Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 278 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (29) Seats (2) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (26) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (12) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (112) Power Train (17) Steering (72) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/13/2018 - BURNHAM, IL
THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON NOW AND I'M WONDERING IF THATS A PROBLEM, I DON'T WANT TO BE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND IT DEPLOYS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/5/2018 - BALLSTON LAKE, NY
LOW BEAM HID HEADLAMP ILLUMINATION HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE OVER THE LAST YEAR, TO THE POINT AT WHICH DRIVING AT NIGHT WITH THE LOW BEAMS ON IS A HAZARD AND THE FOG LAMPS ARE NOT ONLY REQUIRED TO BE ON BUT ALSO PROVIDE NEARLY ALL OF THE FORWARD ILLUMINATION. DEALER HAS INSPECTED THE ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS, REPLACED THE AUTO LEVELING MODULE AND HID BULBS AND CLEANED THE REFLECTORS WITHIN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLIES. I HAVE SEEN COMPLAINTS ONLINE THAT THE REFLECTIVE MATERIAL WITHIN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLIES MAY FAIL MAKING THE LOW BEAMS INEFFECTIVE AS THE LIGHT IS NOT PROJECTED DOWN THE ROAD. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS IS THE CASE, BUT SUSPECT THAT IT MAY BE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/1/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THIS HAPPENED TWICE.THE FIRST TIME MY SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR TO AUSTIN TX ON THE FREEWAY WHEN THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 60MPH.THE WE HAD THE CAR TOED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND AFTER HE CHECKED THE MOTOR WE WERE INFORMED THE MOTOR SEIZED UP.I PURCHASED A USED MOTOR AT A JUNK YARD WITH 22,000 MILES AND THE MECHANIC INSTALLED IT. DEC.26 2017 WE SPENT CHRISTMAS IN AUSTIN TX AND WAS ON OUR WAY BACK ON I10 AROUND SEALY TX THE MOTOR SHUT OFF.I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR UP AGAIN.I FOUND A KIA DEALER IN KATY TEXAS AND DECIDED TO TAKE THE CAR THERE, IT WAS ABOUT 8 MILES AWAY HOWEVER WE DIDN'T MAKE IT.I STAYED IN THE RIGHT LANE DRIVING REALLY SLOW 55-60MPH AND THERE WAS A LOUD POP AND THEN SMOKE THE MOTOR LOCKED UP.THE CAR IS AT THE KIA DEALER BUT I AM STILL WAITING FOR AN AUTHORIZATION TO GET HE ENGINE REPLACED,

View Details

STEERING

1/1/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THIS HAPPENED TWICE.THE FIRST TIME MY SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR TO AUSTIN TX ON THE FREEWAY WHEN THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 60MPH.THE WE HAD THE CAR TOED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND AFTER HE CHECKED THE MOTOR WE WERE INFORMED THE MOTOR SEIZED UP.I PURCHASED A USED MOTOR AT A JUNK YARD WITH 22,000 MILES AND THE MECHANIC INSTALLED IT. DEC.26 2017 WE SPENT CHRISTMAS IN AUSTIN TX AND WAS ON OUR WAY BACK ON I10 AROUND SEALY TX THE MOTOR SHUT OFF.I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR UP AGAIN.I FOUND A KIA DEALER IN KATY TEXAS AND DECIDED TO TAKE THE CAR THERE, IT WAS ABOUT 8 MILES AWAY HOWEVER WE DIDN'T MAKE IT.I STAYED IN THE RIGHT LANE DRIVING REALLY SLOW 55-60MPH AND THERE WAS A LOUD POP AND THEN SMOKE THE MOTOR LOCKED UP.THE CAR IS AT THE KIA DEALER BUT I AM STILL WAITING FOR AN AUTHORIZATION TO GET HE ENGINE REPLACED,

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/26/2017 - GROVELAND, FL
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK EARLY IN THE MORNING, TRAVELING AT ABOUT 55-60 MPH,WITHOUT WARNING A STARTLING SOUND LIKE AN EXPLOSION, ONCE I REALIZED IT WASN+T A TIRE BLOWOUT, I PULLED OVER TO FIND A HOLE IN MY ROOF. THANKFULLY I WAS ALONE AND MY CHILDREN WASN+T WITH ME AND NO OTHER VEHICLES WERE ON THE ROAD AT THAT TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/21/2017 - GOBLES, MI
THE PASSENGER OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM SENSOR MAT FAILED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, AS INDICATED BY A LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD. THE FAILURE OCCURRED DURING NORMAL OPERATION OF THE VEHICLE. FAILURE OF THIS SENSOR IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY CONCERN, AS IT MAY CAUSE THE AIRBAG NOT TO DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE IN OTHER KIA VEHICLES AROUND THE SAME MODEL YEAR, BUT THERE ISN'T A RECALL OR SERVICE BULLETIN FOR THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

12/14/2017 - SANFORD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK UNCONTROLLABLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO REDUCE THE SPEED TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE DURING THE FAILURE. WHILE DRIVING OVER BUMPS, THE STEERING COLUMN JERKED UNCONTROLLABLY. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/14/2017 - GRAVE CITY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WERE VERY DIM AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO SEE THE ROAD PROPERLY. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER (GRIFFIN MOTORS, 11031 PERRY HWY, MEADVILLE, PA 16335). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER WANTED TO CHARGE $300 TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHTS. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO HIS PERSONAL MECHANIC. THREE MONTHS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

11/27/2017 - ZANESVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND LOST POWER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AT TIME OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO RESET AND WAS TOWED TO RICART KIA (4255 S HAMILTON RD #210, GROVEPORT, OH 43125 (614) 836-6503) WHERE THE DIAGNOSES WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT RESEARCHED THE FAILURE ONLINE AND FOUND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) AND HAD NOT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/23/2017 - OAKLAND, CA
MY CAR CUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET CAUSING A ACCIDENT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds