Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (22) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (14) Steering (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/24/2015 - ENGLEWOOD, NJ
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 50MPH, MY CAR STALLED. I ROLLED TO THE SHOULDER WITH THE RESIDUAL MOMENTUM. AFTER WAITING 3-5 MINUTES THE CAR WAS ABLE TO TURN OVER. I DROVE THE CAR UNTIL I COULD GET A SERVICE APPOINTMENT AT MY LOCAL CHRYSLER JEEP DEALER; DURING THAT TIME THE CAR CONTINUED TO STALL RANDOMLY. TWO DAYS BEFORE MY APPOINTMENT, MY CAR STALLED TO THE POINT WHERE IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER. I FIRST TOWED THE CAR HOME, THE FOLLOWING MORNING TOWED IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY CAR FOR 4 DAYS AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM OR DETECT THE ORIGIN OF THE MALFUNCTION. SINCE HAVING THE CAR IN MY POSSESSION , I HAVE HAD THE CAR STALL EACH DAY IN USE. THIS CAR HAS PROVEN TO UNPREDICTABLE BUT MOST OF ALL UNSAFE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/5/2015 - FENTON, MI
SUNROOF LEAKS AFTER SNOWFALL; AS IT MELTS, WATER COLLECTS IN THE DOME LIGHT AND POURS OUT LIKE A WATERFALL WHILE DRIVING. NO ELECTRICAL ISSUES YET, BUT TWO OCCURRENCES SO FAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/5/2015 - PARK CITY , UT
WHILE TRAVELING AT BOTH HIGHWAY AND RESIDENTIAL SPEEDS MY JEEP PATRIOT WILL SUDDENLY, WITHOUT WARNING , LOSE POWER . THE FIRST OCCURRENCE WAS AT ~85,000 AND NOW OCCURS EVERY 50 MILES OR SO. ENGINE SHUT DOWN IS RANDOM WITHOUT WARNING AND HAS RESULTED IN NEAR COLLISIONS, AS I STRUGGLE TO GET OUT OF THE MOVING TRAFFIC LANE. ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON AFTER OCCURRENCE AND REMAIN ON UNTIL CAR HAS SET FOR THE NIGHT. ENGINE DIAGNOSTICS DO NOT APPEAR TO EXPLAIN PROBLEM PER REPAIR CENTER REPORT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - GAINESVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/27/2014 - BEAUFORT, SC
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HER CAR ON A DAY AFTER IT HAD RAINED. AS SHE STARTED TO TAKE OFF, WATER STARTED POURING OUT OF THE OVERHEAD INTERIOR LIGHT AND ALSO THE FRONT INTERIOR LIGHT. THIS CONTINUES TO HAPPEN AFTER A RAIN. THE RAINS COMES DOWN FROM THE SUNROOF SOMEHOW AND SETTLES IN THE UPPER INTERIOR LIGHTING SYSTEM. IT IS ENOUGH WATER TO SOAK ANY PERSON(S) IN THE FRONT SEAT(S) OR COMPLETELY SOAK A SMALL TOWEL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2014 - BEAUFORT, SC
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HER CAR ON A DAY AFTER IT HAD RAINED. AS SHE STARTED TO TAKE OFF, WATER STARTED POURING OUT OF THE OVERHEAD INTERIOR LIGHT AND ALSO THE FRONT INTERIOR LIGHT. THIS CONTINUES TO HAPPEN AFTER A RAIN. THE RAINS COMES DOWN FROM THE SUNROOF SOMEHOW AND SETTLES IN THE UPPER INTERIOR LIGHTING SYSTEM. IT IS ENOUGH WATER TO SOAK ANY PERSON(S) IN THE FRONT SEAT(S) OR COMPLETELY SOAK A SMALL TOWEL

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/16/2014 - DREXEL HILL, PA
THE SUNROOF DRAIN TUBES FREEZE CAUSING THE SUNROOF RESERVOIR TO FILL WITH A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF WATER. ANY VEHICLE MOVEMENT CAUSES THE WATER TO LEAVE THE RESERVOIR AND POUR DOWN THROUGH THE DOME LIGHT ONTO THE CONSOLE, RADIO, AND GEAR SHIFT CONTROL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/16/2014 - DREXEL HILL, PA
THE SUNROOF DRAIN TUBES FREEZE CAUSING THE SUNROOF RESERVOIR TO FILL WITH A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF WATER. ANY VEHICLE MOVEMENT CAUSES THE WATER TO LEAVE THE RESERVOIR AND POUR DOWN THROUGH THE DOME LIGHT ONTO THE CONSOLE, RADIO, AND GEAR SHIFT CONTROL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/23/2014 - SAVANNAH, GA
A YEAR AGO, I BROUGHT MY 2011 JEEP PATRIOT TO A CAR WASH. THE SUNROOF WAS CLOSED, HOWEVER WHILE GOING THROUGH THE CAR WASH, WATER STARTED POURING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND THE LIGHT FIXTURES, INSTANTLY CAUSING AN ELECTRICAL SHORT AND DAMAGING THE ROOF LINER AND THE CAR STEREO. I IMMEDIATELY BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR TWO DAYS AND CALLED ME TO EXPLAIN THAT "THE CAR HAD DRIED OUT SO YOU CAN COME PICK IT UP." I TOLD THEM THAT I WAS HESITANT TO PICK THE CAR UP BECAUSE THERE WOULD SURELY BE ADDITIONAL DAMAGE THAT WOULD NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED.WHEN I PICKED UP MY CAR THE STEREO AND LIGHTS STILL DID NOT WORK. FRUSTRATED, I CALLED THE JEEP CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE. THE REPRESENTATIVE EXPLAINED TO ME THAT JEEPS WERE NOT MEANT TO BE TAKEN INTO CAR WASHES. I ASKED HER HOW JEEP CAN MANUFACTURE OFF-ROAD VEHICLES THAT CANNOT BE WASHED. SHE REPLIED THAT I COULD GET A BUCKET AND HAND WASH MY VEHICLE.I DECIDED TO TAKE MY CAR TO AN OUT-OF-STATE DEALERSHIP .THEY HAD IT FOR SEVERAL DAYS AND CALLED TO TELL ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT AND I COULD PICK IT UP. ONCE AGAIN, I PICKED UP THE VEHICLE AND THE LIGHTS AND STEREO STILL DID NOT WORK. OUT OF FRUSTRATION, I GAVE UP ON THE ISSUE FOR AWHILE UNTIL I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND WATER STARTED POURING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND FIXTURES ONCE AGAIN- DISTRACTING MY DRIVING BECAUSE WATER IS POURING EVERYWHERE. I PROMPTLY BROUGHT MY VEHICLE BACK IN TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THEY CALLED AND TOLD ME THEY FOUND A PIECE OF PAINTER'S TAPE IN THE SUNROOF FROM SOME RECENT PAINTING TO MY CAR I HAD DONE. I APPROACHED THE PAINT SHOP WITH NO REPLY. TODAY, THE CAR STARTED LEAKING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND FIXTURES CAUSING WATER TO STREAM DOWN THE INSIDE OF THE WINDSHIELD, LIMITING MY VISION WHILE DRIVING. MY CAR IS STILL NOT FIXED BECAUSE JEEP IS UNWILLING TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/23/2014 - SAVANNAH, GA
A YEAR AGO, I BROUGHT MY 2011 JEEP PATRIOT TO A CAR WASH. THE SUNROOF WAS CLOSED, HOWEVER WHILE GOING THROUGH THE CAR WASH, WATER STARTED POURING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND THE LIGHT FIXTURES, INSTANTLY CAUSING AN ELECTRICAL SHORT AND DAMAGING THE ROOF LINER AND THE CAR STEREO. I IMMEDIATELY BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR TWO DAYS AND CALLED ME TO EXPLAIN THAT "THE CAR HAD DRIED OUT SO YOU CAN COME PICK IT UP." I TOLD THEM THAT I WAS HESITANT TO PICK THE CAR UP BECAUSE THERE WOULD SURELY BE ADDITIONAL DAMAGE THAT WOULD NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED.WHEN I PICKED UP MY CAR THE STEREO AND LIGHTS STILL DID NOT WORK. FRUSTRATED, I CALLED THE JEEP CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE. THE REPRESENTATIVE EXPLAINED TO ME THAT JEEPS WERE NOT MEANT TO BE TAKEN INTO CAR WASHES. I ASKED HER HOW JEEP CAN MANUFACTURE OFF-ROAD VEHICLES THAT CANNOT BE WASHED. SHE REPLIED THAT I COULD GET A BUCKET AND HAND WASH MY VEHICLE.I DECIDED TO TAKE MY CAR TO AN OUT-OF-STATE DEALERSHIP .THEY HAD IT FOR SEVERAL DAYS AND CALLED TO TELL ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT AND I COULD PICK IT UP. ONCE AGAIN, I PICKED UP THE VEHICLE AND THE LIGHTS AND STEREO STILL DID NOT WORK. OUT OF FRUSTRATION, I GAVE UP ON THE ISSUE FOR AWHILE UNTIL I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND WATER STARTED POURING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND FIXTURES ONCE AGAIN- DISTRACTING MY DRIVING BECAUSE WATER IS POURING EVERYWHERE. I PROMPTLY BROUGHT MY VEHICLE BACK IN TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THEY CALLED AND TOLD ME THEY FOUND A PIECE OF PAINTER'S TAPE IN THE SUNROOF FROM SOME RECENT PAINTING TO MY CAR I HAD DONE. I APPROACHED THE PAINT SHOP WITH NO REPLY. TODAY, THE CAR STARTED LEAKING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND FIXTURES CAUSING WATER TO STREAM DOWN THE INSIDE OF THE WINDSHIELD, LIMITING MY VISION WHILE DRIVING. MY CAR IS STILL NOT FIXED BECAUSE JEEP IS UNWILLING TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds