Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 186 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (1) Power Train (36) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (21) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (1) Suspension (15) Visibility (2)
Engine (41) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/3/2018 - LAFAYETTE, IN
WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK FULL, THE ENGINE STALLS AND HESITATES FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS AFTER FIRST STARTING THE ENGINE BACK UP AFTER THE FILLING OF THE TANK. IT CAUSES MY ENGINE TO COMPLETELY STOP WORKING AND I HAVE TO TURN THE KEY OFF AND RESTART THE ENGINE. I HAVE STALLED OUT IN TRAFFIC CAUSING THE CHANCE FOR AN ACCIDENT. THIS HAPPENS AS I TURN THE CAR BACK ON AND BEGIN DRIVING RIGHT AFTER FILLING THE TANK FULL OF GAS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/29/2018 - FRENCH CAMP, CA
FAULTY IRREPARABLE CVT TRANSMISSION WHICH GAVE OUT ON ME ON A NOTORIOUSLY HIGH-TRAFFIC FREEWAY. RECURRING ISSUE AMONG JEEP PATRIOT OWNERS. JEEP FINALLY STOPPED USING THIS FAULTY TRANSMISSION IN THEIR 2014 MODELS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/19/2018 - FRENCH CAMP, CA
REQUESTED A TOTAL OF $5,102.35 FOR DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIRS FOR A WELL-DOCUMENTED FAULTY CVT TRANSMISSION WHICH STARTED FAILING AFTER AROUND 90K MILES, DESPITE TAKING EXCELLENT CARE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2018 - BRANTFORD, AZ
MY JEEP PATRIOT 2011, WAS DRIVING PERFECTLY FINE, I STARTED IT UP ONE SATURDAY AFTERNOON 2 WEEKS 1 DAY AGO, WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET 15 MINUTES INTO MY DRIVE, THE JEEP IMMEDIATELY STOPPED ACCELERATING. THE ENGINE LIGHT, TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT, AND THE OTHER ONE WITH SQUIGGLY LINES AND BRACKETS WITH AN EXCLAMATION MARK, CAME ON 30 SECONDS AFTER IT JUST STOPPED ACCELERATING. I HAD TO CAUTIOUSLY TURN INTO A PARKING LOT, AND I TURNED OFF THE CAR. I LOOKED AT THE MANUAL, AND COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING ABOUT WHAT WOULD BE WRONG. I THEN LOOKED AT GOOGLE, AND SAW THAT ALOT OF PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE. I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON, AND TRIED TO DRIVE IT, IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE, AND WOULD ONLY GO APPROXIMATELY 5KM/H AT BEST. SO I HAD TO HAVE A TOW TRUCK COME PICK UP MY JEEP AND TAKE IT TO A SHOP. I HAVE NOW HAD 3 SHOPS TAKE A LOOK AT IT. THE FIRST SHOP REPLACED THE TCM (TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE), AND SAID IT WOULD FIX IT. WHEN THE PART CAME IN AND IT WAS PUT INTO THE JEEP. IT DIDN'T FIX IT. SAME ISSUES, ABSOLITELY NO HELP. THEY TOOK ANOTHER LOOK AT IT, AND THEY COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. COSTING ME 1000.00 FOR THE PART, AND THEIR LABOUR. THEN I TOWED IT TO 2 OTHER SHOPS. THEY COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT'S WAS WRONG WITH IT EITHER. COSTING ME 500$ AT BOTH PLACES WITH NO HELP, AND MY JEEP STILL CURRENTLY WILL NOT RUN!!! I AM WITHOUT A CAR. MY JEEP ONLY HAS 80,000 KM ON IT!!! AND I STILL OWE 3.5 YEARS WORTH OF PAYMENTS ON IT! BUT IT CANNOT BE FIXED!!!??? NO ONE CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT!!! NOT EVEN A JEEP/DODGE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP SERVICES CENTER!!!

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2018 - PEORIA, IL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE DIED WHILE I WAS TRAVELING AT 75MPH. PRIOR TO THE ENGINE DYING THERE WEREN'T ANY ISSUES. IT SIMPLY STOPPED RUNNING AND I HAD TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER. ONCE STOPPED I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND THEN RESTARTED WITHOUT AN ISSUE. THEN THE ENGINE DIED A SECOND TIME AS I WAS MERGING WITH TRAFFIC. AFTER I PULLED OVER AGAIN I WENT THROUGH THE START UP PROCESS AND I WAS ABLE TO GET TO WORK. WHILE OUT AT LUNCH THE ENGINE DIED AGAIN WHILE I WAS DRIVING IN A RESIDENTIAL AREA. THIS ISSUE JUST STARTED TODAY AND IT HAS ME HESITANT TO DRIVE, BUT THIS IS MY ONLY VEHICLE. I PLAN TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW, BUT I'VE BEEN READING OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE AND THE DEALERSHIP TELLING THEM THAT THEY CANNOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. SO I'M TRYING NOT TO GET MY HOPES UP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/7/2018 - CUMMING, GA
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A RE-OCCURRING ISSUE WHERE AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK, THE CAR WILL STALL SHORTLY AFTER LEAVING THE GAS STATION. THE LATEST INCIDENT HAPPENED ON MAY 6, 2018 AFTER FILLING THE TANK AND LETTING THE PUMP'S AUTO-SHUTOFF STOP FUELING. LEAVING THE GAS STATION I PULLED OUT INTO A HIGH-SPEED 4 LANE ROAD AND AS I ACCELERATED THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. AS A RESULT OF THE STALL I IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY AND WAS ALMOST STRUCK BY CARS BEHIND ME AS WE ALL EXPECTED ME TO BE ABLE TO ACCELERATE UP TO CRUISING SPEED. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RE-START THE ENGINE. AFTER THIS INITIAL STALL, THE CAR RAN NORMALLY. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES, WITH EACH ENGINE STALL OCCURRING SHORTLY AFTER REFUELING. THE IMMEDIATE LOSS OF POWER IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2018 - CUMMING, GA
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A RE-OCCURRING ISSUE WHERE AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK, THE CAR WILL STALL SHORTLY AFTER LEAVING THE GAS STATION. THE LATEST INCIDENT HAPPENED ON MAY 6, 2018 AFTER FILLING THE TANK AND LETTING THE PUMP'S AUTO-SHUTOFF STOP FUELING. LEAVING THE GAS STATION I PULLED OUT INTO A HIGH-SPEED 4 LANE ROAD AND AS I ACCELERATED THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. AS A RESULT OF THE STALL I IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY AND WAS ALMOST STRUCK BY CARS BEHIND ME AS WE ALL EXPECTED ME TO BE ABLE TO ACCELERATE UP TO CRUISING SPEED. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RE-START THE ENGINE. AFTER THIS INITIAL STALL, THE CAR RAN NORMALLY. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES, WITH EACH ENGINE STALL OCCURRING SHORTLY AFTER REFUELING. THE IMMEDIATE LOSS OF POWER IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/1/2018 - MIAMISBURG, OH
I FILLED MY GAS TANK UP TODAY. AS I GOT ABOUT 3 MILES FROM THE GAS STATION THE CAR BEGAN TO SPUTTER AND LOSE ITS ABILITY TO ACCELERATE EFFICIENTLY THROUGH ALL THE GEARS. THE CAR WAS RUNNING ROUGH FOR ABOUT 15 MILES UNTIL I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY, AND BEGAN MAKING A WEIRD SOUND OUT OF THE EXHAUST, STILL IDLING ROUGH WHEN PARKED. I LOOKED INTO IT ONLINE AND MANY JEEP PATRIOT OWNERS ARE COMPLAINING OF SIMILAR ISSUES AFTER FILLING UP WITH GAS. THEY;RE SAYING IT'S AN ISSUE WITH A "FUEL TANK ROLLOVER VALVE" OR A "VAPOR LIQUID SEPARATING VALVE." EITHER WAY THIS ISSUE IS DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH A RECALL OF THE VEHICLES TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF THEIR OPERATORS IN THE FUTURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/1/2018 - MIAMISBURG, OH
I FILLED MY GAS TANK UP TODAY. AS I GOT ABOUT 3 MILES FROM THE GAS STATION THE CAR BEGAN TO SPUTTER AND LOSE ITS ABILITY TO ACCELERATE EFFICIENTLY THROUGH ALL THE GEARS. THE CAR WAS RUNNING ROUGH FOR ABOUT 15 MILES UNTIL I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY, AND BEGAN MAKING A WEIRD SOUND OUT OF THE EXHAUST, STILL IDLING ROUGH WHEN PARKED. I LOOKED INTO IT ONLINE AND MANY JEEP PATRIOT OWNERS ARE COMPLAINING OF SIMILAR ISSUES AFTER FILLING UP WITH GAS. THEY;RE SAYING IT'S AN ISSUE WITH A "FUEL TANK ROLLOVER VALVE" OR A "VAPOR LIQUID SEPARATING VALVE." EITHER WAY THIS ISSUE IS DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH A RECALL OF THE VEHICLES TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF THEIR OPERATORS IN THE FUTURE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/1/2018 - MIAMISBURG, OH
I FILLED MY GAS TANK UP TODAY. AS I GOT ABOUT 3 MILES FROM THE GAS STATION THE CAR BEGAN TO SPUTTER AND LOSE ITS ABILITY TO ACCELERATE EFFICIENTLY THROUGH ALL THE GEARS. THE CAR WAS RUNNING ROUGH FOR ABOUT 15 MILES UNTIL I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY, AND BEGAN MAKING A WEIRD SOUND OUT OF THE EXHAUST, STILL IDLING ROUGH WHEN PARKED. I LOOKED INTO IT ONLINE AND MANY JEEP PATRIOT OWNERS ARE COMPLAINING OF SIMILAR ISSUES AFTER FILLING UP WITH GAS. THEY;RE SAYING IT'S AN ISSUE WITH A "FUEL TANK ROLLOVER VALVE" OR A "VAPOR LIQUID SEPARATING VALVE." EITHER WAY THIS ISSUE IS DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH A RECALL OF THE VEHICLES TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF THEIR OPERATORS IN THE FUTURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds