Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 266 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (27) Seats (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (11) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (108) Power Train (16) Steering (68) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/13/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
STARTED HEARING MY ENGINE KNOCKING THE NIGHT BEFORE. KNOCKING STILL EVIDENT, FOLLOWED SHORTLY BY 2 ENGINE STALLS ON THE HIGHWAY! VEHICLE HAD TO SIT ABANDONED OVERNIGHT UNTIL A TOW COULD BE ARRANGED, WHICH RESULTED IN CANCELLING AN OUT-OF-STATE MOVE!

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2017 - SAVANNAH, GA
ENGINE LIGHT ON. KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM ENGINE. CAR WON'T START ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. ENGINE "RATTLES" AT ACCELERATION AND STALLED TODAY WHILE I WAS DRIVING GOING ABOUT 60 MPH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/30/2017 - BERLIN, MA
USING OWNERS MANUAL PROCEDURE FOR STARTING THE ENGINE. VEHICLE IS PARKED, TRANSMISSION LEVER IN PARK POSITION. FOOT DEPRESSING BRAKE PEDAL, PUSH BUTTON FOR STARTING ENGINE ON DASHBOARD IS DEPRESSED = NO ENGINE CRANK & NO START ! INSTRUMENT CLUSTER DISPLAY FULLY ILLUMINATES & "IMMOBILIZER" ICON 'LIGHT' IS DISPLAYED ON PREVENTING ENGINE STARTING. KEY FOB IS PLACED ON THE DASH DURING ABOVE STARTING SEQUENCE...PLACING THE KEY FOB IN THE GLOVE-BOX OVERRIDE "BY-PASS" PORT ALSO WILL NOT START THE VEHICLE. THIS IS A VERY "INTERMITTENT" PROBLEM & HAS OCCURRED 5 TIMES IN RECENT 2 WEEKS STRANDING US AT SHOPPING MALLS & GAS STATIONS. THE OPTIMA HAS BEEN TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP 3 TIMES & SERVICE MANAGER CLAIMS THEY ARE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM OR HAVE THE DEFECT HAPPEN IN THEIR PRESENCE. I SEE MANY OWNERS HAVE POSTED VIDEOS ON YOUTUBE.COM WITH EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM AS WE ARE EXPERIENCING. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING & UNACCEPTABLE...ESPECIALLY WITH WINTER CONDITIONS ARRIVING IN 2 MONTHS ! PLEASE INVESTIGATE ASAP !

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2017 - PORT RICHEY, FL
VEHICLE IN MOTION ON FLORIDA I-10E DOING ABOUT 70 MPH. CAR STARTED MAKING A TICKING SOUND AND GAS PEDDLE STARTED PULSATING. TRIED TO MAKE IT TO NEAREST EXIT 112 BUT NOISE KEPT GETTING LOUDER AND LOUDER AND THEN THERE WAS A LOUD BANG. WHITE SMOKE APPEARED, ENGINE AND OIL LIGHTS CAME ON, AND CAR COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN. WAS ABLE TO MOVE TO SIDE OF ROAD AND CALLED FOR TOW.

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2017 - GLADWIN, MI
I WAS DRIVING AT 55 MPH WHEN THE ENGINE TURNED OFF. ALL ELECTRICAL WAS WORKING. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND TRIED TO RESTART. NOTHING. NO SMOKE, NO CLICKING. ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WAS FINE. I HAD THE OPTIMA TOWED TO THE CLOSEST MECHANIC, WHEN TRIED TO TURN THE CRANK AND FOUND THAT THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. OIL WAS FULL, NO OVER HEATING WARNING. I STILL OWE ON THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2017 - BERKELEY, CA
2011 KIA OPTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ENGINE REPLACEMENT RECALL NOTICE AND SEEKS REIMBURSEMENT INFORMATION. THE CONSUMER STATED THE ENGINE FAILED AND WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. THE CONSUMER RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE 17-V224 AND REQUESTED TO BE ADVISED IF THIS REPAIR WAS ALREADY COMPLETED. UPDATED 09/11/2017

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2017 - FARR WEST, UT
TURBO OIL SUPPLY LINE LEEKS

View Details

STEERING

9/3/2017 - OAK HILL, OH
THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN YOU TURN TO EITHER SIDE HAS A LOT OF PLAY BEFORE RESPONDING TO TURN THE WHEELS AND HAS A LOUD CLANKING SOUND LIKE IT'S EITHER ENGAGING OR SLIPPING, AND IT GETS WORSE EACH TIME I DRIVE IT, AFTER TALKING WITH A FEW DIFFERENT MECHANICS AND LOOKING UP SIMILAR ISSUES THE KIDS OPTIMA HAS A PLASTIC STEERING GEAR INSIDE OF THE STEERING POWER BOX THAT IS WEARING OUT AND GETS WORSE AND WORSE OF COURSE UNTIL YOU HAVE NO STEERING, I'VE FOUND WAY TOO MANY PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUES AND THE HIS CAN NOT BE IGNORED, A MAJOR ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN WHEN DRIVING THIS CAR!!! I HAVE WENT AHEAD AND BOUGHT NEW TIRES, NEW BRAKES NEW FRONT ROTORS NEW FLOAT PINS FOR THE CALIPERS AND THE CAR ALIGNED ALL FOUR TIRES AND NOTHING HELPS LIKE I SAID IT'S THE PLASTIC GEAR IN THE STEERING POWER BOX, IT HAS VIDEOS ON LINE OF THIS AND WHY HASN'T THIS BEEN FIXED??

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/29/2017 - FLUSHING, NY
MY PASSENGER FRONT DOOR KEEPS GOING OUT OF ALIGNMENT. I HAVE HAD IT RE-ALIGNED MANY TIMES. MY BODY SHOP HAS INFORMED ME THAT THE HINGES NEED TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE , IF THE DOOR IS NOT ALIGNED IT MAY OPEN AT ANYTIME. I HAVE INFORMED KIA , THEY HAVE REFUSED TO ASSIST ME WITH THIS ISSUE. PLEASE ASSIST ME WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/22/2017 - HOLDERNESS, NH
PROBLEMS STARTING A FEW YEARS AGO. HEARD KNOCKING, BROUGHT IT IN FOR RECALL, AND IT WASN'T DOING IT ANYMORE. HAD PROBLEM WITH EMISSIONS. RECALL WAS DONE AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE PROBLEM LED TO ENGINE PROBLEMS. NOW ENGINE IS BURNING THROUGH OIL, AND LOCAL TRUSTED MECHANIC SAYS IT IS GOING TO NEED A NEW ENGINE BY WINTER. IN RESEARCH HAVE SEEN OTHERS ARE HAVING SIMILAR PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds