Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2011 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Engine (7) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,887.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/21/2014 - SANTA CLARA, CA
WE WERE IN MY 2011 KIA OPTIMA ON A TRANSITION RAMP FROM ONE FREEWAY TO ANOTHER DOING ABOUT 45 MPH. AS WE ROUNDED A TURN WE SAW 2 CARS AND A TOW TRUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE RAMP WE THEN HIT A PUDDLE (LAKE) THAT WENT ACROSS BOTH LANES OF THIS RAMP. THE WATER SLOWED US BY MAYBE 20 MPH WITH WATER SHOOTING ALL AROUND US. WE THEN SAW A TRUCK COMING DOWN A ON RAMP TO MERGE IN FRONT OF US HE HIT ANOTHER PUDDLE AND SPUN SIDEWAYS AND HIT A GUARD RAIL. WE PULLED UP NEXT TO HIM TO SEE IF HE WAS ALRIGHT AND MY CAR STALLED. WE COULD SMELL GAS I THOUGHT IT WAS COMING FROM THE TRUCK AND I WANTED TO MOVE AWAY FROM HIM. THE CAR WOULD NOT START, I HAD MY 4 YEAR OLD IN THE CAR AND HE WAS TERRIFIED AND CRYING. LUCKILY A TOW TRUCK PULLED UP BEHIND US AND BLOCKED OTHER CARS FROM HITTING US HE PUSHED US OUT OF THE LANE. WHEN THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE KIA DEALER I FOUND OUT THERE IS A PIECE OF (PLASTIC OR METAL I DON'T KNOW WHICH) THAT RUNS DOWN THE CENTER UNDER THE CAR, IT HOLDS THE GAS AND HYDRAULIC LINES UP FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK, THIS PIECE IS HELD IN PLACE WITH CLIPS ( NOT BOLTS OR SCREWS ) THE WATER PULLED THESE CLIPS FREE AND MY GAS AND HYDRAULIC LINES WERE PULLED DOWN, MY GAS LINE BROKE THAT WAS THE GAS I WAS SMELLING, IT THERE HAD BEEN A SPARK OR FLARE IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. THIS COULD ALSO HAVE HAPPENED IF I WAS DRIVING IN SNOW. IN MY OPINION THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE DEALER SAID NO. SO I HAVE TO PAY $500 PLUS 5 DAYS OF CAR RENTAL. I'M 59 I HAVE DRIVEN EVERY MAKE OF CAR I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN BEFORE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/5/2014 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE ROOF IS RUSTING JUST ABOVE THE WINDSHIELD.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - MELBOURNE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH AT NIGHT WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND THE VEHICLE ENGULFED INTO FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A POLICE/FIRE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,500.

View Details

ENGINE

10/13/2014 - MCDONOUGH, GA
JUST WEEKS AFTER PURCHASING MY KIA, IT HAD TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO REPLACE CRACKED DASH, HEATED STEERING WHEEL PEELING, TIRES WEARING ON THE OUTSIDE, WIPER BLADES SUCKED & YOU COULD NOT SEE OUT OF THEM WHEN IT RAIN, CRACKED OUTSIDE OF SUNROOF SEAL, PULLING TO LEFT SIDE AND SURGES. THEY PUT NEW TIRES, STEERING WHEEL & FIXED THE DASH. THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED THE SPECS WERE WITHIN NORMAL LIMITS FOR THE ALIGNMENT & TRANSMISSION. THE OUTSIDE OF THE SUNROOF IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR & IT WILL CRACK AGAIN, STATED THE SUN CRACKS IT! IT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT 5 TIMES! EVEN THOUGH MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY! I HAVE HAD 4 SET OF TIRES & THEY WEAR ON THE OUTSIDE, IT STILLS PULLS TO THE LEFT & I WAS TOLD THE ALIGNMENT IS NORMAL. 6 SETS OF NEW WIPER BLADES & THEY SAY THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM. MY CAR SURGES & IT HAS NOT EVEN BEEN ADDRESSED! IN LATE SEPTEMBER MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DAY AFTER I HAD MY OIL CHANGED, I TOOK MY CAR TO MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE, THEY KEPT IT, FIXED THE 'OIL CONTROL VALVE" WITHIN 5 MILES FROM MY DEALERSHIP, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. AFTER A WEEK & A HALF, MY 'INTAKE CVVT TIMING & MY 'EXHAUST CVVT TIMING! MY WARRANTY WILL BE UP IN THE NEXT FEW MONTHS & I AM WORRIED ABOUT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT & THEN THERES NO WARRANTY! THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON OPTIMA'S STEERING TO THE LEFT & ON THE TIRES EITHER, ALIGNMENT! I HAVE WENT AS FAR AS CONTACTING THE GEORGIA CONSUMER PROTECTION, KIA CONSUMER HOTLINE, US DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, TRAFFIC SAFETY, THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED MY LOCAL & NATIONAL NEWS STATION & WILL BE MEETING WITH THEM NEXT WEEK. IF THIS DOES NOT RAISE A FEW QUESTIONS, I WILL HIRE AN ATTORNEY!! THIS IS NOT ABOUT MONEY, VERSES WHAT IS RIGHT!

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - MCDONOUGH, GA
JUST WEEKS AFTER PURCHASING MY KIA, IT HAD TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO REPLACE CRACKED DASH, HEATED STEERING WHEEL PEELING, TIRES WEARING ON THE OUTSIDE, WIPER BLADES SUCKED & YOU COULD NOT SEE OUT OF THEM WHEN IT RAIN, CRACKED OUTSIDE OF SUNROOF SEAL, PULLING TO LEFT SIDE AND SURGES. THEY PUT NEW TIRES, STEERING WHEEL & FIXED THE DASH. THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED THE SPECS WERE WITHIN NORMAL LIMITS FOR THE ALIGNMENT & TRANSMISSION. THE OUTSIDE OF THE SUNROOF IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR & IT WILL CRACK AGAIN, STATED THE SUN CRACKS IT! IT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT 5 TIMES! EVEN THOUGH MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY! I HAVE HAD 4 SET OF TIRES & THEY WEAR ON THE OUTSIDE, IT STILLS PULLS TO THE LEFT & I WAS TOLD THE ALIGNMENT IS NORMAL. 6 SETS OF NEW WIPER BLADES & THEY SAY THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM. MY CAR SURGES & IT HAS NOT EVEN BEEN ADDRESSED! IN LATE SEPTEMBER MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DAY AFTER I HAD MY OIL CHANGED, I TOOK MY CAR TO MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE, THEY KEPT IT, FIXED THE 'OIL CONTROL VALVE" WITHIN 5 MILES FROM MY DEALERSHIP, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. AFTER A WEEK & A HALF, MY 'INTAKE CVVT TIMING & MY 'EXHAUST CVVT TIMING! MY WARRANTY WILL BE UP IN THE NEXT FEW MONTHS & I AM WORRIED ABOUT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT & THEN THERES NO WARRANTY! THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON OPTIMA'S STEERING TO THE LEFT & ON THE TIRES EITHER, ALIGNMENT! I HAVE WENT AS FAR AS CONTACTING THE GEORGIA CONSUMER PROTECTION, KIA CONSUMER HOTLINE, US DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, TRAFFIC SAFETY, THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED MY LOCAL & NATIONAL NEWS STATION & WILL BE MEETING WITH THEM NEXT WEEK. IF THIS DOES NOT RAISE A FEW QUESTIONS, I WILL HIRE AN ATTORNEY!! THIS IS NOT ABOUT MONEY, VERSES WHAT IS RIGHT!

View Details

WHEELS

10/13/2014 - MCDONOUGH, GA
JUST WEEKS AFTER PURCHASING MY KIA, IT HAD TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO REPLACE CRACKED DASH, HEATED STEERING WHEEL PEELING, TIRES WEARING ON THE OUTSIDE, WIPER BLADES SUCKED & YOU COULD NOT SEE OUT OF THEM WHEN IT RAIN, CRACKED OUTSIDE OF SUNROOF SEAL, PULLING TO LEFT SIDE AND SURGES. THEY PUT NEW TIRES, STEERING WHEEL & FIXED THE DASH. THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED THE SPECS WERE WITHIN NORMAL LIMITS FOR THE ALIGNMENT & TRANSMISSION. THE OUTSIDE OF THE SUNROOF IS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR & IT WILL CRACK AGAIN, STATED THE SUN CRACKS IT! IT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT 5 TIMES! EVEN THOUGH MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY! I HAVE HAD 4 SET OF TIRES & THEY WEAR ON THE OUTSIDE, IT STILLS PULLS TO THE LEFT & I WAS TOLD THE ALIGNMENT IS NORMAL. 6 SETS OF NEW WIPER BLADES & THEY SAY THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM. MY CAR SURGES & IT HAS NOT EVEN BEEN ADDRESSED! IN LATE SEPTEMBER MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DAY AFTER I HAD MY OIL CHANGED, I TOOK MY CAR TO MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE, THEY KEPT IT, FIXED THE 'OIL CONTROL VALVE" WITHIN 5 MILES FROM MY DEALERSHIP, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. AFTER A WEEK & A HALF, MY 'INTAKE CVVT TIMING & MY 'EXHAUST CVVT TIMING! MY WARRANTY WILL BE UP IN THE NEXT FEW MONTHS & I AM WORRIED ABOUT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT & THEN THERES NO WARRANTY! THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON OPTIMA'S STEERING TO THE LEFT & ON THE TIRES EITHER, ALIGNMENT! I HAVE WENT AS FAR AS CONTACTING THE GEORGIA CONSUMER PROTECTION, KIA CONSUMER HOTLINE, US DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, TRAFFIC SAFETY, THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED MY LOCAL & NATIONAL NEWS STATION & WILL BE MEETING WITH THEM NEXT WEEK. IF THIS DOES NOT RAISE A FEW QUESTIONS, I WILL HIRE AN ATTORNEY!! THIS IS NOT ABOUT MONEY, VERSES WHAT IS RIGHT!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

9/26/2014 - BUTLER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS WERE ACTIVATED HOWEVER, THE ILLUMINATION WAS EXTREMELY DIM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT BOTH HEAD LAMPS OVERHEATED WHICH CAUSED THE REFLECTOR TO MELT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/26/2014 - BUTLER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS WERE ACTIVATED HOWEVER, THE ILLUMINATION WAS EXTREMELY DIM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT BOTH HEAD LAMPS OVERHEATED WHICH CAUSED THE REFLECTOR TO MELT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/3/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A SQUEALING AND AN UNUSUAL POPPING SOUND THAT EMITTED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE FRONT TIRES HAD SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE BLOCK BRACKET FRACTURED. AS A RESULT, THE TECHNICIAN RECOMMENDED AN ENGINE REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,273.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds