Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2011 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 34 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (8) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/18/2014 - RIO RANCHO, NM
THIS CAR IS UNABLE TO MAINTAIN A STRAIGHT TRAJECTORY UNDER PERFECT ROAD CONDITIONS OR ANY OTHER ROAD CONDITIONS. IT TENDS TO GO TO THE RIGHT, AND I BELIEVE THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY HAZARD. I AM ALSO CONCERNED ABOUT TOO MUCH "PLAY" IN THE STEERING. THE PLAY PROVIDES A SIGNIFICANT ANGLE OF UNCERTAINTY IN THE TRAJECTORY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2014 - DRAVOSBURG, PA
SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND CLUTCH PEDAL LOST TENSION AND WENT TO FLOOR. LUCKILY WE WERE AT LOW MPH AND WERE ABLE TO PULL OVER TO CALL FOR ASSISTANCE. SUCCESSFULLY WAS ABLE TO PLACE IN NEUTRAL. CAR STILL RUNNING. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTEROUS IF WE WERE IN ANOTHER GEAR AT HIGHER RPM. KIA SHOULD ADDRESS THE CLUTCH CABLE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2014 - DRAVOSBURG, PA
SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND CLUTCH PEDAL LOST TENSION AND WENT TO FLOOR. LUCKILY WE WERE AT LOW MPH AND WERE ABLE TO PULL OVER TO CALL FOR ASSISTANCE. SUCCESSFULLY WAS ABLE TO PLACE IN NEUTRAL. CAR STILL RUNNING. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTEROUS IF WE WERE IN ANOTHER GEAR AT HIGHER RPM. KIA SHOULD ADDRESS THE CLUTCH CABLE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/5/2014 - POMONA, CA
AFFECT THE OPERATION OF THE BRAKE-TRANSMISSION SHIFT INTERLOCK FEATURE PREVENTING THE SHIFTER FROM BEING MOVED OUT OF THE PARK POSITION AND CAUSING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) MALFUNCTION LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE. FAILURE TO ILLUMINATE THE STOP LAMPS DURING BRAKING OR INABILITY TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL COULD INCREASE THE RISK OF A CRASH. KIA WILL SEND AN INTERIM NOTIFICATION TO OWNERS IN MAY 2013.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/5/2014 - POMONA, CA
AFFECT THE OPERATION OF THE BRAKE-TRANSMISSION SHIFT INTERLOCK FEATURE PREVENTING THE SHIFTER FROM BEING MOVED OUT OF THE PARK POSITION AND CAUSING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) MALFUNCTION LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE. FAILURE TO ILLUMINATE THE STOP LAMPS DURING BRAKING OR INABILITY TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL COULD INCREASE THE RISK OF A CRASH. KIA WILL SEND AN INTERIM NOTIFICATION TO OWNERS IN MAY 2013.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2014 - POMONA, CA
AFFECT THE OPERATION OF THE BRAKE-TRANSMISSION SHIFT INTERLOCK FEATURE PREVENTING THE SHIFTER FROM BEING MOVED OUT OF THE PARK POSITION AND CAUSING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) MALFUNCTION LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE. FAILURE TO ILLUMINATE THE STOP LAMPS DURING BRAKING OR INABILITY TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL COULD INCREASE THE RISK OF A CRASH. KIA WILL SEND AN INTERIM NOTIFICATION TO OWNERS IN MAY 2013.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2014 - FORT HOOD, TX
WHILE CHANGING THE DRIVER SIDE HEADLIGHT BULB, I NOTICED THAT THE CONNECTOR HAD BURNED AND THAT THE WIRES GOING TO THE CONNECTOR WERE NOT CONNECTED TO EACH OTHER DUE TO THE BURNING. I NOTICED WHEN BARELY GRABBING THE BACK OF THE BULB, THAT THE ELECTRICAL HARNESS FOR THE MAIN LIGHT WOULD SPARK AND STARTED TO SMOKE CAUSING THE HEADLAMP ENCLOSURE TO FILL WITH SOOT AND SMOKE. SMALL SPARKS CAN BE SEEN WHEN TRYING TO REMOVE THE HEADLIGHT BULB ITSELF AS WELL AS WHEN TRYING TO ADJUST THE WIRES. THE PASSENGER SIDE WIRING HAS NO DEFECTS OR DAMAGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY DOES NOT START DUE TO A FAULTY BREAK SENSOR SAFETY SWITCH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/6/2014 - AKRON, OH
CAR PULLS TO RIGHT CONSTANTLY. A RATTLING NOISE IN FRONT OF CAR UNDERNEATH. WAS TAKEN TO KIA AND THEY STATED THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG. NOW RATTLE NOISE IS WORSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/10/2014 - FAJARDO, PR
MY SPORTAGE 2011 WAS STUCK IN 4TH GEAR AND DID NOT SHIFT BACK TO FIRST, SO I DROVE STRAIGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN 4TH AND NOW I DONT HAVE A SUBSTITUTE CAR SINCE A WHOLE WEEK I KNOW I GONNA TAKE FOR LONG. MY CAR WAS 23K MILES AT THE TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds