Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2011 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (25) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1)
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (14) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2018 - REPUBLIC, WA
MY CAR'S SHIFT BUTTON SUDDENLY BECAME STUCK IN THE HANDLE AND I CANNOT "PARK" MY CAR OR TURN OFF THE KEY. I DROVE IT TO COLLEGE, AS I WAS STOPPED IN THE PARKING LOT, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND PRESSED THE BUTTON TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK. THE BUTTON PUSHED IN AND BECAME "STUCK OR LOCKED" IN THE HANDLE. THE CAR WOULDN'T DO ANYTHING BUT GO INTO N OR D BUT NOTHING ELSE. AFTER PUSHING THE SHIFT LOCK BUTTON, I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR INTO PARK "KINDA". THE KEY WON'T TURN PAST AXL MODE, THEREFORE THE KEYS ARE STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND THE BATTERY BECOMES DRAINED. BECAUSE I DON'T BELIEVE THE CAR IS FULLY IN P, I SET THE PARK BREAK AND UNHOOK THE BATTERY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/30/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CITY KIA (9550 S ORANGE BLOSSOM TRAIL, ORLANDO, FL) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING WAS FAULTY AND A DEFECTIVE PART WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAGS WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 94,665.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2018 - SUGARLOAF, PA
THE ENGINE IS RUNNING ROUGH. I HEAR KNOCKS AND PINGS WHEN I TRY TO GO OVER 50. LOCAL CITY DRIVING THE ENGINE IS CALM. RECENTLY HAD NEW SPARK PLUGS PUT IN. GAS MILEAGE HAS REALLY NOT IMPROVED. I HAVE CONCERNS THAT THIS ENGINE WILL SEIZE UP. I AM NOW READING ABOUT SC147. I CHECKED WITH MY LOCAL KIA DEALER AND THERE IS NO IMMEDIATE RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE SET AN APPOINTMENT FOR APRIL 10TH TO DO FURTHER DIAGNOSTICS. THE LOCAL DEALER SEEMS TO NOT CARE WHICH WORRIES ME BEFORE EVEN TAKING THIS CAR IN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/23/2018 - BELLEVILLE, IL
MY CAR STARTED GETTING BAD GAS MPG AND LOSS OF POWER AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON REGARDING 2 BAD CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSORS. KIA DEALER CHECKED THE CAR AND SAID THE SENSORS SIMPLY NEEDED REPLACED. I REPLACED THE SENSOR AND CAR PROBLEMS GOT WORSE. ENGINE MAKES TICKING NOISE WHEN RUNNING. KIA SERVICE HAD NO SOLUTION. AFTER ABOUT 1 TO 2 MONTHS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE CAR ENGINE STOPPED AND EVERYTHING WENT DEAD. I HAD TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL AND STEER THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD FORTUNATELY AVOIDING AN ACCIDENT. I HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR STALLING WHILE DRIVING AT LEAST 50 TO 100 TIMES WHILE STOPPED AND WHILE MOVING IN THE LAST 4 MONTHS. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT. AFTER A DAY I WAS CONTACTED BY THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND TOLD THE ENGINE WAS SEIZED UP AND I WOULD HAVE TO PURCHASE A NEW ENGINE ($4500+). I'VE ASKED MULTIPLE TIMES THROUGH THE DEALERSHIP AND KIA CORPORATE WHAT CAUSED THE ENGINE FAILURE BUT THEY REFUSE TO GIVE ME A REASON FOR THE FAILURE OR INVESTIGAE WHY THE CAR CONTINUALLY MALFUNCTIONED AND THEN DIED. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY WOULD LOOK FOR A CAUSE IF I PAID THEM $1500 UP FRONT. BOTTOM LINE WHAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR IS THE EXACT SAME AS DETAILED IN KIA RECALL SC147. KIA REFUSES TO RECOGNIZE THIS, SAYS THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRENTY AND I'M SIMPLY SCREWED. I'M NOT PAYING $4500+ FOR A NEW ENGINE WHEN THEY CAN'T EVEN TELL ME WHAT WENT WRONG WITH THE FIRST ONE. KIA SAYS MY CAR HAS MPI FUEL INJECTION AND THE RECALL SC147 ONLY COVERS CARS WITH GDI FUEL INJECTION. THE PROBLEM WITH THAT IS THAT RECALL SC147 HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM. DESPITE COMMUNICATION WITH HIGHEST LEVELS OF KIA AMERICA AND THE DEALERSHIP I'VE BEEN TOLD REPEATEDLY THAT KIA WILL DO NOTHING FOR ME. KIA STATED THAT MY CAR ENGINE TO SEIZE UP AND DIE AT 78,000 IS COMPLETELY ACCEPTABLE TO KIA.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

3/22/2018 - ROYERSFORD, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE SUN ROOF EXPLODED. THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND GLASS SHATTERED INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MURRAY KIA IN CONSHOHOCKEN, PENNSYLVANIA TO BE EXAMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH CASE NUMBER: 12665943. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,010. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/7/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
THE STEERING WHEEL CONTROL IS NOT WORKING PROPERLY ESPECIALLY UNDER 60 MPH. I BELIEVE IT HAS A PROBLEM THAT COMES FROM THE FACTORY SETTINGS. I ALSO HAVE SEEN THAT MANY 2011 KIA SPORTAGE OWNERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE IT BECOMES VERY HARD TO KEEP THE CAR IN THE LINE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/10/2018 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
I WAS DRIVING EAST ON A CITY STREET AT PROBABLY LESS THAN SPEED LIMIT. STREET BECOMES A DOWNWARD HILL WHEN DRIVING EAST , AT THE FIRST INTERSECTION THERE IS A STOPLIGHT. I KNOW THIS INTERSECTION WELL AS I DROVE THAT WAY TO WORK FOR 9 YEARS. I SAW LIGHT AT INTERSECTION WAS RED AND SAW VEHICLES STOPPED FOR RED LIGHT. I STARTED BRAKING IN PREPARATION TO STOP AT APPROPRIATE DISTANCE FROM VEHICLES STOPPED FOR RED LIGHT. MY BRAKES DID NOT ENGAGE. IT SEEMED AS THOUGH BRAKES FROZE OR WERE STUCK AND WOULD NOT GO DOWN REGARDLESS OF THE AMOUNT OF PRESSURE I APPLIED. I SCREAMED +WHY AREN+T THESE STOPPING?+ REPEATEDLY AS I SAW AND FELT MY RIGHT FOOT ATTEMPTING TO APPLY THE BRAKES. I HIT A RED PICK UP IN FRONT OF ME. MY AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND SEAT BELT FUNCTIONED APPROPRIATELY BUT I FELT I WAS INJURED. I IMMEDIATELY REACHED FOR MY PHONE AND CALLED 911. FIRE DEPT PERSONNEL ARRIVED QUICKLY AS THEY ARE CLOSE BY. THEY PLACED A COLLAR AROUND MY NECK AND WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO EXIT MY VEHICLE UNTIL EMS ARRIVED TO PUT ME IN AMBULANCE AND TAKE ME TO ER. POLICE OFFICER LATER CAME TO ER WITH MY VEHICLE DOCUMENTS. HE TOLD ME VEHICLE WAS NOT DRIVEABLE AND WOULD BE TAKEN TO POLICE IMPOUND LOT. HE SAID HE HAD TO GIVE ME A TRAFFIC TICKET FOR CARELESS DRIVING BECAUSE I HIT VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. HE SAID IT WAS THE LEAST VIOLATION HE COULD CITE ME FOR.VEHICLE TOWED TO COLLISION CENTER WHERE IT REMAINS STORED. I ONLY HAD LIABILITY INSURANCE. I FILED COMPLAINT WITH KIA ABOUT BRAKE FAILURE, PROVIDED PICTURES, COPY OF TRAFFIC TICKET AS REQUESTED, AND PICTURES OF MY SEVERELY BRUISED FOOT. I WAS INFORMED BY KIA REP TODAY THAT THEIR ENGINEERS FOUND NO EVIDENCE OF BRAKE FAILURE IN PICTURES AND I WAS TICKETED FOR CARELESS DRIVING. THEY FOUND NO REASON TO EXAMINE BRAKES. I ASKED FOR COPY OF ENGINEERS REPORT BUT WAS TOLD THEY DID NOT PROVIDE THAT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2018 - FITZWILLIAM, NH
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD NEW YEARS DAY, AND THE LIGHTS FLICKERED AND THE ENGINE DIED. AFTER GETTING IT TOWED TO A GARAGE, THEY TOLD US THE MOTOR WAS BLOWN. WE THEN CALLED KIA USA AND THEY INFORMED US TO HAVE IT TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND TO INFORM THE DEALERSHIP TO FOLLOW THEIR INSTRUCTIONS THEY HAD FROM KIA USA. SO WE TOWED IT TO A DEALERSHIP IN OUR AREA AND LET ME TELL YOU, THIS HAS BEEN THE WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD. THE DEALERSHIP IS NOT HELPFUL, THEY HAVE TALKED DOWN TO MY WIFE, MAKING HER CRY, AND THEY TOLD US THAT THEY HAVE PREFERENCE FOR PEOPLE THAT BOUGHT THEIR CAR FROM THEM. WE DIDN'T BUY IT FROM THEM, SO APPARENTLY, IT'S ALRIGHT TO TREAT US LIKE WE ARE COMPLETE MORONS. WE ARE NOW DOWN A CAR AND THE DEALERSHIP HAS NO EMPATHY AND COULD CARE LESS. WE NEED HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

12/19/2017 - JEFFERSON, GA
THERE CURRENTLY IS A RECALL ON CERTAIN 2011 KIA SPORTAGES WITH THE ENGINE BEARINGS PREMATURELY WEARING AND CAUSING THE ENGINE TO SEIZE. I HAVE A 2011 SPORTAGE THAT IS SHOWING SIGNS OF THIS. TWICE, MY SPORTAGE HAS JUST SHUT DOWN WHILE MY SON WAS DRIVING IT. LUCKILY,HE WAS ABLE TO COAST OFF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAIT FOR HELP. THERE IS NO INDICATOR THAT THE ENGINE IS GOING TO SHUT OFF. AFTER TAKING IT TO MY MECHANIC, AND HIM LOOKING INTO THE PROBLEM, HE TOLD ME THAT THIS LOOKS LIKE THE RECALL PROBLEM THAT KIA HAS ON THESE VEHICLES. UNFORTUNATELY, AFTER LOOKING INTO THIS MYSELF, THE RECALL DOES NOT INCLUDE MY VIN NUMBER, SO, I WAS TOLD BY MY KIA SERVICE MANAGER THAT KIA MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO DO ANYTHING. MY MECHANIC AND I ARE ALMOST CERTAIN THAT THE PROBLEM I AM HAVING WITH MY CAR IS WHY THERE IS A RECALL. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING AND HAVE NO IDEA WHEN THE ENGINE IS GOING TO SHUT OFF. I HAVE 126,700 MILES ON MY CAR AND I KNOW THAT THE WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED. THEREFORE, I AM LOOKING AT THE RECALL AND WONDERING IF THERE ARE MORE CARS OUT THERE THAT ARE JUST SHUTTING OFF ON THEM. PLEASE ADVISE WHAT I CAN DO AND WHY ISN'T MY VIN NUMBER INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL IF IT IS ALSO SHOWING THE SAME SIGNS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/11/2017 - LAWRENCE, MA
PIERDE FUERZA Y LE SUENA MUCHO EL MOTOR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds