Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 152 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (51) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (14) Seats (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (11) Visibility (5)
Engine (33) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/21/2016 - FAIRBURN, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE REVERSING THE VEHICLE, IT INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED IN REVERSE AND CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN ACCELERATED FORWARD AND CRASHED INTO A HOUSE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/21/2016 - FAIRBURN, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE REVERSING THE VEHICLE, IT INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED IN REVERSE AND CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN ACCELERATED FORWARD AND CRASHED INTO A HOUSE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2016 - BUENA PARK, CA
VEHICLE SHOT DOWN WHILE DRIVING AND ACCELERATING PEDAL DIDN'T RESPOND. WE HAD RESTART VEHICLE SOME DAY 3 OR 4 TIMES AND AFTER THAT WAS WORKING FOR THE WEEK OR TWO WITH NO PROBLEM .WHEN THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO KIA AND TOLD THEM THAT ENGINE HAS A PROBLEM BECAUSE WHILE DRIVING SHOT DOWN. IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. KIA FAILED TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND SAID THAT IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE ENGINE.KIA SAID THAT VEHICLE IS FINE WITH NO PROBLEM . AFTER WARRANTY EXPIRED ENGINE BLOW OUT AND KIA REPLACED THE ENGINE. THEY ASKED $ 5900FOR REPLACE THE ENGINE. WE REFUSED TO PAY SO MUCH MONEY BECAUSE WE FEEL THAT WAS THE SAME PROBLEM BEFORE THE WARRANTY . THEY OFFERED US THE ENGINE FOR FREE AND WE PAID $ 1875 FOR LABOR. WE MADE A CLAIM THROUGH KIA HEADQUARTER BEFORE THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. NOTHING HELPS.WE HAVE TO PAY BECAUSE KIA ENGINES ARE NOT GOOD AND IT HAS TO BE A RECALL THE LONG TIME AGO. WHEN ENGINE FINALLY BLOWS OUT IT WAS THE SAME SCENARIO AS ALWAYS BEFORE ...RESTART ENGINE , ENGINE SHOT DOWN WHILE DRIVING, RESTART AGAIN, DRIVING, RESTART UNTIL WE HEARD LOUD KNOCK NOISE

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2016 - MONROE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 15 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PARTS NOT BEING AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 92,479.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2016 - MANDEVILLE, LA
IN MARCH 2016, OUR KIA OPTIMA SEIZED ON THE ONRAMP TO THE I-10 SPEED GOING AT 45 MPH WITHOUT ANY WARNING. WHEN IT STALLED THE CAR IN BACK OF US NEARLY HIT US. THERE WAS NO WARNING THE ENGINE WAS FAILING AS IN SIGNS OR WARNING LIGHT. AFTER GETTING TOWED TO THE MECHANIC, THE INSPECTION FOUND THAT ONLY 1 CUP OF OIL WAS FOUND IN THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE HAD NO SIGNS OF ENGINE PROBLEMS OR OIL LEAK. MAINT. PER OWNER'S MANUAL WAS DONE SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW IN 2011. WE WERE VERY LUCKY NO ONE WAS HURT SERIOUSLY AND WAS GRATEFUL THAT WE WERE ABLE TO MOVE TO THE SHOULDER WITH NO POWER. KIA DID NOT ASSIST IN ANYWAY AS GOODWILL DUE TO FACT WE WERE JUST OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS SAFETY ISSUE WITH KIA ENGINES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2016 - WINDSOR, NY
I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 KIA OPTIMA HOME FROM MY COLLEGE GRADUATION. WITHOUT ANY WARNING THE CAR STALLED AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN MY DRIVEWAY AND IT WOULD NOT RESTART. NO WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON, THE OIL WAS FINE, NOTHING TO INDICATE ANY PROBLEMS. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY SAID THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. THE CAR HAD 76,000 MILES ON IT AND WAS ALWAYS BROUGHT IN FOR ITS REGULAR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE. THE ONLY OPTION WAS TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR A NEW MOTOR, THE DEALERSHIP WOULD OFFER NO ASSISTANCE BECAUSE IT WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. I HAVE NEVER HAD PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE AND HAVE A HARD TIME BELIEVING THAT IT IS CONSIDERED "NORMAL" FOR AN ENGINE TO SEIZE AT 76,000 MILES. I WAS VERY FORTUNATE TO HAVE THIS INCIDENT OCCUR IN MY DRIVEWAY BECAUSE IT COULD HAVE POTENTIALLY BEEN VERY DANGEROUS TO MYSELF AND OTHER DRIVERS IF IT HAD HAPPENED ON A ROADWAY. STILL IN CONTACT WITH KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE BUT HAVE NOT MADE IT VERY FAR AT THIS POINT. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE 2011 OPTIMA, I EXPECTED IT TO LAST ME MORE THEN A YEAR AND A HALF, AND THE KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2016 - SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, PA
LIGHT TAPPING SOUND WAS HEARD FOR APPROXIMATELY 3 DAYS. ON THE FOURTH DAY, WHEN ACCELERATING TO MERGE ONTO A HIGHWAY, THE CAR SHUT OFF COMPLETELY AND SMOKE CAME FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT. CAR WAS TOWED TO MECHANIC AND DIAGNOSED WITH SEIZED ENGINE. COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF ENGINE WAS ONLY RECOURSE. THE CAR WAS REGULARLY SERVICED WITH OIL CHANGES AND NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE LIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2016 - TONAWANDA, NY
CAR WAS RUNNING AND SAT AT A RED LIGHT. WENT TO GO... MY RPMS SHOT DOWN TO 0, BATTERY AND OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET. EVERYTHING IN THE CAR WORKED. LIGHTS, WINDOWS, WIPERS..... THE CAR STILL WOULDNT TURN. THINK ITS THE ALTERNATOR. I THINK YOU SHOULD RECALL THEM AND GET THEM FIXED. THERES ALOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT FAULTY ALTERNATORS ON THESE OPTIMAS.

View Details

STEERING

5/20/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STEERING COLUMN BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN WHEN CHANGING LANES. IN ADDITION, A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE DISRUPTED THE CONTACT'S STEERING CAPABILITY. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN COUPLER IN THE STEERING LINKAGE MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/17/2016 - SUGAR LAND, TX
THE STEERING MAKING KNOCKING SOUND WHILE STILL AND DRIVING AND WHILE BRAKING THE STEERING STARTS SHAKING AND MAKES THE KNOCKING SOUND. MOST PEOPLE SAID ITS A PLASTIC COUPLING THAT GETS REPLACED FOR $400 AND I CAN'T KEEP PAYING THAT MUCH MONEY EACH TIME IT GETS MESSED UP THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I'VE GOTTEN FIX THREE MONTHS THE NOISE CAME BACK

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds