Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2011 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (90) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (34) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (68) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (5) Suspension (29) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (2) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/29/2018 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
I BOUGHT MY JEEP WITH 67,000 MILES, WITHIN A YEAR BEFORE REACHING 100,000 MILES IT WAS ONLY AT ABOUT 99,000MILES WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND APPARENTLY THE ENGINE WASN+T LUBRICATING CORRECTLY AND A BEARING IN THE ENGINE SHATTERED. EVEN THOUGH I CHANGE MY OIL EVERY 3,000 MILES WITH HIGH MILEAGE BECAUSE MY SPOUSE WORKS ON CARS HE IS ALWAYS MAKING SURE. AFTER LOOKING INTO THIS FURTHER THIS ENGINE IS KNOWN THROUGHOUT THE JEEP COMMUNITY TO FAIL BEFORE REACHING 100,000 MILES YET JEEP STILL HAS NOT USED AN EXTENSION FOR THE ENGINE. I SPENT ALMOST 20,000 DOLLARS ON THIS VEHICLE ONE YEAR AGO AND NOW I+M DRIVING AROUND WITH AN ENGINE THAT WILL FAIL SOON BECAUSE I HAVE TO GET TO WORK SOMEHOW AND THE WARRENTY ON THE VEHICLE WAS ONLY A FIVE YEAR 100,000 MILES WARRENTY SO IT DOESN+T COVER IT. I THINK JEEP SHOULD BE ASHAMED FOR SELLING PEOPLE THESE ENGINES KNOWING THEY WILL FAIL BEFORE 100,000 MILES AND THAT THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE AND EXTEND THE ORIGINAL WARRANTIES TO 10 YR 150,000 MILES FOR PEOPLE WHO EXPIERIENCE THIS KIND OF ENGINE FAILURE AND NOW HAVE TO PURCHASE A NEW ENGINE OUT OF POCKET. I NEED SOMEONE TO CONTACT ME REGARDING THIS ISSUE I WILL NOT SIT BACK AND REMAIN SILENT UNTIL IT IS RESOLVED. I AM A SINGLE MOTHER LIVING ON LIMITED INCOME AND HAVE TO TAKE FROM MY SAVINGS TO COVER AN ENTIRE NEW ENGINE. FOR A CAR I BOUGHT 1 YEAR AGO AND DIDN+T EVEN GO 100,000 MILES BEFORE EXPLODING. AND I DIDN+T EVEN PUT THE MOST MILES ON IT. I+VE ONLY GONE ABOUT 40,000 MILES. SO IN REALITY THIS WAS MOST LIKELY AN ISSUE BEFORE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2018 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND REMAINED LIT. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/9/2018 - SHARPSBURG, GA
AIRBAG LIGHT IN ON INDICATING A PROBLEM WITH THE AIRBAG. I CONTACTED JEEP AND THEY SAID THE REPAIR WOULD BE $600. IF THIS IS A SAFETY ITEM DUE TO NO RESULT OF MY OWN, THEN WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/29/2018 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS DRIVING 45 MPH SOUTHBOUND ON HIGHWAY 101 IN CALIFORNIA. I STARTED SMELLING A BURNING SMELL FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WAS COMING UP TO TRAFFIC AND BEGAN TO PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL AND REALIZED THAT I HAD VERY LITTLE BRAKE PRESSURE. I THEN SWITCHED LANES IN PREPARATION TO GET OFF THE HIGHWAY. AS I GOT OFF THE NEXT EXIT WITH VERY LITTLE BRAKE PRESSURE, THE SMELL GOT WORSE AND SMOKE BEGAN TO COME OUT FROM UNDER THE ENGINE BAY. AS SOON AS A I GOT OFF THE NEXT EXIT, I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND HAND TO USE THE HAND BRAKE TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. I HAD NO BRAKE PRESSURE LEFT. AS SOON AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, FLAMES STARTED COMING OUT FROM UNDER THE ENGINE BAY. I GRABBED WHAT I COULD AND EXITED THE VEHICLE AND CALLED 911 REQUESTING THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TO PUT THE FIRE OUT. THE FIRE STARTED UNDER THE LEFT HAND SIDE OF THE ENGINE BAY. THAT IS WHERE THE FLAMES WERE SEEN VISIBLY FIRST. I HAVE NO AFTERMARKET PARTS OR MODS OUTSIDE OF MOPAR (OEM). CAR HAS BEEN MAINTAINED AND SERVICE BY PUTNAM JEEP IN BURLINGAME. NO OFFROAD USAGE EITHER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2018 - GROVLAND, FL
DRIVERS DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR IS MALFUNCTIONING. REPAIR SHOP SAID IT IS BAD

View Details

AIR BAGS: CLOCKSPRING

7/23/2018 - BELLEVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE DRIVING, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, WHICH WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WARNING INDICATOR WOULD ILLUMINATE AT 30 SECOND INTERVALS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FEDERICO CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (1875 E EDWARDSVILLE RD, WOOD RIVER, IL 62095, (618) 254-1000) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCKSPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V288000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,537.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/18/2018 - BALDWIN, NY
CRACK IN GAS TANK - THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED YESTERDAY WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY MECHANIC. THERE IS A CRACK IN THE TOP OF THE GAS TANK. MY MECHANIC SAID THAT AFTER RESEARCH IN TRYING TO GET A NEW GAS TANK, HE FOUND THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE. MOPAR HAS A SIGNIFICANT BACKORDER FOR THESE TANKS. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE AND I HOPE IT WILL BE LOOKED INTO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/16/2018 - GAINESVILLE, GA
JEEP HAS A LEAK AT MOULDED VALVE FOR EVAP SYSTEM ON THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/16/2018 - GAINESVILLE, GA
JEEP HAS A LEAK AT MOULDED VALVE FOR EVAP SYSTEM ON THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/11/2018 - MAYWOOD, IL
EXTREME HOOD FLUTTER AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS OR HIGH WINDS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds