Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2011 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 58 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (13) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/8/2017 - THORNTON, CO
I'M TRYING TO CHECK IF MY VEHICLE WAS RECALLED CAUSE IT'S BEEN DRIVING REALLY WEIRD AND THEN I HEARD THAT 2011 KIA SPORTAGE WERE BEING RECALLED AND TRYING TO FIND OUT IF THAT'S WHAT'S CAUSING THE PROBLEMS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/8/2017 - THORNTON, CO
I'M TRYING TO CHECK IF MY VEHICLE WAS RECALLED CAUSE IT'S BEEN DRIVING REALLY WEIRD AND THEN I HEARD THAT 2011 KIA SPORTAGE WERE BEING RECALLED AND TRYING TO FIND OUT IF THAT'S WHAT'S CAUSING THE PROBLEMS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/8/2017 - THORNTON, CO
I'M TRYING TO CHECK IF MY VEHICLE WAS RECALLED CAUSE IT'S BEEN DRIVING REALLY WEIRD AND THEN I HEARD THAT 2011 KIA SPORTAGE WERE BEING RECALLED AND TRYING TO FIND OUT IF THAT'S WHAT'S CAUSING THE PROBLEMS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/24/2017 - MESQUITE, TX
BRAKE LIGHTS INOPERABLE, ESC INOPERABLE, CRUISE CONTROL INOPERABLE, TRANSMISSION STUCK IN PARK. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE I NOTICED 2 WARNING LIGHTS REMAIN LIGHTED. I LOOKED IN THE MANUAL OF THE VEHICLE AND LEARNED THE WARNING LIGHTS FOR THE ESC. I CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE BY SHIFTING THE TRANSMISSION INTERLOCKL LEVER INTO THE "REVERSE" POSITION. HOWEVER, I WAS UNABLE TO MOVE THE TRANSMISSION INTERLOCK LEVER. UPON RESEARCHING THAT ISSUE I LEARNED I COULD UTILIZE A MANUAL OVERRIDE TO SWITCH INTO GEAR. I DID THIS AND UPON DRIVING THE CAR HOME I REALIZED THE CRUISE CONTROL NO LONGER WORKED AND THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING VIA OTHER DRIVERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/24/2017 - MESQUITE, TX
BRAKE LIGHTS INOPERABLE, ESC INOPERABLE, CRUISE CONTROL INOPERABLE, TRANSMISSION STUCK IN PARK. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE I NOTICED 2 WARNING LIGHTS REMAIN LIGHTED. I LOOKED IN THE MANUAL OF THE VEHICLE AND LEARNED THE WARNING LIGHTS FOR THE ESC. I CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE BY SHIFTING THE TRANSMISSION INTERLOCKL LEVER INTO THE "REVERSE" POSITION. HOWEVER, I WAS UNABLE TO MOVE THE TRANSMISSION INTERLOCK LEVER. UPON RESEARCHING THAT ISSUE I LEARNED I COULD UTILIZE A MANUAL OVERRIDE TO SWITCH INTO GEAR. I DID THIS AND UPON DRIVING THE CAR HOME I REALIZED THE CRUISE CONTROL NO LONGER WORKED AND THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING VIA OTHER DRIVERS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/24/2017 - MESQUITE, TX
BRAKE LIGHTS INOPERABLE, ESC INOPERABLE, CRUISE CONTROL INOPERABLE, TRANSMISSION STUCK IN PARK. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE I NOTICED 2 WARNING LIGHTS REMAIN LIGHTED. I LOOKED IN THE MANUAL OF THE VEHICLE AND LEARNED THE WARNING LIGHTS FOR THE ESC. I CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE BY SHIFTING THE TRANSMISSION INTERLOCKL LEVER INTO THE "REVERSE" POSITION. HOWEVER, I WAS UNABLE TO MOVE THE TRANSMISSION INTERLOCK LEVER. UPON RESEARCHING THAT ISSUE I LEARNED I COULD UTILIZE A MANUAL OVERRIDE TO SWITCH INTO GEAR. I DID THIS AND UPON DRIVING THE CAR HOME I REALIZED THE CRUISE CONTROL NO LONGER WORKED AND THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING VIA OTHER DRIVERS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/20/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WITH A FRIEND ON THE 10 FREEWAY IN SAN BERNADINO. WE HEARD A LARGE EXPLOSION AND GLASS STARTED COMING IN THE CAR FROM THE SUN ROOF AREA. APPARENTLY OUR SUNROOF SPONTANEOUSLY EXPLODED, HAVEN'T USED THE SUNROOF IN YEARS. LOOKED IT UP ONLINE AND APPARENTLY IT'S A THING THAT HAPPENS TO THESE KIAS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/20/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WITH A FRIEND ON THE 10 FREEWAY IN SAN BERNADINO. WE HEARD A LARGE EXPLOSION AND GLASS STARTED COMING IN THE CAR FROM THE SUN ROOF AREA. APPARENTLY OUR SUNROOF SPONTANEOUSLY EXPLODED, HAVEN'T USED THE SUNROOF IN YEARS. LOOKED IT UP ONLINE AND APPARENTLY IT'S A THING THAT HAPPENS TO THESE KIAS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2017 - KANEOHE, HI
2011 KIA SPORTAGE - ENGINE FAILED WITHOUT WARNING WITH TWO TODDLERS IN CAR. LUCKILY THIS HAPPENED AS I TURNED OFF A HIGHWAY AND WAS ABLE TO STOP ON THE SHOULDER. MANUFACTURER REFUSES TO FIX BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE MAINTENANCE RECORD. I HAVE A FRIEND WHO HAS BEEN CHANGING OIL/SERVICING CAR. I HAVE LEARNED THAT MANY OWNERS OF THIS YEAR/MODEL CAR HAVE SIMILAR EXPERIENCES. I FEEL THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD DEAL WITH A PROBLEM AS SEVERE AS THIS IMMEDIATELY!

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/28/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
DUE TO KIA NOT APPLYING ENOUGH RUST PROTECTION/UNDERCOATING ON MY SPORTAGE. I AM EXPERIENCING RUST ALL UNDERNEATH MY CAR. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, TRYING TO GET THEM TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION AND BOTH HAVE REFUSED, EACH BLAMING THE OTHER FOR THE CAUSE. IN THE MEANTIME, I AM DRIVING MY SPORTAGE IN SNOW, ICE, WATER AND SALT IN MASSACHUSETTS. I HAVE ALSO TOLD THEM THAT MY CATALYIC CONVERTER WAS ALSO RUSTING TO THE POINT THAT THE ENTIRE EXHAUST SYSTEM NEEDS REPLACING. I AM ALSO VERY SCARED THAT THERE IS SUSPENSION DAMAGE FROM THIS HAPPENING. I AM CONSTANTLY HEARING GROANS, SCREECHING AND WHINING NOISES WHILE TRAVELING IN MY SUV.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds