Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (23) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (14) Steering (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/14/2015 - BONIFAY, FL
WHILE DRIVING ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR ACTS LIKE IT IS DYING FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME AND THE FOLLOWING LIGHTS COME ON. THE TRACTION CONTROL, ABS, AND 4WD LIGHTS. THE CAR CLEARS UP IN A MATTER OF SECONDS AND RUNS ALLRIGHT AFTER THAT. HOWEVER IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES THIS COULD CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT. WHERE I WAS IT DIDN'T MATTER BUT IF YOU WERE IN TRAFFIC OR PULLING OUT IN FRONT OF A VEHICLE AND DIDN'T HAVE MUCH TIME, IT COULD MATTER VERY MUCH. ALL 4 OF THE WHEEL SENSORS HAVE GONE BAD AND NOW I'M ON THE 5TH ONE. THEY ARE NOT ALL THE SAME AND NOT EVERYTIME DO THEY CAUSE A HESITATION BUT SOMETIMES THEY DO AND TWICE THE CAR ALMOST WENT DEAD. THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/29/2015 - WEST CALDWELL, NJ
WHILE TURNING RIGHT AND ENTERING A HIGHWAY USING A 270 DEGREE ON RAMP, THE CARS STEERING BECAME UNSTABLE AND SUDDENLY TIGHTENED IT'S TURNING CIRCLE AND LUNGED FARTHER TO THE RIGHT. INSPECTION HAS REVEALED THAT THE LOWER LEFT ( DRIVERS SIDE ) HAS WORN OUT AFTER ONLY 42,000 MILES. A SEARCH ONLINE REVEALED THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE JEEP PATRIOT AND COMPASS AND IT IS TRACEABLE TO A BAD BATCH OF BALL JOINTS. CHRYSLER REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM AND COVER IT UNDER WARRANTY. HTTP://WWW.CARPROBLEMZOO.COM/JEEP/PATRIOT/2011/FRONT-SUSPENSION-CONTROL-ARM-PROBLEMS.PHP HTTP://WWW.CARPROBLEMZOO.COM/JEEP/PATRIOT/FRONT-SUSPENSION-CONTROL-ARM-PROBLEMS.PHP

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/18/2015 - WILBRAHAM, MA
TOOK MY CAR INTO MECHANIC FOR FOUR NEW TIRES. AT THAT TIME WAS TOLD BY THEM THAT LOWER BALL JOINTS SHOWED SIGNS OF ABNORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. THEY RECOMMENDED FIXING. AS I DIDN'T HAVE THE TIME TO GET IT INTO THE SHOP AT THAT POINT, I WAITED. TOOK CAR IN FOR STATE MANDATED ANNUAL INSPECTION AND IT FAILED - AT 38000 MILES. NOT ONLY THAT BUT CAR NEEDED ANOTHER NEW TIRE BECAUSE BALL JOINT HAD AFFECTED THE NEW TIRES I JUST BOUGHT. MECHANIC STATED THIS SHOULDN'T BE HAPPENING IN A CAR THAT'S BARELY 4 YEARS OLD. I DO NOT DO ANY OFF ROAD DRIVING - JUST NORMAL ABOUT TOWN AND SOME MINIMAL HIGHWAY. I AM THE ONLY OWNER - BOUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW. SEEMS LIKE THIS IS A DEFECT THAT OUGHT TO BE ADDRESSED. I SEE A LOT OF CONVERSATION ON THE WEB ABOUT THIS ISSUE. HOPE THEY DECIDE TO RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

4/18/2015 - WILBRAHAM, MA
TOOK MY CAR INTO MECHANIC FOR FOUR NEW TIRES. AT THAT TIME WAS TOLD BY THEM THAT LOWER BALL JOINTS SHOWED SIGNS OF ABNORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. THEY RECOMMENDED FIXING. AS I DIDN'T HAVE THE TIME TO GET IT INTO THE SHOP AT THAT POINT, I WAITED. TOOK CAR IN FOR STATE MANDATED ANNUAL INSPECTION AND IT FAILED - AT 38000 MILES. NOT ONLY THAT BUT CAR NEEDED ANOTHER NEW TIRE BECAUSE BALL JOINT HAD AFFECTED THE NEW TIRES I JUST BOUGHT. MECHANIC STATED THIS SHOULDN'T BE HAPPENING IN A CAR THAT'S BARELY 4 YEARS OLD. I DO NOT DO ANY OFF ROAD DRIVING - JUST NORMAL ABOUT TOWN AND SOME MINIMAL HIGHWAY. I AM THE ONLY OWNER - BOUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW. SEEMS LIKE THIS IS A DEFECT THAT OUGHT TO BE ADDRESSED. I SEE A LOT OF CONVERSATION ON THE WEB ABOUT THIS ISSUE. HOPE THEY DECIDE TO RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - ERIE, PA
WHILE DRIVING HOME AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH IN OUR 2011 JEEP PATRIOT THE ENGINE JUST SHUT OFF WITH OUT WARNING, TOTAL LOSS OF POWER. WE MANAGED TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, PUT ON THE EMERGENCY 4 WAY FLASHERS AND PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK. WE ATTEMPTED TO START THE CAR SEVERAL TIMES TO NO AVAIL. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START THE CAR IT JUST KEPT TRYING TO TURN OVER, WE COULDN'T EVEN GET IT OUT OF PARK TO TRY AND START IT IN NEUTRAL. A SEARCH ON THE INTERNET SHOWS THAT THIS IS BECOMING A COMMON OCCURRENCE WITH THE 2011 JEEP PATRIOTS REGARDLESS OF THE MILEAGE. I THINK ITS TIME FOR A RECALL BEFORE SOMETHING SERIOUS HAPPENS ON A HIGHWAY AND SOMEONE GETS KILLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/15/2015 - YOUNGSVILLE, PA
I WAS ON A SHORT TRIP WHEN A CAR BEHIND ME FRANTICALLY WAVED ME TO STOP AND INFORMED ME THAT MY JEEP WAS ON FIRE. THE EXHAUST BURNT A WHOLE THROUGH THE REAR BUMPER AND MELTED THE BUMPER. I HAD NO INDICATION THAT THIS WAS HAPPENING.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2015 - YOUNGSVILLE, PA
I WAS ON A SHORT TRIP WHEN A CAR BEHIND ME FRANTICALLY WAVED ME TO STOP AND INFORMED ME THAT MY JEEP WAS ON FIRE. THE EXHAUST BURNT A WHOLE THROUGH THE REAR BUMPER AND MELTED THE BUMPER. I HAD NO INDICATION THAT THIS WAS HAPPENING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/15/2015 - YOUNGSVILLE, PA
I WAS ON A SHORT TRIP WHEN A CAR BEHIND ME FRANTICALLY WAVED ME TO STOP AND INFORMED ME THAT MY JEEP WAS ON FIRE. THE EXHAUST BURNT A WHOLE THROUGH THE REAR BUMPER AND MELTED THE BUMPER. I HAD NO INDICATION THAT THIS WAS HAPPENING.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2015 - ENGLEWOOD, NJ
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 50MPH, MY CAR STALLED. I ROLLED TO THE SHOULDER WITH THE RESIDUAL MOMENTUM. AFTER WAITING 3-5 MINUTES THE CAR WAS ABLE TO TURN OVER. I DROVE THE CAR UNTIL I COULD GET A SERVICE APPOINTMENT AT MY LOCAL CHRYSLER JEEP DEALER; DURING THAT TIME THE CAR CONTINUED TO STALL RANDOMLY. TWO DAYS BEFORE MY APPOINTMENT, MY CAR STALLED TO THE POINT WHERE IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER. I FIRST TOWED THE CAR HOME, THE FOLLOWING MORNING TOWED IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY CAR FOR 4 DAYS AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM OR DETECT THE ORIGIN OF THE MALFUNCTION. SINCE HAVING THE CAR IN MY POSSESSION , I HAVE HAD THE CAR STALL EACH DAY IN USE. THIS CAR HAS PROVEN TO UNPREDICTABLE BUT MOST OF ALL UNSAFE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/5/2015 - FENTON, MI
SUNROOF LEAKS AFTER SNOWFALL; AS IT MELTS, WATER COLLECTS IN THE DOME LIGHT AND POURS OUT LIKE A WATERFALL WHILE DRIVING. NO ELECTRICAL ISSUES YET, BUT TWO OCCURRENCES SO FAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds