Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2011 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (12) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (28) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (22) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/31/2016 - ESCONDIDO, CA
I WAS EXCALLERATING FROM A STOP AT A RED LIGHT THAT HAD JUST TURNED GREEN WHEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE INTERSECTION MY JEEP STAULED. THE TWO VEHICLES BEHIND ME REAR ENDED EACH OTHER. I SLOWLY ROLLED TO MY RIGHT . THE ETC (LIGHTING BOLT SYMBOL) AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I REPEATED THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO START AND DRIVE A FEW FEET AT A TIME AND REMOVE BATTERY TERMINALS AND CLEAN THEM. THE RPM WOULD DROP VERY FAST AND ENGINE WOULD CUT OUT WHILE IN MOTION . THIS WAS ON VERY BUSY RURAL STREETS. IT SEEM TO HAPPEN DURING ECCELERATION. I MANAGED THE TO MAKE IT HOME BY DRIVING VERY SLOW AND TRYING TO KEEP RPMS AS LOW AS POSSIBLE. AT TIMES THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UNTIL I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY THEN RECONNECTED. HAVE A NEW BATTERY, PCV VALVE, AND SAME ISSUES. I BELIEVE THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLIES ON THESE VEHICLES ARE FAULTY AND SUFFER FROM ENGINEERING DESIGN AND WEAK INTERNAL PARTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/11/2016 - VALENCIA, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE WILL START TO WHINE AND THEN LOSE POWER. SOMETIMES THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT WILL COME ON AND SOMETIMES IT DOES NOT. HAD TO PULL OVER 10 TIMES DURING A TRIP THAT WAS 141 MILES . ONLY 2 OCCUPANTS IN THE CAR WITH NO BAGGAGE OR TOWING. DEFINITELY WAS NOT OVERLOADED AND SPEEDS WERE AROUND 65 MPH THE ENTIRE TRIP. WE DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR ANYMORE AND THIS IS OUR FAMILY TRAVEL CAR!

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/30/2015 - KINGSPORT, TN
TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO GET A WOBBLE IN THE FRONT END CHECKED. WAS TOLD BY TECHNICIAN THAT THE BALL JOINTS ON BOTH SIDE ARE WORN OUT. HE SAID IT WAS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM DUE TO POOR QUALITY COMPONENTS. FROM READING COMPLAINTS, IT SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON ISSUE. IT IT'S A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. I HAVE CONTACTED AN ATTORNEY AND WILL PROCEED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2015 - HAZEL PARK, MI
AT IDLE AND WHILE DRIVING, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL (ETC) LIGHT BLINKS INTERMITTENTLY AND I LOSE POWER. AFTER ABOUT 4 DAYS OF THIS HAPPENING, NOT ONLY DID THE ETC LIGHT COME ON, BUT THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) LIGHT CAME ON. THEN THE 4X4 LIGHT, AIRBAG LIGHTS, AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE JEEP RAN REALLY ROUGH AT IDLE. I TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED JEEP DEALER TO BE TOLD THAT I NEED THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED FOR $591. THE MILEAGE ON MY JEEP IS APPROXIMATELY 51,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/22/2015 - HAZEL PARK, MI
AT IDLE AND WHILE DRIVING, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL (ETC) LIGHT BLINKS INTERMITTENTLY AND I LOSE POWER. AFTER ABOUT 4 DAYS OF THIS HAPPENING, NOT ONLY DID THE ETC LIGHT COME ON, BUT THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) LIGHT CAME ON. THEN THE 4X4 LIGHT, AIRBAG LIGHTS, AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE JEEP RAN REALLY ROUGH AT IDLE. I TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED JEEP DEALER TO BE TOLD THAT I NEED THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED FOR $591. THE MILEAGE ON MY JEEP IS APPROXIMATELY 51,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2015 - LEES SUMMIT, MO
THE TRANSMISSION FREQUENTLY OVERHEATS ON TRIPS OVER 1 HOURS OR WHERE HIGHWAY SPEED LIMITS ARE HIGHER THAN 70 MPH. THERE IS A FIELD FOR THE DATE OF WHEN THIS HAPPENED BELOW; HOWEVER, IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES. I HAVE TO PULL OFF OF THE ROAD AND LET IT SET FOR ABOUT 15 TO 20 MINUTES BEFORE I CAN CONTINUE THE TRIP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/28/2015 - LANDERS, CA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE JUST DIES FOR NO REASON. AFTER A WHILE IT STARTS BACK UP WITH THE EXCEPTION OF ONE TIME I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO A MECHANIC. A COUPLE DAYS AGO IT STALLED WHILE ON THE FWY WITH MY 3 YR OLD SON ALMOST RESULTING IN DISASTER. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE ABOUT 6 MONTHS.

View Details

WHEELS

11/24/2015 - COLUMBUS, OH
"DEATH WOBBLE". I EXPERIENCED THIS ON A SHORT TWO HOUR TRIP WHERE I COULDN'T CONTROL THE CARD. EVERY TIME I HIT A BUMP OR TIRED TO TURN THE CAR WAS HARD TO STEER. THIS JEEP HAS ON 40K ON IT AND IS 4 YEARS OLD. I WAS TRAVELLING ON THE HIGHWAY AND GENUINELY FEARED FOR MY LIFE. I WAS OVER HALFWAY TO MY DESTINATION SO I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND TOOK THE BACK ROADS WITH MY HAZARDS ON AND WENT SLOW. THE FACT THAT JEEP IS UNWILLING TO REIMBURSE ME FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIR IS UPSETTING. BUT WHAT IS MORE UPSETTING IS HOW THEY HAVE NOT ISSUED A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE SPOKEN TO SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH REGARDS TO THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AND NOT JUST WITH THE PATRIOT. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR WORSE. I HAVE NO FAITH IN THE COMPANY NOW AND DO NOT TRUST THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

11/24/2015 - COLUMBUS, OH
"DEATH WOBBLE". I EXPERIENCED THIS ON A SHORT TWO HOUR TRIP WHERE I COULDN'T CONTROL THE CARD. EVERY TIME I HIT A BUMP OR TIRED TO TURN THE CAR WAS HARD TO STEER. THIS JEEP HAS ON 40K ON IT AND IS 4 YEARS OLD. I WAS TRAVELLING ON THE HIGHWAY AND GENUINELY FEARED FOR MY LIFE. I WAS OVER HALFWAY TO MY DESTINATION SO I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND TOOK THE BACK ROADS WITH MY HAZARDS ON AND WENT SLOW. THE FACT THAT JEEP IS UNWILLING TO REIMBURSE ME FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIR IS UPSETTING. BUT WHAT IS MORE UPSETTING IS HOW THEY HAVE NOT ISSUED A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE SPOKEN TO SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH REGARDS TO THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AND NOT JUST WITH THE PATRIOT. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR WORSE. I HAVE NO FAITH IN THE COMPANY NOW AND DO NOT TRUST THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/24/2015 - COLUMBUS, OH
"DEATH WOBBLE". I EXPERIENCED THIS ON A SHORT TWO HOUR TRIP WHERE I COULDN'T CONTROL THE CARD. EVERY TIME I HIT A BUMP OR TIRED TO TURN THE CAR WAS HARD TO STEER. THIS JEEP HAS ON 40K ON IT AND IS 4 YEARS OLD. I WAS TRAVELLING ON THE HIGHWAY AND GENUINELY FEARED FOR MY LIFE. I WAS OVER HALFWAY TO MY DESTINATION SO I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND TOOK THE BACK ROADS WITH MY HAZARDS ON AND WENT SLOW. THE FACT THAT JEEP IS UNWILLING TO REIMBURSE ME FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIR IS UPSETTING. BUT WHAT IS MORE UPSETTING IS HOW THEY HAVE NOT ISSUED A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE SPOKEN TO SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH REGARDS TO THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AND NOT JUST WITH THE PATRIOT. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR WORSE. I HAVE NO FAITH IN THE COMPANY NOW AND DO NOT TRUST THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds