Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Engine (5) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/16/2014 - MELBOURNE, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT 75 MPH AND CRUISE CONTROL WAS ENGAGED. SUDDENLY, THE CONTACT NOTICE A ORANGE SHADOW UNDERNEATH THE FRONT PASSENGER BUMPER. THE CONTACT SLOWED DOWN AND THEN NOTICED SMOKE FROM COMING FROM UNDERNEATH HIS HOOD. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND EXITED THE VEHICLE AND SAW FLAMES COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. NO PHYSICAL INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT'S INSURANCE WAS STILL CONDUCTING AN INVESTIGATION TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,500. AZ

View Details

WHEELS

10/13/2014 - MCDONOUGH, GA
JUST WEEKS AFTER PURCHASING MY KIA, IT HAD TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO REPLACE CRACKED DASH, HEATED STEERING WHEEL PEELING, TIRES WEARING ON THE OUTSIDE, WIPER BLADES SUCKED & YOU COULD NOT SEE OUT OF THEM WHEN IT RAIN, CRACKED OUTSIDE OF SUNROOF SEAL, PULLING TO LEFT SIDE AND SURGES. THEY PUT NEW TIRES, STEERING WHEEL & FIXED THE DASH. THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED THE SPECS WERE WITHIN NORMAL LIMITS FOR THE ALIGNMENT & TRANSMISSION. THE OUTSIDE OF THE SUNROOF IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR & IT WILL CRACK AGAIN, STATED THE SUN CRACKS IT! IT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT 5 TIMES! EVEN THOUGH MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY! I HAVE HAD 4 SET OF TIRES & THEY WEAR ON THE OUTSIDE, IT STILLS PULLS TO THE LEFT & I WAS TOLD THE ALIGNMENT IS NORMAL. 6 SETS OF NEW WIPER BLADES & THEY SAY THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM. MY CAR SURGES & IT HAS NOT EVEN BEEN ADDRESSED! IN LATE SEPTEMBER MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DAY AFTER I HAD MY OIL CHANGED, I TOOK MY CAR TO MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE, THEY KEPT IT, FIXED THE 'OIL CONTROL VALVE" WITHIN 5 MILES FROM MY DEALERSHIP, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. AFTER A WEEK & A HALF, MY 'INTAKE CVVT TIMING & MY 'EXHAUST CVVT TIMING! MY WARRANTY WILL BE UP IN THE NEXT FEW MONTHS & I AM WORRIED ABOUT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT & THEN THERES NO WARRANTY! THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON OPTIMA'S STEERING TO THE LEFT & ON THE TIRES EITHER, ALIGNMENT! I HAVE WENT AS FAR AS CONTACTING THE GEORGIA CONSUMER PROTECTION, KIA CONSUMER HOTLINE, US DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, TRAFFIC SAFETY, THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED MY LOCAL & NATIONAL NEWS STATION & WILL BE MEETING WITH THEM NEXT WEEK. IF THIS DOES NOT RAISE A FEW QUESTIONS, I WILL HIRE AN ATTORNEY!! THIS IS NOT ABOUT MONEY, VERSES WHAT IS RIGHT!

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - MCDONOUGH, GA
JUST WEEKS AFTER PURCHASING MY KIA, IT HAD TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO REPLACE CRACKED DASH, HEATED STEERING WHEEL PEELING, TIRES WEARING ON THE OUTSIDE, WIPER BLADES SUCKED & YOU COULD NOT SEE OUT OF THEM WHEN IT RAIN, CRACKED OUTSIDE OF SUNROOF SEAL, PULLING TO LEFT SIDE AND SURGES. THEY PUT NEW TIRES, STEERING WHEEL & FIXED THE DASH. THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED THE SPECS WERE WITHIN NORMAL LIMITS FOR THE ALIGNMENT & TRANSMISSION. THE OUTSIDE OF THE SUNROOF IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR & IT WILL CRACK AGAIN, STATED THE SUN CRACKS IT! IT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT 5 TIMES! EVEN THOUGH MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY! I HAVE HAD 4 SET OF TIRES & THEY WEAR ON THE OUTSIDE, IT STILLS PULLS TO THE LEFT & I WAS TOLD THE ALIGNMENT IS NORMAL. 6 SETS OF NEW WIPER BLADES & THEY SAY THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM. MY CAR SURGES & IT HAS NOT EVEN BEEN ADDRESSED! IN LATE SEPTEMBER MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DAY AFTER I HAD MY OIL CHANGED, I TOOK MY CAR TO MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE, THEY KEPT IT, FIXED THE 'OIL CONTROL VALVE" WITHIN 5 MILES FROM MY DEALERSHIP, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. AFTER A WEEK & A HALF, MY 'INTAKE CVVT TIMING & MY 'EXHAUST CVVT TIMING! MY WARRANTY WILL BE UP IN THE NEXT FEW MONTHS & I AM WORRIED ABOUT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT & THEN THERES NO WARRANTY! THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON OPTIMA'S STEERING TO THE LEFT & ON THE TIRES EITHER, ALIGNMENT! I HAVE WENT AS FAR AS CONTACTING THE GEORGIA CONSUMER PROTECTION, KIA CONSUMER HOTLINE, US DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, TRAFFIC SAFETY, THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED MY LOCAL & NATIONAL NEWS STATION & WILL BE MEETING WITH THEM NEXT WEEK. IF THIS DOES NOT RAISE A FEW QUESTIONS, I WILL HIRE AN ATTORNEY!! THIS IS NOT ABOUT MONEY, VERSES WHAT IS RIGHT!

View Details

ENGINE

10/13/2014 - MCDONOUGH, GA
JUST WEEKS AFTER PURCHASING MY KIA, IT HAD TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO REPLACE CRACKED DASH, HEATED STEERING WHEEL PEELING, TIRES WEARING ON THE OUTSIDE, WIPER BLADES SUCKED & YOU COULD NOT SEE OUT OF THEM WHEN IT RAIN, CRACKED OUTSIDE OF SUNROOF SEAL, PULLING TO LEFT SIDE AND SURGES. THEY PUT NEW TIRES, STEERING WHEEL & FIXED THE DASH. THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED THE SPECS WERE WITHIN NORMAL LIMITS FOR THE ALIGNMENT & TRANSMISSION. THE OUTSIDE OF THE SUNROOF IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR & IT WILL CRACK AGAIN, STATED THE SUN CRACKS IT! IT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT 5 TIMES! EVEN THOUGH MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY! I HAVE HAD 4 SET OF TIRES & THEY WEAR ON THE OUTSIDE, IT STILLS PULLS TO THE LEFT & I WAS TOLD THE ALIGNMENT IS NORMAL. 6 SETS OF NEW WIPER BLADES & THEY SAY THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM. MY CAR SURGES & IT HAS NOT EVEN BEEN ADDRESSED! IN LATE SEPTEMBER MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DAY AFTER I HAD MY OIL CHANGED, I TOOK MY CAR TO MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE, THEY KEPT IT, FIXED THE 'OIL CONTROL VALVE" WITHIN 5 MILES FROM MY DEALERSHIP, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. AFTER A WEEK & A HALF, MY 'INTAKE CVVT TIMING & MY 'EXHAUST CVVT TIMING! MY WARRANTY WILL BE UP IN THE NEXT FEW MONTHS & I AM WORRIED ABOUT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT & THEN THERES NO WARRANTY! THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON OPTIMA'S STEERING TO THE LEFT & ON THE TIRES EITHER, ALIGNMENT! I HAVE WENT AS FAR AS CONTACTING THE GEORGIA CONSUMER PROTECTION, KIA CONSUMER HOTLINE, US DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, TRAFFIC SAFETY, THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED MY LOCAL & NATIONAL NEWS STATION & WILL BE MEETING WITH THEM NEXT WEEK. IF THIS DOES NOT RAISE A FEW QUESTIONS, I WILL HIRE AN ATTORNEY!! THIS IS NOT ABOUT MONEY, VERSES WHAT IS RIGHT!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/26/2014 - BUTLER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS WERE ACTIVATED HOWEVER, THE ILLUMINATION WAS EXTREMELY DIM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT BOTH HEAD LAMPS OVERHEATED WHICH CAUSED THE REFLECTOR TO MELT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

9/26/2014 - BUTLER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS WERE ACTIVATED HOWEVER, THE ILLUMINATION WAS EXTREMELY DIM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT BOTH HEAD LAMPS OVERHEATED WHICH CAUSED THE REFLECTOR TO MELT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/3/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A SQUEALING AND AN UNUSUAL POPPING SOUND THAT EMITTED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE FRONT TIRES HAD SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE BLOCK BRACKET FRACTURED. AS A RESULT, THE TECHNICIAN RECOMMENDED AN ENGINE REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,273.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2014 - HARWOOD HTS, IL
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I REPORT THIS UNINTENDED ACCELERATION, LAST MONTH HAPPENED ON MAY 4 , I DOCUMENTED IN MY PREVIOUS COMPLAINT, THEY RETURNED THE CAR 5-21-14 THEY DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING, ON JUNE 6 AGAIN THE CAR ACCELERATED WHEN I WAS STEPPED ON THE BRAKE AND READY TO PUT IT IN PARK, THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE THE CAR TO ANOTHER DEALER UNTIL NOW DON'T HEAR FROM THEM, CALLED KIA IN CALIFORNIA LEFT MESSAGES NO CALL BACK, TODAY A GOT A HOLD WITH ANOTHER PERSON JENNY, AND SHE REPEAT LIKE A BROKEN RECORD WE CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM BUT THEY STILL KEEP THE CAR FOR A LONG TIME, I HAVE A CASE # 2706364 THE NHTSA SHOULD INVESTIGATE THIS, LIKE I EXPLAINED TO THIS LADY ENGINEERS SHOULD LOOK AT THIS SITUATION NOT THE MECHANIC, IS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE COMPUTER, THEY JUST FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS AND THEIR MACHINE TELL THEM NOTHING IS WRONG, LIKE I MENTIONED BEFORE IN MY OTHER COMPLAINT THIS ONE IS THE FOURTH TIME THAT HAPPENED, WHAT ARE WE WAITING THAT SOME PEOPLE GOT KILL TO INVESTIGATE, LOOK AT THE PROBLEMS THAT TOYOTA AND GENERAL MOTOR HAD, THEY WAIT UNTIL PEOPLE DIED THEN START DOING SOMETHING, THANK YOU TO THIS SITE THAT WE COULD VOICE OUR CONCERNS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/13/2014 - HARWOOD HTS, IL
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I REPORT THIS UNINTENDED ACCELERATION, LAST MONTH HAPPENED ON MAY 4 , I DOCUMENTED IN MY PREVIOUS COMPLAINT, THEY RETURNED THE CAR 5-21-14 THEY DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING, ON JUNE 6 AGAIN THE CAR ACCELERATED WHEN I WAS STEPPED ON THE BRAKE AND READY TO PUT IT IN PARK, THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE THE CAR TO ANOTHER DEALER UNTIL NOW DON'T HEAR FROM THEM, CALLED KIA IN CALIFORNIA LEFT MESSAGES NO CALL BACK, TODAY A GOT A HOLD WITH ANOTHER PERSON JENNY, AND SHE REPEAT LIKE A BROKEN RECORD WE CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM BUT THEY STILL KEEP THE CAR FOR A LONG TIME, I HAVE A CASE # 2706364 THE NHTSA SHOULD INVESTIGATE THIS, LIKE I EXPLAINED TO THIS LADY ENGINEERS SHOULD LOOK AT THIS SITUATION NOT THE MECHANIC, IS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE COMPUTER, THEY JUST FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS AND THEIR MACHINE TELL THEM NOTHING IS WRONG, LIKE I MENTIONED BEFORE IN MY OTHER COMPLAINT THIS ONE IS THE FOURTH TIME THAT HAPPENED, WHAT ARE WE WAITING THAT SOME PEOPLE GOT KILL TO INVESTIGATE, LOOK AT THE PROBLEMS THAT TOYOTA AND GENERAL MOTOR HAD, THEY WAIT UNTIL PEOPLE DIED THEN START DOING SOMETHING, THANK YOU TO THIS SITE THAT WE COULD VOICE OUR CONCERNS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/15/2014 - HARWOOD HTS, IL
ON 5-4-14 I WAS DRIVING FROM WISCONSIN WHEN WE DECIDED TO STOP AT WAL-MART, WHILE WE WERE WAITING FOR A PERSON TO MOVE OUT OF ITS PARKING SPOT, MY OPTIMA START TO ACCELERATE EVEN WHEN I HAD MY FOOT IN THE BRAKE, MY FIRST REACTION WAS TO MOVE THE GEAR SHIFT TO NEUTRAL AND THEN THE ENGINE START RACING UP THE RPM WERE VERY FAST (WAS IN NEUTRAL), AT THE MOMENT A LADY AND HER SMALL KID WERE CROSSING IN FRONT OF MY CAR, GOD KNOWS WHAT IT WOULD HAPPENED IF I WOULDN'T MOVE THE GEAR TO NEUTRAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME LAST YEAR IT DID THE SAME THING IN JULY WHEN I WAS AT THE STOP SIGN , THE SECOND TIME WAS THIS YEAR IN JANUARY WHEN I CAME BACK HOME FROM WORK THEN I WAS PARKING WHEN THE CAR STARTING ACCELERATING BUT I WAS HOLDING UP WITH CONCRETE BAR ON THE GROUND THAT IS IN MY PARKING LOT, AT THAT TIME I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF, BUT IT WAS NOT MUCH OF CONCERN BECAUSE I WAS NOT DRIVING THE CAR IN THE STREET. NEXT DAY (5-5-14) TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER, AND THEY CONTACTED KIA TO REPORT THIS ISSUE, ON MAY 7 AT 4:20 PM A GENTLEMAN FROM KIA HIS NAME WAS BRUCE CALLED ME TO GET SOME INFORMATION ABOUT THIS SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND TOLD HIM EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENED AND GAVE A CASE #2706364, THEN ON 5-7-14 ANOTHER GENTLEMAN FROM KIA CORPORATION CALLED ME, HIS NAME SAM, AND TOLD ME THAT HE IS IN CHARGE OF MY CASE NOW AND WILL CALL ME TO LET ME KNOW ABOUT THE OUTCOME OF THIS, WELL HE DIDN'T CALL SO I CALLED HIM BACK ON 5-15-14, (10 DAYS LATER), HE TOLD ME HE WAS WAITING FOR THE DEALERSHIP TO CALL HIM, I WENT TO THE DEALER AND I WAS INFORMED BY ED THE SERVICE MANAGER THAT THEY WERE DOING SOME TESTS, HE CALLED ME LATER SAYING THAT HE TALKED TO SAM IN KIA CORPORATION AND HE GAVE 11 POINT OF INSPECTION TO DO. SITUATION SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED BY NHTSA TO AVOID ANY FUTURE INCIDENTS THAT COULD CAUSE SOME SERIOUS INJURIES OR FATALITIES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds