Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 142 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (48) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (14) Seats (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (11) Visibility (5)
Engine (28) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/28/2016 - GEORGETOWN, SC
UNABLE TO DRIVE STRAIGHT. PULLS TO LEFT AND RIGHT. I'M DRIVING ALL OVER THE LANE. WEARS ME OUT JUST TRYING TO DRIVE IT. AND ALL THIS CLICKING NOISE GOING ON...WHY DOESN'T KIA FIX THESE PROBLEMS? WHY IS IT SUCH A MYSTERY?? WHY ISN'T THIS A RECALL? AN AUTOMOBILE THAT WON'T DRIVE STRAIGHT? ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2016 - SOUTH BOSTON, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING OVER 55 MPH, THE ENGINE WOULD BEGIN TO RUMBLE. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT NO OIL WAS PRESENT. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE LOW OIL SENSOR WARNING LIGHT HAD NOT ILLUMINATED TO ALERT OF THE ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2016 - FLORISSANT, MO
ON APRIL 10, 2016 WHILE DRIVING ON 270W IN STL DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC MY CAR WITHOUT ANY WARNING STALLED AND DIED. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND CONTACT AAA TO COME TOW MY VEHICLE AS IT WOULD RESTART BUT THEN DIE AGAIN WITHIN 1 MINUTE. UPON TAKING TO MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP THE MECHANICE DETERMINED THROUGH A THOROUGH INVESTIGATION THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WENT OUT AND A NEW ONE WOULD NEED TO BE INSTALLED. THE TOTAL COST TO FIX THIS ISSUE WAS $964 WHICH I FELT WAS ROBBERY. MY VEHICLE HAS 76K MILES ON IT AND HAS ALL REGULAR MAINTANCE AT THE SCHEDULED TIME. I SEE THAT THESE EXACT SAME ENGINES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THE HYUNDAI SONATA AND THAT THERE ARE A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE SAME ENGINE BUT YET NOTHING IS BEING DONE TO INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE. KIA NEEDS TO RECALL THIS ENGINE AND FUEL PUMP ASAP SO OTHERS WILL NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH THE STRESS OF THIS SITUATION. I AM JUST THANKFUL I DID NOT HAVE A TRAGIC ACCIDENT FROM THIS OCCURENCE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2016 - LITTLE ELM, TX
SHORTLY AFTER TEST DRIVING AND BUYING A USED 2011 KIA OPTIMA LX, WE BEGAN EXPERIENCING AN INTERMITTENT ENGINE HESITATION PROBLEM WHEN ACCELERATING AT LOW SPEEDS. IT MAY NOT OCCUR FOR MANY MILES OF SLOW-AND-GO TRAFFIC BUT, WHEN IT HAPPENS, IT IS SHOCKING BECAUSE THE ENGINE FEELS LIKE IT IS GOING TO COMPLETELY DIE FOR UP TO 3 OR 4 SECONDS. THIS CAN BE VERY DANGEROUS WHILE TURNING ONTO A BUSY HIGHWAY OR CROSSING A HIGH SPEED INTERSECTION.I THIS HESITATION PROBLEM WILL OCCUR AT RANDOM REGARDLESS OF WHETHER THE ENGINE OR THE WEATHER IS COLD OR WARM. WE LEFT THIS CAR AT A KIA DEALER FOR SEVERAL DAYS BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE ENGINE HESITATION PROBLEM. THE ENGINE HAS HESITATED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST MONTH.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2016 - LIMERICK, PA
ON MARCH 23, 2016 WHILE DRIVING ON 422W IN PA DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC MY CAR WITHOUT ANY WARNING STALLED AND DIED. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND CONTACT AAA TO COME TOW MY VEHICLE AS IT WOULD NOT RESTART. UPON TAKING TO MY LOCAL SERVICE MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION NOTHING WAS OUTWARDLY WRONG EXCEPT VEHICLE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER. MECHANICE DETERMINED THROUGH A THOROUGH INVESTIGATION THAT THE ENGINE HAS SEIZED AND A NEW ONE WOULD NEED TO BE INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE HAS 108K MILES ON IT AND HAS ALL REGULAR MAINTANCE AT THE SCHEDULED TIME. I SEE THAT THESE EXACT SAME ENGINES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THE HYUNDAI SONATA AND THAT THERE ARE A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE SAME ENGINE YET NOTHING IS BEING DONE TO INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE. KIA NEEDS TO RECALL THIS ENGINE AND HOPEFULLY SAVE ANOTHER FAMILY FROM HAVING TO DEAL WITH THE STRESS OF THIS SITUATION. I AM JUST THANKFUL NO ONE HAS HAD A TRAGIC ACCIDENT FROM THIS OCCURENCE. I ALSO FIND IT AMAZING THAT WHEN CALLING KIA TO GET A REMANUFACTURED ENGINE THAT WE WERE TOLD THAT ALL OF THESE ENGINES HAVE BEEN SENT OUT IMMEDIATELY TO COVER THE HYUNDAI RECALL.....

View Details

STEERING

4/12/2016 - COLQUITT, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH OR WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING, AN ABNORMAL SOUND EMITTED FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER ROLLING OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COUPLER ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,700. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

4/8/2016 - FTORT MYERS, FL
WHILE SITTING WITH THE CAR RUNNING THE STEERING WHEEL HAS PLAY AND MAKES A KNOCKING SOUND WHILE MOVING THE WHEN BACK AND FORTH.

View Details

STEERING

4/5/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
HEARING A KNOCKING NOISE IN THE STEERING WHEEL WHILE SITTING STILL OR MOVING WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL IS MOVED FROM SIDE TO SIDE, ALOT OF FREEPLAY IN THE STEERING WHEEL. WHEN YOU HIT A BUMP THERE IS A LOUD CLANKING NOISE FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE NOISE IS PROGRESSING. THIS HAS BEEN ON GOING BUT IT IS NOW GETTING WORSE. I'VE ALWAYS TAKEN MY CAR TO KIA FOR MY OIL CHANGES AND HAVE INQUIRED ABOUT THE NOISE AND THEY HAVE ASSURED ME THERE WAS NOTHING WORNG, WHEN I TOOK IT TO GET MY OIL CHANGE ON SATURDAY 4/2 THEY SAID THE WARRANTY EXPIRED AT 100,000 MILES AND I TOLD THEM I MENTIONED IT TO THEM WHEN MY CAR HAD LESS THEN 100,000 AND HE THEN SAID IT DOESN'T COVER THE STEERING WHEEL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2016 - VA BEACH, VA
WHEN PUTTING THE CAR IN GEAR, IT WOULD JERK REALLY HARD LIKE I HAD HIT SOMETHING. AT FIRST IT ONLY DID IT ONCE OR TWICE WITHIN A MONTH SO IT WAS HARD TO DUPLICATE. RECENTLY IT STARTED GETTING CONSISTENT. IT WOULD JERK HARD WHEN PUTTING IT IN GEAR OR PARK. ALSO GOING DOWN THE ROAD IT SHIFTED REALLY HAD LIKE SOMETHING WAS SLIPPING. IT DIDN'T MATTER IF IT WAS IN THE MORNING OR AFTERNOON. TWICE THIS WEEK, IT DID IT EACH TIME I WENT SOMEWHERE. THE SHIFTS WERE SOMETIMES SHORTER AND MORE OFTEN. IT FELT LIKE IT WAS MAYBE SLIPPING OR NEEDED FLUID. I TOOK IT IN AND DETERMINED IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION TEMPERATURE SENSOR. THEY REPLACED TRANY TEMP SENSOR, CODE P0711. THERE WAS NO CODE ON THE DASH, THEY HAD TO CHECK IT IN THE TRANSMISSION. IT WORKED.

View Details

STEERING

3/30/2016 - VA BEACH, VA
WHILE TAKING THE CAR IN TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOR A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM, THEY DID A 360 CHECK AND NOTICED THE STEERING COLUMN HAD PLAY IN IT AND MADE A CLICKING NOISE ABOUT A QUARTER TURN EACH DIRECTION. IT IS A PLASTIC GEAR PIECE THAT IS SMALLER THAN A QUARTER, PICTURE WILL BE ATTACHED. THEY SAID IF I DIDN'T GET IT FIXED IT WOULD GET EVENTUALLY WORSE BY WEARING OUT THE TIRES OR ALIGNMENT SO I HAD IT REPLACED. THEY HAD TO TAKE APART THE STEERING WHEEL TO REPLACE IT. IT WAS 20 FOR THE PIECE BUT WITH LABOR MY BILL WAS 181.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds