Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 113 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (39) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (19)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/22/2013 - DIX HILLS, NY
WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A TRAFFIC LIGHT, VEHICLE DROPPED SPEED WHILE I ACCELERATED. IT COASTED ALONG AT 1-2 MILES AN HOUR. THE CHECK ENGINE, ANTILOCK BRAKE AND 4 WHEEL DRIVE 'SKID' INDICATORS ALL LIT UP ON THE DASH BOARD. I HAD TO GUIDE THE VEHICLE TO A SAFE STOP BY THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AFTER CLEARING A DANGEROUS INTERSECTION. THIS HAS OCCURRED FOUR ADDITIONAL TIMES AFTER THE DEALERSHIP ASSURED ME THIS PROBLEM HAD BEEN RECTIFIED. IT IS PRESENTLY AT THE DEALERSHIP AFTER HAVING BEEN TOWED IN FOR THE FIFTH (5TH) TIME. THIS CAR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED BY THE DEALER.

View Details

STEERING

11/20/2013 - BEACHWOOD, OH
I WAS DRIVING MY HYUNDAI 2011 SANTE FE AT ABOUT 30 MPH ON A CITY ROAD. SUDDENLY, I FELT THAT I WAS CUT OFF, THERE WAS NO CONTROL ON BRAKE OR THE STEERING WHEEL (BOTH WERE TOO HARD TO OPERATE). SO, ALL I COULD DO WAS TO DRIVE STRAIGHT, AND I WAS LITERALLY CROSSING SOME BUSY STREETS (LUCKILY, THERE WERE NO CARS WHEN I WAS CROSSING THESE STREETS) ON RED SIGNALS, WITH MY BLINKERS ON. LUCKILY, MY CO-PASSENGER KEPT COOL AND SUGGESTED IF I COULD OPERATE MY PARKING BRAKE, AND I TRIED THIS, AND MY CAR SLOWLY CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. AT THIS MOMENT, I PUT MY CAR ON PARK, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. WHEN I TURNED IT BACK ON, I DROVE BACK TO A SAFE PLACE (IN A MILE), CALLED ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE AND GOT IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST HYUNDAI DEALER. THE DEALER FOUND NO MAJOR BREAKDOWN (!!!) OR ANY INACTIVE LOG ON THE CAR COMPUTER (!!!), ONLY REPLACED A BRAKE LIGHT (WHICH WAS UNDER RECALL FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS) AND DECLARED THE CAR TO BE 'SAFE TO DRIVE'. IT IS STILL VERY SCARY TO DRIVE THE CAR (IT HAS BEEN ABOUT A WEEK NOW AFTER THIS INCIDENT), BUT NOT SURE IF HYUNDAI WILL HAVE AN ANSWER TO THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/20/2013 - BEACHWOOD, OH
I WAS DRIVING MY HYUNDAI 2011 SANTE FE AT ABOUT 30 MPH ON A CITY ROAD. SUDDENLY, I FELT THAT I WAS CUT OFF, THERE WAS NO CONTROL ON BRAKE OR THE STEERING WHEEL (BOTH WERE TOO HARD TO OPERATE). SO, ALL I COULD DO WAS TO DRIVE STRAIGHT, AND I WAS LITERALLY CROSSING SOME BUSY STREETS (LUCKILY, THERE WERE NO CARS WHEN I WAS CROSSING THESE STREETS) ON RED SIGNALS, WITH MY BLINKERS ON. LUCKILY, MY CO-PASSENGER KEPT COOL AND SUGGESTED IF I COULD OPERATE MY PARKING BRAKE, AND I TRIED THIS, AND MY CAR SLOWLY CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. AT THIS MOMENT, I PUT MY CAR ON PARK, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. WHEN I TURNED IT BACK ON, I DROVE BACK TO A SAFE PLACE (IN A MILE), CALLED ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE AND GOT IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST HYUNDAI DEALER. THE DEALER FOUND NO MAJOR BREAKDOWN (!!!) OR ANY INACTIVE LOG ON THE CAR COMPUTER (!!!), ONLY REPLACED A BRAKE LIGHT (WHICH WAS UNDER RECALL FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS) AND DECLARED THE CAR TO BE 'SAFE TO DRIVE'. IT IS STILL VERY SCARY TO DRIVE THE CAR (IT HAS BEEN ABOUT A WEEK NOW AFTER THIS INCIDENT), BUT NOT SURE IF HYUNDAI WILL HAVE AN ANSWER TO THIS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/20/2013 - BEACHWOOD, OH
I WAS DRIVING MY HYUNDAI 2011 SANTE FE AT ABOUT 30 MPH ON A CITY ROAD. SUDDENLY, I FELT THAT I WAS CUT OFF, THERE WAS NO CONTROL ON BRAKE OR THE STEERING WHEEL (BOTH WERE TOO HARD TO OPERATE). SO, ALL I COULD DO WAS TO DRIVE STRAIGHT, AND I WAS LITERALLY CROSSING SOME BUSY STREETS (LUCKILY, THERE WERE NO CARS WHEN I WAS CROSSING THESE STREETS) ON RED SIGNALS, WITH MY BLINKERS ON. LUCKILY, MY CO-PASSENGER KEPT COOL AND SUGGESTED IF I COULD OPERATE MY PARKING BRAKE, AND I TRIED THIS, AND MY CAR SLOWLY CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. AT THIS MOMENT, I PUT MY CAR ON PARK, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. WHEN I TURNED IT BACK ON, I DROVE BACK TO A SAFE PLACE (IN A MILE), CALLED ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE AND GOT IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST HYUNDAI DEALER. THE DEALER FOUND NO MAJOR BREAKDOWN (!!!) OR ANY INACTIVE LOG ON THE CAR COMPUTER (!!!), ONLY REPLACED A BRAKE LIGHT (WHICH WAS UNDER RECALL FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS) AND DECLARED THE CAR TO BE 'SAFE TO DRIVE'. IT IS STILL VERY SCARY TO DRIVE THE CAR (IT HAS BEEN ABOUT A WEEK NOW AFTER THIS INCIDENT), BUT NOT SURE IF HYUNDAI WILL HAVE AN ANSWER TO THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2013 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
NOTE: IT IS AT PRETTY MUCH ALL SPEEDS AND NOT JUST 55 THAT THE VARIATION CAN BE SEEN BETWEEN DEVICES AND THE VEHICLE. I PURCHASED THIS USED WITH 29K MILES ON IT. I NOTICED ON THE DRIVE BACK FROM MD TO PA THAT THE SPEED ON THE SPEEDOMETER WAS DIFFERENT THAN MY TOMTOM GPS. A FRIEND WAS DRIVING IN A SEPARATE CAR AND SO I CALLED THEM AND TRIED TO IDENTIFY THEIR SPEED TO MINE AND IT SEEMED OFF TO THEIRS AS WELL. I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE HYUNDAI DEALER IN THE NEXT MONTH OR SO TO ASK THEM TO ADJUST THE SPEEDOMETER TO WHICH I WAS TOLD IT CANNOT BE ALTERED. WELL HERE I AM OVER A YEAR LATER AND EVERY SINGLE GPS BASED SYSTEM I HAVE PUT INTO MY CAR, ANOTHER TOMTOM, MY SONS GARMIN, MY WIFE'S GARMIN, MY NEW GARMIN AND MY PHONE ALL ARE IN SYNCH WITH EACH OTHER. THE PROBLEM IS THAT MY SANTA FE IS ALWAYS STATING I AM TRAVELING ABOUT 3 MPH FASTER THAN ALL THESE OTHER DEVICES. IF THIS IS THE CASE THEN THIS WOULD SHOW A HIGHER NUMBER OF MILES BEING DRIVEN THAT WHAT IS ACTUALLY OCCURRING. I DRIVE 20-25K MILES A YEAR AND THIS WOULD MOST DEFINITELY ADD UP OVER THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE THUS SHOWING ME TO BE OUT OF WARRANTY SOONER THAN WOULD BE EXPECTED. WHY DOES EVERY ELECTRONIC DEVICE SHOW THE SAME SPEED BUT MY CAR IS TELLING ME I'M GOING FASTER?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

11/18/2013 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
NOTE: IT IS AT PRETTY MUCH ALL SPEEDS AND NOT JUST 55 THAT THE VARIATION CAN BE SEEN BETWEEN DEVICES AND THE VEHICLE. I PURCHASED THIS USED WITH 29K MILES ON IT. I NOTICED ON THE DRIVE BACK FROM MD TO PA THAT THE SPEED ON THE SPEEDOMETER WAS DIFFERENT THAN MY TOMTOM GPS. A FRIEND WAS DRIVING IN A SEPARATE CAR AND SO I CALLED THEM AND TRIED TO IDENTIFY THEIR SPEED TO MINE AND IT SEEMED OFF TO THEIRS AS WELL. I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE HYUNDAI DEALER IN THE NEXT MONTH OR SO TO ASK THEM TO ADJUST THE SPEEDOMETER TO WHICH I WAS TOLD IT CANNOT BE ALTERED. WELL HERE I AM OVER A YEAR LATER AND EVERY SINGLE GPS BASED SYSTEM I HAVE PUT INTO MY CAR, ANOTHER TOMTOM, MY SONS GARMIN, MY WIFE'S GARMIN, MY NEW GARMIN AND MY PHONE ALL ARE IN SYNCH WITH EACH OTHER. THE PROBLEM IS THAT MY SANTA FE IS ALWAYS STATING I AM TRAVELING ABOUT 3 MPH FASTER THAN ALL THESE OTHER DEVICES. IF THIS IS THE CASE THEN THIS WOULD SHOW A HIGHER NUMBER OF MILES BEING DRIVEN THAT WHAT IS ACTUALLY OCCURRING. I DRIVE 20-25K MILES A YEAR AND THIS WOULD MOST DEFINITELY ADD UP OVER THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE THUS SHOWING ME TO BE OUT OF WARRANTY SOONER THAN WOULD BE EXPECTED. WHY DOES EVERY ELECTRONIC DEVICE SHOW THE SAME SPEED BUT MY CAR IS TELLING ME I'M GOING FASTER?

View Details

ENGINE

11/1/2013 - ROCHESTER, MN
WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEED 10-15 MPH AND BRAKING THE CAR COMPLETELY STALLED, ONCE WHILE TURNING LEFT AND ONCE WHILE GOING STRAIGHT. LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES AND NARROWLY AVOIDING HITTING ANOTHER VEHICLE. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND NO CODES STORED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/27/2013 - SONOMA, CA
VEHICLE HAS STALLED IN TRAFFIC WHEN DRIVING UNDER 10MPH AND ALSO WHEN AT A STANDSTILL AT A FOUR WAY INTERSECTION. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP 5.13.2013 AND A THROTTLE BODY PART WAS ORDERED AND INSTALLED 5.21.2013. VEHICLE AGAIN STALLED TWICE AT LOW SPEED AND ON 10.11.2013 (MILEAGE 37,710) AN ECM UPGRADE WAS DONE. YESTERDAY,10.26.2013, THE CAR STALLED AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/27/2013 - SONOMA, CA
VEHICLE HAS STALLED IN TRAFFIC WHEN DRIVING UNDER 10MPH AND ALSO WHEN AT A STANDSTILL AT A FOUR WAY INTERSECTION. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP 5.13.2013 AND A THROTTLE BODY PART WAS ORDERED AND INSTALLED 5.21.2013. VEHICLE AGAIN STALLED TWICE AT LOW SPEED AND ON 10.11.2013 (MILEAGE 37,710) AN ECM UPGRADE WAS DONE. YESTERDAY,10.26.2013, THE CAR STALLED AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/30/2013 - HARTLAND, WI
9/26/13 - WHILE GOING UP TO THE NEXT LEVEL OF A PARKING STRUCTURE AT A SLOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. PUT IT INTO PARK AND RESTARTED IT AND DROVE IT TO A PARKING SPOT. LATER THAT DAY WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP; THEY HAVE HAD IT FOR 4 DAYS (2 OF WHICH WERE OVER THE WEEKEND). NO CODES REGISTERED IN THE COMPUTER SYSTEM; THEY ARE WAITING TO HEAR FROM A HYUNDAI TECH. ACCORDING TO RESEARCH ONLINE, THIS IS A COMMON (AND DANGEROUS) PROBLEM WITH THE SANTA FE. PRIOR TO THIS EPISODE, ON 2 OTHER OCCASIONS (9/13/13 AND 8/3/2012), WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT 70MPG AND 50MPH RESPECTIVELY AND LOST POWER AND THE ABILITY TO KEEP OR INCREASE MY SPEED AND HAD TO PULL OVER AND GET TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, BOTH TIMES. THIS TOO APPEARS TO BE COMMON AMONG ONLINE FORUMS FOR SANTA FE'S.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds