Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 216 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (21) Seats (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (11) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (74) Power Train (15) Steering (65) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/21/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
TAKATA RECALL AS SOON AS I TURN THE KEY THE AIRBAG LIGHT SHOWS UP, STEADY. IT IS ON ALL THE TIME, WHETHER I AM STATIONARY OR IN MOTION. I HAVE NO IDEA IF THE AIRBAGS EVEN WORK. THERE ARE ALSO ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AS THE DOOR OFTEN UNLOCKS ON ITS OWN, ALARM GOES OFF ON IT'S OWN, LIGHTS FLASH INSIDE EVERY TIME I MAKE A TURN, LEFT OR RIGHT AND THE RADIO SPAZZES OUT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/21/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
TAKATA RECALL AS SOON AS I TURN THE KEY THE AIRBAG LIGHT SHOWS UP, STEADY. IT IS ON ALL THE TIME, WHETHER I AM STATIONARY OR IN MOTION. I HAVE NO IDEA IF THE AIRBAGS EVEN WORK. THERE ARE ALSO ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AS THE DOOR OFTEN UNLOCKS ON ITS OWN, ALARM GOES OFF ON IT'S OWN, LIGHTS FLASH INSIDE EVERY TIME I MAKE A TURN, LEFT OR RIGHT AND THE RADIO SPAZZES OUT

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
TAKATA RECALL AS SOON AS I TURN THE KEY THE AIRBAG LIGHT SHOWS UP, STEADY. IT IS ON ALL THE TIME, WHETHER I AM STATIONARY OR IN MOTION. I HAVE NO IDEA IF THE AIRBAGS EVEN WORK. THERE ARE ALSO ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AS THE DOOR OFTEN UNLOCKS ON ITS OWN, ALARM GOES OFF ON IT'S OWN, LIGHTS FLASH INSIDE EVERY TIME I MAKE A TURN, LEFT OR RIGHT AND THE RADIO SPAZZES OUT

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2017 - LA HABRA, CA
I HAVE WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY A D MY ENGINE JUST TURNED OFF AND ALL THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON ON THE DASHBOARD. I WAS TOLD BY DEALER MY ENGINE GAVE OUT AND IT IS COVERED BASED ON THE RECENT RECALL

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/18/2017 - OSWEGO, IL
LOW BEAMS ARE VERY DIM DUE TO INTERNAL HEAD LIGHT CUP CHROME WORN OUT , CAN'T SEE MORE THAN 3 FEET AHEAD AT NIGHT , UNLESS I USE HI BEAMS .

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2017 - FORT WALTON BEACH, FL
WHILE TRAVELING IN A 65MPH ZONE THE VEHICLE STALLED WITH OUT INDICATION OR DASH LIGHTS. VEHICLE LOST STEERING AND CONTROL, PUTTING MYSELF AND OTHERS AT RISK OF DANGER. STOPPED THE VEHICLE. WHILE TRYING TO START THE VEHICLE, TURNED THE KEY AND ALL DASH LIGHTS WERE PRESENT BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, CLICK OR TURN OVER. ISSUE RESULTED AS AN ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
I WAS ON INTERSTATE 65 I WAS GOING ABOUT 55MPH AND BEGAN TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE VEHICLES ENGINE STALLED. THERE WERE CARS COMING FROM BEHIND I QUICKLY GOT OVER INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE AND CAME TO A STOP. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS THAT CAME ON PRIOR TO THIS OCCURRING. I NEVER HEARD ANY TYPE OF KNOCKING FROM THE ENGINE EITHER. IT WAS A TERRIFYING MOMENT HAVING THE CAR STOP FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON. 4 DAYS LATER THERE AS WAS AN ANNOUNCEMENT OF A RECALL FROM KIA REGARDING THE CONNECTOR ROD. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THE MOTOR IS LOCKED UP BUT NO ONE HAS TOLD ME WHY. KIA CORPORATION HAS BEEN SLOW TO RESPOND. THEY HAVE SAID THAT ITS NOT AN OFFICIAL RECALL UNTIL THE END OF MAY. THEY HAVE PROVIDED ME WITH A CASE NUMBER BUT THE CASE SPECIALIST HAS YET TO CALL ME BACK.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2017 - RENI, NV
VEHICLE SIZED ON THE HYW WHILE APPROXIMATELY 65MPH. IT WAS TOWED TO KIA, WHO STATED THEY WOULD REPLACE THE ENGINE WITH A NEW ONE. HOWEVER THEY REPLACED IT WITH A MANUFACTURER OR MODIFIED ENGINE. MY CAR NOW VIBRATES AND HAS INCONSISTENT FULE INJECTION. I HAVE REPORTED TO THIS TO THE SERVICE MANAGER AND TO KIA CORPORATION. I HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK FROM EITHER ABOUT CORRECTING THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2017 - PAULINA, LA
ENGINE SEIZED UP ON ME WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING, ENGINE LIGHT ETC, ON I-10 NOVEMBER 2016, CONTACTED KIA CASE # K3330321 HAD ME TOW THE VEHICLE TO THEM FOR WARRANTY EXTENSION WORK FOR THE ENGINE CONNECTING ROD. THEY THEN TOLD ME IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND WOULD NOT REPAIR VEHICLE. I CANCELED PLATES AND IT IS STILL SITTING IN MY YARD UNREPAIRED. EVEN HAD THE CASE ESCALATED HIGHER UP WITH KIA WITH NO RESULTS. ONLY INCURRED MORE COST, THEY ESTIMATED ME $7000 TO REPLACE THE ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2017 - HURLOCK, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL NOISE WAS HEARD FROM THE ENGINE AREA. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TRADED IN DUE TO THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT NO LONGER OWNED THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds