Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 236 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (25) Seats (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (11) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (87) Power Train (16) Steering (67) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/2/2017 - APPLE VALLEY, MN
WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE CITY STREETS I WAS PREPARING TO MAKE A LEFT TURN AND THE LIGHT WAS ABOUT TO TURN RED, SO AS I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION MY CAR'S ENGINE JUST COMPLETELY STALLED ON ME AND I COULD NOT ACCELERATE WHILE MY CAR WAS SLOWLY ROLLING THROUGH THE INTERSECTION WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC WHICH CREATED A DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR ME. THIS HAPPENED TO ME A SECOND TIME AGAIN WHILE I WAS TAKING A LEFT TURN WITH ON COMING TRAFFIC THERE WAS NO LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS POSTED ON THIS PARTICULAR ROAD AND MY CAR JUST LOST POWER WHILE I WAS STILL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD IN MOTION, WHICH CAUSED ANOTHER DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR ME AND THE OTHER DRIVERS WHERE THEY EITHER HAD TO SLAM ON THEIR BRAKES OR QUICKLY CHANGE LANES TO AVOID HITTING MY STALLED CAR

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2017 - DUMFRIES, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP, THE CONTACT HEARD A KNOCKING NOISE UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONNECTING RODS FOR THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE WAS VERIFIED BY THE KOONS KIA OF WOODBRIDGE VIRGINIA DEALER. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE MANUFACTURER WHO HAD THE VEHICLE INSPECTED AND FOUND METAL SHAVINGS IN THE ENGINE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS UNABLE TO MAKE THE DEALER REPAIR THE VEHICLE FREE OF CHARGE. THE MANUFACTURER OPENED CASE NUMBER: K3368562. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2017 - KENNETT SQUARE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE ENGINE SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 197,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/30/2017 - NEWBERG, OR
BOUGHT 2011 KIA OPTIMA USED WITH 75K MILES ON IT. DID NOT REALIZE IMMEDIATELY THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT BEING REALLY DIM. I BOUGHT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND CALLED THE KIA DEALER AND MENTIONED MY ISSUE AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAID IT WAS PROBABLY A WIRING ISSUE OR A GROUND ISSUE AND THAT IT PROBABLY WOULD NOT BE COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. THE CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT WITHOUT THE HIGH BEAMS ON. WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT VISIBILITY IS GOOD WITH HIGH BEAMS ON, WHEN SWITCHING TO LOW BEAMS FOR ONCOMING CAR, YOU ARE DRIVING BLIND, HOLDING THE WHEEL STEADY AND HOPING YOU STAY ON THE ROAD UNTIL THE ONCOMING CAR PASSES AND YOU ARE ABLE TO TURN YOUR HIGH BEAMS BACK ON AGAIN. TOOK THE CAR TO A MECHANIC AND HE TESTED THE ELECTRICAL, GROUND AND BULB AND THERE WERE NO ISSUES. UPON PUTTING A SCOPE INSIDE THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY WHERE THE BULB GOES, HE FOUND A PILE OF CHROME SHAVINGS SO THE HEADLIGHT REFLECTIVE HOUSING DETERIORATED. ONLY WAY TO REPAIR IS TO REPLACE WHOLE HEADLIGHT UNIT ASSEMBLY. AFTER SEARCHING ONLINE, REALIZED THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME ISSUE ON THIS MODEL OF CAR FOR MULTIPLE YEARS NOW. OWNERS BEWARE OF THIS SAFETY ISSUE AND DON'T LET PEOPLE RIP YOU OFF BY CHARGING YOU TO GO DOWN THE WRONG/ELECTRICAL PATH TO FIX. POTENTIAL BUYERS BEWARE: IF YOU HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE THIS FIXED AT A DEALER IT CAN COST BETWEEN $500 AND $800 AND IT MAY ONLY BE A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE IT IS AN ISSUE AGAIN. SEEMS LIKE THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL BY KIA.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/29/2017 - NORTH SYRACUSE, NY
THE LOW BEAM HEAD LIGHTS OR ALMOST USELESS AT NIGHT. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ THE REFLECTIVE PAINT USED BURNS OFF AFTER A COUPLE YEARS OF USE. I HIGHLY DOUBT THAT IT MEETS THE ILLUMINATION STANDARDS OF THE NATIONAL TRAFFIC AND SAFETY ASSOCIATION. I LIKE HAVING 2 WEAK FLASH LIGHTS TAPED TO THE HOOD.

View Details

ENGINE

5/25/2017 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
ENGINE FAILED SUDDENLY WHILE OPERATING AT HIGHWAY SPEED

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2017 - WINTHROP HARBOR, IL
"A SOUTH KOREAN WHISTLEBLOWER REPORTED CONCERNS LAST YEAR TO THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA), WHICH WILL PROBE THE TIMELINESS OF THREE RECALLS CARRIED OUT IN THE UNITED STATES AND WHETHER THEY COVERED ENOUGH VEHICLES." MY 2008 KIA OPTIMA (174000 MILES) WAS RECENTLY DIAGNOSED WITH SIMILAR ISSUES BY A KIA DEALER (THE ENGINE BEARINGS FAILED ACCORDING TO THE TECH., WITH METAL IN THE OIL FILTER) THE SOUND IT MAKES IS ALSO HEARD, THOUGH LESS OBVIOUS WHEN DRY STARTING MY 2011 KIA FORTE. PLEASE LOOK INTO INCLUDING BOTH OF THESE CARS IN THE RECALL. IT SEEMS THAT THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW., PS: I REGULARLY CHANGE THE OIL 3-4000 MILES ON BOTH CARS,. REFER TO ARTICLE: HTTPS://WWW.YAHOO.COM/NEWS/M/ABB24D07-A29F-3A32-A689-DFB220B11F54/SS_FEDS-OPEN-INVESTIGATION-INTO.HTML

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2017 - DALLAS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY TAKING MY EXIT WHEN THE CAR TURNED OFF I MANAGED TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL AND PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD I TRIED TO START THE CAR BACK ON BUT FAIL TO DO SO. I GOT A MECHANIC TO TAKE A LOOK AT IT AND TOLD ME THE ENGINE SEIZED

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2017 - LAGRANGE, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY CAR STALLED AND WOULD NOGO WHEN I PRESSED THE GAS IT STARTED MAKING LOUD NOISES AND SMOKED CAR CUT OFF WOULD NOT CRANK SHOP SAYS ENGINE FAILURE BEARINGS AND RODS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/19/2017 - MARBLE FALLS, TX
MY KIA WAS MAKING A WHISTLING NOISE ON AND OFF FOR AWHILE THEN MY OIL LIGHT WOULD FLICKER SO I FIGURED I NEED AN OIL CHANGE. GOT MY OIL CHANGED AND THEN THE CAR STARTED MAKE A KNOCKING NOISE AND WOULD GET WORSE WITH ACCELERATION AND WOULD HAVE A HARD TIME ACCELERATING. IT WOULD JOLT AND VIBRATE AND MAKE KNOCKING AND FLAPPING NOISES. TURN ON MY ROAD TO GO HOME AND LOST POWER. MY CAR SLOWLY CAME TO A STOP I COULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL. MY ENGINE, BATTERY, OIL, AND EPS LIGHT CAME ON. I TRIED STARTING IT UP AND WOULD COME ON FOR ABOUT 5 SECONDS MAKE A LOT OF NOISE AND THE ENGINE WOULD TURN OFF BUT MY RADIO AND WINDOWS STILL WORKED. MY AC WAS ON BUT NOT COOLING. ALL THE CABIN LIGHTS WORK STILL BUT MY BRAKE ARE STIFF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds