Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 70 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Engine (2) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/16/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN A MILE TO A COMMUTER RAIL STATION FOR A DROP OFF AND BACK HOME. NOTHING UNUSUAL WAS NOTED DURING THE SHORT TRIP NOR HAD ANY PROBLEMS BEEN OBSERVED IN THE DAYS LEADING UP TO THE INCIDENT. SHORTLY AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE ON THE 5TH FLOOR OF THE PARKING GARAGE AND ENTERING THE RESIDENCE, THE COMPLEX FIRE ALARMS ACTUATED AND ALL RESIDENTS WERE ADVISED TO EVACUATE WITHOUT ENTERING THE COMMUNITY PARKING GARAGE. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, I WAS NOTIFIED BY THE COMPLEX MANAGER VIA MY CELL PHONE THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE IN THE GARAGE. THE ENTIRE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE WAS BURNED AND WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. (ALLSTATE). THE ENTIRE CAR WOULD HAVE BURNED IF IT HADN'T BEEN PARKED DIRECTLY UNDER A SPRINKLER HEAD IN THE GARAGE PLUS A SPEEDY RESPONSE FROM THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. AN INDEPENDENT FIRE ORIGIN INVESTIGATOR WAS HIRED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. HIS PROFESSIONAL OPINION WAS THE FIRE STARTED AT THE RADIATOR FAN ASSEMBLY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN A MILE TO A COMMUTER RAIL STATION FOR A DROP OFF AND BACK HOME. NOTHING UNUSUAL WAS NOTED DURING THE SHORT TRIP NOR HAD ANY PROBLEMS BEEN OBSERVED IN THE DAYS LEADING UP TO THE INCIDENT. SHORTLY AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE ON THE 5TH FLOOR OF THE PARKING GARAGE AND ENTERING THE RESIDENCE, THE COMPLEX FIRE ALARMS ACTUATED AND ALL RESIDENTS WERE ADVISED TO EVACUATE WITHOUT ENTERING THE COMMUNITY PARKING GARAGE. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, I WAS NOTIFIED BY THE COMPLEX MANAGER VIA MY CELL PHONE THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE IN THE GARAGE. THE ENTIRE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE WAS BURNED AND WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. (ALLSTATE). THE ENTIRE CAR WOULD HAVE BURNED IF IT HADN'T BEEN PARKED DIRECTLY UNDER A SPRINKLER HEAD IN THE GARAGE PLUS A SPEEDY RESPONSE FROM THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. AN INDEPENDENT FIRE ORIGIN INVESTIGATOR WAS HIRED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. HIS PROFESSIONAL OPINION WAS THE FIRE STARTED AT THE RADIATOR FAN ASSEMBLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/30/2014 - CHERY HILL , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP WITH THE BRAKES DEPRESSED, THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED AS THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED SIX FEET. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH FORCE. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION WAS EXPERIENCED ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC BUT WAS UNABLE TO GENERATE A FAILURE CODE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 18,100.

View Details

VISIBILITY

12/27/2013 - LACEY, WA
MOONROOF ON OUR 2011 KIA OPTIMA EX MODEL EXPLODED WHILE TRAVELING AT 60 MPH DECEMBER 25TH 2013 - EVENING. OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS 36 DEGREES F AT THE TIME. INCIDENT ALSO CAUSED BODY AND PAINT DAMAGE TO OUR TRUNK AS WELL AS PEPPERED VEHICLES BEHIND US WITH GLASS FRAGMENTS. UPON REVIEWING MULTIPLE FORUMS ON LINE IT APPEARS THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT FOR KIA/HYUNDAI AS I LEARNED MULTIPLE MODELS MADE BY THIS DUO HAVE ALSO SUFFERED SIMILAR SCENARIO'S. I'M SURE NHTSA IS QUITE AWARE THAT THE HYUNDAI VELOSETER HAS RECALLED SEVERAL THOUSAND VEHICLES MFG. FOR THIS POTENTIAL ISSUE AND WE'RE COINCIDENTALLY MADE DURING THE SAME TIME FRAME OUR VEHICLE WAS ASSEMBLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/27/2013 - LACEY, WA
MOONROOF ON OUR 2011 KIA OPTIMA EX MODEL EXPLODED WHILE TRAVELING AT 60 MPH DECEMBER 25TH 2013 - EVENING. OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS 36 DEGREES F AT THE TIME. INCIDENT ALSO CAUSED BODY AND PAINT DAMAGE TO OUR TRUNK AS WELL AS PEPPERED VEHICLES BEHIND US WITH GLASS FRAGMENTS. UPON REVIEWING MULTIPLE FORUMS ON LINE IT APPEARS THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT FOR KIA/HYUNDAI AS I LEARNED MULTIPLE MODELS MADE BY THIS DUO HAVE ALSO SUFFERED SIMILAR SCENARIO'S. I'M SURE NHTSA IS QUITE AWARE THAT THE HYUNDAI VELOSETER HAS RECALLED SEVERAL THOUSAND VEHICLES MFG. FOR THIS POTENTIAL ISSUE AND WE'RE COINCIDENTALLY MADE DURING THE SAME TIME FRAME OUR VEHICLE WAS ASSEMBLED.

View Details

TIRES

11/20/2013 - FORT MYERS, FL
RECEIVED A NHTSA RECALL NOTICE REGARDING MY KIA OPTIMA TIRES, NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:13T009. YOKOHAMA TIRE CORPORATION IS RECALLING CERTAIN 7.50R16RY215 TIRES MANUFACTURED 01/01/2006 THROUGH 08/01/2011. I HAVE A 2011 KIA OPTIMA WITH TIRES MADE BY HANKOOK/KUMHO/NEXEN TIRES. ARE THESE PART OF A RECALL? THE DEALER FUCCILLO KIA, 404 NE PINE ISLAND, CAPE CORAL, FLORIDA, 33909 WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR SAYS HE IS NOT AWARE OF A RECALL. ARE MY CAR TIRES PART OF A RECALL?

View Details

TIRES

10/10/2013 - GLADSTONE, OR
DEFECTIVE TIRES - AFTER 2 FLAT TIRES IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT ALL 4 HAD THE SAME DEFECT - BUBBLING AND SEPARATION INSIDE THE TIRE SHOULDER, AFTER APPX 17K MILES WITH PROPER INSTALLATION AND TIRE PRESSURE. WAS OFFERED THE SAME TIRES AT A REDUCED COST. DECLINED AND PURCHASED A DIFFERENT BRAND.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/1/2013 - TEMPE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V114000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE'S EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, IT WOULD DISENGAGE THE TRANSMISSION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,900.

View Details

WHEELS

8/24/2013 - GURNEE, IL
WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE I NOTICED IT PULLED TO THE LEFT AND I BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY "SAID" THEY PERFORMED A FIX ACCORDING TO AN INTERNAL KIA TSB-032 DOCUMENT. WHEN I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK FOR A 15,000 MILE SERVICE AND ANOTHER TIRE ROTATION THEY ROTATED THE TIRES AND THE CAR AGGRESSIVELY PULLED TO THE LEFT AGAIN. I BROUGHT IT BACK AND ARGUED OVER PAYING FOR AN ALIGNMENT AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD DO THE ALIGNMENT TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. AT THIS POINT, IT DID NOT CORRECT THE ISSUE AND THE TIRES WERE PUT BACK PRIOR TO THE 15K ROTATION. SINCE OWNING THE VEHICLE, I AM UNABLE TO ROTATE THE TIRES WITHOUT AN AGGRESSIVE PULL TO THE LEFT. JUST TODAY, 8/24/2013, THE DEALER TOLD ME KIA HAD NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS WITH NEXEN TIRES AND HAVE SINCE SWITCHED TO KUMHO. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL BECAUSE KIA USED A PRODUCT LINE THAT IS OBVIOUSLY FLAWED AND NOW THE DEALER IS SAYING I HAVE TO SPEND >$1000 ON A SET OF NEW TIRES FOR A PROBLEM THAT HAS EXISTED SINCE I DROVE THE VEHICLE (BRAND NEW) OFF THE LOT.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2013 - GURNEE, IL
WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE I NOTICED IT PULLED TO THE LEFT AND I BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY "SAID" THEY PERFORMED A FIX ACCORDING TO AN INTERNAL KIA TSB-032 DOCUMENT. WHEN I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK FOR A 15,000 MILE SERVICE AND ANOTHER TIRE ROTATION THEY ROTATED THE TIRES AND THE CAR AGGRESSIVELY PULLED TO THE LEFT AGAIN. I BROUGHT IT BACK AND ARGUED OVER PAYING FOR AN ALIGNMENT AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD DO THE ALIGNMENT TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. AT THIS POINT, IT DID NOT CORRECT THE ISSUE AND THE TIRES WERE PUT BACK PRIOR TO THE 15K ROTATION. SINCE OWNING THE VEHICLE, I AM UNABLE TO ROTATE THE TIRES WITHOUT AN AGGRESSIVE PULL TO THE LEFT. JUST TODAY, 8/24/2013, THE DEALER TOLD ME KIA HAD NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS WITH NEXEN TIRES AND HAVE SINCE SWITCHED TO KUMHO. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL BECAUSE KIA USED A PRODUCT LINE THAT IS OBVIOUSLY FLAWED AND NOW THE DEALER IS SAYING I HAVE TO SPEND >$1000 ON A SET OF NEW TIRES FOR A PROBLEM THAT HAS EXISTED SINCE I DROVE THE VEHICLE (BRAND NEW) OFF THE LOT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds