Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 86 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Engine (10) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/20/2015 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A CLICKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE O RING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/16/2015 - SHEFFIELD, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO SLOW DOWN FOR A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STARTER BURNED OUT AND THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE STARTER AND WAS NOT ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE SOURCE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT A MORE EXTENSIVE DIAGNOSIS WAS REQUIRED AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE TAKEN APART. THE ENGINE FAILURE WAS NOT REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2015 - SHEFFIELD, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO SLOW DOWN FOR A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STARTER BURNED OUT AND THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE STARTER AND WAS NOT ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE SOURCE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT A MORE EXTENSIVE DIAGNOSIS WAS REQUIRED AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE TAKEN APART. THE ENGINE FAILURE WAS NOT REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2015 - SPRING , TX
WHILE AT A RED LIGHT MY CAR STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. ONCE OFF MAJOR STREET WE THOUGHT IT WAS THE BATTERY AND AFTER CHARGING FOR A BIT THE CAR DID START BUT MADE A HORRIBLE SOUND. HAD IT TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NO OIL IN ENGINE AND WAS DUE TO FAULTY MAINTENANCE WHICH IS UNTRUE. MY LAST OIL CHANGE WAS 2/2/15 AND WAS DUE AGAIN 4/11/15. MY CAR NEVER GAVE A CHECK ENGINE OR CHECK OIL LIGHT, I HAD NO OIL SPILLS IN MY GARAGE OR WHERE I PARK AT WORK. THERE WAS NO SIGNS OF TROUBLE. WHEN I ASKED WHAT CAUSED THIS TO BY ALL STANDARDS A NEW CAR ALL THEY WANT TO SAY IS THAT IS FAULTY MAINTENANCE BECAUSE KIA DIDN'T DO THE WORK. MY CAR WENT FROM FUNCTIONING PERFECTLY WELL TO NEEDING A NEW ENGINE TO THE TUNE OF KIA'S PRICE OF $6400.00 THEY WILL NOT HONOR WARRANTY UNLESS I CAN PRODUCE RECEIPTS DATING BACK THREE YEARS. MY CAR NEEDS A NEW ENGINE AT 63,400 MILES? REALLY...

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2015 - PINE BUFF, AR
THE CAR PULLS CONTINOUSLY TO THE RIGHT WHEN RIDING IN A CURVE GOING TO THE RIGHT OR MAKING A RIGHT TURN. I SPOKE TO TECHNICIANS AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR. THE ISSUE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FIXED, BUT I AM STILL EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/4/2015 - RIO RANCHO , NM
I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK WHEN I HEARD A BIG POP AND REALIZED MY SUNROOF BUSTED OPEN. IT WAS CLOSED AT THE TIME IT WAS NOT HOT OUTSIDE AND NO OTHER VEHICLES AROUND ME.

View Details

ENGINE

2/22/2015 - SHAMONG, NJ
THE SPARK PLUGS IN THE CAR WERE REPLACED AT 44,298 MILES (JUST PRIOR TO THE 45,000 RECOMMENDATION IN THE OWNER'S MANUAL). AT 48,269 MILES MY CAR WAS IDLING SLIGHTLY OFF. I GAVE THE CAR PART THROTTLE IN THE PARKING LOT OF MY WORK AND THE CAR MISFIRES AND CEL COMES ON. GIVING IT MORE GAS, IT GOES AWAY. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT AT THE DEALERSHIP (KIA OF CHERRY HILL, NJ) TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. AT THIS POINT THE CAR WAS IDLING REALLY BAD. I GOT A CALL FROM THE SERVICE MANAGER ASKING ABOUT THE SPARK PLUGS AND HOW I NOTED THEY WERE DONE AT 44K MILES. HE SAYS ALL 4 ARE FOULED. I THEN GET A CALL BACK SAYING THAT THE PLUGS IN MY CAR WERE NEVER DONE AT 45K LIKE THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN AND THAT THEY NEED TO BE CHANGED. I EXPLAINED TO HIM THEY WERE DONE, HIS RESPONSE WAS, "I DON'T BUY IT." I THEN SAID THAT I HAVE THE RECEIPT FROM THE PARTS DEPARTMENT FROM HIS DEALERSHIP FOR THE PLUGS, AND THAT I HAVE PICTURES OF THEM BEING CHANGED AND THAT I EVEN HAVE THE OLD PLUGS IN THE NEW BOXES. NO RESPONSE TO THAT EXCEPT QUIET. I SAID IF THE PLUGS WERE DONE 4K MILES AGO, THEN WHY DO THEY NEED TO BE DONE AGAIN? WHY WOULD THEY ALL GO BAD? NO RESPONSE EXCEPT THAT HE CAN'T DO ANYTHING UNLESS THE SPARK PLUGS ARE REPLACED BECAUSE THEY ARE FOULED. ALL 4 PLUGS WERE BAD DUE TO LEAN CONDITION IN THE MOTOR (POSSIBLE FUELING PROBLEM). ONE OF THE PLUGS WAS MISSING THE PORCELAIN FROM CYLINDER #2, WHICH WAS ALSO MISSING ON THE ORIGINAL FROM CYLINDER #2 PULLED AT 44,298 MILES. DEALERSHIP AND KIA CORPORATE WAS NOT WILLING TO LOOK AT THE FUELING OR THE CAR FURTHER UNLESS THE PLUGS WENT BAD AGAIN. ALSO WOULDN'T OFFER ANY REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE BAD PLUGS.

View Details

STEERING

2/12/2015 - SAINT CHARLES, MO
MY CAR HAS BEEN PULLING TO THE LEFT EVERY SINCE I PURCHASED IT. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALORSHIP TO GET AN OIL CHANGE AND TO REGISTER A COMPLAINT ABOUT THE PULLING. THE CAR WAS TEST DRIVEN ON THE HIGHWAY. AFTERWARDS I WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS A "FEATURE" OF THE STEERING WHEEL. IT IS CALLED A "SMART WHEEL" AND THERE WAS NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT. I HAVE ALWAYS HAD THIS PROBLEM AND I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO GET USED TO THIS "FEATURE".

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,887. UPDATED 04/13/15

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/21/2014 - SANTA CLARA, CA
WE WERE IN MY 2011 KIA OPTIMA ON A TRANSITION RAMP FROM ONE FREEWAY TO ANOTHER DOING ABOUT 45 MPH. AS WE ROUNDED A TURN WE SAW 2 CARS AND A TOW TRUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE RAMP WE THEN HIT A PUDDLE (LAKE) THAT WENT ACROSS BOTH LANES OF THIS RAMP. THE WATER SLOWED US BY MAYBE 20 MPH WITH WATER SHOOTING ALL AROUND US. WE THEN SAW A TRUCK COMING DOWN A ON RAMP TO MERGE IN FRONT OF US HE HIT ANOTHER PUDDLE AND SPUN SIDEWAYS AND HIT A GUARD RAIL. WE PULLED UP NEXT TO HIM TO SEE IF HE WAS ALRIGHT AND MY CAR STALLED. WE COULD SMELL GAS I THOUGHT IT WAS COMING FROM THE TRUCK AND I WANTED TO MOVE AWAY FROM HIM. THE CAR WOULD NOT START, I HAD MY 4 YEAR OLD IN THE CAR AND HE WAS TERRIFIED AND CRYING. LUCKILY A TOW TRUCK PULLED UP BEHIND US AND BLOCKED OTHER CARS FROM HITTING US HE PUSHED US OUT OF THE LANE. WHEN THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE KIA DEALER I FOUND OUT THERE IS A PIECE OF (PLASTIC OR METAL I DON'T KNOW WHICH) THAT RUNS DOWN THE CENTER UNDER THE CAR, IT HOLDS THE GAS AND HYDRAULIC LINES UP FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK, THIS PIECE IS HELD IN PLACE WITH CLIPS ( NOT BOLTS OR SCREWS ) THE WATER PULLED THESE CLIPS FREE AND MY GAS AND HYDRAULIC LINES WERE PULLED DOWN, MY GAS LINE BROKE THAT WAS THE GAS I WAS SMELLING, IT THERE HAD BEEN A SPARK OR FLARE IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. THIS COULD ALSO HAVE HAPPENED IF I WAS DRIVING IN SNOW. IN MY OPINION THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE DEALER SAID NO. SO I HAVE TO PAY $500 PLUS 5 DAYS OF CAR RENTAL. I'M 59 I HAVE DRIVEN EVERY MAKE OF CAR I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN BEFORE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds