Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 72 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Engine (3) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/13/2014 - HARWOOD HTS, IL
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I REPORT THIS UNINTENDED ACCELERATION, LAST MONTH HAPPENED ON MAY 4 , I DOCUMENTED IN MY PREVIOUS COMPLAINT, THEY RETURNED THE CAR 5-21-14 THEY DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING, ON JUNE 6 AGAIN THE CAR ACCELERATED WHEN I WAS STEPPED ON THE BRAKE AND READY TO PUT IT IN PARK, THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE THE CAR TO ANOTHER DEALER UNTIL NOW DON'T HEAR FROM THEM, CALLED KIA IN CALIFORNIA LEFT MESSAGES NO CALL BACK, TODAY A GOT A HOLD WITH ANOTHER PERSON JENNY, AND SHE REPEAT LIKE A BROKEN RECORD WE CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM BUT THEY STILL KEEP THE CAR FOR A LONG TIME, I HAVE A CASE # 2706364 THE NHTSA SHOULD INVESTIGATE THIS, LIKE I EXPLAINED TO THIS LADY ENGINEERS SHOULD LOOK AT THIS SITUATION NOT THE MECHANIC, IS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE COMPUTER, THEY JUST FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS AND THEIR MACHINE TELL THEM NOTHING IS WRONG, LIKE I MENTIONED BEFORE IN MY OTHER COMPLAINT THIS ONE IS THE FOURTH TIME THAT HAPPENED, WHAT ARE WE WAITING THAT SOME PEOPLE GOT KILL TO INVESTIGATE, LOOK AT THE PROBLEMS THAT TOYOTA AND GENERAL MOTOR HAD, THEY WAIT UNTIL PEOPLE DIED THEN START DOING SOMETHING, THANK YOU TO THIS SITE THAT WE COULD VOICE OUR CONCERNS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/15/2014 - HARWOOD HTS, IL
ON 5-4-14 I WAS DRIVING FROM WISCONSIN WHEN WE DECIDED TO STOP AT WAL-MART, WHILE WE WERE WAITING FOR A PERSON TO MOVE OUT OF ITS PARKING SPOT, MY OPTIMA START TO ACCELERATE EVEN WHEN I HAD MY FOOT IN THE BRAKE, MY FIRST REACTION WAS TO MOVE THE GEAR SHIFT TO NEUTRAL AND THEN THE ENGINE START RACING UP THE RPM WERE VERY FAST (WAS IN NEUTRAL), AT THE MOMENT A LADY AND HER SMALL KID WERE CROSSING IN FRONT OF MY CAR, GOD KNOWS WHAT IT WOULD HAPPENED IF I WOULDN'T MOVE THE GEAR TO NEUTRAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME LAST YEAR IT DID THE SAME THING IN JULY WHEN I WAS AT THE STOP SIGN , THE SECOND TIME WAS THIS YEAR IN JANUARY WHEN I CAME BACK HOME FROM WORK THEN I WAS PARKING WHEN THE CAR STARTING ACCELERATING BUT I WAS HOLDING UP WITH CONCRETE BAR ON THE GROUND THAT IS IN MY PARKING LOT, AT THAT TIME I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF, BUT IT WAS NOT MUCH OF CONCERN BECAUSE I WAS NOT DRIVING THE CAR IN THE STREET. NEXT DAY (5-5-14) TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER, AND THEY CONTACTED KIA TO REPORT THIS ISSUE, ON MAY 7 AT 4:20 PM A GENTLEMAN FROM KIA HIS NAME WAS BRUCE CALLED ME TO GET SOME INFORMATION ABOUT THIS SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND TOLD HIM EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENED AND GAVE A CASE #2706364, THEN ON 5-7-14 ANOTHER GENTLEMAN FROM KIA CORPORATION CALLED ME, HIS NAME SAM, AND TOLD ME THAT HE IS IN CHARGE OF MY CASE NOW AND WILL CALL ME TO LET ME KNOW ABOUT THE OUTCOME OF THIS, WELL HE DIDN'T CALL SO I CALLED HIM BACK ON 5-15-14, (10 DAYS LATER), HE TOLD ME HE WAS WAITING FOR THE DEALERSHIP TO CALL HIM, I WENT TO THE DEALER AND I WAS INFORMED BY ED THE SERVICE MANAGER THAT THEY WERE DOING SOME TESTS, HE CALLED ME LATER SAYING THAT HE TALKED TO SAM IN KIA CORPORATION AND HE GAVE 11 POINT OF INSPECTION TO DO. SITUATION SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED BY NHTSA TO AVOID ANY FUTURE INCIDENTS THAT COULD CAUSE SOME SERIOUS INJURIES OR FATALITIES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN A MILE TO A COMMUTER RAIL STATION FOR A DROP OFF AND BACK HOME. NOTHING UNUSUAL WAS NOTED DURING THE SHORT TRIP NOR HAD ANY PROBLEMS BEEN OBSERVED IN THE DAYS LEADING UP TO THE INCIDENT. SHORTLY AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE ON THE 5TH FLOOR OF THE PARKING GARAGE AND ENTERING THE RESIDENCE, THE COMPLEX FIRE ALARMS ACTUATED AND ALL RESIDENTS WERE ADVISED TO EVACUATE WITHOUT ENTERING THE COMMUNITY PARKING GARAGE. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, I WAS NOTIFIED BY THE COMPLEX MANAGER VIA MY CELL PHONE THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE IN THE GARAGE. THE ENTIRE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE WAS BURNED AND WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. (ALLSTATE). THE ENTIRE CAR WOULD HAVE BURNED IF IT HADN'T BEEN PARKED DIRECTLY UNDER A SPRINKLER HEAD IN THE GARAGE PLUS A SPEEDY RESPONSE FROM THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. AN INDEPENDENT FIRE ORIGIN INVESTIGATOR WAS HIRED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. HIS PROFESSIONAL OPINION WAS THE FIRE STARTED AT THE RADIATOR FAN ASSEMBLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/16/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN A MILE TO A COMMUTER RAIL STATION FOR A DROP OFF AND BACK HOME. NOTHING UNUSUAL WAS NOTED DURING THE SHORT TRIP NOR HAD ANY PROBLEMS BEEN OBSERVED IN THE DAYS LEADING UP TO THE INCIDENT. SHORTLY AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE ON THE 5TH FLOOR OF THE PARKING GARAGE AND ENTERING THE RESIDENCE, THE COMPLEX FIRE ALARMS ACTUATED AND ALL RESIDENTS WERE ADVISED TO EVACUATE WITHOUT ENTERING THE COMMUNITY PARKING GARAGE. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, I WAS NOTIFIED BY THE COMPLEX MANAGER VIA MY CELL PHONE THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE IN THE GARAGE. THE ENTIRE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE WAS BURNED AND WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. (ALLSTATE). THE ENTIRE CAR WOULD HAVE BURNED IF IT HADN'T BEEN PARKED DIRECTLY UNDER A SPRINKLER HEAD IN THE GARAGE PLUS A SPEEDY RESPONSE FROM THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. AN INDEPENDENT FIRE ORIGIN INVESTIGATOR WAS HIRED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. HIS PROFESSIONAL OPINION WAS THE FIRE STARTED AT THE RADIATOR FAN ASSEMBLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/30/2014 - CHERY HILL , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP WITH THE BRAKES DEPRESSED, THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED AS THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED SIX FEET. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH FORCE. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION WAS EXPERIENCED ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC BUT WAS UNABLE TO GENERATE A FAILURE CODE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 18,100.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/27/2013 - LACEY, WA
MOONROOF ON OUR 2011 KIA OPTIMA EX MODEL EXPLODED WHILE TRAVELING AT 60 MPH DECEMBER 25TH 2013 - EVENING. OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS 36 DEGREES F AT THE TIME. INCIDENT ALSO CAUSED BODY AND PAINT DAMAGE TO OUR TRUNK AS WELL AS PEPPERED VEHICLES BEHIND US WITH GLASS FRAGMENTS. UPON REVIEWING MULTIPLE FORUMS ON LINE IT APPEARS THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT FOR KIA/HYUNDAI AS I LEARNED MULTIPLE MODELS MADE BY THIS DUO HAVE ALSO SUFFERED SIMILAR SCENARIO'S. I'M SURE NHTSA IS QUITE AWARE THAT THE HYUNDAI VELOSETER HAS RECALLED SEVERAL THOUSAND VEHICLES MFG. FOR THIS POTENTIAL ISSUE AND WE'RE COINCIDENTALLY MADE DURING THE SAME TIME FRAME OUR VEHICLE WAS ASSEMBLED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

12/27/2013 - LACEY, WA
MOONROOF ON OUR 2011 KIA OPTIMA EX MODEL EXPLODED WHILE TRAVELING AT 60 MPH DECEMBER 25TH 2013 - EVENING. OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS 36 DEGREES F AT THE TIME. INCIDENT ALSO CAUSED BODY AND PAINT DAMAGE TO OUR TRUNK AS WELL AS PEPPERED VEHICLES BEHIND US WITH GLASS FRAGMENTS. UPON REVIEWING MULTIPLE FORUMS ON LINE IT APPEARS THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT FOR KIA/HYUNDAI AS I LEARNED MULTIPLE MODELS MADE BY THIS DUO HAVE ALSO SUFFERED SIMILAR SCENARIO'S. I'M SURE NHTSA IS QUITE AWARE THAT THE HYUNDAI VELOSETER HAS RECALLED SEVERAL THOUSAND VEHICLES MFG. FOR THIS POTENTIAL ISSUE AND WE'RE COINCIDENTALLY MADE DURING THE SAME TIME FRAME OUR VEHICLE WAS ASSEMBLED.

View Details

TIRES

11/20/2013 - FORT MYERS, FL
RECEIVED A NHTSA RECALL NOTICE REGARDING MY KIA OPTIMA TIRES, NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:13T009. YOKOHAMA TIRE CORPORATION IS RECALLING CERTAIN 7.50R16RY215 TIRES MANUFACTURED 01/01/2006 THROUGH 08/01/2011. I HAVE A 2011 KIA OPTIMA WITH TIRES MADE BY HANKOOK/KUMHO/NEXEN TIRES. ARE THESE PART OF A RECALL? THE DEALER FUCCILLO KIA, 404 NE PINE ISLAND, CAPE CORAL, FLORIDA, 33909 WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR SAYS HE IS NOT AWARE OF A RECALL. ARE MY CAR TIRES PART OF A RECALL?

View Details

TIRES

10/10/2013 - GLADSTONE, OR
DEFECTIVE TIRES - AFTER 2 FLAT TIRES IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT ALL 4 HAD THE SAME DEFECT - BUBBLING AND SEPARATION INSIDE THE TIRE SHOULDER, AFTER APPX 17K MILES WITH PROPER INSTALLATION AND TIRE PRESSURE. WAS OFFERED THE SAME TIRES AT A REDUCED COST. DECLINED AND PURCHASED A DIFFERENT BRAND.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/1/2013 - TEMPE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V114000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE'S EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, IT WOULD DISENGAGE THE TRANSMISSION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,900.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds