Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2011 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 55 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (12) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/13/2017 - KANEOHE, HI
2011 KIA SPORTAGE - ENGINE FAILED WITHOUT WARNING WITH TWO TODDLERS IN CAR. LUCKILY THIS HAPPENED AS I TURNED OFF A HIGHWAY AND WAS ABLE TO STOP ON THE SHOULDER. MANUFACTURER REFUSES TO FIX BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE MAINTENANCE RECORD. I HAVE A FRIEND WHO HAS BEEN CHANGING OIL/SERVICING CAR. I HAVE LEARNED THAT MANY OWNERS OF THIS YEAR/MODEL CAR HAVE SIMILAR EXPERIENCES. I FEEL THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD DEAL WITH A PROBLEM AS SEVERE AS THIS IMMEDIATELY!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/28/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
DUE TO KIA NOT APPLYING ENOUGH RUST PROTECTION/UNDERCOATING ON MY SPORTAGE. I AM EXPERIENCING RUST ALL UNDERNEATH MY CAR. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, TRYING TO GET THEM TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION AND BOTH HAVE REFUSED, EACH BLAMING THE OTHER FOR THE CAUSE. IN THE MEANTIME, I AM DRIVING MY SPORTAGE IN SNOW, ICE, WATER AND SALT IN MASSACHUSETTS. I HAVE ALSO TOLD THEM THAT MY CATALYIC CONVERTER WAS ALSO RUSTING TO THE POINT THAT THE ENTIRE EXHAUST SYSTEM NEEDS REPLACING. I AM ALSO VERY SCARED THAT THERE IS SUSPENSION DAMAGE FROM THIS HAPPENING. I AM CONSTANTLY HEARING GROANS, SCREECHING AND WHINING NOISES WHILE TRAVELING IN MY SUV.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/28/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
DUE TO KIA NOT APPLYING ENOUGH RUST PROTECTION/UNDERCOATING ON MY SPORTAGE. I AM EXPERIENCING RUST ALL UNDERNEATH MY CAR. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, TRYING TO GET THEM TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION AND BOTH HAVE REFUSED, EACH BLAMING THE OTHER FOR THE CAUSE. IN THE MEANTIME, I AM DRIVING MY SPORTAGE IN SNOW, ICE, WATER AND SALT IN MASSACHUSETTS. I HAVE ALSO TOLD THEM THAT MY CATALYIC CONVERTER WAS ALSO RUSTING TO THE POINT THAT THE ENTIRE EXHAUST SYSTEM NEEDS REPLACING. I AM ALSO VERY SCARED THAT THERE IS SUSPENSION DAMAGE FROM THIS HAPPENING. I AM CONSTANTLY HEARING GROANS, SCREECHING AND WHINING NOISES WHILE TRAVELING IN MY SUV.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/28/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
DUE TO KIA NOT APPLYING ENOUGH RUST PROTECTION/UNDERCOATING ON MY SPORTAGE. I AM EXPERIENCING RUST ALL UNDERNEATH MY CAR. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, TRYING TO GET THEM TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION AND BOTH HAVE REFUSED, EACH BLAMING THE OTHER FOR THE CAUSE. IN THE MEANTIME, I AM DRIVING MY SPORTAGE IN SNOW, ICE, WATER AND SALT IN MASSACHUSETTS. I HAVE ALSO TOLD THEM THAT MY CATALYIC CONVERTER WAS ALSO RUSTING TO THE POINT THAT THE ENTIRE EXHAUST SYSTEM NEEDS REPLACING. I AM ALSO VERY SCARED THAT THERE IS SUSPENSION DAMAGE FROM THIS HAPPENING. I AM CONSTANTLY HEARING GROANS, SCREECHING AND WHINING NOISES WHILE TRAVELING IN MY SUV.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2017 - ST. LOUIS PARK, MN
DUE TO THE INABILITY TO START MY 2011 KIA SPORTAGE ONE DAY, IT WAS BROUGHT IN FOR A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH DETERMINED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN HAD COME LOOSE RESULTING IN MAJOR ENGINE DAMAGE. THE LIST OF PROBLEMS IS VERY LONG (GASKETS, BOLTS, SPARK PLUGS, TIMING CHAIN, VALVES, CYLINDER HEAD, ETC.) AND IF THIS WERE TO HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING - IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT. THE REPAIR SHOP SAYS THIS IS NOT THE FIRST 2011 KIA SPORTAGE ENGINE THEY HAVE REPAIRED WITH THIS SAME ISSUE, AND BELIEVES IT IS HAPPENING POSSIBLY DUE TO POOR ENGINE DESIGN (AND MAY HAPPEN AGAIN IN THE FUTURE EVEN WITH THE BEST PARTS). THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN THE PROBLEM WAS DISCOVERED, SO THERE WERE NO INJURIES AS A RESULT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/30/2016 - BRENTWOOD, MD
THE BRAKE LIGHTS DON'T REDUCE TO LET ANOTHER DRIVER KNOW THAT YOU ARE STOPPING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - SNEEDVILLE, TN
2011 KIA SPORTAGE AT TIMES WON'T START BUT ALL LIGHTS AND RADIO AND ELECTRICAL STUFF WORK. HAD NEW BATTERY PUT IN AND CHECKED OUT IT IS NOT BATTERY. IT IS DOING THIS MORE AND MORE AND I HAVE TO LET IT SET FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME THEN IT WILL START. IT CAN'T BE BOOSTED OFF EITHER WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT STARTED AND HAS NEVER STOPPED.PLEASE HELP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2016 - SNEEDVILLE, TN
2011 KIA SPORTAGE AT TIMES WON'T START BUT ALL LIGHTS AND RADIO AND ELECTRICAL STUFF WORK. HAD NEW BATTERY PUT IN AND CHECKED OUT IT IS NOT BATTERY. IT IS DOING THIS MORE AND MORE AND I HAVE TO LET IT SET FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME THEN IT WILL START. IT CAN'T BE BOOSTED OFF EITHER WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT STARTED AND HAS NEVER STOPPED.PLEASE HELP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - SNEEDVILLE, TN
2011 KIA SPORTAGE AT TIMES WON'T START BUT ALL LIGHTS AND RADIO AND ELECTRICAL STUFF WORK. HAD NEW BATTERY PUT IN AND CHECKED OUT IT IS NOT BATTERY. IT IS DOING THIS MORE AND MORE AND I HAVE TO LET IT SET FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME THEN IT WILL START. IT CAN'T BE BOOSTED OFF EITHER WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT STARTED AND HAS NEVER STOPPED.PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STEERING

12/21/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE STRUCK A PARKED VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BRUISE ON THE KNEE THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A COLLISION CENTER WHERE IT WAS DECLARED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds