Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 284 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (32) Seats (2) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (26) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (12) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (113) Power Train (17) Steering (73) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/27/2018 - COVINGTON, VA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, A DEER CROSSED INTO THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED NECK AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE DEALER BLACKWELL CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM FIAT KIA 4874 RIVERSIDE DR, DANVILLE, VA 24541(434) 792-8853 WAS CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. AS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/26/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
MOTOR OIL KEEPS DISAPPEARING; I CHANGE THE OIL ON SCHEDULE AND 2-3 WEEKS AFTER IT IS DRY. I'M AFRAID OF ENGINE FAILURE OR LOCK UP DUE TO THIS. RAISING THE HOOD DOES NOT SHOW ANY OIL SPLATTER. ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS; LNTERIOR LIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT OR GO COMPLETELY DIM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/26/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
MOTOR OIL KEEPS DISAPPEARING; I CHANGE THE OIL ON SCHEDULE AND 2-3 WEEKS AFTER IT IS DRY. I'M AFRAID OF ENGINE FAILURE OR LOCK UP DUE TO THIS. RAISING THE HOOD DOES NOT SHOW ANY OIL SPLATTER. ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS; LNTERIOR LIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT OR GO COMPLETELY DIM.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
MOTOR OIL KEEPS DISAPPEARING; I CHANGE THE OIL ON SCHEDULE AND 2-3 WEEKS AFTER IT IS DRY. I'M AFRAID OF ENGINE FAILURE OR LOCK UP DUE TO THIS. RAISING THE HOOD DOES NOT SHOW ANY OIL SPLATTER. ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS; LNTERIOR LIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT OR GO COMPLETELY DIM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

3/21/2018 - WESLEY CHAPEL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS DID NOT WORK, WHICH CAUSED THE DRIVER TO USE THE HIGH BEAMS AT NIGHT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CALLED FUCCILLO KIA OF WESLEY CHAPEL AT 813-395-0347 (28555 FL-54, WESLEY CHAPEL, FL 33545) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 115,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/12/2018 - KELSO, MO
HORRIBLE & DANGEROUS LOW BEAM LIGHTING ON THE 2011 KIA OPTIMA I OWN. IT HAS BEEN THIS WAY FOR ABOUT A YEAR, AND I HAVE CHANGED BULBS, TAKEN TO DIFFERENT SERVICE STATIONS, ETC. THE GOOGLE REVIEWS ARE HORRIFYING, SAYING PEOPLE ARE BEING CHARGED $900+ DOLLARS FOR FIXING THE DETERIORATION OF THE PAINT SURROUNDING THE LIGHT. I PRAY THAT'S NOT THE CASE. YOU SIMPLY CAN NOT SEE WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, AND EVEN THE HIGH BEAMS ARE MUCH MUCH MUCH MORE FADED THAN "WORKING & NORMAL" LIGHTS. IT"S AWFUL AND KIA NEEDS TO FIX THIS FOR CONSUMERS! BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT!!!

View Details

STEERING

3/5/2018 - LATROBE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE STATIONARY AND DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE WHEN MAKING LEFT AND RIGHT TURNS. SNAIL KIA IN GREENSBURG, PA 156601 WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND SCHEDULED THE CONTACT FOR A SERVICE APPOINTMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL OR SERVICE BULLETIN FOR THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/4/2018 - LAKE BUTLER, FL
LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS ARE VERY DIM, TO THE POINT OF BEING VIRTUALLY USELESS. FOG LIGHTS PROVIDE MORE LIGHTING. REPLACED BULBS TO NO AVAIL. HIGH BEAMS WORK GREAT. POSSIBLE THAT THE REFLECTIVE COATING INSIDE HID HOUSING HAS BURNED OFF.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/13/2018 - BURNHAM, IL
THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON NOW AND I'M WONDERING IF THATS A PROBLEM, I DON'T WANT TO BE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND IT DEPLOYS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/5/2018 - BALLSTON LAKE, NY
LOW BEAM HID HEADLAMP ILLUMINATION HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE OVER THE LAST YEAR, TO THE POINT AT WHICH DRIVING AT NIGHT WITH THE LOW BEAMS ON IS A HAZARD AND THE FOG LAMPS ARE NOT ONLY REQUIRED TO BE ON BUT ALSO PROVIDE NEARLY ALL OF THE FORWARD ILLUMINATION. DEALER HAS INSPECTED THE ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS, REPLACED THE AUTO LEVELING MODULE AND HID BULBS AND CLEANED THE REFLECTORS WITHIN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLIES. I HAVE SEEN COMPLAINTS ONLINE THAT THE REFLECTIVE MATERIAL WITHIN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLIES MAY FAIL MAKING THE LOW BEAMS INEFFECTIVE AS THE LIGHT IS NOT PROJECTED DOWN THE ROAD. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS IS THE CASE, BUT SUSPECT THAT IT MAY BE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds