Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 117 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Suspension (13) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (30) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (23) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2016 - YANKTON, SD
DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE ON A COOL FALL DAY MY TRANSMISSION OVERHEAT LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER SITTING FOR 20 MINUTES I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF. THE SAME INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL OTHER TIMES. I TOOK IT IN TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT AND THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IS COMMON AND THE JEEP PATRIOT WASN'T MADE TO GO ON LONG TRIPS. THIS IS NOT NORMAL FOR ANY VEHICLE AND I STILL HAVEN'T GOTTEN IT FIXED AND NOW MY WARRANTY IS UP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/6/2016 - STAR CITY, AR
MY PATRIOT WITH 108K MILES STALLED AT 75 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY 3X LAST NIGHT ON A 3 HOUR DRIVE. IT ALSO STALLED 4X TIMES TODAY ON MY 10 MIN WAY TO DROP IT OFF AT THE DEALERSHIP. ONCE WHILE IDLING AND 3X WHILE DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS. ONCE WHILE I WAS TURNING. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING QUITE A BIT TO 2011 JEEP PATRIOTS AND EVEN CAUSED A CAR TO BE TOTALLED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/6/2016 - STAR CITY, AR
MY PATRIOT WITH 108K MILES STALLED AT 75 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY 3X LAST NIGHT ON A 3 HOUR DRIVE. IT ALSO STALLED 4X TIMES TODAY ON MY 10 MIN WAY TO DROP IT OFF AT THE DEALERSHIP. ONCE WHILE IDLING AND 3X WHILE DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS. ONCE WHILE I WAS TURNING. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING QUITE A BIT TO 2011 JEEP PATRIOTS AND EVEN CAUSED A CAR TO BE TOTALLED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/6/2016 - STAR CITY, AR
MY PATRIOT WITH 108K MILES STALLED AT 75 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY 3X LAST NIGHT ON A 3 HOUR DRIVE. IT ALSO STALLED 4X TIMES TODAY ON MY 10 MIN WAY TO DROP IT OFF AT THE DEALERSHIP. ONCE WHILE IDLING AND 3X WHILE DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS. ONCE WHILE I WAS TURNING. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING QUITE A BIT TO 2011 JEEP PATRIOTS AND EVEN CAUSED A CAR TO BE TOTALLED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/13/2016 - ARMADA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR SERVICE. THE TECHNICIAN NOTICED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS SEVERELY RUSTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/5/2016 - PHILADELPHA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER ENTERED THE VEHICLE FROM AN UNKNOWN SOURCE BEHIND THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE WATER WAS ENTERING FROM THE SUN ROOF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
ON 12/28/2016, THE FRONT PASSENGER WINDOW MOTOR AND MASTER SWITCH WERE REPLACED BY SOUTH POINT CHRYSLER (SP). THEY HAD THE CAR FOR 9 DAYS SINCE THEY ENCOUNTERED AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. COINCIDENCE? PROVIDED A RENTAL CAR THRU DUE TO EXTENDED WARRANTY. FROM 1/23/2016 3 ALTERNATORS HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND 2 BATTERIES BY PRECISION TUNE (PT). THE CAR HAS THE SYMPTOMS OF STALLING/DING AND A FEW MINUTES/HOURS LATER IT STARTS. SINCE 3/12/2016 I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP SINCE ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS ARE UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY AND SECURE NET WARRANTY ONLY PAID A PORTION OF THE ALTERNATOR REPAIR. 3/12-3/16 SP HAD THE CAR AND WERE UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE SYMPTOMS, AT THIS POINT THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BROUGHT OVER BY PT. ON 3/20 AFTER BEING ON THE HIGHWAY AND NOW ON A CITY STREET THE CAR DIES AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DRIVE. NO RESPONSE, DEAD! I WAS ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE, GET OUT OF TRAFFIC LANES AND CLEAR THE RAILROAD TRACKS. I WALK TO MAKE A PHONE CALL TAKES ME ABOUT 15 MIN. TO RETURN AND THE CAR STARTS AGAIN. NOW AT HOME, THE CAR DOES NOT START BACK THROUGH THE EVENING NOR IN THE MORNING BEFORE I TAKE A RIDE TO WORK, SO IT IS TOWED TO PT 3/21, AND ARE ABLE TO START IT WITHOUT PROBLEMS, ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY READINGS, PERFECT . I TAKE IT TO SP ON 3/22-3/26 AND THEY ARE UNABLE TO REPRODUCE SYMPTOMS. ON 3/28 CAR BACK TO SP SINCE I NEED THIS PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF BECAUSE OF THE DANGEROUS POTENTIAL IT POSES. ON 3/28 I CALL CHRYS, THEY CLAIM WILL BE SENDING A STAR ENGINEER TO LOOK INTO THIS MATTER. ON 3/31 SP WANT TO RETURN THE CAR, UNABLE TO REPRODUCE PROBLEM AND I FIND OUT THAT THEY WERE NOT INFORMED THAT AN ENGINEER WOULD BE LOOKING INTO THE CAR. ON 3/31 AFTER 2 CALLS TO CHRYS. INFORMED ME THAT THE DEALERSHIP IS THE ONE THAT MAKES THE REQUEST TO HAVE A ENGINEER COME AND INSPECT THE CAR. I NEED THE CAR FIXED SINCE IT POSES A DANGER TO ME AND OTHERS, REFUNDS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/28/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE ALTERNATOR WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED AGAIN HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED A THIRD TIME HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. PRIOR TO THIS FAILURE, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE MOTOR AND THE WINDOW WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/28/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE ALTERNATOR AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER THE FAILURE PERSISTED FOUR DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER HOWEVER, THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/2/2016 - ATHENS, OH
MY 2011 JEEP PATRIOT WAS PURCHASED NEW IN MID NOVEMBER 2010. IT HAS 42,972 MILES ON IT. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TIRES, ONE WAS WORN CLEAR DOWN ON THE INSIDE. THE TIRE SUPPLIER SAID I NEEDED AN ALIGNMENT. WHEN I WENT IN TO GET AN ALIGNMENT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DO ONE BECAUSE MY BALL JOINTS NEEDED REPLACED. I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE (MY FIRST & LAST JEEP) FOR 63 1/2 MONTHS AND DRIVEN IT LESS THAN 677 MILES A MONTH OR LESS THAN 10 MILES PER DAY, I SHOULD NOT BE REPLACING MY BALL JOINTS WITH THESE LOW MILES ON MY CAR! IT IS BAD ENOUGH THAT I WAS TOLD NOT TO EVEN DRIVE MY CAR UNTIL THE PARTS COME IN WHICH IS GOING TO BE ANOTHER 13 DAYS! PLEASE TELL ME HOW THIS IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR ON A VEHICLE THAT HAS NEVER BEEN OFF ROAD AND HAS NEVER HAD THE 4 WHEEL DRIVE ENGAGED LONGER THAN TO JUST PULL OUT OF SLICK SPOT? PLEASE MAKE THIS RIGHT AND RECALL THE JEEPS THAT ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds