Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 58 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (18) Power Train (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
I HAVE A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT 4X4 WITH THE 2.4 LITER AND FOR THE LAST MONTH MY WIFE AND I ARE HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE ENGINE JUST SHUTTING OFF AND NOT WANTING TO START.ONLY HAD 2 TIMES WHEN THE ENGINE WOULD JUST SHUT OFF WHILE STOPPED(THANK GOD)AND HAVE HAS NUMEROUS TIMES WHEN THE ENGINE JUST WILL NOT START..SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO MESS WITH THE GEAR SHIFT BUT MOST TIMES YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY REALLY HARD TO START OR JUST KEEP TRYING UNTIL IT DESCIDES TO START.MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT IT WILL JUST SHUT OFF WHILE RUNNING DOWN THE INTERSTATE.I CALLED CHRYSTLER AND THEY SAID THEY HAD NO RECALLS AND I ASK THEM TO MAKE NOT OF MY PROBLEM AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD..THE GENTLEMAN SAID THEY WERE NO RECALLS FOR MY JEEP.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2014 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
I HAVE A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT 4X4 WITH THE 2.4 LITER AND FOR THE LAST MONTH MY WIFE AND I ARE HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE ENGINE JUST SHUTTING OFF AND NOT WANTING TO START.ONLY HAD 2 TIMES WHEN THE ENGINE WOULD JUST SHUT OFF WHILE STOPPED(THANK GOD)AND HAVE HAS NUMEROUS TIMES WHEN THE ENGINE JUST WILL NOT START..SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO MESS WITH THE GEAR SHIFT BUT MOST TIMES YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY REALLY HARD TO START OR JUST KEEP TRYING UNTIL IT DESCIDES TO START.MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT IT WILL JUST SHUT OFF WHILE RUNNING DOWN THE INTERSTATE.I CALLED CHRYSTLER AND THEY SAID THEY HAD NO RECALLS AND I ASK THEM TO MAKE NOT OF MY PROBLEM AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD..THE GENTLEMAN SAID THEY WERE NO RECALLS FOR MY JEEP.

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2014 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I PURCHASED MY 2011 JEEP PATRIOT FROM KRAFT NISSAN NOVEMBER 16, 2013. WHEN I INITIALLY PURCHASED IT THEY PRINTED OUT THE VEHICLE HISTORY REPORT SHOWING THAT THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN ACCIDENTS AND THAT THERE WAS ONLY ONE PREVIOUS OWNER. SINCE MY PURCHASE I COMPLIED WITH EVERY SCHEDULED SERVICING AND HADN'T HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS. WELL, JULY 15, 2014, AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEATING LIGHT LIT UP SO I DROVE TO THE NEAREST GAS STATION AND IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED THE JEEP CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE AND THE OPERATOR INSTRUCTED ME TO LET THE CAR COOL OFF BEFORE STARTING IT BACK UP TO CONTINUE WITH MY JOURNEY. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR AND A HALF, I BEGAN TO DRIVE AGAIN AND I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED KRAFT NISSAN TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO GET MY VEHICLE INSPECTED. MY APPOINTMENT WAS FOR JULY 17, 2014, AND I LEFT MY CAR THERE WITH THEM FOR 10 HOURS, FINALLY I CALLED THEM AND THEY EXPLAINED THAT MY TRANSMISSION FLUID WAS DIRTY AND THAT I NEEDED TO GET IT FLUSHED AND THE PRICE WOULD BE OVER $500. I DECLINED THE SERVICE BECAUSE THE PRICE SEEMED TO BE A BIT STEEP, AND I BEGAN TO CALL AROUND TO FIND A BETTER PRICE, MEANWHILE, I WAS CHARGED A $95 SERVICING FEE EVEN THOUGH THAT SERVICE SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. AS I STATED BEFORE, I HAVE NEVER HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH MY AUTOMOBILE, WELL, JULY 18, 2014 MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT LIT UP AND HAS BEEN ON EVER SINCE. IT IS NOW SUNDAY, JULY 20, 2014 AND THE LIGHT IS STILL ON. I AM PLANNING ON TAKING MY AUTOMOBILE BACK IN TO KRAFT NISSAN TO SEE EXACTLY WHY MY 'CHECK ENGINE' HAS BEEN ON SINCE MY VISIT WITH THEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2014 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I PURCHASED MY 2011 JEEP PATRIOT FROM KRAFT NISSAN NOVEMBER 16, 2013. WHEN I INITIALLY PURCHASED IT THEY PRINTED OUT THE VEHICLE HISTORY REPORT SHOWING THAT THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN ACCIDENTS AND THAT THERE WAS ONLY ONE PREVIOUS OWNER. SINCE MY PURCHASE I COMPLIED WITH EVERY SCHEDULED SERVICING AND HADN'T HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS. WELL, JULY 15, 2014, AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEATING LIGHT LIT UP SO I DROVE TO THE NEAREST GAS STATION AND IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED THE JEEP CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE AND THE OPERATOR INSTRUCTED ME TO LET THE CAR COOL OFF BEFORE STARTING IT BACK UP TO CONTINUE WITH MY JOURNEY. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR AND A HALF, I BEGAN TO DRIVE AGAIN AND I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED KRAFT NISSAN TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO GET MY VEHICLE INSPECTED. MY APPOINTMENT WAS FOR JULY 17, 2014, AND I LEFT MY CAR THERE WITH THEM FOR 10 HOURS, FINALLY I CALLED THEM AND THEY EXPLAINED THAT MY TRANSMISSION FLUID WAS DIRTY AND THAT I NEEDED TO GET IT FLUSHED AND THE PRICE WOULD BE OVER $500. I DECLINED THE SERVICE BECAUSE THE PRICE SEEMED TO BE A BIT STEEP, AND I BEGAN TO CALL AROUND TO FIND A BETTER PRICE, MEANWHILE, I WAS CHARGED A $95 SERVICING FEE EVEN THOUGH THAT SERVICE SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. AS I STATED BEFORE, I HAVE NEVER HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH MY AUTOMOBILE, WELL, JULY 18, 2014 MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT LIT UP AND HAS BEEN ON EVER SINCE. IT IS NOW SUNDAY, JULY 20, 2014 AND THE LIGHT IS STILL ON. I AM PLANNING ON TAKING MY AUTOMOBILE BACK IN TO KRAFT NISSAN TO SEE EXACTLY WHY MY 'CHECK ENGINE' HAS BEEN ON SINCE MY VISIT WITH THEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - TUSTIN, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY STALL. THE FAILURE WOULD ONLY OCCUR WHEN USING THE AUTOMATION DRIVE TRANSMISSION AND THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS ACTIVATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE DID NOT OCCUR WHEN USING THE TIPTRONIC TRANSMISSION OPTION. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR PRIOR TO THE ENGINE WARMING UP TO NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT HAD ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000. DJR

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - TUSTIN, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY STALL. THE FAILURE WOULD ONLY OCCUR WHEN USING THE AUTOMATION DRIVE TRANSMISSION AND THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS ACTIVATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE DID NOT OCCUR WHEN USING THE TIPTRONIC TRANSMISSION OPTION. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR PRIOR TO THE ENGINE WARMING UP TO NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT HAD ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2014 - DERRY, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY ACCELERATED AND DECELERATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE ENGINE OVERHEATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/9/2014 - ANNANDALE, VA
WAS DRIVING OUT OF A PARKING LOT SUNDAY AFTERNOON. CAR WAS RUNNING WITH NO PROBLEMS AND SUDDENLY ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. ELECTRONICS WERE STILL RUNNING. TRIED TO TURN ENGINE BACK ON, ENGINE ATTEMPTED TO CRANK BUT DID NOT SUCCESSFULLY TURN ON. TRIED TWICE WITH NO SUCCESS. WAITED 10 MINUTES AND IT TURNED ON WITH NO PROBLEM. DROVE DOWN A LITTLE FURTHER AND IT STALLED AGAIN, WITH ELECTRONICS STILL ON. MANAGED TO TURN ENGINE BACK ON RIGHT AWAY, BUT I WAS TOO WORRIED TO DRIVE IT. TOWED IT BACK HOME. CODE P0335 WAS INDICATED WHEN SCANNED. RESEARCHED ONLINE AND DISCOVERED ENGINES OF 2011 JEEP PATRIOT TEND TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM)

6/6/2014 - WALDOLF, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING . THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE HOWEVER, IT OCCURRED TWICE IN ONE DAY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE DEALER TO UPDATE THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL AND POWER TRAIN MODULE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,001.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/6/2014 - WALDOLF, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING . THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE HOWEVER, IT OCCURRED TWICE IN ONE DAY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE DEALER TO UPDATE THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL AND POWER TRAIN MODULE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,001.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds