Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 166 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (56) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (16) Seats (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (11) Visibility (5)
Engine (41) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/17/2016 - LOWELL, MA
THIS 2011 KIA HEADLIGHT BULB WAS REPLACED, HOWEVER THE LIGHT QUIT WORKING. WAS INFORMED THAT LIGHTBULB MELTED AND ENTIRE HEADLIGHT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ALSO HAVE TO DRIVE WITH HIGH BEAMS AT NIGHT FOR BETTER LIGHTING

View Details

ENGINE

8/16/2016 - WYLIE, TX
2011 KIA OPTIMA. SERVICED AS REQUIRED. APPROX 120,000 MILES. ENGINE STARTED MAKING KNOCKING NOISES AND SEIZED. TOOK TO MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD METAL SHAVINGS WERE IN THE MOTOR AND NEED NEW MOTOR. AFTER INVESTIGATING ON LINE, IT APPEARS THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE MOTORS. ALSO, KIA MOTORS WERE BUILT IN THE SAME PLANT AS HUNDAI AND THOSE MOTORS AS WELL HAD THE SAME ISSUE AND WERE RECALLED! WHY HAS KIA NOT RECALLED THESE MOTORS KNOWING THERE IS AN ISSUE? OUR MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO GET A MOTOR FOR A DODGE AT HIS SHOP WITH NO ISSUE, BUT WHEN HE CALLED TO GET A MOTOR FOR THE KIA OPTIMA - NONE TO BE FOUND! CALLED KIA DIRECTLY AND THEY SAID THEY HAD NONE EITHER, ALL ON BACK ORDER....WHY??? THIS IS VERY OUT OF THE ORDINARY, AND I WISH THAT SOMETHING WOULD BE DONE TO GET KIA TO RECALL THESE MOTORS AND MAKE IT RIGHT WITH THE BUYERS. WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN INVESTIGATED MY NHTSA? MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING THIS CAR WHEN IT SEIZED IN TRAFFIC ON A BUSY STREET IN THE CITY, AND AFTER READING OTHERS THEY SEEM TO HAVE THE SAME ISSUE! GIANT SAFETY ISSUE!!!!!!! SEVERAL CLASS ACTION SUITS AGAINST KIA, GUESS IT IS TIME TO JOIN IN ON THAT!

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2016 - MAYNARD, MA
ENGINE IS BLOWN, THE ENGINE BLOCK HAS SNAPPED OFF AND PIECES ARE BANGING AROUND IN MY ENGINE

View Details

STEERING

8/11/2016 - DE KALB, MS
STEERING COLUMN HAS GONE OUT AND I HAVEN'T HAD THE VEHICLE A GOOD FIVE MONTHS YET!

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2016 - UPTON, KY
I WAS DRIVING ALONG ON THE MAIN HIGHWAY AND IT STARTED MAKING A LOUD NOISE THEN THE CAR JUST DIED AND WHEN IT DID IT MADE A LOUD POP AND WOULDN'T START.

View Details

ENGINE

8/9/2016 - SANFORD, FL
MY SON WAS DRIVING OUR 2011 KIA OPTIMA HOME ONE EVENING AND THE ENGINE JUST STOPPED WITHOUT WARNING. NO WARNING LIGHTS WHATSOEVER. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE KIA DEALER AND THEY TOLD US THAT THE ENGINE WAS SEIZED UP. THEY SAID IT WAS CAUSED BY SLUDGE IN THE OIL. THE PRICE TO REPLACE IT WOULD BE 6,612.00$ I CONTACTED KIA CORP. AND WAS TOLD THEY WOULD NOT PAY FOR IT BECAUSE OF THE OIL. THE ENGINES HAVE A DEFECT THAT THEY ARE AWARE OF BUT REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE IT. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS. THEY HAVE QUITE A POOR HISTORY WITH THESE ENGINES. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO MY PERSONAL CERTIFIED MECHANIC. HE TOLD ME THE ENGINE WAS SEIZED BUT THERE WAS NOT AN UNUSUAL AMOUNT OF SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE. THEY ARE GOING TO PUT ANOTHER ENGINE IN THE VEHICLE WITH LESS MILES FOR ABOUT 1,200.00$ LESS. NOT ONLY KIA WOULDN'T HELP ME OUT BUT THEY WERE GOING TO CHARGE AN ABOVE AVERAGE COST. THE AVERAGE COST TO REPLACE THE ENGINE IS 4900.00$ SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE TO HELP ALL WHO ARE DEALING WITH THIS PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE

View Details

STEERING

8/5/2016 - MCKINNEY, TX
MY TIRES HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH EXTREMELY QUICK WARE ON THE OUTSIDE TREAD SINCE ABOUT A YEAR AFTER PURCHASE OF THE VEHICLE BRAND NEW IN 2011. I HAVE BEEN TOLD MULTIPLE TIMES THAT IT WAS JUST TIME TO CHANGE THE TIRES OR HAVE THEM ROTATES/BALANCED. THE DEALERSHIP WANTED ME TO PAY FOR AN ALIGNMENT AND I TOOK IT SOMEWHERE ELSE FOR A 2ND OPINION - GOT AN ALIGNMENT DONE (WHICH HELPED FOR ABOUT A MONTH) TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, HAD IT RESET TO FACTORY SETTINGS - AND THE PROBLEM CONTINUES.. I HAVE GONE THROUGH SO MANY TIRES... IN ADDITION, I NOW RECENTLY HAVE AN ISSUE WITH A VERY LOUD CLANKING NOISE IN THE STEERING COLUMN, VERY INTENSE STEERING WHEEL VIBRATION IN ADDITION TO A CLICK NOISE WHEN I TURN HARD RIGHT OR LEFT, IT ALMOST FEELS LIKE THE STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE SOMEWHERE.

View Details

WHEELS

8/5/2016 - MCKINNEY, TX
MY TIRES HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH EXTREMELY QUICK WARE ON THE OUTSIDE TREAD SINCE ABOUT A YEAR AFTER PURCHASE OF THE VEHICLE BRAND NEW IN 2011. I HAVE BEEN TOLD MULTIPLE TIMES THAT IT WAS JUST TIME TO CHANGE THE TIRES OR HAVE THEM ROTATES/BALANCED. THE DEALERSHIP WANTED ME TO PAY FOR AN ALIGNMENT AND I TOOK IT SOMEWHERE ELSE FOR A 2ND OPINION - GOT AN ALIGNMENT DONE (WHICH HELPED FOR ABOUT A MONTH) TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, HAD IT RESET TO FACTORY SETTINGS - AND THE PROBLEM CONTINUES.. I HAVE GONE THROUGH SO MANY TIRES... IN ADDITION, I NOW RECENTLY HAVE AN ISSUE WITH A VERY LOUD CLANKING NOISE IN THE STEERING COLUMN, VERY INTENSE STEERING WHEEL VIBRATION IN ADDITION TO A CLICK NOISE WHEN I TURN HARD RIGHT OR LEFT, IT ALMOST FEELS LIKE THE STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE SOMEWHERE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/4/2016 - NORCROSS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE EXITING THE HIGHWAY AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, AN ABNORMAL SOUND EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE SOUND BECAME LOUDER WHILE ACCELERATING. THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF, BUT FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/26/2016 - BAYONNE, NJ
2011 KIA OPTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE PROJECTOR HEADLIGHTS VISIBILITY ISSUES AT NIGHT. CONSUMER USES HIGH BEAM LIGHTS AT NIGHT. THE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER, THE CONSUMER PROVIDED IS INVALID.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds