Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 128 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (13) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (27) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/22/2016 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE BOTH THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL AND ELECTRON THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHTS COME ON AND I LOSE ACCELERATION. HAVE TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF, WAIT A MINUTE OR 2 AND RESTART. SOMETIMES THIS WILL HAPPEN 2-6 TIMES DURING A TRIP (DEPENDING HOW FAR I AM DRIVING) OTHER TIMES IT DOESN'T HAPPEN AT ALL. I CAN DRIVE CAR FOR 2-3 WEEKS WITH NO PROBLEMS THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THESE TWO WARNING LIGHTS COME ON AGAIN. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY FOR FEAR THIS WILL HAPPEN. THIS HAS ONLY OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON CITY STREETS. SOMETIMES THE LIGHTS WILL COME ON WHEN I START THE CAR. THE CAR WILL START IDLING VERY FAST

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/21/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TELEPHONE POLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A CONCUSSION, A TWO INCH CONTUSION TO THE FOREHEAD, AND BRUISING OF THE FACE, NECK, AND SHOULDERS. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS RECEIVED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A JUNK YARD AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/1/2016 - BETHLEHEM, GA
VEHICLE HAS 79K MILES. I STARTED MY CAR AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I PULLED OUT OF THE PARKING LOT WITH NO ISSUES AND SUDDENLY THE CAR SLOWS DOWN AS IF THERE'S NO POWER. ALMOST GOT HIT BECAUSE I COULD NOT SPEED UP. PULLED OVER AND CHECKED THE INTERNET FOR ISSUES. GOOGLED JEEP PATRIOT TRANSMISSION ISSUES AND IT APPEARS AS THOUGH THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE. NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND THEN A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND VEHICLE SLOWING TO 20-30 MPH. I BELIEVE THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE OF SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER -- ESPECIALLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS! THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/1/2016 - TRUJILLO ALTO, PR
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE VEHICLE SKID OFF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A TREE AND LANDED IN A DITCH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED ARM, CHEST, LEG, AND FOREHEAD INJURIES THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DRIVER'S RESIDENCE AND LATER TOWED TO AN INSURANCE LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V668000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

11/1/2016 - TRUJILLO ALTO, PR
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE VEHICLE SKID OFF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A TREE AND LANDED IN A DITCH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED ARM, CHEST, LEG, AND FOREHEAD INJURIES THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DRIVER'S RESIDENCE AND LATER TOWED TO AN INSURANCE LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V668000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/28/2016 - PLYMOUTH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED OUT OF FOURTH GEAR INTO NEUTRAL. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AND REPAIRED AGAIN, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 58,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/26/2016 - HAYWARD, CA
I OWN A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT AND THE TRANSMISSION HAS ALREADY GONE OUT! IT HAPPENED IMMEDIATELY. NO WARNING, NOTHING. I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND HEARD A LOUD WINDING NOISE. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL. I PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE, BUT FOR ONLY A MILE OR SO. THEN NO ACCELERATION AND I COULD NOT REVERSE. THE CAR HAS 160K MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/23/2016 - SAN PEDRO, CA
VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING & ENGINE TURNED COMPLETELY OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN PARK, THE IGNITION HAD TO BE RESTARTED & PUT BACK INTO DRIVE. AFTER THAT HAPPENED, THE AIR CONDITIONING WAS ON & PROJECTING A SMOKEY SMELL INTO THE CAR. ANOTHER INCIDENT THAT HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WAS THE CAR WAS SHAKING & BRAKES WERE HARD TO PUSH ON WHILE STEERING WAS HARD AS I WAS TURNING ONTO A STREET FROM THE FREEWAY EXIT. WHILE IN MOTION, THE CAR WILL DING AS IT IS TURNING OR GOING STRAIGHT OR PULLING TO A STOP. AS THE CAR WAS TURNING RIGHT, THE STEERING LOCKED & I COULDN'T ACCELERATE. I ROLLED TO A STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE RODE & THE BRAKES WERE HARD TO PUSH ON. THESE ISSUES HAVE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE JEEP DEALERSHIP CAN'T FIND THE ISSUE WITH THE CAR. THIS CAR HAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000 MILES. THAT'S ABOUT 10,000 MILES PER YEAR.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2016 - MILWAUKEE, WI
WHILE TRAVELING ON A FREEWAY MY INSTRUMENT PANEL LIT UP AND MY CAR LOST ALL POWER. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER. WHEN I LOOKED UP THE PANEL LIGHT MEANINGS IN THE MANUAL, I DETERMINED IT WAS SAFE TO ATTEMPT TO RESTART THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER WAITING FOR A FEW MINUTES, I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALER. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT ACKNOWLEDGED THE CAR PROBLEM BUT WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE IT. AT THE TIME. I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM A FEW OTHER TIMES, MY CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION AND WOULD NOT RESTART. AGAIN, SERVICE DEPARTMENT IS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THIS ISSUE. IT USUALLY HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING FOR 40-60 MINUTES APPROX. 70-75 MPH. AFTER COASTING THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD... THE DEALER ADVISED ME THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2016 - MILWAUKEE, WI
WHILE TRAVELING ON A FREEWAY MY INSTRUMENT PANEL LIT UP AND MY CAR LOST ALL POWER. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER. WHEN I LOOKED UP THE PANEL LIGHT MEANINGS IN THE MANUAL, I DETERMINED IT WAS SAFE TO ATTEMPT TO RESTART THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER WAITING FOR A FEW MINUTES, I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALER. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT ACKNOWLEDGED THE CAR PROBLEM BUT WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE IT. AT THE TIME. I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM A FEW OTHER TIMES, MY CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION AND WOULD NOT RESTART. AGAIN, SERVICE DEPARTMENT IS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THIS ISSUE. IT USUALLY HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING FOR 40-60 MINUTES APPROX. 70-75 MPH. AFTER COASTING THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD... THE DEALER ADVISED ME THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds