IT AND HOW LOUD IT WAS ON HIGHWAY. THEN THEY THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF LINIMENT SO THE DID THAT, AND STILL NO CHANGE, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS ARE WOBBLY AND IT WILL CONTINUE.SO. I WAS TOLD TO GIVE IT 2 WEEKS OR SO, BUT WHEN YOU GO ON HIGHWAY ITS LOUDER THEN VIBRATES AND WHEN YOU HIT THE BRAKES YOU CAN FEEL IT ALSO AND THE TECH. ALSO FELT IT, AND AT THIS POINT THEY STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS. I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK DO TO A FRIEND THAT RECOMMEND IT AND KNOW THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.AS MINE AND THEY ALSO COMPLAINED I BOUGHT THIS DO TO, I AM DISABLED AND NEED A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE AND NOT BIG PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT YET MADE A PAYMENT ITS NOT DUE UNTIL OCT. 29,2014.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/15/2014 - DERRY, NH
I PERCHED IT ON SEPT. 9. 214 I REPORTED THIS IN SEPT 214 PROBLEM THE BACK WHEELS SOUND LIKE I HAD A FLAT TIRE AS SOON AS YOU PICK UP SPEED OF 50 TO 65 MILES HOUR THEY REPLACE TIRES AND STILL NO CHANGE I HAD THE TECH. TAKE A ROAD TRIP TO HERE IT AND HOW LOUD IT WAS ON HIGHWAY. THEN THEY THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF LINIMENT SO THE DID THAT, AND STILL NO CHANGE, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS ARE WOBBLY AND IT WILL CONTINUE.SO. I WAS TOLD TO GIVE IT 2 WEEKS OR SO, BUT WHEN YOU GO ON HIGHWAY ITS LOUDER THEN VIBRATES AND WHEN YOU HIT THE BRAKES YOU CAN FEEL IT ALSO AND THE TECH. ALSO FELT IT, AND AT THIS POINT THEY STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS. I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK DO TO A FRIEND THAT RECOMMEND IT AND KNOW THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.AS MINE AND THEY ALSO COMPLAINED I BOUGHT THIS DO TO, I AM DISABLED AND NEED A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE AND NOT BIG PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT YET MADE A PAYMENT ITS NOT DUE UNTIL OCT. 29,2014.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/1/2014 - HUBBARD , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STATIONARY POSITION, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO MOVE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2014 - DAYTON, OH
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 1 HOUR EAST OF ASHEVILLE, NC IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. AT APPROXIMATELY 230 PM ON 8/20/2014 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THE CAR SHUDDERED AND LOST ALL ACCELERATION. COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER MANAGED TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED CAR OFF. RESTARTED AND DROVE TO HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN ASHEVILLE, NC ABOUT 30 MILES AWAY. THEY PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE AND STATED PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED. CONTINUED DRIVING ON HIGHWAY (TRAVELING BACK TO DAYTON OH), AND WITHIN 1 HOUR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AT ABOUT 700 PM, A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER AND NO ACCELERATION, AND HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, RESTART THE ENGINE, ETC. AGAIN, INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS SITUATION ON A BUSY INTERSTATE. THE SAME EXACT SITUATION HAPPENED 2 MORE TIMES ON OUR WAY HOME ON THE INTERSTATE, UNTIL WE COULD FINALLY TAKE IT TO OUR DEALER WHERE THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE CONTROL ASSEMBLY AND DID ANOTHER SOFTWARE UPDATE. THIS WAS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS, COULD EASILY HAVE RESULTED IN A VERY BAD ACCIDENT AND MERITS INVESTIGATION. PLEASE CONTACT ME IF I CAN PROVIDE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2014 - DAYTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED HE NOTICED PIECES OF METAL NEAR THE VEHICLE ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROTORS HAD CORRODED AND RUSTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,512. UPDATED 9/12/14 UPDATED 02/4/2015

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds