Auto Recalls for Consumers

INFINITI G37 - 2011 INFINITI G37 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 15 complaints filed for the 2011 INFINITI G37

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 INFINITI G37. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 INFINITI G37, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (3) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/6/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 INFINITI G37. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING AND CRASHED INTO A GARAGE WALL. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED DURING THE CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT DID NOT CALL THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2013 - PLEASANTVILLE, NY
CAR DIED AT 2 YEARS 35K. WOULDN'T START DESPITE APPARENT ACCESSORY POWER. ROLLED DOWN HILL DAMAGING DOOR. CAR WAS USED NORMALLY EVERY DAY AND WAS NEVER LEFT IN A MANNER THAT WOULD DRAW POWER WHILE PARKED. IT WAS ALSO NEVER LEFT UNDRIVEN FOR MORE THAN 12 HOURS. THE CAR WAS, HOWEVER, DRIVEN FOR MOSTLY SHORT TRIPS. DEALER DIAGNOSED IT AS A DEAD BATTERY. AN INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS THAT THIS IS AN EXTREMELY WIDESPREAD PROBLEM. THERE IS A TSB FOR THE COUPE BUT NOT THE SEDAN FOR A CONTINUOUS POWER LEAKAGE FROM THE VENT CONTROL VALVE. HTTP://WWW.INFINITIG37.COM/TSB/1ST34.PDF.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT

11/28/2012 - LAKE WORTH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 INFINITI G37 CONVERTIBLE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH ATTEMPTING TO AVOID A SQUIRREL, THE DRIVER SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES AND THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE BY SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES AFTER ACCELERATING AND THE SEAT BELT DID NOT CATCH AT ANY POINT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE SEAT BELTS WERE OPERATING AS DESIGNED AND THAT SHE SHOULD NOT BE WORRIED SINCE THE AIR BAG WAS WHAT WOULD SAVE HER IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS NOT SATISFIED WITH THAT ANSWER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 25,000. UPDATED 01/29/13 UPDATED 01/30/13

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/15/2012 - SAN JOSE, CA
MY INFINITI G37 YR 2011 HAD AN EXPERIENCE WITH UNINTENDED ACCELERATION IN THE PARKING LOT, WHEN I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 5 MPH AND ABOUT TO STOP MY CAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/8/2012 - BRIGHTON , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 INFINITY G37 X . THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH AND WITHOUT WARNING, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO HESITATE WHEN THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE EXTREME PRESSURE TO GET THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO RESPOND. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THERE WAS A REMEDY IN THE WORKS FOR THE FAILURE BUT WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,100.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/7/2012 - SAN JOSE, CA
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING PLACE IN A SHOPPING CENTER, WITH MY RIGHT FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THE CAR STOPPED, THE MOTOR RACED AND THE BACK TIRES SPUN AT HIGH SPEED, I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT IS NOW. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED, I DROVE THE CAR AFTER THE FIRST EVENT BECAUSE I WAS NOT SURE WHAT HAPPENED. I BELIEVE THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I FIND ONLINE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER INFINITY OWNERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2012 - WEYMOUTH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 INFINITI G37 SEDAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MH, THE VEHICLE WOULD EXHIBIT A ONE SECOND DELAY BEFORE RESPONDING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE NATURE OF THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE CORRECTED DUE TO IT BEING A NORMAL CHARACTERISTIC OF HOW THE VEHICLE WAS DESIGNED TO OPERATE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 3,400 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 500.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/23/2012 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
THIS IS A HARDTOP CONVERTIBLE CAR WHOSE ROOF FOLDS INTO THE TRUNK SPACE WHEN THE TOP IS DOWN. UNLIKE A PREVIOUS HARDTOP CONVERTIBLE I OWNED (VOLKSWAGEN EOS), THE ROOF ON THE INFINITI GOES DOWN EVEN WHEN THERE IS AN OBSTRUCTION IN THE TRUNK SPACE (SUCH AS A BOOK). [THE ROOF OF THE EOS WOULD NOT GO DOWN UNTIL THE OBSTRUCTION WAS REMOVED]. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE WITH THE INFINITI, CAUSING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS OF DAMAGE TO MY CAR. MY CONCERN IS THAT IF A CHILD WERE TO CLIMB INTO THE TRUNK (GOD FORBID) AND THE TOP WERE TO BE ENGAGED, THERE WOULD BE NOTHING TO STOP THE ROOF FROM CRUSHING THE CHILD. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SERIOUS SAFETY SHORTCOMING. I CALLED INFINITI MOTORS AND EXPRESSED MY CONCERN; THEY CREATED A FILE AND BASICALLY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2012 - KENT, WA
ECT: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION CONTROL LOGIC / ADAPTIVE SHIFT PATTERN: THE VEHICLE DOES NOT PRODUCE CONSISTENT AND RELIABLE RESPONSE TO THROTTLE COMMAND WHEN ACCELERATING INTO AND AROUND TRAFFIC. ON SEVERAL INSTANCES, WHEN PULLING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY INTO ONCOMING ARTERIAL TRAFFIC, THERE HAS BEEN NO RESPONSE TO THROTTLE INPUT. A DELAY OF 2 ~ 4 SECONDS HAS OCCURRED AND CREATES AN EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS SITUATION. THIS FAULT HAS ALSO OCCURRED AT FREEWAY SPEEDS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO PASS FROM SPEEDS BETWEEN 40 & 75 MPH! THIS BEHAVIOR WAS NOT OCCUR INITIALLY, UNTIL THE CAR HAD ABOUT 3,000 MILES. I HAVE CONTACTED INFINITI USA, AND KEPT AN APPOINTMENT WITH A REGIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE REP. ALONG WITH A DEALER SERVICE MANAGER IN TACOMA, WA LAST DECEMBER. THE OUTCOME OF THIS DIALOG WAS THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT EXHIBIT THE "FAULT" ON THAT TEST DRIVE, THE MANUFACTURER IS AWARE OF "SOME CUSTOMER CONCERNS REGARDING THE 7-SPEED AT BEHAVIOR", AND THAT THERE IS NO SERVICE BULLETIN AS-YET TO RESOLVE SUCH A FAULT. THE REGIONAL REP. DID SUGGEST THAT (UN-OFFICIALLY), THERE IS AN EFFORT SEEKING TO RELEASE A SERVICE BULLETIN UPDATE IN THE FORM OF A PCM / TCM FLASH OF ROM DATA (MAPPING) TO RESOLVE THE ONGOING COMPLAINTS OF UN-RELIABLE TRANSMISSION & POWER TRAIN RESPONSE BEHAVIORS. THERE HAVE ALREADY BEEN 2 SUCH SERVICE BULLETINS TO RESOLVE OTHER MINOR ANNOYANCE BEHAVIORS REGARDING SHIFT QUALITY, BUT NOT FOR THIS GROSS LACK OF COMMAND / CONTROL. I HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM INFINITI USA / 3 MONTHS. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD AND WOULD LIKE THE US-DOT / NHTSA TO PURSUE THIS ISSUE WITH NISSAN MOTORS CORP. / INFINITI USA TO MANDATE AN EFFECTIVE RESOLUTION.

View Details

VISIBILITY

2/16/2012 - PENFIELD, NY
2011 INFINITI G37X SIDE MIRRORS BECOME VERY DISTORTED IN COLD WEATHER. THE DEALER AND INFINITI ATTEMPTED TO FIX THE PROBLEM 3 TIMES, WITH NO SUCCESS. AFTER THE 3RD TIME, BOTH THE DEALER AND INFINITI'S CORPORATE OFFICE HAVE STATED THIS PROBLEM APPEARS TO EXIST ON ALL INFINITI'S IN THIS MODEL YEAR, AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO ABOUT IT. THE DISTORTION CAUSES OBJECTS IN SIDE MIRROR TO BECOME WAVY, HINDERS DEPTH PERCEPTION, AND CAUSES CONFUSION.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds