Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2011 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (12) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/12/2017 - ST. LOUIS PARK, MN
DUE TO THE INABILITY TO START MY 2011 KIA SPORTAGE ONE DAY, IT WAS BROUGHT IN FOR A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH DETERMINED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN HAD COME LOOSE RESULTING IN MAJOR ENGINE DAMAGE. THE LIST OF PROBLEMS IS VERY LONG (GASKETS, BOLTS, SPARK PLUGS, TIMING CHAIN, VALVES, CYLINDER HEAD, ETC.) AND IF THIS WERE TO HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING - IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT. THE REPAIR SHOP SAYS THIS IS NOT THE FIRST 2011 KIA SPORTAGE ENGINE THEY HAVE REPAIRED WITH THIS SAME ISSUE, AND BELIEVES IT IS HAPPENING POSSIBLY DUE TO POOR ENGINE DESIGN (AND MAY HAPPEN AGAIN IN THE FUTURE EVEN WITH THE BEST PARTS). THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN THE PROBLEM WAS DISCOVERED, SO THERE WERE NO INJURIES AS A RESULT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/30/2016 - BRENTWOOD, MD
THE BRAKE LIGHTS DON'T REDUCE TO LET ANOTHER DRIVER KNOW THAT YOU ARE STOPPING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - SNEEDVILLE, TN
2011 KIA SPORTAGE AT TIMES WON'T START BUT ALL LIGHTS AND RADIO AND ELECTRICAL STUFF WORK. HAD NEW BATTERY PUT IN AND CHECKED OUT IT IS NOT BATTERY. IT IS DOING THIS MORE AND MORE AND I HAVE TO LET IT SET FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME THEN IT WILL START. IT CAN'T BE BOOSTED OFF EITHER WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT STARTED AND HAS NEVER STOPPED.PLEASE HELP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2016 - SNEEDVILLE, TN
2011 KIA SPORTAGE AT TIMES WON'T START BUT ALL LIGHTS AND RADIO AND ELECTRICAL STUFF WORK. HAD NEW BATTERY PUT IN AND CHECKED OUT IT IS NOT BATTERY. IT IS DOING THIS MORE AND MORE AND I HAVE TO LET IT SET FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME THEN IT WILL START. IT CAN'T BE BOOSTED OFF EITHER WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT STARTED AND HAS NEVER STOPPED.PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - SNEEDVILLE, TN
2011 KIA SPORTAGE AT TIMES WON'T START BUT ALL LIGHTS AND RADIO AND ELECTRICAL STUFF WORK. HAD NEW BATTERY PUT IN AND CHECKED OUT IT IS NOT BATTERY. IT IS DOING THIS MORE AND MORE AND I HAVE TO LET IT SET FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME THEN IT WILL START. IT CAN'T BE BOOSTED OFF EITHER WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT STARTED AND HAS NEVER STOPPED.PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STEERING

12/21/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE STRUCK A PARKED VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BRUISE ON THE KNEE THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A COLLISION CENTER WHERE IT WAS DECLARED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

12/13/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE BRAKE LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

12/13/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE BRAKE LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/30/2016 - CASTLE ROCK, CO
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HER KIA SPORTAGE ON I-25 JUST NORTH OF CASTLE ROCK AT ABOUT 70 MPH WHEN THERE WAS A LOUD GUNSHOT NOISE AND SHE NOTICED THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED. SHE IS SURE THAT SHE DID NOT SEE ANYTHING STRIKE THE VEHICLE. THE SUNROOF INTERIOR SHADE WAS CLOSED SO GLASS DID NOT FALL DIRECTLY ON HER. SHE WAS SHOCKED AND SCARED. SHE WAS VERY UPSET THINKING ABOUT HOW IF THE SUNSHIELD HAD BEEN OPEN SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN INJURIED. I INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND COULD NOT SEE ANY POINT WHERE ROAD MATTER HAD STRUCK AND IT APPEARED TO HAVE JUST EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION AND THIS WAS NOT A HOT OR COLD DAY. IN COLORADO IN SEPTEMBER THE ROADS ARE AT THEIR BEST, WITHOUT SAND FROM THE WINTER SEASON. I REMOVED THE LOOSE GLASS AND TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP WHO TOLD ME IT WOULD BE ABOUT $1,200 TO $1,500 TO FIX. I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND OPENED A CLAIM FOR WARRANTY. THE KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT REPORTED TO KIA WARRANTY THEY WERE 99.9% SURE IT WAS CAUSED BY A ROCK. THERE IS NO EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THIS BEYOND THE FACT IT EXPLODED. KIA DENIED THE WARRANTY CLAIM BASED IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENTS RECOMMENDATIONS. THE KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT THEN CALLED ME AND ADVISED ME THAT THEY WOULD NEED TO REPLACE THE RAILING SYSTEM TOO AND SO NOW IT WOULD BE $5,500 TO FIX. I WAS AWARE OF NATIONAL INVESTIGATIONS INTO THE EXPLODING SUNROOFS IN KIAS LIKE MINE. I PICKED UP MY VEHICLE WITHOUT HAVING IT FIXED AND NOW FIND MYSELF HAVING TO RENT A VEHICLE AS I ATTEMPT TO FIND THE BEST WAY TO HAVE THIS FIXED. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AND MY WIFE IS AFRAID THAT IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. I FEEL THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND LOOK TO HAVE SAFETY OFFICIALS LOOK INTO THESE SITUATIONS. AFTER EDUCATING MYSELF MORE ABOUT THIS I HAVE FOUND THAT THE SUNROOF IS NOW THINNER AND NOT MADE WITH THE SAME STANDARDS AS IN THE PAST.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - HIGHLAND, MI
ENGINE SHUT DOWN IN THE HIGHWAY CAUSING LOSS OF POWER STEERING/BRAKES. CAR HAS LESS THAN 80K MILES, ALL OIL CHANGES PERFORMED PER SPEC RECENTLY ADTER SWITCHING TO FULL SYNTHETIC OIL CHANGED EVERY 5000 MILES. ENGINE SEIZED. VERY SIMILAR TO HYUNDAI RECALL ISSUED 9/25/2015. SAME ENGINE MANUFACTURED IN THE SAME PLANT WITH A DIFFERENT NAME BADGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds