Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2011 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 66 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (14) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (20) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/13/2017 - TIONESTA, PA
THE ENGINE BLEW UP IN MY 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. IT HAD JUST A LITTLE OVER 100,000 MILES ON IT. I'M TOLD THAT IT IS NOT ONE OF THE ENGINES THAT HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND I FEEL THAT IT SHOULD BE. I WAS DRIVING INTO WORK AND WAS STRANDED. I COULD HEAR A LOUD BANGING NOISE AS I WAS DRIVING INTO WORK. SO I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND HE SAID THAT THE ENGINE HAD BLOWN UP. I HAD TO HAVE IT TAKEN TO MY HOME ON A FLATBED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

9/25/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING 45 MPH ON THE EXPRESSWAY, THE SUN ROOF FRACTURED. THE FAILURE CAUSED GLASS TO ENTER THE VEHICLE NEAR THE PASSENGER AND MINOR IN THE BACK SEAT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DRIVER MANAGED TO EXIT THE EXPRESSWAY. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (RODEO KIA, 10685 PAPAGO FWY, AVONDALE, AZ 85323) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT KIA'S FAULT; THEREFORE, IT WOULD BE AN OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS KEPT FOR SIX DAYS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND RECOMMENDED THE CONTACT SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AGAIN AND WAS INFORMED THAT HE SHOULD HAVE RECEIVED PAPERWORK EXPLAINING WHY THE REPAIR WAS DENIED, AND THAT SOMEONE WAS SUPPOSED TO CALL HIM BACK. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 107,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2017 - PANAMA CITY, FL
WHILE DRIVING CAR JUST DIES IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC GOING LIKE 45MPH COAST OFF THE ROAD. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS FUEL ENGINE WILL TURN OVER BUT NOT START. HAD IT TOWED TO THE KIA DEALER JULY 17,2017 WAS TOLD IT COULD BE ONE OF TWO THINGS THE FACTORY SECURITY SYSTEM OR THE ECM SO THE DEALER CHANGED OUT THE SECURITY SYSTEM THE PROBLEM STILL EXIST SO ECM IS NEXT WAS TOLD SORRY THERE ARE NO ECM,S FOR YOUR VEHICLE IN THE US. WILL HAVE TO CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURE COUPLE DAYS LATER THEY TELL ME IT HAS TO BE BUILT THERE ARE NONE IN STOCK AND THE EARLIEST WE WILL GET ONE WOULD BE AUG.23,2017. TODAY AUG.24,2017 CALLED TO CHECK ON THE STATUS OF THE PART AND GOT A NEW DATE (A PROMISE DATE) OF SEPT.2,2017 BUT THAT'S NOT GUARANTEED ????? THIS CAR JUST DYING WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC IS A SAFETY CONCERN AND NO PARTS AVAILABLE FOR OVER A MONTH MAKES ME WONDER HOW MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS SAME ISSUE. MY CAR HAS ONLY 63000 MILES ON IT. THANKS FOR LOOKING INTO THIS ISSUE AND ALL ISSUES HELPING THE CONSUMERS WHEN THE MANUFACTURES WON'T. THANKS AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2017 - PANAMA CITY, FL
WHILE DRIVING CAR JUST DIES IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC GOING LIKE 45MPH COAST OFF THE ROAD. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS FUEL ENGINE WILL TURN OVER BUT NOT START. HAD IT TOWED TO THE KIA DEALER JULY 17,2017 WAS TOLD IT COULD BE ONE OF TWO THINGS THE FACTORY SECURITY SYSTEM OR THE ECM SO THE DEALER CHANGED OUT THE SECURITY SYSTEM THE PROBLEM STILL EXIST SO ECM IS NEXT WAS TOLD SORRY THERE ARE NO ECM,S FOR YOUR VEHICLE IN THE US. WILL HAVE TO CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURE COUPLE DAYS LATER THEY TELL ME IT HAS TO BE BUILT THERE ARE NONE IN STOCK AND THE EARLIEST WE WILL GET ONE WOULD BE AUG.23,2017. TODAY AUG.24,2017 CALLED TO CHECK ON THE STATUS OF THE PART AND GOT A NEW DATE (A PROMISE DATE) OF SEPT.2,2017 BUT THAT'S NOT GUARANTEED ????? THIS CAR JUST DYING WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC IS A SAFETY CONCERN AND NO PARTS AVAILABLE FOR OVER A MONTH MAKES ME WONDER HOW MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS SAME ISSUE. MY CAR HAS ONLY 63000 MILES ON IT. THANKS FOR LOOKING INTO THIS ISSUE AND ALL ISSUES HELPING THE CONSUMERS WHEN THE MANUFACTURES WON'T. THANKS AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

7/19/2017 - FISHERS, IN
KIA RECALL - SC 147. THIS RELATES TO THE KIA ENGINE SAFETY RECALL CAMPAIN SC147 REGARDING THE ENGINE. ON 7/14/2017 I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AT IT JUST STOPS WHILE GOING 45MPH. LUCKILY I DIDN'T HAVE AN ACCIDENT. BEFORE THIS HAPPENED, MY ENGINE STARTED MAKING THIS LOUD TAPPING SOUND. I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO MAKE IT TO MY RESIDENCE BUT WAS TOO AFRAID TO EVEN DRIVE THE CAR. I DIDN'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THE SAFETY RECALL UNTIL I DID SOME RESEARCH. I CALLED KIA AND FOUND OUT THAT MY VIN WAS PART OF THE RECALL. I CALLED MY PREFERRED DEALER AND THEY WEREN'T ALREADY BACK LOGGED REGARDING THIS RECALL. SUBSEQUENTLY, AFTER GETTING MY VEHICLE TOWED, I WAS INFORMED THAT MY ENGINE BLEW UP EVEN BEFORE KIA COULD PERFORM THIS TEST. MY FEAR IS THAT MORE CARS WILL BE AFFECTED AND THERE ARE SEVERAL CUSTOMERS (INCLUDING MYSELF) THAT HAVE NOT RECEIVED NOTICES ABOUT THIS RECALL. MANY DEALERS ARE NOT HANDLING THIS PROPERLY PER THE INTERIM NOTICES BY KIA (IE PROVIDING TRANSPORTATION TO CUSTOMERS, ETC)

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2017 - LYNDEN, WA
MY CAR IS HAVING ISSUES RELATED TO RECALL SC147. I UNDERSTAND THIS RECALL WAS ISSUED RECENTLY, BUT MY VIN DOES NOT SHOW THE RECALL WHEN I RESEARCH IT. I'M WORRIED THAT I WILL BE DECLINED SERVICE SIMPLY BECAUSE MY VIN DOESN'T SHOW UP IN THE DATABASE. WHAT CAN I DO TO GET MY VEHICLE SERVICED? CAN YOU ADD MY VIN TO THAT LIST?

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2017 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER (JAMES WOOD HYUNDAI 2110 US-287 DECATUR, TX 76234) INFORMED THE CONTACT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY THE KIA MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 155,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2017 - FRIENDSWOOD, TX
ENGINE SEIZED WITH OUT WARNING, WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 60MPH

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/23/2017 - EDMONDS, WA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR AS FIRST OWNER. I MAINTAINED MY CAR AT DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT WHERE I PURCHASED MY CAR. STARTING JULY 2016, MY CAR ENGINE WOULD SHUT DOWN RANDOMLY AS I WAS SLOWING DOWN AT TRAFFIC LIGHT OR FREEWAY RAMP LIGHT. THIS WAS NOT EXPECTED. I WAS REALLY SHOCKED AND SCARED THAT SOMEONE WOULD REAR-END MY CAR. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO DEALERSHIP SERVICE THREE TIMES. THEY CAN'T FIX IT AND CLAIMED THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE CODE FOR THEM TO FOLLOW-UP ON. IT GOT WORSE AS I DROVE THE CAR ON THE FREEWAY ABOUT 60 MPH FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES. THE ENGINE WOULD SEIZED. IT FELT LIKE THE ENGINE EXPLODED. IT WAS SUPER SCARY AND UNSAFE. I FELT LIKE THE CAR COULD FREEZE AND POSSIBLY ROLL-OVER. I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE AGAIN. THEY SAID IT WAS THE MAP SENSOR AND CHANGED IT. HOWEVER WITHIN A WEEK, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT WAS POINTING TO THE MAP SENSOR THAT THEY JUST CHANGED OUT. I SAW KIA SPORTAGE IS HAVING A RECALL. HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. YET THE ISSUES DESCRIBED ON THE RECALL WERE SO SIMILAR TO MY CAR'S ISSUES. I AM TRULY WORRIED THAT MY LIFE AND MY FAMILY'S LIVES WOULD BE IN JEOPARDY IF I CONTINUE TO DRIVE THIS CAR. DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT ONLY PUSHES ME AROUND TO OTHER DEALERSHIP SERVICE WITHOUT FIXING THE ISSUES. I REALLY DON'T WANT TO DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT THAT'S NOT CAUSED BY MY FAULT BUT THE CAR'S MALFUNCTIONING POWER-TRAIN/ ENGINE/ OTHER ISSUES THAT THE DEALERSHIP WON'T FIX EVEN IF THE WARRANTY IS STILL OPEN AND VALID. PLEASE HELP! (IF INVOICE DOCUMENTS ARE NEEDED, I CAN CONTACT MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT. I ONLY KEPT MY PAYMENT RECEIPT ON VISA CARD STATEMENT)

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2017 - EDMONDS, WA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR AS FIRST OWNER. I MAINTAINED MY CAR AT DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT WHERE I PURCHASED MY CAR. STARTING JULY 2016, MY CAR ENGINE WOULD SHUT DOWN RANDOMLY AS I WAS SLOWING DOWN AT TRAFFIC LIGHT OR FREEWAY RAMP LIGHT. THIS WAS NOT EXPECTED. I WAS REALLY SHOCKED AND SCARED THAT SOMEONE WOULD REAR-END MY CAR. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO DEALERSHIP SERVICE THREE TIMES. THEY CAN'T FIX IT AND CLAIMED THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE CODE FOR THEM TO FOLLOW-UP ON. IT GOT WORSE AS I DROVE THE CAR ON THE FREEWAY ABOUT 60 MPH FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES. THE ENGINE WOULD SEIZED. IT FELT LIKE THE ENGINE EXPLODED. IT WAS SUPER SCARY AND UNSAFE. I FELT LIKE THE CAR COULD FREEZE AND POSSIBLY ROLL-OVER. I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE AGAIN. THEY SAID IT WAS THE MAP SENSOR AND CHANGED IT. HOWEVER WITHIN A WEEK, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT WAS POINTING TO THE MAP SENSOR THAT THEY JUST CHANGED OUT. I SAW KIA SPORTAGE IS HAVING A RECALL. HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. YET THE ISSUES DESCRIBED ON THE RECALL WERE SO SIMILAR TO MY CAR'S ISSUES. I AM TRULY WORRIED THAT MY LIFE AND MY FAMILY'S LIVES WOULD BE IN JEOPARDY IF I CONTINUE TO DRIVE THIS CAR. DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT ONLY PUSHES ME AROUND TO OTHER DEALERSHIP SERVICE WITHOUT FIXING THE ISSUES. I REALLY DON'T WANT TO DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT THAT'S NOT CAUSED BY MY FAULT BUT THE CAR'S MALFUNCTIONING POWER-TRAIN/ ENGINE/ OTHER ISSUES THAT THE DEALERSHIP WON'T FIX EVEN IF THE WARRANTY IS STILL OPEN AND VALID. PLEASE HELP! (IF INVOICE DOCUMENTS ARE NEEDED, I CAN CONTACT MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT. I ONLY KEPT MY PAYMENT RECEIPT ON VISA CARD STATEMENT)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds