Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2011 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 47 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (12) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - HIGHLAND, MI
ENGINE SHUT DOWN IN THE HIGHWAY CAUSING LOSS OF POWER STEERING/BRAKES. CAR HAS LESS THAN 80K MILES, ALL OIL CHANGES PERFORMED PER SPEC RECENTLY ADTER SWITCHING TO FULL SYNTHETIC OIL CHANGED EVERY 5000 MILES. ENGINE SEIZED. VERY SIMILAR TO HYUNDAI RECALL ISSUED 9/25/2015. SAME ENGINE MANUFACTURED IN THE SAME PLANT WITH A DIFFERENT NAME BADGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/25/2016 - NYSSA, OR
VEHICLE SUNROOF EXPLODED WHILE DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY. IT SOUNDED LIKE A SHOT-GUN BLAST HIT THE SUNROOF AND THREW GLASS EVERYWHERE. NO REASON AS TO WHY IT HAPPENED BUT IT JUST DID. I HAVE SEEN SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ONLINE THAT DESCRIBE THE SAME THING HAPPENING TO THEIR KIA BUT IT WAS A KIA SORENTO, I AM WONDERING IF IT IS A FACTORY DEFECT PROBLEM WITH KIA'S IN GENERAL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2016 - HILLSBORO, OR
RANDOMLY LOSES THROTTLE CONTROL. HAS HAPPENED ON A FREEWAY, ON SURFACE STREETS AND AT STOP SIGNS. THROTTLE GOES IMMEDIATELY INTO IDLE RPM (APPROXIMATELY 800-1000 RPM). LOSS OF ACCELERATION ABILITY WHEN MANEUVERING IN TRAFFIC. ALMOST COLLIDED WITH OTHER VEHICLES. KIA DEALERSHIP LOOKED FOR FAULT CODES IN COMPUTER BUT COULD NOT FIND ANY. NUMEROUS ENTRIES ON INTERNET ABOUT THIS. ACTIVE FAULT CODES GO INACTIVE AFTER 3 SUCCESSFUL RESTARTS. DEALER NOT ALLOWED TO LOOK AT INACTIVE CODES. HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES OVER 2-3 YEARS. KIA FACTORY SERVICE IS AWARE OF THIS. THEIR CASE # IS 2524267.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/6/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS PARK IN THE PARKING GARAGE OF MY WORK PLACE. THE TIME WAS BETWEEN 7:10AM TO7:15AM. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK. I STEPPED OUT OF THE CAR TO GET MY PURSE AND OTHER BAG ON THE GROUND. I LEFT CAR ON CAUSE I WAS LISTENING TO A SONG. I WAS LOOKING FOR AN APP ON MY PHONE TO SEE WHAT SONG WAS PLAYING. I THEN WALKED AROUND TO OTHER SIDE TO GET A BOOK THAT WAS IN PASSENGER SEAT. I WALKED BACK TO DRIVER SIDE STOOD THERE A MINUTE OR TWO STILL SEARCHING FOR APP ON PHONE ALL SUDDEN MY CAR STARTING TO ROLL BACK. I TRIED TO STOP THE CAR BY TRYING TO GET IN CAR TOO FAST DOOR HIT ME KNOCK ME DOWN MY LEGS GOT CAUGHT UNDER DOOR FLIP ME COMPLETELY AROUND. THEN CRASH TO WALL OF THE GARAGE. MY BACK GOT INJURED. MY CAR TAIL GATE GOT DAMAGE. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT COULD OF CAUSE THE CAR TO ROLL WHILE PARKED. THERE IS A LITTLE INCLINE IN THE GARAGE. CALLED KIA CONSUMER PROTECTION. THEY STATED NO RECALL RIGHT NOW PROBLEM. THE RECALL OF SOME SWITCH HAS BEEN FIXED BUT THEY WI. INVESTIGATE. PLEASE SEE IF ANY OTHER OWNER OF A SPORTAGE HAS HAD A SIMILAR PROBLEM. THANK YOU

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/12/2015 - MIFFLINTOWN, PA
WHILE ON VACATION IN LA WE HAD A PROBLEM WITH OUR 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR LOSE POWER AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. WE HAD TO RESTART THE CAR REPEATEDLY UNTIL WE REACHED OUR DESTINATION. WE TOOK THE CAR TO A LOCAL AUTOZONE AND THEY GOT A CODE FOR THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR. WE FOUND A DEALERSHIP AND TOOK THE CAR IN. THEY TOLD US THERE WAS A PAST CODE , BUT THAT WAS NOT THE CODE THEY GOT. AFTER SITTING ALL DAY WAITING FOR KIA CORPORATION TO TELL THEM WHAT TO DO TO FIX IT, WE FINALLY GOT THE CAR BACK AND TOLD IT WAS A PIN TENSION THAT WAS LOOSE AND THEY FIX IT. NO CHARGE SINCE IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. WE HAD NO PROBLEMS UNTIL 2 MONTHS LATER AND THEY CAR IS DOING THE SAME THING. CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE BOUGHT THE CAR AND IT TOOK A WEEK TO GET AN APPT. NOW WE ARE BEING TOLD THAT THEY GOT A CODE FOR THE THROTTLE POS SENSOR AND THAT IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY ANY LONGER ( MILEAGE IS 61000). THEY HAVE HAD THE CAR FOR 2 DAYS. NO LOANER CAR WAS OFFERED TO US AND IT IS APPARENT THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM. SOMEBODY WILL SURELY GET HURT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/3/2015 - ILION, NY
A WHITE CRYSTAL APPEARING POWDER IS COMING THROUGH THE CARPET. THE SUBSTANCE STARTED AROUND THE CENTER COUNSEL COMING THROUGH THE CARPET AND HAS NOW PROPAGATED TO THE REAR FEET WELLS OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER HAS REPLACED TWO BODY PLUGS AND THE ISSUE STILL EXIST. THE DEALER HAS SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I HAVE ASKED TO HAVE THE CARPET PULLED UP AND LOOK UNDER THE CARPET BUT THE DEALER HAS NOT DONE SO. THERE IS A LINK ON THE WEB THAT SHOWS A KIA SOUL THAT HAS THE SAME ISSUE. HOW CAN I GET THE DEALER TO REMOVE THE TWO FRONT SEATS TO SEE IF THERE IS A RUST OR BODY CORROSION ISSUE. I ALSO ASKED IF THERE WAS A PLUGGED DRAIN AND WAS TOLD THE POWDER WOULD NOT BE CAUSED BY A PLUG DRAIN LINE. WOULD LIKE SOME RESOLUTION BEFORE THE WARRANTY EXPIRES DECEMBER 2015. FIRST NOTICED FALL OF 2012.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/3/2015 - ILION, NY
A WHITE CRYSTAL APPEARING POWDER IS COMING THROUGH THE CARPET. THE SUBSTANCE STARTED AROUND THE CENTER COUNSEL COMING THROUGH THE CARPET AND HAS NOW PROPAGATED TO THE REAR FEET WELLS OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER HAS REPLACED TWO BODY PLUGS AND THE ISSUE STILL EXIST. THE DEALER HAS SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I HAVE ASKED TO HAVE THE CARPET PULLED UP AND LOOK UNDER THE CARPET BUT THE DEALER HAS NOT DONE SO. THERE IS A LINK ON THE WEB THAT SHOWS A KIA SOUL THAT HAS THE SAME ISSUE. HOW CAN I GET THE DEALER TO REMOVE THE TWO FRONT SEATS TO SEE IF THERE IS A RUST OR BODY CORROSION ISSUE. I ALSO ASKED IF THERE WAS A PLUGGED DRAIN AND WAS TOLD THE POWDER WOULD NOT BE CAUSED BY A PLUG DRAIN LINE. WOULD LIKE SOME RESOLUTION BEFORE THE WARRANTY EXPIRES DECEMBER 2015. FIRST NOTICED FALL OF 2012.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/3/2015 - ILION, NY
A WHITE CRYSTAL APPEARING POWDER IS COMING THROUGH THE CARPET. THE SUBSTANCE STARTED AROUND THE CENTER COUNSEL COMING THROUGH THE CARPET AND HAS NOW PROPAGATED TO THE REAR FEET WELLS OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER HAS REPLACED TWO BODY PLUGS AND THE ISSUE STILL EXIST. THE DEALER HAS SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I HAVE ASKED TO HAVE THE CARPET PULLED UP AND LOOK UNDER THE CARPET BUT THE DEALER HAS NOT DONE SO. THERE IS A LINK ON THE WEB THAT SHOWS A KIA SOUL THAT HAS THE SAME ISSUE. HOW CAN I GET THE DEALER TO REMOVE THE TWO FRONT SEATS TO SEE IF THERE IS A RUST OR BODY CORROSION ISSUE. I ALSO ASKED IF THERE WAS A PLUGGED DRAIN AND WAS TOLD THE POWDER WOULD NOT BE CAUSED BY A PLUG DRAIN LINE. WOULD LIKE SOME RESOLUTION BEFORE THE WARRANTY EXPIRES DECEMBER 2015. FIRST NOTICED FALL OF 2012.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2015 - ROCKHILL, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF AND THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE ENGINE RESTARTED AFTER PUSHING THE BUTTON WITHOUT ENGAGING THE BRAKES. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/7/2015 - RINGLW, WI
STEP ON GAS, RPM GOES UP BUT NO ACCELERATION, AT TIMES CAN NOT GET OVER 35MPH. ON EVEN TERRAIN WITH CRUISE ENGAGED SPEED WILL DROP AND THEN REV BACK UP. THIS ONLY HAPPENS OCCASIONALLY. HAVE BEEN BACK TO THE DEALER X3 BUT WITH NO ENGINE CODES FIRED THEY CAN'T LOCATE THE PROBLEM. SAFETY CONCERNS OF NOT BEING ABLE TO MAINTAIN SPEEDS ON INTERSTATES AND COUNTY ROADS. SEVERAL CONSUMER FORUMS STATE COMMON CONCERNS RELATING TO POSSIBLE TURBO, TRANSMISSION AND/OR GAS LINE ISSUES. KIA NOT RESPONSIVE TO CONSUMER CONCERNS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds