Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (18) Seat Belts (1) Steering (64) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (11) Visibility (5)
Engine (66) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/28/2017 - COLUMBIA, MD
ENGINE SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING IN THE CENTER LANE OF THE HIGHWAY AT 65MPH. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT INCIDENT AND WAIT FOR A TOW TRUCK. HAD IT TOWED TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WHO CONFIRMED THAT THE ENGINE WAS SEIZED AND NEEDS REPLACED. KIA KNOWS ABOUT THESE ENGINES HAVING A PROBLEM YET CONTINUES TO LEAVE THEM OUT THERE. IT'S A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS INJURED OR KILLED WHEN THEIR ENGINE SEIZES AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND THEY ARE UNABLE TO SAFELY GET TO THE SHOULDER.

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2017 - LANHAM, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE EMITTED A LOUD NOISE WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH. WITHIN MOMENTS, ALL THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ROD FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT THE WARRANTY FOR THE ENGINE ROD REPLACEMENT HAD EXPIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2017 - OCOEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT HEARD A KNOCKING NOISE AND THE ENGINE LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONNECTING ROD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/23/2017 - FLUSHING, NY
I HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON THE CAR. THE FOUND OUT THAT IS RELATED TO ENGINE TIMING ISSUE. WHICH IS STRANGE THAT A CAR WITH ONLY 60K MILES WOULD HAVE ENGINE RELATED ISSUES. I HAVE ALSO HAD SEVERAL ISSUES WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS THIS PAST YEAR. I HAVE ALSO HEARD THAT THE ENGINE IN MY CAR WAS USED IN OTHER HYUNDAI MODELS AND MAY HAVE BEEN RECALLED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE ISSUE AND RESPOND BACK

View Details

STEERING

1/19/2017 - ANDALUSIA, AL
WHILE SITTING STILL OR MOVING, THE POWER STEERING DEVELOPS HARD CATCHES THAT TEMPORARILY LOCK THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS PROBLEM INTENSIFIES ON ROUGH SURFACES, AS WELL AS THE ENTIRE STEERING ASSEMBLY WILL SHAKE. THESE PROBLEMS WORSEN AS THESE ISSUES PROGRESS WITH TIME. THE ONLY FIX FOR THIS ISSUE IS TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING ASSEMBLY $$$.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/1/2017 - BRISTOW, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY ON RAMP THE FRONT HALF OF THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF EXPLODED. THE SUNROOF AND INTERIOR SCREEN WERE BOTH CLOSED AT THE TIME. THE REMAINING GLASS WAS PUSHED UPWARD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/1/2017 - BRISTOW, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY ON RAMP THE FRONT HALF OF THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF EXPLODED. THE SUNROOF AND INTERIOR SCREEN WERE BOTH CLOSED AT THE TIME. THE REMAINING GLASS WAS PUSHED UPWARD.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2016 - TINLEY PARK, IL
2011 KIA OPTIMA DRIVING HOME ON EXPRESSWAY ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING AND SEIZED UP, PRETTY MUCH FROZE THE STEERING AND HAD TO FIGHT TO GET TO SHOULDER. KIA HAS A 10 YEAR 100,000 MILE WARRANTY. A LETTER WAS SENT IN MAIL CLAIMING ISSUES WITH BEARINGS CRANKSHAFT PISTONS ON THE 2.0 TURBO AND 2.4 GDI MOTORS , SO KIA BUMPED UP WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS 120,000. I HAVE 120,722 KIA SAYS THEY WONT WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH I AM THIS CLOSE. ALSO KIA AND HYUNDAI ARE SISTER COMPANIES AND HYUNDAI PUT THE SAME IN ENGINES IN THERE SONATA A RECALLED 400,000 PLUS ENGINES AND KIA HAS NOT RECALLED ONE. IF THERE IS AN ISSUE AND THERE CLAIMING THERE IS ONE BY EXTENDING WARRANTY SHOULDN'T IT BE FIXED UNDER A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF TIME. I'VE READ THAT ENGINES TEND TO STALL AT AROUND 100,000 TO 120,00 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

12/15/2016 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A SQUEAKY NOISE. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELRATE AND ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 167,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/28/2016 - WAUKEGAN, IL
(DIMMED HEADLIGHT) I HAVE OWNED MY 2011 OPTIMA SINCE 2013 AND SUMMER OF 2016 NOTICE MY HEADLIGHTS WERE REALLY DIMMED TO THE POINT WHERE YOU CANT SEE PAST 10-20 FEET IN FRONT OF YOU. REPLACED 2 HEADLIGHT BULBS W/ SYLVANIA SILVERSTAR BULBS AND HEADLIGHTS ARE STILL VERY DIMMED. LOOKS LIKE THEY REFLECTORS INSIDE THE BEAMS ARE BURNT/MELTED CAUSING THE LIGHTS TO LOOK DIM. I WOULD DEFINITELY CONSIDER THIS A SAFETY HAZARD SINCE I CANT REALLY SEE ANYTHING ON THE ROAD. IT WOULD BE NICE IF KIA LAUNCHED A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT FOR HEADLIGHT PROBLEM SINCE I WOULD CONSIDER THIS A DESIGN/ENGINEERING FLAW SINCE IT WAS FACTORY BULBS WERE ORIGINALLY IN THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES. UNSAFE HEADLIGHT VISIBILITY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds