Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 197 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (63) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (18) Seats (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (11) Visibility (5)
Engine (63) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/1/2017 - BRISTOW, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY ON RAMP THE FRONT HALF OF THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF EXPLODED. THE SUNROOF AND INTERIOR SCREEN WERE BOTH CLOSED AT THE TIME. THE REMAINING GLASS WAS PUSHED UPWARD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/1/2017 - BRISTOW, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY ON RAMP THE FRONT HALF OF THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF EXPLODED. THE SUNROOF AND INTERIOR SCREEN WERE BOTH CLOSED AT THE TIME. THE REMAINING GLASS WAS PUSHED UPWARD.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2016 - TINLEY PARK, IL
2011 KIA OPTIMA DRIVING HOME ON EXPRESSWAY ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING AND SEIZED UP, PRETTY MUCH FROZE THE STEERING AND HAD TO FIGHT TO GET TO SHOULDER. KIA HAS A 10 YEAR 100,000 MILE WARRANTY. A LETTER WAS SENT IN MAIL CLAIMING ISSUES WITH BEARINGS CRANKSHAFT PISTONS ON THE 2.0 TURBO AND 2.4 GDI MOTORS , SO KIA BUMPED UP WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS 120,000. I HAVE 120,722 KIA SAYS THEY WONT WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH I AM THIS CLOSE. ALSO KIA AND HYUNDAI ARE SISTER COMPANIES AND HYUNDAI PUT THE SAME IN ENGINES IN THERE SONATA A RECALLED 400,000 PLUS ENGINES AND KIA HAS NOT RECALLED ONE. IF THERE IS AN ISSUE AND THERE CLAIMING THERE IS ONE BY EXTENDING WARRANTY SHOULDN'T IT BE FIXED UNDER A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF TIME. I'VE READ THAT ENGINES TEND TO STALL AT AROUND 100,000 TO 120,00 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

12/15/2016 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A SQUEAKY NOISE. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELRATE AND ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 167,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/28/2016 - WAUKEGAN, IL
(DIMMED HEADLIGHT) I HAVE OWNED MY 2011 OPTIMA SINCE 2013 AND SUMMER OF 2016 NOTICE MY HEADLIGHTS WERE REALLY DIMMED TO THE POINT WHERE YOU CANT SEE PAST 10-20 FEET IN FRONT OF YOU. REPLACED 2 HEADLIGHT BULBS W/ SYLVANIA SILVERSTAR BULBS AND HEADLIGHTS ARE STILL VERY DIMMED. LOOKS LIKE THEY REFLECTORS INSIDE THE BEAMS ARE BURNT/MELTED CAUSING THE LIGHTS TO LOOK DIM. I WOULD DEFINITELY CONSIDER THIS A SAFETY HAZARD SINCE I CANT REALLY SEE ANYTHING ON THE ROAD. IT WOULD BE NICE IF KIA LAUNCHED A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT FOR HEADLIGHT PROBLEM SINCE I WOULD CONSIDER THIS A DESIGN/ENGINEERING FLAW SINCE IT WAS FACTORY BULBS WERE ORIGINALLY IN THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES. UNSAFE HEADLIGHT VISIBILITY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2016 - NEWBURGH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED DUE TO THE OIL CONSUMPTION AND THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/14/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN ON CITY STREET WHEN SMOKE APPEARED OUT OF THE HOOD OF THE CAR. CAR WAS DRIVEN TO A SAFE SPOT IN A RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD TO ASSESS THE PROBLEM.FLASHLIGHT SHOWED A LARGE HOLE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE. CAR WAS TOWED TO KIA DEALERSHIP AND INSPECTED. ALL OIL CHANGE RECEIPTS WERE SUBMITTED AS PER DEALERSHIP REQUEST. DEALERSHIP SUBMITTED CLAIM TO KIA HEADQUARTERS TO SEE IF ENGINE WOULD BE COVERED, I. E.,REPLACED. NEXT DAY ENGINE REPLACEMENT WAS APPROVED AT NO COST TO ME. IT HAS NOW BEEN OVER A MONTH, THERE ARE OTHER KIA CARS AT THIS DEALERSHIP WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AND STILL NO REPLACEMENT ENGINE. I SPOKE TO KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE IN SO. CALIFORNIA AND WAS GIVEN A CASE NUMBER AND THE MESSAGE THAT THE ENGINE IS ON BACK-ORDER. NO ETA CAN BE PROVIDED AND APPARENTLY THERE IS A BACKLOG OF CARS WITH THIS CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE WITH NO END IN SIGHT. ANY ASSISTANCE FROM YOUR OFFICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

STEERING

11/14/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE STEERING FAILED. THE MOTOR SEIZED UP. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOTOR SEIZED UP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE PARTS WOULD BE FREE OF CHARGE, BUT THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE LABOR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/14/2016 - HIGHLAND, CA
THE OPTIMA IS NOT EVEN 5 YEARS OLD - THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN MAKING AN ODD NOISE WHEN STATIONARY WHEN TURNED SLIGHTLY LEFT OR RIGHT. THEN, TRAVELING ON NORMAL CITY STREETS, A LOUD NOISE COULD BE HEARD COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN, EVEN OVER SLIGHT CRACKS OR BUMPS, AND AT LOW SPEEDS. BUT NOW, THE CAR'S STEERING COLUMN IS VERY LOUD AND SHAKES VIOLENTLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS - STARTING AT 50MPH. IT IS SO LOUD I CANNOT HEAR THE RADIO AT ALL. I CAN NO LONGER GO ON ANY TRIPS WITH THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2016 - RIVERSIDE, RI
AT APPROXIMATELY 118,000 MILES, THE CONNECTING ROD AND ENGINE FAILURE HAPPENED WHILE TRAVELLING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH ON RHODE ISLAND STATE ROUTE 114 IN EAST PROVIDENCE, RI. THE ENGINE SEIZED COMPLETELY AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE I THEN REQUIRED A TOW TRUCK. THANKFULLY IT WAS 1AM AND NO CARS ON THE ROAD. NOBODY WAS HURT. BALD HILL KIA IN WARWICK, RI NOW HAS MY CAR, BUT NO ETA ON WHEN IT WILL BE READY. THEY TELL ME THAT THERE ARE TWO OTHER OPTIMAS WAITING FOR ENGINES AHEAD OF MINE. THIS IS 100% UNACCEPTABLE. I SPENT $26,000 ON THIS CAR IN GOOD FAITH AND KIA WILL NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY THEY EXTENDED ON THE ENGINE IN A TIMELY FASHION. WHILE THEY HAVE OFFERED A LOANER CAR FOR NOW, THEY WILL NOT PROVIDE IN WRITING THAT THE LOANER WILL BE OF NO COST TO ME. I AM NOW STUCK WITH THE OPTION OF HOPE AND WAIT THAT KIA DOES THE RIGHT THING, OR TAKE MATTERS IN TO MY OWN HANDS BY CONTACTING NHTSA AND CONSIDERING THE PURCHASE OF A NEW VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds