Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 114 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Suspension (13) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (22) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/5/2016 - PHILADELPHA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER ENTERED THE VEHICLE FROM AN UNKNOWN SOURCE BEHIND THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE WATER WAS ENTERING FROM THE SUN ROOF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
ON 12/28/2016, THE FRONT PASSENGER WINDOW MOTOR AND MASTER SWITCH WERE REPLACED BY SOUTH POINT CHRYSLER (SP). THEY HAD THE CAR FOR 9 DAYS SINCE THEY ENCOUNTERED AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. COINCIDENCE? PROVIDED A RENTAL CAR THRU DUE TO EXTENDED WARRANTY. FROM 1/23/2016 3 ALTERNATORS HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND 2 BATTERIES BY PRECISION TUNE (PT). THE CAR HAS THE SYMPTOMS OF STALLING/DING AND A FEW MINUTES/HOURS LATER IT STARTS. SINCE 3/12/2016 I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP SINCE ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS ARE UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY AND SECURE NET WARRANTY ONLY PAID A PORTION OF THE ALTERNATOR REPAIR. 3/12-3/16 SP HAD THE CAR AND WERE UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE SYMPTOMS, AT THIS POINT THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BROUGHT OVER BY PT. ON 3/20 AFTER BEING ON THE HIGHWAY AND NOW ON A CITY STREET THE CAR DIES AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DRIVE. NO RESPONSE, DEAD! I WAS ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE, GET OUT OF TRAFFIC LANES AND CLEAR THE RAILROAD TRACKS. I WALK TO MAKE A PHONE CALL TAKES ME ABOUT 15 MIN. TO RETURN AND THE CAR STARTS AGAIN. NOW AT HOME, THE CAR DOES NOT START BACK THROUGH THE EVENING NOR IN THE MORNING BEFORE I TAKE A RIDE TO WORK, SO IT IS TOWED TO PT 3/21, AND ARE ABLE TO START IT WITHOUT PROBLEMS, ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY READINGS, PERFECT . I TAKE IT TO SP ON 3/22-3/26 AND THEY ARE UNABLE TO REPRODUCE SYMPTOMS. ON 3/28 CAR BACK TO SP SINCE I NEED THIS PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF BECAUSE OF THE DANGEROUS POTENTIAL IT POSES. ON 3/28 I CALL CHRYS, THEY CLAIM WILL BE SENDING A STAR ENGINEER TO LOOK INTO THIS MATTER. ON 3/31 SP WANT TO RETURN THE CAR, UNABLE TO REPRODUCE PROBLEM AND I FIND OUT THAT THEY WERE NOT INFORMED THAT AN ENGINEER WOULD BE LOOKING INTO THE CAR. ON 3/31 AFTER 2 CALLS TO CHRYS. INFORMED ME THAT THE DEALERSHIP IS THE ONE THAT MAKES THE REQUEST TO HAVE A ENGINEER COME AND INSPECT THE CAR. I NEED THE CAR FIXED SINCE IT POSES A DANGER TO ME AND OTHERS, REFUNDS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/28/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE ALTERNATOR WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED AGAIN HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED A THIRD TIME HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. PRIOR TO THIS FAILURE, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE MOTOR AND THE WINDOW WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/28/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE ALTERNATOR AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER THE FAILURE PERSISTED FOUR DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER HOWEVER, THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/2/2016 - ATHENS, OH
MY 2011 JEEP PATRIOT WAS PURCHASED NEW IN MID NOVEMBER 2010. IT HAS 42,972 MILES ON IT. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TIRES, ONE WAS WORN CLEAR DOWN ON THE INSIDE. THE TIRE SUPPLIER SAID I NEEDED AN ALIGNMENT. WHEN I WENT IN TO GET AN ALIGNMENT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DO ONE BECAUSE MY BALL JOINTS NEEDED REPLACED. I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE (MY FIRST & LAST JEEP) FOR 63 1/2 MONTHS AND DRIVEN IT LESS THAN 677 MILES A MONTH OR LESS THAN 10 MILES PER DAY, I SHOULD NOT BE REPLACING MY BALL JOINTS WITH THESE LOW MILES ON MY CAR! IT IS BAD ENOUGH THAT I WAS TOLD NOT TO EVEN DRIVE MY CAR UNTIL THE PARTS COME IN WHICH IS GOING TO BE ANOTHER 13 DAYS! PLEASE TELL ME HOW THIS IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR ON A VEHICLE THAT HAS NEVER BEEN OFF ROAD AND HAS NEVER HAD THE 4 WHEEL DRIVE ENGAGED LONGER THAN TO JUST PULL OUT OF SLICK SPOT? PLEASE MAKE THIS RIGHT AND RECALL THE JEEPS THAT ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/22/2016 - SATSUMA, AL
VEHICLE WILL SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY AFTER RUNNING FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME. LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THISE WOULD HAPPEN AT ANY SPEED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/31/2016 - ESCONDIDO, CA
I WAS EXCALLERATING FROM A STOP AT A RED LIGHT THAT HAD JUST TURNED GREEN WHEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE INTERSECTION MY JEEP STAULED. THE TWO VEHICLES BEHIND ME REAR ENDED EACH OTHER. I SLOWLY ROLLED TO MY RIGHT . THE ETC (LIGHTING BOLT SYMBOL) AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I REPEATED THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO START AND DRIVE A FEW FEET AT A TIME AND REMOVE BATTERY TERMINALS AND CLEAN THEM. THE RPM WOULD DROP VERY FAST AND ENGINE WOULD CUT OUT WHILE IN MOTION . THIS WAS ON VERY BUSY RURAL STREETS. IT SEEM TO HAPPEN DURING ECCELERATION. I MANAGED THE TO MAKE IT HOME BY DRIVING VERY SLOW AND TRYING TO KEEP RPMS AS LOW AS POSSIBLE. AT TIMES THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UNTIL I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY THEN RECONNECTED. HAVE A NEW BATTERY, PCV VALVE, AND SAME ISSUES. I BELIEVE THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLIES ON THESE VEHICLES ARE FAULTY AND SUFFER FROM ENGINEERING DESIGN AND WEAK INTERNAL PARTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/11/2016 - VALENCIA, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE WILL START TO WHINE AND THEN LOSE POWER. SOMETIMES THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT WILL COME ON AND SOMETIMES IT DOES NOT. HAD TO PULL OVER 10 TIMES DURING A TRIP THAT WAS 141 MILES . ONLY 2 OCCUPANTS IN THE CAR WITH NO BAGGAGE OR TOWING. DEFINITELY WAS NOT OVERLOADED AND SPEEDS WERE AROUND 65 MPH THE ENTIRE TRIP. WE DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR ANYMORE AND THIS IS OUR FAMILY TRAVEL CAR!

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/30/2015 - KINGSPORT, TN
TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO GET A WOBBLE IN THE FRONT END CHECKED. WAS TOLD BY TECHNICIAN THAT THE BALL JOINTS ON BOTH SIDE ARE WORN OUT. HE SAID IT WAS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM DUE TO POOR QUALITY COMPONENTS. FROM READING COMPLAINTS, IT SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON ISSUE. IT IT'S A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. I HAVE CONTACTED AN ATTORNEY AND WILL PROCEED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/22/2015 - HAZEL PARK, MI
AT IDLE AND WHILE DRIVING, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL (ETC) LIGHT BLINKS INTERMITTENTLY AND I LOSE POWER. AFTER ABOUT 4 DAYS OF THIS HAPPENING, NOT ONLY DID THE ETC LIGHT COME ON, BUT THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) LIGHT CAME ON. THEN THE 4X4 LIGHT, AIRBAG LIGHTS, AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE JEEP RAN REALLY ROUGH AT IDLE. I TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED JEEP DEALER TO BE TOLD THAT I NEED THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED FOR $591. THE MILEAGE ON MY JEEP IS APPROXIMATELY 51,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds